User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3809 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MisterH.
    Feb 12, 2008
    7
    Story mode is good although repetitive, but the multiplayer is better.
  2. KdH..
    Mar 15, 2008
    5
    Not enough ammo, boring, ridiculous cut scenes, claustrophobic restricted view in places, difficult to differentiate scenery in forest scenes..a real disappointment.
  3. VinD.
    Mar 17, 2008
    8
    Classic game that only improves from the last two. The game is fun single player and Multiplayer coop is great also. Must have for all 360 owners!
  4. Maslab
    Mar 26, 2008
    9
    As the ending of the trilogy, its the shortest and least fulfilling campaign, but I believe it wraps up the story very nicely. Gameplay does feel a bit slower than the other games, and a slightly wider POV would have been appreciated, but other than that, this game is amazing. The strongest point of the game is the multiplayer, which is really fun and engaging. So if you don't have As the ending of the trilogy, its the shortest and least fulfilling campaign, but I believe it wraps up the story very nicely. Gameplay does feel a bit slower than the other games, and a slightly wider POV would have been appreciated, but other than that, this game is amazing. The strongest point of the game is the multiplayer, which is really fun and engaging. So if you don't have Xbox Live, you may want to get it before you get this game, as the campaign plays out really fast. Expand
  5. JoshuaA.
    May 18, 2008
    8
    Pretty solid campaign mode. The levels are extremely varied but you will eventually getting tired of using the battle rifle(which is pretty much what your gonna be using the whole time) The enemies dont really vary to much which makes them kinda boring. The weapons seem pretty decently balanced. the removal of a lock on rocket pretty much makes it useless in campaign. So you'll have Pretty solid campaign mode. The levels are extremely varied but you will eventually getting tired of using the battle rifle(which is pretty much what your gonna be using the whole time) The enemies dont really vary to much which makes them kinda boring. The weapons seem pretty decently balanced. the removal of a lock on rocket pretty much makes it useless in campaign. So you'll have to get used to using the spartan laser, which at first is pretty difficult but extremely satisfying. The Theather mode keeps things fresh by allowing you to save short film clips and take photos, which if you have xbox live can be viewed by others. Multiplayer is where this game really shines. Bungie usually pumps out new maps and game variants pretty quickly so its pretty hard to get bored. The maps seem pretty fair in layout so you cant blame how much you suck on the unfair spawing points and weapon locations. Overall this is a fun game that you'll probally be popping in years from now. Its not without its flaws but im sure we can all overlook them and appreciate this game for its great points Expand
  6. AnonymousConnor
    May 22, 2008
    6
    OK-ish. Didn't live up to the hype, but still pretty solid.
  7. JackE.
    May 25, 2008
    10
    This game is good in all ways. The story is compelling, the multiplayer rocks, the graphics are excellent, and the gameplay is exquisite. This is one of those games that you can just go back and play any time you want, and it doesn't get tiring or boring. The only bad thing is that the campaign is a bit short.
  8. MichaelS.
    Jun 18, 2008
    3
    I played Halo 1 years ago as a kid and I remember I thought it was horrible, dull, boring and very repetitive. It had the same overrated reviews as Halo 3. I started hearing about Halo 3 and hearing that it's one of the greatest games ever from people online. I buy it and come home thinking I'm going to have a great time but when I played it, it was just the same First Person I played Halo 1 years ago as a kid and I remember I thought it was horrible, dull, boring and very repetitive. It had the same overrated reviews as Halo 3. I started hearing about Halo 3 and hearing that it's one of the greatest games ever from people online. I buy it and come home thinking I'm going to have a great time but when I played it, it was just the same First Person Shooter as the others. Nothing special. Expand
  9. DominicM.
    Jun 22, 2008
    6
    Average. It was my biggest disappointment. The single player gets boring and no where near as epic as Bungie made it out to be. The multiplayer takes a step down from Halo 2, getting rid of many of the open maps and replacing them with cramped corridors. The massive hype this game receives is amazing. The game just feels outdated compared to better shooters like Gears of war or Average. It was my biggest disappointment. The single player gets boring and no where near as epic as Bungie made it out to be. The multiplayer takes a step down from Halo 2, getting rid of many of the open maps and replacing them with cramped corridors. The massive hype this game receives is amazing. The game just feels outdated compared to better shooters like Gears of war or Resistance:Fall of man. The stupid cliffhanger ending doesn't help either. Expand
  10. AdamJones
    Jun 23, 2008
    10
    Bungie's formula for its Halo games provides the most fun you can have on the Xbox 360. The lighting is spectacular, the a.i. actually seems artificially intelligent, and the story is gripping. Very few games reach this level of excellence and make you wonder why other game studios even bother.
  11. Japes
    Jun 24, 2008
    10
    This game is not bad.i thing its the best fps on xbox 360. Okay I thing ps3 fans are giving it bad rating because they are angry with xbox360.
  12. BryanMichaels
    Jun 27, 2008
    5
    The games is okay. It's really an outdated shooter game compared to new. The only thing that satifies people is the large online community. After buying the game, you have to have a gold account or buy one in order to enjoy it. Campaign just doesn't do it. It feels alot like Halo 2 with a couple of new weapons and better visuals. Instead of just trying to do the same thing overThe games is okay. It's really an outdated shooter game compared to new. The only thing that satifies people is the large online community. After buying the game, you have to have a gold account or buy one in order to enjoy it. Campaign just doesn't do it. It feels alot like Halo 2 with a couple of new weapons and better visuals. Instead of just trying to do the same thing over and over again, they should try to make it better. Expand
  13. BasicFanboy
    Jul 11, 2008
    6
    I are loving Halo 3. mE is have S0 mach fun. Great fun is this. W007 W007 W007. ZOMGLOLOL. Seriously though folks, Halo 3 was average at best. I just get sick of stupid fanboys saying all games are awful compared to Halo. All FPS games perhaps, but halo does not cover all genres. Go die in a fire. That is all.
  14. petersmith
    Jul 15, 2008
    1
    this game is overrated trash. everytime i play there is this one monster dude thing who keeps raping the f*ck out of me. i hate this dumb piece of sh*t. the most entertaining part of this crap game is probably the freakin menu screen.
  15. JacksonKyne
    Jul 17, 2008
    10
    This Game Is The Best Game In The WORLD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT
    This Game Is The Best Game In The WORLD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT
    Expand
  16. PatM.
    Jul 19, 2008
    1
    This game is crap... they keep on trying to update is and the only thing that the updates do is make the game play more and more crappy..I just don't understand why Microsoft rips people off... Its like if I were in charge I would be like " Guys lets fix this game its really messed up right now..." So hopefully they'll see this and fix it.
  17. AnonymousMC
    Jul 28, 2008
    7
    To start the single player is average. It's not everything it was hyped up as and definatly not the "best game evar" as nearly every game reviewer on earth and fanboys alike say. It's just another go through the motions FPS that adds nothing new to the genre. Just get the weapon you want shoot enemies then wait through the cut scene to start all over again. Which would be fine.To start the single player is average. It's not everything it was hyped up as and definatly not the "best game evar" as nearly every game reviewer on earth and fanboys alike say. It's just another go through the motions FPS that adds nothing new to the genre. Just get the weapon you want shoot enemies then wait through the cut scene to start all over again. Which would be fine. If it was more fun and had a better story. You know change it up a bit yet it just stuck to same old formula of Halo 2. No thinking or strategy is ever needed even on harder levels as enemies get stronger and greater in numbers rather than smarter. The AI is still dumb as hell since you can do things like melee foes to death without the slightest urge for them to move out of your way. The story is like it always was bland and uninspired as I could tell everything that would happend before it played out in the game right down to the ending. To me the whole story lacks good depth that a game should have at this point. And it's all really dishearting that this is probably going to go down as the Mario of my day which is sad cause their is much more deserving games for that title. Some of this games positives it looks excelent, has good controls, and it has numbed down the needler. But let me say those things don't make up for everything else that is lacking with the story mode. But as for the multiplayer I think it is one of the best experiences online (which is why I'm giving it a 7 and not a 5.) I just hope that the next Halo game will deliver cause I think it has the potential to be great it's just that for this series third time was definitely not the charm. Expand
