Halo 3 Xbox 360

Halo 3 Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4052 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Halo 3 is the third game in the Halo Trilogy and provides the thrilling conclusion to the events begun in "Halo: Combat Evolved." Halo 3 picks up where "Halo 2" left off. The Master Chief is returning to Earth to finish the fight. The Covenant occupation of Earth has uncovered a massive andHalo 3 is the third game in the Halo Trilogy and provides the thrilling conclusion to the events begun in "Halo: Combat Evolved." Halo 3 picks up where "Halo 2" left off. The Master Chief is returning to Earth to finish the fight. The Covenant occupation of Earth has uncovered a massive and ancient object beneath the African sands - an object who's secrets have yet to be revealed. Earth's forces are battered and beaten. The Master Chief's AI companion Cortana is still trapped in the clutches of the Gravemind - a horrifying Flood intelligence, and a civil war is raging in the heart of the Covenant. This is how the world ends... [Bungie] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. 100
    It's solid gameplay, immense replayability, online functionality and incredible production values will ensure its place in video game history, and it is, without a doubt, a satisfying and fulfilling close to the beloved trilogy[?].
  2. Edge Magazine
    100
    In substance it's nothing new, merely a magnificent, beautiful monster of an FPS sequel. In concept and execution, though, Halo 3 is the future. [Nov 2007, p.80]
  3. 99
    Halo 3 is essential. An Xbox 360 without a copy of the game is like a human without a heart.
  4. Halo 3 gives a deeper, smoother and grander ride then ever before.
  5. The combination of the excellent campaign, tried and true multiplayer, and online co-op make this a game that shouldn't be missed by anyone.
  6. Halo 3 may not fully live up to the obscene hype, but it certainly survives it.
  7. The ads promise an epic tale of tragedy, sacrifice, and heroism that Halo 3 really had no hope in hell of ever delivering. More troubling, however, is the fact that after playing the game, I can suggest with some certainty that they promised a game that Bungie didn't even bother trying to produce.

See all 86 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. GaryR.
    Oct 6, 2007
    10
    Amazing, i honestly play this game every single day, the multiplayer is that addictive i havent even started the campaign yet.
  2. ChrisS
    Aug 24, 2009
    10
    The best game in the Halo trilogy. Everything in Halo 3 works really well. Forge and Theater are a spectacular addition to the Halo series. The best game in the Halo trilogy. Everything in Halo 3 works really well. Forge and Theater are a spectacular addition to the Halo series. The games story is fantastick and surprised me atleast three times. The campaign is short but adds extra replayability with meta games, skulls, easter eggs and meta games. Multiplayer is superb but might be a little too competitive for some people tastes. Overall Halo 3 is a deffinite must buy title and is one of the XBox's best games. Halo 3 is a classic just like Bioshock, Gears of War, Oblivion or GTA 4. Expand
  3. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    Anyone who ever gave this game anything less than a 7 is lying to themselves. It may not be a 10 but you know its pretty damn good. TheAnyone who ever gave this game anything less than a 7 is lying to themselves. It may not be a 10 but you know its pretty damn good. The multiplayer alone should warrant an automatic 9 and when you pile on the deep (and yes, at times convoluted) story it has to be at least a 9.5. If you own an XBOX 360 and have somehow not experienced the excellence that is the Halo series, do yourself a service and pick this up on the cheap. Trust. Expand
  4. PerryA.
    Sep 29, 2007
    9
    Nothing like a little hype to bring out the haters. Reading some these comments you'd think this game is the worst game in the world. Nothing like a little hype to bring out the haters. Reading some these comments you'd think this game is the worst game in the world. It's not people, it isn't disappointing either- Bungie took what was great about their previous installments and took it to another level. Its great. I think its just a damn shame that people are comparing it to Gears of War and Bioshock- yeah they are great games with great graphics- but Halo doesn't aspire to be these games- Halo aspires to be Halo. And in #3 its the best Halo yet. Expand
  5. Jan 18, 2014
    7
    Another game that is a little hard to review, as the multi-player element of the game is far better than it's single player campaign. HaloAnother game that is a little hard to review, as the multi-player element of the game is far better than it's single player campaign. Halo gains almost all it's score in the multi-player but I feel this is a bit unfair as it's one of the only online experiences I have had on the 360 but that's because it's the most fun. The only good thing the single player campaign did was remind me of the fun I had playing the original Halo, after the second Halo game really didn't tickle my balls I thought this game returned to a formula that works, but the more I thought about the game afterwards the more it reminded me of Halo and it felt like this game was just chasing the success of the original. This was the end of my interest in the Halo storyline, I thought it descended into **** at the start of the second game. Overall the amount of time I have spent playing multi-player saves this game from a low score. Expand
  6. RedR.
    Oct 8, 2007
    6
    10/10 for multiplayer 5/10 for obscenly short single player campaign. Did they really spend all those months working on this game? Single 10/10 for multiplayer 5/10 for obscenly short single player campaign. Did they really spend all those months working on this game? Single player can be completed by an average gams in probably 4-5 hours. 4/10 for graphics. Graphics are very dissapointing and bland and definitely NOT next generation. Most PC gamers will vouch for the fact that most FPS games on PCs from 3-4 years ago (Far Cry etc) looked better than this. If multiplayer is not you thing, I cannot recommend buying this game. A 2 night purchase from Blockbuster will probably be more value for money. Overall 6/10 is a fair score. I expect Edge magazine will probably give it a 7/10 max. Expand
  7. ChuckieA.
    Sep 28, 2007
    0
    I recently finished the entire game & felt very Satisfied to what it had to offer, then i tried the online play. WOW!!! Incredible!! I could I recently finished the entire game & felt very Satisfied to what it had to offer, then i tried the online play. WOW!!! Incredible!! I could not tell you how amazing it is to play against 40 other players at once, you have to see for yourself. Expand

See all 1020 User Reviews