Halo 3 Xbox 360

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3853 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KentL.
    Oct 2, 2007
    7
    Halo 2.5 is very cool! Slight but pleasant improvement in graphics and sound. I'm grateful the gameplay is consistent with Halo 2.0 and it picks up right where the story left off. Not quite enough to take me away from Bioshock for too long but good enough until the next GTA comes out!
  2. SteveS.
    Oct 20, 2007
    7
    Played and completed in a day. Game play is the same as Halo 2. Encamped troops and not the mass of Flood that fall out of every vent and corridor as in Halo1. Very little close quarter combat. Graphics are ok nothing special. The video clips are very poor quality. Seen better in game graphics. Its seems that the more time Bungie spend on its look the less time they spend on the game Played and completed in a day. Game play is the same as Halo 2. Encamped troops and not the mass of Flood that fall out of every vent and corridor as in Halo1. Very little close quarter combat. Graphics are ok nothing special. The video clips are very poor quality. Seen better in game graphics. Its seems that the more time Bungie spend on its look the less time they spend on the game play. Halo 1 is the best Halo. Expand
  3. RobinJ.
    Oct 5, 2007
    7
    I am shocked by the high reviews. I worries me that so many critics can't seem to justify their scores. The game is good; no doubt about that. Halo 3 was meant to be a defining FPS though, and on this count, it fails. Not enough has changed over Halo 2 in 3 years of development.
  4. WesFletcher
    Sep 24, 2007
    7
    Its halo. same thing different color. its the same game its been since the first just add a few new gadgets and purty it up a pinch. No drastic changes. OOOoo there's a level editor and video mode. Wow you got me sold. How bout I throw in a cookie with it too that makes it an entire point better right? It works for what it is but its still the same halo just the end of it. that doesIts halo. same thing different color. its the same game its been since the first just add a few new gadgets and purty it up a pinch. No drastic changes. OOOoo there's a level editor and video mode. Wow you got me sold. How bout I throw in a cookie with it too that makes it an entire point better right? It works for what it is but its still the same halo just the end of it. that does NOT make it a 10 out of 10. It's halo, yes its WAY overhyped but it is a good game. That's it. IT by no means is perfect. Wait for the true reviews of people who aren't jerkin it to halo. Good bye master chief. Those in reality will turn you down. Expand
  5. RanderN.
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    Halo 3 is a very good game that totally fails to live up to the massive hype and marketing drive that preceded it. It has a short single player campaign, the same old floaty low gravity feeling the previous versions had (even while on earth) that just can't stand next to today's moder physics models in gaming, and somewhat repetitive gameplay that will have you shooting endless Halo 3 is a very good game that totally fails to live up to the massive hype and marketing drive that preceded it. It has a short single player campaign, the same old floaty low gravity feeling the previous versions had (even while on earth) that just can't stand next to today's moder physics models in gaming, and somewhat repetitive gameplay that will have you shooting endless waves of mostly the same 2 types of enemies and running back and forward inside the same level, reminiscent of the key hunting of the FPS titles of old (as in Wolfestein old). A good game, not a great one. Expand
  6. CaseyY.
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    A very fancy patch for Halo 2.
  7. johnDoe
    Jul 4, 2008
    7
    The original Halo may have sold a million original xbox's, On the current next gen console Halo3 just does not have the same effect. This is by no means a bad game, Single player is enjoyable and quite testing, Just not as revolutionary as the original. Graphically the game looks great and play's as well as it always did. I am not sure where the series can go from here as I feel The original Halo may have sold a million original xbox's, On the current next gen console Halo3 just does not have the same effect. This is by no means a bad game, Single player is enjoyable and quite testing, Just not as revolutionary as the original. Graphically the game looks great and play's as well as it always did. I am not sure where the series can go from here as I feel it has peeked. Of course the online community for Halo is massive and you will have no trouble finding an online game That runs without lag. This could be where the series future lies in just online play. Halo 3 is a good game, Just not the generation setting game the original was. Expand
  8. GaryS.
    Oct 1, 2007
    7
    One word can describe Halo 3 "average" !!!!!
  9. Maxd
    Oct 30, 2007
    7
    omfg are you people stupid??? This game isn't the best game ever, Max M, but it doesn't suck that bad, Me ME. This game is a good, solid buy, the graphics are decent the multiplayer is pretty good, and the campaign is average. If you are looking for a good game, buy this, but it is not a 10!!!!!!
  10. DomV.
    Oct 4, 2007
    7
    Halo 3's campaign succeeds in becoming the Letdown of 2007. Multiplayer however is beyond good. it is brilliant.
  11. GlenA.
    Sep 26, 2007
    7
    The game is extremely similar to Halo 2. Graphics are tweaked but nowhere near as good as even 360 launch titles such as COD3. I had severe problems with sound, especially dialogue which I have to turn up just to hear - a little annoying. Should not disappoint those wanting more of the same from Halo 2. All others should rent first.
  12. RannyB.
    Sep 26, 2007
    7
    It's an adequate fps. Level padding shows poor design though and the storytelling resulted down to being very simple. Not the best example to show for a top class FPS but a nice example that simplicity can still manage to be fun.
  13. JoshuaD.
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    I am a very honest person and a unique halo fan. After missing out on Halo 1 and starting the story line at halo 2 I was hooked by the graphics, gameplay, and mulitiplayer formats. Halo 3 was a complete let down after the first hour of gameplay. I found myself asking "This is actually kind of boring". There wasn't any extravigant graphic views or fight scenes as Halo 2 had. I tried I am a very honest person and a unique halo fan. After missing out on Halo 1 and starting the story line at halo 2 I was hooked by the graphics, gameplay, and mulitiplayer formats. Halo 3 was a complete let down after the first hour of gameplay. I found myself asking "This is actually kind of boring". There wasn't any extravigant graphic views or fight scenes as Halo 2 had. I tried not to buy into the hype from all the commercials and advertisments, but I can honorably say that I was scammed by the oldest trick in the book "Rhetorics" Good Job on Bungie and Microsoft for scamming millions upon millions of dollars from us with cheap and useless animation. Expand
  14. AndyM.
    Sep 30, 2007
    7
    All Halo 3 does is improve the graphics of Halo 2, add more weapons, and absolutely nothing else. Still pretty damn good though.
  15. LukeV.
    Apr 9, 2008
    7
    Excellent solo play, multiplayer gets a bit repetitive.
  16. OwenS.
    Jul 18, 2008
    7
    It has good graphics but for your average shooter game it gets rather boring.
  17. MartinK.
    Aug 16, 2008
    7
    to Christian H. It is "MIGHT AS well," not "minus well." Jesus, people, that's not even grammatical. hell, that's not even a spelling error. that's just called stupid.
  18. J.G.
    Dec 26, 2009
    7
    As much as I loved the first two Halo games, I just can't say that about the third one in the series. Now, I'm not saying this is a BAD game, it's just not the best it could've been. Halo 3's graphics where fantastic for its time and are still pretty impressive to this day. There's a great campaign that's a bit short, but it's still fun. If you have As much as I loved the first two Halo games, I just can't say that about the third one in the series. Now, I'm not saying this is a BAD game, it's just not the best it could've been. Halo 3's graphics where fantastic for its time and are still pretty impressive to this day. There's a great campaign that's a bit short, but it's still fun. If you have friends that you can play the campaign with, it usually is more fun. Friends are the core of this game, if you don't have friends with Halo, don't get Halo, it is that simple. The game is also a ton of fun to play online...with friends. The community is made of bratty 12-year-olds that think they're tough $h1t. If you have friends to play with, I'd recommend keeping them. The real problem with this game is that it doesn't have the same feeling as the original Halo and instead feels more like Resistance rather than its awesome, awesome original game. Too bad, too, because that would've made it awesome. Expand
  19. FredrickB
    Oct 25, 2009
    7
    Being a Halo vet, im a lil disappointed in the Campaign side of the game, ending just an ending, nothing special or surpising about it. The multiplayer side of the game is good. There is so much missing from this game, like equipment use, less use of the many weapons in other Halo's, but im still a big fan of Halo, hopfully they will get the next one right.
  20. aspentitan
    Jan 15, 2010
    7
    Every heard of the saying "A six dressed up as a nine"? That's how I describe this game. For the most part I tremendously enjoyed this game until the last 3 Chapters of the solo campaign ruined it all. After completing the game I can
  21. TimE.
    Nov 17, 2007
    7
