User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3802 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is hands down the best game I have played in my entire life, nothing can beat it. The campaign was absolutely bad ass and awesome, it gives me this awesome feeling. The multiplayer, I can't explain how awesome it is, BTB on Sandtrap, Infection on Custom Sandbox maps. I can never get over how good this game was, and still is. I will never forget this game (Maybe that is because IThis game is hands down the best game I have played in my entire life, nothing can beat it. The campaign was absolutely bad ass and awesome, it gives me this awesome feeling. The multiplayer, I can't explain how awesome it is, BTB on Sandtrap, Infection on Custom Sandbox maps. I can never get over how good this game was, and still is. I will never forget this game (Maybe that is because I play it everyday.) Expand
  2. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    The best Halo game Bungie has ever made, Halo 3 delivered on all fronts. With an amazing story, great and innovative gameplay, and the best multiplayer out there, Halo 3 defined an era of gaming. I still look back on it with very warm and fond memories. The Spartan Laser, Mongoose, and all the amazing maps are some of the things that I will never forget. Unfortunately the graphics aren'tThe best Halo game Bungie has ever made, Halo 3 delivered on all fronts. With an amazing story, great and innovative gameplay, and the best multiplayer out there, Halo 3 defined an era of gaming. I still look back on it with very warm and fond memories. The Spartan Laser, Mongoose, and all the amazing maps are some of the things that I will never forget. Unfortunately the graphics aren't as good as we all once thought they were, but if you can get passed that, Halo 3 is by far the best Halo game out there. Expand
  3. Aug 28, 2012
    0
    I was in Game about to buy London 2012 and the helpful guy at the counter asked if I liked shooting games, I told him yes, I'm a big fan of CoD, So he recommended this game to me. I thought I'd buy it, as it was in the bargain bin and so within my budget. Anyway, I got home, started playing it and was bored of it within 5 minutes. Same stuff over and over, very disappointing, everybodyI was in Game about to buy London 2012 and the helpful guy at the counter asked if I liked shooting games, I told him yes, I'm a big fan of CoD, So he recommended this game to me. I thought I'd buy it, as it was in the bargain bin and so within my budget. Anyway, I got home, started playing it and was bored of it within 5 minutes. Same stuff over and over, very disappointing, everybody driving around in overpowered vehicles thinking they were something special. Anyway, to cut it short, This game doesn't live up to the standards set by games such as CoD4, CoD MW2, Ghost Recon, Just stick to them, you will regret buying this!!! Expand
  4. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    fantastic game play and multiplayer definitely make this a very good game and a must play the story was not as good as the first two and while it finished the story well it was very confusing for people who hadnt played the first one and even for people who did and really followed the story.
  5. Aug 13, 2011
    5
    Its just Halo and Halo 2 with better graphics. The online mode has dedicated servers and smooth play but the main game? The story is rubbish. The graphics are average and nothing new. The online could have had way more editing options but it was just a bland blast em up with crap maps. I think this game is too over hyped to be honest.
  6. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    I loved this game and I miss the good old days back when everyone used to play it. I miss messing around in the campaign, spending hours in forge and custom games trying to come out with the next fun formula for messing around with friends. It was a good time that I have no regrets about and honestly wish I could go back to.
  7. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    This game's multiplayer is still being played to this date. Even Halo Combat evolved's multiplayer is still on, When Bungie makes a game, they build it to last- Unlike a certain FPS franchise. and If you want a mediocre FPS, Go play your crappy Call of Duty. Halo has quality and a good single player AND multiplayer. If this isn't enough for you as a gamer, than you disgust me...
  8. Mar 25, 2011
    6
    This game is among the most over-rated games, I've EVER played. Its purely nothing. You WALK around shooting plain aliens, with noticabely terrible cross-hairs. Ya sure vehicles, are cool and the graphics are O.K. but it's just not fun.
  9. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    Series hit is peak here, many thought this would be the last Halo, yeah they all use the same formula, but in what ways can a game like this change and not ruin itself? The campaign was a fun and long sandbox story. The multiplayer is unmatched, I still play it to this day, always fun. Awesome, awesome game.
  10. Dec 30, 2012
    4
    Halo 3...is the worst Halo game in existence...it's extremely dull and boring. Halo 2 in my opinion is still the Halo game that defines the series, if you want the best Halo experience--Halo 2 will offer it. Halo 3 downgrades almost everything which made the previous Halo games so good. The combat is nothing new, though the duel-wielding has been taken away with a lot of weapons, whichHalo 3...is the worst Halo game in existence...it's extremely dull and boring. Halo 2 in my opinion is still the Halo game that defines the series, if you want the best Halo experience--Halo 2 will offer it. Halo 3 downgrades almost everything which made the previous Halo games so good. The combat is nothing new, though the duel-wielding has been taken away with a lot of weapons, which does balance things out for the multiplayer, though causes the single player to be much more slower than it needs to be. This brings up the general problem that the game is way too short. It can be beaten in a few hours and offers no real replay value due to the linearity and simplicity of it all. What were Bungie thinking? The X-BOX 360 was a next generation system, yet they make a game worse than what was run on the previous X-BOX? Multiplayer online seems to be ruining the single player experience...developers aren't bothered making good single player anymore due to the high demand for multiplayer, and it's a real shame considering that the first-person-shooter genre started off focusing heavily on single player. Unless you want to see what happens story-wise, there is no reason to play Halo 3. Expand
  11. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    This game is for everyone who's into Superheroes,FPS and Sci-fi. The campaign is very well made with a lot of replay value and co-op (splitscreen and online).The story is also very engaging. Online Multiplayer is a blast, my favorite mode is team slayer where two teams ,each with 4 players try to get the most kills. This is easily one of the most balanced games I've played to date. In 2014This game is for everyone who's into Superheroes,FPS and Sci-fi. The campaign is very well made with a lot of replay value and co-op (splitscreen and online).The story is also very engaging. Online Multiplayer is a blast, my favorite mode is team slayer where two teams ,each with 4 players try to get the most kills. This is easily one of the most balanced games I've played to date. In 2014 it is still worth it and there a lot of players online on weekends.
    I love it. 10 out of 10.
    Expand
  12. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    It's by far my favorite Halo game. Don't know why it got so much hate. It's the #1 game of 2007 I still come back to. It never gets old. The ending of the game still impresses me to this day. The story broke no barriers and was consistent. Still hate the level Cortana, though.
  13. Nov 25, 2014
    1
    Una de las mayores tomaduras de pelo en marketing de la historia de los videojuegos (Microsoft no dejó que la prensa mostrara imágenes del modo historia hasta por lo menos su estreno, no fuera que se le viera el plumero al jueguecito). Las dos primeras entregas tuvieron su gracia y razón de ser en la primera xbox, fueron un espectáculo audiovisual sin precedentes en consola y tenían unaUna de las mayores tomaduras de pelo en marketing de la historia de los videojuegos (Microsoft no dejó que la prensa mostrara imágenes del modo historia hasta por lo menos su estreno, no fuera que se le viera el plumero al jueguecito). Las dos primeras entregas tuvieron su gracia y razón de ser en la primera xbox, fueron un espectáculo audiovisual sin precedentes en consola y tenían una historia interesante. Pero todo esto se acabó al llegar 360. Halo 3 es más de lo mismo, un refrito barato de las dos entregas anteriores, un juego que no evoluciona y que queda lejos de ser referente de nada en 360. Un juego que ya sólo sirve para que un montón de niñatos, que se creen aficionados a los videojuegos, se peguen tiros por internet. Patético. Expand
  14. Nov 27, 2012
    5
    Halo 3 is one of the first games I ever bought for the 360 (along with Crackdown (never finished), Forza 2 (came with the console - awesome game), & Gears of War (my favorite game on the 360). This was 5 years ago. I STILL haven't finished Halo 3. Why? It's boring, repetitive, and even more boring. I guess like Mac fanboys, I'll just never understand Halo fanboys. GoW, Call of DutyHalo 3 is one of the first games I ever bought for the 360 (along with Crackdown (never finished), Forza 2 (came with the console - awesome game), & Gears of War (my favorite game on the 360). This was 5 years ago. I STILL haven't finished Halo 3. Why? It's boring, repetitive, and even more boring. I guess like Mac fanboys, I'll just never understand Halo fanboys. GoW, Call of Duty MW, GTA IV, BioShock, Dead Space, the original Crysis, even Battlefield:BC were ALL better game than this one. I'll finish it (eventually), but Lord I hope Reach & Halo 4 are better than this one. Expand
  15. Mar 13, 2011
    8
    I kind of ignored this game for a long time! I was a Nintendork. I still kind of am, but now, I'm a Wii60er! This game is fun and challenging! The story is really complicated to me, but that's okay, I literally said, "screw the story, let's kick some alien butt!" at one point. I love the theater mode and forge, in fact, I'm thinking of making a machinima because of them! I own atI kind of ignored this game for a long time! I was a Nintendork. I still kind of am, but now, I'm a Wii60er! This game is fun and challenging! The story is really complicated to me, but that's okay, I literally said, "screw the story, let's kick some alien butt!" at one point. I love the theater mode and forge, in fact, I'm thinking of making a machinima because of them! I own at matchmaking! I love using exclamation points! I give tribute to this game for broadening my horizons by 600%. Expand
  16. May 15, 2011
    10
    This is honestly one of the best games in my opinion. The gameplay is awsome and the story is absolutely amazing! Bungie really set the bar high and I cannot wait to see future Halo games. Large maps, large vehicle combat, the innovative weapons. These are one of the many things what makes Halo 3 one of the greatest games of ALL time. Long live Halo!
  17. Aug 1, 2011
    7
    I wouldn't say this game is horrible, if you are board just pop in Halo get a party and **** around. This game was good in the time but personally I wouldn't play it again. Solid all around though.
  18. Jul 31, 2012
    7
    I have only played the campaign for Halo 3, but the issues I have with this game are with the entire game. I'll give the multiplayer the benefit of the doubt though. One, why is the fov so low in this game? Humans have upwards of 100 degree field of view, so why is it that Master Chief has a fov of around 60? This is such a problem I have with this game, it's like handicapping the player.I have only played the campaign for Halo 3, but the issues I have with this game are with the entire game. I'll give the multiplayer the benefit of the doubt though. One, why is the fov so low in this game? Humans have upwards of 100 degree field of view, so why is it that Master Chief has a fov of around 60? This is such a problem I have with this game, it's like handicapping the player. You are essentially playing the game with tunnel vision. Haven't the game designers ever played DOOM before? DOOM has around 90 fov, and DOOM wasn't even WIDESCREEN. I've heard somewhere that the low fov is because it means less rendering for the console, and therefore, more fps. If that's true, that means the game designers were thinking like this: Graphics come first, THEN gameplay. That's just flat out wrong. If you're playing a new computer game on an old computer, you turn down the GRAPHICS so you can play the game, you don't play the game for the graphics, that's just nonsense. It literally made me stop playing the game for a couple of days because it was just not fun to play.

