User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1778 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 15, 2010
    4
    I give this game a 4 because i don't think it feels like a whole game. It almost feels empty like something is missing. The game play mechanics are sloppy the graphics are so so but i don't really care to see how many blades of grass are moving while i run I'm just not that type of gamer, i do however expect very simple things to work like they should. To much is missing from the singleI give this game a 4 because i don't think it feels like a whole game. It almost feels empty like something is missing. The game play mechanics are sloppy the graphics are so so but i don't really care to see how many blades of grass are moving while i run I'm just not that type of gamer, i do however expect very simple things to work like they should. To much is missing from the single player campaign. Not having played a Halo installation since the very first one i was curious to see what they would do to the last instance made by Bungie. On a side note i hope MS now that they have this lets this game die in peace. I think the first Halo felt like a complete game this just felt like i was running a bunch of little mini missions. I like to play a campaign before i jump into multi-player to get a feel for the kind of game i want to play in multi-player. There were times in the campaign where i just stood there thinking OK what do i do next for someone who hasn't played since the 90s it wasn't very intuitive. The game controls felt sloppy and didn't feel like a complete thought. The AI wasn't very intelligent unless your idea of intelligent was just run the opposite direction of me and the direction i need to go. Why do FPS always limit ammo of rocket launchers to two or three, seriously im firing plasma guns and shooting aliens and you mean to tell me i cant carry more then three rockets. Really, really now you want to be realistic i can jump from building to building and flip cars over with one button push but i cant hold more than three rockets. Also when i die i drop everything but the thing the surviving member needs to complete the mission so now in order to complete the mission we both have to die to go back and get the one thing you need to complete the mission. In conclusion if you love Halo im sure you'll love this version if you aren't a Halo fan don't waste your time, and if you haven't played since the first one don't get to excited and maybe just stay away from the campaign and go straight to the multi-player. Something tells me the multi-player will feel like Unreal. This will be a perfect way to waste time until Black Ops with my bro-in law who happens to like Halo. While he isnt around ill just continue to rack up kill streaks on COD2-MWF Expand
  2. Sep 17, 2010
    3
    So very disappointed in this. Played all the Halo games in the series and I am afraid to say it just feels very dated gameplay to me. MP is fine but not really any different, single player is just pretty much the same stuff again, one of the early missions is almost identical to one from the first Halo. I really dont see how people are giving this 10/10 it really isnt that good. (and I ownSo very disappointed in this. Played all the Halo games in the series and I am afraid to say it just feels very dated gameplay to me. MP is fine but not really any different, single player is just pretty much the same stuff again, one of the early missions is almost identical to one from the first Halo. I really dont see how people are giving this 10/10 it really isnt that good. (and I own an xbox/PS3 and PC so not a fan boy of any) Not even close to being game of the year in a million years. It does have some nice touches, updated animation, fairly decent enemy AI and some new guns. The armour stuff? Just like the pick ups in Halo 3 except re usable. Biggest let down of the year for me. Expand
  3. Sep 15, 2010
    3
    I just don't get it. I've tried to understand the hype, but I just cannot. I bought this for my son for his birthday and he was so looking forward to playing it with me. I gave Halo 3 not one, not two, but 3 different chances to impress me, and it just didn't. I bought the game used 3 separate times thinking that I must be missing something, only to trade it in a couple weeks laterI just don't get it. I've tried to understand the hype, but I just cannot. I bought this for my son for his birthday and he was so looking forward to playing it with me. I gave Halo 3 not one, not two, but 3 different chances to impress me, and it just didn't. I bought the game used 3 separate times thinking that I must be missing something, only to trade it in a couple weeks later each time. My own stupid mistake. I fell for the same thing again with Halo Reach. The story/background is not interesting to me at all and it just seems thrown together. The weaponry system and controls are terrible in my opinion. The multi-player is extremely frustrating to me. Granted, I am not the best, but it is just not consistent. I may get 3 apparent headshots on an enemy only to be killed by one random shot, or worse yet a melee attack. The next time, I shoot an enemy once and he is killed. I also don't understand the leveling up system...maybe I'm just used to COD and MW, but to me all of the Halo games look, play, and feel the same way. If that is what you like, then more power to you. I will leave it for my son to play, because I won't be playing it anymore. Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2010
    4
    This is a perfectly entertaining mission that nicely develops the main story arc in the Mass Effect universe. Its serious failing is its value for money. At 800 gamer points it's 2 to 4 times as expensive as it should be. I'm actually a fan of short, compact gaming experiences, but in terms of value this really crosses a line.
  5. Sep 18, 2010
    4
    The reviews of this game are proof that the gaming press are cowards and not to be trusted with anything published by companies with lots of money and/or power. The campaign is the least interesting in the series so far, the characters are bland, the plot boring, the scenery generic. As for multiplayer, it's old, online fps multiplayer was at this stage with Unreal about 10 years ago,The reviews of this game are proof that the gaming press are cowards and not to be trusted with anything published by companies with lots of money and/or power. The campaign is the least interesting in the series so far, the characters are bland, the plot boring, the scenery generic. As for multiplayer, it's old, online fps multiplayer was at this stage with Unreal about 10 years ago, other games have moved on. Expand
  6. Sep 18, 2010
    4
    I've been a long time fan of the Halo Franchise, having played every numbered installment and read through all of the books; I can honestly say I enjoy the universe that Bungie has crafted. Unfortunately this game really doesn't deliver in the single player campaign like any of its predecessors. My biggest complaint would have to be the utter rehash that this game appears to be. I feelI've been a long time fan of the Halo Franchise, having played every numbered installment and read through all of the books; I can honestly say I enjoy the universe that Bungie has crafted. Unfortunately this game really doesn't deliver in the single player campaign like any of its predecessors. My biggest complaint would have to be the utter rehash that this game appears to be. I feel like it's trying to be a reboot of Halo: Combat Evolved. Which, outside of the resurrected magnum pistol, really isn't a great thing. On top of that it tries to add things like squad play and ODST stealth elements. In previous titles, you always had a few Marines with you who on higher difficulties were just cannon fodder. Halo 3 changed it up a bit giving you three elites to tag along and of course have 4 person co-op. In this game your part of a SPARTAN squad, which if you read the books gives you high expectations of greatness. This just doesn't happen in a single player environment. The AI from any of the Halo games was never spectacular, this one is just awful. You always have at least one SPARTAN teammate, who is completely invincible and will never die -- cool -- what's not cool however is he/she really can't kill anything on their own. Add in that they don't follow correctly, will constantly beg for cover fire but never give you any, and will often times get stuck or just run in the wrong direction. They're worthless, except in the few situations where you can use them as a shield. Another big problem with Reach is its tendency to glitch on you, on several occasions in Single Player Campaign I've had enemy units teleport, disappear, fly into the air w/o jetpacks, etc. It seems if you want to take the game up on its offer to be stealthy and fight from afar, you'll get to notice all of it's little imperfections. Not to mention that outside of the DMR or Magnum, long range fighting is a joke. Even the sniper rifle has been nerfed terribly with this installment, at least in campaign on higher difficulty. Looong Story short, if you plan on buying this game to experience one of the hallmark story points of the Halo Universe, The Fall of Reach, save yourself the headache and just don't. The multi-player is a decent enough attempt and you can tell most of their focus went there. Of course that's a mixed bag as well because it seems with every installment we're moving further and further from Blood Gulch split screen goodness; instead moving closer and closer to Call of Duty perks and customizations. Expand
  7. Mar 5, 2012
    2
    So I get this game, based on hype and because I thought Halo 3 was a decent game and that this would be better, but it wasn't. The campaign is to the point of nearing impossibility with the difficulty of some enemies. I rammed an elite with a wraith on legendary, and guess what happened? I blew up. He didn't even armor lock or anything. That brings me to my next point. They completelySo I get this game, based on hype and because I thought Halo 3 was a decent game and that this would be better, but it wasn't. The campaign is to the point of nearing impossibility with the difficulty of some enemies. I rammed an elite with a wraith on legendary, and guess what happened? I blew up. He didn't even armor lock or anything. That brings me to my next point. They completely screwed up when it got to armor abilities. You don't need an armor ability to sprint or evade, plus armor lock is on all spartan armor. They should've had sprint, evade, and armor lock default for the character. They also have crappy online play. I mean, if you get in a game, it's pretty good, but it's a bit dull and pointless. The ranks take forever to get through. It took me weeks just to get to colonel. I expected so much more from this game, but it was just such a disappointment. They should have improved much much much more than they did. Plus, they used a lot of low quality textures. Try standing in front of someone and zooming in on them with a sniper rifle. You'll see that the textures have a lot to be desired. I play through a dull, meaningless campaign that's ruined by how they removed duel wielding, yet allowed elites to duel wield. They also let all the elites have all the abilities they want. If your a super soldier, your called that because your better, tougher, stronger, etc. than your enemy, not because you have a crappy shield that barely protects from anything and less health than a marine. Overall it wasn't very good. We give Bungie the hype and support they need to create epic games, and they just slam the door in our face with each game. Expand
  8. Sep 18, 2010
    0
    If you're a casual player who has money to burn or a spineless game reviewer then you will probably like this game. If you're a serious shooter fan, don't waste your money. Zero unlockables (beyond cosmetic)

