Halo 3 Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3842 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Halo 3 is the third game in the Halo Trilogy and provides the thrilling conclusion to the events begun in "Halo: Combat Evolved." Halo 3 picks up where "Halo 2" left off. The Master Chief is returning to Earth to finish the fight. The Covenant occupation of Earth has uncovered a massive andHalo 3 is the third game in the Halo Trilogy and provides the thrilling conclusion to the events begun in "Halo: Combat Evolved." Halo 3 picks up where "Halo 2" left off. The Master Chief is returning to Earth to finish the fight. The Covenant occupation of Earth has uncovered a massive and ancient object beneath the African sands - an object who's secrets have yet to be revealed. Earth's forces are battered and beaten. The Master Chief's AI companion Cortana is still trapped in the clutches of the Gravemind - a horrifying Flood intelligence, and a civil war is raging in the heart of the Covenant. This is how the world ends... [Bungie] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. 100
    It's solid gameplay, immense replayability, online functionality and incredible production values will ensure its place in video game history, and it is, without a doubt, a satisfying and fulfilling close to the beloved trilogy[?].
  2. In substance it's nothing new, merely a magnificent, beautiful monster of an FPS sequel. In concept and execution, though, Halo 3 is the future. [Nov 2007, p.80]
  3. 99
    Halo 3 is essential. An Xbox 360 without a copy of the game is like a human without a heart.
  4. Halo 3 gives a deeper, smoother and grander ride then ever before.
  5. The combination of the excellent campaign, tried and true multiplayer, and online co-op make this a game that shouldn't be missed by anyone.
  6. Halo 3 may not fully live up to the obscene hype, but it certainly survives it.
  7. The ads promise an epic tale of tragedy, sacrifice, and heroism that Halo 3 really had no hope in hell of ever delivering. More troubling, however, is the fact that after playing the game, I can suggest with some certainty that they promised a game that Bungie didn't even bother trying to produce.

See all 86 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. ScottR.
    Oct 4, 2007
    10
    Halo3 has suffered from too much media-hype and spin but we shouldn't let this detract from what is and excellent FPS. Yes the campaign Halo3 has suffered from too much media-hype and spin but we shouldn't let this detract from what is and excellent FPS. Yes the campaign is flawed and at times baffeling but the rich environments, engadging AI and range of enemies make the single player deserving of much more credit than it's been given. The multiplayer is everything I expected and really does live up to expectations; the graphics, balance of weapons, levels, gameplay, game variants are all very well thought out. Bungie's community driven approach to the development of the multiplayer seems to have been the key to it's success - they truly have listened to what gamers wanted and responded in kind with a game that lovers of FPSs (and the Halo series) cannot fail to enjoy. Halo3 is a landmark in FPS multiplayers that really does improve on classics such as the N64's Goldeneye and Perfect Dark (yes it was actually good on the 64), we can only hope that more quality games, like this, are made - because I could do without another Harry Potter or GTA spin-off. Expand
  2. jacka.
    Mar 3, 2009
    10
    This game is truly incredible. The gameplay is fun, engaging and fresh and the cutscenes and particularly the music make the story a This game is truly incredible. The gameplay is fun, engaging and fresh and the cutscenes and particularly the music make the story a fantastic end to the Halo trilogy. I cannot think of a better first person shooter I have ever played, on any console. There is no more of a fitting end possible to the trilogy started by a game that brought fps games to the consoles. Goodby Halo, it has been a fantastic run. Expand
  3. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    Anyone who ever gave this game anything less than a 7 is lying to themselves. It may not be a 10 but you know its pretty damn good. TheAnyone who ever gave this game anything less than a 7 is lying to themselves. It may not be a 10 but you know its pretty damn good. The multiplayer alone should warrant an automatic 9 and when you pile on the deep (and yes, at times convoluted) story it has to be at least a 9.5. If you own an XBOX 360 and have somehow not experienced the excellence that is the Halo series, do yourself a service and pick this up on the cheap. Trust. Expand
  4. JasonD.
    Sep 28, 2007
    9
    I can't believe the oversight in many of the negative reviews. Most reviews treat the campaign as the only important part of the game. I can't believe the oversight in many of the negative reviews. Most reviews treat the campaign as the only important part of the game. While it might be the only important element to a subset of the public, the ENTIRE package should be evaluated. And when you do that, you see what makes Halo 2 different from Halo 3. If you fixate on comparing graphics, you will see whatever the hell you want to see... and people do. It's a great litmus test of how realistic your expectations were. But regardless of the hype, Halo 3 is a great game. Hype should have nothing to do with the way you rate the game, but for some odd reason, how a game was hyped is now as important as how a game plays or what it looks like. I'm giving Halo 3 a 9, not because I'm an emo child who has beef with everything that's popular or because I think "Marketing is duh devil." It's a jampacked package and each piece is relevant, polished, and fun. It's Halo 3, the sequel to Halo 2. What the hell were you expecting? If you have a predisposition to hate it, you will hate it, and vice versa. So, don't take my word for it. Odds are you already made up your mind. Expand
  5. Feb 14, 2012
    7
    The music and visual atmosphere in this game is outstanding. Then again it's exactly the same kind of amazing that halo 1 and 2 where. AndThe music and visual atmosphere in this game is outstanding. Then again it's exactly the same kind of amazing that halo 1 and 2 where. And that's not a fault so much as consistency of a series. Halo has some top notch set pieces and solid combat mechanics. It also has a strong multiplayer offering. It's just not as deep as the aesthetics imply. The story surrounding the series in the books/etc is actually well conceived. However what you actually get - is a action game. The story segments are rare, and very secondary to the game. And unfortunately, even with solid co-op, the game is also short. And that's what leaves me cold - these incredible aesthetics, suggesting a deep world and story - and instead we get a solid 5 hour traditional fps. Expand
  6. JulianS.
    Oct 2, 2007
    6
    The single player is absolutely horrible. It has a very flawed checkpoint system and gets far too frustrating. Gears of War never had me The single player is absolutely horrible. It has a very flawed checkpoint system and gets far too frustrating. Gears of War never had me playing through the same stupid parts, even on Insane. Halo has me redoing some moments over and over again just on heroic. Bungie basically gave us a multiplayer game that finished a story that nobody cares about anymore. Expand
  7. ChuckieA.
    Sep 28, 2007
    0
    I recently finished the entire game & felt very Satisfied to what it had to offer, then i tried the online play. WOW!!! Incredible!! I could I recently finished the entire game & felt very Satisfied to what it had to offer, then i tried the online play. WOW!!! Incredible!! I could not tell you how amazing it is to play against 40 other players at once, you have to see for yourself. Expand

See all 993 User Reviews