User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1650 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    This game delivered on every front. From the intense single player campaign stuffed with variety to the excellent voice acting, story and sound effects Halo:Reach is an absolute must buy for every Xbox360 owner. It is so rich in content that it can easily race for the top spot among the other heavy weapons in the genre. Although the graphics look quite good they are not on a Gears of War or Bad Company 2 level but they still look very convincing and that improvements are visible. I haven't really had time to dug into the multiplayer part of the game but seeing a lot of official review we can say that Halo: Reach is one of the most rich FPS when it comes to its content. All together if you are an Xbox owner, fond of FPS, have 60 bucks or a fan of the series pick this up! U won't regret it, because Bungie really kept its promise and finished the series with a BANG. Now its only up to Microsoft not to screw it up in the future. Expand
  2. Sep 14, 2010
    7
    This is probably the perfect Halo, but is that a good thing? having a wii this year, with games such as Metroid Other M, Super Mario Galaxy, Sin and Punishment 2, No More Heroes 2, and of course, Valhalla Knights. One comes to think why a console like Xbox360 has to depend so much in the last exclusive it gots for the year. Lets face it, Halo is so popular among Xbox fanboys because its the only exclusive game they can find. So how good is this game? well its as good as the other Halos, a boring and unbalanced game that forces you to pay if you want to enjoy it at its most. Other Halos has been like that, the AI of the enemies are ok, people says the artifical intelligence of this game is the best one of all history in any media, but come on baby, if you consider Halo's enemies intelligent that proves how much stupid you are. Is really that much smart to attack with rifles having flying gunships with cannons that can destroy an entire city? that is the most dumbest thing in the world. I imagine now elgasty and chiquiza are happy because a webpage called meristation gave it a 10. But I prefer to rely more on metacritic. Its a webpage that never have failed me, and this is not the exception. Even killzone got better physics, in a FPS the most important factor is its physics, Halo's physics are very unrealistic, the story of the game is ok, but we already knew it, so nothing new about it. The graphics are good for xbox360 but if you compare it with Killzone 2 or even Super Mario Galaxy 2, this game is far from perfection, your eyes will bleed a lot once you get to see the reflects on armors... ...I mean, come on, lots of lights everywhere and not a single spark in the armors? not a mark? everyone dies but the armors stays intact? that makes no sense, its the dumbest thing in any videogame, it takes out the realism out of it. The controls of the game are very unresponsive, and now imagine when microsoft decides to put kinect on it, lol. if Halo was in PS3 or wii all of those fanboys who gives it a 10 would give it a 7, its the real score it deserves. We should learn to say things based on reality and not on faboyism. If you are a Xbox360 owner, and you are lying to yourself thinking this game will make you feel proud of your console, think twice about it, you will only have a regret for the rest of your life, and in the future when you grow up and you see the wii got better games, you will remember about me and you will say "damn Hynda was right" when that time comes, be sure to come here again and give it the right score it deserves. Good night gentlemen. Expand
  3. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Okay, fail fail fail, I got it this time:


    This game is possibly the best in the Halo series, and as a huge fan of all the games (except Halo Wars, and of course that wasn't by Bungie) that is something I don't say lightly. People like duster15670 who don't recognize a good game when they see one are going to bash this game, mostly due to the mountain of crappy titles (modern warfare 2,
    anybody?) out there now that are so popular. Expand
  4. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Best halo ever. awesome single player awesome multiplayer firefight forge and theater awesome. The score is epic and bungie's final halo game delivers
  5. Oct 22, 2010
    10
    Let me ask you this: what other first person shooter gives you a near infinite number of ways to enjoy the game? Not many that arent for PC. Halo has always been full of content and Reach does not differ. Better graphics and pysics than previous halos what more can you ask for? The people who dixlike the game are COD fanboys or have never REALLY played the game. Those of you who don't want to be characterised as nerds and stay away from the game are just hypocrits because halo is actually much more realistic than COD because it is logical; shields and bioengineering explain why sometimes more than a few bullets will kill you, can COD explain this no its just instant nube tube kills and entire clips waisted into near invincible normal human beings. Reach is easily multiplayer game of the year so far. Expand
  6. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing just like every other Halo in the series (except Halo 3: ODST which was good but wasn't great). The muliplayer is so well done, Firefight is greatly improved, Forge is also vastly improved and the campaign is just awesome as well. Bungie provided us with many years (almost 10 years) of great Halo games and the last game (Halo Reach) does not disappoint.
  7. AA7
    Sep 14, 2010
    10
    This is one of the best games ever made. I'm sorry COD, but I have found a game that has finally replaced you as the absolute best shooter out there. Halo 3 was good, but this game is, without exaggeration, the best game of the current generation. All hail the mighty Halo Reach.
  8. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    You know I find it hilarious, but at the same time saddening that there are people on this site that are so childish and pathetic. I come here, and see people giving 0/10. Why? No matter how bad a game is, how on Earth could it get 0/10?
    I see people here saying ridiculous things such as, â
  9. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Halo is the best multiplayer game ever made and thats a fact .. Halo : Reach give Halo series new dimension . But im very sad because this is the last Halo game , one of best game franchise ever made ! See you on XBL !
  10. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Reach is the best Halo game ever made. Every mode has been improved upon and is awesome. Firefight is a ton of fun, the campaign is great, forge world is amazing. Graphics, while better than Halo 3, still are not up to par with games like Mass Effect or Gears. But thats the only negative and its not a big one at that
  11. Sep 15, 2010
    4
    I give this game a 4 because i don't think it feels like a whole game. It almost feels empty like something is missing. The game play mechanics are sloppy the graphics are so so but i don't really care to see how many blades of grass are moving while i run I'm just not that type of gamer, i do however expect very simple things to work like they should. To much is missing from the single player campaign. Not having played a Halo installation since the very first one i was curious to see what they would do to the last instance made by Bungie. On a side note i hope MS now that they have this lets this game die in peace. I think the first Halo felt like a complete game this just felt like i was running a bunch of little mini missions. I like to play a campaign before i jump into multi-player to get a feel for the kind of game i want to play in multi-player. There were times in the campaign where i just stood there thinking OK what do i do next for someone who hasn't played since the 90s it wasn't very intuitive. The game controls felt sloppy and didn't feel like a complete thought. The AI wasn't very intelligent unless your idea of intelligent was just run the opposite direction of me and the direction i need to go. Why do FPS always limit ammo of rocket launchers to two or three, seriously im firing plasma guns and shooting aliens and you mean to tell me i cant carry more then three rockets. Really, really now you want to be realistic i can jump from building to building and flip cars over with one button push but i cant hold more than three rockets. Also when i die i drop everything but the thing the surviving member needs to complete the mission so now in order to complete the mission we both have to die to go back and get the one thing you need to complete the mission. In conclusion if you love Halo im sure you'll love this version if you aren't a Halo fan don't waste your time, and if you haven't played since the first one don't get to excited and maybe just stay away from the campaign and go straight to the multi-player. Something tells me the multi-player will feel like Unreal. This will be a perfect way to waste time until Black Ops with my bro-in law who happens to like Halo. While he isnt around ill just continue to rack up kill streaks on COD2-MWF Expand
  12. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    This game is bloody amazing, it's such a huge improvement from halo 3 in every way. Better game mechanics, less balance issues, improved forge and firefight, campaign and firefight matchmaking support. You need to buy this if you haven't already.
  13. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    If your looking for depth you can find it in Reach. You won't find a game like this for the ps3 or the wii. The campaign couldn't be more perfect (unless it just came out and said at the end that there is going to be Halo 4) the multi-player is spotless and the worlds are beautiful. This game would have been your daddy but a dog beat it over the fence.
  14. Sep 15, 2010
    7
    The first Halo was simply revolutionary, it implemented a bunch of the features we see on most games nowadays, from the Shield (Recovering after cover) to the whole multiplayer experience. The second one added certain details we lacked on the first, and focused on the multiplayer. From the third on, it's a repeating cycle; the same game with different maps. Having played them all, it's getting old, we have already experienced all of it's features in the past, and we keep getting the same. I'd hate to agree with the 'trolls' bashing the game because of it's hype, but it seems they do have a point. Nevertheless, it's a fun and dedicated game, but come on Bungie, you have the potential to give us some more! Expand
  15. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Fun,exiting gameplay, great story, do I need to say more?