    The graphics and story are awesome, however... it looks like Halo 2 with higher resolution textures and very little innovation. Next Gen Gaming shouldn't include Halo 3 as a front runner. This game is very last generation in it's thinking. Perhaps i was just hoping for something new.
  22. ShazamD.
    Nov 2, 2007
    7
    As most of you know, the hype wanted to make us expect Halo 3 to be a golden platter of excellency. Let me just get this out of the way before I actually review this game. Halo 3 is in no respect a "bad" game. In my opinion I consider it to be average, with an admittedly fun multiplayer. However in my opinion if Bungie really wanted to outdo themselves they would have put multiplayer on As most of you know, the hype wanted to make us expect Halo 3 to be a golden platter of excellency. Let me just get this out of the way before I actually review this game. Halo 3 is in no respect a "bad" game. In my opinion I consider it to be average, with an admittedly fun multiplayer. However in my opinion if Bungie really wanted to outdo themselves they would have put multiplayer on one disc and single player on another so they could give the campaign some actual DEPTH. So onto the actual review. In this installment of the Halo series, Master Chief has to finally finish the fight against the Covenant in a criminally short adventure of an average of 10 hours. The difficulty seems to be a bit... off. At the beginning some of the enemies destroyed me, but by the end one is supposed to constitute as a final boss battle was basically shooting a small, 5th grader with a gun with the power of a miniature tank. Of course I am focusing on the bad, at the moment so I'll go to some of the good. Halo 3 has good graphics, texture, very good voice acting, and moments of pure gold in the game (i.e. the Red vs. Blue reference) To finish off, Halo 3 is all right I suppose, I liked BioShock and the Orange Box more, but what the hell, right? If you just want a barely average, high speed single player action game and a fun multiplayer then Halo 3 is the game for you. If not, I suggest waiting for Mass Effect. Expand
  23. Gavin
    Nov 20, 2007
    7
    i love halo and to be frank this game clears its name then puts a massive stain on it the multiplayer has imporved with 4player co-op on campain and HD the single player campian though is where the stain comes in yes campain is a little short but thats when you play it on easy i finish it in 2 hours best part of the campian is the lengdary its been revamped in my mind because 1. theres ai love halo and to be frank this game clears its name then puts a massive stain on it the multiplayer has imporved with 4player co-op on campain and HD the single player campian though is where the stain comes in yes campain is a little short but thats when you play it on easy i finish it in 2 hours best part of the campian is the lengdary its been revamped in my mind because 1. theres a massive noticable effect in were the AI is smarter ALOT more bad guys and to top it off ya shield may as well be tin foil XD this makes up for the short campain by extending the amount of time needed to complete the game (around 15hours) but still not bad lastly comes the end it sez finish the fight but.... WHAT FIGHT DID WE FINISH yes we killed the covernat around earth but what about everywhere else and not to mention the earth and all the rings on stanby still this game still leaves a lot of loose ends and it finishes on another cliff hanger with masterchief and cortana alone in space adrift if there isnt a halo 4 i will be very disapointed with bungie after all the idea of a triogy is to finish the story in 3 releases which hasnt occured here.. Expand
  24. J.J.C.C.
    Oct 13, 2007
    7
    What the crap happened with halo 3? What made halo 2 great was the effect of being drawn into the game; the feeling that you are the master chief. But in this game, the FEEL of the game has changed, its as if you are playing warcraft with guns on a PC. Graphics are not fully necessary to make a game great; it is the gameplay people! Bungie should have made this game more REALISTIC; how What the crap happened with halo 3? What made halo 2 great was the effect of being drawn into the game; the feeling that you are the master chief. But in this game, the FEEL of the game has changed, its as if you are playing warcraft with guns on a PC. Graphics are not fully necessary to make a game great; it is the gameplay people! Bungie should have made this game more REALISTIC; how come a melee hit takes more damage than a bullet !?! So much hype for a halo 1 type gameplay with no 21st century REALISTIC physical dimentionality! Expand
  25. PeterS.
    Oct 16, 2007
    7
    Pretty, fun weapons but a bit of an uninspired experience on the whole after Bioshock, Halflife 2 and Fear hit the market. Halo has seriously fallen behind the curve in developing their overall playability.
  26. MatC.
    Oct 2, 2007
    7
    Good game, short campaign... but 640p? It's down-rezzed, and that's disappointing. You'd think the flagship game for a company like this would at least be able to be run in full 720p at least. Guess not, and it's disappointing. I feel bad for the geeks that stayed in line -- it's just not the perfection that the "professional" (and I mean paid!) reviewers make it Good game, short campaign... but 640p? It's down-rezzed, and that's disappointing. You'd think the flagship game for a company like this would at least be able to be run in full 720p at least. Guess not, and it's disappointing. I feel bad for the geeks that stayed in line -- it's just not the perfection that the "professional" (and I mean paid!) reviewers make it out to be. Expand
  27. MortenJ.
    Oct 3, 2007
    7
    OK, let's be fair. Halo 3 is a very good game - but not a great one by any standards. Multiplayer actually just about saves it from being mediocre. It's not groundbreaking or innovative from a design perspective but it is undoubtedly fun - which is of course a minimum for a video game. But alas only up to a point. What is not fun is the repetitive indoor levels and the awful OK, let's be fair. Halo 3 is a very good game - but not a great one by any standards. Multiplayer actually just about saves it from being mediocre. It's not groundbreaking or innovative from a design perspective but it is undoubtedly fun - which is of course a minimum for a video game. But alas only up to a point. What is not fun is the repetitive indoor levels and the awful save system; would it hurt to have an autosave every 15 minutes or so? - Especially considering the games' already notorious instability and 'disc not readable' issues which can reduce a couple of hours of fun in the campaign to an absolutely rage-inducing waste of time! Expand
  28. RayD.
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    Well i am half way through the campaign and last night while playing i sat there and thought its good but not that good.... the multiplayer is pretty nice i like the upgrades they did on it compared to halo 2. Its close to the same game with twists that i think were needed esp for online. but good job overall microsoft.
  29. ChrisK.
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    The hype hurt the game, that's where it all begins. Reviews hit left and right for games over a 9.4 when it is a truly unique and innovative creation, Halo 3 was neither of these. With some decent graphics, new weapon additions and relatively shallow story line, the game isn't living up to these reviews. Microsoft must be deep in some pockets to get the reviews this game has The hype hurt the game, that's where it all begins. Reviews hit left and right for games over a 9.4 when it is a truly unique and innovative creation, Halo 3 was neither of these. With some decent graphics, new weapon additions and relatively shallow story line, the game isn't living up to these reviews. Microsoft must be deep in some pockets to get the reviews this game has been given. Fanboys rejoice, smart gamers rent. Expand
  30. AlvaroV.
    Sep 26, 2007
    7
    Good game, but nothing really original in the series. There is no story at the beginning and the level design is slightly repetitive. However, combat is as polished as in previous titles. Too much hype, I guess.
  31. [Anonymousguy]
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    Not really anything spectacular on the single player, and the Online not as fun as halo 2.
  32. DLa
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    First, I've been with Halo from the beginning. The first release amazed, the second released was good with a dumb ending, but I had had a deep fear after seeing many unflattering screenshots that this release would not extend the state of the art and I'm sad to say its true. Aside from a few new weapons and vehicles and debatebly enhanced graphics the game breaks no new ground. First, I've been with Halo from the beginning. The first release amazed, the second released was good with a dumb ending, but I had had a deep fear after seeing many unflattering screenshots that this release would not extend the state of the art and I'm sad to say its true. Aside from a few new weapons and vehicles and debatebly enhanced graphics the game breaks no new ground. Which is a shame for such an anticipated release with so much money behind it. Let me break it down. Graphics: 7 Not as good as Gears of War and not as good as Bioshock. The character models are average quality. For example, not as detailed as the players in Madden. Environment: 7 You'd expect to be able to interact with all kinds of things in the environment and blow stuff up. At least this is the mark of next-gen FPS today. Not so in Halo. You can knock stuff over, but you can't look inside of things, break things, use things, etc. Its a very superficial environment. Sound: 5 Oh boy. It's sad. I have a dolby 5.1 setup and the sound from Halo is very muffled and low-def. The weapon firing sounds or ok, but things like grenades sound like they are farther from you than they visually are. Little to no surround effects or ambient noise. A total lack of depth in the sound field. For the best 5.1 game sound, crisp and clean, check out Bioshock as the new standard (I'm not a fanboy, just using a real example of quality). Gameplay: 7 Same gameplay as before with a few new gadgets. No cover control (such as in GoW and Rainbow 6), no squad control, etc. Same, same, same. Story: 6 Getting a bit dated. The opening dialog is a bit perplexing. An utter lack of mind provoking elements in this story. Its a "story on rails". Not to mention, that for 3 versions of Halo the opening sequence is the cliche "the aliens have invaded our barracks" scenario. Tired! Get some new material. Overall: A very generous 7 Expand
