User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4215 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KentL.
    Oct 2, 2007
    7
    Halo 2.5 is very cool! Slight but pleasant improvement in graphics and sound. I'm grateful the gameplay is consistent with Halo 2.0 and it picks up right where the story left off. Not quite enough to take me away from Bioshock for too long but good enough until the next GTA comes out!
  2. GuiltyDragon
    Oct 9, 2007
    9
    I thought we were past days where people would just look at the default campaign settings for the basis of a review. There is SO much here for your money. The game's story is pretty much a backdrop for the missions and does help the games flow, but is by no means essential for enjoyment. It's fair to say there is nothing radically different about Halo 3's campaign mode. If I thought we were past days where people would just look at the default campaign settings for the basis of a review. There is SO much here for your money. The game's story is pretty much a backdrop for the missions and does help the games flow, but is by no means essential for enjoyment. It's fair to say there is nothing radically different about Halo 3's campaign mode. If you didn't like the others, you probably won't like this. However, play it on heroic or above and you'll see what a finely balanced, intense and rewarding combat experiance it is. This is Halo at it's purest, most finely tuned level. I've found that most people who rank this game low has either played through it on normal (the "Wal-Mart crowd" setting) or has not delved into multiplayer, theatre mode or forge mode at all. Here is where the real meat is brought to the table. Theatre should soon become a standard amongst all multiplayer FPS games. RTS players have for some time now, treated match replays as gospel for improving their skills. Now FPS players have that chance aswell. By watching matches in which you did particularly well (or badly) you can definatly improve your game. For example, I have watched the early replays of my online games to learn which "weapon run" I should take from each spawn point, making it easier to get tooled up after I get killed. My only gripe at this is that there is no easy way to get your videos played back on a computer without hooking up your Xbox to a PC with screengrabbing software. Finally, Forge succesfully combines a sandbox game with a level editor. Everyone can have fun in forge. Seriously, my wife hates FPS games, but after a bit of nagging I got her to try forge. We spent hours on there mucking around in The Pit, creating piles of explosive crates, driving vehicles up walls, corpsehumping each other, it was awesome. There is no other way such a staunch opponent of FPS games could have enjoyed Halo 3 apart from like this. It's a breath of fresh air that the FPS genre really needs. Expand
  3. ChrisL.
    Oct 1, 2007
    6
    Unimaginatively dull. Graphics are pretty awful (for a 360 game) and seems more like a Halo 2 upgrade with hi-def polygons. Single player seems so rushed and so short. Sure multiplayer is frantic but it isn't exactly unique and brought nothing new to the genre that hasn't been done years ago by Id or Epic. Quite frankly if this was a no-name FPS title no one would be dishing out Unimaginatively dull. Graphics are pretty awful (for a 360 game) and seems more like a Halo 2 upgrade with hi-def polygons. Single player seems so rushed and so short. Sure multiplayer is frantic but it isn't exactly unique and brought nothing new to the genre that hasn't been done years ago by Id or Epic. Quite frankly if this was a no-name FPS title no one would be dishing out '10's to it. Expand
  4. davidk
    Oct 7, 2007
    0
    i gave it a 0 because i was extremely dissapointed.
    if the game was not hyped up so much it would have possibly got a 4, but with such high expectations its an extreme let down.
    sucky single player, good online. hello bingie not everyone has online i dont, dont be fooled into thinking this is the best game of the year or even the week. its an average shooter, which is moer
    i gave it a 0 because i was extremely dissapointed.
    if the game was not hyped up so much it would have possibly got a 4, but with such high expectations its an extreme let down.

    sucky single player, good online.
    hello bingie not everyone has online i dont,

    dont be fooled into thinking this is the best game of the year or even the week.
    its an average shooter, which is moer than i can say for the first halo which was even worse imo.

    they are all average shooters with no real reason as to why they are so hyped up. whats so good about them i ask WHAT?
    Expand
  5. LordHoodLordHood
    May 24, 2007
    10
    AAAAAAAAAa beta is okay game will be better hate portabal grave lifts man cannon rocks CCAMPAIN better rule or else there will be hell to pay Dont give a crap about multiplayer HALO FOREVER!!!
  6. NeuroticRampage
    Sep 26, 2007
    9
    As far as I've played it - it leaves little to complain about. The multiplayer is amazing (obviously), forge will be utilized much more in the future, the maps are balanced, new weapons and vehicles plus equipment are keeping things fresh, and the way the game "feels" is superior to either Halo 1 or 2. The campaign however, it a little short (the meta game adds replayability though), As far as I've played it - it leaves little to complain about. The multiplayer is amazing (obviously), forge will be utilized much more in the future, the maps are balanced, new weapons and vehicles plus equipment are keeping things fresh, and the way the game "feels" is superior to either Halo 1 or 2. The campaign however, it a little short (the meta game adds replayability though), and the graphics aren't 'that good'...especially the faces of marines and key characters (save for the chief and the arbiter). I mean, me and my brother actually laughed at how terrible it was. One guy looked like he was hyped up on crack, and someone else had a pudgy bulldog grimace 'thing' going on..and really with that a side the game is a 10, as long as there is Xbox live or as long you have friends, you can infinitley continue enjoying this game for what it does best - the multiplayer. Expand
  7. NeoMr.smith
    Mar 19, 2008
    1
    shit it gets one pont for graphics no real story kille sevens story is easy to follow compered to this game play is ify super ify if online if you have a wii and are going to get a 360 just for this game dont get star fox assalt it has a real story et muti-player only prob no online but who cares its still better than halo3 also Sean D. you dont understand ow to rate some thing from your shit it gets one pont for graphics no real story kille sevens story is easy to follow compered to this game play is ify super ify if online if you have a wii and are going to get a 360 just for this game dont get star fox assalt it has a real story et muti-player only prob no online but who cares its still better than halo3 also Sean D. you dont understand ow to rate some thing from your comment it sounds like a 7.5 Expand
  8. Gorillablackkillatail
    Jun 9, 2008
    5
    Halo 2 was a great game!! I enjoyed it very much, thanks to bungie. Now that have played halo 3 i realized that the makes of all the halos, halo, halo2, and now.... halo 3. I am quite shocked that the makers of all the halos decided to make a game for online. the maps are clearly over sized and are very good online. besides the maps, i thought that halo 3 would of had more than 2 people Halo 2 was a great game!! I enjoyed it very much, thanks to bungie. Now that have played halo 3 i realized that the makes of all the halos, halo, halo2, and now.... halo 3. I am quite shocked that the makers of all the halos decided to make a game for online. the maps are clearly over sized and are very good online. besides the maps, i thought that halo 3 would of had more than 2 people for campaign. Instead, i found out that only online you are able to play halo 3 campaign with more than 2 people. Expand
  9. JamesA.
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    Single player is a blast, even better with 4 person co-op, weapons are more balanced, kewl custom multiplayer characters, just enough great new things to keep life in the Halo series.
  10. IanL.
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    Halo is simply the best game out there. Almost everything about it is flawless, and its replayability is endless.
