GRID 2 Xbox 360

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 156 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 156
  2. Negative: 48 out of 156
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 30, 2013
    6
    Not a bad game, the graphics system for example is excellent. The central problem is the longevity, inconsistent and ridiculous for a game of 60 Euros. Also I would have preferred a simulation game, enough with the arcade. 6/10
  2. Jun 3, 2013
    5
    If you're an hardcore racedriver grid fan like I am,You are going to be very disappointed.

    As everyone stated there is no helmet cam.This would usually be a big disappointment but it really isn't as I would not be playing a game in helmet cam with handling like this. The handling is just wrong.your car drifts,doesn't matter what the event or car.It felt a little like split second or
    If you're an hardcore racedriver grid fan like I am,You are going to be very disappointed.

    As everyone stated there is no helmet cam.This would usually be a big disappointment but it really isn't as I would not be playing a game in helmet cam with handling like this.

    The handling is just wrong.your car drifts,doesn't matter what the event or car.It felt a little like split second or ridge racer just not as intense.The car power-slides if you touch the brakes and drifts if you attempt to hit the gas again

    there are a lot of letdowns but its already covered in the reviews below so instead i'm going to say what I liked

    The cars do look pretty despite the reviews. environment is not great but they did the cars and reflections pretty good.

    The single player story line is grabbing me a little more then the 1st grid.I would have preferred the currency to be money instead of fans,and i would have preferred to be able to buy cars instead of unlocking them but its still quite fun

    I cant see myself being to entertained by this game playing it alone but I can imagine this being a fun LAN game or entertaining online racer

    I gave the game a score of 5 because i'm disappointed in codemasters and grid for not keeping to the original style of grid 1.But for people who did not play grid 1 or didn't like it this game is not too bad.Keep in mind it is not a simulator or anything close to it
    Expand
  3. Jun 3, 2013
    6
    The biggest let down for me is the AI, or the lack of it.

    If you're trailing a driver, he acts like you're not even there. They drive onto you every time you cut inside on a turn.. When you're side by side, you can expect to be rammed 9 out of 10 times.. It's just stupid.. And when you get passed a car, there's no way of them getting back at you.. The AI is simply too stupid to take
    The biggest let down for me is the AI, or the lack of it.

    If you're trailing a driver, he acts like you're not even there. They drive onto you every time you cut inside on a turn.. When you're side by side, you can expect to be rammed 9 out of 10 times.. It's just stupid..

    And when you get passed a car, there's no way of them getting back at you.. The AI is simply too stupid to take over as long as you drive on the ideal line..

    And who the hell thought it would be a good idea to show that fan counter thing rolling slowly after every single race?
    Expand
  4. May 31, 2013
    5
    Grid 2 is a racing game without joy or tension. The problem with this game is not with its mechanics, or with its story mode. The problem with this game, and I am sure most people would agree with me, is the AI. All the drivers except the first, second, and third place drivers easily give up their positions even on the hardest difficulty, and those drivers at the front of the packGrid 2 is a racing game without joy or tension. The problem with this game is not with its mechanics, or with its story mode. The problem with this game, and I am sure most people would agree with me, is the AI. All the drivers except the first, second, and third place drivers easily give up their positions even on the hardest difficulty, and those drivers at the front of the pack typically get a lead on you so staggering that it saps any competitive urge you might feel to try and pass them. This is disappointing when the highlight of the first Grid game was the struggle for position and the feeling of accomplishment in just finishing each race. Bland game with lobotomized competition. No thanks. Expand
  5. May 31, 2013
    7
    Had this game not been Grid 2 it may have been a decent game. However...

    While not a bad game it also isn't a very good one either. Had this not had the Grid name on it it may have done well on its own but as a follow up it leaves you wanting more. The cars look great, until you damage them, then they look horrible and not in a duh kind of way but really bad. The handling could be a lot
    Had this game not been Grid 2 it may have been a decent game. However...

