User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1059 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JasonN
    Oct 1, 2009
    10
    The campaign was more enjoyable than the two previous Halo games. While there are times I was forced to hide and sneak past enemy soldiers, I played the ODST character nearly the same way I played the Master Chief. The different scenes were fun to perform, and the music flowed great with them. Firefight is very fun if you have friends to play with. The enemy retains its A.I. so difficulty The campaign was more enjoyable than the two previous Halo games. While there are times I was forced to hide and sneak past enemy soldiers, I played the ODST character nearly the same way I played the Master Chief. The different scenes were fun to perform, and the music flowed great with them. Firefight is very fun if you have friends to play with. The enemy retains its A.I. so difficulty level is not an issue. The game comes with the Halo 3 multiplayer, so it's bringing the best of both worlds. I personally would buy this over Halo 3. Expand
  2. JordanB
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    Although $60 may be a little steep for an expansion, it
  3. ShaneZ.
    Oct 1, 2009
    10
    Best Halo Game EVER! What we lacked in the length of the game is made up for in the endless hours you can enjoy playing with friends in Firefight!
  4. OwenM.
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    Great story mode, wicked awesome Firefight mode, and every single map pack. What's not to love?
  5. AlexK.
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    Campaign 10/10 FireFight 10/10 its all awesome
  6. QuentinV
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    my friends at school were talking about this alot, so I figured might as well get it,when I popped the disk in and started playing it wasintresting and very fun and challenging, and I loved every minute of it. the only annpying thing about it is the lack of matchmaking for firefight nut I guess ,y brothers are more then enough,
  7. michaelk
    Jan 8, 2010
    10
    this is another fantastic game that just seems to be getting loads of negative feedback but it really is a fantastic shooter the story is great with a real sense of depth plus the secret story that you descover by downloading all the audio files really adds a sense of depth. firefight is awesome fun with the only real setback being that its friends only i'd really of liked it to be this is another fantastic game that just seems to be getting loads of negative feedback but it really is a fantastic shooter the story is great with a real sense of depth plus the secret story that you descover by downloading all the audio files really adds a sense of depth. firefight is awesome fun with the only real setback being that its friends only i'd really of liked it to be open to everyone but i'm lucky to have friends to play with and if none of them are about i have the classic halo 3 multi player plus every dlc map to play on against one of the largest communities of players thats still going strong even after 3 years as one of the most played games online i really honestly dont understand all the negativity ?????? this game is awesome on every level Expand
  8. jesseR
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    this is my favorite halo game ever! when i played as chief i felt no strategy but odst is strategic and has those big climax battles like at the end of the game. also the audiofiles make the game more interesting and i enjoy that is open world, offers alternitives an opens a big window in the halo universe
  9. MarkM
    Oct 4, 2009
    10
    ODST was a great game in my opinion. the campaign was very fun and it had a good story. The new health system makes the game a bit more challenging and the controls are easy for nearly any one to learn almost right away. the new firefight mode has been hours of fun for me and the H3 multiplayer is most like the most fun I've ever had in a game. Even if you own the normal halo 3 disc, ODST was a great game in my opinion. the campaign was very fun and it had a good story. The new health system makes the game a bit more challenging and the controls are easy for nearly any one to learn almost right away. the new firefight mode has been hours of fun for me and the H3 multiplayer is most like the most fun I've ever had in a game. Even if you own the normal halo 3 disc, ODST brings 3 new fun and exiting maps and it would be good if one of your friends doesnt't have halo 3 or ODST you can let them barrow your halo 3 and be able to play online with them. Overall I believe ODST is a great buy and that if you are new to halo it is even a greater deal. Expand
  10. BlueEng
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    Story was Awesome! Best in the Halo series so far. Started playing Firefight and can't quit, brilliant fun!
  11. KevinM.
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    This game is awsome,firefight is crazy sweet ,can't stop playing it . way better than horde in gears .plus a halo reach beta. this full game is way better than the expansion they wanted to release .this will be goty.
  12. joeL.
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    Although not offering much new the amount of content in this package makes it a must buy.
  13. ArvinM.
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    Excellent
  14. GeorgeOgan
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    I gave this game a 10 because it's that good and the price should not have anything to do with the score of the game. The campaign was not as short as some say unless you are on a speed run on easy. FireFight is a blast. Get this game, you will enjoy!
  15. ColinJ
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    The best halo game of all time. Has small flaws in the campaign such as, it's harder on diffuculties like Heroic and Legendary but too easy for normal and easy. But those flaws are easy to dismiss and the Firefight mode is still the best take on Gears of Wars Horde
  16. ChrisS
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    It may not be Halo 4 material but this is still an epic adventure in the Halo saga. Halo 3: ODST sets an outstanding change from the other Halo games. When I first played Halo 3: ODST I instantly realized this wasn't a space opera. Halo 3: ODST's story is similar to that of a murder mystery. With a completey new and brilliant soundtrack, gameplay that makes you feel like a It may not be Halo 4 material but this is still an epic adventure in the Halo saga. Halo 3: ODST sets an outstanding change from the other Halo games. When I first played Halo 3: ODST I instantly realized this wasn't a space opera. Halo 3: ODST's story is similar to that of a murder mystery. With a completey new and brilliant soundtrack, gameplay that makes you feel like a mortal while staying true to the other Halo games, set pieces that make Bruckheimer look cheap, brand new survival game mode Firefight with fantastic AI and great voice acting. Halo 3: ODST is deffinitely worth buying. The only downside would be the fact that you only recieve three new maps if you already own all of th other dlcs. I can understand the criticism of ODST's value but any rating below 6 is just rediculous. Expand
  17. AlexM
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    Awesome game, great expansion.
  18. TheDeathMonger
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    If you aren
  19. HarveyBedford
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    while others shall disagree with me i do believe this Halo game can stand on its own. since i never bought any of the Halo 3 maps, just the maps added equals to 30$. add in the great(but simplified story) and the incredible firefight mode and you have another great Halo game. you will not miss The Chief.
  20. SteveEllis
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    I'm really not interested in what the PS fanboys have to say about this, If you love Halo you'll LOVE ODST, Every combat scenario was excellent and never got dull. Well done Bungie keep up the good work for Reach.
  21. DahS.
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    I think firefight is unbelievable, I enjoyed the story (I thought no master chief, that cannot be fun... well they proved me wrong) You have to use visor mode to explain it, it is godly. I enjoyed th move towards tactical with the feel of the halo universe. I had a very positive experience with this game. Oh and tons of 5 point gamerscore achievements sucks.
  22. JohnMerx
    Sep 23, 2009
    10
    Wow allot of fake "reviews" on metacritic. Allot of bitter ps3 fanboys that rate it a zero because they are so low life. Get over it, the ps3 sucks and sony is failing this gen.
    =============================================
    Just done with the campaign and I LOVE halo ODST!!!!!!!!!

    The story,graphics and sound are really really good. I cannot wait until I have time for some online action!
  23. HectorG
    Sep 23, 2009
    10
    Great game. Fun. Good controls. Nice narrative. Better than Halo 3. I'm a PS3, 360 and Wii owner and I believe ODST deserves at least 5 million copies sold. It is better than Killzone 2 in everything but graphics. I own Killzone 2, Warhawk, Buzz, LBP, Metal Gear Solid 4 and only Metal Gear is better than ODST, if you don't mind watching a lot of cool movies. Just so PS3 only Great game. Fun. Good controls. Nice narrative. Better than Halo 3. I'm a PS3, 360 and Wii owner and I believe ODST deserves at least 5 million copies sold. It is better than Killzone 2 in everything but graphics. I own Killzone 2, Warhawk, Buzz, LBP, Metal Gear Solid 4 and only Metal Gear is better than ODST, if you don't mind watching a lot of cool movies. Just so PS3 only owners know, what makes Halo great is its fun gameplay. It has a Nintendo-like quality in design and I know what I'm saying cause I'm a Nintendo fan. Buy every system if you can. Expand
  24. NathanD.
    Sep 28, 2009
    10
    This game is awesome! I don't know why its getting alot of average ratings. The multiplayer is amazing as always, and the story is a big-step up from the original Halo 3. The firefight mode is amazing addition to the Halo series too.
