User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3811 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LordHoodLordHood
    May 24, 2007
    10
    AAAAAAAAAa beta is okay game will be better hate portabal grave lifts man cannon rocks CCAMPAIN better rule or else there will be hell to pay Dont give a crap about multiplayer HALO FOREVER!!!
  2. JamesA.
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    Single player is a blast, even better with 4 person co-op, weapons are more balanced, kewl custom multiplayer characters, just enough great new things to keep life in the Halo series.
  3. IanL.
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    Halo is simply the best game out there. Almost everything about it is flawless, and its replayability is endless.
  4. ClarkK.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    What a great game, I don't ever think I will get tired of the campaign mode. I love co-op, its great. I hate it when bitches expect to play the best game they have ever played though, even when they have never played the first two!
  5. Ian
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    I hated Halo 2. I didn't know Halo 1. I don't much like the single player for Halo 3, but I ADORE the multiplayer on it, which is a relief because I took a gamble after my Halo 2-hating. Why did I hate Halo 2? The community mostly. I'd never come across so much teenage angst and offensive trash talking. Out and out racism, bigotry, arrogance...ugh ugh ugh. But I gave Halo 3 I hated Halo 2. I didn't know Halo 1. I don't much like the single player for Halo 3, but I ADORE the multiplayer on it, which is a relief because I took a gamble after my Halo 2-hating. Why did I hate Halo 2? The community mostly. I'd never come across so much teenage angst and offensive trash talking. Out and out racism, bigotry, arrogance...ugh ugh ugh. But I gave Halo 3 a good outing this weekend, and I haven't had such a good, solid, FUN session online for a loooong time. GREAT community, beautifully balanced gameplay, terrific level and game style design everywhere - I can't recommend it enough. Really. If you like online shooters and don't dislike a sci-fi theme with lasers and the like thrown in with the machine guns, this is the best value for cash you'll find anywhere. Expand
  6. AaronA.
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    Halo 3 is way to good for humanity. It's awesome campaign really made me feel good about myself. The A.I are extremely intelligent. Way more advanced then any other FPS, except Bioshocks. I think this came takes the (Pie.) Way to go Bungie.
  7. ScottR.
    Oct 4, 2007
    10
    Halo3 has suffered from too much media-hype and spin but we shouldn't let this detract from what is and excellent FPS. Yes the campaign is flawed and at times baffeling but the rich environments, engadging AI and range of enemies make the single player deserving of much more credit than it's been given. The multiplayer is everything I expected and really does live up to Halo3 has suffered from too much media-hype and spin but we shouldn't let this detract from what is and excellent FPS. Yes the campaign is flawed and at times baffeling but the rich environments, engadging AI and range of enemies make the single player deserving of much more credit than it's been given. The multiplayer is everything I expected and really does live up to expectations; the graphics, balance of weapons, levels, gameplay, game variants are all very well thought out. Bungie's community driven approach to the development of the multiplayer seems to have been the key to it's success - they truly have listened to what gamers wanted and responded in kind with a game that lovers of FPSs (and the Halo series) cannot fail to enjoy. Halo3 is a landmark in FPS multiplayers that really does improve on classics such as the N64's Goldeneye and Perfect Dark (yes it was actually good on the 64), we can only hope that more quality games, like this, are made - because I could do without another Harry Potter or GTA spin-off. Expand
  8. ToddE.
    Oct 5, 2007
    10
    Amazing game. Everything you loved about Halo and Halo2 is here and then some. It is amazing that one review site gave this a 7.0 rating. Obviously trying to stand out and get some action on his site.
  9. GaryR.
    Oct 6, 2007
    10
    Amazing, i honestly play this game every single day, the multiplayer is that addictive i havent even started the campaign yet.
  10. CurtisK.
    Oct 6, 2007
    10
    Co-op is top notch along with best multi-player available on any console.
  11. joeycarreras
    Oct 7, 2007
    10
    best game ever made
  12. NathanP.
    Oct 8, 2007
    10
    Most game for your money. Very polished and balanced. Better features then any console game.
  13. JoeD.
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    I waited in front of the store at midnight, bought the game, and love the hell out of it. Im really confused at all the people who are giving the game bad rating because it wasnt new and different. You loved halo, you loved halo 2, but wait!!! halo 3 isnt a completely different game?! WHY would you expect halo 3 to be any different from the first two? Go cry yourself to sleep with your I waited in front of the store at midnight, bought the game, and love the hell out of it. Im really confused at all the people who are giving the game bad rating because it wasnt new and different. You loved halo, you loved halo 2, but wait!!! halo 3 isnt a completely different game?! WHY would you expect halo 3 to be any different from the first two? Go cry yourself to sleep with your ps3 fanboys. The graphics were amazing(for all those who disagree, go buy an HDTV) Bungie couldnt have done a better job. Expand
  14. Jake
    Sep 27, 2007
    10
    Halo 3 isn't great in a mindblowing way. It doesn't rock your world like Bioshock or Gears of War or Oblivion did when you first got your hands on them. It plays a lot like the previous games. But what Halo 3 does achieve is that it is very fun. The pacing is brilliant. The gameplay varies in campaign a ton for a shooter. The checkpoints are frequent, so playing the game on high Halo 3 isn't great in a mindblowing way. It doesn't rock your world like Bioshock or Gears of War or Oblivion did when you first got your hands on them. It plays a lot like the previous games. But what Halo 3 does achieve is that it is very fun. The pacing is brilliant. The gameplay varies in campaign a ton for a shooter. The checkpoints are frequent, so playing the game on high difficulty is challenging without being frustrating because you are always thrust back into the spot in which you are stuck. And the features. My god this baby has years of stuff in there. Forge, co-op, metagame, campaign, multiplayer, and the fact that you can go see Bungie's favorite user created films and maps. It is just sick. So yeah, go buy the game. It is very fun. Expand
  15. AnonymousMC
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    With gears and bioshock taken into account, as well as the enormous hype that surrounded the game, Halo 3 still shines. This game is enjoyable to the point that the only contention comes not from game flaws but from personal preference, or perhaps the undeniable draw to be a dissident. Think the campaign too short? Have you Beaten it on solo legendary yet? How about multiplayer? Halo 3 isWith gears and bioshock taken into account, as well as the enormous hype that surrounded the game, Halo 3 still shines. This game is enjoyable to the point that the only contention comes not from game flaws but from personal preference, or perhaps the undeniable draw to be a dissident. Think the campaign too short? Have you Beaten it on solo legendary yet? How about multiplayer? Halo 3 is sure to be an icon of online gaming for years to come. This game has incredible replay value, and ultimately the number one reason I'm giving it a 10 is this; it is FUN. Remember, even if you happened to like the pistol as a superweapon, or don't enjoy non-mouse FPS games, individual preference does not make this game any less than what it is.

