Halo 3 Xbox 360

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4167 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AnonymousMC
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    With gears and bioshock taken into account, as well as the enormous hype that surrounded the game, Halo 3 still shines. This game is enjoyable to the point that the only contention comes not from game flaws but from personal preference, or perhaps the undeniable draw to be a dissident. Think the campaign too short? Have you Beaten it on solo legendary yet? How about multiplayer? Halo 3 isWith gears and bioshock taken into account, as well as the enormous hype that surrounded the game, Halo 3 still shines. This game is enjoyable to the point that the only contention comes not from game flaws but from personal preference, or perhaps the undeniable draw to be a dissident. Think the campaign too short? Have you Beaten it on solo legendary yet? How about multiplayer? Halo 3 is sure to be an icon of online gaming for years to come. This game has incredible replay value, and ultimately the number one reason I'm giving it a 10 is this; it is FUN. Remember, even if you happened to like the pistol as a superweapon, or don't enjoy non-mouse FPS games, individual preference does not make this game any less than what it is.

    But there is one thing.. where is our Blood Gulch Bungie? Where is the love?
    Expand
  2. CarlosZ.
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    Amazing, beautiful, its the best game of the years
  3. AdrienV.
    Jan 10, 2008
    5
    On its own it is an acceptable game. Compared to Crysis, Orange box, Call of duty 4, it sucks. That is, the multiplayer. The singleplayer is much worse. If you are buying it for the multiplayer you might as well get COD4, Team fortress 2, or others. If you are getting it expecting a good singleplayer you must be drunk so it is possible you might enjoy it.
  4. ArmandusM.
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    Overhyped.Short Campaign. Repetetive.Unrealistic.Halo 2 with better graphics. Nothing New. All these things have been said about Halo 3 but it cant change the fact that Halo 3 is FUN. If it isn't fun then why are there millions of halo 3 matches everyday. If the campaign is boring then why have there been 4,360,038,799 kills in total as recorded by bungie.net as of today. And as for Overhyped.Short Campaign. Repetetive.Unrealistic.Halo 2 with better graphics. Nothing New. All these things have been said about Halo 3 but it cant change the fact that Halo 3 is FUN. If it isn't fun then why are there millions of halo 3 matches everyday. If the campaign is boring then why have there been 4,360,038,799 kills in total as recorded by bungie.net as of today. And as for nothing new...what about saved films, the forge, skulls, achievements, terminals. And it all boils down to halo 3 being a really fun game, you dont have to be able to shoot through walls and be ultra-realistic like Call of Duty 4, or have a really good story and have rpg elements like bioshock, at the end of the day halo 3 is insanely fun and there are millions of gamers out there who say the same. Expand
  5. PatrickPickett
    Dec 3, 2008
    9
    Halo 3 succeeds in online play, however the campaign was absolutely not on par with the online. The campaign felt rushed, and incomplete, which is strange for a game that is supposedly the end of an epic trilogy. The online experience saves this game from me giving an 8, or possibly even a 7.
  6. RussleD.
    Dec 9, 2008
    10
    A great game, the gameplay was flawless, the graphics were fine, but for a next gen game, i would have expected more. Graphics are not everything as this game proofed it by the great gameplay and many features. I can't wait for the expansion, even tho the game has excellent replay value.
  7. AdamM.
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    Fantastic, better than all the other FPS games as a whole, has so many extra multiplayer parts, longetivity elements, and fun, that it will keep you playing for years to come.
  8. DylanL.
    Feb 1, 2008
    10
    Just a few tweaks from perfection, but those tweaks are minor ones so its still prime.
  9. Juggernaut
    Feb 15, 2008
    6
    Now don't get me wrong, this is a good game, but it is really just the same old thing that Bungie has been coming out with for the last few years. Even though the single player campaign really isn't that great this time around. The only thing that makes the game worth while is the multiplayer. It is a fairly small multiplayer game though considering it can only support 16 Now don't get me wrong, this is a good game, but it is really just the same old thing that Bungie has been coming out with for the last few years. Even though the single player campaign really isn't that great this time around. The only thing that makes the game worth while is the multiplayer. It is a fairly small multiplayer game though considering it can only support 16 players in one server, it is still fun though. I am glad to see that Bungie still supports split screen multiplayer. My personal favorite thing to do is play Halo 3 with some friends. Also, I have to admit the enhanced physics and graphics do make the game cooler. The bodies actually move whe you T-bag them! Expand
  10. PhilA.
    Feb 2, 2008
    10
    Unbelievable game, just stunning! Don't listen to anyone in the comments stating, "OMG Call of Duty 4 owns dis sucky Halo!!!" We call them "fanboys," most of them decided to predetermine Halo 3 as a bad game simply because Halo 2 was the best AND NOWHERE NEAR UNDERDOG STATUS. Call of Duty 4 is it's closest competitor, so most of them decided to support it. Halo 3 earned Unbelievable game, just stunning! Don't listen to anyone in the comments stating, "OMG Call of Duty 4 owns dis sucky Halo!!!" We call them "fanboys," most of them decided to predetermine Halo 3 as a bad game simply because Halo 2 was the best AND NOWHERE NEAR UNDERDOG STATUS. Call of Duty 4 is it's closest competitor, so most of them decided to support it. Halo 3 earned it's spot at the top again, just like the last two iterations BY FAR. Get this amazing game, and ignore the Call of Duty fanboys' useless moaning. Expand
  11. EricF.
    Feb 5, 2008
    10
    Halo 3 is one of the best games on the 360 I can play. I still don't put it down after hours of enjoyment. I give it a 10 out 10 because it made me leave CoD4 in the dust!
  12. AnonymousMC
    Apr 10, 2008
    6
    I think there is something a lot of people her need to try and understand. Yahtzee surmised it perfectly when he said "a perfect game shouldn't need anything to excuse itself. QED".
    The amount of 10s being thrown around here and then the comments saying "this particular aspect wasn't very good but the mulitplayer PWNS LOL" is ridiculous and these people need to learn how the
    I think there is something a lot of people her need to try and understand. Yahtzee surmised it perfectly when he said "a perfect game shouldn't need anything to excuse itself. QED".
    The amount of 10s being thrown around here and then the comments saying "this particular aspect wasn't very good but the mulitplayer PWNS LOL" is ridiculous and these people need to learn how the "out of 10" rating system works. A 10 means perfect, untouchable, no possible faults, hence why only a few games in history deserve this particular title (Super Mario World for instance). Halo 3 is not one of them.
    Don't get me wrong, yes multiplayer is fun, (I particularly enjoy jugurnaught vs cars) but that does not excuse the weak storyline, serious lack of graphical inovation and general average-ness of the game.
    It's not bad... It's just not amazing
    Expand
  13. BenH.
    May 13, 2008
    3
    This game is ok. But It's the same thing everytime I play a new Halo game. Half-Life is so much better. The storyline is so much deeper and more fun. Every game in Half-life leaves me hanging for the next game Halo has never done that. Halo does the some thing and some guns are not that fun to use. And it seems like you'er useing the guns each game they make. Thats why I will This game is ok. But It's the same thing everytime I play a new Halo game. Half-Life is so much better. The storyline is so much deeper and more fun. Every game in Half-life leaves me hanging for the next game Halo has never done that. Halo does the some thing and some guns are not that fun to use. And it seems like you'er useing the guns each game they make. Thats why I will own this game. Expand
  14. JohnChu
    May 25, 2008
    6
    This game is without a doubt the MOST OVER Hyped game in the history of console. Nothing suggests that it is in anyway remarkable over its predecessor Halo 2 beyond slight graphical improvements. Playthroughs involve a staid but still fun formula. If Rumors are true, Microsoft definitely had a hand in "gifting" magazine publications with positive reviews. Looking at metacritic scores,This game is without a doubt the MOST OVER Hyped game in the history of console. Nothing suggests that it is in anyway remarkable over its predecessor Halo 2 beyond slight graphical improvements. Playthroughs involve a staid but still fun formula. If Rumors are true, Microsoft definitely had a hand in "gifting" magazine publications with positive reviews. Looking at metacritic scores, one can see that 100s are largely in the xbox - centric publications. Expand
