User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1056 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoradT
    Sep 23, 2009
    6
    When are people going to realise that this is just the SAME game from two years ago just with a couple of new maps in multiplayer and a different (shorter campaign). It's ridiculous that Bungie are charging $60 for this. There are a few very good aspects (such as firefight which is AWESOME) but apart from that it's really not worth it at all. Worst value package ever.
  2. Apr 22, 2011
    6
    Halo 3 ODST is a decent game on it's own, but with the full Halo 3 multi-player experience packaged with it, it makes this an awesome deal. The campaign is interesting, with varied locations and classic Halo battles with the Covenant; although you don't play as Master Cheif, it doesn't detract from the experience. Firefight is a good addition, but the ability to go on Xbox LIVE would haveHalo 3 ODST is a decent game on it's own, but with the full Halo 3 multi-player experience packaged with it, it makes this an awesome deal. The campaign is interesting, with varied locations and classic Halo battles with the Covenant; although you don't play as Master Cheif, it doesn't detract from the experience. Firefight is a good addition, but the ability to go on Xbox LIVE would have made it much more interesting. Nonetheless, it is fun whether you go it alone or with some friends. Expand
  3. Aug 29, 2010
    7
    i played through the campaign once, never played that again. Not because it was bad, it was just that there was really no reason to go back and play it again. The firefight mode is a very good mode where you fight waves and waves of enemies until you run out of lives. The downside is that there is no matchmaking for firefight. You are stuck playing either locally with 2 people or 4 playersi played through the campaign once, never played that again. Not because it was bad, it was just that there was really no reason to go back and play it again. The firefight mode is a very good mode where you fight waves and waves of enemies until you run out of lives. The downside is that there is no matchmaking for firefight. You are stuck playing either locally with 2 people or 4 players online. it is still fun but should have been tweaked before release. Expand
  4. KP
    Oct 3, 2009
    5
    I'm pretty disappointed in this one. I disagree with some of the other comments. To me it feels obvious that Bungie cut corners on this game....from the game play to the graphics to the voice acting. I think the voice acting is terrible on this one. My biggest complaint is the lighting. When it's dark out and you are forced to used your VD vision or whatever it's I'm pretty disappointed in this one. I disagree with some of the other comments. To me it feels obvious that Bungie cut corners on this game....from the game play to the graphics to the voice acting. I think the voice acting is terrible on this one. My biggest complaint is the lighting. When it's dark out and you are forced to used your VD vision or whatever it's called...it just makes it an unpleasant gaming experience. I found myself constantly messing with the brightness adjustments to no avail. No matter what I did to adjust I found the game either too dark or too bright. Granted I haven't gotten into Firefight mode, but as far as the campaign, I'd rather replay any Halo game than play this. A Halo game this is not. Expand
  5. GavinM
    Jan 2, 2010
    6
    Halo 3 :ODST is a serviceable game, it doesn't do anything new or isn't exactly memorable, but is an enjoyable game when you don't take in the Halo name or the hype buildup. If it wasn't a Halo game though, it would wash away in the sea of better games that came in the fourth quarter of this year.
  6. thedude
    Mar 23, 2010
    5
    Hugely disappointing. Most of the content is content that most Halo fans have already paid for, since the main multiplayer is Halo 3's multiplayer. Tacked on you get Firefight mode which will get old fairly fast. The only other new content is the super-short campaign(around 6 hours long). There were a lot of great games last year(mw2, l4d2, gh5, borderlands, arkham asylum). Compared Hugely disappointing. Most of the content is content that most Halo fans have already paid for, since the main multiplayer is Halo 3's multiplayer. Tacked on you get Firefight mode which will get old fairly fast. The only other new content is the super-short campaign(around 6 hours long). There were a lot of great games last year(mw2, l4d2, gh5, borderlands, arkham asylum). Compared to those, this game was a terrible waste of money. Expand
  7. Sep 21, 2012
    5
    For me this game is not up to par with those that came before it. Running around trying to find beacons gets repetitive early on, as well as the level design being used over and over again - like earlier Halo games. The storyline change is what happens when the developer has finished and closed a trilogy, yet the fans want more - and so they had to come up with an alternate storyline. TheFor me this game is not up to par with those that came before it. Running around trying to find beacons gets repetitive early on, as well as the level design being used over and over again - like earlier Halo games. The storyline change is what happens when the developer has finished and closed a trilogy, yet the fans want more - and so they had to come up with an alternate storyline. The narrative certainly is, for the most part, what separates this game from the others - unfortunately though I didn't find it very engaging and otherwise the game doesn't add anything that wasn't already there in past titles. I also found the presentation to be too dark at times, and the hud takes up too much of the screen. In addition I found the gameplay to become too repetitive. Upon trying to play through the Halo games chronologically, I have hardly seen any new opponents or breakthrough gameplay elements since the original Halo. It was decent fun at certain moments, I'll give it that - though sadly my optimism for this game just isn't anything more than that. Expand
  8. Aug 12, 2010
    5
    I was extremely dissapointed in odst. Honestly i think that odst should have stayed as an expansion. I wasted 60 dollars on a 5 hour game. IT was a rundown version of halo 3. The only good thing about the game was that it came with the extra halo multiplayer disc. I was really excited for firefight and you cant even use it in matchmaking
    none of my friends had the game so i was stuck
    I was extremely dissapointed in odst. Honestly i think that odst should have stayed as an expansion. I wasted 60 dollars on a 5 hour game. IT was a rundown version of halo 3. The only good thing about the game was that it came with the extra halo multiplayer disc. I was really excited for firefight and you cant even use it in matchmaking
    none of my friends had the game so i was stuck playing it by myself and its not fun. The free roam wasnt even free roam. It was run from point a to point b. The gameplay was exactly the same as original halo. The dificulty was not that hard at all. The game itself is ok but for 60 dollars its not worth it at all. Mabye for 40 but thats a mabye
    Expand
  9. Nov 15, 2011
    5
    So heavily recycled from Halo 3 its like playing a modded version of it when you put in ODST. The only good things about ODST are the addition of firefight and the bonus disc that gives you all the halo 3 maps for free.