    No innovation beyond armor powers -Running as a class? Really? C'mon. STILL old school shooter, weapon spawn camping Little variety in weapons The critics are all too
    If you're a casual player who has money to burn or a spineless game reviewer then you will probably like this game. If you're a serious shooter fan, don't waste your money. Zero unlockables (beyond cosmetic)

    No innovation beyond armor powers -Running as a class? Really? C'mon.

    STILL old school shooter, weapon spawn camping

    Little variety in weapons

    The critics are all too spineless to really highlight the lack of innovation in what the game is all about, the combat. Instead they talk about how fully featured other aspects of the game are.
    Collapse
  9. Dec 20, 2010
    0
    I couldn't help but feel bored about this game. The single player is pretty disappointing considering it's Halo's finale of wrapping the series up. Which I'm glad by the way, and commend Bungie for moving on as it seems for the next few years we're just getting more and more sequels of the same **** New franchises would be nice, instead of milking old ones for money. Halo Reach is fun butI couldn't help but feel bored about this game. The single player is pretty disappointing considering it's Halo's finale of wrapping the series up. Which I'm glad by the way, and commend Bungie for moving on as it seems for the next few years we're just getting more and more sequels of the same **** New franchises would be nice, instead of milking old ones for money. Halo Reach is fun but has isn't improved much from Halo 3 which is the main problem. There are a few modes that might keep you interested for a while but pretty much halo lost it's touch in this game. Halo 3 at it's time was considered amazing but after COD, BFBC2 and all these other games, Halo can't compete. Personally, I find Halo 3 better than Reach. And to me, if a sequel is WORSE than it's predecessor it should not even merit a point. As there is no improvement. Overall might please Halo fanboys but won't keep them interested to stay away from other great games. Expand
  10. Sep 19, 2010
    1
    Online matches have more to due with luck than skill. The damage system relies heavily on melee and grenade spamming, and gunfire is almost useless. Because of this, most players just rush at each other with melee attacks. The winner is the player that was lucky to re-spawn near opponents that have weakened shields. The game seems to be designed in such a way so that elite players can'tOnline matches have more to due with luck than skill. The damage system relies heavily on melee and grenade spamming, and gunfire is almost useless. Because of this, most players just rush at each other with melee attacks. The winner is the player that was lucky to re-spawn near opponents that have weakened shields. The game seems to be designed in such a way so that elite players can't dominate every match and potentially scare off newer, less-skilled players, because no matter how good you are, you'll rarely get more than 1-2 kills for before you're killed. Expand
  11. Sep 19, 2010
    4
    I will try to be as honest here as possible. I love Gears of War 1-2, Uncharted 2,God of War etc... because they are entertaining and have numerous of memorable moments and they are GOOD GAMES. Halo has non of those. What it has : Aging graphic engine with some blur effects, story that does not matter and is forgotten fast. It is an average shooter at best. Don't get the critics on thisI will try to be as honest here as possible. I love Gears of War 1-2, Uncharted 2,God of War etc... because they are entertaining and have numerous of memorable moments and they are GOOD GAMES. Halo has non of those. What it has : Aging graphic engine with some blur effects, story that does not matter and is forgotten fast. It is an average shooter at best. Don't get the critics on this one. If you are not die hard HALO fan then I would skip this one. Expand
  12. Sep 22, 2010
    2
    Halo: Reach Around! Bored yet?

