Halo 3 Xbox 360

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4115 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. WesFletcher
    Sep 24, 2007
    7
    Its halo. same thing different color. its the same game its been since the first just add a few new gadgets and purty it up a pinch. No drastic changes. OOOoo there's a level editor and video mode. Wow you got me sold. How bout I throw in a cookie with it too that makes it an entire point better right? It works for what it is but its still the same halo just the end of it. that doesIts halo. same thing different color. its the same game its been since the first just add a few new gadgets and purty it up a pinch. No drastic changes. OOOoo there's a level editor and video mode. Wow you got me sold. How bout I throw in a cookie with it too that makes it an entire point better right? It works for what it is but its still the same halo just the end of it. that does NOT make it a 10 out of 10. It's halo, yes its WAY overhyped but it is a good game. That's it. IT by no means is perfect. Wait for the true reviews of people who aren't jerkin it to halo. Good bye master chief. Those in reality will turn you down. Expand
  2. Maxd
    Oct 30, 2007
    7
    omfg are you people stupid??? This game isn't the best game ever, Max M, but it doesn't suck that bad, Me ME. This game is a good, solid buy, the graphics are decent the multiplayer is pretty good, and the campaign is average. If you are looking for a good game, buy this, but it is not a 10!!!!!!
  3. Gavin
    Nov 20, 2007
    7
    i love halo and to be frank this game clears its name then puts a massive stain on it the multiplayer has imporved with 4player co-op on campain and HD the single player campian though is where the stain comes in yes campain is a little short but thats when you play it on easy i finish it in 2 hours best part of the campian is the lengdary its been revamped in my mind because 1. theres ai love halo and to be frank this game clears its name then puts a massive stain on it the multiplayer has imporved with 4player co-op on campain and HD the single player campian though is where the stain comes in yes campain is a little short but thats when you play it on easy i finish it in 2 hours best part of the campian is the lengdary its been revamped in my mind because 1. theres a massive noticable effect in were the AI is smarter ALOT more bad guys and to top it off ya shield may as well be tin foil XD this makes up for the short campain by extending the amount of time needed to complete the game (around 15hours) but still not bad lastly comes the end it sez finish the fight but.... WHAT FIGHT DID WE FINISH yes we killed the covernat around earth but what about everywhere else and not to mention the earth and all the rings on stanby still this game still leaves a lot of loose ends and it finishes on another cliff hanger with masterchief and cortana alone in space adrift if there isnt a halo 4 i will be very disapointed with bungie after all the idea of a triogy is to finish the story in 3 releases which hasnt occured here.. Expand
  4. AnonymousMC
    Feb 28, 2008
    7
    Lets start with the good. The graphics are good but that's the case for just about every game these days, the music is still great, and the story is good.

    Now the bad parts. While the enemy AI is decent enough, your marine buddies are just about as bad as they could get. The campaign only lasted me 7 hours my first time though and less on subsequent playthroughs. Some of the
    Lets start with the good. The graphics are good but that's the case for just about every game these days, the music is still great, and the story is good.

    Now the bad parts. While the enemy AI is decent enough, your marine buddies are just about as bad as they could get. The campaign only lasted me 7 hours my first time though and less on subsequent playthroughs.
    Some of the level design is terribly unintuitive, specifically the Cortana level. I found myself getting lost in several rooms and wandered around aimlessly for several minutes before I found out where I was supposed to be going.
    The difficulty curve also varies drastically throughout the game. At some points near the beginning I died many times before I could move onto the next area. But as I progressed, it became increasingly easier to a point where it was too easy. The Flood only take 2-3 bashes to kill with just about any weapon. The "boss" fights are complete jokes, and the game ends with the easiest sequence in a game that I've ever played.

    And as for the online multiplayer, I don't care about it. I don't play games online save for RTS games so I can't say if it's good or bad. But with what I have played, the game is decent. There are plenty of better FPS games out there that you can play. If you need to know how the story ends and you hate reading, play the game, otherwise read a plot synopsis and save yourself $60.