    But there is one thing.. where is our Blood Gulch Bungie? Where is the love?
    Expand
  16. CarlosZ.
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    Amazing, beautiful, its the best game of the years
  17. RodL.
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    Amazing envolving gameplay. I wasn't the biggest fan of Halo or Halo 2, but Halo 3 blows my mind. The way you can use your brain to get yourself out of sticky situations by using your surroundings and the tools that the game provides (e.g. gravity grenade) adds the extra spice to this already awesome FPS. The sceneries are gorgeous and the vehicles tons of fun. The story, music, and Amazing envolving gameplay. I wasn't the biggest fan of Halo or Halo 2, but Halo 3 blows my mind. The way you can use your brain to get yourself out of sticky situations by using your surroundings and the tools that the game provides (e.g. gravity grenade) adds the extra spice to this already awesome FPS. The sceneries are gorgeous and the vehicles tons of fun. The story, music, and rest of the production values are all first class. This is the definition of an epic videogame! Expand
  18. Wally
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    This game was brilliant, the graphics I first noticed weren't incredible, but then it became shown that Bungie were trying the graphics from a different angle than the first Halos. Whether this is good for u, u decide, but the graphics dont really matter. I dont get y so many people complain of a too short SP, i finished Halo2 on legendary by myself several times and it took me the This game was brilliant, the graphics I first noticed weren't incredible, but then it became shown that Bungie were trying the graphics from a different angle than the first Halos. Whether this is good for u, u decide, but the graphics dont really matter. I dont get y so many people complain of a too short SP, i finished Halo2 on legendary by myself several times and it took me the same amount of time to finish halo 3 co-op on heroic as finishing GOW on casual. The forge is unbelievably cool, i spent an entire hour just fiddling round with the grav-lifts alone on narrows. Although I do wish Bungie kept some more of the maps from Halo2 on the game. Perhaps they'll be able to be downloaded from XboxLive. Brilliant game, excellent. Awesome how now basically everything is destructable including phantoms and scarabs. Collapse
  19. ArmandusM.
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    Overhyped.Short Campaign. Repetetive.Unrealistic.Halo 2 with better graphics. Nothing New. All these things have been said about Halo 3 but it cant change the fact that Halo 3 is FUN. If it isn't fun then why are there millions of halo 3 matches everyday. If the campaign is boring then why have there been 4,360,038,799 kills in total as recorded by bungie.net as of today. And as for Overhyped.Short Campaign. Repetetive.Unrealistic.Halo 2 with better graphics. Nothing New. All these things have been said about Halo 3 but it cant change the fact that Halo 3 is FUN. If it isn't fun then why are there millions of halo 3 matches everyday. If the campaign is boring then why have there been 4,360,038,799 kills in total as recorded by bungie.net as of today. And as for nothing new...what about saved films, the forge, skulls, achievements, terminals. And it all boils down to halo 3 being a really fun game, you dont have to be able to shoot through walls and be ultra-realistic like Call of Duty 4, or have a really good story and have rpg elements like bioshock, at the end of the day halo 3 is insanely fun and there are millions of gamers out there who say the same. Expand
  20. RussleD.
    Dec 9, 2008
    10
    A great game, the gameplay was flawless, the graphics were fine, but for a next gen game, i would have expected more. Graphics are not everything as this game proofed it by the great gameplay and many features. I can't wait for the expansion, even tho the game has excellent replay value.
  21. AdamM.
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    Fantastic, better than all the other FPS games as a whole, has so many extra multiplayer parts, longetivity elements, and fun, that it will keep you playing for years to come.
  22. DylanL.
    Feb 1, 2008
    10
    Just a few tweaks from perfection, but those tweaks are minor ones so its still prime.
  23. PhilA.
    Feb 2, 2008
    10
    Unbelievable game, just stunning! Don't listen to anyone in the comments stating, "OMG Call of Duty 4 owns dis sucky Halo!!!" We call them "fanboys," most of them decided to predetermine Halo 3 as a bad game simply because Halo 2 was the best AND NOWHERE NEAR UNDERDOG STATUS. Call of Duty 4 is it's closest competitor, so most of them decided to support it. Halo 3 earned Unbelievable game, just stunning! Don't listen to anyone in the comments stating, "OMG Call of Duty 4 owns dis sucky Halo!!!" We call them "fanboys," most of them decided to predetermine Halo 3 as a bad game simply because Halo 2 was the best AND NOWHERE NEAR UNDERDOG STATUS. Call of Duty 4 is it's closest competitor, so most of them decided to support it. Halo 3 earned it's spot at the top again, just like the last two iterations BY FAR. Get this amazing game, and ignore the Call of Duty fanboys' useless moaning. Expand
  24. EricF.
    Feb 5, 2008
    10
    Halo 3 is one of the best games on the 360 I can play. I still don't put it down after hours of enjoyment. I give it a 10 out 10 because it made me leave CoD4 in the dust!
  25. NB
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    This is a great game, but the story a bit too small, not enough play quickly, can only be used outside the plot came to add,the whole, this is a very great game
  26. JordanSamuell
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Holy... you guys are fucking retarded I'm laughing at the people who give this a low rate (1-5) you guys have NO idea how good this game is BECAUSE 1.You don't have XBOX LIVE. or 2. You're just mentally retarded because yea... the campaign story line all that shit NO ONE, cares about only you nerds care about, is pretty bad.. but you have no experience what this game is likeHoly... you guys are fucking retarded I'm laughing at the people who give this a low rate (1-5) you guys have NO idea how good this game is BECAUSE 1.You don't have XBOX LIVE. or 2. You're just mentally retarded because yea... the campaign story line all that shit NO ONE, cares about only you nerds care about, is pretty bad.. but you have no experience what this game is like online, freaks... Expand
  27. jacka.
    Mar 3, 2009
    10
    This game is truly incredible. The gameplay is fun, engaging and fresh and the cutscenes and particularly the music make the story a fantastic end to the Halo trilogy. I cannot think of a better first person shooter I have ever played, on any console. There is no more of a fitting end possible to the trilogy started by a game that brought fps games to the consoles. Goodby Halo, it has This game is truly incredible. The gameplay is fun, engaging and fresh and the cutscenes and particularly the music make the story a fantastic end to the Halo trilogy. I cannot think of a better first person shooter I have ever played, on any console. There is no more of a fitting end possible to the trilogy started by a game that brought fps games to the consoles. Goodby Halo, it has been a fantastic run. Expand
  28. TylerM
    May 17, 2009
    10
    Halo 3 is one of best shooters ever released. It is so high on the ladder, its only competition is Call of Duty 4. The campaign, multiplayer, Forge mode, Co-Op and film make it a must have package, all around.
