Halo 3 Xbox 360

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4116 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NateG.
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    Halo 2 2 is OK. I've never been a campaign guy (I play the games to have fun with friends), so I judge all Halos on the multi-player, and that aspect of the game has not been improved. Yes, they added some new stuff in there but that alone can't carry the game (some of them are pointless too - like with the grenades). But different and better isn't the same. And am I the Halo 2 2 is OK. I've never been a campaign guy (I play the games to have fun with friends), so I judge all Halos on the multi-player, and that aspect of the game has not been improved. Yes, they added some new stuff in there but that alone can't carry the game (some of them are pointless too - like with the grenades). But different and better isn't the same. And am I the only one who misses the hit % stat? You can goof off the whole time and no one will be the wiser as to the 1,000 shots you wasted. All in all you could play or watch a game of Halo 2 and Halo 3 back-to-back and have a hard time knowing you saw 2 different games. I'm one of those who wanted to like it, but it disappoints. I do believe the name gives it 1 or 2 extra points in a lot of reviews. Expand
  2. ArnieG
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    Disapointing. The Halo sequels are very comparable in quality to the Matrix sequels....classic innovative original, medicore derivative sequels. And how is it possible for the biggest game of the year to have such sub-par graphics? They look almost identical to the X-Box! Some eye candy would have went a long way.
  3. DazD.
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    Nothing new here apart from a few weapons and vehicles. The multiplayer is what it's all about.
  4. JCS
    Sep 29, 2007
    7
    The single player game felt like they didn't bother with much more than an outline of a story. I have to agree with the comment about warmed over Marathon. The Flood was much more intimidating in 2. Sketchy in many places. Background stills lacked the kind of detail one might want or expect lavished onto them. Normal level was blandly easy.
  5. MikeS.
    Sep 29, 2007
    6
    Maybe I just don't get it, but I don't see what is so fascinating about this game. It's a standard FPS with mediocre graphics and a luke warm plot. Bioshock beats this by substantially more than one metapoint.
  6. AitA.
    Sep 30, 2007
    6
    Loved Halo 1, disappointed with Halo 2 and Halo 3 the worst of the lot. You'll finish the fight in 6 to 8 hours if you played before. Legendary level on Halo 1 took days to finish, Halo 3 done in 10 hours. I still play Halo 1 but have had no inclination to play Halo 2 and wont be keeping Halo 3.
  7. MikeM.
    Sep 30, 2007
    6
    Somebodys gotta tell me what is so great about this game. the single player campaign is nowhere near the other great games Xbox 360 has to offer for its FPS action, like Gears of War and BioShock. And, well, the multiplayers good, ok, but why does EVERYONE play it? its not spectacular, and with maps that look half assed and no real joy in many of the weapons, its pretty much overrated.
  8. AlexW.
    Sep 30, 2007
    5
    A repetitive, tedious, and overall cookie cutter game in respects to Halo 2. This bore-fest is just like the other two, but with HDR lighting. The graphics arent even really better than Halo 2. One of the major problems in this game is that it can be beaten in less than 3 hours. That is not a game worthy of a 9.5. This game shouldn't have even been reviewed, as it is just Halo 2 with A repetitive, tedious, and overall cookie cutter game in respects to Halo 2. This bore-fest is just like the other two, but with HDR lighting. The graphics arent even really better than Halo 2. One of the major problems in this game is that it can be beaten in less than 3 hours. That is not a game worthy of a 9.5. This game shouldn't have even been reviewed, as it is just Halo 2 with some added gimmicks. What's funny is that Halo 2 wasn;t even that good anyway. Bungie, good job at causing major hpye during the coming days of this game's release, but I just can't give you much credit on what you guys are meant for: a good game. Looks like Bungie is better off at thecircus than behind a programmer's desk. Expand
  9. AndyM.
    Sep 30, 2007
    7
    All Halo 3 does is improve the graphics of Halo 2, add more weapons, and absolutely nothing else. Still pretty damn good though.
  10. TravisM.
    Sep 30, 2007
    7
    I'm very disappointed that an almost perfect multiplayer from Halo 1 evolved into a catastrophic mess that Halo 2 and Halo 3 have become. Granted Halo 3 looks to correct some of the mistakes from Halo 2, but still fails in so many ways. Radar in any multiplayer game will only promote people to camp. It's almost as if the game developers couldn't stand being killed so fast I'm very disappointed that an almost perfect multiplayer from Halo 1 evolved into a catastrophic mess that Halo 2 and Halo 3 have become. Granted Halo 3 looks to correct some of the mistakes from Halo 2, but still fails in so many ways. Radar in any multiplayer game will only promote people to camp. It's almost as if the game developers couldn't stand being killed so fast by the pistol in Halo 1 so they decided to make it pointless to use in 2 or 3. I'm still holding out hope that MLG will make a custom gametype via Forge without radar and use about 75% shields. Since you now start with the assault rifle 80% of the battles you face are two people running at one another with assault rifles firing and the one who lands the melee the victor. Unless of course you have someone in the distance using a Battle Rifle or Sniper to pick off the repeatative action. You also are unable to hold up a defensive position by throwing a grenade off the wall to keep the opponent from charging right at you, because the frag grenades don't even blow the opponent back or do more than 35% damage. I've had it happen on countless occassions when I just get a double kill, but that third player comes charging right after you. You throw a grenade right at their feet and scurry around the corner to reload and let your shields recharge for a fair fight. As soon as you get around the corner you throw another grenade just in case he's continuing the pursuit. And wouldn't you know it... That person just keeps running and shooting without any worry that the 2 grenades will kill him. Heck in Halo 1 if you were hit with a grenade at point blank range, you were almost dead and it would blow you 5-10 meters away. Giving the opponent the advantage now because of a well placed grenade. I myself was a huge advocate and fan of the Halo series and would travel halfway across the country to play AGP and MLG tournaments for Halo 1. But the skill level here for Halo 3 is similar to Halo 2, and since the grenades barely deter anyone from charging right at you... It's basically a better version of Halo 2. Better graphics, but almost the same game play. So if you loved Halo 2, you'll love Halo 3. If you're like me and loved Halo 1, then you'll become quickly annoyed with the radar and people camping around corners with the sword (or now hammer). And although the idea seemed interesting, all the 'X' button items need to be removed too. Again I can't fault Bungie because they've appealed to the common FPS player who's just looking hop online and kill some friends. But for those hardcore gamers where you just have to be the best of the best, I'd say wait for COD 4 or perhaps Team Fortress 2 from the upcoming Half-Life 2 Orange Box. Expand
  11. ShabbyR.
    Sep 30, 2007
    5
    Kind of disappointing in terms of gameplay, story and graphics, especially considering that this is a first-party 360 effort. Halo 3 isn't even marginally better than Halo 2, and both sequels are mediocre at best compared to the original (which, let's be honest, wasn't even that great to begin with). Seriously, they should have just released the multiplayer component for Kind of disappointing in terms of gameplay, story and graphics, especially considering that this is a first-party 360 effort. Halo 3 isn't even marginally better than Halo 2, and both sequels are mediocre at best compared to the original (which, let's be honest, wasn't even that great to begin with). Seriously, they should have just released the multiplayer component for half price, because that's the only thing that anyone's even remotely interested in. Expand
  12. Andyman
    Sep 30, 2007
    6
    It made my day when I noticed that BioShock reclaimed the top Metascore spot from Halo 3, as the former is a far superior game. In a word, Halo 3 is... meh. Its co-op Campaign mode is its only saving grace, as its online competitive play is so stuffed full of potty-mouthed idiots as to be completely devoid of any enjoyment whatsoever. Then again, I should be GLAD of this.. it keeps these It made my day when I noticed that BioShock reclaimed the top Metascore spot from Halo 3, as the former is a far superior game. In a word, Halo 3 is... meh. Its co-op Campaign mode is its only saving grace, as its online competitive play is so stuffed full of potty-mouthed idiots as to be completely devoid of any enjoyment whatsoever. Then again, I should be GLAD of this.. it keeps these cretins from ruining the games I enjoy playing online. Thanks for the daycare service, Bungie! Expand
  13. ChrisL.
    Oct 1, 2007
    6
    Unimaginatively dull. Graphics are pretty awful (for a 360 game) and seems more like a Halo 2 upgrade with hi-def polygons. Single player seems so rushed and so short. Sure multiplayer is frantic but it isn't exactly unique and brought nothing new to the genre that hasn't been done years ago by Id or Epic. Quite frankly if this was a no-name FPS title no one would be dishing out Unimaginatively dull. Graphics are pretty awful (for a 360 game) and seems more like a Halo 2 upgrade with hi-def polygons. Single player seems so rushed and so short. Sure multiplayer is frantic but it isn't exactly unique and brought nothing new to the genre that hasn't been done years ago by Id or Epic. Quite frankly if this was a no-name FPS title no one would be dishing out '10's to it. Expand
  14. GaryS.
    Oct 1, 2007
    7
    One word can describe Halo 3 "average" !!!!!
