Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 4 out of 17
  1. Jul 21, 2011
    64
    Rise of the Manhunters doesn't have anything that you haven't seen before, but it is a entertaining beat-'em-up game.
  2. Jun 23, 2011
    65
    Rise of the Manhunters makes good use of the Green Lantern license, yet struggles to deliver an intense combat experience. It ends up feeling like an excruciatingly long game, despite it offering only six to seven hours of gameplay.
  3. Jul 18, 2011
    40
    Most games adapted from famous comic franchises with super heroes are crap. Some very few ones are brilliant. Green Lantern is neither. It's linear, repetitive and it lacks ambition and ideas, ending up below your average action game, but the variety of weapons and overall combat gameplay are still satisfying. They offer a decent way to vent, if only for short bursts of play, either by oneself or with a friend.
  4. Jul 28, 2011
    40
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. Jul 25, 2011
    65
    Slick but unimaginative scrapper with the odd flying bit chucked in for good measure. Meh. [Sept 2011, p.94]
  6. Jun 17, 2011
    67
    Still, while it lasts, it's an enjoyable if derivative take on the action genre using a superhero that conjures up awesome weapons to great effect. The basic mechanics of the game are well built, with plenty of concessions to make things easier for younger players, the co-op is a great idea, and it's an easy full thousand points, but once the game is over, chances are the memory of it will be fleeting.
  7. Jun 16, 2011
    60
    Green Lantern: Rise of the Manhunters offers predictable beat-'em-up fun and little else.
  8. Jul 24, 2011
    73
    All in all Green Lantern: Rise of the Manhunters is a short and intensive action game. The gameplay is solid, but the riddles are too easy and there is not enough variety to satisfy the player.
  9. Jun 14, 2011
    60
    A competent movie game with no major flaws but no real high points.
  10. Jul 6, 2011
    68
    In conclusion, Green Lantern: Rise of the Manhunters is a game that works but doesn't try to better itself.
  11. Jul 18, 2011
    60
    An interesing story lacking anything that's worth to underline. Green Lantern can be satisfying: this time, his 'videogaming adventure' it's much better than the movie.
  12. Jun 22, 2011
    40
    As repetitive and predictable as any movie tie-in, but the core combat is sound and Green Lantern's powers are handled well.
  13. 65
    In short, there's little to distinguish Green Lantern besides its top-notch production values (polished combat, vivid graphics, good voiceovers), two-player co-op where a buddy plays as fellow GL Thaal Sinestro, and support for both stereoscopic and anaglyph 3D.
  14. 70
    Unexpectedly good stuff, despite its flaws.
  15. Jul 25, 2011
    40
    God of War minus the imagination, plus inordinate amounts of the colour green. [Issue#74, p.89]
  16. A pretty good recycling of a braingougingly boring gameplay template.
  17. 65
    Green Lantern: Rise of the Manhunters is hardly a world beater, and it certainly doesn't have anything that you haven't seen before, but it is a strangely entertaining way to pass a few hours.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Jun 8, 2011
    9
    This game is short (I beat it in one night) and it's easy (I only have 4 achievements left to grind out), but boy is it fun. Co-op could use some work, as only the first player gets achievements (this is a dealbreaker for some) and the camera zooms WAY out sometimes with two players, but the single player experience made me feel like I definitely got my money's worth, especially since it left me wanting to play it again after the credits. Since I NEVER replay games after I've beaten them anymore, that's really saying something. (FULL DISCLOSURE: I am a HUGE Green Lantern fan, so my opinion of the game might be slightly tainted by a favorable bias. Maybe knock one or two points off my score if you don't like GL.) Full Review »
  2. Jun 14, 2011
    6
    Given that not a single major outlet has reviewed this game yet, it gave me pause as to whether or not I should play it. It's a movie tie in game (bad) it was seemingly rushed out (bad) but has real Hollywood power behind it in Ryan Reynolds (good) and from preview shots of the game, it looked like it was put together a little better than most movie tie ins. (good)

    Check out my blog: http://cdgaming.blogspot.com/2011/06/green-lantern-rise-of-manhunters-review.html for a more fleshed out review, with visuals.
    The game plays out like many movie/book/comic book tie ins that you've tried before. If you like Spider-man: Maximum Carnage, you will like GL. If you liked Batman Begins, you will like this game. If you liked Thor: God of Thunder, chanced are you will like anything, hence you will like this game. As Green Lantern, you run around, beating up the original galazy policemen gone bad, the Manhunters. (Truly original name, hey). You are a rookie in the Green Lantern Corps, so your skill with the ring will be less that impressive. As you progress with beating badguys up, you will gain experience, thus gaining in capabilities with the ring. Your "contructs", as they are called, are your interesting ways of beating down baddies. You get a giant mallot (which is comical), you get a Giant Mech Warrior, a rope with a blade wheel, a missle launcher, etc.

    The story itself in the game is something to behold: it's good. This is a very uncommon thing when it comes to tie-in games. Yes, you have your generic beatdown villains, the manhunters, in their various forms. But there is an overlying story to the whole premise that works well from beginning to end. Not only does it work, but it can neatly seat itself within the canon of DC comics as well. Sadly, DC is rebooting it's universe this fall, so it won't fit after that, but who's counting. You start out as rookie Hal Jordan on the GL Corps home world of Oa, and you are suddenly attacked by the manhunters. Typically in a game such as this, it's just the "we're going to get you" storyline, then "insert movie hero and villain here". Right from the get-go, you start to wonder "why is this happening", and the story leads you to continue that train of thought throughout, to a satisfying , conclusion.

    Visually, the game carries itself well. The red and blue 3D glasses option just doesn't work properly, which is sad. The game also offers 3DTV support, butvery few have shelled out for a soon to be dated technology in 3DTV, so we have to stick with HD graphics instead. In their basic form, the graphics are passable. The manhunters themselves are very well designed, but there are only 3 or 4 of them total. One level has you take on purple amazon women, which is a pleasant distraction, but later on in the same level, we see our familiar manhunter badguys trying to run us through again. The boss fights are servicable and will challenge someone who hasn't playing through the game previously. The contstructs for Green Lantern are where this game shines, with that comical hammer and the blasting, and the fighter jet. 12 in all, giving fun and creative ways to smash familiar robots to bits.

    Reynolds shares his voice talent and likeness to the game as well, which truthfully is one of the biggest selling points of the game. In a sense, it will validate the title enough for a sale or two. He does a servicable job, but for a good story, the scripting dialogue is lackluster. You get the "noooooooooo!" cry from Jordan, you get the usual "I won't let that happen/ you'll never get away with this" lines... all things that do, in the long run, degrade the experience for the player.

    In the end, I believe that this game is for kids more than their parents. It's a basic beat em up that works on the levels that will keep a child entertained and wanting to see the movie that one more time, as well as to build the interest base in what is, in truth, a secondary character in the DC Comics universe. The parents and older players such as myself, have played this exact same game dozens of times before, dating back to Double Dragon, any number of Spider-man games (most notably Spiderman Friend or Foe, as this game feels templated from that one), and so on. Decent visuals and story will keep all players involved, but for about 6 or 7 hours, as the game will have run it's course by that time. It's a great rainy day weekend renter, or a quick pick and flip title for achievement hunters.

    Wait for it to drop in price, mom and dad. Your kids will love it, you can even play too, in only for the nostalgia "beat em up" memories.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 8, 2011
    8
    I played this Co-Op with my roommate because he is a huge fan. The game is a fun God of War clone in the Green Lantern Movie Universe. Very fun. Even the hardest difficulty was well balanced, not cheap. I recommend it to any comic or beat 'em up fan! Full Review »