User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1043 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 23, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is great. I felt/feel that it's not worth $60 but at the same time I had such a good experience playing it that I have a hard time gauging what it's worth. Definitely $20, $30, maybe $40. It is great because of the moodiness, and because of the frailty of the playable characters. You are not a spartan, you are a soldier, and you don't have super shields and you are not unstoppable. Choices must be made with consideration to ammo, health and environment. Battles with hunters in tight corridors vs. out in the open are awesome and difficult choices to make. Finding the snipers in the buildings is essential to cross some sections, with soldiers coming on your position from multiple directions. Survival strategies become important.

    There are multiple mission types, each carried out by other members of the ODST team focusing more (albeit not by much more) on their characters special training, well voiced by half the cast of firefly (with multiple references to the show). I would liked to have seen a longer game just to get to flesh them out more. Or, better yet a new game continuing their story. With master chief gone I was really hoping they would be the future of the game franchise.


    You can get the game dirt cheap now, and if the cost or halo-burnout kept you at bay before it's worth the $10 or twenty bucks you would pay to get it.
    Expand
  2. Jun 18, 2013
    7
    Halo 3: ODST was okay, not much to say about it, the Firefight mode though, was quite vague in setting selections, it wasn't as adventurous as Halo 3 or gave that much of a motivational feeling. I've only played it once, hence explaining my reason why I considered this boring. I was really happy with the Halo 3 multiplayer packaging, which is why I'm giving this an 8, it was getting quiteHalo 3: ODST was okay, not much to say about it, the Firefight mode though, was quite vague in setting selections, it wasn't as adventurous as Halo 3 or gave that much of a motivational feeling. I've only played it once, hence explaining my reason why I considered this boring. I was really happy with the Halo 3 multiplayer packaging, which is why I'm giving this an 8, it was getting quite boring with the repetition of grunts everywhere, but I still appreciated the satisfactory story line. Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2011
    8
    Halo 3 ODST is close to being the best Halo game yet, placing it second place to Halo; Reach. It has an intriguing Campaign and it brings more realism to the series. The campaign is shorter than the series's previous game. To put it in a different way I guess you can say that the campaign is quality over quantity. Halo 3 ODST also introduces a new game mode called "Firefight" which testsHalo 3 ODST is close to being the best Halo game yet, placing it second place to Halo; Reach. It has an intriguing Campaign and it brings more realism to the series. The campaign is shorter than the series's previous game. To put it in a different way I guess you can say that the campaign is quality over quantity. Halo 3 ODST also introduces a new game mode called "Firefight" which tests how long you can survive against an unlimited amount of Covenant. This new game mode is definitely very fun and is the perfect thing to play with your friends. Unfortunately, they do not introduce a new Online Multiplayer experience. Instead they give you a special Halo 3 Matchmaking disc which includes all the DLC maps. Once you complete the Campaign and play alot of "Firefight", you will find that this game might start to get boring. Expand
  4. Jun 27, 2011
    3
    when i was in the store with my money at hand just enough for a new game i was at walmart at the time when i saw halo 3 the game i always wanted after halo 2 came out i wanted more but somthing else caught my eye halo 3 odst i immedietly bought it today i regret that descicion for poor story line and even worse gameplay it is not a good choice at all
  5. Jul 18, 2011
    7
    I think this game is a disgrace to the series due to its boring campaign and average graphics. The character are not remembered after a playthrough and the story, well it is awful and you probably won't remember it after you beat the game. The campaign, well, most of the time you will be wondering like an idiot in the streets of New Mombasa just to find a little thing that will show youI think this game is a disgrace to the series due to its boring campaign and average graphics. The character are not remembered after a playthrough and the story, well it is awful and you probably won't remember it after you beat the game. The campaign, well, most of the time you will be wondering like an idiot in the streets of New Mombasa just to find a little thing that will show you what happened to your team, in my opinion this mechanism is a little unbelievable because you can't see what happened to your team only by finding a little thing that doesn't record anything. I'm putting this game a 7 only because of its excellent firefight mode and the second disc with the complete Halo 3 Multiplayer experience. The last thing I'm going to say is for all these guys who are saying right now that I'm a playstation fanboy, is that I am a fan of this series and I own every single game of the series Expand
  6. Aug 18, 2011
    5
    The campaign of this game was really bad, but the firefight mode in this game saves the game to be a very awful one. But, to get the maps for firefight, you need to play the campaign! I feel it's an okay game, but the campaign just lacks in story and makes no sense at all.
  7. Aug 9, 2011
    1
    Avoid this game at all cost total wast of time and money. If you've already bought this game I'm very sorry. Game play was terrible campaing was full of glitches and bugs. This game was a waste of time and money.
  8. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    I really enjoyed this halo because of the story and the soundtrack. I actually like this story better than Reach's and the characters were much more enjoyable in this. I can understand why some people thought it was too expensive for what it is, but I still picked it up quite cheap. The facial graphics of the odst's are the weakness of the graphics overall a great game.
  9. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    +6 for the best Halo campaign I've ever played.
    +5 for the Firefight being awesome.
    -1 for not having matchmaking in Firefight. -1 for not being able to unlock bigger portions of Firefight maps. Okay, I am a long time Halo fan. I've read all the books and own all the games. I understand why people would think that ODST should not have come out as a full priced game. It didn't have an
    +6 for the best Halo campaign I've ever played.
    +5 for the Firefight being awesome.
    -1 for not having matchmaking in Firefight.
    -1 for not being able to unlock bigger portions of Firefight maps.

