User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3840 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    Anyone who ever gave this game anything less than a 7 is lying to themselves. It may not be a 10 but you know its pretty damn good. The multiplayer alone should warrant an automatic 9 and when you pile on the deep (and yes, at times convoluted) story it has to be at least a 9.5. If you own an XBOX 360 and have somehow not experienced the excellence that is the Halo series, do yourself aAnyone who ever gave this game anything less than a 7 is lying to themselves. It may not be a 10 but you know its pretty damn good. The multiplayer alone should warrant an automatic 9 and when you pile on the deep (and yes, at times convoluted) story it has to be at least a 9.5. If you own an XBOX 360 and have somehow not experienced the excellence that is the Halo series, do yourself a service and pick this up on the cheap. Trust. Expand
  2. TylerI.
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    As some of you may give this a 0, how can you guive it that. The balance is soo well done online, for wxample the player skill balance. Also each game everyone has the same weapon. You can get shot a few times and still have a chance. Isn't that great? I'm not a big fan of the older campaigns( Halo and Halo 2) I loved this one. Thr levels Tsvaso's Highway to the level Halo As some of you may give this a 0, how can you guive it that. The balance is soo well done online, for wxample the player skill balance. Also each game everyone has the same weapon. You can get shot a few times and still have a chance. Isn't that great? I'm not a big fan of the older campaigns( Halo and Halo 2) I loved this one. Thr levels Tsvaso's Highway to the level Halo is just pure fun on Legendary. But the multiplayer is where the entire community is. You could probably play this game in 2016 and there probably will be at least 500 people on. But now 2.5 years after it 9/25/07 release there are 75,000 to 200,000 people on depending on the time. Just purely one of the best games on the Xbox 360 you can buy!!! Expand
  3. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    Halo 3 is a true successor to both of its predecessors, being everything that fans hoped it would be. The campaign is painfully short and the story is only really concerned with tying up loose ends, but these are only minor gripes considering how well designed the campaign is. In addition to this, the game comes with Forge Mode, a mode editor, and Theater Mode, which lets you watch overHalo 3 is a true successor to both of its predecessors, being everything that fans hoped it would be. The campaign is painfully short and the story is only really concerned with tying up loose ends, but these are only minor gripes considering how well designed the campaign is. In addition to this, the game comes with Forge Mode, a mode editor, and Theater Mode, which lets you watch over your previous games. When combined with multiplayer, this package has more content and quality than any game before it. This game is a must buy for all 360 gamers. Expand
  4. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    Honestly one of the most memorable games I've ever played. I've had it for almost 4 years now, and have probably about 3 months of gameplay (or more) on it, including recon armor and all that fun stuff. Unfortunately, my xbox broke and i no longer have my XBL password, so goodbye all my goodness...

    The campaign was great, both in storyline and in ways to get out of each map... Multiplayer
    Honestly one of the most memorable games I've ever played. I've had it for almost 4 years now, and have probably about 3 months of gameplay (or more) on it, including recon armor and all that fun stuff. Unfortunately, my xbox broke and i no longer have my XBL password, so goodbye all my goodness...

    The campaign was great, both in storyline and in ways to get out of each map... Multiplayer is incredible, and the custom games (I have over 2000...) were the highlight of the whole thing. I can't imagine a game I've had more fun playing.
    Expand
  5. RodL.
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    Amazing envolving gameplay. I wasn't the biggest fan of Halo or Halo 2, but Halo 3 blows my mind. The way you can use your brain to get yourself out of sticky situations by using your surroundings and the tools that the game provides (e.g. gravity grenade) adds the extra spice to this already awesome FPS. The sceneries are gorgeous and the vehicles tons of fun. The story, music, and Amazing envolving gameplay. I wasn't the biggest fan of Halo or Halo 2, but Halo 3 blows my mind. The way you can use your brain to get yourself out of sticky situations by using your surroundings and the tools that the game provides (e.g. gravity grenade) adds the extra spice to this already awesome FPS. The sceneries are gorgeous and the vehicles tons of fun. The story, music, and rest of the production values are all first class. This is the definition of an epic videogame! Expand
  6. Apr 9, 2011
    10
    Though it does not tread new ground in the FPS genre, I still had a blast playing Halo 3. I got my Xbox to play Halo 3, originally being a PlayStation man. I played it the other day having left it for a year or two, and I had a damn good time of it too. The campaign, though short, is rich, beautifully crafted and utterly absorbing. Martin O'Donnell's soundtrack is as brilliant, excitingThough it does not tread new ground in the FPS genre, I still had a blast playing Halo 3. I got my Xbox to play Halo 3, originally being a PlayStation man. I played it the other day having left it for a year or two, and I had a damn good time of it too. The campaign, though short, is rich, beautifully crafted and utterly absorbing. Martin O'Donnell's soundtrack is as brilliant, exciting and suiting as ever (surely there is no other composer in the gaming industry who can match O'Donnell's brilliance), the game is highly polished, visually, audibly and physically, and it left me feeling very satisfied. For those who say that Halo 3 was over-hyped, in my opinion that is why it is such an important game. 2007 was a fantastic year for games, with titles such as Bioshock, Mass Effect, Call of Duty 4 and Grand Theft Auto 4 being released, but above all of these, Halo 3 was the first game to become a really competitive art form. The fact that it made more money in 48 hours than any film or music album is a really impressive feat, and in my opinion it was the first game to really prove that gaming was more than just the preserve of overweight, nerdy teenagers in their bedrooms. This is not the best game ever made by any means, but it is certainly up there, and will be for many years to come. Expand
  7. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    THE BEST Halo game i have played so far. Campaign AWESOME. Multiplayer AMAZING. Forge INCREDIBLE. Theater BRILLIANT. Easy 10 in my mind and a lot of others. HALO FTW!
  8. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    Halo 3 is the only game in the series that I have owned, and i'm glad I got it at the midnight release. The shooter gameplay is perfect, the feel alone in this game is the best.
  9. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    I loved this game and I miss the good old days back when everyone used to play it. I miss messing around in the campaign, spending hours in forge and custom games trying to come out with the next fun formula for messing around with friends. It was a good time that I have no regrets about and honestly wish I could go back to.
  10. Wally
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    This game was brilliant, the graphics I first noticed weren't incredible, but then it became shown that Bungie were trying the graphics from a different angle than the first Halos. Whether this is good for u, u decide, but the graphics dont really matter. I dont get y so many people complain of a too short SP, i finished Halo2 on legendary by myself several times and it took me the This game was brilliant, the graphics I first noticed weren't incredible, but then it became shown that Bungie were trying the graphics from a different angle than the first Halos. Whether this is good for u, u decide, but the graphics dont really matter. I dont get y so many people complain of a too short SP, i finished Halo2 on legendary by myself several times and it took me the same amount of time to finish halo 3 co-op on heroic as finishing GOW on casual. The forge is unbelievably cool, i spent an entire hour just fiddling round with the grav-lifts alone on narrows. Although I do wish Bungie kept some more of the maps from Halo2 on the game. Perhaps they'll be able to be downloaded from XboxLive. Brilliant game, excellent. Awesome how now basically everything is destructable including phantoms and scarabs. Expand
  11. dangcucu
    Aug 17, 2008
    10
    Best Balanced MP out there. Tons of extras like video playback, forge. If you lose in the game is because you lost. Skilled player are not & not lest to chance. Only sore points is the campaign graphics. Seems like Sarge's face looked better in Halo 2. Top 5 fav game; still in my playing rotation as of 08/2008. you can't say that of much games on xbox live or any other systems Best Balanced MP out there. Tons of extras like video playback, forge. If you lose in the game is because you lost. Skilled player are not & not lest to chance. Only sore points is the campaign graphics. Seems like Sarge's face looked better in Halo 2. Top 5 fav game; still in my playing rotation as of 08/2008. you can't say that of much games on xbox live or any other systems for that matter. Cometh frag-play Teh Haloz. Expand
  12. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    In my opinion one of the best franchises of all time, you don't see a lot of video games that start a generation like halo, this is what you get when you take time preparation, a masterpiece.
