Halo 3 Xbox 360

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4180 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DougJ.
    Nov 7, 2007
    5
    Halo 3 is the same as Halo 2 -- only with a bit more polish. Halo 2 is the same as Halo : Combat Evolved -- only with a bit more polish. Halo 3 is essentially the same game you've played over and over since 2001. The weapons are a bit different, the textures are higher resolution, but it's basically the same game. My number one complaint with the Halo series is the physics (or Halo 3 is the same as Halo 2 -- only with a bit more polish. Halo 2 is the same as Halo : Combat Evolved -- only with a bit more polish. Halo 3 is essentially the same game you've played over and over since 2001. The weapons are a bit different, the textures are higher resolution, but it's basically the same game. My number one complaint with the Halo series is the physics (or lack there of). When you play you feel like you're on the moon, or that the air is very thick and viscous. If an enemy approaches from 180 degrees behind you, you have very little chance of being able to turn around fast enough to defend yourself. The only reason this game is popular is due to the intense marketing Microsoft provided for Bungie (Fact: Halo 3 was the largest marketing campaign for any product ever). Expand
  2. TaylorH.
    Oct 17, 2007
    5
    I love the halo games but this one(3) was hard to follow the story line. It was the first game i bought and played through on my new 360 and also felt it was a little short. finished it in a couple of days without intense hours of playing. good game, perhaps i had too high of hopes for it.
  3. MatC.
    Oct 2, 2007
    7
    Good game, short campaign... but 640p? It's down-rezzed, and that's disappointing. You'd think the flagship game for a company like this would at least be able to be run in full 720p at least. Guess not, and it's disappointing. I feel bad for the geeks that stayed in line -- it's just not the perfection that the "professional" (and I mean paid!) reviewers make it Good game, short campaign... but 640p? It's down-rezzed, and that's disappointing. You'd think the flagship game for a company like this would at least be able to be run in full 720p at least. Guess not, and it's disappointing. I feel bad for the geeks that stayed in line -- it's just not the perfection that the "professional" (and I mean paid!) reviewers make it out to be. Expand
  4. CarsonT.
    Dec 14, 2007
    5
    The reason I have givin Halo 3 a 5 out of 10 is simple: It is easily the most overhyped game in the history of the universe. I mean, it's not a bad game, in fact it's very fun in both singleplayer and multiplayer. But I struggle to grasp what is so fantastic about it. It's a pretty average first-person shooter when you think about it. You just point your gun at enemies and The reason I have givin Halo 3 a 5 out of 10 is simple: It is easily the most overhyped game in the history of the universe. I mean, it's not a bad game, in fact it's very fun in both singleplayer and multiplayer. But I struggle to grasp what is so fantastic about it. It's a pretty average first-person shooter when you think about it. You just point your gun at enemies and hold the trigger down until they are dead. That's about it. There is absolutely nothing new here for fans of the genre, or even fans of the series. This is just Halo 2 with a new lick of paint. Quite frankly if it wasn't for the avalanche of adverts and media attention generated by Microsoft, Halo 3 would have been considered mediocre at best. It's games like this that really get on my nerves. They follow a predictable and monotonous structure whilst distracting everyone from other, far superior, titles which have clearly made an effort to revitalise the genre. I'm talking about Crysis, CoD4 and Bioshock ofcourse. Buy Halo 3 for the multiplayer if you must but remeber this: you don't have to be a sheep and get Halo 3 just because mother Microsoft SAID it was good. Think for yourself and you will realise that there are countless games out there that wipe the floor with Halo 3. Expand
  5. Ricardo
    Dec 24, 2007
    5
    Halo: 9 (only misses a 10 due to boring Library stage) Halo 2: 2 (simply awful in all respects) Halo 3: 5 One of the best aspects of Halo - holding out in a citadel as waves of covenant do battle with you and your dwindling forces. This never occurs in Halo 3 - instead we suffer through awful stages where you sit in a rubbish vehicle and try and take out scarabs in a dull and repetitive Halo: 9 (only misses a 10 due to boring Library stage) Halo 2: 2 (simply awful in all respects) Halo 3: 5 One of the best aspects of Halo - holding out in a citadel as waves of covenant do battle with you and your dwindling forces. This never occurs in Halo 3 - instead we suffer through awful stages where you sit in a rubbish vehicle and try and take out scarabs in a dull and repetitive manner. Truely horrible. Yet there are 3 or more such stages. The weapons are poor, the stages repetitive, enemy dull, and the ending a damp squib. Where was the send off between Master Chief and the Arbiter?? Over-hyped and thoroughly average. Expand
  6. JohnnyD.
    Oct 27, 2007
    6
    Halo basically takes everything that's been done before in FPS games and throws it haphazardly throws it into one box. It has a lot of content, but some of the content isn't of high quality. I would rather buy a high quality singleplayer FPS game and another high quality multiplayer FPS game, than buy one game that has mediocre singleplayer and multiplayer.
  7. MortenJ.
    Oct 3, 2007
    7
    OK, let's be fair. Halo 3 is a very good game - but not a great one by any standards. Multiplayer actually just about saves it from being mediocre. It's not groundbreaking or innovative from a design perspective but it is undoubtedly fun - which is of course a minimum for a video game. But alas only up to a point. What is not fun is the repetitive indoor levels and the awful OK, let's be fair. Halo 3 is a very good game - but not a great one by any standards. Multiplayer actually just about saves it from being mediocre. It's not groundbreaking or innovative from a design perspective but it is undoubtedly fun - which is of course a minimum for a video game. But alas only up to a point. What is not fun is the repetitive indoor levels and the awful save system; would it hurt to have an autosave every 15 minutes or so? - Especially considering the games' already notorious instability and 'disc not readable' issues which can reduce a couple of hours of fun in the campaign to an absolutely rage-inducing waste of time! Expand
  8. EmonX.
    Oct 4, 2007
    6
    The single player is extremely short, massively derivative, and often just plain silly. I've felt more empathy for bruised produce than I did for the majority of the cast of this game's yarn. Why would an all powerful ancient space artifact look like the Eiffel Tower being co-opted into the Chinese Space Program? There are serious issues in some level design legibility, The single player is extremely short, massively derivative, and often just plain silly. I've felt more empathy for bruised produce than I did for the majority of the cast of this game's yarn. Why would an all powerful ancient space artifact look like the Eiffel Tower being co-opted into the Chinese Space Program? There are serious issues in some level design legibility, specifically the organically structured stages. Way to easy to become disoriented and subsequently horde fodder. Vehicle stages definitely stand out, wish there'd been more of those! Multi-Player certainly caters to veterans of the series, with a diversity of game types that would be expected by multiplayer shooter fans with PC on-line backgrounds, but have been sadly missing from other genre games on the 360, like Gears of War for example. Would have been nice to see still further diversity of game types, though. Why only two teams at a time? And where is the epic scale of map sizes on-line? And why can't I play the monsters? Or drive the giant robot crabs or interstellar spaceships? The overall aesthetics don't seem up-rezzed in any way, appears the rendering engine and streaming systems are the same as the previous two installments. Lot of long load times and seeking lags as well, not a smooth ride as I would have expected from 360's tent pole title. And even after playing through the whole thing, still don't understand the TV add with the pretty score and strange Warhammer looking table top battle scene. Expand
  9. FPSMaster
    Oct 7, 2007
    6
    This franchise has not aged well. It basically hasn't changed since the first game 6 years ago, and in most ways is worse. The story that I used to think was so great seems really lame 6 years later and the campaign is just flat out dull and boring. The MP hasn't changed since Halo 2 other than some new weapons, some buttons switched around on the controller, more lag and worse This franchise has not aged well. It basically hasn't changed since the first game 6 years ago, and in most ways is worse. The story that I used to think was so great seems really lame 6 years later and the campaign is just flat out dull and boring. The MP hasn't changed since Halo 2 other than some new weapons, some buttons switched around on the controller, more lag and worse hit detection with everything from melees to grenades to bullets. Biggest let down in the history of gaming (something the 360 really didn't need any more of) so I'm glad Bungie split from M$ after playing this atrocity. This series and developer are nothing more than on-hit-wonders and I'm sorry I wasted so much time defending this fracnhise for so long. The fact that this console even exists merely because of this franchise makes me wonder what the Hell the world is coming to. Lame. Expand
  10. Silence_L
    Oct 9, 2007
    5
    Multi-player sucks; only two game modes for team slayer (BORING) . I thought campaign was more interesting because multi player seems like you'll just get shot in the back after brawling it out with someone. Its rare you'll get more than two kills in a row becayse someone will just comes in fresh to kill you after you've already taken damage from the shoot-out you just had.
  11. RayD.
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    Well i am half way through the campaign and last night while playing i sat there and thought its good but not that good.... the multiplayer is pretty nice i like the upgrades they did on it compared to halo 2. Its close to the same game with twists that i think were needed esp for online. but good job overall microsoft.