    While not a bad game it also isn't a very good one either. Had this not had the Grid name on it it may have done well on its own but as a follow up it leaves you wanting more. The cars look great, until you damage them, then they look horrible and not in a duh kind of way but really bad. The handling could be a lot better. Sometimes the car will want to hug the road and others it will want to slide out from under you. One little nick against the wall and you go flying in ways you didn't think was possible. AI will get in your way, brake right in front of you for seemingly no reason, and always seem to just be in your way. Flashback is messed up. Once you start it it goes and there is no stopping it and you cannot cancel it.

    All in all I give this a decent score because I have had fun with this game. I just feel disappointed because it is Grid 2 not a different racing game. It feels like a step back in terms of the game overall.
    Expand
  6. Oct 22, 2014
    5
    I'm a 30yr gamer (shut up, i started young), a dedicated boy-racer ('00 Honda S2k), and a vetran of 3 seperate sides of the gaming industry (post, QA, and art design), and i promse you, w/the relase of autosprt, there is no longer any reason whatsoever to consider Grid 2.

    To be clear, if faced with the choice between DLing G1 & G2 for $5, or paying full price for Autosport, get
    I'm a 30yr gamer (shut up, i started young), a dedicated boy-racer ('00 Honda S2k), and a vetran of 3 seperate sides of the gaming industry (post, QA, and art design), and i promse you, w/the relase of autosprt, there is no longer any reason whatsoever to consider Grid 2.

    To be clear, if faced with the choice between DLing G1 & G2 for $5, or paying full price for Autosport, get Autosport. It's $5 dollars more game and $50 better.
    Expand
  7. Sep 18, 2013
    7
    After some bug fixes and the reintroduction of demolition derby, this game sits firming in the good but not great category. The obvious thing about Grid 2 is the handling, most of the cars drift like drunk sailors on a stormy deck. Upgrading some cars neutralizes the effect somewhat, however the handling generally is more of a annoyance than Grid 1. Though cars like the Zonda, KoenigseggAfter some bug fixes and the reintroduction of demolition derby, this game sits firming in the good but not great category. The obvious thing about Grid 2 is the handling, most of the cars drift like drunk sailors on a stormy deck. Upgrading some cars neutralizes the effect somewhat, however the handling generally is more of a annoyance than Grid 1. Though cars like the Zonda, Koenigsegg and the Panoz were horrible to handle in Grid 1 anyway. However Grid 2 outshines it's predecessor in every way, with the exception of track variety. A similarly mundane yet superior single player mode, a more diverse online experience where leveling up is vital, and local co-op! Overall a good racing game where petrol heads like myself will enjoy the no holds bar sense of racing, I just hope Codies will in future scale back the arcade feel a little. Expand
  8. Jul 22, 2015
    5
    Unfortunately a disappointment.
    With Colin McRea Rally code master has been great and has by good games convincedly.
    Unfortunately, Grid 2 is a shadow of the great time. Why?
    Too aggressive opponents, bad road performance of the cars (too much Arcade), boring ways etc.
  9. Jul 1, 2013
    6
    No,No,No,No,No WHAT is this trash...............The first grid was something to talk about now this is just a pathetic racing game.Its so repetitive and ugly it makes you scream...If this type of racing game is next gen then we have a dark future folks..
  10. Oct 22, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game was a great game. and the graphics were great and if you like cars it will be a great game for you and has so many amazing races. and when I play the game I in a good moon. I am kind of disappointed they should had more races Expand
  11. May 27, 2014
    7
    A decent mix of simulator and arcade. There're some things who let me down when I first got the game (no tuning, strange crashes, anyway...). But still a good and a fun game.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Feb 26, 2014
    70
    GRID 2 is a fine racing game on the track, but it's a questionable package when taken in its entirety.
  2. Jul 11, 2013
    70
    I enjoyed Grid 2, but much like its predecessor, little about the experience was remarkable or noteworthy when compared to other racers. This is hardly a title that you'll need to drop what you're currently enjoying to check out, but it's something that I'd suggest purchasing when it drops in price. It's certainly worth a rental or demo, just to give you a taste of what Grid 2 brings to the table.
  3. Jul 5, 2013
    80
    All in all, Grid 2 is a beautiful game that does a spectacular job on the presentation and delivery for an authentic as you're likely to get racing experience. Enthusiasts will find the experience a little too thin for their lacking, but the mainstream audience will find much here to keep their attention if they are willing to put in that initial investment.