User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3809 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. johnDoe
    Jul 4, 2008
    2
    This game is good to play ONCE and single player goes from NOT INTERESTING -> Slightly Interesting -> P*SS Poor .

    I regret getting this for my birthday.

    If you really want to play this game, pay $7 and rent it, DO NOT BUY <---HORRIBLE GAME TO OWN
    Gets boring in under a week.
  2. MichaelF.
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    I laugh at all the negative comments of this game. This game is almost the grounds for all FPS to come.. Notice how all these FPS are starting to use mechanics that Halo uses? This game easily deserves an 8-10. There's really only about 3 reasons why someone would give this game a 0.. 1. Someone who only owns a PS3 and despises the fact that it's not on the console 2. I laugh at all the negative comments of this game. This game is almost the grounds for all FPS to come.. Notice how all these FPS are starting to use mechanics that Halo uses? This game easily deserves an 8-10. There's really only about 3 reasons why someone would give this game a 0.. 1. Someone who only owns a PS3 and despises the fact that it's not on the console 2. You're just Anti-Halo 3. You thought this was going to be the second coming of Jesus.. I can guarantee you if this was multi-platform, almost every comment on here would be 8-10.. seriously folks, you are truly pathetic. Expand
  3. PinkFloyd
    Aug 1, 2008
    10
    Certainly, this game suffers from a user base that looks at its immense popularity among non-gamers and shudders. I gave this game a ten because not only do I enjoy this game (multiplayer especially) personally, but because people who aren't into video games are still into Halo 3. Even people who claim that you have to be into the franchise to be into Halo 3 are wrong when you look Certainly, this game suffers from a user base that looks at its immense popularity among non-gamers and shudders. I gave this game a ten because not only do I enjoy this game (multiplayer especially) personally, but because people who aren't into video games are still into Halo 3. Even people who claim that you have to be into the franchise to be into Halo 3 are wrong when you look at the sheer numbers. Did one million people log on to Halo 2 every day? Absolutely not, but Halo 3 logs just under that number of users almost an entire year after its release (and anyone who actually plays will tell you that it's not a population of fanboys, because it really isn't). I highly recommend this game, especially for science fiction FPS lovers like myself who want a game with a story that provides more depth and symbolism than CoD4 or Gears could ever hope to offer, and a multiplayer that kicks just as much ass. Expand
  4. MartinK.
    Aug 16, 2008
    7
    to Christian H. It is "MIGHT AS well," not "minus well." Jesus, people, that's not even grammatical. hell, that's not even a spelling error. that's just called stupid.
  5. joeycarreras
    Aug 22, 2008
    10
    best game ever made
  6. BobJ.
    Sep 11, 2008
    10
    Master D. i just want you to know that you can blow me. The fact that you suck dick at this incredible game doesn't give you an excuse to bash it. If you look at the extra features, the video recorder, the forge, the extremely diverse and numerous maps you can clearly see this game is a ten. The physics engine and graphics are mind blowing alone and the multiplayer will never get old Master D. i just want you to know that you can blow me. The fact that you suck dick at this incredible game doesn't give you an excuse to bash it. If you look at the extra features, the video recorder, the forge, the extremely diverse and numerous maps you can clearly see this game is a ten. The physics engine and graphics are mind blowing alone and the multiplayer will never get old and this game will be looked back upon as revolutionary. Again you can blow me, before you come on here talking about shit you don't know learn your facts you punk ass pussy bitch. Expand
  7. StuartB.
    Sep 22, 2008
    6
    Halo 3 succeeds in offering the same linear, formulaic gameplay which I'm sure the majority of it's unenlightened fanbase craves. Perhaps if you've never played any other decent FPS titles before you'd think Halo 3 is a ground breaking revelation. However to anyone else whose played many other FPS games of higher calibre will find this to be a trite and turgid Halo 3 succeeds in offering the same linear, formulaic gameplay which I'm sure the majority of it's unenlightened fanbase craves. Perhaps if you've never played any other decent FPS titles before you'd think Halo 3 is a ground breaking revelation. However to anyone else whose played many other FPS games of higher calibre will find this to be a trite and turgid experience which offers nothing new whatsoever. 6/10 for a solid, yet completely uninspired, boring FPS. Expand
  8. MattyF.
    Sep 20, 2008
    9
    Everyone giving it a 10 is blind, but everyone giving it below a 7 is just as ignorant. Online is great fun when it isn't laggy, Americans can play perfect games 9/10 times, while the rest of the world is left out. Gameplay is solid, Graphics are solid, and it is balanced as all hell. Everyone having a go at the MP obviously does not know how to play the game properly. Anybody can Everyone giving it a 10 is blind, but everyone giving it below a 7 is just as ignorant. Online is great fun when it isn't laggy, Americans can play perfect games 9/10 times, while the rest of the world is left out. Gameplay is solid, Graphics are solid, and it is balanced as all hell. Everyone having a go at the MP obviously does not know how to play the game properly. Anybody can play any game shit and not enjoy it, but once you get half decent, you understand everything and enjoy it. BTW Chris, don't steal Yahtzee's lines. This game is made to be played with mates, Coop and Online. Play with mates and don't care if you win or lose, and you will enjoy it. I've played this campaign around 5 times, certain levels up in to the high teens, and i still love it, why? because it's a social experience. So stop bitcihng. Expand
  9. KhristianR.
    Sep 29, 2008
    8
    Halo 3 is a good game, but it doesn't really do much more than the first and second games did. It feels more like an addon data disk. It really excels in Multiplayer, especially online. Also the addition of being able to alter the pre-designed levels. I'd say for £10-£15. its worth it, especially with more maps being made available. But I wouldn't go as far to Halo 3 is a good game, but it doesn't really do much more than the first and second games did. It feels more like an addon data disk. It really excels in Multiplayer, especially online. Also the addition of being able to alter the pre-designed levels. I'd say for £10-£15. its worth it, especially with more maps being made available. But I wouldn't go as far to give it 5* ratings 90+% and claims that its the best game of the decade. It is good, but not that good. SCORE : 84% Expand
  10. ryanA
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    this game is amazing. the story is well done as always. the music will be remembered like old megaman music of the final fantasies. graphics look awesome. the multiplayer really is intense, it might be a little hard for some people, but the hardcore gamers know that this is a shooter at its best.
  11. NicholasS
    Jan 13, 2009
    10
    (Before i comment on this game i just want to remind all of you that this game has stayed in the top spot for online activity for over a year after its release.I have also noticed that everyone who gives this game a bad review don't actually tell us how it is bad. They just say stuff like "the multiplayer and campaign sucks, the graphics suck" but they don't actually tell us HOW (Before i comment on this game i just want to remind all of you that this game has stayed in the top spot for online activity for over a year after its release.I have also noticed that everyone who gives this game a bad review don't actually tell us how it is bad. They just say stuff like "the multiplayer and campaign sucks, the graphics suck" but they don't actually tell us HOW it sucks, the just go out and say it. If it is how you actually feel about the game and you arent just trying to get it's score down.. the you are entitled to your own opinion.Okay here's my actual Review.) Halo 3 IS give lots of replayability because of all the difficulty levels,skulls,meta game and 4 player CO-OP. It is a bit short however.The Multiplayer is also fun because of the 18(soon to be 24) maps, the arsenal of weapons/vehicles, the saved films and screenshots that you can share. My favorite new feature is the FORGE because you can make your own maps(duh).SOOOO yeah I just think its a really fun game.END OF REVIEW!!! Expand
  12. J.G.
    Dec 26, 2009
    7
    As much as I loved the first two Halo games, I just can't say that about the third one in the series. Now, I'm not saying this is a BAD game, it's just not the best it could've been. Halo 3's graphics where fantastic for its time and are still pretty impressive to this day. There's a great campaign that's a bit short, but it's still fun. If you have As much as I loved the first two Halo games, I just can't say that about the third one in the series. Now, I'm not saying this is a BAD game, it's just not the best it could've been. Halo 3's graphics where fantastic for its time and are still pretty impressive to this day. There's a great campaign that's a bit short, but it's still fun. If you have friends that you can play the campaign with, it usually is more fun. Friends are the core of this game, if you don't have friends with Halo, don't get Halo, it is that simple. The game is also a ton of fun to play online...with friends. The community is made of bratty 12-year-olds that think they're tough $h1t. If you have friends to play with, I'd recommend keeping them. The real problem with this game is that it doesn't have the same feeling as the original Halo and instead feels more like Resistance rather than its awesome, awesome original game. Too bad, too, because that would've made it awesome. Expand
  13. FredrickB
    Oct 25, 2009
    7
    Being a Halo vet, im a lil disappointed in the Campaign side of the game, ending just an ending, nothing special or surpising about it. The multiplayer side of the game is good. There is so much missing from this game, like equipment use, less use of the many weapons in other Halo's, but im still a big fan of Halo, hopfully they will get the next one right.