  15. TylerP.
    May 9, 2008
    6
    This game is ok, rather mediocre for all the hype. There was no need to add the garbage (i.e. bubble shields, regenerator, grav lifts, etc.). The maps are just plain mundane and symmetrical. Also, all the weapons have the same effectiveness. In other words, if I have a needler and you have a rocket launcher, I can easily kill you. Some of the new weapons are unnecessary, spiker = pellet This game is ok, rather mediocre for all the hype. There was no need to add the garbage (i.e. bubble shields, regenerator, grav lifts, etc.). The maps are just plain mundane and symmetrical. Also, all the weapons have the same effectiveness. In other words, if I have a needler and you have a rocket launcher, I can easily kill you. Some of the new weapons are unnecessary, spiker = pellet gun, mauler = shotgun, spartan laser = virtually impossible to charge and aim, and missile pod = anti-vehicle rocket launcher from Halo 2. Overall, this game may offer a few new things, but nothing that contributes to the enhancement of gameplay or interest. Expand
  16. Jon
    Jun 6, 2008
    1
    This game is garbage. The only thing good about it is it's noobfest of a multiplayer which is terrible! I f you want a real gam play gears, that delivers everything from an epic storyline to the most intense multiplayer next to COD4. Halo 3 fnas = noobs, after Halo: Combat Evolved this game went into the toilettes.
  17. jamesr
    Jul 13, 2008
    0
    unrealistic in comparison to cod 4 and no where near as fun! Pathetic attempt at another halo game!
  18. RickyM.
    Aug 6, 2008
    6
    I don't care about it's popularity, in fact it's a good thing. Gigantic online community ensures that you'll always find a game. I just tire of doing the same thing over and over again. 1. Press left trigger and throw grenade at enemy. 2. Run at enemy 3. Hold right trigger. 4. Mash B button when they get close and smack them. Luckiest/First one to do this correctly I don't care about it's popularity, in fact it's a good thing. Gigantic online community ensures that you'll always find a game. I just tire of doing the same thing over and over again. 1. Press left trigger and throw grenade at enemy. 2. Run at enemy 3. Hold right trigger. 4. Mash B button when they get close and smack them. Luckiest/First one to do this correctly wins. Graphics are pretty. Tedious gameplay. Bland weapons make picking up others unnecessary. Feels outdated. Expand
  19. BirchLancaster
    Oct 10, 2009
    9
    a lot of people have bashed this game, and i don,t know why, this is one of the best FPS game in decades, sure the single player can get a little tired after playthrough number 3 but i still play the multi-player almost every day and keep coming back to it, also i have noticed that the people that say the multi-player is bad and unbalanced and generally bad at it.
  20. NB
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    This is a great game, but the story a bit too small, not enough play quickly, can only be used outside the plot came to add,the whole, this is a very great game
  21. KierM.
    Jan 10, 2009
    9
    Greatly build game, multiplayer is amazing, I have seen better in the halo franchise but this game surely stands and plays well. Sure the campaign is short and rather repetative, but bungie has created a great franchise. I mean listen to the music! You get a true gaming feeling with the soundtrack! I'd say if there are over one billion hours of halo 3 played, this game deserves a 9.
  22. JordanSamuell
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Holy... you guys are fucking retarded I'm laughing at the people who give this a low rate (1-5) you guys have NO idea how good this game is BECAUSE 1.You don't have XBOX LIVE. or 2. You're just mentally retarded because yea... the campaign story line all that shit NO ONE, cares about only you nerds care about, is pretty bad.. but you have no experience what this game is likeHoly... you guys are fucking retarded I'm laughing at the people who give this a low rate (1-5) you guys have NO idea how good this game is BECAUSE 1.You don't have XBOX LIVE. or 2. You're just mentally retarded because yea... the campaign story line all that shit NO ONE, cares about only you nerds care about, is pretty bad.. but you have no experience what this game is like online, freaks... Expand
  23. jacka.
    Mar 3, 2009
    10
    This game is truly incredible. The gameplay is fun, engaging and fresh and the cutscenes and particularly the music make the story a fantastic end to the Halo trilogy. I cannot think of a better first person shooter I have ever played, on any console. There is no more of a fitting end possible to the trilogy started by a game that brought fps games to the consoles. Goodby Halo, it has This game is truly incredible. The gameplay is fun, engaging and fresh and the cutscenes and particularly the music make the story a fantastic end to the Halo trilogy. I cannot think of a better first person shooter I have ever played, on any console. There is no more of a fitting end possible to the trilogy started by a game that brought fps games to the consoles. Goodby Halo, it has been a fantastic run. Expand
  24. KeyserS
    May 1, 2009
    0
    This game does not live up to the hype. The controls are poor - ruining a lot of gunplay - it shouldn't be the case that you are *less* accurate aiming with ironsights, than when you shoot from the hip. The maps are large, but badly designed. The engine does them a lot of favours because the environments look great with blowing wind and dust and visibility varies in locations, which This game does not live up to the hype. The controls are poor - ruining a lot of gunplay - it shouldn't be the case that you are *less* accurate aiming with ironsights, than when you shoot from the hip. The maps are large, but badly designed. The engine does them a lot of favours because the environments look great with blowing wind and dust and visibility varies in locations, which is all great. But moving around the maps is very boring and straightforward. There aren't really alternate routes - like players had with movement in CoD4, going over walls, or through crawlspaces. The single player is largely an exercise in patience - fighting the same footsoldiers over and over again, and using the same basic weapons with the same problems (only sniper rifle benefitting from you aiming carefully with it). The cover system is implemented reasonably well - but it is a bit too clunky. Also - the cover system does not apply in multiplayer - so it doesn't matter if it's well done if it's absent. This game doesn't know what it wants to be. Gunplay is worse than CoD4 (a LOT worse) - ranking up wasn't implemented correctly (in a lot of cases in CoD4 you got the best guns at lower classes - mp5, ak47 from start etc), and unlocked cool features that kept the game interesting as you ranked up. In KZ2, you start with crap guns you won't go back to after you rank up, if you bother to stick with the game. I feel like I've wasted my money on this game - it was totally overhyped, and it's inferior to titles from last year. Also, the storyline is terrible, the settings for levels very repetitive, the range of game modes in MP is fine but none of them are fun - none are fast and furious, you'll do well by strategic camping - if you're good enough to play a game that rewards reactions and accuracy, you'll get penalised for that in this game. It's the Xbox360's Killzone - a dumbed down lowest common denominator shooter - but with a lot less variety in terms of weapons, a lot less speed in terms of gameplay, no local multiplayer on split screen. Expand
  25. TylerM
    May 17, 2009
    10
    Halo 3 is one of best shooters ever released. It is so high on the ladder, its only competition is Call of Duty 4. The campaign, multiplayer, Forge mode, Co-Op and film make it a must have package, all around.
  26. BillyB
    Jun 20, 2009
    3
    Now, I am not a PS3 fanboy, but honestly there are way better Online Fps's on the 360. Team Fortress or Call of duty. Most of the online modes are complete s**t while the story is boring and uninteresting. To all who posted below me and said that "Halo 1-3 is ripped off from a book" it's not. The book is a fan fiction based off of the games.
  27. uncannyuncandy
    Jun 8, 2009
    6
    I gave it a 6.. well ..it is the most fun fps game on the xbox when it comes too co-op...and a good online gameplay*even tho ther are alot of kids flaming in voice chat wich ruins a game very fast* but it still has his old repeditive lvl design.. same charcters ..weapons.. graphics could be better *not saying they are bad* but they could have been alot better...and the story line is just I gave it a 6.. well ..it is the most fun fps game on the xbox when it comes too co-op...and a good online gameplay*even tho ther are alot of kids flaming in voice chat wich ruins a game very fast* but it still has his old repeditive lvl design.. same charcters ..weapons.. graphics could be better *not saying they are bad* but they could have been alot better...and the story line is just to boring to follow imo even tho i enjoyed the sarcasm/funny scenes during the cinematics alot. They realy need too put more effort in the physics aswell.. we are 7th generation where the imposible is posible.. halo3 is still in its 6th generation when it comes too physics. Also..something personal: it bums me out if i read these reviews, poeple saying its as good like half life and bioshock etc..those guys that are saying that are deffo halo fanatics!1 get real and see the facts.. i doubt most of you even ever played the single player. the game is far from great/awesome.. the developers are just rushing everything in my opinion. Expand
  28. DD
    Jun 9, 2009
    5
    I'm not really interested on evaluating MP aspects of this game since its numbers speak by themselves. So the 5 points came from the average of MP-10/SP-0.