  18. ChristianH.
    Jul 31, 2008
    6
    moderate. I find it remarkably similar to halo 2. New features like forge and theater are ok, but boring single player, and repetitive multiplayer is annoying. Graphics are bland and were not anything impressive. Halo lost the respect it's been known for, killer graphics. A rent? yes. It's halo for god's sake. Halo 2 is good and if this is similar to halo 2 then you minus moderate. I find it remarkably similar to halo 2. New features like forge and theater are ok, but boring single player, and repetitive multiplayer is annoying. Graphics are bland and were not anything impressive. Halo lost the respect it's been known for, killer graphics. A rent? yes. It's halo for god's sake. Halo 2 is good and if this is similar to halo 2 then you minus well get it. Or if your trying to do machinima. Otherwise I'd just go to your friends house and play it. Expand
  19. Zac
    Sep 29, 2008
    9
    No game is perfect but this one is pretty good.Yeah it was overhipped.So what, overall the game is pretty good.I read most the comments below 6's and noticed it was by people who either were GOW or COD4 fanboys.I don't play halo constantly but I played both GOW and COD4.The only thing really fun in GOW is the multiplayer and the only thing fun in COD4 is the campaign, the online No game is perfect but this one is pretty good.Yeah it was overhipped.So what, overall the game is pretty good.I read most the comments below 6's and noticed it was by people who either were GOW or COD4 fanboys.I don't play halo constantly but I played both GOW and COD4.The only thing really fun in GOW is the multiplayer and the only thing fun in COD4 is the campaign, the online is full of noobs who teabag and smacktalk about how perfect it is.I don't say halo is perfect but it is sure as hell better than COD4.But GOW and halo do measure up...I perfure halo but GOW is just as fun.But I perfure FPS but GOW is a good TPS. Expand
  20. KennyC
    Nov 15, 2009
    6
    Halo 3 sits in the middle. If you want good sniping and realistic fire fights play any call of duty. if you want quick fast paced action. Buy a cheap pc and get quake 3 or ut 2004. Now that is just the multiplayer. the single player pityful compared to the first halo and not much better than halo 2. dont get me wrong i will still play it if im bored but that is all.
  21. Ricky
    Nov 16, 2009
    0
    Nothing special about this game at all. Its a cookie cuter FPS. The AI is lame with predicable actions. The story just was a rehash of the first one just about. Not worth paying for or even playing matter of fact. Your money is better off spent on a ps3 and getting Killzone 2.
  22. AaronM
    Nov 7, 2009
    6
    this game is overly praised it is not a very good title. The campain is only good the first time you play it then you never look at it again. You will find yourself spending more time playing custom games with friends more than anything. On the bright side of things the online in this game is great the xp system works awesome but with double xp weekend you will find yourself playing this game is overly praised it is not a very good title. The campain is only good the first time you play it then you never look at it again. You will find yourself spending more time playing custom games with friends more than anything. On the bright side of things the online in this game is great the xp system works awesome but with double xp weekend you will find yourself playing custom games to level up. This game might as well be a party game if it wasn't for the other review companys giving it such a high score the game is not a A game it is just antisipated by the magazines and web sites and then brain washes gamers into believing its the best game ever. Expand
  23. SamH
    Jan 19, 2009
    2
    It was hyped as hell, but was a letdown. Seriously, the story is the same damn thing the whole damn game. Shoot these guys, go on, shoot these guys, go on. NOTHING interesting at ALL during the game, the cutscenes are alright, but the game itself lacks in quality. The AI is extremely retarded. I've found that enemies round around more than they shoot me. There is no puzzle It was hyped as hell, but was a letdown. Seriously, the story is the same damn thing the whole damn game. Shoot these guys, go on, shoot these guys, go on. NOTHING interesting at ALL during the game, the cutscenes are alright, but the game itself lacks in quality. The AI is extremely retarded. I've found that enemies round around more than they shoot me. There is no puzzle whatsoever, it's just run and shoot. Multiplayer is annoying, I mean come on, grenades that stick to you? Also I have not even touched Xbox Live because of the kids that are in every server who screech down their mics like 5-year-olds. From what I've seen, get something else instead. Expand
  24. RonG
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    One of my favorite games ever. It will never get old. The campaign is so-so and some things could be a little better. However, this is meant mostly as a multiplayer game and this is where it excels above all. The replay value is through the roof, and for those who love games that require skill to play and master, Halo 3 online play is just that. Amazing.
  25. ChristianG
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    Amazing replayability, playing with skulls is incredibly hard, and the multiplayer delivers and is as addicting as COD4. The storyline leaves me wanting more, but it sure does deliver and leaves me satisfied enough.
  26. MG.
    Feb 15, 2009
    1
    Terrible run of the mill game nowhere near the shining spectacle that is the Half Life saga. Has the most retarded AI that more often than not will get their truck stuck against a rock, and that's not even the worst part the campaign is so overused (space marine # 10000000000000000000) that what little sparks of originality are snuffed out by the monstrous piles of overused s**t. Terrible run of the mill game nowhere near the shining spectacle that is the Half Life saga. Has the most retarded AI that more often than not will get their truck stuck against a rock, and that's not even the worst part the campaign is so overused (space marine # 10000000000000000000) that what little sparks of originality are snuffed out by the monstrous piles of overused s**t. I'm still trying to figure out what jacka** started shoving needles full of dopamine into their spines while they were playing this game. And online community is so awful and is either a homophobic 10-12 or an annoying 15 year old who has obviously been watching MTV for the past 8 years of their life and wear their pants around their knees. The only enjoyment I had while playing this game was while playing with my friends on multiplayer. If you're looking for anything else in this game then you get to eat s**t. Expand
  27. AnonymousMC
    Feb 16, 2009
    6
    An okay game. Just okay. The campaign is fun for a few times through, the multiplayer is also pretty fun in small doses, but gets boring after a while too. My biggest disappointment was the story; having been a Halo fan for several years, and after reading all the books, i was anticipating an epic finish to my favorite sci fi series of all time(and that includes movies and shows too, notAn okay game. Just okay. The campaign is fun for a few times through, the multiplayer is also pretty fun in small doses, but gets boring after a while too. My biggest disappointment was the story; having been a Halo fan for several years, and after reading all the books, i was anticipating an epic finish to my favorite sci fi series of all time(and that includes movies and shows too, not just games) Instead i got a confusing, irrational mess of convulated bull shit. Master Chief activiting the ring? I just dont like it. Expand
  28. ShalinmH
    Feb 28, 2009
    3
    Gameplay wise it did not imporove any thing that has not been done before by other fps while also having a horrendous storyline compare to the first halo; it did not completely come close to the expectation of the first halo in its awesome and interesting way that it use the storyline to futher the game; while also having a mediocre multiplayer modes it did not achive any greatness what Gameplay wise it did not imporove any thing that has not been done before by other fps while also having a horrendous storyline compare to the first halo; it did not completely come close to the expectation of the first halo in its awesome and interesting way that it use the storyline to futher the game; while also having a mediocre multiplayer modes it did not achive any greatness what so ever; to finalize my analysis of the game forge was the worse way to implement element of fun instead it of using the development of forge they should of made single player a well rounded experience. Expand
  29. joshq
    Mar 15, 2009
    6
    Not even the fanbois can overpower the user rating on this game. I'd really like some of them to tell me what they like about it rather than just bullsh*t us about how great it is. At the time the first halo came out it was a really good fps, but the sequels are the same thing.. and this one is just very poor compared to other fps' at the time. It operates off the same unreal Not even the fanbois can overpower the user rating on this game. I'd really like some of them to tell me what they like about it rather than just bullsh*t us about how great it is. At the time the first halo came out it was a really good fps, but the sequels are the same thing.. and this one is just very poor compared to other fps' at the time. It operates off the same unreal tournament style shooting and movement mechanics that everyone hates because there's absolutely no dynamics to weapons like recoil and shooting things gives a terribly unsatisfying effect. In MP its Better Gun > Whoever sees who first > knowledge of map > and finally skill, very non-skill based game. Expand
  30. EwanMacleod
    Apr 11, 2009
    10
    Wow! May I start with saying, that this is one of the most epic games ever? It would just be an FPS, but then they added some really epic environments and music. Anyway, the controls are easy, it's not that long but beating the whole thing on Legendary, well, it takes AGESSSSS! Best 360 game. Best Halo game. Buy. It. Now!
