User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3649 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 20, 2010
    4
    It seems to me that the only defense that lovers of this game have for it is the fact that it has SUPERIOR MULTIPLAYER. I believe that thinking is a little too optimistic. What I mean by this is that these people have their brain trained to think that Halo games are good. Critics love them, they sell millions of copies, they are considered the best first person shooters in the business. So, why shouldn't they believe that these games are great? The answer is simple...they aren't great. They are hardly, if at all, good. Fanboys will defend (to their death) the multiplayer, but I have long considered multiplayer somewhat of a bonus when it is included in a game, not its flagship feature. For a developer like Bungie to cut the corners on a story mode just to pump out the next multiplayer sequel seems a bit like robbery to me. This game would be saved if they had taken some time to truly develop a story, and make it seem as if they cared about making a compelling video game. They've had three games to tell a good, epic, awe inspiring story, and they haven't even tried. They've just pushed out some weak crap and stamped the next number in sequence after the title. Expand
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    0
    Well, this is what most people call "fanboy-town." I actually liked the graphics and the main guy is extremely reconizable. Sadly, I disliked it's multiplayer and story. I understand why the first and second were good. It was an extreme success, but now, it lost it's replayablity value via the sometimes unresponsive controls, or the matter. Overall, this game doesn't deseve over a 85. It's a okay game but...it sucks. Expand
  3. Aug 26, 2012
    0
    This game made me a tryhard.
  4. Aug 17, 2010
    4
    So far I've played this entire series and been nothing but disappointed. The idiocy of the AI is simply painful to watch. The story.. well the story doesn't exist and many others agree with me. The entire game is a grind. All you do is move from area to area killing the same enemies with the same guns out of the Toys'r'us. The only thing halo did well was the coop. The multilayer could be fun if it weren't so filled with hackers and the weapons were balanced. It also kills the game for me when a punch does more damage than a gunshot. The only reason I've heard people say this game is good is for reasons like "It's epic" or "It's just awesome". They can oddly never give me a real solid reason as to why the game is any good. Also if you look around the net and do some digging you'll find that Microsoft was giving out "Press packages" to reviewers. Expand
  5. Jul 23, 2012
    0
    This game is, quite simply, one of the greatest games I have ever had the pleasure of playing. The story is amazing (no spoilers), with some levels being replayed at least 25-30 times. The characters are great, the plot is outstanding (even better if you've played the previous titles and/or read the books by Eric Nylund (a truly great author). The fiction is so deep and enthralling, and I fully recommend immersing yourself in an epic universe of truly grande scale), the gameplay is like sweet, sweet honey, the multiplayer is engrossing (heck, I still play it from time to time, and it's been 5 years!), and, most importantly, it delivers on every aspect you hoped it would after following a game of questionable quality (I'm looking at you, Halo 2...). Every single thing about this game, be it the music, the absolutely amazing inclusion of the Forge mode map editor, or the multitude of hilariously random Easter eggs hidden in the campaign, this game delivers on all fronts. Also, when scrolling through the user reviews, please, just use your common sense. If it's a zero and you see that the spelling is abhorrent, the grammar usage is laughable at best, and (in some cases) the review is written before the game was even for sale, it's probably a none-too-reliable Neanderthal kid who loves CoD for it's "innovative gameplay", and wouldn't know a deep and glorious plotline if it shot him between the eyes with a Battle Rifle. Just face it, haters. Halo 3 is a great game. Nothing you do, say, or write to slander one of the greatest FPSs of all time will matter in any true gamer's mind. Peace out. Expand
  6. Aug 28, 2012
    0
    I was in Game about to buy London 2012 and the helpful guy at the counter asked if I liked shooting games, I told him yes, I'm a big fan of CoD, So he recommended this game to me. I thought I'd buy it, as it was in the bargain bin and so within my budget. Anyway, I got home, started playing it and was bored of it within 5 minutes. Same stuff over and over, very disappointing, everybody driving around in overpowered vehicles thinking they were something special. Anyway, to cut it short, This game doesn't live up to the standards set by games such as CoD4, CoD MW2, Ghost Recon, Just stick to them, you will regret buying this!!! Expand
  7. Dec 30, 2012
    0
    problem cortana is not really wearing clothes i sold my game because of it.
    it is totally anti-God message
    the aliens represent the covenant of God. your charracter must kill this covenant.