  29. JacobB.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    One of the best games I have played in a long time
  30. DavidK.
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    The multiplayer is indeed frighteningly extensive, and the single player campaign - although something of a breeze if you tackle it with a team of four - ultimately satisfying. We enjoyed the hell out of ourselves.
  31. SamJ.
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    Hey Jon W... anyone can finish halo 3 on easy in 2 hours. how bout we sprout some balls and play it on legendary?? might take u a bit longer. have a nice day. sweet game btw
  32. BenF.
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    This Halo owns! face it all you people who deny the gr8ness, it brings so much more to what halo 2 was. the AI is exellent, with groups of brutes sticking together as a team and when a brute is near death he will use the equipment he has to extend his life, or charge towards you in a rage, weaving left and right making it harder to shoot him. the hammer guys are also very smart, using the This Halo owns! face it all you people who deny the gr8ness, it brings so much more to what halo 2 was. the AI is exellent, with groups of brutes sticking together as a team and when a brute is near death he will use the equipment he has to extend his life, or charge towards you in a rage, weaving left and right making it harder to shoot him. the hammer guys are also very smart, using the same crazy charge, while expertly dodging your bullets and if they run low on health they become invincible! and if its to easy 4 u lot, try playing it above easy mode, it kinda helps. the alternate armor permutations for multi-player mode are also very innovative and cool, and the new skull and point system is great, encouraging players to relive the levels with point mode on, and the various skulls serve as point multipliers while making the game more challenging. face it people, Halo 3 rules. Expand
  33. UNreal
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    Besides Bioshock, this is the best game out right now. all the haters out there writing about how crappy the game is, they really don't know anything. It's a huge innovation over the last and yes, the conclusion isn't what it should've been but if you stay and watch after the end credits are over, you'll feel absolutely glad you bought the game. jerks...
  34. MattD.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    This game is amazing and for all the "gamers" who gave it a one or a two....you must no nothing about video games. If you dont understand the story of Halo, lets just say you need some "help". I had been waiting for this game to come out and it is the best game I have ever played. You will understand if you play it on an HDTV. There is a huge difference between this game and I would like This game is amazing and for all the "gamers" who gave it a one or a two....you must no nothing about video games. If you dont understand the story of Halo, lets just say you need some "help". I had been waiting for this game to come out and it is the best game I have ever played. You will understand if you play it on an HDTV. There is a huge difference between this game and I would like somebody to name 5 games that are better than this one. Incase you havent noticed, all the critics are rating this game from 90 to 100. The Campaign take like 5-7 hours to finish, and i dont think that is very short. This Game Deserves a 10. Expand
  35. TerrellN.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    When I first picked up this game and played a while I thought "Why all the hype?" At first I saw it as nowhere near as good as the majesty of games like Gears of War, Quake, and Half Life 2 just to name a few. But then I looked at this game from a different angle. WHat if I had been raised on other genres and had never spent so much time playing other first person shooters? And then one When I first picked up this game and played a while I thought "Why all the hype?" At first I saw it as nowhere near as good as the majesty of games like Gears of War, Quake, and Half Life 2 just to name a few. But then I looked at this game from a different angle. WHat if I had been raised on other genres and had never spent so much time playing other first person shooters? And then one day I come across My first FPS. It is an all new experience to me. It is Halo! And then they release the final game in the series at its prime. I would love it to death. So Here is my point. If you play very few real FPSs then Halo 3 is actually pretty amazing. But if you were raised on the likes of Quake, Unreal,Half Life,Doom, aand Gears then this game is a 4 at best. Expand
  36. TomBrady
    Oct 17, 2007
    10
    I loved this game. i have never played a game with those shooty things before. i found a xbox in my mailbox and thought i might want to try it. i tryed to kill someone for hours, but i cant. i played it for 481/2 hoursbut finally gave up. i love this game
  37. JonS.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    This is one of the best games i have played this year. the graphics are freaking sweet. the story is sweet. the weapons are a bad to the bone as always. the hammer is one of my favorite weapons but the shotgun still kick alien butts. i love this game and the Spartian still kicking butts and taking name. and saving the world agian. if you did not like this game you have some major issues. This is one of the best games i have played this year. the graphics are freaking sweet. the story is sweet. the weapons are a bad to the bone as always. the hammer is one of my favorite weapons but the shotgun still kick alien butts. i love this game and the Spartian still kicking butts and taking name. and saving the world agian. if you did not like this game you have some major issues. and i said to get help. Expand
  38. JonL.
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    Awesome online gaming. Period.
  39. SenorS.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    This game is definitely worth it if you have xbox live, but if you are living in the dark ages of gaming and don't have it, just rent it...the campaign is good but plays through in a week (on legendary)
  40. JasonN.
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    Fantastic culmination to the Halo universe. There is so much this game offers, it can barely be described. Anyone complaining that this game is too short has not dipped into the nearly limitless options the game has. Thought the campaign was to short? Try turning the campaign scoring and some of the skulls on. The game completely changes. I was addicted the first time I put Halo 3 in my Fantastic culmination to the Halo universe. There is so much this game offers, it can barely be described. Anyone complaining that this game is too short has not dipped into the nearly limitless options the game has. Thought the campaign was to short? Try turning the campaign scoring and some of the skulls on. The game completely changes. I was addicted the first time I put Halo 3 in my console, granted I have been a fan of Halo since the release of the Xbox, but every time I play I notice something new. The ability to save movies, clips, and screenshots and create game types and maps is technologically mind blowing. I don't know how Bungie did it, but thank you is all I can say. Also, I love the new Bungie.net and all the options it offers that coincide with Halo 3. Especially the ability to queue map and gametype downloads while on my computer that instantly download the next time I load up Halo 3 on my Xbox 360. Again, thank you, Bungie. Expand