    Okay, I am a long time Halo fan. I've read all the books and own all the games. I understand why people would think that ODST should not have come out as a full priced game. It didn't have an independent multiplayer, but is that seriously what we base game quality off of today? Some of the most amazing games I've ever played are single-player and ODST is no exception. The inclusion of Firefight easily evened out the lack of mulitplayer for me. With Reach coming out so soon after, I wouldn't have spent any time on ODSTs mulitplayer anyway.
    Expand
  10. Sep 28, 2011
    1
    Story is awful. I still couldn't complete the game because to unlock data hive (seond to last level) I had to do all the levels again. Not worth it- especially since it's not exciting, the gameplay is terrible, health system sucks compared to Reach and it's really dark. It's a badly made game.
  11. Nov 6, 2011
    9
    The campaign in this game ventures off from the previous Halo games. While playing as the Rookie and wandering around the darkened streets of New Mombasa alone you actually get the feeling that you are indeed "alone". While in this segment of the game you would want to avoid enemy as much as possible which is why I think those Hard Core Halo fans say that it sucks but overall the campaignThe campaign in this game ventures off from the previous Halo games. While playing as the Rookie and wandering around the darkened streets of New Mombasa alone you actually get the feeling that you are indeed "alone". While in this segment of the game you would want to avoid enemy as much as possible which is why I think those Hard Core Halo fans say that it sucks but overall the campaign is amazing and possibly the best in the Halo series. It has great storytelling and a good transition between flashbacks with a good ending. Firefight is one of the best modes for a fps to date you've might have seen games where you fight waves of enemy but Bungie's take on it is amazing. This would be the perfect feature to the game if it had matchmaking but Bungie neglected to add it to the final product. Overall the game is amazingly good from the spectacular campaign to having fun with friends in firefight but for a 60.00$ price tag it is not. The game is only an expansion with the price tag of a full game. If Bungie would have made an entirely new multiplayer featuring the Odst and their new guns and Visr as well as making matchmaking possible with firefight then the game would be an 11/10 that's how great it would have been just imagine playing multiplayer on it with some night maps using the Visr and the new SMG all the things that could have been but isn't in the game. Still it's a spectacular game none the less but for it having a 60.00$ price tag for something that's not a full game turns that "spectacular" to a great which is why I'm giving it a 9.1/10 instead of a 10/10. Expand
  12. Jul 11, 2013
    3
    a $20 game sold for $60

    very mediocre and short single player, not worth replaying at all. Firefight is a new mode where you basically play horde mode, but you litterally play the same waves of enemies in the same order and getting the achievements takes forever. it's mind numbing an tedious. doesn't have it's own multiplayer vs mode, just gives you halo 3 again, wow thanks I
    a $20 game sold for $60

    very mediocre and short single player, not worth replaying at all.

    Firefight is a new mode where you basically play horde mode, but you litterally play the same waves of enemies in the same order and getting the achievements takes forever. it's mind numbing an tedious.

    doesn't have it's own multiplayer vs mode, just gives you halo 3 again, wow thanks I have halo 3 and it's DLC like every other fan of the series.