  10. Oct 28, 2011
    6
    This is a really hard game to want to play because it's nothing more than a four hour dlc pack. Granted I didn't pay the original $60 for this, more like $25, but it still didn't draw me into the game to enjoy it. What's my motivation here? To fight a battle that took place just prior to Halo 3? Wander streets as an underpowered ODST trooper and unfold an irrelevent story? It'sThis is a really hard game to want to play because it's nothing more than a four hour dlc pack. Granted I didn't pay the original $60 for this, more like $25, but it still didn't draw me into the game to enjoy it. What's my motivation here? To fight a battle that took place just prior to Halo 3? Wander streets as an underpowered ODST trooper and unfold an irrelevent story? It's basically boring. Expand
  11. Jul 24, 2011
    6
    This is the worst Halo game in the series yet. To me most of the things are recycled content, and that's probably because the guys at Bungie are to lazy to add new content. The multiplayer is totally recycled, and that pissed me off. The campaign is not that good also, and I was especially much more pissed when a glitch in the game made me start all over again. The only good thing in thisThis is the worst Halo game in the series yet. To me most of the things are recycled content, and that's probably because the guys at Bungie are to lazy to add new content. The multiplayer is totally recycled, and that pissed me off. The campaign is not that good also, and I was especially much more pissed when a glitch in the game made me start all over again. The only good thing in this game, i would say, is the firefight mode. Besides that, not really a game worth getting. Expand
  12. Jan 7, 2012
    5
    I hope Microsoft is listening. You can't sell 4 hours of content, and a new multiplayer mode as a full game!!! The game was meant to be an expansion pack for Halo 3, hence the name Halo 3: ODST, so who's idea was it at Bungie, or Microsoft to sell this game as an independent title?!?!?
    The game play is similar to the other Halo titles. You kill aliens, to be frank. This time around you get
    I hope Microsoft is listening. You can't sell 4 hours of content, and a new multiplayer mode as a full game!!! The game was meant to be an expansion pack for Halo 3, hence the name Halo 3: ODST, so who's idea was it at Bungie, or Microsoft to sell this game as an independent title?!?!?
    The game play is similar to the other Halo titles. You kill aliens, to be frank. This time around you get a few new guns, and a vision mode that highlights enemies. Does that sound like it deserves to be a full purchase? No. But wait there is also a new multiplayer mode called Firefight, where you, and up to three friends fight in a survival type of mode where endless hordes of enemies will attack, and you have to fight them off. Aside from that, and a tacked on single player, the multiplayer is the exact same, without the new guns. Simply put, its one game mode, a short and tacked on single player, and the old Halo 3 multiplayer without any chances. I haven't left anything out at this point. I've said everything that Halo 3:ODST has to offer. So if that's all that was added why did the game set sold as a full price game rather then DLC? I'll tell you why. It's because some executive at Microsoft who figured they weren't making enough money said so that's why. This game is nothing new at all, it's just a recycled Halo 3. This game should not in anyway be praised.
    If this would have been released at DLC it would warrant a better score such as a 6, maybe 7. However, because of the price tag, I have to deduct points from it. The game doesn't deserve anything else other then a 5, because it simply isn't enough to get a better score when you have to pay full price for it.
    Shame on you Microsoft, shame on you Bungie, shame on you Halo fan boys who would be willing to cough up $60 for this trash at launch.
    Expand
  13. DerekF
    Sep 22, 2009
    6
    This is a fun game, but ultimately an overpriced expansion pack. Good value at $30, reasonable at $40, but not worth $60. The campaign only takes about 4 hours to complete and there is no matchmaking in firefight. Any halo fan would most likely have already purchased halo 3 and the map packs, so there is not much value for the majority of fans.
  14. ArminZ.
    Sep 22, 2009
    7
    Halo: ODST is a great experience while it lasts. This is not to be confused with the statement that it is a great game. If you are a diehard fan of the franchise then you most likely will look past the stagnation and lack of evolution in the series and disregard the fact that this is, by far, the worst game in the series. The graphics are suitable, but the Halo 3 graphics engine Halo: ODST is a great experience while it lasts. This is not to be confused with the statement that it is a great game. If you are a diehard fan of the franchise then you most likely will look past the stagnation and lack of evolution in the series and disregard the fact that this is, by far, the worst game in the series. The graphics are suitable, but the Halo 3 graphics engine wasn't even breathtaking when Halo 3 was released. Three years later the engine is in dire need of a rebuild. With games akin to Mass Effect 2 (on the horizon) MGS4, Gears of War 2 and (especially) Uncharted 2: Among Thieves - there is absolutely no excuse for a AAA title of this magnitude to be as lackluster graphically as ODST is. The sound design is commendable and the campaign is where ODST could have been a stellar title. The problem is, it will only take people 5-6 hours to beat on Lengendary. In such a short amount of time, Bungie was unable to fully develop the characters and really give the narrative any actual meat which could have added to the mythos of the Halo universe. The multiplayer is essentially the same as Halo 3 and, as such, does nothing but bring the overall score down (once again for stagnating). The pistol is back, which is fantastic, but it should have never been removed. The three new maps are about status quo for the series. all in all, the only thing that pushes the series forward is Firefight. You'll hear plenty of people discussing whether or not this title is an expansion or not. If reviewers are to judge it as an expansion, then it is almost as good as GTA: Lost and the Damned - almost, but for three times the cost. If a reviewer is to consider the game as an actual sequel/prequel (thereby attempting to justify the $60 asking price, sadly, the game doesn't offer enough. Halo: ODST is worth playing, it really is. The only caveat is that you should wait a year or so until the price drops to where it should have been in the first place. Expand