    I gave 2 but really it at least 4. I played one Halo before on PC and it quite good but I prefer Riven. Whats up with Master Chef? He no cook anything anyway.
  13. Apr 23, 2011
    2
    This game has so much hype its not even a funny thing anymore. This franchise hasnt ever come close to topping Halo 1. Halo 2 added multiplayer so that was fun for a while, but this is just a money pit scheme where they use the same redundant graphics and mechanics to get people to buy it... i mean if you want proof just look at halo ost. dont tell me that game wasnt a fail. Overall haloThis game has so much hype its not even a funny thing anymore. This franchise hasnt ever come close to topping Halo 1. Halo 2 added multiplayer so that was fun for a while, but this is just a money pit scheme where they use the same redundant graphics and mechanics to get people to buy it... i mean if you want proof just look at halo ost. dont tell me that game wasnt a fail. Overall halo reach wants money. Expand
  14. Sep 20, 2010
    3
    Well, all I can say is that this game was a let down. I'm not a die hard Halo, but I like the universe that Bungie Created... sadly, it feels way too much the same as ODST, like an ODST v2 in terms of story. It supposed to be biggest low point of the war, and it felt just like another day at the office. Especially one mission where you see many dead corpses laying on the street, there's noWell, all I can say is that this game was a let down. I'm not a die hard Halo, but I like the universe that Bungie Created... sadly, it feels way too much the same as ODST, like an ODST v2 in terms of story. It supposed to be biggest low point of the war, and it felt just like another day at the office. Especially one mission where you see many dead corpses laying on the street, there's no atmosphere or feeling of despair, due to the game's music for one (which is pretty terrible compared to other titles) and that the game finishes way too quickly, you don't get enough story to make you emphasise with the Spartans, or with the UNSC. Pretty poor. Albeit the Multiplayer has it's perks, with the new forge map and the Invasion Game mode, it just seem's recycled, and will never beat Halo 2 Slayer any time soon. Hardly Game of the year. If you're a true Halo or just a casual Shooter player, avoid this game, or wait until it's at least down in price, and from the look's of these reviews, it will be soon. Expand
  15. War
    Sep 20, 2010
    0
    Halo 3 multiplayer + halo odst firefight + old map = Halo reach. If you have $60 do not buy does game save up for CoD Black ops. Using the same recycled gameplay we saw back last decade, it seems as if Bungie is trying too hard to milk the series gullible fanbase for the hard earned cash. The new additions are mostly gimmicky, they do nothing to move the game forward but seem to impede it.Halo 3 multiplayer + halo odst firefight + old map = Halo reach. If you have $60 do not buy does game save up for CoD Black ops. Using the same recycled gameplay we saw back last decade, it seems as if Bungie is trying too hard to milk the series gullible fanbase for the hard earned cash. The new additions are mostly gimmicky, they do nothing to move the game forward but seem to impede it. Don't waste your time or money on the forgettable experience. Expand
  16. Sep 21, 2010
    0
    Once again Bungie fails to breath life back in a title that has been dead since it's first iteration. Halo: Combat Evolved was innovative and the universe it painted was new and exciting. Halo 2 failed to follow that example and the subsequent titles have only heaped more dirt on it's grave. With any luck this will finally be that last Halo title.
  17. Apr 23, 2011
    4
    it saddens me to give you this score my friend it truly does your the b{}{rd child of bungie and i sort of pity that because you could have been more if this is bungies last hurrah you let the people themselves decide if they want you not the reviews.
  18. Sep 24, 2010
    4
    i have tried.. really i have.. i wonder how many other people have to... they say great story.. i say read go to any library and pick a book its guaranteed to have a better story.. gameplay ok at best... multiplayer painful waiting times... ridiculous game modes like infected that last about 2 mins.. pointless.. i liked the first Halo.. it didn't blow me away or anything.. it was alright..i have tried.. really i have.. i wonder how many other people have to... they say great story.. i say read go to any library and pick a book its guaranteed to have a better story.. gameplay ok at best... multiplayer painful waiting times... ridiculous game modes like infected that last about 2 mins.. pointless.. i liked the first Halo.. it didn't blow me away or anything.. it was alright.. i tried Halo 2 got bored after 1 hour... Halo 3 got bored after 20 mins.. I played Reach for a few hours trying to see what the hype is about.. i just can't see it... sorry.. bland and cliche story... average graphices.. poor multiplayer... i'm trading this in tomorrow... Expand
  19. Sep 29, 2010
    3