  11. SteveR.
    Oct 13, 2007
    9
    For a longtime PC FPS gamer who didn't really get Halo 1 or 2, and why it was so popular, Halo 3 did an amazing thing. It converted me. I genuinely enjoyed the game so much that I wanted to press on with the Campaign mode to its conclusion, although when I managed this, I felt an odd sense of disappointment that there was no more. For me, this is rare, and only ever really For a longtime PC FPS gamer who didn't really get Halo 1 or 2, and why it was so popular, Halo 3 did an amazing thing. It converted me. I genuinely enjoyed the game so much that I wanted to press on with the Campaign mode to its conclusion, although when I managed this, I felt an odd sense of disappointment that there was no more. For me, this is rare, and only ever really experienced before with Half Life 1 & 2, Knights of the Old Republic and Final Fantasy VII. The only reason this didn't get a 10 is because as the 3rd game in a trilogy, some of the story is a little hard to follow for those who haven't played or failed to complete Halos 1 & 2. (I made sure I looked at the plot overview on Wikipedia for these so that I wasn't confused or lost by the plot). The online multiplayer also seems very good, although I have only just started playing. It does seem a lot more balanced than the Halo 2 multiplayer, which I dabbled with but didn't like half as much, (mainly due to the sheer number of people taking advantage of what I now know are button glitches). Hats off to Bungie for putting together such a fine game! Don't believe the PS3 owners on here who are obviously marking the game down because their system has no 'killer app' at present. Finish the Fight ! Expand
  12. Gregg
    Oct 1, 2007
    1
    This was the first Halo I have played and like 360 Gamer Magazine UK have mentioned - "anyone new to Halo probably won't see what all the fuss is about". This I found, unfortunately true!! The gameplay is sadly repetitive, having to pump a hundred bullets into a Brute before it drops, understandably so considering their size, however this is not fun!! There does appear to be quite a This was the first Halo I have played and like 360 Gamer Magazine UK have mentioned - "anyone new to Halo probably won't see what all the fuss is about". This I found, unfortunately true!! The gameplay is sadly repetitive, having to pump a hundred bullets into a Brute before it drops, understandably so considering their size, however this is not fun!! There does appear to be quite a strong story line but what does that matter without solid gameplay!!???!!!! The graphics are nothing to shout about and I believe this game to be way over-rated - Too much hype!!!! If you want to play a real FPS go out and buy Bioshock, it is worth every penny and it shows the rest how its supposed to be done!! Expand
  13. SamB.
    Oct 1, 2007
    8
    I'm not one of the Halo fan fraternity, but I did buy Halo 3 with some high hopes... and I wasn't disappointed. The game has a great interface, the controls are fairly intuitive (as long as you have prior FPS experience) although my mates get the controls mixed up with another game or previous version and I hear them swear online when they accidentally swap a decent weapon for a I'm not one of the Halo fan fraternity, but I did buy Halo 3 with some high hopes... and I wasn't disappointed. The game has a great interface, the controls are fairly intuitive (as long as you have prior FPS experience) although my mates get the controls mixed up with another game or previous version and I hear them swear online when they accidentally swap a decent weapon for a rubbish one while trying to reload. The single player game is like most FPS single player games, fun for the most part but a little repetitive. The multiplayer is what this game was made for and don't forget it. Multiplayer co-op on Halo 3 is about as good as it gets, in my humble opinion. The game's a bit short though, I have to admit and for that reason it doesn't get a 9 or 10. Expand
  14. AaronB.
    Oct 15, 2007
    4
    Borrrinnngggg. Its lost all the magic the first episode had....and gained the tedious gameplay from the second one. Its sooo linear.The graphics are superb though; the sound is a pain- you can't adjust the volume in any way just like the other 2 games. Very frustrating. Online is laggy, takes ages to find a decent game and to be honest hasn't been back in my xbox since I Borrrinnngggg. Its lost all the magic the first episode had....and gained the tedious gameplay from the second one. Its sooo linear.The graphics are superb though; the sound is a pain- you can't adjust the volume in any way just like the other 2 games. Very frustrating. Online is laggy, takes ages to find a decent game and to be honest hasn't been back in my xbox since I finished the limp campaign. Having to backtrack through several of the levels you've just fought your way through sucks (there is a lot of backtracking, trust me). Last level is shit. I'm actually going to give the game a 4 rating as writing this review has just reminded me how grinding the single player missions were, and I originally had given it 7. What a shame. I don't know how many times I played the first one over the life cycle of my original xbox, it was loads. God what a waste. Linear, linear, linear. I can't believe I've just given Halo 3 a 4 rating. I waited soo long for it as well. Should have known better after the travesty of Halo 2. Expand
  15. RhysP.
    Nov 5, 2007
    9
    Get over HL2, sure it's a better game but Halo 3 offers an extremely polished FPS experience and some of the best Multi player on the 360.
  16. ClarkK.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    What a great game, I don't ever think I will get tired of the campaign mode. I love co-op, its great. I hate it when bitches expect to play the best game they have ever played though, even when they have never played the first two!
  17. Ian
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    I hated Halo 2. I didn't know Halo 1. I don't much like the single player for Halo 3, but I ADORE the multiplayer on it, which is a relief because I took a gamble after my Halo 2-hating. Why did I hate Halo 2? The community mostly. I'd never come across so much teenage angst and offensive trash talking. Out and out racism, bigotry, arrogance...ugh ugh ugh. But I gave Halo 3 I hated Halo 2. I didn't know Halo 1. I don't much like the single player for Halo 3, but I ADORE the multiplayer on it, which is a relief because I took a gamble after my Halo 2-hating. Why did I hate Halo 2? The community mostly. I'd never come across so much teenage angst and offensive trash talking. Out and out racism, bigotry, arrogance...ugh ugh ugh. But I gave Halo 3 a good outing this weekend, and I haven't had such a good, solid, FUN session online for a loooong time. GREAT community, beautifully balanced gameplay, terrific level and game style design everywhere - I can't recommend it enough. Really. If you like online shooters and don't dislike a sci-fi theme with lasers and the like thrown in with the machine guns, this is the best value for cash you'll find anywhere. Expand
  18. TorreyW.
    Oct 20, 2007
    1
    I just don't get it...sub-par graphics, AWFUL weapon sound effects , convoluted story, and the regular "frag fest" multi-player experience. This is literally a game that you simply blast through in a few hours. There are no tactics or thought necessary to complete this game, just run & gun. This game sucks. The only cool thing is some of the music and the load screen looks "pretty". FAIL.
  19. JamesD.
    Oct 2, 2007
    9
    ///// This review is put into two parts -- 1 for the single player -- 1 for the multiplayer -- I give the single player 8/10 -- I give the Multiplayer 9/10 -- For an overall 9/10 with a very strong must play recommendation from me ///// Halo 3, despite having the signature Bungie polish, feels rushed in some areas. Many levels in the campaign feel tiredly familiar, where instead, ///// This review is put into two parts -- 1 for the single player -- 1 for the multiplayer -- I give the single player 8/10 -- I give the Multiplayer 9/10 -- For an overall 9/10 with a very strong must play recommendation from me ///// Halo 3, despite having the signature Bungie polish, feels rushed in some areas. Many levels in the campaign feel tiredly familiar, where instead, they're meant to feel nostalgic to Halo 1. Some moments are memorable and provided me with the *wow* factor only a title like Halo 3 could bring, while others made me feel empty, seeming like I was not playing an evolution to an OK series (Halo 1 = good, Halo 2 = bad), but merely a lesser tribute to the first game (making it the entire experience feel average). For every great joust in the campaign there seems to be an empty feeling accompanying it. The story and its pacing are not nearly on par with the original Halo, of which the series owes much of its Expand
  20. SteveS.
    Oct 20, 2007
    7
    Played and completed in a day. Game play is the same as Halo 2. Encamped troops and not the mass of Flood that fall out of every vent and corridor as in Halo1. Very little close quarter combat. Graphics are ok nothing special. The video clips are very poor quality. Seen better in game graphics. Its seems that the more time Bungie spend on its look the less time they spend on the game Played and completed in a day. Game play is the same as Halo 2. Encamped troops and not the mass of Flood that fall out of every vent and corridor as in Halo1. Very little close quarter combat. Graphics are ok nothing special. The video clips are very poor quality. Seen better in game graphics. Its seems that the more time Bungie spend on its look the less time they spend on the game play. Halo 1 is the best Halo. Expand
  21. MikeD.
    Oct 2, 2007
    9
    Most of the whiners on here DON'T have an HDTV. What else would compel them to think the graphics "suck." Give me a break. Halo 3 is a real work of art. Bravo!!