  33. Warmonger
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    Good game, but nowhere near the great game everyone makes it out to be! First of all it's too damn short. Sure it's a great multiplayer game but what about the people who don't play online?? oh well, I guess the're just out of luck! The graphics also haven't really improved significantly enough for me to go... Wow! Come on! the only game to really hold that Good game, but nowhere near the great game everyone makes it out to be! First of all it's too damn short. Sure it's a great multiplayer game but what about the people who don't play online?? oh well, I guess the're just out of luck! The graphics also haven't really improved significantly enough for me to go... Wow! Come on! the only game to really hold that distinction this year, "so far" is Bioshock! You only have to look at the superior graphics, such as the water effects,environments...etc and game play to relize, that it rules! It's new and fresh as opposed to old and stale....... R.I.P. Halo Expand
  34. ChrisE.
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    I'd consider myself a 360 fanboy. Halo 3 is fun, but just feels like something is missing. I'm trying so hard to love this game. I'm not sure I can.
  35. DazD.
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    Nothing new here apart from a few weapons and vehicles. The multiplayer is what it's all about.
  36. NateG.
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    Halo 2 2 is OK. I've never been a campaign guy (I play the games to have fun with friends), so I judge all Halos on the multi-player, and that aspect of the game has not been improved. Yes, they added some new stuff in there but that alone can't carry the game (some of them are pointless too - like with the grenades). But different and better isn't the same. And am I the Halo 2 2 is OK. I've never been a campaign guy (I play the games to have fun with friends), so I judge all Halos on the multi-player, and that aspect of the game has not been improved. Yes, they added some new stuff in there but that alone can't carry the game (some of them are pointless too - like with the grenades). But different and better isn't the same. And am I the only one who misses the hit % stat? You can goof off the whole time and no one will be the wiser as to the 1,000 shots you wasted. All in all you could play or watch a game of Halo 2 and Halo 3 back-to-back and have a hard time knowing you saw 2 different games. I'm one of those who wanted to like it, but it disappoints. I do believe the name gives it 1 or 2 extra points in a lot of reviews. Expand
  37. FurryFox
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    As many have said before me its mainly a multiplayer game, if you don
  38. BryanM.
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    It was a little over hyped. I am just pissed you are forced to play as Chief and can not play the Aburder in Campan mode unless you do co op. sorry but you included him in the 2nd why change it now. o and Halo 3 for being the big 360 game does not have that great of graphics. a little better then the beta demo version but barlly. try gears graphics Halo. so in other words HALO one is It was a little over hyped. I am just pissed you are forced to play as Chief and can not play the Aburder in Campan mode unless you do co op. sorry but you included him in the 2nd why change it now. o and Halo 3 for being the big 360 game does not have that great of graphics. a little better then the beta demo version but barlly. try gears graphics Halo. so in other words HALO one is still the best even if you can not play it on Xbox live. Expand
  39. JCS
    Sep 29, 2007
    7
    The single player game felt like they didn't bother with much more than an outline of a story. I have to agree with the comment about warmed over Marathon. The Flood was much more intimidating in 2. Sketchy in many places. Background stills lacked the kind of detail one might want or expect lavished onto them. Normal level was blandly easy.
  40. TravisM.
    Sep 30, 2007
    7
    I'm very disappointed that an almost perfect multiplayer from Halo 1 evolved into a catastrophic mess that Halo 2 and Halo 3 have become. Granted Halo 3 looks to correct some of the mistakes from Halo 2, but still fails in so many ways. Radar in any multiplayer game will only promote people to camp. It's almost as if the game developers couldn't stand being killed so fast I'm very disappointed that an almost perfect multiplayer from Halo 1 evolved into a catastrophic mess that Halo 2 and Halo 3 have become. Granted Halo 3 looks to correct some of the mistakes from Halo 2, but still fails in so many ways. Radar in any multiplayer game will only promote people to camp. It's almost as if the game developers couldn't stand being killed so fast by the pistol in Halo 1 so they decided to make it pointless to use in 2 or 3. I'm still holding out hope that MLG will make a custom gametype via Forge without radar and use about 75% shields. Since you now start with the assault rifle 80% of the battles you face are two people running at one another with assault rifles firing and the one who lands the melee the victor. Unless of course you have someone in the distance using a Battle Rifle or Sniper to pick off the repeatative action. You also are unable to hold up a defensive position by throwing a grenade off the wall to keep the opponent from charging right at you, because the frag grenades don't even blow the opponent back or do more than 35% damage. I've had it happen on countless occassions when I just get a double kill, but that third player comes charging right after you. You throw a grenade right at their feet and scurry around the corner to reload and let your shields recharge for a fair fight. As soon as you get around the corner you throw another grenade just in case he's continuing the pursuit. And wouldn't you know it... That person just keeps running and shooting without any worry that the 2 grenades will kill him. Heck in Halo 1 if you were hit with a grenade at point blank range, you were almost dead and it would blow you 5-10 meters away. Giving the opponent the advantage now because of a well placed grenade. I myself was a huge advocate and fan of the Halo series and would travel halfway across the country to play AGP and MLG tournaments for Halo 1. But the skill level here for Halo 3 is similar to Halo 2, and since the grenades barely deter anyone from charging right at you... It's basically a better version of Halo 2. Better graphics, but almost the same game play. So if you loved Halo 2, you'll love Halo 3. If you're like me and loved Halo 1, then you'll become quickly annoyed with the radar and people camping around corners with the sword (or now hammer). And although the idea seemed interesting, all the 'X' button items need to be removed too. Again I can't fault Bungie because they've appealed to the common FPS player who's just looking hop online and kill some friends. But for those hardcore gamers where you just have to be the best of the best, I'd say wait for COD 4 or perhaps Team Fortress 2 from the upcoming Half-Life 2 Orange Box. Expand
  41. KyleT.
    Jan 1, 2008
    7
    Halo 3, easily the most hyped and advertised game in recent history (all of history?), manages to stand out mostly due to media buzz. Fighting through the layer of fanboyism, however, stands a competent, enjoyable shooter. The single player campaign is short and disappointing. Levels are not only linear, but also poorly designed. A.I. is disappointing, and doesn't really provide and Halo 3, easily the most hyped and advertised game in recent history (all of history?), manages to stand out mostly due to media buzz. Fighting through the layer of fanboyism, however, stands a competent, enjoyable shooter. The single player campaign is short and disappointing. Levels are not only linear, but also poorly designed. A.I. is disappointing, and doesn't really provide and interesting fight. Overall the single-player campaign doesn't exemplify gripping pitch-perfect pacing as Half-Life 2 and often fails to deliver truly interesting action. However, this is a Halo game; it's the multiplayer that counts. Bungie has successfully added new elements to the online experience without ruining the Halo experience. Weapons are still pretty well balanced, and the majority of levels flow great (except a few badly designed ones... looking at you Snowbound) and each have a myriad of interesting strategies. Matchmaking is easy and smooth, and getting into a game with yourself, or some pals, is quick and painless. Overall, Halo is an online experience, and if you purchase the game with that in mind, you will not be disappointed. Expand
  42. MvmntInGrn
    Jan 13, 2008
    7
    While still being interesting and fun you can't help but expect more from the series, especially in its final chapter. Needed more new aspects, Halo hasn't changed much from Halo 1 other than its graphics. Truly surprised to see the constant barrage of 100s its gotten.
  43. JakeF.
    Feb 25, 2008
    7
    I thought it was going to be better than it actually was!
  44. AnonymousMC
    Feb 28, 2008
    7
    Lets start with the good. The graphics are good but that's the case for just about every game these days, the music is still great, and the story is good.