  15. AdamJ.
    Oct 2, 2007
    5
    Halo 3 will still have you running backwards and forwards through levels which gets pretty tedious. Indoor environments feel very samey. The single player campaign is uninspired. The game is pretty easy, even on Legendary. There are some AI bugs (enemies are sometimes completely oblivious to you presence allowing you to run straight through a level). The variety of the multiplayer facet Halo 3 will still have you running backwards and forwards through levels which gets pretty tedious. Indoor environments feel very samey. The single player campaign is uninspired. The game is pretty easy, even on Legendary. There are some AI bugs (enemies are sometimes completely oblivious to you presence allowing you to run straight through a level). The variety of the multiplayer facet is all that extends the play time of this game. In summary: a buffed up halo 2 or a highly polished halo 1. Expand
  16. JulianS.
    Oct 2, 2007
    6
    The single player is absolutely horrible. It has a very flawed checkpoint system and gets far too frustrating. Gears of War never had me playing through the same stupid parts, even on Insane. Halo has me redoing some moments over and over again just on heroic. Bungie basically gave us a multiplayer game that finished a story that nobody cares about anymore.
  17. JackA.
    Oct 2, 2007
    6
    I was into Halo for the story. The original Halo set the standard and I guess it is just too hard to duplicate without seeming redundant. I liked Halo 2, but thought is was missing something, not much but just not quite up to the original. Halo 3 looked cool and all with the graphics and some new vehicles, but the story didn't flow well and just wasn't all that good to being I was into Halo for the story. The original Halo set the standard and I guess it is just too hard to duplicate without seeming redundant. I liked Halo 2, but thought is was missing something, not much but just not quite up to the original. Halo 3 looked cool and all with the graphics and some new vehicles, but the story didn't flow well and just wasn't all that good to being with. Hell, I'm still confused on some of it....LOL. The multiplayer stuff is first rate, and I guess that's what they were catering too. As for me, I was into the story, so this game didn't impress, and it seemed WAY too short. Sorry, Bungie, but you could have done a better job. Expand
  18. KentL.
    Oct 2, 2007
    7
    Halo 2.5 is very cool! Slight but pleasant improvement in graphics and sound. I'm grateful the gameplay is consistent with Halo 2.0 and it picks up right where the story left off. Not quite enough to take me away from Bioshock for too long but good enough until the next GTA comes out!
  19. MatC.
    Oct 2, 2007
    7
    Good game, short campaign... but 640p? It's down-rezzed, and that's disappointing. You'd think the flagship game for a company like this would at least be able to be run in full 720p at least. Guess not, and it's disappointing. I feel bad for the geeks that stayed in line -- it's just not the perfection that the "professional" (and I mean paid!) reviewers make it Good game, short campaign... but 640p? It's down-rezzed, and that's disappointing. You'd think the flagship game for a company like this would at least be able to be run in full 720p at least. Guess not, and it's disappointing. I feel bad for the geeks that stayed in line -- it's just not the perfection that the "professional" (and I mean paid!) reviewers make it out to be. Expand
  20. MortenJ.
    Oct 3, 2007
    7
    OK, let's be fair. Halo 3 is a very good game - but not a great one by any standards. Multiplayer actually just about saves it from being mediocre. It's not groundbreaking or innovative from a design perspective but it is undoubtedly fun - which is of course a minimum for a video game. But alas only up to a point. What is not fun is the repetitive indoor levels and the awful OK, let's be fair. Halo 3 is a very good game - but not a great one by any standards. Multiplayer actually just about saves it from being mediocre. It's not groundbreaking or innovative from a design perspective but it is undoubtedly fun - which is of course a minimum for a video game. But alas only up to a point. What is not fun is the repetitive indoor levels and the awful save system; would it hurt to have an autosave every 15 minutes or so? - Especially considering the games' already notorious instability and 'disc not readable' issues which can reduce a couple of hours of fun in the campaign to an absolutely rage-inducing waste of time! Expand
  21. EmonX.
    Oct 4, 2007
    6
    The single player is extremely short, massively derivative, and often just plain silly. I've felt more empathy for bruised produce than I did for the majority of the cast of this game's yarn. Why would an all powerful ancient space artifact look like the Eiffel Tower being co-opted into the Chinese Space Program? There are serious issues in some level design legibility, The single player is extremely short, massively derivative, and often just plain silly. I've felt more empathy for bruised produce than I did for the majority of the cast of this game's yarn. Why would an all powerful ancient space artifact look like the Eiffel Tower being co-opted into the Chinese Space Program? There are serious issues in some level design legibility, specifically the organically structured stages. Way to easy to become disoriented and subsequently horde fodder. Vehicle stages definitely stand out, wish there'd been more of those! Multi-Player certainly caters to veterans of the series, with a diversity of game types that would be expected by multiplayer shooter fans with PC on-line backgrounds, but have been sadly missing from other genre games on the 360, like Gears of War for example. Would have been nice to see still further diversity of game types, though. Why only two teams at a time? And where is the epic scale of map sizes on-line? And why can't I play the monsters? Or drive the giant robot crabs or interstellar spaceships? The overall aesthetics don't seem up-rezzed in any way, appears the rendering engine and streaming systems are the same as the previous two installments. Lot of long load times and seeking lags as well, not a smooth ride as I would have expected from 360's tent pole title. And even after playing through the whole thing, still don't understand the TV add with the pretty score and strange Warhammer looking table top battle scene. Expand
  22. DomV.
    Oct 4, 2007
    7
    Halo 3's campaign succeeds in becoming the Letdown of 2007. Multiplayer however is beyond good. it is brilliant.
  23. Craig
    Oct 5, 2007
    6
    The graphics are pretty good and the story is nice, but the single player campaign is way too short. It took me just under 5 hours to beat it. Does have some replayability factor though, but it wasn't worth the hype.
  24. RobinJ.
    Oct 5, 2007
    7
    I am shocked by the high reviews. I worries me that so many critics can't seem to justify their scores. The game is good; no doubt about that. Halo 3 was meant to be a defining FPS though, and on this count, it fails. Not enough has changed over Halo 2 in 3 years of development.
  25. LukeR.
    Oct 5, 2007
    6
    Halo 2.5. 'The biggest media event of all time' was a massive letdown if you only seek the single-player experience. The 10s this game recieved are a joke, average graphics, dated gameplay and a short campaign mode and over the top hype. This game is nothing but average and should be rated as such.
  26. ManeaA.
    Oct 7, 2007
    5
    Horrible graphics in interiors, mediocre gameplay.
  27. JacekO.
    Oct 7, 2007
    5
    After Bioshock this game is looks and feels just mediocre. It is amazing what industry marketing can do with our minds and some people give it the score 10 or 9 !
  28. StevenD.
    Oct 7, 2007
    6
    Okay graphics, not as good as some FPS. Scripted campaign. You can't go everywhere like in some games. I felt like I was being led along. Same old Halo game play. Been there done that. Mediocre.