  13. Feb 14, 2012
    9
    Best halo ever it has the most guns in the series the best levels and the easiest controls it's storyline could have been better but all around this is the best halo has to offer I'd play this over halo reach anyway it's a must buy
  14. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    Multiplayer balance and competition was phenomenal. The true skill ranking system was brilliant and fair. The balance and dynamic of the game made it a popular E-Sport in the MLG scene. The most competitive Halo to date. Is not for "casuals" in my opinion but that's how gaming should be. FPS games are not about the storyline, they're about the multiplayer. It is probably the leastMultiplayer balance and competition was phenomenal. The true skill ranking system was brilliant and fair. The balance and dynamic of the game made it a popular E-Sport in the MLG scene. The most competitive Halo to date. Is not for "casuals" in my opinion but that's how gaming should be. FPS games are not about the storyline, they're about the multiplayer. It is probably the least favorite game for the "everybody wins" generation of gamers, but that is what makes games great, not everyone wins. Expand
  15. Sep 30, 2012
    10
    is the epic conclusion for a epic story definitely the best sci-fi game story so far (2007) a great campaign and simply the best multiplayer on xbox 360.
  16. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    This is the first game that I really strived to get all of the achievements for and this review is more on the fun of gathering the specific achievements that this game has than the actual game itself. (It is a great game). Most specifically this game changed the way I look at and play games, by having just the right level of difficulty on all of the achievements including the dlc IThis is the first game that I really strived to get all of the achievements for and this review is more on the fun of gathering the specific achievements that this game has than the actual game itself. (It is a great game). Most specifically this game changed the way I look at and play games, by having just the right level of difficulty on all of the achievements including the dlc I started playing games on harder difficulties and started playing multiplayer. This game has the best multiplayer in the halo franchise, the maps are fun and never really get dull or repetitive. Expand
  17. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    Call me a Fanboy but I love Halo (Sure it kinda rips of Aliens in a few too many places) but I love the supporting cast, the multiplayer (No not Halo 4's!) and the whole idea of a race of Aliens united by their religious ideals which they accepted or were forced to.
    This is by far a truly epic conclusion (Yes conclusion) to Master Chief's story and the whole Human Covenant war. It's story
    Call me a Fanboy but I love Halo (Sure it kinda rips of Aliens in a few too many places) but I love the supporting cast, the multiplayer (No not Halo 4's!) and the whole idea of a race of Aliens united by their religious ideals which they accepted or were forced to.
    This is by far a truly epic conclusion (Yes conclusion) to Master Chief's story and the whole Human Covenant war. It's story and set-pieces are epic without being too in your face. The multiplayer is well-balanced in my opinion with my favourite set of maps in the whole Halo series. Forge makes an interesting addition which you can sink hours or seconds into. What am I missing... oh yeah theatre mode also makes an interesting addition (Although I didn't spend a lot of time using it) and it really does FINISH THE FIGHT!
    If you've just bought a 360 this is a must own!
    Expand
  18. May 15, 2011
    10
    This is honestly one of the best games in my opinion. The gameplay is awsome and the story is absolutely amazing! Bungie really set the bar high and I cannot wait to see future Halo games. Large maps, large vehicle combat, the innovative weapons. These are one of the many things what makes Halo 3 one of the greatest games of ALL time. Long live Halo!
  19. May 10, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I had an overall blast with this game for the 3 years that i had been playing it. I could play it all day and all night and not get bored. That was the thing about this game,; once you thought it was done... BAM some thing like a map pack shows up with new forge block and another couple hours trying to make a good multilayer tactic :) I really do miss those days. Though now all it is now is a story, about ONE **** KICK ASS GAME! HELL YA! "Send me out with a bang!" Sargent Johnson Expand
  20. Oct 30, 2010
    8
    Halo 3 doesn't change the formula by much but the things it adds, like forge and improved matchmaking, are enough to make it worth a purchase. Just don't expect to have your mind blown if you already played Halo 2, as the campaign and main game mechanics are almost identical.
  21. Aug 30, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As some of you may give this a 0, how can you guive it that. The balance is soo well done online, for wxample the player skill balance. Also each game everyone has the same weapon. You can get shot a few times and still have a chance. Isn't that great? I'm not a big fan of the older campaigns( Halo and Halo 2) I loved this one. Thr levels Tsvaso's Highway to the level Halo is just pure fun on Legendary. But the multiplayer is where the entire community is. You could probably play this game in 2016 and there probably will be at least 500 people on. But now 2.5 years after it 9/25/07 release there are 75,000 to 200,000 people on depending on the time. Just purely one of the best games on the Xbox 360 you can buy!!! Expand
  22. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    Please, ignore the Negative reviews. A must have for the Xbox 360. I don't know why there are so many but that's not true. Beautiful graphics, so-so Single Player, and amazing/endless online gameplay. Seriously, if your reading this and do not have the game, then get off your lazy ass and BUY IT!
  23. Aug 28, 2010
    9
    Halo 3 is a great game the campaign is not the best but it has it's upsides.
    I would recommend this game to any first person shooter fan just do not expect the campaign to be fantastic
  24. Sep 24, 2010
    10
    Do I even have to write a review for this game? It kind of speaks for itself.
    Be sure to go to bungie.net to get your Halo 3 nameplate for Halo: Reach.
  25. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    I love this game. In every aspect it met my gaming needs and wants. The campaign was just so epic, it was so exciting to travel to level to level. But still the A.I. is as dumb as as bag of hammers. But still if you can ignore the stupid A.I. then you got a game of the year worthy game. Especially the multi-player. They took a big leap from Halo 2, and they landed it. It was veryI love this game. In every aspect it met my gaming needs and wants. The campaign was just so epic, it was so exciting to travel to level to level. But still the A.I. is as dumb as as bag of hammers. But still if you can ignore the stupid A.I. then you got a game of the year worthy game. Especially the multi-player. They took a big leap from Halo 2, and they landed it. It was very satisfying to get sprees and multi-kills, and watching your plasma grenades exploding while on somebody's face. All you need is maybe $30 and you'll be happy for a while. Expand
  26. Dec 28, 2010
    8
    I know I'm a little behind the ball on this, but this is my first year owning a 360 (got one of the new wireless ones for Christmas), and so this is the game I happened to get for it. As a person who's played all three games, I have to say this was one of the more satisfying ones, and yet, at the same time, I didn't have as much fun with it. Keep in mind that as I'm writing this review, II know I'm a little behind the ball on this, but this is my first year owning a 360 (got one of the new wireless ones for Christmas), and so this is the game I happened to get for it. As a person who's played all three games, I have to say this was one of the more satisfying ones, and yet, at the same time, I didn't have as much fun with it. Keep in mind that as I'm writing this review, I have yet to experience it through multiplayer, and in my day, I LOVED having friends around to play splitscreen muitplayer with as we shoved eachother around and cursed in anger (and generally laughed our asses off at the hilarious kills we got). That being said, from a single-player standpoint, I though this was a really cool game. Sure, the story was a little hard to follow at times, and I did get annoyed that it seemed that you were the only capable fighter on the battle field, and yet even on normal, I found myself time and time again being killed by the simple fact that there were sooooo many people trying to tear my face off at once. Most of the time, I could handle the covenant and the flood by shooting at them until their shields went down or they just weakened, and then I slammed them in the face with the butt of my rifle. While this might work against certain enemies, I found that really you only want to do that if the baddies happen to get separated, otherwise they will gangrape you. Overall, I was alright with the ending for the most part, up until they showed that somehow the portal closed just as the ship got halfway through it, allowing Arbiter through but leaving Master Chief and Cortana behind. Now THAT'S just silly. Still, despite my griping, this game glued me to the seat for a solid three days of gameplay, and I still intend on keeping it to check out the multiplayer. For some fairly solid gameplay, a decent and gripping story of survival, and the fact that it's half sci-fi drama and half action movie, I give this game a solid 8 out of 10 Expand
  27. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    Halo 3 may be the king of all first person shooter games. That opinion could almost be a fact. With it's 5 year lifespan Halo 3 retains over 10,000 players online and will probably never be knocked off it's throne. Halo 4 may be out already, but let's take a look at a real Halo game, shall we? Halo 3 is the final battle between humanity, the covenant, and the flood. The main enemy in thisHalo 3 may be the king of all first person shooter games. That opinion could almost be a fact. With it's 5 year lifespan Halo 3 retains over 10,000 players online and will probably never be knocked off it's throne. Halo 4 may be out already, but let's take a look at a real Halo game, shall we? Halo 3 is the final battle between humanity, the covenant, and the flood. The main enemy in this installment is the prophet of truth, a crafty ambitious member of the covenant. The story is strong and also includes the Arbiter along with the classic scarabs. When you look deeper though, you'll find yourself more immersed in the gameplay of the campaign rather than the story. Whether you are hunting for skulls or trying to break a high score, Halo 3's campaign is extremely repayable. Halo 3's online play is also fantastic. Featuring a large sandbox, as well as great maps such as the pit, Halo 3's multiplayer never gets old. With it's arena style competitive matches, every game feels important and fun. Halo 3 also includes a 1-50 ranking system, which players can work at. This adds up to hours of play, and will trump any Call of Duty multiplayer. Custom games are a lot of fun with friends, especially infection mode. Halo 3 can be played all day, and you'll find yourself forgetting to go to bed way too often.

