User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3841 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MickThomsoin
    Jul 29, 2007
    4
    After playing the Beta, Halo 3 is nothing new. This game does not live up to its hype at this moment. The graphics and gameplay were like Halo 2.5. And 2 new weapons? C'mon Bungie! Help us out here! Thats pretty pathetic. The maps were OK.Nothing to be excited about though. Same old choppy gameplay. Hopefully when the actual game comes out it'll be alot better. But I thinkAfter playing the Beta, Halo 3 is nothing new. This game does not live up to its hype at this moment. The graphics and gameplay were like Halo 2.5. And 2 new weapons? C'mon Bungie! Help us out here! Thats pretty pathetic. The maps were OK.Nothing to be excited about though. Same old choppy gameplay. Hopefully when the actual game comes out it'll be alot better. But I think Halo's time has past. The first Halo was a blast. But after screwing up the sequal, Halo 3 doesn't have a chance. I think I'll just stick to Gears of War for a while. Expand
  2. Raymeow
    Sep 9, 2007
    1
    Same like halo 1-2, just shineir toys, nothing new.
    Not impressed with Game played was expecting more from halo3. Even Warhawk seems more funner than halo.
    The reason I gave a 1 because I think halo3 is overrated, originally I would give a "7" if Fanboys don't always give a "10" then i would have give a legitimate vote.
  3. Savage
    Jan 1, 2010
    0
    This game is only compelling or entertaining if your a brain dead jackass. Everything in halo has been done before and better. The story is nonexistant and the only remarkable feature is the degree to witch microsoft bribed perfect scores from all commercial game reviewers with "Press packages". The gameplay is horribly repetative, slow paced, and unbalanced. The AI is so horrible This game is only compelling or entertaining if your a brain dead jackass. Everything in halo has been done before and better. The story is nonexistant and the only remarkable feature is the degree to witch microsoft bribed perfect scores from all commercial game reviewers with "Press packages". The gameplay is horribly repetative, slow paced, and unbalanced. The AI is so horrible Neverwinter nights, an old game by bioware, has modules with better AI scripted by random normal people with little to no scripting experiance. The multiplayer would be fun if every other game didnt have some random hacker and the guns actualy featured some balance. Ive seen several people argue that this game is good, but the only arguments they can come up with are "Its good" or "Its epic" to which i respond "Your an idiot". Expand
  4. NikH.
    Sep 28, 2007
    0
    Having played Halo 1, I thought this would be a good game. I never bought Halo 2 as I enjoyed playing Halo 1 so much. I went out and bought this game for me 360 which i've had for about 4 months, put it in, started on the campaign and was shocked! I have a Samsung 1080p TV but I could see jagged edges everywhere! Faces are incredibly bland and badly drawn. THe control system is Having played Halo 1, I thought this would be a good game. I never bought Halo 2 as I enjoyed playing Halo 1 so much. I went out and bought this game for me 360 which i've had for about 4 months, put it in, started on the campaign and was shocked! I have a Samsung 1080p TV but I could see jagged edges everywhere! Faces are incredibly bland and badly drawn. THe control system is horrible to work and the game in itself is really repetetive. I've tried Halo online 4 player co-op and this is awfully laggy. I'm paying $50 a year to have extreme lag? I'm even getting lag on the online deathmatches. The least Bungie could have done would be to have set up some dedicated servers so I don't have to play with a server of ping 8344978. I'm really let down with this and will stick to Halo 1 tbh. Thanks alot Bungie. Expand
  5. Jul 23, 2012
    0
    This game is, quite simply, one of the greatest games I have ever had the pleasure of playing. The story is amazing (no spoilers), with some levels being replayed at least 25-30 times. The characters are great, the plot is outstanding (even better if you've played the previous titles and/or read the books by Eric Nylund (a truly great author). The fiction is so deep and enthralling, andThis game is, quite simply, one of the greatest games I have ever had the pleasure of playing. The story is amazing (no spoilers), with some levels being replayed at least 25-30 times. The characters are great, the plot is outstanding (even better if you've played the previous titles and/or read the books by Eric Nylund (a truly great author). The fiction is so deep and enthralling, and I fully recommend immersing yourself in an epic universe of truly grande scale), the gameplay is like sweet, sweet honey, the multiplayer is engrossing (heck, I still play it from time to time, and it's been 5 years!), and, most importantly, it delivers on every aspect you hoped it would after following a game of questionable quality (I'm looking at you, Halo 2...). Every single thing about this game, be it the music, the absolutely amazing inclusion of the Forge mode map editor, or the multitude of hilariously random Easter eggs hidden in the campaign, this game delivers on all fronts. Also, when scrolling through the user reviews, please, just use your common sense. If it's a zero and you see that the spelling is abhorrent, the grammar usage is laughable at best, and (in some cases) the review is written before the game was even for sale, it's probably a none-too-reliable Neanderthal kid who loves CoD for it's "innovative gameplay", and wouldn't know a deep and glorious plotline if it shot him between the eyes with a Battle Rifle. Just face it, haters. Halo 3 is a great game. Nothing you do, say, or write to slander one of the greatest FPSs of all time will matter in any true gamer's mind. Peace out. Expand
  6. Aug 20, 2010
    4
    It seems to me that the only defense that lovers of this game have for it is the fact that it has SUPERIOR MULTIPLAYER. I believe that thinking is a little too optimistic. What I mean by this is that these people have their brain trained to think that Halo games are good. Critics love them, they sell millions of copies, they are considered the best first person shooters in the business.It seems to me that the only defense that lovers of this game have for it is the fact that it has SUPERIOR MULTIPLAYER. I believe that thinking is a little too optimistic. What I mean by this is that these people have their brain trained to think that Halo games are good. Critics love them, they sell millions of copies, they are considered the best first person shooters in the business. So, why shouldn't they believe that these games are great? The answer is simple...they aren't great. They are hardly, if at all, good. Fanboys will defend (to their death) the multiplayer, but I have long considered multiplayer somewhat of a bonus when it is included in a game, not its flagship feature. For a developer like Bungie to cut the corners on a story mode just to pump out the next multiplayer sequel seems a bit like robbery to me. This game would be saved if they had taken some time to truly develop a story, and make it seem as if they cared about making a compelling video game. They've had three games to tell a good, epic, awe inspiring story, and they haven't even tried. They've just pushed out some weak crap and stamped the next number in sequence after the title. Expand
  7. FrederikMeringen
    Sep 23, 2007
    2
    great game
  8. MetroidPrimeHunter
    Jan 13, 2010
    0
    The most over-hyped, overrated, linear, un-original, kak I have ever had the misfortune of playing. What amsuses me to no end, is the disparity in the opinion of the critics and most everybody else.
  9. Dec 30, 2012
    4
    Halo 3...is the worst Halo game in existence...it's extremely dull and boring. Halo 2 in my opinion is still the Halo game that defines the series, if you want the best Halo experience--Halo 2 will offer it. Halo 3 downgrades almost everything which made the previous Halo games so good. The combat is nothing new, though the duel-wielding has been taken away with a lot of weapons, whichHalo 3...is the worst Halo game in existence...it's extremely dull and boring. Halo 2 in my opinion is still the Halo game that defines the series, if you want the best Halo experience--Halo 2 will offer it. Halo 3 downgrades almost everything which made the previous Halo games so good. The combat is nothing new, though the duel-wielding has been taken away with a lot of weapons, which does balance things out for the multiplayer, though causes the single player to be much more slower than it needs to be. This brings up the general problem that the game is way too short. It can be beaten in a few hours and offers no real replay value due to the linearity and simplicity of it all. What were Bungie thinking? The X-BOX 360 was a next generation system, yet they make a game worse than what was run on the previous X-BOX? Multiplayer online seems to be ruining the single player experience...developers aren't bothered making good single player anymore due to the high demand for multiplayer, and it's a real shame considering that the first-person-shooter genre started off focusing heavily on single player. Unless you want to see what happens story-wise, there is no reason to play Halo 3. Expand
  10. Mar 26, 2013
    0
    This was the game that taught me how the proffesional (pfff hhaha) gaming press operates, where reviews are bought and paid for by companies that can afford it. The halo franchise got where it is today not because the games are any good but because microsoft spent more on the marketing than on the actual making of the product. The gameplay is slowed down and as basic as an fps can possiblyThis was the game that taught me how the proffesional (pfff hhaha) gaming press operates, where reviews are bought and paid for by companies that can afford it. The halo franchise got where it is today not because the games are any good but because microsoft spent more on the marketing than on the actual making of the product. The gameplay is slowed down and as basic as an fps can possibly get. Levels are poorly made and you are often forced to re-thread your path up to three times, a very cheap way to extend campaign time. Halo 3 is often called a sandbox game wich marks who ever says that as an imbecile. Graphics range from bad to 'what the hell am I even looking at' and are seen through the extremely narrow headache inducing field of view visor of robot master guy sergeant, the protagonist who jorneys through the plothole ridden mess of a storyline spouting maybe 3 sentences on the way to the ending wich by the way can not have taken the hacks at bungie more than 30 minutes to produce. You see the commercials (where the money was put) showed well made cgi whereas the ingame cutscenes look like someones first attempt at using the quake1 engine. If you have four microscopes you can play the game 4 way splitscreen in eyestrain-o vision, a function wich since it isn't in many games nowadays is often lorded as something divine when in actuality it is not something any sane person would inflict on their corneas. The multiplayer is cut from the same cloth as the campaign where the gameplay has a kidde pool level of depth and a community that would make a room full of angry baboons seem like a place of enlightenment. It runs on the worst game service on earth xbl with laggy p2p networking. If Halo 3 is your most favourite game in the world you might also enjoy banging a hammer against your head. Expand
  11. Oct 20, 2010
    0
    Well, this is what most people call "fanboy-town." I actually liked the graphics and the main guy is extremely reconizable. Sadly, I disliked it's multiplayer and story. I understand why the first and second were good. It was an extreme success, but now, it lost it's replayablity value via the sometimes unresponsive controls, or the matter. Overall, this game doesn't deseve over a 85. It'sWell, this is what most people call "fanboy-town." I actually liked the graphics and the main guy is extremely reconizable. Sadly, I disliked it's multiplayer and story. I understand why the first and second were good. It was an extreme success, but now, it lost it's replayablity value via the sometimes unresponsive controls, or the matter. Overall, this game doesn't deseve over a 85. It's a okay game but...it sucks. Expand
  12. Aug 26, 2012
    0
    This game made me a tryhard.
  13. MikeH
    Jan 13, 2010
    0
    The majority of the population seems to like this awful joke of a game. Then again the majority of the population consists of very bad drivers. There is nothing good about bad driving or this game but idiots of the world seem to find both to be a favorite pastime.
  14. joetombs
    Sep 23, 2007
    1
    I was lucky enough to get this delivered early, but it only led to an earlier disappointment. There's so much better available on the 360 that i can't fathom why such an outdated fps (both graphicly and gameplay-wise) got my attention in the first place. The hype train makes you think it's more than it is. The multiplayer really doesn't seem that great using the sameI was lucky enough to get this delivered early, but it only led to an earlier disappointment. There's so much better available on the 360 that i can't fathom why such an outdated fps (both graphicly and gameplay-wise) got my attention in the first place. The hype train makes you think it's more than it is. The multiplayer really doesn't seem that great using the same tired mechanics since the first game. Ultimately a dull and unrewarding experience. Expand
  15. Dec 30, 2012
    0
    problem cortana is not really wearing clothes i sold my game because of it.
    it is totally anti-God message
    the aliens represent the covenant of God. your charracter must kill this covenant.