    There are some other graphics and sound problems I have but they PALE in comparison to this problem, so I won't mention them. Even the crosshair isn't even as much of an issue with this unrealistic fov. In regards to gameplay, I still wish they left the guns from Halo CE alone. I'm tired of changing guns every 5 seconds to suit the situation. The AR-grenade-melee system was just perfect. Yeah they made the melee a whole heck of a lot better (and more useful!), but the grenades are now useless, you don't even get as many of them anymore. The guns are not nearly as overpowered as Halo 1, but that was part of it's appeal. Yeah ripping Heavy Machine Guns off their tri-pods is one of the coolest shooter mechanics I've seen since ADS, but I'd still rather go into a fight with the MA5B, (and FOUR frag grenades).

    I love Halo 1, absolute God-send of video games. Buying the Anniversary Edition only made me remember this.
    Expand
  19. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    Its just perfect idjfjjfjfjfjfjfnfjfjjfjhggghjjifrmekfkrjfnfkfnfkejfbgbvwgvvdhfjckflfpfoflfkwnqnwmcogorñxnxnfbfjejfjfjfbdbfbfhfjwjqksiqkqkskfofoficicoglgkgifufhejjwjealofbfnfjfrjgjfjfjfjfj
  20. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Epic trilogies need epic and satisfying conclusions. That is exactly what you get with Halo 3. In my opinion this is the best Halo game of all time. Humanity with it's back against the wall is making one final effort to drive off the fractured covenant. Every battle is on a grand scale and you feel humanity's survival hanging in the balance. Equipment such as energy drains andEpic trilogies need epic and satisfying conclusions. That is exactly what you get with Halo 3. In my opinion this is the best Halo game of all time. Humanity with it's back against the wall is making one final effort to drive off the fractured covenant. Every battle is on a grand scale and you feel humanity's survival hanging in the balance. Equipment such as energy drains and deployable cover are a new mechanic. As always the weapons old and new are excellently balanced. This is one of my favorite games but in order to enjoy it to the fullest extent, I recommend that you play Halos 1 and 2 first. Expand
  21. Aug 20, 2010
    4
    It seems to me that the only defense that lovers of this game have for it is the fact that it has SUPERIOR MULTIPLAYER. I believe that thinking is a little too optimistic. What I mean by this is that these people have their brain trained to think that Halo games are good. Critics love them, they sell millions of copies, they are considered the best first person shooters in the business.It seems to me that the only defense that lovers of this game have for it is the fact that it has SUPERIOR MULTIPLAYER. I believe that thinking is a little too optimistic. What I mean by this is that these people have their brain trained to think that Halo games are good. Critics love them, they sell millions of copies, they are considered the best first person shooters in the business. So, why shouldn't they believe that these games are great? The answer is simple...they aren't great. They are hardly, if at all, good. Fanboys will defend (to their death) the multiplayer, but I have long considered multiplayer somewhat of a bonus when it is included in a game, not its flagship feature. For a developer like Bungie to cut the corners on a story mode just to pump out the next multiplayer sequel seems a bit like robbery to me. This game would be saved if they had taken some time to truly develop a story, and make it seem as if they cared about making a compelling video game. They've had three games to tell a good, epic, awe inspiring story, and they haven't even tried. They've just pushed out some weak crap and stamped the next number in sequence after the title. Expand
  22. Sep 24, 2010
    10
    Do I even have to write a review for this game? It kind of speaks for itself.
    Be sure to go to bungie.net to get your Halo 3 nameplate for Halo: Reach.
  23. Dec 17, 2011
    9
    The game that made me get an Xbox 360. Simply put, one of the best first person shooters of all time. I can remember spending hours upon hours playing matchmaking and campaign. I would definitely recommend this game.
  24. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    Best Halo game EVER created! You are NOT a true Halo fan if you do NOT love this game. You are doing yourself a favor if you buy this game! Go ahead and do it. Don't listen to the negative reviews, either. This game is so worth it. It brought machinima to its peak, it introduced us to Theater and Forge, and accompanied by that was an amazing Matchmaking system with a superb ranking system.Best Halo game EVER created! You are NOT a true Halo fan if you do NOT love this game. You are doing yourself a favor if you buy this game! Go ahead and do it. Don't listen to the negative reviews, either. This game is so worth it. It brought machinima to its peak, it introduced us to Theater and Forge, and accompanied by that was an amazing Matchmaking system with a superb ranking system. You just CANNOT not love this game! If you're reading and and don't have it, get Halo 3 now! Expand
  25. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Halo 3 is an amazing game that I love to come back to again & again to experience the fun campaign & extremely competetive, challenging, & fun multiplayer that I miss about multiplayer games.
  26. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    Best Halo game EVER created! You are not a true Halo fan if you do not love this game. You are doing yourself a favor if you buy this game. Go ahead and do it. Don't listen to the negative reviews either. This game is so worth it. It brought machinima to its peak, it introduced us to Theater and Forge, and accompanied by that was an amazing Matchmaking system with a superb ranking system.Best Halo game EVER created! You are not a true Halo fan if you do not love this game. You are doing yourself a favor if you buy this game. Go ahead and do it. Don't listen to the negative reviews either. This game is so worth it. It brought machinima to its peak, it introduced us to Theater and Forge, and accompanied by that was an amazing Matchmaking system with a superb ranking system. You just cannot not love this game! If you're reading and and don't have it, get Halo 3 now! Expand
  27. Apr 18, 2015
    9
    Amazing game. story, gameplay and multiplayer. the games now days should learn from these gems. the only things that bothers me is that you will need a decent connection in order to enjoy at its full potential the multiplayer. you will ned "host"
  28. Nov 27, 2010
    7
    A pretty decent game. It lacks the replay value of the first two, and the story is pretty weak compared to the rest of the series. Ofcourse, that can be forgivable since it must have been difficult trying to bring an adequate conclusion to the storyline. If you like first person shooters, this game is worth a couple playthroughs.
  29. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    I love this game. In every aspect it met my gaming needs and wants. The campaign was just so epic, it was so exciting to travel to level to level. But still the A.I. is as dumb as as bag of hammers. But still if you can ignore the stupid A.I. then you got a game of the year worthy game. Especially the multi-player. They took a big leap from Halo 2, and they landed it. It was veryI love this game. In every aspect it met my gaming needs and wants. The campaign was just so epic, it was so exciting to travel to level to level. But still the A.I. is as dumb as as bag of hammers. But still if you can ignore the stupid A.I. then you got a game of the year worthy game. Especially the multi-player. They took a big leap from Halo 2, and they landed it. It was very satisfying to get sprees and multi-kills, and watching your plasma grenades exploding while on somebody's face. All you need is maybe $30 and you'll be happy for a while. Expand
  30. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    This game is, and always will be one of the greatest multiplayer experiences EVER to come to console. Over the many fun years of playing during the awesome D-EXP weekends, or the thousands of cool customs games made in forge, this game never ever lost it ability to create an awesome playing experience in which you can joke around with friends and just have an awesome time. Even after fourThis game is, and always will be one of the greatest multiplayer experiences EVER to come to console. Over the many fun years of playing during the awesome D-EXP weekends, or the thousands of cool customs games made in forge, this game never ever lost it ability to create an awesome playing experience in which you can joke around with friends and just have an awesome time. Even after four years of playing this game and over 12000 games, I have never gotten bored of this game, once. If only we could see games like this in the future.
    On a campaign note, it was very good. There were awesome moments which really attached you to the characters and had them feeling their pain and suffering or joy. The campaign is always fun to play and the hundreds of easter eggs hidden throughout the campaign along with terminals create almost a second game within itself which has been seen in the community.
    There is no comparison to this game, apart from its previous multiplayer title of Halo 2.
    10/10
    Expand
  31. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    This game is what I got Xbox for back in 2009. It simply is amazing. I never played Halo 2, but I still like it. The multiplayer isn't overall "fun" or the campaign either, I just played it with my friends and had alot of fun doing that. 9 out of 10.
  32. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    The game engine for this game is the apex of years of refinement and will not be improved on. This is due to the fact that they didn't try too hard and kept the core of the Halo story going whilst putting together the single best multiplayer system ever. Thanks Bungie!
  33. Dec 30, 2012
    0
    problem cortana is not really wearing clothes i sold my game because of it.
    it is totally anti-God message
    the aliens represent the covenant of God. your charracter must kill this covenant.