    Overall, this game defines the Halo experience. From it's fantastic soundtrack to it's impressive multiplayer, Halo 3 has something to please everyone.
    Expand
  28. Sep 6, 2010
    9
    Halo is one of the most successful first person shooters ever made and the latest installment does not fall short of expectations. Shooting aliens has never been this fun. The singleplayer is fun and after you beat on normal, you are probably going to go back to get the legendary achievement. The multiplayer is also very fun. It is simple, yet probably one of the funnest multiplayer gamesHalo is one of the most successful first person shooters ever made and the latest installment does not fall short of expectations. Shooting aliens has never been this fun. The singleplayer is fun and after you beat on normal, you are probably going to go back to get the legendary achievement. The multiplayer is also very fun. It is simple, yet probably one of the funnest multiplayer games i have ever played. So as you can see, this game is great and fun and is definitely worth a buy for anyone with a 360. Expand
  29. Aug 22, 2010
    9
    Halo 3 is an amazing game. Yes it did have a short campaign but I had a hell of a time playing it. The game is now 3 years old but people continue to play it. It has over 20 multiplayer maps and plenty of game modes including a different weekend special every week. It is a great FPS and that is why i give it a 9 out of 10
  30. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    Game that can be compared with halo 3?There is none
  31. Brandon
    Jan 22, 2010
    9
    One of the best games I have ever had the liberty of playing on the xbox 360! Sure, I only played the first chapter when my friend brought it over, and I played online the rest of the time, but the sales numbers and review scores are also true to the bone! And for those Halo haters, you're just retards who have nothing better to do than flame Bungie because they can't beat the One of the best games I have ever had the liberty of playing on the xbox 360! Sure, I only played the first chapter when my friend brought it over, and I played online the rest of the time, but the sales numbers and review scores are also true to the bone! And for those Halo haters, you're just retards who have nothing better to do than flame Bungie because they can't beat the first chapter because they've never played on Halo before. I borrowed and beat Halo 2, and even that has great visuals, even today, but the people do look bad. Halo 3 was way better. Visuals pro. And the theme music! Un-believable. Blown away by the theme music. I love it so much, I sing it a school. Heck, I'll do it now. uuhuhuhuhhhh, uh uh uhhh, (higher pich) uh uh uh uhhhh, uh uh uh uhhhhhhh D-dunnnnn dun, d-dunnn dun, dunnn dun dun dun. Epic, right? Online is so fun. Really fast paced, the community is fun to play with. Enough said. Expand
  32. Aug 27, 2010
    9
    Extremely good game the single player is the thing that brings it down 2 points the multi-player is mainly put into a large niche. For my experience of the multi-player was amazing with the newer maps like sandbox makes user like games like Micheal Myers from Call of Duty, and make a actual game mode and create you own map for the game type makes it so much better If your extremely intoExtremely good game the single player is the thing that brings it down 2 points the multi-player is mainly put into a large niche. For my experience of the multi-player was amazing with the newer maps like sandbox makes user like games like Micheal Myers from Call of Duty, and make a actual game mode and create you own map for the game type makes it so much better If your extremely into Call of Duty there is a small chance of you liking this game i am a big fan of both. Expand
  33. Aug 27, 2010
    9
    The campaign has its ups and downs, but still has its replay value to it. The matching system is still great, and the game-play is fine (although others cannot admit to it). Custom games have gotten better since Halo 2. More customization, options, "freedom". Forge, ah yes. This map editor is got to be one of the main reasons Halo 3 got so much more to it. Now then, on to the cons. LetsThe campaign has its ups and downs, but still has its replay value to it. The matching system is still great, and the game-play is fine (although others cannot admit to it). Custom games have gotten better since Halo 2. More customization, options, "freedom". Forge, ah yes. This map editor is got to be one of the main reasons Halo 3 got so much more to it. Now then, on to the cons. Lets just say the community isn't the brightest. Map restrictions have been put on most of the playlists, meaning that newer members to the Halo community would have to spend a little bit more money to fully experience Halo 3's gameplay. All and all, it's a great game. Just make sure you're in party chat, or have friends to play with. Expand
  34. Nov 25, 2010
    8
    This is a great game. It has enjoyable graphics, a decent storyline, and a great multiplayer offering supported in turn by Bungie.net's range of features and statistics. I notice that everyone reviewing this game calls its overrated, and then choose to underrate it. But, this game is a solid 8, maybe even an 8.5. I spent so many hours playing this game with friends and I have mostly foundThis is a great game. It has enjoyable graphics, a decent storyline, and a great multiplayer offering supported in turn by Bungie.net's range of features and statistics. I notice that everyone reviewing this game calls its overrated, and then choose to underrate it. But, this game is a solid 8, maybe even an 8.5. I spent so many hours playing this game with friends and I have mostly found memories of it. The single player was neat to play through, but I don't think anyone serious about the game will stay for that: the multiplayer is what makes this game and on that front, it offers a type of balanced team-based gaming that no other game can match. Expand
  35. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    Was there even any doubt? A brief but fantastic campaign with plenty of replyability, thanks to the skulls and Co-op with lovely set-pieces, and solid multiplayer. Brilliant maps (Apart from Guardian IMO), forge is great and allows for some wicked creativity, Duck Hunt anyone? Combat feels great and there are no real flaws I can talk about. Maybe the return of the health bar would haveWas there even any doubt? A brief but fantastic campaign with plenty of replyability, thanks to the skulls and Co-op with lovely set-pieces, and solid multiplayer. Brilliant maps (Apart from Guardian IMO), forge is great and allows for some wicked creativity, Duck Hunt anyone? Combat feels great and there are no real flaws I can talk about. Maybe the return of the health bar would have been nice, but thats it and I'm just picking at tiny holes now, that make no difference ot the gameplay or graphics whatsoever, ty bungie! Expand
  36. Mar 13, 2011
    8
    I kind of ignored this game for a long time! I was a Nintendork. I still kind of am, but now, I'm a Wii60er! This game is fun and challenging! The story is really complicated to me, but that's okay, I literally said, "screw the story, let's kick some alien butt!" at one point. I love the theater mode and forge, in fact, I'm thinking of making a machinima because of them! I own atI kind of ignored this game for a long time! I was a Nintendork. I still kind of am, but now, I'm a Wii60er! This game is fun and challenging! The story is really complicated to me, but that's okay, I literally said, "screw the story, let's kick some alien butt!" at one point. I love the theater mode and forge, in fact, I'm thinking of making a machinima because of them! I own at matchmaking! I love using exclamation points! I give tribute to this game for broadening my horizons by 600%. Expand
  37. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    Four years after its release and I enjoyed this game probably as much as when it was first released to the public. Great FPS that gave you a large array of weapons to choose from. So many different ways to lead an assault on the enemy, so many different ways to die. The action was non-stop, the cut scenes were few and didn't slow down the story (considering how cut scenes are being used soFour years after its release and I enjoyed this game probably as much as when it was first released to the public. Great FPS that gave you a large array of weapons to choose from. So many different ways to lead an assault on the enemy, so many different ways to die. The action was non-stop, the cut scenes were few and didn't slow down the story (considering how cut scenes are being used so poorly in today's games). The story itself had a perfect pace for this type of game, not once did I zone out while people were elaborating on the plot. And unlike the MW2 games, it's has twice as long the game play! Expand
  38. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    good game by bungie. deserves higher than the 7.7 average so i gave it a 10. the new halo games are absolutely terrible in comparison...if they get scores like 6 then this deserves a 100/10. i mean halo 4 literally killed halo...at least halo 3 was #1 on xbox live for two 1/2 years.