  12. ChrisK.
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    The hype hurt the game, that's where it all begins. Reviews hit left and right for games over a 9.4 when it is a truly unique and innovative creation, Halo 3 was neither of these. With some decent graphics, new weapon additions and relatively shallow story line, the game isn't living up to these reviews. Microsoft must be deep in some pockets to get the reviews this game has The hype hurt the game, that's where it all begins. Reviews hit left and right for games over a 9.4 when it is a truly unique and innovative creation, Halo 3 was neither of these. With some decent graphics, new weapon additions and relatively shallow story line, the game isn't living up to these reviews. Microsoft must be deep in some pockets to get the reviews this game has been given. Fanboys rejoice, smart gamers rent. Expand
  13. Thomas
    Sep 25, 2007
    5
    What a disappointment. This game was a dinosaur before it was even released. But i think the bigger disappointment is the sheer lack of credibility so many of these reviews are truly showing by giving it so many perfect scores. this game had me yawning within 10 minutes, and thinking i was still getting over Al Gore losing the election. Any reviewer out there that scored this game a What a disappointment. This game was a dinosaur before it was even released. But i think the bigger disappointment is the sheer lack of credibility so many of these reviews are truly showing by giving it so many perfect scores. this game had me yawning within 10 minutes, and thinking i was still getting over Al Gore losing the election. Any reviewer out there that scored this game a perfect 10 clearly has either fanboy blinders on, or is afraid to bash the most hyped game in history in the face of the advertisers that fund their magazines and websites. the bugginess and outdated graphics and sound effects alone should've dropped it a couple notches... way to have a spine, guys. you should be embarassed for yourselves. Expand
  14. MattE.
    Sep 26, 2007
    5
    This game is not that good. The guns are skeet and it doesn't really look that good compared to other 360 titles. I am really disappointed.
  15. AlvaroV.
    Sep 26, 2007
    7
    Good game, but nothing really original in the series. There is no story at the beginning and the level design is slightly repetitive. However, combat is as polished as in previous titles. Too much hype, I guess.
  16. [Anonymousguy]
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    Not really anything spectacular on the single player, and the Online not as fun as halo 2.
  17. EoinO.
    Sep 27, 2007
    5
    Looks great shame it's so basic in it's combat system and so unevolved in it's feel/characters. As a shooter it feels like a kids game. I'll stick with Bioshock and Rainbow 6 Vegas thanks. Waste of £40 in my mind I'm trading it in today.
  18. DLa
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    First, I've been with Halo from the beginning. The first release amazed, the second released was good with a dumb ending, but I had had a deep fear after seeing many unflattering screenshots that this release would not extend the state of the art and I'm sad to say its true. Aside from a few new weapons and vehicles and debatebly enhanced graphics the game breaks no new ground. First, I've been with Halo from the beginning. The first release amazed, the second released was good with a dumb ending, but I had had a deep fear after seeing many unflattering screenshots that this release would not extend the state of the art and I'm sad to say its true. Aside from a few new weapons and vehicles and debatebly enhanced graphics the game breaks no new ground. Which is a shame for such an anticipated release with so much money behind it. Let me break it down. Graphics: 7 Not as good as Gears of War and not as good as Bioshock. The character models are average quality. For example, not as detailed as the players in Madden. Environment: 7 You'd expect to be able to interact with all kinds of things in the environment and blow stuff up. At least this is the mark of next-gen FPS today. Not so in Halo. You can knock stuff over, but you can't look inside of things, break things, use things, etc. Its a very superficial environment. Sound: 5 Oh boy. It's sad. I have a dolby 5.1 setup and the sound from Halo is very muffled and low-def. The weapon firing sounds or ok, but things like grenades sound like they are farther from you than they visually are. Little to no surround effects or ambient noise. A total lack of depth in the sound field. For the best 5.1 game sound, crisp and clean, check out Bioshock as the new standard (I'm not a fanboy, just using a real example of quality). Gameplay: 7 Same gameplay as before with a few new gadgets. No cover control (such as in GoW and Rainbow 6), no squad control, etc. Same, same, same. Story: 6 Getting a bit dated. The opening dialog is a bit perplexing. An utter lack of mind provoking elements in this story. Its a "story on rails". Not to mention, that for 3 versions of Halo the opening sequence is the cliche "the aliens have invaded our barracks" scenario. Tired! Get some new material. Overall: A very generous 7 Expand
  19. Warmonger
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    Good game, but nowhere near the great game everyone makes it out to be! First of all it's too damn short. Sure it's a great multiplayer game but what about the people who don't play online?? oh well, I guess the're just out of luck! The graphics also haven't really improved significantly enough for me to go... Wow! Come on! the only game to really hold that Good game, but nowhere near the great game everyone makes it out to be! First of all it's too damn short. Sure it's a great multiplayer game but what about the people who don't play online?? oh well, I guess the're just out of luck! The graphics also haven't really improved significantly enough for me to go... Wow! Come on! the only game to really hold that distinction this year, "so far" is Bioshock! You only have to look at the superior graphics, such as the water effects,environments...etc and game play to relize, that it rules! It's new and fresh as opposed to old and stale....... R.I.P. Halo Expand
  20. ChrisE.
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    I'd consider myself a 360 fanboy. Halo 3 is fun, but just feels like something is missing. I'm trying so hard to love this game. I'm not sure I can.
  21. DazD.
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    Nothing new here apart from a few weapons and vehicles. The multiplayer is what it's all about.
  22. NateG.
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    Halo 2 2 is OK. I've never been a campaign guy (I play the games to have fun with friends), so I judge all Halos on the multi-player, and that aspect of the game has not been improved. Yes, they added some new stuff in there but that alone can't carry the game (some of them are pointless too - like with the grenades). But different and better isn't the same. And am I the Halo 2 2 is OK. I've never been a campaign guy (I play the games to have fun with friends), so I judge all Halos on the multi-player, and that aspect of the game has not been improved. Yes, they added some new stuff in there but that alone can't carry the game (some of them are pointless too - like with the grenades). But different and better isn't the same. And am I the only one who misses the hit % stat? You can goof off the whole time and no one will be the wiser as to the 1,000 shots you wasted. All in all you could play or watch a game of Halo 2 and Halo 3 back-to-back and have a hard time knowing you saw 2 different games. I'm one of those who wanted to like it, but it disappoints. I do believe the name gives it 1 or 2 extra points in a lot of reviews. Expand
  23. FurryFox
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    As many have said before me its mainly a multiplayer game, if you don
  24. BryanM.
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    It was a little over hyped. I am just pissed you are forced to play as Chief and can not play the Aburder in Campan mode unless you do co op. sorry but you included him in the 2nd why change it now. o and Halo 3 for being the big 360 game does not have that great of graphics. a little better then the beta demo version but barlly. try gears graphics Halo. so in other words HALO one is It was a little over hyped. I am just pissed you are forced to play as Chief and can not play the Aburder in Campan mode unless you do co op. sorry but you included him in the 2nd why change it now. o and Halo 3 for being the big 360 game does not have that great of graphics. a little better then the beta demo version but barlly. try gears graphics Halo. so in other words HALO one is still the best even if you can not play it on Xbox live. Expand
  25. JCS
    Sep 29, 2007
    7
    The single player game felt like they didn't bother with much more than an outline of a story. I have to agree with the comment about warmed over Marathon. The Flood was much more intimidating in 2. Sketchy in many places. Background stills lacked the kind of detail one might want or expect lavished onto them. Normal level was blandly easy.
  26. MikeS.
    Sep 29, 2007
    6
    Maybe I just don't get it, but I don't see what is so fascinating about this game. It's a standard FPS with mediocre graphics and a luke warm plot. Bioshock beats this by substantially more than one metapoint.
  27. AlexW.
    Sep 30, 2007
    5
    A repetitive, tedious, and overall cookie cutter game in respects to Halo 2. This bore-fest is just like the other two, but with HDR lighting. The graphics arent even really better than Halo 2. One of the major problems in this game is that it can be beaten in less than 3 hours. That is not a game worthy of a 9.5. This game shouldn't have even been reviewed, as it is just Halo 2 with A repetitive, tedious, and overall cookie cutter game in respects to Halo 2. This bore-fest is just like the other two, but with HDR lighting. The graphics arent even really better than Halo 2. One of the major problems in this game is that it can be beaten in less than 3 hours. That is not a game worthy of a 9.5. This game shouldn't have even been reviewed, as it is just Halo 2 with some added gimmicks. What's funny is that Halo 2 wasn;t even that good anyway. Bungie, good job at causing major hpye during the coming days of this game's release, but I just can't give you much credit on what you guys are meant for: a good game. Looks like Bungie is better off at thecircus than behind a programmer's desk. Expand