  29. FPSMaster
    Oct 7, 2007
    6
    This franchise has not aged well. It basically hasn't changed since the first game 6 years ago, and in most ways is worse. The story that I used to think was so great seems really lame 6 years later and the campaign is just flat out dull and boring. The MP hasn't changed since Halo 2 other than some new weapons, some buttons switched around on the controller, more lag and worse This franchise has not aged well. It basically hasn't changed since the first game 6 years ago, and in most ways is worse. The story that I used to think was so great seems really lame 6 years later and the campaign is just flat out dull and boring. The MP hasn't changed since Halo 2 other than some new weapons, some buttons switched around on the controller, more lag and worse hit detection with everything from melees to grenades to bullets. Biggest let down in the history of gaming (something the 360 really didn't need any more of) so I'm glad Bungie split from M$ after playing this atrocity. This series and developer are nothing more than on-hit-wonders and I'm sorry I wasted so much time defending this fracnhise for so long. The fact that this console even exists merely because of this franchise makes me wonder what the Hell the world is coming to. Lame. Expand
  30. RedR.
    Oct 8, 2007
    6
    10/10 for multiplayer 5/10 for obscenly short single player campaign. Did they really spend all those months working on this game? Single player can be completed by an average gams in probably 4-5 hours. 4/10 for graphics. Graphics are very dissapointing and bland and definitely NOT next generation. Most PC gamers will vouch for the fact that most FPS games on PCs from 3-4 years ago (Far 10/10 for multiplayer 5/10 for obscenly short single player campaign. Did they really spend all those months working on this game? Single player can be completed by an average gams in probably 4-5 hours. 4/10 for graphics. Graphics are very dissapointing and bland and definitely NOT next generation. Most PC gamers will vouch for the fact that most FPS games on PCs from 3-4 years ago (Far Cry etc) looked better than this. If multiplayer is not you thing, I cannot recommend buying this game. A 2 night purchase from Blockbuster will probably be more value for money. Overall 6/10 is a fair score. I expect Edge magazine will probably give it a 7/10 max. Expand
  31. Silence_L
    Oct 9, 2007
    5
    Multi-player sucks; only two game modes for team slayer (BORING) . I thought campaign was more interesting because multi player seems like you'll just get shot in the back after brawling it out with someone. Its rare you'll get more than two kills in a row becayse someone will just comes in fresh to kill you after you've already taken damage from the shoot-out you just had.
  32. JamesH.
    Oct 9, 2007
    5
    Meh, It's better than alot of fps that are crap, I mean it's an operable and playable game. but as a single player experience it's pretty dull. Teh alienz wantz to killz teh galexiez with Teh Haloz! but no, really. It's polished, it plays nicely, you shoot stuff and blow stuff up. but theres not a whole lot of satisfaction. I just thought "I'm shooting aliens on Meh, It's better than alot of fps that are crap, I mean it's an operable and playable game. but as a single player experience it's pretty dull. Teh alienz wantz to killz teh galexiez with Teh Haloz! but no, really. It's polished, it plays nicely, you shoot stuff and blow stuff up. but theres not a whole lot of satisfaction. I just thought "I'm shooting aliens on halo.." when I could be doing "X". Other than that I'm sure the multiplayer mode is fun, and you're all really excited. (by you I mean the fanboys) but It's just not that interesting/rewarding/exciting compared to my game library, or even other XB360 titles (Bioshock, The orange box) and props to bioshock for holding a higher metascore than teh hype masheen. Expand
  33. SimonR.
    Oct 10, 2007
    6
    The underwhelming, short campaign is saved by the multi player and it's new features - but only just.The end sequence is disappointing and unsatisfying while the constant backtracking is frustrating. Of course this was always going to be a solid FPS and it is - I was just expecting more. If you're looking for Halo 2 with nicer graphics - Halo 3 is great (maybe Bungie should have The underwhelming, short campaign is saved by the multi player and it's new features - but only just.The end sequence is disappointing and unsatisfying while the constant backtracking is frustrating. Of course this was always going to be a solid FPS and it is - I was just expecting more. If you're looking for Halo 2 with nicer graphics - Halo 3 is great (maybe Bungie should have called it Halo 2.5?). If you're strapped for cash, don't have Live and can only choose one game at the moment... Bioshock is an infinitely more memorable and rewarding experience. Expand
  34. EdmundL.
    Oct 13, 2007
    6
    Halo 3 wasn't great, It was average. A lot of places just seem to be giving it straight tens even though the campaign wasn't great, becuase apparantly the multiplayer "Makes up for that". But surely a 10 worthy game doesn't need excuses right?
  35. J.J.C.C.
    Oct 13, 2007
    7
    What the crap happened with halo 3? What made halo 2 great was the effect of being drawn into the game; the feeling that you are the master chief. But in this game, the FEEL of the game has changed, its as if you are playing warcraft with guns on a PC. Graphics are not fully necessary to make a game great; it is the gameplay people! Bungie should have made this game more REALISTIC; how What the crap happened with halo 3? What made halo 2 great was the effect of being drawn into the game; the feeling that you are the master chief. But in this game, the FEEL of the game has changed, its as if you are playing warcraft with guns on a PC. Graphics are not fully necessary to make a game great; it is the gameplay people! Bungie should have made this game more REALISTIC; how come a melee hit takes more damage than a bullet !?! So much hype for a halo 1 type gameplay with no 21st century REALISTIC physical dimentionality! Expand
  36. J.R.
    Oct 13, 2007
    5
    I had this game for a week. My time playing it went like this, Before multi player i did campaign to get some practice. The AI is good, but the story is not. Following the mistake made in Halo 2's story mode, i was hoping for a BIG improvement. I didn't get it. The story lacked any excitement or drama that Halo 1 had. The new vehicles were fun for about 5 minutes, but it really I had this game for a week. My time playing it went like this, Before multi player i did campaign to get some practice. The AI is good, but the story is not. Following the mistake made in Halo 2's story mode, i was hoping for a BIG improvement. I didn't get it. The story lacked any excitement or drama that Halo 1 had. The new vehicles were fun for about 5 minutes, but it really wasn't anything that hadn't been done before. The new weapons also. Story mode finished in under 10 hours. Multi player. Filled with annoying teenagers, kids and some mature people. The word PWN has not been used so much over chat i swear. The multi player was repetitive and bland, doing the exact same as halo 2 multi player. Basically, this is Halo 2 with polished graphics, too much advertisement for such a thing. But i guess it got them money. Graphics - 7/10, Framey and far too shiny. Gameplay - 6/10, I would rate it higher if it hadn't been done before. Story - 4/10, No dramatic changes, nothing very exciting. Poor. Multi player - 8/10, I wont base this on the 5 million people playing the game. Personally, i think its crap. Expand
  37. ClintN/A
    Oct 13, 2007
    6
    The game is good, way better than Halo 2, yet the time it takes to kill an opponent in multiplayer is waaay too fast, and it is way slower to turn around on a controller than with a mouse, the game seems to be the quick and the dead, and not much strategy is involved versus games like HL2: deathmatch or Kill Zone. 500 years of technology, a full metal suit with a shield, and Gordon The game is good, way better than Halo 2, yet the time it takes to kill an opponent in multiplayer is waaay too fast, and it is way slower to turn around on a controller than with a mouse, the game seems to be the quick and the dead, and not much strategy is involved versus games like HL2: deathmatch or Kill Zone. 500 years of technology, a full metal suit with a shield, and Gordon Freeman can still take more bulllets. Expand
  38. PeterS.
    Oct 16, 2007
    7
    Pretty, fun weapons but a bit of an uninspired experience on the whole after Bioshock, Halflife 2 and Fear hit the market. Halo has seriously fallen behind the curve in developing their overall playability.
  39. TaylorH.
    Oct 17, 2007
    5
    I love the halo games but this one(3) was hard to follow the story line. It was the first game i bought and played through on my new 360 and also felt it was a little short. finished it in a couple of days without intense hours of playing. good game, perhaps i had too high of hopes for it.