    Now the bad parts. While the enemy AI is decent enough, your marine buddies are just about as bad as they could get. The campaign only lasted me 7 hours my first time though and less on subsequent playthroughs. Some of the
    Lets start with the good. The graphics are good but that's the case for just about every game these days, the music is still great, and the story is good.

    Now the bad parts. While the enemy AI is decent enough, your marine buddies are just about as bad as they could get. The campaign only lasted me 7 hours my first time though and less on subsequent playthroughs.
    Some of the level design is terribly unintuitive, specifically the Cortana level. I found myself getting lost in several rooms and wandered around aimlessly for several minutes before I found out where I was supposed to be going.
    The difficulty curve also varies drastically throughout the game. At some points near the beginning I died many times before I could move onto the next area. But as I progressed, it became increasingly easier to a point where it was too easy. The Flood only take 2-3 bashes to kill with just about any weapon. The "boss" fights are complete jokes, and the game ends with the easiest sequence in a game that I've ever played.

    And as for the online multiplayer, I don't care about it. I don't play games online save for RTS games so I can't say if it's good or bad. But with what I have played, the game is decent. There are plenty of better FPS games out there that you can play. If you need to know how the story ends and you hate reading, play the game, otherwise read a plot synopsis and save yourself $60.
    Expand
  45. BenS.
    May 29, 2008
    7
    Unfortunately Halo3 just doesn't deliver. Graphics & gameplay are just better than average. Put it up against Bioshock and it looks poor. I would have given it a 6 but the co-op campaign gives it another point.
  46. Korne
    Jun 11, 2008
    7
    Good, but not great! Hype is a strange thing; it can make great things look bad and mediocre things look great. This is what happens with Halo3. It takes good things from the previous installments, and adds some new (and good) features, but for some reason, it doesn't seem as powerful as the first two Halos. The Multiplayer isn't as inventive as Halo2, and the story isn't Good, but not great! Hype is a strange thing; it can make great things look bad and mediocre things look great. This is what happens with Halo3. It takes good things from the previous installments, and adds some new (and good) features, but for some reason, it doesn't seem as powerful as the first two Halos. The Multiplayer isn't as inventive as Halo2, and the story isn't as good as Halo. This makes it not as good as some great games, and thus brings it down. If it wasn't the third installment in the series, the game would probably be accepted more as an awesome game. But since it is the hype engine known as Halo, we demand perfection, and Halo3 did not deliver. It is a good game, so it still gets a 7/10 (where as the first got a 9 and the second got an 8). Expand
  47. BillA
    Jun 25, 2008
    7
    Nothing fits. It is like 10 different artist slapped on their own coat of paint and things just don't feel right. The gameplay lacks any true mechanics and the multiply, although good, seems to fall short compared to its xbox live counterparts. don't be taken by the hype, this game is mediocre at best.
  48. AshS
    Dec 5, 2009
    7
    I'm giving it a 7 because the Multiplayer's good. Campaign was absolute crap compared to the other two games; I mean, come on. ODST was better. Sure, the AI is good (unlike some games, it's actually dynamic and can react according to different situations, try watching it sometime), but the story lets it down and makes the campaign feel terrible. Ending was alright, but I'm giving it a 7 because the Multiplayer's good. Campaign was absolute crap compared to the other two games; I mean, come on. ODST was better. Sure, the AI is good (unlike some games, it's actually dynamic and can react according to different situations, try watching it sometime), but the story lets it down and makes the campaign feel terrible. Ending was alright, but still recognisable as a rehash of Halo 1 that was less enjoyable to do. Multiplayer's solid, it works well, and it's not unbalanced if you play normal MM. That's the reason I enjoy it - I can stop playing for 4 months, go back to it and there'll still be people at my level. it's not like CoD where if you buy the game two weeks late everyone's prestiged and you do nothing but die, which in itself makes it much more fun. What else... Graphics were good for its time, especially on a custom engine, but could do with some AA and decent reflections. Story sucked but made sense in that they had a limited timeframe to do it and cut quite a lot of stuff...yeah. Overall a decent game with strong MM but a very lacking campaign. Best part is probably the fact that there's always someone in MM at your level, so it doesn't matter whether you picked up the game on day one like me or the 2 year anniversary - there's still 500,000 people evenly matched for you to play. That alone is one of the reasons it's so popular and why I like it. Expand
  49. josiahcarr
    Apr 30, 2009
    7
    it is one of the best games i have played the forge mode adds the extra ability to change the map in your own desire. the only down fall is most of the play lists you have to by map packs just to play them but other than that a great game
  50. marc
    Jun 29, 2009
    7
    I rate this game 7, I rate 5 for The Single-Player which is full of action and very fun. I give the multiplayer 2, because sometimes, Playing with new people is very easy and playing with pros is very hard, there is no "good middle" and most people have the tendency of quitting the game too early, so it makes the game un-balanced.
  51. JohnL.
    Dec 8, 2007
    7
    A perfectly good, if not exceptionally groundbreaking, game. Few of the stunning moments and wow factor that Halo 2 had, but a far more consistently fun title all around. The character animation is not aging well, and the graphics are hit and miss. If doing nothing wrong rates a 10, then this game is a solid ten. However, I'd prefer to be moved, or excited, or enthralled, or... well, A perfectly good, if not exceptionally groundbreaking, game. Few of the stunning moments and wow factor that Halo 2 had, but a far more consistently fun title all around. The character animation is not aging well, and the graphics are hit and miss. If doing nothing wrong rates a 10, then this game is a solid ten. However, I'd prefer to be moved, or excited, or enthralled, or... well, anything at all. Instead I feel like I'm just playing more Halo. Which is, of course, never a bad thing. Expand
  52. ccxapp
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    The plot was not what I expected it to be, but it's great on the graphical and gameplay improvements.
  53. TimD.
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    Of course it's great, but it hasn't evolved enough for me. The combat is solid and satisfying but feels no different from the first two. The first game was described as 5 minutes of game play spread over 8 hours, now it's been stretched over 24 hours, and it's getting dulled. It doesn't compare with the likes of Half Life or Biioshock, games which are still more Of course it's great, but it hasn't evolved enough for me. The combat is solid and satisfying but feels no different from the first two. The first game was described as 5 minutes of game play spread over 8 hours, now it's been stretched over 24 hours, and it's getting dulled. It doesn't compare with the likes of Half Life or Biioshock, games which are still more sophisticated in their storytelling, pacing and Graphics. Expand
  54. NickC.
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    I'm only on the second level and I have to say I'm underwhelmed. Far from looking amazing the graphics just don't impress. The interiors are much worse than the exteriors, the low resolution textures on the doors are particularly bad. The game these areas most remind me of are Fear with added backtracking. On the bright side the AI is still cool - I love it when grunts get I'm only on the second level and I have to say I'm underwhelmed. Far from looking amazing the graphics just don't impress. The interiors are much worse than the exteriors, the low resolution textures on the doors are particularly bad. The game these areas most remind me of are Fear with added backtracking. On the bright side the AI is still cool - I love it when grunts get scared and retreat. The Brute Alien weapons are things similar to nail guns and grenade launchers and are much more satisfying to use than the old Alien weapons (still in the game) which shot glowing stuff (not lasers, light travels at the speed of, well light and you would only see it reflecting off what ever you are shooting.). I've had a quick look at Forge basically you can mess around with game parameters and add objects to the level BFD. I buy a lot of games, and maybe finish half of them, all the extras packed in to this game don't really matter to me, I'm much more interested in the core game. The core game here is solid but and in the upper quartile of games on the system, but not worthy of being a flagship title. Expand
  55. AndyK.
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    There´s no doubt ... HALO 3 is to an extremely high degree OVERRATED by the most Critics, even by the two lowest with the rating of 88 ! The MP is still very good but the very short SP (8-10 hrs.) is really disappointing. My ratings SP=60 / MP=85 / Overall = 72
  56. MikeP.
    Sep 26, 2007
    7
    This is it?? this is the best Microsoft & Bungie can put together after 3 years of development? graphics are below par - far worse than most games on 360. not even in the same universe compared to Gears or Bioshock. gameplay is exactly the same as previous Halos - nothing's improved. enemies are stupid as hell. sometimes they just stand there; they can't drive, or get into cars.This is it?? this is the best Microsoft & Bungie can put together after 3 years of development? graphics are below par - far worse than most games on 360. not even in the same universe compared to Gears or Bioshock. gameplay is exactly the same as previous Halos - nothing's improved. enemies are stupid as hell. sometimes they just stand there; they can't drive, or get into cars. sound & story are fine, but nothing to get excited about. and the level editor? what do i care about the level editor?! I don't want a level editor - i want a good game! where is the platform defining Halo 3 we've been waiting for? delayed 2 years after the 360 launch, and this is what we get? what a disappointment. Expand
  57. JeveS.
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    A good, fairly bug-free and enjoyable run, but way too short in campaign mode. It was a challenge (and fun) playing with a buddy via co-op, but again, pretty short so be prepared for that. I've hopped in a few online matches, but I can't seem to enjoy the multi like I do on a great twitch HL2 mod like Fortress Forever. Graphics won't completely blow you away (still see A good, fairly bug-free and enjoyable run, but way too short in campaign mode. It was a challenge (and fun) playing with a buddy via co-op, but again, pretty short so be prepared for that. I've hopped in a few online matches, but I can't seem to enjoy the multi like I do on a great twitch HL2 mod like Fortress Forever. Graphics won't completely blow you away (still see "popping " LOD textures and some sub-30 FPS in hectic areas), but they're not as bad as some reviewers would lead you to believe. You can tell multiplayer was the majority of work put into Halo 3 - not story or campaign. It's NOT a 10 or 100, and anyone who says it is has either truly never played a 10 or 10 OR is trying to counter-act all of the 6's out there. If you're a console campaigner / story gamer like me, rent it. Expand
  58. ArnieG
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    Disapointing. The Halo sequels are very comparable in quality to the Matrix sequels....classic innovative original, medicore derivative sequels. And how is it possible for the biggest game of the year to have such sub-par graphics? They look almost identical to the X-Box! Some eye candy would have went a long way.
  59. AnonymousMC
    Oct 14, 2008
    7
