User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3778 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    Anyone who ever gave this game anything less than a 7 is lying to themselves. It may not be a 10 but you know its pretty damn good. The multiplayer alone should warrant an automatic 9 and when you pile on the deep (and yes, at times convoluted) story it has to be at least a 9.5. If you own an XBOX 360 and have somehow not experienced the excellence that is the Halo series, do yourself aAnyone who ever gave this game anything less than a 7 is lying to themselves. It may not be a 10 but you know its pretty damn good. The multiplayer alone should warrant an automatic 9 and when you pile on the deep (and yes, at times convoluted) story it has to be at least a 9.5. If you own an XBOX 360 and have somehow not experienced the excellence that is the Halo series, do yourself a service and pick this up on the cheap. Trust. Expand
  2. Nov 27, 2010
    7
    A pretty decent game. It lacks the replay value of the first two, and the story is pretty weak compared to the rest of the series. Ofcourse, that can be forgivable since it must have been difficult trying to bring an adequate conclusion to the storyline. If you like first person shooters, this game is worth a couple playthroughs.
  3. Mar 6, 2011
    7
    Halo 3 while a good game was a huge disappointment and the worst in the series, the bland boring campaign is really holding this back, the multiplayer hasn't changed much from Halo 2, the good thing is the Forge mode which may not be on a PC level of depth but is still shocking for a console game, and the hidden things like Easter Eggs and hidden skulls are a blast to try and find, and theHalo 3 while a good game was a huge disappointment and the worst in the series, the bland boring campaign is really holding this back, the multiplayer hasn't changed much from Halo 2, the good thing is the Forge mode which may not be on a PC level of depth but is still shocking for a console game, and the hidden things like Easter Eggs and hidden skulls are a blast to try and find, and the controls are amazing they rank right beside COD 4, but I still can't shake the disappointment this game brought, I was a huge fan of Halo 1 and 2 but, which were both game changers, but this is a game where even the good things can't save from being a disappointment and just being another average shooter. Expand
  4. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    Halo 3 is a true successor to both of its predecessors, being everything that fans hoped it would be. The campaign is painfully short and the story is only really concerned with tying up loose ends, but these are only minor gripes considering how well designed the campaign is. In addition to this, the game comes with Forge Mode, a mode editor, and Theater Mode, which lets you watch overHalo 3 is a true successor to both of its predecessors, being everything that fans hoped it would be. The campaign is painfully short and the story is only really concerned with tying up loose ends, but these are only minor gripes considering how well designed the campaign is. In addition to this, the game comes with Forge Mode, a mode editor, and Theater Mode, which lets you watch over your previous games. When combined with multiplayer, this package has more content and quality than any game before it. This game is a must buy for all 360 gamers. Expand
  5. Apr 9, 2011
    10
    Though it does not tread new ground in the FPS genre, I still had a blast playing Halo 3. I got my Xbox to play Halo 3, originally being a PlayStation man. I played it the other day having left it for a year or two, and I had a damn good time of it too. The campaign, though short, is rich, beautifully crafted and utterly absorbing. Martin O'Donnell's soundtrack is as brilliant, excitingThough it does not tread new ground in the FPS genre, I still had a blast playing Halo 3. I got my Xbox to play Halo 3, originally being a PlayStation man. I played it the other day having left it for a year or two, and I had a damn good time of it too. The campaign, though short, is rich, beautifully crafted and utterly absorbing. Martin O'Donnell's soundtrack is as brilliant, exciting and suiting as ever (surely there is no other composer in the gaming industry who can match O'Donnell's brilliance), the game is highly polished, visually, audibly and physically, and it left me feeling very satisfied. For those who say that Halo 3 was over-hyped, in my opinion that is why it is such an important game. 2007 was a fantastic year for games, with titles such as Bioshock, Mass Effect, Call of Duty 4 and Grand Theft Auto 4 being released, but above all of these, Halo 3 was the first game to become a really competitive art form. The fact that it made more money in 48 hours than any film or music album is a really impressive feat, and in my opinion it was the first game to really prove that gaming was more than just the preserve of overweight, nerdy teenagers in their bedrooms. This is not the best game ever made by any means, but it is certainly up there, and will be for many years to come. Expand
  6. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    Honestly one of the most memorable games I've ever played. I've had it for almost 4 years now, and have probably about 3 months of gameplay (or more) on it, including recon armor and all that fun stuff. Unfortunately, my xbox broke and i no longer have my XBL password, so goodbye all my goodness...

    The campaign was great, both in storyline and in ways to get out of each map... Multiplayer
    Honestly one of the most memorable games I've ever played. I've had it for almost 4 years now, and have probably about 3 months of gameplay (or more) on it, including recon armor and all that fun stuff. Unfortunately, my xbox broke and i no longer have my XBL password, so goodbye all my goodness...

    The campaign was great, both in storyline and in ways to get out of each map... Multiplayer is incredible, and the custom games (I have over 2000...) were the highlight of the whole thing. I can't imagine a game I've had more fun playing.
    Expand
  7. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    I loved this game and I miss the good old days back when everyone used to play it. I miss messing around in the campaign, spending hours in forge and custom games trying to come out with the next fun formula for messing around with friends. It was a good time that I have no regrets about and honestly wish I could go back to.
  8. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    In my opinion one of the best franchises of all time, you don't see a lot of video games that start a generation like halo, this is what you get when you take time preparation, a masterpiece.
  9. Feb 14, 2012
    9
    Best halo ever it has the most guns in the series the best levels and the easiest controls it's storyline could have been better but all around this is the best halo has to offer I'd play this over halo reach anyway it's a must buy
  10. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    THE BEST Halo game i have played so far. Campaign AWESOME. Multiplayer AMAZING. Forge INCREDIBLE. Theater BRILLIANT. Easy 10 in my mind and a lot of others. HALO FTW!
  11. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    Halo 3 is the only game in the series that I have owned, and i'm glad I got it at the midnight release. The shooter gameplay is perfect, the feel alone in this game is the best.
  12. May 26, 2012
    6
    It's a very overrated game and it shouldn't be as hyped as it should be. To me this is your average Fps game that lacks in certain ways. Don't get me wrong this game is beautiful but it isn't cut out to be an actual "Halo" game when compared to the first two games. This game only has 9 levels of campaign and one of the levels is just downright horrible. This goes to show how much effortIt's a very overrated game and it shouldn't be as hyped as it should be. To me this is your average Fps game that lacks in certain ways. Don't get me wrong this game is beautiful but it isn't cut out to be an actual "Halo" game when compared to the first two games. This game only has 9 levels of campaign and one of the levels is just downright horrible. This goes to show how much effort Bungie put into this game. The game design is bad because of this.The storyline seems to be a bit duller from the other games. It seems like it's always revolved around saving the world, which is okay but gets pretty bland after awhile. Other then that the online multiplayer experience is very well done. Which is why i give it a 6. It Lacks in campaign, storyline, and character development but it makes up for it in multiplayer. Expand
  13. Sep 30, 2012
    10
    is the epic conclusion for a epic story definitely the best sci-fi game story so far (2007) a great campaign and simply the best multiplayer on xbox 360.
  14. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    This is the first game that I really strived to get all of the achievements for and this review is more on the fun of gathering the specific achievements that this game has than the actual game itself. (It is a great game). Most specifically this game changed the way I look at and play games, by having just the right level of difficulty on all of the achievements including the dlc IThis is the first game that I really strived to get all of the achievements for and this review is more on the fun of gathering the specific achievements that this game has than the actual game itself. (It is a great game). Most specifically this game changed the way I look at and play games, by having just the right level of difficulty on all of the achievements including the dlc I started playing games on harder difficulties and started playing multiplayer. This game has the best multiplayer in the halo franchise, the maps are fun and never really get dull or repetitive. Expand
  15. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    Multiplayer balance and competition was phenomenal. The true skill ranking system was brilliant and fair. The balance and dynamic of the game made it a popular E-Sport in the MLG scene. The most competitive Halo to date. Is not for "casuals" in my opinion but that's how gaming should be. FPS games are not about the storyline, they're about the multiplayer. It is probably the leastMultiplayer balance and competition was phenomenal. The true skill ranking system was brilliant and fair. The balance and dynamic of the game made it a popular E-Sport in the MLG scene. The most competitive Halo to date. Is not for "casuals" in my opinion but that's how gaming should be. FPS games are not about the storyline, they're about the multiplayer. It is probably the least favorite game for the "everybody wins" generation of gamers, but that is what makes games great, not everyone wins. Expand
  16. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    Call me a Fanboy but I love Halo (Sure it kinda rips of Aliens in a few too many places) but I love the supporting cast, the multiplayer (No not Halo 4's!) and the whole idea of a race of Aliens united by their religious ideals which they accepted or were forced to.
    This is by far a truly epic conclusion (Yes conclusion) to Master Chief's story and the whole Human Covenant war. It's story
    Call me a Fanboy but I love Halo (Sure it kinda rips of Aliens in a few too many places) but I love the supporting cast, the multiplayer (No not Halo 4's!) and the whole idea of a race of Aliens united by their religious ideals which they accepted or were forced to.
    This is by far a truly epic conclusion (Yes conclusion) to Master Chief's story and the whole Human Covenant war. It's story and set-pieces are epic without being too in your face. The multiplayer is well-balanced in my opinion with my favourite set of maps in the whole Halo series. Forge makes an interesting addition which you can sink hours or seconds into. What am I missing... oh yeah theatre mode also makes an interesting addition (Although I didn't spend a lot of time using it) and it really does FINISH THE FIGHT!
    If you've just bought a 360 this is a must own!
    Expand
  17. Nov 19, 2013
    7
    Halo 3 is a game set in the magical time of 2500 or around that time. This is game is okay. I've played better halo's I have to admit. Although it came out in 2008 it's still looks good. It's plays well and this was the first halo with forge. Forge is a great mode where you can spawn in things from the game. The multiplayeis rubbish and I hate the campaign but the game modes and forge isHalo 3 is a game set in the magical time of 2500 or around that time. This is game is okay. I've played better halo's I have to admit. Although it came out in 2008 it's still looks good. It's plays well and this was the first halo with forge. Forge is a great mode where you can spawn in things from the game. The multiplayeis rubbish and I hate the campaign but the game modes and forge is the only reason I play Halo anyway.

