User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3383 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 27, 2015
    10
    Graphics are at the maximum! As more mission - tuning cars, Bank robbery, and much more! I think this game was worth every dollar of the 250 000 000 dollars. I have no words. Score - 10
  2. Feb 21, 2015
    2
    Seriously this game and it's online community is going downhill by patch by patch.Very buggy and bad driving physics. Rockstar removed great features that were present in Gta 4.The cops are op in this game.For example i killed someone no one saw me but as i was going to leave i got a one star level and decided to run.The cop Al might be fixed on next gen.
  3. Feb 21, 2015
    5
    Sincerely, GTA V is fun only during missions. The open world is going to getting boring until the end of the main story and secondary missions. There is not so much destruction that you can cause that saves the game from boredom even with tennis, golf and diving. And the smart police? Even if there are no witnesses, they appears anywhere ruining the fun. One day when we can get inSincerely, GTA V is fun only during missions. The open world is going to getting boring until the end of the main story and secondary missions. There is not so much destruction that you can cause that saves the game from boredom even with tennis, golf and diving. And the smart police? Even if there are no witnesses, they appears anywhere ruining the fun. One day when we can get in anywhere, cause destruction and escape before someone call the police, GTA will be amazing. Expand
  4. Feb 20, 2015
    10
    My most anticipated game from recent years, and OH BOY! it delivered!

    Graphics, Story, Map, Setting, Good characters, The wildlife, The guns, The sex jokes, Amazing heist missions, Good multiplayer and Overall A masterpiece of an open world game, My personal best game of 2013, 2014 and now 2015 with the upcoming pc release.
  5. Feb 6, 2015
    10
    Let me get this across, I’ve been playing Grand Theft Auto since 3 first came out and it wasn’t until San Andreas, which from reading other reviews is a fan favorite, that these games really made an impact to me. With San Andreas open world sandbox games were really given a true flagship of which to stand behind with the amount of available different things to do. Grand Theft Auto IV had aLet me get this across, I’ve been playing Grand Theft Auto since 3 first came out and it wasn’t until San Andreas, which from reading other reviews is a fan favorite, that these games really made an impact to me. With San Andreas open world sandbox games were really given a true flagship of which to stand behind with the amount of available different things to do. Grand Theft Auto IV had a great story but I felt it lacked in this department since it was going for a much grittier and gloomy look. GTA V has brought the open world back and with it the replay value of this game. Hours alone can be spent in single player combing the world for elusive side mission items or completing side missions. The main story mode took myself about 35 hours to complete just the main missions. Expand
  6. Jan 26, 2015
    5
    I don't get why everybody's praising this game, it has a terrible story, horribly unlikable characters and repetitive gameplay. It's not God awful since it has great gameplay and amazing graphics, but the overall experience could have been better.
  7. Jan 26, 2015
    10
    Grand Theft Auto V-a detailed review

    Plot Summary: GTA V is about a retired bank robber (Michael De Santa),a psychotic drug addict,and a small time gangster,as they take on the most dangerous heists and powerful people in the city of Los Santos. Its a third person shooter set in the state of Los Santos where anything can happen.The city is big and fun with lots to do and much to
    Grand Theft Auto V-a detailed review

    Plot Summary: GTA V is about a retired bank robber (Michael De Santa),a psychotic drug addict,and a small time gangster,as they take on the most dangerous heists and powerful people in the city of Los Santos.

    Its a third person shooter set in the state of Los Santos where anything can happen.The city is big and fun with lots to do and much to destroy.You can steal cars,you can rob a store,you can customize your car,go on a rampage.There are endless opportunities in Los Santos the city is yours.With three awesome protagonists and a huge city with hours worth of fun,what more could you ask for?

    Gameplay wise the game is great,the controls are great,its really easy to get used too.There are many guns and with regular updates more guns are getting added more and more so you can cause more mayhem.There are also melee weapons from baseball bats to crowbars to hammers you can hack anything to death.

    In the city of Los Santos there are hundreds are cars to choose from.But no just cars,there are planes,trucks,helicopters,boats,submarines,tanks,motorbikes,the lot.With all these these vehicles to choose from you can explore a lot whether your underwater or in the air there are lots are mysteries and fun stuff to find.