  15. DavidL.
    Sep 25, 2009
    6
    Firefight is a novel idea, however quickly gets extremely repetitive and boring. I'm surprised a broader selection of vehicles and weapons were not included. Let's face it, fighting against a computer is only so fun for so long when your using the same boring default weapons. Biggest Flaw: No matchmaking in firefight. The campaign was short with Co-op, but that's nothing Firefight is a novel idea, however quickly gets extremely repetitive and boring. I'm surprised a broader selection of vehicles and weapons were not included. Let's face it, fighting against a computer is only so fun for so long when your using the same boring default weapons. Biggest Flaw: No matchmaking in firefight. The campaign was short with Co-op, but that's nothing new. Lastly, this IS an expansion pack, nothing more. The maps included do not warrant a $60 price tag, as anyone who still plays Halo 3 already own all of the maps. Let's get real here, if it wasn't for the Reach Beta, ODST would not be a full-game priced expansion pack. Period. Expand
  16. JackS
    Feb 8, 2010
    5
    The game is SO boring and definitely not worth the money. Bungie tried to apply an open world to the Halo series, but failed miserably. As the cookie cutter protagonist that is the Rookie (promising young rookie, never speaks, where have we seen this before? Oh, yea: EVERYWHERE), you travel the bleak, depressing city of a destroyed New Mombasa. There is WAY too much walking, and to top it The game is SO boring and definitely not worth the money. Bungie tried to apply an open world to the Halo series, but failed miserably. As the cookie cutter protagonist that is the Rookie (promising young rookie, never speaks, where have we seen this before? Oh, yea: EVERYWHERE), you travel the bleak, depressing city of a destroyed New Mombasa. There is WAY too much walking, and to top it off, the scenery is bland and uninspired. Everything looks the same in New Mombasa, and worst of all, there are few fights in between objectives, and when you do enter a fight, it's so small and easy that it's nothing worth remembering. The Rookie is trying to find his squadmates who dropped into New Mombasa as well. Upon discovering their remains, you enter standard linear Halo levels, playing as the character you discover up until their crash. This concept seems to be the only thing original about this game. The linear Halo levels aren't completely terrible, but it's nothing worth remembering. The graphics in the game are the same as those in Halo 3, which is a 2007 game. This game came out in 2009. It seems like Bungie just added a bit of blur, but no major polish. Firefight is also boring. A lot of people seem to love it, but I absolutely hate it. The regular multiplayer is fun, but it's Halo 3's multiplayer with every map pack, so I can't credit any of that to ODST. People may tell you that this game is an expansion, but it's not. If it is the same price as a full game, then guess what? It's a full game. If I were you, I'd wait until this game dropped to $30-$40. Otherwise, it's cheaper to buy Halo 3 and every map pack separately, and will definitely leave you with a better experience. Expand
  17. AGLion
    Oct 10, 2009
    7
    The campaign was short and started to get repetitive, but it kept bringing me back with its really cool side story and its awesome music. Firefight is both awesome and innovative, with the skulls being activated after every round keep the game flowing pretty well and adding a new aspect to survival game modes. Despite the bad campaign, I found that it met the $60 price tag with its The campaign was short and started to get repetitive, but it kept bringing me back with its really cool side story and its awesome music. Firefight is both awesome and innovative, with the skulls being activated after every round keep the game flowing pretty well and adding a new aspect to survival game modes. Despite the bad campaign, I found that it met the $60 price tag with its firefight mode, and it's still keeping me occupied. Expand
  18. JimboH
    Oct 15, 2009
    7
    It has been a very long time since I've wandered a level for 40 minutes, searching the same places, riding along the edges of the map, and having no clue where to go. This describes the very first level I played on ODST. Eventually, some bad guys showed up who weren't there before, and suddenly I got a hint that told me to push the d-pad... for another hint. Since I am an expert It has been a very long time since I've wandered a level for 40 minutes, searching the same places, riding along the edges of the map, and having no clue where to go. This describes the very first level I played on ODST. Eventually, some bad guys showed up who weren't there before, and suddenly I got a hint that told me to push the d-pad... for another hint. Since I am an expert gamer, this kind of experience is ridiculous in AAA title. This also describes the "rookie" missions in the game, in particular the very first mission, and the third "rookie" mission. I dont understand the logic in "lets let the player wander with no idea what they are supposed to be doing". The rest of the game is more halo 3. There is in particular a part of the game where you collect audio clips and can view a slide show that plays with it. The voice acting was pretty bad, like Reading Rainbow children's book bad. You'd think Microsoft could find an aisan lady who actually sounds naturally asian and not phony stereotype cartoon character asian. The plot of the game seems irrelevant to the big picture (thus far). I was hoping it would explain Halo 3's quizzical beginning and fill in for what the kaput movie was supposed to explain, but it doesn't. At all. By itself though, its not a bad plot. Best part is that there's no AI chick who freezes your view and controls and nags you for abandoning her (for which you have no idea what she was talking about nor do you care). The size of the game is well suited for a rental; beat it on legendary on day 6 of my 7 day rental period, spending 1 - 3 hours a day on it. Firefight, while interesting, isn't worth 60 bucks, especially if you don't have any friends who also have this game. There's no matchmaking for it. The "par" score seems rather high as well. I got a 4,000 something score on my first try, after playing for over 20 minutes. The par was 200,000. Expand
  19. ClintK
    Dec 2, 2009
    6
    The Halo campaign though fun, had way too few enemies, challenges, and far too much repetitiveness and the game was too short. The firefight is the highlight and easily the most fun we had. Not having a Halo 3:ODST Multplayer is a total cop out job. I would have loved to have played ODST Multiplayer with a visor and no health recharge, but alas what a disappointment on that portion.
  20. jacob
    Oct 25, 2009
    5
    the story line was too short, and always being interrupted by long and unnecessary bits of walking around and looking for the smallest most inanimate object that triggers a flashback. the online game play is good but not enough so to revive itself. overall, a mediocre score for a mediocre game.
  21. BrandonZ.
    Oct 5, 2009
    5
    The campaign was fun, but relatively short. I enjoyed the game until I put the multiplayer disk in and my xbox recognized it as Halo 3. This game was way overpriced, even with the $20 gift card from toys r us. It should have been a 20-30 download for Halo 3, but since Microsoft knows we love Halo, they thought they could just trick us into paying full game price for it. What a rip-off.
  22. Byrd76The
    Oct 7, 2009
    7
    I've always thought the Halo series has been seriously overated after Halo 1. ODST just proves how overated this series is. The campaign was painfully short and uniteresting. The characters were bland and the story was decent. With that said I can't say it wasn't a bad shooter. The game did what it had to do as a shooter but it just didn't push the envelope. The I've always thought the Halo series has been seriously overated after Halo 1. ODST just proves how overated this series is. The campaign was painfully short and uniteresting. The characters were bland and the story was decent. With that said I can't say it wasn't a bad shooter. The game did what it had to do as a shooter but it just didn't push the envelope. The graphics were hit or miss, which I don't understand with games like Dead Space and COD4 which both look amazing on the same console. I've played many games this new generation on every platform and honestly ODST looks and feels like the beginning of the generation. A game should not be measured on it's multiplayer alone. Please people wake up and stop giving this games 8's and 9's. Go play Gears of War or Uncharted, which are much solid games! Expand
  23. JohnS.
    Sep 22, 2009
    6
    Pretty much underwhelming.