    Overall
    -Bad Campaign
    -Bad Multiplayer
    -Amazing forge mode
    Score 72/100
    Expand
  18. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    good game by bungie. deserves higher than the 7.7 average so i gave it a 10. the new halo games are absolutely terrible in comparison...if they get scores like 6 then this deserves a 100/10. i mean halo 4 literally killed halo...at least halo 3 was #1 on xbox live for two 1/2 years.
  19. May 10, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I had an overall blast with this game for the 3 years that i had been playing it. I could play it all day and all night and not get bored. That was the thing about this game,; once you thought it was done... BAM some thing like a map pack shows up with new forge block and another couple hours trying to make a good multilayer tactic :) I really do miss those days. Though now all it is now is a story, about ONE **** KICK ASS GAME! HELL YA! "Send me out with a bang!" Sargent Johnson Expand
  20. May 15, 2011
    10
    This is honestly one of the best games in my opinion. The gameplay is awsome and the story is absolutely amazing! Bungie really set the bar high and I cannot wait to see future Halo games. Large maps, large vehicle combat, the innovative weapons. These are one of the many things what makes Halo 3 one of the greatest games of ALL time. Long live Halo!
  21. Oct 30, 2010
    8
    Halo 3 doesn't change the formula by much but the things it adds, like forge and improved matchmaking, are enough to make it worth a purchase. Just don't expect to have your mind blown if you already played Halo 2, as the campaign and main game mechanics are almost identical.
  22. Aug 30, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As some of you may give this a 0, how can you guive it that. The balance is soo well done online, for wxample the player skill balance. Also each game everyone has the same weapon. You can get shot a few times and still have a chance. Isn't that great? I'm not a big fan of the older campaigns( Halo and Halo 2) I loved this one. Thr levels Tsvaso's Highway to the level Halo is just pure fun on Legendary. But the multiplayer is where the entire community is. You could probably play this game in 2016 and there probably will be at least 500 people on. But now 2.5 years after it 9/25/07 release there are 75,000 to 200,000 people on depending on the time. Just purely one of the best games on the Xbox 360 you can buy!!! Expand
  23. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    Please, ignore the Negative reviews. A must have for the Xbox 360. I don't know why there are so many but that's not true. Beautiful graphics, so-so Single Player, and amazing/endless online gameplay. Seriously, if your reading this and do not have the game, then get off your lazy ass and BUY IT!
  24. Aug 28, 2010
    9
    Halo 3 is a great game the campaign is not the best but it has it's upsides.
    I would recommend this game to any first person shooter fan just do not expect the campaign to be fantastic
  25. Sep 24, 2010
    10
    Do I even have to write a review for this game? It kind of speaks for itself.
    Be sure to go to bungie.net to get your Halo 3 nameplate for Halo: Reach.
  26. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    I love this game. In every aspect it met my gaming needs and wants. The campaign was just so epic, it was so exciting to travel to level to level. But still the A.I. is as dumb as as bag of hammers. But still if you can ignore the stupid A.I. then you got a game of the year worthy game. Especially the multi-player. They took a big leap from Halo 2, and they landed it. It was veryI love this game. In every aspect it met my gaming needs and wants. The campaign was just so epic, it was so exciting to travel to level to level. But still the A.I. is as dumb as as bag of hammers. But still if you can ignore the stupid A.I. then you got a game of the year worthy game. Especially the multi-player. They took a big leap from Halo 2, and they landed it. It was very satisfying to get sprees and multi-kills, and watching your plasma grenades exploding while on somebody's face. All you need is maybe $30 and you'll be happy for a while. Expand
  27. Dec 28, 2010
    8
    I know I'm a little behind the ball on this, but this is my first year owning a 360 (got one of the new wireless ones for Christmas), and so this is the game I happened to get for it. As a person who's played all three games, I have to say this was one of the more satisfying ones, and yet, at the same time, I didn't have as much fun with it. Keep in mind that as I'm writing this review, II know I'm a little behind the ball on this, but this is my first year owning a 360 (got one of the new wireless ones for Christmas), and so this is the game I happened to get for it. As a person who's played all three games, I have to say this was one of the more satisfying ones, and yet, at the same time, I didn't have as much fun with it. Keep in mind that as I'm writing this review, I have yet to experience it through multiplayer, and in my day, I LOVED having friends around to play splitscreen muitplayer with as we shoved eachother around and cursed in anger (and generally laughed our asses off at the hilarious kills we got). That being said, from a single-player standpoint, I though this was a really cool game. Sure, the story was a little hard to follow at times, and I did get annoyed that it seemed that you were the only capable fighter on the battle field, and yet even on normal, I found myself time and time again being killed by the simple fact that there were sooooo many people trying to tear my face off at once. Most of the time, I could handle the covenant and the flood by shooting at them until their shields went down or they just weakened, and then I slammed them in the face with the butt of my rifle. While this might work against certain enemies, I found that really you only want to do that if the baddies happen to get separated, otherwise they will gangrape you. Overall, I was alright with the ending for the most part, up until they showed that somehow the portal closed just as the ship got halfway through it, allowing Arbiter through but leaving Master Chief and Cortana behind. Now THAT'S just silly. Still, despite my griping, this game glued me to the seat for a solid three days of gameplay, and I still intend on keeping it to check out the multiplayer. For some fairly solid gameplay, a decent and gripping story of survival, and the fact that it's half sci-fi drama and half action movie, I give this game a solid 8 out of 10 Expand
  28. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    Halo 3 may be the king of all first person shooter games. That opinion could almost be a fact. With it's 5 year lifespan Halo 3 retains over 10,000 players online and will probably never be knocked off it's throne. Halo 4 may be out already, but let's take a look at a real Halo game, shall we? Halo 3 is the final battle between humanity, the covenant, and the flood. The main enemy in thisHalo 3 may be the king of all first person shooter games. That opinion could almost be a fact. With it's 5 year lifespan Halo 3 retains over 10,000 players online and will probably never be knocked off it's throne. Halo 4 may be out already, but let's take a look at a real Halo game, shall we? Halo 3 is the final battle between humanity, the covenant, and the flood. The main enemy in this installment is the prophet of truth, a crafty ambitious member of the covenant. The story is strong and also includes the Arbiter along with the classic scarabs. When you look deeper though, you'll find yourself more immersed in the gameplay of the campaign rather than the story. Whether you are hunting for skulls or trying to break a high score, Halo 3's campaign is extremely repayable. Halo 3's online play is also fantastic. Featuring a large sandbox, as well as great maps such as the pit, Halo 3's multiplayer never gets old. With it's arena style competitive matches, every game feels important and fun. Halo 3 also includes a 1-50 ranking system, which players can work at. This adds up to hours of play, and will trump any Call of Duty multiplayer. Custom games are a lot of fun with friends, especially infection mode. Halo 3 can be played all day, and you'll find yourself forgetting to go to bed way too often.