    totally anti-Christian
  34. Jun 25, 2014
    9
    Halo 3 is one of the most influential games of our time. It has one of the most enjoyable multiplayers and best stories in the business. It was my first game for the 360, and by God it was one of my favorites. For it's time, the graphics were astounding, the gameplay was smooth as cream and the soundtrack... oh Lord the soundtrack. It was one of the most sublime compositions of our time.Halo 3 is one of the most influential games of our time. It has one of the most enjoyable multiplayers and best stories in the business. It was my first game for the 360, and by God it was one of my favorites. For it's time, the graphics were astounding, the gameplay was smooth as cream and the soundtrack... oh Lord the soundtrack. It was one of the most sublime compositions of our time. In 2014 you can find it at a measly price, so grab your AR and jump into one of the last servers remaining, or simply enjoy the amazing campaign.

    9/10
    Expand
  35. Mar 16, 2015
    7
    * * * * * * * * *
    CAMPAIGN
    * * * * * * * * * A solid plotline with a plethora of epic set-pieces and stirring moments of spine-tingling drama. The characters are predictable, but it's what you would and should expect from a Halo game. Graphically, this game has the unmistakably unique Halo style of aesthetics, which keeps it distinguishable. The sound effects are good and, like the
    * * * * * * * * *
    CAMPAIGN
    * * * * * * * * *
    A solid plotline with a plethora of epic set-pieces and stirring moments of spine-tingling drama. The characters are predictable, but it's what you would and should expect from a Halo game.

    Graphically, this game has the unmistakably unique Halo style of aesthetics, which keeps it distinguishable. The sound effects are good and, like the graphical style, retain an unmistakable Halo feel. The voice acting is above average, but nothing standout. NPC dialogue is still bland and often cringe-worthy, but luckily, the main dialogue is usually noticeably better.

    The soundtrack is, in my opinion, easily one of the most stunning ever composed for a video-game. The amount of raw emotional power delivered through the expertly crafted soundtrack of Halo 3 is truly something to behold, and it will make your spine tingle more times than one could count. Martin O'Donnell certainly, without a doubt, gave this soundtrack everything he had. And it shows.

    The controls of Halo 3 are virtually the same as the previous two titles, and there is not necessarily anything wrong with that. The Halo control scheme is a classic layout, and to tamper with it inefficiently would be a bit of a drawback. However, the inherent lack of a sprint button by now, the third entry, is something worth mentioning. The HUD is still clear and simple, and provides just as much information as it has to.

    Meanwhile, there are virtually no bugs to speak of, and the system runs smoothly with the well-known Halo physics that are a blast to play around with. The biggest issue with the campaign is the somewhat tedious final few levels, such as the infamous and universally dreaded 'Cortana' level. The Flood are, as always, horribly annoying. Entire levels dedicated to them are beyond frustrating.

    There is good content here, and replay value is moderate.

    TOTAL SCORE FOR CAMPAIGN: 7/10

    * * * * * * * * * * *
    MULTIPLAYER
    * * * * * * * * * * *
    The ever-classic multiplayer mode of Halo has never been better than it is here.

    Halo 3 can proudly boast one of the most excellent multiplayer modes ever created for an FPS game. With plenty of modes to keep you occupied, lots of intense slayer battles to be fought, more flags and oddballs to be collected than one could hope for, Halo 3's multiplayer is superb in nearly every way. Truly, this is Halo 3's winning feature.

    The amount of fun to be had here is unmatched.

    TOTAL SCORE FOR MULTIPLAYER: 9/10

    * * * * * * * *
    FILM
    * * * * * * * *
    Film allows you to get a spectacularly detailed look at the campaign levels and multiplayer matches through the eyes of a spectator. It adds a whole new element to the mix.

    The controls can be occasionally finicky, but once mastered, Film can provide you with plenty of awesome views.

    It takes some getting used to, but if used well, it can be a mildly entertaining mode.

    TOTAL SCORE FOR FILM MODE: 7/10

    * * * * * * * *
    FORGE
    * * * * * * * *
    Forge allows the player to customize the default maps with additional weapons and items.

    Highly finicky, surprisingly buggy, and just very very frustrating. The amount of time and patience required to produce a customized map is rarely worth the result, especially with the annoyingly unwieldy controls.

    Hardly worth the effort necessary to be used. It's Lackluster, and there is little chance of repeat visits to this mode.