  22. AngusH.
    Oct 2, 2007
    9
    I disagree with anyone who says this game is boring, they obviously haven't got Xbox live. While it is true the single-player could be longer this does not detract from the experience and co-op and the meta-game adds replay value. The 'poor' graphics are also neglectible, as really, what good are graphics? Ive played plenty of games with what you would call miserable I disagree with anyone who says this game is boring, they obviously haven't got Xbox live. While it is true the single-player could be longer this does not detract from the experience and co-op and the meta-game adds replay value. The 'poor' graphics are also neglectible, as really, what good are graphics? Ive played plenty of games with what you would call miserable graphics and loved them. Finally the multiplayer really asserts dominance over any toehr on live through the massive possibilities. Overall, despite minor hiccups, a very good title. Expand
  23. RasmB.
    Oct 23, 2007
    0
    I have nothing to say about this game, with all the adds and commercials promesing a great story of heroism and faith in mankind i felt nothing while playing this game. Eaven tho im a big fan of halo2 and halo1 this was a great disappointment that dosnt deserve half the hype it gets from fanboys all over. The game is halo2 with new story and some upped grapics, nothing moore, the extra I have nothing to say about this game, with all the adds and commercials promesing a great story of heroism and faith in mankind i felt nothing while playing this game. Eaven tho im a big fan of halo2 and halo1 this was a great disappointment that dosnt deserve half the hype it gets from fanboys all over. The game is halo2 with new story and some upped grapics, nothing moore, the extra content in this sequal is suprisingly bad. a few new guns and some tanks. Thats it, the enamys are still as stupid and silly as they used to be. This is one of the worst 360 titles to hit the market. Expand
  24. AaronA.
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    Halo 3 is way to good for humanity. It's awesome campaign really made me feel good about myself. The A.I are extremely intelligent. Way more advanced then any other FPS, except Bioshocks. I think this came takes the (Pie.) Way to go Bungie.
  25. FredB.
    Oct 3, 2007
    9
    One of the greatest games of ALL time. Loved everything about it. I've been waiting for a game that will make me want to keep my 360 and my god here it is. Not a big fan of the end but it doesnt matter that much.
  26. ScottR.
    Oct 4, 2007
    10
    Halo3 has suffered from too much media-hype and spin but we shouldn't let this detract from what is and excellent FPS. Yes the campaign is flawed and at times baffeling but the rich environments, engadging AI and range of enemies make the single player deserving of much more credit than it's been given. The multiplayer is everything I expected and really does live up to Halo3 has suffered from too much media-hype and spin but we shouldn't let this detract from what is and excellent FPS. Yes the campaign is flawed and at times baffeling but the rich environments, engadging AI and range of enemies make the single player deserving of much more credit than it's been given. The multiplayer is everything I expected and really does live up to expectations; the graphics, balance of weapons, levels, gameplay, game variants are all very well thought out. Bungie's community driven approach to the development of the multiplayer seems to have been the key to it's success - they truly have listened to what gamers wanted and responded in kind with a game that lovers of FPSs (and the Halo series) cannot fail to enjoy. Halo3 is a landmark in FPS multiplayers that really does improve on classics such as the N64's Goldeneye and Perfect Dark (yes it was actually good on the 64), we can only hope that more quality games, like this, are made - because I could do without another Harry Potter or GTA spin-off. Expand
  27. ToddE.
    Oct 5, 2007
    10
    Amazing game. Everything you loved about Halo and Halo2 is here and then some. It is amazing that one review site gave this a 7.0 rating. Obviously trying to stand out and get some action on his site.
  28. RobinJ.
    Oct 5, 2007
    7
    I am shocked by the high reviews. I worries me that so many critics can't seem to justify their scores. The game is good; no doubt about that. Halo 3 was meant to be a defining FPS though, and on this count, it fails. Not enough has changed over Halo 2 in 3 years of development.
  29. Craig
    Oct 5, 2007
    6
    The graphics are pretty good and the story is nice, but the single player campaign is way too short. It took me just under 5 hours to beat it. Does have some replayability factor though, but it wasn't worth the hype.
  30. GaryR.
    Oct 6, 2007
    10
    Amazing, i honestly play this game every single day, the multiplayer is that addictive i havent even started the campaign yet.
  31. CurtisK.
    Oct 6, 2007
    10
    Co-op is top notch along with best multi-player available on any console.
  32. joeycarreras
    Oct 7, 2007
    10
    best game ever made
  33. StevenD.
    Oct 7, 2007
    6
    Okay graphics, not as good as some FPS. Scripted campaign. You can't go everywhere like in some games. I felt like I was being led along. Same old Halo game play. Been there done that. Mediocre.
  34. NathanP.
    Oct 8, 2007
    10
    Most game for your money. Very polished and balanced. Better features then any console game.
  35. RolfS.
    Oct 8, 2007
    2
    Yawn. Played it already. It was called Halo 2.
  36. BenA.
    Oct 9, 2007
    2
    Basically all that needs to be said about Halo 3 is that its Halo 2 redone with better graphics and a few new toys. The plot of the campaign is mostly meaningless and pointless to follow for the most part. Its done nothing new and even the fps elements that it did manage to pull off have been done already, and better. But the main reason why ever buys this game is of course for the MP, Basically all that needs to be said about Halo 3 is that its Halo 2 redone with better graphics and a few new toys. The plot of the campaign is mostly meaningless and pointless to follow for the most part. Its done nothing new and even the fps elements that it did manage to pull off have been done already, and better. But the main reason why ever buys this game is of course for the MP, which in and of itself is mediocre. There is nothing inherently ground breaking about anything in Halo. I for one don't accept the argument that the MP makes up for the poor single player. Its being hailed as such an immense achievement for the world of gaming. Shouldn't have to be excused for its poor story and game play because of all the 12 year olds that play it online What you really get when you buy this game is half of a game. Might as well save 30 bucks and buy Team Fortress 2 which is only a MP game. Expand
  37. WesFletcher
    Sep 24, 2007
    7
    Its halo. same thing different color. its the same game its been since the first just add a few new gadgets and purty it up a pinch. No drastic changes. OOOoo there's a level editor and video mode. Wow you got me sold. How bout I throw in a cookie with it too that makes it an entire point better right? It works for what it is but its still the same halo just the end of it. that doesIts halo. same thing different color. its the same game its been since the first just add a few new gadgets and purty it up a pinch. No drastic changes. OOOoo there's a level editor and video mode. Wow you got me sold. How bout I throw in a cookie with it too that makes it an entire point better right? It works for what it is but its still the same halo just the end of it. that does NOT make it a 10 out of 10. It's halo, yes its WAY overhyped but it is a good game. That's it. IT by no means is perfect. Wait for the true reviews of people who aren't jerkin it to halo. Good bye master chief. Those in reality will turn you down. Expand
  38. JonMatrix
    Sep 24, 2007
    5
    I was really looking forward to a game that would break the norm. But all it is really is a Halo 2.5. It looks very similar to Halo 2 and plays very similar to it as well. The polygons are present on he heads of every model of the game, and it really shows a lack of polish.
  39. RanderN.
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    Halo 3 is a very good game that totally fails to live up to the massive hype and marketing drive that preceded it. It has a short single player campaign, the same old floaty low gravity feeling the previous versions had (even while on earth) that just can't stand next to today's moder physics models in gaming, and somewhat repetitive gameplay that will have you shooting endless Halo 3 is a very good game that totally fails to live up to the massive hype and marketing drive that preceded it. It has a short single player campaign, the same old floaty low gravity feeling the previous versions had (even while on earth) that just can't stand next to today's moder physics models in gaming, and somewhat repetitive gameplay that will have you shooting endless waves of mostly the same 2 types of enemies and running back and forward inside the same level, reminiscent of the key hunting of the FPS titles of old (as in Wolfestein old). A good game, not a great one. Expand
  40. JoeD.
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    I waited in front of the store at midnight, bought the game, and love the hell out of it. Im really confused at all the people who are giving the game bad rating because it wasnt new and different. You loved halo, you loved halo 2, but wait!!! halo 3 isnt a completely different game?! WHY would you expect halo 3 to be any different from the first two? Go cry yourself to sleep with your I waited in front of the store at midnight, bought the game, and love the hell out of it. Im really confused at all the people who are giving the game bad rating because it wasnt new and different. You loved halo, you loved halo 2, but wait!!! halo 3 isnt a completely different game?! WHY would you expect halo 3 to be any different from the first two? Go cry yourself to sleep with your ps3 fanboys. The graphics were amazing(for all those who disagree, go buy an HDTV) Bungie couldnt have done a better job. Expand
  41. Alex
    Sep 25, 2007
    9
    A very good game. single player kicks the crap out of Halo 2 (4 player co-op is amazing, and the Campaign scoring is very cool), and the multiplayer is astounding, especially with the new Forge and Saved Films. HOURS of stuff to play around with. the game itself does have some wierd glitches and bugs, some more annoying than others, but it should all be smoothed out once the first patch orA very good game. single player kicks the crap out of Halo 2 (4 player co-op is amazing, and the Campaign scoring is very cool), and the multiplayer is astounding, especially with the new Forge and Saved Films. HOURS of stuff to play around with. the game itself does have some wierd glitches and bugs, some more annoying than others, but it should all be smoothed out once the first patch or two hits. overall, i'm glad to have picked Halo 3 up, and i see myself playing for a very, very long time. overall, 9.0 out of 10. Expand
