User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3828 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DavidO.
    Sep 27, 2007
    6
    Fun, but way over rated and unoriginal. Too much hype, not enough new things. Lame single player.
  2. May 26, 2012
    6
    It's a very overrated game and it shouldn't be as hyped as it should be. To me this is your average Fps game that lacks in certain ways. Don't get me wrong this game is beautiful but it isn't cut out to be an actual "Halo" game when compared to the first two games. This game only has 9 levels of campaign and one of the levels is just downright horrible. This goes to show how much effortIt's a very overrated game and it shouldn't be as hyped as it should be. To me this is your average Fps game that lacks in certain ways. Don't get me wrong this game is beautiful but it isn't cut out to be an actual "Halo" game when compared to the first two games. This game only has 9 levels of campaign and one of the levels is just downright horrible. This goes to show how much effort Bungie put into this game. The game design is bad because of this.The storyline seems to be a bit duller from the other games. It seems like it's always revolved around saving the world, which is okay but gets pretty bland after awhile. Other then that the online multiplayer experience is very well done. Which is why i give it a 6. It Lacks in campaign, storyline, and character development but it makes up for it in multiplayer. Expand
  3. Nov 19, 2013
    7
    Halo 3 is a game set in the magical time of 2500 or around that time. This is game is okay. I've played better halo's I have to admit. Although it came out in 2008 it's still looks good. It's plays well and this was the first halo with forge. Forge is a great mode where you can spawn in things from the game. The multiplayeis rubbish and I hate the campaign but the game modes and forge isHalo 3 is a game set in the magical time of 2500 or around that time. This is game is okay. I've played better halo's I have to admit. Although it came out in 2008 it's still looks good. It's plays well and this was the first halo with forge. Forge is a great mode where you can spawn in things from the game. The multiplayeis rubbish and I hate the campaign but the game modes and forge is the only reason I play Halo anyway.

    Overall
    -Bad Campaign
    -Bad Multiplayer
    -Amazing forge mode
    Score 72/100
    Expand
  4. Nov 30, 2011
    6
    After killing about 13,000 Spartans in mulitplayer, I can confidently say that this is one the most addicting games ever. So much better than COD. Bungie did a really geat job on the campaign missions as well.
  5. Nov 27, 2010
    7
    A pretty decent game. It lacks the replay value of the first two, and the story is pretty weak compared to the rest of the series. Ofcourse, that can be forgivable since it must have been difficult trying to bring an adequate conclusion to the storyline. If you like first person shooters, this game is worth a couple playthroughs.
  6. Mar 6, 2011
    7
    Halo 3 while a good game was a huge disappointment and the worst in the series, the bland boring campaign is really holding this back, the multiplayer hasn't changed much from Halo 2, the good thing is the Forge mode which may not be on a PC level of depth but is still shocking for a console game, and the hidden things like Easter Eggs and hidden skulls are a blast to try and find, and theHalo 3 while a good game was a huge disappointment and the worst in the series, the bland boring campaign is really holding this back, the multiplayer hasn't changed much from Halo 2, the good thing is the Forge mode which may not be on a PC level of depth but is still shocking for a console game, and the hidden things like Easter Eggs and hidden skulls are a blast to try and find, and the controls are amazing they rank right beside COD 4, but I still can't shake the disappointment this game brought, I was a huge fan of Halo 1 and 2 but, which were both game changers, but this is a game where even the good things can't save from being a disappointment and just being another average shooter. Expand
  7. Mar 17, 2011
    7
    Decent campaign, but it was short. I enjoyed continuing the Halo story. Being able to run through the campaign on co-op was nice. Multiplayer was solid but it was unbalanced and too much had changed for the worst. I only played this game when I was bored of the other ones.
  8. Sep 16, 2010
    7
    The single player campaign is disappointing on many levels. The graphics and lighting are nearly last-gen. You can't choose different classes of Spartan like the cover seems to suggest. Bland story with uninteresting characters. Same old gameplay, same old enemies, same old weapons. Multiplayer is great, but only if you are into the Halo style of gameplay. Overall, not the advancement ofThe single player campaign is disappointing on many levels. The graphics and lighting are nearly last-gen. You can't choose different classes of Spartan like the cover seems to suggest. Bland story with uninteresting characters. Same old gameplay, same old enemies, same old weapons. Multiplayer is great, but only if you are into the Halo style of gameplay. Overall, not the advancement of the series I wanted. Expand
  9. Dec 30, 2010
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After playing the previous two Halo games, I was looking forward too playing through this, and finishing the fight.
    I was amazed at the Graphics, it looked stunning in HD 1080. The game-play was really good too, and it was enjoyable.
    However, what let it down was two things:
    Length: Compared to the previous two, this was really short. If I wanted too, I could have completed this in one sitting. It felt like it was over before it begun.
    Plot: There wasn't much of a plot, and nothing made sense until the final couple of Chapters. Cortana's random viewings didn't make any sense either.
    The ending couple have been so much better than what it was, but still remained with the Chief dying.
    This game was saved by the multi-player aspect of it, which is brilliant.
    Expand
  10. Feb 13, 2011
    7
    A decent good game, story was interesting, but seems to be around another "hero-who-saves-the-day".
    Despite that, graphics were legendary, multiplayer was pretty decent. I disliked the auto aim though. But I loved the splitscreen option, and that it even could be used online. Was always great having a friend over and play either co-op or online. Alot of hours spent on that.
  11. Apr 20, 2014
    7
    The campaign is overall lacking, there just isn't any sense of urgency even though everything is supposed to be at stake, and it feels like nothing is at stake, which ruins the overall drive of the game. You know before even starting the game that master chief is going to save Cortana,defeat the covenant, and save earth. It's very predictable and doesn't do anything unexpected. Not toThe campaign is overall lacking, there just isn't any sense of urgency even though everything is supposed to be at stake, and it feels like nothing is at stake, which ruins the overall drive of the game. You know before even starting the game that master chief is going to save Cortana,defeat the covenant, and save earth. It's very predictable and doesn't do anything unexpected. Not to mention the awful level design in the level "Cortana".
    The Multiplayer is what makes this game great, it's balanced, fast paced, and requires skill to be good at.