    TOTAL SCORE OF FORGE: 5/10

    * * * * * * * * THE VERDICT * * * * * * * * There is plenty of value in Halo 3. A good campaign that is sure to give you goose-bumps (but not without a few road-bumps here and there), and a stunning multiplayer mode that improves on the classic style in efficient ways. The replay value is high. Unfortunately, Film Mode and Forge detract a bit from the overall content, but not much. Halo 3 is a great gaming experience that has held up over the years. It's a true classic.
    Expand
  36. Nov 1, 2014
    8
    A very fun game indeed, the story is great and the multiplayer system works wonders not to mention how fun the whole game is. forge could be better but otherwise this game is great,
  37. Feb 6, 2015
    10
    this game had the best campaign, most even mulitiplayer and best multiplayer great graphics for the year it was made in(2007). this game is just great. it continues where halo 2 left of and had a great story
  38. Aug 28, 2010
    9
    Halo 3 is a great game the campaign is not the best but it has it's upsides.
    I would recommend this game to any first person shooter fan just do not expect the campaign to be fantastic
  39. Aug 30, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As some of you may give this a 0, how can you guive it that. The balance is soo well done online, for wxample the player skill balance. Also each game everyone has the same weapon. You can get shot a few times and still have a chance. Isn't that great? I'm not a big fan of the older campaigns( Halo and Halo 2) I loved this one. Thr levels Tsvaso's Highway to the level Halo is just pure fun on Legendary. But the multiplayer is where the entire community is. You could probably play this game in 2016 and there probably will be at least 500 people on. But now 2.5 years after it 9/25/07 release there are 75,000 to 200,000 people on depending on the time. Just purely one of the best games on the Xbox 360 you can buy!!! Expand
  40. May 26, 2012
    6
    It's a very overrated game and it shouldn't be as hyped as it should be. To me this is your average Fps game that lacks in certain ways. Don't get me wrong this game is beautiful but it isn't cut out to be an actual "Halo" game when compared to the first two games. This game only has 9 levels of campaign and one of the levels is just downright horrible. This goes to show how much effortIt's a very overrated game and it shouldn't be as hyped as it should be. To me this is your average Fps game that lacks in certain ways. Don't get me wrong this game is beautiful but it isn't cut out to be an actual "Halo" game when compared to the first two games. This game only has 9 levels of campaign and one of the levels is just downright horrible. This goes to show how much effort Bungie put into this game. The game design is bad because of this.The storyline seems to be a bit duller from the other games. It seems like it's always revolved around saving the world, which is okay but gets pretty bland after awhile. Other then that the online multiplayer experience is very well done. Which is why i give it a 6. It Lacks in campaign, storyline, and character development but it makes up for it in multiplayer. Expand
  41. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    Halo 3 is a true masterpiece. That's all that needs to be said. The gameplay is designed perfectly to match the style of landscape the game has, its graphics can outmatch almost all fps games made before 2012 (I'm looking at you CoD), and the music is beautifully composed and fits in perfectly with the gameplay. The multiplayer is based off of skill and requires a lot of time to get toHalo 3 is a true masterpiece. That's all that needs to be said. The gameplay is designed perfectly to match the style of landscape the game has, its graphics can outmatch almost all fps games made before 2012 (I'm looking at you CoD), and the music is beautifully composed and fits in perfectly with the gameplay. The multiplayer is based off of skill and requires a lot of time to get to understand the mechanics and ranking system (looking at CoD again). I think Halo 3 definitely deserves a 10 rating. Expand
  42. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    It is one of the best game I ever played. Epic campaign,perfect multiplayer. Someone give a 0 to this game. I can't understand why. The only bad thing of it is the graphic.If you didn't play this game, you can't say you're a gamer. Maybe it isn't the best Halo ever,maybe it isn't the best game ever, but surely it is a great game. Thank you Bungie.
  43. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    Still one of the best first person shooters ever made cant recommend enough sad sony fanboys please grow up and stop writing your retarded misleading reviews i have a 360 and a ps3 and i can safely and there is no fps on ps3 that comes close to the halo games much better then shallow cod. Every real gamer should own this game roll on halo 4.
  44. May 27, 2012
    10
    I give this a 10 due to what I see as some bs ratings. The only complaint I have is the campaign is linear, but that's to be expected from a console, multiplayer-focused fps. Regardless of that fact, I enjoyed the campaign very much, and the multiplayer is stellar. The addition of BR spread since Halo 2 did mean smaller maps, but I can't say I really mind. Being able to see someone, butI give this a 10 due to what I see as some bs ratings. The only complaint I have is the campaign is linear, but that's to be expected from a console, multiplayer-focused fps. Regardless of that fact, I enjoyed the campaign very much, and the multiplayer is stellar. The addition of BR spread since Halo 2 did mean smaller maps, but I can't say I really mind. Being able to see someone, but not necessarily kill them outright is nice and gives you a chance to outmanoeuvre them a bit. Other than that, it's not so different from Halo 2 (albeit missing the double and quad shots.) Everyone starts out on equal footing, and games tend to focus on map control for the power weapons. Just because your opponent gets the first shot off on you doesn't mean you're screwed. Forge mode adds a lot of longevity to the game, especially with the foundry and sandbox maps. All in all, an excellent game. Expand
  45. Mar 26, 2013
    0
    This was the game that taught me how the proffesional (pfff hhaha) gaming press operates, where reviews are bought and paid for by companies that can afford it. The halo franchise got where it is today not because the games are any good but because microsoft spent more on the marketing than on the actual making of the product. The gameplay is slowed down and as basic as an fps can possiblyThis was the game that taught me how the proffesional (pfff hhaha) gaming press operates, where reviews are bought and paid for by companies that can afford it. The halo franchise got where it is today not because the games are any good but because microsoft spent more on the marketing than on the actual making of the product. The gameplay is slowed down and as basic as an fps can possibly get. Levels are poorly made and you are often forced to re-thread your path up to three times, a very cheap way to extend campaign time. Halo 3 is often called a sandbox game wich marks who ever says that as an imbecile. Graphics range from bad to 'what the hell am I even looking at' and are seen through the extremely narrow headache inducing field of view visor of robot master guy sergeant, the protagonist who jorneys through the plothole ridden mess of a storyline spouting maybe 3 sentences on the way to the ending wich by the way can not have taken the hacks at bungie more than 30 minutes to produce. You see the commercials (where the money was put) showed well made cgi whereas the ingame cutscenes look like someones first attempt at using the quake1 engine. If you have four microscopes you can play the game 4 way splitscreen in eyestrain-o vision, a function wich since it isn't in many games nowadays is often lorded as something divine when in actuality it is not something any sane person would inflict on their corneas. The multiplayer is cut from the same cloth as the campaign where the gameplay has a kidde pool level of depth and a community that would make a room full of angry baboons seem like a place of enlightenment. It runs on the worst game service on earth xbl with laggy p2p networking. If Halo 3 is your most favourite game in the world you might also enjoy banging a hammer against your head. Expand
  46. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    Halo 3 is one of the best FPS's I've ever played. It's sad that no one really plays this game anymore, because of the release of Halo Reach and Halo 4. The online multiplayer is clearly better than Halo Reach and Halo 4, because of the great maps and the simple gameplay. There isn't much to the game. You just pick up guns of the ground and use them. The campaign lives up the seriesHalo 3 is one of the best FPS's I've ever played. It's sad that no one really plays this game anymore, because of the release of Halo Reach and Halo 4. The online multiplayer is clearly better than Halo Reach and Halo 4, because of the great maps and the simple gameplay. There isn't much to the game. You just pick up guns of the ground and use them. The campaign lives up the series expectations quite well too and it is very difficult if you choose the harder modes to play on. Overall this game deserves a clear 10 out of 10. Expand
  47. Sep 24, 2013
    9
    Halo; Combat Evolved or Halo 2 are often considered the best halo games. Though they are fantastic games, the only things they have to offer that Halo 3 doesn't are the nostalgia, story (Excluding Halo 2) and possibly balancing with the enemies and weapons. Other than that, Halo 3 is pretty much superior in all ways. You can't argue that the multiplayer for the first two were better thanHalo; Combat Evolved or Halo 2 are often considered the best halo games. Though they are fantastic games, the only things they have to offer that Halo 3 doesn't are the nostalgia, story (Excluding Halo 2) and possibly balancing with the enemies and weapons. Other than that, Halo 3 is pretty much superior in all ways. You can't argue that the multiplayer for the first two were better than Halo 3's multiplayer. Balancing issues aside, Halo 3 has NUMEROUS multiplayer options like forge, custom game options, more weapons and customization, and most importantly, online multiplayer. While The first two may have had online multiplayer on the PC version, Halo 3 was more superior and more successful than both. Now, on the side or story, the story of the first two (Referring to opinion) could very well be much superior in terms of everything, but the story can't be the way you compare the two, since single-player wasn't exactly Halo 3's goal. While they put more effort into the story than, say Call of Duty, they weren't aiming for a story-game, but more of a multiplayer game.
    The main reason that people preferred Halo 1 or 2 over 3 is mostly due to nostalgia, which isn't something you should let review your games for you. You have to review the game for how good it is, not nostalgia or memories. And when you look at Halo 3 in that perspective, it is definitely better than the first two.
    Expand
  48. Sep 10, 2014
    10
    Campaign was pretty good, but that isn't the reason I play halo nor is campaign reflected in my score. I still play halo 3 to this day and love every minute of it. Even when I am raging and cursing at bungie. What makes halo 3 great is that Bungie added onto halo 2 without adding to much to effect gameplay. They still had duel wielding, but they fixed a bunch of glitches, allowed trades inCampaign was pretty good, but that isn't the reason I play halo nor is campaign reflected in my score. I still play halo 3 to this day and love every minute of it. Even when I am raging and cursing at bungie. What makes halo 3 great is that Bungie added onto halo 2 without adding to much to effect gameplay. They still had duel wielding, but they fixed a bunch of glitches, allowed trades in beat downs, changed the aiming to add to the skill gap, and added equipment on the maps. None of these things took away from the gameplay, but instead added to it. They kept it the same arena style that Halo fans had come to love. They moved away from this in Reach when they turned this amazing Arena FPS into a Class-based FPS, but that is another story. All and all it is probably one of the best Multiplayer FPS on the xbox 360. Expand
  49. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    The game gives the player control of a FBI agent named Francis York Morgan who is investigating the murder of a young woman, Anna Graham, near the fictional American town of Greenvale (its containing state is never identified, but it appears to be somewhere in the Pacific Northwest). Upon arriving in the town York is greeted by town sheriff George Woodman and his deputy Emily Wyatt, whoThe game gives the player control of a FBI agent named Francis York Morgan who is investigating the murder of a young woman, Anna Graham, near the fictional American town of Greenvale (its containing state is never identified, but it appears to be somewhere in the Pacific Northwest). Upon arriving in the town York is greeted by town sheriff George Woodman and his deputy Emily Wyatt, who brief him on the murder and lead him to the crime scene. York generates considerable friction with his dismissive attitude toward the locals, bizarre demeanor, and tendency to interrupt conversations to deliver asides to "Zach", an alternate personality congruent with the player. Over the course of his investigation, York has opportunities to touch the lives of many of the town's colorful personalities and intervene in their personal crises, often brought on by the sudden and brutal murder in their midst, to earn rewards and further his understanding of the case. As he unearths more and more mysteries and the killer continues to roam, the town's dark past slowly comes to light.
    Deadly Premonition's plot and setting are strongly influenced by the American television show Twin Peaks, and numerous allusions and thematic links can be found within the game, and Master Cheif dies in space.
    Expand
  50. Apr 25, 2011
    7
    This was a great game, star to finish, but c'mon, think about it: It's just Halo 2 reskinned in HD, nothing more, and nothing less. Sure, they added equipment and brute weapons/vehicles, but the Prowler is no different from the old Spectre, and the Marines don't pack very many polygons. in fact, the game relies heavily on bump modelling to show the detail. Overall, I give this game a 7,This was a great game, star to finish, but c'mon, think about it: It's just Halo 2 reskinned in HD, nothing more, and nothing less. Sure, they added equipment and brute weapons/vehicles, but the Prowler is no different from the old Spectre, and the Marines don't pack very many polygons. in fact, the game relies heavily on bump modelling to show the detail. Overall, I give this game a 7, and I think Bungie can live with that. Expand
  51. Jun 19, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game was great and the campaign was a little rusty as u get farther into it but like always halo still came out with a great multiplayer like the new forge mode being able to create ur own battle field to just the way u will get an advantage just great but not the best just cause the game changed so much from halo 2 to 3 like how in 2 around the end u have grunts, elites, and hunters yet in 3 u have only elites Expand
  52. Aug 12, 2011
    9
    Love it, hate it, don't give a **** about it, I don't care. It definitely is one of the best halo games second only to the second part of the halo series. Great story line, great game play, great graphics. The only thing that concerns me is the boss battle in the last mission is short and boring. A flying light bulb that shoots lasers at you, and every time you go near it, it pushes youLove it, hate it, don't give a **** about it, I don't care. It definitely is one of the best halo games second only to the second part of the halo series. Great story line, great game play, great graphics. The only thing that concerns me is the boss battle in the last mission is short and boring. A flying light bulb that shoots lasers at you, and every time you go near it, it pushes you back with a force? Come on, is that it? Is that all? Hopefully, the series will redeem itself when it makes Halo 4, and the boss is the Gravemind. Other than that, if the last boss was the Gravemind, I give this game a complete 10 out of 10. Expand
  53. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    good game by bungie. deserves higher than the 7.7 average so i gave it a 10. the new halo games are absolutely terrible in comparison...if they get scores like 6 then this deserves a 100/10. i mean halo 4 literally killed halo...at least halo 3 was #1 on xbox live for two 1/2 years.
  54. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    In my opinion one of the best franchises of all time, you don't see a lot of video games that start a generation like halo, this is what you get when you take time preparation, a masterpiece.
  55. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    Multiplayer balance and competition was phenomenal. The true skill ranking system was brilliant and fair. The balance and dynamic of the game made it a popular E-Sport in the MLG scene. The most competitive Halo to date. Is not for "casuals" in my opinion but that's how gaming should be. FPS games are not about the storyline, they're about the multiplayer. It is probably the leastMultiplayer balance and competition was phenomenal. The true skill ranking system was brilliant and fair. The balance and dynamic of the game made it a popular E-Sport in the MLG scene. The most competitive Halo to date. Is not for "casuals" in my opinion but that's how gaming should be. FPS games are not about the storyline, they're about the multiplayer. It is probably the least favorite game for the "everybody wins" generation of gamers, but that is what makes games great, not everyone wins. Expand
  56. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    Wow. Probably my all time favorite video game.
    Campaign: The campaign has an amazing mixture of level design, enemies, character development, and weapons. The story and lore are both amazing. The trilogy really does end beautifully. It really tugs at your heartstrings. So if you like a good story, you will like this game. Of course the story isn't as good as say mass effect, but for an
    Wow. Probably my all time favorite video game.
    Campaign: The campaign has an amazing mixture of level design, enemies, character development, and weapons. The story and lore are both amazing. The trilogy really does end beautifully. It really tugs at your heartstrings. So if you like a good story, you will like this game. Of course the story isn't as good as say mass effect, but for an fps, it is amazing. The only complaint I have is the Marine AI. They're just plain stupid. (:
    Multiplayer: Multiplayer encompasses many things so im going to break it down into
    1. Matchmaking/CustomGames: Matchmaking and custom games in halo is so amazing. It can be for both the casual and hardcore. I cant describe the fun of getting a couple friends and going on matchmaking or just screwing around on custom games.
    2. Forge: Forge is amazing. It is basically a level designer. You can add vehicles, structures. weapons, etc. Or, you can just do crazy stuff like drop tanks on people's heads.