  31. SeanL
    Apr 12, 2009
    3
    Wow Critics, thanks for giving more ridiculous feedback for this overrated crap.. At least, GameCritics got their shit right. Well anyway, if you're halo fan (Like Hardcore) you'll obviously enjoy the game, since it's still an entertaining addition to your library. However the game is mediocre just like Halo 2 compared to 1st of the series. The game offers little to none Wow Critics, thanks for giving more ridiculous feedback for this overrated crap.. At least, GameCritics got their shit right. Well anyway, if you're halo fan (Like Hardcore) you'll obviously enjoy the game, since it's still an entertaining addition to your library. However the game is mediocre just like Halo 2 compared to 1st of the series. The game offers little to none improvements or new features. Equipment and new weapons is only thing that's different, which doesn't change my opinion by the slightest speck at all. It's the same old fps game we played 5-9 years ago, nothing is new. Story still sucks as much as H2, level design isn't too appealing. Gameplay like I said before is exactly the same. Multiplayer on the other hand, is very enjoyable..Since multiplayer is basically the only reason you would buy the game in the first place. Still great service from XBox Live, and really fun experience. If you're looking to buy the game for multiplayer, go for it..If you're looking for compelling campaign/Singleplayer. Just fucking look for something else, seriously. Expand
  32. AlanR
    May 31, 2009
    10
    I started reading the reviews for this game and got absolutely sick of all the haters. I just wish they would piss off. The bad reviews have been based on flimsy beliefs with no solid evidence backing it. DO NOT give this great game a bad score to balance the overall review, it's just stupid and childish. Some reviews are so incredibly sickening they made my head want to explode. I started reading the reviews for this game and got absolutely sick of all the haters. I just wish they would piss off. The bad reviews have been based on flimsy beliefs with no solid evidence backing it. DO NOT give this great game a bad score to balance the overall review, it's just stupid and childish. Some reviews are so incredibly sickening they made my head want to explode. This is a sci-fi game! don't mark it down for having science-fictiony weapons. People have marked it down for not being realistic or having sticky grenades. I don't like to use vulgar language, but that is fucking absurd!!! Do you mark down crackdown for being too powerful, NO, because your a f*cking superhuman crime fighter. I love this game because it is loaded with content (has a shitload of fan created content), has new features, a great multiplayer community greatly supported by Bungie showing that they really love their product, stunning graphics, great story, and a bloody masterful soundtrack. It is not fair to say it's cover system is bad because ITS NOT A FUCKING COVER SHOOTER!!!!. Many reviews mark it purely for being overhyped. That is a horrible basis on which to write a review, because a game can still be good even if it was hyped too much which I don't think it was. I wish I could write more but I am just too angry at the haters to think about this for much longer. So, I conclude this review by saying that I am giving this game a perfect score because thats what it deserves, not because I am trying to balance the score. Expand
  33. AlexD
    Jun 26, 2009
    2
    i use to like the halo franchise but halo 3 made me loose all respect for the franchise, the whole game took me 6 hours to complete and 7hours to complete on legendary mode. This whole game feels nothing new just the same old shit that i have been seeing for the past decade. Ive pretty much had it with multyplayer, even though it is fun with your friends but everytime i play, i run intoi use to like the halo franchise but halo 3 made me loose all respect for the franchise, the whole game took me 6 hours to complete and 7hours to complete on legendary mode. This whole game feels nothing new just the same old shit that i have been seeing for the past decade. Ive pretty much had it with multyplayer, even though it is fun with your friends but everytime i play, i run into some dumb little kids that do nothing but trash talk , plus the most of the maps are crap and littered with glitches. The enemy ai is wack, most of the enemies in the game are grunts and all they do is shit themselves and run around in circles screaming like little girls, the flood are easy as hell to kill compared to the other installments, the story still cheesy and cliche, BLOW UP THE RINGS OR THE ALIENS USE THEM TO KILL EVERYTHING IN THE GALAXY. I was really hyped up for this game and in the end got really dissapointed with it and traded it in a week later and got gears of war which is better than this halo 3 trash Expand
  34. ChrisGhysel
    Aug 14, 2009
    0
    The same way you do... ;)

    It's just amazing how many people like this game. I loved/lived Halo 1 and finished it on Legendary. Also liked Halo 2 a lot. DIDN'T EVEN BOTHER PLAYING HALO 3 BECAUSE OF THE RIDICULOUSLY LOW GUN SOUND VOLUME! It just kills all the fun for me. -_- Look at it this way. Epic story, tension is building up, you're in the jungle, all of a sudden
    The same way you do... ;)

    It's just amazing how many people like this game. I loved/lived Halo 1 and finished it on Legendary. Also liked Halo 2 a lot. DIDN'T EVEN BOTHER PLAYING HALO 3 BECAUSE OF THE RIDICULOUSLY LOW GUN SOUND VOLUME! It just kills all the fun for me.

    -_-

    Look at it this way. Epic story, tension is building up, you're in the jungle, all of a sudden you encounter the enemy, you start shooting. Pet put put put puut... ??? Hey, the sound of my gun is muffled even by the sound of my voice!... And no, it's not my setup, other games sound just fine. The sound mixing is just totally off in this game. And to think a simple sound menu could have solved this problem : sound up, voice down. UNBELIEVABLE HOW NOONE SEEMS TO EVEN MENTION THIS!... Gun sound is "essential" in a "shooter".

    IMHO all Halo 3 fanboys are idiots.

    PATCH THAT FRIGGIN' GUN SOUND BUNGIE INSTEAD OF LOOKING THE OTHER WAY!... It's the least you guys can do.

    Ps. I gave it a zero because the game disgusted me after a mere 10 minutes and I have never touched it again since. So much for paying 100 euros for the legendaty edition. Nuff said....
    Expand
  35. JeffG
    Aug 15, 2009
    2
    Halo is and always has been an overrated game. What made Halo so popular is that it was the first PC FPS to be successfully done on a console. PC gamers had seen it done before and better, but to console gamers, it was a whole new thing. Let me put it this way. If it had been made for PC as originally intended, it would have been written off as an acceptable attempt at being Quake. Halo is and always has been an overrated game. What made Halo so popular is that it was the first PC FPS to be successfully done on a console. PC gamers had seen it done before and better, but to console gamers, it was a whole new thing. Let me put it this way. If it had been made for PC as originally intended, it would have been written off as an acceptable attempt at being Quake. However, because it did nothing new in a new territory, it became an adored icon of mediocrity. So, here we are, two agonizingly bland sequels later. Now, as I have said, Halo is average, so you'd assume I'd give it a 5/10. Yeah, that's what I'd give the first one. But it goes repeating itself in a very stuck up manner, making me resent it more and more every sequel. Halo 3 did nothing new for the 3rd time. It has got to stop doing this. The story is still terrible, the bright design and squeaky midgets completely undermine the story's alleged "war", and Master Chief still moves patience-testingly slowly. There are two things that keep this game above a zero, though, and these are them. 1. Some serious genius thinking went into hyping the game up, though that was really the only genius thinking that can be associated with Halo. 2. The multiplayer did prove itself amusing when we were at our friend's house playing it on his 52 inch HDTV (while his copy of Left 4 Dead was too broken to provide us with our usual entertainment). Expand
  36. JoeE
    Sep 11, 2009
    10
    A purely epic game; great campaign, excellent multiplayer (co-op and vs) and the forge and theatre are great additions. A must have for any 360 collection
  37. nuthead
    Nov 12, 2007
    9
    It's not the best game in the halo trilogy, but it still get's 9/10. The campaign should have been a bit harder!(waaaay to easy, even on legendary difficult..). I love the multiplayer, becowse there's usually some crazy nut-head in each game that i allways laugh to, and i'm pretty good at it to(i don't mean being a crazy nut-head) so i don't die alot.