    Expand
  12. Aug 13, 2010
    5
    The Master Chief what a cool video game charicter . its unfortunite that his only real great game was the first halo . and his series has been sliding into the crapper ever since Halo 2 . though Halo 3 is a improvment over the awful halo 2 game i doubt this series will ever capture the magic halo 1 did . well lets get alittle positive for abit on halo 3 shall we . the 4 player co-op onlineThe Master Chief what a cool video game charicter . its unfortunite that his only real great game was the first halo . and his series has been sliding into the crapper ever since Halo 2 . though Halo 3 is a improvment over the awful halo 2 game i doubt this series will ever capture the magic halo 1 did . well lets get alittle positive for abit on halo 3 shall we . the 4 player co-op online is a great feature downside is though 3 of thoose people have to be elites and cant be other spartans >< . the game has fixed some of the wepons balance issues from halo2 ... some not all the pistol still sucks and a few others. lots of scarabs to fight and fighting 2 at once with 4 buddys ... Awsome . map editor is sweet along with instant replays that can be saved when playing online . controls are solid as they ever where . now thats pretty much where it ends for any thing good i can say about this game . the ending in this game stunk the ending on legendary stinks even more . the online is garbage mainly do to its searching system . you can wait up to 10 min some times to find a match . whats made worse is lets say you jsut wana play Big team death match on sand trap . because that map is awsome its huge lots of vehicles so lots o fun . well good luck with that the game may put you in sand trap but it will probubly give you terratorize , capture the flag(I HATE CAPTURE THE FLAG) , Team rockets , or some other lame game mode that you and i know I dont wana play!!! i came online to have fun and want to play the maps and modes im gona have fun in . unfortunitly bunjie doesnt want you to have fun it only wants to destroy it . now it may be different if you like all the maps and all the game modes . but i dont and shouldnt have to jump through a bunch of damn hoops to have fun . yes there is a custom match set up where you can select you map and game mode but no one ever plays that they only play ranked . so good luck trying to get a game in that. this game isnt as evil as halo 2 which i give a 3/10 too but its still crap and halo ODST is even worse then this . my final conclusion is this series must die . the master chief has been to tarnished to be cool any more . its so sad. Expand
  13. Nov 27, 2012
    5
    Halo 3 is one of the first games I ever bought for the 360 (along with Crackdown (never finished), Forza 2 (came with the console - awesome game), & Gears of War (my favorite game on the 360). This was 5 years ago. I STILL haven't finished Halo 3. Why? It's boring, repetitive, and even more boring. I guess like Mac fanboys, I'll just never understand Halo fanboys. GoW, Call of DutyHalo 3 is one of the first games I ever bought for the 360 (along with Crackdown (never finished), Forza 2 (came with the console - awesome game), & Gears of War (my favorite game on the 360). This was 5 years ago. I STILL haven't finished Halo 3. Why? It's boring, repetitive, and even more boring. I guess like Mac fanboys, I'll just never understand Halo fanboys. GoW, Call of Duty MW, GTA IV, BioShock, Dead Space, the original Crysis, even Battlefield:BC were ALL better game than this one. I'll finish it (eventually), but Lord I hope Reach & Halo 4 are better than this one. Expand
  14. Apr 25, 2011
    7
    This was a great game, star to finish, but c'mon, think about it: It's just Halo 2 reskinned in HD, nothing more, and nothing less. Sure, they added equipment and brute weapons/vehicles, but the Prowler is no different from the old Spectre, and the Marines don't pack very many polygons. in fact, the game relies heavily on bump modelling to show the detail. Overall, I give this game a 7,This was a great game, star to finish, but c'mon, think about it: It's just Halo 2 reskinned in HD, nothing more, and nothing less. Sure, they added equipment and brute weapons/vehicles, but the Prowler is no different from the old Spectre, and the Marines don't pack very many polygons. in fact, the game relies heavily on bump modelling to show the detail. Overall, I give this game a 7, and I think Bungie can live with that. Expand
  15. Nov 12, 2012
    6
    Joguei Halo 3 com uma enorme expectativa. O jogo em si é bom. A história é interessante e tudo mais. Mas devo comentar sobre dois pontos de que não me agradaram: a jogabilidade e os locais no qual ocorrem a história. Sobre a jogabilidade, realmente percebi que não consigo jogar FPS sem ter aquela mira secundária, que aproxima. Parece um jogoJoguei Halo 3 com uma enorme expectativa. O jogo em si é bom. A história é interessante e tudo mais. Mas devo comentar sobre dois pontos de que não me agradaram: a jogabilidade e os locais no qual ocorrem a história. Sobre a jogabilidade, realmente percebi que não consigo jogar FPS sem ter aquela mira secundária, que aproxima. Parece um jogo de geração passada graças a simplicidade que é uma troca de tiros, além de não possuir cover. Cairia bem como um jogo TPS, não FPS. E sobre a localidade, em muitos pontos da história eu fiquei sem saber pra onde ir. Na parte em que estamos dentro daquele "monstro" mesmo, eu rondava o mesmo lugar diversas vezes sem intenção até achar o ponto certo. Mas como uma crítica não pode ficar restrita aos lados ruins de um jogo, vamos aos lados bons. Primeiramente, o gráfico. Para sua época, o gráfico do Halo 3 realmente é bonito e não é tão sujo. Outro lado bom é o multiplayer online. Muito divertido. Não joguei muito esse modo, mas pelo que eu joguei já pude ter uma noção da qualidade, que é grande. Enfim, Halo 3 é um jogo que por completo não me agradou. Mas sei que muitas pessoas o considera um dos melhores jogos de todos os tempos, e eu respeito isso. Expand
  16. May 21, 2011
    6
    This is a good game not very good 6.010.0!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  17. Aug 1, 2011
    6
    Halo does have its production values but the immature brats that play it on Xbox live represent who this game is made for, and the over-rated near perfect reviews the Halo series has received represent the immaturity of game critics. Halo's multiplayer is its strongest side, there are 'some' good features but I cant help but say its been done better elsewhere. Unfortunately the singleHalo does have its production values but the immature brats that play it on Xbox live represent who this game is made for, and the over-rated near perfect reviews the Halo series has received represent the immaturity of game critics. Halo's multiplayer is its strongest side, there are 'some' good features but I cant help but say its been done better elsewhere. Unfortunately the single player side of the game fails and is only popular due to clever marketing to uncritical immature drone players who easily fall for the sensation of violence, guns, and 'badassness'. The single player campaign asides from a few moments of fun gameplay is totally bogged down with a standard sci-fi cliche dribble story having little originality. Halo 3 is not a bad game, its only ok, and does not deserve the over hyped praised it has received over the years.â Expand
  18. JonMatrix
    Sep 24, 2007
    5
    I was really looking forward to a game that would break the norm. But all it is really is a Halo 2.5. It looks very similar to Halo 2 and plays very similar to it as well. The polygons are present on he heads of every model of the game, and it really shows a lack of polish.
  19. WesFletcher
    Sep 24, 2007
    7
    Its halo. same thing different color. its the same game its been since the first just add a few new gadgets and purty it up a pinch. No drastic changes. OOOoo there's a level editor and video mode. Wow you got me sold. How bout I throw in a cookie with it too that makes it an entire point better right? It works for what it is but its still the same halo just the end of it. that doesIts halo. same thing different color. its the same game its been since the first just add a few new gadgets and purty it up a pinch. No drastic changes. OOOoo there's a level editor and video mode. Wow you got me sold. How bout I throw in a cookie with it too that makes it an entire point better right? It works for what it is but its still the same halo just the end of it. that does NOT make it a 10 out of 10. It's halo, yes its WAY overhyped but it is a good game. That's it. IT by no means is perfect. Wait for the true reviews of people who aren't jerkin it to halo. Good bye master chief. Those in reality will turn you down. Expand
  20. DevonManvar
    Sep 26, 2007
    6
    WTF ppl looks like the developers did not put any effort in the graphs in this game Gear Of War looks better then this.....and what is wrong with single player.....I cleared 2 levels in single player mode and i just gave up becasue of the same shooting and nothing new to do.....Multiplayer is OK but could have been better........ I got 360 for this game but what a wast of money back to theWTF ppl looks like the developers did not put any effort in the graphs in this game Gear Of War looks better then this.....and what is wrong with single player.....I cleared 2 levels in single player mode and i just gave up becasue of the same shooting and nothing new to do.....Multiplayer is OK but could have been better........ I got 360 for this game but what a wast of money back to the good old PS Expand
  21. JoshuaMatte
    Sep 26, 2007
    5
    Why does a game that is just a complete rehash of previous installments with a couple extra doo-dads even worth playing? Not innovative, sorry excuse for a story, and mediocre single player at best. Sure, the multiplayer is great, but it does not make up for its short comings. The reviews this game is getting are obviously just to keep advertising revenue from Microsoft.
  22. OscarG.
    Sep 25, 2007
    6
    Well what can i said about this, i wait almost three years for this game and i figured out that nothing has change from halo 1 it´s the same gameplay, the same mechanic, boring history with better graphics but not superior, i am very disaponting about this game, GOW rules on 360 sorry halo fans.
  23. Dave
    Sep 26, 2007
    6
    BIG disappointment from a HUGE Halo fan. I must admit that this seems like it should be called, "Halo 2: Episode 1." It just feels like a small advancement from Halo 2 in every single term. I do enjoy the multiplayer and that's why I give it a 6. Single player is extremely boring and repetitive.
  24. JohnB.
    Sep 27, 2007
    6
    Halo 3 is we pretty good game, but seems to cut you short again. The ads is what made this game larger then is really was. I'm a fan of the online play, but this should have been alll of Halo 2. The game actually starts to look like the original Halo as the game progresses which was disappointing. With this much hype it should have been far better then it was. Maybe it's me, but Halo 3 is we pretty good game, but seems to cut you short again. The ads is what made this game larger then is really was. I'm a fan of the online play, but this should have been alll of Halo 2. The game actually starts to look like the original Halo as the game progresses which was disappointing. With this much hype it should have been far better then it was. Maybe it's me, but 40% of the game looks way to familiar and seems as if it was a lazy way to go about it by revamping old levels from previous Halo games. Online play thus far is pretty fun. If the trilogy extends in another direction hopefully they get it right! Expand
  25. JakeF.
    Feb 25, 2008
    7
    I thought it was going to be better than it actually was!
  26. BenS.
    May 29, 2008
    7
    Unfortunately Halo3 just doesn't deliver. Graphics & gameplay are just better than average. Put it up against Bioshock and it looks poor. I would have given it a 6 but the co-op campaign gives it another point.