    Expand
  5. AnonymousMC
    Jul 28, 2008
    7
    To start the single player is average. It's not everything it was hyped up as and definatly not the "best game evar" as nearly every game reviewer on earth and fanboys alike say. It's just another go through the motions FPS that adds nothing new to the genre. Just get the weapon you want shoot enemies then wait through the cut scene to start all over again. Which would be fine.To start the single player is average. It's not everything it was hyped up as and definatly not the "best game evar" as nearly every game reviewer on earth and fanboys alike say. It's just another go through the motions FPS that adds nothing new to the genre. Just get the weapon you want shoot enemies then wait through the cut scene to start all over again. Which would be fine. If it was more fun and had a better story. You know change it up a bit yet it just stuck to same old formula of Halo 2. No thinking or strategy is ever needed even on harder levels as enemies get stronger and greater in numbers rather than smarter. The AI is still dumb as hell since you can do things like melee foes to death without the slightest urge for them to move out of your way. The story is like it always was bland and uninspired as I could tell everything that would happend before it played out in the game right down to the ending. To me the whole story lacks good depth that a game should have at this point. And it's all really dishearting that this is probably going to go down as the Mario of my day which is sad cause their is much more deserving games for that title. Some of this games positives it looks excelent, has good controls, and it has numbed down the needler. But let me say those things don't make up for everything else that is lacking with the story mode. But as for the multiplayer I think it is one of the best experiences online (which is why I'm giving it a 7 and not a 5.) I just hope that the next Halo game will deliver cause I think it has the potential to be great it's just that for this series third time was definitely not the charm. Expand
  6. AnonymousMC
    Oct 14, 2008
    7
    Don't get me wrong: It's not by any means a bad game. It's just that it's a notch above average. The campaign has an erratic difficulty curve that is about as stable as a guy who has just been put in an asylum. Your teammates are total morons that make druggies look like the child of the smartest couple in the world. Let me give an example: In The Ark, they toldDon't get me wrong: It's not by any means a bad game. It's just that it's a notch above average. The campaign has an erratic difficulty curve that is about as stable as a guy who has just been put in an asylum. Your teammates are total morons that make druggies look like the child of the smartest couple in the world. Let me give an example: In The Ark, they told me that they would let me fire. However, one decided that an enemy breathing more than twice a minute was hostile and opened fire. I was killed brutally by the hyper-intelligent AI. After that, I just turned to killing my allies and treating them like walking bags of ammo. The multiplayer, though is different: fun, engaging, and what saves this game from mediocrity. Expand
  7. josiahcarr
    Apr 30, 2009
    7
    it is one of the best games i have played the forge mode adds the extra ability to change the map in your own desire. the only down fall is most of the play lists you have to by map packs just to play them but other than that a great game
  8. ccxapp
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    The plot was not what I expected it to be, but it's great on the graphical and gameplay improvements.
  9. TimD.
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    Of course it's great, but it hasn't evolved enough for me. The combat is solid and satisfying but feels no different from the first two. The first game was described as 5 minutes of game play spread over 8 hours, now it's been stretched over 24 hours, and it's getting dulled. It doesn't compare with the likes of Half Life or Biioshock, games which are still more Of course it's great, but it hasn't evolved enough for me. The combat is solid and satisfying but feels no different from the first two. The first game was described as 5 minutes of game play spread over 8 hours, now it's been stretched over 24 hours, and it's getting dulled. It doesn't compare with the likes of Half Life or Biioshock, games which are still more sophisticated in their storytelling, pacing and Graphics. Expand
  10. RanderN.
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    Halo 3 is a very good game that totally fails to live up to the massive hype and marketing drive that preceded it. It has a short single player campaign, the same old floaty low gravity feeling the previous versions had (even while on earth) that just can't stand next to today's moder physics models in gaming, and somewhat repetitive gameplay that will have you shooting endless Halo 3 is a very good game that totally fails to live up to the massive hype and marketing drive that preceded it. It has a short single player campaign, the same old floaty low gravity feeling the previous versions had (even while on earth) that just can't stand next to today's moder physics models in gaming, and somewhat repetitive gameplay that will have you shooting endless waves of mostly the same 2 types of enemies and running back and forward inside the same level, reminiscent of the key hunting of the FPS titles of old (as in Wolfestein old). A good game, not a great one. Expand