    I know this review is years late but people are talking about it again since halo 4 was bad and considered the worst in the series, but many forget how bad ODST was. worst in the series, WORSE than halo 4.
    Expand
  13. May 14, 2012
    1
    Oh wow, $60 for this 5 hr campaign with dick for replay ability and a **** horde mode rip off. **** you Bungie. You managed to ruin the Halo name without help from anyone else
  14. Apr 11, 2013
    8
    Until this game my only experience with Halo was the original on the PC. From an outside looking in perspective, I found the game (both multiplayer and campaign) to be quite enjoyable. The graphics are quite nice and the storyline was very well done. The only complaint I had was the controls. It seemed as though the controller setup was made as unconventional as possible. Thank goodnessUntil this game my only experience with Halo was the original on the PC. From an outside looking in perspective, I found the game (both multiplayer and campaign) to be quite enjoyable. The graphics are quite nice and the storyline was very well done. The only complaint I had was the controls. It seemed as though the controller setup was made as unconventional as possible. Thank goodness for being able to change it. Expand
  15. Nov 17, 2011
    1
    I hate the fact that this game exists. You play as a weak ODST, who dies too easily making the game very difficult even on normal difficulty. The storyline does not flow smoothly and I find no likeable characters in the game. This is not how Halo is supposed to be, the only time you will have fun is in a vehicle where you can run down the covenant forces with ease. The visuals are ok, butI hate the fact that this game exists. You play as a weak ODST, who dies too easily making the game very difficult even on normal difficulty. The storyline does not flow smoothly and I find no likeable characters in the game. This is not how Halo is supposed to be, the only time you will have fun is in a vehicle where you can run down the covenant forces with ease. The visuals are ok, but good graphics does not mean a good game, they only compliment one. Expand
  16. Feb 16, 2012
    4
    ive been a fan of halo ever since the 2nd one came out and i have to say this is the worst halo ive ever played the story is the worst in the series you are random solders in the unsc army that get lost in there drop pods and get scattered around this city and you have to find out what happened to your squadmates and do random missions this halo has the worst plot line out of the seriesive been a fan of halo ever since the 2nd one came out and i have to say this is the worst halo ive ever played the story is the worst in the series you are random solders in the unsc army that get lost in there drop pods and get scattered around this city and you have to find out what happened to your squadmates and do random missions this halo has the worst plot line out of the series although they did bring in this mode called firefight which is amazing its like horde mode from gears of war and zombies from cod and you have fend off waves of the covenant but that is the only good thing about the game and they completely scraped competitive multiplayer if it wasnt for firefight i would give this a zero Expand
  17. Mar 19, 2012
    7
    It's a fun game with a great atmosphere and very good voice acting. I managed a legendary single-player run through without much difficulty, which is probably not a point in its favor. It's hard to give the game a good rating because Halo, to me, is really made by multiplayer. It was fun, and I've played it on and off for achievements, but it's a game I'd consider selling back at some point.
  18. Aug 13, 2012
    10
    YES YES **** YES Bungie! ODST may only be an expansion to Halo 3 but it is easily the best entry in the entire series. Set during the New Mombassa mission in Halo 2 you play as Rookie, a new addition to a group of ODST's sent in to assist Chief in the defence of New Mombassa, however things go pear shaped and the Covenant cruiser hits hyperdrive in orbit. Now scattered you and your squadYES YES **** YES Bungie! ODST may only be an expansion to Halo 3 but it is easily the best entry in the entire series. Set during the New Mombassa mission in Halo 2 you play as Rookie, a new addition to a group of ODST's sent in to assist Chief in the defence of New Mombassa, however things go pear shaped and the Covenant cruiser hits hyperdrive in orbit. Now scattered you and your squad must regroup and escape the crumbling ruins of New Mombassa before the Covenant glass the place. The game plays in 2 different ways, with Rookie during the night searching for your lost squad members, gathering clues and using stealth to your advantage. Then there is the flashback sections where you play as each of the other members of your squad in a defining moment in the battle of Mombassa. It uses all the same mechanics and features from Halo 3 whilst adding a couple more but its the story and sound engineering that make Halo 3: ODST the series standout game. Expand
  19. Apr 29, 2012
    8
    Its not Bungie's best halo ever. But its a great game to have. Campaign was the best about Halo 3 ODST, at first I thought it a bit silly, but once you go past the start it gets to very good. Firefight something new and fun with a friend but it was hard to find a game. And now the second disc with the multiplayer with 3 new maps witch were okay but very useful if you never got any of theIts not Bungie's best halo ever. But its a great game to have. Campaign was the best about Halo 3 ODST, at first I thought it a bit silly, but once you go past the start it gets to very good. Firefight something new and fun with a friend but it was hard to find a game. And now the second disc with the multiplayer with 3 new maps witch were okay but very useful if you never got any of the map packs [like me] because its give you all the halo 3 maps witch was cool. Campaign 8/10 Firefight 8/10 Disc 2 8/10 Halo 3 ODST 8.0/10 Expand
  20. May 1, 2014
    9
    Certainly not going to be everyone's cup of tea but I loved it. I felt sneaking around the ruins of the city, looking for clues and stockpiles to be great fun. You have to use your head a bit more, you're not a super human soldier any more. This actually leads to some nice tactical situations and is a refreshingly different experience. The music, the lighting etc. are done excellently butCertainly not going to be everyone's cup of tea but I loved it. I felt sneaking around the ruins of the city, looking for clues and stockpiles to be great fun. You have to use your head a bit more, you're not a super human soldier any more. This actually leads to some nice tactical situations and is a refreshingly different experience. The music, the lighting etc. are done excellently but for the die hard Halo fans there's still the flashbacks where you get to be involved in some really heavy action instead of city skirmishes. Expand
  21. Nov 17, 2013
    8
    Looking back at ODST after years of industry stagnation and bland AAA releases, it's easy to overlook the finer details of this game. Bungie set out to build a small expansion for Halo 3. In typical Bungie fashion, the project snowballed into what can basically be considered a full game. Built in just one year, ODST manages to deliver a solid single player experience with great worldLooking back at ODST after years of industry stagnation and bland AAA releases, it's easy to overlook the finer details of this game. Bungie set out to build a small expansion for Halo 3. In typical Bungie fashion, the project snowballed into what can basically be considered a full game. Built in just one year, ODST manages to deliver a solid single player experience with great world building, art direction, and a nice retouch of the classic Halo formula to distinguish it from other Halo titles.