  39. NikE
    Jan 24, 2010
    9
    Okay to all of those who are giving this game a scor of 0, fans of this game are not all a bunch of "retards without any brains" as one of you so eloquently stated. This game had a relatively well done campaign with enough action to keep an avid fps fan busy for hours. Remember the emphasis of this triology is NOT the storyline, if you want a storyline in an fps, go play one of the Okay to all of those who are giving this game a scor of 0, fans of this game are not all a bunch of "retards without any brains" as one of you so eloquently stated. This game had a relatively well done campaign with enough action to keep an avid fps fan busy for hours. Remember the emphasis of this triology is NOT the storyline, if you want a storyline in an fps, go play one of the rpg-fps hybrids like Bioshock or Mass Effect. The best thing about halo 3 and the entire halo trilogy is the multiplayer. The matchmaking system is definitively the BEST setup for any console ever made. The ranking system allows you to play competitively with people at your own progressing skill level, and joining games is always relatively quick and efficient. The mechanics of the multiplayer is also well done, all of the weapons are fairly well balanced, and excel in different unique situations. As a level 50 in 3 different playlists, im PRETTY SURE I KNOW WHAT IM TALKING ABOUT( and yes it IS possible to do well without hacking, you just need some aim and some teamwork). The reduction in health from the previous two games allows for a heavier emphasis on teamwork and communication ( its is hard for 1 player to take down 3 others at the same time). My only complaint about this game is that whenever new maps are released, you need to purchase them online to be able to continue to play of all the playlists available on XBL, giving the game a certain "WoW-scam" feel. Expand
  40. LucasP.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    The game is amazing. I don't know why these Sony fanboys (who, I bet, have never played the game) keep giving it 0. This attitude is so ridiculous.. anyway, I don't care. The graphics, specially the models, are not, by far, the best on this generation, but there are some points which really make it seem very beautiful sometimes, like the light and shadow effects and some nice The game is amazing. I don't know why these Sony fanboys (who, I bet, have never played the game) keep giving it 0. This attitude is so ridiculous.. anyway, I don't care. The graphics, specially the models, are not, by far, the best on this generation, but there are some points which really make it seem very beautiful sometimes, like the light and shadow effects and some nice detailed scenes. The story is a great point of the game, specially for the ones who've enjoyed the Halo universe since the first game. The weapons are great, though sometimes you feel you need a better variety of guns. The enemies are intelligent enough to the proposal of the game, maybe the only bad about them is the already known little ones, they make the game looks kind of "kiddy", but, don't misunderstand me, it's nothing really bad as it may sound, they add fun to the game. Finally, for sure, the best thing about this freaking amazing game is the OST! Perhaps the only games which have the soundtracks to amused like this one are the Chrono games. I just love this game. Expand
  41. MichaelK
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    There are so many bad comments for this game that I felt the need to balance things out with a few good words for what is quiet simply one of my most played games of the past few years. No other game has such a dedicated community of players online from around the world playing on an ever evolving battle field with constantly updated play lists and everything is so well balanced plus There are so many bad comments for this game that I felt the need to balance things out with a few good words for what is quiet simply one of my most played games of the past few years. No other game has such a dedicated community of players online from around the world playing on an ever evolving battle field with constantly updated play lists and everything is so well balanced plus because of a well implimented ranking system it always gives an incredably fare match I really can't say enough good things about this outstanding game Expand
  42. Aug 14, 2010
    8
    This game was a little different than the other Halos, in good ways, and bad. First off, on the good side, there is a bigger selection of weapons than the first Halo, and thank Lord Jesus for that! Another good side, the game, just like the others, is filled with the longest damned levels in video game history. Why good? Takes up your time. Mostly bad, 'cause we just want to find out howThis game was a little different than the other Halos, in good ways, and bad. First off, on the good side, there is a bigger selection of weapons than the first Halo, and thank Lord Jesus for that! Another good side, the game, just like the others, is filled with the longest damned levels in video game history. Why good? Takes up your time. Mostly bad, 'cause we just want to find out how it ends. The ending? I guess Bungie was just lazy, or something, 'cause, why else would it end the same way? Exploding ship, escape in warthog, die with Cortana, or whatever. Another Keyes dies, stupid. Spartan- 117, or whatever number he is, dies? Really? I'd rather have a cliffhanger, like Dead Space, or Portal, or Half-Life, or Splinter Cell: Conviction. Expand
  43. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = Incredible = It's an online shooter that still holds a major fan base today! It's roughly four and a half years old!! Very great and innovative shooter, a game that truly deserved it's sales numbers.
  44. Sep 12, 2010
    10
    Halo 3 was the best game ever, and still is the best game ever (until the 14th in 2 days). No other game has such an awesome combination of campaign, forge, theatre and matchmaking... amazing!

    And after 3 years, >200k people online, nuff said.
  45. Sep 8, 2011
    8
    Good game, unbalanced multiplayer ruins the online experience. I would buy a few games over this, such as Call of Duty 4, Call of Duty: World at War and Halo: Combat Evolved.
  46. Dec 25, 2012
    9
    I was thinking on what Halo was the best for the past week. Halo CE: Best campaign but multiplayer was not as good. Halo 2: had Amazing multiplayer great campaign but goes a bit out of control with the story at times for me. Halo 3 ODST: great campaign, best firefight but multiplayer disc was Halo 3 multiplayer with 4 new non-special maps
    .Halo Reach amazing campaign, best forge but
    I was thinking on what Halo was the best for the past week. Halo CE: Best campaign but multiplayer was not as good. Halo 2: had Amazing multiplayer great campaign but goes a bit out of control with the story at times for me. Halo 3 ODST: great campaign, best firefight but multiplayer disc was Halo 3 multiplayer with 4 new non-special maps
    .Halo Reach amazing campaign, best forge but multiplayer was a bit unbalanced but still amazing and firefight was good but not as interesting as in ODST and the worst maps in a Halo game ever
    . Halo 4: Best looking Halo yet, amazing multiplayer great but not a very griping campaign as other Halos, forge is really good and Spartan ops is a nice and really good new feature. But however the one Halo witch I got hooked on for 5 to 6 years of life and never, ever got bored of it is Halo 3. The first Halo I ever played and I fell in love with the games world almost as soon as I played it. Campaign is awesome been my third favorite campaign out of all the Halos with the ledendary ending been one of my favorite moments of gaming of all time. Multiplayer in Halo 3 is my favorite Halo(I know Halo 2s' multiplayer is supposed to be the best but we hav opinions) multiplayer by far, too bad its nowhere near as popular as it was the 3 years it was king of Xbox multiplayer. Forge may not be as good as Halo: Reach and Halo 4, Halo 3 has really good forge still and has the best map of any Halo game (this including the map packs). Thierter will always be the best in Halo 3. Halo 3 is my favorite Halo game of all time and alos one of my favorite games of all time. Halo 3 9.8/10
    Expand
  47. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    Halo 3 is one of the best FPS's I've ever played. It's sad that no one really plays this game anymore, because of the release of Halo Reach and Halo 4. The online multiplayer is clearly better than Halo Reach and Halo 4, because of the great maps and the simple gameplay. There isn't much to the game. You just pick up guns of the ground and use them. The campaign lives up the seriesHalo 3 is one of the best FPS's I've ever played. It's sad that no one really plays this game anymore, because of the release of Halo Reach and Halo 4. The online multiplayer is clearly better than Halo Reach and Halo 4, because of the great maps and the simple gameplay. There isn't much to the game. You just pick up guns of the ground and use them. The campaign lives up the series expectations quite well too and it is very difficult if you choose the harder modes to play on. Overall this game deserves a clear 10 out of 10. Expand
  48. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    Wow. Probably my all time favorite video game.
