Halo 3 Xbox 360

Halo 3 Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4157 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Halo 3 is the third game in the Halo Trilogy and provides the thrilling conclusion to the events begun in "Halo: Combat Evolved." Halo 3 picks up where "Halo 2" left off. The Master Chief is returning to Earth to finish the fight. The Covenant occupation of Earth has uncovered a massive andHalo 3 is the third game in the Halo Trilogy and provides the thrilling conclusion to the events begun in "Halo: Combat Evolved." Halo 3 picks up where "Halo 2" left off. The Master Chief is returning to Earth to finish the fight. The Covenant occupation of Earth has uncovered a massive and ancient object beneath the African sands - an object who's secrets have yet to be revealed. Earth's forces are battered and beaten. The Master Chief's AI companion Cortana is still trapped in the clutches of the Gravemind - a horrifying Flood intelligence, and a civil war is raging in the heart of the Covenant. This is how the world ends... [Bungie] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. 100
    It's solid gameplay, immense replayability, online functionality and incredible production values will ensure its place in video game history, and it is, without a doubt, a satisfying and fulfilling close to the beloved trilogy[?].
  2. Edge Magazine
    100
    In substance it's nothing new, merely a magnificent, beautiful monster of an FPS sequel. In concept and execution, though, Halo 3 is the future. [Nov 2007, p.80]
  3. 99
    Halo 3 is essential. An Xbox 360 without a copy of the game is like a human without a heart.
  4. Halo 3 gives a deeper, smoother and grander ride then ever before.
  5. The combination of the excellent campaign, tried and true multiplayer, and online co-op make this a game that shouldn't be missed by anyone.
  6. Halo 3 may not fully live up to the obscene hype, but it certainly survives it.
  7. The ads promise an epic tale of tragedy, sacrifice, and heroism that Halo 3 really had no hope in hell of ever delivering. More troubling, however, is the fact that after playing the game, I can suggest with some certainty that they promised a game that Bungie didn't even bother trying to produce.

See all 86 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. CurtisK.
    Oct 6, 2007
    10
    Co-op is top notch along with best multi-player available on any console.
  2. JesusM
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    Halo is what I expected. the series is known for the vehicles, the guns, and the maps. I must say Bungie has done it again. The balance of Halo is what I expected. the series is known for the vehicles, the guns, and the maps. I must say Bungie has done it again. The balance of the gameplay is 99% perfect. The new weopons like the spartan laser and the gravity hammer are awesome. the campaign has very good music and atmsphere. one of the best cut scenes i have seen in a video game. The multiplayer is where it shines thanks to theatre and the game rules. alo 3 multiuplayer is addictive. the battle rifle is fun to use as is the sniper rifle. Halo is memorable game and the theatre mode lets you relive you most memorable moments. The graphcs are pretty especially in the first level with HDR lighting effects and beutiful colors. Truly a classic. Expand
  3. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    Anyone who ever gave this game anything less than a 7 is lying to themselves. It may not be a 10 but you know its pretty damn good. TheAnyone who ever gave this game anything less than a 7 is lying to themselves. It may not be a 10 but you know its pretty damn good. The multiplayer alone should warrant an automatic 9 and when you pile on the deep (and yes, at times convoluted) story it has to be at least a 9.5. If you own an XBOX 360 and have somehow not experienced the excellence that is the Halo series, do yourself a service and pick this up on the cheap. Trust. Expand
  4. RavenX301
    Sep 30, 2007
    9
    I dont understand all these dumb a$$'s saying how terrible it is. It is clear that they are ethier PS 3 Fanboys or just morons. this is I dont understand all these dumb a$$'s saying how terrible it is. It is clear that they are ethier PS 3 Fanboys or just morons. this is an amazing game. The campian is extremly fun, althought really, really short, and the miultiplayer is a the best in any FPS game. What else is there? Of course not every one is needed to like Halo, I understand that, but why go on these borads and bad mouth it for no reason. clearly you hav;nt an idea what your talking about. Is this game better the Halo 1? Yes...a million times better, but is the experince better than halo 1? No.....there is no way that a thrid installation of any kind of game that features the same style of play is going to out do its own first imperrsion. If this came out at the same time Halo 1 came out (some how) everyone wold think that this one would be amazing and the fisrt one is nothing. Its all becasue poeple seem to expect impossible things from sequels.....If Bungie went off and put in all this cray stuff like covering systems and RPG elements, then it wouldnt be Halo and everyone would complain about that! get over it you PS fan boys.......Expect the fact that this generation is 360's and not the Playstation..I do own one by the way. Expand
  5. Dec 30, 2010
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After playing the previous two Halo games, I was looking forward too playing through this, and finishing the fight.
    I was amazed at the Graphics, it looked stunning in HD 1080. The game-play was really good too, and it was enjoyable.
    However, what let it down was two things:
    Length: Compared to the previous two, this was really short. If I wanted too, I could have completed this in one sitting. It felt like it was over before it begun.
    Plot: There wasn't much of a plot, and nothing made sense until the final couple of Chapters. Cortana's random viewings didn't make any sense either.
    The ending couple have been so much better than what it was, but still remained with the Chief dying.
    This game was saved by the multi-player aspect of it, which is brilliant.
    Expand
  6. SimonR.
    Oct 10, 2007
    6
    The underwhelming, short campaign is saved by the multi player and it's new features - but only just.The end sequence is disappointing The underwhelming, short campaign is saved by the multi player and it's new features - but only just.The end sequence is disappointing and unsatisfying while the constant backtracking is frustrating. Of course this was always going to be a solid FPS and it is - I was just expecting more. If you're looking for Halo 2 with nicer graphics - Halo 3 is great (maybe Bungie should have called it Halo 2.5?). If you're strapped for cash, don't have Live and can only choose one game at the moment... Bioshock is an infinitely more memorable and rewarding experience. Expand
  7. ChuckieA.
    Sep 28, 2007
    0
    I recently finished the entire game & felt very Satisfied to what it had to offer, then i tried the online play. WOW!!! Incredible!! I could I recently finished the entire game & felt very Satisfied to what it had to offer, then i tried the online play. WOW!!! Incredible!! I could not tell you how amazing it is to play against 40 other players at once, you have to see for yourself. Expand

See all 1028 User Reviews