  38. JoshE.
    Nov 12, 2007
    2
    This game is terrible. It was so bad, I feel generous giving it a 2! There was nothing new and nothing good at all about Halo 3. The single player campaign was way too short, and simply playing the single player finding out you've done all of that work to get to this sort of ending is like being shot in the face by Bungie. The multiplayer is also terrible. There was nothing new at This game is terrible. It was so bad, I feel generous giving it a 2! There was nothing new and nothing good at all about Halo 3. The single player campaign was way too short, and simply playing the single player finding out you've done all of that work to get to this sort of ending is like being shot in the face by Bungie. The multiplayer is also terrible. There was nothing new at all about the multiplayer except the new maps they had added which are trash. In general, the game play as well as creativity went down the toilet with everything else that was once known as Halo. I was expecting something godly from the very generous ratings given by these sites, but was only to be let down. It's good to see some people can actually follow what they think rather than what the market thinks. In the meantime, I'll go play a game from Orange Box or CoD4. At least they are innovative and good. Expand
  39. ChrisEvans
    Nov 13, 2007
    5
    Just doesn't live up to the original Halo. hell, Halo 2 didn't live up to the original Halo. The focus is ultimately on the multiplayer aspect, which a person like me cannot enjoy as they have no access to broadband to speak of. The single player was a severe letdown. Guns looked like crap and sounded awful. Character models were mainly mediocre with the exception of MirandaJust doesn't live up to the original Halo. hell, Halo 2 didn't live up to the original Halo. The focus is ultimately on the multiplayer aspect, which a person like me cannot enjoy as they have no access to broadband to speak of. The single player was a severe letdown. Guns looked like crap and sounded awful. Character models were mainly mediocre with the exception of Miranda Keyes and the Master Chief. Level design was uninspiring and dull. Voice acting landed between average and poor. Music was reminiscent of the original Halo and Halo 2, yet felt out of place and rehashed. Team A.I. was so bad that aside from manning the chain gun, they have no practical use, as they're too stupid to stay alive or offer any meaningful assistance. The story was horrible, nothing compared to the original Halo. The most overhyped game of 2007. Doesn't deserve the "perfect 10" scores or nominations for "Game of the Year 2007" its getting, as this game is far from good, let alone "perfect". And that hurts me to say that, seeing how much time i've spent with halo, only to see the series go down the tubes with the shift to multiplayer. If you value single player or a mix of single player/multi player, then rent it and see how you like it. If you're into the multi, which apparently everyone is, then i gues syou'll want to buy it. Sadly the multi doesn't excuse the single. Not worth the 60+ bones it'll cost to buy it. Expand
  40. CheatJ.
    Nov 13, 2007
    2
    Nothing impressive, at all. No big changes, I'm not even "wow"ed the slightest. Halo 3 is just a rehash of a rehash. It does not live up to the giant pile of hype about it... Hopefully halo 4 wont come out to dig itself into a deeper grave. The only good thing out of this would be better quality red vs. blue episodes.
  41. SolaS.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    One of the best console FPS' of all time. Don't let the haters fool you: this game is superior to Gears of War and Call of Duty 4. Those are great games, but they don't have the Master Chief magic.
  42. AnthonyL.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Not too much to say here. The multiplayer (like always) is amazing. Forge doesn't seem like much at first but it is actually a very interesting tool that adds so much to the already dominating multiplayer aspect of the game. Theatre is also a nifty, I mean, you can freeze a frame on any game (campaign or multiplayer) and literally fly around the map viewing (and taking Not too much to say here. The multiplayer (like always) is amazing. Forge doesn't seem like much at first but it is actually a very interesting tool that adds so much to the already dominating multiplayer aspect of the game. Theatre is also a nifty, I mean, you can freeze a frame on any game (campaign or multiplayer) and literally fly around the map viewing (and taking screenshots/movies) from any angle. How cool is that? Now for the campaign. I'm not sure why everyone is badmouthing it... Its not bad at all. Sure, the single story arc is a bit of a downer but its still a good and relatively satisfying (albeit short) experience overall. The level design was amazing I think (all but 1 level anyways). There are many different environments to explore and lots of fun open maps littered with vehicles and big guns to blow them up with (think Assault on the Control Room from Halo 1). Expand
  43. AlexH.
    Nov 15, 2007
    2
    I give this a 2. It has good single player play but the campaign is so short and the story makes no sense. The multiplayer is VERY glitchy and isn't even worth mentioning. Something that kills you might not kill enemies. Not skillful or reliable at all.
  44. ChrisA.
    Nov 15, 2007
    1
    Ok, so maybe this game doesnt deserve one, if it wasnt part of the halo series i wud give it 5 but im mad. A game that has got such a big following feels like the effort hasnt been put in to make it what the customers deserve it to be. Give me code for halo 2 and i could make this game. all i can see they have done is added some new weapons, got a 5 year old to write a story for the Ok, so maybe this game doesnt deserve one, if it wasnt part of the halo series i wud give it 5 but im mad. A game that has got such a big following feels like the effort hasnt been put in to make it what the customers deserve it to be. Give me code for halo 2 and i could make this game. all i can see they have done is added some new weapons, got a 5 year old to write a story for the campain, and finally sprinkled it in HD and surrounded it in hype. I deserve more for my hard earned cash and months of following this game. If they make a halo four, i hope they do a better job, but ill need convincing before i buy a bungie game again. In A Word: Dissapointing. Expand
  45. elzilcho
    Nov 18, 2007
    6
    Halo is a multiplayer game. The first two were and the third exceeds all expectations...for multiplayer. I never exactly understood the first two games and was hoping that the third would tie the loose ends. It basically creates questions that will never be answered. The story was advertised to be great, but I was lost the entire second half of the game. Not to mention finding that it has Halo is a multiplayer game. The first two were and the third exceeds all expectations...for multiplayer. I never exactly understood the first two games and was hoping that the third would tie the loose ends. It basically creates questions that will never be answered. The story was advertised to be great, but I was lost the entire second half of the game. Not to mention finding that it has to be beaten on Legendary to see the real ending...hello YouTube. Halo, don't hate it, but don't play the campaign. Expand
  46. ThomasN.
    Nov 19, 2007
    7
    Had this been the first Halo game ever and wasn't hyped up to the max, this game would be worthy of 9s and such. Instead, we get a rehash of what we've seen already with the only arguement for it's greatness are ''it's Halo''. This is nowhere near a 10, but on the other hand it's not so bad it deserves any less than a 6. Fun for the occasional Had this been the first Halo game ever and wasn't hyped up to the max, this game would be worthy of 9s and such. Instead, we get a rehash of what we've seen already with the only arguement for it's greatness are ''it's Halo''. This is nowhere near a 10, but on the other hand it's not so bad it deserves any less than a 6. Fun for the occasional play or some messing about with your friends, but within a few hours you feel very bored. Expand
  47. DrewM.
    Nov 23, 2007
    3
    Game is boring, mundane, and short as heck. The game is half decent. Now its by no means bad, its average, run of the mill, boiler plate. Hell its not as bad as bioshock, its made me look back on it and cherish it. So really halo 3 is what it took me to lower my standards.
  48. CocoL.
    Nov 24, 2007
    1
    Good game that's not even close to the hype that was generated around it, not even on the top 5 FPS of the year lists for people who enjoy the full genre, rather than blindly following one title.
  49. RobJ.
    Nov 28, 2007
    9
    For an individual who has not played either Halo 1 or 2 at length, this game was absolutely awesome! However, the single-player campaign was much too short, which is the only reason why I did not give Halo 3 a 10/10.