    totally anti-Christian
  16. AntonioG
    Sep 16, 2007
    0
    One of the most overrated games of all time. So much, in fact, that it makes me wonder whether people just buy it because they enjoy the violence.

    However, I would have considered buying Halos 1 and 2 if... 1. It was made for a Nintendo console. Microsoft isn't the only game console maker in the world, nor is it the best. 2. It wasn't so bloody. Blood adds realism, but
    One of the most overrated games of all time. So much, in fact, that it makes me wonder whether people just buy it because they enjoy the violence.

    However, I would have considered buying Halos 1 and 2 if...
    1. It was made for a Nintendo console. Microsoft isn't the only game console maker in the world, nor is it the best.
    2. It wasn't so bloody. Blood adds realism, but it's sickening to look at. Especially if you're playing Gears of War, which is more like some twisted version of Disturbia times 10.
    3. The makers at least made an effort to make a good PC version. Even then I wouldn't buy it because it's still too bloody.

    In conclusion, Halo 3 is probably the most hyped game in history. Ocarina of Time is porbably much more fun, and it's something people can play without being reminded of GTA. Stop believing the hype, you Microsoft fanboys.
    Expand
  17. Aug 28, 2012
    0
    I was in Game about to buy London 2012 and the helpful guy at the counter asked if I liked shooting games, I told him yes, I'm a big fan of CoD, So he recommended this game to me. I thought I'd buy it, as it was in the bargain bin and so within my budget. Anyway, I got home, started playing it and was bored of it within 5 minutes. Same stuff over and over, very disappointing, everybodyI was in Game about to buy London 2012 and the helpful guy at the counter asked if I liked shooting games, I told him yes, I'm a big fan of CoD, So he recommended this game to me. I thought I'd buy it, as it was in the bargain bin and so within my budget. Anyway, I got home, started playing it and was bored of it within 5 minutes. Same stuff over and over, very disappointing, everybody driving around in overpowered vehicles thinking they were something special. Anyway, to cut it short, This game doesn't live up to the standards set by games such as CoD4, CoD MW2, Ghost Recon, Just stick to them, you will regret buying this!!! Expand
  18. Aug 17, 2010
    4
    So far I've played this entire series and been nothing but disappointed. The idiocy of the AI is simply painful to watch. The story.. well the story doesn't exist and many others agree with me. The entire game is a grind. All you do is move from area to area killing the same enemies with the same guns out of the Toys'r'us. The only thing halo did well was the coop. The multilayer could beSo far I've played this entire series and been nothing but disappointed. The idiocy of the AI is simply painful to watch. The story.. well the story doesn't exist and many others agree with me. The entire game is a grind. All you do is move from area to area killing the same enemies with the same guns out of the Toys'r'us. The only thing halo did well was the coop. The multilayer could be fun if it weren't so filled with hackers and the weapons were balanced. It also kills the game for me when a punch does more damage than a gunshot. The only reason I've heard people say this game is good is for reasons like "It's epic" or "It's just awesome". They can oddly never give me a real solid reason as to why the game is any good. Also if you look around the net and do some digging you'll find that Microsoft was giving out "Press packages" to reviewers. Expand
  19. DanielS.
    Sep 28, 2007
    0
    I've tried every game mode and I'm extremely disappointed with this game. Especially after Gears of War and Bioshock set the FPS bar so high, I figured with the amount of hype this game had that it would be absolutely amazing- instead it plays like Marathon with an updated HD paint job. At least COD 4 is gonna rock if it turns out anywhere close to the BETA...
  20. davidk
    Oct 7, 2007
    0
    i gave it a 0 because i was extremely dissapointed.
    if the game was not hyped up so much it would have possibly got a 4, but with such high expectations its an extreme let down.
    sucky single player, good online. hello bingie not everyone has online i dont, dont be fooled into thinking this is the best game of the year or even the week. its an average shooter, which is moer
    i gave it a 0 because i was extremely dissapointed.
    if the game was not hyped up so much it would have possibly got a 4, but with such high expectations its an extreme let down.

    sucky single player, good online.
    hello bingie not everyone has online i dont,

    dont be fooled into thinking this is the best game of the year or even the week.
    its an average shooter, which is moer than i can say for the first halo which was even worse imo.