  42. ChaseB.
    Sep 26, 2007
    6
    Its halo 2.5, graphicaly it looks almost identical to Halo 2 and the single player is just as bad (though amazingly possibly shorter) than it was in the seccond one...deffinatly not near halo 1 levels. Bottom line is everyone who is still playing halo 2 will buy it (I did) and so what do the reviews matter. Most disappointing part is deffinatly the graphics (decent on SD TV awefull on Its halo 2.5, graphicaly it looks almost identical to Halo 2 and the single player is just as bad (though amazingly possibly shorter) than it was in the seccond one...deffinatly not near halo 1 levels. Bottom line is everyone who is still playing halo 2 will buy it (I did) and so what do the reviews matter. Most disappointing part is deffinatly the graphics (decent on SD TV awefull on HDTV), the undeveloped singleplayer and the overly balanced multiplayer (everything is so gimped you hafto look beyond shooting first and in the head to get an advantage...so its just boring even once you master it. Same game, its up to you if its worth it to buy...owning a 360 I don't regret it too much (though prolly wasn't worth 60 bucks) but definitely don't go out and buy one thinking this is going to be Halo 1 or Halo 2 again. Expand
  43. IHateFanboys
    Sep 26, 2007
    4
    Just goes to show you how people can get cought up in hype, all you need is a few mags and online game sites to say something positive like how this game will change the future of gaming and every teenager will get moist, truth is another thing. HALO 1 was ment for the PC but microsoft saw it as a good game and made it a launch title for the XBOXand as is was a game converted from the PCJust goes to show you how people can get cought up in hype, all you need is a few mags and online game sites to say something positive like how this game will change the future of gaming and every teenager will get moist, truth is another thing. HALO 1 was ment for the PC but microsoft saw it as a good game and made it a launch title for the XBOXand as is was a game converted from the PC it had a much better lenthy Story and game play. then HALO 2 came along and because console owners are supposed to like playing games for shorter periods( dont know where they get that idea from) they focused on the muliplayer part and add some crappy short story, but because you only find fanboys are consol owners microsoft knew that they would buy it up, even though its is so much shorter than halo 1. now for some reason HALO 3 hit the town and again for some reason these fanboys havnt grown up and they still think that HALO 3 will deliver, and you have all been duped again. HALO 3 is to cut this long story short is basicly HALO 2 with some extra multiplayer maps and what a suprise the story element is even shorter than HALO 2.
    I cant belive you guys actually pay £30+ a year to go online and use voice chat. well that what my bro does. me ive got a bit more sence and waisted my money on a hi spec PC where games are cheaper and online is all free. HALO 2 on the PC though exactly the same as the XBOX version is a complete FLOP on the PC, us PC owners will be enjoying FPS with lenthy storys lines and huge multiplayer areans like CRYSIS, HALFLIFE 2, S.T.A.L.K.E.R.. Still cant belive my bro pays £39 for 360 games. HALO 3 does not even try to puch the graphics on the 360 and its no way worth the £39 asking price. and i laugh that one of the selling points of Halo2 was that master cheif can hold two guns. hahahahaha

    the only good thing going for this is the extra multplayer maps.
    Oh he dies at the end.
    Expand
  44. CaseyY.
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    A very fancy patch for Halo 2.
  45. Jake
    Sep 27, 2007
    10
    Halo 3 isn't great in a mindblowing way. It doesn't rock your world like Bioshock or Gears of War or Oblivion did when you first got your hands on them. It plays a lot like the previous games. But what Halo 3 does achieve is that it is very fun. The pacing is brilliant. The gameplay varies in campaign a ton for a shooter. The checkpoints are frequent, so playing the game on high Halo 3 isn't great in a mindblowing way. It doesn't rock your world like Bioshock or Gears of War or Oblivion did when you first got your hands on them. It plays a lot like the previous games. But what Halo 3 does achieve is that it is very fun. The pacing is brilliant. The gameplay varies in campaign a ton for a shooter. The checkpoints are frequent, so playing the game on high difficulty is challenging without being frustrating because you are always thrust back into the spot in which you are stuck. And the features. My god this baby has years of stuff in there. Forge, co-op, metagame, campaign, multiplayer, and the fact that you can go see Bungie's favorite user created films and maps. It is just sick. So yeah, go buy the game. It is very fun. Expand
  46. ShayneV.
    Sep 28, 2007
    3
    This game sucks. Campaign sucks and thats why i played the game. They put to much time into multiplayer then they did the story. In my opinion the halo series is one the most over rated series to ever be put onto a system
  47. matthewsom
    Sep 29, 2007
    8
    yes halo 3 is not really a surprise i was thinking new weapons abilities such as holding 2 energy sword at once.Plus the story is a bit short i just finished it in 1 day which is a bit of a shock. i was thinking the stroy will keep me playin all week but no i finished it in 1 day. but the best part is xbox live and versing mode.
  48. AnonymousMC
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    With gears and bioshock taken into account, as well as the enormous hype that surrounded the game, Halo 3 still shines. This game is enjoyable to the point that the only contention comes not from game flaws but from personal preference, or perhaps the undeniable draw to be a dissident. Think the campaign too short? Have you Beaten it on solo legendary yet? How about multiplayer? Halo 3 isWith gears and bioshock taken into account, as well as the enormous hype that surrounded the game, Halo 3 still shines. This game is enjoyable to the point that the only contention comes not from game flaws but from personal preference, or perhaps the undeniable draw to be a dissident. Think the campaign too short? Have you Beaten it on solo legendary yet? How about multiplayer? Halo 3 is sure to be an icon of online gaming for years to come. This game has incredible replay value, and ultimately the number one reason I'm giving it a 10 is this; it is FUN. Remember, even if you happened to like the pistol as a superweapon, or don't enjoy non-mouse FPS games, individual preference does not make this game any less than what it is.

    But there is one thing.. where is our Blood Gulch Bungie? Where is the love?
    Expand
  49. CarlosZ.
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    Amazing, beautiful, its the best game of the years
  50. RodL.
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    Amazing envolving gameplay. I wasn't the biggest fan of Halo or Halo 2, but Halo 3 blows my mind. The way you can use your brain to get yourself out of sticky situations by using your surroundings and the tools that the game provides (e.g. gravity grenade) adds the extra spice to this already awesome FPS. The sceneries are gorgeous and the vehicles tons of fun. The story, music, and Amazing envolving gameplay. I wasn't the biggest fan of Halo or Halo 2, but Halo 3 blows my mind. The way you can use your brain to get yourself out of sticky situations by using your surroundings and the tools that the game provides (e.g. gravity grenade) adds the extra spice to this already awesome FPS. The sceneries are gorgeous and the vehicles tons of fun. The story, music, and rest of the production values are all first class. This is the definition of an epic videogame! Expand
  51. Wally
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    This game was brilliant, the graphics I first noticed weren't incredible, but then it became shown that Bungie were trying the graphics from a different angle than the first Halos. Whether this is good for u, u decide, but the graphics dont really matter. I dont get y so many people complain of a too short SP, i finished Halo2 on legendary by myself several times and it took me the This game was brilliant, the graphics I first noticed weren't incredible, but then it became shown that Bungie were trying the graphics from a different angle than the first Halos. Whether this is good for u, u decide, but the graphics dont really matter. I dont get y so many people complain of a too short SP, i finished Halo2 on legendary by myself several times and it took me the same amount of time to finish halo 3 co-op on heroic as finishing GOW on casual. The forge is unbelievably cool, i spent an entire hour just fiddling round with the grav-lifts alone on narrows. Although I do wish Bungie kept some more of the maps from Halo2 on the game. Perhaps they'll be able to be downloaded from XboxLive. Brilliant game, excellent. Awesome how now basically everything is destructable including phantoms and scarabs. Expand
  52. AdrienV.
    Jan 10, 2008
    5
    On its own it is an acceptable game. Compared to Crysis, Orange box, Call of duty 4, it sucks. That is, the multiplayer. The singleplayer is much worse. If you are buying it for the multiplayer you might as well get COD4, Team fortress 2, or others. If you are getting it expecting a good singleplayer you must be drunk so it is possible you might enjoy it.