  25. BenL.
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    O.D.S.T. brings a whole new aspect to the Halo universe that i'll certainly be enjoying for as while to come.
  26. DanH.
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    Very fun, co-op's a blast, and firefight is nice, too. Will likely be playing it a long time.
  27. DudeAges
    Sep 23, 2009
    10
    This is my favorite Halo game so far. Beat all the other FPS games on the market. The single player is epic and Firefight is worth $60 all by it self. Buy it NOW!
  28. JohnP.
    Sep 24, 2009
    10
    This game is awesome! Anyone that beat this in 4 hours must have run through on easy. it took me at least 7 or 8, and thats just a basic run through on heroic. I would have given it and 8 or 9, but someone has to offset all the spammers that gave it a 0. They have been advertising for months the multiplayer was going to be the same, research people!
  29. MichaelW.
    Sep 24, 2009
    10
    This is a great game and I recommend it to everybody. The new characters are awesome, the music is magnificent, and the whole campaign is just amazing. Not to mention firefight. Firefight is an addictive multiplayer experience that beats Gears horde mode every time (yeah, I said it). When you play ODST, you can see the time and care that Bungie takes puts into their games. This game has This is a great game and I recommend it to everybody. The new characters are awesome, the music is magnificent, and the whole campaign is just amazing. Not to mention firefight. Firefight is an addictive multiplayer experience that beats Gears horde mode every time (yeah, I said it). When you play ODST, you can see the time and care that Bungie takes puts into their games. This game has turned out to be everything I expected and more. I'm giving Halo 3: ODST a 10 out of 10. It is an amazing game and once again, Bungie, you've outdone yourself. Good Job. Keep It Clean. Expand
  30. DavidC
    Sep 28, 2009
    10
    Oh man. This game is pure awesomeness. Even though I'm a bit disappointed beacuse they're the same maps as halo 3, I still think this is a good continuation to the game. Firefight is so downright fun and the campaign and music are excellent. While there's many people who are not happy with the proce tag, guys,... ITS A WHOLE NOTHER DEAL.
  31. Sep 24, 2010
    10
    As MikeW put it "The ruined Mombasa that you play for most of the game as the rookie is very dull and lifeless." Duh. It's supposed to. Anyway, The game brings back some features from Halo: Combat Evolved, such as the health system and the ability of dual wielding is absent. The music is great and sets the tone of the game. While Firefight is not matchmaking, it is great to play withAs MikeW put it "The ruined Mombasa that you play for most of the game as the rookie is very dull and lifeless." Duh. It's supposed to. Anyway, The game brings back some features from Halo: Combat Evolved, such as the health system and the ability of dual wielding is absent. The music is great and sets the tone of the game. While Firefight is not matchmaking, it is great to play with friends and is an excellent addition to the franchise.Also, be sure to visit Bungie.net and get your Halo 3: ODST nameplate for Halo: Reach! Expand
  32. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    Copy/Paste to all Halo reviews after all these years: I didn't have a 360 for a few years (played 3 and ODST). In the meantime I played all sorts of fps- COD, BF, Killzone (which is awesome), Resistance, and every single other one. And coming back to Halo when I rebought a 360 was like the greatest homecoming ever. Unlike those other games, every Halo battle is like a chess match waitingCopy/Paste to all Halo reviews after all these years: I didn't have a 360 for a few years (played 3 and ODST). In the meantime I played all sorts of fps- COD, BF, Killzone (which is awesome), Resistance, and every single other one. And coming back to Halo when I rebought a 360 was like the greatest homecoming ever. Unlike those other games, every Halo battle is like a chess match waiting to happen. And once you truly know every enemy and every weapon, you fall into a sweet spot of gaming that is possibly the best of all action games ever made. It's just the best. Great now I have to copy and paste this 4 more times. Expand
  33. Feb 16, 2011
    10
    The graphic are Horrible ! The monster are **** ! The characters are (comment on dit un travelo ?), the story is whoring. The Game-play is moisi... ODST Is a **** game which is good and pourri.
  34. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    I really enjoyed this halo because of the story and the soundtrack. I actually like this story better than Reach's and the characters were much more enjoyable in this. I can understand why some people thought it was too expensive for what it is, but I still picked it up quite cheap. The facial graphics of the odst's are the weakness of the graphics overall a great game.
  35. Aug 13, 2012
    10
    YES YES **** YES Bungie! ODST may only be an expansion to Halo 3 but it is easily the best entry in the entire series. Set during the New Mombassa mission in Halo 2 you play as Rookie, a new addition to a group of ODST's sent in to assist Chief in the defence of New Mombassa, however things go pear shaped and the Covenant cruiser hits hyperdrive in orbit. Now scattered you and your squadYES YES **** YES Bungie! ODST may only be an expansion to Halo 3 but it is easily the best entry in the entire series. Set during the New Mombassa mission in Halo 2 you play as Rookie, a new addition to a group of ODST's sent in to assist Chief in the defence of New Mombassa, however things go pear shaped and the Covenant cruiser hits hyperdrive in orbit. Now scattered you and your squad must regroup and escape the crumbling ruins of New Mombassa before the Covenant glass the place. The game plays in 2 different ways, with Rookie during the night searching for your lost squad members, gathering clues and using stealth to your advantage. Then there is the flashback sections where you play as each of the other members of your squad in a defining moment in the battle of Mombassa. It uses all the same mechanics and features from Halo 3 whilst adding a couple more but its the story and sound engineering that make Halo 3: ODST the series standout game. Expand
  36. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    I thought this game was great, a lot of people knocked the short campaign, but you need to look at the whole package. The campaign was fun and a nice change from the norm, the FireFight feature was a nice addition, I loved the challenge of it. The game also came with Halo 3 Multiplayer disc with all the DLC, which I loved and still play. Good solid game and quite a challenge on Legendary.
  37. ChrisA
    Nov 6, 2009
    9
    Halo 3: ODST is a good buy if you have 30 pounds to spend on a game. If you don't have halo 3 Halo 3 ODST is a good experience. Main Gripes is that the campagin is a but too short and firfight should have some sort of matchmaking ability. Single Player- 8.0 Multiplayer- 8.7 Overall gameplay- 8.3 Presentation-9.0 Lifespan- 8.4 Score- 8.5 (I rounded for base score)
  38. B
    Oct 6, 2009
    9
    Anytime anything gets this big it gets haters and there are 1 Halo hater for every 20 games sold so there are a lot of Halo haters. Yes you can finsih this game in less time then it took you to be super mario bros 1 when you were a special ed kid but its still a good game and the hours of multiplayer you will play of the firefight and new Halo 3 maps will more then make up for theAnytime anything gets this big it gets haters and there are 1 Halo hater for every 20 games sold so there are a lot of Halo haters. Yes you can finsih this game in less time then it took you to be super mario bros 1 when you were a special ed kid but its still a good game and the hours of multiplayer you will play of the firefight and new Halo 3 maps will more then make up for the slightly shorter campagin. The price could have been a few bucks less but considering all the MP I have played I am not going to complain. Expand
  39. AngelA
    Jan 5, 2010
    9
    this game i think is one of the best halo games to date. i mean who dosent love teaming up with three friends and beating alien ass! i mean the down side to this game was the short campain mode and poor grafics but great game play definitly! firefight is the best feature on this game so if your not gonna by it atleast rent it cause halo out did there selfs on this one!