    Overall, this game defines the Halo experience. From it's fantastic soundtrack to it's impressive multiplayer, Halo 3 has something to please everyone.
    Expand
  29. Sep 6, 2010
    9
    Halo is one of the most successful first person shooters ever made and the latest installment does not fall short of expectations. Shooting aliens has never been this fun. The singleplayer is fun and after you beat on normal, you are probably going to go back to get the legendary achievement. The multiplayer is also very fun. It is simple, yet probably one of the funnest multiplayer gamesHalo is one of the most successful first person shooters ever made and the latest installment does not fall short of expectations. Shooting aliens has never been this fun. The singleplayer is fun and after you beat on normal, you are probably going to go back to get the legendary achievement. The multiplayer is also very fun. It is simple, yet probably one of the funnest multiplayer games i have ever played. So as you can see, this game is great and fun and is definitely worth a buy for anyone with a 360. Expand
  30. Aug 22, 2010
    9
    Halo 3 is an amazing game. Yes it did have a short campaign but I had a hell of a time playing it. The game is now 3 years old but people continue to play it. It has over 20 multiplayer maps and plenty of game modes including a different weekend special every week. It is a great FPS and that is why i give it a 9 out of 10
  31. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    Game that can be compared with halo 3?There is none
  32. Aug 27, 2010
    9
    Extremely good game the single player is the thing that brings it down 2 points the multi-player is mainly put into a large niche. For my experience of the multi-player was amazing with the newer maps like sandbox makes user like games like Micheal Myers from Call of Duty, and make a actual game mode and create you own map for the game type makes it so much better If your extremely intoExtremely good game the single player is the thing that brings it down 2 points the multi-player is mainly put into a large niche. For my experience of the multi-player was amazing with the newer maps like sandbox makes user like games like Micheal Myers from Call of Duty, and make a actual game mode and create you own map for the game type makes it so much better If your extremely into Call of Duty there is a small chance of you liking this game i am a big fan of both. Expand
  33. Aug 27, 2010
    9
    The campaign has its ups and downs, but still has its replay value to it. The matching system is still great, and the game-play is fine (although others cannot admit to it). Custom games have gotten better since Halo 2. More customization, options, "freedom". Forge, ah yes. This map editor is got to be one of the main reasons Halo 3 got so much more to it. Now then, on to the cons. LetsThe campaign has its ups and downs, but still has its replay value to it. The matching system is still great, and the game-play is fine (although others cannot admit to it). Custom games have gotten better since Halo 2. More customization, options, "freedom". Forge, ah yes. This map editor is got to be one of the main reasons Halo 3 got so much more to it. Now then, on to the cons. Lets just say the community isn't the brightest. Map restrictions have been put on most of the playlists, meaning that newer members to the Halo community would have to spend a little bit more money to fully experience Halo 3's gameplay. All and all, it's a great game. Just make sure you're in party chat, or have friends to play with. Expand
  34. Nov 30, 2011
    6
    After killing about 13,000 Spartans in mulitplayer, I can confidently say that this is one the most addicting games ever. So much better than COD. Bungie did a really geat job on the campaign missions as well.
  35. Nov 25, 2010
    8
    This is a great game. It has enjoyable graphics, a decent storyline, and a great multiplayer offering supported in turn by Bungie.net's range of features and statistics. I notice that everyone reviewing this game calls its overrated, and then choose to underrate it. But, this game is a solid 8, maybe even an 8.5. I spent so many hours playing this game with friends and I have mostly foundThis is a great game. It has enjoyable graphics, a decent storyline, and a great multiplayer offering supported in turn by Bungie.net's range of features and statistics. I notice that everyone reviewing this game calls its overrated, and then choose to underrate it. But, this game is a solid 8, maybe even an 8.5. I spent so many hours playing this game with friends and I have mostly found memories of it. The single player was neat to play through, but I don't think anyone serious about the game will stay for that: the multiplayer is what makes this game and on that front, it offers a type of balanced team-based gaming that no other game can match. Expand
  36. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    Was there even any doubt? A brief but fantastic campaign with plenty of replyability, thanks to the skulls and Co-op with lovely set-pieces, and solid multiplayer. Brilliant maps (Apart from Guardian IMO), forge is great and allows for some wicked creativity, Duck Hunt anyone? Combat feels great and there are no real flaws I can talk about. Maybe the return of the health bar would haveWas there even any doubt? A brief but fantastic campaign with plenty of replyability, thanks to the skulls and Co-op with lovely set-pieces, and solid multiplayer. Brilliant maps (Apart from Guardian IMO), forge is great and allows for some wicked creativity, Duck Hunt anyone? Combat feels great and there are no real flaws I can talk about. Maybe the return of the health bar would have been nice, but thats it and I'm just picking at tiny holes now, that make no difference ot the gameplay or graphics whatsoever, ty bungie! Expand
  37. Mar 13, 2011
    8
    I kind of ignored this game for a long time! I was a Nintendork. I still kind of am, but now, I'm a Wii60er! This game is fun and challenging! The story is really complicated to me, but that's okay, I literally said, "screw the story, let's kick some alien butt!" at one point. I love the theater mode and forge, in fact, I'm thinking of making a machinima because of them! I own atI kind of ignored this game for a long time! I was a Nintendork. I still kind of am, but now, I'm a Wii60er! This game is fun and challenging! The story is really complicated to me, but that's okay, I literally said, "screw the story, let's kick some alien butt!" at one point. I love the theater mode and forge, in fact, I'm thinking of making a machinima because of them! I own at matchmaking! I love using exclamation points! I give tribute to this game for broadening my horizons by 600%. Expand
  38. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    Four years after its release and I enjoyed this game probably as much as when it was first released to the public. Great FPS that gave you a large array of weapons to choose from. So many different ways to lead an assault on the enemy, so many different ways to die. The action was non-stop, the cut scenes were few and didn't slow down the story (considering how cut scenes are being used soFour years after its release and I enjoyed this game probably as much as when it was first released to the public. Great FPS that gave you a large array of weapons to choose from. So many different ways to lead an assault on the enemy, so many different ways to die. The action was non-stop, the cut scenes were few and didn't slow down the story (considering how cut scenes are being used so poorly in today's games). The story itself had a perfect pace for this type of game, not once did I zone out while people were elaborating on the plot. And unlike the MW2 games, it's has twice as long the game play! Expand
  39. Aug 14, 2010
    8
    This game was a little different than the other Halos, in good ways, and bad. First off, on the good side, there is a bigger selection of weapons than the first Halo, and thank Lord Jesus for that! Another good side, the game, just like the others, is filled with the longest damned levels in video game history. Why good? Takes up your time. Mostly bad, 'cause we just want to find out howThis game was a little different than the other Halos, in good ways, and bad. First off, on the good side, there is a bigger selection of weapons than the first Halo, and thank Lord Jesus for that! Another good side, the game, just like the others, is filled with the longest damned levels in video game history. Why good? Takes up your time. Mostly bad, 'cause we just want to find out how it ends. The ending? I guess Bungie was just lazy, or something, 'cause, why else would it end the same way? Exploding ship, escape in warthog, die with Cortana, or whatever. Another Keyes dies, stupid. Spartan- 117, or whatever number he is, dies? Really? I'd rather have a cliffhanger, like Dead Space, or Portal, or Half-Life, or Splinter Cell: Conviction. Expand
  40. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = Incredible = It's an online shooter that still holds a major fan base today! It's roughly four and a half years old!! Very great and innovative shooter, a game that truly deserved it's sales numbers.
  41. Sep 12, 2010
    10
    Halo 3 was the best game ever, and still is the best game ever (until the 14th in 2 days). No other game has such an awesome combination of campaign, forge, theatre and matchmaking... amazing!