  53. ArmandusM.
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    Overhyped.Short Campaign. Repetetive.Unrealistic.Halo 2 with better graphics. Nothing New. All these things have been said about Halo 3 but it cant change the fact that Halo 3 is FUN. If it isn't fun then why are there millions of halo 3 matches everyday. If the campaign is boring then why have there been 4,360,038,799 kills in total as recorded by bungie.net as of today. And as for Overhyped.Short Campaign. Repetetive.Unrealistic.Halo 2 with better graphics. Nothing New. All these things have been said about Halo 3 but it cant change the fact that Halo 3 is FUN. If it isn't fun then why are there millions of halo 3 matches everyday. If the campaign is boring then why have there been 4,360,038,799 kills in total as recorded by bungie.net as of today. And as for nothing new...what about saved films, the forge, skulls, achievements, terminals. And it all boils down to halo 3 being a really fun game, you dont have to be able to shoot through walls and be ultra-realistic like Call of Duty 4, or have a really good story and have rpg elements like bioshock, at the end of the day halo 3 is insanely fun and there are millions of gamers out there who say the same. Expand
  54. PatrickPickett
    Dec 3, 2008
    9
    Halo 3 succeeds in online play, however the campaign was absolutely not on par with the online. The campaign felt rushed, and incomplete, which is strange for a game that is supposedly the end of an epic trilogy. The online experience saves this game from me giving an 8, or possibly even a 7.
  55. RussleD.
    Dec 9, 2008
    10
    A great game, the gameplay was flawless, the graphics were fine, but for a next gen game, i would have expected more. Graphics are not everything as this game proofed it by the great gameplay and many features. I can't wait for the expansion, even tho the game has excellent replay value.
  56. AdamM.
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    Fantastic, better than all the other FPS games as a whole, has so many extra multiplayer parts, longetivity elements, and fun, that it will keep you playing for years to come.
  57. DylanL.
    Feb 1, 2008
    10
    Just a few tweaks from perfection, but those tweaks are minor ones so its still prime.
  58. Juggernaut
    Feb 15, 2008
    6
    Now don't get me wrong, this is a good game, but it is really just the same old thing that Bungie has been coming out with for the last few years. Even though the single player campaign really isn't that great this time around. The only thing that makes the game worth while is the multiplayer. It is a fairly small multiplayer game though considering it can only support 16 Now don't get me wrong, this is a good game, but it is really just the same old thing that Bungie has been coming out with for the last few years. Even though the single player campaign really isn't that great this time around. The only thing that makes the game worth while is the multiplayer. It is a fairly small multiplayer game though considering it can only support 16 players in one server, it is still fun though. I am glad to see that Bungie still supports split screen multiplayer. My personal favorite thing to do is play Halo 3 with some friends. Also, I have to admit the enhanced physics and graphics do make the game cooler. The bodies actually move whe you T-bag them! Expand
  59. PhilA.
    Feb 2, 2008
    10
    Unbelievable game, just stunning! Don't listen to anyone in the comments stating, "OMG Call of Duty 4 owns dis sucky Halo!!!" We call them "fanboys," most of them decided to predetermine Halo 3 as a bad game simply because Halo 2 was the best AND NOWHERE NEAR UNDERDOG STATUS. Call of Duty 4 is it's closest competitor, so most of them decided to support it. Halo 3 earned Unbelievable game, just stunning! Don't listen to anyone in the comments stating, "OMG Call of Duty 4 owns dis sucky Halo!!!" We call them "fanboys," most of them decided to predetermine Halo 3 as a bad game simply because Halo 2 was the best AND NOWHERE NEAR UNDERDOG STATUS. Call of Duty 4 is it's closest competitor, so most of them decided to support it. Halo 3 earned it's spot at the top again, just like the last two iterations BY FAR. Get this amazing game, and ignore the Call of Duty fanboys' useless moaning. Expand
  60. EricF.
    Feb 5, 2008
    10
    Halo 3 is one of the best games on the 360 I can play. I still don't put it down after hours of enjoyment. I give it a 10 out 10 because it made me leave CoD4 in the dust!
  61. AnonymousMC
    Apr 10, 2008
    6
    I think there is something a lot of people her need to try and understand. Yahtzee surmised it perfectly when he said "a perfect game shouldn't need anything to excuse itself. QED".
    The amount of 10s being thrown around here and then the comments saying "this particular aspect wasn't very good but the mulitplayer PWNS LOL" is ridiculous and these people need to learn how the
    I think there is something a lot of people her need to try and understand. Yahtzee surmised it perfectly when he said "a perfect game shouldn't need anything to excuse itself. QED".
    The amount of 10s being thrown around here and then the comments saying "this particular aspect wasn't very good but the mulitplayer PWNS LOL" is ridiculous and these people need to learn how the "out of 10" rating system works. A 10 means perfect, untouchable, no possible faults, hence why only a few games in history deserve this particular title (Super Mario World for instance). Halo 3 is not one of them.
    Don't get me wrong, yes multiplayer is fun, (I particularly enjoy jugurnaught vs cars) but that does not excuse the weak storyline, serious lack of graphical inovation and general average-ness of the game.
    It's not bad... It's just not amazing
    Expand
  62. DanV.
    Apr 3, 2008
    4
    This game is better than the second, but the first one was much more better.
  63. BenH.
    May 13, 2008
    3
    This game is ok. But It's the same thing everytime I play a new Halo game. Half-Life is so much better. The storyline is so much deeper and more fun. Every game in Half-life leaves me hanging for the next game Halo has never done that. Halo does the some thing and some guns are not that fun to use. And it seems like you'er useing the guns each game they make. Thats why I will This game is ok. But It's the same thing everytime I play a new Halo game. Half-Life is so much better. The storyline is so much deeper and more fun. Every game in Half-life leaves me hanging for the next game Halo has never done that. Halo does the some thing and some guns are not that fun to use. And it seems like you'er useing the guns each game they make. Thats why I will own this game. Expand
  64. JohnChu
    May 25, 2008
    6
    This game is without a doubt the MOST OVER Hyped game in the history of console. Nothing suggests that it is in anyway remarkable over its predecessor Halo 2 beyond slight graphical improvements. Playthroughs involve a staid but still fun formula. If Rumors are true, Microsoft definitely had a hand in "gifting" magazine publications with positive reviews. Looking at metacritic scores,This game is without a doubt the MOST OVER Hyped game in the history of console. Nothing suggests that it is in anyway remarkable over its predecessor Halo 2 beyond slight graphical improvements. Playthroughs involve a staid but still fun formula. If Rumors are true, Microsoft definitely had a hand in "gifting" magazine publications with positive reviews. Looking at metacritic scores, one can see that 100s are largely in the xbox - centric publications. Expand
  65. TylerP.
    May 9, 2008
    6
    This game is ok, rather mediocre for all the hype. There was no need to add the garbage (i.e. bubble shields, regenerator, grav lifts, etc.). The maps are just plain mundane and symmetrical. Also, all the weapons have the same effectiveness. In other words, if I have a needler and you have a rocket launcher, I can easily kill you. Some of the new weapons are unnecessary, spiker = pellet This game is ok, rather mediocre for all the hype. There was no need to add the garbage (i.e. bubble shields, regenerator, grav lifts, etc.). The maps are just plain mundane and symmetrical. Also, all the weapons have the same effectiveness. In other words, if I have a needler and you have a rocket launcher, I can easily kill you. Some of the new weapons are unnecessary, spiker = pellet gun, mauler = shotgun, spartan laser = virtually impossible to charge and aim, and missile pod = anti-vehicle rocket launcher from Halo 2. Overall, this game may offer a few new things, but nothing that contributes to the enhancement of gameplay or interest. Expand
  66. Jon
    Jun 6, 2008
    1
    This game is garbage. The only thing good about it is it's noobfest of a multiplayer which is terrible! I f you want a real gam play gears, that delivers everything from an epic storyline to the most intense multiplayer next to COD4. Halo 3 fnas = noobs, after Halo: Combat Evolved this game went into the toilettes.
