Halo 3 Xbox 360

Halo 3 Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4079 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Halo 3 is the third game in the Halo Trilogy and provides the thrilling conclusion to the events begun in "Halo: Combat Evolved." Halo 3 picks up where "Halo 2" left off. The Master Chief is returning to Earth to finish the fight. The Covenant occupation of Earth has uncovered a massive andHalo 3 is the third game in the Halo Trilogy and provides the thrilling conclusion to the events begun in "Halo: Combat Evolved." Halo 3 picks up where "Halo 2" left off. The Master Chief is returning to Earth to finish the fight. The Covenant occupation of Earth has uncovered a massive and ancient object beneath the African sands - an object who's secrets have yet to be revealed. Earth's forces are battered and beaten. The Master Chief's AI companion Cortana is still trapped in the clutches of the Gravemind - a horrifying Flood intelligence, and a civil war is raging in the heart of the Covenant. This is how the world ends... [Bungie] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. 100
    It's solid gameplay, immense replayability, online functionality and incredible production values will ensure its place in video game history, and it is, without a doubt, a satisfying and fulfilling close to the beloved trilogy[?].
  2. Edge Magazine
    100
    In substance it's nothing new, merely a magnificent, beautiful monster of an FPS sequel. In concept and execution, though, Halo 3 is the future. [Nov 2007, p.80]
  3. 99
    Halo 3 is essential. An Xbox 360 without a copy of the game is like a human without a heart.
  4. Halo 3 gives a deeper, smoother and grander ride then ever before.
  5. The combination of the excellent campaign, tried and true multiplayer, and online co-op make this a game that shouldn't be missed by anyone.
  6. Halo 3 may not fully live up to the obscene hype, but it certainly survives it.
  7. The ads promise an epic tale of tragedy, sacrifice, and heroism that Halo 3 really had no hope in hell of ever delivering. More troubling, however, is the fact that after playing the game, I can suggest with some certainty that they promised a game that Bungie didn't even bother trying to produce.

See all 86 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. CodyR.
    Oct 6, 2007
    10
    This is a great game, most people who newly come in wont see what the big deal is. But their is a big deal because its an incredible game, This is a great game, most people who newly come in wont see what the big deal is. But their is a big deal because its an incredible game, one of the greatest i ever played. It deserves a 9 if i take into account all the people that won't like it if their not halo 1+2 fanatics, but im giving it a 10 because all of the people that gave it a 0. I;m giving a shoutout to all those people. YOU SUCK. Expand
  2. RonG
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    One of my favorite games ever. It will never get old. The campaign is so-so and some things could be a little better. However, this is meant One of my favorite games ever. It will never get old. The campaign is so-so and some things could be a little better. However, this is meant mostly as a multiplayer game and this is where it excels above all. The replay value is through the roof, and for those who love games that require skill to play and master, Halo 3 online play is just that. Amazing. Expand
  3. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    Anyone who ever gave this game anything less than a 7 is lying to themselves. It may not be a 10 but you know its pretty damn good. TheAnyone who ever gave this game anything less than a 7 is lying to themselves. It may not be a 10 but you know its pretty damn good. The multiplayer alone should warrant an automatic 9 and when you pile on the deep (and yes, at times convoluted) story it has to be at least a 9.5. If you own an XBOX 360 and have somehow not experienced the excellence that is the Halo series, do yourself a service and pick this up on the cheap. Trust. Expand
  4. JeddG.
    Sep 30, 2007
    9
    Halo 3 is a multiplayer game. While I was interested in the story's conclusion from beginning to end, it was mostly predictable and the Halo 3 is a multiplayer game. While I was interested in the story's conclusion from beginning to end, it was mostly predictable and the campaign felt cut short. Some of the feel of Halo 1 was brought back, which is very high praise coming from a huge fan of the original. The multiplayer is essentially the same as Halo 2 with improved graphics, more balanced and upgraded weapons, and a few new toys to play with. That's both good and bad since the original games worked very well, and changing the system could be very detrimental. If you liked playing online in Halo 2, the series' 3rd installment is a good buy. Expand
  5. Oct 1, 2015
    7
    Tier 2
    + Polishes some aspects of the Halo experience, offering some cool additions to the mechanics in multiplayer
    + Forge map editor is a
    Tier 2
    + Polishes some aspects of the Halo experience, offering some cool additions to the mechanics in multiplayer
    + Forge map editor is a welcome addition providing some opportunities for unique gameplay, though it feels fairly sparse
    ? Single-player campaign not particularly strong compared to the previous installments
    - Multiplayer feels a bit stilted and like a step-backwards in some ways from the last installment
    Expand
  6. SimonR.
    Oct 10, 2007
    6
    The underwhelming, short campaign is saved by the multi player and it's new features - but only just.The end sequence is disappointing The underwhelming, short campaign is saved by the multi player and it's new features - but only just.The end sequence is disappointing and unsatisfying while the constant backtracking is frustrating. Of course this was always going to be a solid FPS and it is - I was just expecting more. If you're looking for Halo 2 with nicer graphics - Halo 3 is great (maybe Bungie should have called it Halo 2.5?). If you're strapped for cash, don't have Live and can only choose one game at the moment... Bioshock is an infinitely more memorable and rewarding experience. Expand
  7. ChuckieA.
    Sep 28, 2007
    0
    I recently finished the entire game & felt very Satisfied to what it had to offer, then i tried the online play. WOW!!! Incredible!! I could I recently finished the entire game & felt very Satisfied to what it had to offer, then i tried the online play. WOW!!! Incredible!! I could not tell you how amazing it is to play against 40 other players at once, you have to see for yourself. Expand

See all 1026 User Reviews