    First and Foremost: The metascore average is NOT 92. ATTN: Metacritic staff, please check your math and update with the CORRECT Metascore. On to the game. Over the years the genre of first person shooters have evolved. Halo hasn't. It is with games like this that many so-called "critics" lose any shred of credibility they may have had by lauding praise on this mediocre game and heapingFirst and Foremost: The metascore average is NOT 92. ATTN: Metacritic staff, please check your math and update with the CORRECT Metascore. On to the game. Over the years the genre of first person shooters have evolved. Halo hasn't. It is with games like this that many so-called "critics" lose any shred of credibility they may have had by lauding praise on this mediocre game and heaping such high scores upon it. Call of Duty gave us iron sights, Crysis gave us innovative armor abilities, and so on. Halo Reach's main innovation is the ability to sprint. For a game being released in 2010 this is unacceptable. Reach really offers nothing new beyond slightly more polished graphics. The storytelling is still a mess, the team-mate AI is pathetic, and the game really offers nothing new or innovative. At best Reach is a mediocre to decent fps that has gained such success from its name and from the millions of dollars spent on marketing and hyping the product. If you bought the hype, beleived the hype, and eventually had the hype convince you its the greatest game ever then good for you. However, if you are the type of person that doesn't buy hype and marketing and judges a product based on its quality instead, then don't waste your time or money with this game. Expand
  20. Jan 6, 2011
    2
    Very Disappointed. I was really looking forward to this, but now that I have it, I still feel like playing the other halo's. Don't like the direction they took it. That direction would be nowhere. It is basically the same game. Not enough upgrades to justify a whole new game. I feel like this would have been better served as an add on to ODST.
  21. Jan 23, 2013
    2
    Honestly so disappointing that I couldn't believe it. I loved all the other halos so much. I would play them for hours at a time. Well halo reach is a different game. I really gave the game a chance but I NEVER could have any fun. Reasons why? so many I wouldn't even be able to fit them in with the 5000 characters limit so let me end by saying this game feels nothing like the other halos.Honestly so disappointing that I couldn't believe it. I loved all the other halos so much. I would play them for hours at a time. Well halo reach is a different game. I really gave the game a chance but I NEVER could have any fun. Reasons why? so many I wouldn't even be able to fit them in with the 5000 characters limit so let me end by saying this game feels nothing like the other halos. It is the product of what happens to a good game when the creators want to make more money by widening the audience but the end result is a far different, far worse game. Expand
  22. ccc
    Sep 22, 2010
    0
    This game is a big pile of crap.
    The reason for this is the simple fact that it is the 4rth installment into a series that is the exact same crap it was to begin with.
    Trash gameplay that a trained monkey could master. How mindless do gamers really need to be to play this game and love it seriously? Getting down to a technical level I must say Bungi is about one of the worst developers
    This game is a big pile of crap.
    The reason for this is the simple fact that it is the 4rth installment into a series that is the exact same crap it was to begin with.
    Trash gameplay that a trained monkey could master. How mindless do gamers really need to be to play this game and love it seriously?
    Getting down to a technical level I must say Bungi is about one of the worst developers there are with little next to no talent with this latest offering again almost no improvement over the first installment.
    It still has massive frame rate issues and suffers slowdown just like the first one.
    The only true saving grace this series has is the story line which no shock there was not crafted by Bungi but hired writers which is still a double edged sword as the entire storyline is pretty much ripped from popular 1980 and 1990 movies.
    This game is a wreck and it is unbelievable that certain establishments give this game the ratings they do either by default of being bad gamers themselves, afraid to loose readers/fans or even paid off to say good things about it.
    I think as a company Bungi is great in the way that they can take a crap, sell it to you, wait for you to crap it back out then grab that and sell it to you again and again. They are the masters of that 15 seconds of gameplay, remember saying that Bungi? So shameful to do it and admit it.
    Expand
  23. Sep 29, 2010
    0
    The games name is Halo, however, i assure you now angel would crawl to hell and beyond to play this game. Halo 1 seemed fun, Halo 2 seemed a tad bit more fun, and Halo 3 followed the same pattern. I essentially just bought Halo 3 the way it was supposed to be a few years ago. Actually, there was something Halo 3 had over Reach and that is the maps. Now when you matchmake you don't get theThe games name is Halo, however, i assure you now angel would crawl to hell and beyond to play this game. Halo 1 seemed fun, Halo 2 seemed a tad bit more fun, and Halo 3 followed the same pattern. I essentially just bought Halo 3 the way it was supposed to be a few years ago. Actually, there was something Halo 3 had over Reach and that is the maps. Now when you matchmake you don't get the old selection but a small selection with 100 others mixed in. I personally vote for a regular DMR slayer when i search Team Slayer. But i get team snipers, a game type fans of sniping got to specialize in the previous game. If you were thinking of buying this game save your money for Black OPS. I thought this game would beat it but now i pray Black OPS is all it and the other CoD games have been hyped to. Plan on going to hell with 60 less dollars in your pocket because you bought a game you may have bought a few years ago in Halo 3. Expand
  24. Oct 13, 2010
    1
    I'm new to this franchise. not kidding. and so far this game bores me. the campaign is slick so far, but i don't think I'll pick it up once i begin playing a new game. can anyone tell me why this game is worth my time?
  25. Oct 15, 2010
    4
    eeeeeeeeeeggggggggggggggggggggggg egggggggggggggggggggggggggg game is overated as **** eggggggggggggggggggg crap your pants fart hotdogs beeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeefffffffffffffffffffffffffff fartsss
  26. Oct 15, 2010
    4
    Bad game.