    And after 3 years, >200k people online, nuff said.
  42. Mar 17, 2011
    7
    Decent campaign, but it was short. I enjoyed continuing the Halo story. Being able to run through the campaign on co-op was nice. Multiplayer was solid but it was unbalanced and too much had changed for the worst. I only played this game when I was bored of the other ones.
  43. Sep 16, 2010
    7
    The single player campaign is disappointing on many levels. The graphics and lighting are nearly last-gen. You can't choose different classes of Spartan like the cover seems to suggest. Bland story with uninteresting characters. Same old gameplay, same old enemies, same old weapons. Multiplayer is great, but only if you are into the Halo style of gameplay. Overall, not the advancement ofThe single player campaign is disappointing on many levels. The graphics and lighting are nearly last-gen. You can't choose different classes of Spartan like the cover seems to suggest. Bland story with uninteresting characters. Same old gameplay, same old enemies, same old weapons. Multiplayer is great, but only if you are into the Halo style of gameplay. Overall, not the advancement of the series I wanted. Expand
  44. Sep 8, 2011
    8
    Good game, unbalanced multiplayer ruins the online experience. I would buy a few games over this, such as Call of Duty 4, Call of Duty: World at War and Halo: Combat Evolved.
  45. Dec 30, 2010
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After playing the previous two Halo games, I was looking forward too playing through this, and finishing the fight.
    I was amazed at the Graphics, it looked stunning in HD 1080. The game-play was really good too, and it was enjoyable.
    However, what let it down was two things:
    Length: Compared to the previous two, this was really short. If I wanted too, I could have completed this in one sitting. It felt like it was over before it begun.
    Plot: There wasn't much of a plot, and nothing made sense until the final couple of Chapters. Cortana's random viewings didn't make any sense either.
    The ending couple have been so much better than what it was, but still remained with the Chief dying.
    This game was saved by the multi-player aspect of it, which is brilliant.
    Expand
  46. Feb 13, 2011
    7
    A decent good game, story was interesting, but seems to be around another "hero-who-saves-the-day".
    Despite that, graphics were legendary, multiplayer was pretty decent. I disliked the auto aim though. But I loved the splitscreen option, and that it even could be used online. Was always great having a friend over and play either co-op or online. Alot of hours spent on that.
  47. Dec 25, 2012
    9
    I was thinking on what Halo was the best for the past week. Halo CE: Best campaign but multiplayer was not as good. Halo 2: had Amazing multiplayer great campaign but goes a bit out of control with the story at times for me. Halo 3 ODST: great campaign, best firefight but multiplayer disc was Halo 3 multiplayer with 4 new non-special maps
    .Halo Reach amazing campaign, best forge but
    I was thinking on what Halo was the best for the past week. Halo CE: Best campaign but multiplayer was not as good. Halo 2: had Amazing multiplayer great campaign but goes a bit out of control with the story at times for me. Halo 3 ODST: great campaign, best firefight but multiplayer disc was Halo 3 multiplayer with 4 new non-special maps
    .Halo Reach amazing campaign, best forge but multiplayer was a bit unbalanced but still amazing and firefight was good but not as interesting as in ODST and the worst maps in a Halo game ever
    . Halo 4: Best looking Halo yet, amazing multiplayer great but not a very griping campaign as other Halos, forge is really good and Spartan ops is a nice and really good new feature. But however the one Halo witch I got hooked on for 5 to 6 years of life and never, ever got bored of it is Halo 3. The first Halo I ever played and I fell in love with the games world almost as soon as I played it. Campaign is awesome been my third favorite campaign out of all the Halos with the ledendary ending been one of my favorite moments of gaming of all time. Multiplayer in Halo 3 is my favorite Halo(I know Halo 2s' multiplayer is supposed to be the best but we hav opinions) multiplayer by far, too bad its nowhere near as popular as it was the 3 years it was king of Xbox multiplayer. Forge may not be as good as Halo: Reach and Halo 4, Halo 3 has really good forge still and has the best map of any Halo game (this including the map packs). Thierter will always be the best in Halo 3. Halo 3 is my favorite Halo game of all time and alos one of my favorite games of all time. Halo 3 9.8/10
    Expand
  48. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    Halo 3 is one of the best FPS's I've ever played. It's sad that no one really plays this game anymore, because of the release of Halo Reach and Halo 4. The online multiplayer is clearly better than Halo Reach and Halo 4, because of the great maps and the simple gameplay. There isn't much to the game. You just pick up guns of the ground and use them. The campaign lives up the seriesHalo 3 is one of the best FPS's I've ever played. It's sad that no one really plays this game anymore, because of the release of Halo Reach and Halo 4. The online multiplayer is clearly better than Halo Reach and Halo 4, because of the great maps and the simple gameplay. There isn't much to the game. You just pick up guns of the ground and use them. The campaign lives up the series expectations quite well too and it is very difficult if you choose the harder modes to play on. Overall this game deserves a clear 10 out of 10. Expand
  49. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    Wow. Probably my all time favorite video game.
    Campaign: The campaign has an amazing mixture of level design, enemies, character development, and weapons. The story and lore are both amazing. The trilogy really does end beautifully. It really tugs at your heartstrings. So if you like a good story, you will like this game. Of course the story isn't as good as say mass effect, but for an
    Wow. Probably my all time favorite video game.
    Campaign: The campaign has an amazing mixture of level design, enemies, character development, and weapons. The story and lore are both amazing. The trilogy really does end beautifully. It really tugs at your heartstrings. So if you like a good story, you will like this game. Of course the story isn't as good as say mass effect, but for an fps, it is amazing. The only complaint I have is the Marine AI. They're just plain stupid. (:
    Multiplayer: Multiplayer encompasses many things so im going to break it down into
    1. Matchmaking/CustomGames: Matchmaking and custom games in halo is so amazing. It can be for both the casual and hardcore. I cant describe the fun of getting a couple friends and going on matchmaking or just screwing around on custom games.
    2. Forge: Forge is amazing. It is basically a level designer. You can add vehicles, structures. weapons, etc. Or, you can just do crazy stuff like drop tanks on people's heads.