  50. ScottL.
    Dec 12, 2007
    6
    I rated this game a 6 because after waiting months for it to come out I bought it and found it to be the same exact game as Halo & Halo II, not that it is bad but just not much different than playing either of my other Halo Games I already own. I would not spend the money if you already have Halo or Halo II unless you are just a fanatic that must have every Halo game. The graphics are I rated this game a 6 because after waiting months for it to come out I bought it and found it to be the same exact game as Halo & Halo II, not that it is bad but just not much different than playing either of my other Halo Games I already own. I would not spend the money if you already have Halo or Halo II unless you are just a fanatic that must have every Halo game. The graphics are better and look very good in some areas but the sounds, the creatures and most everything else feels and plays like a clone with hardly anything that is significantly different from previous Halo's. The biggest build up of the year for any game turns out to be the biggest let down in my opinion. Some games that were innovative, fresh when new become old, less involved and very repetitive over time (don't get me started on Zelda). A very overrated game by almost all of the game magazines. Expand
  51. NeilJ.
    Dec 17, 2007
    5
    This game is the worst of the franchise. Their are may problems with this game. At first i enjoyed the expirience it gave me for about 6 hours then it just went downhill. The story line is very short. Youd think that for the last game that they would make this the longest campagin mode out of the 3 halo games. well your wrong its the shortest. After beating the game I thought that the This game is the worst of the franchise. Their are may problems with this game. At first i enjoyed the expirience it gave me for about 6 hours then it just went downhill. The story line is very short. Youd think that for the last game that they would make this the longest campagin mode out of the 3 halo games. well your wrong its the shortest. After beating the game I thought that the online play would be better than halo 2 but worse than halo 1. (I thought that halo 1 was the best of the series) but I found out that I was just waisting my money. When I went on I first thought this was prity OK. But after about 5 games I realised that they better have a shit load of downloads if they want me to stay. The maps online are very anoying and repetitive in how each place works. I only found 2 maps enjoyable in this game. That is realy sad. Unlike halo 1 in which almost every map was good. (except for like 3 or 4). You will enjoy the multiplayer only if you have a shit load of friends that have the game. Otherwise you are just waisting money. The weapons in the game have downgraded even more in this version. The pistle in this game has gone down an even steeper slope. Entering random matches in halo 3 has also downgraded even more. Instead of being alowed to choose the game mode like capture the flag. You have to choose something less spacifick like big team battle which will most likely give you something you want to do. Every single friend I have(15) all hate halo 3. Halo 1 was the best of the sieries and bungie just milked it to much. Right now I can say that thank god that the series is over. Expand
  52. winstonavil
    Nov 11, 2008
    10
    This is one of the greatest games for the 360. The campaign is ok, but at least it has 4 PLAYER COOP cough cough (COD4). And the multiplayer is better than COD4 because it actually takes skill to level up. And to all those idiots who say COD4 is more realistic than Halo, NO SHIT Halo is a shooter that takes place in the future with a fucking super soldier no wonder it isn't realistic.
  53. TalonA.
    Nov 14, 2008
    9
    I like how people give the score a 7 or lower and expect to think their opinion is sooo more valid than mine or anyone else's. We're all entitled to our own opinion, but these excuses are just...stupid. Halo 3 is a true blockbuster, and you're an idiot if you haven't bought it by now. The multiplayer is epic, they're already coming out with a new campaign and map I like how people give the score a 7 or lower and expect to think their opinion is sooo more valid than mine or anyone else's. We're all entitled to our own opinion, but these excuses are just...stupid. Halo 3 is a true blockbuster, and you're an idiot if you haven't bought it by now. The multiplayer is epic, they're already coming out with a new campaign and map packs are not rare. At least Halo 3 uses REAL Multiplayer maps, unlike COD4, which recycles single-player maps. And for those who like to say "oh, it has so many little kids on it"...well...so does COD4. So does every game. Expand
  54. TazM.
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    This game is awesome, all of the idiots putting 0's on here are PS3 fanboys who cant take it that halo 3 isnt on PS3 so they have to go on meta critic and put 0s on all 360 games to increases their "e-penis". This game is amazing, Awesome story and a great conclusion to a bang up trillogy, Multi-player is fun and exciting. You can even save replays of your game, take screenshots, This game is awesome, all of the idiots putting 0's on here are PS3 fanboys who cant take it that halo 3 isnt on PS3 so they have to go on meta critic and put 0s on all 360 games to increases their "e-penis". This game is amazing, Awesome story and a great conclusion to a bang up trillogy, Multi-player is fun and exciting. You can even save replays of your game, take screenshots, record clips and then post the clips online and share them with friends etc. In forge you can edit maps and create mastepieces in the game, you can even play this mode online!!!! STELLAR GAMEPLAY, MUST BUY. Expand
  55. ochentay4ochentay4
    Nov 25, 2008
    6
    I've played every FPS till this day on PC and there are a lot to recommend. I bought a Xbox360 only to play Halo Trilogy to really experience this game... only to found out that this is an overhyped game that offers no memorable story nor gameplay (I only played single player campaign). The only thing that I cannot understand is that many reviews conclude with many negative comments I've played every FPS till this day on PC and there are a lot to recommend. I bought a Xbox360 only to play Halo Trilogy to really experience this game... only to found out that this is an overhyped game that offers no memorable story nor gameplay (I only played single player campaign). The only thing that I cannot understand is that many reviews conclude with many negative comments yet they give 8 or more. This trilogy sucks at best. Please go play "The Orange Box" you wont regret it. There are a lot of FPS games that are really good. Go play something else, dont bother with ANY Halo. Expand
  56. AlexB.
    Dec 27, 2008
    8
    If you vote 0 or 1 then your vote should be thrown out because there's no way this game deserves such a low rating. It's not perfect and I understand that emotion goes into how you vote, but honestly, a 0 or a 1?
  57. JS
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    Best Halo game, in my opinion. Had everything of the other two games, and then some. For one thing, the multiplayer is classic. You can't surpass it. Its a pure FPS through and through. No gimmicks. It is the standard. Graphics will age well, were the best on the market at launch. Storyline beats the first game hands down, although not sure about the second game. Gameplay is Best Halo game, in my opinion. Had everything of the other two games, and then some. For one thing, the multiplayer is classic. You can't surpass it. Its a pure FPS through and through. No gimmicks. It is the standard. Graphics will age well, were the best on the market at launch. Storyline beats the first game hands down, although not sure about the second game. Gameplay is immensely improved, even if you just account for the fact that the horrible 'white and black' anomalies are off the Xbox controller. The gameplay is simple, yet complete. Dynamic, but only confusing for toddlers. Its got several modes of play, massive replay value. For coop, aswell as multiplayer. There's hundreds upon hundreds of hours of gameplay. Skill plays a huge part in this game, not simply experience with the gameplay mechanics. If you're an FPS player, this is pickup and play. Unlike games such as Gears of War, its not necessary to make a vow of solitude to learn to play. Not much more to be said. This game is a 'hall of famer' for sure. Expand
  58. Feb 29, 2012
    7
    Halo 3 starts of slow, but comes with constantly increasing suspense, hitting a terrific climax towards the end. The game has its share of vehicle problems, but the first person combat holds up very well, and the story and the characters are more relatable than ever. Perhaps the most impressive is how the narrative manages to avoid many cliches and comes packed with one surprise after theHalo 3 starts of slow, but comes with constantly increasing suspense, hitting a terrific climax towards the end. The game has its share of vehicle problems, but the first person combat holds up very well, and the story and the characters are more relatable than ever. Perhaps the most impressive is how the narrative manages to avoid many cliches and comes packed with one surprise after the other. The game is also more cinematic and diverse than ever, and features enthralling music to back it up. Ending the trilogy in the most classy manner possible, with gameplay nods to its predecessors, Bungie has set an example for Sci-Fi games for years to come. That being said, the third installment in the Halo franchise didn't add much to anything with exception to the narrative, and some additional vehicles and weapon mechanics, leaving the remainders of the game more or less the same. It also lacked the graphical and enemy AI impressions of a next-gen release, and didn't truly enter into any territory where the franchise hasn't already been before. Expand
  59. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    No surprise here. Halo 3 is everything it was hyped to be. Epic story, campaign mode and an online community stronger than any game before it and probably for a long time after it. There certainly are a flaws just like any other game, but they are few and far between. If you don't have this yet, you're either being stubborn or just trying to be different, because there is really no reasonNo surprise here. Halo 3 is everything it was hyped to be. Epic story, campaign mode and an online community stronger than any game before it and probably for a long time after it. There certainly are a flaws just like any other game, but they are few and far between. If you don't have this yet, you're either being stubborn or just trying to be different, because there is really no reason not to love it. Expand
  60. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    What a game,a true masterpiece.I just hate the fact that they made an ending like this.They didn't close the door and make it dramatic like Mass Effect 3 did.Now a different company has it and there is going to be more Halo.That could be good,and it might also destroy the whole Halo name and all of the hard work put into this sense 2001.It's like how Michael Jordan was the best player everWhat a game,a true masterpiece.I just hate the fact that they made an ending like this.They didn't close the door and make it dramatic like Mass Effect 3 did.Now a different company has it and there is going to be more Halo.That could be good,and it might also destroy the whole Halo name and all of the hard work put into this sense 2001.It's like how Michael Jordan was the best player ever in basketball by a mile but what happened when he came out of retirement and played for the Wizards?It was the worst mistake of his career as a player.So you see my connection,but we will hope that this change will be awesome,I sure am hoping for it.I personally don't like Halo anniversary,343 industries first go at it so I'm kinda weary up to this point. Expand
  61. Apr 20, 2011
    6
    Halo 3 is a fun game, loaded with content and full of replay value. The campaign is most fun to play co-op, and makes completing Legendary much easier given someone stays back and provides a constant respawn relief. The story rounds of the trilogy nicely and there's a couple of twists, but overall Halo 3 isn't about the story, it's about the action and this is where it remains one of theHalo 3 is a fun game, loaded with content and full of replay value. The campaign is most fun to play co-op, and makes completing Legendary much easier given someone stays back and provides a constant respawn relief. The story rounds of the trilogy nicely and there's a couple of twists, but overall Halo 3 isn't about the story, it's about the action and this is where it remains one of the best ever released on Xbox 360. The multi-player element is fantastic, with balanced weapons and good maps and modes. There is little more amusing than both yourself and an enemy beating each other down after a lengthy battle. Forge mode is good, although I'm not a particularly creative person, there are some super maps to get from those who are. Expand
  62. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    As much as I loved Halo 2, I still love Halo 3. this may be the only first person shooter out there that I realy like. I can't stand Call of Duty, Battlefield's all right but Bungie keeps doing what they're doing and it's awesome. I love killing grunts, brutes and jackals.
