Halo 3 Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3829 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Halo 3 is the third game in the Halo Trilogy and provides the thrilling conclusion to the events begun in "Halo: Combat Evolved." Halo 3 picks up where "Halo 2" left off. The Master Chief is returning to Earth to finish the fight. The Covenant occupation of Earth has uncovered a massive andHalo 3 is the third game in the Halo Trilogy and provides the thrilling conclusion to the events begun in "Halo: Combat Evolved." Halo 3 picks up where "Halo 2" left off. The Master Chief is returning to Earth to finish the fight. The Covenant occupation of Earth has uncovered a massive and ancient object beneath the African sands - an object who's secrets have yet to be revealed. Earth's forces are battered and beaten. The Master Chief's AI companion Cortana is still trapped in the clutches of the Gravemind - a horrifying Flood intelligence, and a civil war is raging in the heart of the Covenant. This is how the world ends... [Bungie] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. 100
    It's solid gameplay, immense replayability, online functionality and incredible production values will ensure its place in video game history, and it is, without a doubt, a satisfying and fulfilling close to the beloved trilogy[?].
  2. In substance it's nothing new, merely a magnificent, beautiful monster of an FPS sequel. In concept and execution, though, Halo 3 is the future. [Nov 2007, p.80]
  3. 99
    Halo 3 is essential. An Xbox 360 without a copy of the game is like a human without a heart.
  4. Halo 3 gives a deeper, smoother and grander ride then ever before.
  5. The combination of the excellent campaign, tried and true multiplayer, and online co-op make this a game that shouldn't be missed by anyone.
  6. Halo 3 may not fully live up to the obscene hype, but it certainly survives it.
  7. The ads promise an epic tale of tragedy, sacrifice, and heroism that Halo 3 really had no hope in hell of ever delivering. More troubling, however, is the fact that after playing the game, I can suggest with some certainty that they promised a game that Bungie didn't even bother trying to produce.

See all 86 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. JamesR.
    Oct 3, 2007
    10
    An amazing game, extremely fun to play, with good graphics to boot. Don't listen to anyone who scores this game less than a 8, they An amazing game, extremely fun to play, with good graphics to boot. Don't listen to anyone who scores this game less than a 8, they obviously don't know a good game when they see one and probably have an axe to grind. The Edge Magazine review got it spot on (10/10). Expand
  2. brianw.
    Feb 24, 2009
    10
    As a single player this was the game I wanted to keep putting in the 360 until finished. I only play online with one friend and it is the one As a single player this was the game I wanted to keep putting in the 360 until finished. I only play online with one friend and it is the one I want to keep playing online. Just the best FPS I have played, nothing frustrating about it. What a shooter should be. Expand
  3. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    Anyone who ever gave this game anything less than a 7 is lying to themselves. It may not be a 10 but you know its pretty damn good. TheAnyone who ever gave this game anything less than a 7 is lying to themselves. It may not be a 10 but you know its pretty damn good. The multiplayer alone should warrant an automatic 9 and when you pile on the deep (and yes, at times convoluted) story it has to be at least a 9.5. If you own an XBOX 360 and have somehow not experienced the excellence that is the Halo series, do yourself a service and pick this up on the cheap. Trust. Expand
  4. Jason
    Sep 28, 2007
    9
    Any one who thinks this game is too easy needs to play on a real gamers level. This game is a 5 on Normal, but crank it up a couple notches, Any one who thinks this game is too easy needs to play on a real gamers level. This game is a 5 on Normal, but crank it up a couple notches, then Halo shines as always...and please stop comparing it to Bioshock and Gears.....Halo could not be Halo without those epic battles sequences...and bioshock and gears....have none of those. Expand
  5. Feb 14, 2012
    7
    The music and visual atmosphere in this game is outstanding. Then again it's exactly the same kind of amazing that halo 1 and 2 where. AndThe music and visual atmosphere in this game is outstanding. Then again it's exactly the same kind of amazing that halo 1 and 2 where. And that's not a fault so much as consistency of a series. Halo has some top notch set pieces and solid combat mechanics. It also has a strong multiplayer offering. It's just not as deep as the aesthetics imply. The story surrounding the series in the books/etc is actually well conceived. However what you actually get - is a action game. The story segments are rare, and very secondary to the game. And unfortunately, even with solid co-op, the game is also short. And that's what leaves me cold - these incredible aesthetics, suggesting a deep world and story - and instead we get a solid 5 hour traditional fps. Expand
  6. JackA.
    Oct 2, 2007
    6
    I was into Halo for the story. The original Halo set the standard and I guess it is just too hard to duplicate without seeming redundant. I I was into Halo for the story. The original Halo set the standard and I guess it is just too hard to duplicate without seeming redundant. I liked Halo 2, but thought is was missing something, not much but just not quite up to the original. Halo 3 looked cool and all with the graphics and some new vehicles, but the story didn't flow well and just wasn't all that good to being with. Hell, I'm still confused on some of it....LOL. The multiplayer stuff is first rate, and I guess that's what they were catering too. As for me, I was into the story, so this game didn't impress, and it seemed WAY too short. Sorry, Bungie, but you could have done a better job. Expand
  7. ChuckieA.
    Sep 28, 2007
    0
    I recently finished the entire game & felt very Satisfied to what it had to offer, then i tried the online play. WOW!!! Incredible!! I could I recently finished the entire game & felt very Satisfied to what it had to offer, then i tried the online play. WOW!!! Incredible!! I could not tell you how amazing it is to play against 40 other players at once, you have to see for yourself. Expand

See all 989 User Reviews