    Halo 3 is such an amazing game. It has a great campaign, great multiplayer, and a really fun level designer. I'd recommend it to anyone.
    Expand
  57. Jan 1, 2015
    10
    One of the best video games of all time, and by far the best Xbox 360 game out there. The multiplayer and campaign are both best of the series, but you definitely need to play Halo: Combat Evolved and Halo 2 before you even touch this game.
  58. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    Please, ignore the Negative reviews. A must have for the Xbox 360. I don't know why there are so many but that's not true. Beautiful graphics, so-so Single Player, and amazing/endless online gameplay. Seriously, if your reading this and do not have the game, then get off your lazy ass and BUY IT!
  59. Sep 12, 2010
    10
    Halo 3 was the best game ever, and still is the best game ever (until the 14th in 2 days). No other game has such an awesome combination of campaign, forge, theatre and matchmaking... amazing!

    And after 3 years, >200k people online, nuff said.
  60. May 21, 2011
    6
    This is a good game not very good 6.010.0!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  61. May 22, 2011
    3
    this is one of the most overrated games i have ever encountered. I bought the game after hearing many positive reviews. i was very disappointed to find a very short single player campaign, VERY repetitive gameplay, and a boring multiplayer mode. i get the feeling that the main reason everyone loves the halo franchise so much is because it is an xbox exclusive. if you want some good xboxthis is one of the most overrated games i have ever encountered. I bought the game after hearing many positive reviews. i was very disappointed to find a very short single player campaign, VERY repetitive gameplay, and a boring multiplayer mode. i get the feeling that the main reason everyone loves the halo franchise so much is because it is an xbox exclusive. if you want some good xbox exclusives try mass effect, gears of war or alan wake Expand
  62. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    Halo is truly amazing. **** u CoD players cuz Halo has a good storyline, multiplayer, soundtrack, and its sorta emotional. All CoD has is a good multiplayer and nazi zombies. CoD also barely has a storyline. All CoD players and Halo haters don't know what a good FPS is.
  63. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    Probably, One of the Best Games out of all the other halo games!
    The campaign is great especially on the legendary mode and the maps are way better than HALO REACH
  64. Jul 4, 2011
    4
    Where to begin. First off, I will say this is not a â
  65. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    yes im giving this a ten, ( i hate giving tens and i wish there was a 9.5) i am only doing so because this is the first game i played online and was so great in that respect that i will never in my life forget this game, i have never(an probably wont again) replayed the campaign of a game this much, yes i was abit of a noob at that time but i still sometimes go for abit of halo 3 multi andyes im giving this a ten, ( i hate giving tens and i wish there was a 9.5) i am only doing so because this is the first game i played online and was so great in that respect that i will never in my life forget this game, i have never(an probably wont again) replayed the campaign of a game this much, yes i was abit of a noob at that time but i still sometimes go for abit of halo 3 multi and single, why? well i just find it fun, i find every kill satisfying and fun, unlike some games where killing can almost seem like a chore. i love this game so much that this is very biased and not really a review but this game has let me meet poeple and has changed my life is some ways. so if you actually read this A: thanks B:if you enjoyed this tell me because it really is abit silly to have this under as a review. :) Expand
  66. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    Honestly one of the most memorable games I've ever played. I've had it for almost 4 years now, and have probably about 3 months of gameplay (or more) on it, including recon armor and all that fun stuff. Unfortunately, my xbox broke and i no longer have my XBL password, so goodbye all my goodness...