  40. SteveS.
    Oct 20, 2007
    7
    Played and completed in a day. Game play is the same as Halo 2. Encamped troops and not the mass of Flood that fall out of every vent and corridor as in Halo1. Very little close quarter combat. Graphics are ok nothing special. The video clips are very poor quality. Seen better in game graphics. Its seems that the more time Bungie spend on its look the less time they spend on the game Played and completed in a day. Game play is the same as Halo 2. Encamped troops and not the mass of Flood that fall out of every vent and corridor as in Halo1. Very little close quarter combat. Graphics are ok nothing special. The video clips are very poor quality. Seen better in game graphics. Its seems that the more time Bungie spend on its look the less time they spend on the game play. Halo 1 is the best Halo. Expand
  41. EvanB.
    Oct 21, 2007
    5
    I've played all 3 and this last one is the biggest letdown. Backtracking through levels, a couple of new guns and items, the last level which has no creativity. All this money spent on this and this is what we get as gamers. The Halo developers should have studied the Half-Life 2 franchise to see how a game is suppose to be.
  42. JohnnyD.
    Oct 27, 2007
    6
    Halo basically takes everything that's been done before in FPS games and throws it haphazardly throws it into one box. It has a lot of content, but some of the content isn't of high quality. I would rather buy a high quality singleplayer FPS game and another high quality multiplayer FPS game, than buy one game that has mediocre singleplayer and multiplayer.
  43. ShazamD.
    Nov 2, 2007
    7
    As most of you know, the hype wanted to make us expect Halo 3 to be a golden platter of excellency. Let me just get this out of the way before I actually review this game. Halo 3 is in no respect a "bad" game. In my opinion I consider it to be average, with an admittedly fun multiplayer. However in my opinion if Bungie really wanted to outdo themselves they would have put multiplayer on As most of you know, the hype wanted to make us expect Halo 3 to be a golden platter of excellency. Let me just get this out of the way before I actually review this game. Halo 3 is in no respect a "bad" game. In my opinion I consider it to be average, with an admittedly fun multiplayer. However in my opinion if Bungie really wanted to outdo themselves they would have put multiplayer on one disc and single player on another so they could give the campaign some actual DEPTH. So onto the actual review. In this installment of the Halo series, Master Chief has to finally finish the fight against the Covenant in a criminally short adventure of an average of 10 hours. The difficulty seems to be a bit... off. At the beginning some of the enemies destroyed me, but by the end one is supposed to constitute as a final boss battle was basically shooting a small, 5th grader with a gun with the power of a miniature tank. Of course I am focusing on the bad, at the moment so I'll go to some of the good. Halo 3 has good graphics, texture, very good voice acting, and moments of pure gold in the game (i.e. the Red vs. Blue reference) To finish off, Halo 3 is all right I suppose, I liked BioShock and the Orange Box more, but what the hell, right? If you just want a barely average, high speed single player action game and a fun multiplayer then Halo 3 is the game for you. If not, I suggest waiting for Mass Effect. Expand
  44. DougJ.
    Nov 7, 2007
    5
    Halo 3 is the same as Halo 2 -- only with a bit more polish. Halo 2 is the same as Halo : Combat Evolved -- only with a bit more polish. Halo 3 is essentially the same game you've played over and over since 2001. The weapons are a bit different, the textures are higher resolution, but it's basically the same game. My number one complaint with the Halo series is the physics (or Halo 3 is the same as Halo 2 -- only with a bit more polish. Halo 2 is the same as Halo : Combat Evolved -- only with a bit more polish. Halo 3 is essentially the same game you've played over and over since 2001. The weapons are a bit different, the textures are higher resolution, but it's basically the same game. My number one complaint with the Halo series is the physics (or lack there of). When you play you feel like you're on the moon, or that the air is very thick and viscous. If an enemy approaches from 180 degrees behind you, you have very little chance of being able to turn around fast enough to defend yourself. The only reason this game is popular is due to the intense marketing Microsoft provided for Bungie (Fact: Halo 3 was the largest marketing campaign for any product ever). Expand
  45. PaulusK.
    Nov 10, 2007
    6
    Fairly competent shooter with a sterile feel. Did not evoke a sense of realism like Gears of War, and the graphics are by no means polished. The game looks as if the developers had lifted the graphics directly from Halo 2 (look at the facial expressions and speech) and draped some High Def effects over them. I was expecting a revolution in terms of involvement but it just did not happen. Fairly competent shooter with a sterile feel. Did not evoke a sense of realism like Gears of War, and the graphics are by no means polished. The game looks as if the developers had lifted the graphics directly from Halo 2 (look at the facial expressions and speech) and draped some High Def effects over them. I was expecting a revolution in terms of involvement but it just did not happen. If you want polished visuals coupled with complete immersion, forget this because all in all, not even close and definately no cigar. Shame. Expand
  46. TimE.
    Nov 17, 2007
    7
    The graphics and story are awesome, however... it looks like Halo 2 with higher resolution textures and very little innovation. Next Gen Gaming shouldn't include Halo 3 as a front runner. This game is very last generation in it's thinking. Perhaps i was just hoping for something new.
  47. elzilcho
    Nov 18, 2007
    6
    Halo is a multiplayer game. The first two were and the third exceeds all expectations...for multiplayer. I never exactly understood the first two games and was hoping that the third would tie the loose ends. It basically creates questions that will never be answered. The story was advertised to be great, but I was lost the entire second half of the game. Not to mention finding that it has Halo is a multiplayer game. The first two were and the third exceeds all expectations...for multiplayer. I never exactly understood the first two games and was hoping that the third would tie the loose ends. It basically creates questions that will never be answered. The story was advertised to be great, but I was lost the entire second half of the game. Not to mention finding that it has to be beaten on Legendary to see the real ending...hello YouTube. Halo, don't hate it, but don't play the campaign. Expand
  48. BorisG.
    Nov 18, 2007
    6
    This game is not "bad" its just boring. Its the same exact thing as halo 2, the graphics aren't better only shinier. The single player campaign (which i know not many people care for) thoroughly disappointed me. Wtf? Cortana has feelings now and everyone is in love with her? And the multiplayer just has a fancy camera now, if only it made as huge a jump as Halo2 did from Halo1, it This game is not "bad" its just boring. Its the same exact thing as halo 2, the graphics aren't better only shinier. The single player campaign (which i know not many people care for) thoroughly disappointed me. Wtf? Cortana has feelings now and everyone is in love with her? And the multiplayer just has a fancy camera now, if only it made as huge a jump as Halo2 did from Halo1, it being the next-gen and all. Expand
  49. ThomasN.
    Nov 19, 2007
    7
    Had this been the first Halo game ever and wasn't hyped up to the max, this game would be worthy of 9s and such. Instead, we get a rehash of what we've seen already with the only arguement for it's greatness are ''it's Halo''. This is nowhere near a 10, but on the other hand it's not so bad it deserves any less than a 6. Fun for the occasional Had this been the first Halo game ever and wasn't hyped up to the max, this game would be worthy of 9s and such. Instead, we get a rehash of what we've seen already with the only arguement for it's greatness are ''it's Halo''. This is nowhere near a 10, but on the other hand it's not so bad it deserves any less than a 6. Fun for the occasional play or some messing about with your friends, but within a few hours you feel very bored. Expand
  50. JonathonS.
    Nov 21, 2007
    5
    A run of the mill shooter inferior to just about any full priced FPS that has come out on the PC over the last 3 years. An extremely average game that while not horrible to play offers nothing of interest to anyone but FPS fans with a spare afternoon. The singleplayer is very short (5-6 hours) and the multiplayer lacks cohesion and excitement.
  51. PMAC
    Nov 28, 2007
    6
    I saved up for months to buy XBOX 360 for one reason--Halo 3, and boy am I disappointed. The game is just extremely boring. It's seems it was just thrown together to make money. There was really no new characters or weapons, just modified old stuff. If you love Halo like me, then of course you have to beat it, but don't expect much. P.S. What happened to the Halo 1 pistol?? Best part!!
  52. John-eB.
    Nov 28, 2007
    5
    This Game was a major disappointment..! Don't get me wrong I was a huge fan of 1 and 2....but halo 3 didn't bring anything new to the table. A few new features, but not worth all the hype. This game seemed very repetitious...NOT A MUST HAVE!!