  40. DrewK
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    I for one am extremely happy with this game, you get all $30 worth of the multiplayer from Halo 3, which I hadn't bought before. So that makes the Campaign and Firefight together about $30. If the story took you 4 hours to beat, play it on legendary, getting all the data logs, and then tell me its short. This game is wonderfully made, with a stealthy environment as the rookie, and I for one am extremely happy with this game, you get all $30 worth of the multiplayer from Halo 3, which I hadn't bought before. So that makes the Campaign and Firefight together about $30. If the story took you 4 hours to beat, play it on legendary, getting all the data logs, and then tell me its short. This game is wonderfully made, with a stealthy environment as the rookie, and different styles as your teammates. GOW wasn't the first to have a survival mode, but I think that ODST has done the best job of any game so far. Great purchase for the first person shooter lover. Expand
  41. AdamW.
    Oct 5, 2009
    9
    A worthy expansion to the Halo saga well worth 39 pounds (I don't know what that is in dollars) The campaign all be it short is great fun even though the storyline is a bit weak. Firefight makes up for this with loads of maps and a shared pool of lives means that you have to work as a team. It is much better than COD WAW Nazi Zombies. However you must have friend online because of A worthy expansion to the Halo saga well worth 39 pounds (I don't know what that is in dollars) The campaign all be it short is great fun even though the storyline is a bit weak. Firefight makes up for this with loads of maps and a shared pool of lives means that you have to work as a team. It is much better than COD WAW Nazi Zombies. However you must have friend online because of the lack of an ability to player with another three random people. Overall the new weapons, firefight and the ability to unlock recon (why is vidmaster endure so hard) this makes it a worthy purchase. Expand
  42. CoryD
    Sep 23, 2009
    9
    The campaign has a different feel than the rest of the halo series, buthas a great look to it. Firefight is a blast, and is gonna eat up many hours in the near future. The new Mythic maps are just the icing on the cake... forget the retards that gave this a zero, it's the best game released in 2009, no contest at all.
  43. Bob
    Sep 25, 2009
    9
    Great addition to the Halo franchise. $60 for a game is standard and if you are new to Halo, you get Halo 3 multiplayer with all the DLC in the package. Bungie, keep 'em coming!
  44. TylerM
    Nov 1, 2009
    9
    This game improves on Halo 3 in almost every way. The Campaign is very unique, presenting a more open method of play than in other Halo games, and presenting missions in flashbacks. Firefight, the "multiplayer", might get old after a while, but if you have friends to play with, it'll probably last you hours and hours. My only complaint is that while the ODST's gameplay functions This game improves on Halo 3 in almost every way. The Campaign is very unique, presenting a more open method of play than in other Halo games, and presenting missions in flashbacks. Firefight, the "multiplayer", might get old after a while, but if you have friends to play with, it'll probably last you hours and hours. My only complaint is that while the ODST's gameplay functions differently from that of a Spartan or Elite in Halo 3 (ex. weaker melees, lower endurance, grenades thrown differently), shields were replaced with "stamina", which functon identically. In addition, a bonus disc with all the Halo 3 multiplayer maps is included, so if you;re not interested in Halo 3's campaign, but want to try the multiplayer, this is the game to buy. Expand
  45. CT
    Dec 10, 2009
    9
    The main gripe for this game, unfortunately, is the price. For people who owned the maps already, this is definitely not worth it. Fortunately, I only bought one map pack, and didn't have to focus on the high price when I played the game. The campaign is very short, and the Mombassa parts lack action, but the replay levels was done with the same level of quality as past Halo games. The main gripe for this game, unfortunately, is the price. For people who owned the maps already, this is definitely not worth it. Fortunately, I only bought one map pack, and didn't have to focus on the high price when I played the game. The campaign is very short, and the Mombassa parts lack action, but the replay levels was done with the same level of quality as past Halo games. Graphics aren't great, but that's never been a strong suite for Halo. The mechanics work solidly. Firefight is a ton of fun, and for those who complain about matchmaking, it is very difficult for it to work as the Bungie developers have said, but hopefully this will change in the future. Multiplayer, of course, the same good ol' Halo. Expand
  46. JonathanO
    Oct 9, 2009
    9
    In my opinion most people are missing the point. The story is more complex than it appears at first. To see the true beauty of the game you must look beyond.
  47. MarkS.
    Sep 22, 2009
    9
    A welcome return to the Halo universe, with an excellent soundtrack and a campaign that is fresh and different whilst still retaining the Halo feel. An exciting new game mode, Firefight, promises hours of addictive fun with others or by yourself, and the inclusion of all the Halo 3 maps, including the map packs, rounds out the package nicely. A must for any Halo fan, shooter fan, or A welcome return to the Halo universe, with an excellent soundtrack and a campaign that is fresh and different whilst still retaining the Halo feel. An exciting new game mode, Firefight, promises hours of addictive fun with others or by yourself, and the inclusion of all the Halo 3 maps, including the map packs, rounds out the package nicely. A must for any Halo fan, shooter fan, or Sci-Fi fan. Even if you are none of these, it is still well worth a look. Expand
  48. RonaldH.
    Sep 22, 2009
    9
    I really would like to give this a 9.2 or 9.3. Great story that changes up the pace from the other Halo games. The music for the times you're the rookie is just awesome and adds to the atmosphere. And of course firefight is amazing. The voice acting is great and the contols are as tight as ever. Of course there are a few downfalls. Firefight is friends only, so no matchmaking, which I really would like to give this a 9.2 or 9.3. Great story that changes up the pace from the other Halo games. The music for the times you're the rookie is just awesome and adds to the atmosphere. And of course firefight is amazing. The voice acting is great and the contols are as tight as ever. Of course there are a few downfalls. Firefight is friends only, so no matchmaking, which means you have to find three friends always to play it co-op fully. Somehow, the odsts can carry around turrets like the Chief and move faster than he does??? And the graphics are just a little above average. Expand
  49. SWard
    Sep 22, 2009
    9
    Halo fans will rejoice as bungie finally return with a new halo game (not including halo wars), halo 3 fans will feel right at home as the gameplay and controller scheme I near identical with the loss of dual wielding and rechargeable shields. The new setting is very intriguing and night time levels play out more stealthily than the all action flashbacks which take place during the day. Halo fans will rejoice as bungie finally return with a new halo game (not including halo wars), halo 3 fans will feel right at home as the gameplay and controller scheme I near identical with the loss of dual wielding and rechargeable shields. The new setting is very intriguing and night time levels play out more stealthily than the all action flashbacks which take place during the day. The voice acting won't win any Oscars but I found myself actually caring about what happened to the other odsts. Graphically the environment have a brand new art style which looks very lonely at night and vibrant and shiny during the day, but it basically runs on an updated engine of halo 3. Your tactics will have to change, the health packs return from halo 1 and charging in mellee-ing enemies may not pay off as well. At night new Mombasa is an open sandbox where there are few vehicles and enemies don't have to be engaged for you to proceed, the super intendent is the new cortana which offers bioshock like voice clips and a new detailed map that for some reason doesn Expand
  50. Brad
    Sep 23, 2009
    9
    I give ODST a 9 because it invokes a level of tension I just haven't felt from a FPS in a very long time. Playing the campaign on Heroic is just the right level of difficult for my skill level without making the game scream-at-the-TV frustrating. Have yet to delve into Firefight, and I agree that a matchmaking lobby would have been nice, but I understand why it is a "friends only" I give ODST a 9 because it invokes a level of tension I just haven't felt from a FPS in a very long time. Playing the campaign on Heroic is just the right level of difficult for my skill level without making the game scream-at-the-TV frustrating. Have yet to delve into Firefight, and I agree that a matchmaking lobby would have been nice, but I understand why it is a "friends only" playspace. You don't want some stranger mucking up your Vidmaster Endure achievement in the last set. The most disappointing thing was the inclusion of all Halo 3 MP maps. I understand the why, but I wish they'd thrown some kind of bone to those who already bought the old maps. In any case, the game and package is a worthy addition to the Halo franchise, and takes us back to what Bungie gave us in Halo:CE - Great gameplay and compelling story. Oh, and for what it's worth, it was Microsoft, not Bungie, who decided this was to be a full-retail $60 game. This is one of those unfortunate occasions where one truly cannot "Blame Stosh." Expand
  51. TalhaA
    Sep 25, 2009
    9
    This game is really good a little short and a bit different to halo 3. I think anyone who have played previous halo titles should buy this game. The story telling is what i like the most going from different sections of Mombasa to find out what happen to your fellow ODSTS.
