Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 142 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Prove yourself against advanced AI in aggressive races. Catapult your way to the top of a new world of motorsport. A separate online campaign features full RaceNet integration. Race a handpicked selection of iconic cars that represent what some consider to be the best in automotive engineering from the last 40 years. Take on challenging licensed tracks, city streets and lethal mountain roads. Prove yourself by entering and winning events across three continents. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. 90
    An incredibly strong sequel. It may lack the initial 'wow factor' of the first game, but the handling is right on the money, the visuals are gorgeous and the hook provided by the story's WSR MacGuffin draws you right into the thick of the action, making for a more gratifying overall experience.
  2. Jun 3, 2013
    85
    A very good arcade racer with a sim DNA, very entertaining and satisfying for lovers of drifting and paint swapping, with a great sense of weight in the cars. With a more compelling career mode and a rear-view mirror it would have been perfect.
  3. May 28, 2013
    84
    GRID 2 is a solid racer, addressing some of the complaints players had with the first chapter. Still, some features have been left out of the package like the cockpit view and the chance not to use flashbacks in the PRO difficulty settings. An easier comeback.
  4. May 29, 2013
    80
    So is it enough for Grid 2 to just be a great racing game? For many of you, yes. But it’d be remiss of us to not to point out that the game doesn’t really push either Codemasters or the racing genre in any particularly new direction, and from such a talented developer that’s a shame. There’s plenty of content to get through and on a mechanical level it is the perfect blend of arcade and simulation, but we need a little more to make it a must-have racer.
  5. Jul 1, 2013
    77
    Grid 2 is a worthy successor to the original Grid, but it doesn't really do enough to make it any more appealing than other racers out there.
  6. Jul 11, 2013
    70
    I enjoyed Grid 2, but much like its predecessor, little about the experience was remarkable or noteworthy when compared to other racers. This is hardly a title that you'll need to drop what you're currently enjoying to check out, but it's something that I'd suggest purchasing when it drops in price. It's certainly worth a rental or demo, just to give you a taste of what Grid 2 brings to the table.
  7. May 28, 2013
    60
    Grid 2 has its moments, but every racing game comes down to the relationship between car and driver, and here it is almost exclusively an adversarial one. Were the cars more fun to drive, the events more coherently constructed and the AI given a sense of a self-preservation, Grid 2's best moments could have been the norm, instead of the exception that proves the rule.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 35
  2. Negative: 13 out of 35
  1. May 28, 2013
    10
    Great driving physics, stunning visuals, no but that's ok a great successor to Grid 1.Cars look amazing.Codemasters have done it again.Waiting for Dirt 4 Expand
  2. Jun 1, 2013
    8
    As a gamer who has always preferred simulators like Gran Turismo, I bought this game because I really enjoyed the first Grid game. It is a lot of fun, as even though it isn't really a simulator, it isn't overly arcady like a Need For Speed game. The graphics are absolutely stunning, really pushing the limits of the current gen (I own the PS3 version). The controls take some getting used to, but once you get the hang of it, the turning feels really good. I haven't tried online play yet, but the single-player story has been good enough to keep me occupied. Expand
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    8
    Its a very good game though for me not as good as the Grid One was. I just like more simulation than it's in this part. The grid one gave a choice in multiplayer. This one does not. Anyway, playability is still very good, competition and player development makes it almost imposible to stop playing the effect "just one more race" is definitely there, then you become a new car and have to test it and so on I played 31 hours in 3 days it really does not happen often that's the best recommendation I think. Easy to play, hard to master. And nobody should be angry that it is not an Gran Tourismo. Graphics 7/10, Sound 8/10, Gameplay 9/10. Arcade 70% Simulation 30% Gameplay ist most important for me but I gave not a nine in score because of the DLC politics. Expand
  4. Jul 1, 2013
    6
    No,No,No,No,No WHAT is this trash...............The first grid was something to talk about now this is just a pathetic racing game.Its so repetitive and ugly it makes you scream...If this type of racing game is next gen then we have a dark future folks.. Expand
  5. May 31, 2013
    4
    I was a huge fan of Grid 1. Bought it for PS3 and PC! But this is one terrible sequel. This is like prequel to GRID. Has fewer options, no inside cam, driving physics is pretty good but graphics are from 2007. There are better and more prettier racing games out there. If you can get this from sale, consider. Otherwise, stay out of this!!! I want my money back please. Expand
  6. May 28, 2013
    2
    I am so disappointed with this game. I have been playing Grid, Dirt 2, and Dirt 3 over the last month getting myself in the mood for this game. There are so many things wrong with the game.

    There is no helmet cam, the only options you have are for bumper, hood, behind, and far behind. This was just annoying to me, why would you take this out, every racing game has this, why would you remove this?

    The flashback system has been "simplified". Once you start it, you can't cancel out. The game just rewinds until you choose a spot or it will rewind you to the last possible spot. You can't go backwards of forwards to choose the exact moment you want. And since you can't cancel out you better be sure you want to flashback.

    There are no driver options, all you get is "Difficulty Level" and "Damage level". Want to choose ABS, or Traction control? Too bad.

    The car's feel wrong. They seem to drift around every corner. If you touch the brakes, the car goes into a drift... You don't even have to be pressing gas. I was also having a hard time telling the difference between a lot of the cars, they all feel the same.

    Some of the game's systems are a bit broken. You start out with 5 cars. You can complete missions to unlock cars, but the first few just unlock cars you already have. Also, you have to choose an import car for the second racing club, but your opponents can still use other cars.

    There is little feedback after each race. You used to get a breakdown of what awarded you money, or points (did you complete x objectives?, did you use all of your flashbacks?, etc.) Now you might see how many objectives you completed, but all of your work gets summed up by a ticker without any mention of why or how you got the fans that you did. (Fans are the currency now..)

    The background voice acting is repetitive, I have played this game for maybe an hour or two and I think they ran out of things to say about an hour ago.

    This is not a squeal to Grid. This would not even make a good NFS game. This is bargain bin arcade racing. I wish I could get my money back.
    Expand
  7. Jan 3, 2014
    0
    Perhaps this would be an interesting game if you invest in a steering wheel, but the cars are utterly uncontrollable with an ordinary xbox controller. There is no subtlety to the steering. Kind of reminds me of trying to use a driving game with the arrows on a keyboard. Expand

See all 35 User Reviews