    they are all average shooters with no real reason as to why they are so hyped up. whats so good about them i ask WHAT?
    Expand
  21. NeoMr.smith
    Mar 19, 2008
    1
    shit it gets one pont for graphics no real story kille sevens story is easy to follow compered to this game play is ify super ify if online if you have a wii and are going to get a 360 just for this game dont get star fox assalt it has a real story et muti-player only prob no online but who cares its still better than halo3 also Sean D. you dont understand ow to rate some thing from your shit it gets one pont for graphics no real story kille sevens story is easy to follow compered to this game play is ify super ify if online if you have a wii and are going to get a 360 just for this game dont get star fox assalt it has a real story et muti-player only prob no online but who cares its still better than halo3 also Sean D. you dont understand ow to rate some thing from your comment it sounds like a 7.5 Expand
  22. Gregg
    Oct 1, 2007
    1
    This was the first Halo I have played and like 360 Gamer Magazine UK have mentioned - "anyone new to Halo probably won't see what all the fuss is about". This I found, unfortunately true!! The gameplay is sadly repetitive, having to pump a hundred bullets into a Brute before it drops, understandably so considering their size, however this is not fun!! There does appear to be quite a This was the first Halo I have played and like 360 Gamer Magazine UK have mentioned - "anyone new to Halo probably won't see what all the fuss is about". This I found, unfortunately true!! The gameplay is sadly repetitive, having to pump a hundred bullets into a Brute before it drops, understandably so considering their size, however this is not fun!! There does appear to be quite a strong story line but what does that matter without solid gameplay!!???!!!! The graphics are nothing to shout about and I believe this game to be way over-rated - Too much hype!!!! If you want to play a real FPS go out and buy Bioshock, it is worth every penny and it shows the rest how its supposed to be done!! Expand
  23. TorreyW.
    Oct 20, 2007
    1
    I just don't get it...sub-par graphics, AWFUL weapon sound effects , convoluted story, and the regular "frag fest" multi-player experience. This is literally a game that you simply blast through in a few hours. There are no tactics or thought necessary to complete this game, just run & gun. This game sucks. The only cool thing is some of the music and the load screen looks "pretty". FAIL.
  24. RasmB.
    Oct 23, 2007
    0
    I have nothing to say about this game, with all the adds and commercials promesing a great story of heroism and faith in mankind i felt nothing while playing this game. Eaven tho im a big fan of halo2 and halo1 this was a great disappointment that dosnt deserve half the hype it gets from fanboys all over. The game is halo2 with new story and some upped grapics, nothing moore, the extra I have nothing to say about this game, with all the adds and commercials promesing a great story of heroism and faith in mankind i felt nothing while playing this game. Eaven tho im a big fan of halo2 and halo1 this was a great disappointment that dosnt deserve half the hype it gets from fanboys all over. The game is halo2 with new story and some upped grapics, nothing moore, the extra content in this sequal is suprisingly bad. a few new guns and some tanks. Thats it, the enamys are still as stupid and silly as they used to be. This is one of the worst 360 titles to hit the market. Expand
  25. IHateFanboys
    Sep 26, 2007
    4
    Just goes to show you how people can get cought up in hype, all you need is a few mags and online game sites to say something positive like how this game will change the future of gaming and every teenager will get moist, truth is another thing. HALO 1 was ment for the PC but microsoft saw it as a good game and made it a launch title for the XBOXand as is was a game converted from the PCJust goes to show you how people can get cought up in hype, all you need is a few mags and online game sites to say something positive like how this game will change the future of gaming and every teenager will get moist, truth is another thing. HALO 1 was ment for the PC but microsoft saw it as a good game and made it a launch title for the XBOXand as is was a game converted from the PC it had a much better lenthy Story and game play. then HALO 2 came along and because console owners are supposed to like playing games for shorter periods( dont know where they get that idea from) they focused on the muliplayer part and add some crappy short story, but because you only find fanboys are consol owners microsoft knew that they would buy it up, even though its is so much shorter than halo 1. now for some reason HALO 3 hit the town and again for some reason these fanboys havnt grown up and they still think that HALO 3 will deliver, and you have all been duped again. HALO 3 is to cut this long story short is basicly HALO 2 with some extra multiplayer maps and what a suprise the story element is even shorter than HALO 2.
    I cant belive you guys actually pay £30+ a year to go online and use voice chat. well that what my bro does. me ive got a bit more sence and waisted my money on a hi spec PC where games are cheaper and online is all free. HALO 2 on the PC though exactly the same as the XBOX version is a complete FLOP on the PC, us PC owners will be enjoying FPS with lenthy storys lines and huge multiplayer areans like CRYSIS, HALFLIFE 2, S.T.A.L.K.E.R.. Still cant belive my bro pays £39 for 360 games. HALO 3 does not even try to puch the graphics on the 360 and its no way worth the £39 asking price. and i laugh that one of the selling points of Halo2 was that master cheif can hold two guns. hahahahaha

    the only good thing going for this is the extra multplayer maps.
    Oh he dies at the end.
    Expand
  26. DanV.
    Apr 3, 2008
    4
    This game is better than the second, but the first one was much more better.
  27. AnonymousMC
    Jan 12, 2009
    4
    A generic shooter, the story is stupid and single player is easy on legendary. All those Xbox360 fan boys say that they have halo 3, that really isn't an achievement. Also multiplayer is filled with immature kids who tk you just to get the flag. I do not recommend you buy this game, maybe rent, but not buy.
  28. DannyCox
    Sep 25, 2007
    3
    Biased much? I've never seen so many bullshit reviews. Gamer 2.0 review "The story just isn
  29. DavidW.
    Sep 30, 2007
    0
    There are large droves of people moving to and from Gamestop and the like to return their copies of the game which are causing disc read errors for no apparent reason (the discs in most cases are not scratched). In many cases merely playing Halo 3 completely bricks one's Xbox360 making even those games that were working fine before completely unplayable. So, not only is the gameThere are large droves of people moving to and from Gamestop and the like to return their copies of the game which are causing disc read errors for no apparent reason (the discs in most cases are not scratched). In many cases merely playing Halo 3 completely bricks one's Xbox360 making even those games that were working fine before completely unplayable. So, not only is the game entirely unoriginal and uninteresting, it turns your console into a door-stop. Halo 3 is for individuals with an innate inclination to take on a herd or sheep mentality, like Apple-tards, who need others to tell them what they enjoy or should enjoy and who have no problem letting their idolized companies take a piss all over them as long as they are endorsed by the masses.