    The story focuses on a squad of ODSTs, who are basically top-of-the-line soldiers bested only by Spartans, in a military campaign gone awry. In game you play as a mute ODST called the Rookie. Separated from your squad, you're tasked with exploring the pivotal city of New Mombassa to search for clues which might lead you to the rest of your squad. Recovering clues triggers flashback missions in the context of the clue, in which you fill the boots of ODSTs who are part of the Rookie's squad. They're characterized fairly well, and the story has its moments, though it's just a part of what makes the world of ODST truly memorable. Where ODST really shines is through its world building; audio logs, character dialogue, and great art direction, which when combined really sell the setting and ground it firmly in the expansive Halo universe. In a casual playthrough it's so very easy to miss all of the tiny pieces of information scattered about the games' world. Look for them, and you'll be grounded firmly in a very unique and richly atmospheric setting. And what about the music? Martin O'Donnell truly outdoes himself here, delivering a moody original score that delivers on an emotional level, matching the themes of isolation, desperation, tension, and mass exodus that might accompany the sudden occupation of such a large city, and the Rookie's lone journey through a soup of alien combatants.

    As for playing as the ODSTs themselves, their gear and some tweaked combat mechanics really help differentiate these soldiers from Spartans. They can take less damage, and have a two stage health system requiring the player to scout for medpacks if their health bar is low. Dual wielding is gone, though players can still wield any weapon the come across. Vehicle handling has been tweaked and tightened to improve handling characteristics on the streets of Mombassa and still remains a staple of the combat throughout. Enemy AI has also gotten a slight improvement, with groups of enemies acting in squads of many varieties, keeping combat fresh and fun. Though the game is powered by the aging Halo 3 tech and has limited resolution for HD consoles, the art direction is great and like Halo 3 this game stands the test of time in that regard. As expected, theater mode is fully functional in ODSTs single player, and is a novel feature that lets you watch your exploits from any angle and at any speed, good for people like me who enjoy taking in the sights and sounds of the world. Also, easter eggs. They're everywhere, and they will put a smile on your face.

    The real meat of Halo games and what keeps people coming back is undoubtedly the multiplayer experience. While ODST doesn't have its own ODST themed PvP multiplayer, it does have firefight, which is a very fun arcadey co-op survival mode that is both fun and challenging due to the chaotic and multi-faceted sandbox design. Firefight maps are well designed, and hours of fun can be had trying to tackle the par-score challenges with your friends for achievements, or just to take a Brute Chopper for a spin and mow down your alien foes. Surviving for longer enables skulls, which are basically difficulty modifiers that change enemy and player traits such as weapon effectiveness per-type, shield regeneration mechanics, enemy AI strength, and more. It really is a great mode that's found its place in the suite of modes Halo has to offer.

    ODST also comes with the complete Halo 3 multiplayer experience, packaging all of Halo 3's multiplayer features and maps (including all DLC maps) into a single disc. This is a pretty sweet deal for those who don't have the DLC, especially considering the quality of the DLC maps.

