Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 481 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: "Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary" is a spectacularly remastered version of the original "Halo" campaign, created in celebration of the 10th anniversary of one of the most beloved franchises in gaming history. With a bounty of new features including cooperative play over"Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary" is a spectacularly remastered version of the original "Halo" campaign, created in celebration of the 10th anniversary of one of the most beloved franchises in gaming history. With a bounty of new features including cooperative play over Xbox LIVE, a bundle of some of the most beloved multiplayer maps in "Halo" history reimagined for Xbox LIVE, new challenges and a new story to uncover. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. Nov 22, 2011
    100
    They could have easily just threw on a fresh coat of paint on it and called it an HD remake like a lot of other titles, but 343 has more respect for Bungie, Halo and the fans than that. They have added a ton of new features well worth the $40 price tag.
  2. Nov 14, 2011
    90
    An ambitious remake. One of the most memorable campaigns in the history of first person shooters can now be relived with wonderful HD graphics. And six of the best multiplayer maps from the original rounds off what is a fantastic package with great value.
  3. Nov 25, 2011
    88
    Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary is more than just a simple high defintion remake. The game is running on two engines, the original CE one and a new one. It's a great way to show the progress that has been made in ten years. In spite of some technical errors and the absence of many original multiplayer maps, 343 shows that it has the power to create next year's Halo 4.
  4. Nov 14, 2011
    80
    A great way to celebrate the original Halo. The remastered HD graphic is good enough and the simple but effective gameplay of the first Halo game can still offer a lot of fun. The addition of the Skulls system is really appreciated just as the Reach multiplayer. If you've never played Halo, you should try this Anniversary edition.
  5. games(TM)
    Dec 1, 2011
    80
    A faithful recreation in every sense of the term. [Christmas 2011, p.96]
  6. 80
    As long as you're prepared for the fact that Halo neither was nor is a perfect game, this piece of restored gaming history is well worth the cost.
  7. Nov 30, 2011
    50
    It's still an important and hugely influential game and it should probably be played by anyone interested in first-person shooters. But unless you're part of the generation of gamers that are now in their 20s and you're looking to recapture your Halo heydays, this is definitely most gamers can skip even at its budget $40 retail price.

See all 73 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 162
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I'm starting to doubt the value of the score in video game reviews (83 is fine, not my point). There is such an inflation issue with theI'm starting to doubt the value of the score in video game reviews (83 is fine, not my point). There is such an inflation issue with the perspective of readers that devalues anything less than 90 to pure trash.

    Anyways, for Halo CE fans this game is a 100. It's the game we love, with the faults we love, now with online co-op. Nothing gets better than that.

    I get lost on Pillar of Autumn and the Maw every time.
    Expand
  2. Jul 1, 2012
    10
    Technically best looking HD Conversation made for next gen consoles.
    It looks like a reboot more than a conversation.Haven't played Halo 1
    Technically best looking HD Conversation made for next gen consoles.
    It looks like a reboot more than a conversation.Haven't played Halo 1 before?Get it!
    Have played before? There's still much to see in this legendary FPS.
    Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Halo: CE got a 10 originally. I'm not sure why it deserves anything less now. People saying that 343 is just being money hungry, well they'reHalo: CE got a 10 originally. I'm not sure why it deserves anything less now. People saying that 343 is just being money hungry, well they're not. Halo: CE costs 20 dollars on the xbox live market place, and the map pack is 15. For 5 more dollars you get the disk, terminals, updated graphics, and skulls.

    This game is worth 60 dollars, you'd be a fool to not buy it for 40.
    Expand
  4. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    El juego se me hizo algo exagerado en los saltos y como que no se adapta mucho el HD habeces se medio traba o asi pero de hay todo me aEl juego se me hizo algo exagerado en los saltos y como que no se adapta mucho el HD habeces se medio traba o asi pero de hay todo me a gustado a la perfeccion Expand
  5. Feb 29, 2016
    9
    On November 15, 2001 Halo: Combat Evolved was released for the original Xbox. A stellar game that sold great and paved the way for the HaloOn November 15, 2001 Halo: Combat Evolved was released for the original Xbox. A stellar game that sold great and paved the way for the Halo franchise which is still very popular today. Halo: Combat Evolved was remade on the Xbox 360 for it's tenth anniversary on Nov 15, 2011 bringing back a timeless classic to the new gen with sleek new graphics and Halo: Reach's multiplayer engine used to remake some of the original maps. The campaign also saw extra terminals and skulls added to collect in each level adding to content and lore.

    Things I liked about the game:

    1. It created a great franchise.

    2. Fun couch co-op.

    3. Interesting universe

    Ratings out of ten for...

    Story= 9

    Graphics= 8

    Music= 10

    Controls= 8

    Content= 9

    Multiplayer= 7.5

    Halo: Combat Evolved is an excellent shooter and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a good shooter to play by yourself or with a friend. Thank you for reading my review.
    Expand
  6. Dec 8, 2011
    8
    I have to say this remake of arguably the best FPS ever made has it's good and bad points. The campaign is still dynamite because frankly itI have to say this remake of arguably the best FPS ever made has it's good and bad points. The campaign is still dynamite because frankly it wasn't touched aside from the new cut scenes which were changed to fit the continuity with Halo: Reach, which is kinda cool. The new graphics, sound, and musical score by themselves would garner a 10. Also the addition of skulls and terminals, which are ALOT better than the terminals from Halo 3, really jack up the replayability of the campaign. I mean there's nothing funner than turning on the BOOM, Pinata, Grunt Funeral, Grunt Birthday Party, and Bandana skulls and going on a rampage. Simple put, everything we dreamed for when we spent hours on end playing CE 10 years ago has come true. And at $40, spot on guys.

    That being said, with the good comes the bad. First off the framerate issues if you don't install the game to the hard drive. Seriously WTF? Oh yeah Skyrim runs fine, but a remade 10 year old game has issues? Also why no love for the original multiplayer? I know it was unbalanced, but damn was it ever fun. Lastly the online campaign LAAAAAAGGGGGG!!!!! Man does it ever suck. Just like the framerate issue, why does this game have to run so poorly with online coop. Seriously, walk over to Bungie studios and if you ask nicely they might give you their netcode. Maybe.
    Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2011
    2
    It has begun we thought it was just hollywood but now there doing to games remakes yes it launched the xbox I know I was there I bought myIt has begun we thought it was just hollywood but now there doing to games remakes yes it launched the xbox I know I was there I bought my first xbox so happy to know that Bungie would do a half ass reboot later..ooo we can see the sunglare, water splashes, little more details wow really bungie you want us to pay 60 bucks for that how about you actually redid the whole thing with the graphics like reach or maybe put some extra stuff say be able to use odst troopers or even design your own marines like in reach..considering this is after reach campaign...Maybe this title has run its course to know that there is a Halo 4 next year really come on, how many more till you realise your flogging a dead horse..Are you gonna go the way of guitar hero or ,et it finish like GOW, M.E, COD MW. Let it go and start something new.. Expand

See all 162 User Reviews