  14. MT
    Feb 22, 2009
    8
    Halo 3 starts off the campaign mode brilliantly with some well set out and well-timed action set pieces. However, later on in the game, which isn't the longest (you could finish it within 4-6 hours) it gets nothing but boring, dull and here-we-go-again style. The multiplayer is unpredictable. The most hyped part of the game, but most disappointing. The lag in match after match, the Halo 3 starts off the campaign mode brilliantly with some well set out and well-timed action set pieces. However, later on in the game, which isn't the longest (you could finish it within 4-6 hours) it gets nothing but boring, dull and here-we-go-again style. The multiplayer is unpredictable. The most hyped part of the game, but most disappointing. The lag in match after match, the continuation of games when everybody lags and dies unexpectedly and the overall poor level design in online maps is the most disappointing part of the game, which certainly isn't one of the best FPSs ever...No where near. Expand
  15. brianw.
    Feb 24, 2009
    10
    As a single player this was the game I wanted to keep putting in the 360 until finished. I only play online with one friend and it is the one I want to keep playing online. Just the best FPS I have played, nothing frustrating about it. What a shooter should be.
  16. Ex14
    Feb 9, 2009
    8
    I would have put 7.5 but there isn't any option to. Anyway it's been more than a year since it's launch, and glad to say it's still going strong. Needless to say it's a great game. Plus it has lots of re-playability. ESP in it's multiplayer. The reviews below might diss it, but don't be fooled. It is a good game. Just not great. The story's ok, I would have put 7.5 but there isn't any option to. Anyway it's been more than a year since it's launch, and glad to say it's still going strong. Needless to say it's a great game. Plus it has lots of re-playability. ESP in it's multiplayer. The reviews below might diss it, but don't be fooled. It is a good game. Just not great. The story's ok, though u need to have played halo ce and halo 2 to understand what's it about and the graphics though just an updated ver of Halo 2, still. it looks beautiful. Multiplayer is a blast. If not for the ocassionally screechy kids online. HAlo 3 is a game you should at least play once through. Even if u dun buy it, rent it. Expand
  17. MattS
    Mar 8, 2009
    10
    This game is a great end to the series and in my opinion the best. I will say the story line could have been longer, but the multiplayer more than makes up for any of its faults. And Obama L.., if they made any major breakthroughs with Halo 3, it probably wouldn
  18. MarcusL
    Apr 3, 2009
    3
    Halo has been a series that made the Xbox what it is. Halo was amazing for it's time, with awesome mulitplayer and a compeling story. Halo 2 enhanced the graphics, continued the story and best of all, had Xbox LIVE multiplayer. Now, an expected third installment is out, and..... it tripped on it's shoelaces. First of all, is the story. The story can be completed in around 7 or Halo has been a series that made the Xbox what it is. Halo was amazing for it's time, with awesome mulitplayer and a compeling story. Halo 2 enhanced the graphics, continued the story and best of all, had Xbox LIVE multiplayer. Now, an expected third installment is out, and..... it tripped on it's shoelaces. First of all, is the story. The story can be completed in around 7 or so hours, which is nothing nowadays. Secondly, is the multiplayer side of things. Sure the usual 16-player matchmacking is great, but the custom games is littered with awful custom made maps and games. I know I'm critizing this game on the public's creations, but really, it's the public's fault. Thirdly is the map packs. Yes, some are good, but the rest are pointless and a waste of space. Add the fact that they all started off at the price of 800 Microsoft points, and you've reached fanboy central if you buy all of them. All in all, Halo 3 would have been a good game, if it wasn't for an awfully short campaign, awful custom maps and expensive and mainly crap maps, and you've got a dissapointing end to a great series. Expand
  19. 123456
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    Anyone who rated this game a 0 especially the guy who said this is xbox 360's killzone 2 should be burnt alive. Seriously Halo 3 came before killzone 2, it doesn't make any sense. Anyways, great storyline and addictive multiplayer. The theater mode and forge just adds hours of more replay value too.
  20. ElliottW
    Jul 7, 2009
    6
    Now call me bitter because all my friends are now addicted to the darn game, but I think this game is extremely overated. I'd say the only good aspect of this game is the multiplayer, and even that wasn't great. Oh, and if you are planning on buying it, expect drab corridors aplenty!
  21. DanielV.
    Aug 11, 2009
    1
    This game is absolutely horrendous, and ridiculously over hyped. Seriously, a 94? The story is bland, and the multiplayer is nothing to get even remotely excited about.

    This is one of the few games that has mad me lose more and more faith in humanity. I honestly don't see how people can enjoy this game like the reviewers do. If you want a real game that out does Halo 3 in every
    This game is absolutely horrendous, and ridiculously over hyped. Seriously, a 94? The story is bland, and the multiplayer is nothing to get even remotely excited about.

    This is one of the few games that has mad me lose more and more faith in humanity. I honestly don't see how people can enjoy this game like the reviewers do. If you want a real game that out does Halo 3 in every facet; play Half-Life 2.
    Expand
  22. MichaelK.
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    I've had so much fun with this game. the campaign wraps up the halo story nicely and multi player is amazing as always. For some reason there always seems to be a large number of people who just spam low scores on the halo games saying how bad they are for stupid petty little problems, none of which makes the game less enjoyable in some way. this is what console shooters are all I've had so much fun with this game. the campaign wraps up the halo story nicely and multi player is amazing as always. For some reason there always seems to be a large number of people who just spam low scores on the halo games saying how bad they are for stupid petty little problems, none of which makes the game less enjoyable in some way. this is what console shooters are all about. no its not deep like HL2 but its fun Expand
  23. JosephL.
    Nov 13, 2007
    9
    Great game, possibly the best in the Halo series, but it's multiplayer is still too catered to the casual player.
  24. JoeD
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    This is a fantastic game. Ignore the low scores from the others, most of them are just ignorant. The graphics are also superb, without being as technically impressive as Gears of War. This game has far superior gameplay to most FPS titles including Half Life 2, Bioshock and Gears of War. Most of all Halo 3 is great fun and well worth purchasing.
  25. NJ
    Oct 1, 2007
    3
    Not even HD. Moore and Gates were claiming just two E3s ago Halo would be the best game graphically on any system and were showing supposed "in-game" footage. Now the game is out and it's nowhere close to the footage they showed, infact the game isn't even HD. It's only 640p resolution, upscaled to 1080p. Very disappointed.
  26. ApocalypseBrown
    Nov 16, 2007
    9
    For those who slander Halo 3, and say Call of Duty 4 is a more mature and better game? That is complete rubbish! Apart from the single player of COD4, Halo pisses all over it with polished gameplay, the best mulitplayer on any shooter, and map maker capabilities. Ok the single player here is marginally better than Halo 2, much isn't really saying much. But there is less repetition For those who slander Halo 3, and say Call of Duty 4 is a more mature and better game? That is complete rubbish! Apart from the single player of COD4, Halo pisses all over it with polished gameplay, the best mulitplayer on any shooter, and map maker capabilities. Ok the single player here is marginally better than Halo 2, much isn't really saying much. But there is less repetition and a much better arsenal of weapons, there is lots of fun to be had here. But where it excels to God-Father status is the multi player. The best ever! There is too much to write about, so go forth and play it! Forge is a nice novelty, and those patient enough to make good maps are well worth playing on. Overall I understand why some are upset about Halo, but this is second best shooter out there EVER! COD4 is a decent, but wooden ride with racist propaganda steeped all over it. Multi player score - 10. Forge - 9. Single player - 7. Overall 9! Expand
  27. D.Smith
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    I didn't have high hopes for this game, as I was disappointed greatly by Halo 2, but it manages to surpass my expectations. The changes to dual wielding are great, as are the new weapons, multiplayer is far more balanced, and it has the most robust, yet intuitive multiplayer components of any game I've ever played.