    Halo 3 is such an amazing game. It has a great campaign, great multiplayer, and a really fun level designer. I'd recommend it to anyone.
    Expand
  50. Apr 20, 2014
    7
    The campaign is overall lacking, there just isn't any sense of urgency even though everything is supposed to be at stake, and it feels like nothing is at stake, which ruins the overall drive of the game. You know before even starting the game that master chief is going to save Cortana,defeat the covenant, and save earth. It's very predictable and doesn't do anything unexpected. Not toThe campaign is overall lacking, there just isn't any sense of urgency even though everything is supposed to be at stake, and it feels like nothing is at stake, which ruins the overall drive of the game. You know before even starting the game that master chief is going to save Cortana,defeat the covenant, and save earth. It's very predictable and doesn't do anything unexpected. Not to mention the awful level design in the level "Cortana".
    The Multiplayer is what makes this game great, it's balanced, fast paced, and requires skill to be good at.
    Expand
  51. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    The game gives the player control of a FBI agent named Francis York Morgan who is investigating the murder of a young woman, Anna Graham, near the fictional American town of Greenvale (its containing state is never identified, but it appears to be somewhere in the Pacific Northwest). Upon arriving in the town York is greeted by town sheriff George Woodman and his deputy Emily Wyatt, whoThe game gives the player control of a FBI agent named Francis York Morgan who is investigating the murder of a young woman, Anna Graham, near the fictional American town of Greenvale (its containing state is never identified, but it appears to be somewhere in the Pacific Northwest). Upon arriving in the town York is greeted by town sheriff George Woodman and his deputy Emily Wyatt, who brief him on the murder and lead him to the crime scene. York generates considerable friction with his dismissive attitude toward the locals, bizarre demeanor, and tendency to interrupt conversations to deliver asides to "Zach", an alternate personality congruent with the player. Over the course of his investigation, York has opportunities to touch the lives of many of the town's colorful personalities and intervene in their personal crises, often brought on by the sudden and brutal murder in their midst, to earn rewards and further his understanding of the case. As he unearths more and more mysteries and the killer continues to roam, the town's dark past slowly comes to light.
    Deadly Premonition's plot and setting are strongly influenced by the American television show Twin Peaks, and numerous allusions and thematic links can be found within the game, and Master Cheif dies in space.
    Expand
  52. Aug 13, 2010
    5
    The Master Chief what a cool video game charicter . its unfortunite that his only real great game was the first halo . and his series has been sliding into the crapper ever since Halo 2 . though Halo 3 is a improvment over the awful halo 2 game i doubt this series will ever capture the magic halo 1 did . well lets get alittle positive for abit on halo 3 shall we . the 4 player co-op onlineThe Master Chief what a cool video game charicter . its unfortunite that his only real great game was the first halo . and his series has been sliding into the crapper ever since Halo 2 . though Halo 3 is a improvment over the awful halo 2 game i doubt this series will ever capture the magic halo 1 did . well lets get alittle positive for abit on halo 3 shall we . the 4 player co-op online is a great feature downside is though 3 of thoose people have to be elites and cant be other spartans >< . the game has fixed some of the wepons balance issues from halo2 ... some not all the pistol still sucks and a few others. lots of scarabs to fight and fighting 2 at once with 4 buddys ... Awsome . map editor is sweet along with instant replays that can be saved when playing online . controls are solid as they ever where . now thats pretty much where it ends for any thing good i can say about this game . the ending in this game stunk the ending on legendary stinks even more . the online is garbage mainly do to its searching system . you can wait up to 10 min some times to find a match . whats made worse is lets say you jsut wana play Big team death match on sand trap . because that map is awsome its huge lots of vehicles so lots o fun . well good luck with that the game may put you in sand trap but it will probubly give you terratorize , capture the flag(I HATE CAPTURE THE FLAG) , Team rockets , or some other lame game mode that you and i know I dont wana play!!! i came online to have fun and want to play the maps and modes im gona have fun in . unfortunitly bunjie doesnt want you to have fun it only wants to destroy it . now it may be different if you like all the maps and all the game modes . but i dont and shouldnt have to jump through a bunch of damn hoops to have fun . yes there is a custom match set up where you can select you map and game mode but no one ever plays that they only play ranked . so good luck trying to get a game in that. this game isnt as evil as halo 2 which i give a 3/10 too but its still crap and halo ODST is even worse then this . my final conclusion is this series must die . the master chief has been to tarnished to be cool any more . its so sad. Expand
  53. Nov 27, 2012
    5
    Halo 3 is one of the first games I ever bought for the 360 (along with Crackdown (never finished), Forza 2 (came with the console - awesome game), & Gears of War (my favorite game on the 360). This was 5 years ago. I STILL haven't finished Halo 3. Why? It's boring, repetitive, and even more boring. I guess like Mac fanboys, I'll just never understand Halo fanboys. GoW, Call of DutyHalo 3 is one of the first games I ever bought for the 360 (along with Crackdown (never finished), Forza 2 (came with the console - awesome game), & Gears of War (my favorite game on the 360). This was 5 years ago. I STILL haven't finished Halo 3. Why? It's boring, repetitive, and even more boring. I guess like Mac fanboys, I'll just never understand Halo fanboys. GoW, Call of Duty MW, GTA IV, BioShock, Dead Space, the original Crysis, even Battlefield:BC were ALL better game than this one. I'll finish it (eventually), but Lord I hope Reach & Halo 4 are better than this one. Expand
  54. Apr 25, 2011
    7
    This was a great game, star to finish, but c'mon, think about it: It's just Halo 2 reskinned in HD, nothing more, and nothing less. Sure, they added equipment and brute weapons/vehicles, but the Prowler is no different from the old Spectre, and the Marines don't pack very many polygons. in fact, the game relies heavily on bump modelling to show the detail. Overall, I give this game a 7,This was a great game, star to finish, but c'mon, think about it: It's just Halo 2 reskinned in HD, nothing more, and nothing less. Sure, they added equipment and brute weapons/vehicles, but the Prowler is no different from the old Spectre, and the Marines don't pack very many polygons. in fact, the game relies heavily on bump modelling to show the detail. Overall, I give this game a 7, and I think Bungie can live with that. Expand
  55. Nov 12, 2012
    6
    Joguei Halo 3 com uma enorme expectativa. O jogo em si é bom. A história é interessante e tudo mais. Mas devo comentar sobre dois pontos de que não me agradaram: a jogabilidade e os locais no qual ocorrem a história. Sobre a jogabilidade, realmente percebi que não consigo jogar FPS sem ter aquela mira secundária, que aproxima. Parece um jogoJoguei Halo 3 com uma enorme expectativa. O jogo em si é bom. A história é interessante e tudo mais. Mas devo comentar sobre dois pontos de que não me agradaram: a jogabilidade e os locais no qual ocorrem a história. Sobre a jogabilidade, realmente percebi que não consigo jogar FPS sem ter aquela mira secundária, que aproxima. Parece um jogo de geração passada graças a simplicidade que é uma troca de tiros, além de não possuir cover. Cairia bem como um jogo TPS, não FPS. E sobre a localidade, em muitos pontos da história eu fiquei sem saber pra onde ir. Na parte em que estamos dentro daquele "monstro" mesmo, eu rondava o mesmo lugar diversas vezes sem intenção até achar o ponto certo. Mas como uma crítica não pode ficar restrita aos lados ruins de um jogo, vamos aos lados bons. Primeiramente, o gráfico. Para sua época, o gráfico do Halo 3 realmente é bonito e não é tão sujo. Outro lado bom é o multiplayer online. Muito divertido. Não joguei muito esse modo, mas pelo que eu joguei já pude ter uma noção da qualidade, que é grande. Enfim, Halo 3 é um jogo que por completo não me agradou. Mas sei que muitas pessoas o considera um dos melhores jogos de todos os tempos, e eu respeito isso. Expand
  56. May 21, 2011
    6
    This is a good game not very good 6.010.0!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  57. Aug 1, 2011
    6
    Halo does have its production values but the immature brats that play it on Xbox live represent who this game is made for, and the over-rated near perfect reviews the Halo series has received represent the immaturity of game critics. Halo's multiplayer is its strongest side, there are 'some' good features but I cant help but say its been done better elsewhere. Unfortunately the singleHalo does have its production values but the immature brats that play it on Xbox live represent who this game is made for, and the over-rated near perfect reviews the Halo series has received represent the immaturity of game critics. Halo's multiplayer is its strongest side, there are 'some' good features but I cant help but say its been done better elsewhere. Unfortunately the single player side of the game fails and is only popular due to clever marketing to uncritical immature drone players who easily fall for the sensation of violence, guns, and 'badassness'. The single player campaign asides from a few moments of fun gameplay is totally bogged down with a standard sci-fi cliche dribble story having little originality. Halo 3 is not a bad game, its only ok, and does not deserve the over hyped praised it has received over the years.â Expand
  58. Jul 23, 2012
    0
    This game is, quite simply, one of the greatest games I have ever had the pleasure of playing. The story is amazing (no spoilers), with some levels being replayed at least 25-30 times. The characters are great, the plot is outstanding (even better if you've played the previous titles and/or read the books by Eric Nylund (a truly great author). The fiction is so deep and enthralling, andThis game is, quite simply, one of the greatest games I have ever had the pleasure of playing. The story is amazing (no spoilers), with some levels being replayed at least 25-30 times. The characters are great, the plot is outstanding (even better if you've played the previous titles and/or read the books by Eric Nylund (a truly great author). The fiction is so deep and enthralling, and I fully recommend immersing yourself in an epic universe of truly grande scale), the gameplay is like sweet, sweet honey, the multiplayer is engrossing (heck, I still play it from time to time, and it's been 5 years!), and, most importantly, it delivers on every aspect you hoped it would after following a game of questionable quality (I'm looking at you, Halo 2...). Every single thing about this game, be it the music, the absolutely amazing inclusion of the Forge mode map editor, or the multitude of hilariously random Easter eggs hidden in the campaign, this game delivers on all fronts. Also, when scrolling through the user reviews, please, just use your common sense. If it's a zero and you see that the spelling is abhorrent, the grammar usage is laughable at best, and (in some cases) the review is written before the game was even for sale, it's probably a none-too-reliable Neanderthal kid who loves CoD for it's "innovative gameplay", and wouldn't know a deep and glorious plotline if it shot him between the eyes with a Battle Rifle. Just face it, haters. Halo 3 is a great game. Nothing you do, say, or write to slander one of the greatest FPSs of all time will matter in any true gamer's mind. Peace out. Expand
  59. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Best game of the Xbox 360 generation for sure. Id have to say that It had the best multiplayer in the entire series or even all of gaming. Wish the newer ones were like this
  60. Aug 20, 2010
    4
    It seems to me that the only defense that lovers of this game have for it is the fact that it has SUPERIOR MULTIPLAYER. I believe that thinking is a little too optimistic. What I mean by this is that these people have their brain trained to think that Halo games are good. Critics love them, they sell millions of copies, they are considered the best first person shooters in the business.It seems to me that the only defense that lovers of this game have for it is the fact that it has SUPERIOR MULTIPLAYER. I believe that thinking is a little too optimistic. What I mean by this is that these people have their brain trained to think that Halo games are good. Critics love them, they sell millions of copies, they are considered the best first person shooters in the business. So, why shouldn't they believe that these games are great? The answer is simple...they aren't great. They are hardly, if at all, good. Fanboys will defend (to their death) the multiplayer, but I have long considered multiplayer somewhat of a bonus when it is included in a game, not its flagship feature. For a developer like Bungie to cut the corners on a story mode just to pump out the next multiplayer sequel seems a bit like robbery to me. This game would be saved if they had taken some time to truly develop a story, and make it seem as if they cared about making a compelling video game. They've had three games to tell a good, epic, awe inspiring story, and they haven't even tried. They've just pushed out some weak crap and stamped the next number in sequence after the title. Expand
  61. Dec 30, 2012
    4
    Halo 3...is the worst Halo game in existence...it's extremely dull and boring. Halo 2 in my opinion is still the Halo game that defines the series, if you want the best Halo experience--Halo 2 will offer it. Halo 3 downgrades almost everything which made the previous Halo games so good. The combat is nothing new, though the duel-wielding has been taken away with a lot of weapons, whichHalo 3...is the worst Halo game in existence...it's extremely dull and boring. Halo 2 in my opinion is still the Halo game that defines the series, if you want the best Halo experience--Halo 2 will offer it. Halo 3 downgrades almost everything which made the previous Halo games so good. The combat is nothing new, though the duel-wielding has been taken away with a lot of weapons, which does balance things out for the multiplayer, though causes the single player to be much more slower than it needs to be. This brings up the general problem that the game is way too short. It can be beaten in a few hours and offers no real replay value due to the linearity and simplicity of it all. What were Bungie thinking? The X-BOX 360 was a next generation system, yet they make a game worse than what was run on the previous X-BOX? Multiplayer online seems to be ruining the single player experience...developers aren't bothered making good single player anymore due to the high demand for multiplayer, and it's a real shame considering that the first-person-shooter genre started off focusing heavily on single player. Unless you want to see what happens story-wise, there is no reason to play Halo 3. Expand
  62. Mar 26, 2013
    0
    This was the game that taught me how the proffesional (pfff hhaha) gaming press operates, where reviews are bought and paid for by companies that can afford it. The halo franchise got where it is today not because the games are any good but because microsoft spent more on the marketing than on the actual making of the product. The gameplay is slowed down and as basic as an fps can possiblyThis was the game that taught me how the proffesional (pfff hhaha) gaming press operates, where reviews are bought and paid for by companies that can afford it. The halo franchise got where it is today not because the games are any good but because microsoft spent more on the marketing than on the actual making of the product. The gameplay is slowed down and as basic as an fps can possibly get. Levels are poorly made and you are often forced to re-thread your path up to three times, a very cheap way to extend campaign time. Halo 3 is often called a sandbox game wich marks who ever says that as an imbecile. Graphics range from bad to 'what the hell am I even looking at' and are seen through the extremely narrow headache inducing field of view visor of robot master guy sergeant, the protagonist who jorneys through the plothole ridden mess of a storyline spouting maybe 3 sentences on the way to the ending wich by the way can not have taken the hacks at bungie more than 30 minutes to produce. You see the commercials (where the money was put) showed well made cgi whereas the ingame cutscenes look like someones first attempt at using the quake1 engine. If you have four microscopes you can play the game 4 way splitscreen in eyestrain-o vision, a function wich since it isn't in many games nowadays is often lorded as something divine when in actuality it is not something any sane person would inflict on their corneas. The multiplayer is cut from the same cloth as the campaign where the gameplay has a kidde pool level of depth and a community that would make a room full of angry baboons seem like a place of enlightenment. It runs on the worst game service on earth xbl with laggy p2p networking. If Halo 3 is your most favourite game in the world you might also enjoy banging a hammer against your head. Expand
  63. Oct 20, 2010
    0
    Well, this is what most people call "fanboy-town." I actually liked the graphics and the main guy is extremely reconizable. Sadly, I disliked it's multiplayer and story. I understand why the first and second were good. It was an extreme success, but now, it lost it's replayablity value via the sometimes unresponsive controls, or the matter. Overall, this game doesn't deseve over a 85. It'sWell, this is what most people call "fanboy-town." I actually liked the graphics and the main guy is extremely reconizable. Sadly, I disliked it's multiplayer and story. I understand why the first and second were good. It was an extreme success, but now, it lost it's replayablity value via the sometimes unresponsive controls, or the matter. Overall, this game doesn't deseve over a 85. It's a okay game but...it sucks. Expand
  64. Aug 26, 2012
    0
    This game made me a tryhard.
  65. Dec 30, 2012
    0
    problem cortana is not really wearing clothes i sold my game because of it.
    it is totally anti-God message
    the aliens represent the covenant of God. your charracter must kill this covenant.