    Overall GTA V is a beast of a game that I would award 10/10 for such an excellent experience thank you rockstar!
    Expand
  8. Jan 11, 2015
    9
    What an amazing game! GTA V took all of the best aspects of previous games, and brought them together in a tightly bunched package. The ONLY real complaint I have, is that helicopter piloting continues to be the worst vehicle control I have ever experienced... in any game... ever. However, that has become such an identifying factor of GTA, that they day they make helicopters fly smoothlyWhat an amazing game! GTA V took all of the best aspects of previous games, and brought them together in a tightly bunched package. The ONLY real complaint I have, is that helicopter piloting continues to be the worst vehicle control I have ever experienced... in any game... ever. However, that has become such an identifying factor of GTA, that they day they make helicopters fly smoothly will be long after I'm dead and gone. Brilliant, creative, and wholly entertaining game. I can't wait for the next one! Expand
  9. Jan 11, 2015
    9
    It feels good to be back in Los Santos after nearly a decade of GTA San Andreas being out. The graphics are amazing! And the idea of having 3 playable-characters is brilliant too. Did anyone else visit Grove Street for the nostalgia, because I sure did. The map is huge and there are so many places to go and see. There are also many amusing Easter eggs. But the best thing about GTA SanIt feels good to be back in Los Santos after nearly a decade of GTA San Andreas being out. The graphics are amazing! And the idea of having 3 playable-characters is brilliant too. Did anyone else visit Grove Street for the nostalgia, because I sure did. The map is huge and there are so many places to go and see. There are also many amusing Easter eggs. But the best thing about GTA San Andreas is now back in GTA V. Customization! In GTA IV there was no customization. We couldn't change our hairstyle, get ridiculous tattoos or pimp our cars. But this is all back in GTA V
    At the start there had been some problems with GTA Online but after it started working it was fun to go on police chases with your friends and rob liquor stores. Now that heists are soon coming to GTA Online i'd better get my crew together
    Expand
  10. Dec 28, 2014
    10
    this game deserves to be above Gta 4! GTA 5 brings all what other titles have brought into the industry under one title and have redefined it even more. the gameplay is smooth and the graphics are amazing and realistic, every bit of it truly is ! I have been waiting for this type of game for years and i am absolutely rapt that i pre-ordered it as soon it was available ! Rockstar has addedthis game deserves to be above Gta 4! GTA 5 brings all what other titles have brought into the industry under one title and have redefined it even more. the gameplay is smooth and the graphics are amazing and realistic, every bit of it truly is ! I have been waiting for this type of game for years and i am absolutely rapt that i pre-ordered it as soon it was available ! Rockstar has added every tiny things to the game to make it more interesting and fascinating. The map is huge and it never gets boring as there is so much to explore in the city of Los Santos and Blaine County and even the wildlife has added the boost to the comforting gameplay. The characters are well chosen even their voice actors and the introduction of each of them is unique. the level of detail is astounding and mindblowing. this will probably be the best game ever for years to come by and the only game that could probably overtake this would be another product of rockstar games. This definitely deserves the game of the year title (2013-14) Expand
  11. Dec 28, 2014
    0
    To this day, I never see the hype of this game. Its a mediocre third person shooter with some ugly visuals and a pretty bad story. Ok, i'll admit, there are some cool missions. And some cool things to do. But really, the % of good to bad is maybe 20-80. Great-You can play golf and tennis. Who cares?The game goes for quantity of Quality and the result is mediocre.
    InB4AngryFanboys
  12. Dec 26, 2014
    10
    this game is one of the best ever created, graphics incredible both in the older generation, is twice the next generation, very good story that fits perfectly in the game, the only defect is the missions that are very easy, is few missions, being possible to complete the game in a day or hours, the online mode is perfect and copetivivo, it is possible you their apartments, cars etc ...this game is one of the best ever created, graphics incredible both in the older generation, is twice the next generation, very good story that fits perfectly in the game, the only defect is the missions that are very easy, is few missions, being possible to complete the game in a day or hours, the online mode is perfect and copetivivo, it is possible you their apartments, cars etc ... perfect game !! Rockstar did not disappoint on any of their games, all free DLCs. Expand
  13. Dec 19, 2014
    9
    After beating vice city, San Andreas, gta III and gta IV, I had one last game to get through: gta V. Does it live up to the high standards of the series? Let's find out. The story doesn't even start in Los santos, some criminal named Michael, Trevor, and brad are robbing a bank in a snowy town called north Yankton in the year 2004. Micheal and Trevor barely make it out and the game fastAfter beating vice city, San Andreas, gta III and gta IV, I had one last game to get through: gta V. Does it live up to the high standards of the series? Let's find out. The story doesn't even start in Los santos, some criminal named Michael, Trevor, and brad are robbing a bank in a snowy town called north Yankton in the year 2004. Micheal and Trevor barely make it out and the game fast forwards to 2013 in Los santos, gta's version of Los Angeles. Micheal is now rich and miserable. He's retired from crime and lives