GRID 2 Xbox 360


Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
Buy On
  1. Feb 26, 2014
    GRID 2 is a fine racing game on the track, but it's a questionable package when taken in its entirety.
  2. Jul 11, 2013
    I enjoyed Grid 2, but much like its predecessor, little about the experience was remarkable or noteworthy when compared to other racers. This is hardly a title that you'll need to drop what you're currently enjoying to check out, but it's something that I'd suggest purchasing when it drops in price. It's certainly worth a rental or demo, just to give you a taste of what Grid 2 brings to the table.
  3. Jul 2, 2013
    When the dust settles, Grid 2 serves as a solid enough racing game with generally strong opponent AI. What it does not serve as is a worthy successor to the first game -- instead offering a stripped-down version of itself that is filled with lazy design, unfair AI opponents, special ESPN 'live' broadcasts that no one really asked for, and to top it all off, its bizarrely irritating narrator and loudly drunk or completely apathetic fans.
  4. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Jul 2, 2013
    The cars never felt "right." [Issue#99, p.67]
  5. Games Master UK
    Jun 26, 2013
    A mid-tier racer that offers value and visual splendour, but don't expect it to excel. [Aug 2013, p.66]
  6. Jun 20, 2013
    Racing die-hards may find GRID 2′s schizophrenic approach to driving physics an interesting curiosity, but you can find any angle of GRID 2′s experience executed more successfully in other games.
  7. Hyper Magazine
    Jun 10, 2013
    Codemasters' down the line look at racing doesn't quite make it to the final podium. [July 2013, p.74]
  8. Jun 9, 2013
    We loved GRID and it is still our favourite racer of the generation, GRID 2 is a competent follow up, but doesn’t quite reach those new heights we were hoping for.
  9. Jun 3, 2013
    A good game that's classic and modern at the same time, that knows its place but often forgets that spark that makes racing fans tick.
  10. May 31, 2013
    No man ever steps in the same cockpit twice, but if they do, the step will be a very hesitatant one. Codemasters have managed to return with honour, however, they've brought nothing new to the table, and by messing about with the time-proven mechanics they are losing their chances to win. This instalment is going to have a hard time in the hands of the original title fans, who still wear their rose-coloured glasses. However, if you are hungry for some racing, GRID 2 serves much better than you think.
  11. May 30, 2013
    In spite of all the youtube-nonsense and the useless frame of a story, Grid feels like a game from another time. It just didn't really evolve all that much from its predecessor, which fit its era much better. The generation was still young back then, but today, Grid 2 has to ask itself, where its place should be, between Shift 2, Forza, Most Wanted, Hot Pursuit, Gran Turismo, iRacing and all the other ones. This field of gaming has great titles for every type of player and the high quality that's on display all throughout Grid 2 has become sort of the bottom line expectation.
  12. May 28, 2013
    A slightly disappointing sequel, that sacrifices too much in pursuit of the almighty dollar, but this is still a great all-round racer with something to please almost every kind of petrolhead.
  13. May 28, 2013
    Grid 2 has its moments, but every racing game comes down to the relationship between car and driver, and here it is almost exclusively an adversarial one. Were the cars more fun to drive, the events more coherently constructed and the AI given a sense of a self-preservation, Grid 2's best moments could have been the norm, instead of the exception that proves the rule.
  14. May 28, 2013
    Grid 2‘s racing once again succeeds at offering a nice balance between true simulation and accessible arcade handling, but the lack of depth offline and a repetitive, punishing second half wind up holding it back.
  15. May 28, 2013
    Grid 2 is a technically competent game with 70 lovely cars and nice physics. Still, it fails to live up to the previous game because of worse online features and uneven difficulty.
  16. May 28, 2013
    A strange backwards step, one that manages to retain some of what made the original great while getting lost in its own peculiar sense of drama and never adding enough worthwhile of its own. What should have been the return of a racing great instead feels like another curious offshoot, leaving Dirt now clearly Codemasters' premier brand.
User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 148 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 38
  2. Negative: 14 out of 38
  1. May 28, 2013
    I am so disappointed with this game. I have been playing Grid, Dirt 2, and Dirt 3 over the last month getting myself in the mood for thisI am so disappointed with this game. I have been playing Grid, Dirt 2, and Dirt 3 over the last month getting myself in the mood for this game. There are so many things wrong with the game.

    There is no helmet cam, the only options you have are for bumper, hood, behind, and far behind. This was just annoying to me, why would you take this out, every racing game has this, why would you remove this?

    The flashback system has been "simplified". Once you start it, you can't cancel out. The game just rewinds until you choose a spot or it will rewind you to the last possible spot. You can't go backwards of forwards to choose the exact moment you want. And since you can't cancel out you better be sure you want to flashback.

    There are no driver options, all you get is "Difficulty Level" and "Damage level". Want to choose ABS, or Traction control? Too bad.

    The car's feel wrong. They seem to drift around every corner. If you touch the brakes, the car goes into a drift... You don't even have to be pressing gas. I was also having a hard time telling the difference between a lot of the cars, they all feel the same.

    Some of the game's systems are a bit broken. You start out with 5 cars. You can complete missions to unlock cars, but the first few just unlock cars you already have. Also, you have to choose an import car for the second racing club, but your opponents can still use other cars.

    There is little feedback after each race. You used to get a breakdown of what awarded you money, or points (did you complete x objectives?, did you use all of your flashbacks?, etc.) Now you might see how many objectives you completed, but all of your work gets summed up by a ticker without any mention of why or how you got the fans that you did. (Fans are the currency now..)

    The background voice acting is repetitive, I have played this game for maybe an hour or two and I think they ran out of things to say about an hour ago.

    This is not a squeal to Grid. This would not even make a good NFS game. This is bargain bin arcade racing. I wish I could get my money back.
    Full Review »
  2. May 30, 2013
    Not a bad game, the graphics system for example is excellent. The central problem is the longevity, inconsistent and ridiculous for a game ofNot a bad game, the graphics system for example is excellent. The central problem is the longevity, inconsistent and ridiculous for a game of 60 Euros. Also I would have preferred a simulation game, enough with the arcade. 6/10 Full Review »
  3. Jun 3, 2013
    This game is a huge let down and a massive step backwards from the first grid. I would not have known this was the next GRID if I didn't seeThis game is a huge let down and a massive step backwards from the first grid. I would not have known this was the next GRID if I didn't see the case.

    Now i know this isn't a driving simulator, it never has been, however this games feels way too much like an arcade game. Ever single card feels the same and drifts around every corner as soon as you touch the break.

    You cannot adjust the driving assists and the difficulties are too simple. The AI are way too aggressive, it's like playing online against a bunch of inconsiderates!

    The graphics are OK. Now I watched videos on the build up to this game and I heard that they removed view to enhance the graphics of the surroundings. I can assure you all now, that this has not worked. The graphics are probably the same as GRID 1 and about the same as other car games from 2007/2008 era.

    This game is nothing like GRID 1 in any way. The career is nothing like this first. It's very repetitive, the voices are extremely repetitive and annoying after a couple of hours.

    Car customization such as paint is very basic. Car choice and variety is more limited than the first GRID.

    I cannot believe after 5 years this is what they have come up with. I would expect to find this game in the arcade game marketplace for £10. I cannot believe I paid £45 (brans hatch edition), I feel robbed! I am currently coming to the end of completing this game and thank god! Maybe the faster I complete this game, the quicker I can trade it in and take my losses before this game depreciates to about £5 in a couple of months.

    I would advise against buying this game. Instead get Forza Horizon, it's 1000000x better.
    Full Review »