Grand Theft Auto V Image
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3684 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Los Santos is a sprawling sun-soaked metropolis full of self-help gurus, starlets and once-important stars. The city was once the envy of the Western world, but is now struggling to stay relevant in an era of economic uncertainty and reality TV. Amidst the chaos, three very differentLos Santos is a sprawling sun-soaked metropolis full of self-help gurus, starlets and once-important stars. The city was once the envy of the Western world, but is now struggling to stay relevant in an era of economic uncertainty and reality TV. Amidst the chaos, three very different criminals chart their own chances of survival and success: Franklin, a former street gangster, now looking for real opportunities and fat stacks of cash; Michael, a professional ex-con whose retirement is significantly less rosy than he hoped it would be; and Trevor, a violent maniac driven by the chance of a cheap high and the next big score. Rapidly running out of options, the crew risks everything in a series of bolt and dangerous heists that could set them up for the long haul. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. Oct 15, 2013
    100
    The primary accomplishment in Grand Theft Auto V isn’t gameplay. It’s character. Grand Theft Auto V believes so strongly in its characters that everything else — even gameplay — is secondary.
  2. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    Memorable missions, barnstorming heists, amusing side objectives and an almost impossibly immersive world to explore, make for the best Grand Theft Auto since Vice City and San Andreas.
  3. 100
    Rockstar's Xbox 360 swansong is probably the console's greatest technical achievement, and as such it's unmissable.
  4. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    GTA V is funny, genuinely laugh out loud funny – and not in a ’shoving a ten-inch purple dildo up your arse’ funny – the humour is told through situation, through incredibly clever writing and wonderful sense of place. Really, that says everything you need to know about GTA V. Rockstar has spent five years, and an insane amount of money, building a game that is not only bold enough to step away from expectation, but brave enough to revel in its combined history as well.
  5. Sep 27, 2013
    99
    The world of Grand Theft Auto V is undeniably a masterpiece and has set a very high bar for sandbox gaming not only for this generation but for the next gen which is so closely upon us. Beyond the game’s story line you’ll be able to put in hundreds of hours just wandering the city streets and never be bored doing so.
  6. Nov 5, 2013
    95
    Tons of gameplay hours, plenty of missions and activities with an awesome collection of vehicles of various modes of transportation and a large array of firearms put the grandeur once again into Grand Theft Auto.
  7. Sep 16, 2013
    70
    It is the difference between The Godfather Part 1 and Part 2, between Inglorious Basterds and Triumph of the Will, and between Just Cause 2 and JFK Reloaded. In the former examples, the audience can get behind the anti-heroes depicted for whatever reason and condone their admittedly awful actions, but in the latter group, the subject matter or the protagonist's morals are skewed too far from the norm to be comfortably witnessed. That's what it's like to play Grand Theft Auto V. The three men you take control of throughout the game aren't even anti-heroes. They're just scumbags.

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    This game deserves a better user score. I hope nobody takes it serious, because there are a lot of butthurt fakevotes.
    Well to the game. This
    This game deserves a better user score. I hope nobody takes it serious, because there are a lot of butthurt fakevotes.
    Well to the game. This is the GTA you've always been waiting for! Yes it's true. You loved San Andreas because of gameplay? You loved Vice City because of music and atmosphere? GTA 3's innovation? GTA IV's story? Well I'll explain.

    This GTA brings it all together. The playing of three characters at once goes really smooth, it feels just how it should be, shooting and driving is really fun, it's kinda a mix between the realistic driving in GTA IV, arcade driving in Midnight Club, and shooting from Max Payne 3, and this is perfect!
    The missions are fun again, many people thought GTA IV had too similar missions, and I thought so too, but now you'll never get bored I assure you! The story is really well written, won't write more about that cause there is a lot to spoiler.
    The world is really massive, the countryside isn't boring at all, and seriously, who wasn't missing that after GTA IV? I don't know how R* did this, but even the graphics improved, while the game is bigger over all.
    You can do so much stuff in Los Santos and it's countryside, it's unbelievable that it is just one game! I played for at least 20 hours now, and I have so much more to see and explore, just crazy!

    Well what else can I say? Buy it Play it yourself and agree! It's a really good game
    Expand
  2. Apr 27, 2014
    10
    It is rare to find an open world game that not only has a vast array of options for the player, but also has the level of polish that GrandIt is rare to find an open world game that not only has a vast array of options for the player, but also has the level of polish that Grand Theft Auto 5 has. The main story may not have the focus that Niko's quest for the American dream had, and there are a few 'nit-picks' I have with Rockstar's choices e.g. flight controls, cheat codes not on phone. However these are small blemishes on an otherwise stellar video game experience. Expand
  3. Apr 14, 2016
    10
    a great game.
    of all GTA that left an parese me one of the best so far.
    It is extremely amazing thank you very much to rock star and I
    a great game.
    of all GTA that left an parese me one of the best so far.
    It is extremely amazing
    thank you very much to rock star
    and I hope very ilucion the proccimo game GTA
    Expand
  4. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    This is a 10 rating to balance out the idiotic 0 star reviews from jealous PC users. Go win some hats in TF2 and piss off with your unfairThis is a 10 rating to balance out the idiotic 0 star reviews from jealous PC users. Go win some hats in TF2 and piss off with your unfair reviews. Game gets a 10 obviously, best game of the year. Expand
  5. Jul 12, 2015
    9
    Grand theft auto V is an amazing experience to play. You will have a great time looking at the visuals and doing the hilariously fun missions.Grand theft auto V is an amazing experience to play. You will have a great time looking at the visuals and doing the hilariously fun missions. A huge open world to do a wide range of activities. For once there's actually a open world outside the city like deserts, seriously deserts. Grand theft auto V also has animals too which makes the experience extra immersive and realistic like boars, rats, chickens, chimpanzees, cougars, coyotes and cows etc. This is a blast to play. But this game has a ton of problems like the story, characters (except for the main characters) and Grand theft auto Online can sometimes be a disgrace. But Grand theft auto Online is actually very fun and enjoyable if it's working properly. Honestly, Grand theft auto V really should get a 10/10 but because of some of its disappointments it gets a 9/10. The Easter eggs are also awesome in this game, Rockstar has done it again!! Expand
  6. Apr 12, 2016
    8
    I am not a open world RPG fan.

    But GTAV is really outstanding is this kind of games and worth playing and enjoying the story. The graph
    I am not a open world RPG fan.

    But GTAV is really outstanding is this kind of games and worth playing and enjoying the story.

    The graph is the best on XBOX360 and the story is crazy and excellent.

    The bad side is, I always feel that R-Star's gameplay mechanic is kind of hollow. This game is for enjoying the world rather than the gameplay.
    Expand
  7. Apr 14, 2014
    0
    it was the worst gta ever the game play sucked so hard and multiplier was just terrible i think rockstar
    could of done way better. like i
    it was the worst gta ever the game play sucked so hard and multiplier was just terrible i think rockstar
    could of done way better. like i play it a little turn it off go back to it and my game is always corrupt. i had
    to go to my cousin's just to beat the game
    Expand

See all 903 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox 360 Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox 360 Games Image
    Published: December 31, 2015
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the Xbox 360.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.