Halo 3 Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4271 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Halo 3 is the third game in the Halo Trilogy and provides the thrilling conclusion to the events begun in "Halo: Combat Evolved." Halo 3 picks up where "Halo 2" left off. The Master Chief is returning to Earth to finish the fight. The Covenant occupation of Earth has uncovered a massive andHalo 3 is the third game in the Halo Trilogy and provides the thrilling conclusion to the events begun in "Halo: Combat Evolved." Halo 3 picks up where "Halo 2" left off. The Master Chief is returning to Earth to finish the fight. The Covenant occupation of Earth has uncovered a massive and ancient object beneath the African sands - an object who's secrets have yet to be revealed. Earth's forces are battered and beaten. The Master Chief's AI companion Cortana is still trapped in the clutches of the Gravemind - a horrifying Flood intelligence, and a civil war is raging in the heart of the Covenant. This is how the world ends... [Bungie] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. 100
    It's solid gameplay, immense replayability, online functionality and incredible production values will ensure its place in video game history, and it is, without a doubt, a satisfying and fulfilling close to the beloved trilogy[?].
  2. Edge Magazine
    100
    In substance it's nothing new, merely a magnificent, beautiful monster of an FPS sequel. In concept and execution, though, Halo 3 is the future. [Nov 2007, p.80]
  3. 99
    Halo 3 is essential. An Xbox 360 without a copy of the game is like a human without a heart.
  4. Halo 3 gives a deeper, smoother and grander ride then ever before.
  5. The combination of the excellent campaign, tried and true multiplayer, and online co-op make this a game that shouldn't be missed by anyone.
  6. Halo 3 may not fully live up to the obscene hype, but it certainly survives it.
  7. The ads promise an epic tale of tragedy, sacrifice, and heroism that Halo 3 really had no hope in hell of ever delivering. More troubling, however, is the fact that after playing the game, I can suggest with some certainty that they promised a game that Bungie didn't even bother trying to produce.

See all 86 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. SaulX
    Oct 7, 2007
    10
    Campaign is fun, not amazing kinda boring bu your self but good on 4 player co-op, multiplayer is mind blowing though, never had so much fun Campaign is fun, not amazing kinda boring bu your self but good on 4 player co-op, multiplayer is mind blowing though, never had so much fun in a video game in a while stat tracking is a in depth and lots and lots of replay, with forge and video editor, this game would be 8 if it was just single player campaign and thats it but withe the multiplayer its just way to good, this could a stand alone multiplayer game easily. its also quite funny that all the below 8 reviews dont seem to make mention of the multiplayer, get live before u review the game, reveiwing just based on single player is ridiculous its like 10% of the game. The graphics are great but ppl keep saying there dated there not. Just because its called halo it has to have the best graphics on 360 or else its "dated" the graphics are in the top 3 games for 360 for sure. Expand
  2. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    The SP sucks sooo bad, i got bored during th FIRST mission. The multiplayer is well, and the local S/S is very fun. The graphics are crap andThe SP sucks sooo bad, i got bored during th FIRST mission. The multiplayer is well, and the local S/S is very fun. The graphics are crap and the voices of the enemies are annoying. I hope reach is better than this piece of hammered **** Expand
  3. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    Anyone who ever gave this game anything less than a 7 is lying to themselves. It may not be a 10 but you know its pretty damn good. TheAnyone who ever gave this game anything less than a 7 is lying to themselves. It may not be a 10 but you know its pretty damn good. The multiplayer alone should warrant an automatic 9 and when you pile on the deep (and yes, at times convoluted) story it has to be at least a 9.5. If you own an XBOX 360 and have somehow not experienced the excellence that is the Halo series, do yourself a service and pick this up on the cheap. Trust. Expand
  4. AndrewU.
    Oct 1, 2007
    9
    Halo 3 delivered what it promised in almost every single way. My only problem with it is how short the single player campaign was. Everyone Halo 3 delivered what it promised in almost every single way. My only problem with it is how short the single player campaign was. Everyone seems to complain about the graphics, but personally I think they're better than Gears of War. Now before you jump all over me, hear me out. I think they're better because H3 has some actual color and variety behind it. Gears of war looked more photo realistic, but everything in the game was black and grey, which became really boring. Little details like you feet sinking slightly into sand or snow, leaving footprints just add to the experience. As for the gameplay, with the focus taken back more to the original formula of guns, melee bashing and grenades, it feels alot more like Halo. The exhisting guns have all been tweaked and the new ones like the gravity hammer is a blast, literally sending enemies flying in all directions. The controls work exactly as they should, esp. in the middle of a heated firefight. I rarely felt like I died because the controls didn't work as they should, like the clunky controls in Gears. The vehicles work exactly as they should and nothing is funnier than running down ghosts in a brute chopper. Multiplayer is frantic and alot of fun, and the new equipment spice things up a bit. Radar jammers, trip mines, the bubble shield, deployable cover, power drainers, ect, ect, all add another level of tatics. The forge and theater are both alot of fun. I was playing a game on forge, and being able to help my team out by dropping a much needed weapon or vehicle was a godsend. I know that sounds cheap, but keep in mind, the other team can do the same. The theater is fun, but I've mainly used it to show my friends exactly how I shot them in the head, or how to take a look at how I was killed, so i can learn from my mistakes. All around a great game and alot of fun. Expand
  5. Nov 19, 2013
    7
    Halo 3 is a game set in the magical time of 2500 or around that time. This is game is okay. I've played better halo's I have to admit.Halo 3 is a game set in the magical time of 2500 or around that time. This is game is okay. I've played better halo's I have to admit. Although it came out in 2008 it's still looks good. It's plays well and this was the first halo with forge. Forge is a great mode where you can spawn in things from the game. The multiplayeis rubbish and I hate the campaign but the game modes and forge is the only reason I play Halo anyway.

    Overall
    -Bad Campaign
    -Bad Multiplayer
    -Amazing forge mode
    Score 72/100
    Expand
  6. JohnnyD.
    Oct 27, 2007
    6
    Halo basically takes everything that's been done before in FPS games and throws it haphazardly throws it into one box. It has a lot of Halo basically takes everything that's been done before in FPS games and throws it haphazardly throws it into one box. It has a lot of content, but some of the content isn't of high quality. I would rather buy a high quality singleplayer FPS game and another high quality multiplayer FPS game, than buy one game that has mediocre singleplayer and multiplayer. Expand
  7. ChuckieA.
    Sep 28, 2007
    0
    I recently finished the entire game & felt very Satisfied to what it had to offer, then i tried the online play. WOW!!! Incredible!! I could I recently finished the entire game & felt very Satisfied to what it had to offer, then i tried the online play. WOW!!! Incredible!! I could not tell you how amazing it is to play against 40 other players at once, you have to see for yourself. Expand

See all 1041 User Reviews