Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3335 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Los Santos is a sprawling sun-soaked metropolis full of self-help gurus, starlets and once-important stars. The city was once the envy of the Western world, but is now struggling to stay relevant in an era of economic uncertainty and reality TV. Amidst the chaos, three very differentLos Santos is a sprawling sun-soaked metropolis full of self-help gurus, starlets and once-important stars. The city was once the envy of the Western world, but is now struggling to stay relevant in an era of economic uncertainty and reality TV. Amidst the chaos, three very different criminals chart their own chances of survival and success: Franklin, a former street gangster, now looking for real opportunities and fat stacks of cash; Michael, a professional ex-con whose retirement is significantly less rosy than he hoped it would be; and Trevor, a violent maniac driven by the chance of a cheap high and the next big score. Rapidly running out of options, the crew risks everything in a series of bolt and dangerous heists that could set them up for the long haul. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. Oct 15, 2013
    100
    The primary accomplishment in Grand Theft Auto V isn’t gameplay. It’s character. Grand Theft Auto V believes so strongly in its characters that everything else — even gameplay — is secondary.
  2. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    Memorable missions, barnstorming heists, amusing side objectives and an almost impossibly immersive world to explore, make for the best Grand Theft Auto since Vice City and San Andreas.
  3. 100
    From skydiving and submarine exploration to bounty-hunting and watching animated shorts, GTA V is absolutely crammed full of things to do, and it looks amazing while you do them.
  4. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    GTA V is funny, genuinely laugh out loud funny – and not in a ’shoving a ten-inch purple dildo up your arse’ funny – the humour is told through situation, through incredibly clever writing and wonderful sense of place. Really, that says everything you need to know about GTA V. Rockstar has spent five years, and an insane amount of money, building a game that is not only bold enough to step away from expectation, but brave enough to revel in its combined history as well.
  5. 99
    The world of Grand Theft Auto V is undeniably a masterpiece and has set a very high bar for sandbox gaming not only for this generation but for the next gen which is so closely upon us. Beyond the game’s story line you’ll be able to put in hundreds of hours just wandering the city streets and never be bored doing so.
  6. Nov 5, 2013
    95
    Tons of gameplay hours, plenty of missions and activities with an awesome collection of vehicles of various modes of transportation and a large array of firearms put the grandeur once again into Grand Theft Auto.
  7. Sep 16, 2013
    70
    It is the difference between The Godfather Part 1 and Part 2, between Inglorious Basterds and Triumph of the Will, and between Just Cause 2 and JFK Reloaded. In the former examples, the audience can get behind the anti-heroes depicted for whatever reason and condone their admittedly awful actions, but in the latter group, the subject matter or the protagonist's morals are skewed too far from the norm to be comfortably witnessed. That's what it's like to play Grand Theft Auto V. The three men you take control of throughout the game aren't even anti-heroes. They're just scumbags.

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    This game deserves a better user score. I hope nobody takes it serious, because there are a lot of butthurt fakevotes.
    Well to the game. This
    This game deserves a better user score. I hope nobody takes it serious, because there are a lot of butthurt fakevotes.
    Well to the game. This is the GTA you've always been waiting for! Yes it's true. You loved San Andreas because of gameplay? You loved Vice City because of music and atmosphere? GTA 3's innovation? GTA IV's story? Well I'll explain.

    This GTA brings it all together. The playing of three characters at once goes really smooth, it feels just how it should be, shooting and driving is really fun, it's kinda a mix between the realistic driving in GTA IV, arcade driving in Midnight Club, and shooting from Max Payne 3, and this is perfect!
    The missions are fun again, many people thought GTA IV had too similar missions, and I thought so too, but now you'll never get bored I assure you! The story is really well written, won't write more about that cause there is a lot to spoiler.
    The world is really massive, the countryside isn't boring at all, and seriously, who wasn't missing that after GTA IV? I don't know how R* did this, but even the graphics improved, while the game is bigger over all.
    You can do so much stuff in Los Santos and it's countryside, it's unbelievable that it is just one game! I played for at least 20 hours now, and I have so much more to see and explore, just crazy!

    Well what else can I say? Buy it Play it yourself and agree! It's a really good game
    Expand
  2. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    This game is better than San Andreas, and that's one hell of an accomplishment. Grand Theft Auto V sets the standard (once again) for openThis game is better than San Andreas, and that's one hell of an accomplishment. Grand Theft Auto V sets the standard (once again) for open world games. This is the best from all Rockstar games in one package. The combat from Red Dead Redemption/Max Payne 3, the customization from San Andreas, and of course the beautiful graphics and the Euphoria physics engine. Can't wait until GTA Online comes out October 1st. Game of the century. Expand
  3. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    after around 55-60 hours of GTA V i can definitively say this is the most fun i have had with a videogame in a long time. this game is so manyafter around 55-60 hours of GTA V i can definitively say this is the most fun i have had with a videogame in a long time. this game is so many games in one and often does it better than many other straight driving, sports and shooting games. with the addition of a huge story, tonnes of cool and interesting characters, great character customisation and so many things to discover, see and do within the world i can't recommend it highly enough. Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    The transmission between the characters is well made, the city and the surroundings look absolutely stunning, the story line is compelling.The transmission between the characters is well made, the city and the surroundings look absolutely stunning, the story line is compelling. Gta V simply is one amazing game! Expand
  5. Nov 4, 2014
    9
    After playing GTA V, I was in total awe. This game offered such an open experience, there are so many opportunities across the map fromAfter playing GTA V, I was in total awe. This game offered such an open experience, there are so many opportunities across the map from massacring innocents and having a last stand against the cops to running a marathon. The missions although lacked interest most of the time, but the six grand heists performed were amazing, each unique and more exciting then the last! If you get the chance to get this game get it, that's all I can say. Expand
  6. Oct 13, 2014
    8
    A bit of a disappointment. Despite still being a great game, gta v did not quite live up to the hype with the total amount of freedom in theA bit of a disappointment. Despite still being a great game, gta v did not quite live up to the hype with the total amount of freedom in the world. Still one of the best games of 2013 but I expected more Expand
  7. Apr 14, 2014
    0
    it was the worst gta ever the game play sucked so hard and multiplier was just terrible i think rockstar
    could of done way better. like i
    it was the worst gta ever the game play sucked so hard and multiplier was just terrible i think rockstar
    could of done way better. like i play it a little turn it off go back to it and my game is always corrupt. i had
    to go to my cousin's just to beat the game
    Expand

See all 860 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox 360 Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox 360 Games Image
    Published: September 30, 2014
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the Xbox 360.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.