    "Your review must be at least 150 characters long." That means i need..
    spectacular new multiplayer(!) I'ts just fun to bring death to covenant!!!!
    9,4
  16. Sep 17, 2010
    3
    So very disappointed in this. Played all the Halo games in the series and I am afraid to say it just feels very dated gameplay to me. MP is fine but not really any different, single player is just pretty much the same stuff again, one of the early missions is almost identical to one from the first Halo. I really dont see how people are giving this 10/10 it really isnt that good. (and I own an xbox/PS3 and PC so not a fan boy of any) Not even close to being game of the year in a million years. It does have some nice touches, updated animation, fairly decent enemy AI and some new guns. The armour stuff? Just like the pick ups in Halo 3 except re usable. Biggest let down of the year for me. Expand
  17. Sep 15, 2010
    3
    I just don't get it. I've tried to understand the hype, but I just cannot. I bought this for my son for his birthday and he was so looking forward to playing it with me. I gave Halo 3 not one, not two, but 3 different chances to impress me, and it just didn't. I bought the game used 3 separate times thinking that I must be missing something, only to trade it in a couple weeks later each time. My own stupid mistake. I fell for the same thing again with Halo Reach. The story/background is not interesting to me at all and it just seems thrown together. The weaponry system and controls are terrible in my opinion. The multi-player is extremely frustrating to me. Granted, I am not the best, but it is just not consistent. I may get 3 apparent headshots on an enemy only to be killed by one random shot, or worse yet a melee attack. The next time, I shoot an enemy once and he is killed. I also don't understand the leveling up system...maybe I'm just used to COD and MW, but to me all of the Halo games look, play, and feel the same way. If that is what you like, then more power to you. I will leave it for my son to play, because I won't be playing it anymore. Expand
  18. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    Do NOT listen to these call of duty( fan boys) there are just down grading the game... there just jealous because there game is not better... anyway Perfect story, sound, graphics, game-play, all in all 10
    But i still can not believe all this negatvitie from the last halo game in the series.
  19. Sep 15, 2010
    8
    It is disappointing to see such reviews as 0 and 10. The purpose of this site is to get a feel for the value of the game and whether it is worth purchasing. As such I'm not going to bash or praise this game but rather describe it. First of all it is a halo game. I own all 3 systems and over 200 games. I am a little disappointed in some of the game but lets face it I bought it because of the name Halo and it does follow in its footsteps true to the franchise. The downside of this is that this title did not draw me in. Basically I have to admit to myself I just have played Halo too much and am bored with it. There is no new excitement left. I can't blame the new Reach for this. This is why the series is coming to conclusion. It's just time. That said, this disc is pretty good value. There is so much content on the disc that if you have never played a Halo game this is the version to buy. It is the most updated and best design of any of games released however the story isn't as impressive as some of the other Halo releases. Overall this game is good and if i have any complaint it is more so to do with the fact that the xbox 360 can not process the game as well as i would have liked. The xbox really seems to be pushed to its limits in this game and it shows. When i bought the game i was hoping for a halo version that had Demon's souls feel of battle (fatique with equipment customization), FEAR's AI and Monster Hunter Tri's gathering of usable materials. I guess that's what i was secretly hoping for and it wasn't there. But I can't bash the game because my fantasy wasn't made. This game was designed for its demographic and it certainly isn't broken. Very worthy of an 8 or 9 despite wishing the game was something a bit different. In sum, best Halo and a fitting conclusion to make this series obsolete as this title needs to end so a fresh new series can be made. Expand
  20. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Bottom line is that this game is well worth the investment. You will get far more than $60 worth of entertainment from this successor to Halo 3, far more than Halo ODST.
  21. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    Probably? it is the perfect Halo and that's a great thing unless your a fanboy making reviews of games you have never played. Halo Reach takes everything you loved about other Halo games and puts it all into one game and then adds some. This game is hands down the best Halo to date scratch that the best FPS to date, that alone makes these anti Xbox/Halo people burn inside like Hynda he's just mad because Metroid other M flopped look he rated that game a 10 lol. Anyway Halo Reach is a masterpiece of a game but you all knew that already hence why it's set to outsell every PS3 exclusive by the first week lol. Expand
  22. Sep 15, 2010
    6
    OK....Well, I see some people are just haters! 0/10 come on I didnâ
  23. Sep 24, 2010
    8
    This is the second time I've reviewed this game the first time I gave it a 6 mainly because I didn't think it lived up to my admitedly very high expectations but after a while with it and lots of time spent online with my friends I can see that this like halo 3 before it has true potential to grow into a world class shooter it's not quiet there yet it needs more maps and a few match making problems ironed out but it's fair to say that I've had more fun here than I have in an fps for a long time. It's not perfect yet but it could be given time so for now it's an 8 :) Expand
  24. Sep 14, 2010
    9
    Brilliant multiplayer, no other game can compete with the pure quality of this multiplayer experience. If you don't like it, there's always a cod game for regards to play!
  25. Sep 14, 2010
    8
    Wow, there are so many blatent fan boys giving this a 10 and blatent haters giving this a 0. STOP BEING IDIOTS! Yes, the game is very good but it's not absolutely perfect. And no, the game is not totally broken so there is no way it should get a 0 from anybody. You people are all missing the point of giving reviews. It's NOT just 10 if you like it and 0 if you don't! It doesn't matter if you love it or not, there are a few flaws in this but I loved it anyway, so I'll give it a fair score of 8. Expand
  26. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    The best Halo yet, hands down. Intense Campaign, great multiplayer and community support, infinitely improved forge and firefight. If you are a Halo fan or love solid gameplay then you will love this game.
  27. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Halo Reach is the best game I have ever played, absolutely all around amazing experience. There is just so much to do in this game, you will never get bored. Get it and you won't be disappointed.

