User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3742 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    Story: 9
    Characters: 9
    Graphics: 10
    Setting: 8
    Multiplayer: 10
    Soundtrack: 10
    Audio: 10
    Gameplay: 10
    Re-Playability Value: 8
    Fun Factor: 9

    Score: 9.3/10 = A+
  2. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    Magnificant game!! WOwZa! love it play it all day! now i have to get a bath... im the boss.....yep, life is good. im playing halo 3! awesome game...let me tell ya folks!
  3. Dec 25, 2011
    8
    This game to shooters is like what Forza 2 was to racing games. A huge step up for the next-gen console. I don't like the gameplay, but I do respect the huge amount of work that's gone into it- esprcially the multiplayer. It really is a complete package. Halo 3 was the first ever example of a complete package, 7th generation shooter. The sheer scale of this game was just incredible. As myThis game to shooters is like what Forza 2 was to racing games. A huge step up for the next-gen console. I don't like the gameplay, but I do respect the huge amount of work that's gone into it- esprcially the multiplayer. It really is a complete package. Halo 3 was the first ever example of a complete package, 7th generation shooter. The sheer scale of this game was just incredible. As my first ever console experience of a shooter, I have to say that Halo 3 blew me away in all aspects. The graphics, environments, weapons, a map editor in Forge, the multiplayer matchmaking featuring TrueSkill, file share, the number of game modes. It's all just so revolutionary. So why can't I give it 10/10? Even though I've spent countless hours with friends playing split screen, changing the number of game setting which not even Black Ops can match, and also you get split screen online with guest account. But the one thing that makes this not worthy is simply my dislike of the combat system. There's no recoil and another contributing factor is that it's a console shooter so controls aren't as fluent as Call of Duty. Clearly this game set the benchmark for complete package games- more so than Call of Duty 4. However, the simple combat is what's stopping me from giving this incredible game 10/10. The campaign is fantastic and can be played in co-op, the split-screen and game modes and settings available for you to change... still no other shooter has come close to offering so much in a shooter other than Halo Reach. The creativity here and the impact it had in 2007 are just unbelievable though. Expand
  4. Oct 7, 2011
    9
    Here we are, the end of the Halo Trilogy...or the first one anyway. (I don't think they should make a 4th, just keep making spin-offs) But all that aside, this is a completely excellent game. Of course like the whole Halo series, the story and dialog is fantastic. You'll want to play the campaign over and over and over again, especially if you play with friends, then you virtually can't goHere we are, the end of the Halo Trilogy...or the first one anyway. (I don't think they should make a 4th, just keep making spin-offs) But all that aside, this is a completely excellent game. Of course like the whole Halo series, the story and dialog is fantastic. You'll want to play the campaign over and over and over again, especially if you play with friends, then you virtually can't go wrong, it's a good time, what can I say. And the multiplayer is fantastic, that is if you get what you want. In custom games I wish you could pick a game mode, pick a map, and find a server / create one. But you gotta put up with this playlist stuff, but still a monster of a game. Expand
  5. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    yes im giving this a ten, ( i hate giving tens and i wish there was a 9.5) i am only doing so because this is the first game i played online and was so great in that respect that i will never in my life forget this game, i have never(an probably wont again) replayed the campaign of a game this much, yes i was abit of a noob at that time but i still sometimes go for abit of halo 3 multi andyes im giving this a ten, ( i hate giving tens and i wish there was a 9.5) i am only doing so because this is the first game i played online and was so great in that respect that i will never in my life forget this game, i have never(an probably wont again) replayed the campaign of a game this much, yes i was abit of a noob at that time but i still sometimes go for abit of halo 3 multi and single, why? well i just find it fun, i find every kill satisfying and fun, unlike some games where killing can almost seem like a chore. i love this game so much that this is very biased and not really a review but this game has let me meet poeple and has changed my life is some ways. so if you actually read this A: thanks B:if you enjoyed this tell me because it really is abit silly to have this under as a review. :) Expand
  6. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    Halo 3 rocks in every way, the graphics are great, the playability, and the voicework are all stellar too. The plot is very interesting as you follow Master Chief in his attempt to stop the Covenant once and for all. The multiplayer rocks the house as it is very fun to play in and the forge morge allows you to edit your own maps, providing tons of fun. Overall Halo 3 is a great game thatHalo 3 rocks in every way, the graphics are great, the playability, and the voicework are all stellar too. The plot is very interesting as you follow Master Chief in his attempt to stop the Covenant once and for all. The multiplayer rocks the house as it is very fun to play in and the forge morge allows you to edit your own maps, providing tons of fun. Overall Halo 3 is a great game that will make it's mark in video game history and in the minds of the people that play it. Expand
  7. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    This game is the reason I purchased an XBOX 360. It is phenomenal. The multiplayer is almost perfect in its design and amazing to play. The ranked playlists accurately match you with teammates of your skill and provide hours of fun competition.
  8. Nov 1, 2011
    5
    To my readers, this game is nothing more than a mediocre game that was blasted into the limelight. What an overrated game. The mechanics are okay and the graphics are a plus. Multiplayer is overrated as well. May it be biased or objective, there are just too many trolls online. I can't say too much about this game. I didn't like it much myself, but that's just me. I do not recommend anyoneTo my readers, this game is nothing more than a mediocre game that was blasted into the limelight. What an overrated game. The mechanics are okay and the graphics are a plus. Multiplayer is overrated as well. May it be biased or objective, there are just too many trolls online. I can't say too much about this game. I didn't like it much myself, but that's just me. I do not recommend anyone to buy it, rather just borrow from a friend or rent it out and see the crappiness for yourself. Expand
  9. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    game of the decade in my opinion. of course the superior matchmaking is overly dramatized by fanboys (including me) but the in game story was amazing as well. i loved it from the moment you land on Seria. till the dramatic ending. and the skulls. a genius idea to incorporate player involvement, humor, and entertainment. i truly hope that 343 models there game engines off of this. insteadgame of the decade in my opinion. of course the superior matchmaking is overly dramatized by fanboys (including me) but the in game story was amazing as well. i loved it from the moment you land on Seria. till the dramatic ending. and the skulls. a genius idea to incorporate player involvement, humor, and entertainment. i truly hope that 343 models there game engines off of this. instead of halo reach (good game as well. just not as good) Expand
  10. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    9.5,probably one of the best fps of all time.An epic campaign expect for mission 9 and the multiplayer i ever played.Some features such as the theater mode and forge were introduced by this game.
  11. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is hands down the best game I have played in my entire life, nothing can beat it. The campaign was absolutely bad ass and awesome, it gives me this awesome feeling. The multiplayer, I can't explain how awesome it is, BTB on Sandtrap, Infection on Custom Sandbox maps. I can never get over how good this game was, and still is. I will never forget this game (Maybe that is because IThis game is hands down the best game I have played in my entire life, nothing can beat it. The campaign was absolutely bad ass and awesome, it gives me this awesome feeling. The multiplayer, I can't explain how awesome it is, BTB on Sandtrap, Infection on Custom Sandbox maps. I can never get over how good this game was, and still is. I will never forget this game (Maybe that is because I play it everyday.) Expand
  12. Sep 12, 2013
    6
    Halo 3 was a decent game but there were some issues that kept me from being fully immersed in the game. The most important was the lack of customizable button layout. Having controls that are different from other popular games only makes sense if it adds to the user experience. In the case of Halo 3 going against long established norms, it did not make sense. If you are going to haveHalo 3 was a decent game but there were some issues that kept me from being fully immersed in the game. The most important was the lack of customizable button layout. Having controls that are different from other popular games only makes sense if it adds to the user experience. In the case of Halo 3 going against long established norms, it did not make sense. If you are going to have controls that are particular to your game, at least have the decency to offer a custom option for those who do not see the brilliance in our scheme. If the controls hadn't been an issue, this game would rate higher. Expand
  13. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    Still one of the best first person shooters ever made cant recommend enough sad sony fanboys please grow up and stop writing your retarded misleading reviews i have a 360 and a ps3 and i can safely and there is no fps on ps3 that comes close to the halo games much better then shallow cod. Every real gamer should own this game roll on halo 4.
  14. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Theres games and theres HALO, Halo is in a whole different universe.
    So in conclusion, this is not a game of the year, its a freakin GAME OF THE DECADE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  15. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    With my review here, Understand that I'm reviewing it now, in almost 2012, and judging it by todays standards.