    Don't get me wrong: It's not by any means a bad game. It's just that it's a notch above average. The campaign has an erratic difficulty curve that is about as stable as a guy who has just been put in an asylum. Your teammates are total morons that make druggies look like the child of the smartest couple in the world. Let me give an example: In The Ark, they toldDon't get me wrong: It's not by any means a bad game. It's just that it's a notch above average. The campaign has an erratic difficulty curve that is about as stable as a guy who has just been put in an asylum. Your teammates are total morons that make druggies look like the child of the smartest couple in the world. Let me give an example: In The Ark, they told me that they would let me fire. However, one decided that an enemy breathing more than twice a minute was hostile and opened fire. I was killed brutally by the hyper-intelligent AI. After that, I just turned to killing my allies and treating them like walking bags of ammo. The multiplayer, though is different: fun, engaging, and what saves this game from mediocrity. Expand
  60. MisterH.
    Feb 12, 2008
    7
    Story mode is good although repetitive, but the multiplayer is better.
  61. AnonymousMC
    Jul 28, 2008
    7
    To start the single player is average. It's not everything it was hyped up as and definatly not the "best game evar" as nearly every game reviewer on earth and fanboys alike say. It's just another go through the motions FPS that adds nothing new to the genre. Just get the weapon you want shoot enemies then wait through the cut scene to start all over again. Which would be fine.To start the single player is average. It's not everything it was hyped up as and definatly not the "best game evar" as nearly every game reviewer on earth and fanboys alike say. It's just another go through the motions FPS that adds nothing new to the genre. Just get the weapon you want shoot enemies then wait through the cut scene to start all over again. Which would be fine. If it was more fun and had a better story. You know change it up a bit yet it just stuck to same old formula of Halo 2. No thinking or strategy is ever needed even on harder levels as enemies get stronger and greater in numbers rather than smarter. The AI is still dumb as hell since you can do things like melee foes to death without the slightest urge for them to move out of your way. The story is like it always was bland and uninspired as I could tell everything that would happend before it played out in the game right down to the ending. To me the whole story lacks good depth that a game should have at this point. And it's all really dishearting that this is probably going to go down as the Mario of my day which is sad cause their is much more deserving games for that title. Some of this games positives it looks excelent, has good controls, and it has numbed down the needler. But let me say those things don't make up for everything else that is lacking with the story mode. But as for the multiplayer I think it is one of the best experiences online (which is why I'm giving it a 7 and not a 5.) I just hope that the next Halo game will deliver cause I think it has the potential to be great it's just that for this series third time was definitely not the charm. Expand
  62. ThomasN.
    Nov 19, 2007
    7
    Had this been the first Halo game ever and wasn't hyped up to the max, this game would be worthy of 9s and such. Instead, we get a rehash of what we've seen already with the only arguement for it's greatness are ''it's Halo''. This is nowhere near a 10, but on the other hand it's not so bad it deserves any less than a 6. Fun for the occasional Had this been the first Halo game ever and wasn't hyped up to the max, this game would be worthy of 9s and such. Instead, we get a rehash of what we've seen already with the only arguement for it's greatness are ''it's Halo''. This is nowhere near a 10, but on the other hand it's not so bad it deserves any less than a 6. Fun for the occasional play or some messing about with your friends, but within a few hours you feel very bored. Expand
  63. Feb 29, 2012
    7
    Halo 3 starts of slow, but comes with constantly increasing suspense, hitting a terrific climax towards the end. The game has its share of vehicle problems, but the first person combat holds up very well, and the story and the characters are more relatable than ever. Perhaps the most impressive is how the narrative manages to avoid many cliches and comes packed with one surprise after theHalo 3 starts of slow, but comes with constantly increasing suspense, hitting a terrific climax towards the end. The game has its share of vehicle problems, but the first person combat holds up very well, and the story and the characters are more relatable than ever. Perhaps the most impressive is how the narrative manages to avoid many cliches and comes packed with one surprise after the other. The game is also more cinematic and diverse than ever, and features enthralling music to back it up. Ending the trilogy in the most classy manner possible, with gameplay nods to its predecessors, Bungie has set an example for Sci-Fi games for years to come. That being said, the third installment in the Halo franchise didn't add much to anything with exception to the narrative, and some additional vehicles and weapon mechanics, leaving the remainders of the game more or less the same. It also lacked the graphical and enemy AI impressions of a next-gen release, and didn't truly enter into any territory where the franchise hasn't already been before. Expand
  64. Sep 16, 2010
    7
    The single player campaign is disappointing on many levels. The graphics and lighting are nearly last-gen. You can't choose different classes of Spartan like the cover seems to suggest. Bland story with uninteresting characters. Same old gameplay, same old enemies, same old weapons. Multiplayer is great, but only if you are into the Halo style of gameplay. Overall, not the advancement ofThe single player campaign is disappointing on many levels. The graphics and lighting are nearly last-gen. You can't choose different classes of Spartan like the cover seems to suggest. Bland story with uninteresting characters. Same old gameplay, same old enemies, same old weapons. Multiplayer is great, but only if you are into the Halo style of gameplay. Overall, not the advancement of the series I wanted. Expand
  65. Nov 27, 2010
    7
    A pretty decent game. It lacks the replay value of the first two, and the story is pretty weak compared to the rest of the series. Ofcourse, that can be forgivable since it must have been difficult trying to bring an adequate conclusion to the storyline. If you like first person shooters, this game is worth a couple playthroughs.
  66. Mar 6, 2011
    7
    Halo 3 while a good game was a huge disappointment and the worst in the series, the bland boring campaign is really holding this back, the multiplayer hasn't changed much from Halo 2, the good thing is the Forge mode which may not be on a PC level of depth but is still shocking for a console game, and the hidden things like Easter Eggs and hidden skulls are a blast to try and find, and theHalo 3 while a good game was a huge disappointment and the worst in the series, the bland boring campaign is really holding this back, the multiplayer hasn't changed much from Halo 2, the good thing is the Forge mode which may not be on a PC level of depth but is still shocking for a console game, and the hidden things like Easter Eggs and hidden skulls are a blast to try and find, and the controls are amazing they rank right beside COD 4, but I still can't shake the disappointment this game brought, I was a huge fan of Halo 1 and 2 but, which were both game changers, but this is a game where even the good things can't save from being a disappointment and just being another average shooter. Expand
  67. Dec 30, 2010
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After playing the previous two Halo games, I was looking forward too playing through this, and finishing the fight.
    I was amazed at the Graphics, it looked stunning in HD 1080. The game-play was really good too, and it was enjoyable.
    However, what let it down was two things:
    Length: Compared to the previous two, this was really short. If I wanted too, I could have completed this in one sitting. It felt like it was over before it begun.
    Plot: There wasn't much of a plot, and nothing made sense until the final couple of Chapters. Cortana's random viewings didn't make any sense either.
    The ending couple have been so much better than what it was, but still remained with the Chief dying.
    This game was saved by the multi-player aspect of it, which is brilliant.
    Expand
  68. Feb 13, 2011
    7
    A decent good game, story was interesting, but seems to be around another "hero-who-saves-the-day".
    Despite that, graphics were legendary, multiplayer was pretty decent. I disliked the auto aim though. But I loved the splitscreen option, and that it even could be used online. Was always great having a friend over and play either co-op or online. Alot of hours spent on that.
  69. Apr 25, 2011
    7
    This was a great game, star to finish, but c'mon, think about it: It's just Halo 2 reskinned in HD, nothing more, and nothing less. Sure, they added equipment and brute weapons/vehicles, but the Prowler is no different from the old Spectre, and the Marines don't pack very many polygons. in fact, the game relies heavily on bump modelling to show the detail. Overall, I give this game a 7,This was a great game, star to finish, but c'mon, think about it: It's just Halo 2 reskinned in HD, nothing more, and nothing less. Sure, they added equipment and brute weapons/vehicles, but the Prowler is no different from the old Spectre, and the Marines don't pack very many polygons. in fact, the game relies heavily on bump modelling to show the detail. Overall, I give this game a 7, and I think Bungie can live with that. Expand
  70. Mar 17, 2011
    7
    Decent campaign, but it was short. I enjoyed continuing the Halo story. Being able to run through the campaign on co-op was nice. Multiplayer was solid but it was unbalanced and too much had changed for the worst. I only played this game when I was bored of the other ones.
  71. Feb 14, 2012
    7
    The music and visual atmosphere in this game is outstanding. Then again it's exactly the same kind of amazing that halo 1 and 2 where. And that's not a fault so much as consistency of a series. Halo has some top notch set pieces and solid combat mechanics. It also has a strong multiplayer offering. It's just not as deep as the aesthetics imply. The story surrounding the series in theThe music and visual atmosphere in this game is outstanding. Then again it's exactly the same kind of amazing that halo 1 and 2 where. And that's not a fault so much as consistency of a series. Halo has some top notch set pieces and solid combat mechanics. It also has a strong multiplayer offering. It's just not as deep as the aesthetics imply. The story surrounding the series in the books/etc is actually well conceived. However what you actually get - is a action game. The story segments are rare, and very secondary to the game. And unfortunately, even with solid co-op, the game is also short. And that's what leaves me cold - these incredible aesthetics, suggesting a deep world and story - and instead we get a solid 5 hour traditional fps. Expand
  72. Aug 1, 2011
    7
    I wouldn't say this game is horrible, if you are board just pop in Halo get a party and **** around. This game was good in the time but personally I wouldn't play it again. Solid all around though.
  73. Jul 31, 2012
    7
    I have only played the campaign for Halo 3, but the issues I have with this game are with the entire game. I'll give the multiplayer the benefit of the doubt though. One, why is the fov so low in this game? Humans have upwards of 100 degree field of view, so why is it that Master Chief has a fov of around 60? This is such a problem I have with this game, it's like handicapping the player.I have only played the campaign for Halo 3, but the issues I have with this game are with the entire game. I'll give the multiplayer the benefit of the doubt though. One, why is the fov so low in this game? Humans have upwards of 100 degree field of view, so why is it that Master Chief has a fov of around 60? This is such a problem I have with this game, it's like handicapping the player. You are essentially playing the game with tunnel vision. Haven't the game designers ever played DOOM before? DOOM has around 90 fov, and DOOM wasn't even WIDESCREEN. I've heard somewhere that the low fov is because it means less rendering for the console, and therefore, more fps. If that's true, that means the game designers were thinking like this: Graphics come first, THEN gameplay. That's just flat out wrong. If you're playing a new computer game on an old computer, you turn down the GRAPHICS so you can play the game, you don't play the game for the graphics, that's just nonsense. It literally made me stop playing the game for a couple of days because it was just not fun to play.