  63. Jun 18, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Tbh, the game doesn't even deserve that much critical bashing from envious PS3 players who know that you can only play Halo games on the Xbox 360. But the fact is the story line is not clearly understandable, especially the ending that left a lot of detailed questions regarding the remaining Covenant's plans. The game play however, is diverse and consistent in weaponry, the ambiance in later levels when you begin to face Flood enemies was impressive, some of the USNC soldiers especially were quite convincing when they reacted to witnessing the Flood threat. However, what the game lacks is the sense of support by the human soldiers you get at occasional times, every time I lead a squad they either end up getting killed by their own grenades or they seem to not have the common sense in avoiding an enemy by taking cover which results in me being the only one as John-117 handling all the overloaded amount of enemies in one place, hence the AI of the game acting like a mechanical clown. There are too many enemies in the in the second-last and final campaign level, for me, they were as useless as statues while adventurously driving my Warthog with another alien just enjoying the well-fitted soundtrack (that was a good idea!). On the overall, Halo 3 was a satisfactory conclusion to the long trilogy. Expand
  64. Feb 14, 2012
    7
    The music and visual atmosphere in this game is outstanding. Then again it's exactly the same kind of amazing that halo 1 and 2 where. And that's not a fault so much as consistency of a series. Halo has some top notch set pieces and solid combat mechanics. It also has a strong multiplayer offering. It's just not as deep as the aesthetics imply. The story surrounding the series in theThe music and visual atmosphere in this game is outstanding. Then again it's exactly the same kind of amazing that halo 1 and 2 where. And that's not a fault so much as consistency of a series. Halo has some top notch set pieces and solid combat mechanics. It also has a strong multiplayer offering. It's just not as deep as the aesthetics imply. The story surrounding the series in the books/etc is actually well conceived. However what you actually get - is a action game. The story segments are rare, and very secondary to the game. And unfortunately, even with solid co-op, the game is also short. And that's what leaves me cold - these incredible aesthetics, suggesting a deep world and story - and instead we get a solid 5 hour traditional fps. Expand
  65. Mar 25, 2011
    6
    This game is among the most over-rated games, I've EVER played. Its purely nothing. You WALK around shooting plain aliens, with noticabely terrible cross-hairs. Ya sure vehicles, are cool and the graphics are O.K. but it's just not fun.
  66. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    Halo right now isn't the big monster that was eleven years ago, of course , generations pass fast and more games keeps changing the video game landscape. Halo 3 is a badass of a game and is a replay value game pumping up with the story that is great, the multiplayer is satisfying and the forge is cool. People ( some) will say this is bad and talk trash to it, but also, don't you thinkHalo right now isn't the big monster that was eleven years ago, of course , generations pass fast and more games keeps changing the video game landscape. Halo 3 is a badass of a game and is a replay value game pumping up with the story that is great, the multiplayer is satisfying and the forge is cool. People ( some) will say this is bad and talk trash to it, but also, don't you think that the CoD series is aging a little bit every time?.I respect the opinion of every people that say CoD is the best , but in the future there will be some thing better than that. Halo is the face of the 360 as for GoW . Expand
  67. May 22, 2011
    3
    this is one of the most overrated games i have ever encountered. I bought the game after hearing many positive reviews. i was very disappointed to find a very short single player campaign, VERY repetitive gameplay, and a boring multiplayer mode. i get the feeling that the main reason everyone loves the halo franchise so much is because it is an xbox exclusive. if you want some good xboxthis is one of the most overrated games i have ever encountered. I bought the game after hearing many positive reviews. i was very disappointed to find a very short single player campaign, VERY repetitive gameplay, and a boring multiplayer mode. i get the feeling that the main reason everyone loves the halo franchise so much is because it is an xbox exclusive. if you want some good xbox exclusives try mass effect, gears of war or alan wake Expand
  68. Jun 12, 2011
    9
    Even though it was a couple of years ago, I just had to comment on this amazing franchise/trilogy. It made me appreciate video games now (I used to think games were just a waste of time, some of them are still). Visually updated and full of epic-grand situations (hahaha can't find the right words), I mean this game just blew my mind completely. Yes, it WAS overrated but looking back at itEven though it was a couple of years ago, I just had to comment on this amazing franchise/trilogy. It made me appreciate video games now (I used to think games were just a waste of time, some of them are still). Visually updated and full of epic-grand situations (hahaha can't find the right words), I mean this game just blew my mind completely. Yes, it WAS overrated but looking back at it now, pretty good memories (me and my brothers/friends playing the campaign/battling each other in different ruins-forget what that's called). The story is more easy to follow and it still was kind of depressing but nevertheless, "a very good ending to a well-beloved video game series." Halo 4? Okay now its pushing it, I mean Halo Reach was very good but seriously what is Halo 4 going to be about? hmmm.... Expand
  69. Jun 19, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game was great and the campaign was a little rusty as u get farther into it but like always halo still came out with a great multiplayer like the new forge mode being able to create ur own battle field to just the way u will get an advantage just great but not the best just cause the game changed so much from halo 2 to 3 like how in 2 around the end u have grunts, elites, and hunters yet in 3 u have only elites Expand
  70. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    The SP sucks sooo bad, i got bored during th FIRST mission. The multiplayer is well, and the local S/S is very fun. The graphics are crap and the voices of the enemies are annoying. I hope reach is better than this piece of hammered ****
  71. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    Halo is truly amazing. **** u CoD players cuz Halo has a good storyline, multiplayer, soundtrack, and its sorta emotional. All CoD has is a good multiplayer and nazi zombies. CoD also barely has a storyline. All CoD players and Halo haters don't know what a good FPS is.
  72. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    Probably, One of the Best Games out of all the other halo games!
    The campaign is great especially on the legendary mode and the maps are way better than HALO REACH
  73. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    1st off I have to say I invested maybe 1,000 hours into this game online and I had the time of my life (on xbox). The Campaign was epic And good storytelling with a somber and rewarding ending. Due to the community being so big there are countless custom game types to play which adds to the fun.