in a mansion with his annoying family. His wife is getting lessons from a tennis coach on how to play tennis (or is she?) his daughter is hanging out with snobby celebrities and trying to get on tv , and his son sits in his room all day playing righteous slaughter 7 (an exaggerated call of duty spoof). He comes across a street hustler named franklin and them along with some other people go on a jewelry store heist to pay off a debt. Trevor finds out about the heist and comes down to see Michael again and now the three characters are a criminal trio. They get involved with other gangs and corrupt government agencies and must go on a series of epic and daring heists to pay off debts and become the cities kingpin criminals. There are some cool twists along the way, and the characters are all cool in their own way. Micheal is like able and interesting, Trevor is interesting but not likeable, and Franklin is likeable but not interesting. But all three endings aren't satisfying and feel rushed. The story missions are pretty fun most of the time l, but can dip down in quality at times. You can go from robbing banks and hijacking cargo planes, to doing yoga and operating a crane. Missions like that where bring as hell and felt like gimmicky filler to some otherwise brilliantly made missions. I also that you get to be the boss during the heists. You choose who to hire, the better they are the more money you have to give them, whether you go in stealthy or loud, what's your getaway vehicle, etc. the heists are the funniest missions and make you feel like a true crime boss. This being gta, there is an absolutely **** ginormous open world map to explore, and this time the whole map is unlocked right away without having to do story missions to unlock new areas. There's a ton of vehicles, such as request cars, jeeps, motorcycles, four wheelers, tanks, boats, stunt planes, fighter jets, gigantic cargo planes, helicopters, and so much more there is also more guns than before. This game uses the red dead redemption weapons wheel, which slows time when you switch weapons and lets you carry every weapon in the game at one time. Another improvement carried over from red dead redemption is mid mission checkpoints, so no more starting a mission all over again from the beginning. The map itself is huge and varied, Los santos is on the southern end and has houses, an airport, skyscrapers, etc. The rest of the map is desert countryside and mountains, and the entire map is full of detail and it's worth exploring to see all the cool things it has to offer. You can switch between the three characters at any time, and they all have special abilities, certain side missions, and businesses to buy. There is a TON of stuff to do. You can do triathlons, atv races, shooting galleries, parachuting, tennis, see a movie, or of course piss off the cops and destroy the entire place with a minigun. Everything is well done, so it has both quality and quantity. If you like tennis then you'll like tennis here, but if you don't like tennis then you won't like it here. The graphics on this game will make your xbox glow red and puff steam, they are just that good. Fly a helicopter as high as you can and then get a good look at the world around you and you'll see what I mean. The sound design is rather average, the radio stations are good but not as memorable as previous games. Although the voice acting is incredible, everyone is very convincing in their performance. So yes, it definitely lives up to the high standards of the series. It's better than III and IV, but not as good as vice city and San Andreas. It has just enough new things to keep it fresh, but at its core it's the same gta everyone loves. If you haven't played any gta games yet, than this is a good place to start since it's much more reliable and approachable than previous games. Expand
  14. Dec 11, 2014
    10
    After many committed hours to finishing the single player, 100%, I found not only had I been having fun, I had been playing one of the best games ever. The risks Rock star takes in this game are always on point, even if you feel they go too far, it still works. All the main characters are built up like a well-crafted game should build them up. Visually stunning, and just as good as itsAfter many committed hours to finishing the single player, 100%, I found not only had I been having fun, I had been playing one of the best games ever. The risks Rock star takes in this game are always on point, even if you feel they go too far, it still works. All the main characters are built up like a well-crafted game should build them up. Visually stunning, and just as good as its predecessor, if not better, Grand Theft Auto V should be on everyone 's "must play games" list. Expand
  15. Dec 11, 2014
    10
    This game has been out for a while and I have to say, this is probably the best game ever made. A step up from GTA IV, the most impressive thing about this installment is the attention to detail. Every single interaction between the character and the open world causes a convincing reaction. The graphics are a huge step up from the previous games in the series. Aim-and-shoot mechanics areThis game has been out for a while and I have to say, this is probably the best game ever made. A step up from GTA IV, the most impressive thing about this installment is the attention to detail. Every single interaction between the character and the open world causes a convincing reaction. The graphics are a huge step up from the previous games in the series. Aim-and-shoot mechanics are decent. The story and map layout are incredible. The only poor aspect to the game is the very unreliable multiplayer mode. The launch was a disaster and even now people still have problems with connectivity, etc. I don't play multiplayer on this game though so it earned a 10. I would pay $60 for this game over any COD, GTA, Battlefield, etc. Have never played something more entertaining and technically impressive.