    There are some other graphics and sound problems I have but they PALE in comparison to this problem, so I won't mention them. Even the crosshair isn't even as much of an issue with this unrealistic fov. In regards to gameplay, I still wish they left the guns from Halo CE alone. I'm tired of changing guns every 5 seconds to suit the situation. The AR-grenade-melee system was just perfect. Yeah they made the melee a whole heck of a lot better (and more useful!), but the grenades are now useless, you don't even get as many of them anymore. The guns are not nearly as overpowered as Halo 1, but that was part of it's appeal. Yeah ripping Heavy Machine Guns off their tri-pods is one of the coolest shooter mechanics I've seen since ADS, but I'd still rather go into a fight with the MA5B, (and FOUR frag grenades).

    I love Halo 1, absolute God-send of video games. Buying the Anniversary Edition only made me remember this.
    Expand
  74. Aug 25, 2012
    7
    This game has a solid campaign. It plays well and that's all I care about since I haven't played the previous two games. The Forge is incredible even at it's early stages when there was no sandbox or foundry. dropping tanks on friends is just fun. Multi-player is great and it is done very well. That being said it is much more fun in custom game if you have the right friends and game types.
  75. Nov 10, 2013
    7
    Let me start off by saying, Halo 3 is well worth your money and your time. The story campaign is well done and you really feel connected to the characters, although the campaign is short (about 5-6 hours long) it's still worth your money just for that. The campaign also includes co-op just like all the previous Halo games and that's a bunch of fun. The multi-player is still as good asLet me start off by saying, Halo 3 is well worth your money and your time. The story campaign is well done and you really feel connected to the characters, although the campaign is short (about 5-6 hours long) it's still worth your money just for that. The campaign also includes co-op just like all the previous Halo games and that's a bunch of fun. The multi-player is still as good as ever, if not, better. New vehicles and new guns keep the game from becoming bland when compared to the previous games.

    The multi-player will make you keep coming for more with the ranking system and the customisable armour for your player. There's a new mode called Forge which lets you edit maps and do some really cool stuff, unfortunately it is very limited but it's still fun to play with friends and create a racetrack every now and then.

    The graphics are nice considering this games was released in 2007 and although they may not look the best now they still hold up pretty well. This games is a solid game, and it deserves all your money and time, buy it, I honestly can't think of any cons for this games apart from being a bit repetitive sometimes. Even if you don't have Xbox Live this game has split-screen or offline players and still let's you play everything Xbox Live members do, as long as you have a second controller and a buddy.

    Seriously, buy this game right now.
    Expand
  76. Feb 8, 2013
    7
    It seems that the critics were paid off. The campaign of this game is okay. It's far better with friends. Multiplayer is also passable, but not impressive. Forge mode and the ridiculous custom games that have been created are the best parts of Halo 3.
  77. Jun 27, 2013
    7
    Halo 3 is an all around good game. However, there are a few issues with it. For one thing, the FPS mechanics are very uninteresting. Other than a few cool guns, the game just doesn't have much else as far as mechanics go. Also, the story is really bland at times. It doesn't seem cohesive and fails to engage the player. The multiplayer, too, it a bit bland, feeling more like Halo 2 withHalo 3 is an all around good game. However, there are a few issues with it. For one thing, the FPS mechanics are very uninteresting. Other than a few cool guns, the game just doesn't have much else as far as mechanics go. Also, the story is really bland at times. It doesn't seem cohesive and fails to engage the player. The multiplayer, too, it a bit bland, feeling more like Halo 2 with better graphics. It's a good game, just a bit uninspired. I constantly hear that this game is the best in the series, however I'd have to disagree. To me, the original Halo will always be the best. Expand
  78. May 10, 2013
    7
    My first halo game, also my second game on XBOX. I used this game to practice my aiming skill using a controller other than keyboard+mouse. Beat the campaign, I think 5 times and didn't pay any attention to the story since I never played the first two games. TBH, i found Master Chief the least interesting character in this game.
  79. May 3, 2013
    7
    This is a good FPS game.Beshides having so many confrences and seeing advertisments on G4 all the time,the campagin is good and the multiplayer is a lot of fun.
  80. May 26, 2013
    7
    Halo 3 is not a bad game, its just not that good. The game's story was completely confusing, plot holes everywhere. The new enemies, the Brutes, are stupid as hell, but fun to kill. It seems that Bungi never took any risks, besides the co-op campaign. Arbiter is back, that's about all I can say. Wish I could talk about MP, but I don't use Xbox LIVE. Either way, Halo 3 is an awesome returnHalo 3 is not a bad game, its just not that good. The game's story was completely confusing, plot holes everywhere. The new enemies, the Brutes, are stupid as hell, but fun to kill. It seems that Bungi never took any risks, besides the co-op campaign. Arbiter is back, that's about all I can say. Wish I could talk about MP, but I don't use Xbox LIVE. Either way, Halo 3 is an awesome return for Master Chief, but is lackluster in the execution, which is sad. Expand
  81. Nov 19, 2013
    7
    Halo 3 is a game set in the magical time of 2500 or around that time. This is game is okay. I've played better halo's I have to admit. Although it came out in 2008 it's still looks good. It's plays well and this was the first halo with forge. Forge is a great mode where you can spawn in things from the game. The multiplayeis rubbish and I hate the campaign but the game modes and forge isHalo 3 is a game set in the magical time of 2500 or around that time. This is game is okay. I've played better halo's I have to admit. Although it came out in 2008 it's still looks good. It's plays well and this was the first halo with forge. Forge is a great mode where you can spawn in things from the game. The multiplayeis rubbish and I hate the campaign but the game modes and forge is the only reason I play Halo anyway.

    Overall
    -Bad Campaign
    -Bad Multiplayer
    -Amazing forge mode
    Score 72/100
    Expand
  82. Jan 18, 2014
    7
    Another game that is a little hard to review, as the multi-player element of the game is far better than it's single player campaign. Halo gains almost all it's score in the multi-player but I feel this is a bit unfair as it's one of the only online experiences I have had on the 360 but that's because it's the most fun. The only good thing the single player campaign did was remind me ofAnother game that is a little hard to review, as the multi-player element of the game is far better than it's single player campaign. Halo gains almost all it's score in the multi-player but I feel this is a bit unfair as it's one of the only online experiences I have had on the 360 but that's because it's the most fun. The only good thing the single player campaign did was remind me of the fun I had playing the original Halo, after the second Halo game really didn't tickle my balls I thought this game returned to a formula that works, but the more I thought about the game afterwards the more it reminded me of Halo and it felt like this game was just chasing the success of the original. This was the end of my interest in the Halo storyline, I thought it descended into **** at the start of the second game. Overall the amount of time I have spent playing multi-player saves this game from a low score. Expand
  83. Apr 20, 2014
    7
    The campaign is overall lacking, there just isn't any sense of urgency even though everything is supposed to be at stake, and it feels like nothing is at stake, which ruins the overall drive of the game. You know before even starting the game that master chief is going to save Cortana,defeat the covenant, and save earth. It's very predictable and doesn't do anything unexpected. Not toThe campaign is overall lacking, there just isn't any sense of urgency even though everything is supposed to be at stake, and it feels like nothing is at stake, which ruins the overall drive of the game. You know before even starting the game that master chief is going to save Cortana,defeat the covenant, and save earth. It's very predictable and doesn't do anything unexpected. Not to mention the awful level design in the level "Cortana".
    The Multiplayer is what makes this game great, it's balanced, fast paced, and requires skill to be good at.
    Expand
  84. Mar 16, 2015
    7
    * * * * * * * * *
    CAMPAIGN
    * * * * * * * * * A solid plotline with a plethora of epic set-pieces and stirring moments of spine-tingling drama. The characters are predictable, but it's what you would and should expect from a Halo game. Graphically, this game has the unmistakably unique Halo style of aesthetics, which keeps it distinguishable. The sound effects are good and, like the
    * * * * * * * * *
    CAMPAIGN
    * * * * * * * * *
    A solid plotline with a plethora of epic set-pieces and stirring moments of spine-tingling drama. The characters are predictable, but it's what you would and should expect from a Halo game.