  41. GavinM.
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    Well it may not be perfect (no game ever is) or totally innovative (no game ever needs to be) it is fun. It is just about the most fun I've ever had with an FPS. The levels never seemed to drag, the pacing was good and the gaming was polished to a chrome-like shine. The story itself is interesting and all the easter eggs throughout the game helped deepen it and answer some long Well it may not be perfect (no game ever is) or totally innovative (no game ever needs to be) it is fun. It is just about the most fun I've ever had with an FPS. The levels never seemed to drag, the pacing was good and the gaming was polished to a chrome-like shine. The story itself is interesting and all the easter eggs throughout the game helped deepen it and answer some long awaited questions. The ending itself was well done and lends the series a very Arthurian feel (Once and Future King). The campaign alone would be worth it but Bungie has also loaded the game with many other features like movie creation tools, level editing tools (that also serve as a game type) and a great multiplayer system that is and has always been loads of fun. The allusions to previous Halos were all well done and many of the later levels give rise to some of the best battles I've ever had the pleasure of playing through (the level The Covenant being a great one). Overall the game deserves a 10 for creating a game that, while not totally innovative or groundbreaking, is some of the most fun you can have on any console. The game is well made and loaded with features which makes it very deserving of praise if only for its excellent production values on all levels from graphical design, to music, to the game's amazing AI. Every piece of the game works well and provides a fun experience. It isn't the second coming or the greatest thing since sliced bread but I'd probably take it over those two in a pinch (unless I wanted a sandwich) simply because it is so damn fun to play through. Expand
  42. CoryD.
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    This game pretty much hasn't left my console since I got it... Sure the campaign (although fantastic) only lasted the first few days playing, there is so much replay in this game (RE: Xlive Multiplayer), that to call it anything less than the best online game is missing the whole point of multiplayer.
  43. AsadM.
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    Game is amazingly polished, the graphics take time to show you their true beauty, maby not as in your face as GOW but great nonetheless. Having played all the Halo games I was very happy with the ending (remeber half is before the credits and half after). The mutiplayer co op with added campaign scoring is a blast, and as for it being too short, it seemed just as long as the other games. Game is amazingly polished, the graphics take time to show you their true beauty, maby not as in your face as GOW but great nonetheless. Having played all the Halo games I was very happy with the ending (remeber half is before the credits and half after). The mutiplayer co op with added campaign scoring is a blast, and as for it being too short, it seemed just as long as the other games. Play on legendary if its too easy! This game will be played for a long long time! Expand
  44. mintyvader
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    Halo 3. what more is there to say? the graphics make your eyes melt, the multiplayer is second to none, and some of the campeign levels are the most fun i have ever had playing a videogame. i will admit it does have its problems, but if you like shooting stuff, absolutely insant multiplayer, and blowing stuff up, this is the game for you.
  45. LordSergenteen
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    Your not getting the picture you freaks. Halo is more about you sucking at it and therefore hating it. Halo is about having fun and enjoying one of the greatest story lines ever created and having many friends in your multiplayer games having fun.. You are just to emo and deprest on life to realize how fun it is. Halo 3 is the best game of the year and the number one title ever
    Thank
    Your not getting the picture you freaks. Halo is more about you sucking at it and therefore hating it. Halo is about having fun and enjoying one of the greatest story lines ever created and having many friends in your multiplayer games having fun.. You are just to emo and deprest on life to realize how fun it is. Halo 3 is the best game of the year and the number one title ever
    Thank you bungie!!!
    Expand
  46. TJW.
    Oct 4, 2007
    10
    Just absolutely the best game ever invented. Period. I mean the SP was a little tiny bit of a let down, but in whole this is truly better than any other console or PC game out there. Only thing that comes close would be HL2 / Source Games, but that just hasn't seemed the same since it's been out so many years now.
  47. AnonymousMC
    Oct 4, 2007
    10
    A lot of these comments are nitpicking and don't actually mention the best aspects of the game. It's the definitive first person shooter on consoles, and dare to name me a multiplayer that's more fun to play on xbox live, wii connect, or playstation network. It took me at least 4-5 days of constant playing to get through the campaign, find all the skulls, build up toA lot of these comments are nitpicking and don't actually mention the best aspects of the game. It's the definitive first person shooter on consoles, and dare to name me a multiplayer that's more fun to play on xbox live, wii connect, or playstation network. It took me at least 4-5 days of constant playing to get through the campaign, find all the skulls, build up to lieutenant in the rankings, tweak around with forge, watch tons of saved films, export photos to bungie.net, and download other people's badass videos. There is little that can't be done. It's like a great online PC game, with almost all the capabilities you'll need (record demo's, edit maps, good connection, microphone/text support, friends list) packed in. It feels like it's worth twice the pricetag. I hated the idea of a $60 game before, but I have to rethink that for Halo 3. Expand
  48. Caleb
    Oct 4, 2007
    10
    All of the pieces (Campaign, Co-Op, Campaign Scoring, Forge, Multiplayer, Theater) to make this the game with the most lasting power I've ever experienced.
  49. NathanM.
    Oct 5, 2007
    10
    The Amazing ending of an Amazing trilogy.
  50. ChrisF.
    Oct 5, 2007
    10
    A nice conclusion to an epic trilogy. Graphics look amazing, some definate awe moments, especially near the end. MP is done to perfection
  51. CodyR.
    Oct 6, 2007
    10
    This is a great game, most people who newly come in wont see what the big deal is. But their is a big deal because its an incredible game, one of the greatest i ever played. It deserves a 9 if i take into account all the people that won't like it if their not halo 1+2 fanatics, but im giving it a 10 because all of the people that gave it a 0. I;m giving a shoutout to all those This is a great game, most people who newly come in wont see what the big deal is. But their is a big deal because its an incredible game, one of the greatest i ever played. It deserves a 9 if i take into account all the people that won't like it if their not halo 1+2 fanatics, but im giving it a 10 because all of the people that gave it a 0. I;m giving a shoutout to all those people. YOU SUCK. Expand
  52. JimmyC.
    Oct 7, 2007
    10
    Well, I would have given it a 9.5, but I'll round it up because it's Halo. The game is pretty much perfect. The only downside I had with it was that it was short. Short, but I could play through it 100 times. So it makes up for it. It's Halo. You're the Chief. And everything comes to an end. It's what we've all been waiting for, so why is everyone Well, I would have given it a 9.5, but I'll round it up because it's Halo. The game is pretty much perfect. The only downside I had with it was that it was short. Short, but I could play through it 100 times. So it makes up for it. It's Halo. You're the Chief. And everything comes to an end. It's what we've all been waiting for, so why is everyone complaining? Isn't it exactly what you waited for? It was for me. The music, graphics and gameplay were all rock solid. New vehicles and guns were an excellent addition. They could have made no change to the game whatsoever and just made it end and I would have been happy, but Bungie stepped it up. The new vehicles are nice, too, with the Hornet being my favorite. And the battle with the two spider tanks was epic to say the least. With amazing battles, great graphics, and heroic moments that leave you smiling and saying "Hell, yeah, that's what Halo is about", I'd say Halo 3 is definately one of the best games out today. Expand