  27. BillA
    Jun 25, 2008
    7
    Nothing fits. It is like 10 different artist slapped on their own coat of paint and things just don't feel right. The gameplay lacks any true mechanics and the multiply, although good, seems to fall short compared to its xbox live counterparts. don't be taken by the hype, this game is mediocre at best.
  28. johnDoe
    Jul 4, 2008
    7
    The original Halo may have sold a million original xbox's, On the current next gen console Halo3 just does not have the same effect. This is by no means a bad game, Single player is enjoyable and quite testing, Just not as revolutionary as the original. Graphically the game looks great and play's as well as it always did. I am not sure where the series can go from here as I feel The original Halo may have sold a million original xbox's, On the current next gen console Halo3 just does not have the same effect. This is by no means a bad game, Single player is enjoyable and quite testing, Just not as revolutionary as the original. Graphically the game looks great and play's as well as it always did. I am not sure where the series can go from here as I feel it has peeked. Of course the online community for Halo is massive and you will have no trouble finding an online game That runs without lag. This could be where the series future lies in just online play. Halo 3 is a good game, Just not the generation setting game the original was. Expand
  29. aspentitan
    Jan 15, 2010
    7
    Every heard of the saying "A six dressed up as a nine"? That's how I describe this game. For the most part I tremendously enjoyed this game until the last 3 Chapters of the solo campaign ruined it all. After completing the game I can
  30. Dec 16, 2011
    6
    Campaign is boring and the story is pathetic, Its just a poor mix between the first 2 Halo games. Multiplayer is ok and features a few new additions and its still insanely addictive but its not as improved as I hoped for. The covenant got a make over for the game and it took a turn for the worst, They look even worst then what they were before (which wasnt all that bad).

    I agree that
    Campaign is boring and the story is pathetic, Its just a poor mix between the first 2 Halo games. Multiplayer is ok and features a few new additions and its still insanely addictive but its not as improved as I hoped for. The covenant got a make over for the game and it took a turn for the worst, They look even worst then what they were before (which wasnt all that bad).

    I agree that its far too overhyped and is a disapointment because of it.
    Expand
  31. Jan 17, 2012
    6
    If you've played Halo 1 and 2 then you seen it before. Halo 3 is fun, but not epic and imaginative like it's ad campgain. The end of the war with the Covenant should not be a hand full of Brutes. The ending is so vague that I really did not know what had actually happened. The Covenant were one of the most original characters in video game history, they diserved more than this, and soIf you've played Halo 1 and 2 then you seen it before. Halo 3 is fun, but not epic and imaginative like it's ad campgain. The end of the war with the Covenant should not be a hand full of Brutes. The ending is so vague that I really did not know what had actually happened. The Covenant were one of the most original characters in video game history, they diserved more than this, and so did you. Compared to the wonderful story this game falls on it's knees. It's action funnest with a series of confusing objectives tacked on. Expand
  32. Sep 12, 2013
    6
    Halo 3 was a decent game but there were some issues that kept me from being fully immersed in the game. The most important was the lack of customizable button layout. Having controls that are different from other popular games only makes sense if it adds to the user experience. In the case of Halo 3 going against long established norms, it did not make sense. If you are going to haveHalo 3 was a decent game but there were some issues that kept me from being fully immersed in the game. The most important was the lack of customizable button layout. Having controls that are different from other popular games only makes sense if it adds to the user experience. In the case of Halo 3 going against long established norms, it did not make sense. If you are going to have controls that are particular to your game, at least have the decency to offer a custom option for those who do not see the brilliance in our scheme. If the controls hadn't been an issue, this game would rate higher. Expand
  33. Maxd
    Oct 30, 2007
    7
    omfg are you people stupid??? This game isn't the best game ever, Max M, but it doesn't suck that bad, Me ME. This game is a good, solid buy, the graphics are decent the multiplayer is pretty good, and the campaign is average. If you are looking for a good game, buy this, but it is not a 10!!!!!!
  34. JamosStamos
    Nov 6, 2007
    6
    I havn't accually played but I've watched alot of people play it. Jus watching I've got to say I'm pretty disappointed. The graphics although an improvement, are not nearly as cool as I expected. The story was mediocore at best. The enemies are stupid, There is no stratigy involved! It's just who can kill how first. Instead of giving ememies more life andI havn't accually played but I've watched alot of people play it. Jus watching I've got to say I'm pretty disappointed. The graphics although an improvement, are not nearly as cool as I expected. The story was mediocore at best. The enemies are stupid, There is no stratigy involved! It's just who can kill how first. Instead of giving ememies more life and more powerful weapons, how about makeing them more tactical. I'd rather die because the enemy is better than me not because they have double the health and ten times more powerful weapons. The original Halo is the best because it was original...it has tons of room for improvement that Bungie failed to pick up on, in produceing Halo 2 and 3. These could have been so much better. It seemed like the campaign was an after thought. Please, make a good game first then worry about the multiplayer. Although fun, I'd rather be playing a awesome game with an awesome story line. Expand
  35. ChrisKin
    Nov 12, 2007
    5
    Halo 3 is exactly what one has come to expect from the Halo franchise: Amazing Multiplayer. Other than that, you really have nothing to write home about.

    The main disappointment for me was that Halo 3 is Halo 2 with a single story arc and better graphics. Sure there are a few new mechanics that are neat, like detaching a turrent, but those really do not add to the flavor of the game.
    Halo 3 is exactly what one has come to expect from the Halo franchise: Amazing Multiplayer. Other than that, you really have nothing to write home about.

    The main disappointment for me was that Halo 3 is Halo 2 with a single story arc and better graphics. Sure there are a few new mechanics that are neat, like detaching a turrent, but those really do not add to the flavor of the game. Its still your basic FPS with no innovation and a story that still hurts my brain.

    The mutliplayer is where the game shines. There is great variety in the map styles with halo, and each map can play basically any game type. The games are big, fast paced (usually), and entertaining. That is until you go online with the multiplayer. I like to think i am not counting the general persona found within the Halo community against the score of the game, as Bungie has no control over these people.

    The addition of the Forge was a neat idea, but it seems to be a little less practical than one would hope. It works well when playing with friends, but the online applications are essentially lost. In contrast, the Theater feature is completely pointless. There is no need for me to invite my friend into a room and show him over and over and over and over the time i ran him over with the warthog and he started dry humping the rock he landed on.

    To recap: Pointless single player, Cool multiplayer, and some new features that failed to hit the mark. IMO, you are better of with TF2.
    Expand
  36. ChrisEvans
    Nov 13, 2007
    5
    Just doesn't live up to the original Halo. hell, Halo 2 didn't live up to the original Halo. The focus is ultimately on the multiplayer aspect, which a person like me cannot enjoy as they have no access to broadband to speak of. The single player was a severe letdown. Guns looked like crap and sounded awful. Character models were mainly mediocre with the exception of MirandaJust doesn't live up to the original Halo. hell, Halo 2 didn't live up to the original Halo. The focus is ultimately on the multiplayer aspect, which a person like me cannot enjoy as they have no access to broadband to speak of. The single player was a severe letdown. Guns looked like crap and sounded awful. Character models were mainly mediocre with the exception of Miranda Keyes and the Master Chief. Level design was uninspiring and dull. Voice acting landed between average and poor. Music was reminiscent of the original Halo and Halo 2, yet felt out of place and rehashed. Team A.I. was so bad that aside from manning the chain gun, they have no practical use, as they're too stupid to stay alive or offer any meaningful assistance. The story was horrible, nothing compared to the original Halo. The most overhyped game of 2007. Doesn't deserve the "perfect 10" scores or nominations for "Game of the Year 2007" its getting, as this game is far from good, let alone "perfect". And that hurts me to say that, seeing how much time i've spent with halo, only to see the series go down the tubes with the shift to multiplayer. If you value single player or a mix of single player/multi player, then rent it and see how you like it. If you're into the multi, which apparently everyone is, then i gues syou'll want to buy it. Sadly the multi doesn't excuse the single. Not worth the 60+ bones it'll cost to buy it. Expand
  37. Gavin
    Nov 20, 2007
    7
    i love halo and to be frank this game clears its name then puts a massive stain on it the multiplayer has imporved with 4player co-op on campain and HD the single player campian though is where the stain comes in yes campain is a little short but thats when you play it on easy i finish it in 2 hours best part of the campian is the lengdary its been revamped in my mind because 1. theres ai love halo and to be frank this game clears its name then puts a massive stain on it the multiplayer has imporved with 4player co-op on campain and HD the single player campian though is where the stain comes in yes campain is a little short but thats when you play it on easy i finish it in 2 hours best part of the campian is the lengdary its been revamped in my mind because 1. theres a massive noticable effect in were the AI is smarter ALOT more bad guys and to top it off ya shield may as well be tin foil XD this makes up for the short campain by extending the amount of time needed to complete the game (around 15hours) but still not bad lastly comes the end it sez finish the fight but.... WHAT FIGHT DID WE FINISH yes we killed the covernat around earth but what about everywhere else and not to mention the earth and all the rings on stanby still this game still leaves a lot of loose ends and it finishes on another cliff hanger with masterchief and cortana alone in space adrift if there isnt a halo 4 i will be very disapointed with bungie after all the idea of a triogy is to finish the story in 3 releases which hasnt occured here.. Expand
  38. SethStone
    Jan 1, 2008
    6
    Ok check it out. Im not an x box fan. im a sony fan. And this is why i gave this game a 6. If its title wasent "halo" it wouldent b half as sucsessful. Ressitance fall of man for ps3 is lightyears better. Guns are boring, badguys stupid. But if u were suckered into buying a 360, hey- go for it.
