Halo 3 Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3779 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Halo 3 is the third game in the Halo Trilogy and provides the thrilling conclusion to the events begun in "Halo: Combat Evolved." Halo 3 picks up where "Halo 2" left off. The Master Chief is returning to Earth to finish the fight. The Covenant occupation of Earth has uncovered a massive andHalo 3 is the third game in the Halo Trilogy and provides the thrilling conclusion to the events begun in "Halo: Combat Evolved." Halo 3 picks up where "Halo 2" left off. The Master Chief is returning to Earth to finish the fight. The Covenant occupation of Earth has uncovered a massive and ancient object beneath the African sands - an object who's secrets have yet to be revealed. Earth's forces are battered and beaten. The Master Chief's AI companion Cortana is still trapped in the clutches of the Gravemind - a horrifying Flood intelligence, and a civil war is raging in the heart of the Covenant. This is how the world ends... [Bungie] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. 100
    It's solid gameplay, immense replayability, online functionality and incredible production values will ensure its place in video game history, and it is, without a doubt, a satisfying and fulfilling close to the beloved trilogy[?].
  2. In substance it's nothing new, merely a magnificent, beautiful monster of an FPS sequel. In concept and execution, though, Halo 3 is the future. [Nov 2007, p.80]
  3. 99
    Halo 3 is essential. An Xbox 360 without a copy of the game is like a human without a heart.
  4. Halo 3 gives a deeper, smoother and grander ride then ever before.
  5. The combination of the excellent campaign, tried and true multiplayer, and online co-op make this a game that shouldn't be missed by anyone.
  6. Halo 3 may not fully live up to the obscene hype, but it certainly survives it.
  7. The ads promise an epic tale of tragedy, sacrifice, and heroism that Halo 3 really had no hope in hell of ever delivering. More troubling, however, is the fact that after playing the game, I can suggest with some certainty that they promised a game that Bungie didn't even bother trying to produce.

See all 86 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. VechaK.
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    Good game. If you don't like it don't play it. Simple as that. Reminds me of goldeneye on the n64...
  2. NicholasS
    Jan 13, 2009
    10
    (Before i comment on this game i just want to remind all of you that this game has stayed in the top spot for online activity for over a year (Before i comment on this game i just want to remind all of you that this game has stayed in the top spot for online activity for over a year after its release.I have also noticed that everyone who gives this game a bad review don't actually tell us how it is bad. They just say stuff like "the multiplayer and campaign sucks, the graphics suck" but they don't actually tell us HOW it sucks, the just go out and say it. If it is how you actually feel about the game and you arent just trying to get it's score down.. the you are entitled to your own opinion.Okay here's my actual Review.) Halo 3 IS give lots of replayability because of all the difficulty levels,skulls,meta game and 4 player CO-OP. It is a bit short however.The Multiplayer is also fun because of the 18(soon to be 24) maps, the arsenal of weapons/vehicles, the saved films and screenshots that you can share. My favorite new feature is the FORGE because you can make your own maps(duh).SOOOO yeah I just think its a really fun game.END OF REVIEW!!! Expand
  3. TylerI.
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    As some of you may give this a 0, how can you guive it that. The balance is soo well done online, for wxample the player skill balance. Also As some of you may give this a 0, how can you guive it that. The balance is soo well done online, for wxample the player skill balance. Also each game everyone has the same weapon. You can get shot a few times and still have a chance. Isn't that great? I'm not a big fan of the older campaigns( Halo and Halo 2) I loved this one. Thr levels Tsvaso's Highway to the level Halo is just pure fun on Legendary. But the multiplayer is where the entire community is. You could probably play this game in 2016 and there probably will be at least 500 people on. But now 2.5 years after it 9/25/07 release there are 75,000 to 200,000 people on depending on the time. Just purely one of the best games on the Xbox 360 you can buy!!! Expand
  4. StrappedMunkey
    Sep 27, 2007
    9
    Great game! Multiplayer is simply amazing. You'll spend hours just going into replay movies to watch your best kills from every angle. Great game! Multiplayer is simply amazing. You'll spend hours just going into replay movies to watch your best kills from every angle. It's here when you get to slow the game down that you really see how detailed and brilliant the graphics are. I haven't been into the single player campaign too far yet, but so far it's not blowing my mind....but neither did Halo 2. Basically if you aren't into multiplayer, then why do you even care about this game anyway? If you are, then buy it and enjoy. Expand
  5. J.G.
    Dec 26, 2009
    7
    As much as I loved the first two Halo games, I just can't say that about the third one in the series. Now, I'm not saying this is a As much as I loved the first two Halo games, I just can't say that about the third one in the series. Now, I'm not saying this is a BAD game, it's just not the best it could've been. Halo 3's graphics where fantastic for its time and are still pretty impressive to this day. There's a great campaign that's a bit short, but it's still fun. If you have friends that you can play the campaign with, it usually is more fun. Friends are the core of this game, if you don't have friends with Halo, don't get Halo, it is that simple. The game is also a ton of fun to play online...with friends. The community is made of bratty 12-year-olds that think they're tough $h1t. If you have friends to play with, I'd recommend keeping them. The real problem with this game is that it doesn't have the same feeling as the original Halo and instead feels more like Resistance rather than its awesome, awesome original game. Too bad, too, because that would've made it awesome. Expand
  6. Andyman
    Sep 30, 2007
    6
    It made my day when I noticed that BioShock reclaimed the top Metascore spot from Halo 3, as the former is a far superior game. In a word, It made my day when I noticed that BioShock reclaimed the top Metascore spot from Halo 3, as the former is a far superior game. In a word, Halo 3 is... meh. Its co-op Campaign mode is its only saving grace, as its online competitive play is so stuffed full of potty-mouthed idiots as to be completely devoid of any enjoyment whatsoever. Then again, I should be GLAD of this.. it keeps these cretins from ruining the games I enjoy playing online. Thanks for the daycare service, Bungie! Expand
  7. ChuckieA.
    Sep 28, 2007
    0
    I recently finished the entire game & felt very Satisfied to what it had to offer, then i tried the online play. WOW!!! Incredible!! I could I recently finished the entire game & felt very Satisfied to what it had to offer, then i tried the online play. WOW!!! Incredible!! I could not tell you how amazing it is to play against 40 other players at once, you have to see for yourself. Expand

See all 984 User Reviews