  53. JackS.
    Oct 8, 2007
    10
    Who cares if it didnt completly change what halo 2 and 1 established, you know what they say if it aint broke dont fix it. The game keeps the awesomeness of halo 2 but rejuvenates it with nice graphics weapons maps equipment, and enough with the halo 2.5 nonsense, map editor, video editor, 4 player online coop, complex and in depth stat tracking system, equipment, completly makes it a Who cares if it didnt completly change what halo 2 and 1 established, you know what they say if it aint broke dont fix it. The game keeps the awesomeness of halo 2 but rejuvenates it with nice graphics weapons maps equipment, and enough with the halo 2.5 nonsense, map editor, video editor, 4 player online coop, complex and in depth stat tracking system, equipment, completly makes it a fresh experience. And if you think multiplayer is the same as halo 2 you barley played the game or suck at it, halo 2 multiplayer is very fine tuned and balanced adding one minor thing can drastically change the way its played, the introduction of equipment, unmountable turrets new weapons, completly changes the way the game is played, and not to mention halo 3 dual weilding is almost obsolete, unlike in halo 2 in which it was very important. Expand
  54. JesseMckinnon
    Sep 23, 2007
    10
    I just wanna say I have friend who works at EB so I got a copy early. I beat the game the story was epic and left a tear in your eye in the end. The grahics are amazeing Master Chief's amour has never shinned so beatafuly in the sun. As usaul the gameplay delivers. Brutes are a good challange esapacily on Legendary duffucty. Online never gets old and with 4 player co-op and many greatI just wanna say I have friend who works at EB so I got a copy early. I beat the game the story was epic and left a tear in your eye in the end. The grahics are amazeing Master Chief's amour has never shinned so beatafuly in the sun. As usaul the gameplay delivers. Brutes are a good challange esapacily on Legendary duffucty. Online never gets old and with 4 player co-op and many great gametypes and Forge and Savefilms lets just say this game will be turning in my 360 for quiet a long time and dont forget PS3 sucks!!! Expand
  55. CorySmyth
    Sep 24, 2007
    10
    I can't rate this game any less than 10 due to the amount of fun that is possible to have with this game. You get the regular single player and multiplayer games and you also get the forge, the innovative replay and saved films feature and everything else that comes along with that. If Halo 1 and 2 get rated 95/100 then this for sure gets a 100/100 simply due to the fact that it hasI can't rate this game any less than 10 due to the amount of fun that is possible to have with this game. You get the regular single player and multiplayer games and you also get the forge, the innovative replay and saved films feature and everything else that comes along with that. If Halo 1 and 2 get rated 95/100 then this for sure gets a 100/100 simply due to the fact that it has what both of the previous games had, the only things changed were for the better and if you are to take an amazing game and simply make it better then it should get a better rating. Expand
  56. VictoriaParkins
    Sep 24, 2007
    10
    I have a PS3, Wii and 360, but this game has just demonstarted to me why 360 is so far ahead in what it has to offer. I'll be selling my PS3 before Xmas and I'm sure my Wii will see some action again this Xmas on Wii Sports before it goes back in the cupboard. Halo 3 is the best game ever made without a shadow of a doubt. There is just so much in the game that it will take a longI have a PS3, Wii and 360, but this game has just demonstarted to me why 360 is so far ahead in what it has to offer. I'll be selling my PS3 before Xmas and I'm sure my Wii will see some action again this Xmas on Wii Sports before it goes back in the cupboard. Halo 3 is the best game ever made without a shadow of a doubt. There is just so much in the game that it will take a long time to experience it all, and every single part of it is absolutely flawless. I'm so glad this has come out in Septmember to give me an opportunity to play the other amazing games coming over the next few months. I have my eyes on Mass Effect once I'm done here. Expand
  57. chrisL
    Sep 24, 2007
    10
    been playing the game for the last 2 hours in campaign mode let me tell you its great to be an aussie an get this game officaly 1 day before you americans (gotta love the internation date line)

    awesum 1010 great stuff bungie i doubted you could match halo 2 but you have not only matched but far exeeded this halo geeks expectations

    suck on it sony
  58. TylerD.
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    My expectations were fairly high, but Halo 3 blew me away. Amazing multiplayer, great creative opprotunities, and a brilliant campaign mode add up to what every 360 owner should own: Halo 3.
  59. DavidC.
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    Pretty much as good as it gets. Short but great campaign, fantastic multiplayer, good graphics, great sound, top notch controls and endless options.
  60. JasonL.
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    After last night, playing it for 5 hours non stop, I can easily see how the improvements have made this game better. This game really takes off on the 360 and you can see how Bungie's vision of Halo2 was stunted due to the smaller environments. I like to think that Halo2 was originally meant to be the final, but the 360 gave Bungie the hardware to make a better version of Halo 2. After last night, playing it for 5 hours non stop, I can easily see how the improvements have made this game better. This game really takes off on the 360 and you can see how Bungie's vision of Halo2 was stunted due to the smaller environments. I like to think that Halo2 was originally meant to be the final, but the 360 gave Bungie the hardware to make a better version of Halo 2. Thus Halo3 is born. This is no way an indication that it should be called Halo 2.5. It doesn't have the feeling of potential wasted that the Halo2 campaign gave me. Also the comment - 5 Minutes of gameplay in 24 hours makes absolutely no sense as a critical comment. It's one of those things critics like to say because it initially sounds clever. It is a stupid comment as it literally applies to most games anyway. Halo3 manages to bring grand vision and excellent game play to the console market. Like Halo 2 and Halo before it, I will be playing this game for years to come. Expand
  61. DanielMW
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    Having played it myself, Halo 3 lives up to the hype. At times easily the best-looking game on Xbox360. The story is well delivered. The environments are colossal and the busiest you'll find in an FPS. 4-player co-op, motion blur, 3D water (with physics), foliage that moves and the best HDR lighting ever. All of that stuff adds up. Then there
  62. ALexP.
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    Great graphics, awesome story, amazing gameplay, total 10.
  63. A.D.
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    Absolutely amazing. Whoever says this game is only 5 or 6 hours long must be playing on easy. I'm playing on heroic, have already put in over 5 1/2 hours and I'm not even to level 5 out of 9. This game is the total package. Saved Films feature is awesome. I never thought watching both the SP and MP action would be so cool. The MP is perfectly balanced. Also, with those Absolutely amazing. Whoever says this game is only 5 or 6 hours long must be playing on easy. I'm playing on heroic, have already put in over 5 1/2 hours and I'm not even to level 5 out of 9. This game is the total package. Saved Films feature is awesome. I never thought watching both the SP and MP action would be so cool. The MP is perfectly balanced. Also, with those complaining about the graphics, I thought they wouldn't be up to par. In reality, they're outstanding. You really can't appreciate the beauty of the environments until you watch a saved film of the campaign. Great, great stuff. Oh yeah, the Brute Chopper is sweet. Expand
  64. CassioC.
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    Excellent game! Multiplayer is a blast, and the balance between melee, shoot and grenade is finally back! Graphics are great, but not spectacular, although this is forgiven due to the sheer size of the maps. Pity the series will end with Halo 3... Keep it alive Bungie!