    Terrible physics. Weapons and vehicles operate differently for NPC's than player-characters. Collision physics are not logorithmic, many times you may melee an enemy and not be able to run them over. Long range weaponry loses effectiveness at close distances, a sniper round is fatal at 1000m, but minimally damaging in a hallway. Explosives damage vehicles according to driver
    Bad game.

    Terrible physics. Weapons and vehicles operate differently for NPC's than player-characters. Collision physics are not logorithmic, many times you may melee an enemy and not be able to run them over. Long range weaponry loses effectiveness at close distances, a sniper round is fatal at 1000m, but minimally damaging in a hallway. Explosives damage vehicles according to driver rather than vehicle class.

    Terrible AI. No squad control, AI teammates do not fire their guns, and teammates step in front of live fire. Terrible story. Cut scenes are slow and dumb. Mission successes are devalued by cutscenes, if you rescue a group under attack they die in the cutscene. No matter how you succeed in gameplay, your victory is revoked by cutscene.
    Expand
  27. Oct 18, 2010
    0
    This game is an absolute disgrace to the halo community. I am a huge halo fan love the game with a passion, but reach was one of the most anticipated game out of them all. And you know what it sucked. How are you going to change the things that make halo what it is or should I say was. Halo is not call of duty and never will be. If I wanted to play a game that requires no skill and oneThis game is an absolute disgrace to the halo community. I am a huge halo fan love the game with a passion, but reach was one of the most anticipated game out of them all. And you know what it sucked. How are you going to change the things that make halo what it is or should I say was. Halo is not call of duty and never will be. If I wanted to play a game that requires no skill and one shot to kill me then I would go play some cod. Halos shield system brought out the skill in people now a newb can kill you in a shot. WTF bungie stop making games sell ur rights to halo cuz ur putting a bad look on it . All the pro's from halo 3 hate reach it sucks Expand
  28. Jan 18, 2011
    3
    After all the hype that halo reach built up i still cant see how it managed to be popular. From the graphics being little to no improvement from halo 3 and when you games like red dead redemption that look stunning, then you get a game like halo reach that looks like a old video cassette recording of power rangers. The story was boring and uneventful with any chance to have a good storyAfter all the hype that halo reach built up i still cant see how it managed to be popular. From the graphics being little to no improvement from halo 3 and when you games like red dead redemption that look stunning, then you get a game like halo reach that looks like a old video cassette recording of power rangers. The story was boring and uneventful with any chance to have a good story twisted wasted and all the characters apart from one being bland. Sure the servers where quick and reliable but when you actually got into a game and where constantly killed on the spawn because the horrible spawning. The weapons seeming to work perfectly at one point and then taking hundreds of shots to just take the enemies shields down and Forge was a huge let down after all the build up the bungie gave it and then it was just a slightly larger version of forge on halo 3 with barely any improvement.The game was very boring and repetitive and was a huge waste of money. Expand
  29. Jan 19, 2011
    2
    Haters gonna hate, but this game didn't feel worth the hype. Only the Halo and Call of Duty series can get away with re releasing games time and time again.
  30. Jun 12, 2011
    3
    Halo 3 sucked so hard and unfortunately Halo: Reach is worse! The multiplayer was ok but the rest of the game was just boring. I really hope Halo 4 is getting better :)
  31. Jun 12, 2011
    4
    Do not be fooled by the story it is forgetful at best and the characters are boring. At some parts it doesn't even make sense. Gameplay is good but do not buy this expecting a riveting story. It is full of cliches and in the end really is boring. Multiplayer however is a blast as well as firefight. If you get this game you will want to have Xbox Live to play the vast multiplayer experienceDo not be fooled by the story it is forgetful at best and the characters are boring. At some parts it doesn't even make sense. Gameplay is good but do not buy this expecting a riveting story. It is full of cliches and in the end really is boring. Multiplayer however is a blast as well as firefight. If you get this game you will want to have Xbox Live to play the vast multiplayer experience the Halo Franchise is known for otherwise you are really just wasting your time with a short uninteresting story. Expand
  32. Dec 21, 2011
    2
    Basically think of everything good about halo2 / halo3 in your head. Now remove it and think of a game made by 10 year olds with a multiplayer that now turned me into a call of duty fan because I cant stand it and its borring.

    Halo reach ended halo to me. Together, removing the BR and the Jetpacks, armor lock and the other joke perks make this feel like a cheap shooter by a no name company
  33. Nov 8, 2012
    0
    Boring linear story. It is basically about running around and pressing buttons all campaign long. Horrible level design, and a story which is filled with stupid loopholes, and 'tryhard' moments. If you're looking for a deep engaging story, then go elsewhere because a CoD story would have more deep immersive story than this.

    Multiplayer.... don't even get me started, it is so unbalanced
    Boring linear story. It is basically about running around and pressing buttons all campaign long. Horrible level design, and a story which is filled with stupid loopholes, and 'tryhard' moments. If you're looking for a deep engaging story, then go elsewhere because a CoD story would have more deep immersive story than this.

    Multiplayer.... don't even get me started, it is so unbalanced and horrible that if you are a veteran player then just turn around - pick up MW2 and play that, because there is more balance and playability in that game than there is in Reach.