  67. jamesr
    Jul 13, 2008
    0
    unrealistic in comparison to cod 4 and no where near as fun! Pathetic attempt at another halo game!
  68. johnDoe
    Jul 4, 2008
    7
    The original Halo may have sold a million original xbox's, On the current next gen console Halo3 just does not have the same effect. This is by no means a bad game, Single player is enjoyable and quite testing, Just not as revolutionary as the original. Graphically the game looks great and play's as well as it always did. I am not sure where the series can go from here as I feel The original Halo may have sold a million original xbox's, On the current next gen console Halo3 just does not have the same effect. This is by no means a bad game, Single player is enjoyable and quite testing, Just not as revolutionary as the original. Graphically the game looks great and play's as well as it always did. I am not sure where the series can go from here as I feel it has peeked. Of course the online community for Halo is massive and you will have no trouble finding an online game That runs without lag. This could be where the series future lies in just online play. Halo 3 is a good game, Just not the generation setting game the original was. Expand
  69. RickyM.
    Aug 6, 2008
    6
    I don't care about it's popularity, in fact it's a good thing. Gigantic online community ensures that you'll always find a game. I just tire of doing the same thing over and over again. 1. Press left trigger and throw grenade at enemy. 2. Run at enemy 3. Hold right trigger. 4. Mash B button when they get close and smack them. Luckiest/First one to do this correctly I don't care about it's popularity, in fact it's a good thing. Gigantic online community ensures that you'll always find a game. I just tire of doing the same thing over and over again. 1. Press left trigger and throw grenade at enemy. 2. Run at enemy 3. Hold right trigger. 4. Mash B button when they get close and smack them. Luckiest/First one to do this correctly wins. Graphics are pretty. Tedious gameplay. Bland weapons make picking up others unnecessary. Feels outdated. Expand
  70. BirchLancaster
    Oct 10, 2009
    9
    a lot of people have bashed this game, and i don,t know why, this is one of the best FPS game in decades, sure the single player can get a little tired after playthrough number 3 but i still play the multi-player almost every day and keep coming back to it, also i have noticed that the people that say the multi-player is bad and unbalanced and generally bad at it.
  71. AnonymousMC
    Jan 12, 2009
    4
    A generic shooter, the story is stupid and single player is easy on legendary. All those Xbox360 fan boys say that they have halo 3, that really isn't an achievement. Also multiplayer is filled with immature kids who tk you just to get the flag. I do not recommend you buy this game, maybe rent, but not buy.
  72. NB
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    This is a great game, but the story a bit too small, not enough play quickly, can only be used outside the plot came to add,the whole, this is a very great game
  73. KierM.
    Jan 10, 2009
    9
    Greatly build game, multiplayer is amazing, I have seen better in the halo franchise but this game surely stands and plays well. Sure the campaign is short and rather repetative, but bungie has created a great franchise. I mean listen to the music! You get a true gaming feeling with the soundtrack! I'd say if there are over one billion hours of halo 3 played, this game deserves a 9.
  74. JordanSamuell
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Holy... you guys are fucking retarded I'm laughing at the people who give this a low rate (1-5) you guys have NO idea how good this game is BECAUSE 1.You don't have XBOX LIVE. or 2. You're just mentally retarded because yea... the campaign story line all that shit NO ONE, cares about only you nerds care about, is pretty bad.. but you have no experience what this game is likeHoly... you guys are fucking retarded I'm laughing at the people who give this a low rate (1-5) you guys have NO idea how good this game is BECAUSE 1.You don't have XBOX LIVE. or 2. You're just mentally retarded because yea... the campaign story line all that shit NO ONE, cares about only you nerds care about, is pretty bad.. but you have no experience what this game is like online, freaks... Expand
  75. jacka.
    Mar 3, 2009
    10
    This game is truly incredible. The gameplay is fun, engaging and fresh and the cutscenes and particularly the music make the story a fantastic end to the Halo trilogy. I cannot think of a better first person shooter I have ever played, on any console. There is no more of a fitting end possible to the trilogy started by a game that brought fps games to the consoles. Goodby Halo, it has This game is truly incredible. The gameplay is fun, engaging and fresh and the cutscenes and particularly the music make the story a fantastic end to the Halo trilogy. I cannot think of a better first person shooter I have ever played, on any console. There is no more of a fitting end possible to the trilogy started by a game that brought fps games to the consoles. Goodby Halo, it has been a fantastic run. Expand
  76. KeyserS
    May 1, 2009
    0
    This game does not live up to the hype. The controls are poor - ruining a lot of gunplay - it shouldn't be the case that you are *less* accurate aiming with ironsights, than when you shoot from the hip. The maps are large, but badly designed. The engine does them a lot of favours because the environments look great with blowing wind and dust and visibility varies in locations, which This game does not live up to the hype. The controls are poor - ruining a lot of gunplay - it shouldn't be the case that you are *less* accurate aiming with ironsights, than when you shoot from the hip. The maps are large, but badly designed. The engine does them a lot of favours because the environments look great with blowing wind and dust and visibility varies in locations, which is all great. But moving around the maps is very boring and straightforward. There aren't really alternate routes - like players had with movement in CoD4, going over walls, or through crawlspaces. The single player is largely an exercise in patience - fighting the same footsoldiers over and over again, and using the same basic weapons with the same problems (only sniper rifle benefitting from you aiming carefully with it). The cover system is implemented reasonably well - but it is a bit too clunky. Also - the cover system does not apply in multiplayer - so it doesn't matter if it's well done if it's absent. This game doesn't know what it wants to be. Gunplay is worse than CoD4 (a LOT worse) - ranking up wasn't implemented correctly (in a lot of cases in CoD4 you got the best guns at lower classes - mp5, ak47 from start etc), and unlocked cool features that kept the game interesting as you ranked up. In KZ2, you start with crap guns you won't go back to after you rank up, if you bother to stick with the game. I feel like I've wasted my money on this game - it was totally overhyped, and it's inferior to titles from last year. Also, the storyline is terrible, the settings for levels very repetitive, the range of game modes in MP is fine but none of them are fun - none are fast and furious, you'll do well by strategic camping - if you're good enough to play a game that rewards reactions and accuracy, you'll get penalised for that in this game. It's the Xbox360's Killzone - a dumbed down lowest common denominator shooter - but with a lot less variety in terms of weapons, a lot less speed in terms of gameplay, no local multiplayer on split screen. Expand
  77. TylerM
    May 17, 2009
    10
    Halo 3 is one of best shooters ever released. It is so high on the ladder, its only competition is Call of Duty 4. The campaign, multiplayer, Forge mode, Co-Op and film make it a must have package, all around.
  78. BillyB
    Jun 20, 2009
    3
    Now, I am not a PS3 fanboy, but honestly there are way better Online Fps's on the 360. Team Fortress or Call of duty. Most of the online modes are complete s**t while the story is boring and uninteresting. To all who posted below me and said that "Halo 1-3 is ripped off from a book" it's not. The book is a fan fiction based off of the games.
  79. uncannyuncandy
    Jun 8, 2009
    6
    I gave it a 6.. well ..it is the most fun fps game on the xbox when it comes too co-op...and a good online gameplay*even tho ther are alot of kids flaming in voice chat wich ruins a game very fast* but it still has his old repeditive lvl design.. same charcters ..weapons.. graphics could be better *not saying they are bad* but they could have been alot better...and the story line is just I gave it a 6.. well ..it is the most fun fps game on the xbox when it comes too co-op...and a good online gameplay*even tho ther are alot of kids flaming in voice chat wich ruins a game very fast* but it still has his old repeditive lvl design.. same charcters ..weapons.. graphics could be better *not saying they are bad* but they could have been alot better...and the story line is just to boring to follow imo even tho i enjoyed the sarcasm/funny scenes during the cinematics alot. They realy need too put more effort in the physics aswell.. we are 7th generation where the imposible is posible.. halo3 is still in its 6th generation when it comes too physics. Also..something personal: it bums me out if i read these reviews, poeple saying its as good like half life and bioshock etc..those guys that are saying that are deffo halo fanatics!1 get real and see the facts.. i doubt most of you even ever played the single player. the game is far from great/awesome.. the developers are just rushing everything in my opinion. Expand
  80. DD
    Jun 9, 2009
    5
    I'm not really interested on evaluating MP aspects of this game since its numbers speak by themselves. So the 5 points came from the average of MP-10/SP-0.
