User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3685 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 29, 2017
    0
    77$ for this? These people are insane. I spent more time downloading it more than actually play the bloody game. Downloaded 60GB from the dvds, then had to do an 12GB update which took me the whole day to finish. After logged in to Social Club, thought that i could launch the game, but they asked me to do another 6 GB update, which took half of a day. Overall, i spent 2 and a half day77$ for this? These people are insane. I spent more time downloading it more than actually play the bloody game. Downloaded 60GB from the dvds, then had to do an 12GB update which took me the whole day to finish. After logged in to Social Club, thought that i could launch the game, but they asked me to do another 6 GB update, which took half of a day. Overall, i spent 2 and a half day downloading this **** expecting the game to be something spectacular. But got bored of it the first 30 minutes, wasn't that really impressive for its huge size. I wish i could refund it, but too late. Expand
  2. Aug 2, 2017
    6
    Decepção é a palavra que descreve esse jogo tão bem falado que foi um dos jogos mais sem graça que eu já joguei. História ridícula, personagens e situações extremamente forçadas, comédia sem graça, etc. Ao meu ver, só o online, o gameplay e os gráficos salvaram, mas por ter me decepcionado demais não consigo dar uma nota maior.
  3. Jul 16, 2017
    9
    An amazing game, 2013's best titles. Will be a classic in 10 years.
    Graphics - 10/10
    Mechanics - 9/10
    Story - 8/10
    Missions - 10/10
    Characters - 9/10
    Online - 5/10
  4. Jun 16, 2017
    0
    Removing mods is the worst. Literally unplayable. So much hate coming their way now. They took a beloved game and absolutely ruined it by banning mods.
  5. May 21, 2017
    6
    It's well game, not too boring, but and not too cool. I think, that game are not been finished, when Rocks realise it. In open world, well it sucks. In story, well it's little stupid, but OK. In DLC's, it's ok. In second missions, well it's 10/10, but we are scoring all the game, don't we?
  6. May 14, 2017
    7
    É um jogo bom, mas perde potencial...

    PT-BR Esse jogo é divertido de início, porém com o passar do tempo o modo campanha começa a ficar repetitivo. Eu tenho um 360 com o jogo que já faz alguns meses que não jogo, ao menos que você escolha jogar o modo online que é muito divertido mas são milésimas atualizações de de cada uma 1gb e que o console começa a aquecer e para não estragar,
    É um jogo bom, mas perde potencial...

    PT-BR
    Esse jogo é divertido de início, porém com o passar do tempo o modo campanha começa a ficar repetitivo. Eu tenho um 360 com o jogo que já faz alguns meses que não jogo, ao menos que você escolha jogar o modo online que é muito divertido mas são milésimas atualizações de de cada uma 1gb e que o console começa a aquecer e para não estragar, você tem que acabar desligando...

    Pontos, no máximo 60:
    Diversão: 5
    Gráficos : 7
    Jogabilidade:8
    Áudio: 9
    Trilha Sonora: 5
    Compatibilidade com a Plataforma: 10
    44/60- 7,8/10 Mediano

    ENG:
    This game is fun at first, but with the passage of time the campaign mode begins to get repetitive. I have a 360 with the game that I have not played for a few months, unless you choose to play the online mode which is a lot of fun but they are thousandths of updates of each 1gb and that the console starts to warm up and not to ruin, You have to end up hanging up ...

    Points, maximum 60:
    Fun: 5
    Graphics: 7
    Gameplay: 8
    Audio: 9
    Soundtrack: 5
    Platform Compatibility: 10
    44 / 60- 7.8 / 10 Medium

    FRA:
    Ce jeu est amusant au début, mais au fil du temps le mode de campagne commence à être répétitive. J'ai un 360 avec le jeu qui a été quelques mois qui ne jouent pas, sauf si vous choisissez de jouer le mode en ligne qui est très amusant, mais sont mises à jour millièmes de chacun de 1 Go et la console commence à chauffer et ne pas gâcher, vous devez terminer ...

    Points au plus 60:
    Fun: 5
    Graphisme: 7
    Gameplay: 8
    Audio: 9
    Score: 5
    Compatibilité avec la plate-forme 10
    44 / 60- 7.8 / 10 OK
    Expand
  7. Apr 21, 2017
    10
    SUPER!!! my favourite series - do what you want, missions or free-drive. And GTA 5 is the next step to new big world and the variety of choices. Little dissapointing that some feature were cut in comparison to previous parts...
  8. Apr 17, 2017
    3
    Magnifique monde ouvert, dommage qu'il soit aussi cloisonné et scripté dans ses missions : comme un cabot on suit les instructions à la lettre, on va chercher et on rapporte le nonosse. Comme un robot on obéit, pas de vraie liberté dans ce monde ouvert qui n'a jamais paru aussi fermé.

    Et si c'est beau, si on voit loin, ça rame aussi très souvent, le jeu étant incapable de maintenir les
    Magnifique monde ouvert, dommage qu'il soit aussi cloisonné et scripté dans ses missions : comme un cabot on suit les instructions à la lettre, on va chercher et on rapporte le nonosse. Comme un robot on obéit, pas de vraie liberté dans ce monde ouvert qui n'a jamais paru aussi fermé.

    Et si c'est beau, si on voit loin, ça rame aussi très souvent, le jeu étant incapable de maintenir les 30 im/s. Quand on rajoute à ça la maniabilité toujours aussi rigide et l'interface mal foutue, on se rend vite compte que c'est un foutu calvaire à jouer. Rien de nouveau sous le soleil donc, GTA 5 reste fidèle à lui-même : un TPS en carton. Sauf en voiture, la seule phase réussie du jeu...

    Autre souci qui soûle énormément : ça parle beaucoup, ça parle tout le temps, ça n'arrête pas, des **** mother****a ****ya à tout bout de champ pour un oui un pour un non, ils ne la ferment jamais. Tous les personnages sont des caricatures, même les passants, n'importe qui (même les passants n'arrêtent pas de parler et de raconter n'importe quoi). Si au moins c'était drôle mais même pas...

    Et malgré l'argent fou que se fait Rockstar, aucune version française à l'horizon. Certes les 3 personnages jouables sont un plus et les situations tarantineuses ne manquent pas (ce n'est pas forcément un compliment à dire vrai) alors pourquoi cette absence de personnage féminin parmi les 3 ? sont-ils tous misogynes chez Rockstar ou simplement gays ? surtout qu'on m'oblige à jouer un débile mental parmi les 3 qui ne m'amuse pas du tout...

    Mais le plus grave reste la maniabilité atroce, tout ce pognon dans le développement et toujours pas foutus de faire un TPS correct, ça fait pourtant 15 ans qu'ils font du GTA mais ils ne savent toujours pas. Ras le bol de leurs conneries.
    Expand
  9. Apr 16, 2017
    9
    This game contains the greatest trio of characters you will ever come to love. Each of them have a unique personality that really brings them into their. If you love any of the previous instalments in the series and you haven't played this, it is highly recommended that you do so.
  10. Mar 27, 2017
    10
    this is the best game in xbox360 the graphics the story THE ONLINE MAN

    the online maps are awesome and the online missons this one of the best games i played in my WHOLE life
  11. Mar 21, 2017
    9
    Incrible juego, espero que vengan mas juegos así, fuera de los estereotipos clásicos, la vida de una persona 50 años también puede ser muy interesante, Trevor eres la ostia!!
  12. Feb 21, 2017
    9
    This game polishes all the things that made GTA IV fun and puts them in a bigger world with more places to see, characters to meet and things to do. The story may not be as good as GTA IV, but it adds so much things to the GTA formula that this goes unnoticed. Also it includes the best GTA multiplayer.
  13. Feb 13, 2017
    8
    GTA V
    On December 24 I got GTA V, I’ve spent a lot of time on the game. This game may be pricy, but it is very fun and will keep you entertained for many years to come.I have finished the story mode, and have gotten many, many different items in online mode. I have found flaws though it is a great game. I started playing at 7:30 am on December 25th. It started me out in a heist that
    GTA V
    On December 24 I got GTA V, I’ve spent a lot of time on the game. This game may be pricy, but it is very fun and will keep you entertained for many years to come.I have finished the story mode, and have gotten many, many different items in online mode. I have found flaws though it is a great game. I started playing at 7:30 am on December 25th. It started me out in a heist that showed me how to do everything.
    Pros- Shows you how to everything, has an online mode, can play with friends, Rockstar gamers, story mode, a bunch of different options, and customizable vehicles. Cons- Can be glitchy, lots of trolls, prostitution, strip clubs, takes simi-long to switch your gun, but it freezes time. Lester is creepy.
    My experience- GTA V is a good game it’s for people who are mature. Lot’s of people play this game I’ve experienced many trolls. This game it true to it’s rating MA people who aren’t mature won’t be able to handle this game. I was doing a heist and we kept falling and an immature gamer was in the heist he kept making us lose because he thought is was funny.
    I think that this game is great, but people are jerks and with the new game coming out soon I think you should just wait for GTA 6. People who play this should be at least 13 years of age. Be mature and have fun when you play.
    Expand
  14. Feb 3, 2017
    10
    This might be the best game ever made. The past GTAs have all been a lead up to this unbelievable achievement. It is the pinnacle of games. It set the bar so very high.
  15. Jan 28, 2017
    6
    "butthurt fake votes" aside, this is actually from someone who has the Steam version on PC - and recently acquired it for the Xbox.

    If you should be in a similar position...DO NOT BUY THIS GAME FOR THE XBOX 360!! You are missing out on TONNES! STEAM VERSION: unlimited internet access - allowing for extra solo missions "online" should you want to play them - because who needs spotty
    "butthurt fake votes" aside, this is actually from someone who has the Steam version on PC - and recently acquired it for the Xbox.

    If you should be in a similar position...DO NOT BUY THIS GAME FOR THE XBOX 360!!
    You are missing out on TONNES!