  24. PaulT.
    Sep 22, 2009
    7
    For what was supposed to be an expansion pack, I would say that ODST does not disappoint. It adds around 4-6 hours of Campaign and Firefight is a great addition, though not particularly innovative, to the solid game that is Halo 3. As someone who is not a die-hard Halo fan, however, there's really not much here to match the 60 dollar price tag. If you aren't a huge Halo fan, For what was supposed to be an expansion pack, I would say that ODST does not disappoint. It adds around 4-6 hours of Campaign and Firefight is a great addition, though not particularly innovative, to the solid game that is Halo 3. As someone who is not a die-hard Halo fan, however, there's really not much here to match the 60 dollar price tag. If you aren't a huge Halo fan, possibly buy it for $20 or less. Until it hits that price point, just wait to rent to make a decision about it. Expand
  25. JonathanL
    Sep 22, 2009
    6
    It's hard not to experience deja vu when you play this game. However, that quickly wears off and you'll feel disappointed once you've beaten the game in under 5 hours and noticed the multi-player remains the same. This should have been priced at what it is, a standalone expansion. Do not buy this game for $60.
  26. RavenWolfx
    Sep 22, 2009
    6
    The game is short, the graphics are sub-standard now, and the story is average at best. I would like to give it a better score, at least a 7, but this is just way too overpriced. $20-$30 DLC would have been great, but not $60. Firefight is great fun with a full team, but even that doesn't make it a great buy. I refuse to boost the score just because it is Halo or because Bungie is The game is short, the graphics are sub-standard now, and the story is average at best. I would like to give it a better score, at least a 7, but this is just way too overpriced. $20-$30 DLC would have been great, but not $60. Firefight is great fun with a full team, but even that doesn't make it a great buy. I refuse to boost the score just because it is Halo or because Bungie is known for making good games. Expand
  27. RobertC.
    Sep 22, 2009
    5
    Very over hyped game very short campagin, poor graphics it just does not stand up to some of the falls coming games like MW2 and uncharted 2 but fire fight mode is a blast with friends but is let down by no match making with randomers over xbox live.
  28. PhilipP
    Sep 23, 2009
    5
    It's a very solid rental, but if I could go back to Gamestop, I'd return it and pick up Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 2, or else just wait for Operation Flashpoint (while playing Zombie Apocalypse on XBLA). The engine is starting to show it's age, the VSR mode I think is just an attempt to hide the low-rez textures and bland level design, the whole "vulnerable" aspect they were It's a very solid rental, but if I could go back to Gamestop, I'd return it and pick up Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 2, or else just wait for Operation Flashpoint (while playing Zombie Apocalypse on XBLA). The engine is starting to show it's age, the VSR mode I think is just an attempt to hide the low-rez textures and bland level design, the whole "vulnerable" aspect they were bragging about is just the armor shield renamed to Stamina, and the weapons are all the same from previous versions (who cares about the two "new" silenced weapons, they're weak and pack no punch). Also, though I'm looking forward to trying out Firefight, I have zero desire to play any more Halo 3 multiplayer. The campaign is fun, but I imagine I'll be done with it by this time tomorrow (including all the SP cheevos). Expand
  29. ApocalypseBrown
    Sep 23, 2009
    7
    In all honesty I haven't played the game, and though I think they can be pompous yuppies the normally excellent GameCentral is where I've nicked the score from. But I am posting to say to those idiotic PS3 fan boys to stop posting your brain dead reviews, you're wasting your time and ours so do yourselves a favour and stop it. Thank you.
  30. PAL4DIN
    Sep 24, 2009
    7
    To me this game has so far been a disappointment. The reason the game gets a 7 in my opinion is because there is nothing wrong with Halo 3 being redone so to speak, the problem is that there is nothing extremely new to play with. The absolute most disappointing part is that the new ODST feel is fun but isn't ported into multiplayer! If they made the single player feel a bit new, why To me this game has so far been a disappointment. The reason the game gets a 7 in my opinion is because there is nothing wrong with Halo 3 being redone so to speak, the problem is that there is nothing extremely new to play with. The absolute most disappointing part is that the new ODST feel is fun but isn't ported into multiplayer! If they made the single player feel a bit new, why not the multiplayer as well? I want to have the cool vizr, the silenced SMG, and the throwback pistol in multiplayer. Would it be too much to ask for a change in the multiplayer? They could have done so much with the ODST troops being in multiplayer but didn't. Expand
  31. RowanF
    Oct 11, 2009
    7
    A real solid game and well worth your purchase, but let's not for a minute pretend that its of the same genre - reorganising caliber of Halo 3 or Halo 1. This is basicaly because its pretty much the same as Halo 3 - hence all the talk about it being an expansion. The graphics, enemies and gameplay are almost identical. Not only this, but lots of bits have been removed: You're A real solid game and well worth your purchase, but let's not for a minute pretend that its of the same genre - reorganising caliber of Halo 3 or Halo 1. This is basicaly because its pretty much the same as Halo 3 - hence all the talk about it being an expansion. The graphics, enemies and gameplay are almost identical. Not only this, but lots of bits have been removed: You're now incredibly weak and move painfuly slowly, you can't dual weild, use equipment, or use the battle rifle (cry). Bungie's answer to all this identical/removed content is the two new weapons: the silenced SMG and the Automag. I feel i must make a point here about the fact that in Halo 2 and 3, the SMG was frickin' useless unless dual-weilded, and even then it had the range of the frickin' energy sword. And yet in ODST, you can't dual-weild and it's still just as useless on its own. Ok so now its got a scope, but like I said, the thing's about as accurate as a shotgun with a 2 foot barrel. The Automag is ok, those first few instant-kill headshots against grunts are fun, but once you see how useless it is against everything else, you'll soon be swapping it for your trusty assault rifle. Weapons - wise, I was more excited about the return of the Brute Plasma Rifle. Of the new content that has been added, it's mainly new locations, which I have to admit are nice and interesting and as always it's probably worth getting it just for an inside look into the amazing Halo universe. The new story is interesting and again reveals lots of stuff about the Halo universe, but it's short and nowhere near as epic or enthralling as the other games, and the characters involved are nowhere near as likeable, mainly because its impossible to keep up with who's who unless you go onto Bungie.net and look at the character profiles, and plus I found it impoosible to take them seriously considering how retarded they look in the cutscenes. Honestly, in Halo 3, people in the cutscenes moved calmly, considerately and realisticaly, but in ODST they look like poorly made ragdolls being hung from the ceiling by nylon stings, and these strings are then being operated by a blind drunk man. The one realy soldily new and interesting bit of the game is Firefight, which it's probably worth getting for: it's fun, tactical and great entertainment for hours on end, my only complaint is perhaps that it starts way too slowly and is measured in such silly numbers: it doesn't exactly sound very cool to say ' i got to the end of set two', but that's acutaly quite an achievement. Expand
  32. LorenzoC
    Oct 18, 2009
    5
    Halo is a good game, it have a long story but i think it can't have more than 7 out of 10 because it have a good grafic and a good multiplayer on xbox live but it use only a part of the joistick, not like call of duty or other war games, they use all the joistick, then halo is limited, i don't understand many things also in the story and in the multyplayer on live, when one Halo is a good game, it have a long story but i think it can't have more than 7 out of 10 because it have a good grafic and a good multiplayer on xbox live but it use only a part of the joistick, not like call of duty or other war games, they use all the joistick, then halo is limited, i don't understand many things also in the story and in the multyplayer on live, when one player or covenat death they only go on the ground, i don't want blood but only the sign on the body. Expand
  33. [anonymous]
    Dec 27, 2009
    5
    Stick to normal Halo 3, this one isn't too good. It was nice of them to include the map packs for Halo 3, though.