    Bottom line - a game purely made to look like CoD so that Bungie could make a few dollars before leaving. Not worth your money, even if it is something like 5 dollars.
    Expand
  34. Jul 28, 2013
    4
    No. the gameplay is extremely bland and the storyline makes you want to puke over everything you love. All of the weapons feel exactly the same. If you use the Needler you shoot the purple stuff, if the use the Spiker, you shoot some gray stuff.
  35. Dec 31, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Reach doesn't reach the quality of previous Halo games. Not even ODST. Sure it's great, that the gameplay changes, but this time the changes made the game only worse. Campaign is interesting at first, but the potential is horribly missed. Even though it has a lot of variation, it's way worse compared to previous campaigns. Deaths of Spartans just feel pointless. Why? Because there isin't really any kind of character development, making you feel nothing about it, what Bungie would have probably wanted you to feel. Second problem is the levels. You might think, that you will get epic fights and such, but Bungie didn't do anything like that. Space battle is ok, but it didn't feel as good as firefights in the rest of the time. Potential is horribly missed, but the epilogue level is great. What about multiplayer? It isin't really better than campaign. Bloom slows down already slow gameplay. Jumping and player speed has been reduced for armour abilities. Ridicolous aim assist, which allows shots to be hit even, if you just went to cover. Maps are horrible and grenades are ridicolously overpowered. You can't jump to avoid grenade damage and you will die from grenade, if you have suffered only 5% damage to the shields. Sprint + Energy Sword is now overpowered combo, because of lack of blocking. If you want to buy Halo game, buy Halo 3 instead. This game is just bad. Expand
  36. Oct 1, 2010
    3
    This game is simply the worst Halo game ever made. Even ODST was better then this trash. Without comparing this game to previous installments, its a pretty solid game. But the story is horribly bad, and everything else is a straight up rip-off of Halo 3. If you are thinking about buying this game, you should only borrow it.
  37. Oct 17, 2010
    1
    The Graphics are great. But it does not make up for the horrible game play quality. I will explain why i just don't like it. First off I paid $60 for a game that's not even much of a step up from halo 3. In fact i felt it went backwards in many ways. Starting out with the first Halo I remember all the good and fun times i actually had playing on legendary difficult with my friends.None ofThe Graphics are great. But it does not make up for the horrible game play quality. I will explain why i just don't like it. First off I paid $60 for a game that's not even much of a step up from halo 3. In fact i felt it went backwards in many ways. Starting out with the first Halo I remember all the good and fun times i actually had playing on legendary difficult with my friends.None of that here cuz Nearly every single attack is an instant death in this game from heroic-Legendary difficulty. ''Oh Look a drop ship!'' it shoots me and bam dead in one hit. As i said NEARLY Everything in the campaign is a one hit kill on you.I can not tell you how many times i died, Just from random explosions that were not even near me. I guess their idea of fun is to have players die 500 times in one level. The AI is horrible. Your fellow noble 6 spartan teammates can't even make a descent meat shield with their invincibility. I actually think they made the human/spartan AI dumber, While the covenant AI is actually smarter as they always know to dodge my grenades. OH let me talk about the weapons. They took away some of the weapons i love and replaced them with garbage versions. Nearly every single weapon has been Nerfed in some way (downgraded). The plasma grenade for instance will not kill the stronger elites even if you stick it to them, They will be left with a lot of shield power still left. Only weapon that actually seems stronger is the sniper rifle as it kills all vehicles in two hits. The rocket launcher is almost useless at medium to long range against vehicles because they took away the lock-on for all ground vehicles. Now for multiplayer, Every time i set my game options to find the game with the ''Best Connection''. What does it do? It brings me to the laggiest game It could find. On top of that the community is just as bad as ever...All they do is curse and use strong/hateful insults towards other players. Really? Where is the teamwork... The fact that I can not pick what map i want in firefight if i do matchmaking just makes it worse. Your team has to vote on either Regular firefight, Gen Defense, Or Sniper/Rocket launcher game. And it KEEPS MAKING ME PLAY THE EXACT SAME MAPS OVER AND OVER AGAIN. I know there are others but it will only let me play them by myself. So really when i wanna play a free for all slayer, I am not allowed to choose that. It will either throw me into an infection game, Which i hate every much, or a skull collection game. I can't even play juggernaut! I mean really this game is incredibly boring. It forces you to play something you don't want to. Only Reason I gave it a 1 was because i have been playing Halo since 2001. Jeez the game has just gone downhill after Halo 1 which is a masterpiece in my opinion. I actually went back and played it on legendary by myself and had so much more fun than this piece of trash. I can only recommend this game to the fan boys..Other than that please stay away from it! It is not worth it. Plenty of other good games you can play. I'm sorry i made this review so long! I just could not believe how bad this game was. Expand
  38. Mar 3, 2011
    0
    Very very good game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Definitely deserves a 0! Here's an idea!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! IF YOU LIKED THISVery very good game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Definitely deserves a 0! Here's an idea!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! IF YOU LIKED THIS GAME............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................ YOU'LL LOVE HALO 1, BECAUSE ITS THE SAME GAME WITH A MUCH WORSE STORYYY!!! Expand
  39. Nov 18, 2010
    4
    Halo: Reach campaign is amazing! You can customize your character and use it in the campaign, a good detail. The story was awesome, i was so into the campaign, and the campaign is the best thing about the game.
    The multiplayer SUCK, the new abilities are okay but the armor ruins the game, its overpowered. You can sprint 5 seconds, which is okay, you can jump 2 times with evade, drop
    Halo: Reach campaign is amazing! You can customize your character and use it in the campaign, a good detail. The story was awesome, i was so into the campaign, and the campaign is the best thing about the game.
    The multiplayer SUCK, the new abilities are okay but the armor ruins the game, its overpowered. You can sprint 5 seconds, which is okay, you can jump 2 times with evade, drop shield is a bit underpowered. Jetpack is okay, you can fly high with it, which is okay. But the armorlock is so owerpowered, the shield blocks sticky grenades, so freakin' stupid! You can shoot the shield of, it drops your shield if your close, and yeah OVERPOWERED!
    Halo 3 is amazing, BR was so freakin good, but DMR, meeeh.
    A lot of new weapons which is awesome, but still its crappy online. To many noobish armor locks.
    IM SO MAD!
    4/10
    Expand
  40. Nov 19, 2010
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. BIGGEST disappointment of the year 2010!! Single player story sucks, you have to attack somewhere then protect same place, the later attack again, and yet again protect it..!! what's the point ?? and multiplayer is same **** as always!! Expand
  41. Dec 15, 2010
    0
    Well as a fan of halo since halo 1 i have to say it feels like bungie said "Call of Dutyize it NOW" and as much as i **** hate cod halo did not feel like halo. halo 1 lan was **** awesome halo 2 online was beast. and halo 3 was awesome. and they said well time to change the formula. so it feels like call of halo. not enjoyable.
  42. Dec 19, 2010
    1
    Okay, seriously what is this garbage? It's just more of the same! All they changed was the story! This game is just like the rest! Who would but this trash!? It had awful graphics and horrid game play!! No wonder the 360 is doing bad right now. It's because trash games like this come out and no one likes them except for morons. Get it in your head already Microsoft, the 360 needs moreOkay, seriously what is this garbage? It's just more of the same! All they changed was the story! This game is just like the rest! Who would but this trash!? It had awful graphics and horrid game play!! No wonder the 360 is doing bad right now. It's because trash games like this come out and no one likes them except for morons. Get it in your head already Microsoft, the 360 needs more games than just Shooters and Racing. Cause honestly that's all they're known for. It's trash games like Halo Reach that make the 360 horrible, Expand
  43. Dec 19, 2010
    1
    Well, after this game I guess I'm kind of happy that Bungie is jumping ship from the Halo series. ODST was perhaps the worst game in the series, but REACH is just as turd worthy. Once again, just like ODST, the game was completely devoid of a meaningful story of why reach is important until the last few missions. I'm not just going to give Bungie a free pass on the thin storyline becauseWell, after this game I guess I'm kind of happy that Bungie is jumping ship from the Halo series. ODST was perhaps the worst game in the series, but REACH is just as turd worthy. Once again, just like ODST, the game was completely devoid of a meaningful story of why reach is important until the last few missions. I'm not just going to give Bungie a free pass on the thin storyline because it's just poor story telling considering that this is supposed to be the origin story of the series.