  28. TravisM.
    Sep 30, 2007
    7
    I'm very disappointed that an almost perfect multiplayer from Halo 1 evolved into a catastrophic mess that Halo 2 and Halo 3 have become. Granted Halo 3 looks to correct some of the mistakes from Halo 2, but still fails in so many ways. Radar in any multiplayer game will only promote people to camp. It's almost as if the game developers couldn't stand being killed so fast I'm very disappointed that an almost perfect multiplayer from Halo 1 evolved into a catastrophic mess that Halo 2 and Halo 3 have become. Granted Halo 3 looks to correct some of the mistakes from Halo 2, but still fails in so many ways. Radar in any multiplayer game will only promote people to camp. It's almost as if the game developers couldn't stand being killed so fast by the pistol in Halo 1 so they decided to make it pointless to use in 2 or 3. I'm still holding out hope that MLG will make a custom gametype via Forge without radar and use about 75% shields. Since you now start with the assault rifle 80% of the battles you face are two people running at one another with assault rifles firing and the one who lands the melee the victor. Unless of course you have someone in the distance using a Battle Rifle or Sniper to pick off the repeatative action. You also are unable to hold up a defensive position by throwing a grenade off the wall to keep the opponent from charging right at you, because the frag grenades don't even blow the opponent back or do more than 35% damage. I've had it happen on countless occassions when I just get a double kill, but that third player comes charging right after you. You throw a grenade right at their feet and scurry around the corner to reload and let your shields recharge for a fair fight. As soon as you get around the corner you throw another grenade just in case he's continuing the pursuit. And wouldn't you know it... That person just keeps running and shooting without any worry that the 2 grenades will kill him. Heck in Halo 1 if you were hit with a grenade at point blank range, you were almost dead and it would blow you 5-10 meters away. Giving the opponent the advantage now because of a well placed grenade. I myself was a huge advocate and fan of the Halo series and would travel halfway across the country to play AGP and MLG tournaments for Halo 1. But the skill level here for Halo 3 is similar to Halo 2, and since the grenades barely deter anyone from charging right at you... It's basically a better version of Halo 2. Better graphics, but almost the same game play. So if you loved Halo 2, you'll love Halo 3. If you're like me and loved Halo 1, then you'll become quickly annoyed with the radar and people camping around corners with the sword (or now hammer). And although the idea seemed interesting, all the 'X' button items need to be removed too. Again I can't fault Bungie because they've appealed to the common FPS player who's just looking hop online and kill some friends. But for those hardcore gamers where you just have to be the best of the best, I'd say wait for COD 4 or perhaps Team Fortress 2 from the upcoming Half-Life 2 Orange Box. Expand
  29. Andyman
    Sep 30, 2007
    6
    It made my day when I noticed that BioShock reclaimed the top Metascore spot from Halo 3, as the former is a far superior game. In a word, Halo 3 is... meh. Its co-op Campaign mode is its only saving grace, as its online competitive play is so stuffed full of potty-mouthed idiots as to be completely devoid of any enjoyment whatsoever. Then again, I should be GLAD of this.. it keeps these It made my day when I noticed that BioShock reclaimed the top Metascore spot from Halo 3, as the former is a far superior game. In a word, Halo 3 is... meh. Its co-op Campaign mode is its only saving grace, as its online competitive play is so stuffed full of potty-mouthed idiots as to be completely devoid of any enjoyment whatsoever. Then again, I should be GLAD of this.. it keeps these cretins from ruining the games I enjoy playing online. Thanks for the daycare service, Bungie! Expand
  30. KyleT.
    Jan 1, 2008
    7
    Halo 3, easily the most hyped and advertised game in recent history (all of history?), manages to stand out mostly due to media buzz. Fighting through the layer of fanboyism, however, stands a competent, enjoyable shooter. The single player campaign is short and disappointing. Levels are not only linear, but also poorly designed. A.I. is disappointing, and doesn't really provide and Halo 3, easily the most hyped and advertised game in recent history (all of history?), manages to stand out mostly due to media buzz. Fighting through the layer of fanboyism, however, stands a competent, enjoyable shooter. The single player campaign is short and disappointing. Levels are not only linear, but also poorly designed. A.I. is disappointing, and doesn't really provide and interesting fight. Overall the single-player campaign doesn't exemplify gripping pitch-perfect pacing as Half-Life 2 and often fails to deliver truly interesting action. However, this is a Halo game; it's the multiplayer that counts. Bungie has successfully added new elements to the online experience without ruining the Halo experience. Weapons are still pretty well balanced, and the majority of levels flow great (except a few badly designed ones... looking at you Snowbound) and each have a myriad of interesting strategies. Matchmaking is easy and smooth, and getting into a game with yourself, or some pals, is quick and painless. Overall, Halo is an online experience, and if you purchase the game with that in mind, you will not be disappointed. Expand
  31. MvmntInGrn
    Jan 13, 2008
    7
    While still being interesting and fun you can't help but expect more from the series, especially in its final chapter. Needed more new aspects, Halo hasn't changed much from Halo 1 other than its graphics. Truly surprised to see the constant barrage of 100s its gotten.
  32. MattA.
    Feb 19, 2008
    5
    halo 3 has a very repetitive online, a complete dissapointment. I would rather be playing halo 2. there is barley any new weapons or vehicles. The online is always the same you shoot some one then run up and beat them down. the gravity hammer is a pointless new weapon it is pretty much the exact same thing as a sword. The only thing I liked a bout halo was the campaign and the forge.
  33. AnonymousMC
    Feb 28, 2008
    7
    Lets start with the good. The graphics are good but that's the case for just about every game these days, the music is still great, and the story is good.

    Now the bad parts. While the enemy AI is decent enough, your marine buddies are just about as bad as they could get. The campaign only lasted me 7 hours my first time though and less on subsequent playthroughs. Some of the
    Lets start with the good. The graphics are good but that's the case for just about every game these days, the music is still great, and the story is good.

    Now the bad parts. While the enemy AI is decent enough, your marine buddies are just about as bad as they could get. The campaign only lasted me 7 hours my first time though and less on subsequent playthroughs.
    Some of the level design is terribly unintuitive, specifically the Cortana level. I found myself getting lost in several rooms and wandered around aimlessly for several minutes before I found out where I was supposed to be going.
    The difficulty curve also varies drastically throughout the game. At some points near the beginning I died many times before I could move onto the next area. But as I progressed, it became increasingly easier to a point where it was too easy. The Flood only take 2-3 bashes to kill with just about any weapon. The "boss" fights are complete jokes, and the game ends with the easiest sequence in a game that I've ever played.

    And as for the online multiplayer, I don't care about it. I don't play games online save for RTS games so I can't say if it's good or bad. But with what I have played, the game is decent. There are plenty of better FPS games out there that you can play. If you need to know how the story ends and you hate reading, play the game, otherwise read a plot synopsis and save yourself $60.
    Expand
  34. ChrisW.
    Feb 9, 2008
    6
    This game was some-what decent. It is not a game to get excited about though when it comes to the campaign or the multi player. It has a lot to offer online but I found that it eventually became boring and frustrating. This game was sadly overrated and does not deserve the ratings it has received. P.S., one of the most common flaws of this game is its weapon choice. The Assault rifle is This game was some-what decent. It is not a game to get excited about though when it comes to the campaign or the multi player. It has a lot to offer online but I found that it eventually became boring and frustrating. This game was sadly overrated and does not deserve the ratings it has received. P.S., one of the most common flaws of this game is its weapon choice. The Assault rifle is the default weapon and in my opinion it blows. This game could make a unexperienced player look experienced. Expand
  35. Som1
    May 13, 2008
    5
    All in all halo 3 isnt very good, the single player is very boring, which made co-op over xbox live story mode pointless, the multiplayer is still the same old thing just with more stuff that doesnt help the gameplay and overall Halo 3 is a big letdown.
  36. AnonymousMC
    May 3, 2008
    6
    This game is alright, but is very lacking. As been stated before, the only thing that this game has that deserves a 10 is the multiplayer, but that is no excuse. Ok it has an awsome multiplayer (10), now remember it has a lame single player plot (socre dropped to 9), the graphics are less than what could be provided (anyone who thinks otherwise must have vision problems) and the game addThis game is alright, but is very lacking. As been stated before, the only thing that this game has that deserves a 10 is the multiplayer, but that is no excuse. Ok it has an awsome multiplayer (10), now remember it has a lame single player plot (socre dropped to 9), the graphics are less than what could be provided (anyone who thinks otherwise must have vision problems) and the game add practically NOTHING new to the halo experience (score dropped to 7), and then when you consider just the general lack of innovation, your drop the score to a 6. Yes the game is amazing online, but then again is Smash Bros had the same online capabilities it would be just as good, these reviewers handing out the 100's aren't actually GIVING THE GAME AN 100, their giving the Online Capabilities, which is in reality a fraction of the game. A perfect game has NO FAULTS, and this game has many! Expand
  37. Korne
    Jun 11, 2008
    7
    Good, but not great! Hype is a strange thing; it can make great things look bad and mediocre things look great. This is what happens with Halo3. It takes good things from the previous installments, and adds some new (and good) features, but for some reason, it doesn't seem as powerful as the first two Halos. The Multiplayer isn't as inventive as Halo2, and the story isn't Good, but not great! Hype is a strange thing; it can make great things look bad and mediocre things look great. This is what happens with Halo3. It takes good things from the previous installments, and adds some new (and good) features, but for some reason, it doesn't seem as powerful as the first two Halos. The Multiplayer isn't as inventive as Halo2, and the story isn't as good as Halo. This makes it not as good as some great games, and thus brings it down. If it wasn't the third installment in the series, the game would probably be accepted more as an awesome game. But since it is the hype engine known as Halo, we demand perfection, and Halo3 did not deliver. It is a good game, so it still gets a 7/10 (where as the first got a 9 and the second got an 8). Expand
  38. AnonymousMC
    Jun 15, 2008
    5
    This is a very average shooter. If you were to watch the Zero Punctuation review that would be my exact feelings on the game. The only reason it does so well is because the online system is done perfectly and it's incredibly overrated by everyone. The actual gameplay is really not that great. It's still bested by Half Life in campaign, and other online shooters like TeamThis is a very average shooter. If you were to watch the Zero Punctuation review that would be my exact feelings on the game. The only reason it does so well is because the online system is done perfectly and it's incredibly overrated by everyone. The actual gameplay is really not that great. It's still bested by Half Life in campaign, and other online shooters like Team Fortress 2 and Counterstrike. Expand
  39. RobinC.
    Jun 19, 2008
    6
    Great in September, easily a 9/10 but now in a post cod 4 world it doesn't stand up, and not so good single player.