  28. TimE.
    Nov 17, 2007
    7
    The graphics and story are awesome, however... it looks like Halo 2 with higher resolution textures and very little innovation. Next Gen Gaming shouldn't include Halo 3 as a front runner. This game is very last generation in it's thinking. Perhaps i was just hoping for something new.
  29. LanaR.
    Oct 11, 2007
    8
    Aesthetically, the game is amazing to look at. The campaign mode was definitely short but I found it really fun. I liked the new weapons and the revamping of the old ones to look and sound more amazing. The new tools, such as the auto-turret and the regenerator and the bubble shield, etc etc are kind of pointless in multiplayer and take too much concentration to deploy. I am having a Aesthetically, the game is amazing to look at. The campaign mode was definitely short but I found it really fun. I liked the new weapons and the revamping of the old ones to look and sound more amazing. The new tools, such as the auto-turret and the regenerator and the bubble shield, etc etc are kind of pointless in multiplayer and take too much concentration to deploy. I am having a problem with multiplayer mode in general. I thought I was pretty damn decent in Halo 2 multiplayer, and now I feel like I'm a total newbie. I feel like I have no advantage over other players with any weapon combinations I choose. It almost feels like you're playing in third person compared to Halo 2 feeling like you were right there in the game. Is it just me, or do you not FEEL getting hit or shot? It's like you're running around just fine and suddenly you're lying there dead without any warning, and I don't find multiplayer as fun as H2. Expand
  30. AnonymousMC
    Oct 1, 2007
    9
    Big fan of the series. I liked the campaign, don't really know why people are so upset about that. The gameplay itself is next to perfect but some decisions made by Bungie concerning the multiplayer just keeps amazing me. TEAM SLAYER with shotty snipers?!?!? that's a joke, why snipers have to ruin such a good playlist? But moreover, where's the hardcore playlist???!?!?!?!Big fan of the series. I liked the campaign, don't really know why people are so upset about that. The gameplay itself is next to perfect but some decisions made by Bungie concerning the multiplayer just keeps amazing me. TEAM SLAYER with shotty snipers?!?!? that's a joke, why snipers have to ruin such a good playlist? But moreover, where's the hardcore playlist???!?!?!?! everyone loves oddbalsl and king of the hills, now they are nowhere to be found. One other thing: MP maps. Huge setback, spoiled by too big areas. And that snowy map; why on earth there are those shield-doors??? makes gaming ridiculous. I just wait for update to make things right again. Bungie wake up! loose the snipers, add k.o.t.h.'s. You guys don't want to please majority, you have to please everyone! Expand
  31. ShazamD.
    Nov 2, 2007
    7
    As most of you know, the hype wanted to make us expect Halo 3 to be a golden platter of excellency. Let me just get this out of the way before I actually review this game. Halo 3 is in no respect a "bad" game. In my opinion I consider it to be average, with an admittedly fun multiplayer. However in my opinion if Bungie really wanted to outdo themselves they would have put multiplayer on As most of you know, the hype wanted to make us expect Halo 3 to be a golden platter of excellency. Let me just get this out of the way before I actually review this game. Halo 3 is in no respect a "bad" game. In my opinion I consider it to be average, with an admittedly fun multiplayer. However in my opinion if Bungie really wanted to outdo themselves they would have put multiplayer on one disc and single player on another so they could give the campaign some actual DEPTH. So onto the actual review. In this installment of the Halo series, Master Chief has to finally finish the fight against the Covenant in a criminally short adventure of an average of 10 hours. The difficulty seems to be a bit... off. At the beginning some of the enemies destroyed me, but by the end one is supposed to constitute as a final boss battle was basically shooting a small, 5th grader with a gun with the power of a miniature tank. Of course I am focusing on the bad, at the moment so I'll go to some of the good. Halo 3 has good graphics, texture, very good voice acting, and moments of pure gold in the game (i.e. the Red vs. Blue reference) To finish off, Halo 3 is all right I suppose, I liked BioShock and the Orange Box more, but what the hell, right? If you just want a barely average, high speed single player action game and a fun multiplayer then Halo 3 is the game for you. If not, I suggest waiting for Mass Effect. Expand
  32. Gavin
    Nov 20, 2007
    7
    i love halo and to be frank this game clears its name then puts a massive stain on it the multiplayer has imporved with 4player co-op on campain and HD the single player campian though is where the stain comes in yes campain is a little short but thats when you play it on easy i finish it in 2 hours best part of the campian is the lengdary its been revamped in my mind because 1. theres ai love halo and to be frank this game clears its name then puts a massive stain on it the multiplayer has imporved with 4player co-op on campain and HD the single player campian though is where the stain comes in yes campain is a little short but thats when you play it on easy i finish it in 2 hours best part of the campian is the lengdary its been revamped in my mind because 1. theres a massive noticable effect in were the AI is smarter ALOT more bad guys and to top it off ya shield may as well be tin foil XD this makes up for the short campain by extending the amount of time needed to complete the game (around 15hours) but still not bad lastly comes the end it sez finish the fight but.... WHAT FIGHT DID WE FINISH yes we killed the covernat around earth but what about everywhere else and not to mention the earth and all the rings on stanby still this game still leaves a lot of loose ends and it finishes on another cliff hanger with masterchief and cortana alone in space adrift if there isnt a halo 4 i will be very disapointed with bungie after all the idea of a triogy is to finish the story in 3 releases which hasnt occured here.. Expand
  33. John-eB.
    Nov 28, 2007
    5
    This Game was a major disappointment..! Don't get me wrong I was a huge fan of 1 and 2....but halo 3 didn't bring anything new to the table. A few new features, but not worth all the hype. This game seemed very repetitious...NOT A MUST HAVE!!
  34. AntonioM.
    Nov 28, 2007
    9
    Great. You will replay the campaign a lot of times with your friends (LIVE or Split Screen), and after playing it a lot of times you will still think it's great! Multiplayer is awesome: lots of game modes and great gameplay. BUY IT!
  35. A.Nonymous
    Oct 13, 2007
    2
    An obnoxious, uninspiring mess of a game. Halo truly is the Harry Potter of the gaming world; a generic thing at the right place at the right time. At best, I would have given this a 4-5, but the fact that it has been neglected to the point of utter indiference by it's creators and portrays itself as a masterpiece, it deserves a 2. Do not believe the hype.
  36. J.J.C.C.
    Oct 13, 2007
    7
    What the crap happened with halo 3? What made halo 2 great was the effect of being drawn into the game; the feeling that you are the master chief. But in this game, the FEEL of the game has changed, its as if you are playing warcraft with guns on a PC. Graphics are not fully necessary to make a game great; it is the gameplay people! Bungie should have made this game more REALISTIC; how What the crap happened with halo 3? What made halo 2 great was the effect of being drawn into the game; the feeling that you are the master chief. But in this game, the FEEL of the game has changed, its as if you are playing warcraft with guns on a PC. Graphics are not fully necessary to make a game great; it is the gameplay people! Bungie should have made this game more REALISTIC; how come a melee hit takes more damage than a bullet !?! So much hype for a halo 1 type gameplay with no 21st century REALISTIC physical dimentionality! Expand
  37. ClintN/A
    Oct 13, 2007
    6
    The game is good, way better than Halo 2, yet the time it takes to kill an opponent in multiplayer is waaay too fast, and it is way slower to turn around on a controller than with a mouse, the game seems to be the quick and the dead, and not much strategy is involved versus games like HL2: deathmatch or Kill Zone. 500 years of technology, a full metal suit with a shield, and Gordon The game is good, way better than Halo 2, yet the time it takes to kill an opponent in multiplayer is waaay too fast, and it is way slower to turn around on a controller than with a mouse, the game seems to be the quick and the dead, and not much strategy is involved versus games like HL2: deathmatch or Kill Zone. 500 years of technology, a full metal suit with a shield, and Gordon Freeman can still take more bulllets. Expand
  38. ToddT.
    Oct 13, 2007
    3
    this game was a joke in comparison of the first two halos. it took around 8 hrs play to beat this game. it was short and way to easy, I hope this is not the last one, unless they can not do any better than this one.
  39. EdmundL.
    Oct 13, 2007
    6
    Halo 3 wasn't great, It was average. A lot of places just seem to be giving it straight tens even though the campaign wasn't great, becuase apparantly the multiplayer "Makes up for that". But surely a 10 worthy game doesn't need excuses right?