    100/100
    Expand
  16. Nov 29, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the game that goes beyond limits:
    Rockstars´ masterpiece is definitely the undisputed king of open world/sandbox gameplay. I have never experencied this kind of freedom and satisfaction in a video game before.
    Despite the big "things" like the enormously large pool of vehicles, the possibility the do whatever you want whenever you want, the small things like switching a cabrio from open to closed or changing the power of light at a car are the stuff that really differs this game from others and makes it a piece of gaming history that every fan of video games should have played.
    Thx u Rockstar for this phenominal game.
    Expand
  17. Nov 28, 2014
    10
    Having played all the 3D gta games on console i was really looking forward to playing this one, a definite must have if you are a fan, well worth your money and then some, the online mode adds a whole lot of value and makes this a great stand out tite.
  18. Nov 27, 2014
    9
    This game was obviously a better version of Grand Theft Auto IV. Therefore it is already a splendid game. I'm only rating the story not the online because they are pretty much two completely different experiences. However, for the story and game-play alone; it's a solid 9.
  19. Nov 27, 2014
    10
    Best Game as ever realistic life at open world game . amazing

    GTA V is best game at open world and not different between 7 gen and 8 gen . gamer never fell low graphic on 7 gen consoles i can say one word to this game : wonderful
  20. Nov 18, 2014
    10
    With the release of the new gen versions out, I decided to go back to this version and see just how much has changed. It remains as the best Grand Theft Auto game in my opinion and the next gen version doesn't revolutionise the game too much.
  21. Nov 10, 2014
    10
    In every measurable sense, this is the greatest GTA game of all time. Sure, you may prefer the 80s vibe of Vice City or the more varied landscape of San Andreas but GTA V is the first game in the series that actually has missions that are more fun than frustrating. In previous incarnations, the missions were so annoying I spent most of my time just exploring the cities rather than tryingIn every measurable sense, this is the greatest GTA game of all time. Sure, you may prefer the 80s vibe of Vice City or the more varied landscape of San Andreas but GTA V is the first game in the series that actually has missions that are more fun than frustrating. In previous incarnations, the missions were so annoying I spent most of my time just exploring the cities rather than trying to complete my objectives. GTA V not only adds a reasonable checkpoint system but also finally introduces some variety. Instead of the repetitive "drive here, drive there" missions in previous entries, GTA V actually makes you feel like you're part of a heist. Nothing goes to plan of course, but that's part of the fun of GTA! What really makes this game stand out is the online mode. Nothing is more fun than hopping in a car with your buddy and cruising around Las Santos looking to cause some mayhem. Expand
  22. Nov 10, 2014
    10
    A game that truly pushes these consoles to their limits and packs an almighty punch. Although these may not be the nicest visuals ever, Rockstar have done what they can to squeeze every last bit of power out of the consoles to make a joyful and interesting experience. The physics and gameplay are as equally as good, with a great story to follow.
  23. Nov 9, 2014
    10
    Great game, lots to do and very likeable characters. online is very fun party up do missions, races or deathmatches fun all around. campaign is great. open world your choice of what to do next unlike other games where its like a hallway effect where you can only go forward not left right or back. 10/10 very playable and great replayability on next gen & pc
  24. Nov 6, 2014
    10
    Grand Theft Auto is taking a huge step for the next gen. consoles. Their now adding fps (First person shooter) which is gonna make a lot more thing interesting. 10/10
  25. Nov 4, 2014
    9
    After playing GTA V, I was in total awe. This game offered such an open experience, there are so many opportunities across the map from massacring innocents and having a last stand against the cops to running a marathon. The missions although lacked interest most of the time, but the six grand heists performed were amazing, each unique and more exciting then the last! If you get the chanceAfter playing GTA V, I was in total awe. This game offered such an open experience, there are so many opportunities across the map from massacring innocents and having a last stand against the cops to running a marathon. The missions although lacked interest most of the time, but the six grand heists performed were amazing, each unique and more exciting then the last! If you get the chance to get this game get it, that's all I can say. Expand
  26. Nov 4, 2014
    10
    Legendary the best games ever -ign wow woooooow - gamepot omg i just pooped my pants - gamesrader this game is designed for gay people to go to the strip club in 1969 it was banned world wide due to igns high rating in 1973..........
  27. Oct 29, 2014
    10
    GTA 5: A Work of Art