  34. JV
    Oct 7, 2009
    5
    Feels like an expansion pack. Its short. The the interface is horrible. The learning curve is sharp, most of the HUD which they force you to step through the tutorial for is pointless. The first half dozen levels are severely disjointed and not particularly enjoyable. I found it extremely hard to keep track of the plot or associate with any of the characters mostly because of how it keeps Feels like an expansion pack. Its short. The the interface is horrible. The learning curve is sharp, most of the HUD which they force you to step through the tutorial for is pointless. The first half dozen levels are severely disjointed and not particularly enjoyable. I found it extremely hard to keep track of the plot or associate with any of the characters mostly because of how it keeps switching who you're playing as and the horrible cut scenes. The are many instances where they should have reinforced with visuals where you should go or what the objective was - maybe they didnt do sufficient usability testing to figure out the traps and areas that needed to be smoothed. But like always the fan boys jump on the bungie wang and give it a good polish... just like how halo3 was a 9.9/10 game? yeah right. Expand
  35. MarcusChief
    Sep 22, 2009
    5
    Pissed that MS is selling this as a retail game when more than half of it is stuff from H3. Fire Fight and new campaign mode are the only new things. Same old same old pretty much. Definitely NOT worth 60$
  36. AaronH.
    Sep 22, 2009
    7
    Disjointed, too dark, terrible map, the player spends more time trying to figure out how to get to the next checkpoint than he does fighting. Very frustrating for that reason.
  37. FrankGrimes
    Sep 23, 2009
    6
    I'm very surprised people say this is a good deal. I already beat the campaign. I already had some of the multiplayer maps. I do enjoy a new twist on the Halo setting and universe but this is just not worth $60. I would highly recommend this for $30 if you can find it at that price.
  38. DougC.
    Sep 23, 2009
    5
    Typical Halo production values (which are high).....and little else excluding a few exclusive maps. All in all the entirety of the worthwhile content could have easily been done as an H3 expansion via digital distro and a considerably more reasonable price tag. The whole thing reeks of filler to justify the box. I consider that a semi-evil thing to do after such lofty promises were made Typical Halo production values (which are high).....and little else excluding a few exclusive maps. All in all the entirety of the worthwhile content could have easily been done as an H3 expansion via digital distro and a considerably more reasonable price tag. The whole thing reeks of filler to justify the box. I consider that a semi-evil thing to do after such lofty promises were made by Bungie...looks like the Microsoft ethos finally invaded the building there, which is a shame. Expand
  39. KeithBE
    Sep 23, 2009
    6
    A large disappointment. Campaign is pretty fun, but way to short and not very exciting. Only one real new weapon which is the automag. The smg is the same as halo 3 with a silencer. Firefight is okay compared to horde in gears of war 2. This game is a good rental but not worth 60 bucks.
  40. Nickj.
    Sep 23, 2009
    6
    I was rather disappointed on this game because it's pretty much halo 3 and i got confused on when this was happening if it was before master chief came were are all the elites i see brutes and everything else but no elites when i was walking around i saw a couple of dead elites so my guess was that it was after the war. And also i found the health annoying because i couldn't I was rather disappointed on this game because it's pretty much halo 3 and i got confused on when this was happening if it was before master chief came were are all the elites i see brutes and everything else but no elites when i was walking around i saw a couple of dead elites so my guess was that it was after the war. And also i found the health annoying because i couldn't find any health and then it beeps and doesn't stop beeping why couldn't they keep the old health like in 2 and 3 i know because you were chief but i couldn't c why. Recoil is an other thing i got annoyed while shooting bad guys. mapping is annoying because in halo you knew were u were going because you have a little map at the corner. i'm sorry me and my mate played this got lost got bored nothing differant flash backs got me confused and this game wasn't the game i thought it would be and bungie probably weren't thinking right. Expand
  41. eddierivera
    Sep 23, 2009
    7
    The game sucks compared to most games that have come out in the past 2 years. It is better then Halo 3 in many aspects so that stopped me from giving this game a 5 or less. I have to give credit where its due. It makes a great cup coaster
  42. IanB
    Sep 24, 2009
    7
    In my opinion, the value of Halo 3:ODST really depends on whether you own Halo 3 or not. For the avid Halo multiplayer gamers, you're getting shafted if you pay full price for this game. Microsoft charging you for content you have already paid for is a rip off, plain and simple. If you don't own Halo 3 this game is a great deal. You get the new 6 hour campaign and firefight In my opinion, the value of Halo 3:ODST really depends on whether you own Halo 3 or not. For the avid Halo multiplayer gamers, you're getting shafted if you pay full price for this game. Microsoft charging you for content you have already paid for is a rip off, plain and simple. If you don't own Halo 3 this game is a great deal. You get the new 6 hour campaign and firefight (both are excellent) and some of the best multiplayer you can find on Xbox. Expand