    Campaign: The campaign has an amazing mixture of level design, enemies, character development, and weapons. The story and lore are both amazing. The trilogy really does end beautifully. It really tugs at your heartstrings. So if you like a good story, you will like this game. Of course the story isn't as good as say mass effect, but for an
    Wow. Probably my all time favorite video game.
    Campaign: The campaign has an amazing mixture of level design, enemies, character development, and weapons. The story and lore are both amazing. The trilogy really does end beautifully. It really tugs at your heartstrings. So if you like a good story, you will like this game. Of course the story isn't as good as say mass effect, but for an fps, it is amazing. The only complaint I have is the Marine AI. They're just plain stupid. (:
    Multiplayer: Multiplayer encompasses many things so im going to break it down into
    1. Matchmaking/CustomGames: Matchmaking and custom games in halo is so amazing. It can be for both the casual and hardcore. I cant describe the fun of getting a couple friends and going on matchmaking or just screwing around on custom games.
    2. Forge: Forge is amazing. It is basically a level designer. You can add vehicles, structures. weapons, etc. Or, you can just do crazy stuff like drop tanks on people's heads.

    Halo 3 is such an amazing game. It has a great campaign, great multiplayer, and a really fun level designer. I'd recommend it to anyone.
    Expand
  49. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    The game gives the player control of a FBI agent named Francis York Morgan who is investigating the murder of a young woman, Anna Graham, near the fictional American town of Greenvale (its containing state is never identified, but it appears to be somewhere in the Pacific Northwest). Upon arriving in the town York is greeted by town sheriff George Woodman and his deputy Emily Wyatt, whoThe game gives the player control of a FBI agent named Francis York Morgan who is investigating the murder of a young woman, Anna Graham, near the fictional American town of Greenvale (its containing state is never identified, but it appears to be somewhere in the Pacific Northwest). Upon arriving in the town York is greeted by town sheriff George Woodman and his deputy Emily Wyatt, who brief him on the murder and lead him to the crime scene. York generates considerable friction with his dismissive attitude toward the locals, bizarre demeanor, and tendency to interrupt conversations to deliver asides to "Zach", an alternate personality congruent with the player. Over the course of his investigation, York has opportunities to touch the lives of many of the town's colorful personalities and intervene in their personal crises, often brought on by the sudden and brutal murder in their midst, to earn rewards and further his understanding of the case. As he unearths more and more mysteries and the killer continues to roam, the town's dark past slowly comes to light.
    Deadly Premonition's plot and setting are strongly influenced by the American television show Twin Peaks, and numerous allusions and thematic links can be found within the game, and Master Cheif dies in space.
    Expand
  50. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Best game of the Xbox 360 generation for sure. Id have to say that It had the best multiplayer in the entire series or even all of gaming. Wish the newer ones were like this
  51. LordHoodLordHood
    May 24, 2007
    10
    AAAAAAAAAa beta is okay game will be better hate portabal grave lifts man cannon rocks CCAMPAIN better rule or else there will be hell to pay Dont give a crap about multiplayer HALO FOREVER!!!
  52. MeanPooh
    Sep 20, 2007
    9
    I have been playing this solo and the graphics are amost as good as Gears. on the otherhand the ingame cutscenes are almost identical in quality. Master C Is as detailed as ever and the lighting in the jungle is top notch. A definate must play for Veterans of the series!
  53. JesseMckinnon
    Sep 23, 2007
    10
    I just wanna say I have friend who works at EB so I got a copy early. I beat the game the story was epic and left a tear in your eye in the end. The grahics are amazeing Master Chief's amour has never shinned so beatafuly in the sun. As usaul the gameplay delivers. Brutes are a good challange esapacily on Legendary duffucty. Online never gets old and with 4 player co-op and many greatI just wanna say I have friend who works at EB so I got a copy early. I beat the game the story was epic and left a tear in your eye in the end. The grahics are amazeing Master Chief's amour has never shinned so beatafuly in the sun. As usaul the gameplay delivers. Brutes are a good challange esapacily on Legendary duffucty. Online never gets old and with 4 player co-op and many great gametypes and Forge and Savefilms lets just say this game will be turning in my 360 for quiet a long time and dont forget PS3 sucks!!! Expand
  54. AngusSmith
    Sep 5, 2007
    10
    i played the beta and it was great. Alot has changed like the health and the screen and ect. halo one and two was amazing and so was the beta so i dont see y this wont, i am just looking forward to get this game when it comes out:D
  55. MaxMongtomery
    Oct 1, 2008
    10
    Ok, look......Halo 3 is THE BEST party game out there. Me and my friends play it all the time with system link and have loads of fun. Now if your only friends are people you find on Xbox Live.....I can see why you would discourage this game. The truth is, Halo 3 is a great game for anybody and for all you people giving it the rediculous 7 and below ratings: not everyone is a nerd like you.Ok, look......Halo 3 is THE BEST party game out there. Me and my friends play it all the time with system link and have loads of fun. Now if your only friends are people you find on Xbox Live.....I can see why you would discourage this game. The truth is, Halo 3 is a great game for anybody and for all you people giving it the rediculous 7 and below ratings: not everyone is a nerd like you. And honestly, Bungie is making a FORTUNE off of this game. Do you really think they care what a bunch of halo-haters have to say about this game? Expand
  56. DominikE.
    Sep 3, 2006
    9
    It's the best game, I've ever played!
  57. Snayke
    Dec 29, 2009
    10
    Halo 3 is one of the most engaging and ingenious games I've ever played. Right off the bat I was blown away by the colorful landscape and amazing graphics. The achievements for finding skulls and replaying the campaign on harder difficulties had me playing it forever. Even when all of that was done, the online experience is nothing short of amazing. Best Halo Game Yet!
  58. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    Copy/Paste to all Halo reviews after all these years: I didn't have a 360 for a few years (played 3 and ODST). In the meantime I played all sorts of fps- COD, BF, Killzone (which is awesome), Resistance, and every single other one. And coming back to Halo when I rebought a 360 was like the greatest homecoming ever. Unlike those other games, every Halo battle is like a chess match waitingCopy/Paste to all Halo reviews after all these years: I didn't have a 360 for a few years (played 3 and ODST). In the meantime I played all sorts of fps- COD, BF, Killzone (which is awesome), Resistance, and every single other one. And coming back to Halo when I rebought a 360 was like the greatest homecoming ever. Unlike those other games, every Halo battle is like a chess match waiting to happen. And once you truly know every enemy and every weapon, you fall into a sweet spot of gaming that is possibly the best of all action games ever made. It's just the best. Great now I have to copy and paste this 4 more times. Expand
  59. Jun 5, 2011
    9
    people giving this game a 0 are just being plain stupid. I play games regardless what console and so forth and have to say playing halo 3 again after 4 years is still a great gaming experience. if like me you love fps you'll find that this has tight controls, great enemies to fight, and that great halo universe. i do confess the 2nd to last flood level is a bit boring but what games dontpeople giving this game a 0 are just being plain stupid. I play games regardless what console and so forth and have to say playing halo 3 again after 4 years is still a great gaming experience. if like me you love fps you'll find that this has tight controls, great enemies to fight, and that great halo universe. i do confess the 2nd to last flood level is a bit boring but what games dont have slumps in their durations? i enjoy both single player and multiplayer, and now especially you can grab one so cheap, its a brilliant buy Expand
  60. Aug 30, 2011
    9
    Halo 3 is a good game with good multiplayer. The worst thing is the short campaign and don't think they wrapped the trilogy up as well as I thought they would. Anyway its a very good game and is a solid continuation of the series.