    BTW. All those people who gave it negative or a 0 they are just ps3 fanboys who just hate halo because its xbox exclusive. If you notice not one reviewer gave it even mixed, so something is
    clearly wrong with those people who gave it negative. Expand
  28. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    I've played both Call of Duty and the Halo series as a fan. If i had to make a call it would be Halo Reach.
    I can see how the 0-Review Score reflecks the learning curve of the multi-player that COD-Players can't process.
    I'd put my money on a Halo player over a Cod player any day.
    This is what the fan's wanted and Bungie more than delivered.
  29. Oct 17, 2010
    9
    The best game in the entire series. This is a great installment to the Halo games. Anyone who disagrees probably just doesn't appreciate the formula, which can be just as intense as COD with next to no frustration factor. I really don't understand the low user reviews here, I guess this is what happens when you let idiots who aren't experienced reviewers rate games!
  30. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    This is the best Halo game yet. That being said, if you don't like Halo games, you probably won't like this one. The gameplay is very open, there's very little "corridor shooting" like some other shooters (including earlier Halo titles). The graphics are expansive and detailed at the same time. There's a lot of detail, and the up-close details are very nuanced. The online is absolutely packed; even if you don't usually like playing with foul-mouthed little ten-year olds (which is common), you can probably find some good co-op online. My only gripe is the audio track - there's no way to tone down the music volume (or turn it off), I know Bungie is in love with their musical scores (and in fairness it's really good), but I generally like to play with the dialogue and action volume up and the music score turned down. Overall, I'm really liking this Halo. Expand
  31. Feb 10, 2011
    5
    I can't tell you how excited I was for this game to finally come out. I was a massive fan of Halo 3 and thought to myself: "Finally, a new game to keep me away from COD! And a new Halo game to top it off!" And now, I can't tell you how horribly upset I am in purchasing this game. First off, the campaign isn't terrible, but it's far from good. The Noble Six Team has a variety of character, but none of them are very deep and you never really get to interact with them on a level further than "Stop shooting me, I'm on your side!" Obviously, since I knew the campaign ending, I was expecting an epic climactic battle. Instead, you get a very anti-climactic ending that leaves you staring at your screen, mouth ajar. They don't even use the classic epic Halo theme music in this campaign, which I was very disappointed in. The voice acting works, but nothing too special, and the cutscenes and cinematics are sometimes cool, but mostly boring. The achievement "Monument to Your Sins" was supposed to be ridiculously hard, and yet, I got it on the second day of owning the game. Moving on to multiplayer, this is what I bought the game for, and I must say that this is what REALLY disappointed me. The developers apparently got extremely lazy when making the maps for this one, considering several of them are remakes from Halo 2, and several others are Forge maps that you can make yourself in two hours. The other maps that are new are uninspired, boring, and bland. They have Team Snipers, and yet, there is only two maps where Team Snipers is adequete to be played on, while the other times it places you in The Cage, a Forge map where you respawn in the enemy's sniper crosshairs constantly. The spawning overall is terrible, and I have several Theater videos of either me respawning in front of an enemy or vice versa. The DMR is absolutely stupid, and the blossoming effect of the reticule takes out so much skill, resulting in a DMR match being a blindfiring spray and pray after the first 3 shots. Most of the other encounters with enemies quickly transform into a massive grenade-fest, with the enemies hiding around a corner chucking a seemingly unlimited amount of grenades around the corner at you. Armor abilities are ridiculous, especially Armor Lock, being very overpowered. My friend recommends SWAT, but that's the no-skill game mode, and I shy away from that. The character customization is cool, but the majority of the unlockables requires you to play probably in the neighborhood of a billion games, so that's no fun. The Forge is obviously very cool, and the Theater is still top notch for videos and screenshots, plus they have a new system where you can track down to see how many screenshots of other people you're in, which is cool as well. Overall, if you're a hardcore Halo fan, you can have some serious fun with this one if you don't mind lucky deaths and grenade wars. If you occasionally enjoy Halo, I'd probably stay away from this one. Sorry Bungie, but you need some catching up to do to COD if you want to be king again of the FPS's. Expand
  32. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    first halo reach sold out over 3 millions on first day ,second he break the most player playing this game simultaneously 4 million people. buy and enjoy best multilayer experience When talking about a series as influential and beloved as Halo, youâ
  33. Sep 17, 2010
    4
    This is a perfectly entertaining mission that nicely develops the main story arc in the Mass Effect universe. Its serious failing is its value for money. At 800 gamer points it's 2 to 4 times as expensive as it should be. I'm actually a fan of short, compact gaming experiences, but in terms of value this really crosses a line.
  34. Sep 18, 2010
    4
    The reviews of this game are proof that the gaming press are cowards and not to be trusted with anything published by companies with lots of money and/or power. The campaign is the least interesting in the series so far, the characters are bland, the plot boring, the scenery generic. As for multiplayer, it's old, online fps multiplayer was at this stage with Unreal about 10 years ago, other games have moved on. Expand
  35. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    Now, "Halo Reach" here is a perfect example of what epicness is. Bungie made a great game with rich texture and graphics as well as using good lightning effects. The campaign's a 'meh', but its the multiplayer that overrides the cons. Unlike COD, Halo allows 2 people to play multiplayer using the same screen. The weapons are more creatively designed and you are allowed to customize your own spartan soldier. What more could you ask for? A definite game you must try out. Expand
  36. Sep 14, 2010
    8
    Bob Jackson is right when he sais the AI is bad, but the story telling is good. I actually think the best part of this is that it continues the HALO world without stripping and reducing the game down to a stupid shooting game. And that's what HALO is in general, but this one has a nice little twist to it.
  37. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fantastic!!! the Halo franchise breath with a new entertainment style!!! The solo campaign has a stronge story!!! And the multiplayer... Is amazing how always to be!!! Expand
  38. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Don't let anyone fool you the game is awesome! The best game in the series by far. Gameplay is different and that's a good thing, not that it was bad before but I just thought Halo 3's gameplay was just OK. Halo Reach's environments are masterpieces and the new maps feel more alive and not as dull, when I would play Halo 3 the maps were just so lifeless that if it weren't for the game being so fun I wouldn't have played it half as much as I would if the maps were like Reach's. Don't listen to the other people, I mean why would you when half are saying that they don't like Reach because it feels too much like the other Halos and it didn't change much AND the other half are saying that they don't like Reach because it changed too much and doesn't feel like Halo should. Some others are saying the graphics aren't good, if you compare them to Halo 3 they're a masterpiece, but if you compare them to another game that has top notch graphics because that's all the developer cares about then it's going to look about average (IMO a little higher than average). So go out and buy this game you'll never look back. Expand
  39. Sep 14, 2010
    9
    I haven't played Halo (any of the titles) in at least two years, because I jump around from FPS's, to Racers, to Sports titles, and honestly wasn't even all that excited about this final release (I'm sorry if thats hard for some of you to understand, haha). So when my wife bought if for me as a "surprise" I really wasn't all that excited about playing it. That changed within the first 15 minutes, and has remained with me up until this point (at work, on a 24, and craving some Halo!) As far as the "graphics are horrible" guys, I've got 2 words for you, High Definition, haha. Dont mean to poke at you "humble people", hell, who am I kidding, yes I do. Get yourselves a decent TV to game on, otherwise, they'll all have crap graphics. This game is amazing, being 31, I dont stay up late (late being past midnight) playing games anymore, but I stayed up all night to beat this game, I just couldn't put the controller down (save for bathroom breaks and the occasional snack). If you're into Halo, buy it, if you're not, buy it, its that simple. Expand
  40. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    i feel as though they said "hey, last halo game? lets just take everything thats great from halo 1-3 and odst and make it better!" and it WORKED! no new modes to see thats different from halo 3, (except for firefight) but they improve the general formula for all of the modes, making everything super customizable. solid game, solid engine, solid EVERYTHING! A must own, for any type of gamer, you will fall in Expand
  41. Sep 15, 2010
    9
    I'm not going to give it 10 out of 10 for the pure fact I haven't played it all, but so far, I haven't found one thing wrong with it. And I'm guessing everyone that has given it 0 hasn't even played it, they just like trolling...
  42. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    Okay, first things first, if you're looking here at these reviews deciding for yourself whether or not to buy the game, then take if from me, don't listen to the idiots who are rating it under 5. I mean come on, have you really took note of their reviews. They're spelling things wrong, starting sentences with lower case letters, swearing and saying that the game could never get a 10 rating from someone who isn't a 'fanboy'. Are these really the people you want to listen to and base your answer on? No, I don't think so. That's why I'm here to do my best to give a fair review. Now I admit, I have been playing Halo since 2003, which automatically makes this game good to me. Why? Not because I'm a 'fanboy', but because experiencing something for that length of time makes you proud to be a part of it. But if I take that away from my review, Halo: Reach has the makings of one of the best FPS games of the early 2010s. It is a massive improvement on Halo 3 where many things have been added or modified, and, if I'm absolutely honest, not much had to be changed since Halo 3 worked pretty well as a game itself. The campaign was a fantastically well thought campaign, but it was one for the fans, someone like me will understand the true significance behind this game which some people can't seem to comprehend. As for the gameplay, it's smooth, running on a great engine with great capabilities. The graphics are a step higher than Halo 3, however at some points it did look a little bit too cartoony. I would say more but I would have to say spoilers and I know how bad it is when you read spoilers. As for the multiplayer, the matchmaking is not perfect: it is now much quicker, you get to vote for your preferred gametype and map, matchmaking itself has been advanced with the inclusion of armour abilities and other features. Again too much to talk about, and I haven't even started to mention the armoury! Do I sound like a fanboy yet? You probably think I do, but I am genuinely blown away by this game. Of course Firefight has returned bigger and better than in ODST, now with matchmaking support and now Forge it a map creators dream. Many ideas I had in Halo 3 can now easily become a reality. And there's much, much more to talk about, but you must be bored stiff by now. Really I'd give Reach a 9, but with so many low reviews, it deserves 10. As I say a lot, you have to give something a change. You can't play something for 10 minutes or even 5 hours sometimes and assume the game is bad, or good, depending. So for once, if you're about to write a bad review, actually give the game a good, solid chance. If your bad, you'll get better the more you play. Well Done Bungie! Expand