    The single player campaign is just poor. II've felt like playing an 8 years old shooter. The enemies are ridiculous, the storyline doesn't even exist, the vehicles physics behaviour is as they were made with paper, the
    I'm not really interested on evaluating MP aspects of this game since its numbers speak by themselves. So the 5 points came from the average of MP-10/SP-0.
    The single player campaign is just poor. II've felt like playing an 8 years old shooter. The enemies are ridiculous, the storyline doesn't even exist, the vehicles physics behaviour is as they were made with paper, the weapons doesn't seem attractive to me, the campaign is short and straightforward.
    A real dissapointment.
    Expand
  81. TylerGodfrey
    Aug 18, 2009
    9
    Forge was a great addition to the game. So, if you don't like the normal multiplayer maps, you could edit them into all different kinds of things, like racing maps, a maze map for Infection, and a lot of different things. Now, I admit, it's not perfect, like, for one thing, how they don't turn off Friendly Fire for the normal gametypes. I prefer it over the other two ofForge was a great addition to the game. So, if you don't like the normal multiplayer maps, you could edit them into all different kinds of things, like racing maps, a maze map for Infection, and a lot of different things. Now, I admit, it's not perfect, like, for one thing, how they don't turn off Friendly Fire for the normal gametypes. I prefer it over the other two of the top three shooters because you can take a hit from most of the weapons and not die before it's physically possible to react, and it doesn't have a boring color scheme. Adding all those options to the gametype editing was a good choice, too. So that if we want to play a team game with some of our friends, we can maybe increase the speed and lower the gravity and jump across the map, or turn off friendly fire, and having regenerating grenades and spawn with random weapons. If you don't like the main gameplay, there's always an alternate way to have fun without messing other people's chances of winning up. Expand
  82. JoshwaR
    Sep 5, 2009
    8
    It's not great but it is very good. With some minor bugs in the multiplayer, and even some in the single player it makes for a good youtube game. But those are minor and oftentimes hilarious and easy to overlook. The multiplayer is great but the Exp system could use a ton of improvement. I dont want a CoD 4 look-alike but some aspects would be nice. The campaign was pretty cool at It's not great but it is very good. With some minor bugs in the multiplayer, and even some in the single player it makes for a good youtube game. But those are minor and oftentimes hilarious and easy to overlook. The multiplayer is great but the Exp system could use a ton of improvement. I dont want a CoD 4 look-alike but some aspects would be nice. The campaign was pretty cool at some parts but very fogettable at others. The map packs and the Double Experience weekend keep me comming back for more. One Major problem though is that the Xbox 360 does not like halo 3 at all. I know three friends whose disks were sratched by thier console and no other games were affected. This is what deprived halo 3 of a nine. Expand
  83. JacobB.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    One of the best games I have played in a long time
  84. DavidG.
    Oct 1, 2007
    9
    For all the content contained in this title, I'd say it was well worth my 60 bucks. Yeah, it lacked the engrossing story seen in other games like Bioshock, but what it lacks in narrative it makes up for in sheer, unadulterated fun. Even though I'm currently playing this title on a SD TV, it, in my opinion, still looks incredible (especially when reviewing my conquests in the For all the content contained in this title, I'd say it was well worth my 60 bucks. Yeah, it lacked the engrossing story seen in other games like Bioshock, but what it lacks in narrative it makes up for in sheer, unadulterated fun. Even though I'm currently playing this title on a SD TV, it, in my opinion, still looks incredible (especially when reviewing my conquests in the Theater mode). So don't waste your time reading reviews by gamers who haven't actually played the game, and try it out for yourself. Expand
  85. SteveM.
    Oct 1, 2007
    9
    Halo 3 is really fun. That's all I'm going to say. It's a good deal, a slick package, and a wonderful game. Just because there is hype doesn't mean you have to buy into it. Honestly, most bad reviews of good games just reveal how the individual performing the review is not a very happy person, and probably complains about everything they can. I'm tired of gamers Halo 3 is really fun. That's all I'm going to say. It's a good deal, a slick package, and a wonderful game. Just because there is hype doesn't mean you have to buy into it. Honestly, most bad reviews of good games just reveal how the individual performing the review is not a very happy person, and probably complains about everything they can. I'm tired of gamers wanting games to be the way they specifically want them. If that's how you feel, go make games...stop buying them and hating the world when all you really hate is yourself. Expand
  86. PaulusK.
    Nov 10, 2007
    6
    Fairly competent shooter with a sterile feel. Did not evoke a sense of realism like Gears of War, and the graphics are by no means polished. The game looks as if the developers had lifted the graphics directly from Halo 2 (look at the facial expressions and speech) and draped some High Def effects over them. I was expecting a revolution in terms of involvement but it just did not happen. Fairly competent shooter with a sterile feel. Did not evoke a sense of realism like Gears of War, and the graphics are by no means polished. The game looks as if the developers had lifted the graphics directly from Halo 2 (look at the facial expressions and speech) and draped some High Def effects over them. I was expecting a revolution in terms of involvement but it just did not happen. If you want polished visuals coupled with complete immersion, forget this because all in all, not even close and definately no cigar. Shame. Expand
  87. DavidK.
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    The multiplayer is indeed frighteningly extensive, and the single player campaign - although something of a breeze if you tackle it with a team of four - ultimately satisfying. We enjoyed the hell out of ourselves.
  88. michaelheslington
    Nov 10, 2007
    1
    there are many problems with this game 1. needler to strong. 2. level up system all rong you may think you have fixed it bungie but know you havent. some people level up alot faster then others. halo 2 is defently better people so dont waste your money on halo 3 its not worth it. get a more skill involved game like cod4 or halo 2 !!!
  89. SimonR.
    Oct 10, 2007
    6
    The underwhelming, short campaign is saved by the multi player and it's new features - but only just.The end sequence is disappointing and unsatisfying while the constant backtracking is frustrating. Of course this was always going to be a solid FPS and it is - I was just expecting more. If you're looking for Halo 2 with nicer graphics - Halo 3 is great (maybe Bungie should have The underwhelming, short campaign is saved by the multi player and it's new features - but only just.The end sequence is disappointing and unsatisfying while the constant backtracking is frustrating. Of course this was always going to be a solid FPS and it is - I was just expecting more. If you're looking for Halo 2 with nicer graphics - Halo 3 is great (maybe Bungie should have called it Halo 2.5?). If you're strapped for cash, don't have Live and can only choose one game at the moment... Bioshock is an infinitely more memorable and rewarding experience. Expand
  90. HeistenfaustM.
    Nov 16, 2007
    9
    Single player's a little dissapointing, but still great. Multiplayer is excellently balanced and will last a long time. Overall one of the better games for 360.
  91. SamJ.
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    Hey Jon W... anyone can finish halo 3 on easy in 2 hours. how bout we sprout some balls and play it on legendary?? might take u a bit longer. have a nice day. sweet game btw
  92. BenF.
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    This Halo owns! face it all you people who deny the gr8ness, it brings so much more to what halo 2 was. the AI is exellent, with groups of brutes sticking together as a team and when a brute is near death he will use the equipment he has to extend his life, or charge towards you in a rage, weaving left and right making it harder to shoot him. the hammer guys are also very smart, using the This Halo owns! face it all you people who deny the gr8ness, it brings so much more to what halo 2 was. the AI is exellent, with groups of brutes sticking together as a team and when a brute is near death he will use the equipment he has to extend his life, or charge towards you in a rage, weaving left and right making it harder to shoot him. the hammer guys are also very smart, using the same crazy charge, while expertly dodging your bullets and if they run low on health they become invincible! and if its to easy 4 u lot, try playing it above easy mode, it kinda helps. the alternate armor permutations for multi-player mode are also very innovative and cool, and the new skull and point system is great, encouraging players to relive the levels with point mode on, and the various skulls serve as point multipliers while making the game more challenging. face it people, Halo 3 rules. Expand
  93. UNreal
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    Besides Bioshock, this is the best game out right now. all the haters out there writing about how crappy the game is, they really don't know anything. It's a huge innovation over the last and yes, the conclusion isn't what it should've been but if you stay and watch after the end credits are over, you'll feel absolutely glad you bought the game. jerks...