  39. BevilJesse
    Jan 19, 2008
    5
    Online game play was just as could be expected, and the forge is nice. I don't feel that the game met my expectations. Especially after all the Hype, I ordered it in Kuwait being that i'm currently deployed, bought the Xbox360 just for Halo 3 and I feel that I got burned
  40. AnonymousMC
    Feb 28, 2008
    7
    Lets start with the good. The graphics are good but that's the case for just about every game these days, the music is still great, and the story is good.

    Now the bad parts. While the enemy AI is decent enough, your marine buddies are just about as bad as they could get. The campaign only lasted me 7 hours my first time though and less on subsequent playthroughs. Some of the
    Lets start with the good. The graphics are good but that's the case for just about every game these days, the music is still great, and the story is good.

    Now the bad parts. While the enemy AI is decent enough, your marine buddies are just about as bad as they could get. The campaign only lasted me 7 hours my first time though and less on subsequent playthroughs.
    Some of the level design is terribly unintuitive, specifically the Cortana level. I found myself getting lost in several rooms and wandered around aimlessly for several minutes before I found out where I was supposed to be going.
    The difficulty curve also varies drastically throughout the game. At some points near the beginning I died many times before I could move onto the next area. But as I progressed, it became increasingly easier to a point where it was too easy. The Flood only take 2-3 bashes to kill with just about any weapon. The "boss" fights are complete jokes, and the game ends with the easiest sequence in a game that I've ever played.

    And as for the online multiplayer, I don't care about it. I don't play games online save for RTS games so I can't say if it's good or bad. But with what I have played, the game is decent. There are plenty of better FPS games out there that you can play. If you need to know how the story ends and you hate reading, play the game, otherwise read a plot synopsis and save yourself $60.
    Expand
  41. AnonymousMC
    Apr 10, 2008
    6
    I think there is something a lot of people her need to try and understand. Yahtzee surmised it perfectly when he said "a perfect game shouldn't need anything to excuse itself. QED".
    The amount of 10s being thrown around here and then the comments saying "this particular aspect wasn't very good but the mulitplayer PWNS LOL" is ridiculous and these people need to learn how the
    I think there is something a lot of people her need to try and understand. Yahtzee surmised it perfectly when he said "a perfect game shouldn't need anything to excuse itself. QED".
    The amount of 10s being thrown around here and then the comments saying "this particular aspect wasn't very good but the mulitplayer PWNS LOL" is ridiculous and these people need to learn how the "out of 10" rating system works. A 10 means perfect, untouchable, no possible faults, hence why only a few games in history deserve this particular title (Super Mario World for instance). Halo 3 is not one of them.
    Don't get me wrong, yes multiplayer is fun, (I particularly enjoy jugurnaught vs cars) but that does not excuse the weak storyline, serious lack of graphical inovation and general average-ness of the game.
    It's not bad... It's just not amazing
    Expand
  42. AnonymousMC
    May 3, 2008
    6
    This game is alright, but is very lacking. As been stated before, the only thing that this game has that deserves a 10 is the multiplayer, but that is no excuse. Ok it has an awsome multiplayer (10), now remember it has a lame single player plot (socre dropped to 9), the graphics are less than what could be provided (anyone who thinks otherwise must have vision problems) and the game addThis game is alright, but is very lacking. As been stated before, the only thing that this game has that deserves a 10 is the multiplayer, but that is no excuse. Ok it has an awsome multiplayer (10), now remember it has a lame single player plot (socre dropped to 9), the graphics are less than what could be provided (anyone who thinks otherwise must have vision problems) and the game add practically NOTHING new to the halo experience (score dropped to 7), and then when you consider just the general lack of innovation, your drop the score to a 6. Yes the game is amazing online, but then again is Smash Bros had the same online capabilities it would be just as good, these reviewers handing out the 100's aren't actually GIVING THE GAME AN 100, their giving the Online Capabilities, which is in reality a fraction of the game. A perfect game has NO FAULTS, and this game has many! Expand
  43. JohnChu
    May 25, 2008
    6
    This game is without a doubt the MOST OVER Hyped game in the history of console. Nothing suggests that it is in anyway remarkable over its predecessor Halo 2 beyond slight graphical improvements. Playthroughs involve a staid but still fun formula. If Rumors are true, Microsoft definitely had a hand in "gifting" magazine publications with positive reviews. Looking at metacritic scores,This game is without a doubt the MOST OVER Hyped game in the history of console. Nothing suggests that it is in anyway remarkable over its predecessor Halo 2 beyond slight graphical improvements. Playthroughs involve a staid but still fun formula. If Rumors are true, Microsoft definitely had a hand in "gifting" magazine publications with positive reviews. Looking at metacritic scores, one can see that 100s are largely in the xbox - centric publications. Expand
  44. AnonymousMC
    Jun 15, 2008
    5
    This is a very average shooter. If you were to watch the Zero Punctuation review that would be my exact feelings on the game. The only reason it does so well is because the online system is done perfectly and it's incredibly overrated by everyone. The actual gameplay is really not that great. It's still bested by Half Life in campaign, and other online shooters like TeamThis is a very average shooter. If you were to watch the Zero Punctuation review that would be my exact feelings on the game. The only reason it does so well is because the online system is done perfectly and it's incredibly overrated by everyone. The actual gameplay is really not that great. It's still bested by Half Life in campaign, and other online shooters like Team Fortress 2 and Counterstrike. Expand
  45. BryanMichaels
    Jun 27, 2008
    5
    The games is okay. It's really an outdated shooter game compared to new. The only thing that satifies people is the large online community. After buying the game, you have to have a gold account or buy one in order to enjoy it. Campaign just doesn't do it. It feels alot like Halo 2 with a couple of new weapons and better visuals. Instead of just trying to do the same thing overThe games is okay. It's really an outdated shooter game compared to new. The only thing that satifies people is the large online community. After buying the game, you have to have a gold account or buy one in order to enjoy it. Campaign just doesn't do it. It feels alot like Halo 2 with a couple of new weapons and better visuals. Instead of just trying to do the same thing over and over again, they should try to make it better. Expand
  46. AnonymousMC
    Jul 28, 2008
    7
    To start the single player is average. It's not everything it was hyped up as and definatly not the "best game evar" as nearly every game reviewer on earth and fanboys alike say. It's just another go through the motions FPS that adds nothing new to the genre. Just get the weapon you want shoot enemies then wait through the cut scene to start all over again. Which would be fine.To start the single player is average. It's not everything it was hyped up as and definatly not the "best game evar" as nearly every game reviewer on earth and fanboys alike say. It's just another go through the motions FPS that adds nothing new to the genre. Just get the weapon you want shoot enemies then wait through the cut scene to start all over again. Which would be fine. If it was more fun and had a better story. You know change it up a bit yet it just stuck to same old formula of Halo 2. No thinking or strategy is ever needed even on harder levels as enemies get stronger and greater in numbers rather than smarter. The AI is still dumb as hell since you can do things like melee foes to death without the slightest urge for them to move out of your way. The story is like it always was bland and uninspired as I could tell everything that would happend before it played out in the game right down to the ending. To me the whole story lacks good depth that a game should have at this point. And it's all really dishearting that this is probably going to go down as the Mario of my day which is sad cause their is much more deserving games for that title. Some of this games positives it looks excelent, has good controls, and it has numbed down the needler. But let me say those things don't make up for everything else that is lacking with the story mode. But as for the multiplayer I think it is one of the best experiences online (which is why I'm giving it a 7 and not a 5.) I just hope that the next Halo game will deliver cause I think it has the potential to be great it's just that for this series third time was definitely not the charm. Expand