  40. MichaelS
    Jul 20, 2008
    6
    Better than HALO 2, but once again Bungie could not live up to the greatness of the first game. This is due to the complete focus on multiplayer and not much else!
  41. PeturR.
    Jul 7, 2008
    5
    I'm not saying Halo 3 is a bad game, it isn't, but everthing it does, it does averagely. its not the greatest game ever, yet it's not the worst. the graphics are good, when you take screenshots that is. when there are a lot of effects going on, this game chugs at like 10 fps. And some of the lighting effects are really annoying, the multiplayer is good but the new forge I'm not saying Halo 3 is a bad game, it isn't, but everthing it does, it does averagely. its not the greatest game ever, yet it's not the worst. the graphics are good, when you take screenshots that is. when there are a lot of effects going on, this game chugs at like 10 fps. And some of the lighting effects are really annoying, the multiplayer is good but the new forge mode is somewhat lacking. note to bungie: put more option into forge mode. Expand
  42. ChrisM
    Aug 23, 2008
    5
    Halo 3 is average at best. Halo 3 is just any old FPS, except it's more popular than God. Halo never did anything original and just stole gameplay mechanics from just about every other FPS that came before it. There's nothing original about a well armored protagonist shooting aliens. We've seen it before. Especially the flood. They're just copies of the headcrabs from Halo 3 is average at best. Halo 3 is just any old FPS, except it's more popular than God. Halo never did anything original and just stole gameplay mechanics from just about every other FPS that came before it. There's nothing original about a well armored protagonist shooting aliens. We've seen it before. Especially the flood. They're just copies of the headcrabs from Half-Life. The single player is way too short, and not very fun. The multiplayer is fun for a short bit, but gets old fast. Honestly, I wouldn't pay the full price of a game for this. Expand
  43. DimeX
    Sep 24, 2008
    6
    While I haven't played Halo 3, I've seen from gameplay videos on YouTube how the game plays out: no matter how fast you're moving or what you're doing to aim, pretty much something gets in your crosshair and you hold down the right trigger, or you just spam grenades. In my opinion, CS:S is much better than this game (though I prefer PC games over 360 games) because it While I haven't played Halo 3, I've seen from gameplay videos on YouTube how the game plays out: no matter how fast you're moving or what you're doing to aim, pretty much something gets in your crosshair and you hold down the right trigger, or you just spam grenades. In my opinion, CS:S is much better than this game (though I prefer PC games over 360 games) because it has ways to balance out the multiplayer, I'm NOT going to include the singleplayer in this because I haven't played it, but what I'm reading here it's not all that good, but it adds a few points in that respect. Also, yes, this game IS over-hyped, again, in my opinion, Halo 1 was the best of the series because the singleplayer had a decent storyline, while the lack of multiplayer was really dissapointing, it was still a very origional singleplayer game. Halo 2 however, its story can only be described as PAINFUL. I played the Halo 2 singleplayer from beginning to end and it just... was horrible. I'm starting to stray here from a review of Halo 3 though, so back to the third installment. Yes Halo 3 contains the forge system and video playback, which is cool for everyone, I agree, and it does make the multiplayer more fun. Granted you can't do this with other multiplayer games such as CS:S or CoD4 don't include an editing system like this (for CS:S you have Source SDK, to my knowledge CoD4 has no editing engine, even on the PC) so it earns it a couple more points. Graphically the game is impressive, though it's pretty much just the Halo 1 graphics just alot more polished. Nothing wrong with that at all, it just means that the developers would rather spend a few days re-modeling an already-concepted weapon rather than recreate new weapons over the course of several weeks. All-in-all, this is a decent game, and fun to play with your friends. The only downside is that because of it's friendly atmosphere to children, you'll usually have to deal with screaming kids on Xbox Live, which knocks it down a few points. (Personally, I played multiplayer games before my voice deepened, and people were annoyed, but hell, all that matters is if you have fun or not, someone's voice should not annoy you if the game is good, my only trouble with it is if the kids start to actually SCREAM in frustration, which has happened to me before in other games.) Expand
  44. MikeN
    Oct 1, 2009
    5
    This game could have been a lot better. The campaign was way too short and it didn't really explain much of the story. The multiplayer is just downright bad. Every time I play it, i remember why i stopped. The game is fun if u have a bunch of friends who play and you guys can screw around of forge. This is to Oscar G. : yes a boring history..even though this game takes place in 500 This game could have been a lot better. The campaign was way too short and it didn't really explain much of the story. The multiplayer is just downright bad. Every time I play it, i remember why i stopped. The game is fun if u have a bunch of friends who play and you guys can screw around of forge. This is to Oscar G. : yes a boring history..even though this game takes place in 500 years. And of course the gameplay didn't change. What are you going to be killing this game? Zombies? Overall, the campaign was fun for the 2 hours and the multiplayer is way too tournament based. Expand
  45. AshS
    Dec 5, 2009
    7
    I'm giving it a 7 because the Multiplayer's good. Campaign was absolute crap compared to the other two games; I mean, come on. ODST was better. Sure, the AI is good (unlike some games, it's actually dynamic and can react according to different situations, try watching it sometime), but the story lets it down and makes the campaign feel terrible. Ending was alright, but I'm giving it a 7 because the Multiplayer's good. Campaign was absolute crap compared to the other two games; I mean, come on. ODST was better. Sure, the AI is good (unlike some games, it's actually dynamic and can react according to different situations, try watching it sometime), but the story lets it down and makes the campaign feel terrible. Ending was alright, but still recognisable as a rehash of Halo 1 that was less enjoyable to do. Multiplayer's solid, it works well, and it's not unbalanced if you play normal MM. That's the reason I enjoy it - I can stop playing for 4 months, go back to it and there'll still be people at my level. it's not like CoD where if you buy the game two weeks late everyone's prestiged and you do nothing but die, which in itself makes it much more fun. What else... Graphics were good for its time, especially on a custom engine, but could do with some AA and decent reflections. Story sucked but made sense in that they had a limited timeframe to do it and cut quite a lot of stuff...yeah. Overall a decent game with strong MM but a very lacking campaign. Best part is probably the fact that there's always someone in MM at your level, so it doesn't matter whether you picked up the game on day one like me or the 2 year anniversary - there's still 500,000 people evenly matched for you to play. That alone is one of the reasons it's so popular and why I like it. Expand
  46. matthewm
    Feb 1, 2009
    6
    Better than halo 2, yet not within reach of Combat: Evolved. Considering how shitty the 2nd game was, they did a good job with the story and making it feel more like the first. Multiplayer is where the game lets down. Everybody tries to get the mauler and do the fire+melee as fast as possible. There's no strategy left in the game. Dual-Wielding takes all the fun out of the game as it Better than halo 2, yet not within reach of Combat: Evolved. Considering how shitty the 2nd game was, they did a good job with the story and making it feel more like the first. Multiplayer is where the game lets down. Everybody tries to get the mauler and do the fire+melee as fast as possible. There's no strategy left in the game. Dual-Wielding takes all the fun out of the game as it allows players to use the exact same tactic, running straight at your enemy and firing as fast as possible until close enough to melee. And melee sucks too. In Combat: Evolved, if you meleed and were too far away, you were fucked. Now, the player lunges like he has a plasma sword. They took every mechanic that made the original addicting and endlessly playable and made it lackluster. Also, the maps suck. no WIDE OPEN like Blood Gulch or Sidewinder for vehicles. The maps just don't flow like the ones in the original. Overall, the two sequels were enormous let-downs, and I hope that ODST and whatever else Bungie has up its sleeves don't follow this trend. Last thing I will say is that I do believe microsoft pressured bungie to get the sequels out and that's probly why they didn't live up to the original. I still believe in Bungie, I'm just sad that The franchise didn't become everything it could be. Expand
  47. josiahcarr
    Apr 30, 2009
    7
    it is one of the best games i have played the forge mode adds the extra ability to change the map in your own desire. the only down fall is most of the play lists you have to by map packs just to play them but other than that a great game
  48. marc
    Jun 29, 2009
    7
    I rate this game 7, I rate 5 for The Single-Player which is full of action and very fun. I give the multiplayer 2, because sometimes, Playing with new people is very easy and playing with pros is very hard, there is no "good middle" and most people have the tendency of quitting the game too early, so it makes the game un-balanced.
  49. TravisS.
    Aug 17, 2009
    5
    Theres nothing special about this game at all. its not on par with previous halo games. even the graphics are lacking for a game on a next gen console. there isn't a whole lot of variety and multiplayer is just generic shooter, it doesn't stand out with anything special at all.