  43. Sep 18, 2010
    4
    I've been a long time fan of the Halo Franchise, having played every numbered installment and read through all of the books; I can honestly say I enjoy the universe that Bungie has crafted. Unfortunately this game really doesn't deliver in the single player campaign like any of its predecessors. My biggest complaint would have to be the utter rehash that this game appears to be. I feel like it's trying to be a reboot of Halo: Combat Evolved. Which, outside of the resurrected magnum pistol, really isn't a great thing. On top of that it tries to add things like squad play and ODST stealth elements. In previous titles, you always had a few Marines with you who on higher difficulties were just cannon fodder. Halo 3 changed it up a bit giving you three elites to tag along and of course have 4 person co-op. In this game your part of a SPARTAN squad, which if you read the books gives you high expectations of greatness. This just doesn't happen in a single player environment. The AI from any of the Halo games was never spectacular, this one is just awful. You always have at least one SPARTAN teammate, who is completely invincible and will never die -- cool -- what's not cool however is he/she really can't kill anything on their own. Add in that they don't follow correctly, will constantly beg for cover fire but never give you any, and will often times get stuck or just run in the wrong direction. They're worthless, except in the few situations where you can use them as a shield. Another big problem with Reach is its tendency to glitch on you, on several occasions in Single Player Campaign I've had enemy units teleport, disappear, fly into the air w/o jetpacks, etc. It seems if you want to take the game up on its offer to be stealthy and fight from afar, you'll get to notice all of it's little imperfections. Not to mention that outside of the DMR or Magnum, long range fighting is a joke. Even the sniper rifle has been nerfed terribly with this installment, at least in campaign on higher difficulty. Looong Story short, if you plan on buying this game to experience one of the hallmark story points of the Halo Universe, The Fall of Reach, save yourself the headache and just don't. The multi-player is a decent enough attempt and you can tell most of their focus went there. Of course that's a mixed bag as well because it seems with every installment we're moving further and further from Blood Gulch split screen goodness; instead moving closer and closer to Call of Duty perks and customizations. Expand
  44. Mar 5, 2012
    2
    So I get this game, based on hype and because I thought Halo 3 was a decent game and that this would be better, but it wasn't. The campaign is to the point of nearing impossibility with the difficulty of some enemies. I rammed an elite with a wraith on legendary, and guess what happened? I blew up. He didn't even armor lock or anything. That brings me to my next point. They completely screwed up when it got to armor abilities. You don't need an armor ability to sprint or evade, plus armor lock is on all spartan armor. They should've had sprint, evade, and armor lock default for the character. They also have crappy online play. I mean, if you get in a game, it's pretty good, but it's a bit dull and pointless. The ranks take forever to get through. It took me weeks just to get to colonel. I expected so much more from this game, but it was just such a disappointment. They should have improved much much much more than they did. Plus, they used a lot of low quality textures. Try standing in front of someone and zooming in on them with a sniper rifle. You'll see that the textures have a lot to be desired. I play through a dull, meaningless campaign that's ruined by how they removed duel wielding, yet allowed elites to duel wield. They also let all the elites have all the abilities they want. If your a super soldier, your called that because your better, tougher, stronger, etc. than your enemy, not because you have a crappy shield that barely protects from anything and less health than a marine. Overall it wasn't very good. We give Bungie the hype and support they need to create epic games, and they just slam the door in our face with each game. Expand
  45. Sep 18, 2010
    0
    If you're a casual player who has money to burn or a spineless game reviewer then you will probably like this game. If you're a serious shooter fan, don't waste your money. Zero unlockables (beyond cosmetic) No innovation beyond armor powers -Running as a class? Really? C'mon. STILL old school shooter, weapon spawn camping Little variety in weapons The critics are all too spineless to really highlight the lack of innovation in what the game is all about, the combat. Instead they talk about how fully featured other aspects of the game are. Expand
  46. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Amazing! This game has it all. I have never owned a game where I have gotten so much bang for my buck. Campaign. Co-op Campaign. Firefight. Competitive Multiplayer. Custom games. Forge. Saved Films and screenshots. And it matchmaking is supported for all of this. Not to mention the gameplay is the best it has ever been in a Halo game. Armour Abilities are freakin awesome. The weapons are very balanced. The graphics are great.. and the game is just damn fun. Oh yeah also the menu system is extremley fresh and innovative as it always keeps you party together no matter what you doing. The amount of detailed online matchmaking settings is also mind blowing. Buy this game. It owns. I just wish it had a few more immersive gameplay mechanics like brink and mirrors edge, where you can interact with the environment. The frame rate can always be a bit choppy at times. But overall you really can't be Halo Reach. Expand
  47. Sep 14, 2010
    9
    With the globs of people bashing the game without playing it, its alot like our political system. Point blank the game is good regardless if you love cod4 or killzone, or just a PS3 fanboy. Remeber these guys names because they will change their tune when Bungie's game shows up on a Sony console......
  48. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    Most of these reviews, you have to realize that they are PS3 fanboys and are trying to rate down one of the best games. As you can see most of their names are "Killzone3" and they rate up PS3 games, and this is their only Xbox 360 review, because that fact is that they don't own one, and are jealous that they can't play Halo 3. Now back to the review. Halo Reach..............where do I start. First of all it has the best graphics in a Halo game that there ever has been. Second of all, it has one of the best full, and meaty multiplayer that there ever was in an Halo game. The multiplayer in Reach even rivals other top games like Call of Duty:Modern Warfare 2. The campaign is also good, even though it is not the best in the series, but can be an absolute blast in coop with your friends. Overall this is one of the best Halo games to reach the market today. I highly recommend you ignore those PS3 fanboy trolls and get this game today. Expand
  49. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    While there are alot of new options, it still feels like the same Halo. Really did enjoy it but i know it won't get great for a couple of days. I know what im looking for is the community/Forge. I couldn't tell you how many times I spent all night playing mongoose racing, duck hunt and ghost busters and thats why I love Halo. The story is the weakest part of the game. It dosn't give you the feeling of exploration when you first stepped on halo or give you any real varrying mission. also this game is NOT COD its not trying to be they can coexist so calm down Expand
  50. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    Ignore the PS3 fanboys giving Reach low scores - from their reviews they've obviously never played it. I own a 360 and a PS3 and love both consoles, but I'm sick of this silliness. Reach is an excellent game in every respect - it is, arguably the best shooter currently available. It does do new stuff, such as jet packs, armour abilities (which are great) and the best space combat in any shooter thus far.Yes, the basic FPS mechanics are largely unchanged, but Bungie have shown the wisdom that so many other games companies lack - don't mess with perfection. The campaign is around 8 hours on Normal and considerably longer on other settings - shorter than Gears 2, but much longer and more varied than Killzone 2 (KZ2 took around 5 hours - an hour longer on Elite. And if you've played KZ2, try to remember an outstanding campaign moment - I dare you. No vehicles either.). The plot is straightforward but engaging rather than enthralling, but it's a video game, and I would argue that previous Halo games (except the first) have been guilty of over complicating the plot; at the end of the day it's just an excuse to shoot things. The campaign is also sufficiently engaging that, combined with some really well considered acheivements, replay is guaranteed at least once, probably twice. Graphically it kicks bottom too, which is a little surprising - I expected ODST with bells, but it is easily the prettiest shooter around at the moment. I haven't tried much multiplayer yet, but again, Bungie appear to have tweaked an already perfect formula - it continues to deliver one of the best multiplayer experiences available. Anyone who mentions CoD (great though it is) is clearly mental - Reach is nothing like CoD and very clearly isn't trying to be (try citing some evidence rather than silly random comments). As for it being the last Halo, it's Bungie's last Halo (for now anyway). Microsoft own Halo and have an internal division (343 industries) dedicated to Halo development, as well as recently launching Halo Waypoint. Reach also broke the record for the number of online players on XBox Live on it's release day. Yep - that sounds like a franchise coming to an end.. doh! Epic stuff. Expand
  51. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    Okay, ps3 fanboys who give the game a zero because they played it for 20 minutes at a friend's house and already biased their opinions before the game even came out, please stop freakin' reviewing games you don't even own! You always point out how the users who give it a ten are raging xbox frat boy fanboys, yet you completely disregard the fact that your own fanboyism is blinding you from telling apart a good game from a bad. And this is definitely a good game. People who come on this site read the reviews to see if they should buy the game, not to see some guy with a playstation and a hatred for anything that even is barely related to an xbox rant on how unoriginal the game is or how biased the fanboys are. I'm not giving this a ten because I've been waiting for it for a year. I'm not giving this a ten because I've played every halo game and I want this one to be the best. I'm not even giving it a ten to up the user score because of the retards who automatically give it a zero. I'm giving it a ten because it is the perfect halo experience, and it is fun as hell. Forget people saying the single player is 3 hours long (juuuust a little exaggerated), or people ripping on the multiplayer being unoriginal (I'm not even sure where the argument begins for that, it has barely any resemblance to CoD); you are going to be playing this game for a LONG time. A better Forge, an insanely improved firefight, an epic campaign (that doesn't overstay its welcome, fallout fans), a multiplayer setup that would last you a lifetime; you are getting more than enough of your money's worth with this package. Plus, seriously, are you going to take your advice on whether to get a 360 game or not from a guy named "killzone3"? (also that one guy who said to keep playing halo 3 instead of this, please never show your face in society ever again. If you even played 1 and 2 than you would definitely know that 3 was probably the worst of them all. I'll explain this simply: halo 1=strategy, halo 2=skill, halo 3=let's see how fast i can unload my gun) Expand
  52. Sep 16, 2010
    10
    Best FPS I've ever played, end of story.