    The campaign was great, both in storyline and in ways to get out of each map... Multiplayer
    Honestly one of the most memorable games I've ever played. I've had it for almost 4 years now, and have probably about 3 months of gameplay (or more) on it, including recon armor and all that fun stuff. Unfortunately, my xbox broke and i no longer have my XBL password, so goodbye all my goodness...

    The campaign was great, both in storyline and in ways to get out of each map... Multiplayer is incredible, and the custom games (I have over 2000...) were the highlight of the whole thing. I can't imagine a game I've had more fun playing.
    Expand
  67. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    i bought halo 3 when it was first released in 2007 and thought its was an amazing game the muitplayer was very addciting and the single player was great.
  68. Nov 10, 2013
    7
    Let me start off by saying, Halo 3 is well worth your money and your time. The story campaign is well done and you really feel connected to the characters, although the campaign is short (about 5-6 hours long) it's still worth your money just for that. The campaign also includes co-op just like all the previous Halo games and that's a bunch of fun. The multi-player is still as good asLet me start off by saying, Halo 3 is well worth your money and your time. The story campaign is well done and you really feel connected to the characters, although the campaign is short (about 5-6 hours long) it's still worth your money just for that. The campaign also includes co-op just like all the previous Halo games and that's a bunch of fun. The multi-player is still as good as ever, if not, better. New vehicles and new guns keep the game from becoming bland when compared to the previous games.

    The multi-player will make you keep coming for more with the ranking system and the customisable armour for your player. There's a new mode called Forge which lets you edit maps and do some really cool stuff, unfortunately it is very limited but it's still fun to play with friends and create a racetrack every now and then.

    The graphics are nice considering this games was released in 2007 and although they may not look the best now they still hold up pretty well. This games is a solid game, and it deserves all your money and time, buy it, I honestly can't think of any cons for this games apart from being a bit repetitive sometimes. Even if you don't have Xbox Live this game has split-screen or offline players and still let's you play everything Xbox Live members do, as long as you have a second controller and a buddy.

    Seriously, buy this game right now.
    Expand
  69. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    Halo 3 may be the king of all first person shooter games. That opinion could almost be a fact. With it's 5 year lifespan Halo 3 retains over 10,000 players online and will probably never be knocked off it's throne. Halo 4 may be out already, but let's take a look at a real Halo game, shall we? Halo 3 is the final battle between humanity, the covenant, and the flood. The main enemy in thisHalo 3 may be the king of all first person shooter games. That opinion could almost be a fact. With it's 5 year lifespan Halo 3 retains over 10,000 players online and will probably never be knocked off it's throne. Halo 4 may be out already, but let's take a look at a real Halo game, shall we? Halo 3 is the final battle between humanity, the covenant, and the flood. The main enemy in this installment is the prophet of truth, a crafty ambitious member of the covenant. The story is strong and also includes the Arbiter along with the classic scarabs. When you look deeper though, you'll find yourself more immersed in the gameplay of the campaign rather than the story. Whether you are hunting for skulls or trying to break a high score, Halo 3's campaign is extremely repayable. Halo 3's online play is also fantastic. Featuring a large sandbox, as well as great maps such as the pit, Halo 3's multiplayer never gets old. With it's arena style competitive matches, every game feels important and fun. Halo 3 also includes a 1-50 ranking system, which players can work at. This adds up to hours of play, and will trump any Call of Duty multiplayer. Custom games are a lot of fun with friends, especially infection mode. Halo 3 can be played all day, and you'll find yourself forgetting to go to bed way too often.