    Halo 3 was a great game when it came out, and I myself was in love with it for a good year of my life. But going back to it, it's very dated now. Anyone who thinks that Halo: Reach is not much different, should try going back and playing this. First off, the campaign mode is
    With my review here, Understand that I'm reviewing it now, in almost 2012, and judging it by todays standards.

    Halo 3 was a great game when it came out, and I myself was in love with it for a good year of my life. But going back to it, it's very dated now. Anyone who thinks that Halo: Reach is not much different, should try going back and playing this. First off, the campaign mode is excellent. I'm not usually a fan of campaigns but the fact that ti's co-op meant I could play it with friends and it was a lo of fun with some very memorable places and some good variation as opposed to just the same constant shooting tactics. I really like Halo driving mechanics and I'm glad it makes used to them.

    The Multiplayer has some beautiful levels that even in this day an age, look very nice in HD. However, weird things like being able to fall off anywhere and it not hurt you at all feel out of place within the game, and the jumping always feels a bit to anti-grav. Even now you can still find people online to play against easily enough, but I would strongly reccomend moving on to a new better FPS game. In summary, great co-op campaign and worth playing through, but don't get it for the multiplayer mode as it hasn't aged too well in that respect.
    Expand
  16. Dec 16, 2011
    6
    Campaign is boring and the story is pathetic, Its just a poor mix between the first 2 Halo games. Multiplayer is ok and features a few new additions and its still insanely addictive but its not as improved as I hoped for. The covenant got a make over for the game and it took a turn for the worst, They look even worst then what they were before (which wasnt all that bad).

    I agree that
    Campaign is boring and the story is pathetic, Its just a poor mix between the first 2 Halo games. Multiplayer is ok and features a few new additions and its still insanely addictive but its not as improved as I hoped for. The covenant got a make over for the game and it took a turn for the worst, They look even worst then what they were before (which wasnt all that bad).