  40. ChrisG.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    PS3 fans/Droids hating the game trying to bring the score down. Go watch Spiderman 3 or somthing, while I play GOTY, right next to Bioshock and Mass Effect.
  41. KarlG.
    Oct 14, 2007
    9
    There is no way that Halo 3 could live up to the hype that it picked up in development. That said, it is still a very solid, decent game. The campaign was somewhat short but it definitely gave your the impression that you "finished the fight". In regards to the multiplayer aspect, just like Halo 1 & 2, people will be playing it for years to come.
  42. IainC.
    Oct 14, 2007
    4
    i had more fun killing my allies in groups over and over then actually playing the game. you can tell that they started to run out of story ideas after the second halo. and they may have had no choice. the story of halo was a story that would have been better off with no ending. the way the story is written really doesnt let their be a descent ending. but. the first halo will always be my i had more fun killing my allies in groups over and over then actually playing the game. you can tell that they started to run out of story ideas after the second halo. and they may have had no choice. the story of halo was a story that would have been better off with no ending. the way the story is written really doesnt let their be a descent ending. but. the first halo will always be my favorite game. and if any thing, bungie should work on remaking the first halo and improving it. Expand
  43. JamieLea
    Oct 14, 2007
    1
    Played the single player on coop for a couple hours or so with a few friends before we released how boring and uninpsired it is. And of course the multiplayer is average DM whatever, just like the first two. But what do you expect? It's Halo. Just another average shooter that people salivate over because it was the only one on either xbox...until now.
  44. LukeH.
    Oct 14, 2007
    9
    I would first like to note that 2 sentences is not a legitimate review. For people who like to bring down a games score with..."garbage" or "Yawn. Played it already--it was called Halo 2."...I seriously think that you shouldnt quit your day-job of mooching off of mother in order to become a distinguished writer of the 21st century. Now, onto the review. This game is essential to anyone I would first like to note that 2 sentences is not a legitimate review. For people who like to bring down a games score with..."garbage" or "Yawn. Played it already--it was called Halo 2."...I seriously think that you shouldnt quit your day-job of mooching off of mother in order to become a distinguished writer of the 21st century. Now, onto the review. This game is essential to anyone who owns an xbox 360. Hands down has set the bar for what a 360 game should be. Being a fan of the games since it was orginally released as Marathon for PC--Bungie has carried there FSP shooter series into the Next Generation. The engrossing campaign--with added hours of skull-hunting--and varying levels of difficulty make it worthy of purchase in itself...but then you have the LARGEST onlien community available for any next-gen console out there. This aspect just turns an already GOLD game--right into platinum. Endless hours of pwning people names Rolf S, (and getting an uber-amount of achievements for doing so) or other Noobs just makes for a truly epic experience. Where it lacks is the campaign is short. Only about a max of 10 hours on Heroic difficulty. But, the hours after you beat the campaign...especially if you have access to the internet...and even if you dont...are truly endless. That is, if you aren't a noob who gets pwned on a game-to-game basis. Expand
  45. BARBARICRAGE
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    Good Campaign, Great Multiplayer- The saved film feature is awesome. A truly rewarding experience.
  46. PeterS.
    Oct 16, 2007
    7
    Pretty, fun weapons but a bit of an uninspired experience on the whole after Bioshock, Halflife 2 and Fear hit the market. Halo has seriously fallen behind the curve in developing their overall playability.
  47. DougJ.
    Nov 7, 2007
    5
    Halo 3 is the same as Halo 2 -- only with a bit more polish. Halo 2 is the same as Halo : Combat Evolved -- only with a bit more polish. Halo 3 is essentially the same game you've played over and over since 2001. The weapons are a bit different, the textures are higher resolution, but it's basically the same game. My number one complaint with the Halo series is the physics (or Halo 3 is the same as Halo 2 -- only with a bit more polish. Halo 2 is the same as Halo : Combat Evolved -- only with a bit more polish. Halo 3 is essentially the same game you've played over and over since 2001. The weapons are a bit different, the textures are higher resolution, but it's basically the same game. My number one complaint with the Halo series is the physics (or lack there of). When you play you feel like you're on the moon, or that the air is very thick and viscous. If an enemy approaches from 180 degrees behind you, you have very little chance of being able to turn around fast enough to defend yourself. The only reason this game is popular is due to the intense marketing Microsoft provided for Bungie (Fact: Halo 3 was the largest marketing campaign for any product ever). Expand
  48. StevieW.
    Nov 7, 2007
    9
    Everything in this game is top notch. Except for maybe the facial expressions in some of the cinematics. Other than that Bungie did an awesome job!! This is my most favorite video game that i have played so far and will stay that way for a long time.
  49. JuniorG.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    This is a great game that will keep many playing for sometime. If you dont have xbox live then maybe you should think twice about buying this $60 game. Playing online is a completely different experience. New options such as theater and forge bring a great new aspect to this game. New additions via downloadable content and the large community will make this game interesting for years to This is a great game that will keep many playing for sometime. If you dont have xbox live then maybe you should think twice about buying this $60 game. Playing online is a completely different experience. New options such as theater and forge bring a great new aspect to this game. New additions via downloadable content and the large community will make this game interesting for years to come. I give it a 10 to try to offset some of these undeserving user ratings. Expand
  50. GarrettW.
    Oct 17, 2007
    3
    God I don't see what Halo fans have been fanboyizing about, Half-Life 2 as a singleplayer game and TeamFortress 2 as a Multiplayer game are way better. Just buy the orange box.
  51. MichaelZ.
    Oct 17, 2007
    10
    Halo 3 is by far the greatest Halo game ever created! In fact, Halo 3 has already improved beyond what was originally released, because Bungie has added new Modes to Halo 3. So, it is not an exaggeration to say that Halo 3 now is literally better and deserves even higher ratings than when it was first released on the market. Halo 3 is the only Halo game to offer four-player Co-Op mode Halo 3 is by far the greatest Halo game ever created! In fact, Halo 3 has already improved beyond what was originally released, because Bungie has added new Modes to Halo 3. So, it is not an exaggeration to say that Halo 3 now is literally better and deserves even higher ratings than when it was first released on the market. Halo 3 is the only Halo game to offer four-player Co-Op mode where a group of four friends on Xbox Live can get together and play together in the Story Campaign mode. Each player controls a different character; for example, player 1 can be Master Chief, and player 2 can be Arbiter. The graphics in Halo 3 are amazing! The game literally uses an incredibly advanced "Dual-Frame-Buffer" 640p resolution, which means that it offers the same level of performance as a 1280p "Single-Frame-Buffer" graphics, which are seen as high as 1080p on the Xbox 360...That is why the back of the box points out the game is perfectly compatible in 1080p mode; IGN explains that in great detail. Halo 3 really does have incredible graphics that run at a silk smooth 60 frames per second with amazing lighting. And now, Bungie has added modes where 16-players can play together in new forms of matches online on Xbox Live. This is a perfect example that shows how Halo 3 continues to improve! The gameplay of Halo 3 is perfect--your character always does what you want it to. Bungie has said that the ideal difficulty setting for Halo 3 is "Heroic." When you play the game on increased difficulty settings such as Heroic or Legendary, additional enemies are added to the game. Not only that, but the enemies are stronger and have better Artificial Intelligence. As a result, the enemies take cover more often and require more shots or better shots to kill. This takes quite a bit longer than beating the game on Normal or Easy difficulty. The Scarab "spider tank" fight scenes are absolutely amazing; those are the best graphics I have ever seen in a videogame. And as usual, the music in Halo 3 is amazing. The sound effects are also incredibly cool. The voices of the enemies and team members are funny, too. Hearing a Grunt say, "You killed my brother for the last time," is awesome! And one time I set my controller down for a few seconds when my character was looking in the direction of the team. Arbiter then said, "Stop staring at me." That was so funny! A few seconds later another member said, "Why don't you take a picture, it will last longer." Halo 3 truly is a great game with the best graphics ever seen on a console. Halo 3 has the best online mult-player gameplay I have ever played. 16-player multi-player, and 4-player Co-Op is fantastic fun! Halo 3 is by far the best Halo game ever made! Expand
  52. Hasm123G.
    Nov 7, 2007
    3
    Come on...this is really just such an excuse. I cant stand it. Halo one was my favorite and i felt excited everytime I played it. #2 was dry in campaighn but at least it bright new multiplayer. THIS ONE brings almost nothing new to the table. what, a 2.5 hour campaign and some dumbcrap maps. They aren't even interesting maps. The guns are boring and there are way to many small and Come on...this is really just such an excuse. I cant stand it. Halo one was my favorite and i felt excited everytime I played it. #2 was dry in campaighn but at least it bright new multiplayer. THIS ONE brings almost nothing new to the table. what, a 2.5 hour campaign and some dumbcrap maps. They aren't even interesting maps. The guns are boring and there are way to many small and duel wield guns, you cant tell what they are. If anyone says the graphics look astonishing...let me just put it this way...they aren't. JUST Look at games like hl2 ep 2 and even bioshok and UT 3. Those are the new generation. Halo 3 was supposed to be at least a little above standards. Instead its a mediocre game that wouldn't sell very well if it didn't have history AND THAT IS A FACT. Its frikin halo 2 plus nice lighting and new maps. SUCKS Expand
  53. TaylorH.
    Oct 17, 2007
    5
    I love the halo games but this one(3) was hard to follow the story line. It was the first game i bought and played through on my new 360 and also felt it was a little short. finished it in a couple of days without intense hours of playing. good game, perhaps i had too high of hopes for it.
