Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3400 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Los Santos is a sprawling sun-soaked metropolis full of self-help gurus, starlets and once-important stars. The city was once the envy of the Western world, but is now struggling to stay relevant in an era of economic uncertainty and reality TV. Amidst the chaos, three very differentLos Santos is a sprawling sun-soaked metropolis full of self-help gurus, starlets and once-important stars. The city was once the envy of the Western world, but is now struggling to stay relevant in an era of economic uncertainty and reality TV. Amidst the chaos, three very different criminals chart their own chances of survival and success: Franklin, a former street gangster, now looking for real opportunities and fat stacks of cash; Michael, a professional ex-con whose retirement is significantly less rosy than he hoped it would be; and Trevor, a violent maniac driven by the chance of a cheap high and the next big score. Rapidly running out of options, the crew risks everything in a series of bolt and dangerous heists that could set them up for the long haul. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. Oct 15, 2013
    100
    The primary accomplishment in Grand Theft Auto V isn’t gameplay. It’s character. Grand Theft Auto V believes so strongly in its characters that everything else — even gameplay — is secondary.
  2. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    Memorable missions, barnstorming heists, amusing side objectives and an almost impossibly immersive world to explore, make for the best Grand Theft Auto since Vice City and San Andreas.
  3. 100
    Rockstar's Xbox 360 swansong is probably the console's greatest technical achievement, and as such it's unmissable.
  4. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    GTA V is funny, genuinely laugh out loud funny – and not in a ’shoving a ten-inch purple dildo up your arse’ funny – the humour is told through situation, through incredibly clever writing and wonderful sense of place. Really, that says everything you need to know about GTA V. Rockstar has spent five years, and an insane amount of money, building a game that is not only bold enough to step away from expectation, but brave enough to revel in its combined history as well.
  5. 99
    The world of Grand Theft Auto V is undeniably a masterpiece and has set a very high bar for sandbox gaming not only for this generation but for the next gen which is so closely upon us. Beyond the game’s story line you’ll be able to put in hundreds of hours just wandering the city streets and never be bored doing so.
  6. Nov 5, 2013
    95
    Tons of gameplay hours, plenty of missions and activities with an awesome collection of vehicles of various modes of transportation and a large array of firearms put the grandeur once again into Grand Theft Auto.
  7. Sep 16, 2013
    70
    It is the difference between The Godfather Part 1 and Part 2, between Inglorious Basterds and Triumph of the Will, and between Just Cause 2 and JFK Reloaded. In the former examples, the audience can get behind the anti-heroes depicted for whatever reason and condone their admittedly awful actions, but in the latter group, the subject matter or the protagonist's morals are skewed too far from the norm to be comfortably witnessed. That's what it's like to play Grand Theft Auto V. The three men you take control of throughout the game aren't even anti-heroes. They're just scumbags.

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    This game deserves a better user score. I hope nobody takes it serious, because there are a lot of butthurt fakevotes.
    Well to the game. This
    This game deserves a better user score. I hope nobody takes it serious, because there are a lot of butthurt fakevotes.
    Well to the game. This is the GTA you've always been waiting for! Yes it's true. You loved San Andreas because of gameplay? You loved Vice City because of music and atmosphere? GTA 3's innovation? GTA IV's story? Well I'll explain.

    This GTA brings it all together. The playing of three characters at once goes really smooth, it feels just how it should be, shooting and driving is really fun, it's kinda a mix between the realistic driving in GTA IV, arcade driving in Midnight Club, and shooting from Max Payne 3, and this is perfect!
    The missions are fun again, many people thought GTA IV had too similar missions, and I thought so too, but now you'll never get bored I assure you! The story is really well written, won't write more about that cause there is a lot to spoiler.
    The world is really massive, the countryside isn't boring at all, and seriously, who wasn't missing that after GTA IV? I don't know how R* did this, but even the graphics improved, while the game is bigger over all.
    You can do so much stuff in Los Santos and it's countryside, it's unbelievable that it is just one game! I played for at least 20 hours now, and I have so much more to see and explore, just crazy!