    The individual elements (Forge, MM, Firefight, Campaign, Theatre etc) are NOT the best that have been done, but their combined offerings (Which are unheard of in the gaming market) and the incredible balance, fun, and thoughtfulness put into the game make it a contender for the best game ever made for the 360, PS3, or Wii.

    The only reason it has
    a 6.9 here is because of the pathetic CoD and PS3 fanboys that can't admit that Reach is a fantastic game, but they simply can't/won't get it because of limitations or principle.

    People accuse it of being the exact same thing as the last game, meanwhile in God of War or Call of Duty, Killzone etc the Multiplayer (If applicable) and campaign gets no improvement, and gets simpler.
    Halo Reach innovates and expands upon the other Halos and should be purchased as soon as you have the money.
    Expand
  53. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Halo: Reach is by far one of the greatest Halo games, right up there with CE. Although the campaign wasn't as long as I hoped it would be, but I'm sure Legendary on solo will easily fix that. Another small complaint that I have is that the AI seems a bit more stupid and clumsy when it comes to firing, but their driving skills have definitely improved over Halo 3. The multiplayer and forge is what really stands out though. The amount of customization in both is insane, firefight kicks ass too. Don't listen to those idiotic CoD fanboys that are rating this game 0's and 5's, this game is amazing. Expand
  54. Sep 15, 2010
    5
    A quick skim over the user reveiws has led me to believe that the numbers 1 through 9 do not exist in the world of amatuer reviewing and that the internet is populated entirely by fanboys desperately trying to justify the money they sink into their preferred flavour of console. Anyhoo... Halo: Reach is, technically speaking, not a bad game; it looks nice, the baddies are definitely not stupid and the multiplayer is good if you like that sort of thing. No, Halo: Reach's biggest problem is that it's just so mediocre and safe; having the same charm and charisma as that of a brick, the guns feel plastic and ineffective, the ending is about as suprising as the sun rising and the new uber-super-awesomesauce armor powers can be laughably ineffective and are definitely not the game-changers promised in the hype. To be honest someone could swap Reach with Halo 3 when you weren't looking and you'd be forgiven for not noticing but again many believed Halo 3 would lead them to the promised land and if something's not broken don't **** with it. So to summarise; If you liked Halo 3 then you'll like this as it's more of the same, which is fine... If you like that sort of thing. Expand
  55. Sep 15, 2010
    9
    With the massively popular Halo games its no surprise Halo Reach goes all out in an attempt not to let the series down. The player assumes the role of Noble 6, a supersoldier fighting alongside a special operations unit to combat the threat that is the Covenant who are trying to destroy the planet Reach.

