Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 146 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Prove yourself against advanced AI in aggressive races. Catapult your way to the top of a new world of motorsport. A separate online campaign features full RaceNet integration. Race a handpicked selection of iconic cars that represent what some consider to be the best in automotive engineering from the last 40 years. Take on challenging licensed tracks, city streets and lethal mountain roads. Prove yourself by entering and winning events across three continents. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. May 28, 2013
    90
    An incredibly strong sequel. It may lack the initial 'wow factor' of the first game, but the handling is right on the money, the visuals are gorgeous and the hook provided by the story's WSR MacGuffin draws you right into the thick of the action, making for a more gratifying overall experience.
  2. Jun 3, 2013
    85
    A very good arcade racer with a sim DNA, very entertaining and satisfying for lovers of drifting and paint swapping, with a great sense of weight in the cars. With a more compelling career mode and a rear-view mirror it would have been perfect.
  3. May 28, 2013
    84
    GRID 2 is a solid racer, addressing some of the complaints players had with the first chapter. Still, some features have been left out of the package like the cockpit view and the chance not to use flashbacks in the PRO difficulty settings. An easier comeback.
  4. May 29, 2013
    80
    So is it enough for Grid 2 to just be a great racing game? For many of you, yes. But it’d be remiss of us to not to point out that the game doesn’t really push either Codemasters or the racing genre in any particularly new direction, and from such a talented developer that’s a shame. There’s plenty of content to get through and on a mechanical level it is the perfect blend of arcade and simulation, but we need a little more to make it a must-have racer.
  5. Jul 1, 2013
    77
    Grid 2 is a worthy successor to the original Grid, but it doesn't really do enough to make it any more appealing than other racers out there.
  6. Jul 11, 2013
    70
    I enjoyed Grid 2, but much like its predecessor, little about the experience was remarkable or noteworthy when compared to other racers. This is hardly a title that you'll need to drop what you're currently enjoying to check out, but it's something that I'd suggest purchasing when it drops in price. It's certainly worth a rental or demo, just to give you a taste of what Grid 2 brings to the table.
  7. May 28, 2013
    60
    Grid 2 has its moments, but every racing game comes down to the relationship between car and driver, and here it is almost exclusively an adversarial one. Were the cars more fun to drive, the events more coherently constructed and the AI given a sense of a self-preservation, Grid 2's best moments could have been the norm, instead of the exception that proves the rule.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 36
  2. Negative: 13 out of 36
  1. May 28, 2013
    10
    Great driving physics, stunning visuals, no but that's ok a great successor to Grid 1.Cars look amazing.Codemasters have done it again.Waiting for Dirt 4 Expand
  2. Jun 1, 2013
    8
    As a gamer who has always preferred simulators like Gran Turismo, I bought this game because I really enjoyed the first Grid game. It is a lot of fun, as even though it isn't really a simulator, it isn't overly arcady like a Need For Speed game. The graphics are absolutely stunning, really pushing the limits of the current gen (I own the PS3 version). The controls take some getting used to, but once you get the hang of it, the turning feels really good. I haven't tried online play yet, but the single-player story has been good enough to keep me occupied. Expand
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    8
    Its a very good game though for me not as good as the Grid One was. I just like more simulation than it's in this part. The grid one gave a choice in multiplayer. This one does not. Anyway, playability is still very good, competition and player development makes it almost imposible to stop playing the effect "just one more race" is definitely there, then you become a new car and have to test it and so on I played 31 hours in 3 days it really does not happen often that's the best recommendation I think. Easy to play, hard to master. And nobody should be angry that it is not an Gran Tourismo. Graphics 7/10, Sound 8/10, Gameplay 9/10. Arcade 70% Simulation 30% Gameplay ist most important for me but I gave not a nine in score because of the DLC politics. Expand
  4. Jun 3, 2013
    6
    The biggest let down for me is the AI, or the lack of it.

    If you're trailing a driver, he acts like you're not even there. They drive onto
    you every time you cut inside on a turn.. When you're side by side, you can expect to be rammed 9 out of 10 times.. It's just stupid..

    And when you get passed a car, there's no way of them getting back at you.. The AI is simply too stupid to take over as long as you drive on the ideal line..

    And who the hell thought it would be a good idea to show that fan counter thing rolling slowly after every single race?
    Expand
  5. May 31, 2013
    5
    Grid 2 is a racing game without joy or tension. The problem with this game is not with its mechanics, or with its story mode. The problem with this game, and I am sure most people would agree with me, is the AI. All the drivers except the first, second, and third place drivers easily give up their positions even on the hardest difficulty, and those drivers at the front of the pack typically get a lead on you so staggering that it saps any competitive urge you might feel to try and pass them. This is disappointing when the highlight of the first Grid game was the struggle for position and the feeling of accomplishment in just finishing each race. Bland game with lobotomized competition. No thanks. Expand
  6. Jun 23, 2013
    3
    As I began to play Grid 2, the music is the first thing that put me off. I was expecting more trancy/house mix on this game like in the first one. I thought this was interesting, there was a nice epic note to it. However as I continued play, i began to get annoyed. The handling is definitely arcade-style. I was put off by this and ended up getting last place on the first race. (Also, does really crappy driving qualify me for making my own racing series. This is all guided from the intro. As I continued to play, the races were starting to bore me. I keep seeing this recurring action of drifting and sliding all over the track. This is not pleasing at all.

    As for the freeplay racing...wait what freeplay? I can go ahead in custom and drive around in any car I own...there is no list of cars I can try out for fun. Where is that option? This brings me to the large downer: online play
    I have to register an account and pay money to race people online? In what century will I do that? Forza games and others don't require this option. what is so appealing that I need to chalk out more money for a game like this? (Btw, video game renting is a dream for the try-and-buy approach)

    Flashback cannot be un-chosen once chosen. You can't control the moment to play either. I'm starting to feel a pattern here. Can you guess it? As for difficulty there's three. three. No ABS, no traction, just easy, medium, hard.
    Also, the commentator is annoying. This isn't the only game I noticed I hear this. The commentator is always POSITIVE! We did the race once, got last, heard him go "well, can't get any worse than that" did it again and got disqualified. Whats he say? Go easy around the edges and you'll be fine. What happened to guys going "That...was...bad" If it honestly sucks, then at least be truthful. Also, i crashed the whole race and get 2000 fans? These fans must be sadistic or something.

    The only thing that makes this a recognizable GRID game is the damage engine. Still the same, still great....except for one thing. All i get to know about how bad my car is doing is a warning sign that flashes when something is wrong. Well that's just swell, more simplified stuff.

    Figured it out yet? The game rids you of choice. You have to live with their rules, their forced choices. Their freeplay (custom race option) isn't even worth smack since you start out with one or 2 cars. Their online account option is annoying and unnecessary(Cash cow anyone?) and finally, what makes this a GRID game? nothing. A great damage engine isn't what were playing for. Were playing to race.
    MY RESULTS:
    Buy it new or used: used, on sale
    Re-play-ability: Maybe when I'm bored
    Graphics: Good, doesn't make up for game unfortunately
    Multiplayer:Terrible
    Campaign: Repetitive(concept is alright, execution not good)
    Music: Too epic
    Overall: Will borrow from a friend when I'm bored
    Expand
  7. Jan 3, 2014
    0
    Perhaps this would be an interesting game if you invest in a steering wheel, but the cars are utterly uncontrollable with an ordinary xbox controller. There is no subtlety to the steering. Kind of reminds me of trying to use a driving game with the arrows on a keyboard. Expand

See all 36 User Reviews