  61. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    Halo 3 is an excellent game. The story was a little disappointing and was sprinkled here and there with a few cheesy lines that made me want to yell at the Bungie writing team "WHAT WERE YOU THINKING?" But other than those minor flaws, the game is a magnificent work. There are some AI issues, but for it's day that's nothing big enough to lower my score of 10. The game flows smoothly, playsHalo 3 is an excellent game. The story was a little disappointing and was sprinkled here and there with a few cheesy lines that made me want to yell at the Bungie writing team "WHAT WERE YOU THINKING?" But other than those minor flaws, the game is a magnificent work. There are some AI issues, but for it's day that's nothing big enough to lower my score of 10. The game flows smoothly, plays great, and looks good for a game of it's day (I admit Halo games have never been designed to "set the bar" in graphics). Halo 3 is addicting, and is a campaign that I have played countless numbers of time since 2007. I believe that the game was WAY too short! There is so much more to the story, characters, and universe that Bungie could have explored in this game. Overall, the story started rough but caught speed and became engaging and unforgettable. I'm still playing this game in 2012, campaign AND multiplayer. It's just so much fun!!! it's addicting! Bungie did it's job, and Halo 3 delivered. If you haven't played this game, I totally recommend it! If you played it awhile ago but sold it long ago, I recommend re-purchasing it! Halo 3 is a full package and has alot to offer. Expand
  62. May 18, 2012
    8
    I was rather disappointed with halo 3. I couldn't follow the story and the gameplay was a bit boring. Maybe it's because I didn't play the other Halos. It's still a fun game: the mulpiplayer is lots of fun and the graphics are pretty nice. What made me give this an 8 in stead of a 7 is thanks to it's fantastic music.
  63. Mar 13, 2013
    8
    Halo 3 may be the king of all first person shooter games. That opinion could almost be a fact. With it's 5 year lifespan Halo 3 retains over 10,000 players online and will probably never be knocked off it's throne. Halo 4 may be out already, but let's take a look at a real Halo game, shall we? Halo 3 is the final battle between humanity, the covenant, and the flood. The main enemy in thisHalo 3 may be the king of all first person shooter games. That opinion could almost be a fact. With it's 5 year lifespan Halo 3 retains over 10,000 players online and will probably never be knocked off it's throne. Halo 4 may be out already, but let's take a look at a real Halo game, shall we? Halo 3 is the final battle between humanity, the covenant, and the flood. The main enemy in this installment is the prophet of truth, a crafty ambitious member of the covenant. The story is strong and also includes the Arbiter along with the classic scarabs. When you look deeper though, you'll find yourself more immersed in the gameplay of the campaign rather than the story. Expand
  64. Sep 9, 2014
    8
    Not the best game in the series but still a great game, will always remember this game especially as it was the first game i played on Xbox Live. 8/10.
  65. Jan 10, 2015
    9
    Awesome game, kept me at the edge of my seat, introduced new game changing forge mode, and once again reinforced Xbox superiority over PC and PlayStation. The reason it's not a 10/10 for me is because it wasn't as big a leap forward from halo 2, as halo 2 was from halo 1. Still a leap forward though!
  66. Feb 6, 2015
    10
    this game had the best campaign, most even mulitiplayer and best multiplayer great graphics for the year it was made in(2007). this game is just great. it continues where halo 2 left of and had a great story
  67. GuiltyDragon
    Oct 9, 2007
    9
    I thought we were past days where people would just look at the default campaign settings for the basis of a review. There is SO much here for your money. The game's story is pretty much a backdrop for the missions and does help the games flow, but is by no means essential for enjoyment. It's fair to say there is nothing radically different about Halo 3's campaign mode. If I thought we were past days where people would just look at the default campaign settings for the basis of a review. There is SO much here for your money. The game's story is pretty much a backdrop for the missions and does help the games flow, but is by no means essential for enjoyment. It's fair to say there is nothing radically different about Halo 3's campaign mode. If you didn't like the others, you probably won't like this. However, play it on heroic or above and you'll see what a finely balanced, intense and rewarding combat experiance it is. This is Halo at it's purest, most finely tuned level. I've found that most people who rank this game low has either played through it on normal (the "Wal-Mart crowd" setting) or has not delved into multiplayer, theatre mode or forge mode at all. Here is where the real meat is brought to the table. Theatre should soon become a standard amongst all multiplayer FPS games. RTS players have for some time now, treated match replays as gospel for improving their skills. Now FPS players have that chance aswell. By watching matches in which you did particularly well (or badly) you can definatly improve your game. For example, I have watched the early replays of my online games to learn which "weapon run" I should take from each spawn point, making it easier to get tooled up after I get killed. My only gripe at this is that there is no easy way to get your videos played back on a computer without hooking up your Xbox to a PC with screengrabbing software. Finally, Forge succesfully combines a sandbox game with a level editor. Everyone can have fun in forge. Seriously, my wife hates FPS games, but after a bit of nagging I got her to try forge. We spent hours on there mucking around in The Pit, creating piles of explosive crates, driving vehicles up walls, corpsehumping each other, it was awesome. There is no other way such a staunch opponent of FPS games could have enjoyed Halo 3 apart from like this. It's a breath of fresh air that the FPS genre really needs. Expand
  68. NeuroticRampage
    Sep 26, 2007
    9
    As far as I've played it - it leaves little to complain about. The multiplayer is amazing (obviously), forge will be utilized much more in the future, the maps are balanced, new weapons and vehicles plus equipment are keeping things fresh, and the way the game "feels" is superior to either Halo 1 or 2. The campaign however, it a little short (the meta game adds replayability though), As far as I've played it - it leaves little to complain about. The multiplayer is amazing (obviously), forge will be utilized much more in the future, the maps are balanced, new weapons and vehicles plus equipment are keeping things fresh, and the way the game "feels" is superior to either Halo 1 or 2. The campaign however, it a little short (the meta game adds replayability though), and the graphics aren't 'that good'...especially the faces of marines and key characters (save for the chief and the arbiter). I mean, me and my brother actually laughed at how terrible it was. One guy looked like he was hyped up on crack, and someone else had a pudgy bulldog grimace 'thing' going on..and really with that a side the game is a 10, as long as there is Xbox live or as long you have friends, you can infinitley continue enjoying this game for what it does best - the multiplayer. Expand
  69. JamesA.
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    Single player is a blast, even better with 4 person co-op, weapons are more balanced, kewl custom multiplayer characters, just enough great new things to keep life in the Halo series.
  70. IanL.
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    Halo is simply the best game out there. Almost everything about it is flawless, and its replayability is endless.