  50. CoreyR
    Aug 18, 2009
    5
    I gave Halo 3 a six because it is mediocre at best. It is any other shooter, with aliens. I must admit, It has a damn good story, but It is only implemented in objectives, it doesn't make you feel like you are there. It is only good when bored and sick (only time I play it).
  51. PeterA
    Aug 5, 2009
    6
    I was really looking forward to this game. I even pre-ordered it. But as soon as I started the campaign, I thought "Wow, this feels exactly like halo 2." And that is what it boils down to. Halo 3 is nothing but a glorified halo 2. I was expecting huge graphical improvements, NO. Better campaign? NOPE. Multiplayer super fun? Fun, but no different than halo 2. Bungie could have just added a I was really looking forward to this game. I even pre-ordered it. But as soon as I started the campaign, I thought "Wow, this feels exactly like halo 2." And that is what it boils down to. Halo 3 is nothing but a glorified halo 2. I was expecting huge graphical improvements, NO. Better campaign? NOPE. Multiplayer super fun? Fun, but no different than halo 2. Bungie could have just added a campaign expansion to halo 2, instead of making an entirely new game. Also, new lame things were added including power-ups (what is this Super Mario?), forge is kinda cool but why couldn't they just add it to halo 2? Bottom line is that if you are going to make a third installment in a popular franchise, put some effort into it and don't recreate something you've already done. Expand
  52. ChrisKin
    Nov 12, 2007
    5
    Halo 3 is exactly what one has come to expect from the Halo franchise: Amazing Multiplayer. Other than that, you really have nothing to write home about.

    The main disappointment for me was that Halo 3 is Halo 2 with a single story arc and better graphics. Sure there are a few new mechanics that are neat, like detaching a turrent, but those really do not add to the flavor of the game.
    Halo 3 is exactly what one has come to expect from the Halo franchise: Amazing Multiplayer. Other than that, you really have nothing to write home about.

    The main disappointment for me was that Halo 3 is Halo 2 with a single story arc and better graphics. Sure there are a few new mechanics that are neat, like detaching a turrent, but those really do not add to the flavor of the game. Its still your basic FPS with no innovation and a story that still hurts my brain.

    The mutliplayer is where the game shines. There is great variety in the map styles with halo, and each map can play basically any game type. The games are big, fast paced (usually), and entertaining. That is until you go online with the multiplayer. I like to think i am not counting the general persona found within the Halo community against the score of the game, as Bungie has no control over these people.

    The addition of the Forge was a neat idea, but it seems to be a little less practical than one would hope. It works well when playing with friends, but the online applications are essentially lost. In contrast, the Theater feature is completely pointless. There is no need for me to invite my friend into a room and show him over and over and over and over the time i ran him over with the warthog and he started dry humping the rock he landed on.

    To recap: Pointless single player, Cool multiplayer, and some new features that failed to hit the mark. IMO, you are better of with TF2.
    Expand
  53. BorisG.
    Nov 18, 2007
    6
    This game is not "bad" its just boring. Its the same exact thing as halo 2, the graphics aren't better only shinier. The single player campaign (which i know not many people care for) thoroughly disappointed me. Wtf? Cortana has feelings now and everyone is in love with her? And the multiplayer just has a fancy camera now, if only it made as huge a jump as Halo2 did from Halo1, it This game is not "bad" its just boring. Its the same exact thing as halo 2, the graphics aren't better only shinier. The single player campaign (which i know not many people care for) thoroughly disappointed me. Wtf? Cortana has feelings now and everyone is in love with her? And the multiplayer just has a fancy camera now, if only it made as huge a jump as Halo2 did from Halo1, it being the next-gen and all. Expand
  54. JonathonS.
    Nov 21, 2007
    5
    A run of the mill shooter inferior to just about any full priced FPS that has come out on the PC over the last 3 years. An extremely average game that while not horrible to play offers nothing of interest to anyone but FPS fans with a spare afternoon. The singleplayer is very short (5-6 hours) and the multiplayer lacks cohesion and excitement.
  55. PMAC
    Nov 28, 2007
    6
    I saved up for months to buy XBOX 360 for one reason--Halo 3, and boy am I disappointed. The game is just extremely boring. It's seems it was just thrown together to make money. There was really no new characters or weapons, just modified old stuff. If you love Halo like me, then of course you have to beat it, but don't expect much. P.S. What happened to the Halo 1 pistol?? Best part!!
  56. J.R.
    Oct 13, 2007
    5
    I had this game for a week. My time playing it went like this, Before multi player i did campaign to get some practice. The AI is good, but the story is not. Following the mistake made in Halo 2's story mode, i was hoping for a BIG improvement. I didn't get it. The story lacked any excitement or drama that Halo 1 had. The new vehicles were fun for about 5 minutes, but it really I had this game for a week. My time playing it went like this, Before multi player i did campaign to get some practice. The AI is good, but the story is not. Following the mistake made in Halo 2's story mode, i was hoping for a BIG improvement. I didn't get it. The story lacked any excitement or drama that Halo 1 had. The new vehicles were fun for about 5 minutes, but it really wasn't anything that hadn't been done before. The new weapons also. Story mode finished in under 10 hours. Multi player. Filled with annoying teenagers, kids and some mature people. The word PWN has not been used so much over chat i swear. The multi player was repetitive and bland, doing the exact same as halo 2 multi player. Basically, this is Halo 2 with polished graphics, too much advertisement for such a thing. But i guess it got them money. Graphics - 7/10, Framey and far too shiny. Gameplay - 6/10, I would rate it higher if it hadn't been done before. Story - 4/10, No dramatic changes, nothing very exciting. Poor. Multi player - 8/10, I wont base this on the 5 million people playing the game. Personally, i think its crap. Expand
  57. EvanB.
    Oct 21, 2007
    5
    I've played all 3 and this last one is the biggest letdown. Backtracking through levels, a couple of new guns and items, the last level which has no creativity. All this money spent on this and this is what we get as gamers. The Halo developers should have studied the Half-Life 2 franchise to see how a game is suppose to be.
  58. S.K.
    Dec 25, 2007
    6
    Can you say "overhyped"? There is exactly one reason to play this game: because everyone else is. Having destroyed Halo 2's Xbox Live audience, there's only one place to go. That's unfortunate, given that both 1 and 2 were huge leaps from what came before. But 3? Bah, it's just rehashed 2, except with even more glitches. I thought superjumping was bad. It was, until I Can you say "overhyped"? There is exactly one reason to play this game: because everyone else is. Having destroyed Halo 2's Xbox Live audience, there's only one place to go. That's unfortunate, given that both 1 and 2 were huge leaps from what came before. But 3? Bah, it's just rehashed 2, except with even more glitches. I thought superjumping was bad. It was, until I got sniped in the face and... nothing happened. The blood came out, that's how I know, because apparently making it look pretty is a higher priority than making it work. Ask any Halo 2 and 3 player - sure, you got angry at 2 sometimes, but deep down knew you were just mad because you were losing. Not so with #3. A lot of what people complain about it is (surprisingly or not) legitimately the game's fault. The game isn't bad, per se, but for such a big-name game with such a huge budget, you think they could have gotten it together. I guess I was wrong. Go play Call of Duty 4. Expand
  59. JohnL.
    Dec 8, 2007
    7
    A perfectly good, if not exceptionally groundbreaking, game. Few of the stunning moments and wow factor that Halo 2 had, but a far more consistently fun title all around. The character animation is not aging well, and the graphics are hit and miss. If doing nothing wrong rates a 10, then this game is a solid ten. However, I'd prefer to be moved, or excited, or enthralled, or... well, A perfectly good, if not exceptionally groundbreaking, game. Few of the stunning moments and wow factor that Halo 2 had, but a far more consistently fun title all around. The character animation is not aging well, and the graphics are hit and miss. If doing nothing wrong rates a 10, then this game is a solid ten. However, I'd prefer to be moved, or excited, or enthralled, or... well, anything at all. Instead I feel like I'm just playing more Halo. Which is, of course, never a bad thing. Expand
  60. RayS.
    Sep 25, 2007
    6
    I loved Halo. the storyline and gameplay was awsome. Halo 2 did not quited draw me in like the first one but it was ok. Now I'm half way through Halo 3 and I'm like where is the story. gameplay is ok but dated. It was a marquee game on the xbox platform but 6 years lated it seems tired. I'm one who is sorely disappointed.
  61. BrentC.
    Sep 25, 2007
    5
    I am an AVID Halo fan and was waiting for Halo 3 to come out to buy an Xbox 360. I played it on my friends 360 and I must say, WTF guys. Are people SCARED to give this game a bad review. Its seriously the same game it was since Halo 1. The graphics are shoddy, the gameplay is the same. The single player is still bland and the story is still terrible. The fun in multiplayer is still there, I am an AVID Halo fan and was waiting for Halo 3 to come out to buy an Xbox 360. I played it on my friends 360 and I must say, WTF guys. Are people SCARED to give this game a bad review. Its seriously the same game it was since Halo 1. The graphics are shoddy, the gameplay is the same. The single player is still bland and the story is still terrible. The fun in multiplayer is still there, and I give that a 10 (I logged thousands of games on live with my xbox) but the single player is a big fat 0. Can you say repeated textures? Look, some people may think its wonderful, but how does this game get so many PERFECT scores that point out so many flaws? Think about it. Expand
  62. ccxapp
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    The plot was not what I expected it to be, but it's great on the graphical and gameplay improvements.