  11. NickC.
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    I'm only on the second level and I have to say I'm underwhelmed. Far from looking amazing the graphics just don't impress. The interiors are much worse than the exteriors, the low resolution textures on the doors are particularly bad. The game these areas most remind me of are Fear with added backtracking. On the bright side the AI is still cool - I love it when grunts get I'm only on the second level and I have to say I'm underwhelmed. Far from looking amazing the graphics just don't impress. The interiors are much worse than the exteriors, the low resolution textures on the doors are particularly bad. The game these areas most remind me of are Fear with added backtracking. On the bright side the AI is still cool - I love it when grunts get scared and retreat. The Brute Alien weapons are things similar to nail guns and grenade launchers and are much more satisfying to use than the old Alien weapons (still in the game) which shot glowing stuff (not lasers, light travels at the speed of, well light and you would only see it reflecting off what ever you are shooting.). I've had a quick look at Forge basically you can mess around with game parameters and add objects to the level BFD. I buy a lot of games, and maybe finish half of them, all the extras packed in to this game don't really matter to me, I'm much more interested in the core game. The core game here is solid but and in the upper quartile of games on the system, but not worthy of being a flagship title. Expand
  12. RayD.
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    Well i am half way through the campaign and last night while playing i sat there and thought its good but not that good.... the multiplayer is pretty nice i like the upgrades they did on it compared to halo 2. Its close to the same game with twists that i think were needed esp for online. but good job overall microsoft.
  13. ChrisK.
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    The hype hurt the game, that's where it all begins. Reviews hit left and right for games over a 9.4 when it is a truly unique and innovative creation, Halo 3 was neither of these. With some decent graphics, new weapon additions and relatively shallow story line, the game isn't living up to these reviews. Microsoft must be deep in some pockets to get the reviews this game has The hype hurt the game, that's where it all begins. Reviews hit left and right for games over a 9.4 when it is a truly unique and innovative creation, Halo 3 was neither of these. With some decent graphics, new weapon additions and relatively shallow story line, the game isn't living up to these reviews. Microsoft must be deep in some pockets to get the reviews this game has been given. Fanboys rejoice, smart gamers rent. Expand
  14. AndyK.
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    There´s no doubt ... HALO 3 is to an extremely high degree OVERRATED by the most Critics, even by the two lowest with the rating of 88 ! The MP is still very good but the very short SP (8-10 hrs.) is really disappointing. My ratings SP=60 / MP=85 / Overall = 72
  15. GlenA.
    Sep 26, 2007
    7
    The game is extremely similar to Halo 2. Graphics are tweaked but nowhere near as good as even 360 launch titles such as COD3. I had severe problems with sound, especially dialogue which I have to turn up just to hear - a little annoying. Should not disappoint those wanting more of the same from Halo 2. All others should rent first.
  16. AlvaroV.
    Sep 26, 2007
    7
    Good game, but nothing really original in the series. There is no story at the beginning and the level design is slightly repetitive. However, combat is as polished as in previous titles. Too much hype, I guess.
  17. RannyB.
    Sep 26, 2007
    7
    It's an adequate fps. Level padding shows poor design though and the storytelling resulted down to being very simple. Not the best example to show for a top class FPS but a nice example that simplicity can still manage to be fun.
  18. MikeP.
    Sep 26, 2007
    7
    This is it?? this is the best Microsoft & Bungie can put together after 3 years of development? graphics are below par - far worse than most games on 360. not even in the same universe compared to Gears or Bioshock. gameplay is exactly the same as previous Halos - nothing's improved. enemies are stupid as hell. sometimes they just stand there; they can't drive, or get into cars.This is it?? this is the best Microsoft & Bungie can put together after 3 years of development? graphics are below par - far worse than most games on 360. not even in the same universe compared to Gears or Bioshock. gameplay is exactly the same as previous Halos - nothing's improved. enemies are stupid as hell. sometimes they just stand there; they can't drive, or get into cars. sound & story are fine, but nothing to get excited about. and the level editor? what do i care about the level editor?! I don't want a level editor - i want a good game! where is the platform defining Halo 3 we've been waiting for? delayed 2 years after the 360 launch, and this is what we get? what a disappointment. Expand
  19. CaseyY.
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    A very fancy patch for Halo 2.