    totally anti-Christian
  66. Aug 28, 2012
    0
    I was in Game about to buy London 2012 and the helpful guy at the counter asked if I liked shooting games, I told him yes, I'm a big fan of CoD, So he recommended this game to me. I thought I'd buy it, as it was in the bargain bin and so within my budget. Anyway, I got home, started playing it and was bored of it within 5 minutes. Same stuff over and over, very disappointing, everybodyI was in Game about to buy London 2012 and the helpful guy at the counter asked if I liked shooting games, I told him yes, I'm a big fan of CoD, So he recommended this game to me. I thought I'd buy it, as it was in the bargain bin and so within my budget. Anyway, I got home, started playing it and was bored of it within 5 minutes. Same stuff over and over, very disappointing, everybody driving around in overpowered vehicles thinking they were something special. Anyway, to cut it short, This game doesn't live up to the standards set by games such as CoD4, CoD MW2, Ghost Recon, Just stick to them, you will regret buying this!!! Expand
  67. Aug 17, 2010
    4
    So far I've played this entire series and been nothing but disappointed. The idiocy of the AI is simply painful to watch. The story.. well the story doesn't exist and many others agree with me. The entire game is a grind. All you do is move from area to area killing the same enemies with the same guns out of the Toys'r'us. The only thing halo did well was the coop. The multilayer could beSo far I've played this entire series and been nothing but disappointed. The idiocy of the AI is simply painful to watch. The story.. well the story doesn't exist and many others agree with me. The entire game is a grind. All you do is move from area to area killing the same enemies with the same guns out of the Toys'r'us. The only thing halo did well was the coop. The multilayer could be fun if it weren't so filled with hackers and the weapons were balanced. It also kills the game for me when a punch does more damage than a gunshot. The only reason I've heard people say this game is good is for reasons like "It's epic" or "It's just awesome". They can oddly never give me a real solid reason as to why the game is any good. Also if you look around the net and do some digging you'll find that Microsoft was giving out "Press packages" to reviewers. Expand
  68. Jun 5, 2011
    9
    people giving this game a 0 are just being plain stupid. I play games regardless what console and so forth and have to say playing halo 3 again after 4 years is still a great gaming experience. if like me you love fps you'll find that this has tight controls, great enemies to fight, and that great halo universe. i do confess the 2nd to last flood level is a bit boring but what games dontpeople giving this game a 0 are just being plain stupid. I play games regardless what console and so forth and have to say playing halo 3 again after 4 years is still a great gaming experience. if like me you love fps you'll find that this has tight controls, great enemies to fight, and that great halo universe. i do confess the 2nd to last flood level is a bit boring but what games dont have slumps in their durations? i enjoy both single player and multiplayer, and now especially you can grab one so cheap, its a brilliant buy Expand
  69. Jun 10, 2011
    1
    This game sucks really bad. First of all, graphics suck; it looks like a freaking PS2 game. The AI is terrible, but that may be because they are stupid aliens, still... Oh, and multiplayer is my biggest issue with this game. Not gonna get into it because many users have written exactly what I think.
  70. Jun 12, 2011
    4
    I have to say that this game is the most overrated game of all time. I enjoyed Halo 2 but Halo 3 is just one big disappointment. This game was very hyped, maybe that's why I got disappointed. The story is unfortunately very dull and I was expecting something new but it's doesn't feel new at all. Halo 3 feels repetitive...boring....and I've seen everything before!
  71. Jul 4, 2011
    4
    Where to begin. First off, I will say this is not a â
  72. Aug 30, 2011
    9
    Halo 3 is a good game with good multiplayer. The worst thing is the short campaign and don't think they wrapped the trilogy up as well as I thought they would. Anyway its a very good game and is a solid continuation of the series.
  73. Nov 21, 2011
    2
    Overhyped, and overated - I just couldn't get into this at all. The most off putting thing for me was the bouncy, flimsy feel to both the player and the weapons â
  74. Dec 16, 2011
    6
    Campaign is boring and the story is pathetic, Its just a poor mix between the first 2 Halo games. Multiplayer is ok and features a few new additions and its still insanely addictive but its not as improved as I hoped for. The covenant got a make over for the game and it took a turn for the worst, They look even worst then what they were before (which wasnt all that bad).

    I agree that
    Campaign is boring and the story is pathetic, Its just a poor mix between the first 2 Halo games. Multiplayer is ok and features a few new additions and its still insanely addictive but its not as improved as I hoped for. The covenant got a make over for the game and it took a turn for the worst, They look even worst then what they were before (which wasnt all that bad).