  56. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    Hello. I have seen the other user reviews and I have to say I'm surprised. Halo Reach has to be the best Halo game to this date. Bungie left with an explosion of great multiplayer action, a great story to run through, and upgraded features like Forge and Theater. I consider this my favorite FPS, and games like Call of Duty MW2 cannot seem to match the unique style Halo: Reach offers. Now its predecessor, Halo 3. Enhanced graphics all-around, better story, more features, and of course, better gameplay. This is the Halo I was expecting to play and love. Expand
  57. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    An incredible game almost reveloutionary, it has an elusive, captivating campaign although the story is slow at times, when you finally have satisfaction from that thereis the incredible firefight mode, for hours of fun, and then theres forge, incredible fun with infinite possibilities, and you still hav'nt done multiplayer yet, this is an incredible game and it is worth every penny.
  58. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    This game is nothing short of amazing. It is easily the best halo ever taking the best parts of all the previous halos like the multiplayer from halo 2 and the firefight from ODST. Don't even read the reviews of the people who gave this game a 0 they are ps3 trolls I guarantee you as some say look at uncharted 2 and killzone because they are sad at the beast of a game reach is. The armor abilities are sick, addictive multiplayer cool customizable options and great graphics make up this game Expand
  59. Dec 20, 2010
    0
    I couldn't help but feel bored about this game. The single player is pretty disappointing considering it's Halo's finale of wrapping the series up. Which I'm glad by the way, and commend Bungie for moving on as it seems for the next few years we're just getting more and more sequels of the same **** New franchises would be nice, instead of milking old ones for money. Halo Reach is fun but has isn't improved much from Halo 3 which is the main problem. There are a few modes that might keep you interested for a while but pretty much halo lost it's touch in this game. Halo 3 at it's time was considered amazing but after COD, BFBC2 and all these other games, Halo can't compete. Personally, I find Halo 3 better than Reach. And to me, if a sequel is WORSE than it's predecessor it should not even merit a point. As there is no improvement. Overall might please Halo fanboys but won't keep them interested to stay away from other great games. Expand
  60. Nov 20, 2010
    9
    If you are a fan of the Halo franchise you will absolutely love this game! From all the cool armor features (sprint, jet pack, armor lock down, sheild) just adds SO much to the experience. The storyline I found to be alil dull but definately didn't lack challenge or fun at all. Multiplayer is definately a treat as u make a spartan and as u complete challenges and earn cR, your rank increases and you unlock tons of stuff to make ur spartan YOUR spartan. Must buy for Halo fans, definately a try for people who are interested in Halo. Expand
  61. Sep 18, 2010
    10
    My opinion best multi player game out there, campaign is not quite up as high up but the story is great considering you probably know how it ends,armor customization probably one of the best features, only con for me is that this game will lower your grades in school, yes you will put off your work/schoolwork to play Halo Reach.
  62. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Awesome graphics. Awesome gameplay. Awesome campaign. Awesome multiplayer. Awesome co-op. Awesome character customization. Awesome features like forge and theater mode. Awesome game, nuff' said.
  63. Sep 15, 2010
    5
    How I loved the Halo Franchise, Since the original Halo on the original Xbox... And how I was looking forward to this. But playing this feels old, compared to new fresher games this just feels old, the graphics have been improved, yes. online is still fun, yes (although alot the maps are just remakes *sigh*) the voice acting is generally poor and I never felt any emotional link with the characters, Times have moved on and it shows how much Halo has aged. I have still given it a 5 as I will still play it online time to time, but the single player campaign feels old and only took me about 6 1/2 hours to complete. Expand
  64. Sep 19, 2010
    10
    Bungie, like BioWare and very few others, listens to the fans and improves the games. Every Halo game has been very good at the time, and each one has been better than the last. Reach is no exception. It is a pretty large leap forward. The plot is great and the multiplayer is better than ever. Bungie brought back some of the old maps (Ivory Tower from Halo 2 is now Reflection). The largest flaw in ODST was that there was no matchmaking for Firefight, but now there is. There are some new great game modes like Invasion and Headhunter. This is a great game. Expand
  65. Sep 24, 2010
    9
    I was expecting much more from Halo: Reach, however it didn't necessarily disappoint me. I liked it, but not enough to go crazy, like I did with Halo 3 or Halo 3: ODST. Maybe not the best, but definitely not the worst.
  66. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = One of the greatest first person shooters to date.
  67. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Deserves nothing less than an '8' and even that may be too low for this game. The story is amazing, especially if you read the books, and it just plays out really well...Well...Except for how Kat died...a little sudden and unpredicted i may say...but it does not change my opinion on the game like ti does for so many dunces who come on this site just to lower the score of things they don't like(probably because they're PS3 players. Expand
  68. Sep 19, 2010
    10
    Halo Reach did everything that past halo games did not do right and then some. An excellent story, fun campaign, great multiplayer, and tons of features. This game is one of the best shooters that i have played if not the best. The multiplayer has so many more modes and features. This includes invasion, headhunter, and generator defense. This is a perfect game. I have nothing negative to say about it and it completely deserves a 10/10. Expand
  69. Sep 19, 2010
    1
    Online matches have more to due with luck than skill. The damage system relies heavily on melee and grenade spamming, and gunfire is almost useless. Because of this, most players just rush at each other with melee attacks. The winner is the player that was lucky to re-spawn near opponents that have weakened shields. The game seems to be designed in such a way so that elite players can't dominate every match and potentially scare off newer, less-skilled players, because no matter how good you are, you'll rarely get more than 1-2 kills for before you're killed. Expand
  70. Sep 19, 2010
    9
    Fantastic. Takes all the best parts of Halo 1,2, and 3, alongside firefight from ODST, and adds it's own unique spin. As this is Bungie, the minor fan service details are wonderful. Ten purchasable firefight voices (including master chief!) are simply one of many excellent touches that Bungie has put into this game.
  71. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    A superb extremely solid game on all fronts. The fact is there has yet to be another console FPS that contains this much content and executes it so soundly. The single-player alone, while facing criticisms from certain reviewers infinitely better than nearly all other FPS single-player modes, and as for the multi-player well its Halo enough said...this game is undoubtedly deserving of a 9.5 or 10. Expand
  72. Sep 14, 2010
    9
    After playing the campaign I can easily say this feels like one of the if not the most amazing halo campaigns you will ever come across, possibly even in FPS games. Bungie truly went all out on this game. Matchmaking has been improved to be more fun than Halo 3, and all the modes that were existing before were revamped completely. The only reason for my 9 and not a 10? The slowdowns that appear randomly. Still, don't listen to all the idiots that are voting the game down just because it's halo and not CoD. It has better graphics than CoD could wish it had, actual AI, non scripted events, etc. This is the game CoD has always wanted to be but never was. It deserves a 9-10 only, as it's a fresh new experience that will keep wowing you all the while you play. THIS IS A MUST OWN GAME.

    If you look at the negative reviews and believe any ounce of them, you will be missing out on a great game, and you will regret it.
    Expand
  73. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    It's too easy to pick out those jealous ps3 fanboys who wanna bring this impeccable game down. Can't we all see the critics collectively it's the best halo of the franchise and the unbelievaly rich content has exceedingly justified the price
  74. Sep 16, 2010
    10
    HATERS GONNA HATE!....dont be fooled by the user score. its just alot of ps3 cry baby fanboys who wished they had Halo Reach. Reach is by far the best halo game ever made. it is a must get because it has the most importiant thing to a video game...REPLAY VALUE. this game is worth $100. because it will last you longer then any other game. most packed game ever. it is a must get......

    more
    then 700,000 ppl playing it rite now. ps3 fanboys wished they had games that had this many ppl online. killzone 2 only has like 3000 world wide..LOL Expand
  75. Sep 16, 2010
    9
    Bungie called the original Halo Combat Evolved, which it truly was, proving that an FPS could be not only work on a console, but deliver its own experience different than a PC shooter. Every bit of Reach feels as if that evolution was the mantra, taking the best parts of the previous versions and building on that initial promise. Bungie may have left the Halo franchise for new endeavours, but they left it, and their fans, with a grand farewell, the best incarnation of the Halo universe, and a lot of digital toys for multiplayer fans to play with for a long time to come.

    The single player campaign, though short, ends on a great note (no spoilers), and the multiplayer tops every other FPS console game out there, bar none. I suspect that my CoD MW2 disc is going to go unused for a LONG time to come.
    Expand
  76. Sep 19, 2010
    10
    Halo Reach is a breath of fresh air after the last two games. It may not be as good as a PS3 game, but the developers already knew that their console wasn't as good. So they played with it. What they bring to the table is an entertaining campaign that feels a lot more open than the rest of the series, with beautiful bright environments, and game play that feels right at home. The few innovations that Reach brings to the table are enough, as the campaign feels the right length and the rest of the package is even bigger. There's a lot to do in Reach, trust me, it doesn't disappoint. I'll end this review by saying that the only two titles that have entertained me as much as Reach are Super Mario Galaxy 2 and Uncharted 2 Among Thieves, it is that fun. Expand
  77. Sep 16, 2010
    10
    Amazing Game. Lived up to all the hype. The campaign is short but sweet full of amazing moments. Firefight is a lot better than it was in ODST, with matchmaking now. Forge World is stunning and powerful, letting you create your own maps with ease. And the Online is the greatest multiplayer feature in any game ever made.
  78. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    Im rating this game a solid ten since it desErves it the game is very well polished halo at its best right from the scenery to mp and to all of the people who slam the game and say it is generic old nothing new come on. What is their really new these days all it is with north Americans now is ur freaking graphics and how easy it is to beat the game and shoot somebody on mp learn how to be what is a true gamer and enjoy not only that for such i highly anticipated game its not FREAKING OVER PRICED ..... COD Expand
  79. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    I have to say that the wait was worth it. Me and my friend Timothy was in line for hours, and our time could not have been spent better.

    Halo: Reach is the best Halo game so far. I missed the birth of my grandson for the campaign. It took me about eleven hours to beat it on heroic by myself. It was really epic.

    My favorite part is near the end, the last four or five levels. I was totally
    hooked the entire time.

    I haven't really had the chance to okay MM, but I know that the multi-player will be awesome. Forge is the best, unlimited customization. Armor abilities are awesome.

    My bfriend Taylor Kimbull is playing the campaign with me on legendary, and we are not even on the third level yet. So hard!
    Expand
  80. Sep 15, 2010
    9
    This is definitley the best Halo game yet, let the all the haters scream "fanb0i! fanb0i!" it wont make much odds, Ten years ago Combat Evolved came out and made the FPS great, Today that tradition still runs strong due to great shooting mechanics, improved graphics and excellent audio, The campaign is typical of that of a modern game that focus's on multiplayer more so than anything which is understandable the amount of 12 year old boys bantering at school about how there gonna 'murk' eachother. What I would say about the campaign is that it feels like old-school Halo, which isnt a bad thing atall considering Combat Evolved had a un-fathomable singleplayer/co-op campaign. Theres more modes in multiplayer then ever before and the forge is greatly improved, Top that up with decent customization and a level of polish only to be expected by a company of this pedigree and what do you get? Halo: Reach. An achivement that goes full circle back to its roots, and man turning back the clock has never been so fun. Expand
  81. Sep 16, 2010
    10
    Superb game and probably one of the best overall game packages ever made. The different modes and the sheer amount of customisation options you have are mind boggling. That coupled with the best FPS gameplay in the business. Ignore the blatant PS3 trolls, Reach delivers everything by the bucket load - an amazing piece of software that has already broken single format sales records.
  82. Sep 16, 2010
    10
    A brilliant game with a great Multiplayer mode, for many people is the best game of the Year. Graphs, Technic, Gameplay, Variety, Innovation, Sound and Argument, completely amazing, It´s unforgettable in this generation.