    STEAM VERSION: unlimited internet access - allowing for extra solo missions "online" should you want to play them - because who needs spotty faced kids in your online session right?
    Xbox 360 and Microsuck - that'll be six quid per month so you can use our poxy servers thanks.

    Steam Version: DIRECTOR MODE!!
    Xbox: What's that?

    Steam Version: depending on your PC too, the gameplay is smoother.
    Xbox 360: Oh wait a minute I have to load the rest of the road for you....ah man look you have half a car buried in a sea of plain grey.

    Steam Version: FIRST PERSON MODE!
    Xbox: "I JUST CANNAE DO IT CAP'N! SHE NEEDS MOAR POWER!!"
    (And that REALLY blows!!)

    The gameplay and plot is no different offline, the graphics attempt to be consistently decent, but unfortunately xbox 360s aren't really up to the task of keeping up with high speed, high def vehicles bombing down any given road in the middle of a city.

    Essentially, this is a far more disappointing experience if you already know what GTA V is capable of on a PC.

    Like I said....if you find yourself in a position to get it for the xbox as well when you've already got it on PC.....simply do not bother.
    Expand
  16. Nov 14, 2016
    1
    yawn to the max, boooooorrring, i feel asleep so many time. man i hate this game so dumb and stupid. wow so bad holy crap. cant even believe. boring game so bad
  17. Oct 28, 2016
    9
    Very good game! Amazing gameplay and story but graphics on Xbox 360 really bad. GTA online was interesting and not boring. I played a lot with my friends in a robbery mode. I love RockStar Games!
  18. Oct 15, 2016
    10
    Jogo incrível não sei como alguém pode dar nota negativa para esse jogo.História incrível, controles 10, e tudo 10, o único defeito que consigui achar no jogo é a campanha ser curta mas depois da campanha tem missões secundárias mitos locas e também tem o modo online com várias missões.
  19. Jun 30, 2016
    9
    Este juego me ha proporcionado muchas horas de diversion, con una buena campaña, excelente servicio Online y unos DLCs bastante completos. Lo maloha sido la actual dejadez de esta version (Xbox360) junto con la de PS3, ya que no hay nuevos DLC o actualizaciones. Otra cosa que tampoco me gusta es la necesidad de estar conectado OBLIGATORIAMENTE para poder jugar al modo historia (Offline)Este juego me ha proporcionado muchas horas de diversion, con una buena campaña, excelente servicio Online y unos DLCs bastante completos. Lo maloha sido la actual dejadez de esta version (Xbox360) junto con la de PS3, ya que no hay nuevos DLC o actualizaciones. Otra cosa que tampoco me gusta es la necesidad de estar conectado OBLIGATORIAMENTE para poder jugar al modo historia (Offline) por el tema del SocialClub. Aun así es un gran juego que sigue mereciendo la pena jugar. Expand
  20. Apr 14, 2016
    10
    a great game.
    of all GTA that left an parese me one of the best so far.
    It is extremely amazing
    thank you very much to rock star
    and I hope very ilucion the proccimo game GTA
  21. Apr 12, 2016
    8
    I am not a open world RPG fan.

    But GTAV is really outstanding is this kind of games and worth playing and enjoying the story.

    The graph is the best on XBOX360 and the story is crazy and excellent.

    The bad side is, I always feel that R-Star's gameplay mechanic is kind of hollow. This game is for enjoying the world rather than the gameplay.
  22. Apr 12, 2016
    10
    GTA V llamo mi atencion desde que lo anunciaron, compre el juego una semana despues de su lanzamiento y lo primero que me impacto fueron sus graficas, son muy muy buenas. La historia no terminaba de convencerme pero conforme avance me gusto mas y mas, el hecho de tener 3 personajes alternando su historia es un detalle sensacional, cada uno tiene su personalidad y se impone. Todo me gustoGTA V llamo mi atencion desde que lo anunciaron, compre el juego una semana despues de su lanzamiento y lo primero que me impacto fueron sus graficas, son muy muy buenas. La historia no terminaba de convencerme pero conforme avance me gusto mas y mas, el hecho de tener 3 personajes alternando su historia es un detalle sensacional, cada uno tiene su personalidad y se impone. Todo me gusto en el juego, la jugabilidad a pie, en auto, en avion, nadando, etc. Son horas y horas de juego y no para la accion, si te aburre la trama simplemente tomas un auto y te vas a cazar siervos, a asaltar, a invertir en la bolsa, puedes hacer casi de todo. El online tiene sus problemas y desespera tanto hacker pero es muy bueno. Tenia buenas expectativas del juego y GTA V fue muy superior a lo que esperaba, tanto que lo volvi a comprar en ps4. Totalmente recomendado. El unico punto malo son los niños que se meten a jugarlo; ¿cuando empezaran los niños y sus padres a respetar las clasificaciones? Expand
  23. Mar 10, 2016
    9
    I LOVE LOVE LOVE this game but it does have its issues like any game. Firstly, on the 360 or PS3 it looks pretty janky. Secondly, the online mode sucks balls, it's always down and when it isn't there is some stupid kid running everybody over and using hacks even on the 360. But the story is very good and the gameplay is immaculate in singleplayer.
  24. Mar 4, 2016
    6
    Been there, done that. Nothing new here.
    Another round of gta with all its mediocrity and repeat quests, dialogue and mindless activities.
    A big improvement on the abomination known as gta4, but, still the same ole stuff. As well, same ole problems and poor gameplay mechanics. Same ole empty world. Another game with a few gameplay additions that make me shrug my shoulders and the
    Been there, done that. Nothing new here.
    Another round of gta with all its mediocrity and repeat quests, dialogue and mindless activities.
    A big improvement on the abomination known as gta4, but, still the same ole stuff.
    As well, same ole problems and poor gameplay mechanics.
    Same ole empty world.
    Another game with a few gameplay additions that make me shrug my shoulders and the sheeple flock.
    Expand
  25. Jan 31, 2016
    10
    Esto es un 10 señores, dejaros de Lol y mierdas, esto es inmersión, es la definición de videojuego. Divertido, puedes hacer miles de cosas que no puedes en la vida real, gráficos increíbles, contenido online gratuito, cientos de modos tanto competitivos, como cooperativos, como hazloquetesalgativos. ES EL COPÓN 36277632826783278478344378/10.
  26. Jan 24, 2016
    10
    Quite obviously the best video game ever created by a fairly large margin. If you disagree you're just plain wrong. Even if it's not exactly for you the combination of expansiveness, story, completeness, polish, smoothness, features, detail, content, etc. Will likely never be seen again, ever. GTA V is going to be king of the mountain for a very long forseeable future. GTA V puts ALL otherQuite obviously the best video game ever created by a fairly large margin. If you disagree you're just plain wrong. Even if it's not exactly for you the combination of expansiveness, story, completeness, polish, smoothness, features, detail, content, etc. Will likely never be seen again, ever. GTA V is going to be king of the mountain for a very long forseeable future. GTA V puts ALL other games to shame. The bar has been set. Expand
  27. Dec 21, 2015
    7
    While I'm not a huge fan of the GTA games. I enjoyed this, I have gone back and revisited it from time to time just a to go through and indulge in mass murder.
  28. Nov 28, 2015
    8
    Story is crap. But that's not why we play this game, is it?? The lampooning of action crime anti-hero movies is great. Franklin at least was grounded. lol Controls, mechanics, graphics - all nicely done! PRetty much every character was a simple caricature, but I think that's the style the writers are going for: stereotypes are ridiculous, and anybody who plays into them without reallyStory is crap. But that's not why we play this game, is it?? The lampooning of action crime anti-hero movies is great. Franklin at least was grounded. lol Controls, mechanics, graphics - all nicely done! PRetty much every character was a simple caricature, but I think that's the style the writers are going for: stereotypes are ridiculous, and anybody who plays into them without really looking closely at themselves is a literal joke! Expand
  29. Nov 19, 2015
    8
    Call me a hater, but GTA V... it just dosent make me feel the same as with GTA IV. GTA Vs campaign is off the charts awesome, GTA Online is so awesome, that it could be its own independent game and I would give it a 10/10. Rockstart social club is a good feature in this game. The graphics and environment? Beatifull. Well, if I think this game is so awesome, why am I giving it a worse scoreCall me a hater, but GTA V... it just dosent make me feel the same as with GTA IV. GTA Vs campaign is off the charts awesome, GTA Online is so awesome, that it could be its own independent game and I would give it a 10/10. Rockstart social club is a good feature in this game. The graphics and environment? Beatifull. Well, if I think this game is so awesome, why am I giving it a worse score than GTA IV? It just dosent feel the same as GTA IV. The friends in GTA V are useless, the sidemissions non engaging, the app to download to my real life tablet to train Chop dosent work and the loading screen before getting to play the game is painfully long. Also, theres a loading screen everytime I switch between a character or when I do anything in GTA Online. But is it worth buying? Yes, if you have the patience to wait for the loading screens. Expand
  30. Nov 13, 2015
    10
    The best game of the entire series! The plot - perfect! Four times the game went and each time by 100% and I'm ready to pass it again 5! Cool characters! P * - You are the best!
  31. Nov 6, 2015
    10
    Grand Theft Auto is one of those franchises that has been at the forefront of the video game industry for decades. A GTA release is kind of like an American presidential election: the hype begins WELL before the actual event. The thing that separates GTA from other prominent game franchises is that it delivers on the hype, and GTA V delivered in spades.

    The setting of Los Santos is
    Grand Theft Auto is one of those franchises that has been at the forefront of the video game industry for decades. A GTA release is kind of like an American presidential election: the hype begins WELL before the actual event. The thing that separates GTA from other prominent game franchises is that it delivers on the hype, and GTA V delivered in spades.

    The setting of Los Santos is amazing. Rockstar and Bethesda are the two game companies in business today that clearly love the worlds they create. You can tell from their attention to detail. Go into a random back alley in the city, or drive to the end of a dirt road in the countryside, and there will be something there that is interesting, or funny, or dangerous. Los Angeles provides the perfect setting for a GTA game. It's many unique and paradoxical qualities provide bountiful opportunities for Rockstar to show off their sarcastic sense of humor.