    Make no mistake about the rave reviews which this game is getting: Microsoft has deep pockets and is most likely paying review sites to give the game sparkling and unduly high marks. As a review site your future depends on you doing this; if you don't do what the publishers want, they don't send you games to review early and thus you can't compete with review sites who do get them early for playing by the publishers' rules. Huge amounts of payola in the game review industry. This is one of the more salient examples of it. Don't be fooled.
    Expand
  30. AlexA.
    Mar 17, 2008
    4
    This game was worse than halo 2 and i didn't think halo 2 was all that great i mean it awas good but not that good.
  31. DamienQQQ
    Jun 9, 2008
    4
    Halo 3 is an over-rated disappointment. It's nearly a clone of halo/halo 2 with little more to offer. The story mode is Bungie at it's best, but it's multiplayer is something of a disaster. Besides the long wait to get on a server, small things like the way it matches highly experienced players verses beginners, waiting for a map to load before being able to veto, the way Halo 3 is an over-rated disappointment. It's nearly a clone of halo/halo 2 with little more to offer. The story mode is Bungie at it's best, but it's multiplayer is something of a disaster. Besides the long wait to get on a server, small things like the way it matches highly experienced players verses beginners, waiting for a map to load before being able to veto, the way you have to wait for every process imaginable just crushes any possible enjoyment you could achieve. The list could go on for many more paragraphs! They need to make some lessons from Valve or Epic and figure out the basics of how online gaming can be fun. Multiplayer is horribly broken at best, however, co-op and being allowed to have four players on one console for online are a nice perk to see these days. Expand
  32. bigfR
    Sep 2, 2008
    4
    The game is fun but unbalanced! and if you dont have live then there is no point in buying this game at all. bungie should have made the weapons (and especialy the beat downs) more balaced. overall fun with friends but not worth what the critics say!
  33. VianyteX
    Sep 27, 2008
    4
    Halo 3 is one of the most overated games ever. Fanboys are all over it and keep shouting about how its the best game ever. The single player is rather pathetic, poor storyline, poor characters and very basic and unimaginative levels. The enemies are a bit meh except the Brutes and the Hunters (I think they're called) but the Hunters were copied from Perfect Dark on the N64. Once Halo 3 is one of the most overated games ever. Fanboys are all over it and keep shouting about how its the best game ever. The single player is rather pathetic, poor storyline, poor characters and very basic and unimaginative levels. The enemies are a bit meh except the Brutes and the Hunters (I think they're called) but the Hunters were copied from Perfect Dark on the N64. Once you've played through the single player you probably won't ever come back to it. The online multiplayer is good but its not anything to cry about. Some of the stages are quite well made though. Overall Halo 3 is an average FPS. It doesn't do anything new, just tries to copy from other FPSs. The guns are unbalanced and uninteresting except the Spartan Laser. The online is alright. Forge is meh, its just Bungies lazy attempt at a stage builder. I would say Halo 3 is the worst FPS i've ever played. Perfect Dark is better than Halo 3 in every way except graphics and yet that was out 8 years before it. Half-Life, Goldeneye, Bioshock and Timesplitters are more examples of better made FPS's. CoD4 is another overated FPS but its definately better than Halo 3. Expand
  34. MarcA
    Nov 18, 2009
    4
    Sorry Halo fanboys, but i cant understand what all the hype is about. It was ok but thats it. I had it finished in 6 hours and was so glad that it was over. Had it not been for the second last mission i might have enjoyed the campaign a bit more, but honestly that had to be the worst level design of all time. Admittedly there were moments that i thought were very cool but not enough that Sorry Halo fanboys, but i cant understand what all the hype is about. It was ok but thats it. I had it finished in 6 hours and was so glad that it was over. Had it not been for the second last mission i might have enjoyed the campaign a bit more, but honestly that had to be the worst level design of all time. Admittedly there were moments that i thought were very cool but not enough that i'll be jumping on the Halo bandwagon anytime soon. I didint play the multiplayer so cant comment on that however. In summary - An ok game but not the gem i thought it'd be. Expand
  35. dustin
    Oct 21, 2009
    4
    No company should ever be praised like Bungie is. They release what should have been an expansion pack to a primarily multiplayer game, charge 60 bucks for it, and it gets a 94 meta?
    4 for effort. Halo:CE did it best, single and multiplayer for its new age shooter genre.
  36. JoshQ
    Jul 11, 2009
    4
    94, WTF? Stop being a follower and maybe you'll enjoy life more. How can you say a game that is so absurdly cliche, has that terrible run and gun mp that has no tactical nature to it whatsoever is a good game. The storyline, cheesy and cliche. The weapons have the mechanics of a game from the 90's, no ballistics whatsoever. Innovation? none. Short, boring, with no replay value. 94, WTF? Stop being a follower and maybe you'll enjoy life more. How can you say a game that is so absurdly cliche, has that terrible run and gun mp that has no tactical nature to it whatsoever is a good game. The storyline, cheesy and cliche. The weapons have the mechanics of a game from the 90's, no ballistics whatsoever. Innovation? none. Short, boring, with no replay value. Fanboy more people. Expand
  37. MazS
    Aug 8, 2009
    4
    Gave it a 4 for the multiplayer which is pretty fun (because of the features not the gameplay of it), but everything else is pretty crap! Especially the Single Player run around kill some monsters stupid cutscene run around kill some more monsters. I stopped playing after the 6th level wasn't really that great. And now as totally gone boring definitely not a 94 most overrated game Gave it a 4 for the multiplayer which is pretty fun (because of the features not the gameplay of it), but everything else is pretty crap! Especially the Single Player run around kill some monsters stupid cutscene run around kill some more monsters. I stopped playing after the 6th level wasn't really that great. And now as totally gone boring definitely not a 94 most overrated game too much better games out there. Expand
  38. RyanL
    Oct 1, 2007
    2
    Absolute crap. I have to say that Halo was, outright, the most fun I've ever had in an FPS. I absolutely hated Halo 2 and this 'revolutionary' FPS known as Halo 3 is just a shinier version of the second installment. Extremely repetitive. It doesn't feel as natural as the original (same problem with Halo 2). No real innovation. It's all gimmicks. In theAbsolute crap. I have to say that Halo was, outright, the most fun I've ever had in an FPS. I absolutely hated Halo 2 and this 'revolutionary' FPS known as Halo 3 is just a shinier version of the second installment. Extremely repetitive. It doesn't feel as natural as the original (same problem with Halo 2). No real innovation. It's all gimmicks. In the original, the storyline wasn't even important because the game was so damn fun. Storyline is important in RPGs, not FPSs. Expand
  39. RichardS.
    Oct 19, 2007
    4
    What a load of pants! I love Halo 1 - without doubt my favourite game. Every time I play it I can't help but marvel and exclaim out loud "I love this!" Halo 3, like Halo 2, bears no resemblance to the original classic. Halo was brilliant because it didn't have too many weapons, it had a couple of weapons all of which served a purpose. There was a brilliant mix of claustrophobic What a load of pants! I love Halo 1 - without doubt my favourite game. Every time I play it I can't help but marvel and exclaim out loud "I love this!" Halo 3, like Halo 2, bears no resemblance to the original classic. Halo was brilliant because it didn't have too many weapons, it had a couple of weapons all of which served a purpose. There was a brilliant mix of claustrophobic corridor action and a few open-field action pieces. There were a few machines, all of which played a different part in the story. Halo 3 couldn't be more different. Like Halo 2 it is now a naff and boring team-squad type game with loads of pointless and horrible weapons no-one wants to use, too many vehicles, loads of massive open-play battlefields with zero tension and zero fun. Instead of tense, close-quarter battles, now you have bland heavy-weapon warfare - it's like playing Mechwarrior or something rubbish like that. Better than Halo 2. But still rubbish. Expand
  40. WilliamB.
    Oct 24, 2007
    1
    While the real score for this game should be somewhere around 6/10, I'll give it a 1, because no game--NO game--should get overscored 100/100. That's ridiculous; Half-Life2 didn't get it, so neither do you Halo. Because despite your best efforts, you've produced a mediocre shooter. Not bad, not good, just average. And getting astronomical scores like so many roses at While the real score for this game should be somewhere around 6/10, I'll give it a 1, because no game--NO game--should get overscored 100/100. That's ridiculous; Half-Life2 didn't get it, so neither do you Halo. Because despite your best efforts, you've produced a mediocre shooter. Not bad, not good, just average. And getting astronomical scores like so many roses at one's feet is not what Mediocre deserves. Expand
  41. MeMe
    Oct 29, 2007
    0
    There's nothing to enjoy about this game. This game is narrow minded, boring, unimpressive, and lame. How come a talking grunt is louder than my assault rifle? Why do my submachine guns point up when I fire them? Guns recoil into your shoulder not jump up in the air. Why must it go to 3rd person, I can't get into a game when I'm just watching my character do something, I There's nothing to enjoy about this game. This game is narrow minded, boring, unimpressive, and lame. How come a talking grunt is louder than my assault rifle? Why do my submachine guns point up when I fire them? Guns recoil into your shoulder not jump up in the air. Why must it go to 3rd person, I can't get into a game when I'm just watching my character do something, I want to feel like I'm doing it. Why does it take me out of my scope just because I was shot. Every gun sucks, there is no gun in this "sci-fi" shooter that isn't even remotely more sophisticated or more deadly than weapons we use now in 2007. And where is my ammo! Why do I only carry 3 extra mags for my rifle. I'm always short on ammo, but I guess it doesn't matte because it's easier just to punch every enemy to death. People, you need to wake up, this is not what makes a game "good". Play the Half Life 2 series and you'll see what innovation, and excellent game play is ALL about. Expand
  42. ChrisS.
    Oct 5, 2007
    0
    I have to give this letdown a zero due to the fanboys who give it a 10. This game is a major letdown. The series has lasted one game to long. There is nothing new or revolutionary about Halo3. The best of the series is easily the original. Horrible hit detection, laggy game play. They actually somehow made the game more boring. Congrats Bungie. See you people on COD 4.
  43. AnonymousMC
    Sep 26, 2007
    2
    My real vote is actually an 8, but I give it a 2 to counteract the fanboys who say stuff like "HALO 3 ROCKS. 10".

    Halo 2 did such a great job introducing new elements eg dual-wield, cloak armor, play as arbiter, prophets, brutes, drones, very good twist on storyline and managed to let you relive the "wow" feeling of the 1st one. Halo 3 - graphical leap isn't what it should have
    My real vote is actually an 8, but I give it a 2 to counteract the fanboys who say stuff like "HALO 3 ROCKS. 10".

    Halo 2 did such a great job introducing new elements eg dual-wield, cloak armor, play as arbiter, prophets, brutes, drones, very good twist on storyline and managed to let you relive the "wow" feeling of the 1st one.

    Halo 3 - graphical leap isn't what it should have been, considering 360. New gameplay elements like bubble shield etc are under-utilized (vehicles should bounce off), way fewer movies that either filled narrative gaps or added immersion. Last level = very fun, but identical to Halo 1's last level which was fun.