    totally anti-Christian
  8. Dec 30, 2012
    4
    Halo 3...is the worst Halo game in existence...it's extremely dull and boring. Halo 2 in my opinion is still the Halo game that defines the series, if you want the best Halo experience--Halo 2 will offer it. Halo 3 downgrades almost everything which made the previous Halo games so good. The combat is nothing new, though the duel-wielding has been taken away with a lot of weapons, which does balance things out for the multiplayer, though causes the single player to be much more slower than it needs to be. This brings up the general problem that the game is way too short. It can be beaten in a few hours and offers no real replay value due to the linearity and simplicity of it all. What were Bungie thinking? The X-BOX 360 was a next generation system, yet they make a game worse than what was run on the previous X-BOX? Multiplayer online seems to be ruining the single player experience...developers aren't bothered making good single player anymore due to the high demand for multiplayer, and it's a real shame considering that the first-person-shooter genre started off focusing heavily on single player. Unless you want to see what happens story-wise, there is no reason to play Halo 3. Expand
  9. Mar 26, 2013
    0
    This was the game that taught me how the proffesional (pfff hhaha) gaming press operates, where reviews are bought and paid for by companies that can afford it. The halo franchise got where it is today not because the games are any good but because microsoft spent more on the marketing than on the actual making of the product. The gameplay is slowed down and as basic as an fps can possibly get. Levels are poorly made and you are often forced to re-thread your path up to three times, a very cheap way to extend campaign time. Halo 3 is often called a sandbox game wich marks who ever says that as an imbecile. Graphics range from bad to 'what the hell am I even looking at' and are seen through the extremely narrow headache inducing field of view visor of robot master guy sergeant, the protagonist who jorneys through the plothole ridden mess of a storyline spouting maybe 3 sentences on the way to the ending wich by the way can not have taken the hacks at bungie more than 30 minutes to produce. You see the commercials (where the money was put) showed well made cgi whereas the ingame cutscenes look like someones first attempt at using the quake1 engine. If you have four microscopes you can play the game 4 way splitscreen in eyestrain-o vision, a function wich since it isn't in many games nowadays is often lorded as something divine when in actuality it is not something any sane person would inflict on their corneas. The multiplayer is cut from the same cloth as the campaign where the gameplay has a kidde pool level of depth and a community that would make a room full of angry baboons seem like a place of enlightenment. It runs on the worst game service on earth xbl with laggy p2p networking. If Halo 3 is your most favourite game in the world you might also enjoy banging a hammer against your head. Expand
  10. Jun 10, 2011
    1
    This game sucks really bad. First of all, graphics suck; it looks like a freaking PS2 game. The AI is terrible, but that may be because they are stupid aliens, still... Oh, and multiplayer is my biggest issue with this game. Not gonna get into it because many users have written exactly what I think.
  11. May 22, 2011
    3
    this is one of the most overrated games i have ever encountered. I bought the game after hearing many positive reviews. i was very disappointed to find a very short single player campaign, VERY repetitive gameplay, and a boring multiplayer mode. i get the feeling that the main reason everyone loves the halo franchise so much is because it is an xbox exclusive. if you want some good xbox exclusives try mass effect, gears of war or alan wake Expand
  12. Jun 12, 2011
    4
    I have to say that this game is the most overrated game of all time. I enjoyed Halo 2 but Halo 3 is just one big disappointment. This game was very hyped, maybe that's why I got disappointed. The story is unfortunately very dull and I was expecting something new but it's doesn't feel new at all. Halo 3 feels repetitive...boring....and I've seen everything before!
  13. Jul 4, 2011
    4
    Where to begin. First off, I will say this is not a â
  14. Apr 15, 2013
    4
    What IS the fascination with this lame, tacky, hollow, pointless shooter?