    The inclusion of three playable protagonists was a wonderful addition as well. Carl "CJ" Johnson will probably always be the best protagonist of the series, but the three GTA V protagonists are interesting enough to keep your attention, and the fact that you can switch between them at almost any time means that if you ever do get bored with one or the other, you can switch to another and see what they've gotten themselves up to.

    Mission structure and design is the best it's been in the series. 'Four Leaf Clover' in GTA IV remains the best single mission in the franchise's history, but the overall quality of all missions is significantly higher in V than in any other entry. Heists provide great peaks in the chronology, as they seem to happen just when the story might be getting a little stale.

    The biggest criticism GTA V received when it released was that, due to GTA Online not being ready at launch, people were buying an incomplete game. This is simply not true. GTA Online was not available at launch, true enough, but there was no charge for it when it was released about a month after the game released, so you BOUGHT the whole game in September, you just had to wait a month to access the online portion of it. I certainly was happy that I could access the single player portion of the game in September, and not have to wait the additional month to get the whole package together. There was more than enough content in single player to keep any fair gamer occupied for a month. And, as it happened, the release of GTA Online was rocky, to say the least, so they probably should have released it even later and worked out more kinks.

    When viewed as the sum of its parts, Grand Theft Auto V certainly is in the running for Greatest Game of the last console generation.
    Expand
  32. Oct 30, 2015
    9
    An absolute beast of a game the online part has to be one of the best iv ever seen loved the tree way veiwpoint in the sigle part as well, this is what saints row 3 & 4 should have been nuff said.
  33. Oct 25, 2015
    10
    Looks like many people are calling this game overrated. I don't quite agree. In my opinion, this game is the best entry in the entire series. I've played 3, Vice City, San Andreas, and 4. I enjoyed every single one of them, but this game took their ideas and perfected them. In terms of execution, it is flawless. The controls are very fluid and intuitive, especially compared to the olderLooks like many people are calling this game overrated. I don't quite agree. In my opinion, this game is the best entry in the entire series. I've played 3, Vice City, San Andreas, and 4. I enjoyed every single one of them, but this game took their ideas and perfected them. In terms of execution, it is flawless. The controls are very fluid and intuitive, especially compared to the older iterations. Graphics are as good as you can expect for an open-world game with a city as huge as Los Santos. There is SO much to explore that it can be overwhelming. The driving physics aren't 100% realistic, but still realistic enough to allow for suspension of disbelief.

    The missions are so awesome and well-scripted that I wanted to play some of them several times. The characters are enjoyable. The story itself itself is mediocre, but the action is so awesome that you don't really care about the story. The voice-acting is very good for a video game, which contributes to the suspension of disbelief.

    Seriously, it's very hard to beat this game. It's perfect in just about every single way. My only complaint with the game is a very subjective one, and that is the soundtrack. I found the soundtrack of GTA5 to be overall inferior to that of Vice City and San Andreas, but again, that is a very subjective matter.

    This was the best game of 2013, and maybe even the best game of the decade thus far, even as I write this now in 2015. Overrated? I think not. It deserves a lot of recognition.
    Expand
  34. Oct 20, 2015
    9
    Good game but extremely overrated. I felt like this was a great way to end the last generation by fully taking advantage of the 360s hardware capabilities. Online races and stuff are pointless with some really dumb achievements that are not possible to get because not enough people do the activities.
  35. Sep 20, 2015
    10
    I'm a huge fan of the GTA series i think every game they made thus far are amazing. i love the story line on gta 5 i think it was pretty cool to switch back and forth between different players. the graphics are stunning, the cars are cool on here and don't even get me started on how cool the map is and big they made the city.!!only thing i didn't like about the story is once you beat itI'm a huge fan of the GTA series i think every game they made thus far are amazing. i love the story line on gta 5 i think it was pretty cool to switch back and forth between different players. the graphics are stunning, the cars are cool on here and don't even get me started on how cool the map is and big they made the city.!!only thing i didn't like about the story is once you beat it they did really have things you can do with all that money you make in the end heist & assassination mission (if done at the end & invested money in the stock correctly). they should of made it to wear you can buy house, more clothes to by, different kinds of events because the parachute events are pretty lame and i wonder how many people actually enjoy doing the bike/foot races. Now this is the first GTA i played online and every since i don't even think about playing the story. GTA 5 online is dope as hell i really enjoy playing this (especially if you have friends to play with). there isn't really anything i don't like about this game online, i mean it would be pretty dope if you didn't have to rank up to unlock things but again it give you something to do. not much to say left but if they do more updates they should put WAY MORE customization options for the vehicles on there & make it missions worth more money because items/gun/vehicles online are really expensive. Expand
  36. Sep 10, 2015
    8
    Grand Theft Auto V is a near-perfect game from a technical stand-point, but it lacks an engaging story and unique characters. I've heard it being referred to as a realistic representation of modern-day life, but I see it another way; it's an over-the-top parody of everything wrong with first-world culture. It supposedly covers issues like racism, sexism and crime, but all Rockstar do isGrand Theft Auto V is a near-perfect game from a technical stand-point, but it lacks an engaging story and unique characters. I've heard it being referred to as a realistic representation of modern-day life, but I see it another way; it's an over-the-top parody of everything wrong with first-world culture. It supposedly covers issues like racism, sexism and crime, but all Rockstar do is point them out, and don't really represent any views on these topics.

    The story follows three protagonists; Michael, a retired criminal who verbally abuses his wife and children. Franklin, a black guy who is so uninteresting that if he was taken out of the game and replaced with an extremely well-trained chicken. And then there's Trevor, a complete maniac, who at times adds much-needed fun to the game, but most of the things he does just seems impractical. And none of them are likeable at all. Their dialogue is boring and they change their views at the drop of a hat. For example, if Franklin had a disagreement with another character, eventually he'd just give in and do whatever it was the person asked for. Overall the story is mediocre at best.

    But screw story, it's the gameplay you all care about and nothing else. It is much more fun and less realistic than GTA 4, but not as much as Saints Row, but because of how ridiculous Saints Row has now become maybe it's best that GTA 5 takes things a little easier. The new physics engine is rather inconsistent, some cars handle like shopping carts, and some handle like normal cars with an elephant and a hippopotamus strapped on the roof. There's also helicopters, which is like hell to drive, and planes, which is like hell but with the excruciating pain of having your teeth pulled out. Gun fights are satisfying, and massacring innocents and cops is more fun and enjoyable than ever before. The gameplay, despite some flaws, is very good.

    In conclusion I have a lot of problems with GTA 5, and I mean a lot. I barely have room for everything I want to moan about. But if you can look through these problems, and if you're GTA fan boy the chances are you can, you will have a lot of fun with this new instalment of this extremely slowly yet surely dying franchise.
    Expand
  37. Sep 7, 2015
    10
    This game truly earns it's perfect Rating and then some.The State of San Andreas from top to bottom is expertly polished and hand has unthinkable detail never seen in any Game.As with all GTA Games everyone has their favorite ones and no matter how much nostalgia I have for GTA 3 I cannot deny how much I love this game and how it is now my favorite GTA of all time.I love the environmentThis game truly earns it's perfect Rating and then some.The State of San Andreas from top to bottom is expertly polished and hand has unthinkable detail never seen in any Game.As with all GTA Games everyone has their favorite ones and no matter how much nostalgia I have for GTA 3 I cannot deny how much I love this game and how it is now my favorite GTA of all time.I love the environment so much as everything finally looks exactly like in actual reality so much so you will be hard press not to confuse the two.Details of real life are done perfectly.I personally like how everything has A realistic sheen to it.I could spend all day on Graphics alone,but the Story and characters are the highlight of this epic.Without Spoilers,I will only say that three totally different people find their way towards one another to unite and pull off some staggering criminal jobs that have to be played to be believed.Gameplay-wise,it's about par with Episodes Of Liberty City controls and that's really great for my particular tastes.The Soundtrack I really liked and I thought it was very well done and did justice to GTA San Andreas.As for the rest I will let you discover it further as you embark on one of the most epic and exciting journeys in Video Game history. Expand
  38. Aug 21, 2015
    10
    I don't normally play these realistic, amoral, travel-round-a-city-shooting-people games, but this... This is special.

    One of, if not THE, best game of the generation, Grand Theft Auto V is an experience that must be tried to believe. The driving's on point, the shooting is consistent and fun, the characters are unique and play off one another fantastically, creating such an atmosphere.
    I don't normally play these realistic, amoral, travel-round-a-city-shooting-people games, but this... This is special.

    One of, if not THE, best game of the generation, Grand Theft Auto V is an experience that must be tried to believe. The driving's on point, the shooting is consistent and fun, the characters are unique and play off one another fantastically, creating such an atmosphere.

    I have no idea how the next game will build from this. I mean, it's very difficult to get much nearer perfection than this. The game's sold 54 million copies, and I guarantee every single one of them enjoyed something about this game.

    If you're even remotely considering this game, just go and buy it. I did, and I do not regret it at all.
    Expand
  39. Aug 17, 2015
    8
    I absolutely 100% LOVE this game, it's a big leap forward since GTA 4! Story is amazing, game play and gun play is great, characters are amazing, voice acting is solid, and car customization is amazing, it feels like Forza Motorsport. However, the driving is floaty and weird, cops are more aggressive than all the Grand Theft Autos, and the multiplayer on launch sucked dong. And problemsI absolutely 100% LOVE this game, it's a big leap forward since GTA 4! Story is amazing, game play and gun play is great, characters are amazing, voice acting is solid, and car customization is amazing, it feels like Forza Motorsport. However, the driving is floaty and weird, cops are more aggressive than all the Grand Theft Autos, and the multiplayer on launch sucked dong. And problems like these still run rampant to this day, even more so on the Xbox One and Playstation 4. Expand
  40. Aug 17, 2015
    8
    In my opinion, the greatest strengths in Grand Theft Auto were the amount of detail in the world. Also I could point out the character level progress that improves the performance of the abilities.