  54. MichaelB.
    Oct 17, 2007
    9
    Best shooter ever? Probably not. However, it is the best I've played thus far on the Xbox or Xbox 360. BioShock and Gears of War both come VERY close, but I still had a lot more fun with Halo 3. The visuals are vastly improved from the previous games (which is to be expected on a newer console)... the lighting effects are stunning. The voice acting and musical score are top-notch. Best shooter ever? Probably not. However, it is the best I've played thus far on the Xbox or Xbox 360. BioShock and Gears of War both come VERY close, but I still had a lot more fun with Halo 3. The visuals are vastly improved from the previous games (which is to be expected on a newer console)... the lighting effects are stunning. The voice acting and musical score are top-notch. And the gameplay is what every Halo fan has grown to love. There are, however, a few flaws. The campaign is too short (which was my biggest gripe about Halo 2 as well). However, it wraps up the story arc and its a good warm-up for the awesome multiplayer. Some of the weapons tweaks are particularly annoying. The pistol's refresh rate is much too slow, and (my BIGGEST complaint) the needler is no longer a dual-wieldable weapon (AHHH!!), making these weapons almost unusable. The controls for the Scorpion tank also seems to be a bit less refined than in Halo 2. All in all, I can assure just about any fan of FPS games that they will get enjoyment out of this game, particularly the multiplayer. I don't think that there was any way this game could live up to the hype surrounding it, which is sort of sad, but it still stands above most of the rest on a console that is saturated with first person shooters. Expand
  55. BradT.
    Nov 8, 2007
    3
    We've all played first person shooters before, this is no different. The online component is the only saving grace.
  56. CliveG.
    Oct 19, 2007
    8
    While I can wax lyrical about the visuals, it's the gameplay which is more than a little disappointing after Halo 1 set the bar. Hackneyed level design, lack of real balance when it comes to the weapons and the cliched ending all combine to make this feel like an anticlimax after all the hype. One of the single biggest improvements that could have been made was solid direction for While I can wax lyrical about the visuals, it's the gameplay which is more than a little disappointing after Halo 1 set the bar. Hackneyed level design, lack of real balance when it comes to the weapons and the cliched ending all combine to make this feel like an anticlimax after all the hype. One of the single biggest improvements that could have been made was solid direction for the plot, tying together the sections believably and keeping a coherent thread for the storyline. Having said all that, this is great rental game and, for the hardcore, a good multiplayer game to own. Expand
  57. VechaK.
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    Good game. If you don't like it don't play it. Simple as that. Reminds me of goldeneye on the n64...
  58. SeanC.
    Oct 2, 2007
    8
    The single player campaign is somewhat lacking (It's revived a bit via co-op mode). It's the Live stuff that makes this game worthy of purchase, though. The Forge and Theater options are nice adds. Hopefully it'll get some worthy patches and tweaks in the months to come. Even though it didn't live up to the hype (with so much hype given it was never going to happen), The single player campaign is somewhat lacking (It's revived a bit via co-op mode). It's the Live stuff that makes this game worthy of purchase, though. The Forge and Theater options are nice adds. Hopefully it'll get some worthy patches and tweaks in the months to come. Even though it didn't live up to the hype (with so much hype given it was never going to happen), this game is head and shoulders above 99% of the 360 titles. Expand
  59. ThomasM.
    Oct 21, 2007
    4
    This game is really mediocre at best. It's match making is limited and very flawed. The story is short and not original. The game has potential but with your limited control of the game types you play and the inability to veto more then one game type or map per game, you are often stuck playing game types and maps that no one wants to. One example of a serious flaw is when someone This game is really mediocre at best. It's match making is limited and very flawed. The story is short and not original. The game has potential but with your limited control of the game types you play and the inability to veto more then one game type or map per game, you are often stuck playing game types and maps that no one wants to. One example of a serious flaw is when someone leaves a team game even before it starts, your team will be down players at the start. Expand
  60. MatC.
    Oct 2, 2007
    7
    Good game, short campaign... but 640p? It's down-rezzed, and that's disappointing. You'd think the flagship game for a company like this would at least be able to be run in full 720p at least. Guess not, and it's disappointing. I feel bad for the geeks that stayed in line -- it's just not the perfection that the "professional" (and I mean paid!) reviewers make it Good game, short campaign... but 640p? It's down-rezzed, and that's disappointing. You'd think the flagship game for a company like this would at least be able to be run in full 720p at least. Guess not, and it's disappointing. I feel bad for the geeks that stayed in line -- it's just not the perfection that the "professional" (and I mean paid!) reviewers make it out to be. Expand
  61. UncleDouglasB.
    Oct 21, 2007
    2
    This game was a disappointment on so many levels. Graphics aren't spectacular, story is horrible and the biggest, most powerful blunder of all; the online multiplayer is too repetitive, ex. shotty snipers. And to top it off, the game doesn't even run in full HD, only 640p! Such an utter waste.
  62. CarsonT.
    Dec 14, 2007
    5
    The reason I have givin Halo 3 a 5 out of 10 is simple: It is easily the most overhyped game in the history of the universe. I mean, it's not a bad game, in fact it's very fun in both singleplayer and multiplayer. But I struggle to grasp what is so fantastic about it. It's a pretty average first-person shooter when you think about it. You just point your gun at enemies and The reason I have givin Halo 3 a 5 out of 10 is simple: It is easily the most overhyped game in the history of the universe. I mean, it's not a bad game, in fact it's very fun in both singleplayer and multiplayer. But I struggle to grasp what is so fantastic about it. It's a pretty average first-person shooter when you think about it. You just point your gun at enemies and hold the trigger down until they are dead. That's about it. There is absolutely nothing new here for fans of the genre, or even fans of the series. This is just Halo 2 with a new lick of paint. Quite frankly if it wasn't for the avalanche of adverts and media attention generated by Microsoft, Halo 3 would have been considered mediocre at best. It's games like this that really get on my nerves. They follow a predictable and monotonous structure whilst distracting everyone from other, far superior, titles which have clearly made an effort to revitalise the genre. I'm talking about Crysis, CoD4 and Bioshock ofcourse. Buy Halo 3 for the multiplayer if you must but remeber this: you don't have to be a sheep and get Halo 3 just because mother Microsoft SAID it was good. Think for yourself and you will realise that there are countless games out there that wipe the floor with Halo 3. Expand
  63. BradW.
    Oct 20, 2007
    1
    Just goes to show that most people are just mindless drones who just follow the marketing hype. Gameplay, graphics, story, MP are OK. Fun, but nothing special. Anybody who's played HL, GOW, or Bioshock will tell you that they all offer a more higher quality and complete experience than Halo 3; anyone who says otherwise probably does not have the mental capacity to appreciate it (i.e. Just goes to show that most people are just mindless drones who just follow the marketing hype. Gameplay, graphics, story, MP are OK. Fun, but nothing special. Anybody who's played HL, GOW, or Bioshock will tell you that they all offer a more higher quality and complete experience than Halo 3; anyone who says otherwise probably does not have the mental capacity to appreciate it (i.e. Noob). Don't get me wrong tho, I will still have a blast playing it with my friends, but then again, we can have a blast kicking each other in the balls too. Halo was just there at the right time and brought the wonderful world of MP gaming to the naive masses (something that HL did BETTER and YEARS before halo even existed). If you are a more seasoned gamer like me, there are much better games out there that will stretch your imagination more and give more bang for your buck, but if you're not, then by all means buy halo because I know you will have a blast playing it since you don't know no any better =P (no offense of course). I'd give a 6 for the gameplay, but I rated 1 simply because of the massive marketing hype that made me realize how much of the world are just a bunch of ignorant fanboys who would set your house on fire if you dare utter one negative word about their beloved MASTER Chief. If you are not a stupid fanboy (you will know who you are) and is more of a light, casual gamer, then by all means get halo 3, because you'll will have a fantastic time diving into this mysterious unknown world of gaming. I just don't think Halo 3 deserves to be as big as it is. Expand