  47. AnonymousMC
    Oct 14, 2008
    7
    Don't get me wrong: It's not by any means a bad game. It's just that it's a notch above average. The campaign has an erratic difficulty curve that is about as stable as a guy who has just been put in an asylum. Your teammates are total morons that make druggies look like the child of the smartest couple in the world. Let me give an example: In The Ark, they toldDon't get me wrong: It's not by any means a bad game. It's just that it's a notch above average. The campaign has an erratic difficulty curve that is about as stable as a guy who has just been put in an asylum. Your teammates are total morons that make druggies look like the child of the smartest couple in the world. Let me give an example: In The Ark, they told me that they would let me fire. However, one decided that an enemy breathing more than twice a minute was hostile and opened fire. I was killed brutally by the hyper-intelligent AI. After that, I just turned to killing my allies and treating them like walking bags of ammo. The multiplayer, though is different: fun, engaging, and what saves this game from mediocrity. Expand
  48. AnonymousMC
    Feb 16, 2009
    6
    An okay game. Just okay. The campaign is fun for a few times through, the multiplayer is also pretty fun in small doses, but gets boring after a while too. My biggest disappointment was the story; having been a Halo fan for several years, and after reading all the books, i was anticipating an epic finish to my favorite sci fi series of all time(and that includes movies and shows too, notAn okay game. Just okay. The campaign is fun for a few times through, the multiplayer is also pretty fun in small doses, but gets boring after a while too. My biggest disappointment was the story; having been a Halo fan for several years, and after reading all the books, i was anticipating an epic finish to my favorite sci fi series of all time(and that includes movies and shows too, not just games) Instead i got a confusing, irrational mess of convulated bull shit. Master Chief activiting the ring? I just dont like it. Expand
  49. josiahcarr
    Apr 30, 2009
    7
    it is one of the best games i have played the forge mode adds the extra ability to change the map in your own desire. the only down fall is most of the play lists you have to by map packs just to play them but other than that a great game
  50. DD
    Jun 9, 2009
    5
    I'm not really interested on evaluating MP aspects of this game since its numbers speak by themselves. So the 5 points came from the average of MP-10/SP-0.
    The single player campaign is just poor. II've felt like playing an 8 years old shooter. The enemies are ridiculous, the storyline doesn't even exist, the vehicles physics behaviour is as they were made with paper, the
    I'm not really interested on evaluating MP aspects of this game since its numbers speak by themselves. So the 5 points came from the average of MP-10/SP-0.
    The single player campaign is just poor. II've felt like playing an 8 years old shooter. The enemies are ridiculous, the storyline doesn't even exist, the vehicles physics behaviour is as they were made with paper, the weapons doesn't seem attractive to me, the campaign is short and straightforward.
    A real dissapointment.
    Expand
  51. ElliottW
    Jul 7, 2009
    6
    Now call me bitter because all my friends are now addicted to the darn game, but I think this game is extremely overated. I'd say the only good aspect of this game is the multiplayer, and even that wasn't great. Oh, and if you are planning on buying it, expect drab corridors aplenty!
  52. PeterA
    Aug 5, 2009
    6
    I was really looking forward to this game. I even pre-ordered it. But as soon as I started the campaign, I thought "Wow, this feels exactly like halo 2." And that is what it boils down to. Halo 3 is nothing but a glorified halo 2. I was expecting huge graphical improvements, NO. Better campaign? NOPE. Multiplayer super fun? Fun, but no different than halo 2. Bungie could have just added a I was really looking forward to this game. I even pre-ordered it. But as soon as I started the campaign, I thought "Wow, this feels exactly like halo 2." And that is what it boils down to. Halo 3 is nothing but a glorified halo 2. I was expecting huge graphical improvements, NO. Better campaign? NOPE. Multiplayer super fun? Fun, but no different than halo 2. Bungie could have just added a campaign expansion to halo 2, instead of making an entirely new game. Also, new lame things were added including power-ups (what is this Super Mario?), forge is kinda cool but why couldn't they just add it to halo 2? Bottom line is that if you are going to make a third installment in a popular franchise, put some effort into it and don't recreate something you've already done. Expand
  53. TravisS.
    Aug 17, 2009
    5
    Theres nothing special about this game at all. its not on par with previous halo games. even the graphics are lacking for a game on a next gen console. there isn't a whole lot of variety and multiplayer is just generic shooter, it doesn't stand out with anything special at all.
  54. CoreyR
    Aug 18, 2009
    5
    I gave Halo 3 a six because it is mediocre at best. It is any other shooter, with aliens. I must admit, It has a damn good story, but It is only implemented in objectives, it doesn't make you feel like you are there. It is only good when bored and sick (only time I play it).
  55. MikeN
    Oct 1, 2009
    5
    This game could have been a lot better. The campaign was way too short and it didn't really explain much of the story. The multiplayer is just downright bad. Every time I play it, i remember why i stopped. The game is fun if u have a bunch of friends who play and you guys can screw around of forge. This is to Oscar G. : yes a boring history..even though this game takes place in 500 This game could have been a lot better. The campaign was way too short and it didn't really explain much of the story. The multiplayer is just downright bad. Every time I play it, i remember why i stopped. The game is fun if u have a bunch of friends who play and you guys can screw around of forge. This is to Oscar G. : yes a boring history..even though this game takes place in 500 years. And of course the gameplay didn't change. What are you going to be killing this game? Zombies? Overall, the campaign was fun for the 2 hours and the multiplayer is way too tournament based. Expand
  56. RayS.
    Sep 25, 2007
    6
    I loved Halo. the storyline and gameplay was awsome. Halo 2 did not quited draw me in like the first one but it was ok. Now I'm half way through Halo 3 and I'm like where is the story. gameplay is ok but dated. It was a marquee game on the xbox platform but 6 years lated it seems tired. I'm one who is sorely disappointed.
  57. BrentC.
    Sep 25, 2007
    5
    I am an AVID Halo fan and was waiting for Halo 3 to come out to buy an Xbox 360. I played it on my friends 360 and I must say, WTF guys. Are people SCARED to give this game a bad review. Its seriously the same game it was since Halo 1. The graphics are shoddy, the gameplay is the same. The single player is still bland and the story is still terrible. The fun in multiplayer is still there, I am an AVID Halo fan and was waiting for Halo 3 to come out to buy an Xbox 360. I played it on my friends 360 and I must say, WTF guys. Are people SCARED to give this game a bad review. Its seriously the same game it was since Halo 1. The graphics are shoddy, the gameplay is the same. The single player is still bland and the story is still terrible. The fun in multiplayer is still there, and I give that a 10 (I logged thousands of games on live with my xbox) but the single player is a big fat 0. Can you say repeated textures? Look, some people may think its wonderful, but how does this game get so many PERFECT scores that point out so many flaws? Think about it. Expand
  58. ccxapp
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    The plot was not what I expected it to be, but it's great on the graphical and gameplay improvements.