  43. BrianA.
    Sep 24, 2009
    5
    As a fan of the Halo series, I was truly and utterly disappointed by this installation to the epic saga. Granted, they've taken the game in a whole new direction for storytelling and gameplay, but I was mortified to find no competitive multiplayer. Including 3 new maps for Halo 3 is NOT a legitimate way of justifying the lack of a competitive multiplayer in ODST. I can't believe As a fan of the Halo series, I was truly and utterly disappointed by this installation to the epic saga. Granted, they've taken the game in a whole new direction for storytelling and gameplay, but I was mortified to find no competitive multiplayer. Including 3 new maps for Halo 3 is NOT a legitimate way of justifying the lack of a competitive multiplayer in ODST. I can't believe I spent $60 for a 4-5 hour campaigh and a silly wave mode. Personally, I find Firefight to be quite monotonous and unappealing, though it's an interesting addition. I'd still rather play Horde Mode in GoW 2 or even Survival Mode in Resident Evil 5. ODST has almost driven me to the point of boycotting Halo Reach. If it's anything like this, I will not be purchasing it. Expand
  44. MasterChief
    Sep 24, 2009
    5
    Another overhyped and overpriced game. A boring campaign with a story that tries to be emotional but fails. The graphics looks dated. Overall another disappointment int the Halo Series.
  45. EliJ.
    Sep 25, 2009
    6
    Oh i absolutely love the fact that it doesn't take 30 hits to kill someone, but i cant give it higher than a six because this game should be priced as DLC. Not enough game for your buck so to speak.
  46. BobbyD.
    Sep 27, 2009
    5
    And the vs multiplayer is where? Firefight.. that's it? Are you kidding me?!! I've already go Halo 3 and previously payed for the maps thanks! Imagine if the new COD MW just gave you the COD 4 maps on a separate disk. You'd feel justifiably ripped off.
  47. JordanA.
    Sep 22, 2009
    7
    fun game, not worth 60 bucks... at all. same multiplayer with the same maps ive been playing for 2 years. only 3 new maps. you're basically paying 60 dollars for a new game mode and a mediocre story.
  48. JohnD.
    Sep 22, 2009
    7
    I paid $60 for 6 hours and a buncha multiplayer maps I already paid for in the past? Thanks for getting us Fanboys, M$!
  49. RobD.
    Sep 22, 2009
    5
    Shame Bungie trys to milk the Halo cash cow with a bullshit package as this. Aside from the good single player and firefight but with no lobbys b.t.w. the multiplayer is exactly like in Halo 3 except the 3 exclusive maps it comes with the disc wow thanks Bungie $60 bucks really? I say rent it for the single player and maybe firefight and save your money for Call Of Duty Modern Warfare 2 Shame Bungie trys to milk the Halo cash cow with a bullshit package as this. Aside from the good single player and firefight but with no lobbys b.t.w. the multiplayer is exactly like in Halo 3 except the 3 exclusive maps it comes with the disc wow thanks Bungie $60 bucks really? I say rent it for the single player and maybe firefight and save your money for Call Of Duty Modern Warfare 2 in November. Trust me it's not worth it. Expand
  50. TewaD
    Sep 24, 2009
    5
    What a letdown! I am a true fan of Halo from the first one and have been looking forward to this game for months. From bad lighting and small map to cheesy cut scenes and bad graphics, I felt like I was playing N64 again. Bungie strayed way too far from its roots and Halo 1 and turned the game into a real disappointment. Save your money and rent before you play.
  51. KeithR
    Sep 28, 2009
    5
    Why it sucks- campaign sucks, way to short, no new guns, stealth gameplay my ass, perfect enemy snipers, to much walking, no vehicles exept mongooses and SOMETIMES a ghost, price why it rocks- visor is pretty cool, flashback missions are pretty good, FIREFIGHT
  52. NathanielJ.
    Sep 29, 2009
    6
    + actual characters, not just Jon everyman the stereotypical action hero and a supporting cast of fodder. + actual character development, which is refreshing considering the brevity of the story + the story is better told than any previous halo game and the contrast between night and day gameplay is wonderful + music is quite different from other halo games, but stands in in own right + + actual characters, not just Jon everyman the stereotypical action hero and a supporting cast of fodder. + actual character development, which is refreshing considering the brevity of the story + the story is better told than any previous halo game and the contrast between night and day gameplay is wonderful + music is quite different from other halo games, but stands in in own right + broader color palette than previous Halo games + enhanced vision is fun and useful and makes it so you can see -- you have to use the enhanced vision most of the time because everything is either black as pitch or blooming light out it's rectum - a better palette doesn't count when I spend the entire game in enhanced vision A) because I can't see otherwise and B) because there's no reason to ever turn it off! - auto-unzoom when you get hit I can understand, auto-stand I cannot however forgive. I do not wish to emulate the moronic AI, which flinches into full exposure when you nick their shoulder thanks. + quality time with the fuel rod gun and other lesser utilized weapons and vehicles - can't jack jack (no wraiths for you!) -- No firefight matchmaking, seriously?! I mean they ripped off horde from Gears and didn't think to rip off the public live option too? -- brutes are still the most annoying and uncompelling race/enemy in halo, I want to go back to fighting elites in halo 2 - buggers got tougher and are still annoy and unrewarding as well -- the story is however completely uncompelling and ultimately feels quite meaningless at the end of the game, sadly most fans won't notice or care. - story is VERY short and overall content is very limited ? it comes with a map pack, but that's more like bonus content than something the game itself should be rated on ODST is most assuredely NOT a standalone game and should not have been priced as one. It should've been moderately priced DLC (about $10-20 depending on whether or not the maps came with it), not an overpriced standalone (albeit not full price) game. It was worth a play through, but I honestly can't say I'm compelled to do much else and will readily give it up when my rental runs out. I greatly thanked the friend who convinced me to rent this one before buying it, which is about what the game is worth paying to play. A decent rental, but not a good purchase. Expand
  53. Aug 22, 2010
    7
    Halo 3:ODST was different from other halo games. Over the game you were forced to travel to your mission by walking throught the dark city of new mombasa. Sometimes i would get lost. It probably took me 45 minutes to get to the first mission cause it took that long to get used too. How ever the campaign was fun and still play it from time to time.How ever it was short. Firefight is fun butHalo 3:ODST was different from other halo games. Over the game you were forced to travel to your mission by walking throught the dark city of new mombasa. Sometimes i would get lost. It probably took me 45 minutes to get to the first mission cause it took that long to get used too. How ever the campaign was fun and still play it from time to time.How ever it was short. Firefight is fun but it is hard to get someone to play with online. This game should have been an add on instead of a full priced game. I give halo 3:ODST a 7.5 out of 10.