    Dull enemies, dull weapons, just dull and lacking in any flair or impact all-round.

    Saving graces for this game include varied missions, vehicles, flexibility of the game engine and fast-paced gameplay.

    Overall though you'd do far, far better with Killzone, FEAR, Perfect Dark Zero, Half-Life 2 or many other games.
  15. Nov 21, 2011
    2
    Overhyped, and overated - I just couldn't get into this at all. The most off putting thing for me was the bouncy, flimsy feel to both the player and the weapons â
  16. Dec 15, 2013
    4
    It would be fascinating to know why other reviewers rate this title so highly, as the Single-Player is one of the worst in existence, the characters are uninteresting and easily forgettable and the load-time durations are simply a war crime. Halo 3's soundtrack, multiplayer and distinctive visual style prevent this title from simply being a polished turd. Multiplayer (including Forge Mode) is the only plausible reason to purchase this game for entertainment value because it earns its own merit and then some. The maps are varied and offer plenty of strategy and the use of vehicles are immensely entertaining.

    Graphics 6/10 Although distinct in visual style, some of the level design does little to highlight it.
    Gameplay 6/10 Single player is atrocious, boring and forgettable but multiplayer is in a league of its own.
    Features 6/10 Removing the vacuous single player from the equation, Multiplayer has a gargantuan lasting appeal.

    Overall: 4/10 Multiplayer retains the same high standards of previous entries but the single player is simply an offence in gaming.
    Expand
  17. Feb 22, 2013
    0
    so i buy this game for my ps5 just to find out that I apparently have to buy this crap called the xbox 360 to play it. wtf santa monica studios, what were you guys thinking here.
  18. Jul 5, 2013
    0
    Hi, I do not really like this game because in my opinion is a cheap copy of unreal tournament, the only halo that is worth halo reach to rest all are cheap copies of unreal tournament.
  19. Apr 8, 2014
    0
    Unfortunately, I at one time loved the Halo series, so it was inevitable that I would eventually get the 3rd installment in the series. Now let's breakdown what an utter piece of crap this game was and why 2700 other users on this site need to be sterilized so they can't breed. To utter a term coined by one Yahtzee Croshaw, (who I normally adamantly disagree with) This game is a spunk gargle wee wee. Not only is there little to no chance of dying, because just hide til your shields replenish, there are no real threats in the game. The title itself looks more like halo 2 than a next gen title like it was, the physics are really screwed up, picking a turret up slows you down but you still jump like their is reduced gravity. The storyline wasn't as good as the predecessors, This game was designed for the 13 year old kids to get a headshot and then talk crap to series gamers. I'd say get this game only to see what needs to be changed in the new games coming out. Once again its up to us to change the industry, buying a 59.99 expansion like madden 15, or Halo 5, just isn't something I'm willing to do. Some argue the online for this game is what defines it. Unfortunately for me, online isn't what makes a game, the play, story, and characters make the game. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's the addition of the Forge level editor and the saved films that give the game an even longer set of legs, legs that will probably keep you running at full speed until Bungie figures out where, exactly, to go from here.
  2. Halo 3 is the best Xbox 360 game to date. The single-player campaign and storyline are both very strong, but it's Forge and the Saved Films features that will likely go down in history as Bungie's crowning achievements. They've basically taken everything great about the series and improved upon it in every way, then added some amazing new features that we'll be using for years to come.
  3. 100
    It's solid gameplay, immense replayability, online functionality and incredible production values will ensure its place in video game history, and it is, without a doubt, a satisfying and fulfilling close to the beloved trilogy[?].