User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 962 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    Not the best Halo but at least like a lost episode , very nice. Actually it added cool features the game, just like the DLC and the firefight mode apart from the short campaign . The campaign was nice, playing as an a ODST felt like a challenge against the covenants and that was a great feature in difference about Master chief that is (obviously) a spartan (easy) . A little disappointed in the campaign , I mean it needed the battle rifle, and mostly in all the level you used the silenced m7s , the levels vastly appeared the assault rifle and come on the protagonist never talked it just felt like another master chief only human. But anyway is full entertaining and you get a good use for your money . Expand
  2. Oct 8, 2011
    9
    Story: 9
    Characters: 7
    Graphics: 9
    Setting: 7
    Multiplayer: 10
    Technical: 10
    Audio: 10
    Gameplay: 10
    Re-Playability Value: 8
    Fun Factor: 8

    Score: 8.8/10 = A
  3. Sep 24, 2010
    10
    As MikeW put it "The ruined Mombasa that you play for most of the game as the rookie is very dull and lifeless." Duh. It's supposed to. Anyway, The game brings back some features from Halo: Combat Evolved, such as the health system and the ability of dual wielding is absent. The music is great and sets the tone of the game. While Firefight is not matchmaking, it is great to play with friends and is an excellent addition to the franchise.Also, be sure to visit Bungie.net and get your Halo 3: ODST nameplate for Halo: Reach! Expand
  4. Sep 29, 2010
    9
    Halo 3: ODST is little more than an expansion pack. But where there isn't a rethought mutliplayer component that pushes the series forward, there is a stellar story told through a scope that is brand new to Halo and will really please fans that are wanting to answer the question "why am I doing this?" as they progress through the campaign. The only real new face in ODST besides the obvious 6-8 hour campaign portion is the intriguing Firefight mode that brings up to 4 players together to fight off massive waves of Covenant soldiers & vehicles. This mode is reminiscent of Gear of War 2's "Horde" mode and will give friends something great to enjoy while playing with up to 3 other friends. But other than that, you're looking at minimal changes to what has been a solid formula up to this point. Though adding in great voice acting from the likes of Nathan Fillion certainly pushes the game into believable AND captivating territory. If you were hoping for something big, new, and a step up graphically... well you'll only get a little of each. Though running around, guns blazing, has never been so cool. Expand
  5. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    Copy/Paste to all Halo reviews after all these years: I didn't have a 360 for a few years (played 3 and ODST). In the meantime I played all sorts of fps- COD, BF, Killzone (which is awesome), Resistance, and every single other one. And coming back to Halo when I rebought a 360 was like the greatest homecoming ever. Unlike those other games, every Halo battle is like a chess match waiting to happen. And once you truly know every enemy and every weapon, you fall into a sweet spot of gaming that is possibly the best of all action games ever made. It's just the best. Great now I have to copy and paste this 4 more times. Expand
  6. Dec 22, 2010
    9
    Halo 3: ODST is what you get when you try to create DLC but add to much content, the story in this game is one of the best in the series, it's better than Halo 3's in my opinion, the environmental graphics are outstanding as are the armor graphics, facial animations are terrible though, voice acting is great and the sound effects are top notch, and the new Firefight mode is really fun, a few new gameplay changes only give it a slightly different feel, and there is no multiplayer, but it does come with all of Halo 3's maps plus the DLC maps and two new maps, this game is in my opinion amazing and one of the best in the series. Expand
  7. Feb 16, 2011
    10
    The graphic are Horrible ! The monster are **** ! The characters are (comment on dit un travelo ?), the story is whoring. The Game-play is moisi... ODST Is a **** game which is good and pourri.
  8. Feb 23, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is great. I felt/feel that it's not worth $60 but at the same time I had such a good experience playing it that I have a hard time gauging what it's worth. Definitely $20, $30, maybe $40. It is great because of the moodiness, and because of the frailty of the playable characters. You are not a spartan, you are a soldier, and you don't have super shields and you are not unstoppable. Choices must be made with consideration to ammo, health and environment. Battles with hunters in tight corridors vs. out in the open are awesome and difficult choices to make. Finding the snipers in the buildings is essential to cross some sections, with soldiers coming on your position from multiple directions. Survival strategies become important.

    There are multiple mission types, each carried out by other members of the ODST team focusing more (albeit not by much more) on their characters special training, well voiced by half the cast of firefly (with multiple references to the show). I would liked to have seen a longer game just to get to flesh them out more. Or, better yet a new game continuing their story. With master chief gone I was really hoping they would be the future of the game franchise.