    Bottom line : What did Bungie spend 3 years doing, honestly?
    Expand
  44. dramallama
    Sep 26, 2007
    1
    i have no clue how people can play these awful games on a console, fps with controller is awful. maybe the audience for this game is just younger, and hasnt had time to grow up with amazing titles. dunno, i've never been impressed with halo. if its your thing, maybe you will enjoy it. but coming from the days of DOS.. this game is a joke. sadly most games are crappy ports nowadays,i have no clue how people can play these awful games on a console, fps with controller is awful. maybe the audience for this game is just younger, and hasnt had time to grow up with amazing titles. dunno, i've never been impressed with halo. if its your thing, maybe you will enjoy it. but coming from the days of DOS.. this game is a joke. sadly most games are crappy ports nowadays, this game had such a large advertising campaign drilling it into little kids heads that its the greatest ever... its no wonder its doing well. battlefield 2142 is more fun to me, personally. 64 people with tons of vehicles and madness? oh yea. plus it doesnt take me 4 seconds to turn around heh. like i said if this is your idea of fun enjoy it. to each their own *shrug* Expand
  45. PDiddy
    Sep 26, 2007
    2
    Umm, doesn't it seem weird that all the users who gave this game a 10/10 or 9/10 did simple one liners. Don't you think its possible that Microsoft has a few pieces of ....... that are on here putting 10's up to boost it's score??? These corporations sink to ever lower levels every day.
  46. Halo3
    Sep 26, 2007
    2
    I thought I got a flawed copy at first, but no, the campaign is really that short! For a game thats been developing for 3 or so years, they didn't get far. The graphics aren't all too great, you rarely know where to go, and (SPOILER) the last stage is the same as Halo 1 (escape the exploding ship in a Warthog)! And the ending of the credits, you see the Master Chief alive, inI thought I got a flawed copy at first, but no, the campaign is really that short! For a game thats been developing for 3 or so years, they didn't get far. The graphics aren't all too great, you rarely know where to go, and (SPOILER) the last stage is the same as Halo 1 (escape the exploding ship in a Warthog)! And the ending of the credits, you see the Master Chief alive, in deep space, and in he went into cryosleep for 200 years (one of the halo books say how long). So he didn't die, he just got left behind! Expand
  47. ChuckieA.
    Sep 28, 2007
    0
    I recently finished the entire game & felt very Satisfied to what it had to offer, then i tried the online play. WOW!!! Incredible!! I could not tell you how amazing it is to play against 40 other players at once, you have to see for yourself.
  48. EmilB.
    Mar 13, 2008
    4
    This is probably the most overhyped/overscored game ever. Pink weapons, very bad splitscreen! You dont even have the full screen. Monsters sound like some cartoon movie monster. Multiplayer is slow. This game is for kids. Im going back to COD4
  49. oliverB
    Dec 27, 2009
    4
    i can find nothing unique about this generic FPS. seriously, its just another sci-fi shooter with sub-par graphics and boring gameplay. if this was another standalone game, it would get horrible reviews, but just because of all of the halo fanboys, it gets good reviews.
  50. EdwardJ
    Feb 7, 2009
    4
    I've been a Bungie fan for years (since Pathways) and I'm pretty certain this is the worst Bungie game I've ever played. Halo 3 is essentially Halo 2 running at a higher resolution with some pretty water effects. The storyline remains generic, the characters don't flesh out, and it retains the gameplay of Halo and Halo 2 without adding anything new to the franchise. I've been a Bungie fan for years (since Pathways) and I'm pretty certain this is the worst Bungie game I've ever played. Halo 3 is essentially Halo 2 running at a higher resolution with some pretty water effects. The storyline remains generic, the characters don't flesh out, and it retains the gameplay of Halo and Halo 2 without adding anything new to the franchise. Multiplayer is fine, but I've been playing Halo 2 since 2004, and it's the *exact same thing*. Yeah, they added deployables, but it doesn't change the gameplay mechanics, so you might as well not bother using them. Don't bother 'finishing the fight', its just not worth your time and $60. Expand
  51. Giterdone
    Sep 25, 2007
    4
    The most overhyped let down in history. I honestly don't know where to begin. Barely next gen graphics, identical gameplay, and so on. M$ has lined the pockets of these reviewers. Either that or they hacked this site and put in all of their own reviews. At least when people's shitbox 360 RRoD during this game (which is inevitable) they won't be crying that they can'tThe most overhyped let down in history. I honestly don't know where to begin. Barely next gen graphics, identical gameplay, and so on. M$ has lined the pockets of these reviewers. Either that or they hacked this site and put in all of their own reviews. At least when people's shitbox 360 RRoD during this game (which is inevitable) they won't be crying that they can't play Halo....cause they'll realize it got old fast. Expand
  52. jeffpresley
    Sep 25, 2007
    3
    WHAT A BUST! SAVE YOUR MONEY!I figured with Halo 2 being somewhat boring in single player mode and with new technology that Halo 3 would have the textiles or graphics that it would make the game seem more real but instead I feel like I'm playing my old x-box again. SAVE YOUR MONEY! Go BUY Gears of War. That's worth your while. HALO YOUR TIME IS DONE!
  53. Jun 10, 2011
    1
    This game sucks really bad. First of all, graphics suck; it looks like a freaking PS2 game. The AI is terrible, but that may be because they are stupid aliens, still... Oh, and multiplayer is my biggest issue with this game. Not gonna get into it because many users have written exactly what I think.
  54. Jun 12, 2011
    4
    I have to say that this game is the most overrated game of all time. I enjoyed Halo 2 but Halo 3 is just one big disappointment. This game was very hyped, maybe that's why I got disappointed. The story is unfortunately very dull and I was expecting something new but it's doesn't feel new at all. Halo 3 feels repetitive...boring....and I've seen everything before!
  55. Jul 4, 2011
    4
    Where to begin. First off, I will say this is not a â
  56. Apr 15, 2013
    4
    What IS the fascination with this lame, tacky, hollow, pointless shooter?

    Dull enemies, dull weapons, just dull and lacking in any flair or impact all-round.

    Saving graces for this game include varied missions, vehicles, flexibility of the game engine and fast-paced gameplay.