    I agree that its far too overhyped and is a disapointment because of it.
    Expand
  75. Jan 17, 2012
    6
    If you've played Halo 1 and 2 then you seen it before. Halo 3 is fun, but not epic and imaginative like it's ad campgain. The end of the war with the Covenant should not be a hand full of Brutes. The ending is so vague that I really did not know what had actually happened. The Covenant were one of the most original characters in video game history, they diserved more than this, and soIf you've played Halo 1 and 2 then you seen it before. Halo 3 is fun, but not epic and imaginative like it's ad campgain. The end of the war with the Covenant should not be a hand full of Brutes. The ending is so vague that I really did not know what had actually happened. The Covenant were one of the most original characters in video game history, they diserved more than this, and so did you. Compared to the wonderful story this game falls on it's knees. It's action funnest with a series of confusing objectives tacked on. Expand
  76. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    Halo 3 is an excellent game. The story was a little disappointing and was sprinkled here and there with a few cheesy lines that made me want to yell at the Bungie writing team "WHAT WERE YOU THINKING?" But other than those minor flaws, the game is a magnificent work. There are some AI issues, but for it's day that's nothing big enough to lower my score of 10. The game flows smoothly, playsHalo 3 is an excellent game. The story was a little disappointing and was sprinkled here and there with a few cheesy lines that made me want to yell at the Bungie writing team "WHAT WERE YOU THINKING?" But other than those minor flaws, the game is a magnificent work. There are some AI issues, but for it's day that's nothing big enough to lower my score of 10. The game flows smoothly, plays great, and looks good for a game of it's day (I admit Halo games have never been designed to "set the bar" in graphics). Halo 3 is addicting, and is a campaign that I have played countless numbers of time since 2007. I believe that the game was WAY too short! There is so much more to the story, characters, and universe that Bungie could have explored in this game. Overall, the story started rough but caught speed and became engaging and unforgettable. I'm still playing this game in 2012, campaign AND multiplayer. It's just so much fun!!! it's addicting! Bungie did it's job, and Halo 3 delivered. If you haven't played this game, I totally recommend it! If you played it awhile ago but sold it long ago, I recommend re-purchasing it! Halo 3 is a full package and has alot to offer. Expand
  77. May 18, 2012
    8
    I was rather disappointed with halo 3. I couldn't follow the story and the gameplay was a bit boring. Maybe it's because I didn't play the other Halos. It's still a fun game: the mulpiplayer is lots of fun and the graphics are pretty nice. What made me give this an 8 in stead of a 7 is thanks to it's fantastic music.
  78. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    Copy/Paste to all Halo reviews after all these years: I didn't have a 360 for a few years (played 3 and ODST). In the meantime I played all sorts of fps- COD, BF, Killzone (which is awesome), Resistance, and every single other one. And coming back to Halo when I rebought a 360 was like the greatest homecoming ever. Unlike those other games, every Halo battle is like a chess match waitingCopy/Paste to all Halo reviews after all these years: I didn't have a 360 for a few years (played 3 and ODST). In the meantime I played all sorts of fps- COD, BF, Killzone (which is awesome), Resistance, and every single other one. And coming back to Halo when I rebought a 360 was like the greatest homecoming ever. Unlike those other games, every Halo battle is like a chess match waiting to happen. And once you truly know every enemy and every weapon, you fall into a sweet spot of gaming that is possibly the best of all action games ever made. It's just the best. Great now I have to copy and paste this 4 more times. Expand
  79. Mar 13, 2013
    8
    Halo 3 may be the king of all first person shooter games. That opinion could almost be a fact. With it's 5 year lifespan Halo 3 retains over 10,000 players online and will probably never be knocked off it's throne. Halo 4 may be out already, but let's take a look at a real Halo game, shall we? Halo 3 is the final battle between humanity, the covenant, and the flood. The main enemy in thisHalo 3 may be the king of all first person shooter games. That opinion could almost be a fact. With it's 5 year lifespan Halo 3 retains over 10,000 players online and will probably never be knocked off it's throne. Halo 4 may be out already, but let's take a look at a real Halo game, shall we? Halo 3 is the final battle between humanity, the covenant, and the flood. The main enemy in this installment is the prophet of truth, a crafty ambitious member of the covenant. The story is strong and also includes the Arbiter along with the classic scarabs. When you look deeper though, you'll find yourself more immersed in the gameplay of the campaign rather than the story. Expand
  80. Apr 15, 2013
    4
    What IS the fascination with this lame, tacky, hollow, pointless shooter?

    Dull enemies, dull weapons, just dull and lacking in any flair or impact all-round.

    Saving graces for this game include varied missions, vehicles, flexibility of the game engine and fast-paced gameplay.

    Overall though you'd do far, far better with Killzone, FEAR, Perfect Dark Zero, Half-Life 2 or many other games.
  81. Jul 5, 2013
    0
    Hi, I do not really like this game because in my opinion is a cheap copy of unreal tournament, the only halo that is worth halo reach to rest all are cheap copies of unreal tournament.
  82. Sep 12, 2013
    6
    Halo 3 was a decent game but there were some issues that kept me from being fully immersed in the game. The most important was the lack of customizable button layout. Having controls that are different from other popular games only makes sense if it adds to the user experience. In the case of Halo 3 going against long established norms, it did not make sense. If you are going to haveHalo 3 was a decent game but there were some issues that kept me from being fully immersed in the game. The most important was the lack of customizable button layout. Having controls that are different from other popular games only makes sense if it adds to the user experience. In the case of Halo 3 going against long established norms, it did not make sense. If you are going to have controls that are particular to your game, at least have the decency to offer a custom option for those who do not see the brilliance in our scheme. If the controls hadn't been an issue, this game would rate higher. Expand
  83. Apr 8, 2014
    0
    Unfortunately, I at one time loved the Halo series, so it was inevitable that I would eventually get the 3rd installment in the series. Now let's breakdown what an utter piece of crap this game was and why 2700 other users on this site need to be sterilized so they can't breed. To utter a term coined by one Yahtzee Croshaw, (who I normally adamantly disagree with) This game is a spunkUnfortunately, I at one time loved the Halo series, so it was inevitable that I would eventually get the 3rd installment in the series. Now let's breakdown what an utter piece of crap this game was and why 2700 other users on this site need to be sterilized so they can't breed. To utter a term coined by one Yahtzee Croshaw, (who I normally adamantly disagree with) This game is a spunk gargle wee wee. Not only is there little to no chance of dying, because just hide til your shields replenish, there are no real threats in the game. The title itself looks more like halo 2 than a next gen title like it was, the physics are really screwed up, picking a turret up slows you down but you still jump like their is reduced gravity. The storyline wasn't as good as the predecessors, This game was designed for the 13 year old kids to get a headshot and then talk crap to series gamers. I'd say get this game only to see what needs to be changed in the new games coming out. Once again its up to us to change the industry, buying a 59.99 expansion like madden 15, or Halo 5, just isn't something I'm willing to do. Some argue the online for this game is what defines it. Unfortunately for me, online isn't what makes a game, the play, story, and characters make the game. Expand
  84. May 4, 2014
    7
    In 2007, Halo 3 had some very high expectations to fulfill. After the success of Halo 2, fans everywhere were expecting something even more astonishing. Of course, this isn't 2007. From a 2014 point of view, how does Halo 3 fare in the mind of this humble gamer? From a so-so and yet memorable Campaign, a deeply entertaining Multiplayer mode, a decent Forge mode, and the ability to saveIn 2007, Halo 3 had some very high expectations to fulfill. After the success of Halo 2, fans everywhere were expecting something even more astonishing. Of course, this isn't 2007. From a 2014 point of view, how does Halo 3 fare in the mind of this humble gamer? From a so-so and yet memorable Campaign, a deeply entertaining Multiplayer mode, a decent Forge mode, and the ability to save videos of gameplay in Films, Halo 3 is still an enjoyable experience, even by today's standards.

    The campaign is a mixed bag, starting strong and promising but loses it's footing in the second half, becoming a repetitive mess that is reminiscent of Combat Evolved. Luckily, the faults of the campaign are nowhere to be found in the multiplayer, which is one of the most addictive modes that I have ever played. Offering a good amount of customization, excellent gameplay balance and map variety, and some of the most enjoyable action in a multiplayer mode, this is the games winning feature. The same cannot be said for Forge, which allows the player to customize multiplayer maps with weapons, vehicles, some miscellaneous items. This mode is almost unsurprisingly clunky, but can be useful for certain creative minds.

    Halo 3 offers an experience that has plenty of things to love, but also quite a bit of problems. Luckily, the positives manage to outweigh the negatives and makes the participation in the game mostly fun and a worthy usage of time. The only adequate Campaign is a joy for the most part, but is plagued by a number of blights, and Forge is crafty but clunky. Luckily, the multiplayer is utterly superb and plenty of time will be well-wasted on this addictive mode. In general, Halo 3 is in the middle when it comes to over-all quality of all the Halo games combined, but is a good entry in the series nonetheless.