    Overall, this game defines the Halo experience. From it's fantastic soundtrack to it's impressive multiplayer, Halo 3 has something to please everyone.
    Expand
  70. Mar 13, 2013
    8
    Halo 3 may be the king of all first person shooter games. That opinion could almost be a fact. With it's 5 year lifespan Halo 3 retains over 10,000 players online and will probably never be knocked off it's throne. Halo 4 may be out already, but let's take a look at a real Halo game, shall we? Halo 3 is the final battle between humanity, the covenant, and the flood. The main enemy in thisHalo 3 may be the king of all first person shooter games. That opinion could almost be a fact. With it's 5 year lifespan Halo 3 retains over 10,000 players online and will probably never be knocked off it's throne. Halo 4 may be out already, but let's take a look at a real Halo game, shall we? Halo 3 is the final battle between humanity, the covenant, and the flood. The main enemy in this installment is the prophet of truth, a crafty ambitious member of the covenant. The story is strong and also includes the Arbiter along with the classic scarabs. When you look deeper though, you'll find yourself more immersed in the gameplay of the campaign rather than the story. Expand
  71. Jun 12, 2014
    10
    A great finale for a great series. With its fun campaign and exciting multiplayer this game is one of the greatest games ever, and definitely still the best Master Chief game
  72. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    The SP sucks sooo bad, i got bored during th FIRST mission. The multiplayer is well, and the local S/S is very fun. The graphics are crap and the voices of the enemies are annoying. I hope reach is better than this piece of hammered ****
  73. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    The campaign doesn't change much although many of the games small tweaks have a tremendous impact on gameplay and multiplayer. No duel wield, you can't switch weapons as fast which takes away the power to switch the sword at the last minute resulting in "cheap kills" The game feels more balanced on the multiplayer side compared to Halo 2 with less exploits all around. THANK GOD for noThe campaign doesn't change much although many of the games small tweaks have a tremendous impact on gameplay and multiplayer. No duel wield, you can't switch weapons as fast which takes away the power to switch the sword at the last minute resulting in "cheap kills" The game feels more balanced on the multiplayer side compared to Halo 2 with less exploits all around. THANK GOD for no more super jumps. Expand
  74. Aug 15, 2011
    9
    Very good FPS. The gameplay is great, much like previous Halo games. It is not perfect, but I still had a wonderful time playing it with my friends. Even if it has been a while since it has released, I still from time to time come back to play it
  75. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    This game is the reason I purchased an XBOX 360. It is phenomenal. The multiplayer is almost perfect in its design and amazing to play. The ranked playlists accurately match you with teammates of your skill and provide hours of fun competition.
  76. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Theres games and theres HALO, Halo is in a whole different universe.
    So in conclusion, this is not a game of the year, its a freakin GAME OF THE DECADE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  77. Feb 2, 2013
    10
    This game is awsome best game I have ever played I see that there are now faults except the story wich was kind of short the multiplayer is amazing although it's annoying how many small kids play it and kinda ruin the experience but other than that it is skimpily awsome
  78. Nov 12, 2012
    6
    Joguei Halo 3 com uma enorme expectativa. O jogo em si é bom. A história é interessante e tudo mais. Mas devo comentar sobre dois pontos de que não me agradaram: a jogabilidade e os locais no qual ocorrem a história. Sobre a jogabilidade, realmente percebi que não consigo jogar FPS sem ter aquela mira secundária, que aproxima. Parece um jogoJoguei Halo 3 com uma enorme expectativa. O jogo em si é bom. A história é interessante e tudo mais. Mas devo comentar sobre dois pontos de que não me agradaram: a jogabilidade e os locais no qual ocorrem a história. Sobre a jogabilidade, realmente percebi que não consigo jogar FPS sem ter aquela mira secundária, que aproxima. Parece um jogo de geração passada graças a simplicidade que é uma troca de tiros, além de não possuir cover. Cairia bem como um jogo TPS, não FPS. E sobre a localidade, em muitos pontos da história eu fiquei sem saber pra onde ir. Na parte em que estamos dentro daquele "monstro" mesmo, eu rondava o mesmo lugar diversas vezes sem intenção até achar o ponto certo. Mas como uma crítica não pode ficar restrita aos lados ruins de um jogo, vamos aos lados bons. Primeiramente, o gráfico. Para sua época, o gráfico do Halo 3 realmente é bonito e não é tão sujo. Outro lado bom é o multiplayer online. Muito divertido. Não joguei muito esse modo, mas pelo que eu joguei já pude ter uma noção da qualidade, que é grande. Enfim, Halo 3 é um jogo que por completo não me agradou. Mas sei que muitas pessoas o considera um dos melhores jogos de todos os tempos, e eu respeito isso. Expand
  79. MrR
    Nov 2, 2012
    9
    It's been 5 years since this game released. Very few other video games have brought me as much enjoyment. The story was pretty good, though the campaign didn't live up to what I expected. However, I did expect a LOT, and I still had a great time playing through it. The visuals, music, and gameplay were far above par for this time, and there were many easter eggs and achievements to go backIt's been 5 years since this game released. Very few other video games have brought me as much enjoyment. The story was pretty good, though the campaign didn't live up to what I expected. However, I did expect a LOT, and I still had a great time playing through it. The visuals, music, and gameplay were far above par for this time, and there were many easter eggs and achievements to go back to and try to accomplish. Where Halo 3 really shined though, was the multiplayer. I played this for years, and still to date have yet to play a game so fun and addicting. Every match online played differently, with different dynamics. Additions such as the Elephants on Sandbox changed the formula like never before. Forge. Oh forge. This was the innovation that made custom games with my friends more fun than ever before. There was not limit to the amazing maps to be found and played. With all the custom game options, there was always something new to try. The classic wide variety of weapons in Halo Games really sets it above other FPS's for me. There are always different strategies, different weapons are useful in different situations, and there was just so much fun and joy in killing my foes in so many creative ways. What a game. I'll give it a 9 because the single player wasn't quite as enjoyable as I had hoped :) Expand
  80. Nov 7, 2012
    10
    The best game i've played on the Xbox 360 so far. It has a nice campaign, nice multiplayer and the theatre. What more can you ask for? So get out there and finish that fight!
  81. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Best game of the Xbox 360 generation for sure. Id have to say that It had the best multiplayer in the entire series or even all of gaming. Wish the newer ones were like this
  82. Feb 16, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Halo 3 is phenomenal game.Why you ask, because it was the first game that really got my attention when buying an Xbox 360. I made the right choice too. I've played all the Halos(Except Halo Wars) and this one was the game that made me love the Xbox. Bungie is known for mostly its popular Halo series of course. But nothing the less the game is fantastic and all Xbox 360 should buy this game.After the events of Halo 2, both Prophet of Regret and Mercy are dead and Truth is on his way to the Ark(A forerunner like construct of the Halo rings) with his Covenant armada. Cheif who is following Truth to Earth because of a Forerunner construct in New Mombasa. Arbiter is on your side and so is the rest of the UNSC platoon. Cheif must stop Truth and the firing of the Halos and find Cortana who is with the Gravemind(a.k.a. Flood leader) while also dealing with the Flood and Covenant and finishing them of to. Their are new vehicles,weapons,characters,enemies and so much more. The multiplayer and custom games is fun and easy for all. Forging maps in Forge with your friends is also amazing.The Story of Halo is amazing unique and makes you wonder what all the remaining questions about the universe and foreunners and much more. The fate of the Universe really depends on Cheif, so does the money that comes out of your wallet torward this game is worth it.If you haven't played Halo then do so,you will not regret it, I promise you. Expand
  83. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    Revolutionary online play featuring the most balanced weapons system possibly ever. The campaign can be both challenging and incredibly fun, with an appropriate difficulty for everybody along the way. Matched with an exhilarating storyline you can not go wrong with this purchase. Coming out in 2007, it's influence and overplay still hold up today. Custom games allow you to have endless funRevolutionary online play featuring the most balanced weapons system possibly ever. The campaign can be both challenging and incredibly fun, with an appropriate difficulty for everybody along the way. Matched with an exhilarating storyline you can not go wrong with this purchase. Coming out in 2007, it's influence and overplay still hold up today. Custom games allow you to have endless fun with friends and other gamers while selecting from countless map and game type variations that will leave you completely satisfied. The Forge mode is another asset that truly sets Halo 3 apart from other games. Taking any map, you can build structures, race tracks, mini games, etc. to play for yourself and the entire online community through your File share. The ranking system is also fantastic with the 'Highest Skill' aspect that will have you on the edge of your seat in almost every game with the risk of you either ranking up closer to 50, or going down. Playing the campaign and earning certain achievements also allows you to unlock to armour to alternate with your online character in which you can mix and match to your desire. (colours included). Overall, Halo 3 is an unbelievable game that caters to both the casual, hardcore and everywhere in between fans. This is a game that has so many possibilities and will NOT leave you disappointed. Expand
  84. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    Halo 3 is simply one of the Xbox 360 greatest titles of all time. From the lengthy (in FPS terms) and emotionally compelling single-player to the most addictive multiplayer experiences I've had this console generation, Halo 3 is the epic conclusion to the Human-Covenant War and contains moments that will stick with you for a long time. Still plenty of people online to play with co-op is aHalo 3 is simply one of the Xbox 360 greatest titles of all time. From the lengthy (in FPS terms) and emotionally compelling single-player to the most addictive multiplayer experiences I've had this console generation, Halo 3 is the epic conclusion to the Human-Covenant War and contains moments that will stick with you for a long time. Still plenty of people online to play with co-op is a blast and Forge mode adds a fun Minecraft-esque building mode for you to design and create your own custom maps and game types. Halo 3 has so much to offer, and especially at the price it's going for right now there is no reason not to pick it up. Halo 3 is my favorite game of all time and if you're interested in FPS at all then I implore you to consider giving this remarkable title a try, you know, the one other person that hasn't lol Expand
  85. Oct 22, 2013
    8
    um ótimo jogo que te leva a querer ver o que vai acontecer no final e quando chega no final você fica querendo que o jogo continue. Bom foi uma experiência muito boa e quero jogar com certeza o halo 4.
  86. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    one of the best xbox 360 games out there this game is extremely well done and deffently worth checking out it is true to the halo name and I cant believe this game has gotten that many User reviews.
  87. Nov 28, 2013
    10
    man the game is now more than 6 years old but it still feels fresh. imho the best fps of the generation, killzone 2,3 and halo reach are awesome but halo 3 is just better
  88. Nov 15, 2014
    9
    I'll lay out this game quickly with a score for each section.

    Campaign gameplay: 8.5/10 Mechanics, enemies, guns, mission designs are all done great (with the exception of the last two mission). Story: 9/10 Great Bungie storytelling that really "finishes the fight" but is left of with a cliff hanger (Setting up for Halo 4). Graphics/Sound: 9/10 Big jump from Halo 2 and looks and
    I'll lay out this game quickly with a score for each section.

    Campaign gameplay: 8.5/10 Mechanics, enemies, guns, mission designs are all done great (with the exception of the last two mission).

    Story: 9/10 Great Bungie storytelling that really "finishes the fight" but is left of with a cliff hanger (Setting up for Halo 4).

    Graphics/Sound: 9/10 Big jump from Halo 2 and looks and sounds great for its time.

    Multiplayer: 9/10 Fantastic multiplayer maps (some of the best of its franchise), great NEW gamemodes and amazing gameplay and balance.