  59. TimD.
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    Of course it's great, but it hasn't evolved enough for me. The combat is solid and satisfying but feels no different from the first two. The first game was described as 5 minutes of game play spread over 8 hours, now it's been stretched over 24 hours, and it's getting dulled. It doesn't compare with the likes of Half Life or Biioshock, games which are still more Of course it's great, but it hasn't evolved enough for me. The combat is solid and satisfying but feels no different from the first two. The first game was described as 5 minutes of game play spread over 8 hours, now it's been stretched over 24 hours, and it's getting dulled. It doesn't compare with the likes of Half Life or Biioshock, games which are still more sophisticated in their storytelling, pacing and Graphics. Expand
  60. RanderN.
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    Halo 3 is a very good game that totally fails to live up to the massive hype and marketing drive that preceded it. It has a short single player campaign, the same old floaty low gravity feeling the previous versions had (even while on earth) that just can't stand next to today's moder physics models in gaming, and somewhat repetitive gameplay that will have you shooting endless Halo 3 is a very good game that totally fails to live up to the massive hype and marketing drive that preceded it. It has a short single player campaign, the same old floaty low gravity feeling the previous versions had (even while on earth) that just can't stand next to today's moder physics models in gaming, and somewhat repetitive gameplay that will have you shooting endless waves of mostly the same 2 types of enemies and running back and forward inside the same level, reminiscent of the key hunting of the FPS titles of old (as in Wolfestein old). A good game, not a great one. Expand
  61. NickC.
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    I'm only on the second level and I have to say I'm underwhelmed. Far from looking amazing the graphics just don't impress. The interiors are much worse than the exteriors, the low resolution textures on the doors are particularly bad. The game these areas most remind me of are Fear with added backtracking. On the bright side the AI is still cool - I love it when grunts get I'm only on the second level and I have to say I'm underwhelmed. Far from looking amazing the graphics just don't impress. The interiors are much worse than the exteriors, the low resolution textures on the doors are particularly bad. The game these areas most remind me of are Fear with added backtracking. On the bright side the AI is still cool - I love it when grunts get scared and retreat. The Brute Alien weapons are things similar to nail guns and grenade launchers and are much more satisfying to use than the old Alien weapons (still in the game) which shot glowing stuff (not lasers, light travels at the speed of, well light and you would only see it reflecting off what ever you are shooting.). I've had a quick look at Forge basically you can mess around with game parameters and add objects to the level BFD. I buy a lot of games, and maybe finish half of them, all the extras packed in to this game don't really matter to me, I'm much more interested in the core game. The core game here is solid but and in the upper quartile of games on the system, but not worthy of being a flagship title. Expand
  62. RayD.
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    Well i am half way through the campaign and last night while playing i sat there and thought its good but not that good.... the multiplayer is pretty nice i like the upgrades they did on it compared to halo 2. Its close to the same game with twists that i think were needed esp for online. but good job overall microsoft.
  63. Thomas
    Sep 25, 2007
    5
    What a disappointment. This game was a dinosaur before it was even released. But i think the bigger disappointment is the sheer lack of credibility so many of these reviews are truly showing by giving it so many perfect scores. this game had me yawning within 10 minutes, and thinking i was still getting over Al Gore losing the election. Any reviewer out there that scored this game a What a disappointment. This game was a dinosaur before it was even released. But i think the bigger disappointment is the sheer lack of credibility so many of these reviews are truly showing by giving it so many perfect scores. this game had me yawning within 10 minutes, and thinking i was still getting over Al Gore losing the election. Any reviewer out there that scored this game a perfect 10 clearly has either fanboy blinders on, or is afraid to bash the most hyped game in history in the face of the advertisers that fund their magazines and websites. the bugginess and outdated graphics and sound effects alone should've dropped it a couple notches... way to have a spine, guys. you should be embarassed for yourselves. Expand
  64. ChrisK.
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    The hype hurt the game, that's where it all begins. Reviews hit left and right for games over a 9.4 when it is a truly unique and innovative creation, Halo 3 was neither of these. With some decent graphics, new weapon additions and relatively shallow story line, the game isn't living up to these reviews. Microsoft must be deep in some pockets to get the reviews this game has The hype hurt the game, that's where it all begins. Reviews hit left and right for games over a 9.4 when it is a truly unique and innovative creation, Halo 3 was neither of these. With some decent graphics, new weapon additions and relatively shallow story line, the game isn't living up to these reviews. Microsoft must be deep in some pockets to get the reviews this game has been given. Fanboys rejoice, smart gamers rent. Expand
  65. RobertP.
    Sep 25, 2007
    5
    Mediocre game with recycled concepts and storyline - the hype ruined this game for me long before I played it. Tried to suppress the hype machine (myself being a part of it) ..unfortunately, this is simply another Halo shooter that did not meet expectations.
  66. AndyK.
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    There´s no doubt ... HALO 3 is to an extremely high degree OVERRATED by the most Critics, even by the two lowest with the rating of 88 ! The MP is still very good but the very short SP (8-10 hrs.) is really disappointing. My ratings SP=60 / MP=85 / Overall = 72
  67. ChaseB.
    Sep 26, 2007
    6
    Its halo 2.5, graphicaly it looks almost identical to Halo 2 and the single player is just as bad (though amazingly possibly shorter) than it was in the seccond one...deffinatly not near halo 1 levels. Bottom line is everyone who is still playing halo 2 will buy it (I did) and so what do the reviews matter. Most disappointing part is deffinatly the graphics (decent on SD TV awefull on Its halo 2.5, graphicaly it looks almost identical to Halo 2 and the single player is just as bad (though amazingly possibly shorter) than it was in the seccond one...deffinatly not near halo 1 levels. Bottom line is everyone who is still playing halo 2 will buy it (I did) and so what do the reviews matter. Most disappointing part is deffinatly the graphics (decent on SD TV awefull on HDTV), the undeveloped singleplayer and the overly balanced multiplayer (everything is so gimped you hafto look beyond shooting first and in the head to get an advantage...so its just boring even once you master it. Same game, its up to you if its worth it to buy...owning a 360 I don't regret it too much (though prolly wasn't worth 60 bucks) but definitely don't go out and buy one thinking this is going to be Halo 1 or Halo 2 again. Expand
  68. GlenA.
    Sep 26, 2007
    7
    The game is extremely similar to Halo 2. Graphics are tweaked but nowhere near as good as even 360 launch titles such as COD3. I had severe problems with sound, especially dialogue which I have to turn up just to hear - a little annoying. Should not disappoint those wanting more of the same from Halo 2. All others should rent first.
  69. AlvaroV.
    Sep 26, 2007
    7
    Good game, but nothing really original in the series. There is no story at the beginning and the level design is slightly repetitive. However, combat is as polished as in previous titles. Too much hype, I guess.
  70. RannyB.
    Sep 26, 2007
    7
    It's an adequate fps. Level padding shows poor design though and the storytelling resulted down to being very simple. Not the best example to show for a top class FPS but a nice example that simplicity can still manage to be fun.
  71. LoayN.
    Sep 26, 2007
    5
    Really primitive graphics ! Very short and yes, it felt like I'm playing an XBox game not XBox 360 :( A bit disappointed, but I'm happy to play it :)
  72. BenL.
    Sep 26, 2007
    5
    I never had high hopes, but seeing as I played through Halo (Ok) and Halo 2(Slighty Better) I gave it a shot and, like the first two, this is a solid game, dressed up as a brilliant one. Shooting is fair, graphics good and multiplayer excellent, but it never captures the imangiation beyond the flashy story. It's hard to imagine why people go crazy for it.
  73. MattE.
    Sep 26, 2007
    5
    This game is not that good. The guns are skeet and it doesn't really look that good compared to other 360 titles. I am really disappointed.
  74. MikeP.
    Sep 26, 2007
    7
    This is it?? this is the best Microsoft & Bungie can put together after 3 years of development? graphics are below par - far worse than most games on 360. not even in the same universe compared to Gears or Bioshock. gameplay is exactly the same as previous Halos - nothing's improved. enemies are stupid as hell. sometimes they just stand there; they can't drive, or get into cars.This is it?? this is the best Microsoft & Bungie can put together after 3 years of development? graphics are below par - far worse than most games on 360. not even in the same universe compared to Gears or Bioshock. gameplay is exactly the same as previous Halos - nothing's improved. enemies are stupid as hell. sometimes they just stand there; they can't drive, or get into cars. sound & story are fine, but nothing to get excited about. and the level editor? what do i care about the level editor?! I don't want a level editor - i want a good game! where is the platform defining Halo 3 we've been waiting for? delayed 2 years after the 360 launch, and this is what we get? what a disappointment. Expand
  75. CaseyY.
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    A very fancy patch for Halo 2.
  76. [Anonymousguy]
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    Not really anything spectacular on the single player, and the Online not as fun as halo 2.
  77. EoinO.
    Sep 27, 2007
    5
    Looks great shame it's so basic in it's combat system and so unevolved in it's feel/characters. As a shooter it feels like a kids game. I'll stick with Bioshock and Rainbow 6 Vegas thanks. Waste of £40 in my mind I'm trading it in today.