    Grand Theft Auto 5 is the best video game to ever be put on the market. Considering that “[Rockstar] has sold 33 million copies of Grand Theft Auto 5” (Their) for the last generation of consoles, and that it was the most popular video game of 2013, it’s safe to say that GTA 5 is masterpiece. Rockstar is now in the process of making their most successful game ever,
    GTA 5: A Work of Art

    Grand Theft Auto 5 is the best video game to ever be put on the market. Considering that “[Rockstar] has sold 33 million copies of Grand Theft Auto 5” (Their) for the last generation of consoles, and that it was the most popular video game of 2013, it’s safe to say that GTA 5 is masterpiece. Rockstar is now in the process of making their most successful game ever, even better! Next generation gamers across the globe are sitting at home eagerly waiting on the November 18 release date of the new and improved version of their favorite game.
    Although there were no complaints about Grand Theft Auto 5’s graphics on PS3 and Xbox 360, one of the reasons why the next gen versions of GTA 5 will be so much better than the previous versions is the graphics. The image capabilities of the Xbox One and the PS4 far surpass those of their predecessors, and allow Rockstar’s developers to greatly enrich all aspects of GTA 5’s graphics. Many improvements were made to the game design and “Though these are, in essence, graphical changes, the mechanical effect they would have on the game could be huge” (Nowgamer). The improvements of the graphics include things that will make the actual gameplay tremendously more enjoyable. Such as increased traffic density to make driving more realistic, more advanced foliage so that bushes are no longer like cement walls, more realistic weather, and more advanced physics are all some of the things that will make Grand Theft Auto far better than before.
    Not only are the graphics improved, Grand Theft Auto 5’s online play has been made even better than it used to be on older generation consoles. Its’ online play is one of the things that really sets it apart from any other video game ever released. It now allows you to roam around a huge city named Los Santos with up to 30 other online gamers, when the limit was previously only 15. With the vast amount of options the Rockstar developers offer you online, the game seems to never get old. With 30 other people roaming around the same online realm as you anything could happen; this really sparks the competitiveness in the lobby. This game easily offers the most enjoyable online multiplayer experience of any game ever created. Even after months of playing it every single day, there are most likely several aspects of the game that you still have not been exposed to. The free world experience of GTA 5 is unmatched by any other game that has been released to date.
    Everything set aside, the main reason why Grand Theft Auto 5 is the best game ever created is the unparalleled freedom that the game allows its players to have. The game is truly amazing; it allows players to do almost anything that they can imagine. No matter what kind of mood you are in, GTA 5 offers something that will be sure to entertain you. If You’ve had a bad day, you and go out and reek havoc on Los Santos county with guns, grenades, and rocket launchers to release some stress. If you are feeling peaceful and relaxed, you can go out and take photos of the virtual wildlife. GTA 5 will allow you to experience anything and everything from racing exotic cars, shooting guns, skydiving, flying planes, to buying houses. The game offers a plethora of vehicles for you to play with, cars, planes, boats, helicopters, and even a few blimps. You are able to purchase real estate and even customize the furniture within. There are even downloadable packages and updates so that the game is always changing. If you can imagine doing it, GTA 5 most likely allows you to.
    If you are in the market for a new video game, you cannot go wrong with the choice of Grand Theft Auto 5. The game has graphics that you will never grow tired of looking at. It has an online community that is very avid, offering a virtual experience that is one of the greatest and most fun available. The freedom that the game offers is like none other and becomes addictingly enjoyable as you do anything your hear desires. Rockstar’s 33+ million copies sold already just go to show that Grand Theft Auto 5 is the best video game ever created.