    I agree that its far too overhyped and is a disapointment because of it.
    Expand
  17. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    i bought halo 3 when it was first released in 2007 and thought its was an amazing game the muitplayer was very addciting and the single player was great.
  18. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    Amazing game, my fav from the Halo series! Of coarse it's overrated, its only the end to the amazing Halo trilogy, and its where I think they should have stopped making Halo, (No hatred towards Halo Wars and Halo Reach, I love those games!) Way better than Halo 4, and the Covenant troops, (Especially the grunts and the brutes.) Of coarse the Elites are funny and in my opinion, them joiningAmazing game, my fav from the Halo series! Of coarse it's overrated, its only the end to the amazing Halo trilogy, and its where I think they should have stopped making Halo, (No hatred towards Halo Wars and Halo Reach, I love those games!) Way better than Halo 4, and the Covenant troops, (Especially the grunts and the brutes.) Of coarse the Elites are funny and in my opinion, them joining the humans is a highlight of the game, as they are my fav species from Halo, (Aside from the Engineers.) This game is must have for all Xbox 360 owners. Expand
  19. Dec 17, 2011
    9
    The game that made me get an Xbox 360. Simply put, one of the best first person shooters of all time. I can remember spending hours upon hours playing matchmaking and campaign. I would definitely recommend this game.
  20. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    This game is, and always will be one of the greatest multiplayer experiences EVER to come to console. Over the many fun years of playing during the awesome D-EXP weekends, or the thousands of cool customs games made in forge, this game never ever lost it ability to create an awesome playing experience in which you can joke around with friends and just have an awesome time. Even after fourThis game is, and always will be one of the greatest multiplayer experiences EVER to come to console. Over the many fun years of playing during the awesome D-EXP weekends, or the thousands of cool customs games made in forge, this game never ever lost it ability to create an awesome playing experience in which you can joke around with friends and just have an awesome time. Even after four years of playing this game and over 12000 games, I have never gotten bored of this game, once. If only we could see games like this in the future.
    On a campaign note, it was very good. There were awesome moments which really attached you to the characters and had them feeling their pain and suffering or joy. The campaign is always fun to play and the hundreds of easter eggs hidden throughout the campaign along with terminals create almost a second game within itself which has been seen in the community.
    There is no comparison to this game, apart from its previous multiplayer title of Halo 2.
    10/10
    Expand
  21. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    This game is what I got Xbox for back in 2009. It simply is amazing. I never played Halo 2, but I still like it. The multiplayer isn't overall "fun" or the campaign either, I just played it with my friends and had alot of fun doing that. 9 out of 10.
  22. May 27, 2012
    10
    I give this a 10 due to what I see as some bs ratings. The only complaint I have is the campaign is linear, but that's to be expected from a console, multiplayer-focused fps. Regardless of that fact, I enjoyed the campaign very much, and the multiplayer is stellar. The addition of BR spread since Halo 2 did mean smaller maps, but I can't say I really mind. Being able to see someone, butI give this a 10 due to what I see as some bs ratings. The only complaint I have is the campaign is linear, but that's to be expected from a console, multiplayer-focused fps. Regardless of that fact, I enjoyed the campaign very much, and the multiplayer is stellar. The addition of BR spread since Halo 2 did mean smaller maps, but I can't say I really mind. Being able to see someone, but not necessarily kill them outright is nice and gives you a chance to outmanoeuvre them a bit. Other than that, it's not so different from Halo 2 (albeit missing the double and quad shots.) Everyone starts out on equal footing, and games tend to focus on map control for the power weapons. Just because your opponent gets the first shot off on you doesn't mean you're screwed. Forge mode adds a lot of longevity to the game, especially with the foundry and sandbox maps. All in all, an excellent game. Expand
  23. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    Awesome game, played hundreds of hours with friends. Kids who rate this lower are fanboys and don't have any friends or just dont like multiplayer games.
  24. Jan 17, 2012
    6
    If you've played Halo 1 and 2 then you seen it before. Halo 3 is fun, but not epic and imaginative like it's ad campgain. The end of the war with the Covenant should not be a hand full of Brutes. The ending is so vague that I really did not know what had actually happened. The Covenant were one of the most original characters in video game history, they diserved more than this, and soIf you've played Halo 1 and 2 then you seen it before. Halo 3 is fun, but not epic and imaginative like it's ad campgain. The end of the war with the Covenant should not be a hand full of Brutes. The ending is so vague that I really did not know what had actually happened. The Covenant were one of the most original characters in video game history, they diserved more than this, and so did you. Compared to the wonderful story this game falls on it's knees. It's action funnest with a series of confusing objectives tacked on. Expand
  25. Nov 6, 2012
    9
    Just like the previous Halo games. This is a very well made game from its story telling to its multiplayer. A much better game then Halo reach and Halo odst.
  26. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    Halo 3 is an excellent game. The story was a little disappointing and was sprinkled here and there with a few cheesy lines that made me want to yell at the Bungie writing team "WHAT WERE YOU THINKING?" But other than those minor flaws, the game is a magnificent work. There are some AI issues, but for it's day that's nothing big enough to lower my score of 10. The game flows smoothly, playsHalo 3 is an excellent game. The story was a little disappointing and was sprinkled here and there with a few cheesy lines that made me want to yell at the Bungie writing team "WHAT WERE YOU THINKING?" But other than those minor flaws, the game is a magnificent work. There are some AI issues, but for it's day that's nothing big enough to lower my score of 10. The game flows smoothly, plays great, and looks good for a game of it's day (I admit Halo games have never been designed to "set the bar" in graphics). Halo 3 is addicting, and is a campaign that I have played countless numbers of time since 2007. I believe that the game was WAY too short! There is so much more to the story, characters, and universe that Bungie could have explored in this game. Overall, the story started rough but caught speed and became engaging and unforgettable. I'm still playing this game in 2012, campaign AND multiplayer. It's just so much fun!!! it's addicting! Bungie did it's job, and Halo 3 delivered. If you haven't played this game, I totally recommend it! If you played it awhile ago but sold it long ago, I recommend re-purchasing it! Halo 3 is a full package and has alot to offer. Expand
  27. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    This game's multiplayer is still being played to this date. Even Halo Combat evolved's multiplayer is still on, When Bungie makes a game, they build it to last- Unlike a certain FPS franchise. and If you want a mediocre FPS, Go play your crappy Call of Duty. Halo has quality and a good single player AND multiplayer. If this isn't enough for you as a gamer, than you disgust me...
  28. Aug 13, 2012
    9
    Here is the big finale Bungie don't **** it up! Oh wait too late. Halo 3 is a failure in terms of gameplay, it copies everything from the past two games and throws in the worst level design seen in the entire series. Halo 3 begins immediately after that bastard cliffhanger of Halo 2, The covenant have successfully invaded Earth, Master Chief is in bad condition and the flood are growingHere is the big finale Bungie don't **** it up! Oh wait too late. Halo 3 is a failure in terms of gameplay, it copies everything from the past two games and throws in the worst level design seen in the entire series. Halo 3 begins immediately after that bastard cliffhanger of Halo 2, The covenant have successfully invaded Earth, Master Chief is in bad condition and the flood are growing ever stronger along with the Gravemind orbiting Earth on the Covenant city High Charity with Cortana well and truly in its clutches. Chief must fight Covenant ground forces t get up to High Charity to secure the dying Cortana before the flood **** up what's left of earth. Halo 3 is a clearing up job of what you have previously ****ed up in Halo's 1&2 and then ends on another ****ing cliffhanger! The fact that its Halo, that it plays well and that the multiplayer is fantastic are its only redeeming factors. (Hence the high score) Expand
  29. May 20, 2012
    6
    Good graphics. Even today, but even before the server was shut down, there were still occasional lags and screwups. Too mediocre to still play, even a year ago when i bought the game.
  30. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    The best Halo game Bungie has ever made, Halo 3 delivered on all fronts. With an amazing story, great and innovative gameplay, and the best multiplayer out there, Halo 3 defined an era of gaming. I still look back on it with very warm and fond memories. The Spartan Laser, Mongoose, and all the amazing maps are some of the things that I will never forget. Unfortunately the graphics aren'tThe best Halo game Bungie has ever made, Halo 3 delivered on all fronts. With an amazing story, great and innovative gameplay, and the best multiplayer out there, Halo 3 defined an era of gaming. I still look back on it with very warm and fond memories. The Spartan Laser, Mongoose, and all the amazing maps are some of the things that I will never forget. Unfortunately the graphics aren't as good as we all once thought they were, but if you can get passed that, Halo 3 is by far the best Halo game out there. Expand
  31. May 18, 2012
    8
    I was rather disappointed with halo 3. I couldn't follow the story and the gameplay was a bit boring. Maybe it's because I didn't play the other Halos. It's still a fun game: the mulpiplayer is lots of fun and the graphics are pretty nice. What made me give this an 8 in stead of a 7 is thanks to it's fantastic music.
  32. Feb 2, 2013
    10
    This game is awsome best game I have ever played I see that there are now faults except the story wich was kind of short the multiplayer is amazing although it's annoying how many small kids play it and kinda ruin the experience but other than that it is skimpily awsome
  33. May 27, 2012
    6
    game is okay, not as good as the previous two games.
  34. Jun 9, 2012
    8
    An Overrated Game. Its definately not bad. In fact the gameplay and multiplayer are great. But as someone who was new to Halo. None of it made sense. It would have been nice if there was a summary of the other games or something. Still, a decent game.
  35. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    The game engine for this game is the apex of years of refinement and will not be improved on. This is due to the fact that they didn't try too hard and kept the core of the Halo story going whilst putting together the single best multiplayer system ever. Thanks Bungie!
  36. Jun 26, 2014
    8
    One of the few games I got all of the achievements for. Playing FFA on The Pit.. Getting a quad-kill with an energy sword? Awesome. Getting your last two achievements? Badass. Unlocking the katana to remember that forever? Priceless.
  37. Aug 6, 2012
    8
    While probably over-hyped by many, this game is still rather good and delivers a great experience in both single-player and multiplayer. I enjoyed playing through the campaign in co-op mode with my roommate and then spending countless hours battling it out online in multiplayer. If you never played this, go ahead and drop the $10 to get a copy.
  38. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    This was probably the most hyped game of all time, and it did not disappoint. It is in fact the most perfect game ever created (in my opinion). It has everything, a solid, enjoyable and satisfying conclusion to the Halo trilogy. The best Multiplayer that console had to offer as well as an addictive forge mode. As for the campaign I do not think it is as strong as the first or secondThis was probably the most hyped game of all time, and it did not disappoint. It is in fact the most perfect game ever created (in my opinion). It has everything, a solid, enjoyable and satisfying conclusion to the Halo trilogy. The best Multiplayer that console had to offer as well as an addictive forge mode. As for the campaign I do not think it is as strong as the first or second but that is not something to be ashamed of because Halo and Halo 2 had some of the best campaign's of all time.

    I only have two criticisms of the game which has stopped it from being the best Halo ever and the best game on 360. There were only nine levels while Halo 2 had 14 and Halo had 10 solid ones. Finally, the game lacked to influence of Cortana because she was absent until the second last mission, I know this was part of the story but her and Chief is what makes Halo.

    Other than that everything else about the game is perfect

    10/10
    Expand
  39. Jul 31, 2012
    7
    I have only played the campaign for Halo 3, but the issues I have with this game are with the entire game. I'll give the multiplayer the benefit of the doubt though. One, why is the fov so low in this game? Humans have upwards of 100 degree field of view, so why is it that Master Chief has a fov of around 60? This is such a problem I have with this game, it's like handicapping the player.I have only played the campaign for Halo 3, but the issues I have with this game are with the entire game. I'll give the multiplayer the benefit of the doubt though. One, why is the fov so low in this game? Humans have upwards of 100 degree field of view, so why is it that Master Chief has a fov of around 60? This is such a problem I have with this game, it's like handicapping the player. You are essentially playing the game with tunnel vision. Haven't the game designers ever played DOOM before? DOOM has around 90 fov, and DOOM wasn't even WIDESCREEN. I've heard somewhere that the low fov is because it means less rendering for the console, and therefore, more fps. If that's true, that means the game designers were thinking like this: Graphics come first, THEN gameplay. That's just flat out wrong. If you're playing a new computer game on an old computer, you turn down the GRAPHICS so you can play the game, you don't play the game for the graphics, that's just nonsense. It literally made me stop playing the game for a couple of days because it was just not fun to play.

    There are some other graphics and sound problems I have but they PALE in comparison to this problem, so I won't mention them. Even the crosshair isn't even as much of an issue with this unrealistic fov. In regards to gameplay, I still wish they left the guns from Halo CE alone. I'm tired of changing guns every 5 seconds to suit the situation. The AR-grenade-melee system was just perfect. Yeah they made the melee a whole heck of a lot better (and more useful!), but the grenades are now useless, you don't even get as many of them anymore. The guns are not nearly as overpowered as Halo 1, but that was part of it's appeal. Yeah ripping Heavy Machine Guns off their tri-pods is one of the coolest shooter mechanics I've seen since ADS, but I'd still rather go into a fight with the MA5B, (and FOUR frag grenades).

