Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 141 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Grand Theft Auto Online is a dynamic and persistent online world for SIXTEEN players that begins by sharing gameplay features, geography and mechanics with Grand Theft Auto V, but continues to expand and evolve with new content created by Rockstar Games and the Grand Theft Auto community. Grand Theft Auto Online takes the fundamental Grand Theft Auto concepts of freedom, ambient activity and mission-based gameplay and makes them available to multiple players in a detailed and responsive online world. In GTA Online, players have the freedom to explore alone or with friends, work cooperatively to complete missions, come together to participate in activities and ambient events, or compete in traditional game modes with the larger community, all with the personality and refined mechanics of Grand Theft Auto V. Players can invest in their character through customizing their appearance, improving their stats, owning customized vehicles, purchasing personal property, and taking part in missions, jobs and activities to earn reputation and cash to open up new opportunities to rise through the criminal ranks. The world of Grand Theft Auto Online will constantly grow and change as new content is added, creating the first ever persistent and dynamic Grand Theft Auto game world. Access to Grand Theft Auto Online is free with every retail copy of Grand Theft Auto V. [Rockstar Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Oct 26, 2013
    96
    The great number of diverse things to do in the game is its strongest asset.
  2. Oct 25, 2013
    90
    The true beauty of GTA Online is its endlessness. There are bigger worlds, but none as dense and rich with possibility and hilarity. This is a game that will give and give, and that makes its technical hardships mere distant blips on its radar.
  3. Nov 27, 2013
    90
    Diverse, chaotic, and loads of fun, especially with a group of friends. [Christmas 2013, p.84]
  4. Oct 23, 2013
    80
    Once the intermittent connection kinks have been ironed out, and with Rockstar promising regular additional content, this one could run and run. If you've finished the main game you might think you're done with Los Santos, but Los Santos isn't done with you.
  5. Oct 14, 2013
    75
    GTA Online has great, but not fully realized, potential. The developers need to sort out problems with servers and some irritating gameplay issues, and after that we need to be given an expansion with bank robberies. Fortunately the entire online mode for GTA V is going to be updated on a regular basis (from new missions to new clothes and haircuts). And for now - get some friends together and go do lots of seemingly absurd things. The fun is tremendous.
  6. Oct 12, 2013
    70
    The unpredictable human element is both an asset and a liability, and the technical problems that have plagued it are far too significant to be ignored. But when it clicks, as it often does, there's nothing quite like GTA Online.
  7. Oct 17, 2013
    60
    That said, with heists, race editors and much more still to come, GTA Online has enormous potential, and we wouldn't bet against Rockstar from tapping into every last drop.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 38
  2. Negative: 16 out of 38
  1. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    Well it had problems on day one launch which is normal for a game with so many players, but since everything was fixed you can say that this game is AMAZING! you can do bunch of stuff in Online with friends, this is best open world game ever made so GTA V GTA Online 10/10 Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    This game has been great. The online for the first couple of weeks was glitchy and laggy but since then I havn't had much of a problem. I enjoy playing online just as much as playing the first player experience. With the ability to play with random people or friends and rob stores together or do a multiplayer deathmatch has just brought many hours of entertainment to my home. This game would have been worth $100 let alone $59.99. Just the feeling of robbing someone after they win a deathmatch before the reach the atm is video-gasmic. I am a true fan of GTA and this online gameplay has only enriched my already smirk expression. My only hope is that they add the stock exchange program to the online gameplay soon. I drool from my mouth for this game. 10++++++ Expand
  3. Jul 23, 2014
    9
    Ok ok so lets start with the good The good -Lots of activites -you can be a driver and a passinger -Robbing stores nice -Lots of clothes
    -Awesome dlc
    -8000 levels