  53. JohnL.
    Dec 8, 2007
    7
    A perfectly good, if not exceptionally groundbreaking, game. Few of the stunning moments and wow factor that Halo 2 had, but a far more consistently fun title all around. The character animation is not aging well, and the graphics are hit and miss. If doing nothing wrong rates a 10, then this game is a solid ten. However, I'd prefer to be moved, or excited, or enthralled, or... well, A perfectly good, if not exceptionally groundbreaking, game. Few of the stunning moments and wow factor that Halo 2 had, but a far more consistently fun title all around. The character animation is not aging well, and the graphics are hit and miss. If doing nothing wrong rates a 10, then this game is a solid ten. However, I'd prefer to be moved, or excited, or enthralled, or... well, anything at all. Instead I feel like I'm just playing more Halo. Which is, of course, never a bad thing. Expand
  54. ScottL.
    Dec 12, 2007
    6
    I rated this game a 6 because after waiting months for it to come out I bought it and found it to be the same exact game as Halo & Halo II, not that it is bad but just not much different than playing either of my other Halo Games I already own. I would not spend the money if you already have Halo or Halo II unless you are just a fanatic that must have every Halo game. The graphics are I rated this game a 6 because after waiting months for it to come out I bought it and found it to be the same exact game as Halo & Halo II, not that it is bad but just not much different than playing either of my other Halo Games I already own. I would not spend the money if you already have Halo or Halo II unless you are just a fanatic that must have every Halo game. The graphics are better and look very good in some areas but the sounds, the creatures and most everything else feels and plays like a clone with hardly anything that is significantly different from previous Halo's. The biggest build up of the year for any game turns out to be the biggest let down in my opinion. Some games that were innovative, fresh when new become old, less involved and very repetitive over time (don't get me started on Zelda). A very overrated game by almost all of the game magazines. Expand
  55. CarsonT.
    Dec 14, 2007
    5
    The reason I have givin Halo 3 a 5 out of 10 is simple: It is easily the most overhyped game in the history of the universe. I mean, it's not a bad game, in fact it's very fun in both singleplayer and multiplayer. But I struggle to grasp what is so fantastic about it. It's a pretty average first-person shooter when you think about it. You just point your gun at enemies and The reason I have givin Halo 3 a 5 out of 10 is simple: It is easily the most overhyped game in the history of the universe. I mean, it's not a bad game, in fact it's very fun in both singleplayer and multiplayer. But I struggle to grasp what is so fantastic about it. It's a pretty average first-person shooter when you think about it. You just point your gun at enemies and hold the trigger down until they are dead. That's about it. There is absolutely nothing new here for fans of the genre, or even fans of the series. This is just Halo 2 with a new lick of paint. Quite frankly if it wasn't for the avalanche of adverts and media attention generated by Microsoft, Halo 3 would have been considered mediocre at best. It's games like this that really get on my nerves. They follow a predictable and monotonous structure whilst distracting everyone from other, far superior, titles which have clearly made an effort to revitalise the genre. I'm talking about Crysis, CoD4 and Bioshock ofcourse. Buy Halo 3 for the multiplayer if you must but remeber this: you don't have to be a sheep and get Halo 3 just because mother Microsoft SAID it was good. Think for yourself and you will realise that there are countless games out there that wipe the floor with Halo 3. Expand
  56. NeilJ.
    Dec 17, 2007
    5
    This game is the worst of the franchise. Their are may problems with this game. At first i enjoyed the expirience it gave me for about 6 hours then it just went downhill. The story line is very short. Youd think that for the last game that they would make this the longest campagin mode out of the 3 halo games. well your wrong its the shortest. After beating the game I thought that the This game is the worst of the franchise. Their are may problems with this game. At first i enjoyed the expirience it gave me for about 6 hours then it just went downhill. The story line is very short. Youd think that for the last game that they would make this the longest campagin mode out of the 3 halo games. well your wrong its the shortest. After beating the game I thought that the online play would be better than halo 2 but worse than halo 1. (I thought that halo 1 was the best of the series) but I found out that I was just waisting my money. When I went on I first thought this was prity OK. But after about 5 games I realised that they better have a shit load of downloads if they want me to stay. The maps online are very anoying and repetitive in how each place works. I only found 2 maps enjoyable in this game. That is realy sad. Unlike halo 1 in which almost every map was good. (except for like 3 or 4). You will enjoy the multiplayer only if you have a shit load of friends that have the game. Otherwise you are just waisting money. The weapons in the game have downgraded even more in this version. The pistle in this game has gone down an even steeper slope. Entering random matches in halo 3 has also downgraded even more. Instead of being alowed to choose the game mode like capture the flag. You have to choose something less spacifick like big team battle which will most likely give you something you want to do. Every single friend I have(15) all hate halo 3. Halo 1 was the best of the sieries and bungie just milked it to much. Right now I can say that thank god that the series is over. Expand
  57. Ricardo
    Dec 24, 2007
    5
    Halo: 9 (only misses a 10 due to boring Library stage) Halo 2: 2 (simply awful in all respects) Halo 3: 5 One of the best aspects of Halo - holding out in a citadel as waves of covenant do battle with you and your dwindling forces. This never occurs in Halo 3 - instead we suffer through awful stages where you sit in a rubbish vehicle and try and take out scarabs in a dull and repetitive Halo: 9 (only misses a 10 due to boring Library stage) Halo 2: 2 (simply awful in all respects) Halo 3: 5 One of the best aspects of Halo - holding out in a citadel as waves of covenant do battle with you and your dwindling forces. This never occurs in Halo 3 - instead we suffer through awful stages where you sit in a rubbish vehicle and try and take out scarabs in a dull and repetitive manner. Truely horrible. Yet there are 3 or more such stages. The weapons are poor, the stages repetitive, enemy dull, and the ending a damp squib. Where was the send off between Master Chief and the Arbiter?? Over-hyped and thoroughly average. Expand
  58. S.K.
    Dec 25, 2007
    6
    Can you say "overhyped"? There is exactly one reason to play this game: because everyone else is. Having destroyed Halo 2's Xbox Live audience, there's only one place to go. That's unfortunate, given that both 1 and 2 were huge leaps from what came before. But 3? Bah, it's just rehashed 2, except with even more glitches. I thought superjumping was bad. It was, until I Can you say "overhyped"? There is exactly one reason to play this game: because everyone else is. Having destroyed Halo 2's Xbox Live audience, there's only one place to go. That's unfortunate, given that both 1 and 2 were huge leaps from what came before. But 3? Bah, it's just rehashed 2, except with even more glitches. I thought superjumping was bad. It was, until I got sniped in the face and... nothing happened. The blood came out, that's how I know, because apparently making it look pretty is a higher priority than making it work. Ask any Halo 2 and 3 player - sure, you got angry at 2 sometimes, but deep down knew you were just mad because you were losing. Not so with #3. A lot of what people complain about it is (surprisingly or not) legitimately the game's fault. The game isn't bad, per se, but for such a big-name game with such a huge budget, you think they could have gotten it together. I guess I was wrong. Go play Call of Duty 4. Expand
  59. KyleT.
    Jan 1, 2008
    7
    Halo 3, easily the most hyped and advertised game in recent history (all of history?), manages to stand out mostly due to media buzz. Fighting through the layer of fanboyism, however, stands a competent, enjoyable shooter. The single player campaign is short and disappointing. Levels are not only linear, but also poorly designed. A.I. is disappointing, and doesn't really provide and Halo 3, easily the most hyped and advertised game in recent history (all of history?), manages to stand out mostly due to media buzz. Fighting through the layer of fanboyism, however, stands a competent, enjoyable shooter. The single player campaign is short and disappointing. Levels are not only linear, but also poorly designed. A.I. is disappointing, and doesn't really provide and interesting fight. Overall the single-player campaign doesn't exemplify gripping pitch-perfect pacing as Half-Life 2 and often fails to deliver truly interesting action. However, this is a Halo game; it's the multiplayer that counts. Bungie has successfully added new elements to the online experience without ruining the Halo experience. Weapons are still pretty well balanced, and the majority of levels flow great (except a few badly designed ones... looking at you Snowbound) and each have a myriad of interesting strategies. Matchmaking is easy and smooth, and getting into a game with yourself, or some pals, is quick and painless. Overall, Halo is an online experience, and if you purchase the game with that in mind, you will not be disappointed. Expand