    I love Halo 1, absolute God-send of video games. Buying the Anniversary Edition only made me remember this.
    Expand
  40. Aug 25, 2012
    7
    This game has a solid campaign. It plays well and that's all I care about since I haven't played the previous two games. The Forge is incredible even at it's early stages when there was no sandbox or foundry. dropping tanks on friends is just fun. Multi-player is great and it is done very well. That being said it is much more fun in custom game if you have the right friends and game types.
  41. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This game is brilliant, It is amazing to play with friends over Xbox live, or on the same Xbox.
  42. MrR
    Nov 2, 2012
    9
    It's been 5 years since this game released. Very few other video games have brought me as much enjoyment. The story was pretty good, though the campaign didn't live up to what I expected. However, I did expect a LOT, and I still had a great time playing through it. The visuals, music, and gameplay were far above par for this time, and there were many easter eggs and achievements to go backIt's been 5 years since this game released. Very few other video games have brought me as much enjoyment. The story was pretty good, though the campaign didn't live up to what I expected. However, I did expect a LOT, and I still had a great time playing through it. The visuals, music, and gameplay were far above par for this time, and there were many easter eggs and achievements to go back to and try to accomplish. Where Halo 3 really shined though, was the multiplayer. I played this for years, and still to date have yet to play a game so fun and addicting. Every match online played differently, with different dynamics. Additions such as the Elephants on Sandbox changed the formula like never before. Forge. Oh forge. This was the innovation that made custom games with my friends more fun than ever before. There was not limit to the amazing maps to be found and played. With all the custom game options, there was always something new to try. The classic wide variety of weapons in Halo Games really sets it above other FPS's for me. There are always different strategies, different weapons are useful in different situations, and there was just so much fun and joy in killing my foes in so many creative ways. What a game. I'll give it a 9 because the single player wasn't quite as enjoyable as I had hoped :) Expand
  43. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    Series hit is peak here, many thought this would be the last Halo, yeah they all use the same formula, but in what ways can a game like this change and not ruin itself? The campaign was a fun and long sandbox story. The multiplayer is unmatched, I still play it to this day, always fun. Awesome, awesome game.
  44. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    Amazing first-person action and an excellent narrative, Halo 3 is an excellent game. There are several frustrating parts in the game that came of as time killers rather than proper missions.
  45. Nov 7, 2012
    10
    The best game i've played on the Xbox 360 so far. It has a nice campaign, nice multiplayer and the theatre. What more can you ask for? So get out there and finish that fight!
  46. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    Halo. An amazing series that millions love. But is this the fitting end? Yes. And a most definite one at that. Master Chief resumes his role as head ass kicker of the galaxy and he resumes it quite awesome-ly. The campaign is action packed and just feels right. The weapons are perfectly balanced, the aliens are fun to shoot, and vehicular combat is one helluva time. And say you feel likeHalo. An amazing series that millions love. But is this the fitting end? Yes. And a most definite one at that. Master Chief resumes his role as head ass kicker of the galaxy and he resumes it quite awesome-ly. The campaign is action packed and just feels right. The weapons are perfectly balanced, the aliens are fun to shoot, and vehicular combat is one helluva time. And say you feel like breaking some military laws. Screwing around with your marines is fun too, especially when they think you've gone AWOL in the barracks. The multiplayer is amazing and so in depth. Red vs. blue has never been this much fun as my customized, Mark V Spartan is silently taking down enemies with invisibility on High Ground, or flying a banshee on the Blood Gulch like Valhalla, or carrying an Elephant cargo vehicle across an all out desert war, or wanting to say so much more about this heart pounding multiplayer but can't even fit that much information into the tiny brain compared to the vast unimaginable HALO 3. The forge is a nice addition too and affects gameplay in however way you want it. You can put a weapon over there or a weapon over here. You can ands a BUILDING over right there. Whatever you can imagine, forge has it. Halo 3 is the ultimate package for anyone with a 360 and if you don't have it, you're either an eight year old, or the unhappiest man alive. Expand
  47. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    This game is very good, although people will say leading shots is stupid it just takes some time to get use to. After people got use to it they started to enjoy the game more and overall I gave this game a 9 because the maps were excellent, and the weapons were very well balanced. The only flaw is that sometimes online, your shots will not register if the connection is bad.
  48. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    How the **** did this game get a 7.6? This is arguably the best halo ever made. The weapons are well balanced, new creative ideas, great maps, forge is sick and the bubble shield is sweet.
  49. Jun 25, 2013
    8
    Excellent multiplayer and an interesting story should ultimately leave gamers satisfied with the tentative conclusion to one of gaming's most beloved franchises.
  50. Dec 15, 2013
    4
    It would be fascinating to know why other reviewers rate this title so highly, as the Single-Player is one of the worst in existence, the characters are uninteresting and easily forgettable and the load-time durations are simply a war crime. Halo 3's soundtrack, multiplayer and distinctive visual style prevent this title from simply being a polished turd. Multiplayer (including Forge Mode)It would be fascinating to know why other reviewers rate this title so highly, as the Single-Player is one of the worst in existence, the characters are uninteresting and easily forgettable and the load-time durations are simply a war crime. Halo 3's soundtrack, multiplayer and distinctive visual style prevent this title from simply being a polished turd. Multiplayer (including Forge Mode) is the only plausible reason to purchase this game for entertainment value because it earns its own merit and then some. The maps are varied and offer plenty of strategy and the use of vehicles are immensely entertaining.

    Graphics 6/10 Although distinct in visual style, some of the level design does little to highlight it.
    Gameplay 6/10 Single player is atrocious, boring and forgettable but multiplayer is in a league of its own.
    Features 6/10 Removing the vacuous single player from the equation, Multiplayer has a gargantuan lasting appeal.

    Overall: 4/10 Multiplayer retains the same high standards of previous entries but the single player is simply an offence in gaming.
    Expand
  51. May 15, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The campaign, which is very good, is Halo 3's weakest point. It doesn't capture the cavalier spirit of the original Halo, but you'll still have fun playing through it. There's no first-person shooter on 360 that can equal Halo 3's blend of cinematic action, adrenaline-pumping shootouts, and male- (and female)-bonding gameplay. Look beyond the gameplay and you have a rich feature set unlike anything ever delivered in a videogame. Expand
  52. Nov 10, 2013
    7
    Let me start off by saying, Halo 3 is well worth your money and your time. The story campaign is well done and you really feel connected to the characters, although the campaign is short (about 5-6 hours long) it's still worth your money just for that. The campaign also includes co-op just like all the previous Halo games and that's a bunch of fun. The multi-player is still as good asLet me start off by saying, Halo 3 is well worth your money and your time. The story campaign is well done and you really feel connected to the characters, although the campaign is short (about 5-6 hours long) it's still worth your money just for that. The campaign also includes co-op just like all the previous Halo games and that's a bunch of fun. The multi-player is still as good as ever, if not, better. New vehicles and new guns keep the game from becoming bland when compared to the previous games.

    The multi-player will make you keep coming for more with the ranking system and the customisable armour for your player. There's a new mode called Forge which lets you edit maps and do some really cool stuff, unfortunately it is very limited but it's still fun to play with friends and create a racetrack every now and then.

    The graphics are nice considering this games was released in 2007 and although they may not look the best now they still hold up pretty well. This games is a solid game, and it deserves all your money and time, buy it, I honestly can't think of any cons for this games apart from being a bit repetitive sometimes. Even if you don't have Xbox Live this game has split-screen or offline players and still let's you play everything Xbox Live members do, as long as you have a second controller and a buddy.

