Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 141 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Grand Theft Auto Online is a dynamic and persistent online world for SIXTEEN players that begins by sharing gameplay features, geography and mechanics with Grand Theft Auto V, but continues to expand and evolve with new content created by Rockstar Games and the Grand Theft Auto community. Grand Theft Auto Online takes the fundamental Grand Theft Auto concepts of freedom, ambient activity and mission-based gameplay and makes them available to multiple players in a detailed and responsive online world. In GTA Online, players have the freedom to explore alone or with friends, work cooperatively to complete missions, come together to participate in activities and ambient events, or compete in traditional game modes with the larger community, all with the personality and refined mechanics of Grand Theft Auto V. Players can invest in their character through customizing their appearance, improving their stats, owning customized vehicles, purchasing personal property, and taking part in missions, jobs and activities to earn reputation and cash to open up new opportunities to rise through the criminal ranks. The world of Grand Theft Auto Online will constantly grow and change as new content is added, creating the first ever persistent and dynamic Grand Theft Auto game world. Access to Grand Theft Auto Online is free with every retail copy of Grand Theft Auto V. [Rockstar Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Oct 26, 2013
    96
    The great number of diverse things to do in the game is its strongest asset.
  2. Oct 25, 2013
    90
    The true beauty of GTA Online is its endlessness. There are bigger worlds, but none as dense and rich with possibility and hilarity. This is a game that will give and give, and that makes its technical hardships mere distant blips on its radar.
  3. Nov 27, 2013
    90
    Diverse, chaotic, and loads of fun, especially with a group of friends. [Christmas 2013, p.84]
  4. Oct 23, 2013
    80
    Once the intermittent connection kinks have been ironed out, and with Rockstar promising regular additional content, this one could run and run. If you've finished the main game you might think you're done with Los Santos, but Los Santos isn't done with you.
  5. Oct 14, 2013
    75
    GTA Online has great, but not fully realized, potential. The developers need to sort out problems with servers and some irritating gameplay issues, and after that we need to be given an expansion with bank robberies. Fortunately the entire online mode for GTA V is going to be updated on a regular basis (from new missions to new clothes and haircuts). And for now - get some friends together and go do lots of seemingly absurd things. The fun is tremendous.
  6. Oct 12, 2013
    70
    The unpredictable human element is both an asset and a liability, and the technical problems that have plagued it are far too significant to be ignored. But when it clicks, as it often does, there's nothing quite like GTA Online.
  7. Oct 17, 2013
    60
    That said, with heists, race editors and much more still to come, GTA Online has enormous potential, and we wouldn't bet against Rockstar from tapping into every last drop.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 37
  2. Negative: 15 out of 37
  1. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    Well it had problems on day one launch which is normal for a game with so many players, but since everything was fixed you can say that this game is AMAZING! you can do bunch of stuff in Online with friends, this is best open world game ever made so GTA V GTA Online 10/10 Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    This game has been great. The online for the first couple of weeks was glitchy and laggy but since then I havn't had much of a problem. I enjoy playing online just as much as playing the first player experience. With the ability to play with random people or friends and rob stores together or do a multiplayer deathmatch has just brought many hours of entertainment to my home. This game would have been worth $100 let alone $59.99. Just the feeling of robbing someone after they win a deathmatch before the reach the atm is video-gasmic. I am a true fan of GTA and this online gameplay has only enriched my already smirk expression. My only hope is that they add the stock exchange program to the online gameplay soon. I drool from my mouth for this game. 10++++++ Expand
  3. Jul 23, 2014
    9
    Ok ok so lets start with the good The good -Lots of activites -you can be a driver and a passinger -Robbing stores nice -Lots of clothes
    -Awesome dlc
    -8000 levels

    The bad

    -no topless strippers
    - lots of annoying people try to kill you
    Expand
  4. Oct 23, 2013
    5
    Flawed in every sense. There's a few snippets of joy to be had here with friends (and I mean people you know in real life). The fun of driving around robbing liquor stores can't be faulted.

    But, when the wheels come off (and sadly, they frequently do), it's a completely broken game.

    Even when it works though, there are a lot of strange design choices that seem to exist to deliberately make the game a grind.

    And it's just forcing players to have to farm or glitch and others to follow suit if they don't want to be left behind. Why buy a car when players are simply duplicating the rare ones for each other? Why put a bounty on a player when they can just sit in their apartment and collect the money for themselves.

    I also find it frustrating that "Missions" aren't separated between PvP and PvE. Co-op is great, but at the end of the mission they give a list of suggestions that are all PvP.
    what's the point of that?

    People saying others shouldn't be giving bad reviews now because of problems with the servers you shouldn't be giving good reviews IGNORING the state the game is actually in. People are paying for Xbox Live to use this feature and I think it's unacceptable that it's very unstable over a month after release.
    Expand
  5. Oct 23, 2013
    5
    GTAO can be a fun at times, but this is not a whole game. This is not a complete game. This is a Beta. We all paid $60 for GTA V and got the GTAO beta for free. As a beta I'd score it a five because you can't really score a beta, and five is the median, the average; neither good nor bad, but just there. Expand
  6. Nov 8, 2013
    3
    Grindfest that could, and should have been a whole lot better. The wasted potential here is staggering.

    Added to that the lack of people
    connecting to pretty much anything you try to start from the map kills the online entirely. One can only imagine how many more features or how earlier released GTAV could have been if rockstar hadn't wasted their time on this POS.

    Rockstars previously unimpeachable reputation has taken a huge blow with this, I was genuinely excited for GTA Online in the run-up to release but it has proven to be a damp squib.
    Expand
  7. May 20, 2014
    0
    Some of the worst multiplayer I have EVER seen. They removed everything that was fun about the singleplayer and replaced it with godawful activities that are devoid of any enjoyment, they expect you to fork over loads of money for cars, planes, garages, and weapons to the point were its not even worth it. The game is called GRAND THEFT AUTO. Not "citizen simulator". That's not even including that the game is completely unfair, people are able to spawnkill you over and over since you spawn in the same spot all the time, they can snipe you half way across the map, and you lose ammo every time you die so you can be completely out of ammo and people will spawnkill you again, and again, and again. And if you fight against someone with a higher rank you have no chance in hell of EVER killing them since they can easily kill you in one hit with no skill required. You can't steal other peoples vehicles because of course why would you except that from a game called grand theft auto? This game has the worst multiplayer I have ever seen, devoid of any enjoyment and expects you to play its **** TDM activities for 12 hours to buy 1 gun. Expand

See all 37 User Reviews