  63. TimD.
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    Of course it's great, but it hasn't evolved enough for me. The combat is solid and satisfying but feels no different from the first two. The first game was described as 5 minutes of game play spread over 8 hours, now it's been stretched over 24 hours, and it's getting dulled. It doesn't compare with the likes of Half Life or Biioshock, games which are still more Of course it's great, but it hasn't evolved enough for me. The combat is solid and satisfying but feels no different from the first two. The first game was described as 5 minutes of game play spread over 8 hours, now it's been stretched over 24 hours, and it's getting dulled. It doesn't compare with the likes of Half Life or Biioshock, games which are still more sophisticated in their storytelling, pacing and Graphics. Expand
  64. NickC.
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    I'm only on the second level and I have to say I'm underwhelmed. Far from looking amazing the graphics just don't impress. The interiors are much worse than the exteriors, the low resolution textures on the doors are particularly bad. The game these areas most remind me of are Fear with added backtracking. On the bright side the AI is still cool - I love it when grunts get I'm only on the second level and I have to say I'm underwhelmed. Far from looking amazing the graphics just don't impress. The interiors are much worse than the exteriors, the low resolution textures on the doors are particularly bad. The game these areas most remind me of are Fear with added backtracking. On the bright side the AI is still cool - I love it when grunts get scared and retreat. The Brute Alien weapons are things similar to nail guns and grenade launchers and are much more satisfying to use than the old Alien weapons (still in the game) which shot glowing stuff (not lasers, light travels at the speed of, well light and you would only see it reflecting off what ever you are shooting.). I've had a quick look at Forge basically you can mess around with game parameters and add objects to the level BFD. I buy a lot of games, and maybe finish half of them, all the extras packed in to this game don't really matter to me, I'm much more interested in the core game. The core game here is solid but and in the upper quartile of games on the system, but not worthy of being a flagship title. Expand
  65. RobertP.
    Sep 25, 2007
    5
    Mediocre game with recycled concepts and storyline - the hype ruined this game for me long before I played it. Tried to suppress the hype machine (myself being a part of it) ..unfortunately, this is simply another Halo shooter that did not meet expectations.
  66. AndyK.
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    There´s no doubt ... HALO 3 is to an extremely high degree OVERRATED by the most Critics, even by the two lowest with the rating of 88 ! The MP is still very good but the very short SP (8-10 hrs.) is really disappointing. My ratings SP=60 / MP=85 / Overall = 72
  67. LoayN.
    Sep 26, 2007
    5
    Really primitive graphics ! Very short and yes, it felt like I'm playing an XBox game not XBox 360 :( A bit disappointed, but I'm happy to play it :)
  68. BenL.
    Sep 26, 2007
    5
    I never had high hopes, but seeing as I played through Halo (Ok) and Halo 2(Slighty Better) I gave it a shot and, like the first two, this is a solid game, dressed up as a brilliant one. Shooting is fair, graphics good and multiplayer excellent, but it never captures the imangiation beyond the flashy story. It's hard to imagine why people go crazy for it.
  69. MikeP.
    Sep 26, 2007
    7
    This is it?? this is the best Microsoft & Bungie can put together after 3 years of development? graphics are below par - far worse than most games on 360. not even in the same universe compared to Gears or Bioshock. gameplay is exactly the same as previous Halos - nothing's improved. enemies are stupid as hell. sometimes they just stand there; they can't drive, or get into cars.This is it?? this is the best Microsoft & Bungie can put together after 3 years of development? graphics are below par - far worse than most games on 360. not even in the same universe compared to Gears or Bioshock. gameplay is exactly the same as previous Halos - nothing's improved. enemies are stupid as hell. sometimes they just stand there; they can't drive, or get into cars. sound & story are fine, but nothing to get excited about. and the level editor? what do i care about the level editor?! I don't want a level editor - i want a good game! where is the platform defining Halo 3 we've been waiting for? delayed 2 years after the 360 launch, and this is what we get? what a disappointment. Expand
  70. JoshB.
    Sep 27, 2007
    5
    Halo 3 is great...if you want Halo 2 in HD!! It's really hard to love a game that seems so similar to it's predecessor. When you have games out on the market like Gears of War Ghost Recon and Rainbow Six Vegas, that all have advanced cover systems, the ability to better fully control your character. That's the way games are advancing, when the only thing you can still do is Halo 3 is great...if you want Halo 2 in HD!! It's really hard to love a game that seems so similar to it's predecessor. When you have games out on the market like Gears of War Ghost Recon and Rainbow Six Vegas, that all have advanced cover systems, the ability to better fully control your character. That's the way games are advancing, when the only thing you can still do is Jump?? I mean how do you compete with a full character control of G.O.W.?? Expand
  71. JeveS.
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    A good, fairly bug-free and enjoyable run, but way too short in campaign mode. It was a challenge (and fun) playing with a buddy via co-op, but again, pretty short so be prepared for that. I've hopped in a few online matches, but I can't seem to enjoy the multi like I do on a great twitch HL2 mod like Fortress Forever. Graphics won't completely blow you away (still see A good, fairly bug-free and enjoyable run, but way too short in campaign mode. It was a challenge (and fun) playing with a buddy via co-op, but again, pretty short so be prepared for that. I've hopped in a few online matches, but I can't seem to enjoy the multi like I do on a great twitch HL2 mod like Fortress Forever. Graphics won't completely blow you away (still see "popping " LOD textures and some sub-30 FPS in hectic areas), but they're not as bad as some reviewers would lead you to believe. You can tell multiplayer was the majority of work put into Halo 3 - not story or campaign. It's NOT a 10 or 100, and anyone who says it is has either truly never played a 10 or 10 OR is trying to counter-act all of the 6's out there. If you're a console campaigner / story gamer like me, rent it. Expand
  72. ArnieG
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    Disapointing. The Halo sequels are very comparable in quality to the Matrix sequels....classic innovative original, medicore derivative sequels. And how is it possible for the biggest game of the year to have such sub-par graphics? They look almost identical to the X-Box! Some eye candy would have went a long way.
  73. AnonymousMC
    Oct 14, 2008
    7
    Don't get me wrong: It's not by any means a bad game. It's just that it's a notch above average. The campaign has an erratic difficulty curve that is about as stable as a guy who has just been put in an asylum. Your teammates are total morons that make druggies look like the child of the smartest couple in the world. Let me give an example: In The Ark, they toldDon't get me wrong: It's not by any means a bad game. It's just that it's a notch above average. The campaign has an erratic difficulty curve that is about as stable as a guy who has just been put in an asylum. Your teammates are total morons that make druggies look like the child of the smartest couple in the world. Let me give an example: In The Ark, they told me that they would let me fire. However, one decided that an enemy breathing more than twice a minute was hostile and opened fire. I was killed brutally by the hyper-intelligent AI. After that, I just turned to killing my allies and treating them like walking bags of ammo. The multiplayer, though is different: fun, engaging, and what saves this game from mediocrity. Expand
  74. JohnS
    Dec 31, 2008
    6
    Generic is the best word to describe this series. Halo 1 took all the best parts from other games, and put it all into one game. Shoot all the bad guys, run over here, shoot all these guys, ok now run over here, kill these guys. It was FUN, and the story was actually engaging, involving twists, dramatic moments and a common hated enemy that you actually enjoyed killing. But then the Generic is the best word to describe this series. Halo 1 took all the best parts from other games, and put it all into one game. Shoot all the bad guys, run over here, shoot all these guys, ok now run over here, kill these guys. It was FUN, and the story was actually engaging, involving twists, dramatic moments and a common hated enemy that you actually enjoyed killing. But then the sequels came, and the series started to lag. Its like Bungie didnt even try to top themselves. the sequels do nothing new or exciting, and do nothing to enhance the series. Overrated is also another word to describe Halo 3. The critics absolutely praise this game like theyve never seen it done before. I played this game 10 years ago when it was called Doom, Half-Life, Tribes, Medal of Honor, Wolfenstein, and every other fps created before this game. This game is overrated, overyhyped, and has been done many times before, and better. Expand
  75. MisterH.
    Feb 12, 2008
    7
    Story mode is good although repetitive, but the multiplayer is better.
  76. KdH..
    Mar 15, 2008
    5
    Not enough ammo, boring, ridiculous cut scenes, claustrophobic restricted view in places, difficult to differentiate scenery in forest scenes..a real disappointment.
  77. AnonymousConnor
    May 22, 2008
    6
    OK-ish. Didn't live up to the hype, but still pretty solid.