    One of the weaknesses of the game were the glitches and hacks that can be used, especially online. This truly ruins the gaming experience of other users. The most compelling part of the
    In my opinion, the greatest strengths in Grand Theft Auto were the amount of detail in the world. Also I could point out the character level progress that improves the performance of the abilities.

    One of the weaknesses of the game were the glitches and hacks that can be used, especially online. This truly ruins the gaming experience of other users.

    The most compelling part of the game is The Merryweather Hiest. Upon completion, the character can then purchase many items to play around with.

    Overall, the game interface was amazing. With the next-generation console game, all players are able to access 'first-person'. This brings out the beauty in Los Santos to see it in a humans POV.
    Expand
  41. Aug 3, 2015
    10
    I love this game. Map is actually huge and varied (city, seaside, cliffs, desert, countryside, lakes, mountains, waterfalls etc..), graphic is very good and there are several missions, strangers and freaks and also random events to play. I like that you can choose three characters, each one with his missions and personality. There is also a great choice of vehicles, especially wonderfulI love this game. Map is actually huge and varied (city, seaside, cliffs, desert, countryside, lakes, mountains, waterfalls etc..), graphic is very good and there are several missions, strangers and freaks and also random events to play. I like that you can choose three characters, each one with his missions and personality. There is also a great choice of vehicles, especially wonderful cars. In my opinion it is absolutely the best GTA. Expand
  42. Jul 18, 2015
    8
    Great game. Had it for the 360 and loaned it to a buddy but he was a little d$@k and loaned it to another guy, now that I have the Ps4 I have it for my Ps4. I think the game is very fun. But me and my former friend have some issues with each-other, if I call him and say "yo dude, I want my f3%ken money back" then he'll call the Cops on my a** again.
  43. Jul 12, 2015
    9
    everyone who knows me knows i love grand theft auto. i have no words to explain this game really its that good but i will try my best. the story is told in a new bold way with 3 people to play as. i wont spoil everything but i will say its top notch movie quality story telling here. the mission structure is much better now we finally have cool new innovative missions i say that becauseeveryone who knows me knows i love grand theft auto. i have no words to explain this game really its that good but i will try my best. the story is told in a new bold way with 3 people to play as. i wont spoil everything but i will say its top notch movie quality story telling here. the mission structure is much better now we finally have cool new innovative missions i say that because usuly the game will have you shoot someone steel a car or steel money. but this game has you riding dirt bikes on top of trains shooting down private jets and this game offers new heist missions were you clean out a gem store to turn into money you will rob the biggest banks in the west coast and more. these are tuff tasks that have you do tons of planning. but besides the story what can you do well you can mod cars go golfing play tennis go skydiving listen to great music and this game has you coverd with a huge amount of weopons all costomizable for your city destruction plessure! now i will say though the game has a huge difficulty spike twords the end even though the entire thing is a peice of cake you wont expect it. and alot of the value is in multiplayer and i dont care as much about multiplayer and cant offord it so how long did gta v take me to beat it took me about just under 2 weeks thats just a big fat fail! for some perspective the last game grand theft auto 4 took me about 4 months to beat and i was able to put about 45 hours. this game was more like 30 hours but another thing is to make the game longer i have to do side missions and they are not even that cool! so thats the reason that this game gets 9 out of ten instead of 10 its awesome it looks amazing its a huge gta world there is a ton do do but with out xbox live you wont get all your money out of this game i really wanted it to be a ten but i just cant issue the legendary rating with this one. but im telling you to buy it. Expand
  44. Jul 12, 2015
    9
    Grand theft auto V is an amazing experience to play. You will have a great time looking at the visuals and doing the hilariously fun missions. A huge open world to do a wide range of activities. For once there's actually a open world outside the city like deserts, seriously deserts. Grand theft auto V also has animals too which makes the experience extra immersive and realistic like boars,Grand theft auto V is an amazing experience to play. You will have a great time looking at the visuals and doing the hilariously fun missions. A huge open world to do a wide range of activities. For once there's actually a open world outside the city like deserts, seriously deserts. Grand theft auto V also has animals too which makes the experience extra immersive and realistic like boars, rats, chickens, chimpanzees, cougars, coyotes and cows etc. This is a blast to play. But this game has a ton of problems like the story, characters (except for the main characters) and Grand theft auto Online can sometimes be a disgrace. But Grand theft auto Online is actually very fun and enjoyable if it's working properly. Honestly, Grand theft auto V really should get a 10/10 but because of some of its disappointments it gets a 9/10. The Easter eggs are also awesome in this game, Rockstar has done it again!! Expand
  45. Jul 1, 2015
    10
    Just stunning. Amazing game, great graphics. So much content, impossible to get bored. Once completed, you can replay missions. Great variety. Can do anything right from the start.
  46. May 30, 2015
    10
    It´s just a perfect game. There is no other game, in which you have so much freedom.
    And I love the idea of playing three characters, it works perfectly !
  47. May 22, 2015
    9
    Former criminal Michael teams up with Franklin and his old partner-in-crime, Trevor, to pull off a series of heists in an attempt to relive the glory days. The story takes you through some insane, satire-filled missions as you switch between characters at any time, which adds to not only the missions but the entire open-world game. As you explore the massive and detailed San Andreas, youFormer criminal Michael teams up with Franklin and his old partner-in-crime, Trevor, to pull off a series of heists in an attempt to relive the glory days. The story takes you through some insane, satire-filled missions as you switch between characters at any time, which adds to not only the missions but the entire open-world game. As you explore the massive and detailed San Andreas, you can purchase different stocks, guns, clothes, properties, etc. with different characters. Aside form the story, you can race, get into crazy gunfights, play tennis, complete side missions, fly planes and, of course, steal cars, as well as many other things. Single player alone is immense but then there’s GTA Online, the game’s sandbox multiplayer mode. Despite its greatness in most regards, the stupid humor is sometimes just stupid without being actually humorous. Also, some missions are annoying and, well, there are plenty of other minor flaws that prevent it from recieveing a ten. a nine is still a fantastic score, though. GTA V offers a huge open world with plenty of exploration and random mayhem to distract you from the over-the-top-action-filled main story. It has almost all you could want from a game! Expand
  48. Apr 28, 2015
    3
    The story was great, enjoyed that. Everyone complains about that, and not the gameplay. GTA for me is a way to escape reality, enjoy the chaos and mayhem part, fighting it out with the police, and other general fun stuff. But did this installment offer that? To me it took away the fun I had of playing past entries in that regard, and that is what made me sour for the game. I actually getThe story was great, enjoyed that. Everyone complains about that, and not the gameplay. GTA for me is a way to escape reality, enjoy the chaos and mayhem part, fighting it out with the police, and other general fun stuff. But did this installment offer that? To me it took away the fun I had of playing past entries in that regard, and that is what made me sour for the game. I actually get punished for going on a high speed police chase, by overpowered and over realistic AI. The game goes from being a game, to a life simulator, where you are forced to follow the rules and if you break them, you have to deal with insanely fast police cars, helicopters, and police who can shoot you from around corners and have x-ray vision. GTA 4 had the perfect police system in my opinion, it could have been tweaked a bit, but they had it perfect.

    Exploration was great, up until being mauled by mountain lions every time I set foot in the country side. I don't mind the thrill of wild beasts, but I think there was just too much of that. Sharks in the game were in limited quantities and restricted to certain areas, why not the same for mountain lions?
    Expand
  49. Apr 23, 2015
    8
    This is a great game, but I have a few gripes. One is that sometimes when you switch characters, their clothes change. That makes it pretty hard to keep track of the character's clothing. Another is that getting the cars that you want to spawn to spawn is really hard and different from the earlier game. It's almost like the game knows what cars you want to spawn and it doesn't spawn them.This is a great game, but I have a few gripes. One is that sometimes when you switch characters, their clothes change. That makes it pretty hard to keep track of the character's clothing. Another is that getting the cars that you want to spawn to spawn is really hard and different from the earlier game. It's almost like the game knows what cars you want to spawn and it doesn't spawn them. The worst gripe of all is that you need to link your game to a Rockstar Games Social Club account to even SAVE pictures. That should just be for sharing them. The PS2 with San Andreas could take them without linking anything. If you don't have gold, you can't even take pictures. Expand
  50. Apr 16, 2015
    10
    Best open world game on x360. Its only rival is San Andreas.
    It definitely was game of the year for me.
    And it well deserves 10/10 score. I cant understand how somebody can say this game is bad because You can go to strip club and comment, that he'll get flame from 10 year olds - they shouldnt play this game it has 18 rating. This game for me is just like Quentin Tarantino movies -
    Best open world game on x360. Its only rival is San Andreas.
    It definitely was game of the year for me.
    And it well deserves 10/10 score.
    I cant understand how somebody can say this game is bad because You can go to strip club and comment, that he'll get flame from 10 year olds - they shouldnt play this game it has 18 rating.
    This game for me is just like Quentin Tarantino movies - something like and as good as Pulp fiction.
    Expand
  51. Apr 6, 2015
    2
    Very dumbed down car handling. It is pathetic and I bet that was made for all that casual players that dont know nothing about real world physics etc. So that kids can have fun in stupid games but when they grow up they are making car accidents because they have no idea about real car handling. Pathetic game because of what they did to car physics. And that funny ability to rock car backVery dumbed down car handling. It is pathetic and I bet that was made for all that casual players that dont know nothing about real world physics etc. So that kids can have fun in stupid games but when they grow up they are making car accidents because they have no idea about real car handling. Pathetic game because of what they did to car physics. And that funny ability to rock car back on wheels hahaha another feature for dumb kids. GTA is so childish that it hurts. I will not buy that game. I only hope that good moders will fix that pathetic childish car handling on PC version. Also add speedometer, fuel usage and stuff that will make this game more real so it will not look so much dumbed down.