    Review9
    Expand
  54. Sep 25, 2010
    5
    This game isn't the worst ever, but it certainly is not a Ã
  55. Jun 18, 2013
    7
    Halo 3: ODST was okay, not much to say about it, the Firefight mode though, was quite vague in setting selections, it wasn't as adventurous as Halo 3 or gave that much of a motivational feeling. I've only played it once, hence explaining my reason why I considered this boring. I was really happy with the Halo 3 multiplayer packaging, which is why I'm giving this an 8, it was getting quiteHalo 3: ODST was okay, not much to say about it, the Firefight mode though, was quite vague in setting selections, it wasn't as adventurous as Halo 3 or gave that much of a motivational feeling. I've only played it once, hence explaining my reason why I considered this boring. I was really happy with the Halo 3 multiplayer packaging, which is why I'm giving this an 8, it was getting quite boring with the repetition of grunts everywhere, but I still appreciated the satisfactory story line. Expand
  56. Jul 18, 2011
    7
    I think this game is a disgrace to the series due to its boring campaign and average graphics. The character are not remembered after a playthrough and the story, well it is awful and you probably won't remember it after you beat the game. The campaign, well, most of the time you will be wondering like an idiot in the streets of New Mombasa just to find a little thing that will show youI think this game is a disgrace to the series due to its boring campaign and average graphics. The character are not remembered after a playthrough and the story, well it is awful and you probably won't remember it after you beat the game. The campaign, well, most of the time you will be wondering like an idiot in the streets of New Mombasa just to find a little thing that will show you what happened to your team, in my opinion this mechanism is a little unbelievable because you can't see what happened to your team only by finding a little thing that doesn't record anything. I'm putting this game a 7 only because of its excellent firefight mode and the second disc with the complete Halo 3 Multiplayer experience. The last thing I'm going to say is for all these guys who are saying right now that I'm a playstation fanboy, is that I am a fan of this series and I own every single game of the series Expand
  57. Aug 18, 2011
    5
    The campaign of this game was really bad, but the firefight mode in this game saves the game to be a very awful one. But, to get the maps for firefight, you need to play the campaign! I feel it's an okay game, but the campaign just lacks in story and makes no sense at all.
  58. Mar 19, 2012
    7
    It's a fun game with a great atmosphere and very good voice acting. I managed a legendary single-player run through without much difficulty, which is probably not a point in its favor. It's hard to give the game a good rating because Halo, to me, is really made by multiplayer. It was fun, and I've played it on and off for achievements, but it's a game I'd consider selling back at some point.
  59. Mar 23, 2013
    5
    This game really could of just not existed. Really, it could of been an Add-On for Halo 3, and life could go on. This is my least favorite Halo game. The campaign has its moments, but it never wowed me at any moment. I never had feelings for any of the characters, and that brings it down a lot. Firefight was ok, nothing exiting or interesting because it did not have many options. The bestThis game really could of just not existed. Really, it could of been an Add-On for Halo 3, and life could go on. This is my least favorite Halo game. The campaign has its moments, but it never wowed me at any moment. I never had feelings for any of the characters, and that brings it down a lot. Firefight was ok, nothing exiting or interesting because it did not have many options. The best part of the package was the multiplayer. It has all the Halo 3 map packs and original maps. I cannot argue with that. But if you already own all of the maps, this game really has nothing to offer. Unless you want to see what the lore is, of course. In the end, this game is great for hardcore fans of the series, but I am not a hardcore fan. Just a guy who was expecting more from this game. Expand
  60. Aug 29, 2013
    7
    While the six-hour campaign was interesting and fun but its only six hours and there is a Firefight Mode which has been bettered by Reach but is still very fun and interesting the multiplayer is Halo 3 again but with all the DLC included it feels like DLC and overpriced but buy it cheap online and you'll be fine
  61. Apr 23, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The actual game itself holds well on its own. As a downed ODST trooper, you spend the game moving around the city of New Mombasa, searching for your squad mates. The gameplay is as tight as a regular run of the mill HALO installment, and the story holds its own as well. This game doesn't come without its faults, however. The characters are shoddy, in terms of personality and actual physical design. When halo fans hear the term, ODST, the first image that comes to mind is a tatted-out, physically peaked killing machine. Basically a step below Spartans. However when you play through the different characters and their stories, you get the feeling that these squad mates are nothing more than goofy, hapless grunts. My second qualm came from the lack of Halo 2 tech. ODST takes place, in the halo timeline, in Halo 2, where brutes were only just making their appearance, elites were still the majority fighting force in the Halo 'verse. However you don't fight a single one in the campaign! Also, the assault rifle and chopper return, without the battle rifle. The entire campaign experience just felt like a Halo 3 recreation. Now, my main issue is my belief that the popularity of the package itself came majorly from the second disk, which contained the bonus Halo 3 multiplayer map packs and other miscellaneous content. If ODST had been an individual project, with all work focused on the game, without the halo 3 map pack, I believe it could've been a completely changed, for the better, superb game. Unfortunately, what with the inclusion of the map pack, in the end all ODST was was an extension that should have been something much bigger and grander than what it was made to be. Expand
  62. May 16, 2014
    7
    Halo 3: ODST is the most unsatisfying game of the series, yet still portrays an intriguing story that pushes you through the lengthy adventure. The open world was so plan and boring, trying to navigate was very difficult that it became the most frustrating part of the game. Having to walk from side to side of the map is something i hated in this game! However the scenes of being weak andHalo 3: ODST is the most unsatisfying game of the series, yet still portrays an intriguing story that pushes you through the lengthy adventure. The open world was so plan and boring, trying to navigate was very difficult that it became the most frustrating part of the game. Having to walk from side to side of the map is something i hated in this game! However the scenes of being weak and venerable is done so well you start to get the creeps in some parts of the game especially at night time. This is something i haven't seen a halo game for a very long time, as master chief is a well known bad ass! All in all ODST isn't a must have just an expansion of the city from Halo 2, new comers will be left confused, do not start halo here. However if fans are looking for a unique game of the series. This is a must! Expand
  63. Jul 19, 2013
    6
    Halo ODST is a fun game but I need to say it is more DLC then Game why because it gives a short campaign and one new mode. it is especially a DLC for anyone that bought Halo 3 since it also gives halo 3 multiplayer something you already bought.
