Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 489 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: "Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary" is a spectacularly remastered version of the original "Halo" campaign, created in celebration of the 10th anniversary of one of the most beloved franchises in gaming history. With a bounty of new features including cooperative play over"Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary" is a spectacularly remastered version of the original "Halo" campaign, created in celebration of the 10th anniversary of one of the most beloved franchises in gaming history. With a bounty of new features including cooperative play over Xbox LIVE, a bundle of some of the most beloved multiplayer maps in "Halo" history reimagined for Xbox LIVE, new challenges and a new story to uncover. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. Nov 22, 2011
    100
    They could have easily just threw on a fresh coat of paint on it and called it an HD remake like a lot of other titles, but 343 has more respect for Bungie, Halo and the fans than that. They have added a ton of new features well worth the $40 price tag.
  2. Nov 14, 2011
    90
    An ambitious remake. One of the most memorable campaigns in the history of first person shooters can now be relived with wonderful HD graphics. And six of the best multiplayer maps from the original rounds off what is a fantastic package with great value.
  3. Nov 25, 2011
    88
    Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary is more than just a simple high defintion remake. The game is running on two engines, the original CE one and a new one. It's a great way to show the progress that has been made in ten years. In spite of some technical errors and the absence of many original multiplayer maps, 343 shows that it has the power to create next year's Halo 4.
  4. Nov 14, 2011
    80
    A great way to celebrate the original Halo. The remastered HD graphic is good enough and the simple but effective gameplay of the first Halo game can still offer a lot of fun. The addition of the Skulls system is really appreciated just as the Reach multiplayer. If you've never played Halo, you should try this Anniversary edition.
  5. games(TM)
    Dec 1, 2011
    80
    A faithful recreation in every sense of the term. [Christmas 2011, p.96]
  6. 80
    As long as you're prepared for the fact that Halo neither was nor is a perfect game, this piece of restored gaming history is well worth the cost.
  7. Nov 30, 2011
    50
    It's still an important and hugely influential game and it should probably be played by anyone interested in first-person shooters. But unless you're part of the generation of gamers that are now in their 20s and you're looking to recapture your Halo heydays, this is definitely most gamers can skip even at its budget $40 retail price.

See all 73 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 156
  1. Jul 1, 2012
    10
    Technically best looking HD Conversation made for next gen consoles.
    It looks like a reboot more than a conversation.Haven't played Halo 1
    Technically best looking HD Conversation made for next gen consoles.
    It looks like a reboot more than a conversation.Haven't played Halo 1 before?Get it!
    Have played before? There's still much to see in this legendary FPS.
    Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Halo: CE got a 10 originally. I'm not sure why it deserves anything less now. People saying that 343 is just being money hungry, well they'reHalo: CE got a 10 originally. I'm not sure why it deserves anything less now. People saying that 343 is just being money hungry, well they're not. Halo: CE costs 20 dollars on the xbox live market place, and the map pack is 15. For 5 more dollars you get the disk, terminals, updated graphics, and skulls.

    This game is worth 60 dollars, you'd be a fool to not buy it for 40.
    Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I'm starting to doubt the value of the score in video game reviews (83 is fine, not my point). There is such an inflation issue with theI'm starting to doubt the value of the score in video game reviews (83 is fine, not my point). There is such an inflation issue with the perspective of readers that devalues anything less than 90 to pure trash.

    Anyways, for Halo CE fans this game is a 100. It's the game we love, with the faults we love, now with online co-op. Nothing gets better than that.

    I get lost on Pillar of Autumn and the Maw every time.
    Expand
  4. Feb 21, 2016
    9
    Halo CE Anniversary is the first Halo title to come from 343 Industries, Halo's new curators. CE Anniversary is a very well designed andHalo CE Anniversary is the first Halo title to come from 343 Industries, Halo's new curators. CE Anniversary is a very well designed and produced game, and a great remaster. The new graphics look spectacular and amazing. And you can instantly switch between the 2001 original graphics, or the 2011 coat of paint. When you switch to 2011 graphics, however, there are a few changes to the game. The Grunt and Elite designs are now the Halo Reach versions, and the game now runs on Halo Reach's engine. The multiplayer in Anniversary is pretty much Halo Reach multiplayer, except you can only play on a certain amount of maps that this game gives you. Why couldn't 343 just recreate CE's multiplayer, but make it online? That would have been great! But no, 343 decided to play it safe. You can buy this game along with the MCC, but I wouldn't recommend buying this game on the 360, the experience isn't as good. Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    Well, well, well... Halo Anniversary could have well been a trainwreck. I suppose it hasn't, with great gameplay, improvements on everyWell, well, well... Halo Anniversary could have well been a trainwreck. I suppose it hasn't, with great gameplay, improvements on every feature, and has everything new. I'll admit it's nothing like Halo Reach, but it's not a bad game in the end. It won't be the next biggest thing if you thought there would be nothing like it- because, well, there is... But it's a simple little game with entertaning add ups and it's cheap price won't let you down. Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2011
    8
    Halo CE Anniversary delivers a fresh coat of paint to the original Halo CE which provides a refreshing graphical quality while allowingHalo CE Anniversary delivers a fresh coat of paint to the original Halo CE which provides a refreshing graphical quality while allowing nostalgic fans the ability to enjoy their original campaign untouched. The option to seamlessly change between classic and remastered graphics is a fun experience, although the classic graphics are noticeably darker in comparison. The absence of skulls and terminals in the classic graphics is a let-down, although switching is easy, but it can disrupt the flow of classic play.
    The multiplayer add-on was disappointing, the option for classic multiplayer should have been an obvious addition, but we are left with a non-exclusive reach map pack that contains only 6 remastered maps. The netcode for xbox live campaign play is disappointing and should have been altered if only to allow client-side aiming at the least. The addition of terminals adds a fun experience to the game and hints to Halo 4. The skulls included are fun, but the ease of achievements due to the Bandanna skull is disappointing. Overall, the game is a well-pieced reskin, and easily creates nostalgia and fun after easing into the campaign. The multiplayer is disappointing.
    Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2011
    2
    It has begun we thought it was just hollywood but now there doing to games remakes yes it launched the xbox I know I was there I bought myIt has begun we thought it was just hollywood but now there doing to games remakes yes it launched the xbox I know I was there I bought my first xbox so happy to know that Bungie would do a half ass reboot later..ooo we can see the sunglare, water splashes, little more details wow really bungie you want us to pay 60 bucks for that how about you actually redid the whole thing with the graphics like reach or maybe put some extra stuff say be able to use odst troopers or even design your own marines like in reach..considering this is after reach campaign...Maybe this title has run its course to know that there is a Halo 4 next year really come on, how many more till you realise your flogging a dead horse..Are you gonna go the way of guitar hero or ,et it finish like GOW, M.E, COD MW. Let it go and start something new.. Expand

See all 156 User Reviews