    In terms of weapons they made better work compared to GTA4 but they still are away from real counterparts. For example shotguns can be reloaded with one single shell WTF rockstar you imbeciles!

    All this inconsistency and dumbing down is degraded my score like crazy even if there is lots of cool things in this game then it is obliterated by those imbecile designs that I mentioned above.
    Expand
  52. Mar 18, 2015
    10
    The world of Grand Theft Auto V is a masterpiece and has set a very high level for sandbox game.and i think Grand Theft Auto V One of the best games. The massive scale of the world along with the story make for a ridiculous amount of things to do

    and the online is awesome
  53. Mar 12, 2015
    8
    Great fun with friends in it's Multi-player component and the campaign was very entertaining. I'll shorten this as much as I can:

    Pro's: - The multiplayer is great fun. It has progression in your character whilst not forcing anything upon you, if you still want to have casual fun, do so. - The campaign has an interesting story and the introduction of three characters to be changed
    Great fun with friends in it's Multi-player component and the campaign was very entertaining. I'll shorten this as much as I can:

    Pro's:

    - The multiplayer is great fun. It has progression in your character whilst not forcing anything upon you, if you still want to have casual fun, do so.
    - The campaign has an interesting story and the introduction of three characters to be changed to on the fly makes for interesting gameplay. You can go on a rampage with one guy and then proceed to instantly switch to the other who is playing tennis.
    - Rockstar have repeatedly supported the game, especially now that heists are out. However, on the topic of heists...

    Con's:

    - Whilst I can't complain about them being out, I can complain about how they were promised at release and yet we only recieved them literally more than a year since it's release. We shouldn't of had to wait so long.
    - The Online component should have more freedom in terms of the free mode. GTA IV had options in private games to turn off the police and such, these are options that should have been introduced for private games in GTA V. It's rather annoying when me and my friends are simply having fun doing one thing, and then have the rather too effective police ruin it.
    - Most enemies, which includes the vicious police, have ridiculous aim and damage. It's not fun to have some enemy blind fire an SMG out of cover with laser beam accuracy and then die. I believe the AI ferocity in GTA IV was the right amount.

    Even though I listed more con's than pro's here, I really do recommend this game.
    Expand
  54. Feb 27, 2015
    10
    Graphics are at the maximum! As more mission - tuning cars, Bank robbery, and much more! I think this game was worth every dollar of the 250 000 000 dollars. I have no words. Score - 10
  55. Feb 21, 2015
    2
    Seriously this game and it's online community is going downhill by patch by patch.Very buggy and bad driving physics. Rockstar removed great features that were present in Gta 4.The cops are op in this game.For example i killed someone no one saw me but as i was going to leave i got a one star level and decided to run.The cop Al might be fixed on next gen.
  56. Feb 21, 2015
    5
    Sincerely, GTA V is fun only during missions. The open world is going to getting boring until the end of the main story and secondary missions. There is not so much destruction that you can cause that saves the game from boredom even with tennis, golf and diving. And the smart police? Even if there are no witnesses, they appears anywhere ruining the fun. One day when we can get inSincerely, GTA V is fun only during missions. The open world is going to getting boring until the end of the main story and secondary missions. There is not so much destruction that you can cause that saves the game from boredom even with tennis, golf and diving. And the smart police? Even if there are no witnesses, they appears anywhere ruining the fun. One day when we can get in anywhere, cause destruction and escape before someone call the police, GTA will be amazing. Expand
  57. Feb 20, 2015
    10
    My most anticipated game from recent years, and OH BOY! it delivered!

    Graphics, Story, Map, Setting, Good characters, The wildlife, The guns, The sex jokes, Amazing heist missions, Good multiplayer and Overall A masterpiece of an open world game, My personal best game of 2013, 2014 and now 2015 with the upcoming pc release.
  58. Feb 6, 2015
    10
    Let me get this across, I’ve been playing Grand Theft Auto since 3 first came out and it wasn’t until San Andreas, which from reading other reviews is a fan favorite, that these games really made an impact to me. With San Andreas open world sandbox games were really given a true flagship of which to stand behind with the amount of available different things to do. Grand Theft Auto IV had aLet me get this across, I’ve been playing Grand Theft Auto since 3 first came out and it wasn’t until San Andreas, which from reading other reviews is a fan favorite, that these games really made an impact to me. With San Andreas open world sandbox games were really given a true flagship of which to stand behind with the amount of available different things to do. Grand Theft Auto IV had a great story but I felt it lacked in this department since it was going for a much grittier and gloomy look. GTA V has brought the open world back and with it the replay value of this game. Hours alone can be spent in single player combing the world for elusive side mission items or completing side missions. The main story mode took myself about 35 hours to complete just the main missions. Expand
  59. Jan 26, 2015
    5
    I don't get why everybody's praising this game, it has a terrible story, horribly unlikable characters and repetitive gameplay. It's not God awful since it has great gameplay and amazing graphics, but the overall experience could have been better.
  60. Jan 26, 2015
    10
    Grand Theft Auto V-a detailed review

    Plot Summary: GTA V is about a retired bank robber (Michael De Santa),a psychotic drug addict,and a small time gangster,as they take on the most dangerous heists and powerful people in the city of Los Santos. Its a third person shooter set in the state of Los Santos where anything can happen.The city is big and fun with lots to do and much to
    Grand Theft Auto V-a detailed review

    Plot Summary: GTA V is about a retired bank robber (Michael De Santa),a psychotic drug addict,and a small time gangster,as they take on the most dangerous heists and powerful people in the city of Los Santos.

    Its a third person shooter set in the state of Los Santos where anything can happen.The city is big and fun with lots to do and much to destroy.You can steal cars,you can rob a store,you can customize your car,go on a rampage.There are endless opportunities in Los Santos the city is yours.With three awesome protagonists and a huge city with hours worth of fun,what more could you ask for?

    Gameplay wise the game is great,the controls are great,its really easy to get used too.There are many guns and with regular updates more guns are getting added more and more so you can cause more mayhem.There are also melee weapons from baseball bats to crowbars to hammers you can hack anything to death.

    In the city of Los Santos there are hundreds are cars to choose from.But no just cars,there are planes,trucks,helicopters,boats,submarines,tanks,motorbikes,the lot.With all these these vehicles to choose from you can explore a lot whether your underwater or in the air there are lots are mysteries and fun stuff to find.