    Seriously, buy this game right now.
    Expand
  53. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    THE definitive Xbox 360 First person multiplayer shooter, and in my opinion the greatest shooter of the second half of the 2000's. Nothing beats it from the best ranking system of this generation, to the arsenal available, to the powerups and map layout, to the vehicular mayhem of Big team battle.

    Time has made this even better. Whereas almost all shooters now have the XP levelling
    THE definitive Xbox 360 First person multiplayer shooter, and in my opinion the greatest shooter of the second half of the 2000's. Nothing beats it from the best ranking system of this generation, to the arsenal available, to the powerups and map layout, to the vehicular mayhem of Big team battle.

    Time has made this even better. Whereas almost all shooters now have the XP levelling popularised by Call of Duty 4, play those now and you will rarely get to the top without a lot of hitches and frustration. Halo 3 has you start the same as everyone else, and makes for strategic knowledge of the map, weapon roles, and playing as a unit. Its great to have this setup, and I long for a similar game without grinding for XP.

    with a stable population still, now in its sixth year after release, Halo 3 is the old king of the 360 that still has reason to be played.
    Expand
  54. Feb 8, 2013
    7
    It seems that the critics were paid off. The campaign of this game is okay. It's far better with friends. Multiplayer is also passable, but not impressive. Forge mode and the ridiculous custom games that have been created are the best parts of Halo 3.
  55. Feb 16, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Halo 3 is phenomenal game.Why you ask, because it was the first game that really got my attention when buying an Xbox 360. I made the right choice too. I've played all the Halos(Except Halo Wars) and this one was the game that made me love the Xbox. Bungie is known for mostly its popular Halo series of course. But nothing the less the game is fantastic and all Xbox 360 should buy this game.After the events of Halo 2, both Prophet of Regret and Mercy are dead and Truth is on his way to the Ark(A forerunner like construct of the Halo rings) with his Covenant armada. Cheif who is following Truth to Earth because of a Forerunner construct in New Mombasa. Arbiter is on your side and so is the rest of the UNSC platoon. Cheif must stop Truth and the firing of the Halos and find Cortana who is with the Gravemind(a.k.a. Flood leader) while also dealing with the Flood and Covenant and finishing them of to. Their are new vehicles,weapons,characters,enemies and so much more. The multiplayer and custom games is fun and easy for all. Forging maps in Forge with your friends is also amazing.The Story of Halo is amazing unique and makes you wonder what all the remaining questions about the universe and foreunners and much more. The fate of the Universe really depends on Cheif, so does the money that comes out of your wallet torward this game is worth it.If you haven't played Halo then do so,you will not regret it, I promise you. Expand
  56. Jun 27, 2013
    7
    Halo 3 is an all around good game. However, there are a few issues with it. For one thing, the FPS mechanics are very uninteresting. Other than a few cool guns, the game just doesn't have much else as far as mechanics go. Also, the story is really bland at times. It doesn't seem cohesive and fails to engage the player. The multiplayer, too, it a bit bland, feeling more like Halo 2 withHalo 3 is an all around good game. However, there are a few issues with it. For one thing, the FPS mechanics are very uninteresting. Other than a few cool guns, the game just doesn't have much else as far as mechanics go. Also, the story is really bland at times. It doesn't seem cohesive and fails to engage the player. The multiplayer, too, it a bit bland, feeling more like Halo 2 with better graphics. It's a good game, just a bit uninspired. I constantly hear that this game is the best in the series, however I'd have to disagree. To me, the original Halo will always be the best. Expand
  57. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    To this day, Halo 3 remains the franchise's best multiplayer experience. The single-player campaign is lengthy, hugely diverse and packed with memorable moments. I feel Halo 3 was as close to perfect as the series will ever get.
  58. Mar 13, 2013
    8
    Halo 3 may be the king of all first person shooter games. That opinion could almost be a fact. With it's 5 year lifespan Halo 3 retains over 10,000 players online and will probably never be knocked off it's throne. Halo 4 may be out already, but let's take a look at a real Halo game, shall we? Halo 3 is the final battle between humanity, the covenant, and the flood. The main enemy in thisHalo 3 may be the king of all first person shooter games. That opinion could almost be a fact. With it's 5 year lifespan Halo 3 retains over 10,000 players online and will probably never be knocked off it's throne. Halo 4 may be out already, but let's take a look at a real Halo game, shall we? Halo 3 is the final battle between humanity, the covenant, and the flood. The main enemy in this installment is the prophet of truth, a crafty ambitious member of the covenant. The story is strong and also includes the Arbiter along with the classic scarabs. When you look deeper though, you'll find yourself more immersed in the gameplay of the campaign rather than the story. Expand
  59. May 10, 2013
    7
    My first halo game, also my second game on XBOX. I used this game to practice my aiming skill using a controller other than keyboard+mouse. Beat the campaign, I think 5 times and didn't pay any attention to the story since I never played the first two games. TBH, i found Master Chief the least interesting character in this game.
  60. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    This was THE game back in the days playing with friends. Bungie with this new game introduced the Forge in which you can create ANYTHING you want and build and play on it. I never got bored with it nor the map packs that came out. Really changed the gaming world.
  61. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    Similar to Halo 2 the campaign is average and while it wraps up the story the ending is still a cliff-hanger the graphics aren't that impressive and the story is not that good.
    But the Forge mode is really good but lets you create tons of maps for multiplayer and the Theater lets you record videos and take screenshots.
    The multiplayer is amazing there is a lot of maps,weapons and modes
    Similar to Halo 2 the campaign is average and while it wraps up the story the ending is still a cliff-hanger the graphics aren't that impressive and the story is not that good.
    But the Forge mode is really good but lets you create tons of maps for multiplayer and the Theater lets you record videos and take screenshots.
    The multiplayer is amazing there is a lot of maps,weapons and modes this is why you play Halo 3
    Expand
  62. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    probably the greatest fps game ever created Halo is probably the god of fps games all other fps games just fall in comparison to this game its one of the few good games the 360 has
  63. May 3, 2013
    7
    This is a good FPS game.Beshides having so many confrences and seeing advertisments on G4 all the time,the campagin is good and the multiplayer is a lot of fun.
  64. ERB
    Sep 7, 2013
    9
    Wow!For a 2007 game this game has unbelievable graphics!The game play is so awesome and I totally get it why it has a high score.I like the story but the only problem is it is short.But still for me this is a game that is so cool and awesome and also memorable.I like this game!
  65. Jun 12, 2014
    10
    A great finale for a great series. With its fun campaign and exciting multiplayer this game is one of the greatest games ever, and definitely still the best Master Chief game
  66. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    Halo 3 in my opinion still stands the test of time as the creator of the word (epic game conclusion franchise), (Finish The Fight Master Chief THE HYPE THE HYPE and it lived up to it if not more so) an epic fight it was for that matter, with a powerful soundtrack by Martin Donnell, (The flood music especially) An epic FPS SCFI halo 3 is that i will remember forever. I recommend this gameHalo 3 in my opinion still stands the test of time as the creator of the word (epic game conclusion franchise), (Finish The Fight Master Chief THE HYPE THE HYPE and it lived up to it if not more so) an epic fight it was for that matter, with a powerful soundtrack by Martin Donnell, (The flood music especially) An epic FPS SCFI halo 3 is that i will remember forever. I recommend this game to anyone who enjoys FPS/SCFI although my first recommendation would be to play the first 2 halo games to know the lore abit more, or you will be completely lost jumping into this game. Expand
  67. May 26, 2013
    7
    Halo 3 is not a bad game, its just not that good. The game's story was completely confusing, plot holes everywhere. The new enemies, the Brutes, are stupid as hell, but fun to kill. It seems that Bungi never took any risks, besides the co-op campaign. Arbiter is back, that's about all I can say. Wish I could talk about MP, but I don't use Xbox LIVE. Either way, Halo 3 is an awesome returnHalo 3 is not a bad game, its just not that good. The game's story was completely confusing, plot holes everywhere. The new enemies, the Brutes, are stupid as hell, but fun to kill. It seems that Bungi never took any risks, besides the co-op campaign. Arbiter is back, that's about all I can say. Wish I could talk about MP, but I don't use Xbox LIVE. Either way, Halo 3 is an awesome return for Master Chief, but is lackluster in the execution, which is sad. Expand
  68. May 30, 2013
    8
    When it comes to the story, Halo 3 WAS a nice conclusion to the series (before it contracted sequelitis) and I enjoyed its campaign. The multiplayer is fun, but I am not a huge fan of. I did spend hours in Forge mode, in which I would add on to levels with my own makeshift structures. I'd definitely check it out.
  69. May 16, 2014
    9
    I remember when i first play this game i was blown away by the graphics and environments, i couldn't put down the controller! turns out I finished halo 3 in 3 days. Halo 3 is an amazing squeal to such a popular gaming series, it really pushed the franchise forward! Everything that was great in the past games is now amazing! the only thing it's missing is something new. Halo 3 broughtI remember when i first play this game i was blown away by the graphics and environments, i couldn't put down the controller! turns out I finished halo 3 in 3 days. Halo 3 is an amazing squeal to such a popular gaming series, it really pushed the franchise forward! Everything that was great in the past games is now amazing! the only thing it's missing is something new. Halo 3 brought nothing new to the table just stuck to its pros and gave us a solid FPS if not the best. A worthy game to play! Microsoft Studios has really out done themselves. Expand
  70. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    I can easily say this is my favorite game of all time. I would spend hours playing custom games with my friends, deep into the night. The moments I had with game are unforgettable. Considering this game is 6 years old, I won't do a long review, but the campaign was outstanding. Forge was a new and genius idea. Multiplayer was extremely addicting.