  64. ShaneB.
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    Very pleased with the game. Online gives this game legs like no other ive seen on a console. Single player story was brilliant and probably the best way to wrap up the story arch (I still want more but apparently thats not happening). It was a little short but the second I beat it I wanted to go through it again one difficulty higher. I just love how many people come on here to rank on Very pleased with the game. Online gives this game legs like no other ive seen on a console. Single player story was brilliant and probably the best way to wrap up the story arch (I still want more but apparently thats not happening). It was a little short but the second I beat it I wanted to go through it again one difficulty higher. I just love how many people come on here to rank on the halo series... the fact that these people feel they have to come onto the halo 3 review site without actually playing it and give it bad scores just proves the impact that this series has had on gaming. This game causes heated arguments haha. Bungie has done me proud :D Expand
  65. TylerW.
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    This game is an amazing and epic end to Halo. The campaign was fun and the battles are much bigger. THe best part was takin on the scarabs. The new weapons are beast. Especially the gravity hamer. The best part of the game is the multiplayer, no doubt. With new features like Forge and Theater it makes it even better. The weapons are also much more balanced than of halo2. The sword has a This game is an amazing and epic end to Halo. The campaign was fun and the battles are much bigger. THe best part was takin on the scarabs. The new weapons are beast. Especially the gravity hamer. The best part of the game is the multiplayer, no doubt. With new features like Forge and Theater it makes it even better. The weapons are also much more balanced than of halo2. The sword has a lesser range for lunge and the rockets dont lock on. The plasma pistol doesnt seek the enemy as well. The graphics are simply amazing. When i was watching the little videos in between levels and such i thouhhgt i was watching a movie. Everybody should play this game. It is definitely the game of the year Expand
  66. JoeK.
    Dec 18, 2007
    10
    GREAT GAME!
  67. CarterD.
    Dec 2, 2007
    9
    For being the most hyped up game ever, Halo 3 didn't deliver as much as everybody hoped. It has a few new weapons and vehicales, but they aren't that great. Also, I felt the story was going to be better than the first two, but except for a few moments it was quite dull. The reason this game is the best is not because of the single player. It is because of the best multiplayer For being the most hyped up game ever, Halo 3 didn't deliver as much as everybody hoped. It has a few new weapons and vehicales, but they aren't that great. Also, I felt the story was going to be better than the first two, but except for a few moments it was quite dull. The reason this game is the best is not because of the single player. It is because of the best multiplayer out there. You can play online forever. People can complain about this game all they want, but you can't say there is a better multiplayer than in Halo 3. Expand
  68. Ricardo
    Dec 24, 2007
    5
    Halo: 9 (only misses a 10 due to boring Library stage) Halo 2: 2 (simply awful in all respects) Halo 3: 5 One of the best aspects of Halo - holding out in a citadel as waves of covenant do battle with you and your dwindling forces. This never occurs in Halo 3 - instead we suffer through awful stages where you sit in a rubbish vehicle and try and take out scarabs in a dull and repetitive Halo: 9 (only misses a 10 due to boring Library stage) Halo 2: 2 (simply awful in all respects) Halo 3: 5 One of the best aspects of Halo - holding out in a citadel as waves of covenant do battle with you and your dwindling forces. This never occurs in Halo 3 - instead we suffer through awful stages where you sit in a rubbish vehicle and try and take out scarabs in a dull and repetitive manner. Truely horrible. Yet there are 3 or more such stages. The weapons are poor, the stages repetitive, enemy dull, and the ending a damp squib. Where was the send off between Master Chief and the Arbiter?? Over-hyped and thoroughly average. Expand
  69. WayneJ.
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    Stunning,every last second you play it you want more.the nly thing that lets it down are the over competative players online but if your lucky enough to miss them your in for one hell of a ride.
  70. StephenF.
    Oct 23, 2007
    9
    Halo is great, and I love it. It had the potential to be a great literary work and I feel it did not take full advantage of that.
  71. Phil
    Oct 24, 2007
    2
    10 hours and the game was finished. Very disapointing, replay is very repeative (compared to Bioshock which offers a different experience depending on how you play your character). Graphics were good, but not mind-blowing. Bungie disapointed me. I enjoy the team playing, but not being an online gamer I don't think I get even 50% of what the game offers. Bungie put a lot of time and 10 hours and the game was finished. Very disapointing, replay is very repeative (compared to Bioshock which offers a different experience depending on how you play your character). Graphics were good, but not mind-blowing. Bungie disapointed me. I enjoy the team playing, but not being an online gamer I don't think I get even 50% of what the game offers. Bungie put a lot of time and effort on the online money grab, and did little on the main story line. Again, diapointing. Expand
  72. ChrisC.
    Oct 24, 2007
    8
    I can't see why everyone's so up-in-arms about this game. Nor why they're in such a mood that "BEST GAME EVAR" qualifies as a legitimate review. Here's what it is, from a harcore PC gamer, nonetheless: great graphics with beautiful lighting and artwork where, much like in World of Warcraft, a sub-par technology is ramped up in quality with amazing art design. (Human I can't see why everyone's so up-in-arms about this game. Nor why they're in such a mood that "BEST GAME EVAR" qualifies as a legitimate review. Here's what it is, from a harcore PC gamer, nonetheless: great graphics with beautiful lighting and artwork where, much like in World of Warcraft, a sub-par technology is ramped up in quality with amazing art design. (Human faces still look very awkward.) A great storyline that wraps up the games well, and leaves more questions for Halo players and Halo canon fans alike. A somewhat tactical experience where weapons must be used in context, and guns blazing just won't cut it. Good replayability, as the enemy AI is fairly adept at finding flanking positions and firing points, so not only will each encounter play out differently, but the skulls discoverable in the campaign award an exponential increase in points, and for those hardcore enough, each has its own game-altering effect, making play much more difficult. And the multiplay is danged-near perfect. It's fun, there's huge variety (game-types are customizable down to the letter, and the Forge takes a varied experience and turns it into an incredibly fun sandbox), the matchmaking is addictive as one ranks up, and the Xbox Live service is implemented near-flawlessly. Oh, achievements in the campaign will let you unlock some pretty nifty armor permutations, which can be customized further with emblems and every other color needed to live. A solid experience, and yes, one that will make a great PC port when the time comes (unlike the awkward Halo 2). Oh, did I mention this game is fun? Expand
  73. DylanC.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    Love the single and multi player, as good as #1 and better than #2. Great for parties.
  74. ScottM.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    I am overwhelmed with the level of amazement I have acheived from this game. Online gaming, Campaign, Forge, and Theater!!! Literally hours, days, months, and years worth of content and fun. If you are disappointed with this game, I challenge you to go back and REALLY explore the seemingly endless options for entertainment that this installment of Halo offers.
  75. BrandonS.
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    Game plays better than the previous 2. it looks better than the previous 2. the online mulitplayer is better than the previous 2. the levels are long, picturesque & diverse in both environment & gameplay. the story finishes up nicely & for those interested there is plenty of back story to shed light on many story elements. those who arent concerned with the story will still enjoy the huge Game plays better than the previous 2. it looks better than the previous 2. the online mulitplayer is better than the previous 2. the levels are long, picturesque & diverse in both environment & gameplay. the story finishes up nicely & for those interested there is plenty of back story to shed light on many story elements. those who arent concerned with the story will still enjoy the huge battlefields & gameplay variables. experienced gamers should play at no less than heroic. beginners should start at normal. the games new features (picture mode, co-op, theatre, forge & MP gametypes) add a ton of new gameplay & the new multiplayer maps are diverse & balanced for great game play. the game is between 10-12 hours long when played on heroic & legendary is longer due to the difficulty level. the multiplayer experience will no doubt stay at the top of the charts like its predecessor to ensure hours & hours of online play. bungie.net tracks ALL of your stats & allows you to upload photos from the game to your PC. very cool for anyone who loves gaming. Expand
  76. ChrisS
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    An outstanding achievement of gaming quality and online multiplayer. Halo 3, while not truly perfect, comes as close as I can expect to meeting every high-placed expectation. A thrilling adventure from start to ending. All I can ask for is more Halo in the future. Lets see this game live on!