    Annotated Bibliography
    Nowgamer.com. "GTA 5 PS4 & Xbox One: Whats New & Is It Worth It?" Nowgamer.com. Nowgamer.com, 12 June 2014. Web. 26 Oct. 2014.
    Thier, Dave. "'Grand Theft Auto 5' Has Sold Nearly $2 Billion." Forbes. Forbes Magazine, 13 May 2014. Web. 29 Oct. 2014.
    Expand
  28. Oct 29, 2014
    6
    This review is for GTA V and GTA: Online.
    GTA V: Flawless story, incredible open world design, plus a lot still to do when finished the main storyline. 10/10
    GTA Online: Massive issues at launch, seemingly better over time, but not great. I for one am sick of Rockstar's lying about heists for 7th gen (360/PS3) consoles. They stated that the heists will be out before the end of Spring
    This review is for GTA V and GTA: Online.
    GTA V: Flawless story, incredible open world design, plus a lot still to do when finished the main storyline. 10/10

    GTA Online: Massive issues at launch, seemingly better over time, but not great. I for one am sick of Rockstar's lying about heists for 7th gen (360/PS3) consoles. They stated that the heists will be out before the end of Spring 2014. It's now just about to be Winter. They should stop procrastinating on new updates and FOCUS on the heists. 1/10

    I feel cheated out of £45 from launch day. If heists aren't coming out for 360/PS3, I see no reason to spend £300-400 on a new console just for them or new content. Not buying another Rockstar game again, as the damage has been done. 6/10
    Expand
  29. Oct 27, 2014
    6
    Grand Theft Auto V was well over hyped which led to its somewhat downfall of what it could have been. The graphics are nice and the driving is improved but by the end of the game i wanted more. And by the time Multi-player came out i knew i had bit of more than i could chew and had to swallow it however painful it was. 6/10 Single player: Great, Multi-player: A never ending joy ride ofGrand Theft Auto V was well over hyped which led to its somewhat downfall of what it could have been. The graphics are nice and the driving is improved but by the end of the game i wanted more. And by the time Multi-player came out i knew i had bit of more than i could chew and had to swallow it however painful it was. 6/10 Single player: Great, Multi-player: A never ending joy ride of vomit and Big Smoke saying "All you had to do was follow the damn train C.J". Expand
  30. Oct 22, 2014
    10
    Grand Theft Auto V is in my opinion the best GTA game, the story is great, the characters are great, when you die you don't lose your weapons. Those are some of the reasons why I love this game.
    10/10
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. Dec 12, 2013
    80
    Grand Theft Auto V offers one of the best sandbox experiences ever, filled to the brink with stuff to do. The vistas are magnificent and amazing stuff just seems to happen wherever you go. But at the same time the story is tired and the characters unoriginal. Your appreciation of Grand Theft Auto V will depend of what you want out of the series. The freedom and joy of discovery is hard to beat but the rest still has some ways left to go.
  2. Nov 6, 2013
    96
    GTA V continues the game series' tradition of raising the bar for open world action games.
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    95
    Tons of gameplay hours, plenty of missions and activities with an awesome collection of vehicles of various modes of transportation and a large array of firearms put the grandeur once again into Grand Theft Auto.