    In all, Halo 3: ODST is a great game. The single player campaign is memorable and stands out with just one thorough playthrough, and its other features round out the package nicely. If you take the time to explore all that ODST has to offer, you'll find yourself immersed in a great setting that delivers the great flow of Halo's combat with a few twists.
    Expand
  22. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    After a year of owning the game I finally got around to playing it through. I really was expecting another linear Halo game when I popped this in. It was delightfully different to be presented with the option to walk about a city fighting through the covenant to regroup with my lost squad mates. Visually the game was really no different from any other Halo; however, the ability to walkAfter a year of owning the game I finally got around to playing it through. I really was expecting another linear Halo game when I popped this in. It was delightfully different to be presented with the option to walk about a city fighting through the covenant to regroup with my lost squad mates. Visually the game was really no different from any other Halo; however, the ability to walk through a city at night and then see it at a different time of day during a mission was quite enjoyable. The music was supposed to be an homage to the previous games OST's but I really believe the change in style for ODST sound was one of its biggest strengths. The ability to quickly tell a story through little snippets of each squad member made for a great storyline that required you think about how the pieces fit together. I think the timing of the game was also a huge strength. Having a game that you could get through in a little over six hours yet receive an ample story was a nice change of pace. I have found this series to sometimes drag levels out by forcing you to spend a lot of time on non-story progressing moments. That was not at all the case with ODST. Overall I am fairly pleased with the game and it has re-sparked my interest in the series quite a bit. Expand
  23. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    I thought this game was great, a lot of people knocked the short campaign, but you need to look at the whole package. The campaign was fun and a nice change from the norm, the FireFight feature was a nice addition, I loved the challenge of it. The game also came with Halo 3 Multiplayer disc with all the DLC, which I loved and still play. Good solid game and quite a challenge on Legendary.
  24. Nov 3, 2012
    9
    If you're thinking about buying it now (for about $20), do it. every multiplayer map, and in my opinion the best campaign in the halo series. for what it lacks in length it more than makes up for in its characters (the cast of firefly with a cylon? fantastic!), the perfected gameplay and graphics (with a silenced magnum and smg, who needs dual wielding?), and the mood and atmosphere thatIf you're thinking about buying it now (for about $20), do it. every multiplayer map, and in my opinion the best campaign in the halo series. for what it lacks in length it more than makes up for in its characters (the cast of firefly with a cylon? fantastic!), the perfected gameplay and graphics (with a silenced magnum and smg, who needs dual wielding?), and the mood and atmosphere that puts reach to shame, this is bungie's masterpiece. firefight, whilst in its best incarnation in my opinion, is the game's only weak point. didn't anyone think to put it on Live? Expand
  25. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    I don't no why ppl hate on this it was a welcome edition to the halo lore I myself always thought about how would someone else fair in the wars of halo besides john 117 aka master chief. And then odst was made and I enjoyed playing it all the way through. Like all the halos from the past the gameplay was top notch playing in the city environment was awesome I mean this game was a good.I don't no why ppl hate on this it was a welcome edition to the halo lore I myself always thought about how would someone else fair in the wars of halo besides john 117 aka master chief. And then odst was made and I enjoyed playing it all the way through. Like all the halos from the past the gameplay was top notch playing in the city environment was awesome I mean this game was a good. game story and just all around fun time. Expand
  26. Mar 20, 2013
    8
    In Halo 3 ODST, you take the role of an ODST, you and your squad is supposedly dropping into alien hell a cruiser and kill every alien in it (I don't understand how 6 ODST soldiers could kill every alien in a big space ship and destroy it) but it changes and you crash land into that African city. You wake up 6 hours l8er and you have to find your way around the city and look for clues asIn Halo 3 ODST, you take the role of an ODST, you and your squad is supposedly dropping into alien hell a cruiser and kill every alien in it (I don't understand how 6 ODST soldiers could kill every alien in a big space ship and destroy it) but it changes and you crash land into that African city. You wake up 6 hours l8er and you have to find your way around the city and look for clues as you run through the empty streets (well actually, their alien infestated). There are loads of audio clips to look for as well. Navigating the city can be difficult. In gameplay, it's the exact same as Halo 3 but you play as an ODST so you have no shields which I don't understand how they can put shields on SPARTANS but not ODST's, HUD has changed and you get a silenced SMG which doesn't work of course, or maybe, the aliens just have big ears, I love the red brute plasma gun which is 1 thing they should never of taken out in Halo 3. As you find clues on what happens to your squad, you play through missions that take place when they drop or few hours later, and the levels are good. In weapons, there is nothing new other than an awesome new silent pistol (even that fails to be "silent") and silenced SMG, but sadly there is no energy sword. Speaking of "new," Halo 3 ODST is the first Halo game to introduce Firefight where you fight of infinite waves of alien attackers, sounds easy? well, weapons respawn each round, but skulls turns on to make it more challenging (you do NOT want black eye on), it is fun and is most likely more fun with friends though the problem is there is no matchmaking, this is just friends only. There is also a Halo 3 Multiplayer disc which is how I got all Halo 3 map-map packs without free. This was the first game I got for Xbox 360, I just did not understand this game and did it not turn out how I thought it would be, if your looking to play Halo and this is your first time, don't play this one first. The music is fantastic and I find the soundtrack at the final part of the game emotional, and the characters Rookie, Eddie Buck, Dutch, Dare, Mickey & Romeo are fantastic and voice acting is very good. ODST needs a sequel with the same characters, based on the new trilogy around the Halo 5 time and I want to see these ODST's dropping into Promethean hell. Expand
  27. May 15, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There are places where Halo 3: ODST could be improved, but when it comes right down to it, every Halo fan should buy this game. Even if you've lost interest in the franchise over the years or haven't ever given a Halo game a look, you'd do well to grab ODST and a few friends for some of the best multiplayer gaming around, especially with as wonderful an addition as Firefight. Expand
  28. Mar 23, 2013
    5
    This game really could of just not existed. Really, it could of been an Add-On for Halo 3, and life could go on. This is my least favorite Halo game. The campaign has its moments, but it never wowed me at any moment. I never had feelings for any of the characters, and that brings it down a lot. Firefight was ok, nothing exiting or interesting because it did not have many options. The bestThis game really could of just not existed. Really, it could of been an Add-On for Halo 3, and life could go on. This is my least favorite Halo game. The campaign has its moments, but it never wowed me at any moment. I never had feelings for any of the characters, and that brings it down a lot. Firefight was ok, nothing exiting or interesting because it did not have many options. The best part of the package was the multiplayer. It has all the Halo 3 map packs and original maps. I cannot argue with that. But if you already own all of the maps, this game really has nothing to offer. Unless you want to see what the lore is, of course. In the end, this game is great for hardcore fans of the series, but I am not a hardcore fan. Just a guy who was expecting more from this game. Expand
  29. Aug 29, 2013
    7
    While the six-hour campaign was interesting and fun but its only six hours and there is a Firefight Mode which has been bettered by Reach but is still very fun and interesting the multiplayer is Halo 3 again but with all the DLC included it feels like DLC and overpriced but buy it cheap online and you'll be fine
  30. Apr 23, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The actual game itself holds well on its own. As a downed ODST trooper, you spend the game moving around the city of New Mombasa, searching for your squad mates. The gameplay is as tight as a regular run of the mill HALO installment, and the story holds its own as well. This game doesn't come without its faults, however. The characters are shoddy, in terms of personality and actual physical design. When halo fans hear the term, ODST, the first image that comes to mind is a tatted-out, physically peaked killing machine. Basically a step below Spartans. However when you play through the different characters and their stories, you get the feeling that these squad mates are nothing more than goofy, hapless grunts. My second qualm came from the lack of Halo 2 tech. ODST takes place, in the halo timeline, in Halo 2, where brutes were only just making their appearance, elites were still the majority fighting force in the Halo 'verse. However you don't fight a single one in the campaign! Also, the assault rifle and chopper return, without the battle rifle. The entire campaign experience just felt like a Halo 3 recreation. Now, my main issue is my belief that the popularity of the package itself came majorly from the second disk, which contained the bonus Halo 3 multiplayer map packs and other miscellaneous content. If ODST had been an individual project, with all work focused on the game, without the halo 3 map pack, I believe it could've been a completely changed, for the better, superb game. Unfortunately, what with the inclusion of the map pack, in the end all ODST was was an extension that should have been something much bigger and grander than what it was made to be. Expand
  31. Sep 12, 2013
    3
    I never been too much of a fan of the "Halo" franchise, mainly because of it's ignoring simplicity of issues that are constantly represented in the game always, and, well, also because of the constant monotony in between the several games of the franchise itself.
    Even then i decided to jump into "Halo" with, "Halo Reach", (which i loved). But this game, could possibly be one of the worst,
    I never been too much of a fan of the "Halo" franchise, mainly because of it's ignoring simplicity of issues that are constantly represented in the game always, and, well, also because of the constant monotony in between the several games of the franchise itself.
    Even then i decided to jump into "Halo" with, "Halo Reach", (which i loved). But this game, could possibly be one of the worst, most boring, dull, first person shooters out there, forget about the repetitive scenarios, that just end up being bland, and boring, forget about the awful, graphical quality of the overall game.
    No, the real problem begins with the gameplay, every single "new game mechanic", that's being add into this game doesn't work, why? Because at it's entirety it's the exact same replica of another game mechanic showed in past entries, with a re-skin.