  60. MalcolmG.
    Jan 3, 2008
    5
    Single Player: I was hoping that I was going to be able to finish the fight, humanity's fight that is. However, once again, Bungie decided to confuse me with a bunch of amazing advertisements and produce a lack-luster game. Halo 3 is really just a medicore game, truly average gameplay, more comprobable to a "7." However, because the story was depressing, as it didn't live up to Single Player: I was hoping that I was going to be able to finish the fight, humanity's fight that is. However, once again, Bungie decided to confuse me with a bunch of amazing advertisements and produce a lack-luster game. Halo 3 is really just a medicore game, truly average gameplay, more comprobable to a "7." However, because the story was depressing, as it didn't live up to the hype, and inconclusive and spotty for a trilogy, Halo 3's single player at best deserves a 2. Multiplayer: Halo 2 with some equipment, the return of a better assault rifle, some new vehicles, similar maps, and forge. Probably a 9 or so, because it is pretty fun multiplayer. Bottom Line: Halo 3 gets a bad score because it was supposed to focus on the single player - it failed miserably in this very important department. Expand
  61. AdrienV.
    Jan 10, 2008
    5
    On its own it is an acceptable game. Compared to Crysis, Orange box, Call of duty 4, it sucks. That is, the multiplayer. The singleplayer is much worse. If you are buying it for the multiplayer you might as well get COD4, Team fortress 2, or others. If you are getting it expecting a good singleplayer you must be drunk so it is possible you might enjoy it.
  62. MvmntInGrn
    Jan 13, 2008
    7
    While still being interesting and fun you can't help but expect more from the series, especially in its final chapter. Needed more new aspects, Halo hasn't changed much from Halo 1 other than its graphics. Truly surprised to see the constant barrage of 100s its gotten.
  63. ChrisW.
    Feb 9, 2008
    6
    This game was some-what decent. It is not a game to get excited about though when it comes to the campaign or the multi player. It has a lot to offer online but I found that it eventually became boring and frustrating. This game was sadly overrated and does not deserve the ratings it has received. P.S., one of the most common flaws of this game is its weapon choice. The Assault rifle is This game was some-what decent. It is not a game to get excited about though when it comes to the campaign or the multi player. It has a lot to offer online but I found that it eventually became boring and frustrating. This game was sadly overrated and does not deserve the ratings it has received. P.S., one of the most common flaws of this game is its weapon choice. The Assault rifle is the default weapon and in my opinion it blows. This game could make a unexperienced player look experienced. Expand
  64. DanishA.
    Feb 10, 2008
    5
    Not as good as I expected it to be. Halo 1 & 2 was better. I think there are many games better than this game. I got tired of playing this game after a while.
  65. MisterH.
    Feb 12, 2008
    7
    Story mode is good although repetitive, but the multiplayer is better.
  66. Juggernaut
    Feb 15, 2008
    6
    Now don't get me wrong, this is a good game, but it is really just the same old thing that Bungie has been coming out with for the last few years. Even though the single player campaign really isn't that great this time around. The only thing that makes the game worth while is the multiplayer. It is a fairly small multiplayer game though considering it can only support 16 Now don't get me wrong, this is a good game, but it is really just the same old thing that Bungie has been coming out with for the last few years. Even though the single player campaign really isn't that great this time around. The only thing that makes the game worth while is the multiplayer. It is a fairly small multiplayer game though considering it can only support 16 players in one server, it is still fun though. I am glad to see that Bungie still supports split screen multiplayer. My personal favorite thing to do is play Halo 3 with some friends. Also, I have to admit the enhanced physics and graphics do make the game cooler. The bodies actually move whe you T-bag them! Expand
  67. MattA.
    Feb 19, 2008
    5
    halo 3 has a very repetitive online, a complete dissapointment. I would rather be playing halo 2. there is barley any new weapons or vehicles. The online is always the same you shoot some one then run up and beat them down. the gravity hammer is a pointless new weapon it is pretty much the exact same thing as a sword. The only thing I liked a bout halo was the campaign and the forge.
  68. JakeF.
    Feb 25, 2008
    7
    I thought it was going to be better than it actually was!
  69. Gary
    Mar 6, 2008
    5
    A truly disappointing game. Definetly does not live up to the hype it was receiving. Also the visuals are not there like other games show. The only decent prospective is that of the multiplayer, even that does get extremely repetitive.
  70. KdH..
    Mar 15, 2008
    5
    Not enough ammo, boring, ridiculous cut scenes, claustrophobic restricted view in places, difficult to differentiate scenery in forest scenes..a real disappointment.
  71. JohnN.
    Mar 30, 2008
    5
    I'll be very relevant with my interview and will avoid comparisons, for a more honest review. The single player is a vomit on top of dog droppings (that is an understatement). Bungie is a relic as you may know, and i feel as though they don't know how to make a next gen experience. It's chokepoint after chokepoint, problem after another. The guns feel recycled (which they I'll be very relevant with my interview and will avoid comparisons, for a more honest review. The single player is a vomit on top of dog droppings (that is an understatement). Bungie is a relic as you may know, and i feel as though they don't know how to make a next gen experience. It's chokepoint after chokepoint, problem after another. The guns feel recycled (which they are lol), and the hit detection is awful, you will find better in N64 shooters! The multiplayer redeems the single player don't worry. It surely isn't new, but with its easy party interface, and matchmaking system, it is eerily still ahead of most games you will find. My only complaint is that they decreased the gap between noobs and vets. Let the horrible die, and the good live. Overall, must buy for the multiplayer, why play the single player? Just look up the ending on youtube. Expand
  72. LukeV.
    Apr 9, 2008
    7
    Excellent solo play, multiplayer gets a bit repetitive.
  73. TylerP.
    May 9, 2008
    6
    This game is ok, rather mediocre for all the hype. There was no need to add the garbage (i.e. bubble shields, regenerator, grav lifts, etc.). The maps are just plain mundane and symmetrical. Also, all the weapons have the same effectiveness. In other words, if I have a needler and you have a rocket launcher, I can easily kill you. Some of the new weapons are unnecessary, spiker = pellet This game is ok, rather mediocre for all the hype. There was no need to add the garbage (i.e. bubble shields, regenerator, grav lifts, etc.). The maps are just plain mundane and symmetrical. Also, all the weapons have the same effectiveness. In other words, if I have a needler and you have a rocket launcher, I can easily kill you. Some of the new weapons are unnecessary, spiker = pellet gun, mauler = shotgun, spartan laser = virtually impossible to charge and aim, and missile pod = anti-vehicle rocket launcher from Halo 2. Overall, this game may offer a few new things, but nothing that contributes to the enhancement of gameplay or interest. Expand
  74. Som1
    May 13, 2008
    5
    All in all halo 3 isnt very good, the single player is very boring, which made co-op over xbox live story mode pointless, the multiplayer is still the same old thing just with more stuff that doesnt help the gameplay and overall Halo 3 is a big letdown.
  75. AnonymousConnor
    May 22, 2008
    6
    OK-ish. Didn't live up to the hype, but still pretty solid.
  76. BenS.
    May 29, 2008
    7
    Unfortunately Halo3 just doesn't deliver. Graphics & gameplay are just better than average. Put it up against Bioshock and it looks poor. I would have given it a 6 but the co-op campaign gives it another point.
  77. JohnW.
    Jun 2, 2008
    5
    The most over-rated game ever. At least the multiplayer's decent.