    The single player campaign is just poor. II've felt like playing an 8 years old shooter. The enemies are ridiculous, the storyline doesn't even exist, the vehicles physics behaviour is as they were made with paper, the
    I'm not really interested on evaluating MP aspects of this game since its numbers speak by themselves. So the 5 points came from the average of MP-10/SP-0.
    The single player campaign is just poor. II've felt like playing an 8 years old shooter. The enemies are ridiculous, the storyline doesn't even exist, the vehicles physics behaviour is as they were made with paper, the weapons doesn't seem attractive to me, the campaign is short and straightforward.
    A real dissapointment.
    Expand
  29. TylerGodfrey
    Aug 18, 2009
    9
    Forge was a great addition to the game. So, if you don't like the normal multiplayer maps, you could edit them into all different kinds of things, like racing maps, a maze map for Infection, and a lot of different things. Now, I admit, it's not perfect, like, for one thing, how they don't turn off Friendly Fire for the normal gametypes. I prefer it over the other two ofForge was a great addition to the game. So, if you don't like the normal multiplayer maps, you could edit them into all different kinds of things, like racing maps, a maze map for Infection, and a lot of different things. Now, I admit, it's not perfect, like, for one thing, how they don't turn off Friendly Fire for the normal gametypes. I prefer it over the other two of the top three shooters because you can take a hit from most of the weapons and not die before it's physically possible to react, and it doesn't have a boring color scheme. Adding all those options to the gametype editing was a good choice, too. So that if we want to play a team game with some of our friends, we can maybe increase the speed and lower the gravity and jump across the map, or turn off friendly fire, and having regenerating grenades and spawn with random weapons. If you don't like the main gameplay, there's always an alternate way to have fun without messing other people's chances of winning up. Expand
  30. JoshwaR
    Sep 5, 2009
    8
    It's not great but it is very good. With some minor bugs in the multiplayer, and even some in the single player it makes for a good youtube game. But those are minor and oftentimes hilarious and easy to overlook. The multiplayer is great but the Exp system could use a ton of improvement. I dont want a CoD 4 look-alike but some aspects would be nice. The campaign was pretty cool at It's not great but it is very good. With some minor bugs in the multiplayer, and even some in the single player it makes for a good youtube game. But those are minor and oftentimes hilarious and easy to overlook. The multiplayer is great but the Exp system could use a ton of improvement. I dont want a CoD 4 look-alike but some aspects would be nice. The campaign was pretty cool at some parts but very fogettable at others. The map packs and the Double Experience weekend keep me comming back for more. One Major problem though is that the Xbox 360 does not like halo 3 at all. I know three friends whose disks were sratched by thier console and no other games were affected. This is what deprived halo 3 of a nine. Expand
  31. JacobB.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    One of the best games I have played in a long time
  32. DavidG.
    Oct 1, 2007
    9
    For all the content contained in this title, I'd say it was well worth my 60 bucks. Yeah, it lacked the engrossing story seen in other games like Bioshock, but what it lacks in narrative it makes up for in sheer, unadulterated fun. Even though I'm currently playing this title on a SD TV, it, in my opinion, still looks incredible (especially when reviewing my conquests in the For all the content contained in this title, I'd say it was well worth my 60 bucks. Yeah, it lacked the engrossing story seen in other games like Bioshock, but what it lacks in narrative it makes up for in sheer, unadulterated fun. Even though I'm currently playing this title on a SD TV, it, in my opinion, still looks incredible (especially when reviewing my conquests in the Theater mode). So don't waste your time reading reviews by gamers who haven't actually played the game, and try it out for yourself. Expand
  33. SteveM.
    Oct 1, 2007
    9
    Halo 3 is really fun. That's all I'm going to say. It's a good deal, a slick package, and a wonderful game. Just because there is hype doesn't mean you have to buy into it. Honestly, most bad reviews of good games just reveal how the individual performing the review is not a very happy person, and probably complains about everything they can. I'm tired of gamers Halo 3 is really fun. That's all I'm going to say. It's a good deal, a slick package, and a wonderful game. Just because there is hype doesn't mean you have to buy into it. Honestly, most bad reviews of good games just reveal how the individual performing the review is not a very happy person, and probably complains about everything they can. I'm tired of gamers wanting games to be the way they specifically want them. If that's how you feel, go make games...stop buying them and hating the world when all you really hate is yourself. Expand
  34. PaulusK.
    Nov 10, 2007
    6
    Fairly competent shooter with a sterile feel. Did not evoke a sense of realism like Gears of War, and the graphics are by no means polished. The game looks as if the developers had lifted the graphics directly from Halo 2 (look at the facial expressions and speech) and draped some High Def effects over them. I was expecting a revolution in terms of involvement but it just did not happen. Fairly competent shooter with a sterile feel. Did not evoke a sense of realism like Gears of War, and the graphics are by no means polished. The game looks as if the developers had lifted the graphics directly from Halo 2 (look at the facial expressions and speech) and draped some High Def effects over them. I was expecting a revolution in terms of involvement but it just did not happen. If you want polished visuals coupled with complete immersion, forget this because all in all, not even close and definately no cigar. Shame. Expand
  35. DavidK.
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    The multiplayer is indeed frighteningly extensive, and the single player campaign - although something of a breeze if you tackle it with a team of four - ultimately satisfying. We enjoyed the hell out of ourselves.
  36. michaelheslington
    Nov 10, 2007
    1
    there are many problems with this game 1. needler to strong. 2. level up system all rong you may think you have fixed it bungie but know you havent. some people level up alot faster then others. halo 2 is defently better people so dont waste your money on halo 3 its not worth it. get a more skill involved game like cod4 or halo 2 !!!
  37. SimonR.
    Oct 10, 2007
    6
    The underwhelming, short campaign is saved by the multi player and it's new features - but only just.The end sequence is disappointing and unsatisfying while the constant backtracking is frustrating. Of course this was always going to be a solid FPS and it is - I was just expecting more. If you're looking for Halo 2 with nicer graphics - Halo 3 is great (maybe Bungie should have The underwhelming, short campaign is saved by the multi player and it's new features - but only just.The end sequence is disappointing and unsatisfying while the constant backtracking is frustrating. Of course this was always going to be a solid FPS and it is - I was just expecting more. If you're looking for Halo 2 with nicer graphics - Halo 3 is great (maybe Bungie should have called it Halo 2.5?). If you're strapped for cash, don't have Live and can only choose one game at the moment... Bioshock is an infinitely more memorable and rewarding experience. Expand
  38. HeistenfaustM.
    Nov 16, 2007
    9
    Single player's a little dissapointing, but still great. Multiplayer is excellently balanced and will last a long time. Overall one of the better games for 360.
  39. SamJ.
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    Hey Jon W... anyone can finish halo 3 on easy in 2 hours. how bout we sprout some balls and play it on legendary?? might take u a bit longer. have a nice day. sweet game btw
  40. BenF.
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    This Halo owns! face it all you people who deny the gr8ness, it brings so much more to what halo 2 was. the AI is exellent, with groups of brutes sticking together as a team and when a brute is near death he will use the equipment he has to extend his life, or charge towards you in a rage, weaving left and right making it harder to shoot him. the hammer guys are also very smart, using the This Halo owns! face it all you people who deny the gr8ness, it brings so much more to what halo 2 was. the AI is exellent, with groups of brutes sticking together as a team and when a brute is near death he will use the equipment he has to extend his life, or charge towards you in a rage, weaving left and right making it harder to shoot him. the hammer guys are also very smart, using the same crazy charge, while expertly dodging your bullets and if they run low on health they become invincible! and if its to easy 4 u lot, try playing it above easy mode, it kinda helps. the alternate armor permutations for multi-player mode are also very innovative and cool, and the new skull and point system is great, encouraging players to relive the levels with point mode on, and the various skulls serve as point multipliers while making the game more challenging. face it people, Halo 3 rules. Expand
  41. UNreal
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    Besides Bioshock, this is the best game out right now. all the haters out there writing about how crappy the game is, they really don't know anything. It's a huge innovation over the last and yes, the conclusion isn't what it should've been but if you stay and watch after the end credits are over, you'll feel absolutely glad you bought the game. jerks...