  65. PhillipB.
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    Most addicting game ever! Campaign was fun! Can't wait to go thru and play it on the hardest difficulty with three friedns. Multi-Player is the most fun you can have in a videogame, PERIOD!!! New game modes and tweaks to the tried and true make every game memorable. Then, you can watch the movie of that one head shot you had that caused the guy to fall into a man cannon and get his Most addicting game ever! Campaign was fun! Can't wait to go thru and play it on the hardest difficulty with three friedns. Multi-Player is the most fun you can have in a videogame, PERIOD!!! New game modes and tweaks to the tried and true make every game memorable. Then, you can watch the movie of that one head shot you had that caused the guy to fall into a man cannon and get his dead body shot across the map; after you watch it you can upload it so all your friends can see too! Graphics are spectacular. Physics are amazing. You can bump a small tree with the Warthog and watch the tree shake.... A Perfect Game! Expand
  66. Dawreck
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    Finished the game on normal difficulty and I see why some where disappointed with the ending. The ending may be better on legendary setting since its suppose to be different. I don't rate games based on the specifics of the story, unless theirs a severe lack of structure.. If u want a story I suggest u pocket ur $60 and get a cheap rental movie. When u start a game at night and Finished the game on normal difficulty and I see why some where disappointed with the ending. The ending may be better on legendary setting since its suppose to be different. I don't rate games based on the specifics of the story, unless theirs a severe lack of structure.. If u want a story I suggest u pocket ur $60 and get a cheap rental movie. When u start a game at night and accidentaly play till daylight.....that's what I call a 10. Halo 3 doesnt have a adaptive story influenced by ur "handling" certain foes like bioshock. What it does have is a "take no prisoners" mentality that's addicting in so many ways! If u want to play a game with true American ideals buy halo 3 and practice social equality......killing spree! Expand
  67. SeanH.
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    Pure Halo Perfection. Everything we loved about the Halo universe and a few new tricks. Great visuals, amazing score, dynamic voice acting, action galore. If you don't like this game there is something wrong with you.
  68. MikeJ.
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    best game of the trilogy!
  69. adam
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    Its funny, if you look at all 3 halo games on metacritic, it almost exactly the same scores every game. Critics give the game ABOUT an 9.5 and users give it ABOUT an 8. If you give halo 3 a bad rating, just remember that every single halo game has the same exact gripes as the last. Way to fall in line and repeat everything that everyone has already said about the previous 2 games, very smart.
  70. EricK>
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    Lives up to the hype. I own both the PS3 and the Xbox 360 and love both, but this game hands down blows away anything available on the PS3.
  71. BrentA.
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    Halo 3 is a excellent game that lives up to the hype. People that are rating this game low just have a grudge or haven't played it. The gameplay is incredible in both the single player and multiplayer. The environments are great with a lot of detail. This game will keep people entertained for years to come. It doesn't get much better then this.
  72. AllanL.
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    Completely lives up to the hype.
  73. BG
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    The most overhyped game of all time, but arguably the best game of all time. Pros: Great gameplay, forge, real-time level editor, saved replays with freemoving camera, tons of vehichles and guns, online is awesome, and very good story. Cons: Most equipment besides the regenerater and bubble shield is useless. Umm.... I guess that's it.
  74. LdubbzO.
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    Halo 3 is the best FPS bar none. What other game can offer the mix of strategy and fun that Halo brings. You can play through the single player a million times, especially with your buds. The MP is the best console has ever seen. What bugs me is what people are saying about the graphics...what game are you looking at? Its Halo in HD with great textures and effects, with levels and enemies Halo 3 is the best FPS bar none. What other game can offer the mix of strategy and fun that Halo brings. You can play through the single player a million times, especially with your buds. The MP is the best console has ever seen. What bugs me is what people are saying about the graphics...what game are you looking at? Its Halo in HD with great textures and effects, with levels and enemies so huge they literally blow you away. I think people forget that Halo 2 STILL looks. Best game ever IMHO. Expand
  75. Chris
    Sep 27, 2007
    10
    This is an excellent game with a compelling story and amazing graphics. Everything moves fluidly together and finishing the game leaves you fulfilled. Bungie has truely made an amazing trilogy and has created a world of epic proportions.
  76. JeffA.
    Sep 27, 2007
    10
    Words do not do this game justice. If you don't own an Xbox 360 and Halo 3 then you are missing out on the gaming experience of your lifetime.
  77. ScottS.
    Sep 27, 2007
    10
    Extremely polished. beauutiful gameplay controls and graphics.
  78. JustinC.
    Sep 27, 2007
    10
    This game is flawless, a work of art. The multiplayer is by far the most fun you will ever have on a console. If you have a 360, you need to buy this game.
  79. KasperB.
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    With halo 3, has bungie made the best game in the series. Not only is this the best halo 3 game but also best xbox 360 game. If you ask me Halo 3 is the best game ever made!!
  80. DD
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    Graphics are absolutely mindblowing, I don't know why people are complaining about them. The campaign was really good, and it only feels short because it's so fun that you won't want to stop playing. As always the sound is superb too. Everyone else is raving about Forge and Theater so I don't need to tell you how cool they are. This game is worth buying a 360 for, no Graphics are absolutely mindblowing, I don't know why people are complaining about them. The campaign was really good, and it only feels short because it's so fun that you won't want to stop playing. As always the sound is superb too. Everyone else is raving about Forge and Theater so I don't need to tell you how cool they are. This game is worth buying a 360 for, no doubt about it. Expand
  81. GeorgeA.
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    Forget the PS3 owners scoiring the game a 0, 1 or 3. Halo is a brilliant videogame with no equal. There are many parts of the game that you just stop to look at the environment. There are other parts of the plot that are so epic, you expect the credits to roll only to get seamlessly loaded onto yet another frantic, jawdropping level. Halo 3...There is no equal. Finish the fight.
  82. Cully
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    There are way too many jaw-dropping moments to give this game anything less than a 10!