  78. Gorillablackkillatail
    Jun 9, 2008
    5
    Halo 2 was a great game!! I enjoyed it very much, thanks to bungie. Now that have played halo 3 i realized that the makes of all the halos, halo, halo2, and now.... halo 3. I am quite shocked that the makers of all the halos decided to make a game for online. the maps are clearly over sized and are very good online. besides the maps, i thought that halo 3 would of had more than 2 people Halo 2 was a great game!! I enjoyed it very much, thanks to bungie. Now that have played halo 3 i realized that the makes of all the halos, halo, halo2, and now.... halo 3. I am quite shocked that the makers of all the halos decided to make a game for online. the maps are clearly over sized and are very good online. besides the maps, i thought that halo 3 would of had more than 2 people for campaign. Instead, i found out that only online you are able to play halo 3 campaign with more than 2 people. Expand
  79. Korne
    Jun 11, 2008
    7
    Good, but not great! Hype is a strange thing; it can make great things look bad and mediocre things look great. This is what happens with Halo3. It takes good things from the previous installments, and adds some new (and good) features, but for some reason, it doesn't seem as powerful as the first two Halos. The Multiplayer isn't as inventive as Halo2, and the story isn't Good, but not great! Hype is a strange thing; it can make great things look bad and mediocre things look great. This is what happens with Halo3. It takes good things from the previous installments, and adds some new (and good) features, but for some reason, it doesn't seem as powerful as the first two Halos. The Multiplayer isn't as inventive as Halo2, and the story isn't as good as Halo. This makes it not as good as some great games, and thus brings it down. If it wasn't the third installment in the series, the game would probably be accepted more as an awesome game. But since it is the hype engine known as Halo, we demand perfection, and Halo3 did not deliver. It is a good game, so it still gets a 7/10 (where as the first got a 9 and the second got an 8). Expand
  80. DanielN.
    Jun 13, 2008
    6
    This game is an average shooter... with a short campaign, the game seems to just be Halo 2 with a bit of polish. The only reason I gave this game a 6 is that their is some innovation in the Forge mode. If you love multiplayer then this game is o.k, but the weapons feel unbalanced and useless. And although their are quite a few weapons in the multiplayer you will only ever find your self This game is an average shooter... with a short campaign, the game seems to just be Halo 2 with a bit of polish. The only reason I gave this game a 6 is that their is some innovation in the Forge mode. If you love multiplayer then this game is o.k, but the weapons feel unbalanced and useless. And although their are quite a few weapons in the multiplayer you will only ever find your self using 2-3 weapons regularly. Expand
  81. RobinC.
    Jun 19, 2008
    6
    Great in September, easily a 9/10 but now in a post cod 4 world it doesn't stand up, and not so good single player.
  82. DominicM.
    Jun 22, 2008
    6
    Average. It was my biggest disappointment. The single player gets boring and no where near as epic as Bungie made it out to be. The multiplayer takes a step down from Halo 2, getting rid of many of the open maps and replacing them with cramped corridors. The massive hype this game receives is amazing. The game just feels outdated compared to better shooters like Gears of war or Average. It was my biggest disappointment. The single player gets boring and no where near as epic as Bungie made it out to be. The multiplayer takes a step down from Halo 2, getting rid of many of the open maps and replacing them with cramped corridors. The massive hype this game receives is amazing. The game just feels outdated compared to better shooters like Gears of war or Resistance:Fall of man. The stupid cliffhanger ending doesn't help either. Expand
  83. BillA
    Jun 25, 2008
    7
    Nothing fits. It is like 10 different artist slapped on their own coat of paint and things just don't feel right. The gameplay lacks any true mechanics and the multiply, although good, seems to fall short compared to its xbox live counterparts. don't be taken by the hype, this game is mediocre at best.
  84. johnDoe
    Jul 4, 2008
    7
    The original Halo may have sold a million original xbox's, On the current next gen console Halo3 just does not have the same effect. This is by no means a bad game, Single player is enjoyable and quite testing, Just not as revolutionary as the original. Graphically the game looks great and play's as well as it always did. I am not sure where the series can go from here as I feel The original Halo may have sold a million original xbox's, On the current next gen console Halo3 just does not have the same effect. This is by no means a bad game, Single player is enjoyable and quite testing, Just not as revolutionary as the original. Graphically the game looks great and play's as well as it always did. I am not sure where the series can go from here as I feel it has peeked. Of course the online community for Halo is massive and you will have no trouble finding an online game That runs without lag. This could be where the series future lies in just online play. Halo 3 is a good game, Just not the generation setting game the original was. Expand
  85. PeturR.
    Jul 7, 2008
    5
    I'm not saying Halo 3 is a bad game, it isn't, but everthing it does, it does averagely. its not the greatest game ever, yet it's not the worst. the graphics are good, when you take screenshots that is. when there are a lot of effects going on, this game chugs at like 10 fps. And some of the lighting effects are really annoying, the multiplayer is good but the new forge I'm not saying Halo 3 is a bad game, it isn't, but everthing it does, it does averagely. its not the greatest game ever, yet it's not the worst. the graphics are good, when you take screenshots that is. when there are a lot of effects going on, this game chugs at like 10 fps. And some of the lighting effects are really annoying, the multiplayer is good but the new forge mode is somewhat lacking. note to bungie: put more option into forge mode. Expand
  86. BasicFanboy
    Jul 11, 2008
    6
    I are loving Halo 3. mE is have S0 mach fun. Great fun is this. W007 W007 W007. ZOMGLOLOL. Seriously though folks, Halo 3 was average at best. I just get sick of stupid fanboys saying all games are awful compared to Halo. All FPS games perhaps, but halo does not cover all genres. Go die in a fire. That is all.
  87. OwenS.
    Jul 18, 2008
    7
    It has good graphics but for your average shooter game it gets rather boring.
  88. MichaelS
    Jul 20, 2008
    6
    Better than HALO 2, but once again Bungie could not live up to the greatness of the first game. This is due to the complete focus on multiplayer and not much else!
  89. Caseyc
    Jul 30, 2008
    5
    Not horrible. Not Great. It's ok. Compared to just about any shooter from '04-'08 its just average.
  90. ChristianH.
    Jul 31, 2008
    6
    moderate. I find it remarkably similar to halo 2. New features like forge and theater are ok, but boring single player, and repetitive multiplayer is annoying. Graphics are bland and were not anything impressive. Halo lost the respect it's been known for, killer graphics. A rent? yes. It's halo for god's sake. Halo 2 is good and if this is similar to halo 2 then you minus moderate. I find it remarkably similar to halo 2. New features like forge and theater are ok, but boring single player, and repetitive multiplayer is annoying. Graphics are bland and were not anything impressive. Halo lost the respect it's been known for, killer graphics. A rent? yes. It's halo for god's sake. Halo 2 is good and if this is similar to halo 2 then you minus well get it. Or if your trying to do machinima. Otherwise I'd just go to your friends house and play it. Expand
  91. RickyM.
    Aug 6, 2008
    6
    I don't care about it's popularity, in fact it's a good thing. Gigantic online community ensures that you'll always find a game. I just tire of doing the same thing over and over again. 1. Press left trigger and throw grenade at enemy. 2. Run at enemy 3. Hold right trigger. 4. Mash B button when they get close and smack them. Luckiest/First one to do this correctly I don't care about it's popularity, in fact it's a good thing. Gigantic online community ensures that you'll always find a game. I just tire of doing the same thing over and over again. 1. Press left trigger and throw grenade at enemy. 2. Run at enemy 3. Hold right trigger. 4. Mash B button when they get close and smack them. Luckiest/First one to do this correctly wins. Graphics are pretty. Tedious gameplay. Bland weapons make picking up others unnecessary. Feels outdated. Expand
  92. MartinK.
    Aug 16, 2008
    7
    to Christian H. It is "MIGHT AS well," not "minus well." Jesus, people, that's not even grammatical. hell, that's not even a spelling error. that's just called stupid.