    Mainly, don't expect any decent return in terms of hours of gameplay unless you are only buying the game for the online multiplayer. I was able to finish the game in one 4 hour sitting. Pathetic for the price of games these days. Even worse when you consider how epic Halo 1 & 2 were.

    I buy Halo games for the story, the great multiplayer is only a bonus, but with REACH I think they went the Call of Duty route and went thin on the story and focused on the multiplayer instead. If you only buy the game for the multiplayer you probably won't care about how bad REACH is, but if you do, save your money and just replay Halo 2.
    Expand
  44. Mar 2, 2011
    0
    I hate this game... im no ps3 fanboy, ill agree that i love killzone 3, but at the same time i hated killzone 2 in comparison to halo 3, im not a singleplayer kind of guy, so i didnt really care with halo 3s singleplayer (although i enjoyed it). When Halo reach arrived i expected it to be a game with a completly new style of multiplayer with tons of originality like back on halo 1 and 3,I hate this game... im no ps3 fanboy, ill agree that i love killzone 3, but at the same time i hated killzone 2 in comparison to halo 3, im not a singleplayer kind of guy, so i didnt really care with halo 3s singleplayer (although i enjoyed it). When Halo reach arrived i expected it to be a game with a completly new style of multiplayer with tons of originality like back on halo 1 and 3, instead i got a really nice singleplayer (best one after halo 1) but at the same time a crappy multiplayer which isnt no where near as good as halo 3 mp, the basically changed the way perks work to a cod version, and added fall damage into the mp. They also removed some of the vehicles from the coolest maps from halo 3. Basically they removed the fun from halo 3 and made it a K/D ratio game and thats not cool, how the f is it possible that I still play halo 1 and have fun with it, also play halo 3 all day, and I just cant play this p of s ... Expand
  45. Mar 2, 2011
    3
    Ive seen some people give this game a straight 0 and well, u guys suck, u are fanboys and u dont deserve to play halo... on the other hand ive got to agree that this game sucks... its the worst halo by far, the singleplayer isnt even as good as odst. ODST, and when it comes to mp, its basically a nerfed version of halo 3 with jetpacks and a few more game modes, but with a lot of stuffIve seen some people give this game a straight 0 and well, u guys suck, u are fanboys and u dont deserve to play halo... on the other hand ive got to agree that this game sucks... its the worst halo by far, the singleplayer isnt even as good as odst. ODST, and when it comes to mp, its basically a nerfed version of halo 3 with jetpacks and a few more game modes, but with a lot of stuff removed, changed controls and a lot of the fun content changed to make it less fun or addictive. Also, all of the things which we halo fans were like, bored of, are still there, like the graphics for example, which look exactly the same. Still, I think halo 3 is superior to anything ps3 will ever have. come on, mag? are u fking kidding me xD? Expand
  46. Jun 28, 2011
    4
    This game is all hype and no delivery, story is dumb and short multyplayer is boring after 2 days, and graphics could have been better. I think the reviewers were payed off because this NOOOOO 10 out of 10
  47. Aug 9, 2011
    4
    Just ok not worth buying. Buy this one used or hope you can win it for free some how. I would not pay full price for this game. Bungie hasn't made a good halo game since Halo 2 and Halo 3.
  48. Sep 15, 2011
    4
    The only reason I think this game deserves a four is because of the new improved Forge Mode.. Halo Reach to me lost what Halo was all about, It doesn't feel like your having as much fun as you did in the previous games. The on-line on Halo like always is very laggy and most of the time you can't be bothered wasting time and will quit.
  49. Dec 22, 2011
    0
    why the hell does anyone like halo???one of the worst games in the world ????nd the visuals or graphics not better than any game!!!!!!!!!!!!multiplayer gimme abreak!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
  50. Apr 19, 2013
    0
    The gameplay dynamic was poorly designed. Chasers were rewarded rather than punished. Random factors in gameplay took away from Reach being a skill based game and more on a luck based game (grenade bounces having a random factor to them and bloom.) Load outs made it feel like a watered down Call of Duty. The removal of a true skill system appealed to the casual gamers that praised CoD.The gameplay dynamic was poorly designed. Chasers were rewarded rather than punished. Random factors in gameplay took away from Reach being a skill based game and more on a luck based game (grenade bounces having a random factor to them and bloom.) Load outs made it feel like a watered down Call of Duty. The removal of a true skill system appealed to the casual gamers that praised CoD. The game was so poorly designed with competition in mind that MLG took Halo off of the pro circuit when Halo 3 used to be the main stage event. True fans of the Halo multiplayer will be greatly disappointed in this game. I know I was. Expand
  51. Dec 24, 2012
    3
    People all love Halo, and they say that it's the only game that worth the buying of the Xbox 360. Actually, it's one of the worst games ever made, and people like it only because everyone plays it. Not recommended.
  52. Mar 25, 2013
    2
    This games campaign is nothing special. First of all loading anything takes forever. You don't always get achievement when a level is beaten on normal or harder. Waste of time to play.
  53. Apr 23, 2013
    3
    Halo Reach is fun, some of the visuals are cool and the AI isn't so bad. But as the review title states it was way too short and was too vaguely told to generate any real affinity for the characters.

    The fighting/battle action is cool but nothing wildly different from any of the other adventures of the franchise. After enjoying the intuitive cover of Gears of War, any other game
    Halo Reach is fun, some of the visuals are cool and the AI isn't so bad. But as the review title states it was way too short and was too vaguely told to generate any real affinity for the characters.

    The fighting/battle action is cool but nothing wildly different from any of the other adventures of the franchise. After enjoying the intuitive cover of Gears of War, any other game without the benefit of cover is just frustrating and feels retrograde. The AI of your accompanying team is decent and you can hop on a vehicle and manage the weapon while a Noble squad mate drives...for the most part. Sometimes they just go AWOL.