  78. DominicM.
    Jun 22, 2008
    6
    Average. It was my biggest disappointment. The single player gets boring and no where near as epic as Bungie made it out to be. The multiplayer takes a step down from Halo 2, getting rid of many of the open maps and replacing them with cramped corridors. The massive hype this game receives is amazing. The game just feels outdated compared to better shooters like Gears of war or Average. It was my biggest disappointment. The single player gets boring and no where near as epic as Bungie made it out to be. The multiplayer takes a step down from Halo 2, getting rid of many of the open maps and replacing them with cramped corridors. The massive hype this game receives is amazing. The game just feels outdated compared to better shooters like Gears of war or Resistance:Fall of man. The stupid cliffhanger ending doesn't help either. Expand
  79. BryanMichaels
    Jun 27, 2008
    5
    The games is okay. It's really an outdated shooter game compared to new. The only thing that satifies people is the large online community. After buying the game, you have to have a gold account or buy one in order to enjoy it. Campaign just doesn't do it. It feels alot like Halo 2 with a couple of new weapons and better visuals. Instead of just trying to do the same thing overThe games is okay. It's really an outdated shooter game compared to new. The only thing that satifies people is the large online community. After buying the game, you have to have a gold account or buy one in order to enjoy it. Campaign just doesn't do it. It feels alot like Halo 2 with a couple of new weapons and better visuals. Instead of just trying to do the same thing over and over again, they should try to make it better. Expand
  80. BasicFanboy
    Jul 11, 2008
    6
    I are loving Halo 3. mE is have S0 mach fun. Great fun is this. W007 W007 W007. ZOMGLOLOL. Seriously though folks, Halo 3 was average at best. I just get sick of stupid fanboys saying all games are awful compared to Halo. All FPS games perhaps, but halo does not cover all genres. Go die in a fire. That is all.
  81. AnonymousMC
    Jul 28, 2008
    7
    To start the single player is average. It's not everything it was hyped up as and definatly not the "best game evar" as nearly every game reviewer on earth and fanboys alike say. It's just another go through the motions FPS that adds nothing new to the genre. Just get the weapon you want shoot enemies then wait through the cut scene to start all over again. Which would be fine.To start the single player is average. It's not everything it was hyped up as and definatly not the "best game evar" as nearly every game reviewer on earth and fanboys alike say. It's just another go through the motions FPS that adds nothing new to the genre. Just get the weapon you want shoot enemies then wait through the cut scene to start all over again. Which would be fine. If it was more fun and had a better story. You know change it up a bit yet it just stuck to same old formula of Halo 2. No thinking or strategy is ever needed even on harder levels as enemies get stronger and greater in numbers rather than smarter. The AI is still dumb as hell since you can do things like melee foes to death without the slightest urge for them to move out of your way. The story is like it always was bland and uninspired as I could tell everything that would happend before it played out in the game right down to the ending. To me the whole story lacks good depth that a game should have at this point. And it's all really dishearting that this is probably going to go down as the Mario of my day which is sad cause their is much more deserving games for that title. Some of this games positives it looks excelent, has good controls, and it has numbed down the needler. But let me say those things don't make up for everything else that is lacking with the story mode. But as for the multiplayer I think it is one of the best experiences online (which is why I'm giving it a 7 and not a 5.) I just hope that the next Halo game will deliver cause I think it has the potential to be great it's just that for this series third time was definitely not the charm. Expand
  82. ChristianH.
    Jul 31, 2008
    6
    moderate. I find it remarkably similar to halo 2. New features like forge and theater are ok, but boring single player, and repetitive multiplayer is annoying. Graphics are bland and were not anything impressive. Halo lost the respect it's been known for, killer graphics. A rent? yes. It's halo for god's sake. Halo 2 is good and if this is similar to halo 2 then you minus moderate. I find it remarkably similar to halo 2. New features like forge and theater are ok, but boring single player, and repetitive multiplayer is annoying. Graphics are bland and were not anything impressive. Halo lost the respect it's been known for, killer graphics. A rent? yes. It's halo for god's sake. Halo 2 is good and if this is similar to halo 2 then you minus well get it. Or if your trying to do machinima. Otherwise I'd just go to your friends house and play it. Expand
  83. KennyC
    Nov 15, 2009
    6
    Halo 3 sits in the middle. If you want good sniping and realistic fire fights play any call of duty. if you want quick fast paced action. Buy a cheap pc and get quake 3 or ut 2004. Now that is just the multiplayer. the single player pityful compared to the first halo and not much better than halo 2. dont get me wrong i will still play it if im bored but that is all.
  84. AaronM
    Nov 7, 2009
    6
    this game is overly praised it is not a very good title. The campain is only good the first time you play it then you never look at it again. You will find yourself spending more time playing custom games with friends more than anything. On the bright side of things the online in this game is great the xp system works awesome but with double xp weekend you will find yourself playing this game is overly praised it is not a very good title. The campain is only good the first time you play it then you never look at it again. You will find yourself spending more time playing custom games with friends more than anything. On the bright side of things the online in this game is great the xp system works awesome but with double xp weekend you will find yourself playing custom games to level up. This game might as well be a party game if it wasn't for the other review companys giving it such a high score the game is not a A game it is just antisipated by the magazines and web sites and then brain washes gamers into believing its the best game ever. Expand
  85. AnonymousMC
    Feb 16, 2009
    6
    An okay game. Just okay. The campaign is fun for a few times through, the multiplayer is also pretty fun in small doses, but gets boring after a while too. My biggest disappointment was the story; having been a Halo fan for several years, and after reading all the books, i was anticipating an epic finish to my favorite sci fi series of all time(and that includes movies and shows too, notAn okay game. Just okay. The campaign is fun for a few times through, the multiplayer is also pretty fun in small doses, but gets boring after a while too. My biggest disappointment was the story; having been a Halo fan for several years, and after reading all the books, i was anticipating an epic finish to my favorite sci fi series of all time(and that includes movies and shows too, not just games) Instead i got a confusing, irrational mess of convulated bull shit. Master Chief activiting the ring? I just dont like it. Expand
  86. joshq
    Mar 15, 2009
    6
    Not even the fanbois can overpower the user rating on this game. I'd really like some of them to tell me what they like about it rather than just bullsh*t us about how great it is. At the time the first halo came out it was a really good fps, but the sequels are the same thing.. and this one is just very poor compared to other fps' at the time. It operates off the same unreal Not even the fanbois can overpower the user rating on this game. I'd really like some of them to tell me what they like about it rather than just bullsh*t us about how great it is. At the time the first halo came out it was a really good fps, but the sequels are the same thing.. and this one is just very poor compared to other fps' at the time. It operates off the same unreal tournament style shooting and movement mechanics that everyone hates because there's absolutely no dynamics to weapons like recoil and shooting things gives a terribly unsatisfying effect. In MP its Better Gun > Whoever sees who first > knowledge of map > and finally skill, very non-skill based game. Expand
  87. ChrisEvans
    Nov 13, 2007
    5
    Just doesn't live up to the original Halo. hell, Halo 2 didn't live up to the original Halo. The focus is ultimately on the multiplayer aspect, which a person like me cannot enjoy as they have no access to broadband to speak of. The single player was a severe letdown. Guns looked like crap and sounded awful. Character models were mainly mediocre with the exception of MirandaJust doesn't live up to the original Halo. hell, Halo 2 didn't live up to the original Halo. The focus is ultimately on the multiplayer aspect, which a person like me cannot enjoy as they have no access to broadband to speak of. The single player was a severe letdown. Guns looked like crap and sounded awful. Character models were mainly mediocre with the exception of Miranda Keyes and the Master Chief. Level design was uninspiring and dull. Voice acting landed between average and poor. Music was reminiscent of the original Halo and Halo 2, yet felt out of place and rehashed. Team A.I. was so bad that aside from manning the chain gun, they have no practical use, as they're too stupid to stay alive or offer any meaningful assistance. The story was horrible, nothing compared to the original Halo. The most overhyped game of 2007. Doesn't deserve the "perfect 10" scores or nominations for "Game of the Year 2007" its getting, as this game is far from good, let alone "perfect". And that hurts me to say that, seeing how much time i've spent with halo, only to see the series go down the tubes with the shift to multiplayer. If you value single player or a mix of single player/multi player, then rent it and see how you like it. If you're into the multi, which apparently everyone is, then i gues syou'll want to buy it. Sadly the multi doesn't excuse the single. Not worth the 60+ bones it'll cost to buy it. Expand
  88. elzilcho
    Nov 18, 2007
    6
    Halo is a multiplayer game. The first two were and the third exceeds all expectations...for multiplayer. I never exactly understood the first two games and was hoping that the third would tie the loose ends. It basically creates questions that will never be answered. The story was advertised to be great, but I was lost the entire second half of the game. Not to mention finding that it has Halo is a multiplayer game. The first two were and the third exceeds all expectations...for multiplayer. I never exactly understood the first two games and was hoping that the third would tie the loose ends. It basically creates questions that will never be answered. The story was advertised to be great, but I was lost the entire second half of the game. Not to mention finding that it has to be beaten on Legendary to see the real ending...hello YouTube. Halo, don't hate it, but don't play the campaign. Expand