  71. SteveR.
    Oct 13, 2007
    9
    For a longtime PC FPS gamer who didn't really get Halo 1 or 2, and why it was so popular, Halo 3 did an amazing thing. It converted me. I genuinely enjoyed the game so much that I wanted to press on with the Campaign mode to its conclusion, although when I managed this, I felt an odd sense of disappointment that there was no more. For me, this is rare, and only ever really For a longtime PC FPS gamer who didn't really get Halo 1 or 2, and why it was so popular, Halo 3 did an amazing thing. It converted me. I genuinely enjoyed the game so much that I wanted to press on with the Campaign mode to its conclusion, although when I managed this, I felt an odd sense of disappointment that there was no more. For me, this is rare, and only ever really experienced before with Half Life 1 & 2, Knights of the Old Republic and Final Fantasy VII. The only reason this didn't get a 10 is because as the 3rd game in a trilogy, some of the story is a little hard to follow for those who haven't played or failed to complete Halos 1 & 2. (I made sure I looked at the plot overview on Wikipedia for these so that I wasn't confused or lost by the plot). The online multiplayer also seems very good, although I have only just started playing. It does seem a lot more balanced than the Halo 2 multiplayer, which I dabbled with but didn't like half as much, (mainly due to the sheer number of people taking advantage of what I now know are button glitches). Hats off to Bungie for putting together such a fine game! Don't believe the PS3 owners on here who are obviously marking the game down because their system has no 'killer app' at present. Finish the Fight ! Expand
  72. SamB.
    Oct 1, 2007
    8
    I'm not one of the Halo fan fraternity, but I did buy Halo 3 with some high hopes... and I wasn't disappointed. The game has a great interface, the controls are fairly intuitive (as long as you have prior FPS experience) although my mates get the controls mixed up with another game or previous version and I hear them swear online when they accidentally swap a decent weapon for a I'm not one of the Halo fan fraternity, but I did buy Halo 3 with some high hopes... and I wasn't disappointed. The game has a great interface, the controls are fairly intuitive (as long as you have prior FPS experience) although my mates get the controls mixed up with another game or previous version and I hear them swear online when they accidentally swap a decent weapon for a rubbish one while trying to reload. The single player game is like most FPS single player games, fun for the most part but a little repetitive. The multiplayer is what this game was made for and don't forget it. Multiplayer co-op on Halo 3 is about as good as it gets, in my humble opinion. The game's a bit short though, I have to admit and for that reason it doesn't get a 9 or 10. Expand
  73. RhysP.
    Nov 5, 2007
    9
    Get over HL2, sure it's a better game but Halo 3 offers an extremely polished FPS experience and some of the best Multi player on the 360.
  74. ClarkK.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    What a great game, I don't ever think I will get tired of the campaign mode. I love co-op, its great. I hate it when bitches expect to play the best game they have ever played though, even when they have never played the first two!
  75. Ian
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    I hated Halo 2. I didn't know Halo 1. I don't much like the single player for Halo 3, but I ADORE the multiplayer on it, which is a relief because I took a gamble after my Halo 2-hating. Why did I hate Halo 2? The community mostly. I'd never come across so much teenage angst and offensive trash talking. Out and out racism, bigotry, arrogance...ugh ugh ugh. But I gave Halo 3 I hated Halo 2. I didn't know Halo 1. I don't much like the single player for Halo 3, but I ADORE the multiplayer on it, which is a relief because I took a gamble after my Halo 2-hating. Why did I hate Halo 2? The community mostly. I'd never come across so much teenage angst and offensive trash talking. Out and out racism, bigotry, arrogance...ugh ugh ugh. But I gave Halo 3 a good outing this weekend, and I haven't had such a good, solid, FUN session online for a loooong time. GREAT community, beautifully balanced gameplay, terrific level and game style design everywhere - I can't recommend it enough. Really. If you like online shooters and don't dislike a sci-fi theme with lasers and the like thrown in with the machine guns, this is the best value for cash you'll find anywhere. Expand
  76. JamesD.
    Oct 2, 2007
    9
    ///// This review is put into two parts -- 1 for the single player -- 1 for the multiplayer -- I give the single player 8/10 -- I give the Multiplayer 9/10 -- For an overall 9/10 with a very strong must play recommendation from me ///// Halo 3, despite having the signature Bungie polish, feels rushed in some areas. Many levels in the campaign feel tiredly familiar, where instead, ///// This review is put into two parts -- 1 for the single player -- 1 for the multiplayer -- I give the single player 8/10 -- I give the Multiplayer 9/10 -- For an overall 9/10 with a very strong must play recommendation from me ///// Halo 3, despite having the signature Bungie polish, feels rushed in some areas. Many levels in the campaign feel tiredly familiar, where instead, they're meant to feel nostalgic to Halo 1. Some moments are memorable and provided me with the *wow* factor only a title like Halo 3 could bring, while others made me feel empty, seeming like I was not playing an evolution to an OK series (Halo 1 = good, Halo 2 = bad), but merely a lesser tribute to the first game (making it the entire experience feel average). For every great joust in the campaign there seems to be an empty feeling accompanying it. The story and its pacing are not nearly on par with the original Halo, of which the series owes much of its Expand
  77. MikeD.
    Oct 2, 2007
    9
    Most of the whiners on here DON'T have an HDTV. What else would compel them to think the graphics "suck." Give me a break. Halo 3 is a real work of art. Bravo!!
  78. AngusH.
    Oct 2, 2007
    9
    I disagree with anyone who says this game is boring, they obviously haven't got Xbox live. While it is true the single-player could be longer this does not detract from the experience and co-op and the meta-game adds replay value. The 'poor' graphics are also neglectible, as really, what good are graphics? Ive played plenty of games with what you would call miserable I disagree with anyone who says this game is boring, they obviously haven't got Xbox live. While it is true the single-player could be longer this does not detract from the experience and co-op and the meta-game adds replay value. The 'poor' graphics are also neglectible, as really, what good are graphics? Ive played plenty of games with what you would call miserable graphics and loved them. Finally the multiplayer really asserts dominance over any toehr on live through the massive possibilities. Overall, despite minor hiccups, a very good title. Expand
  79. AaronA.
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    Halo 3 is way to good for humanity. It's awesome campaign really made me feel good about myself. The A.I are extremely intelligent. Way more advanced then any other FPS, except Bioshocks. I think this came takes the (Pie.) Way to go Bungie.
  80. FredB.
    Oct 3, 2007
    9
    One of the greatest games of ALL time. Loved everything about it. I've been waiting for a game that will make me want to keep my 360 and my god here it is. Not a big fan of the end but it doesnt matter that much.
  81. ScottR.
    Oct 4, 2007
    10
    Halo3 has suffered from too much media-hype and spin but we shouldn't let this detract from what is and excellent FPS. Yes the campaign is flawed and at times baffeling but the rich environments, engadging AI and range of enemies make the single player deserving of much more credit than it's been given. The multiplayer is everything I expected and really does live up to Halo3 has suffered from too much media-hype and spin but we shouldn't let this detract from what is and excellent FPS. Yes the campaign is flawed and at times baffeling but the rich environments, engadging AI and range of enemies make the single player deserving of much more credit than it's been given. The multiplayer is everything I expected and really does live up to expectations; the graphics, balance of weapons, levels, gameplay, game variants are all very well thought out. Bungie's community driven approach to the development of the multiplayer seems to have been the key to it's success - they truly have listened to what gamers wanted and responded in kind with a game that lovers of FPSs (and the Halo series) cannot fail to enjoy. Halo3 is a landmark in FPS multiplayers that really does improve on classics such as the N64's Goldeneye and Perfect Dark (yes it was actually good on the 64), we can only hope that more quality games, like this, are made - because I could do without another Harry Potter or GTA spin-off. Expand
  82. ToddE.
    Oct 5, 2007
    10
    Amazing game. Everything you loved about Halo and Halo2 is here and then some. It is amazing that one review site gave this a 7.0 rating. Obviously trying to stand out and get some action on his site.
  83. GaryR.
    Oct 6, 2007
    10
    Amazing, i honestly play this game every single day, the multiplayer is that addictive i havent even started the campaign yet.
  84. CurtisK.
    Oct 6, 2007
    10
    Co-op is top notch along with best multi-player available on any console.
  85. joeycarreras
    Oct 7, 2007
    10
    best game ever made
  86. NathanP.
    Oct 8, 2007
    10
    Most game for your money. Very polished and balanced. Better features then any console game.