    Overall 10 Campaign 10 Multiplayer
    I can easily say this is my favorite game of all time. I would spend hours playing custom games with my friends, deep into the night. The moments I had with game are unforgettable. Considering this game is 6 years old, I won't do a long review, but the campaign was outstanding. Forge was a new and genius idea. Multiplayer was extremely addicting.

    Overall 10

    Campaign 10
    Multiplayer 9
    Custom Games 10
    Forge, Theater, Soundtrack, MISC. 10
    Expand
  71. Aug 31, 2013
    6
    Single player, Solid game play. Multiplayer, leave it to the "click and twitch" crowd of adolescent 13-18 year old Red Bull laced kids. At this point, if you haven't played the other 2, don't start. The story isn't that compelling that you'll remember any major plot point.
  72. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    Its just perfect idjfjjfjfjfjfjfnfjfjjfjhggghjjifrmekfkrjfnfkfnfkejfbgbvwgvvdhfjckflfpfoflfkwnqnwmcogorñxnxnfbfjejfjfjfbdbfbfhfjwjqksiqkqkskfofoficicoglgkgifufhejjwjealofbfnfjfrjgjfjfjfjfj
  73. Jul 5, 2013
    0
    Hi, I do not really like this game because in my opinion is a cheap copy of unreal tournament, the only halo that is worth halo reach to rest all are cheap copies of unreal tournament.
  74. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    Revolutionary online play featuring the most balanced weapons system possibly ever. The campaign can be both challenging and incredibly fun, with an appropriate difficulty for everybody along the way. Matched with an exhilarating storyline you can not go wrong with this purchase. Coming out in 2007, it's influence and overplay still hold up today. Custom games allow you to have endless funRevolutionary online play featuring the most balanced weapons system possibly ever. The campaign can be both challenging and incredibly fun, with an appropriate difficulty for everybody along the way. Matched with an exhilarating storyline you can not go wrong with this purchase. Coming out in 2007, it's influence and overplay still hold up today. Custom games allow you to have endless fun with friends and other gamers while selecting from countless map and game type variations that will leave you completely satisfied. The Forge mode is another asset that truly sets Halo 3 apart from other games. Taking any map, you can build structures, race tracks, mini games, etc. to play for yourself and the entire online community through your File share. The ranking system is also fantastic with the 'Highest Skill' aspect that will have you on the edge of your seat in almost every game with the risk of you either ranking up closer to 50, or going down. Playing the campaign and earning certain achievements also allows you to unlock to armour to alternate with your online character in which you can mix and match to your desire. (colours included). Overall, Halo 3 is an unbelievable game that caters to both the casual, hardcore and everywhere in between fans. This is a game that has so many possibilities and will NOT leave you disappointed. Expand
  75. Sep 24, 2013
    9
    Halo; Combat Evolved or Halo 2 are often considered the best halo games. Though they are fantastic games, the only things they have to offer that Halo 3 doesn't are the nostalgia, story (Excluding Halo 2) and possibly balancing with the enemies and weapons. Other than that, Halo 3 is pretty much superior in all ways. You can't argue that the multiplayer for the first two were better thanHalo; Combat Evolved or Halo 2 are often considered the best halo games. Though they are fantastic games, the only things they have to offer that Halo 3 doesn't are the nostalgia, story (Excluding Halo 2) and possibly balancing with the enemies and weapons. Other than that, Halo 3 is pretty much superior in all ways. You can't argue that the multiplayer for the first two were better than Halo 3's multiplayer. Balancing issues aside, Halo 3 has NUMEROUS multiplayer options like forge, custom game options, more weapons and customization, and most importantly, online multiplayer. While The first two may have had online multiplayer on the PC version, Halo 3 was more superior and more successful than both. Now, on the side or story, the story of the first two (Referring to opinion) could very well be much superior in terms of everything, but the story can't be the way you compare the two, since single-player wasn't exactly Halo 3's goal. While they put more effort into the story than, say Call of Duty, they weren't aiming for a story-game, but more of a multiplayer game.
    The main reason that people preferred Halo 1 or 2 over 3 is mostly due to nostalgia, which isn't something you should let review your games for you. You have to review the game for how good it is, not nostalgia or memories. And when you look at Halo 3 in that perspective, it is definitely better than the first two.
    Expand
  76. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    Halo 3 is simply one of the Xbox 360 greatest titles of all time. From the lengthy (in FPS terms) and emotionally compelling single-player to the most addictive multiplayer experiences I've had this console generation, Halo 3 is the epic conclusion to the Human-Covenant War and contains moments that will stick with you for a long time. Still plenty of people online to play with co-op is aHalo 3 is simply one of the Xbox 360 greatest titles of all time. From the lengthy (in FPS terms) and emotionally compelling single-player to the most addictive multiplayer experiences I've had this console generation, Halo 3 is the epic conclusion to the Human-Covenant War and contains moments that will stick with you for a long time. Still plenty of people online to play with co-op is a blast and Forge mode adds a fun Minecraft-esque building mode for you to design and create your own custom maps and game types. Halo 3 has so much to offer, and especially at the price it's going for right now there is no reason not to pick it up. Halo 3 is my favorite game of all time and if you're interested in FPS at all then I implore you to consider giving this remarkable title a try, you know, the one other person that hasn't lol Expand
  77. Oct 22, 2013
    8
    um ótimo jogo que te leva a querer ver o que vai acontecer no final e quando chega no final você fica querendo que o jogo continue. Bom foi uma experiência muito boa e quero jogar com certeza o halo 4.
  78. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    Halo 3 is a true masterpiece. That's all that needs to be said. The gameplay is designed perfectly to match the style of landscape the game has, its graphics can outmatch almost all fps games made before 2012 (I'm looking at you CoD), and the music is beautifully composed and fits in perfectly with the gameplay. The multiplayer is based off of skill and requires a lot of time to get toHalo 3 is a true masterpiece. That's all that needs to be said. The gameplay is designed perfectly to match the style of landscape the game has, its graphics can outmatch almost all fps games made before 2012 (I'm looking at you CoD), and the music is beautifully composed and fits in perfectly with the gameplay. The multiplayer is based off of skill and requires a lot of time to get to understand the mechanics and ranking system (looking at CoD again). I think Halo 3 definitely deserves a 10 rating. Expand
  79. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Epic trilogies need epic and satisfying conclusions. That is exactly what you get with Halo 3. In my opinion this is the best Halo game of all time. Humanity with it's back against the wall is making one final effort to drive off the fractured covenant. Every battle is on a grand scale and you feel humanity's survival hanging in the balance. Equipment such as energy drains andEpic trilogies need epic and satisfying conclusions. That is exactly what you get with Halo 3. In my opinion this is the best Halo game of all time. Humanity with it's back against the wall is making one final effort to drive off the fractured covenant. Every battle is on a grand scale and you feel humanity's survival hanging in the balance. Equipment such as energy drains and deployable cover are a new mechanic. As always the weapons old and new are excellently balanced. This is one of my favorite games but in order to enjoy it to the fullest extent, I recommend that you play Halos 1 and 2 first. Expand
  80. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    Best Halo game EVER created! You are NOT a true Halo fan if you do NOT love this game. You are doing yourself a favor if you buy this game! Go ahead and do it. Don't listen to the negative reviews, either. This game is so worth it. It brought machinima to its peak, it introduced us to Theater and Forge, and accompanied by that was an amazing Matchmaking system with a superb ranking system.Best Halo game EVER created! You are NOT a true Halo fan if you do NOT love this game. You are doing yourself a favor if you buy this game! Go ahead and do it. Don't listen to the negative reviews, either. This game is so worth it. It brought machinima to its peak, it introduced us to Theater and Forge, and accompanied by that was an amazing Matchmaking system with a superb ranking system. You just CANNOT not love this game! If you're reading and and don't have it, get Halo 3 now! Expand
  81. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    one of the best xbox 360 games out there this game is extremely well done and deffently worth checking out it is true to the halo name and I cant believe this game has gotten that many User reviews.
  82. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player) Gameplay (2/2) Visuals/Story (2/2) (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player)

