User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 72
  2. Negative: 11 out of 72

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 12, 2013
    1
    really should never have been released in this state. Do NOT buy this game, you won't be able to find a game online, let alone a full game of players. They fill in bots when they cannot find players, and for a lot of the time you find yourself alone in a game of bots. Don't play on playing with friends either, a party is often separated while looking for games, while locking in champions or while loading into the game, all of the time there are disconnections and separations. I hope Monolith gets their act together or just gets shutdown by WB and replaced by a more capable studio. Expand
  2. Apr 12, 2013
    1
    It IS a great game on the outside of things, but a MOBA is not a MOBA (Multiplayer ONLINE) if you're playing with BOTS. The online capabilities of this game are horrible, and Monolith have established themselves with a very bad track record with their failure to deliver a consistent online multiplayer experience with Gotham City Imposters and now GoME. It has great rpg and moba elements, but the inability to connect to other players and friends, the constant disconnections and game boots (because of no dedicated servers, p2p connection is a terrible idea for MOBAs because everytime host quits everyone's game ends). A great game, but it is not meant to be played singleplayer, and the inability of Monolith to create a multiplayer game really killed the game on release. Expand
  3. Feb 9, 2013
    3
    Fun game when you're not against AI bots and that tends to be a lot. The bots are well, perfect at the game, and it's tricky to ever kill them. Because of all the connection problems and lack of a big audience games tend to only have 3/10 real players in them which is really sad because I was looking forward to this. It's to be expected however, the moba scene really isn't that popular compared to first person shooters and stuff. I mean the most you get on LoL is a few million players, although none of my friends in England have even heard of it. Collapse
  4. Jan 25, 2013
    4
    I love this game and they made an amazing transition to console with the moba genre that I was not sure could ever be done. So now your probly wondering why I gave it only a score of 4, well ill tell you. Since this game has been released I have not been able to play a full game. It has nothing but connection problems on the 360 version at least and although they keep promising a fix, each patch seems just as bad if not worse then before. I would love to say you should get this game but until they fix the ridiculous connection problems, and the slight snowballing that still exists, I just cant get this a better score. They should have dedicated servers and that would fix all their problems. I like to say if they dont have dedicated servers you know their not dedicated developers. They would love to have you believe Im the only one experiencing this but from talking to people in game I am in the majority not the minority and this is literally the only xbox 360 game I have any connections issues with, and I love multiplayer games so I can assure you its the game and not my connection. If they ever fix this issue I will return and update my review but as of now I dont see any fixes in the future and I feel robbed for buying a game and all its dlc ( I pre-ordered the dlc thinking the connection issue was only because it had just been released) and now cant play the game at all because like I said I already now I wont be able to finish a whole one. Expand
  5. Dec 10, 2012
    3
    This game is not remarkable when compared similar games. So many other reviews rave about the positives, so let me explain why I learn towards calling this game incarnate of mediocrity.
    Downsides:
    -Latency from other players will result in the game pausing which is a huge annoyance.
    -You are paying for a game that has many, many clones on PC that are free to play, and it's more shallow
    game play than many of those games! This part is hard to stress enough.
    -Controllers for a game like this don't measure up to a keyboard or mouse.
    -Given how bad latency is, I could not notice any effort being made to pair me with "local" players. Game after game was against players from other continents that made for very laggy (which means the game would pause a lot due to poor handling of lag in this game).

    Get the game if: You are a LOTR die hard, refuse to play on PC but like the MOBA concept, want a very casual MOBA, or don't mind the poor handling of lag. Add 2 points per each of things that apply to you to my review if you're still thinking about it. If all 4 apply, then it will truly be an 11 in your book.
    Expand
  6. Feb 9, 2013
    0
    Fun game when you're not against AI bots and that tends to be a lot. The bots are well, perfect at the game, and it's tricky to ever kill them. Because of all the connection problems and lack of a big audience games tend to only have 3/10 real players in them which is really sad because I was looking forward to this. It's to be expected however, the moba scene really isn't that popular compared to first person shooters and stuff. I mean the most you get on LoL is a few million players, although none of my friends in England have even heard of it. Collapse
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 44
  2. Negative: 3 out of 44
  1. Feb 21, 2013
    80
    Guardians of Middle-Earth is an entertaining tactical action RPG, which borrows its basic gameplay from the tried and tested DotA. [Feb 2013]
  2. Feb 6, 2013
    75
    Not only the first real MOBA game for consoles, but also one of the better ones in this sub-genre. There’s not many flaws I can point out in GoMe. If anything, I doubt its longevity – there are only 22 guardians to choose from and capabilities of building a community are much smaller than on PC. [CD-Action 02/2013, p.42]
  3. Jan 29, 2013
    70
    Monolith has managed to introduce a relatively difficult genre to consoles, only to fall at the simplest of hurdles. [Issue#94, p.79]