Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3734 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Halo 3 is the third game in the Halo Trilogy and provides the thrilling conclusion to the events begun in "Halo: Combat Evolved." Halo 3 picks up where "Halo 2" left off. The Master Chief is returning to Earth to finish the fight. The Covenant occupation of Earth has uncovered a massive and ancient object beneath the African sands - an object who's secrets have yet to be revealed. Earth's forces are battered and beaten. The Master Chief's AI companion Cortana is still trapped in the clutches of the Gravemind - a horrifying Flood intelligence, and a civil war is raging in the heart of the Covenant. This is how the world ends... [Bungie] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. In substance it's nothing new, merely a magnificent, beautiful monster of an FPS sequel. In concept and execution, though, Halo 3 is the future. [Nov 2007, p.80]
  2. 100
    It's hard to imagine a feature of this game that someone won't love... Sure, no one aspect of the game is life-changing on its own, but perhaps the package as a whole is. After all, Halo 3 has enough content to keep you stuck to your controller for weeks, if not months or even years.
  3. 99
    Halo 3 is essential. An Xbox 360 without a copy of the game is like a human without a heart.
  4. Halo 3 takes every positive aspect from the first two Halo games, perfects them, puts them in a shinier and better looking package, tosses in wonderful community-driven content for a console game, establishes some awesome environments, and does it so damn well it's impossible to not have fun while playing.
  5. The combination of the excellent campaign, tried and true multiplayer, and online co-op make this a game that shouldn't be missed by anyone.
  6. What it comes down to is that Halo 3 is still a great playing first-person shooter that manages to get just about everything right.
  7. The ads promise an epic tale of tragedy, sacrifice, and heroism that Halo 3 really had no hope in hell of ever delivering. More troubling, however, is the fact that after playing the game, I can suggest with some certainty that they promised a game that Bungie didn't even bother trying to produce.

See all 86 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. AaronA.
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    Halo 3 is way to good for humanity. It's awesome campaign really made me feel good about myself. The A.I are extremely intelligent. Way more advanced then any other FPS, except Bioshocks. I think this came takes the (Pie.) Way to go Bungie. Expand
  2. RussleD.
    Dec 9, 2008
    10
    A great game, the gameplay was flawless, the graphics were fine, but for a next gen game, i would have expected more. Graphics are not everything as this game proofed it by the great gameplay and many features. I can't wait for the expansion, even tho the game has excellent replay value. Expand
  3. TylerI.
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    As some of you may give this a 0, how can you guive it that. The balance is soo well done online, for wxample the player skill balance. Also each game everyone has the same weapon. You can get shot a few times and still have a chance. Isn't that great? I'm not a big fan of the older campaigns( Halo and Halo 2) I loved this one. Thr levels Tsvaso's Highway to the level Halo is just pure fun on Legendary. But the multiplayer is where the entire community is. You could probably play this game in 2016 and there probably will be at least 500 people on. But now 2.5 years after it 9/25/07 release there are 75,000 to 200,000 people on depending on the time. Just purely one of the best games on the Xbox 360 you can buy!!! Expand
  4. JackDaniels
    Sep 26, 2007
    9
    This game is a lot of fun and has a ton of replay value, especially if you have an xbox live account. The single player is fun, but multiplayer is where all of the Halo games are at their best. Although the game has very good graphics, they could have been better, and that is why this game gets a 9 out of 10 from me. Expand
  5. AshS
    Dec 5, 2009
    7
    I'm giving it a 7 because the Multiplayer's good. Campaign was absolute crap compared to the other two games; I mean, come on. ODST was better. Sure, the AI is good (unlike some games, it's actually dynamic and can react according to different situations, try watching it sometime), but the story lets it down and makes the campaign feel terrible. Ending was alright, but still recognisable as a rehash of Halo 1 that was less enjoyable to do. Multiplayer's solid, it works well, and it's not unbalanced if you play normal MM. That's the reason I enjoy it - I can stop playing for 4 months, go back to it and there'll still be people at my level. it's not like CoD where if you buy the game two weeks late everyone's prestiged and you do nothing but die, which in itself makes it much more fun. What else... Graphics were good for its time, especially on a custom engine, but could do with some AA and decent reflections. Story sucked but made sense in that they had a limited timeframe to do it and cut quite a lot of stuff...yeah. Overall a decent game with strong MM but a very lacking campaign. Best part is probably the fact that there's always someone in MM at your level, so it doesn't matter whether you picked up the game on day one like me or the 2 year anniversary - there's still 500,000 people evenly matched for you to play. That alone is one of the reasons it's so popular and why I like it. Expand
  6. Andyman
    Sep 30, 2007
    6
    It made my day when I noticed that BioShock reclaimed the top Metascore spot from Halo 3, as the former is a far superior game. In a word, Halo 3 is... meh. Its co-op Campaign mode is its only saving grace, as its online competitive play is so stuffed full of potty-mouthed idiots as to be completely devoid of any enjoyment whatsoever. Then again, I should be GLAD of this.. it keeps these cretins from ruining the games I enjoy playing online. Thanks for the daycare service, Bungie! Expand
  7. ChuckieA.
    Sep 28, 2007
    0
    I recently finished the entire game & felt very Satisfied to what it had to offer, then i tried the online play. WOW!!! Incredible!! I could not tell you how amazing it is to play against 40 other players at once, you have to see for yourself. Expand

See all 980 User Reviews

Trailers