    Overall though you'd do far, far better with Killzone, FEAR, Perfect Dark Zero, Half-Life 2 or many other games.
  57. Nov 21, 2011
    2
    Overhyped, and overated - I just couldn't get into this at all. The most off putting thing for me was the bouncy, flimsy feel to both the player and the weapons â
  58. Jul 5, 2013
    0
    Hi, I do not really like this game because in my opinion is a cheap copy of unreal tournament, the only halo that is worth halo reach to rest all are cheap copies of unreal tournament.
  59. Apr 8, 2014
    0
    Unfortunately, I at one time loved the Halo series, so it was inevitable that I would eventually get the 3rd installment in the series. Now let's breakdown what an utter piece of crap this game was and why 2700 other users on this site need to be sterilized so they can't breed. To utter a term coined by one Yahtzee Croshaw, (who I normally adamantly disagree with) This game is a spunkUnfortunately, I at one time loved the Halo series, so it was inevitable that I would eventually get the 3rd installment in the series. Now let's breakdown what an utter piece of crap this game was and why 2700 other users on this site need to be sterilized so they can't breed. To utter a term coined by one Yahtzee Croshaw, (who I normally adamantly disagree with) This game is a spunk gargle wee wee. Not only is there little to no chance of dying, because just hide til your shields replenish, there are no real threats in the game. The title itself looks more like halo 2 than a next gen title like it was, the physics are really screwed up, picking a turret up slows you down but you still jump like their is reduced gravity. The storyline wasn't as good as the predecessors, This game was designed for the 13 year old kids to get a headshot and then talk crap to series gamers. I'd say get this game only to see what needs to be changed in the new games coming out. Once again its up to us to change the industry, buying a 59.99 expansion like madden 15, or Halo 5, just isn't something I'm willing to do. Some argue the online for this game is what defines it. Unfortunately for me, online isn't what makes a game, the play, story, and characters make the game. Expand
  60. Nov 25, 2014
    1
    Una de las mayores tomaduras de pelo en marketing de la historia de los videojuegos (Microsoft no dejó que la prensa mostrara imágenes del modo historia hasta por lo menos su estreno, no fuera que se le viera el plumero al jueguecito). Las dos primeras entregas tuvieron su gracia y razón de ser en la primera xbox, fueron un espectáculo audiovisual sin precedentes en consola y tenían unaUna de las mayores tomaduras de pelo en marketing de la historia de los videojuegos (Microsoft no dejó que la prensa mostrara imágenes del modo historia hasta por lo menos su estreno, no fuera que se le viera el plumero al jueguecito). Las dos primeras entregas tuvieron su gracia y razón de ser en la primera xbox, fueron un espectáculo audiovisual sin precedentes en consola y tenían una historia interesante. Pero todo esto se acabó al llegar 360. Halo 3 es más de lo mismo, un refrito barato de las dos entregas anteriores, un juego que no evoluciona y que queda lejos de ser referente de nada en 360. Un juego que ya sólo sirve para que un montón de niñatos, que se creen aficionados a los videojuegos, se peguen tiros por internet. Patético. Expand
  61. AaronB.
    Oct 15, 2007
    4
    Borrrinnngggg. Its lost all the magic the first episode had....and gained the tedious gameplay from the second one. Its sooo linear.The graphics are superb though; the sound is a pain- you can't adjust the volume in any way just like the other 2 games. Very frustrating. Online is laggy, takes ages to find a decent game and to be honest hasn't been back in my xbox since I Borrrinnngggg. Its lost all the magic the first episode had....and gained the tedious gameplay from the second one. Its sooo linear.The graphics are superb though; the sound is a pain- you can't adjust the volume in any way just like the other 2 games. Very frustrating. Online is laggy, takes ages to find a decent game and to be honest hasn't been back in my xbox since I finished the limp campaign. Having to backtrack through several of the levels you've just fought your way through sucks (there is a lot of backtracking, trust me). Last level is shit. I'm actually going to give the game a 4 rating as writing this review has just reminded me how grinding the single player missions were, and I originally had given it 7. What a shame. I don't know how many times I played the first one over the life cycle of my original xbox, it was loads. God what a waste. Linear, linear, linear. I can't believe I've just given Halo 3 a 4 rating. I waited soo long for it as well. Should have known better after the travesty of Halo 2. Expand
  62. RolfS.
    Oct 8, 2007
    2
    Yawn. Played it already. It was called Halo 2.
  63. BenA.
    Oct 9, 2007
    2
    Basically all that needs to be said about Halo 3 is that its Halo 2 redone with better graphics and a few new toys. The plot of the campaign is mostly meaningless and pointless to follow for the most part. Its done nothing new and even the fps elements that it did manage to pull off have been done already, and better. But the main reason why ever buys this game is of course for the MP, Basically all that needs to be said about Halo 3 is that its Halo 2 redone with better graphics and a few new toys. The plot of the campaign is mostly meaningless and pointless to follow for the most part. Its done nothing new and even the fps elements that it did manage to pull off have been done already, and better. But the main reason why ever buys this game is of course for the MP, which in and of itself is mediocre. There is nothing inherently ground breaking about anything in Halo. I for one don't accept the argument that the MP makes up for the poor single player. Its being hailed as such an immense achievement for the world of gaming. Shouldn't have to be excused for its poor story and game play because of all the 12 year olds that play it online What you really get when you buy this game is half of a game. Might as well save 30 bucks and buy Team Fortress 2 which is only a MP game. Expand
  64. ShayneV.
    Sep 28, 2007
    3
    This game sucks. Campaign sucks and thats why i played the game. They put to much time into multiplayer then they did the story. In my opinion the halo series is one the most over rated series to ever be put onto a system
  65. BenH.
    May 13, 2008
    3
    This game is ok. But It's the same thing everytime I play a new Halo game. Half-Life is so much better. The storyline is so much deeper and more fun. Every game in Half-life leaves me hanging for the next game Halo has never done that. Halo does the some thing and some guns are not that fun to use. And it seems like you'er useing the guns each game they make. Thats why I will This game is ok. But It's the same thing everytime I play a new Halo game. Half-Life is so much better. The storyline is so much deeper and more fun. Every game in Half-life leaves me hanging for the next game Halo has never done that. Halo does the some thing and some guns are not that fun to use. And it seems like you'er useing the guns each game they make. Thats why I will own this game. Expand
  66. Jon
    Jun 6, 2008
    1
    This game is garbage. The only thing good about it is it's noobfest of a multiplayer which is terrible! I f you want a real gam play gears, that delivers everything from an epic storyline to the most intense multiplayer next to COD4. Halo 3 fnas = noobs, after Halo: Combat Evolved this game went into the toilettes.
  67. jamesr
    Jul 13, 2008
    0
    unrealistic in comparison to cod 4 and no where near as fun! Pathetic attempt at another halo game!
  68. KeyserS
    May 1, 2009
    0
    This game does not live up to the hype. The controls are poor - ruining a lot of gunplay - it shouldn't be the case that you are *less* accurate aiming with ironsights, than when you shoot from the hip. The maps are large, but badly designed. The engine does them a lot of favours because the environments look great with blowing wind and dust and visibility varies in locations, which This game does not live up to the hype. The controls are poor - ruining a lot of gunplay - it shouldn't be the case that you are *less* accurate aiming with ironsights, than when you shoot from the hip. The maps are large, but badly designed. The engine does them a lot of favours because the environments look great with blowing wind and dust and visibility varies in locations, which is all great. But moving around the maps is very boring and straightforward. There aren't really alternate routes - like players had with movement in CoD4, going over walls, or through crawlspaces. The single player is largely an exercise in patience - fighting the same footsoldiers over and over again, and using the same basic weapons with the same problems (only sniper rifle benefitting from you aiming carefully with it). The cover system is implemented reasonably well - but it is a bit too clunky. Also - the cover system does not apply in multiplayer - so it doesn't matter if it's well done if it's absent. This game doesn't know what it wants to be. Gunplay is worse than CoD4 (a LOT worse) - ranking up wasn't implemented correctly (in a lot of cases in CoD4 you got the best guns at lower classes - mp5, ak47 from start etc), and unlocked cool features that kept the game interesting as you ranked up. In KZ2, you start with crap guns you won't go back to after you rank up, if you bother to stick with the game. I feel like I've wasted my money on this game - it was totally overhyped, and it's inferior to titles from last year. Also, the storyline is terrible, the settings for levels very repetitive, the range of game modes in MP is fine but none of them are fun - none are fast and furious, you'll do well by strategic camping - if you're good enough to play a game that rewards reactions and accuracy, you'll get penalised for that in this game. It's the Xbox360's Killzone - a dumbed down lowest common denominator shooter - but with a lot less variety in terms of weapons, a lot less speed in terms of gameplay, no local multiplayer on split screen. Expand
  69. BillyB
    Jun 20, 2009
    3
    Now, I am not a PS3 fanboy, but honestly there are way better Online Fps's on the 360. Team Fortress or Call of duty. Most of the online modes are complete s**t while the story is boring and uninteresting. To all who posted below me and said that "Halo 1-3 is ripped off from a book" it's not. The book is a fan fiction based off of the games.
  70. michaelheslington
    Nov 10, 2007
    1
    there are many problems with this game 1. needler to strong. 2. level up system all rong you may think you have fixed it bungie but know you havent. some people level up alot faster then others. halo 2 is defently better people so dont waste your money on halo 3 its not worth it. get a more skill involved game like cod4 or halo 2 !!!
  71. AndyL.
    Oct 12, 2007
    1
    I guess that Halo3 is great IF you've never played another FPS all your life or have only been playing games on console for the past 10 years. The story is weak, the graphics are pulled straight from Halo2, and the game doesn't really try to do anything innovative. If you LOVED Halo2 then you'll like this. If however you have played; Half-Life (1&2), System Shock 2, Thief, I guess that Halo3 is great IF you've never played another FPS all your life or have only been playing games on console for the past 10 years. The story is weak, the graphics are pulled straight from Halo2, and the game doesn't really try to do anything innovative. If you LOVED Halo2 then you'll like this. If however you have played; Half-Life (1&2), System Shock 2, Thief, Unreal Tournament, Quake, BioShock, or in fact any other FPS on a PC in the last 10 years, do yourself a favour, save the cash and buy Half-Life 2 Orange Box instead. Expand
  72. Klm1
    Oct 13, 2007
    4
    Boring storyline. Really bad gameplay. here's a list of what could be done to improve gameplay.
    1. New storyline (enough with the cliff hangers leading to disappointing finishes)
    2. should have bought back the homing rocket 3. not enough use of the Spartan laser (whats the point of bringing it into the game if we are not gonna get to use it all that much) 4. Let's pilot more
    Boring storyline. Really bad gameplay. here's a list of what could be done to improve gameplay.
    1. New storyline (enough with the cliff hangers leading to disappointing finishes)
    2. should have bought back the homing rocket
    3. not enough use of the Spartan laser (whats the point of bringing it into the game if we are not gonna get to use it all that much)
    4. Let's pilot more vehicles (wraiths were easily destroyed and I don't remember being able to pilot any banshee's). The stupid flying unsc vehicle (whatever its called) sucked. you could not get it to fly high enough. WHAT GIVES?
    5. Let's pilot a SCARAB. how about that?
    6. Give us better bosses (like halo 2). fighting the scarab's was the only boss that was interesting in the whole game
    7. If the gravemind was evil, let master chief finish him off, not another nuclear bomb-run-for-your-life ending.
    8. more ability to scale the terrain
    9. bring back dual weilding needlers
    10. if you are gonna bring back weapons from the first game, make sure the player has the ability to use it like they did in the first game (a.k.a pistol - no zooming capability)