  52. MikeG
    Nov 16, 2009
    9
    Love the game! The campaign is short but I enjoyed ever second of it! I still felt like master chief though, just playing on another difficulty. It also includes all multiplayer maps wich is really really awesome!
  53. BlaineH
    Oct 10, 2009
    9
    Who does and who doesn't like this game is totally dependent on if you owned halo 3 previously. I give it a good rating because I did not own it before hand. As for the graphics the designers managed to tweak the color pallet to make ODST really shine. The soundtrack is amazing and the voice acting is very impressive. The campaign may be short but the way the story is told is really Who does and who doesn't like this game is totally dependent on if you owned halo 3 previously. I give it a good rating because I did not own it before hand. As for the graphics the designers managed to tweak the color pallet to make ODST really shine. The soundtrack is amazing and the voice acting is very impressive. The campaign may be short but the way the story is told is really creative. My only disappointment with the game is the ending. But the real action is at Firefight. It may not be the most original idea but it's a lot of fun. I prefer it a little more to horde just because the combat and gameplay is a little more open. But that's my opinion. It's a great game and anyone considering getting should defiantly snag a copy. Expand
  54. PhilG
    Sep 22, 2009
    9
    What can I say that hasn't been said...excellent single player with a new approach, more of a focus on tactics and stealth...awesome multiplayer in the form of the new firefight mode...superb value thanks to the included $20 worth of Halo 3 maps...played it for 10 hours after it came out and don't regret it one bit. A must have!
  55. jenos
    Sep 23, 2009
    9
    LOL at all the people fussing about the price. if they sold it alone on the marketplace, itd be about the same thing. how much were all the map packs? like over 20 bucks right? and then there are 3 new maps.. so thats at least 8 bucks right there. the campaign alone would have been at least 15 bucks, then fire fight would have been maybe another 10. thats pretty much 60 bucks.. sure, they LOL at all the people fussing about the price. if they sold it alone on the marketplace, itd be about the same thing. how much were all the map packs? like over 20 bucks right? and then there are 3 new maps.. so thats at least 8 bucks right there. the campaign alone would have been at least 15 bucks, then fire fight would have been maybe another 10. thats pretty much 60 bucks.. sure, they should have released a 40 dollar edition without the second disc, but for people like me who dont like paying in bits and pieces to download maps.. its a great value. the game shouldnt get a lower score because you already paid for the maps.. because its still a great game regardless. i dont understand why people make mention of the graphics or it being just like halo 3.. its not called halo 4. .its called HALO 3 odst.. so obviously its a branch off of halo 3. get over it. Expand
  56. BillB
    Sep 23, 2009
    9
    At this point it's probably hard for ODST to get the recognition it deserves as people who like that other console know which title to bash away at and rate down. For what it's worth - the ODST campaign is fantastic and the storyteling in particular is the best of any Halo game. Highly reccomended.
  57. RaulP
    Sep 23, 2009
    9
    Great Original Game. Plays very different from other Halo games. Firefight mode is a blast and plays better at higher difficulties, Normal is just too easy. Please don't fall for the false accusation that this game should have only been a cheaper expansion, The game is worth every penny.
  58. HofunNoodles
    Sep 23, 2009
    9
    This game looks great - why people complain about the engine being old etc. should wake up and smell the coffee. The important thing that this still plays better than any other competitor. The variety in enemies and ways to dispatch them is still what makes HALO king of the hill. With firefight this fact is celebrated with points and skulls and overkills littering the screen like This game looks great - why people complain about the engine being old etc. should wake up and smell the coffee. The important thing that this still plays better than any other competitor. The variety in enemies and ways to dispatch them is still what makes HALO king of the hill. With firefight this fact is celebrated with points and skulls and overkills littering the screen like fireworks. It just brings a smile - I enjoy playing it - isn't that what games are for after all? I picked this up for a reasonable price and feel it's worth every penny. I'll be in seventh heaven if I enjoy MW2 this much as well. Expand
  59. DennisN
    Sep 23, 2009
    9
    It's a nice, high value package you get with this game. I don't understand why so many people are making complains that this game is too expensive. Because of my location, I had to pay 80$ for this game, instead of the usuall 110$, and also got new multiplayer maps included.
  60. PhilipG.
    Sep 24, 2009
    9
    ODST is a well rounded game with a different look at the Halo universe. It is a great first person shooter and continues the great story telling of the franchise.
  61. DougT
    Sep 24, 2009
    9
    Well. The reason for the 9 is simply this- I got this game for 35$ (the day it shipped) because somehow Amazon offered me 15$ in rebates and a 10$ Amazon gift card b/c they screwed up my order. It's a great game. The singleplayer is my favorite (I have yet to play the firefight mode). Lot's of action, a great FPS series that just does everything right. I got it cheap, I would Well. The reason for the 9 is simply this- I got this game for 35$ (the day it shipped) because somehow Amazon offered me 15$ in rebates and a 10$ Amazon gift card b/c they screwed up my order. It's a great game. The singleplayer is my favorite (I have yet to play the firefight mode). Lot's of action, a great FPS series that just does everything right. I got it cheap, I would suggest you should to, not because it's not worth 60$, but because any game you should try and pick up for as little as possible. I did not buy any of the previous Halo 3 maps, so this makes the deal even sweeter. This game is definitely worth 60$, it just depends how much extra money you spent on Halo 3. Great game, fun gameplay- hoping to see a little more though from Bungie. Get it cheap if you can, but if you can't, buy it if you don't have one of the following: A) Halo 3 B) The maps from Halo 3 C) No friends with the game. Good luck. Expand
  62. GeorgeG
    Sep 24, 2009
    9
    I don't get the whole "this game is too short" argument. Play the game on Legendary and let me know how long it takes you. Take your time, explore the city, there is no need to rush. This game is chocked full of replay value between firefight, besting your high score in campaign and some truly tough challenges. It's also beautiful. The graphic look fantastic and the art style is I don't get the whole "this game is too short" argument. Play the game on Legendary and let me know how long it takes you. Take your time, explore the city, there is no need to rush. This game is chocked full of replay value between firefight, besting your high score in campaign and some truly tough challenges. It's also beautiful. The graphic look fantastic and the art style is top notch. Also, the music is some of the best I've heard in a shooter. For me, the real sell here is that it's so different from the other Halo games. It channels games like Bioshock, Half-Life and Metroid to create something truly unique. Expand
  63. bobm.
    Sep 26, 2009
    9
    Loved the music and firefight. i thought the campaign was the best in the halo series. i loved the new health system to. i liked how countering a brute on firefight head on meant trouble while if you were a spartan u can take 10 on no problem. the only thing keeping this from a 10 is that firefight and campaign had no matchmaking.