  78. DLa
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    First, I've been with Halo from the beginning. The first release amazed, the second released was good with a dumb ending, but I had had a deep fear after seeing many unflattering screenshots that this release would not extend the state of the art and I'm sad to say its true. Aside from a few new weapons and vehicles and debatebly enhanced graphics the game breaks no new ground. First, I've been with Halo from the beginning. The first release amazed, the second released was good with a dumb ending, but I had had a deep fear after seeing many unflattering screenshots that this release would not extend the state of the art and I'm sad to say its true. Aside from a few new weapons and vehicles and debatebly enhanced graphics the game breaks no new ground. Which is a shame for such an anticipated release with so much money behind it. Let me break it down. Graphics: 7 Not as good as Gears of War and not as good as Bioshock. The character models are average quality. For example, not as detailed as the players in Madden. Environment: 7 You'd expect to be able to interact with all kinds of things in the environment and blow stuff up. At least this is the mark of next-gen FPS today. Not so in Halo. You can knock stuff over, but you can't look inside of things, break things, use things, etc. Its a very superficial environment. Sound: 5 Oh boy. It's sad. I have a dolby 5.1 setup and the sound from Halo is very muffled and low-def. The weapon firing sounds or ok, but things like grenades sound like they are farther from you than they visually are. Little to no surround effects or ambient noise. A total lack of depth in the sound field. For the best 5.1 game sound, crisp and clean, check out Bioshock as the new standard (I'm not a fanboy, just using a real example of quality). Gameplay: 7 Same gameplay as before with a few new gadgets. No cover control (such as in GoW and Rainbow 6), no squad control, etc. Same, same, same. Story: 6 Getting a bit dated. The opening dialog is a bit perplexing. An utter lack of mind provoking elements in this story. Its a "story on rails". Not to mention, that for 3 versions of Halo the opening sequence is the cliche "the aliens have invaded our barracks" scenario. Tired! Get some new material. Overall: A very generous 7 Expand
  79. Warmonger
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    Good game, but nowhere near the great game everyone makes it out to be! First of all it's too damn short. Sure it's a great multiplayer game but what about the people who don't play online?? oh well, I guess the're just out of luck! The graphics also haven't really improved significantly enough for me to go... Wow! Come on! the only game to really hold that Good game, but nowhere near the great game everyone makes it out to be! First of all it's too damn short. Sure it's a great multiplayer game but what about the people who don't play online?? oh well, I guess the're just out of luck! The graphics also haven't really improved significantly enough for me to go... Wow! Come on! the only game to really hold that distinction this year, "so far" is Bioshock! You only have to look at the superior graphics, such as the water effects,environments...etc and game play to relize, that it rules! It's new and fresh as opposed to old and stale....... R.I.P. Halo Expand
  80. ChrisE.
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    I'd consider myself a 360 fanboy. Halo 3 is fun, but just feels like something is missing. I'm trying so hard to love this game. I'm not sure I can.
  81. JoshB.
    Sep 27, 2007
    5
    Halo 3 is great...if you want Halo 2 in HD!! It's really hard to love a game that seems so similar to it's predecessor. When you have games out on the market like Gears of War Ghost Recon and Rainbow Six Vegas, that all have advanced cover systems, the ability to better fully control your character. That's the way games are advancing, when the only thing you can still do is Halo 3 is great...if you want Halo 2 in HD!! It's really hard to love a game that seems so similar to it's predecessor. When you have games out on the market like Gears of War Ghost Recon and Rainbow Six Vegas, that all have advanced cover systems, the ability to better fully control your character. That's the way games are advancing, when the only thing you can still do is Jump?? I mean how do you compete with a full character control of G.O.W.?? Expand
  82. McMastersUniversity
    Sep 27, 2007
    6
    What? That was it? The last section of the game was one of the biggest let downs of all time. Where is the final boss? Wait, that would've meant this game had an actual villain and a story that was meaningful. I found the story in Halo 2 to be very engaging and this time around was a massive disappointment. Additionally, the game felt like the designers viewed this making as a chore What? That was it? The last section of the game was one of the biggest let downs of all time. Where is the final boss? Wait, that would've meant this game had an actual villain and a story that was meaningful. I found the story in Halo 2 to be very engaging and this time around was a massive disappointment. Additionally, the game felt like the designers viewed this making as a chore as opposed to a fun and artistic experience. The revamped control scheme was pointless and did more harm that good. The new weapons and shield grenades are pointless. Also, this game does not start with the end of Halo 2, nor with how the trailer presents it. All these reviews that give this game 100's must be in the pockets of Microsoft; there is no other explanation. In every aspect this game is worse than Halo 1 and 2. Even the graphics are only slightly better than Halo 2. Maybe Halo 2.2? Ugh, I even avoided the hype and was still let down. Expand
  83. JeveS.
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    A good, fairly bug-free and enjoyable run, but way too short in campaign mode. It was a challenge (and fun) playing with a buddy via co-op, but again, pretty short so be prepared for that. I've hopped in a few online matches, but I can't seem to enjoy the multi like I do on a great twitch HL2 mod like Fortress Forever. Graphics won't completely blow you away (still see A good, fairly bug-free and enjoyable run, but way too short in campaign mode. It was a challenge (and fun) playing with a buddy via co-op, but again, pretty short so be prepared for that. I've hopped in a few online matches, but I can't seem to enjoy the multi like I do on a great twitch HL2 mod like Fortress Forever. Graphics won't completely blow you away (still see "popping " LOD textures and some sub-30 FPS in hectic areas), but they're not as bad as some reviewers would lead you to believe. You can tell multiplayer was the majority of work put into Halo 3 - not story or campaign. It's NOT a 10 or 100, and anyone who says it is has either truly never played a 10 or 10 OR is trying to counter-act all of the 6's out there. If you're a console campaigner / story gamer like me, rent it. Expand
  84. FurryFox
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    As many have said before me its mainly a multiplayer game, if you don
  85. JoshuaD.
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    I am a very honest person and a unique halo fan. After missing out on Halo 1 and starting the story line at halo 2 I was hooked by the graphics, gameplay, and mulitiplayer formats. Halo 3 was a complete let down after the first hour of gameplay. I found myself asking "This is actually kind of boring". There wasn't any extravigant graphic views or fight scenes as Halo 2 had. I tried I am a very honest person and a unique halo fan. After missing out on Halo 1 and starting the story line at halo 2 I was hooked by the graphics, gameplay, and mulitiplayer formats. Halo 3 was a complete let down after the first hour of gameplay. I found myself asking "This is actually kind of boring". There wasn't any extravigant graphic views or fight scenes as Halo 2 had. I tried not to buy into the hype from all the commercials and advertisments, but I can honorably say that I was scammed by the oldest trick in the book "Rhetorics" Good Job on Bungie and Microsoft for scamming millions upon millions of dollars from us with cheap and useless animation. Expand
  86. BryanM.
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    It was a little over hyped. I am just pissed you are forced to play as Chief and can not play the Aburder in Campan mode unless you do co op. sorry but you included him in the 2nd why change it now. o and Halo 3 for being the big 360 game does not have that great of graphics. a little better then the beta demo version but barlly. try gears graphics Halo. so in other words HALO one is It was a little over hyped. I am just pissed you are forced to play as Chief and can not play the Aburder in Campan mode unless you do co op. sorry but you included him in the 2nd why change it now. o and Halo 3 for being the big 360 game does not have that great of graphics. a little better then the beta demo version but barlly. try gears graphics Halo. so in other words HALO one is still the best even if you can not play it on Xbox live. Expand
  87. NateG.
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    Halo 2 2 is OK. I've never been a campaign guy (I play the games to have fun with friends), so I judge all Halos on the multi-player, and that aspect of the game has not been improved. Yes, they added some new stuff in there but that alone can't carry the game (some of them are pointless too - like with the grenades). But different and better isn't the same. And am I the Halo 2 2 is OK. I've never been a campaign guy (I play the games to have fun with friends), so I judge all Halos on the multi-player, and that aspect of the game has not been improved. Yes, they added some new stuff in there but that alone can't carry the game (some of them are pointless too - like with the grenades). But different and better isn't the same. And am I the only one who misses the hit % stat? You can goof off the whole time and no one will be the wiser as to the 1,000 shots you wasted. All in all you could play or watch a game of Halo 2 and Halo 3 back-to-back and have a hard time knowing you saw 2 different games. I'm one of those who wanted to like it, but it disappoints. I do believe the name gives it 1 or 2 extra points in a lot of reviews. Expand
  88. ArnieG
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    Disapointing. The Halo sequels are very comparable in quality to the Matrix sequels....classic innovative original, medicore derivative sequels. And how is it possible for the biggest game of the year to have such sub-par graphics? They look almost identical to the X-Box! Some eye candy would have went a long way.