  77. AlexK.
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    I would have rated 9.5 but whatever. Campaign has a replayability option that not many FPS have, skulls, meta game, and 4 player co-op means the fun never ends. The varied combat, humourous chatter, and great level design makes for a great game. The scale of battles are the likes of what have never been seen in a FPS, and with the air battles above your head, adds the epic feeling most I would have rated 9.5 but whatever. Campaign has a replayability option that not many FPS have, skulls, meta game, and 4 player co-op means the fun never ends. The varied combat, humourous chatter, and great level design makes for a great game. The scale of battles are the likes of what have never been seen in a FPS, and with the air battles above your head, adds the epic feeling most sci-fi shooters are missing. AI is still superior to most games that are on this scale, and has many gameplay options such as dual weilding,equipment and highjacking.The cutscenes while feeling cliche, feel like a movie. But the major thing that makes this game love .5 score is that compared to Halo 2, the plot just seems tired, cheesy, and the ending was not the ending I would have thought. Expand
  78. JohnnyD.
    Oct 27, 2007
    6
    Halo basically takes everything that's been done before in FPS games and throws it haphazardly throws it into one box. It has a lot of content, but some of the content isn't of high quality. I would rather buy a high quality singleplayer FPS game and another high quality multiplayer FPS game, than buy one game that has mediocre singleplayer and multiplayer.
  79. MattF.
    Dec 7, 2007
    8
    Very strong multiplayer game with awesome game types and a whole new editing mode called forge. Hours of fun for xbox live gold members. However, the single player just doesn't deliver and I found myself playing the career mode purely for achievements. Good game, a must buy for online gamers.
  80. HonkH.
    Oct 29, 2007
    10
    It's good. Get over yourselves, HL2 fanboys- a game doesn't need to be original to be admirable. The Halo series does the thing that it doth do, and it does them well. If you don't like it, then go ahead, play Orange Box. That's a great buy too. No reason to not let people enjoy Halo 3, which is, by all means, worth a 8-10.
  81. JamesR.
    Oct 3, 2007
    10
    An amazing game, extremely fun to play, with good graphics to boot. Don't listen to anyone who scores this game less than a 8, they obviously don't know a good game when they see one and probably have an axe to grind. The Edge Magazine review got it spot on (10/10).
  82. MortenJ.
    Oct 3, 2007
    7
    OK, let's be fair. Halo 3 is a very good game - but not a great one by any standards. Multiplayer actually just about saves it from being mediocre. It's not groundbreaking or innovative from a design perspective but it is undoubtedly fun - which is of course a minimum for a video game. But alas only up to a point. What is not fun is the repetitive indoor levels and the awful OK, let's be fair. Halo 3 is a very good game - but not a great one by any standards. Multiplayer actually just about saves it from being mediocre. It's not groundbreaking or innovative from a design perspective but it is undoubtedly fun - which is of course a minimum for a video game. But alas only up to a point. What is not fun is the repetitive indoor levels and the awful save system; would it hurt to have an autosave every 15 minutes or so? - Especially considering the games' already notorious instability and 'disc not readable' issues which can reduce a couple of hours of fun in the campaign to an absolutely rage-inducing waste of time! Expand
  83. EmonX.
    Oct 4, 2007
    6
    The single player is extremely short, massively derivative, and often just plain silly. I've felt more empathy for bruised produce than I did for the majority of the cast of this game's yarn. Why would an all powerful ancient space artifact look like the Eiffel Tower being co-opted into the Chinese Space Program? There are serious issues in some level design legibility, The single player is extremely short, massively derivative, and often just plain silly. I've felt more empathy for bruised produce than I did for the majority of the cast of this game's yarn. Why would an all powerful ancient space artifact look like the Eiffel Tower being co-opted into the Chinese Space Program? There are serious issues in some level design legibility, specifically the organically structured stages. Way to easy to become disoriented and subsequently horde fodder. Vehicle stages definitely stand out, wish there'd been more of those! Multi-Player certainly caters to veterans of the series, with a diversity of game types that would be expected by multiplayer shooter fans with PC on-line backgrounds, but have been sadly missing from other genre games on the 360, like Gears of War for example. Would have been nice to see still further diversity of game types, though. Why only two teams at a time? And where is the epic scale of map sizes on-line? And why can't I play the monsters? Or drive the giant robot crabs or interstellar spaceships? The overall aesthetics don't seem up-rezzed in any way, appears the rendering engine and streaming systems are the same as the previous two installments. Lot of long load times and seeking lags as well, not a smooth ride as I would have expected from 360's tent pole title. And even after playing through the whole thing, still don't understand the TV add with the pretty score and strange Warhammer looking table top battle scene. Expand
  84. SM31
    Oct 5, 2007
    10
    This game is unbelievable and improves just like every Halo game does. As if there wasnt enough in Halo 2, they have added Grenades, Weapons, sick maps and so many more stuff. The campaign is a blast and though its short, it def has replay value especially since your one of the best charactrs in video game history. Master Chief is totally bad-ass and its sweet. Halo haters cant come up This game is unbelievable and improves just like every Halo game does. As if there wasnt enough in Halo 2, they have added Grenades, Weapons, sick maps and so many more stuff. The campaign is a blast and though its short, it def has replay value especially since your one of the best charactrs in video game history. Master Chief is totally bad-ass and its sweet. Halo haters cant come up with any excuses unless they are still saving up for the overpriced PSIII or just like to be different. There is not one thing majorly wrong with this game, and thats why its so looked up to. It's not always revolutionary, but unlike all other shooting games it does everything well, and in many cases sets higher standards for Shooters. This game will be remembered like Mario still is, and is the best game i have ever played. Not only that, but there will be many more games (different stories), some movies (with peter jackson, Sweet), and so much more. Ill def finish this fight countless times, and if you think about how simple it is, yet so complex it is its truly incredible. Its basic in that it can be compared to Independence day, just a war between Humans and Aliens, but then add in all the Alien weapons, all the crazy settings, all the characters, all the vehicles, and the fact that someone came up with this quiet, and often times gentle main character. Everyone looks up to him in the game, and when you hear the Aliens screaming for their life while saying "It's the Demon", you really feel like your the one saving the world. This is a classic game that so many games in the future will try to copy, and 99.9% of the time they will fall short. Although the tagline is Finish The Fight, its far from the truth, we will see much more Halo in the years to come. Easily the trilogy to rule all trilogies... Expand
  85. TonyB.
    Oct 5, 2007
    10
    Absolutely perfect in every aspect. Though the single-player is rather short, the AI and the metagame, let alone the multiplayer, make up for that and more. If there was a "20" option I'd rate it that.
  86. MarkusE.
    Oct 5, 2007
    0
    What Luke R. said. Overhyped and overrated. Take out multiplayer, and all you're left with is a 6-hour generic FPS.
  87. [anonymous]
    Oct 6, 2007
    10
    Normally people hate on this game just because they claim it's overhyped. Sure the campaign is pretty bad, but the multiplayer (xbox live and LAN mostly) is probably the most fun and addicting multiplayer i've ever seen or played. In fact i invited some of my friends who claimed halo and halo 2was awful. When done playing some LAN matches they wanted to play over and over again.