  64. GeorgeC
    Sep 27, 2009
    9
    Campaign is quite good with some fantastic moments, although there is a bit of spark missing from the overall campaign. There needed to be much more bigger and better battles and definitely atleast 4 more new weapons for the hardcore halo gamer such as myself. Firefight mode is great although it too can become very lengthy and eventually becomes boring...firefight needed to be much faster Campaign is quite good with some fantastic moments, although there is a bit of spark missing from the overall campaign. There needed to be much more bigger and better battles and definitely atleast 4 more new weapons for the hardcore halo gamer such as myself. Firefight mode is great although it too can become very lengthy and eventually becomes boring...firefight needed to be much faster paced with better weapons and maps. Although there are many small negatives from odst, the game still offers a great deal for the hardcore halo gamer and cannot be missed. Brng on reach bungie Expand
  65. JjonathanW.
    Feb 23, 2010
    9
    I think that the campaign was better than halo 3's,overall, the reason i say overall is because the last mission didn't come close with halo 3's final driving scene. the firefight was really fun and stuff, but really, it was just a copy of hoarde mode from gears of war 2, and it kind of got boring to me after awile.It also comes with the who halo 3 multiplayer, which has I think that the campaign was better than halo 3's,overall, the reason i say overall is because the last mission didn't come close with halo 3's final driving scene. the firefight was really fun and stuff, but really, it was just a copy of hoarde mode from gears of war 2, and it kind of got boring to me after awile.It also comes with the who halo 3 multiplayer, which has all of the maps, even the dlc, from halo 3 plus a new map pack. overall, it's a great game. Expand
  66. AnthonyF
    Nov 8, 2009
    9
    Easily the best Halo game. I actually think it could do without the "choosing your path" thing though, because when you do the missions out of order it makes things confusing; playing it through in a linear fashion makes the story much stronger. The hub world of New Mombassa night could also have been improved, as the "random" Covenant encounters are the same every time you enter an area. Easily the best Halo game. I actually think it could do without the "choosing your path" thing though, because when you do the missions out of order it makes things confusing; playing it through in a linear fashion makes the story much stronger. The hub world of New Mombassa night could also have been improved, as the "random" Covenant encounters are the same every time you enter an area. Exploring New Mombassa only really becomes fun once you get the Mongoose, a reward from the SuperIntendent after completing several missions and finding audio logs. Audio logs are the most interesting collectible in any game I've played, and they tell a story that's even better than that of the game itself. Firefight mode might seem like a rehashed Horde or Nazi Zombies, but ODST makes it more fun, and reorganizes it to make it much more team-oriented. The lack of matchmaking that forces you to play with your friends only reinforces this. Firefight was clearly made for groups of close friends. The only complaint that I have is that if it was made for co-op play with your friends, why wasn't 4-player split-screen included? It seems like something that would be easy to add in, considering it's already available in other multiplayer modes, but it's something that the campaign, which was the base Firefight was built upon, lacks. As well as the main disc, ODST also comes with a second disc carrying Halo 3's complete multiplayer experience, including every map from the Heroic map pack, to Cold Storage, to the second half of the Mythic map pack not released for download. While the Heroic map pack and Cold Storage are free, The Legendary map pack and the first Mythic map pack both fetch a price of 800 microsoft points ($10) on Xbox Live Marketplace. Add in the second half of the Mythic pack and that's $30 worth of maps on the disc. The multiplayer disc also contains Forge and Theater, so nothing is missing from the original Halo 3 disc except for the campaign. I've heard criticism of the length of the campaign. While the campaign is only about seven hours long, there's been little criticism of Modern Warfare 2's campaign, which is approximated at five hours in length, shorter than even Mirror's Edge. I'd like to note that ODST was originally planned as an expansion, and not a full game, and was developed under strict time constraints and a very small budget. On the other hand, Modern Warfare 2 was developed with a much larger budget, by a lot more people, and in a greater amount of time. While I too would like a longer campaign, if the campaign is good (as is the case with ODST, and will no doubt be the case with MW2), it doesn't warrant the amount of criticism that it has been getting. While ODST's campaign may lack in length, it makes up for it in re playability. Offering co-op with up to three other people, many players will play it through once by theirself, and again with friends, likely going back a third time to collect audio logs and get achievements. The biggest flaw in ODST is that it was created using the Halo 3 engine. Not that it could be helped, as it was developed under strict constraints, but the Halo 3 engine is really beginning to show its age, particularly in cutscenes. Characters don't move naturally, and the facial expressions aren't up to par with most other current gen games. While it's not quite as easy to tell in-game, there's still a notable difference between the look of ODST and the other games coming out this year. Overall, I'd say it's worth at least a rent and a single playthrough of the campaign. Unlike the other Halo games, acting is top notch thanks to the crew from Firefly and Tricia Helfer from BSG voicing the main characters. The story itself isn't literary gold, but it's still better than any of the other Halo games. Multiplayer is fun as always, with the addition of Firefight. Halo fans will love it. If you're on the edge, get it, you'll enjoy it. If you hate Halo, you'll probably hate ODST too. Expand
  67. dayneu.
    Sep 22, 2009
    9
    A great stand alone story ja, packed full of firefly/serenity one-liners
  68. BryanK.
    Sep 22, 2009
    9
    Awesome game. Well worth $60. Anyone who says otherwise is just a hater. Most FPS games are between 5-10 hours for their campaign, and Halo 3 ODST lasts for 6. So its much more than just an expansion.
  69. ZacharyH.
    Sep 22, 2009
    9
    So i woke up early so i can get to my eb games and pick up my pre order copy of odst with the sgt johnson code. Eb games was open at 8am just so ppl can get there copy of halo. I was skeptikal cause of some of the reviews that i heard saying it was lacking in some areas. Let me tell you there are wrong as far as im concerned. I woke up early and had to work that day and only got 15 mins So i woke up early so i can get to my eb games and pick up my pre order copy of odst with the sgt johnson code. Eb games was open at 8am just so ppl can get there copy of halo. I was skeptikal cause of some of the reviews that i heard saying it was lacking in some areas. Let me tell you there are wrong as far as im concerned. I woke up early and had to work that day and only got 15 mins with firefight and i loved every last second. Then i get home and play through 3 sets of waves and get the 200000 achievement for rally point and oh man it was intense. Expand
  70. GusT
    Sep 22, 2009
    9
    I think Halo 3 ODST is an exceptional title and deserves to be played by everyone who owns a xbox 360. Where it does fall down however is the fact that it is a full release rather than just DLC. This game would have got much better rep had it been just a DLC release . However Bungie have chosen to release it as a full game and it will probably end up hurting their reputation .