    The Forge World 2.0 is wonderfull, this mode extend the game.

    Score: 10
  83. Sep 16, 2010
    10
    Hyndra is gay. He's just sour that every other system doesnt even have an exclusive worth buying. Obviously, this queer hasnt even looked at an xbox. Any game review magazine or fan of gaming period can tell you that the Gears and Mass Effect franchises are amazing as well. The fact that Halo is so succesful just eats at the other consoles fanboys since theyll never have a game like it. Especially weak PS3. I shouldnt talk about Hyndra like this though. He's a five year old. I mean, how else could someone like wii more than 360 or ps3? Expand
  84. Sep 16, 2010
    6
    I buy games for a single player experience. I see multiplayer as a bonus for my cash. But Bungie seem to do things the other way round. The campaign was short and in all honesty, boring, the AI is dodgy at times, and the graphics aren't up to snuff when compared to games such as Mass Effect 2, Uncharted 2 and God of War III. Graphics can really help immerse a player into a game, but this game really hasn't improved the visuals much since Halo 3. But i haven't mentioned the multiplayer yet. The multiplayer (the first game i have played online since Halo 3 back in December) is ok. It offers more than Halo 3 does, but that's pretty much it. The multiplayer for this game saves me from giving this game a 3/10.The only reason this game sticks out from the crowd is because it bears the name 'Halo'. Any other game like this would be ripped apart by reviewers. It isn't a crapfest like ODST, and it does improve somewhat over Halo 3, but it isn't worthy of all this praise. Expand
  85. Sep 19, 2010
    4
    I will try to be as honest here as possible. I love Gears of War 1-2, Uncharted 2,God of War etc... because they are entertaining and have numerous of memorable moments and they are GOOD GAMES. Halo has non of those. What it has : Aging graphic engine with some blur effects, story that does not matter and is forgotten fast. It is an average shooter at best. Don't get the critics on this one. If you are not die hard HALO fan then I would skip this one. Expand
  86. Oct 13, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'll start off by saying i'm far from a Halo fan boy, far from it. But i do enjoy the games. They didn't need to change much of the core mechanic as they got it pretty much right from the off, and i bet to those complainers about it feeling to like the first or second, if they changed it radically, you'd all complain. Anyway, the changes they have made are mainly to the weapons, they feel a lot better than Halo 3/3:ODST, although i don't see the point in the DMR, its a glorified pistol, it doesn't sit in between the Assault Rifle and the pistol, but swinging more to the pistol. In my opinion, they should have kept the burst fire. The single player was fun and frustrating on Legendary but you'd expect it to be. And possibly one of the greatest mechanics in any game, if you die many times after a dodgy checkpoint, it reverts you back to the previous checkpoint. The story though is pretty flat. Its basically another invasion story, the Planet Reach is under attack by the Covenant, and you part of a group of spartans called Noble Team, realise the inevitability of the conflict. Because of this and the lack of lone wolf element to 1-3 (bar ODST), you do grow close to your squad mates as they perish one by one. Multiplayer is standard Halo. I'm not good at it, but it can be fun at times, more playing the right way, than your way, unless your way is the right way, but then that might not be as fun. Firefight is expanded further from ODST and is a lot of fun, with, or without teammates and allows me to level up online, without getting exceeding frustrated by playing *with* people who are better than me, rather than against. Finally the matchmaking system is still by far better than any other first person shooter has. They haven't seemed to change it on the surface since Halo 2 and theres a reason why. Expand
  87. Nov 10, 2010
    8
    The biggest problem with Reach's campaign is, in my opinion, that you just can't identify with the character you play as, because that character is you. I know that sounds ridiculous, but hear me out; Bungie has purposefully given Noble 6 (the player character) no personality of his own, because they want the player to have the impression that they are Noble 6. For this same reason Six's armour is fully customisable, as is his or her gender. One of the best things about the original Halo games was assumming the guise of the Master Chief - the invincible super soldier who always says the most badass things possible at the most oppurtune moments. In Reach, the only person you assume the guise of is yourself - a basically unremarkable gamer with no particularly interesting qualities one way or the other. In fact even if you do have interesting qualities, the time at which they are least on display is when you're sat in front of your games console pretending to be someone more interesting. This basic element in the structure of the game is what killed the campaign for me - the last levels were still pretty good, mostly for nostalgia value, but overall I found the whole ordeal quite underwhelming. I gave Reach an 8 because of everything but its campaign, which is where the -2 comes from. Everything but the campaign is gold. Pure gold. Expand
  88. Apr 23, 2011
    2
    This game has so much hype its not even a funny thing anymore. This franchise hasnt ever come close to topping Halo 1. Halo 2 added multiplayer so that was fun for a while, but this is just a money pit scheme where they use the same redundant graphics and mechanics to get people to buy it... i mean if you want proof just look at halo ost. dont tell me that game wasnt a fail. Overall halo reach wants money. Expand
  89. Jul 25, 2011
    10
    This an amazing game I love it! if you owned any game in the halo series you will love this. The forge mode is really fun and enjoyable the fact you can create your own game types to go along with the maps just makes user created content that more fun to use and or play around with. The graphics are awesome they are perfect for the setting of this amazing game. Firefight is really fun and now the fact you can edit the firefight setting makes the experience more fun. the multiplayer is just addicting the gamemodes are fun and since bungie puts out a new gametype every month makes the online experience alot longer and more fun. The story is just awesome no complaints overall a great game buy this as soon as you get the chance! Expand
  90. Sep 19, 2010
    9
    Pros: - Plenty of cool new weapons. - Armor Abilities are a major step up from Halo 3's Equipment. - Space combat in the Sabre is AWESOME. - Loads of options for customizing Multiplayer. - Firefight is back, with Matchmaking! - Wonderful graphics and a remixed color palette make this the most visually impressive of the series. - Music, sound effects and voice acting are top-notch. - Core gameplay is the Halo you know and love.

    Cons:
    - The campaign still seems a bit too short...
    - Squadmate AI seems to have gotten dumber.
    - No boss battles or Scarab fights. Tougher enemies like Hunters and Wraiths are few and far between. - I can live without dual-wielding, but only 4 grenades (2 plasma/2 frag)? WTF, Bungie?
    - Not a big deal, but it's been bugging me a little bit: Why exactly is running an Armor Ability? Shouldn't a super-soldier of the future ALWAYS be able to run?