    You can get the game dirt cheap now, and if the cost or halo-burnout kept you at bay before it's worth the $10 or twenty bucks you would pay to get it.
    Expand
  9. Aug 1, 2011
    9
    You know I was going to give it a bad rating because its a bad "halo game" but then I played some other much worse fps's and other bad games and thought wow this really is so much better than those other games. so sure out of all the halo games its definitely the worst (yes that includes wars) it's still a superb game by gaming standards and deserves to be regarded as such.
  10. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    I really enjoyed this halo because of the story and the soundtrack. I actually like this story better than Reach's and the characters were much more enjoyable in this. I can understand why some people thought it was too expensive for what it is, but I still picked it up quite cheap. The facial graphics of the odst's are the weakness of the graphics overall a great game.
  11. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    +6 for the best Halo campaign I've ever played. +5 for the Firefight being awesome. -1 for not having matchmaking in Firefight. -1 for not being able to unlock bigger portions of Firefight maps. Okay, I am a long time Halo fan. I've read all the books and own all the games. I understand why people would think that ODST should not have come out as a full priced game. It didn't have an independent multiplayer, but is that seriously what we base game quality off of today? Some of the most amazing games I've ever played are single-player and ODST is no exception. The inclusion of Firefight easily evened out the lack of mulitplayer for me. With Reach coming out so soon after, I wouldn't have spent any time on ODSTs mulitplayer anyway. Expand
  12. Nov 6, 2011
    9
    The campaign in this game ventures off from the previous Halo games. While playing as the Rookie and wandering around the darkened streets of New Mombasa alone you actually get the feeling that you are indeed "alone". While in this segment of the game you would want to avoid enemy as much as possible which is why I think those Hard Core Halo fans say that it sucks but overall the campaign is amazing and possibly the best in the Halo series. It has great storytelling and a good transition between flashbacks with a good ending. Firefight is one of the best modes for a fps to date you've might have seen games where you fight waves of enemy but Bungie's take on it is amazing. This would be the perfect feature to the game if it had matchmaking but Bungie neglected to add it to the final product. Overall the game is amazingly good from the spectacular campaign to having fun with friends in firefight but for a 60.00$ price tag it is not. The game is only an expansion with the price tag of a full game. If Bungie would have made an entirely new multiplayer featuring the Odst and their new guns and Visr as well as making matchmaking possible with firefight then the game would be an 11/10 that's how great it would have been just imagine playing multiplayer on it with some night maps using the Visr and the new SMG all the things that could have been but isn't in the game. Still it's a spectacular game none the less but for it having a 60.00$ price tag for something that's not a full game turns that "spectacular" to a great which is why I'm giving it a 9.1/10 instead of a 10/10. Expand
  13. Feb 26, 2012
    9
    Halo 3: ODST should have never been an "expansion" and should have just been a game on it's own. Regardless, it is a truly unique game. For those expecting the standard, stellar Halo-style experience they will be somewhat disappointed. The art style and color palette are totally different from Halo 3. The cut-scenes have a more cartoon-like feel to them, and the game is amuchdarker in tones. The story-telling is vastly different, but once you get used to it only then can you appreciate it. ODST slows down the fast pace of Halo story telling to focus, in detail, on the episodic encounters of surviving members of an ODST unit. Instead of vast, galactic battles with epic proportions, ODST tells the small-scale story about the lives of brave and honorable men and women who would have otherwise been considered insignificant. ODST takes a mysterious, suspenseful approach in a fantastic tale on how ODST struggle to save Humanity from the invasion of the Covenant. The Human-Covenant War takes a heavier toll as you literally feel and experience the War from a purely human perspective. You dwell among the dark, dead ruins of one of earth's greatest cities: New Mombassa. You can see Covenant ships hovering nearby and laying waste, you see human soldiers scrambling in guerrilla warfare against alien invaders. You can explore the city and uncover interesting side-stories from a civilian perspective of the attack, and you experience -block-tp-block fighting against occupying covenant forces. The stakes seem higher, and I almost wish this game would have been called Halo: ODST so it could have been a $30 tie-in special release in between Halo 2 and Halo 3. I think more people would have appreciated the game more than way, especially with how the plot progresses and then ends. The story is very interesting, and enjoyable. At first I had a hard time actually liking the characters, but as the game continued on I felt like i fit in among them, and I felt for them and connected to them. The music is unique and enjoyable. The gameplay is solid and smooth. The game is challenging and immensely fun. This game has a high replay value, and is a must-get for anyone who wants a game where they can take time to explore and relish details of a larger story. Expand