    Overall GTA V is a beast of a game that I would award 10/10 for such an excellent experience thank you rockstar!
    Expand
  61. Jan 11, 2015
    9
    What an amazing game! GTA V took all of the best aspects of previous games, and brought them together in a tightly bunched package. The ONLY real complaint I have, is that helicopter piloting continues to be the worst vehicle control I have ever experienced... in any game... ever. However, that has become such an identifying factor of GTA, that they day they make helicopters fly smoothlyWhat an amazing game! GTA V took all of the best aspects of previous games, and brought them together in a tightly bunched package. The ONLY real complaint I have, is that helicopter piloting continues to be the worst vehicle control I have ever experienced... in any game... ever. However, that has become such an identifying factor of GTA, that they day they make helicopters fly smoothly will be long after I'm dead and gone. Brilliant, creative, and wholly entertaining game. I can't wait for the next one! Expand
  62. Jan 11, 2015
    9
    It feels good to be back in Los Santos after nearly a decade of GTA San Andreas being out. The graphics are amazing! And the idea of having 3 playable-characters is brilliant too. Did anyone else visit Grove Street for the nostalgia, because I sure did. The map is huge and there are so many places to go and see. There are also many amusing Easter eggs. But the best thing about GTA SanIt feels good to be back in Los Santos after nearly a decade of GTA San Andreas being out. The graphics are amazing! And the idea of having 3 playable-characters is brilliant too. Did anyone else visit Grove Street for the nostalgia, because I sure did. The map is huge and there are so many places to go and see. There are also many amusing Easter eggs. But the best thing about GTA San Andreas is now back in GTA V. Customization! In GTA IV there was no customization. We couldn't change our hairstyle, get ridiculous tattoos or pimp our cars. But this is all back in GTA V
    At the start there had been some problems with GTA Online but after it started working it was fun to go on police chases with your friends and rob liquor stores. Now that heists are soon coming to GTA Online i'd better get my crew together
    Expand
  63. Dec 28, 2014
    10
    this game deserves to be above Gta 4! GTA 5 brings all what other titles have brought into the industry under one title and have redefined it even more. the gameplay is smooth and the graphics are amazing and realistic, every bit of it truly is ! I have been waiting for this type of game for years and i am absolutely rapt that i pre-ordered it as soon it was available ! Rockstar has addedthis game deserves to be above Gta 4! GTA 5 brings all what other titles have brought into the industry under one title and have redefined it even more. the gameplay is smooth and the graphics are amazing and realistic, every bit of it truly is ! I have been waiting for this type of game for years and i am absolutely rapt that i pre-ordered it as soon it was available ! Rockstar has added every tiny things to the game to make it more interesting and fascinating. The map is huge and it never gets boring as there is so much to explore in the city of Los Santos and Blaine County and even the wildlife has added the boost to the comforting gameplay. The characters are well chosen even their voice actors and the introduction of each of them is unique. the level of detail is astounding and mindblowing. this will probably be the best game ever for years to come by and the only game that could probably overtake this would be another product of rockstar games. This definitely deserves the game of the year title (2013-14) Expand
  64. Dec 28, 2014
    0
    To this day, I never see the hype of this game. Its a mediocre third person shooter with some ugly visuals and a pretty bad story. Ok, i'll admit, there are some cool missions. And some cool things to do. But really, the % of good to bad is maybe 20-80. Great-You can play golf and tennis. Who cares?The game goes for quantity of Quality and the result is mediocre.
    InB4AngryFanboys
  65. Dec 26, 2014
    10
    this game is one of the best ever created, graphics incredible both in the older generation, is twice the next generation, very good story that fits perfectly in the game, the only defect is the missions that are very easy, is few missions, being possible to complete the game in a day or hours, the online mode is perfect and copetivivo, it is possible you their apartments, cars etc ...this game is one of the best ever created, graphics incredible both in the older generation, is twice the next generation, very good story that fits perfectly in the game, the only defect is the missions that are very easy, is few missions, being possible to complete the game in a day or hours, the online mode is perfect and copetivivo, it is possible you their apartments, cars etc ... perfect game !! Rockstar did not disappoint on any of their games, all free DLCs. Expand
  66. Dec 19, 2014
    9
    After beating vice city, San Andreas, gta III and gta IV, I had one last game to get through: gta V. Does it live up to the high standards of the series? Let's find out. The story doesn't even start in Los santos, some criminal named Michael, Trevor, and brad are robbing a bank in a snowy town called north Yankton in the year 2004. Micheal and Trevor barely make it out and the game fastAfter beating vice city, San Andreas, gta III and gta IV, I had one last game to get through: gta V. Does it live up to the high standards of the series? Let's find out. The story doesn't even start in Los santos, some criminal named Michael, Trevor, and brad are robbing a bank in a snowy town called north Yankton in the year 2004. Micheal and Trevor barely make it out and the game fast forwards to 2013 in Los santos, gta's version of Los Angeles. Micheal is now rich and miserable. He's retired from crime and lives in a mansion with his annoying family. His wife is getting lessons from a tennis coach on how to play tennis (or is she?) his daughter is hanging out with snobby celebrities and trying to get on tv , and his son sits in his room all day playing righteous slaughter 7 (an exaggerated call of duty spoof). He comes across a street hustler named franklin and them along with some other people go on a jewelry store heist to pay off a debt. Trevor finds out about the heist and comes down to see Michael again and now the three characters are a criminal trio. They get involved with other gangs and corrupt government agencies and must go on a series of epic and daring heists to pay off debts and become the cities kingpin criminals. There are some cool twists along the way, and the characters are all cool in their own way. Micheal is like able and interesting, Trevor is interesting but not likeable, and Franklin is likeable but not interesting. But all three endings aren't satisfying and feel rushed. The story missions are pretty fun most of the time l, but can dip down in quality at times. You can go from robbing banks and hijacking cargo planes, to doing yoga and operating a crane. Missions like that where bring as hell and felt like gimmicky filler to some otherwise brilliantly made missions. I also that you get to be the boss during the heists. You choose who to hire, the better they are the more money you have to give them, whether you go in stealthy or loud, what's your getaway vehicle, etc. the heists are the funniest missions and make you feel like a true crime boss. This being gta, there is an absolutely **** ginormous open world map to explore, and this time the whole map is unlocked right away without having to do story missions to unlock new areas. There's a ton of vehicles, such as request cars, jeeps, motorcycles, four wheelers, tanks, boats, stunt planes, fighter jets, gigantic cargo planes, helicopters, and so much more there is also more guns than before. This game uses the red dead redemption weapons wheel, which slows time when you switch weapons and lets you carry every weapon in the game at one time. Another improvement carried over from red dead redemption is mid mission checkpoints, so no more starting a mission all over again from the beginning. The map itself is huge and varied, Los santos is on the southern end and has houses, an airport, skyscrapers, etc. The rest of the map is desert countryside and mountains, and the entire map is full of detail and it's worth exploring to see all the cool things it has to offer. You can switch between the three characters at any time, and they all have special abilities, certain side missions, and businesses to buy. There is a TON of stuff to do. You can do triathlons, atv races, shooting galleries, parachuting, tennis, see a movie, or of course piss off the cops and destroy the entire place with a minigun. Everything is well done, so it has both quality and quantity. If you like tennis then you'll like tennis here, but if you don't like tennis then you won't like it here. The graphics on this game will make your xbox glow red and puff steam, they are just that good. Fly a helicopter as high as you can and then get a good look at the world around you and you'll see what I mean. The sound design is rather average, the radio stations are good but not as memorable as previous games. Although the voice acting is incredible, everyone is very convincing in their performance. So yes, it definitely lives up to the high standards of the series. It's better than III and IV, but not as good as vice city and San Andreas. It has just enough new things to keep it fresh, but at its core it's the same gta everyone loves. If you haven't played any gta games yet, than this is a good place to start since it's much more reliable and approachable than previous games. Expand
  67. Dec 11, 2014
    10
    After many committed hours to finishing the single player, 100%, I found not only had I been having fun, I had been playing one of the best games ever. The risks Rock star takes in this game are always on point, even if you feel they go too far, it still works. All the main characters are built up like a well-crafted game should build them up. Visually stunning, and just as good as itsAfter many committed hours to finishing the single player, 100%, I found not only had I been having fun, I had been playing one of the best games ever. The risks Rock star takes in this game are always on point, even if you feel they go too far, it still works. All the main characters are built up like a well-crafted game should build them up. Visually stunning, and just as good as its predecessor, if not better, Grand Theft Auto V should be on everyone 's "must play games" list. Expand
  68. Dec 11, 2014
    10
    This game has been out for a while and I have to say, this is probably the best game ever made. A step up from GTA IV, the most impressive thing about this installment is the attention to detail. Every single interaction between the character and the open world causes a convincing reaction. The graphics are a huge step up from the previous games in the series. Aim-and-shoot mechanics areThis game has been out for a while and I have to say, this is probably the best game ever made. A step up from GTA IV, the most impressive thing about this installment is the attention to detail. Every single interaction between the character and the open world causes a convincing reaction. The graphics are a huge step up from the previous games in the series. Aim-and-shoot mechanics are decent. The story and map layout are incredible. The only poor aspect to the game is the very unreliable multiplayer mode. The launch was a disaster and even now people still have problems with connectivity, etc. I don't play multiplayer on this game though so it earned a 10. I would pay $60 for this game over any COD, GTA, Battlefield, etc. Have never played something more entertaining and technically impressive.

    100/100
    Expand
  69. Nov 29, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the game that goes beyond limits:
    Rockstars´ masterpiece is definitely the undisputed king of open world/sandbox gameplay. I have never experencied this kind of freedom and satisfaction in a video game before.
    Despite the big "things" like the enormously large pool of vehicles, the possibility the do whatever you want whenever you want, the small things like switching a cabrio from open to closed or changing the power of light at a car are the stuff that really differs this game from others and makes it a piece of gaming history that every fan of video games should have played.
    Thx u Rockstar for this phenominal game.
    Expand
  70. Nov 28, 2014
    10
    Having played all the 3D gta games on console i was really looking forward to playing this one, a definite must have if you are a fan, well worth your money and then some, the online mode adds a whole lot of value and makes this a great stand out tite.
  71. Nov 27, 2014
    9
    This game was obviously a better version of Grand Theft Auto IV. Therefore it is already a splendid game. I'm only rating the story not the online because they are pretty much two completely different experiences. However, for the story and game-play alone; it's a solid 9.
  72. Nov 18, 2014
    10
    With the release of the new gen versions out, I decided to go back to this version and see just how much has changed. It remains as the best Grand Theft Auto game in my opinion and the next gen version doesn't revolutionise the game too much.
  73. Nov 10, 2014
    10
    In every measurable sense, this is the greatest GTA game of all time. Sure, you may prefer the 80s vibe of Vice City or the more varied landscape of San Andreas but GTA V is the first game in the series that actually has missions that are more fun than frustrating. In previous incarnations, the missions were so annoying I spent most of my time just exploring the cities rather than tryingIn every measurable sense, this is the greatest GTA game of all time. Sure, you may prefer the 80s vibe of Vice City or the more varied landscape of San Andreas but GTA V is the first game in the series that actually has missions that are more fun than frustrating. In previous incarnations, the missions were so annoying I spent most of my time just exploring the cities rather than trying to complete my objectives. GTA V not only adds a reasonable checkpoint system but also finally introduces some variety. Instead of the repetitive "drive here, drive there" missions in previous entries, GTA V actually makes you feel like you're part of a heist. Nothing goes to plan of course, but that's part of the fun of GTA! What really makes this game stand out is the online mode. Nothing is more fun than hopping in a car with your buddy and cruising around Las Santos looking to cause some mayhem. Expand
  74. Nov 10, 2014
    10
    A game that truly pushes these consoles to their limits and packs an almighty punch. Although these may not be the nicest visuals ever, Rockstar have done what they can to squeeze every last bit of power out of the consoles to make a joyful and interesting experience. The physics and gameplay are as equally as good, with a great story to follow.
  75. Nov 9, 2014
    10
    Great game, lots to do and very likeable characters. online is very fun party up do missions, races or deathmatches fun all around. campaign is great. open world your choice of what to do next unlike other games where its like a hallway effect where you can only go forward not left right or back. 10/10 very playable and great replayability on next gen & pc
  76. Nov 6, 2014
    10
    Grand Theft Auto is taking a huge step for the next gen. consoles. Their now adding fps (First person shooter) which is gonna make a lot more thing interesting. 10/10
  77. Nov 4, 2014
    9
    After playing GTA V, I was in total awe. This game offered such an open experience, there are so many opportunities across the map from massacring innocents and having a last stand against the cops to running a marathon. The missions although lacked interest most of the time, but the six grand heists performed were amazing, each unique and more exciting then the last! If you get the chanceAfter playing GTA V, I was in total awe. This game offered such an open experience, there are so many opportunities across the map from massacring innocents and having a last stand against the cops to running a marathon. The missions although lacked interest most of the time, but the six grand heists performed were amazing, each unique and more exciting then the last! If you get the chance to get this game get it, that's all I can say. Expand
  78. Nov 4, 2014
    10
    Legendary the best games ever -ign wow woooooow - gamepot omg i just pooped my pants - gamesrader this game is designed for gay people to go to the strip club in 1969 it was banned world wide due to igns high rating in 1973..........
  79. Oct 29, 2014
    10
    GTA 5: A Work of Art