    pros: still halo= still fun, graphics, cool audio logs which have a bonus scene if you collect them all, pretty cool story where you are shot down
    Halo ODST is a fun game but I need to say it is more DLC then Game why because it gives a short campaign and one new mode. it is especially a DLC for anyone that bought Halo 3 since it also gives halo 3 multiplayer something you already bought.
    pros: still halo= still fun, graphics, cool audio logs which have a bonus scene if you collect them all, pretty cool story where you are shot down and must discover what happened to your team.
    cons: its a DLC halo 3 is in its title, in the open world you backtrack most of the time and avoid fights. you can't even do some normal things anyone can do because "rookie is strong enough" like duel wielding and JUMPING HIGH ARE YOU SERIOUS!, you never really like any of your team (except maybe buck) 4 hour campaign with one multiplayer mode is all the game really offers if you already got Halo 3 (which I bet you did)
    Expand
  64. Jul 23, 2013
    6
    Halo 3: ODST is not a bad game. It is just as polished as the other games in the series. That being said, the reason the score is not higher is because of the amount of content that this game has to offer. The multiplayer is a rehash of Halo 3, which is really fun, but not new. Many people already own most of the Halo 3 maps, making this disc feel like a rehash. The campaign is fun,Halo 3: ODST is not a bad game. It is just as polished as the other games in the series. That being said, the reason the score is not higher is because of the amount of content that this game has to offer. The multiplayer is a rehash of Halo 3, which is really fun, but not new. Many people already own most of the Halo 3 maps, making this disc feel like a rehash. The campaign is fun, but it is extremely short. I was able to beat this game in 4 hours max. This short campaign is not worth a full retail price, which is why I cannot give this game a higher rating. Expand
  65. Jan 4, 2015
    5
    This game was a cool idea but is a prime case of a DLC game. There just isn't enough content here, and they tried to justify it by givinf you the halo 3 multiplayer, a game which a lot of people proably already had. I'll give it to them for the story, it was ace to have a noir Halo game, but only 6 hours ish of gameplay? And then a firefight mode that gets tiresome pretty quickly. I wasThis game was a cool idea but is a prime case of a DLC game. There just isn't enough content here, and they tried to justify it by givinf you the halo 3 multiplayer, a game which a lot of people proably already had. I'll give it to them for the story, it was ace to have a noir Halo game, but only 6 hours ish of gameplay? And then a firefight mode that gets tiresome pretty quickly. I was sadly done with this game in about a month or two and was straight back to playing Halo 3. Would give it a lower score for lack of content but the story mode is cool and a bit different from previous halo games stories so i give them credit for that! Expand
  66. Oct 20, 2014
    6
    The game overall in general aspects is very good and interesting like the story and the visuals and the structure of the game story but that is the only thing I can say is good about the game because there are so many details that are glitchy, especially the AI.

    I have always said since the first Halo game that the AI (Artificial Intelligence or so called computer controlled characters)
    The game overall in general aspects is very good and interesting like the story and the visuals and the structure of the game story but that is the only thing I can say is good about the game because there are so many details that are glitchy, especially the AI.

    I have always said since the first Halo game that the AI (Artificial Intelligence or so called computer controlled characters) is one of the worst I've experienced. They are poor programmed and doesn't have any tactic to follow, they simply run in battle and get themselves killed and you have to literally babysit them all of the time. They shoot you in the back all of the time and walks in front of your line of fire. They sometimes doesn't respond when you stand beside them with a vehicle they can enter. And one of the biggest nightmares is when they are controlling the turret/gunner positions, they don't hit the enemies and also rarely shoots at all, making you to drive around in circles until you get killed.

    Sometimes weapons disappear through the floor when you drop a weapon which is very frustrating. The AI characters have gotten me killed so many times that it simply is frustrating to even keep playing. The game is messing things up for the player who maybe easily would have completed a certain mission unless the AI wouldn't have messed it up for you. With such a high budget Bungie has then this is unacceptable.

    This glitchy details and AI problems is really ruining a otherwise GREAT game! I love the halo series and the story and apart from all these details it is a game i could easily have rated 8-9 but because of all the aspects that are really bad I have to give it a 6 unfortunately.
    Expand
  67. Apr 5, 2014
    7
    As a 10 or even 20 dollar expansion this would have been great, but I paid 60 dollars for it. This has excellent game play stellar graphics and an awesome story with a lovable set of characters, but it only took me 3 hours to complete on LEGENDARY. The multi-player despite being fun crashes multiple time in a few short sessions. Truly a sad corporate sellout to something that could haveAs a 10 or even 20 dollar expansion this would have been great, but I paid 60 dollars for it. This has excellent game play stellar graphics and an awesome story with a lovable set of characters, but it only took me 3 hours to complete on LEGENDARY. The multi-player despite being fun crashes multiple time in a few short sessions. Truly a sad corporate sellout to something that could have been great. Expand
  68. Dec 9, 2014
    6
    After the first three Halo games left their mark on the gaming world people wanted a sequel. This is what we got. A short 5-6 hour campaign following a squad of ODST troopers and all of Halo's multiplayer maps.
    The only great part about this game is the multiplayer.

    Verdict:
    A game that lacks a good story or characters but adds all of the maps from Halo 3
    6/10
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 94 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 94
  2. Negative: 1 out of 94
  1. The bottom line here is that this is a nice little piece of Halo, and that anyone who has ever enjoyed Halo will probably enjoy this too. The only question is how much it is worth to you. As a full priced stand-alone game, its value is somewhat dubious.
  2. Not only an add-on! This is better than many of the main games! Next to the single player, you also get a great multiplayer mode. You just cannot do wrong if you buy this game!
  3. Halo 3: ODST is an excellent add-on campaign for Halo 3, and one which all Halo fans should own.