  71. EmeryC
    Sep 23, 2009
    9
    To me this game is in the high eights so without granularity I'm going to round it to a nine. It;s fun to play. The plot doesn't work for me and the music is not what I expected but the game is atmospheric and fun to play. The Value issue many are docking the game for seems a bit forced to me in light of the widespread acceptance ofother games with short campaigns such as Left 4 To me this game is in the high eights so without granularity I'm going to round it to a nine. It;s fun to play. The plot doesn't work for me and the music is not what I expected but the game is atmospheric and fun to play. The Value issue many are docking the game for seems a bit forced to me in light of the widespread acceptance ofother games with short campaigns such as Left 4 Dead or RE:5. It was worth the $60 for me. Expand
  72. olic
    Sep 23, 2009
    9
    Personnaly, i found that the begining is pretty weak when you are walking long long time for nothing, but if you play all the game to the end you will get epic battle in the last mission. that part of the game i think is the reasons why to buy it or download it. xD
  73. EthanL
    Sep 25, 2009
    9
    The campaign mode is a little short if you blow through it on easy, or normal like a lot of people have. If you play on heroic or higher it gives it a little more depth. The actual feeling of being alone in the dark city is a very cool feelings, and the music really helps to set that tone. Don't expect this game to blow your mind away with crazy intense scenes, even the opening scene The campaign mode is a little short if you blow through it on easy, or normal like a lot of people have. If you play on heroic or higher it gives it a little more depth. The actual feeling of being alone in the dark city is a very cool feelings, and the music really helps to set that tone. Don't expect this game to blow your mind away with crazy intense scenes, even the opening scene to me wasn't impressive in that way. The style of not being the master chief is shown off very well by the atmosphere, and the smaller scale of the fights. The audio files, while not really engaging at first (but are awesome as they go on), are a very nice touch and add to the atmosphere of the game. The ending was pretty bland, but the game leading up to it was really good. Firefight is hands down amazing, and the only faults I could find was the lack of matchmaking. Even though that problem is actually only minor if you have friends on live or in real life to play with. It's not a perfect game, it has a few medium sized flaws, but the briliance of the things Bungie got right makes up for it. Firefight will blow your socks off, and should leave you wanting more maps. Campaign, if played in the right mindset should really feel..charming after you're done. Expand
  74. ChristopherB.
    Sep 25, 2009
    9
    Overall the campaign was done really well. It added some new elements to the story and the whole game took place on earth. The firefight addition was great but I wish bungie had a matchmaking feature to it like in gears 2. I was also hoping that the multiplayer mode would not be halo 3 but more ODST style with some new maps exculsive to ODST.
  75. GregorO.
    Sep 27, 2009
    9
    This is a really good game, I got mine for roughly 40$, for anyone worrying about the short campaign, play it the way it was meant to be played, on Legendary, it takes the game to a whole new level. For me, the deal was Campaign, Firefight and 3 new maps, and for 40 bucks, it's well worth it for me. However I do not think this is worth 60$ for the veteran halo player. But otherwise, This is a really good game, I got mine for roughly 40$, for anyone worrying about the short campaign, play it the way it was meant to be played, on Legendary, it takes the game to a whole new level. For me, the deal was Campaign, Firefight and 3 new maps, and for 40 bucks, it's well worth it for me. However I do not think this is worth 60$ for the veteran halo player. But otherwise, it's a great game. Expand
  76. Sep 29, 2010
    9
    Halo 3: ODST is little more than an expansion pack. But where there isn't a rethought mutliplayer component that pushes the series forward, there is a stellar story told through a scope that is brand new to Halo and will really please fans that are wanting to answer the question "why am I doing this?" as they progress through the campaign. The only real new face in ODST besides theHalo 3: ODST is little more than an expansion pack. But where there isn't a rethought mutliplayer component that pushes the series forward, there is a stellar story told through a scope that is brand new to Halo and will really please fans that are wanting to answer the question "why am I doing this?" as they progress through the campaign. The only real new face in ODST besides the obvious 6-8 hour campaign portion is the intriguing Firefight mode that brings up to 4 players together to fight off massive waves of Covenant soldiers & vehicles. This mode is reminiscent of Gear of War 2's "Horde" mode and will give friends something great to enjoy while playing with up to 3 other friends. But other than that, you're looking at minimal changes to what has been a solid formula up to this point. Though adding in great voice acting from the likes of Nathan Fillion certainly pushes the game into believable AND captivating territory. If you were hoping for something big, new, and a step up graphically... well you'll only get a little of each. Though running around, guns blazing, has never been so cool. Expand
  77. Dec 22, 2010
    9
    Halo 3: ODST is what you get when you try to create DLC but add to much content, the story in this game is one of the best in the series, it's better than Halo 3's in my opinion, the environmental graphics are outstanding as are the armor graphics, facial animations are terrible though, voice acting is great and the sound effects are top notch, and the new Firefight mode is really fun, aHalo 3: ODST is what you get when you try to create DLC but add to much content, the story in this game is one of the best in the series, it's better than Halo 3's in my opinion, the environmental graphics are outstanding as are the armor graphics, facial animations are terrible though, voice acting is great and the sound effects are top notch, and the new Firefight mode is really fun, a few new gameplay changes only give it a slightly different feel, and there is no multiplayer, but it does come with all of Halo 3's maps plus the DLC maps and two new maps, this game is in my opinion amazing and one of the best in the series. Expand
  78. Feb 23, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is great. I felt/feel that it's not worth $60 but at the same time I had such a good experience playing it that I have a hard time gauging what it's worth. Definitely $20, $30, maybe $40. It is great because of the moodiness, and because of the frailty of the playable characters. You are not a spartan, you are a soldier, and you don't have super shields and you are not unstoppable. Choices must be made with consideration to ammo, health and environment. Battles with hunters in tight corridors vs. out in the open are awesome and difficult choices to make. Finding the snipers in the buildings is essential to cross some sections, with soldiers coming on your position from multiple directions. Survival strategies become important.

    There are multiple mission types, each carried out by other members of the ODST team focusing more (albeit not by much more) on their characters special training, well voiced by half the cast of firefly (with multiple references to the show). I would liked to have seen a longer game just to get to flesh them out more. Or, better yet a new game continuing their story. With master chief gone I was really hoping they would be the future of the game franchise.


    You can get the game dirt cheap now, and if the cost or halo-burnout kept you at bay before it's worth the $10 or twenty bucks you would pay to get it.
    Expand
  79. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    Not the best Halo but at least like a lost episode , very nice. Actually it added cool features the game, just like the DLC and the firefight mode apart from the short campaign . The campaign was nice, playing as an a ODST felt like a challenge against the covenants and that was a great feature in difference about Master chief that is (obviously) a spartan (easy) . A littleNot the best Halo but at least like a lost episode , very nice. Actually it added cool features the game, just like the DLC and the firefight mode apart from the short campaign . The campaign was nice, playing as an a ODST felt like a challenge against the covenants and that was a great feature in difference about Master chief that is (obviously) a spartan (easy) . A little disappointed in the campaign , I mean it needed the battle rifle, and mostly in all the level you used the silenced m7s , the levels vastly appeared the assault rifle and come on the protagonist never talked it just felt like another master chief only human. But anyway is full entertaining and you get a good use for your money . Expand
  80. Aug 1, 2011
    9
    You know I was going to give it a bad rating because its a bad "halo game" but then I played some other much worse fps's and other bad games and thought wow this really is so much better than those other games. so sure out of all the halo games its definitely the worst (yes that includes wars) it's still a superb game by gaming standards and deserves to be regarded as such.
  81. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    +6 for the best Halo campaign I've ever played.
    +5 for the Firefight being awesome.
    -1 for not having matchmaking in Firefight. -1 for not being able to unlock bigger portions of Firefight maps. Okay, I am a long time Halo fan. I've read all the books and own all the games. I understand why people would think that ODST should not have come out as a full priced game. It didn't have an
    +6 for the best Halo campaign I've ever played.
    +5 for the Firefight being awesome.
    -1 for not having matchmaking in Firefight.
    -1 for not being able to unlock bigger portions of Firefight maps.

    Okay, I am a long time Halo fan. I've read all the books and own all the games. I understand why people would think that ODST should not have come out as a full priced game. It didn't have an independent multiplayer, but is that seriously what we base game quality off of today? Some of the most amazing games I've ever played are single-player and ODST is no exception. The inclusion of Firefight easily evened out the lack of mulitplayer for me. With Reach coming out so soon after, I wouldn't have spent any time on ODSTs mulitplayer anyway.