    Grand Theft Auto 5 is the best video game to ever be put on the market. Considering that “[Rockstar] has sold 33 million copies of Grand Theft Auto 5” (Their) for the last generation of consoles, and that it was the most popular video game of 2013, it’s safe to say that GTA 5 is masterpiece. Rockstar is now in the process of making their most successful game ever,
    GTA 5: A Work of Art

    Grand Theft Auto 5 is the best video game to ever be put on the market. Considering that “[Rockstar] has sold 33 million copies of Grand Theft Auto 5” (Their) for the last generation of consoles, and that it was the most popular video game of 2013, it’s safe to say that GTA 5 is masterpiece. Rockstar is now in the process of making their most successful game ever, even better! Next generation gamers across the globe are sitting at home eagerly waiting on the November 18 release date of the new and improved version of their favorite game.
    Although there were no complaints about Grand Theft Auto 5’s graphics on PS3 and Xbox 360, one of the reasons why the next gen versions of GTA 5 will be so much better than the previous versions is the graphics. The image capabilities of the Xbox One and the PS4 far surpass those of their predecessors, and allow Rockstar’s developers to greatly enrich all aspects of GTA 5’s graphics. Many improvements were made to the game design and “Though these are, in essence, graphical changes, the mechanical effect they would have on the game could be huge” (Nowgamer). The improvements of the graphics include things that will make the actual gameplay tremendously more enjoyable. Such as increased traffic density to make driving more realistic, more advanced foliage so that bushes are no longer like cement walls, more realistic weather, and more advanced physics are all some of the things that will make Grand Theft Auto far better than before.
    Not only are the graphics improved, Grand Theft Auto 5’s online play has been made even better than it used to be on older generation consoles. Its’ online play is one of the things that really sets it apart from any other video game ever released. It now allows you to roam around a huge city named Los Santos with up to 30 other online gamers, when the limit was previously only 15. With the vast amount of options the Rockstar developers offer you online, the game seems to never get old. With 30 other people roaming around the same online realm as you anything could happen; this really sparks the competitiveness in the lobby. This game easily offers the most enjoyable online multiplayer experience of any game ever created. Even after months of playing it every single day, there are most likely several aspects of the game that you still have not been exposed to. The free world experience of GTA 5 is unmatched by any other game that has been released to date.
    Everything set aside, the main reason why Grand Theft Auto 5 is the best game ever created is the unparalleled freedom that the game allows its players to have. The game is truly amazing; it allows players to do almost anything that they can imagine. No matter what kind of mood you are in, GTA 5 offers something that will be sure to entertain you. If You’ve had a bad day, you and go out and reek havoc on Los Santos county with guns, grenades, and rocket launchers to release some stress. If you are feeling peaceful and relaxed, you can go out and take photos of the virtual wildlife. GTA 5 will allow you to experience anything and everything from racing exotic cars, shooting guns, skydiving, flying planes, to buying houses. The game offers a plethora of vehicles for you to play with, cars, planes, boats, helicopters, and even a few blimps. You are able to purchase real estate and even customize the furniture within. There are even downloadable packages and updates so that the game is always changing. If you can imagine doing it, GTA 5 most likely allows you to.
    If you are in the market for a new video game, you cannot go wrong with the choice of Grand Theft Auto 5. The game has graphics that you will never grow tired of looking at. It has an online community that is very avid, offering a virtual experience that is one of the greatest and most fun available. The freedom that the game offers is like none other and becomes addictingly enjoyable as you do anything your hear desires. Rockstar’s 33+ million copies sold already just go to show that Grand Theft Auto 5 is the best video game ever created.

    Annotated Bibliography
    Nowgamer.com. "GTA 5 PS4 & Xbox One: Whats New & Is It Worth It?" Nowgamer.com. Nowgamer.com, 12 June 2014. Web. 26 Oct. 2014.
    Thier, Dave. "'Grand Theft Auto 5' Has Sold Nearly $2 Billion." Forbes. Forbes Magazine, 13 May 2014. Web. 29 Oct. 2014.
    Expand
  80. Oct 29, 2014
    6
    This review is for GTA V and GTA: Online.
    GTA V: Flawless story, incredible open world design, plus a lot still to do when finished the main storyline. 10/10
    GTA Online: Massive issues at launch, seemingly better over time, but not great. I for one am sick of Rockstar's lying about heists for 7th gen (360/PS3) consoles. They stated that the heists will be out before the end of Spring
    This review is for GTA V and GTA: Online.
    GTA V: Flawless story, incredible open world design, plus a lot still to do when finished the main storyline. 10/10

    GTA Online: Massive issues at launch, seemingly better over time, but not great. I for one am sick of Rockstar's lying about heists for 7th gen (360/PS3) consoles. They stated that the heists will be out before the end of Spring 2014. It's now just about to be Winter. They should stop procrastinating on new updates and FOCUS on the heists. 1/10

    I feel cheated out of £45 from launch day. If heists aren't coming out for 360/PS3, I see no reason to spend £300-400 on a new console just for them or new content. Not buying another Rockstar game again, as the damage has been done. 6/10
    Expand
  81. Oct 27, 2014
    6
    Grand Theft Auto V was well over hyped which led to its somewhat downfall of what it could have been. The graphics are nice and the driving is improved but by the end of the game i wanted more. And by the time Multi-player came out i knew i had bit of more than i could chew and had to swallow it however painful it was. 6/10 Single player: Great, Multi-player: A never ending joy ride ofGrand Theft Auto V was well over hyped which led to its somewhat downfall of what it could have been. The graphics are nice and the driving is improved but by the end of the game i wanted more. And by the time Multi-player came out i knew i had bit of more than i could chew and had to swallow it however painful it was. 6/10 Single player: Great, Multi-player: A never ending joy ride of vomit and Big Smoke saying "All you had to do was follow the damn train C.J". Expand
  82. Oct 22, 2014
    10
    Grand Theft Auto V is in my opinion the best GTA game, the story is great, the characters are great, when you die you don't lose your weapons. Those are some of the reasons why I love this game.
    10/10
  83. Oct 21, 2014
    10
    Grand theft auto was apsolutely sheeit even though i put 10 hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
  84. Oct 17, 2014
    5
    So many idiots give this pile of crap a 10. All cars are invincible, Cops all have super powers, and their squad cars can keep up with Bugatti's. The stroymode, terrible. Why did they make you work for the government for the entire game? I want to work for the mob and rob banks, Not work for the FIB all game. I hate the characters, There is no mention of ANY previous character from SanSo many idiots give this pile of crap a 10. All cars are invincible, Cops all have super powers, and their squad cars can keep up with Bugatti's. The stroymode, terrible. Why did they make you work for the government for the entire game? I want to work for the mob and rob banks, Not work for the FIB all game. I hate the characters, There is no mention of ANY previous character from San andreas, excluding Lazlow who is in every single GTA, and really needs to be removed. The graphics make San andreas look as if everything in the universe has been polished and waxed. This game isn't even a fun sandbox. Expand
  85. Oct 13, 2014
    8
    A bit of a disappointment. Despite still being a great game, gta v did not quite live up to the hype with the total amount of freedom in the world. Still one of the best games of 2013 but I expected more
  86. Oct 9, 2014
    10
    Overall, this game is amazing. I am giving it a 10, not because its perfect, but because its one of, if not the best game out for Xbox 360. I played online since the first day it was around, and it was a painful process. The menus were so slow, games would freeze mid-load, startup would take about 5-10 solid minutes. They have fixed many issues with online now, and it is significantlyOverall, this game is amazing. I am giving it a 10, not because its perfect, but because its one of, if not the best game out for Xbox 360. I played online since the first day it was around, and it was a painful process. The menus were so slow, games would freeze mid-load, startup would take about 5-10 solid minutes. They have fixed many issues with online now, and it is significantly better (tho there is still a ton of down time in between missions).

    Worth the buy.
    Expand
  87. Oct 8, 2014
    9
    Bel gioco, ma carente dal punto di vista di storia poche missione e multiplayer che a lungo ad andare diventa noioso e frustrante si aspettano aggiornamenti importanti.
  88. Oct 4, 2014
    10
    An absolutely amazing game. Takes every great aspect of other Rockstar titles and combines them into one awesome package. Gameplay, mission variety, atmosphere, graphics, voice acting ETC, are all top notch.
  89. Oct 3, 2014
    10
    Grand Theft Auto five is one of the best games i have played. It was the game that got me into playing video games.I do play a lot of online , and injoy it being able to rome around kill people own cars,apartments,ex.Also being able to play with friends or troll people.
  90. Oct 3, 2014
    7
    Writing a review on this feels like writing a review on Minecraft. There probably isn't a lot you don't already know about Grand Theft Auto V that hasn't already been bellowed out from the mouths of overbearing game critics who regard this game in particular as the next bold step forward into the future of gaming. Yet this game isn't exactly free from pop-in problems and not very frequentWriting a review on this feels like writing a review on Minecraft. There probably isn't a lot you don't already know about Grand Theft Auto V that hasn't already been bellowed out from the mouths of overbearing game critics who regard this game in particular as the next bold step forward into the future of gaming. Yet this game isn't exactly free from pop-in problems and not very frequent texture bugs. Its not as though these problems aren't going to be fixed when it gets re-released on the PlayStation 4 and Xbox one and PC. Still the same question remains like the one in The Last of Us; why pay another £50 for a re-furbished and slightly bug fixed version of a game you've already got?