    The Positive
    ___________
    + First half of the campaign is quite fun

    + One of the best game soundtracks ever composed

    + Incredibly enjoyable multiplayer

    + Film mode is a nice touch

    The Negative
    ____________
    - Second half of the Campaign is repetitive and frustrating

    - The Flood are not particularly fun to fight

    - Forge is unnecessarily clunky
    Expand
  85. Nov 25, 2014
    1
    Una de las mayores tomaduras de pelo en marketing de la historia de los videojuegos (Microsoft no dejó que la prensa mostrara imágenes del modo historia hasta por lo menos su estreno, no fuera que se le viera el plumero al jueguecito). Las dos primeras entregas tuvieron su gracia y razón de ser en la primera xbox, fueron un espectáculo audiovisual sin precedentes en consola y tenían unaUna de las mayores tomaduras de pelo en marketing de la historia de los videojuegos (Microsoft no dejó que la prensa mostrara imágenes del modo historia hasta por lo menos su estreno, no fuera que se le viera el plumero al jueguecito). Las dos primeras entregas tuvieron su gracia y razón de ser en la primera xbox, fueron un espectáculo audiovisual sin precedentes en consola y tenían una historia interesante. Pero todo esto se acabó al llegar 360. Halo 3 es más de lo mismo, un refrito barato de las dos entregas anteriores, un juego que no evoluciona y que queda lejos de ser referente de nada en 360. Un juego que ya sólo sirve para que un montón de niñatos, que se creen aficionados a los videojuegos, se peguen tiros por internet. Patético. Expand
  86. Jan 10, 2015
    9
    Awesome game, kept me at the edge of my seat, introduced new game changing forge mode, and once again reinforced Xbox superiority over PC and PlayStation. The reason it's not a 10/10 for me is because it wasn't as big a leap forward from halo 2, as halo 2 was from halo 1. Still a leap forward though!
  87. Mar 25, 2011
    6
    This game is among the most over-rated games, I've EVER played. Its purely nothing. You WALK around shooting plain aliens, with noticabely terrible cross-hairs. Ya sure vehicles, are cool and the graphics are O.K. but it's just not fun.
  88. Apr 20, 2011
    6
    Halo 3 is a fun game, loaded with content and full of replay value. The campaign is most fun to play co-op, and makes completing Legendary much easier given someone stays back and provides a constant respawn relief. The story rounds of the trilogy nicely and there's a couple of twists, but overall Halo 3 isn't about the story, it's about the action and this is where it remains one of theHalo 3 is a fun game, loaded with content and full of replay value. The campaign is most fun to play co-op, and makes completing Legendary much easier given someone stays back and provides a constant respawn relief. The story rounds of the trilogy nicely and there's a couple of twists, but overall Halo 3 isn't about the story, it's about the action and this is where it remains one of the best ever released on Xbox 360. The multi-player element is fantastic, with balanced weapons and good maps and modes. There is little more amusing than both yourself and an enemy beating each other down after a lengthy battle. Forge mode is good, although I'm not a particularly creative person, there are some super maps to get from those who are. Expand
  89. May 22, 2011
    3
    this is one of the most overrated games i have ever encountered. I bought the game after hearing many positive reviews. i was very disappointed to find a very short single player campaign, VERY repetitive gameplay, and a boring multiplayer mode. i get the feeling that the main reason everyone loves the halo franchise so much is because it is an xbox exclusive. if you want some good xboxthis is one of the most overrated games i have ever encountered. I bought the game after hearing many positive reviews. i was very disappointed to find a very short single player campaign, VERY repetitive gameplay, and a boring multiplayer mode. i get the feeling that the main reason everyone loves the halo franchise so much is because it is an xbox exclusive. if you want some good xbox exclusives try mass effect, gears of war or alan wake Expand
  90. Jun 12, 2011
    9
    Even though it was a couple of years ago, I just had to comment on this amazing franchise/trilogy. It made me appreciate video games now (I used to think games were just a waste of time, some of them are still). Visually updated and full of epic-grand situations (hahaha can't find the right words), I mean this game just blew my mind completely. Yes, it WAS overrated but looking back at itEven though it was a couple of years ago, I just had to comment on this amazing franchise/trilogy. It made me appreciate video games now (I used to think games were just a waste of time, some of them are still). Visually updated and full of epic-grand situations (hahaha can't find the right words), I mean this game just blew my mind completely. Yes, it WAS overrated but looking back at it now, pretty good memories (me and my brothers/friends playing the campaign/battling each other in different ruins-forget what that's called). The story is more easy to follow and it still was kind of depressing but nevertheless, "a very good ending to a well-beloved video game series." Halo 4? Okay now its pushing it, I mean Halo Reach was very good but seriously what is Halo 4 going to be about? hmmm.... Expand
  91. Jun 19, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game was great and the campaign was a little rusty as u get farther into it but like always halo still came out with a great multiplayer like the new forge mode being able to create ur own battle field to just the way u will get an advantage just great but not the best just cause the game changed so much from halo 2 to 3 like how in 2 around the end u have grunts, elites, and hunters yet in 3 u have only elites Expand
  92. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    Halo is truly amazing. **** u CoD players cuz Halo has a good storyline, multiplayer, soundtrack, and its sorta emotional. All CoD has is a good multiplayer and nazi zombies. CoD also barely has a storyline. All CoD players and Halo haters don't know what a good FPS is.
  93. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    The SP sucks sooo bad, i got bored during th FIRST mission. The multiplayer is well, and the local S/S is very fun. The graphics are crap and the voices of the enemies are annoying. I hope reach is better than this piece of hammered ****
  94. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    1st off I have to say I invested maybe 1,000 hours into this game online and I had the time of my life (on xbox). The Campaign was epic And good storytelling with a somber and rewarding ending. Due to the community being so big there are countless custom game types to play which adds to the fun.
    Im giving this a 10 because Halo 3 has a special place in my heart for all the reasons ive
    1st off I have to say I invested maybe 1,000 hours into this game online and I had the time of my life (on xbox). The Campaign was epic And good storytelling with a somber and rewarding ending. Due to the community being so big there are countless custom game types to play which adds to the fun.
    Im giving this a 10 because Halo 3 has a special place in my heart for all the reasons ive said. Even though it has small faults it deserves it in my opinion.
    Expand
  95. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    It is one of the best game I ever played. Epic campaign,perfect multiplayer. Someone give a 0 to this game. I can't understand why. The only bad thing of it is the graphic.If you didn't play this game, you can't say you're a gamer. Maybe it isn't the best Halo ever,maybe it isn't the best game ever, but surely it is a great game. Thank you Bungie.
  96. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    Probably, One of the Best Games out of all the other halo games!
    The campaign is great especially on the legendary mode and the maps are way better than HALO REACH
  97. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    In my opinion, this a game with a great campaign, and fun multiplayer. Halo 3 was one of the first xbox 360 games i have ever got, and it is definitely a great buy. This game is a classic, and if you don't have it, you should seriously consider getting it.
  98. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    Halo right now isn't the big monster that was eleven years ago, of course , generations pass fast and more games keeps changing the video game landscape. Halo 3 is a badass of a game and is a replay value game pumping up with the story that is great, the multiplayer is satisfying and the forge is cool. People ( some) will say this is bad and talk trash to it, but also, don't you thinkHalo right now isn't the big monster that was eleven years ago, of course , generations pass fast and more games keeps changing the video game landscape. Halo 3 is a badass of a game and is a replay value game pumping up with the story that is great, the multiplayer is satisfying and the forge is cool. People ( some) will say this is bad and talk trash to it, but also, don't you think that the CoD series is aging a little bit every time?.I respect the opinion of every people that say CoD is the best , but in the future there will be some thing better than that. Halo is the face of the 360 as for GoW . Expand
  99. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    fantastic game play and multiplayer definitely make this a very good game and a must play the story was not as good as the first two and while it finished the story well it was very confusing for people who hadnt played the first one and even for people who did and really followed the story.
  100. Jul 14, 2011
    5
    The Graphics look last gen. The gameplay feels like it's from 2001. The dialogue is cliche, and the voice acting it awful. I still don't understand the story. The level design is shallow. The difficulty is very unbalanced. This game is very bad.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's the addition of the Forge level editor and the saved films that give the game an even longer set of legs, legs that will probably keep you running at full speed until Bungie figures out where, exactly, to go from here.
  2. Halo 3 is the best Xbox 360 game to date. The single-player campaign and storyline are both very strong, but it's Forge and the Saved Films features that will likely go down in history as Bungie's crowning achievements. They've basically taken everything great about the series and improved upon it in every way, then added some amazing new features that we'll be using for years to come.
  3. 100
    It's solid gameplay, immense replayability, online functionality and incredible production values will ensure its place in video game history, and it is, without a doubt, a satisfying and fulfilling close to the beloved trilogy[?].