    Conclusion:
    I highly recommend that everyone who owns an Xbox 360 at least try this game. I'm not convinced that it is superior to Halo 3, but it's a close competition. The pros far outweigh the cons. Even if you find the Campaign to be too brief (as I did), Firefight and Multiplayer should offer plenty of fun.
    Expand
  91. Sep 19, 2010
    8
    With this being Bungies last HALO I was expecting this to top them all in terms of graphics , weapons and vehicles. The graphics are way better than Halo 3 so to that I must say they succeeded. There was also additional weapons in this version such as the target designator that acts much like the Hammer of dawn in Gears and a few other rifles and upgrades to previous weapons. As far as vehicles, this game lets you go into space for around 15-20 minutes which was a nice diversion. With all of the changes they still managed to keep it feel like halo which everyone enjoys. The only downside is the single player is short and while mp is endless fun I still wish SP Was a bit longer. overall well worth 60.00 with lots of replay value. Expand
  92. Sep 23, 2010
    9
    While a lot of people say Bungie has done nothing new with Reach, I just say they haven't played yet. Armour abilities, an extensive cosmetic armoury and a graphics quality to die for. The story was a little iffy at points but the action more than makes up for it. The multiplayer is fun and rewarding. It's consistent, balanced, and hectic to say the least. Also, don't compare this to MW. A military game and a sci-fi game cannot be compared. Also I don't understand what people mean about the graphics being poor. Obviously they don't know the technical side behind it all. Higher resolution textures than have ever been on the x-box, higher poly models than have ever been on the x-box and shadowing and specular quality I have never seen on a console. I guess you need to know to see. Overall, great graphics, great multiplayer, awesome action and a story that holds replay value. Seriously, stop comparing this to MW2 and compare to other sci-fi shooters like Crysis. Which it is ultimately better than. Expand
  93. Sep 15, 2010
    7
    THE GOOD - Improved AI, increased difficulty, tons of bells and whistles, main screen lobby is a genius idea, psych profile and game searching options help find games to your tastes, inclusion of secondary abilities is a nice touch, fixed the melee issues and an improved firefight mode with a variety of options. THE BAD - Gameplay after all these years is feeling bland and outdated. Graphics, though better than Halo 3's, still aren't top notch. Too many camping locations on multiplayer maps. Awful and distracting music at times. THE UGLY - An embarrassingly low number of multiplayer maps (Inexcusable for a $60 package..you'll spend hours frolicking around on the same 4 similarly designed maps), a short and unevenly paced campaign (5-10 hours, depending on skill and difficulty), continued inclusion of the "cheap" pistol/charged plasma combo and the snap-to-target on the sniper rifle that takes out the skill of sniping and establishes it as one of the most unbalanced and camper friendly weapons of all time. THE VERDICT - A decent game, certainly not worth $60. Wait for it to hit $30-$40 before purchasing. Expand
  94. Sep 16, 2010
    10
    10 10 10 10 10!!!!! Amazing story, even better multiplayer. Definetly best game of 2010 and halo series. MUST BUY. Sorry to see bungie haveta go. Tribute them by buying!!!
  95. Sep 22, 2010
    10
    if anyone knows anything about games, its that graphics don't make the game. People are talking about how this isn't realistic at all.....idiots its **** halo what do yo expect. If you want realism go play arma 2, and sit there for 15 min waiting for someone to walk by.
  96. Sep 20, 2010
    9
    Bungie is sitting on a winning formula, here. They've put together an FPS style that's so solidly constructed, it manages to remain fun a full 9 years on. Slow and methodical at some times, frantic and explosive at others, it's challenging, engaging, and will have you in zen mode at the edge of your seat.

    The campaign is a sweeping, if somewhat flawed, epic. We all know Reach falls...but
    Bungie made the somewhat controversial decision of stepping on established timelines to deliver the optimal game experience for the gamer, not the Halo lore fan. And that's totally understandable, because it's still a blast to play through. And, while some of the characters are extremely well-developed, others seem to fade from the story in rather baffling and confusing ways. However, through-and-through, anybody can enjoy the solid challenge Reach presents over its 7-hour campaign. If only it had been longer.

    Multiplayer is everything every Halo has ever been, and then some. The old adage applies: "If it ain't broke, why fix it?" Frankly, because it's fun. Take that pacing and energy, toss in a couple new weapons and some minor gameplay tweaks, sprinkle on some fan service, and absolutely drown everything in all the custom options and content you could possibly ask for, and you're getting your money's worth here, people. This game will last. And Halo has proven once again just how awesome it can be when played with friends -- team up with good friends over Live, and you'll find no shortage of enjoyment when your playstyles synergize.

    Overall, an excellent game. It's really actually sad to see that PS3 and PC owners won't get their hands on this unless they buy a 360, but seeing as Bungie's new deal with Activision is by no means console-exclusive, anybody who owns any platform should look forward to the kind of quality and quantity Bungie has proven they are capable of with this last Halo.

    The reins have been handed to Microsoft. Let's hope they're kind to this old horse.
    Expand
  97. Sep 20, 2010
    3
    Well, all I can say is that this game was a let down. I'm not a die hard Halo, but I like the universe that Bungie Created... sadly, it feels way too much the same as ODST, like an ODST v2 in terms of story. It supposed to be biggest low point of the war, and it felt just like another day at the office. Especially one mission where you see many dead corpses laying on the street, there's no atmosphere or feeling of despair, due to the game's music for one (which is pretty terrible compared to other titles) and that the game finishes way too quickly, you don't get enough story to make you emphasise with the Spartans, or with the UNSC. Pretty poor. Albeit the Multiplayer has it's perks, with the new forge map and the Invasion Game mode, it just seem's recycled, and will never beat Halo 2 Slayer any time soon. Hardly Game of the year. If you're a true Halo or just a casual Shooter player, avoid this game, or wait until it's at least down in price, and from the look's of these reviews, it will be soon. Expand
  98. War
    Sep 20, 2010
    0
    Halo 3 multiplayer + halo odst firefight + old map = Halo reach. If you have $60 do not buy does game save up for CoD Black ops. Using the same recycled gameplay we saw back last decade, it seems as if Bungie is trying too hard to milk the series gullible fanbase for the hard earned cash. The new additions are mostly gimmicky, they do nothing to move the game forward but seem to impede it. Don't waste your time or money on the forgettable experience. Expand
  99. Sep 21, 2010
    0
    Once again Bungie fails to breath life back in a title that has been dead since it's first iteration. Halo: Combat Evolved was innovative and the universe it painted was new and exciting. Halo 2 failed to follow that example and the subsequent titles have only heaped more dirt on it's grave. With any luck this will finally be that last Halo title.
  100. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game is excellent in everyone of it's many aspects. First off the campaign, while short (about 8-9 hours long) is fun to play through and definitely warrants another playthrough, probably with one or more friends. The AI in the campaign however is a mixed bag; the enemy is even better than the older Halos almost to point of you predicting their movements, only to find that they've flanked you. Your allies AI on the other hand is unchanged, in that they still can't drive and will probably require nudging to get moving again. The good thing is that your SPARTAN buddies are invincible and can soak up damage, alleviating the pain on Heroic and Legendary.
    Multiplayer is the same as it was before; well balanced and extremely enjoyable. The weapons are rarely overpowered to one-another and those that are can be scarce. The new load-out system which allows players to choose the weapons/ability they start with may seem similar to MW2, but are non-customisable, meaning everyone can only select from predetermined options and not an overpowered one like in MW2.
    Reaches firefight is the same survival-based gameplay found in ODST's firefight. This version however can now be customised at the same level as custom games can be, and uses load-outs like in multiplayer matchmaking. The maps used can't be forged sadly.
    Custom games remains largely unchanged from Halo 3, with just some minor options added.
    Forge is made even accessible in Reach, and the player will feel even more in control of what they're doing. The biggest changes include item degree snapping, the ability the phase items through each other, instead of having to use a glitch in Halo 3, and the edition of a giant forgeable map with many different play areas throughout.
    Theatre is unchanged from Halo 3, aside from the ability to rewind campaign.
    The ability to customise your character has increased dramatically from Halo 3, with tons more options and more areas to customise.
    The graphics are an improvement from Halo 3s and while they're not at the same level as CoD/BBC/Gears, are far to be considered bad, and are impressive non-the-less.
    Overall, the game has more features than nearly all other shooters on the market. Call me a fanboy if you will, but give a damn good reason just why you think it's bad as well.
    9.5/10 (rounded to ten)
    Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 99 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 99
  2. Negative: 0 out of 99
  1. Jan 18, 2011
    80
    If you loved all the other Halo games, there's little I can say to dissuade you from purchasing Bungie's last creation in the Halo series.
  2. Jan 15, 2011
    71
    Halo: Reach is not a breakthrough, yet it's a clear showcase of Bungie's creative growth. The game is hardly a "must buy" – its single-player campaign is way too short and uneven in quality, while multiplayer has very little room for expansion besides map packs and useless character decorations. But with that said, Reach is worthy of your attention for a couple of evenings.
  3. Dec 25, 2010
    94
    Almost achieves the impossible and fulfills the hype. Among the best shooters ever created. [Issue#231, p.82]