    Im giving this a 10 because Halo 3 has a special place in my heart for all the reasons ive
    1st off I have to say I invested maybe 1,000 hours into this game online and I had the time of my life (on xbox). The Campaign was epic And good storytelling with a somber and rewarding ending. Due to the community being so big there are countless custom game types to play which adds to the fun.
    Im giving this a 10 because Halo 3 has a special place in my heart for all the reasons ive said. Even though it has small faults it deserves it in my opinion.
    Expand
  74. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    In my opinion, this a game with a great campaign, and fun multiplayer. Halo 3 was one of the first xbox 360 games i have ever got, and it is definitely a great buy. This game is a classic, and if you don't have it, you should seriously consider getting it.
  75. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    It is one of the best game I ever played. Epic campaign,perfect multiplayer. Someone give a 0 to this game. I can't understand why. The only bad thing of it is the graphic.If you didn't play this game, you can't say you're a gamer. Maybe it isn't the best Halo ever,maybe it isn't the best game ever, but surely it is a great game. Thank you Bungie.
  76. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    fantastic game play and multiplayer definitely make this a very good game and a must play the story was not as good as the first two and while it finished the story well it was very confusing for people who hadnt played the first one and even for people who did and really followed the story.
  77. Jul 14, 2011
    5
    The Graphics look last gen. The gameplay feels like it's from 2001. The dialogue is cliche, and the voice acting it awful. I still don't understand the story. The level design is shallow. The difficulty is very unbalanced. This game is very bad.
  78. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    The campaign doesn't change much although many of the games small tweaks have a tremendous impact on gameplay and multiplayer. No duel wield, you can't switch weapons as fast which takes away the power to switch the sword at the last minute resulting in "cheap kills" The game feels more balanced on the multiplayer side compared to Halo 2 with less exploits all around. THANK GOD for noThe campaign doesn't change much although many of the games small tweaks have a tremendous impact on gameplay and multiplayer. No duel wield, you can't switch weapons as fast which takes away the power to switch the sword at the last minute resulting in "cheap kills" The game feels more balanced on the multiplayer side compared to Halo 2 with less exploits all around. THANK GOD for no more super jumps. Expand
  79. Aug 1, 2011
    7
    I wouldn't say this game is horrible, if you are board just pop in Halo get a party and **** around. This game was good in the time but personally I wouldn't play it again. Solid all around though.
  80. Aug 12, 2011
    9
    Love it, hate it, don't give a **** about it, I don't care. It definitely is one of the best halo games second only to the second part of the halo series. Great story line, great game play, great graphics. The only thing that concerns me is the boss battle in the last mission is short and boring. A flying light bulb that shoots lasers at you, and every time you go near it, it pushes youLove it, hate it, don't give a **** about it, I don't care. It definitely is one of the best halo games second only to the second part of the halo series. Great story line, great game play, great graphics. The only thing that concerns me is the boss battle in the last mission is short and boring. A flying light bulb that shoots lasers at you, and every time you go near it, it pushes you back with a force? Come on, is that it? Is that all? Hopefully, the series will redeem itself when it makes Halo 4, and the boss is the Gravemind. Other than that, if the last boss was the Gravemind, I give this game a complete 10 out of 10. Expand
  81. Aug 13, 2011
    5
    Its just Halo and Halo 2 with better graphics. The online mode has dedicated servers and smooth play but the main game? The story is rubbish. The graphics are average and nothing new. The online could have had way more editing options but it was just a bland blast em up with crap maps. I think this game is too over hyped to be honest.
  82. Aug 15, 2011
    9
    Very good FPS. The gameplay is great, much like previous Halo games. It is not perfect, but I still had a wonderful time playing it with my friends. Even if it has been a while since it has released, I still from time to time come back to play it
  83. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    Story: 9
    Characters: 9
    Graphics: 10
    Setting: 8
    Multiplayer: 10
    Soundtrack: 10
    Audio: 10
    Gameplay: 10
    Re-Playability Value: 8
    Fun Factor: 9

    Score: 9.3/10 = A+
  84. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    Magnificant game!! WOwZa! love it play it all day! now i have to get a bath... im the boss.....yep, life is good. im playing halo 3! awesome game...let me tell ya folks!
  85. Dec 25, 2011
    8
    This game to shooters is like what Forza 2 was to racing games. A huge step up for the next-gen console. I don't like the gameplay, but I do respect the huge amount of work that's gone into it- esprcially the multiplayer. It really is a complete package. Halo 3 was the first ever example of a complete package, 7th generation shooter. The sheer scale of this game was just incredible. As myThis game to shooters is like what Forza 2 was to racing games. A huge step up for the next-gen console. I don't like the gameplay, but I do respect the huge amount of work that's gone into it- esprcially the multiplayer. It really is a complete package. Halo 3 was the first ever example of a complete package, 7th generation shooter. The sheer scale of this game was just incredible. As my first ever console experience of a shooter, I have to say that Halo 3 blew me away in all aspects. The graphics, environments, weapons, a map editor in Forge, the multiplayer matchmaking featuring TrueSkill, file share, the number of game modes. It's all just so revolutionary. So why can't I give it 10/10? Even though I've spent countless hours with friends playing split screen, changing the number of game setting which not even Black Ops can match, and also you get split screen online with guest account. But the one thing that makes this not worthy is simply my dislike of the combat system. There's no recoil and another contributing factor is that it's a console shooter so controls aren't as fluent as Call of Duty. Clearly this game set the benchmark for complete package games- more so than Call of Duty 4. However, the simple combat is what's stopping me from giving this incredible game 10/10. The campaign is fantastic and can be played in co-op, the split-screen and game modes and settings available for you to change... still no other shooter has come close to offering so much in a shooter other than Halo Reach. The creativity here and the impact it had in 2007 are just unbelievable though. Expand
  86. Oct 7, 2011
    9
    Here we are, the end of the Halo Trilogy...or the first one anyway. (I don't think they should make a 4th, just keep making spin-offs) But all that aside, this is a completely excellent game. Of course like the whole Halo series, the story and dialog is fantastic. You'll want to play the campaign over and over and over again, especially if you play with friends, then you virtually can't goHere we are, the end of the Halo Trilogy...or the first one anyway. (I don't think they should make a 4th, just keep making spin-offs) But all that aside, this is a completely excellent game. Of course like the whole Halo series, the story and dialog is fantastic. You'll want to play the campaign over and over and over again, especially if you play with friends, then you virtually can't go wrong, it's a good time, what can I say. And the multiplayer is fantastic, that is if you get what you want. In custom games I wish you could pick a game mode, pick a map, and find a server / create one. But you gotta put up with this playlist stuff, but still a monster of a game. Collapse
  87. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    yes im giving this a ten, ( i hate giving tens and i wish there was a 9.5) i am only doing so because this is the first game i played online and was so great in that respect that i will never in my life forget this game, i have never(an probably wont again) replayed the campaign of a game this much, yes i was abit of a noob at that time but i still sometimes go for abit of halo 3 multi andyes im giving this a ten, ( i hate giving tens and i wish there was a 9.5) i am only doing so because this is the first game i played online and was so great in that respect that i will never in my life forget this game, i have never(an probably wont again) replayed the campaign of a game this much, yes i was abit of a noob at that time but i still sometimes go for abit of halo 3 multi and single, why? well i just find it fun, i find every kill satisfying and fun, unlike some games where killing can almost seem like a chore. i love this game so much that this is very biased and not really a review but this game has let me meet poeple and has changed my life is some ways. so if you actually read this A: thanks B:if you enjoyed this tell me because it really is abit silly to have this under as a review. :) Expand
  88. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    Halo 3 rocks in every way, the graphics are great, the playability, and the voicework are all stellar too. The plot is very interesting as you follow Master Chief in his attempt to stop the Covenant once and for all. The multiplayer rocks the house as it is very fun to play in and the forge morge allows you to edit your own maps, providing tons of fun. Overall Halo 3 is a great game thatHalo 3 rocks in every way, the graphics are great, the playability, and the voicework are all stellar too. The plot is very interesting as you follow Master Chief in his attempt to stop the Covenant once and for all. The multiplayer rocks the house as it is very fun to play in and the forge morge allows you to edit your own maps, providing tons of fun. Overall Halo 3 is a great game that will make it's mark in video game history and in the minds of the people that play it. Expand
  89. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    This game is the reason I purchased an XBOX 360. It is phenomenal. The multiplayer is almost perfect in its design and amazing to play. The ranked playlists accurately match you with teammates of your skill and provide hours of fun competition.