  42. EricT.
    Oct 1, 2007
    8
    The game is great, if flawed. It's graphically disappointing, and not just because of high expectations. It looks like Bungie was overly ambitious, and in order to achieve playable framerates had to scale up the LOD reduction until anything 10 feet away from the player is a jaggy mess with overly blurred textures. Many objects look fantastic if you stick your nose on them, but when The game is great, if flawed. It's graphically disappointing, and not just because of high expectations. It looks like Bungie was overly ambitious, and in order to achieve playable framerates had to scale up the LOD reduction until anything 10 feet away from the player is a jaggy mess with overly blurred textures. Many objects look fantastic if you stick your nose on them, but when you back away a few paces they turn into shimmery piles of crap. It's especially obvious when you get into Covenant structures and find that their familiar architecture looked better on the Xbox 1 because of Halo 3's aliasing and texture filtering problems. It's tragic, too, because the art direction is fantastic. The game would look amazing if it was presented without all the artifacts. That aside, if you're a Halo fan, this is classic stuff. The weapons feel great, the vehicles are fun to drive, fire fights are a blast, etc. The sound design is fantastic (try firing the assault rifle into nearby water, it sounds awesome) and the music is the best of the series. I enjoyed the story more than I did in Halo 1 or 2, though the writing is often cheesy, and some stuff that is played for emotional impact falls flat (like the Deep Thoughts by Cortana that keep popping up on your HUD). Multiplayer kicks ass, and Bungie has obviously invested a LOT of time and effort here. The matchmaking system is super slick, and the amount of options you have for creating your own game types is amazing for a console game (though, unless they ship a real level editor, it's going to be trumped by Unreal when it allows users to upload their own maps). Probably the biggest addition, which is technically amazing, is the addition of the Theater. Every game you play is recorded to disk and can be played back, frame by frame. It's too sweet being able to go back and relive your greatest multiplayer moments, or see what the winning team did, not to mention what all the machinima guys like Red vs Blue are going to do with this. Overall a great game. I wish they had presented the game with less artifacts (even if it required simplifying the graphics), but I still enjoyed the ride. Expand
  43. MattD.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    This game is amazing and for all the "gamers" who gave it a one or a two....you must no nothing about video games. If you dont understand the story of Halo, lets just say you need some "help". I had been waiting for this game to come out and it is the best game I have ever played. You will understand if you play it on an HDTV. There is a huge difference between this game and I would like This game is amazing and for all the "gamers" who gave it a one or a two....you must no nothing about video games. If you dont understand the story of Halo, lets just say you need some "help". I had been waiting for this game to come out and it is the best game I have ever played. You will understand if you play it on an HDTV. There is a huge difference between this game and I would like somebody to name 5 games that are better than this one. Incase you havent noticed, all the critics are rating this game from 90 to 100. The Campaign take like 5-7 hours to finish, and i dont think that is very short. This Game Deserves a 10. Expand
  44. TerrellN.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    When I first picked up this game and played a while I thought "Why all the hype?" At first I saw it as nowhere near as good as the majesty of games like Gears of War, Quake, and Half Life 2 just to name a few. But then I looked at this game from a different angle. WHat if I had been raised on other genres and had never spent so much time playing other first person shooters? And then one When I first picked up this game and played a while I thought "Why all the hype?" At first I saw it as nowhere near as good as the majesty of games like Gears of War, Quake, and Half Life 2 just to name a few. But then I looked at this game from a different angle. WHat if I had been raised on other genres and had never spent so much time playing other first person shooters? And then one day I come across My first FPS. It is an all new experience to me. It is Halo! And then they release the final game in the series at its prime. I would love it to death. So Here is my point. If you play very few real FPSs then Halo 3 is actually pretty amazing. But if you were raised on the likes of Quake, Unreal,Half Life,Doom, aand Gears then this game is a 4 at best. Expand
  45. AndyL.
    Oct 12, 2007
    1
    I guess that Halo3 is great IF you've never played another FPS all your life or have only been playing games on console for the past 10 years. The story is weak, the graphics are pulled straight from Halo2, and the game doesn't really try to do anything innovative. If you LOVED Halo2 then you'll like this. If however you have played; Half-Life (1&2), System Shock 2, Thief, I guess that Halo3 is great IF you've never played another FPS all your life or have only been playing games on console for the past 10 years. The story is weak, the graphics are pulled straight from Halo2, and the game doesn't really try to do anything innovative. If you LOVED Halo2 then you'll like this. If however you have played; Half-Life (1&2), System Shock 2, Thief, Unreal Tournament, Quake, BioShock, or in fact any other FPS on a PC in the last 10 years, do yourself a favour, save the cash and buy Half-Life 2 Orange Box instead. Expand
  46. PaulS.
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    Awesome game! Campaign was exciting and the online multiplayer is sure to entertain for a long time.
  47. Klm1
    Oct 13, 2007
    4
    Boring storyline. Really bad gameplay. here's a list of what could be done to improve gameplay.
    1. New storyline (enough with the cliff hangers leading to disappointing finishes)
    2. should have bought back the homing rocket 3. not enough use of the Spartan laser (whats the point of bringing it into the game if we are not gonna get to use it all that much) 4. Let's pilot more
    Boring storyline. Really bad gameplay. here's a list of what could be done to improve gameplay.
    1. New storyline (enough with the cliff hangers leading to disappointing finishes)
    2. should have bought back the homing rocket
    3. not enough use of the Spartan laser (whats the point of bringing it into the game if we are not gonna get to use it all that much)
    4. Let's pilot more vehicles (wraiths were easily destroyed and I don't remember being able to pilot any banshee's). The stupid flying unsc vehicle (whatever its called) sucked. you could not get it to fly high enough. WHAT GIVES?
    5. Let's pilot a SCARAB. how about that?
    6. Give us better bosses (like halo 2). fighting the scarab's was the only boss that was interesting in the whole game
    7. If the gravemind was evil, let master chief finish him off, not another nuclear bomb-run-for-your-life ending.
    8. more ability to scale the terrain
    9. bring back dual weilding needlers
    10. if you are gonna bring back weapons from the first game, make sure the player has the ability to use it like they did in the first game (a.k.a pistol - no zooming capability)

    thats all i have to say. thoroughly disappointed after finishing the game even on legendary.
    Expand
  48. RJP
    Nov 4, 2007
    4
    Honestly, this is one of the most overhyped and overrated games in modern history. I really enjoyed the first Halo, but this one is nothing more than being an expansion to Halo 2. Graphics are bad, gameplay gets boring, and the campaign is way too short and the ending is unsatisfying. Even my friends who were into the game before are now already bored of Halo 3. We even beat it on Honestly, this is one of the most overhyped and overrated games in modern history. I really enjoyed the first Halo, but this one is nothing more than being an expansion to Halo 2. Graphics are bad, gameplay gets boring, and the campaign is way too short and the ending is unsatisfying. Even my friends who were into the game before are now already bored of Halo 3. We even beat it on legendary, and still felt bored doing it! I guess the fanboys don't know how to review a game objectively, and instead act on impulse and excitement. gimme a break. Expand
  49. BrandenC.
    Oct 14, 2007
    8
    Great game, but not as great as what the critics have been saying. High replay value due to multiplayer and achievements, but nothing really new or innovative from the last Halo.
  50. thedude
    Oct 15, 2007
    9
    An excellent game. The addition of 4-player co-op mode is great, though it makes it easy to finish the campaign quickly. The Theatre stuff is lots of fun. And the Multi-player is outstanding. Really nothing not to like, especially now that they made shotty snipers less prevalent in match-making. An excellent game.
  51. GaryS.
    Oct 1, 2007
    7
    One word can describe Halo 3 "average" !!!!!
  52. GrantH.
    Nov 6, 2007
    8
    This game has its ups, and it definitely has its downs. But the biggest complaint I see is the graphics. Compared to Gears of War, no, the graphics are not as good. The difference is, Gears of War is urban, and in close environments. Halo 3 has massive landscapes, in which you can always see everything that is going on. That is something Gears does not have. For the time I enjoyed Halo 3, This game has its ups, and it definitely has its downs. But the biggest complaint I see is the graphics. Compared to Gears of War, no, the graphics are not as good. The difference is, Gears of War is urban, and in close environments. Halo 3 has massive landscapes, in which you can always see everything that is going on. That is something Gears does not have. For the time I enjoyed Halo 3, it was a very fun game, and I had no problems. It does get old quick, though. Which is why I gave it a solid 8. Expand
  53. JamosStamos
    Nov 6, 2007
    6
    I havn't accually played but I've watched alot of people play it. Jus watching I've got to say I'm pretty disappointed. The graphics although an improvement, are not nearly as cool as I expected. The story was mediocore at best. The enemies are stupid, There is no stratigy involved! It's just who can kill how first. Instead of giving ememies more life andI havn't accually played but I've watched alot of people play it. Jus watching I've got to say I'm pretty disappointed. The graphics although an improvement, are not nearly as cool as I expected. The story was mediocore at best. The enemies are stupid, There is no stratigy involved! It's just who can kill how first. Instead of giving ememies more life and more powerful weapons, how about makeing them more tactical. I'd rather die because the enemy is better than me not because they have double the health and ten times more powerful weapons. The original Halo is the best because it was original...it has tons of room for improvement that Bungie failed to pick up on, in produceing Halo 2 and 3. These could have been so much better. It seemed like the campaign was an after thought. Please, make a good game first then worry about the multiplayer. Although fun, I'd rather be playing a awesome game with an awesome story line. Expand
  54. BenW.
    Oct 17, 2007
    3
    It really is overratted. I never bought into the ype but even i was suprised when i played this. Boring, dull and ugly. Its in no way original and barely an improvement on the 2nd game. Rubbish m player and even worse single player does not a good game make.
  55. TomBrady
    Oct 17, 2007
    10
    I loved this game. i have never played a game with those shooty things before. i found a xbox in my mailbox and thought i might want to try it. i tryed to kill someone for hours, but i cant. i played it for 481/2 hoursbut finally gave up. i love this game
  56. JonS.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    This is one of the best games i have played this year. the graphics are freaking sweet. the story is sweet. the weapons are a bad to the bone as always. the hammer is one of my favorite weapons but the shotgun still kick alien butts. i love this game and the Spartian still kicking butts and taking name. and saving the world agian. if you did not like this game you have some major issues. This is one of the best games i have played this year. the graphics are freaking sweet. the story is sweet. the weapons are a bad to the bone as always. the hammer is one of my favorite weapons but the shotgun still kick alien butts. i love this game and the Spartian still kicking butts and taking name. and saving the world agian. if you did not like this game you have some major issues. and i said to get help. Expand
  57. JonL.
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    Awesome online gaming. Period.
  58. WilliamT.
    Nov 9, 2007
    9
    It's Halo 2, given a nice new bit of polish and spit shine. But is that a bad thing? No. Halo 3's graphics are far from outstanding but you'd be mad to say that they look bad. The singleplayer is pretty much the same, but it's what made the Halo series so much fun in the first place. It's multiplayer is simple, but so much fun. You've got a great new It's Halo 2, given a nice new bit of polish and spit shine. But is that a bad thing? No. Halo 3's graphics are far from outstanding but you'd be mad to say that they look bad. The singleplayer is pretty much the same, but it's what made the Halo series so much fun in the first place. It's multiplayer is simple, but so much fun. You've got a great new features, such as equipment, saved films (so you can watch yourself pwn that n00b again- or watch yourself getting teabagged after a exceptionally humiliating defeat), Forge , where you can make your own maps and Meta Campaign. Halo 3 is a great game. Not perfect, far from it, but it's still so much fun, you'd be declared mentally unstable not to at least play this game once. Expand
  59. AndrewU.
    Oct 1, 2007
    9
    Halo 3 delivered what it promised in almost every single way. My only problem with it is how short the single player campaign was. Everyone seems to complain about the graphics, but personally I think they're better than Gears of War. Now before you jump all over me, hear me out. I think they're better because H3 has some actual color and variety behind it. Gears of war looked Halo 3 delivered what it promised in almost every single way. My only problem with it is how short the single player campaign was. Everyone seems to complain about the graphics, but personally I think they're better than Gears of War. Now before you jump all over me, hear me out. I think they're better because H3 has some actual color and variety behind it. Gears of war looked more photo realistic, but everything in the game was black and grey, which became really boring. Little details like you feet sinking slightly into sand or snow, leaving footprints just add to the experience. As for the gameplay, with the focus taken back more to the original formula of guns, melee bashing and grenades, it feels alot more like Halo. The exhisting guns have all been tweaked and the new ones like the gravity hammer is a blast, literally sending enemies flying in all directions. The controls work exactly as they should, esp. in the middle of a heated firefight. I rarely felt like I died because the controls didn't work as they should, like the clunky controls in Gears. The vehicles work exactly as they should and nothing is funnier than running down ghosts in a brute chopper. Multiplayer is frantic and alot of fun, and the new equipment spice things up a bit. Radar jammers, trip mines, the bubble shield, deployable cover, power drainers, ect, ect, all add another level of tatics. The forge and theater are both alot of fun. I was playing a game on forge, and being able to help my team out by dropping a much needed weapon or vehicle was a godsend. I know that sounds cheap, but keep in mind, the other team can do the same. The theater is fun, but I've mainly used it to show my friends exactly how I shot them in the head, or how to take a look at how I was killed, so i can learn from my mistakes. All around a great game and alot of fun. Expand
  60. SenorS.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    This game is definitely worth it if you have xbox live, but if you are living in the dark ages of gaming and don't have it, just rent it...the campaign is good but plays through in a week (on legendary)
  61. JasonN.
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    Fantastic culmination to the Halo universe. There is so much this game offers, it can barely be described. Anyone complaining that this game is too short has not dipped into the nearly limitless options the game has. Thought the campaign was to short? Try turning the campaign scoring and some of the skulls on. The game completely changes. I was addicted the first time I put Halo 3 in my Fantastic culmination to the Halo universe. There is so much this game offers, it can barely be described. Anyone complaining that this game is too short has not dipped into the nearly limitless options the game has. Thought the campaign was to short? Try turning the campaign scoring and some of the skulls on. The game completely changes. I was addicted the first time I put Halo 3 in my console, granted I have been a fan of Halo since the release of the Xbox, but every time I play I notice something new. The ability to save movies, clips, and screenshots and create game types and maps is technologically mind blowing. I don't know how Bungie did it, but thank you is all I can say. Also, I love the new Bungie.net and all the options it offers that coincide with Halo 3. Especially the ability to queue map and gametype downloads while on my computer that instantly download the next time I load up Halo 3 on my Xbox 360. Again, thank you, Bungie. Expand
  62. GavinM.
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    Well it may not be perfect (no game ever is) or totally innovative (no game ever needs to be) it is fun. It is just about the most fun I've ever had with an FPS. The levels never seemed to drag, the pacing was good and the gaming was polished to a chrome-like shine. The story itself is interesting and all the easter eggs throughout the game helped deepen it and answer some long Well it may not be perfect (no game ever is) or totally innovative (no game ever needs to be) it is fun. It is just about the most fun I've ever had with an FPS. The levels never seemed to drag, the pacing was good and the gaming was polished to a chrome-like shine. The story itself is interesting and all the easter eggs throughout the game helped deepen it and answer some long awaited questions. The ending itself was well done and lends the series a very Arthurian feel (Once and Future King). The campaign alone would be worth it but Bungie has also loaded the game with many other features like movie creation tools, level editing tools (that also serve as a game type) and a great multiplayer system that is and has always been loads of fun. The allusions to previous Halos were all well done and many of the later levels give rise to some of the best battles I've ever had the pleasure of playing through (the level The Covenant being a great one). Overall the game deserves a 10 for creating a game that, while not totally innovative or groundbreaking, is some of the most fun you can have on any console. The game is well made and loaded with features which makes it very deserving of praise if only for its excellent production values on all levels from graphical design, to music, to the game's amazing AI. Every piece of the game works well and provides a fun experience. It isn't the second coming or the greatest thing since sliced bread but I'd probably take it over those two in a pinch (unless I wanted a sandwich) simply because it is so damn fun to play through. Expand
  63. BenC.
    Dec 2, 2007
    9
    Brilliant game. Amazing campaign and highly addictuve multiplayer. New weapons and vehicles keep it fresh. Drawbacks are forge is hard to control and the level Cortana is for lack of a better word rubbish.
  64. ShawnSavage
    Oct 22, 2007
    9
    you can tell pretty easily, the trolls, from the true gamers, when a game like this comes out.

    Anyone that says they beat this game in 4-8 hours played in on easy.

    I dont think that even gives a person the right to judge a game, to dumb down its AI and physics to give the unskilled gamer an advantage. Should these peoples opinions matter?

    I say no.
  65. CoryD.
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    This game pretty much hasn't left my console since I got it... Sure the campaign (although fantastic) only lasted the first few days playing, there is so much replay in this game (RE: Xlive Multiplayer), that to call it anything less than the best online game is missing the whole point of multiplayer.
  66. AdamJ.
    Oct 2, 2007
    5
    Halo 3 will still have you running backwards and forwards through levels which gets pretty tedious. Indoor environments feel very samey. The single player campaign is uninspired. The game is pretty easy, even on Legendary. There are some AI bugs (enemies are sometimes completely oblivious to you presence allowing you to run straight through a level). The variety of the multiplayer facet Halo 3 will still have you running backwards and forwards through levels which gets pretty tedious. Indoor environments feel very samey. The single player campaign is uninspired. The game is pretty easy, even on Legendary. There are some AI bugs (enemies are sometimes completely oblivious to you presence allowing you to run straight through a level). The variety of the multiplayer facet is all that extends the play time of this game. In summary: a buffed up halo 2 or a highly polished halo 1. Expand
  67. RobC.
    Oct 25, 2007
    9
    Beautiful graphics, wonderful gameplay, the only fault. Its too short, but therefor the online gameplay will never end.
  68. AsadM.
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    Game is amazingly polished, the graphics take time to show you their true beauty, maby not as in your face as GOW but great nonetheless. Having played all the Halo games I was very happy with the ending (remeber half is before the credits and half after). The mutiplayer co op with added campaign scoring is a blast, and as for it being too short, it seemed just as long as the other games. Game is amazingly polished, the graphics take time to show you their true beauty, maby not as in your face as GOW but great nonetheless. Having played all the Halo games I was very happy with the ending (remeber half is before the credits and half after). The mutiplayer co op with added campaign scoring is a blast, and as for it being too short, it seemed just as long as the other games. Play on legendary if its too easy! This game will be played for a long long time! Expand
  69. mintyvader
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    Halo 3. what more is there to say? the graphics make your eyes melt, the multiplayer is second to none, and some of the campeign levels are the most fun i have ever had playing a videogame. i will admit it does have its problems, but if you like shooting stuff, absolutely insant multiplayer, and blowing stuff up, this is the game for you.
  70. JulianS.
    Oct 2, 2007
    6
    The single player is absolutely horrible. It has a very flawed checkpoint system and gets far too frustrating. Gears of War never had me playing through the same stupid parts, even on Insane. Halo has me redoing some moments over and over again just on heroic. Bungie basically gave us a multiplayer game that finished a story that nobody cares about anymore.
  71. MikeMorrison
    Dec 7, 2007
    8
    This game got a 8 bc of the multiplayer. I hate to bring it up but you look at call of duty 4 you can shot through walls or through sides of trees depending on the gun your using. Then there is halo where im using a highly advanced weapon that cannt shot through a piece of paper. Not to mention the fact that you have this amazing armor and ability to jump 10 ft. in the air and itl takesThis game got a 8 bc of the multiplayer. I hate to bring it up but you look at call of duty 4 you can shot through walls or through sides of trees depending on the gun your using. Then there is halo where im using a highly advanced weapon that cannt shot through a piece of paper. Not to mention the fact that you have this amazing armor and ability to jump 10 ft. in the air and itl takes a whole clip or two clips to kill someone.
    Ok so with that out of the way maybe you like what they call oldcore fps. The other problem i have is the AI of the humans, not the aliens just the humans. There are times where you have to drive bc the AI simply cant, they'll get the vechile stuck or simply take forever. The other problem is that ill take time to sneak up on a tank, and their is no way i was spotted and out of no where they turn 180 degrees and start shooting me, Radar? i dont know there are my other teammates in front of the tank. On the other hand if you have any teammate aliens on your team they hold there own and you'll be thankful come to reload time that they are there.
    So the pros, great looking game with some very cool moments and of coarse not that it needs to be mention but great multiplayer.
    I love halo 3 but not the best game of all time, personalty im getting a little tired of the oldcore fps, taking cover or being killed after 5 shots is way more realistic and serves for greater game play.
    Expand
  72. MacauleyF.
    Dec 8, 2007
    9
    Halo 3 brings a stunning end to the trilogy and also leaves it open to another story. Multiplayer shines through rock, it is so indepth and so varied, there are nearly unlimited ways to play, only limited by pixils and time. Balanced weapons and maps, and more maps on the way, continuosly updated playlists. Sure there are those "WTF?!" times online but we can and should blame the Halo 3 brings a stunning end to the trilogy and also leaves it open to another story. Multiplayer shines through rock, it is so indepth and so varied, there are nearly unlimited ways to play, only limited by pixils and time. Balanced weapons and maps, and more maps on the way, continuosly updated playlists. Sure there are those "WTF?!" times online but we can and should blame the internet, LAN is perfect. Forge, what can I say? Well if I had the time and put the effort into it, I could write a novel on what you can do in it and I've only scratched the surface. Build your own competitive map, set up fusion coils for target practice, make a rube goldburg device, set up a Zombie map, drop tanks on up to 7 of your mates... Use your imagination! Chances are, you can do it! And last, but certainly not least: Saved films. It's gold. Want to see your Rampage again? Want to see how you turned that Overkill into a Killimanjaro? Want to see how you splattered that guy on the other side of the map or that open scope Triple kill? You can do it! And from any angle! The only downer in this is that you can't transfer it to your computer, but I see that GeeVee.com is hard at work making an online program so that you can! It'll make your machinimas a lot easier and cheaper. So, Halo 3 is a great, solid game with few flaws. The only thing that people complain about is that they are losing to new(er) people and they need to blame the game; and total graphics nerds. It's not the graphics that realy counts, it's the gameplay and replayability, and in that respect, Halo 3 delivers. It is a must buy for all gamers (assuming you have LIVE or friends you can play with). Expand
  73. AdiS.
    Oct 29, 2007
    0
    Utterly disappointed! It's like playing Halo 2... There is nothing so new as to qualify this as a new Halo. There is no suspense; you simply know that the AI is too stupid to actually get you. And you are practically immortal. Don
  74. JackA.
    Oct 2, 2007
    6
    I was into Halo for the story. The original Halo set the standard and I guess it is just too hard to duplicate without seeming redundant. I liked Halo 2, but thought is was missing something, not much but just not quite up to the original. Halo 3 looked cool and all with the graphics and some new vehicles, but the story didn't flow well and just wasn't all that good to being I was into Halo for the story. The original Halo set the standard and I guess it is just too hard to duplicate without seeming redundant. I liked Halo 2, but thought is was missing something, not much but just not quite up to the original. Halo 3 looked cool and all with the graphics and some new vehicles, but the story didn't flow well and just wasn't all that good to being with. Hell, I'm still confused on some of it....LOL. The multiplayer stuff is first rate, and I guess that's what they were catering too. As for me, I was into the story, so this game didn't impress, and it seemed WAY too short. Sorry, Bungie, but you could have done a better job. Expand
  75. Maxd
    Oct 30, 2007
    7
    omfg are you people stupid??? This game isn't the best game ever, Max M, but it doesn't suck that bad, Me ME. This game is a good, solid buy, the graphics are decent the multiplayer is pretty good, and the campaign is average. If you are looking for a good game, buy this, but it is not a 10!!!!!!
  76. LordSergenteen
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    Your not getting the picture you freaks. Halo is more about you sucking at it and therefore hating it. Halo is about having fun and enjoying one of the greatest story lines ever created and having many friends in your multiplayer games having fun.. You are just to emo and deprest on life to realize how fun it is. Halo 3 is the best game of the year and the number one title ever
    Thank
    Your not getting the picture you freaks. Halo is more about you sucking at it and therefore hating it. Halo is about having fun and enjoying one of the greatest story lines ever created and having many friends in your multiplayer games having fun.. You are just to emo and deprest on life to realize how fun it is. Halo 3 is the best game of the year and the number one title ever
    Thank you bungie!!!
    Expand
  77. Daz
    Oct 4, 2007
    9
    Its a brilliant campaign a bit short but the AI is top notch you have to say! Youir comrades on normal at least are brilliant shots without being unnatural.
    On legendary its still very challenging even with friends but 3 or more people and its gets too laggy.
    Great multiplay, a near perfect end to the saga.
  78. TJW.
    Oct 4, 2007
    10
    Just absolutely the best game ever invented. Period. I mean the SP was a little tiny bit of a let down, but in whole this is truly better than any other console or PC game out there. Only thing that comes close would be HL2 / Source Games, but that just hasn't seemed the same since it's been out so many years now.
  79. AnonymousMC
    Oct 4, 2007
    10
    A lot of these comments are nitpicking and don't actually mention the best aspects of the game. It's the definitive first person shooter on consoles, and dare to name me a multiplayer that's more fun to play on xbox live, wii connect, or playstation network. It took me at least 4-5 days of constant playing to get through the campaign, find all the skulls, build up toA lot of these comments are nitpicking and don't actually mention the best aspects of the game. It's the definitive first person shooter on consoles, and dare to name me a multiplayer that's more fun to play on xbox live, wii connect, or playstation network. It took me at least 4-5 days of constant playing to get through the campaign, find all the skulls, build up to lieutenant in the rankings, tweak around with forge, watch tons of saved films, export photos to bungie.net, and download other people's badass videos. There is little that can't be done. It's like a great online PC game, with almost all the capabilities you'll need (record demo's, edit maps, good connection, microphone/text support, friends list) packed in. It feels like it's worth twice the pricetag. I hated the idea of a $60 game before, but I have to rethink that for Halo 3. Expand
  80. DomV.
    Oct 4, 2007
    7
    Halo 3's campaign succeeds in becoming the Letdown of 2007. Multiplayer however is beyond good. it is brilliant.
  81. AlT.
    Oct 4, 2007
    9
    PROS: --Core game mechanics (weapon balance, gunplay) excellent as ever. Equipment adds a new dimension to the gameplay. --Improved enemy AI. --Cinematic (hollywood-standard) audio design and soundtrack. --Beautiful backdrops and vehicles --Intense and gripping pacing. --Groundbreaking Live options including matchmaking service, 4-player co-op, real-time multiplayer map editor (Forge), PROS: --Core game mechanics (weapon balance, gunplay) excellent as ever. Equipment adds a new dimension to the gameplay. --Improved enemy AI. --Cinematic (hollywood-standard) audio design and soundtrack. --Beautiful backdrops and vehicles --Intense and gripping pacing. --Groundbreaking Live options including matchmaking service, 4-player co-op, real-time multiplayer map editor (Forge), theatre CONS: --Lacklustre 2.5 G character models (excl. Chief and Arbiter). --Storyline a bit derivative. --Somewhat short single-player campaign on Normal difficulty level. Expand
  82. KrisW.
    Oct 4, 2007
    2
    Terrible game, nothing original. There is no real depth to the single player and it may just have the dullest multiplayer of all time. This is just a pollished up marathon. For the amount of time it took to develop and produce this game only leads me to belive you were to busy concentrating on what the competition were doing. Innovation not Recreation is what modern gamers want!!!
  83. Caleb
    Oct 4, 2007
    10
    All of the pieces (Campaign, Co-Op, Campaign Scoring, Forge, Multiplayer, Theater) to make this the game with the most lasting power I've ever experienced.
  84. LukeR.
    Oct 5, 2007
    6
    Halo 2.5. 'The biggest media event of all time' was a massive letdown if you only seek the single-player experience. The 10s this game recieved are a joke, average graphics, dated gameplay and a short campaign mode and over the top hype. This game is nothing but average and should be rated as such.
  85. AnonymousMC
    Oct 5, 2007
    4
    Halo is possibly one of the most overhyped video-games ever created. The campaign is short, unsatisfying, unoriginal, and absolutely lacking in anything that could differentiate it from a generic FPS. The multiplayer is, while popular nowadays, really nothing to get excited about, as it includes an unfair balance of weapons and a ridiculous "shield" system of damaging other players.Halo is possibly one of the most overhyped video-games ever created. The campaign is short, unsatisfying, unoriginal, and absolutely lacking in anything that could differentiate it from a generic FPS. The multiplayer is, while popular nowadays, really nothing to get excited about, as it includes an unfair balance of weapons and a ridiculous "shield" system of damaging other players. Don't give it the time of day. Expand
  86. NathanM.
    Oct 5, 2007
    10
    The Amazing ending of an Amazing trilogy.
  87. ChrisF.
    Oct 5, 2007
    10
    A nice conclusion to an epic trilogy. Graphics look amazing, some definate awe moments, especially near the end. MP is done to perfection
  88. CodyR.
    Oct 6, 2007
    10
    This is a great game, most people who newly come in wont see what the big deal is. But their is a big deal because its an incredible game, one of the greatest i ever played. It deserves a 9 if i take into account all the people that won't like it if their not halo 1+2 fanatics, but im giving it a 10 because all of the people that gave it a 0. I;m giving a shoutout to all those This is a great game, most people who newly come in wont see what the big deal is. But their is a big deal because its an incredible game, one of the greatest i ever played. It deserves a 9 if i take into account all the people that won't like it if their not halo 1+2 fanatics, but im giving it a 10 because all of the people that gave it a 0. I;m giving a shoutout to all those people. YOU SUCK. Expand
  89. ManeaA.
    Oct 7, 2007
    5
    Horrible graphics in interiors, mediocre gameplay.
  90. JacekO.
    Oct 7, 2007
    5
    After Bioshock this game is looks and feels just mediocre. It is amazing what industry marketing can do with our minds and some people give it the score 10 or 9 !
  91. JimmyC.
    Oct 7, 2007
    10
    Well, I would have given it a 9.5, but I'll round it up because it's Halo. The game is pretty much perfect. The only downside I had with it was that it was short. Short, but I could play through it 100 times. So it makes up for it. It's Halo. You're the Chief. And everything comes to an end. It's what we've all been waiting for, so why is everyone Well, I would have given it a 9.5, but I'll round it up because it's Halo. The game is pretty much perfect. The only downside I had with it was that it was short. Short, but I could play through it 100 times. So it makes up for it. It's Halo. You're the Chief. And everything comes to an end. It's what we've all been waiting for, so why is everyone complaining? Isn't it exactly what you waited for? It was for me. The music, graphics and gameplay were all rock solid. New vehicles and guns were an excellent addition. They could have made no change to the game whatsoever and just made it end and I would have been happy, but Bungie stepped it up. The new vehicles are nice, too, with the Hornet being my favorite. And the battle with the two spider tanks was epic to say the least. With amazing battles, great graphics, and heroic moments that leave you smiling and saying "Hell, yeah, that's what Halo is about", I'd say Halo 3 is definately one of the best games out today. Expand
  92. JohnM.
    Oct 7, 2007
    2
    highly overated, and extremely repetitive. i hated the first one due to the level with the mutant like things in the dark being the same section repeated over and over again with no change, boring and repetitive, second halo was an improvement, but for this game being on next gen console, what the hell is different, fair graphics considering what other chois]ces we have, and same old highly overated, and extremely repetitive. i hated the first one due to the level with the mutant like things in the dark being the same section repeated over and over again with no change, boring and repetitive, second halo was an improvement, but for this game being on next gen console, what the hell is different, fair graphics considering what other chois]ces we have, and same old gameplay, short and dull single campaign, and multiplayer maybe good but what the hell are people without online supposed to do? its obvouse the makers only cared about their online gamers and nothing for the actual game itself Expand
  93. RedR.
    Oct 8, 2007
    6
    10/10 for multiplayer 5/10 for obscenly short single player campaign. Did they really spend all those months working on this game? Single player can be completed by an average gams in probably 4-5 hours. 4/10 for graphics. Graphics are very dissapointing and bland and definitely NOT next generation. Most PC gamers will vouch for the fact that most FPS games on PCs from 3-4 years ago (Far 10/10 for multiplayer 5/10 for obscenly short single player campaign. Did they really spend all those months working on this game? Single player can be completed by an average gams in probably 4-5 hours. 4/10 for graphics. Graphics are very dissapointing and bland and definitely NOT next generation. Most PC gamers will vouch for the fact that most FPS games on PCs from 3-4 years ago (Far Cry etc) looked better than this. If multiplayer is not you thing, I cannot recommend buying this game. A 2 night purchase from Blockbuster will probably be more value for money. Overall 6/10 is a fair score. I expect Edge magazine will probably give it a 7/10 max. Expand
  94. JackS.
    Oct 8, 2007
    10
    Who cares if it didnt completly change what halo 2 and 1 established, you know what they say if it aint broke dont fix it. The game keeps the awesomeness of halo 2 but rejuvenates it with nice graphics weapons maps equipment, and enough with the halo 2.5 nonsense, map editor, video editor, 4 player online coop, complex and in depth stat tracking system, equipment, completly makes it a Who cares if it didnt completly change what halo 2 and 1 established, you know what they say if it aint broke dont fix it. The game keeps the awesomeness of halo 2 but rejuvenates it with nice graphics weapons maps equipment, and enough with the halo 2.5 nonsense, map editor, video editor, 4 player online coop, complex and in depth stat tracking system, equipment, completly makes it a fresh experience. And if you think multiplayer is the same as halo 2 you barley played the game or suck at it, halo 2 multiplayer is very fine tuned and balanced adding one minor thing can drastically change the way its played, the introduction of equipment, unmountable turrets new weapons, completly changes the way the game is played, and not to mention halo 3 dual weilding is almost obsolete, unlike in halo 2 in which it was very important. Expand
  95. EricV.
    Oct 8, 2007
    8
    The graphics WERE AMAZING! If your playing it on a 10 year old T.V. set then your OBVIOUSLY not going to be able to see the sharpness and high quality of the graphics. DUH! Anyways, I liked the campaign mode over all even if it was incredibly short... the other annoying thing was them having you fight your way forward in a level only to fight your way back the way you came all over again The graphics WERE AMAZING! If your playing it on a 10 year old T.V. set then your OBVIOUSLY not going to be able to see the sharpness and high quality of the graphics. DUH! Anyways, I liked the campaign mode over all even if it was incredibly short... the other annoying thing was them having you fight your way forward in a level only to fight your way back the way you came all over again in a attempt to avoid loading time. But overall, it was good. The ending leaves a lot to the mind. Expand
  96. JasonLarge
    Oct 9, 2007
    9
    It never ceases to amaze me how many haters there are out there. Everyone seems like they want bungie to reinvent what made Halo so great. For all of you who say that you've played it before....what did you expect? Did you expect Bungie to say "well Halo 2 is one of the top selling games of all time but I think we can make it better if we completely change everything aboutit". YesIt never ceases to amaze me how many haters there are out there. Everyone seems like they want bungie to reinvent what made Halo so great. For all of you who say that you've played it before....what did you expect? Did you expect Bungie to say "well Halo 2 is one of the top selling games of all time but I think we can make it better if we completely change everything aboutit". Yes we all palyed halo 2 so we have all see this before but Halo 3 has a better campaign, better multiplayer options, new well integrated weapons and the multiplayer maps are better than in Halo 2. This isn't the end all be all of games but it is certainly better than the unfair criticism that it recieves on here. Expand
  97. JamesH.
    Oct 9, 2007
    5
    Meh, It's better than alot of fps that are crap, I mean it's an operable and playable game. but as a single player experience it's pretty dull. Teh alienz wantz to killz teh galexiez with Teh Haloz! but no, really. It's polished, it plays nicely, you shoot stuff and blow stuff up. but theres not a whole lot of satisfaction. I just thought "I'm shooting aliens on Meh, It's better than alot of fps that are crap, I mean it's an operable and playable game. but as a single player experience it's pretty dull. Teh alienz wantz to killz teh galexiez with Teh Haloz! but no, really. It's polished, it plays nicely, you shoot stuff and blow stuff up. but theres not a whole lot of satisfaction. I just thought "I'm shooting aliens on halo.." when I could be doing "X". Other than that I'm sure the multiplayer mode is fun, and you're all really excited. (by you I mean the fanboys) but It's just not that interesting/rewarding/exciting compared to my game library, or even other XB360 titles (Bioshock, The orange box) and props to bioshock for holding a higher metascore than teh hype masheen. Expand
  98. CorySmyth
    Sep 24, 2007
    10
    I can't rate this game any less than 10 due to the amount of fun that is possible to have with this game. You get the regular single player and multiplayer games and you also get the forge, the innovative replay and saved films feature and everything else that comes along with that. If Halo 1 and 2 get rated 95/100 then this for sure gets a 100/100 simply due to the fact that it hasI can't rate this game any less than 10 due to the amount of fun that is possible to have with this game. You get the regular single player and multiplayer games and you also get the forge, the innovative replay and saved films feature and everything else that comes along with that. If Halo 1 and 2 get rated 95/100 then this for sure gets a 100/100 simply due to the fact that it has what both of the previous games had, the only things changed were for the better and if you are to take an amazing game and simply make it better then it should get a better rating. Expand
  99. jameshutton
    Sep 24, 2007
    9
    Although many people complain about the short nature of Halo 3's campaign the one unifying factor in these reviews are that the review played Halo on normal, playing on heroic is recommended for any FPS player with Halo experience to play on Heroic or legendary. Other problems are people not liking the end, the epic finish wraps up all of the ends if you have a brain to comprehend theAlthough many people complain about the short nature of Halo 3's campaign the one unifying factor in these reviews are that the review played Halo on normal, playing on heroic is recommended for any FPS player with Halo experience to play on Heroic or legendary. Other problems are people not liking the end, the epic finish wraps up all of the ends if you have a brain to comprehend the result. The multiplayer is one of the best in the world and will keep me playing forever, (I still LAN Halo:CE). The one oversight in a game with such excellent AI is the lack of bots, for this reason alone I rate it a 9/10. Expand
  100. VictoriaParkins
    Sep 24, 2007
    10
    I have a PS3, Wii and 360, but this game has just demonstarted to me why 360 is so far ahead in what it has to offer. I'll be selling my PS3 before Xmas and I'm sure my Wii will see some action again this Xmas on Wii Sports before it goes back in the cupboard. Halo 3 is the best game ever made without a shadow of a doubt. There is just so much in the game that it will take a longI have a PS3, Wii and 360, but this game has just demonstarted to me why 360 is so far ahead in what it has to offer. I'll be selling my PS3 before Xmas and I'm sure my Wii will see some action again this Xmas on Wii Sports before it goes back in the cupboard. Halo 3 is the best game ever made without a shadow of a doubt. There is just so much in the game that it will take a long time to experience it all, and every single part of it is absolutely flawless. I'm so glad this has come out in Septmember to give me an opportunity to play the other amazing games coming over the next few months. I have my eyes on Mass Effect once I'm done here. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's the addition of the Forge level editor and the saved films that give the game an even longer set of legs, legs that will probably keep you running at full speed until Bungie figures out where, exactly, to go from here.
  2. Halo 3 is the best Xbox 360 game to date. The single-player campaign and storyline are both very strong, but it's Forge and the Saved Films features that will likely go down in history as Bungie's crowning achievements. They've basically taken everything great about the series and improved upon it in every way, then added some amazing new features that we'll be using for years to come.
  3. 100
    It's solid gameplay, immense replayability, online functionality and incredible production values will ensure its place in video game history, and it is, without a doubt, a satisfying and fulfilling close to the beloved trilogy[?].