    Expand
  82. Oct 8, 2011
    9
    Story: 9
    Characters: 7
    Graphics: 9
    Setting: 7
    Multiplayer: 10
    Technical: 10
    Audio: 10
    Gameplay: 10
    Re-Playability Value: 8
    Fun Factor: 8

    Score: 8.8/10 = A
  83. Nov 6, 2011
    9
    The campaign in this game ventures off from the previous Halo games. While playing as the Rookie and wandering around the darkened streets of New Mombasa alone you actually get the feeling that you are indeed "alone". While in this segment of the game you would want to avoid enemy as much as possible which is why I think those Hard Core Halo fans say that it sucks but overall the campaignThe campaign in this game ventures off from the previous Halo games. While playing as the Rookie and wandering around the darkened streets of New Mombasa alone you actually get the feeling that you are indeed "alone". While in this segment of the game you would want to avoid enemy as much as possible which is why I think those Hard Core Halo fans say that it sucks but overall the campaign is amazing and possibly the best in the Halo series. It has great storytelling and a good transition between flashbacks with a good ending. Firefight is one of the best modes for a fps to date you've might have seen games where you fight waves of enemy but Bungie's take on it is amazing. This would be the perfect feature to the game if it had matchmaking but Bungie neglected to add it to the final product. Overall the game is amazingly good from the spectacular campaign to having fun with friends in firefight but for a 60.00$ price tag it is not. The game is only an expansion with the price tag of a full game. If Bungie would have made an entirely new multiplayer featuring the Odst and their new guns and Visr as well as making matchmaking possible with firefight then the game would be an 11/10 that's how great it would have been just imagine playing multiplayer on it with some night maps using the Visr and the new SMG all the things that could have been but isn't in the game. Still it's a spectacular game none the less but for it having a 60.00$ price tag for something that's not a full game turns that "spectacular" to a great which is why I'm giving it a 9.1/10 instead of a 10/10. Expand
  84. Feb 26, 2012
    9
    Halo 3: ODST should have never been an "expansion" and should have just been a game on it's own. Regardless, it is a truly unique game. For those expecting the standard, stellar Halo-style experience they will be somewhat disappointed. The art style and color palette are totally different from Halo 3. The cut-scenes have a more cartoon-like feel to them, and the game is amuchdarker inHalo 3: ODST should have never been an "expansion" and should have just been a game on it's own. Regardless, it is a truly unique game. For those expecting the standard, stellar Halo-style experience they will be somewhat disappointed. The art style and color palette are totally different from Halo 3. The cut-scenes have a more cartoon-like feel to them, and the game is amuchdarker in tones. The story-telling is vastly different, but once you get used to it only then can you appreciate it. ODST slows down the fast pace of Halo story telling to focus, in detail, on the episodic encounters of surviving members of an ODST unit. Instead of vast, galactic battles with epic proportions, ODST tells the small-scale story about the lives of brave and honorable men and women who would have otherwise been considered insignificant. ODST takes a mysterious, suspenseful approach in a fantastic tale on how ODST struggle to save Humanity from the invasion of the Covenant. The Human-Covenant War takes a heavier toll as you literally feel and experience the War from a purely human perspective. You dwell among the dark, dead ruins of one of earth's greatest cities: New Mombassa. You can see Covenant ships hovering nearby and laying waste, you see human soldiers scrambling in guerrilla warfare against alien invaders. You can explore the city and uncover interesting side-stories from a civilian perspective of the attack, and you experience -block-tp-block fighting against occupying covenant forces. The stakes seem higher, and I almost wish this game would have been called Halo: ODST so it could have been a $30 tie-in special release in between Halo 2 and Halo 3. I think more people would have appreciated the game more than way, especially with how the plot progresses and then ends. The story is very interesting, and enjoyable. At first I had a hard time actually liking the characters, but as the game continued on I felt like i fit in among them, and I felt for them and connected to them. The music is unique and enjoyable. The gameplay is solid and smooth. The game is challenging and immensely fun. This game has a high replay value, and is a must-get for anyone who wants a game where they can take time to explore and relish details of a larger story. Expand
  85. May 1, 2014
    9
    Certainly not going to be everyone's cup of tea but I loved it. I felt sneaking around the ruins of the city, looking for clues and stockpiles to be great fun. You have to use your head a bit more, you're not a super human soldier any more. This actually leads to some nice tactical situations and is a refreshingly different experience. The music, the lighting etc. are done excellently butCertainly not going to be everyone's cup of tea but I loved it. I felt sneaking around the ruins of the city, looking for clues and stockpiles to be great fun. You have to use your head a bit more, you're not a super human soldier any more. This actually leads to some nice tactical situations and is a refreshingly different experience. The music, the lighting etc. are done excellently but for the die hard Halo fans there's still the flashbacks where you get to be involved in some really heavy action instead of city skirmishes. Expand
  86. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    After a year of owning the game I finally got around to playing it through. I really was expecting another linear Halo game when I popped this in. It was delightfully different to be presented with the option to walk about a city fighting through the covenant to regroup with my lost squad mates. Visually the game was really no different from any other Halo; however, the ability to walkAfter a year of owning the game I finally got around to playing it through. I really was expecting another linear Halo game when I popped this in. It was delightfully different to be presented with the option to walk about a city fighting through the covenant to regroup with my lost squad mates. Visually the game was really no different from any other Halo; however, the ability to walk through a city at night and then see it at a different time of day during a mission was quite enjoyable. The music was supposed to be an homage to the previous games OST's but I really believe the change in style for ODST sound was one of its biggest strengths. The ability to quickly tell a story through little snippets of each squad member made for a great storyline that required you think about how the pieces fit together. I think the timing of the game was also a huge strength. Having a game that you could get through in a little over six hours yet receive an ample story was a nice change of pace. I have found this series to sometimes drag levels out by forcing you to spend a lot of time on non-story progressing moments. That was not at all the case with ODST. Overall I am fairly pleased with the game and it has re-sparked my interest in the series quite a bit. Expand
  87. Nov 3, 2012
    9
    If you're thinking about buying it now (for about $20), do it. every multiplayer map, and in my opinion the best campaign in the halo series. for what it lacks in length it more than makes up for in its characters (the cast of firefly with a cylon? fantastic!), the perfected gameplay and graphics (with a silenced magnum and smg, who needs dual wielding?), and the mood and atmosphere thatIf you're thinking about buying it now (for about $20), do it. every multiplayer map, and in my opinion the best campaign in the halo series. for what it lacks in length it more than makes up for in its characters (the cast of firefly with a cylon? fantastic!), the perfected gameplay and graphics (with a silenced magnum and smg, who needs dual wielding?), and the mood and atmosphere that puts reach to shame, this is bungie's masterpiece. firefight, whilst in its best incarnation in my opinion, is the game's only weak point. didn't anyone think to put it on Live? Expand
  88. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    I don't no why ppl hate on this it was a welcome edition to the halo lore I myself always thought about how would someone else fair in the wars of halo besides john 117 aka master chief. And then odst was made and I enjoyed playing it all the way through. Like all the halos from the past the gameplay was top notch playing in the city environment was awesome I mean this game was a good.I don't no why ppl hate on this it was a welcome edition to the halo lore I myself always thought about how would someone else fair in the wars of halo besides john 117 aka master chief. And then odst was made and I enjoyed playing it all the way through. Like all the halos from the past the gameplay was top notch playing in the city environment was awesome I mean this game was a good. game story and just all around fun time. Expand
  89. May 31, 2013
    9