  90. Nov 1, 2011
    5
    To my readers, this game is nothing more than a mediocre game that was blasted into the limelight. What an overrated game. The mechanics are okay and the graphics are a plus. Multiplayer is overrated as well. May it be biased or objective, there are just too many trolls online. I can't say too much about this game. I didn't like it much myself, but that's just me. I do not recommend anyoneTo my readers, this game is nothing more than a mediocre game that was blasted into the limelight. What an overrated game. The mechanics are okay and the graphics are a plus. Multiplayer is overrated as well. May it be biased or objective, there are just too many trolls online. I can't say too much about this game. I didn't like it much myself, but that's just me. I do not recommend anyone to buy it, rather just borrow from a friend or rent it out and see the crappiness for yourself. Expand
  91. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    game of the decade in my opinion. of course the superior matchmaking is overly dramatized by fanboys (including me) but the in game story was amazing as well. i loved it from the moment you land on Seria. till the dramatic ending. and the skulls. a genius idea to incorporate player involvement, humor, and entertainment. i truly hope that 343 models there game engines off of this. insteadgame of the decade in my opinion. of course the superior matchmaking is overly dramatized by fanboys (including me) but the in game story was amazing as well. i loved it from the moment you land on Seria. till the dramatic ending. and the skulls. a genius idea to incorporate player involvement, humor, and entertainment. i truly hope that 343 models there game engines off of this. instead of halo reach (good game as well. just not as good) Expand
  92. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    9.5,probably one of the best fps of all time.An epic campaign expect for mission 9 and the multiplayer i ever played.Some features such as the theater mode and forge were introduced by this game.
  93. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is hands down the best game I have played in my entire life, nothing can beat it. The campaign was absolutely bad ass and awesome, it gives me this awesome feeling. The multiplayer, I can't explain how awesome it is, BTB on Sandtrap, Infection on Custom Sandbox maps. I can never get over how good this game was, and still is. I will never forget this game (Maybe that is because IThis game is hands down the best game I have played in my entire life, nothing can beat it. The campaign was absolutely bad ass and awesome, it gives me this awesome feeling. The multiplayer, I can't explain how awesome it is, BTB on Sandtrap, Infection on Custom Sandbox maps. I can never get over how good this game was, and still is. I will never forget this game (Maybe that is because I play it everyday.) Expand
  94. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    Still one of the best first person shooters ever made cant recommend enough sad sony fanboys please grow up and stop writing your retarded misleading reviews i have a 360 and a ps3 and i can safely and there is no fps on ps3 that comes close to the halo games much better then shallow cod. Every real gamer should own this game roll on halo 4.
  95. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Theres games and theres HALO, Halo is in a whole different universe.
    So in conclusion, this is not a game of the year, its a freakin GAME OF THE DECADE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  96. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    With my review here, Understand that I'm reviewing it now, in almost 2012, and judging it by todays standards.

    Halo 3 was a great game when it came out, and I myself was in love with it for a good year of my life. But going back to it, it's very dated now. Anyone who thinks that Halo: Reach is not much different, should try going back and playing this. First off, the campaign mode is
    With my review here, Understand that I'm reviewing it now, in almost 2012, and judging it by todays standards.

    Halo 3 was a great game when it came out, and I myself was in love with it for a good year of my life. But going back to it, it's very dated now. Anyone who thinks that Halo: Reach is not much different, should try going back and playing this. First off, the campaign mode is excellent. I'm not usually a fan of campaigns but the fact that ti's co-op meant I could play it with friends and it was a lo of fun with some very memorable places and some good variation as opposed to just the same constant shooting tactics. I really like Halo driving mechanics and I'm glad it makes used to them.

    The Multiplayer has some beautiful levels that even in this day an age, look very nice in HD. However, weird things like being able to fall off anywhere and it not hurt you at all feel out of place within the game, and the jumping always feels a bit to anti-grav. Even now you can still find people online to play against easily enough, but I would strongly reccomend moving on to a new better FPS game. In summary, great co-op campaign and worth playing through, but don't get it for the multiplayer mode as it hasn't aged too well in that respect.
    Expand
  97. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    i bought halo 3 when it was first released in 2007 and thought its was an amazing game the muitplayer was very addciting and the single player was great.
  98. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    Amazing game, my fav from the Halo series! Of coarse it's overrated, its only the end to the amazing Halo trilogy, and its where I think they should have stopped making Halo, (No hatred towards Halo Wars and Halo Reach, I love those games!) Way better than Halo 4, and the Covenant troops, (Especially the grunts and the brutes.) Of coarse the Elites are funny and in my opinion, them joiningAmazing game, my fav from the Halo series! Of coarse it's overrated, its only the end to the amazing Halo trilogy, and its where I think they should have stopped making Halo, (No hatred towards Halo Wars and Halo Reach, I love those games!) Way better than Halo 4, and the Covenant troops, (Especially the grunts and the brutes.) Of coarse the Elites are funny and in my opinion, them joining the humans is a highlight of the game, as they are my fav species from Halo, (Aside from the Engineers.) This game is must have for all Xbox 360 owners. Expand
  99. Dec 17, 2011
    9
    The game that made me get an Xbox 360. Simply put, one of the best first person shooters of all time. I can remember spending hours upon hours playing matchmaking and campaign. I would definitely recommend this game.
  100. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    This game is, and always will be one of the greatest multiplayer experiences EVER to come to console. Over the many fun years of playing during the awesome D-EXP weekends, or the thousands of cool customs games made in forge, this game never ever lost it ability to create an awesome playing experience in which you can joke around with friends and just have an awesome time. Even after fourThis game is, and always will be one of the greatest multiplayer experiences EVER to come to console. Over the many fun years of playing during the awesome D-EXP weekends, or the thousands of cool customs games made in forge, this game never ever lost it ability to create an awesome playing experience in which you can joke around with friends and just have an awesome time. Even after four years of playing this game and over 12000 games, I have never gotten bored of this game, once. If only we could see games like this in the future.
    On a campaign note, it was very good. There were awesome moments which really attached you to the characters and had them feeling their pain and suffering or joy. The campaign is always fun to play and the hundreds of easter eggs hidden throughout the campaign along with terminals create almost a second game within itself which has been seen in the community.
    There is no comparison to this game, apart from its previous multiplayer title of Halo 2.
    10/10
    Expand
  101. Oct 7, 2011
    0
    Here we are, the end of the Halo Trilogy...or the first one anyway. (I don't think they should make a 4th, just keep making spin-offs) But all that aside, this is a completely excellent game. Of course like the whole Halo series, the story and dialog is fantastic. You'll want to play the campaign over and over and over again, especially if you play with friends, then you virtually can't goHere we are, the end of the Halo Trilogy...or the first one anyway. (I don't think they should make a 4th, just keep making spin-offs) But all that aside, this is a completely excellent game. Of course like the whole Halo series, the story and dialog is fantastic. You'll want to play the campaign over and over and over again, especially if you play with friends, then you virtually can't go wrong, it's a good time, what can I say. And the multiplayer is fantastic, that is if you get what you want. In custom games I wish you could pick a game mode, pick a map, and find a server / create one. But you gotta put up with this playlist stuff, but still a monster of a game. Collapse
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's the addition of the Forge level editor and the saved films that give the game an even longer set of legs, legs that will probably keep you running at full speed until Bungie figures out where, exactly, to go from here.
  2. Halo 3 is the best Xbox 360 game to date. The single-player campaign and storyline are both very strong, but it's Forge and the Saved Films features that will likely go down in history as Bungie's crowning achievements. They've basically taken everything great about the series and improved upon it in every way, then added some amazing new features that we'll be using for years to come.
  3. 100
    It's solid gameplay, immense replayability, online functionality and incredible production values will ensure its place in video game history, and it is, without a doubt, a satisfying and fulfilling close to the beloved trilogy[?].