    thats all i have to say. thoroughly disappointed after finishing the game even on legendary.
    Expand
  73. RJP
    Nov 4, 2007
    4
    Honestly, this is one of the most overhyped and overrated games in modern history. I really enjoyed the first Halo, but this one is nothing more than being an expansion to Halo 2. Graphics are bad, gameplay gets boring, and the campaign is way too short and the ending is unsatisfying. Even my friends who were into the game before are now already bored of Halo 3. We even beat it on Honestly, this is one of the most overhyped and overrated games in modern history. I really enjoyed the first Halo, but this one is nothing more than being an expansion to Halo 2. Graphics are bad, gameplay gets boring, and the campaign is way too short and the ending is unsatisfying. Even my friends who were into the game before are now already bored of Halo 3. We even beat it on legendary, and still felt bored doing it! I guess the fanboys don't know how to review a game objectively, and instead act on impulse and excitement. gimme a break. Expand
  74. BenW.
    Oct 17, 2007
    3
    It really is overratted. I never bought into the ype but even i was suprised when i played this. Boring, dull and ugly. Its in no way original and barely an improvement on the 2nd game. Rubbish m player and even worse single player does not a good game make.
  75. AdiS.
    Oct 29, 2007
    0
    Utterly disappointed! It's like playing Halo 2... There is nothing so new as to qualify this as a new Halo. There is no suspense; you simply know that the AI is too stupid to actually get you. And you are practically immortal. Don
  76. KrisW.
    Oct 4, 2007
    2
    Terrible game, nothing original. There is no real depth to the single player and it may just have the dullest multiplayer of all time. This is just a pollished up marathon. For the amount of time it took to develop and produce this game only leads me to belive you were to busy concentrating on what the competition were doing. Innovation not Recreation is what modern gamers want!!!
  77. AnonymousMC
    Oct 5, 2007
    4
    Halo is possibly one of the most overhyped video-games ever created. The campaign is short, unsatisfying, unoriginal, and absolutely lacking in anything that could differentiate it from a generic FPS. The multiplayer is, while popular nowadays, really nothing to get excited about, as it includes an unfair balance of weapons and a ridiculous "shield" system of damaging other players.Halo is possibly one of the most overhyped video-games ever created. The campaign is short, unsatisfying, unoriginal, and absolutely lacking in anything that could differentiate it from a generic FPS. The multiplayer is, while popular nowadays, really nothing to get excited about, as it includes an unfair balance of weapons and a ridiculous "shield" system of damaging other players. Don't give it the time of day. Expand
  78. JohnM.
    Oct 7, 2007
    2
    highly overated, and extremely repetitive. i hated the first one due to the level with the mutant like things in the dark being the same section repeated over and over again with no change, boring and repetitive, second halo was an improvement, but for this game being on next gen console, what the hell is different, fair graphics considering what other chois]ces we have, and same old highly overated, and extremely repetitive. i hated the first one due to the level with the mutant like things in the dark being the same section repeated over and over again with no change, boring and repetitive, second halo was an improvement, but for this game being on next gen console, what the hell is different, fair graphics considering what other chois]ces we have, and same old gameplay, short and dull single campaign, and multiplayer maybe good but what the hell are people without online supposed to do? its obvouse the makers only cared about their online gamers and nothing for the actual game itself Expand
  79. Rex
    Sep 26, 2007
    3
    Why not just call the game Halo Live, because they get the single player campaign out of the way so quickly, the only value in this game is on Live. I'm sure it's amazing online, but I'll never find out, because the experience of playing Halo 2 online was so soured by all the little American teenage gimps whineing, cheating, and badmouthing you, that I have no plans to Why not just call the game Halo Live, because they get the single player campaign out of the way so quickly, the only value in this game is on Live. I'm sure it's amazing online, but I'll never find out, because the experience of playing Halo 2 online was so soured by all the little American teenage gimps whineing, cheating, and badmouthing you, that I have no plans to revist it with Halo 3. Single player campaign very disappointing, especially when compared to the graphics, art, innovation, and storyline of Bioshock. Bungie hasn't moved forward since Halo 1. Not a bad game, just over familiar to the point of boredom. Expand
  80. StevenM.
    Sep 28, 2007
    1
    Looks pretty good shame it's so basic in it's combat system and so unevolved in it's feel/characters. As a shooter it feels like a kids game.
  81. Hello
    Sep 28, 2007
    1
    Most overrated game ever perhaps. Rented the game, but only for the multiplayer. Played for a couple hours and came away more than disappointed. The game wasn't just NOT GOOD, but it was terrible. The vehicles don't feel right at all, the movement is incredibly slow, the guns were crappy and generic, the graphics were sub-par, and the menu to actually find multiplayer games was Most overrated game ever perhaps. Rented the game, but only for the multiplayer. Played for a couple hours and came away more than disappointed. The game wasn't just NOT GOOD, but it was terrible. The vehicles don't feel right at all, the movement is incredibly slow, the guns were crappy and generic, the graphics were sub-par, and the menu to actually find multiplayer games was beyond terrible. I played and beat Halo 2 and came away decently satisfied with the game because I played it COOP with my bro but I never played it's multiplayer. Apparently I didn't miss anything if it was basically the same as Halo 3 but with worse graphics. Save your money and buy Team Fortress 2...a much better game in every single way. Haven't stopped playing the beta on the PC since it came out. Expand
  82. thePROPHET
    Sep 29, 2007
    0
    Truly an abysmal effort by Bungie to cash out on this aging, stale franchise, Halo 3 fails on almost every level with lackluster visuals (720 p my butt!), attrocious pacing, boring and rehashed evironments, and constant bug crashing. The online, while solid, is of course ruined by a deluge of toddlers.
  83. AnonMouse
    Dec 11, 2008
    2
    Okay, stop calling low raters "PS3 Fanboys." First of all, you don't see the "PS3 fanboys" (Do you see any? I don't see any) saying that YOU jacks$$es are giving it 10s because YOU are fanboys. Secondly, to the 0's, this game isn't THAT horrible. It's definitely a step up from the horrendously bad Halo 2. This version has Forge, new maps, new multiplayer modes, Okay, stop calling low raters "PS3 Fanboys." First of all, you don't see the "PS3 fanboys" (Do you see any? I don't see any) saying that YOU jacks$$es are giving it 10s because YOU are fanboys. Secondly, to the 0's, this game isn't THAT horrible. It's definitely a step up from the horrendously bad Halo 2. This version has Forge, new maps, new multiplayer modes, etc. I agree, however, that the storyline is utter bull-manure. What can you expect from a developer that has been producing multiplayer blockbusters? The gameplay is less than "stellar." It's an unrealistic shooter with incredibly unrealistic physics. It's just another FPS. This is not as good as it's hyped to be. Even the multiplayer is lacking. Sure, joining a server is easy and there's practically no lag whatsoever, but you'll constantly see your favorite maps being voted out, there is no teamwork whatsover (I know people who TK in order to get the flag and the point), and firefights are chaotic and pointless. There is not strategy involved because the maps are linear. Voice acting is pretty good though. The music is not epic. All the plasma guns sound the same. The graphics are not next-gen. If you claim that this is so, you are a very ignorant gamer who shouldn't even be called a "gamer." Jumbo-sized pixels mar the textures on EVERYTHING and they STILL haven't fixed the darn faces! The cutscenes look pretty good, but can't compare to Blizzard/Square Enix stuff. This game will last a long time...if you can stand the grossly immature kids that haunt every server. Halo 3 sees the worst of this, simply because all the dumb 8-year olds are led to believe that this is the most fun FPS ever, and it's so hyped, even preschoolers have heard of it. Local multiplayer is the most rewarding due to this and innumerable players who brag about their phalluses of gigantic proportions or who play 23 hours a day and call others "noobs" for having lives and doing something productive. This game does not deserve a 0, but it also definitely does not deserve a 10. Generic "newbie" FPS gameplay with a less-than-memorable storyline, pretty bad sounds, mediocre multiplayer, and laughable graphics make this game one of the worst 360 games released. But not the worst. There are ones like Barbie... Expand
  84. AnonymousMC
    Oct 26, 2008
    1
    being a huge fan of the first halo i am really disappointed at how halo 2 and 3 have turned out. Instead of building something beautiful out of the success of the first halo, we instead receive pretty much an exact replica of the first game just in different maps and even then it isn't that much different. The story is poor at best, and you have no real connection with the masterbeing a huge fan of the first halo i am really disappointed at how halo 2 and 3 have turned out. Instead of building something beautiful out of the success of the first halo, we instead receive pretty much an exact replica of the first game just in different maps and even then it isn't that much different. The story is poor at best, and you have no real connection with the master chief as he is just a faceless robot that happens to be a super soldier, it's annoying that there is more connectivity to the other characters than yours. The shooting in the game needs no skill as it rewards the spray and pray style compared to a more tactical and accurate approach, and although this is fun I find it too easy to kill the Covenant during the game. Multiplayer is fun.... when with the right people unfortunately if not you're in for one hell of a time as kids do nothing but hurl obscenities at you on a map that you have played over and over and over again. unfortunately that experience has led me to have a very negative view on multiplayer as well. Expand
  85. xenophobic
    Jan 5, 2008
    3
    i don't usually agree w/ other users when they say highly-rated games are overrated but i'm going to agree with them this time. This game is overrated. Single player is crap. There is really nothing unique about the gameplay experience unlike bioshock/portal except that it lets you jump 3 times higher than normal (sort of like sv_gravity 300 @ counter-strike) w/c is plainlyi don't usually agree w/ other users when they say highly-rated games are overrated but i'm going to agree with them this time. This game is overrated. Single player is crap. There is really nothing unique about the gameplay experience unlike bioshock/portal except that it lets you jump 3 times higher than normal (sort of like sv_gravity 300 @ counter-strike) w/c is plainly laughable. It's like they're more interested in ripping our cash off for the multiplayer mode (xbox live) instead of making something epic and memorable. I want my money back! Expand
  86. AidanJ.
    Mar 2, 2008
    0
    It's not a zero, but this could maybe help realign the balance. This game is a 5 or 6 out of 10, it's average. Nothing special. What's there is well executed, but lacks originality.
  87. NickW.
    Mar 6, 2008
    0
    Don't believe the hype this game is so over rated. One of the worst FPS I have ever played. If you want a good FPS buy Call of Duty 4 or the up and coming Timesplitters or Haze! Alien shooting C**P!
  88. Daniel
    Apr 1, 2008
    3
    I was completely unsatisfied with the experience.
  89. SmagaD.
    Jun 25, 2008
    1
    This game is a fricken monster to mankind if there was anything below 0 i would of given it that.
  90. nick
    Jul 26, 2008
    1
    Ok I really loved halo 1 and halo 2 was barely ok and i thought this one would be different and save the series but no they just took a bunch of random words and slapped covenet and the rings in there for the story and the shotting requires no strategy or thinking all you have to do is run in a circle and hold the fire button to win and yes i was on easy and to all of you who say i should Ok I really loved halo 1 and halo 2 was barely ok and i thought this one would be different and save the series but no they just took a bunch of random words and slapped covenet and the rings in there for the story and the shotting requires no strategy or thinking all you have to do is run in a circle and hold the fire button to win and yes i was on easy and to all of you who say i should try playing on a arder difficulty. SCREW YOU also i dont give a care about xbox live if a game that has singleplayer is only good on multiplayer then whats the point of multiolayer. Expand
  91. johnDoe
    Jul 4, 2008
    2
    This game is good to play ONCE and single player goes from NOT INTERESTING -> Slightly Interesting -> P*SS Poor .