  93. ChrisM
    Aug 23, 2008
    5
    Halo 3 is average at best. Halo 3 is just any old FPS, except it's more popular than God. Halo never did anything original and just stole gameplay mechanics from just about every other FPS that came before it. There's nothing original about a well armored protagonist shooting aliens. We've seen it before. Especially the flood. They're just copies of the headcrabs from Halo 3 is average at best. Halo 3 is just any old FPS, except it's more popular than God. Halo never did anything original and just stole gameplay mechanics from just about every other FPS that came before it. There's nothing original about a well armored protagonist shooting aliens. We've seen it before. Especially the flood. They're just copies of the headcrabs from Half-Life. The single player is way too short, and not very fun. The multiplayer is fun for a short bit, but gets old fast. Honestly, I wouldn't pay the full price of a game for this. Expand
  94. StuartB.
    Sep 22, 2008
    6
    Halo 3 succeeds in offering the same linear, formulaic gameplay which I'm sure the majority of it's unenlightened fanbase craves. Perhaps if you've never played any other decent FPS titles before you'd think Halo 3 is a ground breaking revelation. However to anyone else whose played many other FPS games of higher calibre will find this to be a trite and turgid Halo 3 succeeds in offering the same linear, formulaic gameplay which I'm sure the majority of it's unenlightened fanbase craves. Perhaps if you've never played any other decent FPS titles before you'd think Halo 3 is a ground breaking revelation. However to anyone else whose played many other FPS games of higher calibre will find this to be a trite and turgid experience which offers nothing new whatsoever. 6/10 for a solid, yet completely uninspired, boring FPS. Expand
  95. DimeX
    Sep 24, 2008
    6
    While I haven't played Halo 3, I've seen from gameplay videos on YouTube how the game plays out: no matter how fast you're moving or what you're doing to aim, pretty much something gets in your crosshair and you hold down the right trigger, or you just spam grenades. In my opinion, CS:S is much better than this game (though I prefer PC games over 360 games) because it While I haven't played Halo 3, I've seen from gameplay videos on YouTube how the game plays out: no matter how fast you're moving or what you're doing to aim, pretty much something gets in your crosshair and you hold down the right trigger, or you just spam grenades. In my opinion, CS:S is much better than this game (though I prefer PC games over 360 games) because it has ways to balance out the multiplayer, I'm NOT going to include the singleplayer in this because I haven't played it, but what I'm reading here it's not all that good, but it adds a few points in that respect. Also, yes, this game IS over-hyped, again, in my opinion, Halo 1 was the best of the series because the singleplayer had a decent storyline, while the lack of multiplayer was really dissapointing, it was still a very origional singleplayer game. Halo 2 however, its story can only be described as PAINFUL. I played the Halo 2 singleplayer from beginning to end and it just... was horrible. I'm starting to stray here from a review of Halo 3 though, so back to the third installment. Yes Halo 3 contains the forge system and video playback, which is cool for everyone, I agree, and it does make the multiplayer more fun. Granted you can't do this with other multiplayer games such as CS:S or CoD4 don't include an editing system like this (for CS:S you have Source SDK, to my knowledge CoD4 has no editing engine, even on the PC) so it earns it a couple more points. Graphically the game is impressive, though it's pretty much just the Halo 1 graphics just alot more polished. Nothing wrong with that at all, it just means that the developers would rather spend a few days re-modeling an already-concepted weapon rather than recreate new weapons over the course of several weeks. All-in-all, this is a decent game, and fun to play with your friends. The only downside is that because of it's friendly atmosphere to children, you'll usually have to deal with screaming kids on Xbox Live, which knocks it down a few points. (Personally, I played multiplayer games before my voice deepened, and people were annoyed, but hell, all that matters is if you have fun or not, someone's voice should not annoy you if the game is good, my only trouble with it is if the kids start to actually SCREAM in frustration, which has happened to me before in other games.) Expand
  96. BenC
    Oct 8, 2008
    5
    Generic, completely over-hyped shooter.
  97. ochentay4ochentay4
    Nov 25, 2008
    6
    I've played every FPS till this day on PC and there are a lot to recommend. I bought a Xbox360 only to play Halo Trilogy to really experience this game... only to found out that this is an overhyped game that offers no memorable story nor gameplay (I only played single player campaign). The only thing that I cannot understand is that many reviews conclude with many negative comments I've played every FPS till this day on PC and there are a lot to recommend. I bought a Xbox360 only to play Halo Trilogy to really experience this game... only to found out that this is an overhyped game that offers no memorable story nor gameplay (I only played single player campaign). The only thing that I cannot understand is that many reviews conclude with many negative comments yet they give 8 or more. This trilogy sucks at best. Please go play "The Orange Box" you wont regret it. There are a lot of FPS games that are really good. Go play something else, dont bother with ANY Halo. Expand
  98. JohnS
    Dec 31, 2008
    6
    Generic is the best word to describe this series. Halo 1 took all the best parts from other games, and put it all into one game. Shoot all the bad guys, run over here, shoot all these guys, ok now run over here, kill these guys. It was FUN, and the story was actually engaging, involving twists, dramatic moments and a common hated enemy that you actually enjoyed killing. But then the Generic is the best word to describe this series. Halo 1 took all the best parts from other games, and put it all into one game. Shoot all the bad guys, run over here, shoot all these guys, ok now run over here, kill these guys. It was FUN, and the story was actually engaging, involving twists, dramatic moments and a common hated enemy that you actually enjoyed killing. But then the sequels came, and the series started to lag. Its like Bungie didnt even try to top themselves. the sequels do nothing new or exciting, and do nothing to enhance the series. Overrated is also another word to describe Halo 3. The critics absolutely praise this game like theyve never seen it done before. I played this game 10 years ago when it was called Doom, Half-Life, Tribes, Medal of Honor, Wolfenstein, and every other fps created before this game. This game is overrated, overyhyped, and has been done many times before, and better. Expand
  99. matthewm
    Feb 1, 2009
    6
    Better than halo 2, yet not within reach of Combat: Evolved. Considering how shitty the 2nd game was, they did a good job with the story and making it feel more like the first. Multiplayer is where the game lets down. Everybody tries to get the mauler and do the fire+melee as fast as possible. There's no strategy left in the game. Dual-Wielding takes all the fun out of the game as it Better than halo 2, yet not within reach of Combat: Evolved. Considering how shitty the 2nd game was, they did a good job with the story and making it feel more like the first. Multiplayer is where the game lets down. Everybody tries to get the mauler and do the fire+melee as fast as possible. There's no strategy left in the game. Dual-Wielding takes all the fun out of the game as it allows players to use the exact same tactic, running straight at your enemy and firing as fast as possible until close enough to melee. And melee sucks too. In Combat: Evolved, if you meleed and were too far away, you were fucked. Now, the player lunges like he has a plasma sword. They took every mechanic that made the original addicting and endlessly playable and made it lackluster. Also, the maps suck. no WIDE OPEN like Blood Gulch or Sidewinder for vehicles. The maps just don't flow like the ones in the original. Overall, the two sequels were enormous let-downs, and I hope that ODST and whatever else Bungie has up its sleeves don't follow this trend. Last thing I will say is that I do believe microsoft pressured bungie to get the sequels out and that's probly why they didn't live up to the original. I still believe in Bungie, I'm just sad that The franchise didn't become everything it could be. Expand
  100. joshq
    Mar 15, 2009
    6
    Not even the fanbois can overpower the user rating on this game. I'd really like some of them to tell me what they like about it rather than just bullsh*t us about how great it is. At the time the first halo came out it was a really good fps, but the sequels are the same thing.. and this one is just very poor compared to other fps' at the time. It operates off the same unreal Not even the fanbois can overpower the user rating on this game. I'd really like some of them to tell me what they like about it rather than just bullsh*t us about how great it is. At the time the first halo came out it was a really good fps, but the sequels are the same thing.. and this one is just very poor compared to other fps' at the time. It operates off the same unreal tournament style shooting and movement mechanics that everyone hates because there's absolutely no dynamics to weapons like recoil and shooting things gives a terribly unsatisfying effect. In MP its Better Gun > Whoever sees who first > knowledge of map > and finally skill, very non-skill based game. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's the addition of the Forge level editor and the saved films that give the game an even longer set of legs, legs that will probably keep you running at full speed until Bungie figures out where, exactly, to go from here.
  2. Halo 3 is the best Xbox 360 game to date. The single-player campaign and storyline are both very strong, but it's Forge and the Saved Films features that will likely go down in history as Bungie's crowning achievements. They've basically taken everything great about the series and improved upon it in every way, then added some amazing new features that we'll be using for years to come.
  3. 100
    It's solid gameplay, immense replayability, online functionality and incredible production values will ensure its place in video game history, and it is, without a doubt, a satisfying and fulfilling close to the beloved trilogy[?].