  89. DazD.
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    Nothing new here apart from a few weapons and vehicles. The multiplayer is what it's all about.
  90. JCS
    Sep 29, 2007
    7
    The single player game felt like they didn't bother with much more than an outline of a story. I have to agree with the comment about warmed over Marathon. The Flood was much more intimidating in 2. Sketchy in many places. Background stills lacked the kind of detail one might want or expect lavished onto them. Normal level was blandly easy.
  91. MikeS.
    Sep 29, 2007
    6
    Maybe I just don't get it, but I don't see what is so fascinating about this game. It's a standard FPS with mediocre graphics and a luke warm plot. Bioshock beats this by substantially more than one metapoint.
  92. AitA.
    Sep 30, 2007
    6
    Loved Halo 1, disappointed with Halo 2 and Halo 3 the worst of the lot. You'll finish the fight in 6 to 8 hours if you played before. Legendary level on Halo 1 took days to finish, Halo 3 done in 10 hours. I still play Halo 1 but have had no inclination to play Halo 2 and wont be keeping Halo 3.
  93. MikeM.
    Sep 30, 2007
    6
    Somebodys gotta tell me what is so great about this game. the single player campaign is nowhere near the other great games Xbox 360 has to offer for its FPS action, like Gears of War and BioShock. And, well, the multiplayers good, ok, but why does EVERYONE play it? its not spectacular, and with maps that look half assed and no real joy in many of the weapons, its pretty much overrated.
  94. AlexW.
    Sep 30, 2007
    5
    A repetitive, tedious, and overall cookie cutter game in respects to Halo 2. This bore-fest is just like the other two, but with HDR lighting. The graphics arent even really better than Halo 2. One of the major problems in this game is that it can be beaten in less than 3 hours. That is not a game worthy of a 9.5. This game shouldn't have even been reviewed, as it is just Halo 2 with A repetitive, tedious, and overall cookie cutter game in respects to Halo 2. This bore-fest is just like the other two, but with HDR lighting. The graphics arent even really better than Halo 2. One of the major problems in this game is that it can be beaten in less than 3 hours. That is not a game worthy of a 9.5. This game shouldn't have even been reviewed, as it is just Halo 2 with some added gimmicks. What's funny is that Halo 2 wasn;t even that good anyway. Bungie, good job at causing major hpye during the coming days of this game's release, but I just can't give you much credit on what you guys are meant for: a good game. Looks like Bungie is better off at thecircus than behind a programmer's desk. Expand
  95. AndyM.
    Sep 30, 2007
    7
    All Halo 3 does is improve the graphics of Halo 2, add more weapons, and absolutely nothing else. Still pretty damn good though.
  96. TravisM.
    Sep 30, 2007
    7
    I'm very disappointed that an almost perfect multiplayer from Halo 1 evolved into a catastrophic mess that Halo 2 and Halo 3 have become. Granted Halo 3 looks to correct some of the mistakes from Halo 2, but still fails in so many ways. Radar in any multiplayer game will only promote people to camp. It's almost as if the game developers couldn't stand being killed so fast I'm very disappointed that an almost perfect multiplayer from Halo 1 evolved into a catastrophic mess that Halo 2 and Halo 3 have become. Granted Halo 3 looks to correct some of the mistakes from Halo 2, but still fails in so many ways. Radar in any multiplayer game will only promote people to camp. It's almost as if the game developers couldn't stand being killed so fast by the pistol in Halo 1 so they decided to make it pointless to use in 2 or 3. I'm still holding out hope that MLG will make a custom gametype via Forge without radar and use about 75% shields. Since you now start with the assault rifle 80% of the battles you face are two people running at one another with assault rifles firing and the one who lands the melee the victor. Unless of course you have someone in the distance using a Battle Rifle or Sniper to pick off the repeatative action. You also are unable to hold up a defensive position by throwing a grenade off the wall to keep the opponent from charging right at you, because the frag grenades don't even blow the opponent back or do more than 35% damage. I've had it happen on countless occassions when I just get a double kill, but that third player comes charging right after you. You throw a grenade right at their feet and scurry around the corner to reload and let your shields recharge for a fair fight. As soon as you get around the corner you throw another grenade just in case he's continuing the pursuit. And wouldn't you know it... That person just keeps running and shooting without any worry that the 2 grenades will kill him. Heck in Halo 1 if you were hit with a grenade at point blank range, you were almost dead and it would blow you 5-10 meters away. Giving the opponent the advantage now because of a well placed grenade. I myself was a huge advocate and fan of the Halo series and would travel halfway across the country to play AGP and MLG tournaments for Halo 1. But the skill level here for Halo 3 is similar to Halo 2, and since the grenades barely deter anyone from charging right at you... It's basically a better version of Halo 2. Better graphics, but almost the same game play. So if you loved Halo 2, you'll love Halo 3. If you're like me and loved Halo 1, then you'll become quickly annoyed with the radar and people camping around corners with the sword (or now hammer). And although the idea seemed interesting, all the 'X' button items need to be removed too. Again I can't fault Bungie because they've appealed to the common FPS player who's just looking hop online and kill some friends. But for those hardcore gamers where you just have to be the best of the best, I'd say wait for COD 4 or perhaps Team Fortress 2 from the upcoming Half-Life 2 Orange Box. Expand
  97. ShabbyR.
    Sep 30, 2007
    5
    Kind of disappointing in terms of gameplay, story and graphics, especially considering that this is a first-party 360 effort. Halo 3 isn't even marginally better than Halo 2, and both sequels are mediocre at best compared to the original (which, let's be honest, wasn't even that great to begin with). Seriously, they should have just released the multiplayer component for Kind of disappointing in terms of gameplay, story and graphics, especially considering that this is a first-party 360 effort. Halo 3 isn't even marginally better than Halo 2, and both sequels are mediocre at best compared to the original (which, let's be honest, wasn't even that great to begin with). Seriously, they should have just released the multiplayer component for half price, because that's the only thing that anyone's even remotely interested in. Expand
  98. Andyman
    Sep 30, 2007
    6
    It made my day when I noticed that BioShock reclaimed the top Metascore spot from Halo 3, as the former is a far superior game. In a word, Halo 3 is... meh. Its co-op Campaign mode is its only saving grace, as its online competitive play is so stuffed full of potty-mouthed idiots as to be completely devoid of any enjoyment whatsoever. Then again, I should be GLAD of this.. it keeps these It made my day when I noticed that BioShock reclaimed the top Metascore spot from Halo 3, as the former is a far superior game. In a word, Halo 3 is... meh. Its co-op Campaign mode is its only saving grace, as its online competitive play is so stuffed full of potty-mouthed idiots as to be completely devoid of any enjoyment whatsoever. Then again, I should be GLAD of this.. it keeps these cretins from ruining the games I enjoy playing online. Thanks for the daycare service, Bungie! Expand
  99. ChrisL.
    Oct 1, 2007
    6
    Unimaginatively dull. Graphics are pretty awful (for a 360 game) and seems more like a Halo 2 upgrade with hi-def polygons. Single player seems so rushed and so short. Sure multiplayer is frantic but it isn't exactly unique and brought nothing new to the genre that hasn't been done years ago by Id or Epic. Quite frankly if this was a no-name FPS title no one would be dishing out Unimaginatively dull. Graphics are pretty awful (for a 360 game) and seems more like a Halo 2 upgrade with hi-def polygons. Single player seems so rushed and so short. Sure multiplayer is frantic but it isn't exactly unique and brought nothing new to the genre that hasn't been done years ago by Id or Epic. Quite frankly if this was a no-name FPS title no one would be dishing out '10's to it. Expand
  100. GaryS.
    Oct 1, 2007
    7
    One word can describe Halo 3 "average" !!!!!
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's the addition of the Forge level editor and the saved films that give the game an even longer set of legs, legs that will probably keep you running at full speed until Bungie figures out where, exactly, to go from here.
  2. Halo 3 is the best Xbox 360 game to date. The single-player campaign and storyline are both very strong, but it's Forge and the Saved Films features that will likely go down in history as Bungie's crowning achievements. They've basically taken everything great about the series and improved upon it in every way, then added some amazing new features that we'll be using for years to come.
  3. 100
    It's solid gameplay, immense replayability, online functionality and incredible production values will ensure its place in video game history, and it is, without a doubt, a satisfying and fulfilling close to the beloved trilogy[?].