    Well what else can I say? Buy it Play it yourself and agree! It's a really good game
    Expand
  2. Jul 4, 2014
    10
    OK, there isn't much to say about a game that cost nearly 265M of US dollars to produce. It's plain perfect. A complete GTA game and the bestOK, there isn't much to say about a game that cost nearly 265M of US dollars to produce. It's plain perfect. A complete GTA game and the best (along with Vice City) ever created in video games' history (at least for this gen). I hope Rockstar will use the raw potential of the much more powerul XONE and PS4 and create a sequel that'll make once more our jaws drop (like GTA V did when it first hit the market). 10/10 for sure! Expand
  3. Oct 3, 2013
    10
    If instead of the ten commandments, god gave our people a game it would be GTA V, this game is incredible, and to all who say otherwise, IIf instead of the ten commandments, god gave our people a game it would be GTA V, this game is incredible, and to all who say otherwise, I might usually call it a difference of opinion, but with GTA V, you're just wrong. (yes i am quoting Nerd Cubed) Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Look at all these butthurt pc gamers. Anyone who has played the game knows its a 10/10. You can all go cry and play Watch dogs while we playLook at all these butthurt pc gamers. Anyone who has played the game knows its a 10/10. You can all go cry and play Watch dogs while we play the superior game. Expand
  5. Dec 19, 2014
    9
    After beating vice city, San Andreas, gta III and gta IV, I had one last game to get through: gta V. Does it live up to the high standards ofAfter beating vice city, San Andreas, gta III and gta IV, I had one last game to get through: gta V. Does it live up to the high standards of the series? Let's find out. The story doesn't even start in Los santos, some criminal named Michael, Trevor, and brad are robbing a bank in a snowy town called north Yankton in the year 2004. Micheal and Trevor barely make it out and the game fast forwards to 2013 in Los santos, gta's version of Los Angeles. Micheal is now rich and miserable. He's retired from crime and lives in a mansion with his annoying family. His wife is getting lessons from a tennis coach on how to play tennis (or is she?) his daughter is hanging out with snobby celebrities and trying to get on tv , and his son sits in his room all day playing righteous slaughter 7 (an exaggerated call of duty spoof). He comes across a street hustler named franklin and them along with some other people go on a jewelry store heist to pay off a debt. Trevor finds out about the heist and comes down to see Michael again and now the three characters are a criminal trio. They get involved with other gangs and corrupt government agencies and must go on a series of epic and daring heists to pay off debts and become the cities kingpin criminals. There are some cool twists along the way, and the characters are all cool in their own way. Micheal is like able and interesting, Trevor is interesting but not likeable, and Franklin is likeable but not interesting. But all three endings aren't satisfying and feel rushed. The story missions are pretty fun most of the time l, but can dip down in quality at times. You can go from robbing banks and hijacking cargo planes, to doing yoga and operating a crane. Missions like that where bring as hell and felt like gimmicky filler to some otherwise brilliantly made missions. I also that you get to be the boss during the heists. You choose who to hire, the better they are the more money you have to give them, whether you go in stealthy or loud, what's your getaway vehicle, etc. the heists are the funniest missions and make you feel like a true crime boss. This being gta, there is an absolutely **** ginormous open world map to explore, and this time the whole map is unlocked right away without having to do story missions to unlock new areas. There's a ton of vehicles, such as request cars, jeeps, motorcycles, four wheelers, tanks, boats, stunt planes, fighter jets, gigantic cargo planes, helicopters, and so much more there is also more guns than before. This game uses the red dead redemption weapons wheel, which slows time when you switch weapons and lets you carry every weapon in the game at one time. Another improvement carried over from red dead redemption is mid mission checkpoints, so no more starting a mission all over again from the beginning. The map itself is huge and varied, Los santos is on the southern end and has houses, an airport, skyscrapers, etc. The rest of the map is desert countryside and mountains, and the entire map is full of detail and it's worth exploring to see all the cool things it has to offer. You can switch between the three characters at any time, and they all have special abilities, certain side missions, and businesses to buy. There is a TON of stuff to do. You can do triathlons, atv races, shooting galleries, parachuting, tennis, see a movie, or of course piss off the cops and destroy the entire place with a minigun. Everything is well done, so it has both quality and quantity. If you like tennis then you'll like tennis here, but if you don't like tennis then you won't like it here. The graphics on this game will make your xbox glow red and puff steam, they are just that good. Fly a helicopter as high as you can and then get a good look at the world around you and you'll see what I mean. The sound design is rather average, the radio stations are good but not as memorable as previous games. Although the voice acting is incredible, everyone is very convincing in their performance. So yes, it definitely lives up to the high standards of the series. It's better than III and IV, but not as good as vice city and San Andreas. It has just enough new things to keep it fresh, but at its core it's the same gta everyone loves. If you haven't played any gta games yet, than this is a good place to start since it's much more reliable and approachable than previous games. Expand
  6. Oct 13, 2014
    8
    A bit of a disappointment. Despite still being a great game, gta v did not quite live up to the hype with the total amount of freedom in theA bit of a disappointment. Despite still being a great game, gta v did not quite live up to the hype with the total amount of freedom in the world. Still one of the best games of 2013 but I expected more Expand
  7. Dec 28, 2014
    0
    To this day, I never see the hype of this game. Its a mediocre third person shooter with some ugly visuals and a pretty bad story. Ok, i'llTo this day, I never see the hype of this game. Its a mediocre third person shooter with some ugly visuals and a pretty bad story. Ok, i'll admit, there are some cool missions. And some cool things to do. But really, the % of good to bad is maybe 20-80. Great-You can play golf and tennis. Who cares?The game goes for quantity of Quality and the result is mediocre.
    InB4AngryFanboys
    Expand

See all 874 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox 360 Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox 360 Games Image
    Published: December 31, 2014
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the Xbox 360.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.