    Gameplay (2/2)

    Visuals/Story (2/2)

    (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is better than the visuals, review this section as if the visuals didn’t matter)

    Accessibility/Longevity (2/2)

    (Review this section only on Accessibility if the game has no longevity) (Review this section only on longevity if the game isn’t accessible)

    Pricing (1/2)

    Wildcard (0)

    This is a guideline for how to properly review games. Many reviewers like to get a “feel” for a game, and arbitrarily give a game a score that they believe it deserves. This results in wildly different scores between different reviewers, and vastly different scores between similar games. This guideline addresses these problems and scores games fairly and consistently. This guideline also gives scores that are usually similar to the metacritic score.

    The review score is based out of 10 points. There are no “half” or 0.5 increments. It is impossible to have a score above 10 or below 0. The review score will change as the game gets new dlc, drops in price, or if more secrets are found through the game increasing its appeal.

    The scoring is split into 6 sections. The first five sections can add a possible 2 points to the final score. The first 5 sections are Single Player/Multi Player, Gameplay, Visuals/Story, Accessibility/Longevity, and Pricing.

    Notice that 3 of these sections have two parts. These particular sections will be scored based on the stronger part of the game of the two. For example, if a game has a lousy single player campaign, but an excellent multiplayer component, that section will be based solely on the multiplayer as if the single player did not exist. This allows games to be based on their own merits, as many unnecessary features are shoehorned into video games by publishers to reach a “feature quota”. Games that excel in both areas of a section don’t receive should be noted in the written review, but cannot increase the score past 2 in that section. However, it can be taken into account in the final section

    The final section can add 1, add 0, or subtract 1 to the final score. This final section is the “wildcard” section. This section is for how the reviewer “feels” about the game, but limits this only to this section, rather than the entire 10 point review. This section can include any positive or negative point that was not covered in the previous 5 sections.
    Expand
  83. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Halo 3 is an amazing game that I love to come back to again & again to experience the fun campaign & extremely competetive, challenging, & fun multiplayer that I miss about multiplayer games.
  84. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    Halo 3 is a good game for Xbox 360, despite being an old game, from 2007, many people play it, and Campaign mode is nice, and multiplayer mode doesn't disappoint, with several different modes. This game, in my opinion, will still be cited by next years.
  85. Nov 28, 2013
    10
    man the game is now more than 6 years old but it still feels fresh. imho the best fps of the generation, killzone 2,3 and halo reach are awesome but halo 3 is just better
  86. Jun 25, 2014
    9
    Halo 3 is one of the most influential games of our time. It has one of the most enjoyable multiplayers and best stories in the business. It was my first game for the 360, and by God it was one of my favorites. For it's time, the graphics were astounding, the gameplay was smooth as cream and the soundtrack... oh Lord the soundtrack. It was one of the most sublime compositions of our time.Halo 3 is one of the most influential games of our time. It has one of the most enjoyable multiplayers and best stories in the business. It was my first game for the 360, and by God it was one of my favorites. For it's time, the graphics were astounding, the gameplay was smooth as cream and the soundtrack... oh Lord the soundtrack. It was one of the most sublime compositions of our time. In 2014 you can find it at a measly price, so grab your AR and jump into one of the last servers remaining, or simply enjoy the amazing campaign.

    9/10
    Expand
  87. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    This game is for everyone who's into Superheroes,FPS and Sci-fi. The campaign is very well made with a lot of replay value and co-op (splitscreen and online).The story is also very engaging. Online Multiplayer is a blast, my favorite mode is team slayer where two teams ,each with 4 players try to get the most kills. This is easily one of the most balanced games I've played to date. In 2014This game is for everyone who's into Superheroes,FPS and Sci-fi. The campaign is very well made with a lot of replay value and co-op (splitscreen and online).The story is also very engaging. Online Multiplayer is a blast, my favorite mode is team slayer where two teams ,each with 4 players try to get the most kills. This is easily one of the most balanced games I've played to date. In 2014 it is still worth it and there a lot of players online on weekends.
    I love it. 10 out of 10.
    Expand
  88. Jan 10, 2014
    10
    Halo 3 is my third favorite game of all time because, it is enjoyable experience, its fun to play with your friends, and it has one of the best campaign I've ever seen, so why if you haven't played this game yet. buy it. I still play this game to the date and its still fun to play. oh if you a cod player and you don't like this game, you have no variety.
  89. Jan 18, 2014
    7
    Another game that is a little hard to review, as the multi-player element of the game is far better than it's single player campaign. Halo gains almost all it's score in the multi-player but I feel this is a bit unfair as it's one of the only online experiences I have had on the 360 but that's because it's the most fun. The only good thing the single player campaign did was remind me ofAnother game that is a little hard to review, as the multi-player element of the game is far better than it's single player campaign. Halo gains almost all it's score in the multi-player but I feel this is a bit unfair as it's one of the only online experiences I have had on the 360 but that's because it's the most fun. The only good thing the single player campaign did was remind me of the fun I had playing the original Halo, after the second Halo game really didn't tickle my balls I thought this game returned to a formula that works, but the more I thought about the game afterwards the more it reminded me of Halo and it felt like this game was just chasing the success of the original. This was the end of my interest in the Halo storyline, I thought it descended into **** at the start of the second game. Overall the amount of time I have spent playing multi-player saves this game from a low score. Expand
  90. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    It's by far my favorite Halo game. Don't know why it got so much hate. It's the #1 game of 2007 I still come back to. It never gets old. The ending of the game still impresses me to this day. The story broke no barriers and was consistent. Still hate the level Cortana, though.
  91. Apr 8, 2014
    0
    Unfortunately, I at one time loved the Halo series, so it was inevitable that I would eventually get the 3rd installment in the series. Now let's breakdown what an utter piece of crap this game was and why 2700 other users on this site need to be sterilized so they can't breed. To utter a term coined by one Yahtzee Croshaw, (who I normally adamantly disagree with) This game is a spunkUnfortunately, I at one time loved the Halo series, so it was inevitable that I would eventually get the 3rd installment in the series. Now let's breakdown what an utter piece of crap this game was and why 2700 other users on this site need to be sterilized so they can't breed. To utter a term coined by one Yahtzee Croshaw, (who I normally adamantly disagree with) This game is a spunk gargle wee wee. Not only is there little to no chance of dying, because just hide til your shields replenish, there are no real threats in the game. The title itself looks more like halo 2 than a next gen title like it was, the physics are really screwed up, picking a turret up slows you down but you still jump like their is reduced gravity. The storyline wasn't as good as the predecessors, This game was designed for the 13 year old kids to get a headshot and then talk crap to series gamers. I'd say get this game only to see what needs to be changed in the new games coming out. Once again its up to us to change the industry, buying a 59.99 expansion like madden 15, or Halo 5, just isn't something I'm willing to do. Some argue the online for this game is what defines it. Unfortunately for me, online isn't what makes a game, the play, story, and characters make the game. Expand
  92. Mar 31, 2014
    10
    This was the first FPS game that I could give 10/10 to. It was by far the best online FPS game out at the time. I purchased a xbox 360 purely for this game after trying it at a friends house, I played this game in he excess of 1000+ hours, without a moment of boredom. The vehicles included in the game were very cool. The weapons were very diverse and each took different tactics to masterThis was the first FPS game that I could give 10/10 to. It was by far the best online FPS game out at the time. I purchased a xbox 360 purely for this game after trying it at a friends house, I played this game in he excess of 1000+ hours, without a moment of boredom. The vehicles included in the game were very cool. The weapons were very diverse and each took different tactics to master and gain kills from.