  20. [Anonymousguy]
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    Not really anything spectacular on the single player, and the Online not as fun as halo 2.
  21. DLa
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    First, I've been with Halo from the beginning. The first release amazed, the second released was good with a dumb ending, but I had had a deep fear after seeing many unflattering screenshots that this release would not extend the state of the art and I'm sad to say its true. Aside from a few new weapons and vehicles and debatebly enhanced graphics the game breaks no new ground. First, I've been with Halo from the beginning. The first release amazed, the second released was good with a dumb ending, but I had had a deep fear after seeing many unflattering screenshots that this release would not extend the state of the art and I'm sad to say its true. Aside from a few new weapons and vehicles and debatebly enhanced graphics the game breaks no new ground. Which is a shame for such an anticipated release with so much money behind it. Let me break it down. Graphics: 7 Not as good as Gears of War and not as good as Bioshock. The character models are average quality. For example, not as detailed as the players in Madden. Environment: 7 You'd expect to be able to interact with all kinds of things in the environment and blow stuff up. At least this is the mark of next-gen FPS today. Not so in Halo. You can knock stuff over, but you can't look inside of things, break things, use things, etc. Its a very superficial environment. Sound: 5 Oh boy. It's sad. I have a dolby 5.1 setup and the sound from Halo is very muffled and low-def. The weapon firing sounds or ok, but things like grenades sound like they are farther from you than they visually are. Little to no surround effects or ambient noise. A total lack of depth in the sound field. For the best 5.1 game sound, crisp and clean, check out Bioshock as the new standard (I'm not a fanboy, just using a real example of quality). Gameplay: 7 Same gameplay as before with a few new gadgets. No cover control (such as in GoW and Rainbow 6), no squad control, etc. Same, same, same. Story: 6 Getting a bit dated. The opening dialog is a bit perplexing. An utter lack of mind provoking elements in this story. Its a "story on rails". Not to mention, that for 3 versions of Halo the opening sequence is the cliche "the aliens have invaded our barracks" scenario. Tired! Get some new material. Overall: A very generous 7 Expand
  22. Warmonger
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    Good game, but nowhere near the great game everyone makes it out to be! First of all it's too damn short. Sure it's a great multiplayer game but what about the people who don't play online?? oh well, I guess the're just out of luck! The graphics also haven't really improved significantly enough for me to go... Wow! Come on! the only game to really hold that Good game, but nowhere near the great game everyone makes it out to be! First of all it's too damn short. Sure it's a great multiplayer game but what about the people who don't play online?? oh well, I guess the're just out of luck! The graphics also haven't really improved significantly enough for me to go... Wow! Come on! the only game to really hold that distinction this year, "so far" is Bioshock! You only have to look at the superior graphics, such as the water effects,environments...etc and game play to relize, that it rules! It's new and fresh as opposed to old and stale....... R.I.P. Halo Expand
  23. ChrisE.
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    I'd consider myself a 360 fanboy. Halo 3 is fun, but just feels like something is missing. I'm trying so hard to love this game. I'm not sure I can.
  24. JeveS.
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    A good, fairly bug-free and enjoyable run, but way too short in campaign mode. It was a challenge (and fun) playing with a buddy via co-op, but again, pretty short so be prepared for that. I've hopped in a few online matches, but I can't seem to enjoy the multi like I do on a great twitch HL2 mod like Fortress Forever. Graphics won't completely blow you away (still see A good, fairly bug-free and enjoyable run, but way too short in campaign mode. It was a challenge (and fun) playing with a buddy via co-op, but again, pretty short so be prepared for that. I've hopped in a few online matches, but I can't seem to enjoy the multi like I do on a great twitch HL2 mod like Fortress Forever. Graphics won't completely blow you away (still see "popping " LOD textures and some sub-30 FPS in hectic areas), but they're not as bad as some reviewers would lead you to believe. You can tell multiplayer was the majority of work put into Halo 3 - not story or campaign. It's NOT a 10 or 100, and anyone who says it is has either truly never played a 10 or 10 OR is trying to counter-act all of the 6's out there. If you're a console campaigner / story gamer like me, rent it. Expand
  25. FurryFox
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    As many have said before me its mainly a multiplayer game, if you don