    The bad

    -no topless strippers
    - lots of annoying people try to kill you
    Expand
  4. Dec 15, 2013
    5
    No this isn't because the launch was kind of a failure, I don't care about that. What I do care about is the overall quality of the Online.
    The Online is fun, I won't pretend it isn't because that would be a lie. HOWEVER the online does still have one fundamental floor that cripples the experience. The currency. Every feature is designed to try and spend as much of your money as possible! If you want to do a job that requires some kind of aerial vehicle you need to BUY ONE! Since 9 times out of 10 no vehicles will be spawned. Or how about when you die near your personal vehicle (Which is a pointless feature) it gets impounded and will often be damaged so you have to break it out of the Police Station and then repair it. And you NEED a personal vehicle as if the cops see you in a vehicle that isn't yours their spider sense kicks in and they know it's been stolen. Or you'll get a bounty put on your head by the owner who magically knew it was you that stole it (the game is called Grand Theft Auto for God's sake).
    The game also actively tries to stop you causing chaos with friends as the military bases and airports are walled off and difficult to get in also you have so little health that you die in very few shots.
    So in conclusion GTA online is ok you can have fun but is limited by certain features.
    Collapse
  5. Sep 7, 2014
    4
    It seems my original hopes for GTO (no pontiac here) to be a fun, exciting, engaging social experience was all dwindled and sodomized by my rapt 8 hour experience with this frustrating torture. Initially, the game had promise; even your descent into Los Santos is interesting from the concept of a new kid in town with Lamar from the main game being your 'game man' sort of fella, although conversations are awkward considering that you the player are a silent protagonist (kind of like someone talking to a brick wall). Anyhow, after the laces were cut on the starting run for this game (i.e the tutorial section), I had a welcome relief of people indiscriminately killing me on sight, and then consistently killed after spawning, my car stolen, driven, shot up, crashed (though not totalled), and being the loser of every single racing game because my racing skill was not high enough. I mean, wow, I never would had thought that a online game would just give newbies the middle finger even though they just started playing the game. Not to mention that I spoiled my signature car on something I just happened to need to drive and couldn't restore, and that the payoff of missions that were extremely difficult to profit on never is worth it, not to mention the missions repeat after 8 or so times. That's the funny thing too: I spent hours just robbing convenience stores of all things just so I could get a profit of money, I rank up to 12 just by that motion alone and I STILL can't even afford a garage. I live in my car, essentially. And the worst thing is is that the game never seems to show you any means to make yourself better, or that they decide to make the progression in the game just so awful and monotomous, as well as anti-social considering how seasoned veterans will ALWAYS WIN at any kind of gamemode and that every player tries to kill you on sight even if you are just minding your own business. This game was just getting autonomous, which really surprised me for a game that's all mmo with zero character progression, just as offensive as LOL was to what fair and sufficient level progression was. It was really hard to like this game, and as a matter of fact, stealing the convenience stores, something you could do in GTAV anyway, was the most fun I had with this online mode. Unless someone can tell me how you can properly progress WITHOUT GRINDING (no kind of like 'if you play final fantasy XIII for 13 hours it actually starts to get good kind of grinding') this game was a downer for me apart from the stylization and proper mechanics. Expand
  6. Nov 8, 2013
    3
    Grindfest that could, and should have been a whole lot better. The wasted potential here is staggering.

    Added to that the lack of people
    connecting to pretty much anything you try to start from the map kills the online entirely. One can only imagine how many more features or how earlier released GTAV could have been if rockstar hadn't wasted their time on this POS.

    Rockstars previously unimpeachable reputation has taken a huge blow with this, I was genuinely excited for GTA Online in the run-up to release but it has proven to be a damp squib.
    Expand
  7. May 20, 2014
    0
    Some of the worst multiplayer I have EVER seen. They removed everything that was fun about the singleplayer and replaced it with godawful activities that are devoid of any enjoyment, they expect you to fork over loads of money for cars, planes, garages, and weapons to the point were its not even worth it. The game is called GRAND THEFT AUTO. Not "citizen simulator". That's not even including that the game is completely unfair, people are able to spawnkill you over and over since you spawn in the same spot all the time, they can snipe you half way across the map, and you lose ammo every time you die so you can be completely out of ammo and people will spawnkill you again, and again, and again. And if you fight against someone with a higher rank you have no chance in hell of EVER killing them since they can easily kill you in one hit with no skill required. You can't steal other peoples vehicles because of course why would you except that from a game called grand theft auto? This game has the worst multiplayer I have ever seen, devoid of any enjoyment and expects you to play its **** TDM activities for 12 hours to buy 1 gun. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews