Halo 3 Xbox 360

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4157 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. chrisL
    Sep 24, 2007
    10
    been playing the game for the last 2 hours in campaign mode let me tell you its great to be an aussie an get this game officaly 1 day before you americans (gotta love the internation date line)

    awesum 1010 great stuff bungie i doubted you could match halo 2 but you have not only matched but far exeeded this halo geeks expectations

    suck on it sony
  2. StephenS.
    Sep 25, 2007
    9
    The best multi-player ever mated to a solid single player. Forge is a simple but power addition to multi-player action.
  3. TylerD.
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    My expectations were fairly high, but Halo 3 blew me away. Amazing multiplayer, great creative opprotunities, and a brilliant campaign mode add up to what every 360 owner should own: Halo 3.
  4. DavidC.
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    Pretty much as good as it gets. Short but great campaign, fantastic multiplayer, good graphics, great sound, top notch controls and endless options.
  5. JasonL.
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    After last night, playing it for 5 hours non stop, I can easily see how the improvements have made this game better. This game really takes off on the 360 and you can see how Bungie's vision of Halo2 was stunted due to the smaller environments. I like to think that Halo2 was originally meant to be the final, but the 360 gave Bungie the hardware to make a better version of Halo 2. After last night, playing it for 5 hours non stop, I can easily see how the improvements have made this game better. This game really takes off on the 360 and you can see how Bungie's vision of Halo2 was stunted due to the smaller environments. I like to think that Halo2 was originally meant to be the final, but the 360 gave Bungie the hardware to make a better version of Halo 2. Thus Halo3 is born. This is no way an indication that it should be called Halo 2.5. It doesn't have the feeling of potential wasted that the Halo2 campaign gave me. Also the comment - 5 Minutes of gameplay in 24 hours makes absolutely no sense as a critical comment. It's one of those things critics like to say because it initially sounds clever. It is a stupid comment as it literally applies to most games anyway. Halo3 manages to bring grand vision and excellent game play to the console market. Like Halo 2 and Halo before it, I will be playing this game for years to come. Expand
  6. DanielMW
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    Having played it myself, Halo 3 lives up to the hype. At times easily the best-looking game on Xbox360. The story is well delivered. The environments are colossal and the busiest you'll find in an FPS. 4-player co-op, motion blur, 3D water (with physics), foliage that moves and the best HDR lighting ever. All of that stuff adds up. Then there
  7. fojakv
    Sep 25, 2007
    9
    Great game but not to good to have more score than BIOSHOCK, lack of innovation in the single campaign, great graphics, amazing scenarios, short single campaign 10 - 15 hours, what happened Bungie??.
    Multiplayer is the gem but...not to gain the crown of game of the year, sorry. Great game Buy it Now, but don´t expect originality...
  8. ALexP.
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    Great graphics, awesome story, amazing gameplay, total 10.
  9. A.D.
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    Absolutely amazing. Whoever says this game is only 5 or 6 hours long must be playing on easy. I'm playing on heroic, have already put in over 5 1/2 hours and I'm not even to level 5 out of 9. This game is the total package. Saved Films feature is awesome. I never thought watching both the SP and MP action would be so cool. The MP is perfectly balanced. Also, with those Absolutely amazing. Whoever says this game is only 5 or 6 hours long must be playing on easy. I'm playing on heroic, have already put in over 5 1/2 hours and I'm not even to level 5 out of 9. This game is the total package. Saved Films feature is awesome. I never thought watching both the SP and MP action would be so cool. The MP is perfectly balanced. Also, with those complaining about the graphics, I thought they wouldn't be up to par. In reality, they're outstanding. You really can't appreciate the beauty of the environments until you watch a saved film of the campaign. Great, great stuff. Oh yeah, the Brute Chopper is sweet. Expand
  10. JimM>
    Sep 26, 2007
    9
    It ain't all perfect, but damn this game is satisfying. Multiplayer and Forge are satisfying, and the campaign earns HUGE points for 4-player co-op. I loveitIloveitIloveit...
  11. CassioC.
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    Excellent game! Multiplayer is a blast, and the balance between melee, shoot and grenade is finally back! Graphics are great, but not spectacular, although this is forgiven due to the sheer size of the maps. Pity the series will end with Halo 3... Keep it alive Bungie!
  12. PhillipB.
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    Most addicting game ever! Campaign was fun! Can't wait to go thru and play it on the hardest difficulty with three friedns. Multi-Player is the most fun you can have in a videogame, PERIOD!!! New game modes and tweaks to the tried and true make every game memorable. Then, you can watch the movie of that one head shot you had that caused the guy to fall into a man cannon and get his Most addicting game ever! Campaign was fun! Can't wait to go thru and play it on the hardest difficulty with three friedns. Multi-Player is the most fun you can have in a videogame, PERIOD!!! New game modes and tweaks to the tried and true make every game memorable. Then, you can watch the movie of that one head shot you had that caused the guy to fall into a man cannon and get his dead body shot across the map; after you watch it you can upload it so all your friends can see too! Graphics are spectacular. Physics are amazing. You can bump a small tree with the Warthog and watch the tree shake.... A Perfect Game! Expand
  13. AdamR.
    Sep 26, 2007
    9
    I was expecting more for the final Halo. The graphics were probably the biggest disappointment I expected nothing less than that of Gears of War and the going back and forth thru the same area the campaign just reminded me of a multiplayer map but it is still a great game with high replay value and cool online multiplayer. P.S.-watch out Halo 3 because after playing the Call of Duty 4 I was expecting more for the final Halo. The graphics were probably the biggest disappointment I expected nothing less than that of Gears of War and the going back and forth thru the same area the campaign just reminded me of a multiplayer map but it is still a great game with high replay value and cool online multiplayer. P.S.-watch out Halo 3 because after playing the Call of Duty 4 Beta Halo is just biding my time and many others until Nov 5th when COD4 is released. Hoorah Expand
  14. Dawreck
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    Finished the game on normal difficulty and I see why some where disappointed with the ending. The ending may be better on legendary setting since its suppose to be different. I don't rate games based on the specifics of the story, unless theirs a severe lack of structure.. If u want a story I suggest u pocket ur $60 and get a cheap rental movie. When u start a game at night and Finished the game on normal difficulty and I see why some where disappointed with the ending. The ending may be better on legendary setting since its suppose to be different. I don't rate games based on the specifics of the story, unless theirs a severe lack of structure.. If u want a story I suggest u pocket ur $60 and get a cheap rental movie. When u start a game at night and accidentaly play till daylight.....that's what I call a 10. Halo 3 doesnt have a adaptive story influenced by ur "handling" certain foes like bioshock. What it does have is a "take no prisoners" mentality that's addicting in so many ways! If u want to play a game with true American ideals buy halo 3 and practice social equality......killing spree! Expand
  15. GlenA.
    Sep 26, 2007
    7
    The game is extremely similar to Halo 2. Graphics are tweaked but nowhere near as good as even 360 launch titles such as COD3. I had severe problems with sound, especially dialogue which I have to turn up just to hear - a little annoying. Should not disappoint those wanting more of the same from Halo 2. All others should rent first.
  16. SeanH.
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    Pure Halo Perfection. Everything we loved about the Halo universe and a few new tricks. Great visuals, amazing score, dynamic voice acting, action galore. If you don't like this game there is something wrong with you.
  17. MikeJ.
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    best game of the trilogy!
  18. adam
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    Its funny, if you look at all 3 halo games on metacritic, it almost exactly the same scores every game. Critics give the game ABOUT an 9.5 and users give it ABOUT an 8. If you give halo 3 a bad rating, just remember that every single halo game has the same exact gripes as the last. Way to fall in line and repeat everything that everyone has already said about the previous 2 games, very smart.
  19. EricK>
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    Lives up to the hype. I own both the PS3 and the Xbox 360 and love both, but this game hands down blows away anything available on the PS3.
  20. HansV.
    Sep 26, 2007
    8
    When reading these bashing comments and ratings below 5 or 6, I can't think why people are so small minded and build up so big expectations that no game can fulfill. Yes, the game feels a bit oudated but in the otherhand it's exactly how a Halo game should feel like....I'm sure if Halo 3 would've been a revolutionary 3rd person shooter, with slo-mo (bullet-time) When reading these bashing comments and ratings below 5 or 6, I can't think why people are so small minded and build up so big expectations that no game can fulfill. Yes, the game feels a bit oudated but in the otherhand it's exactly how a Halo game should feel like....I'm sure if Halo 3 would've been a revolutionary 3rd person shooter, with slo-mo (bullet-time) effects, with few different endings and moral choices Master Chief should make....I'm sure these people would be dissapointed anyways, because it wouldn't feel like Halo. Well, for my part, I'm not dissapointed in any ways, because I didn't have any expectations as I didn't like Halo 2 so much but loved Halo 1. The graphics are great, the world is vivid and living with many many small details that makes me almost gasp in aww. As for gameplay, it's almost exactly like Halo 1 and 2, with some tweeks....yes it feels a bit outdated compared to other 3rd generation fps's, like Rainbow Six Las Vegas or Bioshock...but come on, it's Halo! Every xbox gamer propably have the controls in their marrow and can pick up this game and get shooting and theres nothing that you wont love in this ride that ends one of the best trilogies and game-series of all time. ´ Why 8 and not 9 or 10? Even if I do like and love Halo 3, all it's ascpects and especially the new Forge mutliplayer mode, I still have to compare Halo 3 to other 3rd generation shooters and as Rainbow Six Las Vegas and Bioshock and now Call of Duty 4 Beta really blew my mind away, Halo 3 really couldn't stand to it's competition. Halo 3 is more than the sum of it's parts, it's the conclusion of an epic and all really need to take this ride and see this game-series to the end. Short review: Gameplay: 8 Story: 8 Graphics: 10 Soundeffects: 8 Music: 10 (yes I love Halo soundtracks) Replayability: 9 Multiplayer: 7 Pros + It's Halo + Replayability + Controls and gameplay -> 6 years of tweeking and polisihing, really can't go wrong + Soundtrack + Lots of multiplayer modes + Campaign co-op up to 4 players Cons - Gameplay, feels a bit outdated. - Sounds in general. - Weapons, even if balanced and there's alot to choose from, they don't have the oomph-effect and feel unpowered. - Multiplayer bunnyhoppers. Expand
  21. BrentA.
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    Halo 3 is a excellent game that lives up to the hype. People that are rating this game low just have a grudge or haven't played it. The gameplay is incredible in both the single player and multiplayer. The environments are great with a lot of detail. This game will keep people entertained for years to come. It doesn't get much better then this.
  22. AllanL.
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    Completely lives up to the hype.
  23. WernerS.
    Sep 26, 2007
    9
    It is just Halo , and that is good.
  24. Rex
    Sep 26, 2007
    3
    Why not just call the game Halo Live, because they get the single player campaign out of the way so quickly, the only value in this game is on Live. I'm sure it's amazing online, but I'll never find out, because the experience of playing Halo 2 online was so soured by all the little American teenage gimps whineing, cheating, and badmouthing you, that I have no plans to Why not just call the game Halo Live, because they get the single player campaign out of the way so quickly, the only value in this game is on Live. I'm sure it's amazing online, but I'll never find out, because the experience of playing Halo 2 online was so soured by all the little American teenage gimps whineing, cheating, and badmouthing you, that I have no plans to revist it with Halo 3. Single player campaign very disappointing, especially when compared to the graphics, art, innovation, and storyline of Bioshock. Bungie hasn't moved forward since Halo 1. Not a bad game, just over familiar to the point of boredom. Expand
  25. LoganD.
    Sep 26, 2007
    8
    I just don't quite understand how this game is getting 100& scores. No game is that good. At the end of the day, all it is is more Halo. That may be exactly what you are looking for, however, most gamers would be much better served saving their money and just renting this game.
  26. RannyB.
    Sep 26, 2007
    7
    It's an adequate fps. Level padding shows poor design though and the storytelling resulted down to being very simple. Not the best example to show for a top class FPS but a nice example that simplicity can still manage to be fun.
  27. BG
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    The most overhyped game of all time, but arguably the best game of all time. Pros: Great gameplay, forge, real-time level editor, saved replays with freemoving camera, tons of vehichles and guns, online is awesome, and very good story. Cons: Most equipment besides the regenerater and bubble shield is useless. Umm.... I guess that's it.
  28. LdubbzO.
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    Halo 3 is the best FPS bar none. What other game can offer the mix of strategy and fun that Halo brings. You can play through the single player a million times, especially with your buds. The MP is the best console has ever seen. What bugs me is what people are saying about the graphics...what game are you looking at? Its Halo in HD with great textures and effects, with levels and enemies Halo 3 is the best FPS bar none. What other game can offer the mix of strategy and fun that Halo brings. You can play through the single player a million times, especially with your buds. The MP is the best console has ever seen. What bugs me is what people are saying about the graphics...what game are you looking at? Its Halo in HD with great textures and effects, with levels and enemies so huge they literally blow you away. I think people forget that Halo 2 STILL looks. Best game ever IMHO. Expand
  29. Chris
    Sep 27, 2007
    10
    This is an excellent game with a compelling story and amazing graphics. Everything moves fluidly together and finishing the game leaves you fulfilled. Bungie has truely made an amazing trilogy and has created a world of epic proportions.
  30. McMastersUniversity
    Sep 27, 2007
    6
    What? That was it? The last section of the game was one of the biggest let downs of all time. Where is the final boss? Wait, that would've meant this game had an actual villain and a story that was meaningful. I found the story in Halo 2 to be very engaging and this time around was a massive disappointment. Additionally, the game felt like the designers viewed this making as a chore What? That was it? The last section of the game was one of the biggest let downs of all time. Where is the final boss? Wait, that would've meant this game had an actual villain and a story that was meaningful. I found the story in Halo 2 to be very engaging and this time around was a massive disappointment. Additionally, the game felt like the designers viewed this making as a chore as opposed to a fun and artistic experience. The revamped control scheme was pointless and did more harm that good. The new weapons and shield grenades are pointless. Also, this game does not start with the end of Halo 2, nor with how the trailer presents it. All these reviews that give this game 100's must be in the pockets of Microsoft; there is no other explanation. In every aspect this game is worse than Halo 1 and 2. Even the graphics are only slightly better than Halo 2. Maybe Halo 2.2? Ugh, I even avoided the hype and was still let down. Expand
  31. JeffA.
    Sep 27, 2007
    10
    Words do not do this game justice. If you don't own an Xbox 360 and Halo 3 then you are missing out on the gaming experience of your lifetime.
  32. NathanO.
    Sep 27, 2007
    9
    People are saying that it doesn't live up to the hype, but in reality no game could live up to the hype generated before the release of this game. I tried not get taken in by the the hype but we all know how that usually ends up! This game is however very good, if you liked the first two(or at the very least you enjoy blowing stuff up!) you will enjoy this game. To all the people People are saying that it doesn't live up to the hype, but in reality no game could live up to the hype generated before the release of this game. I tried not get taken in by the the hype but we all know how that usually ends up! This game is however very good, if you liked the first two(or at the very least you enjoy blowing stuff up!) you will enjoy this game. To all the people saying its too short, play on a harder difficulty! Expand
  33. IanC.
    Sep 27, 2007
    8
    Sorry everyone, but I'm a bit disappointed too. I don't get the super-high scores and mass raving either, this really doesn't deserve 100 here and there and everywhere. That all said, there is some magnificence here, and Bungie deserve high high accolade for their sheer innovative genius in the Theater modes and Forge mode. At the end of the gaming day, you'll have a Sorry everyone, but I'm a bit disappointed too. I don't get the super-high scores and mass raving either, this really doesn't deserve 100 here and there and everywhere. That all said, there is some magnificence here, and Bungie deserve high high accolade for their sheer innovative genius in the Theater modes and Forge mode. At the end of the gaming day, you'll have a ton of fun with this, there is stuff here you just won't get anywhere else, and so in that respect it's a solid 8 from me, and HIGHLY recommended. Expand
  34. ScottS.
    Sep 27, 2007
    10
    Extremely polished. beauutiful gameplay controls and graphics.
  35. JustinC.
    Sep 27, 2007
    10
    This game is flawless, a work of art. The multiplayer is by far the most fun you will ever have on a console. If you have a 360, you need to buy this game.
  36. PhilB.
    Sep 27, 2007
    8
    Play's well. Graphics look OK. Don't get me wrong. It's still a great game and fun to play but I expected definetly more. I've just played a few hours. My remarks are based upon my observations so far. I hope that some of my impressions will change to more positive. Story mode: Way to shoort for three years of development. That's the best Bungie and M$ can come Play's well. Graphics look OK. Don't get me wrong. It's still a great game and fun to play but I expected definetly more. I've just played a few hours. My remarks are based upon my observations so far. I hope that some of my impressions will change to more positive. Story mode: Way to shoort for three years of development. That's the best Bungie and M$ can come up? Online gaming: Is it me? Interface for game finding is not as intuitive as it used to be. It appears to have less settings. Hey it's still an excellent game. But compared to the improvements GTA made from Vice City to San Andreas for instance this looks measely. So I'm left with an excellent game and the feeling that it could have been just plain more. Satisfying but now WOOOOW experience. It almost smells like they just made the minimum to achieve an excellent game so they can make as much money as they can of the series. Too much business, not enough love. The Halo series really comes to an end. Expand
  37. PaulM.
    Sep 28, 2007
    9
    After the lacklustre conclusion of Halo 2 I was bitterly disappointed! Sure the online was great but a decent campaign is a must for me! I am glad to see Bungie have bucked up their ideas for the third game. The campaign is excellent. I have heard lots of people moaning that the game is either too short, too repetative and the graphics are poor. Sure if you play the game on normal you After the lacklustre conclusion of Halo 2 I was bitterly disappointed! Sure the online was great but a decent campaign is a must for me! I am glad to see Bungie have bucked up their ideas for the third game. The campaign is excellent. I have heard lots of people moaning that the game is either too short, too repetative and the graphics are poor. Sure if you play the game on normal you will beat it in around 8-10 hours... play it on Legendary and it's a different game entirely. As for revisiting the same areas... do people only bring this up about Halo or am I just imagining things. Bioshock had to be the most repetitive game ever. Same rooms for 90% of the game, same tactics to deal with each individual enemy, same puzzles again and again! But for some reason it's ok for Bioshock to have these flaws but not Halo. Halo 3 rarely visits the same areas at all and if you do it is very fleeting (apart from the ship Cortana is on) And as for the graphics, again people are drawing comparisons between Gears, Bioshock and Halo. Sure Gears and Bioshock look better but that's because there is about a tenth of the action on screen compared to Halo! If you fought two or three enemies at a time in tiny enviroments the graphics would have been amazing but then it wouldn't have been Halo anymore. The people slating this game need to get over themselves and realise that the game was made to be fun and that's exactly what it is! The forge mode and theatre need to be played to be believed... Absolutely fantastic! The possibilities in online multiplayer are now endless and you can record, pause and edit it afterwards to your hearts content. I'm jealous that PC gamers have had these kind of perks for years. Bravo Bungie! Expand
  38. StevenM.
    Sep 28, 2007
    1
    Looks pretty good shame it's so basic in it's combat system and so unevolved in it's feel/characters. As a shooter it feels like a kids game.
  39. Hello
    Sep 28, 2007
    1
    Most overrated game ever perhaps. Rented the game, but only for the multiplayer. Played for a couple hours and came away more than disappointed. The game wasn't just NOT GOOD, but it was terrible. The vehicles don't feel right at all, the movement is incredibly slow, the guns were crappy and generic, the graphics were sub-par, and the menu to actually find multiplayer games was Most overrated game ever perhaps. Rented the game, but only for the multiplayer. Played for a couple hours and came away more than disappointed. The game wasn't just NOT GOOD, but it was terrible. The vehicles don't feel right at all, the movement is incredibly slow, the guns were crappy and generic, the graphics were sub-par, and the menu to actually find multiplayer games was beyond terrible. I played and beat Halo 2 and came away decently satisfied with the game because I played it COOP with my bro but I never played it's multiplayer. Apparently I didn't miss anything if it was basically the same as Halo 3 but with worse graphics. Save your money and buy Team Fortress 2...a much better game in every single way. Haven't stopped playing the beta on the PC since it came out. Expand
  40. KasperB.
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    With halo 3, has bungie made the best game in the series. Not only is this the best halo 3 game but also best xbox 360 game. If you ask me Halo 3 is the best game ever made!!
  41. JoshuaD.
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    I am a very honest person and a unique halo fan. After missing out on Halo 1 and starting the story line at halo 2 I was hooked by the graphics, gameplay, and mulitiplayer formats. Halo 3 was a complete let down after the first hour of gameplay. I found myself asking "This is actually kind of boring". There wasn't any extravigant graphic views or fight scenes as Halo 2 had. I tried I am a very honest person and a unique halo fan. After missing out on Halo 1 and starting the story line at halo 2 I was hooked by the graphics, gameplay, and mulitiplayer formats. Halo 3 was a complete let down after the first hour of gameplay. I found myself asking "This is actually kind of boring". There wasn't any extravigant graphic views or fight scenes as Halo 2 had. I tried not to buy into the hype from all the commercials and advertisments, but I can honorably say that I was scammed by the oldest trick in the book "Rhetorics" Good Job on Bungie and Microsoft for scamming millions upon millions of dollars from us with cheap and useless animation. Expand
  42. DD
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    Graphics are absolutely mindblowing, I don't know why people are complaining about them. The campaign was really good, and it only feels short because it's so fun that you won't want to stop playing. As always the sound is superb too. Everyone else is raving about Forge and Theater so I don't need to tell you how cool they are. This game is worth buying a 360 for, no Graphics are absolutely mindblowing, I don't know why people are complaining about them. The campaign was really good, and it only feels short because it's so fun that you won't want to stop playing. As always the sound is superb too. Everyone else is raving about Forge and Theater so I don't need to tell you how cool they are. This game is worth buying a 360 for, no doubt about it. Expand
  43. Marc.D.
    Sep 28, 2007
    8
    Ahhh...to be a FPS on the 360...not an easy thing when you factor in the competition you're up against. With the phenomenal Bioshock fresh in many gamers minds, Halo 3 finishes the epic battle of Master Chief. For the most part, it does it very well. The gameplay is tight and the action is hectic. It plays very closely to Halo 2...and this is a good thing. However, it feels...lacking Ahhh...to be a FPS on the 360...not an easy thing when you factor in the competition you're up against. With the phenomenal Bioshock fresh in many gamers minds, Halo 3 finishes the epic battle of Master Chief. For the most part, it does it very well. The gameplay is tight and the action is hectic. It plays very closely to Halo 2...and this is a good thing. However, it feels...lacking when compared to its competition. Ultimately, the multiplayer is where the Halo series has always shone. Watch for it to keep the series and the Chief in the minds of gamers for a long time to come after the 25th of September 2007. Expand
  44. MrBeamish
    Sep 29, 2007
    9
    Campaign is a little on the weak side but Halo is all about the online. Live matches are an absolute blast. Bungie have gone the way of user-generated content with all the customised, shareable game modes & Forge to create a game that will be played for years to come. The replay feature really makes you appreciate the beauty and detail in the graphics, despite the criticism banded about Campaign is a little on the weak side but Halo is all about the online. Live matches are an absolute blast. Bungie have gone the way of user-generated content with all the customised, shareable game modes & Forge to create a game that will be played for years to come. The replay feature really makes you appreciate the beauty and detail in the graphics, despite the criticism banded about the looks. Expand
  45. AwesomeAntonio
    Sep 29, 2007
    9
    Its really just an improved Halo 2. Which is a good thing as thats what Halo 3 should be, this game pretty much has everything and will be the most played game on xbox live for a while, maybe until call of duty 4. Its not a 10 as Bioshock or Gears of War would be a 10 but this still is awesome. However Im yet to try 4 player campaign co-op over live which could put it up to a 10. Im not Its really just an improved Halo 2. Which is a good thing as thats what Halo 3 should be, this game pretty much has everything and will be the most played game on xbox live for a while, maybe until call of duty 4. Its not a 10 as Bioshock or Gears of War would be a 10 but this still is awesome. However Im yet to try 4 player campaign co-op over live which could put it up to a 10. Im not much of a halo fan but I can tell what a good game is, this is the best in the Halo series and one of the best games on the 360. Expand
  46. GeorgeA.
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    Forget the PS3 owners scoiring the game a 0, 1 or 3. Halo is a brilliant videogame with no equal. There are many parts of the game that you just stop to look at the environment. There are other parts of the plot that are so epic, you expect the credits to roll only to get seamlessly loaded onto yet another frantic, jawdropping level. Halo 3...There is no equal. Finish the fight.
  47. Cully
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    There are way too many jaw-dropping moments to give this game anything less than a 10!
  48. ColinB.
    Sep 29, 2007
    9
    The best multiplayer on LIVE and a fun, graphically superior campaign. Forge will keep us playing for years. I spent 2 hours the other day racing 7 other players on 'Sandtrap', without firing a bulet! Immortal.
  49. thePROPHET
    Sep 29, 2007
    0
    Truly an abysmal effort by Bungie to cash out on this aging, stale franchise, Halo 3 fails on almost every level with lackluster visuals (720 p my butt!), attrocious pacing, boring and rehashed evironments, and constant bug crashing. The online, while solid, is of course ruined by a deluge of toddlers.
  50. JoshH.
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    If you prefer Gears of War over Halo 3, you are either an idiot or a graphics whore. Scratch that. You are an idiot. I wish people who don't actually own a 360 wouldn't go on the internet and spew vomitous from their collective assholes. We all know your parents couldn't "afford" a 360 and you ended up with your PS3 and its "two" somewhat "decent" games or that you spent If you prefer Gears of War over Halo 3, you are either an idiot or a graphics whore. Scratch that. You are an idiot. I wish people who don't actually own a 360 wouldn't go on the internet and spew vomitous from their collective assholes. We all know your parents couldn't "afford" a 360 and you ended up with your PS3 and its "two" somewhat "decent" games or that you spent $2000 on a computer rig and couldn't stand the fact that Halo 3 won't be on the PC for another 3 years or so. But that doesn't mean you have to degrade what is arguably a great series. Halo has pushed the FPS genre in places that it would have NEVER gone unless Bungie weren't behind the development of it. Vehicle hi-jack, great graphics, some of the best music ever heard in an FPS, MGS-like cinematics, fantastic storyline, funny and interesting characters.. I could go on and on about what Halo has done for FPSes, but people are too busy trashing it because it's exclusive to Microsoft's Xbox. Go kill yourselves and rid us of your misinformed opinions, you worthless fuckwhits. No one wants to hear your "my daddy wouldn't let me get a Xbox, hurrrr" or "I spent $2000 on a computer rig only to find out that Vista makes it run like crap." pffft. Morons. Expand
  51. AitA.
    Sep 30, 2007
    6
    Loved Halo 1, disappointed with Halo 2 and Halo 3 the worst of the lot. You'll finish the fight in 6 to 8 hours if you played before. Legendary level on Halo 1 took days to finish, Halo 3 done in 10 hours. I still play Halo 1 but have had no inclination to play Halo 2 and wont be keeping Halo 3.
  52. MikeM.
    Sep 30, 2007
    6
    Somebodys gotta tell me what is so great about this game. the single player campaign is nowhere near the other great games Xbox 360 has to offer for its FPS action, like Gears of War and BioShock. And, well, the multiplayers good, ok, but why does EVERYONE play it? its not spectacular, and with maps that look half assed and no real joy in many of the weapons, its pretty much overrated.
  53. TimS.
    Sep 30, 2007
    8
    It's a decent game. Not more, not less. Just a decent game. Every part is decent and it offers some nice moments in the campaing. Too short as most new xbox360 games. It's a good game, but offers no memorable events or elements. If you liked the previous ones you'll like this, but if you didn't, steer clear of this one too. Oh... and please don't compare Halo3 It's a decent game. Not more, not less. Just a decent game. Every part is decent and it offers some nice moments in the campaing. Too short as most new xbox360 games. It's a good game, but offers no memorable events or elements. If you liked the previous ones you'll like this, but if you didn't, steer clear of this one too. Oh... and please don't compare Halo3 with GoW as GoW is indeed a third person shooter... mostly, not FPS. No matter what anyone says, it's in the point of view, not in the action style. Get your facts right before you judge. Expand
  54. JeddG.
    Sep 30, 2007
    9
    Halo 3 is a multiplayer game. While I was interested in the story's conclusion from beginning to end, it was mostly predictable and the campaign felt cut short. Some of the feel of Halo 1 was brought back, which is very high praise coming from a huge fan of the original. The multiplayer is essentially the same as Halo 2 with improved graphics, more balanced and upgraded weapons, and Halo 3 is a multiplayer game. While I was interested in the story's conclusion from beginning to end, it was mostly predictable and the campaign felt cut short. Some of the feel of Halo 1 was brought back, which is very high praise coming from a huge fan of the original. The multiplayer is essentially the same as Halo 2 with improved graphics, more balanced and upgraded weapons, and a few new toys to play with. That's both good and bad since the original games worked very well, and changing the system could be very detrimental. If you liked playing online in Halo 2, the series' 3rd installment is a good buy. Expand
  55. RavenX301
    Sep 30, 2007
    9
    I dont understand all these dumb a$$'s saying how terrible it is. It is clear that they are ethier PS 3 Fanboys or just morons. this is an amazing game. The campian is extremly fun, althought really, really short, and the miultiplayer is a the best in any FPS game. What else is there? Of course not every one is needed to like Halo, I understand that, but why go on these borads and I dont understand all these dumb a$$'s saying how terrible it is. It is clear that they are ethier PS 3 Fanboys or just morons. this is an amazing game. The campian is extremly fun, althought really, really short, and the miultiplayer is a the best in any FPS game. What else is there? Of course not every one is needed to like Halo, I understand that, but why go on these borads and bad mouth it for no reason. clearly you hav;nt an idea what your talking about. Is this game better the Halo 1? Yes...a million times better, but is the experince better than halo 1? No.....there is no way that a thrid installation of any kind of game that features the same style of play is going to out do its own first imperrsion. If this came out at the same time Halo 1 came out (some how) everyone wold think that this one would be amazing and the fisrt one is nothing. Its all becasue poeple seem to expect impossible things from sequels.....If Bungie went off and put in all this cray stuff like covering systems and RPG elements, then it wouldnt be Halo and everyone would complain about that! get over it you PS fan boys.......Expect the fact that this generation is 360's and not the Playstation..I do own one by the way. Expand
  56. CallumM.
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    You can tell who the PS3 owners on here are. They act as if they bought the game and took it back after two hours because it was so bad. (Im talking about you John W) It's clear you didnt even play it, because your completely wrong in your description. This is the best console game ever made. PS To Daniel, did you even play gears of war? its not a flipping first person shooter u sony fanboy.
  57. AAACE5
    Sep 30, 2007
    9
    I don't get it! Everyone says this game was over hyped... I guess I must have missed that while I was out partying and having a life! Halo 3 wasn't mean't to reinvent the FPS genre. It was meant to finish the story, and give players a good game to add to their collection...THAT'S All! The Halo franchise was getting old, and it was time to make room for it's new I don't get it! Everyone says this game was over hyped... I guess I must have missed that while I was out partying and having a life! Halo 3 wasn't mean't to reinvent the FPS genre. It was meant to finish the story, and give players a good game to add to their collection...THAT'S All! The Halo franchise was getting old, and it was time to make room for it's new successors(Gears of War, Mass Effect, Bioshock, etc.) who will be MS new flagship franchises. The game is acceptable as is. and provides exactly what it is suppose to provide...FUN! They didn't make Halo 3 for you to run to the sony fanboys yelling my game is better than yours. They wanted to finish the Halo story in the best way possible, by not drastically changing the formula that made the franchise popular in the first place. MS and Bungie didn't hype this game up... The media hyped it up! Which is why I am not disappointed in H3, because I didn't think it was going to be the end all for FPS... I just thought it was going to finish the story. And that it did! The only thing I wish they would have had a setup like R6: Vegas for multiplayer. So I could choose which game I wanted to go into. But the match maker works cause I haven't played one match yet and have to worry about the game locking up. So it's cool! Expand
  58. jimbo
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    This is the best game I've ever played. Great graffics, great online play, great levels but their biggest fallback is the campain which is a little short but everything else makes up for it. The customisation suprised me in a good way. Changing youre spartan or elite is excellent espessially when you change it to Ninja Gaiden. I would rate this higher but you cant go higher than 10.
  59. RileyS.
    Sep 30, 2007
    8
    There is tons of new stuff in Halo 3. Nothing truly revolutionary, but the only thing they could of done is made story better. Which they didn't. For those who thought they would get a rethought of halo just don't undertstand how the market works. The graphics are good (if you have an HDTV). Halo3 is what is expected of a Halo sequel. A more refined game with more options. There is tons of new stuff in Halo 3. Nothing truly revolutionary, but the only thing they could of done is made story better. Which they didn't. For those who thought they would get a rethought of halo just don't undertstand how the market works. The graphics are good (if you have an HDTV). Halo3 is what is expected of a Halo sequel. A more refined game with more options. Although I found parts of the game underwhelming, such as campaign and human character models. Expand
  60. ShabbyR.
    Sep 30, 2007
    5
    Kind of disappointing in terms of gameplay, story and graphics, especially considering that this is a first-party 360 effort. Halo 3 isn't even marginally better than Halo 2, and both sequels are mediocre at best compared to the original (which, let's be honest, wasn't even that great to begin with). Seriously, they should have just released the multiplayer component for Kind of disappointing in terms of gameplay, story and graphics, especially considering that this is a first-party 360 effort. Halo 3 isn't even marginally better than Halo 2, and both sequels are mediocre at best compared to the original (which, let's be honest, wasn't even that great to begin with). Seriously, they should have just released the multiplayer component for half price, because that's the only thing that anyone's even remotely interested in. Expand
  61. AndyM.
    Sep 30, 2007
    7
    All Halo 3 does is improve the graphics of Halo 2, add more weapons, and absolutely nothing else. Still pretty damn good though.
  62. SethStone
    Jan 1, 2008
    6
    Ok check it out. Im not an x box fan. im a sony fan. And this is why i gave this game a 6. If its title wasent "halo" it wouldent b half as sucsessful. Ressitance fall of man for ps3 is lightyears better. Guns are boring, badguys stupid. But if u were suckered into buying a 360, hey- go for it.
  63. PraveenT.
    Jan 1, 2008
    9
    Fantastic graphics, nice story line, difficulty is good, u do get stuck in some spots but that is what gaming is all about, perfect for guys like me.
  64. MarkP.
    Nov 16, 2008
    10
    I would say that this is a great game. the story is ok but the fun you can have with 4 friends is amazing. the mactchmaking i'snt amazing but stuff like grifball will keep people coming back but the true great part of halo 3 is forge and custom games. The maps that are made are the best i have ever seen in a game. games like infection are just outstanding. Bungie want to make the I would say that this is a great game. the story is ok but the fun you can have with 4 friends is amazing. the mactchmaking i'snt amazing but stuff like grifball will keep people coming back but the true great part of halo 3 is forge and custom games. The maps that are made are the best i have ever seen in a game. games like infection are just outstanding. Bungie want to make the game as fun as they can so they even more stuff.Last but not least theatre mode is great all the scrrenshots people make are funny as hell.THIS GAME WILL BE AROUND FOR A LONG TIME. Expand
  65. HaleA.
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    The hype probably harmed Halo 3 more than anything else: it raised the expectations of some people far too high. But take away the fact that it was probably a tad overhyped, the fact that everyone said that it was the best thing since sliced bread, and what's left is a very polished shooter with a lot of replayability and a package more than worth it's asking price. The campaign The hype probably harmed Halo 3 more than anything else: it raised the expectations of some people far too high. But take away the fact that it was probably a tad overhyped, the fact that everyone said that it was the best thing since sliced bread, and what's left is a very polished shooter with a lot of replayability and a package more than worth it's asking price. The campaign is short, but sweet. If it still seems far too brief, there are still many things to do within the realm of single player: you can finish it on it's hardest difficulty (though uncreative) you can run around collecting "skulls" (objects that alter the gameplay, sometimes drastically) and scoring points in the Metascore system. The storyline is fantastic: it's well written and does not lack depth. The concept of aliens vs humans and 8-foot tall supersoldiers may be overdone, but the depth comes from the small bits of clues, hints and stories which may not be noticed the first time playing. The best way to experience the storyline's depth is, of course, to play the first two games, read up, and look for the in-game Terminals (yet another thing you can do alone). The gameplay is unmistakably Halo; very smooth, very fluid. Some may argue that it is too similar to the first two games, but they all have the name "Halo" in it; it would be surprising to see anything that severely changes the game style. The logic is simple, if you want more Halo, buy Halo 3. Aren't all shooters about, well, shooting things? It's online integration is second to none: you can play the campaign co-op online with three friends. It's more fun than it sounds. The multiplayer mode is far improved. I would say some of the maps need work but it grows on you. With new weapons and changes, it's easier for the layman to pick up the game and play, yet not taking away form the skill factor (less aim magnetism). The weapons are fun, and the vehicles have the normal, unique feel to them. The Theatre even allows you to watch yourself annihilate your friends over and over again. From 360 different angles. And then there's Forge. A map editor in a console game, enough said. With excellent downloadable content on it's way, why NOT buy Halo 3? A lot of people say that the multiplayer is the worst of the series. Yet there are more people playing Halo 3 online than at Halo 2's peak (taking into account the larger amount of Live users). Numbers don't lie. In my opinion, the internet brings out the worst in some: COD 4 and others hardly add anything new to the genre. But this is Halo 3; nothing new, still the same old Halo that millions of fans adore, but incredibly polished to a shiny glow, with very few real flaws. And with loads of nifty new features. Expand
  66. BevilJesse
    Jan 19, 2008
    5
    Online game play was just as could be expected, and the forge is nice. I don't feel that the game met my expectations. Especially after all the Hype, I ordered it in Kuwait being that i'm currently deployed, bought the Xbox360 just for Halo 3 and I feel that I got burned
  67. AnonMouse
    Dec 11, 2008
    2
    Okay, stop calling low raters "PS3 Fanboys." First of all, you don't see the "PS3 fanboys" (Do you see any? I don't see any) saying that YOU jacks$$es are giving it 10s because YOU are fanboys. Secondly, to the 0's, this game isn't THAT horrible. It's definitely a step up from the horrendously bad Halo 2. This version has Forge, new maps, new multiplayer modes, Okay, stop calling low raters "PS3 Fanboys." First of all, you don't see the "PS3 fanboys" (Do you see any? I don't see any) saying that YOU jacks$$es are giving it 10s because YOU are fanboys. Secondly, to the 0's, this game isn't THAT horrible. It's definitely a step up from the horrendously bad Halo 2. This version has Forge, new maps, new multiplayer modes, etc. I agree, however, that the storyline is utter bull-manure. What can you expect from a developer that has been producing multiplayer blockbusters? The gameplay is less than "stellar." It's an unrealistic shooter with incredibly unrealistic physics. It's just another FPS. This is not as good as it's hyped to be. Even the multiplayer is lacking. Sure, joining a server is easy and there's practically no lag whatsoever, but you'll constantly see your favorite maps being voted out, there is no teamwork whatsover (I know people who TK in order to get the flag and the point), and firefights are chaotic and pointless. There is not strategy involved because the maps are linear. Voice acting is pretty good though. The music is not epic. All the plasma guns sound the same. The graphics are not next-gen. If you claim that this is so, you are a very ignorant gamer who shouldn't even be called a "gamer." Jumbo-sized pixels mar the textures on EVERYTHING and they STILL haven't fixed the darn faces! The cutscenes look pretty good, but can't compare to Blizzard/Square Enix stuff. This game will last a long time...if you can stand the grossly immature kids that haunt every server. Halo 3 sees the worst of this, simply because all the dumb 8-year olds are led to believe that this is the most fun FPS ever, and it's so hyped, even preschoolers have heard of it. Local multiplayer is the most rewarding due to this and innumerable players who brag about their phalluses of gigantic proportions or who play 23 hours a day and call others "noobs" for having lives and doing something productive. This game does not deserve a 0, but it also definitely does not deserve a 10. Generic "newbie" FPS gameplay with a less-than-memorable storyline, pretty bad sounds, mediocre multiplayer, and laughable graphics make this game one of the worst 360 games released. But not the worst. There are ones like Barbie... Expand
  68. EthanCook
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    STOP IT PEOPLE!!!!!!

    i am tired of people online complaining about halo 3.. look its easily the best Halo game.. it takes everything that was good about 1,2 and ran away with it.. The Multiplayer is better then ever.. and the game is only going to get better with more maps going to be playble via Xbox Live Marketplace.. Soon they will be free! Halo is one of the greatest series, and
    STOP IT PEOPLE!!!!!!

    i am tired of people online complaining about halo 3.. look its easily the best Halo game.. it takes everything that was good about 1,2 and ran away with it.. The Multiplayer is better then ever.. and the game is only going to get better with more maps going to be playble via Xbox Live Marketplace.. Soon they will be free!
    Halo is one of the greatest series, and the third one was my personal favorite, the ending was very nice. The single player was on the shorter end (but the story in each game has never been that long) great graphics, and new Online co-op mode! and the ability to save fotage and edit them, as well as a custom map editior is icing on the cake. My favorite Xbox 360 game of 2007.. be real you should have your own expectations for a game.. and this game suited my expectations.. they did the marketing to sell, to hype you.. i was not fooled.. no game could ever live up to that hype.. It was yet another Bungie Masterpeice Bravo to them.. they are rolling around in money :P
    but i will keep on playing Halo 3!
    Expand
  69. AS
    Dec 28, 2008
    9
    The main story is undoubtedly a let-down compared to the first two. But thanks to the replay value, all the new equipment and features, and the fact that it's online is pretty much unmatched, it's a must-have for any Xbox 360 owner.
  70. AnonymousMC
    Oct 26, 2008
    1
    being a huge fan of the first halo i am really disappointed at how halo 2 and 3 have turned out. Instead of building something beautiful out of the success of the first halo, we instead receive pretty much an exact replica of the first game just in different maps and even then it isn't that much different. The story is poor at best, and you have no real connection with the masterbeing a huge fan of the first halo i am really disappointed at how halo 2 and 3 have turned out. Instead of building something beautiful out of the success of the first halo, we instead receive pretty much an exact replica of the first game just in different maps and even then it isn't that much different. The story is poor at best, and you have no real connection with the master chief as he is just a faceless robot that happens to be a super soldier, it's annoying that there is more connectivity to the other characters than yours. The shooting in the game needs no skill as it rewards the spray and pray style compared to a more tactical and accurate approach, and although this is fun I find it too easy to kill the Covenant during the game. Multiplayer is fun.... when with the right people unfortunately if not you're in for one hell of a time as kids do nothing but hurl obscenities at you on a map that you have played over and over and over again. unfortunately that experience has led me to have a very negative view on multiplayer as well. Expand
  71. ImaFurry
    Dec 9, 2008
    10
    I love Halo because it's simple and fair, other games have tried to throw in new amour and special weapon stuff to reward the players who win, but all that does is widen the gap between the pros and the noobs. And to say this game takes no skill just means you died the whole time and don't know how to play, in multiplayer you have to know how to shoot properly and how to drive I love Halo because it's simple and fair, other games have tried to throw in new amour and special weapon stuff to reward the players who win, but all that does is widen the gap between the pros and the noobs. And to say this game takes no skill just means you died the whole time and don't know how to play, in multiplayer you have to know how to shoot properly and how to drive and stuff, the slightest mistake means you die. And also you need to work together as a team on things like capture the flag. And some people complain about how it's just the same thing as the first two Halo games, but if they had made it very different and changed everything, then everyone would be complaining about how different it is. (infact some people still whine about the downgraded pistol) And the storyline makes not sense? Wat? go RTFM and/or play the first two games Oh and also Forge, Theater, 4-Player Co-op, File Share, etc. Expand
  72. MalcolmG.
    Jan 3, 2008
    5
    Single Player: I was hoping that I was going to be able to finish the fight, humanity's fight that is. However, once again, Bungie decided to confuse me with a bunch of amazing advertisements and produce a lack-luster game. Halo 3 is really just a medicore game, truly average gameplay, more comprobable to a "7." However, because the story was depressing, as it didn't live up to Single Player: I was hoping that I was going to be able to finish the fight, humanity's fight that is. However, once again, Bungie decided to confuse me with a bunch of amazing advertisements and produce a lack-luster game. Halo 3 is really just a medicore game, truly average gameplay, more comprobable to a "7." However, because the story was depressing, as it didn't live up to the hype, and inconclusive and spotty for a trilogy, Halo 3's single player at best deserves a 2. Multiplayer: Halo 2 with some equipment, the return of a better assault rifle, some new vehicles, similar maps, and forge. Probably a 9 or so, because it is pretty fun multiplayer. Bottom Line: Halo 3 gets a bad score because it was supposed to focus on the single player - it failed miserably in this very important department. Expand
  73. MojoR.
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    Folks - If you didnt become a Halo addict at Halo 1, then you can only stand by and wonder what the clamor is for. This is the last of a Trilogy and I think the campaigns are receiving the most negative attention only because the first 10 on Halo 1 were just that great. Halo 3 campaigns are slightly better than Halo 2 story line - Since I got lost in Halo 2s story line I am still foggy Folks - If you didnt become a Halo addict at Halo 1, then you can only stand by and wonder what the clamor is for. This is the last of a Trilogy and I think the campaigns are receiving the most negative attention only because the first 10 on Halo 1 were just that great. Halo 3 campaigns are slightly better than Halo 2 story line - Since I got lost in Halo 2s story line I am still foggy today, but I can rock this game on Heroic, and Legendary still gives me fits. Being a non-MOD 24 you can understand there is quite a challenge in the Campaigns. NOW the multi player - all of us addicts want to know - WHAT ABOUT THE BOARDS ??? You bet -0 They have COMPLETELY out did themselves !!! The boards - the weapons and combos are 10 +, they beat Halo 1 or 2, the hand to hand combos, the famed needler are more powerful, the (What we call) Ban Hammer is a more fair weapon than the energy sword - so in all I'd say the creators really focused on multi-player game play, and I think they did as near a perfect job as they could. For all you non halo players who bash it - It's a Master Chief thing - You wouldnt get it. Expand
  74. xenophobic
    Jan 5, 2008
    3
    i don't usually agree w/ other users when they say highly-rated games are overrated but i'm going to agree with them this time. This game is overrated. Single player is crap. There is really nothing unique about the gameplay experience unlike bioshock/portal except that it lets you jump 3 times higher than normal (sort of like sv_gravity 300 @ counter-strike) w/c is plainlyi don't usually agree w/ other users when they say highly-rated games are overrated but i'm going to agree with them this time. This game is overrated. Single player is crap. There is really nothing unique about the gameplay experience unlike bioshock/portal except that it lets you jump 3 times higher than normal (sort of like sv_gravity 300 @ counter-strike) w/c is plainly laughable. It's like they're more interested in ripping our cash off for the multiplayer mode (xbox live) instead of making something epic and memorable. I want my money back! Expand
  75. HagenM.
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    Excellent game. The campaign has a riveting plot line and never lets up on the action. The music is absolutely amazing and well-timed. The multiplayer neevr gets old. Anyone who lets up on multiplayer probably isn't good or has a conniption. I'm still playing online after a year.
  76. BenC
    Oct 8, 2008
    5
    Generic, completely over-hyped shooter.
  77. DanishA.
    Feb 10, 2008
    5
    Not as good as I expected it to be. Halo 1 & 2 was better. I think there are many games better than this game. I got tired of playing this game after a while.
  78. ZachDecker
    Feb 22, 2008
    10
    Excellent game, holy crap this game is so good. I cant stop playing it!
  79. EddieM.
    Feb 24, 2008
    10
    For the users or critics to give this any lower than a 99 is a complete disgrace. Greatest multiplayer game in history, regardless. And infinitely better than a game made all for hiding and camping (Call Of Duty 4). Oh, and the Campaign is still amazing.
  80. ManuelP.
    Feb 5, 2008
    10
    Persoanlly I think Call of Duty 4 is a better game and if you haven't bought halo 3 already and thinking about buying it i would reserve that cash for grand theft auto IV. And obviously Jim B's review is biased just because they got ahold of a map before the game came out and they still decided to sell it doesn't make the game deserve a o..do you know how hard it is to Persoanlly I think Call of Duty 4 is a better game and if you haven't bought halo 3 already and thinking about buying it i would reserve that cash for grand theft auto IV. And obviously Jim B's review is biased just because they got ahold of a map before the game came out and they still decided to sell it doesn't make the game deserve a o..do you know how hard it is to design a good map? Plus the heroic map pack is going to be free sometime in the future anyway from what I heard. but anyway game is great to play with your friends especially games like infection, co - op and forge, mostly recomend halo 3 if you like to mess around with your friends since call of duty 4's multiplayer can get boring after about 25 hours worth of multiplayer gameplay since it can get kind of repititive after you get everything unlock unless you want to trade in all of your weapons for a new little icon. Expand
  81. AidanJ.
    Mar 2, 2008
    0
    It's not a zero, but this could maybe help realign the balance. This game is a 5 or 6 out of 10, it's average. Nothing special. What's there is well executed, but lacks originality.
  82. JohnN.
    Mar 30, 2008
    5
    I'll be very relevant with my interview and will avoid comparisons, for a more honest review. The single player is a vomit on top of dog droppings (that is an understatement). Bungie is a relic as you may know, and i feel as though they don't know how to make a next gen experience. It's chokepoint after chokepoint, problem after another. The guns feel recycled (which they I'll be very relevant with my interview and will avoid comparisons, for a more honest review. The single player is a vomit on top of dog droppings (that is an understatement). Bungie is a relic as you may know, and i feel as though they don't know how to make a next gen experience. It's chokepoint after chokepoint, problem after another. The guns feel recycled (which they are lol), and the hit detection is awful, you will find better in N64 shooters! The multiplayer redeems the single player don't worry. It surely isn't new, but with its easy party interface, and matchmaking system, it is eerily still ahead of most games you will find. My only complaint is that they decreased the gap between noobs and vets. Let the horrible die, and the good live. Overall, must buy for the multiplayer, why play the single player? Just look up the ending on youtube. Expand
  83. NickW.
    Mar 6, 2008
    0
    Don't believe the hype this game is so over rated. One of the worst FPS I have ever played. If you want a good FPS buy Call of Duty 4 or the up and coming Timesplitters or Haze! Alien shooting C**P!
  84. Gary
    Mar 6, 2008
    5
    A truly disappointing game. Definetly does not live up to the hype it was receiving. Also the visuals are not there like other games show. The only decent prospective is that of the multiplayer, even that does get extremely repetitive.
  85. AnonymousMC
    Mar 7, 2008
    10
    One of the best games out for the Xbox 360. Every Xbox 360 gamer must simply buy it and play it. The only thing I didn't like about this game was that the campaign was too short and the last two levels were Terrible. But I'm still praying for a sequel to come.
  86. DanielHavoc
    Mar 7, 2008
    9
    Halo 3 performs superbly in many ways. Graphics, Audio, Entertainment, Playability, and Replay value are all very high. Halo 3 contains few errors, and is not perfect, but in the end it performs well.

    ---------------FOR METACRITIC (ERASE)-------------- Metacritic, if you could please allow my comment below this side note parapgrah to be added, I would highly appreciate it. I do not
    Halo 3 performs superbly in many ways. Graphics, Audio, Entertainment, Playability, and Replay value are all very high. Halo 3 contains few errors, and is not perfect, but in the end it performs well.

    ---------------FOR METACRITIC (ERASE)--------------
    Metacritic, if you could please allow my comment below this side note parapgrah to be added, I would highly appreciate it. I do not seek to cause tension between fans of Halo and fans of COD. But I feel I deserve the right to mention what I have stated below, and know that I do not only speak for myself
    ---------------FOR METACRITIC (ERASE)--------------

    CALL OF DUTY 4 fans: I have played Call of Duty 4. It is a great game, and has both its advantages and disadvantages over other shooters (like Halo 3). But the fact that so many "anti-halo" fans are posting weak comments about COD's dominance over Halo 3, is unethical. This section is to rank Halo 3, not for COD Fanboys to share the obsessions about COD dominating Halo 3. I take no side between the two games. They are both great. But please save the COD talk for the COD section. And Halo fans, keep the Halo talk here.

    Thank you for your time. Happy gaming!
    Expand
  87. AGuy
    Apr 10, 2008
    9
    while not as historically important as halo combat evolved the fact remains that halo 3 is one of the best fps games of all time. the single player is admitatly short its the best of the series so far. and the multiplayer is the best on 360. halo 3 can stand side by side with the best fps of this and any generation long live halo 3
  88. Daniel
    Apr 1, 2008
    3
    I was completely unsatisfied with the experience.
  89. spongebobsquarepants
    Apr 20, 2008
    8
    Halo one was a classic. Halo 2 expanded the Halo universe and made it more immersive with it's epic story and solid game-play. Halo 3's story is uncreative and disappointing. After halo 2's cliff hanger ending I was expecting bungie to expand the halo world even further. Instead, they refined all the combat and game-play from the first to games and made it better. ItHalo one was a classic. Halo 2 expanded the Halo universe and made it more immersive with it's epic story and solid game-play. Halo 3's story is uncreative and disappointing. After halo 2's cliff hanger ending I was expecting bungie to expand the halo world even further. Instead, they refined all the combat and game-play from the first to games and made it better. It just doesn't feel like bungie was trying hard enough! The game was too short. Level 8 was terrible. The ending was a rip off and very unoriginal. Despite the misleading hype this game was still great. Expand
  90. MicaelC.
    Apr 7, 2008
    10
    The best game ever! After finishing at Easy, I just wanted more and yes if you think it's easy you have 3 levels more to hardness to try. The AI is great but the MP is even better. Great graphics and the feeling in the cars and guns are stunning.
  91. IsaacC.
    Apr 8, 2008
    10
    The Halo trilogy is best game ever created.
  92. LukeV.
    Apr 9, 2008
    7
    Excellent solo play, multiplayer gets a bit repetitive.
  93. AddisonG.
    May 24, 2008
    9
    Halo 3's didn't end the story line in a very satisfing way but the multiplayer, forge, and above all the theater option is amazing. They deserve props for that.
  94. DanK.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    Halo 3 is an amazingly solid game produced by one of the most involved game development studios ever. The single player is immensely satisfying and the multiplayer provides thrills for months on end.
  95. DanielN.
    Jun 13, 2008
    6
    This game is an average shooter... with a short campaign, the game seems to just be Halo 2 with a bit of polish. The only reason I gave this game a 6 is that their is some innovation in the Forge mode. If you love multiplayer then this game is o.k, but the weapons feel unbalanced and useless. And although their are quite a few weapons in the multiplayer you will only ever find your self This game is an average shooter... with a short campaign, the game seems to just be Halo 2 with a bit of polish. The only reason I gave this game a 6 is that their is some innovation in the Forge mode. If you love multiplayer then this game is o.k, but the weapons feel unbalanced and useless. And although their are quite a few weapons in the multiplayer you will only ever find your self using 2-3 weapons regularly. Expand
  96. JohnW.
    Jun 2, 2008
    5
    The most over-rated game ever. At least the multiplayer's decent.
  97. AvinashA.
    Jun 22, 2008
    10
    3 seconds after kicking some Covenant butt this game just becomes addicting. Really Fun. 2 Player Campaign is also quite fun. For instance, you can drive while a Warthog while your friend operates the turret or vice-versa. Great Game!
  98. SmagaD.
    Jun 25, 2008
    1
    This game is a fricken monster to mankind if there was anything below 0 i would of given it that.
  99. Rickmurder
    Jun 8, 2008
    10
    Best game ever and i bet some of you have who rated this haven't even played it before.
  100. TomA.
    Jul 1, 2008
    9
    It is obvious when reading through some of the user comments that many reviews have been submitted by people who have an irrational hatred of halo 3, 'because its popular' syndrome. However personally i feel this game is great, I enjoyed the single player thoroughly, until it ended, and granted, it did so quite quickly, not clocking in much more than 7 hours for me on heroic It is obvious when reading through some of the user comments that many reviews have been submitted by people who have an irrational hatred of halo 3, 'because its popular' syndrome. However personally i feel this game is great, I enjoyed the single player thoroughly, until it ended, and granted, it did so quite quickly, not clocking in much more than 7 hours for me on heroic difficulty. Co op online is great going throught the missionsn with up to 3 other players online, not to mention some of the achievements available on the campaign mode, adding for more replay value. Multiplayer is where halo 3 shines, and quite frankly anyone who feels that the game doesnt have a great online system is an idiot, I could go all 'Pro' and moan about battle rifle changes, but tbh no one excpet the competetive folks rly care about that. But the whole experience of online play is sesnsational, the matchmaking system works well normally finding games quickly, depending on amount of playres in the playlist and skill levels available. Antway I digress, Halo 3 = Great game, minor faults, Alot of people here are just giving it low to make it look bad, it is a 7 at worst, bt tbh i cnt see how it isnt at least an 8, i'll give it 9 coz of theatre and forge modes tho , anyone giving it lower than about a 7 has some sort of bias up their sleeve, maybe bungie called them names...who knows. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's the addition of the Forge level editor and the saved films that give the game an even longer set of legs, legs that will probably keep you running at full speed until Bungie figures out where, exactly, to go from here.
  2. Halo 3 is the best Xbox 360 game to date. The single-player campaign and storyline are both very strong, but it's Forge and the Saved Films features that will likely go down in history as Bungie's crowning achievements. They've basically taken everything great about the series and improved upon it in every way, then added some amazing new features that we'll be using for years to come.
  3. 100
    It's solid gameplay, immense replayability, online functionality and incredible production values will ensure its place in video game history, and it is, without a doubt, a satisfying and fulfilling close to the beloved trilogy[?].