    Gameplay 10/10, Online 10/10, Weapon/Vehicles 10/10 OVERALL 10/10
    Expand
  93. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    Best Halo game EVER created! You are not a true Halo fan if you do not love this game. You are doing yourself a favor if you buy this game. Go ahead and do it. Don't listen to the negative reviews either. This game is so worth it. It brought machinima to its peak, it introduced us to Theater and Forge, and accompanied by that was an amazing Matchmaking system with a superb ranking system.Best Halo game EVER created! You are not a true Halo fan if you do not love this game. You are doing yourself a favor if you buy this game. Go ahead and do it. Don't listen to the negative reviews either. This game is so worth it. It brought machinima to its peak, it introduced us to Theater and Forge, and accompanied by that was an amazing Matchmaking system with a superb ranking system. You just cannot not love this game! If you're reading and and don't have it, get Halo 3 now! Expand
  94. May 4, 2014
    7
    In 2007, Halo 3 had some very high expectations to fulfill. After the success of Halo 2, fans everywhere were expecting something even more astonishing. Of course, this isn't 2007. From a 2014 point of view, how does Halo 3 fare in the mind of this humble gamer? From a so-so and yet memorable Campaign, a deeply entertaining Multiplayer mode, a decent Forge mode, and the ability to saveIn 2007, Halo 3 had some very high expectations to fulfill. After the success of Halo 2, fans everywhere were expecting something even more astonishing. Of course, this isn't 2007. From a 2014 point of view, how does Halo 3 fare in the mind of this humble gamer? From a so-so and yet memorable Campaign, a deeply entertaining Multiplayer mode, a decent Forge mode, and the ability to save videos of gameplay in Films, Halo 3 is still an enjoyable experience, even by today's standards.

    The campaign is a mixed bag, starting strong and promising but loses it's footing in the second half, becoming a repetitive mess that is reminiscent of Combat Evolved. Luckily, the faults of the campaign are nowhere to be found in the multiplayer, which is one of the most addictive modes that I have ever played. Offering a good amount of customization, excellent gameplay balance and map variety, and some of the most enjoyable action in a multiplayer mode, this is the games winning feature. The same cannot be said for Forge, which allows the player to customize multiplayer maps with weapons, vehicles, some miscellaneous items. This mode is almost unsurprisingly clunky, but can be useful for certain creative minds.

    Halo 3 offers an experience that has plenty of things to love, but also quite a bit of problems. Luckily, the positives manage to outweigh the negatives and makes the participation in the game mostly fun and a worthy usage of time. The only adequate Campaign is a joy for the most part, but is plagued by a number of blights, and Forge is crafty but clunky. Luckily, the multiplayer is utterly superb and plenty of time will be well-wasted on this addictive mode. In general, Halo 3 is in the middle when it comes to over-all quality of all the Halo games combined, but is a good entry in the series nonetheless.

    The Positive
    ___________
    + First half of the campaign is quite fun

    + One of the best game soundtracks ever composed

    + Incredibly enjoyable multiplayer

    + Film mode is a nice touch

    The Negative
    ____________
    - Second half of the Campaign is repetitive and frustrating

    - The Flood are not particularly fun to fight

    - Forge is unnecessarily clunky
    Expand
  95. Dec 9, 2014
    10
    Halo 3 is the best of the original trilogy in my opinion. The graphics were greatly improved, the story was great and it wasn't overwhelmingly short. I think it took me between 7-9 hours to beat on Hard difficulty.

    Verdict:
    An awesome way to end the Chief's story... un till Halo 4
    10/10
  96. Sep 9, 2014
    8
    Not the best game in the series but still a great game, will always remember this game especially as it was the first game i played on Xbox Live. 8/10.
  97. Sep 5, 2014
    8
    I know this game is hated for the too short of a campaign and stuff. But overall i like it.
    Its not the best. (halo reach) but its not the worst (halo wars).
    There is so much negatives for this game. I really,really like it. Its fun in multiplayer.
    I'm not that high of a rank but whatever.
    Describe it with 3 words: FUN,ADDICTIVE,SHOOTING
  98. Jul 11, 2014
    10
    Best **** game ever, the game i played the most mp
  99. Sep 10, 2014
    10
    Campaign was pretty good, but that isn't the reason I play halo nor is campaign reflected in my score. I still play halo 3 to this day and love every minute of it. Even when I am raging and cursing at bungie. What makes halo 3 great is that Bungie added onto halo 2 without adding to much to effect gameplay. They still had duel wielding, but they fixed a bunch of glitches, allowed trades inCampaign was pretty good, but that isn't the reason I play halo nor is campaign reflected in my score. I still play halo 3 to this day and love every minute of it. Even when I am raging and cursing at bungie. What makes halo 3 great is that Bungie added onto halo 2 without adding to much to effect gameplay. They still had duel wielding, but they fixed a bunch of glitches, allowed trades in beat downs, changed the aiming to add to the skill gap, and added equipment on the maps. None of these things took away from the gameplay, but instead added to it. They kept it the same arena style that Halo fans had come to love. They moved away from this in Reach when they turned this amazing Arena FPS into a Class-based FPS, but that is another story. All and all it is probably one of the best Multiplayer FPS on the xbox 360. Expand
  100. Nov 1, 2014
    8
    A very fun game indeed, the story is great and the multiplayer system works wonders not to mention how fun the whole game is. forge could be better but otherwise this game is great,
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's the addition of the Forge level editor and the saved films that give the game an even longer set of legs, legs that will probably keep you running at full speed until Bungie figures out where, exactly, to go from here.
  2. Halo 3 is the best Xbox 360 game to date. The single-player campaign and storyline are both very strong, but it's Forge and the Saved Films features that will likely go down in history as Bungie's crowning achievements. They've basically taken everything great about the series and improved upon it in every way, then added some amazing new features that we'll be using for years to come.
  3. 100
    It's solid gameplay, immense replayability, online functionality and incredible production values will ensure its place in video game history, and it is, without a doubt, a satisfying and fulfilling close to the beloved trilogy[?].