    Anyway the game. The gameplay fells adequate enough, but the problem is there are so many things your character can do at any one time. Whether it may be driving a car or plane or just generally walking about, there doesn't seem to be enough buttons on the game controller to fit them all and still be practical and useful enough to actually use them. I imagine this will be fixed for everyone who is anticipating this game for the PC. However the rest of us who are waiting for the game on the remaining consoles will still be stuck with the same controls. Not that this can't be fixed by memorising the controls for vehicle and on foot. Next up the characters. There are three characters you can play as and all posses a different ability and personality. Franklin is the first character you start out with but also seems to be the only one who seems to have had all noticeable traits taken away. Until he's a general straight man who will never say no to someone offering a helicopter ride to immediately parachute from. Or accept an invitation from someone to waste a few in-game months of his life to collect murder notes. Next up is Michael who has retired from bank robbing to spend more time with his family and abuse his kid's privileges. For example about quarter of the way through the game he smashes his son's TV for yelling at it a bit too loudly. Michaels key character motivation is that he is unclear if he is comfortable with the sudden bank heists he's somehow pulled into, and yet seems as equally enthusiastic as everyone else when they actually begin the actual heist. I suppose all that pretty jewellery just got to his head. Finally there's Trevor whose game trailer amusingly barely mentioned him because apparently "The less we say about him, the better." Its said that Trevor is a complete uncontrollable psychopath of the three. A general humorous air surrounds this character by making fun of his "feelings" at his expense and to no-one else. A funny acknowledgement to a mentally damaged man in the complex and cruel world he lives in. The game takes it further by having his partners and friends either be terrified of him or hate his guts or even both. The story is an extremely saving grace because it is very well plotted and given away. Although well-done at points, its sometimes kind of predictable. These tend to mostly be on the side quests which are obviously less important and can be more forgivable for this error in story telling. Having said that, despite our characters committing various and very law-breaking crimes along with their several heists, the authorities don't seem to make any differences to their security. They don't advise the public to be weary of certain people who have been terrorising the city or neighbourhood. In fact the one difference is that a news report comes on a day after your heist and is never mentioned again. I'm aware that this was the least of Rockstar's worries during development, but gameplay and story must weave with each other, not handed to the audience then immediately dropped the second the players attention is diverted to something else.

    Grand Theft Auto 5 is definitely recommended if you haven't got it yet, but its fair to assume you've got it and love it and that's fine. Overall I am looking forward to its release on the PS4 and Xbox One and so will you.
    Expand
  91. Oct 3, 2014
    10
    This games is absolutely amazing. Rockstar really put their effort into this game and made it a living game. Unlike grand theft auto 4 this game has more features more updates and more weapons to interact with. Rockstar I don't recommend u to make another grand theft auto because this one was the best,just keep doing those updates and start a new series. GREAT JOB!!!
  92. Sep 30, 2014
    8
    Definitely not the best open world game, or even the best GTA game, but it's certainly worth the price tag. One of the funnest and most well-written games of the last generation.
  93. Sep 28, 2014
    9
    Grand Theft Auto V, unlike many games of this generation, is a fit addition and improvement to its series.

    The amount of character development in Rockstar's latest installment is not on the level of other games that are known for such development, but the amount of detail given to its three protagonists, their connections to each other, and their lives is admirable. You were not totally
    Grand Theft Auto V, unlike many games of this generation, is a fit addition and improvement to its series.

    The amount of character development in Rockstar's latest installment is not on the level of other games that are known for such development, but the amount of detail given to its three protagonists, their connections to each other, and their lives is admirable. You were not totally immersed in each character's ordeal, but this is not what the Grand Theft Auto series is known for. What it IS known for is its ability to blend semi-realistic shooter elements and a good plot generally not given to shooters.

    The gameplay elements of the game are incredibly enhanced relative to IV's, especially in combination with the new (rather large) freeroam map. One minute you could be robbing a store and attempting (unsuccessfully) to ramp your car over a railing in an attempt to escape the superhuman police under the more-refined engine of the game and the next you could be flying a (stolen) plane over the beautiful, expansive wilderness areas of Los Santos.

    Have you exhausted the singleplayer? Not a fan of collectibles? Well then head on over to GTA Online, one of the quicker-growing multiplayer experiences currently available. The jobs quickly grow boring, but the multiplayer experience depends on just that: having multiple players. Playing with friends is one thing that never grows dull on GTA Online, and the promised addition of more DLC and heists lets the prospect of the future seem all-the-more sweeter.

    Overall, GTA V is one of those gems that has managed to not only provide a fulfilling singleplayer AND multiplayer experience, but has also managed to improve on its progenitors and live up to the vast hype that it produced before the release.
    Expand
  94. Sep 23, 2014
    9
    One of the best games ever made. Each mission seems likes it's ripped out of a frantic action movie, and they're all varied. The characters, voice acting, production values, and story are all amazing. The game play is superb. Rockstar has overhauled the shooting mechanics to make them much more inviting than GTA IV, and the driving has been completely reworked as well. The world isOne of the best games ever made. Each mission seems likes it's ripped out of a frantic action movie, and they're all varied. The characters, voice acting, production values, and story are all amazing. The game play is superb. Rockstar has overhauled the shooting mechanics to make them much more inviting than GTA IV, and the driving has been completely reworked as well. The world is massive, with tons of things to do, and all of it is gorgeous. My only problem was that GTA Online was underwhelming at best, and heists simply were never added. That's a shame, but no reason to overlook this. If you haven't played this game yet (which I doubt), then pick it up immediately, or better yet, wait for the next gen version. I am surely going to purchase this on my Xbox One when it is released to experience this gem again. Expand
  95. Rem
    Sep 21, 2014
    9
    Grand Theft Auto 5 touts itself as one of the most expansive, diverse, and entertaining game. And that is true to a degree. The switching between the three main characters keeps the game from becoming mute, but because of this you cannot really connect with any of the three characters, I mean you could hardly even connect with three killers anyway. What Grand Theft Auto 5 supremely outdoesGrand Theft Auto 5 touts itself as one of the most expansive, diverse, and entertaining game. And that is true to a degree. The switching between the three main characters keeps the game from becoming mute, but because of this you cannot really connect with any of the three characters, I mean you could hardly even connect with three killers anyway. What Grand Theft Auto 5 supremely outdoes over GTA 4 is the variety of mission. No longer are you just an errand boy, but a heist master running the strings with a multitude of missions. Though I have to say that the three main characters are less compelling than Niko Bellic. Even the secondary activities have received an upgrade in terms of enjoyment. Also the little tweaks keep annoying bits like calling and restarting missions to a minimum so in the end, you get a package that will allow you to get lost in the world of Los Santos. Expand
  96. Sep 12, 2014
    8
    2nd best GTA game, but to be honest. I don't really care about the characters, and also I was disappointed that I can only play around Los Santos. I actually hoped for the San Andreas area. But this is a really good game. But if you loved this, You would **** love San Andreas. And the humor in this game is really good.
  97. Sep 9, 2014
    6
    I dont like it. There is just nothing about it that makes me want to play it. IV, SA and VC had that special something. That atmosphere. IV lacked it, but it was still a great game. But this? They threw the fun car physics from IV away and made all suspensions out of stone or something. Combat. Ohh im boiling right now. It's like under water. if you fall down you just lay there for aI dont like it. There is just nothing about it that makes me want to play it. IV, SA and VC had that special something. That atmosphere. IV lacked it, but it was still a great game. But this? They threw the fun car physics from IV away and made all suspensions out of stone or something. Combat. Ohh im boiling right now. It's like under water. if you fall down you just lay there for a couple of seconds and then slooooooowwwwlllyyy start to get up. Now the good: Music is decent. Better than IV anyways. Includes Online so that's something new even though it gets boring 30 mins in. Car mods. Great. Expand
  98. Sep 7, 2014
    7
    Vice city is still the king of gta. And that's a damn fact.Thats not an opinion it's a fact people.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  99. Sep 2, 2014
    3
    To this day, I never see the hype of this game. Its a mediocre third person shooter with some ugly visuals and a pretty bad story. Ok, i'll admit, there are some cool missions. And some cool things to do. But really, the % of good to bad is maybe 20-80. Great-You can play golf and tennis. Who cares?The game goes for quantity of Quality and the result is mediocre.
    InB4AngryFanboys
  100. Aug 26, 2014
    8
    However a nice game,it also has it's disappointing parts.The characters swear to much,Grand Theft Auto IV has a much better story and the game shows racism and sexism,it is,however a nice game to have.This game also returned it's possibility to customize cars.It is a beautiful game.
  101. Jun 15, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers. Grand Theft Auto is one of the biggest franchises in the world, and it is world-wide known by gamers, angry parents, and the news (CNN, Fox News). And with it's new entry on the franchise, Grand Theft Auto 5 is one of the biggest games R* Games has ever made, there is a bunch of activities to do in the game. Grand Theft Auto 5 is amazing, it has amazing graphics, gameplay mechanics, and beautiful soundtrack (radio). The story is based around 3 characters with different personalities; Franklin Clinton, a former member of the Grove Street families and he is a realist, he is looking to win some cash after he got fired from his job. Michael De Santa, a retired bank robber who is in a crisis, he has a dysfunctional family, but when he brings down the house of an angry mobster, he will need to pull out some heists in order to win some cash. And last but not least and my personal favorite: Trevor Phillips, he is absolutely what defines the Grand Theft Auto franchise, he sells crystal meth, and also he is a complete psychopath. Franklin, Michael, and Trevor will perform heists in order to win money. And there is also Grand Theft Auto Online, in which you can play with your friends and do a lot of activities in Los Santos.

    So far Rock-star games doesn't disappoint.
    9/10
    Collapse
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. Dec 12, 2013
    80
    Grand Theft Auto V offers one of the best sandbox experiences ever, filled to the brink with stuff to do. The vistas are magnificent and amazing stuff just seems to happen wherever you go. But at the same time the story is tired and the characters unoriginal. Your appreciation of Grand Theft Auto V will depend of what you want out of the series. The freedom and joy of discovery is hard to beat but the rest still has some ways left to go.
  2. Nov 6, 2013
    96
    GTA V continues the game series' tradition of raising the bar for open world action games.
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    95
    Tons of gameplay hours, plenty of missions and activities with an awesome collection of vehicles of various modes of transportation and a large array of firearms put the grandeur once again into Grand Theft Auto.