    A Halo game where you play as a human ODST soldier instead of a Spartan, that's a first and big change. I did, however, enjoy Halo 3: ODST 'cause its different. Playing from a soldier's point of view and not a spartan is actually fun. They brought back the healing aids from the first, since the characters are human, so you can't just run into the fight, you'll most likely die instantly.A Halo game where you play as a human ODST soldier instead of a Spartan, that's a first and big change. I did, however, enjoy Halo 3: ODST 'cause its different. Playing from a soldier's point of view and not a spartan is actually fun. They brought back the healing aids from the first, since the characters are human, so you can't just run into the fight, you'll most likely die instantly. The new Horde like 'Firefight' mode is fun when there's up to 4 players. Though the game was good, it was really short. Probably wouldv'e worked better as an expansion pack to Halo 3, rather than being a full game, but there is still enjoyment to have here. But if you liked playing as an indestructible super-soldier, than look somewhere else. Expand
  90. JW
    Mar 27, 2010
    8
    ODST is a solid shooter better than average but the campaign is too short and easy to get completely excited about. It's main new feature is Firefight which while fun is a time consuming affair, expect to spend over 2 and a half hours if you're performing well so casual gaming goes out the window. Expect to beat the campaign 3-5 time in your fisrt few days of owning it. And dont ODST is a solid shooter better than average but the campaign is too short and easy to get completely excited about. It's main new feature is Firefight which while fun is a time consuming affair, expect to spend over 2 and a half hours if you're performing well so casual gaming goes out the window. Expect to beat the campaign 3-5 time in your fisrt few days of owning it. And dont expect any gameplay revolutions for the Halo franchise. The multiplayer disk though is great, Halo 3's entire multiplayer with every DLC and adding that onto the solid but not great campaign and this is a solid game decision. Expand
  91. MarkJ
    Oct 1, 2009
    8
    ODST is in its essence an expansion to Halo 3. Int his capacity it makes for a great game. The inclusion of the Multiplayer map packs alone almost makes up for the cost of the game, but adding firefight and the beautifully done campaign it is totaly worth it. The only reason to pass this game up would be if you have all the maps and dont want to spend the cash on the 8 new missions and ODST is in its essence an expansion to Halo 3. Int his capacity it makes for a great game. The inclusion of the Multiplayer map packs alone almost makes up for the cost of the game, but adding firefight and the beautifully done campaign it is totaly worth it. The only reason to pass this game up would be if you have all the maps and dont want to spend the cash on the 8 new missions and one new game type. The only bad thing to be said about this game is the shortness of the campaign. Expand
  92. AJP
    Oct 9, 2009
    8
    First and foremost, ODST is more than an glorified expansion pack. The story is better than the other Halos in my opinion. I like the fact that you are just a regular trooper instead of Master Chief, it makes you think more during the fights, especially since you don't have have recharging health or recharging shields. The way the story is told is interesting, finding things left First and foremost, ODST is more than an glorified expansion pack. The story is better than the other Halos in my opinion. I like the fact that you are just a regular trooper instead of Master Chief, it makes you think more during the fights, especially since you don't have have recharging health or recharging shields. The way the story is told is interesting, finding things left behind by your squadmates and playing flashback missions through their eyes. The length of the story depends on how long it takes you to get to where the items are that trigger the flashbacks and if you want to find all the hidden audiofiles. The package is a great deal, provided you don't already have the map packs for Halo 3 multiplayer, since they are included on the second disc, which is Halo 3's multiplayer, the only new thing is 3 new maps. Speaking of multiplayer, the new Firefight mode on the ODST disc is a blast, it is pretty much horde mode with a twist. Different skulls activate during each round turning on different modifiers like all enemies dodge grenades and plasma more often or enemies do nothing but throw grenades until they run out. Overall this is a great package, especially for Halo fans. I will say this, if you already own the map packs for Halo 3, rent ODST first to see if the campaign and Firefight are something you'd be willing to pay full price for. Expand
  93. trevorK.
    Sep 22, 2009
    8
    If campaign was 10 to 15 hrs. Firefight had matchmaking and the silenced smg and pistol carried over to multiplayer, this would have been 10. As is, its awesome story and early access to REACH beta still make it worth the price.
  94. HallT.J.
    Sep 22, 2009
    8
    Different...... but the same. I understand people when they say to not fix what is not broken. Halo 3 is not broken however if Halo ODST was the same as Halo 3 everyone would say that Bungie just made a few changes H3, repackaged it and charged us full price for a game that could have been a DLC. I think there is just enough new content to justify me spending $59.99. Add the fact that I Different...... but the same. I understand people when they say to not fix what is not broken. Halo 3 is not broken however if Halo ODST was the same as Halo 3 everyone would say that Bungie just made a few changes H3, repackaged it and charged us full price for a game that could have been a DLC. I think there is just enough new content to justify me spending $59.99. Add the fact that I am a Halo fan and it is a must buy. Expand
  95. BartJ
    Sep 28, 2009
    8
    As a long time halo fan i found this to be a worthwhile spin-off, its one of the shortest games ever but thats why i played it on legendary. Although some say its utter crap, these people only want multiplayer, come on be realistic, halo multiplayer sucks overall play cod 4 for multiplayer but for a great story more imaginative than halo 3, play ODST. A must for halo fans.
  96. jamesk
    Sep 30, 2009
    8
    Its good, not great.the campaign is quite short, firefight is awesome but comes without matchmaking(none of my friends have the game), and i had all the online maps bfore anyway(which i say most people have), so only 3 new maps. Otherwise a good game with interesting story and if u hav friends playin firefight is a blast. but still, it is full price.
  97. AmmarH
    Oct 15, 2009
    8
    It's pretty fun, but i just thought that there is going to be kind of a good change on graphics, but there isn't. the graphics are just a bit better than halo 3 but not that much. any ways, it's a good game. and actually i give it an 8.4 but i can't use decimals.
  98. IanT
    Oct 25, 2009
    8
    By no means a perfect game, it's very good while it lasts. Firefight mode is a pretty good distraction, but a bit more multiplayer effort would have been nice, instead of just 3 new maps. Fans of the series will enjoy; everyone else probably won't see what the fuss is about.
  99. TimothyB.
    Sep 22, 2009
    8
    Bungie are getting lazy and releasing games to ride on the success of halo 3. - but still?, it's a halo:ODST! , so it's awesome.
  100. HunterG
    Sep 23, 2009
    8
    Halo 3: ODST is a great addition to the Halo franchise. With an exciting campaign, the new firefight mode, which is awesome, and the multiplayer, what's not to love? Some people have said that the campaign is too short, it is a waste of $60, etc. But if you are like me, and like good shooters, then you will love this game. I only have one complaint. This is that, as long and Halo 3: ODST is a great addition to the Halo franchise. With an exciting campaign, the new firefight mode, which is awesome, and the multiplayer, what's not to love? Some people have said that the campaign is too short, it is a waste of $60, etc. But if you are like me, and like good shooters, then you will love this game. I only have one complaint. This is that, as long and extensive the campaign is, and as good as firefight and the multiplayer is, I believe that there simply isn't enough content to satisfy those $60 that I paid for this game. The only things that are new to the franchise are the campaign and firefight. And while they are both very fun, I believe that this game should have been priced at $40, even $50, but not $60. However, just remember that the game is very fun, and if you just have some money laying around, but can't think of anything to spend it on, then definitely buy this game. You won't regret it. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 94 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 94
  2. Negative: 1 out of 94
  1. The bottom line here is that this is a nice little piece of Halo, and that anyone who has ever enjoyed Halo will probably enjoy this too. The only question is how much it is worth to you. As a full priced stand-alone game, its value is somewhat dubious.
  2. Not only an add-on! This is better than many of the main games! Next to the single player, you also get a great multiplayer mode. You just cannot do wrong if you buy this game!
  3. Halo 3: ODST is an excellent add-on campaign for Halo 3, and one which all Halo fans should own.