    Graphically, this game has the unmistakably unique Halo style of aesthetics, which keeps it distinguishable. The sound effects are good and, like the graphical style, retain an unmistakable Halo feel. The voice acting is above average, but nothing standout. NPC dialogue is still bland and often cringe-worthy, but luckily, the main dialogue is usually noticeably better.

    The soundtrack is, in my opinion, easily one of the most stunning ever composed for a video-game. The amount of raw emotional power delivered through the expertly crafted soundtrack of Halo 3 is truly something to behold, and it will make your spine tingle more times than one could count. Martin O'Donnell certainly, without a doubt, gave this soundtrack everything he had. And it shows.

    The controls of Halo 3 are virtually the same as the previous two titles, and there is not necessarily anything wrong with that. The Halo control scheme is a classic layout, and to tamper with it inefficiently would be a bit of a drawback. However, the inherent lack of a sprint button by now, the third entry, is something worth mentioning. The HUD is still clear and simple, and provides just as much information as it has to.

    Meanwhile, there are virtually no bugs to speak of, and the system runs smoothly with the well-known Halo physics that are a blast to play around with. The biggest issue with the campaign is the somewhat tedious final few levels, such as the infamous and universally dreaded 'Cortana' level. The Flood are, as always, horribly annoying. Entire levels dedicated to them are beyond frustrating.

    There is good content here, and replay value is moderate.

    TOTAL SCORE FOR CAMPAIGN: 7/10

    * * * * * * * * * * *
    MULTIPLAYER
    * * * * * * * * * * *
    The ever-classic multiplayer mode of Halo has never been better than it is here.

    Halo 3 can proudly boast one of the most excellent multiplayer modes ever created for an FPS game. With plenty of modes to keep you occupied, lots of intense slayer battles to be fought, more flags and oddballs to be collected than one could hope for, Halo 3's multiplayer is superb in nearly every way. Truly, this is Halo 3's winning feature.

    The amount of fun to be had here is unmatched.

    TOTAL SCORE FOR MULTIPLAYER: 9/10

    * * * * * * * *
    FILM
    * * * * * * * *
    Film allows you to get a spectacularly detailed look at the campaign levels and multiplayer matches through the eyes of a spectator. It adds a whole new element to the mix.

    The controls can be occasionally finicky, but once mastered, Film can provide you with plenty of awesome views.

    It takes some getting used to, but if used well, it can be a mildly entertaining mode.

    TOTAL SCORE FOR FILM MODE: 7/10

    * * * * * * * *
    FORGE
    * * * * * * * *
    Forge allows the player to customize the default maps with additional weapons and items.

    Highly finicky, surprisingly buggy, and just very very frustrating. The amount of time and patience required to produce a customized map is rarely worth the result, especially with the annoyingly unwieldy controls.

    Hardly worth the effort necessary to be used. It's Lackluster, and there is little chance of repeat visits to this mode.