  26. JoshuaD.
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    I am a very honest person and a unique halo fan. After missing out on Halo 1 and starting the story line at halo 2 I was hooked by the graphics, gameplay, and mulitiplayer formats. Halo 3 was a complete let down after the first hour of gameplay. I found myself asking "This is actually kind of boring". There wasn't any extravigant graphic views or fight scenes as Halo 2 had. I tried I am a very honest person and a unique halo fan. After missing out on Halo 1 and starting the story line at halo 2 I was hooked by the graphics, gameplay, and mulitiplayer formats. Halo 3 was a complete let down after the first hour of gameplay. I found myself asking "This is actually kind of boring". There wasn't any extravigant graphic views or fight scenes as Halo 2 had. I tried not to buy into the hype from all the commercials and advertisments, but I can honorably say that I was scammed by the oldest trick in the book "Rhetorics" Good Job on Bungie and Microsoft for scamming millions upon millions of dollars from us with cheap and useless animation. Expand
  27. BryanM.
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    It was a little over hyped. I am just pissed you are forced to play as Chief and can not play the Aburder in Campan mode unless you do co op. sorry but you included him in the 2nd why change it now. o and Halo 3 for being the big 360 game does not have that great of graphics. a little better then the beta demo version but barlly. try gears graphics Halo. so in other words HALO one is It was a little over hyped. I am just pissed you are forced to play as Chief and can not play the Aburder in Campan mode unless you do co op. sorry but you included him in the 2nd why change it now. o and Halo 3 for being the big 360 game does not have that great of graphics. a little better then the beta demo version but barlly. try gears graphics Halo. so in other words HALO one is still the best even if you can not play it on Xbox live. Expand
  28. NateG.
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    Halo 2 2 is OK. I've never been a campaign guy (I play the games to have fun with friends), so I judge all Halos on the multi-player, and that aspect of the game has not been improved. Yes, they added some new stuff in there but that alone can't carry the game (some of them are pointless too - like with the grenades). But different and better isn't the same. And am I the Halo 2 2 is OK. I've never been a campaign guy (I play the games to have fun with friends), so I judge all Halos on the multi-player, and that aspect of the game has not been improved. Yes, they added some new stuff in there but that alone can't carry the game (some of them are pointless too - like with the grenades). But different and better isn't the same. And am I the only one who misses the hit % stat? You can goof off the whole time and no one will be the wiser as to the 1,000 shots you wasted. All in all you could play or watch a game of Halo 2 and Halo 3 back-to-back and have a hard time knowing you saw 2 different games. I'm one of those who wanted to like it, but it disappoints. I do believe the name gives it 1 or 2 extra points in a lot of reviews. Expand
  29. ArnieG
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    Disapointing. The Halo sequels are very comparable in quality to the Matrix sequels....classic innovative original, medicore derivative sequels. And how is it possible for the biggest game of the year to have such sub-par graphics? They look almost identical to the X-Box! Some eye candy would have went a long way.
  30. DazD.
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    Nothing new here apart from a few weapons and vehicles. The multiplayer is what it's all about.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's the addition of the Forge level editor and the saved films that give the game an even longer set of legs, legs that will probably keep you running at full speed until Bungie figures out where, exactly, to go from here.
  2. Halo 3 is the best Xbox 360 game to date. The single-player campaign and storyline are both very strong, but it's Forge and the Saved Films features that will likely go down in history as Bungie's crowning achievements. They've basically taken everything great about the series and improved upon it in every way, then added some amazing new features that we'll be using for years to come.
  3. 100
    It's solid gameplay, immense replayability, online functionality and incredible production values will ensure its place in video game history, and it is, without a doubt, a satisfying and fulfilling close to the beloved trilogy[?].