    The entire game you go throughout the exact same scenarios, over, and over, and over again, and i'm talking about exactly the same, there is not even one difference in between them, and when there finally is, it's just another lifeless, empty, wide open area, with nothing to do more than to shoot the exact same enemy model until you finally finish the game.

    The story it's completely irrelevant, i really think that you can play throughout the game and get an even better experience while skipping such soulless, unenjoyable, dull, mediocre, cutscenes, it's that bad, aside from that the game manages to overcome all of this obstacles an give a couple of bursts of fun and enjoyment for a couple of minutes, sadly, after a while, it falls into the exact same endless cycle of monotony
    that every other aspect of this game falls down into.

    It's the worst "Halo" game in all the franchise, but it can be fun and enjoyable at times, even if it doesn't last to long, nor it's interesting, while your forcing yourself to play it.
    Expand
  32. Apr 21, 2013
    8
    Nice storyline and guns and the intro of firefight make this game to me. The Firefight is pretty good for a first time, and it's very challenging. I wish that the elites were on this because the Elites are a trademark of Halo. The Hammerhead brute is probably the best enemy of all of them. With only the Rocket Launcher or assassination to depend on to kill him reliably, You need wits toNice storyline and guns and the intro of firefight make this game to me. The Firefight is pretty good for a first time, and it's very challenging. I wish that the elites were on this because the Elites are a trademark of Halo. The Hammerhead brute is probably the best enemy of all of them. With only the Rocket Launcher or assassination to depend on to kill him reliably, You need wits to master firefight, especially on a level like Chasm 10, where Phantoms don't come and with many turns. Now the main thing that keeps this from the 10 are as goes:
    1) Lack of elites
    2) Non-customizable Firefight (understandable since it's a first run)
    3) The jellyfish (Hate them with a passion. A hammerhead with an extra shield isn't an ideal enemy)
    By far the best weapon has to go to the pistol. Reliable for headshots on grunts and jackals. This is the most reliable human weapon, since other human weapons are crap against Covenent shields
    Expand
  33. May 31, 2013
    9
    A Halo game where you play as a human ODST soldier instead of a Spartan, that's a first and big change. I did, however, enjoy Halo 3: ODST 'cause its different. Playing from a soldier's point of view and not a spartan is actually fun. They brought back the healing aids from the first, since the characters are human, so you can't just run into the fight, you'll most likely die instantly.A Halo game where you play as a human ODST soldier instead of a Spartan, that's a first and big change. I did, however, enjoy Halo 3: ODST 'cause its different. Playing from a soldier's point of view and not a spartan is actually fun. They brought back the healing aids from the first, since the characters are human, so you can't just run into the fight, you'll most likely die instantly. The new Horde like 'Firefight' mode is fun when there's up to 4 players. Though the game was good, it was really short. Probably wouldv'e worked better as an expansion pack to Halo 3, rather than being a full game, but there is still enjoyment to have here. But if you liked playing as an indestructible super-soldier, than look somewhere else. Expand
  34. May 16, 2014
    7
    Halo 3: ODST is the most unsatisfying game of the series, yet still portrays an intriguing story that pushes you through the lengthy adventure. The open world was so plan and boring, trying to navigate was very difficult that it became the most frustrating part of the game. Having to walk from side to side of the map is something i hated in this game! However the scenes of being weak andHalo 3: ODST is the most unsatisfying game of the series, yet still portrays an intriguing story that pushes you through the lengthy adventure. The open world was so plan and boring, trying to navigate was very difficult that it became the most frustrating part of the game. Having to walk from side to side of the map is something i hated in this game! However the scenes of being weak and venerable is done so well you start to get the creeps in some parts of the game especially at night time. This is something i haven't seen a halo game for a very long time, as master chief is a well known bad ass! All in all ODST isn't a must have just an expansion of the city from Halo 2, new comers will be left confused, do not start halo here. However if fans are looking for a unique game of the series. This is a must! Expand
  35. Jul 19, 2013
    6
    Halo ODST is a fun game but I need to say it is more DLC then Game why because it gives a short campaign and one new mode. it is especially a DLC for anyone that bought Halo 3 since it also gives halo 3 multiplayer something you already bought.
    pros: still halo= still fun, graphics, cool audio logs which have a bonus scene if you collect them all, pretty cool story where you are shot down
    Halo ODST is a fun game but I need to say it is more DLC then Game why because it gives a short campaign and one new mode. it is especially a DLC for anyone that bought Halo 3 since it also gives halo 3 multiplayer something you already bought.
    pros: still halo= still fun, graphics, cool audio logs which have a bonus scene if you collect them all, pretty cool story where you are shot down and must discover what happened to your team.
    cons: its a DLC halo 3 is in its title, in the open world you backtrack most of the time and avoid fights. you can't even do some normal things anyone can do because "rookie is strong enough" like duel wielding and JUMPING HIGH ARE YOU SERIOUS!, you never really like any of your team (except maybe buck) 4 hour campaign with one multiplayer mode is all the game really offers if you already got Halo 3 (which I bet you did)
    Expand
  36. Jul 23, 2013
    6
    Halo 3: ODST is not a bad game. It is just as polished as the other games in the series. That being said, the reason the score is not higher is because of the amount of content that this game has to offer. The multiplayer is a rehash of Halo 3, which is really fun, but not new. Many people already own most of the Halo 3 maps, making this disc feel like a rehash. The campaign is fun,Halo 3: ODST is not a bad game. It is just as polished as the other games in the series. That being said, the reason the score is not higher is because of the amount of content that this game has to offer. The multiplayer is a rehash of Halo 3, which is really fun, but not new. Many people already own most of the Halo 3 maps, making this disc feel like a rehash. The campaign is fun, but it is extremely short. I was able to beat this game in 4 hours max. This short campaign is not worth a full retail price, which is why I cannot give this game a higher rating. Expand
  37. Jan 4, 2015
    5
    This game was a cool idea but is a prime case of a DLC game. There just isn't enough content here, and they tried to justify it by givinf you the halo 3 multiplayer, a game which a lot of people proably already had. I'll give it to them for the story, it was ace to have a noir Halo game, but only 6 hours ish of gameplay? And then a firefight mode that gets tiresome pretty quickly. I wasThis game was a cool idea but is a prime case of a DLC game. There just isn't enough content here, and they tried to justify it by givinf you the halo 3 multiplayer, a game which a lot of people proably already had. I'll give it to them for the story, it was ace to have a noir Halo game, but only 6 hours ish of gameplay? And then a firefight mode that gets tiresome pretty quickly. I was sadly done with this game in about a month or two and was straight back to playing Halo 3. Would give it a lower score for lack of content but the story mode is cool and a bit different from previous halo games stories so i give them credit for that! Expand
  38. Oct 20, 2014
    6
    The game overall in general aspects is very good and interesting like the story and the visuals and the structure of the game story but that is the only thing I can say is good about the game because there are so many details that are glitchy, especially the AI.