  89. ThomasN.
    Nov 19, 2007
    7
    Had this been the first Halo game ever and wasn't hyped up to the max, this game would be worthy of 9s and such. Instead, we get a rehash of what we've seen already with the only arguement for it's greatness are ''it's Halo''. This is nowhere near a 10, but on the other hand it's not so bad it deserves any less than a 6. Fun for the occasional Had this been the first Halo game ever and wasn't hyped up to the max, this game would be worthy of 9s and such. Instead, we get a rehash of what we've seen already with the only arguement for it's greatness are ''it's Halo''. This is nowhere near a 10, but on the other hand it's not so bad it deserves any less than a 6. Fun for the occasional play or some messing about with your friends, but within a few hours you feel very bored. Expand
  90. ScottL.
    Dec 12, 2007
    6
    I rated this game a 6 because after waiting months for it to come out I bought it and found it to be the same exact game as Halo & Halo II, not that it is bad but just not much different than playing either of my other Halo Games I already own. I would not spend the money if you already have Halo or Halo II unless you are just a fanatic that must have every Halo game. The graphics are I rated this game a 6 because after waiting months for it to come out I bought it and found it to be the same exact game as Halo & Halo II, not that it is bad but just not much different than playing either of my other Halo Games I already own. I would not spend the money if you already have Halo or Halo II unless you are just a fanatic that must have every Halo game. The graphics are better and look very good in some areas but the sounds, the creatures and most everything else feels and plays like a clone with hardly anything that is significantly different from previous Halo's. The biggest build up of the year for any game turns out to be the biggest let down in my opinion. Some games that were innovative, fresh when new become old, less involved and very repetitive over time (don't get me started on Zelda). A very overrated game by almost all of the game magazines. Expand
  91. NeilJ.
    Dec 17, 2007
    5
    This game is the worst of the franchise. Their are may problems with this game. At first i enjoyed the expirience it gave me for about 6 hours then it just went downhill. The story line is very short. Youd think that for the last game that they would make this the longest campagin mode out of the 3 halo games. well your wrong its the shortest. After beating the game I thought that the This game is the worst of the franchise. Their are may problems with this game. At first i enjoyed the expirience it gave me for about 6 hours then it just went downhill. The story line is very short. Youd think that for the last game that they would make this the longest campagin mode out of the 3 halo games. well your wrong its the shortest. After beating the game I thought that the online play would be better than halo 2 but worse than halo 1. (I thought that halo 1 was the best of the series) but I found out that I was just waisting my money. When I went on I first thought this was prity OK. But after about 5 games I realised that they better have a shit load of downloads if they want me to stay. The maps online are very anoying and repetitive in how each place works. I only found 2 maps enjoyable in this game. That is realy sad. Unlike halo 1 in which almost every map was good. (except for like 3 or 4). You will enjoy the multiplayer only if you have a shit load of friends that have the game. Otherwise you are just waisting money. The weapons in the game have downgraded even more in this version. The pistle in this game has gone down an even steeper slope. Entering random matches in halo 3 has also downgraded even more. Instead of being alowed to choose the game mode like capture the flag. You have to choose something less spacifick like big team battle which will most likely give you something you want to do. Every single friend I have(15) all hate halo 3. Halo 1 was the best of the sieries and bungie just milked it to much. Right now I can say that thank god that the series is over. Expand
  92. ochentay4ochentay4
    Nov 25, 2008
    6
    I've played every FPS till this day on PC and there are a lot to recommend. I bought a Xbox360 only to play Halo Trilogy to really experience this game... only to found out that this is an overhyped game that offers no memorable story nor gameplay (I only played single player campaign). The only thing that I cannot understand is that many reviews conclude with many negative comments I've played every FPS till this day on PC and there are a lot to recommend. I bought a Xbox360 only to play Halo Trilogy to really experience this game... only to found out that this is an overhyped game that offers no memorable story nor gameplay (I only played single player campaign). The only thing that I cannot understand is that many reviews conclude with many negative comments yet they give 8 or more. This trilogy sucks at best. Please go play "The Orange Box" you wont regret it. There are a lot of FPS games that are really good. Go play something else, dont bother with ANY Halo. Expand
  93. Feb 29, 2012
    7
    Halo 3 starts of slow, but comes with constantly increasing suspense, hitting a terrific climax towards the end. The game has its share of vehicle problems, but the first person combat holds up very well, and the story and the characters are more relatable than ever. Perhaps the most impressive is how the narrative manages to avoid many cliches and comes packed with one surprise after theHalo 3 starts of slow, but comes with constantly increasing suspense, hitting a terrific climax towards the end. The game has its share of vehicle problems, but the first person combat holds up very well, and the story and the characters are more relatable than ever. Perhaps the most impressive is how the narrative manages to avoid many cliches and comes packed with one surprise after the other. The game is also more cinematic and diverse than ever, and features enthralling music to back it up. Ending the trilogy in the most classy manner possible, with gameplay nods to its predecessors, Bungie has set an example for Sci-Fi games for years to come. That being said, the third installment in the Halo franchise didn't add much to anything with exception to the narrative, and some additional vehicles and weapon mechanics, leaving the remainders of the game more or less the same. It also lacked the graphical and enemy AI impressions of a next-gen release, and didn't truly enter into any territory where the franchise hasn't already been before. Expand
  94. Apr 20, 2011
    6
    Halo 3 is a fun game, loaded with content and full of replay value. The campaign is most fun to play co-op, and makes completing Legendary much easier given someone stays back and provides a constant respawn relief. The story rounds of the trilogy nicely and there's a couple of twists, but overall Halo 3 isn't about the story, it's about the action and this is where it remains one of theHalo 3 is a fun game, loaded with content and full of replay value. The campaign is most fun to play co-op, and makes completing Legendary much easier given someone stays back and provides a constant respawn relief. The story rounds of the trilogy nicely and there's a couple of twists, but overall Halo 3 isn't about the story, it's about the action and this is where it remains one of the best ever released on Xbox 360. The multi-player element is fantastic, with balanced weapons and good maps and modes. There is little more amusing than both yourself and an enemy beating each other down after a lengthy battle. Forge mode is good, although I'm not a particularly creative person, there are some super maps to get from those who are. Expand
  95. Feb 14, 2012
    7
    The music and visual atmosphere in this game is outstanding. Then again it's exactly the same kind of amazing that halo 1 and 2 where. And that's not a fault so much as consistency of a series. Halo has some top notch set pieces and solid combat mechanics. It also has a strong multiplayer offering. It's just not as deep as the aesthetics imply. The story surrounding the series in theThe music and visual atmosphere in this game is outstanding. Then again it's exactly the same kind of amazing that halo 1 and 2 where. And that's not a fault so much as consistency of a series. Halo has some top notch set pieces and solid combat mechanics. It also has a strong multiplayer offering. It's just not as deep as the aesthetics imply. The story surrounding the series in the books/etc is actually well conceived. However what you actually get - is a action game. The story segments are rare, and very secondary to the game. And unfortunately, even with solid co-op, the game is also short. And that's what leaves me cold - these incredible aesthetics, suggesting a deep world and story - and instead we get a solid 5 hour traditional fps. Expand
  96. Mar 25, 2011
    6
    This game is among the most over-rated games, I've EVER played. Its purely nothing. You WALK around shooting plain aliens, with noticabely terrible cross-hairs. Ya sure vehicles, are cool and the graphics are O.K. but it's just not fun.
  97. Jul 14, 2011
    5
    The Graphics look last gen. The gameplay feels like it's from 2001. The dialogue is cliche, and the voice acting it awful. I still don't understand the story. The level design is shallow. The difficulty is very unbalanced. This game is very bad.
  98. Aug 1, 2011
    7
    I wouldn't say this game is horrible, if you are board just pop in Halo get a party and **** around. This game was good in the time but personally I wouldn't play it again. Solid all around though.
  99. Aug 13, 2011
    5
    Its just Halo and Halo 2 with better graphics. The online mode has dedicated servers and smooth play but the main game? The story is rubbish. The graphics are average and nothing new. The online could have had way more editing options but it was just a bland blast em up with crap maps. I think this game is too over hyped to be honest.
  100. Nov 1, 2011
    5
    To my readers, this game is nothing more than a mediocre game that was blasted into the limelight. What an overrated game. The mechanics are okay and the graphics are a plus. Multiplayer is overrated as well. May it be biased or objective, there are just too many trolls online. I can't say too much about this game. I didn't like it much myself, but that's just me. I do not recommend anyoneTo my readers, this game is nothing more than a mediocre game that was blasted into the limelight. What an overrated game. The mechanics are okay and the graphics are a plus. Multiplayer is overrated as well. May it be biased or objective, there are just too many trolls online. I can't say too much about this game. I didn't like it much myself, but that's just me. I do not recommend anyone to buy it, rather just borrow from a friend or rent it out and see the crappiness for yourself. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's the addition of the Forge level editor and the saved films that give the game an even longer set of legs, legs that will probably keep you running at full speed until Bungie figures out where, exactly, to go from here.
  2. Halo 3 is the best Xbox 360 game to date. The single-player campaign and storyline are both very strong, but it's Forge and the Saved Films features that will likely go down in history as Bungie's crowning achievements. They've basically taken everything great about the series and improved upon it in every way, then added some amazing new features that we'll be using for years to come.
  3. 100
    It's solid gameplay, immense replayability, online functionality and incredible production values will ensure its place in video game history, and it is, without a doubt, a satisfying and fulfilling close to the beloved trilogy[?].