    Forge 8/10: If you're looking for a great way to construct your own maps in Halo, then Halo Reach is for you. But, forge on Halo 3 isn't to far behind.
    Expand
  89. Aug 27, 2010
    9
    Extremely good game the single player is the thing that brings it down 2 points the multi-player is mainly put into a large niche. For my experience of the multi-player was amazing with the newer maps like sandbox makes user like games like Micheal Myers from Call of Duty, and make a actual game mode and create you own map for the game type makes it so much better If your extremely intoExtremely good game the single player is the thing that brings it down 2 points the multi-player is mainly put into a large niche. For my experience of the multi-player was amazing with the newer maps like sandbox makes user like games like Micheal Myers from Call of Duty, and make a actual game mode and create you own map for the game type makes it so much better If your extremely into Call of Duty there is a small chance of you liking this game i am a big fan of both. Expand
  90. Aug 27, 2010
    9
    The campaign has its ups and downs, but still has its replay value to it. The matching system is still great, and the game-play is fine (although others cannot admit to it). Custom games have gotten better since Halo 2. More customization, options, "freedom". Forge, ah yes. This map editor is got to be one of the main reasons Halo 3 got so much more to it. Now then, on to the cons. LetsThe campaign has its ups and downs, but still has its replay value to it. The matching system is still great, and the game-play is fine (although others cannot admit to it). Custom games have gotten better since Halo 2. More customization, options, "freedom". Forge, ah yes. This map editor is got to be one of the main reasons Halo 3 got so much more to it. Now then, on to the cons. Lets just say the community isn't the brightest. Map restrictions have been put on most of the playlists, meaning that newer members to the Halo community would have to spend a little bit more money to fully experience Halo 3's gameplay. All and all, it's a great game. Just make sure you're in party chat, or have friends to play with. Expand
  91. Sep 16, 2010
    7
    The single player campaign is disappointing on many levels. The graphics and lighting are nearly last-gen. You can't choose different classes of Spartan like the cover seems to suggest. Bland story with uninteresting characters. Same old gameplay, same old enemies, same old weapons. Multiplayer is great, but only if you are into the Halo style of gameplay. Overall, not the advancement ofThe single player campaign is disappointing on many levels. The graphics and lighting are nearly last-gen. You can't choose different classes of Spartan like the cover seems to suggest. Bland story with uninteresting characters. Same old gameplay, same old enemies, same old weapons. Multiplayer is great, but only if you are into the Halo style of gameplay. Overall, not the advancement of the series I wanted. Expand
  92. Dec 28, 2010
    8
    I know I'm a little behind the ball on this, but this is my first year owning a 360 (got one of the new wireless ones for Christmas), and so this is the game I happened to get for it. As a person who's played all three games, I have to say this was one of the more satisfying ones, and yet, at the same time, I didn't have as much fun with it. Keep in mind that as I'm writing this review, II know I'm a little behind the ball on this, but this is my first year owning a 360 (got one of the new wireless ones for Christmas), and so this is the game I happened to get for it. As a person who's played all three games, I have to say this was one of the more satisfying ones, and yet, at the same time, I didn't have as much fun with it. Keep in mind that as I'm writing this review, I have yet to experience it through multiplayer, and in my day, I LOVED having friends around to play splitscreen muitplayer with as we shoved eachother around and cursed in anger (and generally laughed our asses off at the hilarious kills we got). That being said, from a single-player standpoint, I though this was a really cool game. Sure, the story was a little hard to follow at times, and I did get annoyed that it seemed that you were the only capable fighter on the battle field, and yet even on normal, I found myself time and time again being killed by the simple fact that there were sooooo many people trying to tear my face off at once. Most of the time, I could handle the covenant and the flood by shooting at them until their shields went down or they just weakened, and then I slammed them in the face with the butt of my rifle. While this might work against certain enemies, I found that really you only want to do that if the baddies happen to get separated, otherwise they will gangrape you. Overall, I was alright with the ending for the most part, up until they showed that somehow the portal closed just as the ship got halfway through it, allowing Arbiter through but leaving Master Chief and Cortana behind. Now THAT'S just silly. Still, despite my griping, this game glued me to the seat for a solid three days of gameplay, and I still intend on keeping it to check out the multiplayer. For some fairly solid gameplay, a decent and gripping story of survival, and the fact that it's half sci-fi drama and half action movie, I give this game a solid 8 out of 10 Expand
  93. Dec 30, 2010
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After playing the previous two Halo games, I was looking forward too playing through this, and finishing the fight.
    I was amazed at the Graphics, it looked stunning in HD 1080. The game-play was really good too, and it was enjoyable.
    However, what let it down was two things:
    Length: Compared to the previous two, this was really short. If I wanted too, I could have completed this in one sitting. It felt like it was over before it begun.
    Plot: There wasn't much of a plot, and nothing made sense until the final couple of Chapters. Cortana's random viewings didn't make any sense either.
    The ending couple have been so much better than what it was, but still remained with the Chief dying.
    This game was saved by the multi-player aspect of it, which is brilliant.
    Expand
  94. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    Anyone who ever gave this game anything less than a 7 is lying to themselves. It may not be a 10 but you know its pretty damn good. The multiplayer alone should warrant an automatic 9 and when you pile on the deep (and yes, at times convoluted) story it has to be at least a 9.5. If you own an XBOX 360 and have somehow not experienced the excellence that is the Halo series, do yourself aAnyone who ever gave this game anything less than a 7 is lying to themselves. It may not be a 10 but you know its pretty damn good. The multiplayer alone should warrant an automatic 9 and when you pile on the deep (and yes, at times convoluted) story it has to be at least a 9.5. If you own an XBOX 360 and have somehow not experienced the excellence that is the Halo series, do yourself a service and pick this up on the cheap. Trust. Expand
  95. Apr 9, 2011
    10
    Though it does not tread new ground in the FPS genre, I still had a blast playing Halo 3. I got my Xbox to play Halo 3, originally being a PlayStation man. I played it the other day having left it for a year or two, and I had a damn good time of it too. The campaign, though short, is rich, beautifully crafted and utterly absorbing. Martin O'Donnell's soundtrack is as brilliant, excitingThough it does not tread new ground in the FPS genre, I still had a blast playing Halo 3. I got my Xbox to play Halo 3, originally being a PlayStation man. I played it the other day having left it for a year or two, and I had a damn good time of it too. The campaign, though short, is rich, beautifully crafted and utterly absorbing. Martin O'Donnell's soundtrack is as brilliant, exciting and suiting as ever (surely there is no other composer in the gaming industry who can match O'Donnell's brilliance), the game is highly polished, visually, audibly and physically, and it left me feeling very satisfied. For those who say that Halo 3 was over-hyped, in my opinion that is why it is such an important game. 2007 was a fantastic year for games, with titles such as Bioshock, Mass Effect, Call of Duty 4 and Grand Theft Auto 4 being released, but above all of these, Halo 3 was the first game to become a really competitive art form. The fact that it made more money in 48 hours than any film or music album is a really impressive feat, and in my opinion it was the first game to really prove that gaming was more than just the preserve of overweight, nerdy teenagers in their bedrooms. This is not the best game ever made by any means, but it is certainly up there, and will be for many years to come. Expand
  96. May 10, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I had an overall blast with this game for the 3 years that i had been playing it. I could play it all day and all night and not get bored. That was the thing about this game,; once you thought it was done... BAM some thing like a map pack shows up with new forge block and another couple hours trying to make a good multilayer tactic :) I really do miss those days. Though now all it is now is a story, about ONE **** KICK ASS GAME! HELL YA! "Send me out with a bang!" Sargent Johnson Expand
  97. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    1st off I have to say I invested maybe 1,000 hours into this game online and I had the time of my life (on xbox). The Campaign was epic And good storytelling with a somber and rewarding ending. Due to the community being so big there are countless custom game types to play which adds to the fun.
    Im giving this a 10 because Halo 3 has a special place in my heart for all the reasons ive
    1st off I have to say I invested maybe 1,000 hours into this game online and I had the time of my life (on xbox). The Campaign was epic And good storytelling with a somber and rewarding ending. Due to the community being so big there are countless custom game types to play which adds to the fun.
    Im giving this a 10 because Halo 3 has a special place in my heart for all the reasons ive said. Even though it has small faults it deserves it in my opinion.
    Expand
  98. Jul 14, 2011
    5
    The Graphics look last gen. The gameplay feels like it's from 2001. The dialogue is cliche, and the voice acting it awful. I still don't understand the story. The level design is shallow. The difficulty is very unbalanced. This game is very bad.
  99. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    game of the decade in my opinion. of course the superior matchmaking is overly dramatized by fanboys (including me) but the in game story was amazing as well. i loved it from the moment you land on Seria. till the dramatic ending. and the skulls. a genius idea to incorporate player involvement, humor, and entertainment. i truly hope that 343 models there game engines off of this. insteadgame of the decade in my opinion. of course the superior matchmaking is overly dramatized by fanboys (including me) but the in game story was amazing as well. i loved it from the moment you land on Seria. till the dramatic ending. and the skulls. a genius idea to incorporate player involvement, humor, and entertainment. i truly hope that 343 models there game engines off of this. instead of halo reach (good game as well. just not as good) Expand
  100. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    9.5,probably one of the best fps of all time.An epic campaign expect for mission 9 and the multiplayer i ever played.Some features such as the theater mode and forge were introduced by this game.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's the addition of the Forge level editor and the saved films that give the game an even longer set of legs, legs that will probably keep you running at full speed until Bungie figures out where, exactly, to go from here.
  2. Halo 3 is the best Xbox 360 game to date. The single-player campaign and storyline are both very strong, but it's Forge and the Saved Films features that will likely go down in history as Bungie's crowning achievements. They've basically taken everything great about the series and improved upon it in every way, then added some amazing new features that we'll be using for years to come.
  3. 100
    It's solid gameplay, immense replayability, online functionality and incredible production values will ensure its place in video game history, and it is, without a doubt, a satisfying and fulfilling close to the beloved trilogy[?].