Halo 3 Xbox 360

Halo 3 Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4141 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Halo 3 is the third game in the Halo Trilogy and provides the thrilling conclusion to the events begun in "Halo: Combat Evolved." Halo 3 picks up where "Halo 2" left off. The Master Chief is returning to Earth to finish the fight. The Covenant occupation of Earth has uncovered a massive andHalo 3 is the third game in the Halo Trilogy and provides the thrilling conclusion to the events begun in "Halo: Combat Evolved." Halo 3 picks up where "Halo 2" left off. The Master Chief is returning to Earth to finish the fight. The Covenant occupation of Earth has uncovered a massive and ancient object beneath the African sands - an object who's secrets have yet to be revealed. Earth's forces are battered and beaten. The Master Chief's AI companion Cortana is still trapped in the clutches of the Gravemind - a horrifying Flood intelligence, and a civil war is raging in the heart of the Covenant. This is how the world ends... [Bungie] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. 100
    It's solid gameplay, immense replayability, online functionality and incredible production values will ensure its place in video game history, and it is, without a doubt, a satisfying and fulfilling close to the beloved trilogy[?].
  2. Edge Magazine
    100
    In substance it's nothing new, merely a magnificent, beautiful monster of an FPS sequel. In concept and execution, though, Halo 3 is the future. [Nov 2007, p.80]
  3. 99
    Halo 3 is essential. An Xbox 360 without a copy of the game is like a human without a heart.
  4. Halo 3 gives a deeper, smoother and grander ride then ever before.
  5. The combination of the excellent campaign, tried and true multiplayer, and online co-op make this a game that shouldn't be missed by anyone.
  6. Halo 3 may not fully live up to the obscene hype, but it certainly survives it.
  7. The ads promise an epic tale of tragedy, sacrifice, and heroism that Halo 3 really had no hope in hell of ever delivering. More troubling, however, is the fact that after playing the game, I can suggest with some certainty that they promised a game that Bungie didn't even bother trying to produce.

See all 86 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. [anonymous]
    Oct 6, 2007
    10
    Normally people hate on this game just because they claim it's overhyped. Sure the campaign is pretty bad, but the multiplayer (xbox Normally people hate on this game just because they claim it's overhyped. Sure the campaign is pretty bad, but the multiplayer (xbox live and LAN mostly) is probably the most fun and addicting multiplayer i've ever seen or played. In fact i invited some of my friends who claimed halo and halo 2was awful. When done playing some LAN matches they wanted to play over and over again. Expand
  2. MarcelloS
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    Halo 3 is a great game with a fun campaign and an excellent multiplayer experience! It came out 2 years ago and it still tops some of the FPS Halo 3 is a great game with a fun campaign and an excellent multiplayer experience! It came out 2 years ago and it still tops some of the FPS coming out to this game! Must play! Expand
  3. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    Anyone who ever gave this game anything less than a 7 is lying to themselves. It may not be a 10 but you know its pretty damn good. TheAnyone who ever gave this game anything less than a 7 is lying to themselves. It may not be a 10 but you know its pretty damn good. The multiplayer alone should warrant an automatic 9 and when you pile on the deep (and yes, at times convoluted) story it has to be at least a 9.5. If you own an XBOX 360 and have somehow not experienced the excellence that is the Halo series, do yourself a service and pick this up on the cheap. Trust. Expand
  4. MatthewWilliams
    Sep 30, 2007
    9
    All the Halo games have been very succsessful but Halo3 is the best game of 2007 with great one player gameplay, but the best part is xbox All the Halo games have been very succsessful but Halo3 is the best game of 2007 with great one player gameplay, but the best part is xbox live is the best part. I am only dissapointed how nothing is very new. Expand
  5. Oct 1, 2015
    7
    Tier 2
    + Polishes some aspects of the Halo experience, offering some cool additions to the mechanics in multiplayer
    + Forge map editor is a
    Tier 2
    + Polishes some aspects of the Halo experience, offering some cool additions to the mechanics in multiplayer
    + Forge map editor is a welcome addition providing some opportunities for unique gameplay, though it feels fairly sparse
    ? Single-player campaign not particularly strong compared to the previous installments
    - Multiplayer feels a bit stilted and like a step-backwards in some ways from the last installment
    Expand
  6. RedR.
    Oct 8, 2007
    6
    10/10 for multiplayer 5/10 for obscenly short single player campaign. Did they really spend all those months working on this game? Single 10/10 for multiplayer 5/10 for obscenly short single player campaign. Did they really spend all those months working on this game? Single player can be completed by an average gams in probably 4-5 hours. 4/10 for graphics. Graphics are very dissapointing and bland and definitely NOT next generation. Most PC gamers will vouch for the fact that most FPS games on PCs from 3-4 years ago (Far Cry etc) looked better than this. If multiplayer is not you thing, I cannot recommend buying this game. A 2 night purchase from Blockbuster will probably be more value for money. Overall 6/10 is a fair score. I expect Edge magazine will probably give it a 7/10 max. Expand
  7. ChuckieA.
    Sep 28, 2007
    0
    I recently finished the entire game & felt very Satisfied to what it had to offer, then i tried the online play. WOW!!! Incredible!! I could I recently finished the entire game & felt very Satisfied to what it had to offer, then i tried the online play. WOW!!! Incredible!! I could not tell you how amazing it is to play against 40 other players at once, you have to see for yourself. Expand

See all 1026 User Reviews