    TOTAL SCORE OF FORGE: 5/10

    * * * * * * * * THE VERDICT * * * * * * * * There is plenty of value in Halo 3. A good campaign that is sure to give you goose-bumps (but not without a few road-bumps here and there), and a stunning multiplayer mode that improves on the classic style in efficient ways. The replay value is high. Unfortunately, Film Mode and Forge detract a bit from the overall content, but not much. Halo 3 is a great gaming experience that has held up over the years. It's a true classic.
    Expand
  85. ChrisL.
    Oct 1, 2007
    6
    Unimaginatively dull. Graphics are pretty awful (for a 360 game) and seems more like a Halo 2 upgrade with hi-def polygons. Single player seems so rushed and so short. Sure multiplayer is frantic but it isn't exactly unique and brought nothing new to the genre that hasn't been done years ago by Id or Epic. Quite frankly if this was a no-name FPS title no one would be dishing out Unimaginatively dull. Graphics are pretty awful (for a 360 game) and seems more like a Halo 2 upgrade with hi-def polygons. Single player seems so rushed and so short. Sure multiplayer is frantic but it isn't exactly unique and brought nothing new to the genre that hasn't been done years ago by Id or Epic. Quite frankly if this was a no-name FPS title no one would be dishing out '10's to it. Expand
  86. Craig
    Oct 5, 2007
    6
    The graphics are pretty good and the story is nice, but the single player campaign is way too short. It took me just under 5 hours to beat it. Does have some replayability factor though, but it wasn't worth the hype.
  87. StevenD.
    Oct 7, 2007
    6
    Okay graphics, not as good as some FPS. Scripted campaign. You can't go everywhere like in some games. I felt like I was being led along. Same old Halo game play. Been there done that. Mediocre.
  88. ChaseB.
    Sep 26, 2007
    6
    Its halo 2.5, graphicaly it looks almost identical to Halo 2 and the single player is just as bad (though amazingly possibly shorter) than it was in the seccond one...deffinatly not near halo 1 levels. Bottom line is everyone who is still playing halo 2 will buy it (I did) and so what do the reviews matter. Most disappointing part is deffinatly the graphics (decent on SD TV awefull on Its halo 2.5, graphicaly it looks almost identical to Halo 2 and the single player is just as bad (though amazingly possibly shorter) than it was in the seccond one...deffinatly not near halo 1 levels. Bottom line is everyone who is still playing halo 2 will buy it (I did) and so what do the reviews matter. Most disappointing part is deffinatly the graphics (decent on SD TV awefull on HDTV), the undeveloped singleplayer and the overly balanced multiplayer (everything is so gimped you hafto look beyond shooting first and in the head to get an advantage...so its just boring even once you master it. Same game, its up to you if its worth it to buy...owning a 360 I don't regret it too much (though prolly wasn't worth 60 bucks) but definitely don't go out and buy one thinking this is going to be Halo 1 or Halo 2 again. Expand
  89. Juggernaut
    Feb 15, 2008
    6
    Now don't get me wrong, this is a good game, but it is really just the same old thing that Bungie has been coming out with for the last few years. Even though the single player campaign really isn't that great this time around. The only thing that makes the game worth while is the multiplayer. It is a fairly small multiplayer game though considering it can only support 16 Now don't get me wrong, this is a good game, but it is really just the same old thing that Bungie has been coming out with for the last few years. Even though the single player campaign really isn't that great this time around. The only thing that makes the game worth while is the multiplayer. It is a fairly small multiplayer game though considering it can only support 16 players in one server, it is still fun though. I am glad to see that Bungie still supports split screen multiplayer. My personal favorite thing to do is play Halo 3 with some friends. Also, I have to admit the enhanced physics and graphics do make the game cooler. The bodies actually move whe you T-bag them! Expand
  90. AnonymousMC
    Apr 10, 2008
    6
    I think there is something a lot of people her need to try and understand. Yahtzee surmised it perfectly when he said "a perfect game shouldn't need anything to excuse itself. QED".
    The amount of 10s being thrown around here and then the comments saying "this particular aspect wasn't very good but the mulitplayer PWNS LOL" is ridiculous and these people need to learn how the
    I think there is something a lot of people her need to try and understand. Yahtzee surmised it perfectly when he said "a perfect game shouldn't need anything to excuse itself. QED".
    The amount of 10s being thrown around here and then the comments saying "this particular aspect wasn't very good but the mulitplayer PWNS LOL" is ridiculous and these people need to learn how the "out of 10" rating system works. A 10 means perfect, untouchable, no possible faults, hence why only a few games in history deserve this particular title (Super Mario World for instance). Halo 3 is not one of them.
    Don't get me wrong, yes multiplayer is fun, (I particularly enjoy jugurnaught vs cars) but that does not excuse the weak storyline, serious lack of graphical inovation and general average-ness of the game.
    It's not bad... It's just not amazing
    Expand
  91. JohnChu
    May 25, 2008
    6
    This game is without a doubt the MOST OVER Hyped game in the history of console. Nothing suggests that it is in anyway remarkable over its predecessor Halo 2 beyond slight graphical improvements. Playthroughs involve a staid but still fun formula. If Rumors are true, Microsoft definitely had a hand in "gifting" magazine publications with positive reviews. Looking at metacritic scores,This game is without a doubt the MOST OVER Hyped game in the history of console. Nothing suggests that it is in anyway remarkable over its predecessor Halo 2 beyond slight graphical improvements. Playthroughs involve a staid but still fun formula. If Rumors are true, Microsoft definitely had a hand in "gifting" magazine publications with positive reviews. Looking at metacritic scores, one can see that 100s are largely in the xbox - centric publications. Expand
  92. TylerP.
    May 9, 2008
    6
    This game is ok, rather mediocre for all the hype. There was no need to add the garbage (i.e. bubble shields, regenerator, grav lifts, etc.). The maps are just plain mundane and symmetrical. Also, all the weapons have the same effectiveness. In other words, if I have a needler and you have a rocket launcher, I can easily kill you. Some of the new weapons are unnecessary, spiker = pellet This game is ok, rather mediocre for all the hype. There was no need to add the garbage (i.e. bubble shields, regenerator, grav lifts, etc.). The maps are just plain mundane and symmetrical. Also, all the weapons have the same effectiveness. In other words, if I have a needler and you have a rocket launcher, I can easily kill you. Some of the new weapons are unnecessary, spiker = pellet gun, mauler = shotgun, spartan laser = virtually impossible to charge and aim, and missile pod = anti-vehicle rocket launcher from Halo 2. Overall, this game may offer a few new things, but nothing that contributes to the enhancement of gameplay or interest. Expand
  93. RickyM.
    Aug 6, 2008
    6
    I don't care about it's popularity, in fact it's a good thing. Gigantic online community ensures that you'll always find a game. I just tire of doing the same thing over and over again. 1. Press left trigger and throw grenade at enemy. 2. Run at enemy 3. Hold right trigger. 4. Mash B button when they get close and smack them. Luckiest/First one to do this correctly I don't care about it's popularity, in fact it's a good thing. Gigantic online community ensures that you'll always find a game. I just tire of doing the same thing over and over again. 1. Press left trigger and throw grenade at enemy. 2. Run at enemy 3. Hold right trigger. 4. Mash B button when they get close and smack them. Luckiest/First one to do this correctly wins. Graphics are pretty. Tedious gameplay. Bland weapons make picking up others unnecessary. Feels outdated. Expand
  94. uncannyuncandy
    Jun 8, 2009
    6
    I gave it a 6.. well ..it is the most fun fps game on the xbox when it comes too co-op...and a good online gameplay*even tho ther are alot of kids flaming in voice chat wich ruins a game very fast* but it still has his old repeditive lvl design.. same charcters ..weapons.. graphics could be better *not saying they are bad* but they could have been alot better...and the story line is just I gave it a 6.. well ..it is the most fun fps game on the xbox when it comes too co-op...and a good online gameplay*even tho ther are alot of kids flaming in voice chat wich ruins a game very fast* but it still has his old repeditive lvl design.. same charcters ..weapons.. graphics could be better *not saying they are bad* but they could have been alot better...and the story line is just to boring to follow imo even tho i enjoyed the sarcasm/funny scenes during the cinematics alot. They realy need too put more effort in the physics aswell.. we are 7th generation where the imposible is posible.. halo3 is still in its 6th generation when it comes too physics. Also..something personal: it bums me out if i read these reviews, poeple saying its as good like half life and bioshock etc..those guys that are saying that are deffo halo fanatics!1 get real and see the facts.. i doubt most of you even ever played the single player. the game is far from great/awesome.. the developers are just rushing everything in my opinion. Expand
  95. PaulusK.
    Nov 10, 2007
    6
    Fairly competent shooter with a sterile feel. Did not evoke a sense of realism like Gears of War, and the graphics are by no means polished. The game looks as if the developers had lifted the graphics directly from Halo 2 (look at the facial expressions and speech) and draped some High Def effects over them. I was expecting a revolution in terms of involvement but it just did not happen. Fairly competent shooter with a sterile feel. Did not evoke a sense of realism like Gears of War, and the graphics are by no means polished. The game looks as if the developers had lifted the graphics directly from Halo 2 (look at the facial expressions and speech) and draped some High Def effects over them. I was expecting a revolution in terms of involvement but it just did not happen. If you want polished visuals coupled with complete immersion, forget this because all in all, not even close and definately no cigar. Shame. Expand
  96. SimonR.
    Oct 10, 2007
    6
    The underwhelming, short campaign is saved by the multi player and it's new features - but only just.The end sequence is disappointing and unsatisfying while the constant backtracking is frustrating. Of course this was always going to be a solid FPS and it is - I was just expecting more. If you're looking for Halo 2 with nicer graphics - Halo 3 is great (maybe Bungie should have The underwhelming, short campaign is saved by the multi player and it's new features - but only just.The end sequence is disappointing and unsatisfying while the constant backtracking is frustrating. Of course this was always going to be a solid FPS and it is - I was just expecting more. If you're looking for Halo 2 with nicer graphics - Halo 3 is great (maybe Bungie should have called it Halo 2.5?). If you're strapped for cash, don't have Live and can only choose one game at the moment... Bioshock is an infinitely more memorable and rewarding experience. Expand
  97. JamosStamos
    Nov 6, 2007
    6
    I havn't accually played but I've watched alot of people play it. Jus watching I've got to say I'm pretty disappointed. The graphics although an improvement, are not nearly as cool as I expected. The story was mediocore at best. The enemies are stupid, There is no stratigy involved! It's just who can kill how first. Instead of giving ememies more life andI havn't accually played but I've watched alot of people play it. Jus watching I've got to say I'm pretty disappointed. The graphics although an improvement, are not nearly as cool as I expected. The story was mediocore at best. The enemies are stupid, There is no stratigy involved! It's just who can kill how first. Instead of giving ememies more life and more powerful weapons, how about makeing them more tactical. I'd rather die because the enemy is better than me not because they have double the health and ten times more powerful weapons. The original Halo is the best because it was original...it has tons of room for improvement that Bungie failed to pick up on, in produceing Halo 2 and 3. These could have been so much better. It seemed like the campaign was an after thought. Please, make a good game first then worry about the multiplayer. Although fun, I'd rather be playing a awesome game with an awesome story line. Expand
  98. JulianS.
    Oct 2, 2007
    6
    The single player is absolutely horrible. It has a very flawed checkpoint system and gets far too frustrating. Gears of War never had me playing through the same stupid parts, even on Insane. Halo has me redoing some moments over and over again just on heroic. Bungie basically gave us a multiplayer game that finished a story that nobody cares about anymore.
  99. JackA.
    Oct 2, 2007
    6
    I was into Halo for the story. The original Halo set the standard and I guess it is just too hard to duplicate without seeming redundant. I liked Halo 2, but thought is was missing something, not much but just not quite up to the original. Halo 3 looked cool and all with the graphics and some new vehicles, but the story didn't flow well and just wasn't all that good to being I was into Halo for the story. The original Halo set the standard and I guess it is just too hard to duplicate without seeming redundant. I liked Halo 2, but thought is was missing something, not much but just not quite up to the original. Halo 3 looked cool and all with the graphics and some new vehicles, but the story didn't flow well and just wasn't all that good to being with. Hell, I'm still confused on some of it....LOL. The multiplayer stuff is first rate, and I guess that's what they were catering too. As for me, I was into the story, so this game didn't impress, and it seemed WAY too short. Sorry, Bungie, but you could have done a better job. Expand
  100. LukeR.
    Oct 5, 2007
    6
    Halo 2.5. 'The biggest media event of all time' was a massive letdown if you only seek the single-player experience. The 10s this game recieved are a joke, average graphics, dated gameplay and a short campaign mode and over the top hype. This game is nothing but average and should be rated as such.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's the addition of the Forge level editor and the saved films that give the game an even longer set of legs, legs that will probably keep you running at full speed until Bungie figures out where, exactly, to go from here.
  2. Halo 3 is the best Xbox 360 game to date. The single-player campaign and storyline are both very strong, but it's Forge and the Saved Films features that will likely go down in history as Bungie's crowning achievements. They've basically taken everything great about the series and improved upon it in every way, then added some amazing new features that we'll be using for years to come.
  3. 100
    It's solid gameplay, immense replayability, online functionality and incredible production values will ensure its place in video game history, and it is, without a doubt, a satisfying and fulfilling close to the beloved trilogy[?].