Halo 3 Xbox 360

Halo 3 Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4048 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Halo 3 is the third game in the Halo Trilogy and provides the thrilling conclusion to the events begun in "Halo: Combat Evolved." Halo 3 picks up where "Halo 2" left off. The Master Chief is returning to Earth to finish the fight. The Covenant occupation of Earth has uncovered a massive andHalo 3 is the third game in the Halo Trilogy and provides the thrilling conclusion to the events begun in "Halo: Combat Evolved." Halo 3 picks up where "Halo 2" left off. The Master Chief is returning to Earth to finish the fight. The Covenant occupation of Earth has uncovered a massive and ancient object beneath the African sands - an object who's secrets have yet to be revealed. Earth's forces are battered and beaten. The Master Chief's AI companion Cortana is still trapped in the clutches of the Gravemind - a horrifying Flood intelligence, and a civil war is raging in the heart of the Covenant. This is how the world ends... [Bungie] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. 100
    It's solid gameplay, immense replayability, online functionality and incredible production values will ensure its place in video game history, and it is, without a doubt, a satisfying and fulfilling close to the beloved trilogy[?].
  2. Edge Magazine
    100
    In substance it's nothing new, merely a magnificent, beautiful monster of an FPS sequel. In concept and execution, though, Halo 3 is the future. [Nov 2007, p.80]
  3. 99
    Halo 3 is essential. An Xbox 360 without a copy of the game is like a human without a heart.
  4. Halo 3 gives a deeper, smoother and grander ride then ever before.
  5. The combination of the excellent campaign, tried and true multiplayer, and online co-op make this a game that shouldn't be missed by anyone.
  6. Halo 3 may not fully live up to the obscene hype, but it certainly survives it.
  7. The ads promise an epic tale of tragedy, sacrifice, and heroism that Halo 3 really had no hope in hell of ever delivering. More troubling, however, is the fact that after playing the game, I can suggest with some certainty that they promised a game that Bungie didn't even bother trying to produce.

See all 86 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. TonyB.
    Oct 5, 2007
    10
    Absolutely perfect in every aspect. Though the single-player is rather short, the AI and the metagame, let alone the multiplayer, make up for Absolutely perfect in every aspect. Though the single-player is rather short, the AI and the metagame, let alone the multiplayer, make up for that and more. If there was a "20" option I'd rate it that. Expand
  2. Jon
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    The reason I'm giving this a perfect score is because it accomplished everything it set out to do. The plot is certainly an improvementThe reason I'm giving this a perfect score is because it accomplished everything it set out to do. The plot is certainly an improvement over Halo 2's, and as always there is great multiplayer (with a huge amount of different modes to play from). I think there are a couple comparable games that are better (CoD4 comes to mind), but it does no wrong and neither can you if you choose to play this enjoyable experience. Expand
  3. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    Anyone who ever gave this game anything less than a 7 is lying to themselves. It may not be a 10 but you know its pretty damn good. TheAnyone who ever gave this game anything less than a 7 is lying to themselves. It may not be a 10 but you know its pretty damn good. The multiplayer alone should warrant an automatic 9 and when you pile on the deep (and yes, at times convoluted) story it has to be at least a 9.5. If you own an XBOX 360 and have somehow not experienced the excellence that is the Halo series, do yourself a service and pick this up on the cheap. Trust. Expand
  4. MrBeamish
    Sep 29, 2007
    9
    Campaign is a little on the weak side but Halo is all about the online. Live matches are an absolute blast. Bungie have gone the way of Campaign is a little on the weak side but Halo is all about the online. Live matches are an absolute blast. Bungie have gone the way of user-generated content with all the customised, shareable game modes & Forge to create a game that will be played for years to come. The replay feature really makes you appreciate the beauty and detail in the graphics, despite the criticism banded about the looks. Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2013
    7
    Let me start off by saying, Halo 3 is well worth your money and your time. The story campaign is well done and you really feel connected toLet me start off by saying, Halo 3 is well worth your money and your time. The story campaign is well done and you really feel connected to the characters, although the campaign is short (about 5-6 hours long) it's still worth your money just for that. The campaign also includes co-op just like all the previous Halo games and that's a bunch of fun. The multi-player is still as good as ever, if not, better. New vehicles and new guns keep the game from becoming bland when compared to the previous games.

    The multi-player will make you keep coming for more with the ranking system and the customisable armour for your player. There's a new mode called Forge which lets you edit maps and do some really cool stuff, unfortunately it is very limited but it's still fun to play with friends and create a racetrack every now and then.

    The graphics are nice considering this games was released in 2007 and although they may not look the best now they still hold up pretty well. This games is a solid game, and it deserves all your money and time, buy it, I honestly can't think of any cons for this games apart from being a bit repetitive sometimes. Even if you don't have Xbox Live this game has split-screen or offline players and still let's you play everything Xbox Live members do, as long as you have a second controller and a buddy.

    Seriously, buy this game right now.
    Expand
  6. FPSMaster
    Oct 7, 2007
    6
    This franchise has not aged well. It basically hasn't changed since the first game 6 years ago, and in most ways is worse. The story This franchise has not aged well. It basically hasn't changed since the first game 6 years ago, and in most ways is worse. The story that I used to think was so great seems really lame 6 years later and the campaign is just flat out dull and boring. The MP hasn't changed since Halo 2 other than some new weapons, some buttons switched around on the controller, more lag and worse hit detection with everything from melees to grenades to bullets. Biggest let down in the history of gaming (something the 360 really didn't need any more of) so I'm glad Bungie split from M$ after playing this atrocity. This series and developer are nothing more than on-hit-wonders and I'm sorry I wasted so much time defending this fracnhise for so long. The fact that this console even exists merely because of this franchise makes me wonder what the Hell the world is coming to. Lame. Expand
  7. ChuckieA.
    Sep 28, 2007
    0
    I recently finished the entire game & felt very Satisfied to what it had to offer, then i tried the online play. WOW!!! Incredible!! I could I recently finished the entire game & felt very Satisfied to what it had to offer, then i tried the online play. WOW!!! Incredible!! I could not tell you how amazing it is to play against 40 other players at once, you have to see for yourself. Expand

See all 1018 User Reviews