  87. JoeD.
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    I waited in front of the store at midnight, bought the game, and love the hell out of it. Im really confused at all the people who are giving the game bad rating because it wasnt new and different. You loved halo, you loved halo 2, but wait!!! halo 3 isnt a completely different game?! WHY would you expect halo 3 to be any different from the first two? Go cry yourself to sleep with your I waited in front of the store at midnight, bought the game, and love the hell out of it. Im really confused at all the people who are giving the game bad rating because it wasnt new and different. You loved halo, you loved halo 2, but wait!!! halo 3 isnt a completely different game?! WHY would you expect halo 3 to be any different from the first two? Go cry yourself to sleep with your ps3 fanboys. The graphics were amazing(for all those who disagree, go buy an HDTV) Bungie couldnt have done a better job. Expand
  88. Alex
    Sep 25, 2007
    9
    A very good game. single player kicks the crap out of Halo 2 (4 player co-op is amazing, and the Campaign scoring is very cool), and the multiplayer is astounding, especially with the new Forge and Saved Films. HOURS of stuff to play around with. the game itself does have some wierd glitches and bugs, some more annoying than others, but it should all be smoothed out once the first patch orA very good game. single player kicks the crap out of Halo 2 (4 player co-op is amazing, and the Campaign scoring is very cool), and the multiplayer is astounding, especially with the new Forge and Saved Films. HOURS of stuff to play around with. the game itself does have some wierd glitches and bugs, some more annoying than others, but it should all be smoothed out once the first patch or two hits. overall, i'm glad to have picked Halo 3 up, and i see myself playing for a very, very long time. overall, 9.0 out of 10. Expand
  89. Jake
    Sep 27, 2007
    10
    Halo 3 isn't great in a mindblowing way. It doesn't rock your world like Bioshock or Gears of War or Oblivion did when you first got your hands on them. It plays a lot like the previous games. But what Halo 3 does achieve is that it is very fun. The pacing is brilliant. The gameplay varies in campaign a ton for a shooter. The checkpoints are frequent, so playing the game on high Halo 3 isn't great in a mindblowing way. It doesn't rock your world like Bioshock or Gears of War or Oblivion did when you first got your hands on them. It plays a lot like the previous games. But what Halo 3 does achieve is that it is very fun. The pacing is brilliant. The gameplay varies in campaign a ton for a shooter. The checkpoints are frequent, so playing the game on high difficulty is challenging without being frustrating because you are always thrust back into the spot in which you are stuck. And the features. My god this baby has years of stuff in there. Forge, co-op, metagame, campaign, multiplayer, and the fact that you can go see Bungie's favorite user created films and maps. It is just sick. So yeah, go buy the game. It is very fun. Expand
  90. matthewsom
    Sep 29, 2007
    8
    yes halo 3 is not really a surprise i was thinking new weapons abilities such as holding 2 energy sword at once.Plus the story is a bit short i just finished it in 1 day which is a bit of a shock. i was thinking the stroy will keep me playin all week but no i finished it in 1 day. but the best part is xbox live and versing mode.
  91. AnonymousMC
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    With gears and bioshock taken into account, as well as the enormous hype that surrounded the game, Halo 3 still shines. This game is enjoyable to the point that the only contention comes not from game flaws but from personal preference, or perhaps the undeniable draw to be a dissident. Think the campaign too short? Have you Beaten it on solo legendary yet? How about multiplayer? Halo 3 isWith gears and bioshock taken into account, as well as the enormous hype that surrounded the game, Halo 3 still shines. This game is enjoyable to the point that the only contention comes not from game flaws but from personal preference, or perhaps the undeniable draw to be a dissident. Think the campaign too short? Have you Beaten it on solo legendary yet? How about multiplayer? Halo 3 is sure to be an icon of online gaming for years to come. This game has incredible replay value, and ultimately the number one reason I'm giving it a 10 is this; it is FUN. Remember, even if you happened to like the pistol as a superweapon, or don't enjoy non-mouse FPS games, individual preference does not make this game any less than what it is.

    But there is one thing.. where is our Blood Gulch Bungie? Where is the love?
    Expand
  92. CarlosZ.
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    Amazing, beautiful, its the best game of the years
  93. ArmandusM.
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    Overhyped.Short Campaign. Repetetive.Unrealistic.Halo 2 with better graphics. Nothing New. All these things have been said about Halo 3 but it cant change the fact that Halo 3 is FUN. If it isn't fun then why are there millions of halo 3 matches everyday. If the campaign is boring then why have there been 4,360,038,799 kills in total as recorded by bungie.net as of today. And as for Overhyped.Short Campaign. Repetetive.Unrealistic.Halo 2 with better graphics. Nothing New. All these things have been said about Halo 3 but it cant change the fact that Halo 3 is FUN. If it isn't fun then why are there millions of halo 3 matches everyday. If the campaign is boring then why have there been 4,360,038,799 kills in total as recorded by bungie.net as of today. And as for nothing new...what about saved films, the forge, skulls, achievements, terminals. And it all boils down to halo 3 being a really fun game, you dont have to be able to shoot through walls and be ultra-realistic like Call of Duty 4, or have a really good story and have rpg elements like bioshock, at the end of the day halo 3 is insanely fun and there are millions of gamers out there who say the same. Expand
  94. PatrickPickett
    Dec 3, 2008
    9
    Halo 3 succeeds in online play, however the campaign was absolutely not on par with the online. The campaign felt rushed, and incomplete, which is strange for a game that is supposedly the end of an epic trilogy. The online experience saves this game from me giving an 8, or possibly even a 7.
  95. RussleD.
    Dec 9, 2008
    10
    A great game, the gameplay was flawless, the graphics were fine, but for a next gen game, i would have expected more. Graphics are not everything as this game proofed it by the great gameplay and many features. I can't wait for the expansion, even tho the game has excellent replay value.
  96. AdamM.
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    Fantastic, better than all the other FPS games as a whole, has so many extra multiplayer parts, longetivity elements, and fun, that it will keep you playing for years to come.
  97. DylanL.
    Feb 1, 2008
    10
    Just a few tweaks from perfection, but those tweaks are minor ones so its still prime.
  98. PhilA.
    Feb 2, 2008
    10
    Unbelievable game, just stunning! Don't listen to anyone in the comments stating, "OMG Call of Duty 4 owns dis sucky Halo!!!" We call them "fanboys," most of them decided to predetermine Halo 3 as a bad game simply because Halo 2 was the best AND NOWHERE NEAR UNDERDOG STATUS. Call of Duty 4 is it's closest competitor, so most of them decided to support it. Halo 3 earned Unbelievable game, just stunning! Don't listen to anyone in the comments stating, "OMG Call of Duty 4 owns dis sucky Halo!!!" We call them "fanboys," most of them decided to predetermine Halo 3 as a bad game simply because Halo 2 was the best AND NOWHERE NEAR UNDERDOG STATUS. Call of Duty 4 is it's closest competitor, so most of them decided to support it. Halo 3 earned it's spot at the top again, just like the last two iterations BY FAR. Get this amazing game, and ignore the Call of Duty fanboys' useless moaning. Expand
  99. EricF.
    Feb 5, 2008
    10
    Halo 3 is one of the best games on the 360 I can play. I still don't put it down after hours of enjoyment. I give it a 10 out 10 because it made me leave CoD4 in the dust!
  100. BirchLancaster
    Oct 10, 2009
    9
    a lot of people have bashed this game, and i don,t know why, this is one of the best FPS game in decades, sure the single player can get a little tired after playthrough number 3 but i still play the multi-player almost every day and keep coming back to it, also i have noticed that the people that say the multi-player is bad and unbalanced and generally bad at it.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's the addition of the Forge level editor and the saved films that give the game an even longer set of legs, legs that will probably keep you running at full speed until Bungie figures out where, exactly, to go from here.
  2. Halo 3 is the best Xbox 360 game to date. The single-player campaign and storyline are both very strong, but it's Forge and the Saved Films features that will likely go down in history as Bungie's crowning achievements. They've basically taken everything great about the series and improved upon it in every way, then added some amazing new features that we'll be using for years to come.
  3. 100
    It's solid gameplay, immense replayability, online functionality and incredible production values will ensure its place in video game history, and it is, without a doubt, a satisfying and fulfilling close to the beloved trilogy[?].