  94. EricT.
    Oct 1, 2007
    8
    The game is great, if flawed. It's graphically disappointing, and not just because of high expectations. It looks like Bungie was overly ambitious, and in order to achieve playable framerates had to scale up the LOD reduction until anything 10 feet away from the player is a jaggy mess with overly blurred textures. Many objects look fantastic if you stick your nose on them, but when The game is great, if flawed. It's graphically disappointing, and not just because of high expectations. It looks like Bungie was overly ambitious, and in order to achieve playable framerates had to scale up the LOD reduction until anything 10 feet away from the player is a jaggy mess with overly blurred textures. Many objects look fantastic if you stick your nose on them, but when you back away a few paces they turn into shimmery piles of crap. It's especially obvious when you get into Covenant structures and find that their familiar architecture looked better on the Xbox 1 because of Halo 3's aliasing and texture filtering problems. It's tragic, too, because the art direction is fantastic. The game would look amazing if it was presented without all the artifacts. That aside, if you're a Halo fan, this is classic stuff. The weapons feel great, the vehicles are fun to drive, fire fights are a blast, etc. The sound design is fantastic (try firing the assault rifle into nearby water, it sounds awesome) and the music is the best of the series. I enjoyed the story more than I did in Halo 1 or 2, though the writing is often cheesy, and some stuff that is played for emotional impact falls flat (like the Deep Thoughts by Cortana that keep popping up on your HUD). Multiplayer kicks ass, and Bungie has obviously invested a LOT of time and effort here. The matchmaking system is super slick, and the amount of options you have for creating your own game types is amazing for a console game (though, unless they ship a real level editor, it's going to be trumped by Unreal when it allows users to upload their own maps). Probably the biggest addition, which is technically amazing, is the addition of the Theater. Every game you play is recorded to disk and can be played back, frame by frame. It's too sweet being able to go back and relive your greatest multiplayer moments, or see what the winning team did, not to mention what all the machinima guys like Red vs Blue are going to do with this. Overall a great game. I wish they had presented the game with less artifacts (even if it required simplifying the graphics), but I still enjoyed the ride. Expand
  95. MattD.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    This game is amazing and for all the "gamers" who gave it a one or a two....you must no nothing about video games. If you dont understand the story of Halo, lets just say you need some "help". I had been waiting for this game to come out and it is the best game I have ever played. You will understand if you play it on an HDTV. There is a huge difference between this game and I would like This game is amazing and for all the "gamers" who gave it a one or a two....you must no nothing about video games. If you dont understand the story of Halo, lets just say you need some "help". I had been waiting for this game to come out and it is the best game I have ever played. You will understand if you play it on an HDTV. There is a huge difference between this game and I would like somebody to name 5 games that are better than this one. Incase you havent noticed, all the critics are rating this game from 90 to 100. The Campaign take like 5-7 hours to finish, and i dont think that is very short. This Game Deserves a 10. Expand
  96. TerrellN.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    When I first picked up this game and played a while I thought "Why all the hype?" At first I saw it as nowhere near as good as the majesty of games like Gears of War, Quake, and Half Life 2 just to name a few. But then I looked at this game from a different angle. WHat if I had been raised on other genres and had never spent so much time playing other first person shooters? And then one When I first picked up this game and played a while I thought "Why all the hype?" At first I saw it as nowhere near as good as the majesty of games like Gears of War, Quake, and Half Life 2 just to name a few. But then I looked at this game from a different angle. WHat if I had been raised on other genres and had never spent so much time playing other first person shooters? And then one day I come across My first FPS. It is an all new experience to me. It is Halo! And then they release the final game in the series at its prime. I would love it to death. So Here is my point. If you play very few real FPSs then Halo 3 is actually pretty amazing. But if you were raised on the likes of Quake, Unreal,Half Life,Doom, aand Gears then this game is a 4 at best. Expand
  97. AndyL.
    Oct 12, 2007
    1
    I guess that Halo3 is great IF you've never played another FPS all your life or have only been playing games on console for the past 10 years. The story is weak, the graphics are pulled straight from Halo2, and the game doesn't really try to do anything innovative. If you LOVED Halo2 then you'll like this. If however you have played; Half-Life (1&2), System Shock 2, Thief, I guess that Halo3 is great IF you've never played another FPS all your life or have only been playing games on console for the past 10 years. The story is weak, the graphics are pulled straight from Halo2, and the game doesn't really try to do anything innovative. If you LOVED Halo2 then you'll like this. If however you have played; Half-Life (1&2), System Shock 2, Thief, Unreal Tournament, Quake, BioShock, or in fact any other FPS on a PC in the last 10 years, do yourself a favour, save the cash and buy Half-Life 2 Orange Box instead. Expand
  98. PaulS.
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    Awesome game! Campaign was exciting and the online multiplayer is sure to entertain for a long time.
  99. Klm1
    Oct 13, 2007
    4
    Boring storyline. Really bad gameplay. here's a list of what could be done to improve gameplay.
    1. New storyline (enough with the cliff hangers leading to disappointing finishes)
    2. should have bought back the homing rocket 3. not enough use of the Spartan laser (whats the point of bringing it into the game if we are not gonna get to use it all that much) 4. Let's pilot more
    Boring storyline. Really bad gameplay. here's a list of what could be done to improve gameplay.
    1. New storyline (enough with the cliff hangers leading to disappointing finishes)
    2. should have bought back the homing rocket
    3. not enough use of the Spartan laser (whats the point of bringing it into the game if we are not gonna get to use it all that much)
    4. Let's pilot more vehicles (wraiths were easily destroyed and I don't remember being able to pilot any banshee's). The stupid flying unsc vehicle (whatever its called) sucked. you could not get it to fly high enough. WHAT GIVES?
    5. Let's pilot a SCARAB. how about that?
    6. Give us better bosses (like halo 2). fighting the scarab's was the only boss that was interesting in the whole game
    7. If the gravemind was evil, let master chief finish him off, not another nuclear bomb-run-for-your-life ending.
    8. more ability to scale the terrain
    9. bring back dual weilding needlers
    10. if you are gonna bring back weapons from the first game, make sure the player has the ability to use it like they did in the first game (a.k.a pistol - no zooming capability)

    thats all i have to say. thoroughly disappointed after finishing the game even on legendary.
    Expand
  100. RJP
    Nov 4, 2007
    4
    Honestly, this is one of the most overhyped and overrated games in modern history. I really enjoyed the first Halo, but this one is nothing more than being an expansion to Halo 2. Graphics are bad, gameplay gets boring, and the campaign is way too short and the ending is unsatisfying. Even my friends who were into the game before are now already bored of Halo 3. We even beat it on Honestly, this is one of the most overhyped and overrated games in modern history. I really enjoyed the first Halo, but this one is nothing more than being an expansion to Halo 2. Graphics are bad, gameplay gets boring, and the campaign is way too short and the ending is unsatisfying. Even my friends who were into the game before are now already bored of Halo 3. We even beat it on legendary, and still felt bored doing it! I guess the fanboys don't know how to review a game objectively, and instead act on impulse and excitement. gimme a break. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's the addition of the Forge level editor and the saved films that give the game an even longer set of legs, legs that will probably keep you running at full speed until Bungie figures out where, exactly, to go from here.
  2. Halo 3 is the best Xbox 360 game to date. The single-player campaign and storyline are both very strong, but it's Forge and the Saved Films features that will likely go down in history as Bungie's crowning achievements. They've basically taken everything great about the series and improved upon it in every way, then added some amazing new features that we'll be using for years to come.
  3. 100
    It's solid gameplay, immense replayability, online functionality and incredible production values will ensure its place in video game history, and it is, without a doubt, a satisfying and fulfilling close to the beloved trilogy[?].