    I regret getting this for my birthday.

    If you really want to play this game, pay $7 and rent it, DO NOT BUY <---HORRIBLE GAME TO OWN
    Gets boring in under a week.
  92. MarcusL
    Apr 3, 2009
    3
    Halo has been a series that made the Xbox what it is. Halo was amazing for it's time, with awesome mulitplayer and a compeling story. Halo 2 enhanced the graphics, continued the story and best of all, had Xbox LIVE multiplayer. Now, an expected third installment is out, and..... it tripped on it's shoelaces. First of all, is the story. The story can be completed in around 7 or Halo has been a series that made the Xbox what it is. Halo was amazing for it's time, with awesome mulitplayer and a compeling story. Halo 2 enhanced the graphics, continued the story and best of all, had Xbox LIVE multiplayer. Now, an expected third installment is out, and..... it tripped on it's shoelaces. First of all, is the story. The story can be completed in around 7 or so hours, which is nothing nowadays. Secondly, is the multiplayer side of things. Sure the usual 16-player matchmacking is great, but the custom games is littered with awful custom made maps and games. I know I'm critizing this game on the public's creations, but really, it's the public's fault. Thirdly is the map packs. Yes, some are good, but the rest are pointless and a waste of space. Add the fact that they all started off at the price of 800 Microsoft points, and you've reached fanboy central if you buy all of them. All in all, Halo 3 would have been a good game, if it wasn't for an awfully short campaign, awful custom maps and expensive and mainly crap maps, and you've got a dissapointing end to a great series. Expand
  93. DanielV.
    Aug 11, 2009
    1
    This game is absolutely horrendous, and ridiculously over hyped. Seriously, a 94? The story is bland, and the multiplayer is nothing to get even remotely excited about.

    This is one of the few games that has mad me lose more and more faith in humanity. I honestly don't see how people can enjoy this game like the reviewers do. If you want a real game that out does Halo 3 in every
    This game is absolutely horrendous, and ridiculously over hyped. Seriously, a 94? The story is bland, and the multiplayer is nothing to get even remotely excited about.

    This is one of the few games that has mad me lose more and more faith in humanity. I honestly don't see how people can enjoy this game like the reviewers do. If you want a real game that out does Halo 3 in every facet; play Half-Life 2.
    Expand
  94. NJ
    Oct 1, 2007
    3
    Not even HD. Moore and Gates were claiming just two E3s ago Halo would be the best game graphically on any system and were showing supposed "in-game" footage. Now the game is out and it's nowhere close to the footage they showed, infact the game isn't even HD. It's only 640p resolution, upscaled to 1080p. Very disappointed.
  95. A.Nonymous
    Oct 13, 2007
    2
    An obnoxious, uninspiring mess of a game. Halo truly is the Harry Potter of the gaming world; a generic thing at the right place at the right time. At best, I would have given this a 4-5, but the fact that it has been neglected to the point of utter indiference by it's creators and portrays itself as a masterpiece, it deserves a 2. Do not believe the hype.
  96. ToddT.
    Oct 13, 2007
    3
    this game was a joke in comparison of the first two halos. it took around 8 hrs play to beat this game. it was short and way to easy, I hope this is not the last one, unless they can not do any better than this one.
  97. IainC.
    Oct 14, 2007
    4
    i had more fun killing my allies in groups over and over then actually playing the game. you can tell that they started to run out of story ideas after the second halo. and they may have had no choice. the story of halo was a story that would have been better off with no ending. the way the story is written really doesnt let their be a descent ending. but. the first halo will always be my i had more fun killing my allies in groups over and over then actually playing the game. you can tell that they started to run out of story ideas after the second halo. and they may have had no choice. the story of halo was a story that would have been better off with no ending. the way the story is written really doesnt let their be a descent ending. but. the first halo will always be my favorite game. and if any thing, bungie should work on remaking the first halo and improving it. Expand
  98. JamieLea
    Oct 14, 2007
    1
    Played the single player on coop for a couple hours or so with a few friends before we released how boring and uninpsired it is. And of course the multiplayer is average DM whatever, just like the first two. But what do you expect? It's Halo. Just another average shooter that people salivate over because it was the only one on either xbox...until now.
  99. GarrettW.
    Oct 17, 2007
    3
    God I don't see what Halo fans have been fanboyizing about, Half-Life 2 as a singleplayer game and TeamFortress 2 as a Multiplayer game are way better. Just buy the orange box.
  100. Hasm123G.
    Nov 7, 2007
    3
    Come on...this is really just such an excuse. I cant stand it. Halo one was my favorite and i felt excited everytime I played it. #2 was dry in campaighn but at least it bright new multiplayer. THIS ONE brings almost nothing new to the table. what, a 2.5 hour campaign and some dumbcrap maps. They aren't even interesting maps. The guns are boring and there are way to many small and Come on...this is really just such an excuse. I cant stand it. Halo one was my favorite and i felt excited everytime I played it. #2 was dry in campaighn but at least it bright new multiplayer. THIS ONE brings almost nothing new to the table. what, a 2.5 hour campaign and some dumbcrap maps. They aren't even interesting maps. The guns are boring and there are way to many small and duel wield guns, you cant tell what they are. If anyone says the graphics look astonishing...let me just put it this way...they aren't. JUST Look at games like hl2 ep 2 and even bioshok and UT 3. Those are the new generation. Halo 3 was supposed to be at least a little above standards. Instead its a mediocre game that wouldn't sell very well if it didn't have history AND THAT IS A FACT. Its frikin halo 2 plus nice lighting and new maps. SUCKS Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's the addition of the Forge level editor and the saved films that give the game an even longer set of legs, legs that will probably keep you running at full speed until Bungie figures out where, exactly, to go from here.
  2. Halo 3 is the best Xbox 360 game to date. The single-player campaign and storyline are both very strong, but it's Forge and the Saved Films features that will likely go down in history as Bungie's crowning achievements. They've basically taken everything great about the series and improved upon it in every way, then added some amazing new features that we'll be using for years to come.
  3. 100
    It's solid gameplay, immense replayability, online functionality and incredible production values will ensure its place in video game history, and it is, without a doubt, a satisfying and fulfilling close to the beloved trilogy[?].