  88. Grey
    Oct 6, 2007
    10
    Hmm.... ok. I almost read all bad comments about this game, i played and finished it, i thought it was great. Now, please open you eyes guys, ok you wanted a VERY VERY VERY large campaign, play FFVII haha, dont be stupid, obviously the campaign was meant to be short, it covers up all holes,the graphics are simply better than the other games, so dont tell me that 3 is the same of 2, Hmm.... ok. I almost read all bad comments about this game, i played and finished it, i thought it was great. Now, please open you eyes guys, ok you wanted a VERY VERY VERY large campaign, play FFVII haha, dont be stupid, obviously the campaign was meant to be short, it covers up all holes,the graphics are simply better than the other games, so dont tell me that 3 is the same of 2, wtf¿? maybe all of you need some criticism classes, all the bad ratings ive seen here are the same, because you dont have the enought imagination to create your own critics, what is worst, you are not even seen the upgrades of this NEW GAME AT ALL, the graphics are way to better than the other halos, ok gears of war is a great game to, but the same old story, DIFFERENT STORYLINES, you guys will see how his storyline will be boring for you in the next gears of war 2 and 3. The point of this comment is to clear the eyes of this bad critics, with poor comments about the game, we dont need the bullshit ofmediocre critics who even cant see how good and well rated a game could be. Expand
  89. SaulX
    Oct 7, 2007
    10
    Campaign is fun, not amazing kinda boring bu your self but good on 4 player co-op, multiplayer is mind blowing though, never had so much fun in a video game in a while stat tracking is a in depth and lots and lots of replay, with forge and video editor, this game would be 8 if it was just single player campaign and thats it but withe the multiplayer its just way to good, this could a Campaign is fun, not amazing kinda boring bu your self but good on 4 player co-op, multiplayer is mind blowing though, never had so much fun in a video game in a while stat tracking is a in depth and lots and lots of replay, with forge and video editor, this game would be 8 if it was just single player campaign and thats it but withe the multiplayer its just way to good, this could a stand alone multiplayer game easily. its also quite funny that all the below 8 reviews dont seem to make mention of the multiplayer, get live before u review the game, reveiwing just based on single player is ridiculous its like 10% of the game. The graphics are great but ppl keep saying there dated there not. Just because its called halo it has to have the best graphics on 360 or else its "dated" the graphics are in the top 3 games for 360 for sure. Expand
  90. FPSMaster
    Oct 7, 2007
    6
    This franchise has not aged well. It basically hasn't changed since the first game 6 years ago, and in most ways is worse. The story that I used to think was so great seems really lame 6 years later and the campaign is just flat out dull and boring. The MP hasn't changed since Halo 2 other than some new weapons, some buttons switched around on the controller, more lag and worse This franchise has not aged well. It basically hasn't changed since the first game 6 years ago, and in most ways is worse. The story that I used to think was so great seems really lame 6 years later and the campaign is just flat out dull and boring. The MP hasn't changed since Halo 2 other than some new weapons, some buttons switched around on the controller, more lag and worse hit detection with everything from melees to grenades to bullets. Biggest let down in the history of gaming (something the 360 really didn't need any more of) so I'm glad Bungie split from M$ after playing this atrocity. This series and developer are nothing more than on-hit-wonders and I'm sorry I wasted so much time defending this fracnhise for so long. The fact that this console even exists merely because of this franchise makes me wonder what the Hell the world is coming to. Lame. Expand
  91. masterchief.okmyrealnamesstephen
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    please its obvious they are already making halo 4. *spoilers* if you have completed the game then you know the master chief dies. it doesnt show him dying it just shows him on the ship telling cortana that they are gonna make it. then it skips straight to some sort of gathering on earth talking boot how they won the war and saying that the master chief died. i reckon halo 4 will be aboutplease its obvious they are already making halo 4. *spoilers* if you have completed the game then you know the master chief dies. it doesnt show him dying it just shows him on the ship telling cortana that they are gonna make it. then it skips straight to some sort of gathering on earth talking boot how they won the war and saying that the master chief died. i reckon halo 4 will be about how he died. this is the best game on 360 but also the shortest. took me boot 6 hours. Expand
  92. Silence_L
    Oct 9, 2007
    5
    Multi-player sucks; only two game modes for team slayer (BORING) . I thought campaign was more interesting because multi player seems like you'll just get shot in the back after brawling it out with someone. Its rare you'll get more than two kills in a row becayse someone will just comes in fresh to kill you after you've already taken damage from the shoot-out you just had.
  93. MichaelC.
    Oct 9, 2007
    1
    Listen up fanboys....you have been duped. Halo3 is nothing new. Sure they gave you a few new weapons and some new maps but heck..the best map of the bunch is from Halo2! This game feels like you are running in mud. The action is slow. Respawn times are excrutiatingly slow. I know that the fanboys who waited outside and bought the deluxe version will never admit that they bought a stinker Listen up fanboys....you have been duped. Halo3 is nothing new. Sure they gave you a few new weapons and some new maps but heck..the best map of the bunch is from Halo2! This game feels like you are running in mud. The action is slow. Respawn times are excrutiatingly slow. I know that the fanboys who waited outside and bought the deluxe version will never admit that they bought a stinker but I can admit it. "Hi, my name is Michael." (group) "Hello Michael". "I'm here today cause I fell victim to the media hype of Halo3" (group hug) Expand
  94. DanielS
    Oct 9, 2007
    0
    Just like Rolf S. said been there done that. They replaced the arborter guy's with brutes and kept the grunts. They still wear blue except the one with the gold on him. Weapons the same except for like 2 or 3 of them. You can't go anywhere with anything like you could in Halo 2 which was part of the fun. I liked trying to squeeze a tank through a doorway that it can't fit Just like Rolf S. said been there done that. They replaced the arborter guy's with brutes and kept the grunts. They still wear blue except the one with the gold on him. Weapons the same except for like 2 or 3 of them. You can't go anywhere with anything like you could in Halo 2 which was part of the fun. I liked trying to squeeze a tank through a doorway that it can't fit through. Also once I get through the door I like to use my tank to get through the level lol. That was fun. I don't know what happened to bungie but I think the only reason they had delays on the release is cause they were to busy drinking cocktails in the bahamas with the money they were supposed to use to make a great game. I can't wait for COD 4. It will blow Halo 3 out of the water then step on it to make it stop wiggling then put a hole in it's head. Expand
  95. ChrisRademacher
    Sep 23, 2007
    10
    I picked up an early release, and this game ROCKS! The campaign is what every HALO fan grew to love in HALO:CE, and the Multiplayer is exactly what we know and love in H2. Forge is the new hotness, with unbelievable customization capabilities and endless configurations. Plain and simple, this game is the best that i've played for the 360, and I'm sure, come 3 or 4 am onI picked up an early release, and this game ROCKS! The campaign is what every HALO fan grew to love in HALO:CE, and the Multiplayer is exactly what we know and love in H2. Forge is the new hotness, with unbelievable customization capabilities and endless configurations. Plain and simple, this game is the best that i've played for the 360, and I'm sure, come 3 or 4 am on Tuesday, that you'll come to see that as well. Expand
  96. ImokTrogdor
    Sep 24, 2007
    10
    Graphics are amazing, not perfect merely because of the saved films feature which means that every aspect of the game must be rendered at all times. Weapons are more balanced, and the pasky auto-aim feature is gone. Multiplayer is fantastic now - can't wait to play the campaign! Finish the Fight!
  97. JamesB.
    Sep 25, 2007
    9
    I got this game last night, and played it until class today at 1:00. The campaign is excellent, leaps and bounds ahead of H1 or H2. The new weapons are a great addition, and the assault rifle isn't worthless anymore. The hammer might just be my favorite weapon of any game I've ever played.
  98. EricS.
    Sep 25, 2007
    8
    Ok, it get's an 8 because of content alone, voice acting/sound/story/originality/character design/gameplay..all get a 6.5. It's a really good 10 year old PC shooter. I can't believe this is going to get a better score than Half Life 2.
  99. BuddhikaM.
    Sep 25, 2007
    1
    Too focused on multiplayer.. Graphics look like Halo 2.5.. sound problems.. NPC's gets stuck and AI bugs.. Boring singleplayer, cannot compare to Halo 2. Biggest disappointment of my life..Getting rid of my 360 now.
  100. EliezerG.
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    Awesome. There are video games, and then there's Halo. For millions of people around the world, the science fiction FPS is the reason they play games. It's the reason they bought an Xbox. It's the reason they signed up to Xbox Live. Master Chief is their hero, a modern day icon for a modern day generation.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's the addition of the Forge level editor and the saved films that give the game an even longer set of legs, legs that will probably keep you running at full speed until Bungie figures out where, exactly, to go from here.
  2. Halo 3 is the best Xbox 360 game to date. The single-player campaign and storyline are both very strong, but it's Forge and the Saved Films features that will likely go down in history as Bungie's crowning achievements. They've basically taken everything great about the series and improved upon it in every way, then added some amazing new features that we'll be using for years to come.
  3. 100
    It's solid gameplay, immense replayability, online functionality and incredible production values will ensure its place in video game history, and it is, without a doubt, a satisfying and fulfilling close to the beloved trilogy[?].