  14. Aug 13, 2012
    10
    YES YES **** YES Bungie! ODST may only be an expansion to Halo 3 but it is easily the best entry in the entire series. Set during the New Mombassa mission in Halo 2 you play as Rookie, a new addition to a group of ODST's sent in to assist Chief in the defence of New Mombassa, however things go pear shaped and the Covenant cruiser hits hyperdrive in orbit. Now scattered you and your squad must regroup and escape the crumbling ruins of New Mombassa before the Covenant glass the place. The game plays in 2 different ways, with Rookie during the night searching for your lost squad members, gathering clues and using stealth to your advantage. Then there is the flashback sections where you play as each of the other members of your squad in a defining moment in the battle of Mombassa. It uses all the same mechanics and features from Halo 3 whilst adding a couple more but its the story and sound engineering that make Halo 3: ODST the series standout game. Expand
  15. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    After a year of owning the game I finally got around to playing it through. I really was expecting another linear Halo game when I popped this in. It was delightfully different to be presented with the option to walk about a city fighting through the covenant to regroup with my lost squad mates. Visually the game was really no different from any other Halo; however, the ability to walk through a city at night and then see it at a different time of day during a mission was quite enjoyable. The music was supposed to be an homage to the previous games OST's but I really believe the change in style for ODST sound was one of its biggest strengths. The ability to quickly tell a story through little snippets of each squad member made for a great storyline that required you think about how the pieces fit together. I think the timing of the game was also a huge strength. Having a game that you could get through in a little over six hours yet receive an ample story was a nice change of pace. I have found this series to sometimes drag levels out by forcing you to spend a lot of time on non-story progressing moments. That was not at all the case with ODST. Overall I am fairly pleased with the game and it has re-sparked my interest in the series quite a bit. Expand
  16. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    I thought this game was great, a lot of people knocked the short campaign, but you need to look at the whole package. The campaign was fun and a nice change from the norm, the FireFight feature was a nice addition, I loved the challenge of it. The game also came with Halo 3 Multiplayer disc with all the DLC, which I loved and still play. Good solid game and quite a challenge on Legendary.
  17. Nov 3, 2012
    9
    If you're thinking about buying it now (for about $20), do it. every multiplayer map, and in my opinion the best campaign in the halo series. for what it lacks in length it more than makes up for in its characters (the cast of firefly with a cylon? fantastic!), the perfected gameplay and graphics (with a silenced magnum and smg, who needs dual wielding?), and the mood and atmosphere that puts reach to shame, this is bungie's masterpiece. firefight, whilst in its best incarnation in my opinion, is the game's only weak point. didn't anyone think to put it on Live? Expand
  18. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    I don't no why ppl hate on this it was a welcome edition to the halo lore I myself always thought about how would someone else fair in the wars of halo besides john 117 aka master chief. And then odst was made and I enjoyed playing it all the way through. Like all the halos from the past the gameplay was top notch playing in the city environment was awesome I mean this game was a good. game story and just all around fun time. Expand
  19. May 31, 2013
    9
    A Halo game where you play as a human ODST soldier instead of a Spartan, that's a first and big change. I did, however, enjoy Halo 3: ODST 'cause its different. Playing from a soldier's point of view and not a spartan is actually fun. They brought back the healing aids from the first, since the characters are human, so you can't just run into the fight, you'll most likely die instantly. The new Horde like 'Firefight' mode is fun when there's up to 4 players. Though the game was good, it was really short. Probably wouldv'e worked better as an expansion pack to Halo 3, rather than being a full game, but there is still enjoyment to have here. But if you liked playing as an indestructible super-soldier, than look somewhere else. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 94 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 94
  2. Negative: 1 out of 94
  1. The bottom line here is that this is a nice little piece of Halo, and that anyone who has ever enjoyed Halo will probably enjoy this too. The only question is how much it is worth to you. As a full priced stand-alone game, its value is somewhat dubious.
  2. Not only an add-on! This is better than many of the main games! Next to the single player, you also get a great multiplayer mode. You just cannot do wrong if you buy this game!
  3. Halo 3: ODST is an excellent add-on campaign for Halo 3, and one which all Halo fans should own.