  83. JoshH.
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    If you prefer Gears of War over Halo 3, you are either an idiot or a graphics whore. Scratch that. You are an idiot. I wish people who don't actually own a 360 wouldn't go on the internet and spew vomitous from their collective assholes. We all know your parents couldn't "afford" a 360 and you ended up with your PS3 and its "two" somewhat "decent" games or that you spent If you prefer Gears of War over Halo 3, you are either an idiot or a graphics whore. Scratch that. You are an idiot. I wish people who don't actually own a 360 wouldn't go on the internet and spew vomitous from their collective assholes. We all know your parents couldn't "afford" a 360 and you ended up with your PS3 and its "two" somewhat "decent" games or that you spent $2000 on a computer rig and couldn't stand the fact that Halo 3 won't be on the PC for another 3 years or so. But that doesn't mean you have to degrade what is arguably a great series. Halo has pushed the FPS genre in places that it would have NEVER gone unless Bungie weren't behind the development of it. Vehicle hi-jack, great graphics, some of the best music ever heard in an FPS, MGS-like cinematics, fantastic storyline, funny and interesting characters.. I could go on and on about what Halo has done for FPSes, but people are too busy trashing it because it's exclusive to Microsoft's Xbox. Go kill yourselves and rid us of your misinformed opinions, you worthless fuckwhits. No one wants to hear your "my daddy wouldn't let me get a Xbox, hurrrr" or "I spent $2000 on a computer rig only to find out that Vista makes it run like crap." pffft. Morons. Expand
  84. CallumM.
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    You can tell who the PS3 owners on here are. They act as if they bought the game and took it back after two hours because it was so bad. (Im talking about you John W) It's clear you didnt even play it, because your completely wrong in your description. This is the best console game ever made. PS To Daniel, did you even play gears of war? its not a flipping first person shooter u sony fanboy.
  85. jimbo
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    This is the best game I've ever played. Great graffics, great online play, great levels but their biggest fallback is the campain which is a little short but everything else makes up for it. The customisation suprised me in a good way. Changing youre spartan or elite is excellent espessially when you change it to Ninja Gaiden. I would rate this higher but you cant go higher than 10.
  86. AngusSmith
    Sep 5, 2007
    10
    i played the beta and it was great. Alot has changed like the health and the screen and ect. halo one and two was amazing and so was the beta so i dont see y this wont, i am just looking forward to get this game when it comes out:D
  87. MaxMongtomery
    Oct 1, 2008
    10
    Ok, look......Halo 3 is THE BEST party game out there. Me and my friends play it all the time with system link and have loads of fun. Now if your only friends are people you find on Xbox Live.....I can see why you would discourage this game. The truth is, Halo 3 is a great game for anybody and for all you people giving it the rediculous 7 and below ratings: not everyone is a nerd like you.Ok, look......Halo 3 is THE BEST party game out there. Me and my friends play it all the time with system link and have loads of fun. Now if your only friends are people you find on Xbox Live.....I can see why you would discourage this game. The truth is, Halo 3 is a great game for anybody and for all you people giving it the rediculous 7 and below ratings: not everyone is a nerd like you. And honestly, Bungie is making a FORTUNE off of this game. Do you really think they care what a bunch of halo-haters have to say about this game? Expand
  88. MarkP.
    Nov 16, 2008
    10
    I would say that this is a great game. the story is ok but the fun you can have with 4 friends is amazing. the mactchmaking i'snt amazing but stuff like grifball will keep people coming back but the true great part of halo 3 is forge and custom games. The maps that are made are the best i have ever seen in a game. games like infection are just outstanding. Bungie want to make the I would say that this is a great game. the story is ok but the fun you can have with 4 friends is amazing. the mactchmaking i'snt amazing but stuff like grifball will keep people coming back but the true great part of halo 3 is forge and custom games. The maps that are made are the best i have ever seen in a game. games like infection are just outstanding. Bungie want to make the game as fun as they can so they even more stuff.Last but not least theatre mode is great all the scrrenshots people make are funny as hell.THIS GAME WILL BE AROUND FOR A LONG TIME. Expand
  89. HaleA.
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    The hype probably harmed Halo 3 more than anything else: it raised the expectations of some people far too high. But take away the fact that it was probably a tad overhyped, the fact that everyone said that it was the best thing since sliced bread, and what's left is a very polished shooter with a lot of replayability and a package more than worth it's asking price. The campaign The hype probably harmed Halo 3 more than anything else: it raised the expectations of some people far too high. But take away the fact that it was probably a tad overhyped, the fact that everyone said that it was the best thing since sliced bread, and what's left is a very polished shooter with a lot of replayability and a package more than worth it's asking price. The campaign is short, but sweet. If it still seems far too brief, there are still many things to do within the realm of single player: you can finish it on it's hardest difficulty (though uncreative) you can run around collecting "skulls" (objects that alter the gameplay, sometimes drastically) and scoring points in the Metascore system. The storyline is fantastic: it's well written and does not lack depth. The concept of aliens vs humans and 8-foot tall supersoldiers may be overdone, but the depth comes from the small bits of clues, hints and stories which may not be noticed the first time playing. The best way to experience the storyline's depth is, of course, to play the first two games, read up, and look for the in-game Terminals (yet another thing you can do alone). The gameplay is unmistakably Halo; very smooth, very fluid. Some may argue that it is too similar to the first two games, but they all have the name "Halo" in it; it would be surprising to see anything that severely changes the game style. The logic is simple, if you want more Halo, buy Halo 3. Aren't all shooters about, well, shooting things? It's online integration is second to none: you can play the campaign co-op online with three friends. It's more fun than it sounds. The multiplayer mode is far improved. I would say some of the maps need work but it grows on you. With new weapons and changes, it's easier for the layman to pick up the game and play, yet not taking away form the skill factor (less aim magnetism). The weapons are fun, and the vehicles have the normal, unique feel to them. The Theatre even allows you to watch yourself annihilate your friends over and over again. From 360 different angles. And then there's Forge. A map editor in a console game, enough said. With excellent downloadable content on it's way, why NOT buy Halo 3? A lot of people say that the multiplayer is the worst of the series. Yet there are more people playing Halo 3 online than at Halo 2's peak (taking into account the larger amount of Live users). Numbers don't lie. In my opinion, the internet brings out the worst in some: COD 4 and others hardly add anything new to the genre. But this is Halo 3; nothing new, still the same old Halo that millions of fans adore, but incredibly polished to a shiny glow, with very few real flaws. And with loads of nifty new features. Expand
  90. EthanCook
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    STOP IT PEOPLE!!!!!!

    i am tired of people online complaining about halo 3.. look its easily the best Halo game.. it takes everything that was good about 1,2 and ran away with it.. The Multiplayer is better then ever.. and the game is only going to get better with more maps going to be playble via Xbox Live Marketplace.. Soon they will be free! Halo is one of the greatest series, and
    STOP IT PEOPLE!!!!!!