    I have always said since the first Halo game that the AI (Artificial Intelligence or so called computer controlled characters)
    The game overall in general aspects is very good and interesting like the story and the visuals and the structure of the game story but that is the only thing I can say is good about the game because there are so many details that are glitchy, especially the AI.

    I have always said since the first Halo game that the AI (Artificial Intelligence or so called computer controlled characters) is one of the worst I've experienced. They are poor programmed and doesn't have any tactic to follow, they simply run in battle and get themselves killed and you have to literally babysit them all of the time. They shoot you in the back all of the time and walks in front of your line of fire. They sometimes doesn't respond when you stand beside them with a vehicle they can enter. And one of the biggest nightmares is when they are controlling the turret/gunner positions, they don't hit the enemies and also rarely shoots at all, making you to drive around in circles until you get killed.

    Sometimes weapons disappear through the floor when you drop a weapon which is very frustrating. The AI characters have gotten me killed so many times that it simply is frustrating to even keep playing. The game is messing things up for the player who maybe easily would have completed a certain mission unless the AI wouldn't have messed it up for you. With such a high budget Bungie has then this is unacceptable.

    This glitchy details and AI problems is really ruining a otherwise GREAT game! I love the halo series and the story and apart from all these details it is a game i could easily have rated 8-9 but because of all the aspects that are really bad I have to give it a 6 unfortunately.
    Expand
  39. Apr 5, 2014
    7
    As a 10 or even 20 dollar expansion this would have been great, but I paid 60 dollars for it. This has excellent game play stellar graphics and an awesome story with a lovable set of characters, but it only took me 3 hours to complete on LEGENDARY. The multi-player despite being fun crashes multiple time in a few short sessions. Truly a sad corporate sellout to something that could haveAs a 10 or even 20 dollar expansion this would have been great, but I paid 60 dollars for it. This has excellent game play stellar graphics and an awesome story with a lovable set of characters, but it only took me 3 hours to complete on LEGENDARY. The multi-player despite being fun crashes multiple time in a few short sessions. Truly a sad corporate sellout to something that could have been great. Expand
  40. Dec 9, 2014
    6
    After the first three Halo games left their mark on the gaming world people wanted a sequel. This is what we got. A short 5-6 hour campaign following a squad of ODST troopers and all of Halo's multiplayer maps.
    The only great part about this game is the multiplayer.

    Verdict:
    A game that lacks a good story or characters but adds all of the maps from Halo 3
    6/10
  41. Aug 4, 2014
    1
    "Hey guys, let's take an average franchise like Halo and we go all Cristopher Nolan on it making it super greedy and mature and patriotic and **** just like a Michael Bay movie without boobs" -What I think they said at Bungie before the creation of this... let's call it game because you use a controller on it.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 94 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 94
  2. Negative: 1 out of 94
  1. The bottom line here is that this is a nice little piece of Halo, and that anyone who has ever enjoyed Halo will probably enjoy this too. The only question is how much it is worth to you. As a full priced stand-alone game, its value is somewhat dubious.
  2. Not only an add-on! This is better than many of the main games! Next to the single player, you also get a great multiplayer mode. You just cannot do wrong if you buy this game!
  3. Halo 3: ODST is an excellent add-on campaign for Halo 3, and one which all Halo fans should own.