    i am tired of people online complaining about halo 3.. look its easily the best Halo game.. it takes everything that was good about 1,2 and ran away with it.. The Multiplayer is better then ever.. and the game is only going to get better with more maps going to be playble via Xbox Live Marketplace.. Soon they will be free!
    Halo is one of the greatest series, and the third one was my personal favorite, the ending was very nice. The single player was on the shorter end (but the story in each game has never been that long) great graphics, and new Online co-op mode! and the ability to save fotage and edit them, as well as a custom map editior is icing on the cake. My favorite Xbox 360 game of 2007.. be real you should have your own expectations for a game.. and this game suited my expectations.. they did the marketing to sell, to hype you.. i was not fooled.. no game could ever live up to that hype.. It was yet another Bungie Masterpeice Bravo to them.. they are rolling around in money :P
    but i will keep on playing Halo 3!
    Expand
  91. ImaFurry
    Dec 9, 2008
    10
    I love Halo because it's simple and fair, other games have tried to throw in new amour and special weapon stuff to reward the players who win, but all that does is widen the gap between the pros and the noobs. And to say this game takes no skill just means you died the whole time and don't know how to play, in multiplayer you have to know how to shoot properly and how to drive I love Halo because it's simple and fair, other games have tried to throw in new amour and special weapon stuff to reward the players who win, but all that does is widen the gap between the pros and the noobs. And to say this game takes no skill just means you died the whole time and don't know how to play, in multiplayer you have to know how to shoot properly and how to drive and stuff, the slightest mistake means you die. And also you need to work together as a team on things like capture the flag. And some people complain about how it's just the same thing as the first two Halo games, but if they had made it very different and changed everything, then everyone would be complaining about how different it is. (infact some people still whine about the downgraded pistol) And the storyline makes not sense? Wat? go RTFM and/or play the first two games Oh and also Forge, Theater, 4-Player Co-op, File Share, etc. Expand
  92. MojoR.
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    Folks - If you didnt become a Halo addict at Halo 1, then you can only stand by and wonder what the clamor is for. This is the last of a Trilogy and I think the campaigns are receiving the most negative attention only because the first 10 on Halo 1 were just that great. Halo 3 campaigns are slightly better than Halo 2 story line - Since I got lost in Halo 2s story line I am still foggy Folks - If you didnt become a Halo addict at Halo 1, then you can only stand by and wonder what the clamor is for. This is the last of a Trilogy and I think the campaigns are receiving the most negative attention only because the first 10 on Halo 1 were just that great. Halo 3 campaigns are slightly better than Halo 2 story line - Since I got lost in Halo 2s story line I am still foggy today, but I can rock this game on Heroic, and Legendary still gives me fits. Being a non-MOD 24 you can understand there is quite a challenge in the Campaigns. NOW the multi player - all of us addicts want to know - WHAT ABOUT THE BOARDS ??? You bet -0 They have COMPLETELY out did themselves !!! The boards - the weapons and combos are 10 +, they beat Halo 1 or 2, the hand to hand combos, the famed needler are more powerful, the (What we call) Ban Hammer is a more fair weapon than the energy sword - so in all I'd say the creators really focused on multi-player game play, and I think they did as near a perfect job as they could. For all you non halo players who bash it - It's a Master Chief thing - You wouldnt get it. Expand
  93. HagenM.
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    Excellent game. The campaign has a riveting plot line and never lets up on the action. The music is absolutely amazing and well-timed. The multiplayer neevr gets old. Anyone who lets up on multiplayer probably isn't good or has a conniption. I'm still playing online after a year.
  94. ZachDecker
    Feb 22, 2008
    10
    Excellent game, holy crap this game is so good. I cant stop playing it!
  95. EddieM.
    Feb 24, 2008
    10
    For the users or critics to give this any lower than a 99 is a complete disgrace. Greatest multiplayer game in history, regardless. And infinitely better than a game made all for hiding and camping (Call Of Duty 4). Oh, and the Campaign is still amazing.
  96. ManuelP.
    Feb 5, 2008
    10
    Persoanlly I think Call of Duty 4 is a better game and if you haven't bought halo 3 already and thinking about buying it i would reserve that cash for grand theft auto IV. And obviously Jim B's review is biased just because they got ahold of a map before the game came out and they still decided to sell it doesn't make the game deserve a o..do you know how hard it is to Persoanlly I think Call of Duty 4 is a better game and if you haven't bought halo 3 already and thinking about buying it i would reserve that cash for grand theft auto IV. And obviously Jim B's review is biased just because they got ahold of a map before the game came out and they still decided to sell it doesn't make the game deserve a o..do you know how hard it is to design a good map? Plus the heroic map pack is going to be free sometime in the future anyway from what I heard. but anyway game is great to play with your friends especially games like infection, co - op and forge, mostly recomend halo 3 if you like to mess around with your friends since call of duty 4's multiplayer can get boring after about 25 hours worth of multiplayer gameplay since it can get kind of repititive after you get everything unlock unless you want to trade in all of your weapons for a new little icon. Expand
  97. AnonymousMC
    Mar 7, 2008
    10
    One of the best games out for the Xbox 360. Every Xbox 360 gamer must simply buy it and play it. The only thing I didn't like about this game was that the campaign was too short and the last two levels were Terrible. But I'm still praying for a sequel to come.
  98. MicaelC.
    Apr 7, 2008
    10
    The best game ever! After finishing at Easy, I just wanted more and yes if you think it's easy you have 3 levels more to hardness to try. The AI is great but the MP is even better. Great graphics and the feeling in the cars and guns are stunning.
  99. IsaacC.
    Apr 8, 2008
    10
    The Halo trilogy is best game ever created.
  100. DanK.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    Halo 3 is an amazingly solid game produced by one of the most involved game development studios ever. The single player is immensely satisfying and the multiplayer provides thrills for months on end.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's the addition of the Forge level editor and the saved films that give the game an even longer set of legs, legs that will probably keep you running at full speed until Bungie figures out where, exactly, to go from here.
  2. Halo 3 is the best Xbox 360 game to date. The single-player campaign and storyline are both very strong, but it's Forge and the Saved Films features that will likely go down in history as Bungie's crowning achievements. They've basically taken everything great about the series and improved upon it in every way, then added some amazing new features that we'll be using for years to come.
  3. 100
    It's solid gameplay, immense replayability, online functionality and incredible production values will ensure its place in video game history, and it is, without a doubt, a satisfying and fulfilling close to the beloved trilogy[?].