    My biggest beef with the game is the length. Way too short and easily finished within a few hours of play. I was slightly shocked when it was done. That and the storytelling was simply ineffectual. One knew what was happening but only had a vague connection to the story, and moments where one should have felt some sympathy for the characters were lost. There are times when the instructions for your next mission are unclear and this is also quite annoying.

    No doubt it's entertaining, but one gets the sense that it was made in a bit of a rush.
    Expand
  54. May 4, 2013
    3
    This game looks like a child drew it, the colours are all overly bright and if a dumb American or English child were asked what war looks like this would be it. Floaty jumps and monsters that shoot blue bullets lmao what a joke I thought I was on acid when playing this game.

    Online it's even worse, guns look plastic and the servers are a joke. Paying to play online? LOOOOL how stupid
    This game looks like a child drew it, the colours are all overly bright and if a dumb American or English child were asked what war looks like this would be it. Floaty jumps and monsters that shoot blue bullets lmao what a joke I thought I was on acid when playing this game.

    Online it's even worse, guns look plastic and the servers are a joke. Paying to play online? LOOOOL how stupid are we to fall into Bill Gates money grabbing, slimy corporation.

    Just like the older Halo's they force you to buy overly priced DLC just to play on different maps. I thought they were taking the piss but no, it was actually what they were expecting. Well most of the people who buy an xbox 360 are brainwashed, delusional and have very low intelligence so that is how Microsh1t make their money I suppose.

    Avoid this awful game, infact don't even buy an xbox you will soon regret it. My one has been collecting dust since last year and whenever people come round I put a towel over it as I am embarrassed to own such a failure product.
    Expand
  55. Jun 16, 2013
    3
    As a casual gamer I didn't have extremely high expectations for a Halo game. However, I found myself gradually getting more and more bored throughout the game's story. Although the story is, in my opinion, better than other Halo game's, It seems predictable, and at times I found myself simply waiting for another character to die off. To add to the "experience", The game's A.I. for yourAs a casual gamer I didn't have extremely high expectations for a Halo game. However, I found myself gradually getting more and more bored throughout the game's story. Although the story is, in my opinion, better than other Halo game's, It seems predictable, and at times I found myself simply waiting for another character to die off. To add to the "experience", The game's A.I. for your allies is pathetic at times- I found myself on various levels having to pay closer attention to my teammates, then the Covenant. Examples of which would be Emile driving me off a cliff, or actually going out of his way to hit me head on with a vehicle. Errors in the A.I. like that are annoying, and with the mediocre game play and story, It led me to have the same level of entertainment as some of the earlier Halo's (A low amount).
    Xbox live doesn't offer much for casual gamers either. It offers a simple cut-and-paste "Capture the flag", "Death match" and "Team death match". All of which hold little entertainment value for a gamer like myself, who likes fun game play. In addition from their typical game modes, there are a few variants, such like a zombie game mode. However, it seems that even this was a poor effort. Giving one team shotguns, and pistols, and the other team being colored green or red and armed with swords is in no way a "Zombie" infestation.

    The game had its fun moments, definitely, but they were stretched so far across the bugs and obvious story line, that it just wasn't worth the money. In the very least, being a fan of zombie games, I wish they would've at least done that justice, but it seems that a glowing blue sword and green/red armor is what suffices for an accurate survival of a zombie infection these days...
    Expand
  56. Dec 25, 2013
    0
    Sprint, bloom, armour lock, loadouts, bad maps …bungie clearly did not care what they did to the halo franchise and were more focused on testing things out for destiny.

    Still better than halo 4 though
  57. Mar 8, 2014
    1
    This game is not just a bad halo game it's a bad game in general. the campaign is the easiest to beat in the halo franchise no real memorable moments. graphics are meh. a lot more gray pallets as compared to halo 3 but what truely matters in a game is 1 thing and that is gameplay! now you see halo reach has some of the worst gameplay mechanics in the world. it's as if the designers said.This game is not just a bad halo game it's a bad game in general. the campaign is the easiest to beat in the halo franchise no real memorable moments. graphics are meh. a lot more gray pallets as compared to halo 3 but what truely matters in a game is 1 thing and that is gameplay! now you see halo reach has some of the worst gameplay mechanics in the world. it's as if the designers said. "hey lets take one of the best arena console shooters, water it down and add game play elements from call of duty" the result is a game with slow movement speed. bad starting weapons gimmicky armor abilities and super imbalanced guns. the only reason I did not give this game a 0 is because of the forge world and the MLG playlist they added in late in it's lifecycle.really it's a game that should never of been made. they were selling to the wrong crowd. and at the end of the day as an avid lover of competitive games im left with the bitter taste in my mouth. the bitter taste of halo reach Expand
  58. Sep 10, 2014
    4
    The campaign was okay, but it is the worst matchmaking so far in the halo series. It turned the amazing arena style shooter and killed it by adding classes and abilities. What made halo great is that every one started on the same even playing field and only skill would separate them. Not the case for this monstrosity. I am not surprised more people like it though it is very causal. It gotThe campaign was okay, but it is the worst matchmaking so far in the halo series. It turned the amazing arena style shooter and killed it by adding classes and abilities. What made halo great is that every one started on the same even playing field and only skill would separate them. Not the case for this monstrosity. I am not surprised more people like it though it is very causal. It got rid of the fav favored skill ranking system and replaced it with a garbage Cod style experience system. The DMR ruined it most of all. 3 shots to the head should not kill someone. One of the beauties of halo is that if someone attacks you from the back you can turn around and kill him with your 4 shot BR.. This is not the case with the DMR, which is ridiculous. Definitely Reach was the start of the fall for halo.. Expand
  59. Sep 18, 2010
    0
    If you're a casual player who has money to burn or a spineless game reviewer then you will probably like this game. If you're a serious shooter fan, don't waste your money. Zero unlockables (beyond cosmetic)

    No innovation beyond armor powers -Running as a class? Really? C'mon. STILL old school shooter, weapon spawn camping Little variety in weapons The critics are all too
    If you're a casual player who has money to burn or a spineless game reviewer then you will probably like this game. If you're a serious shooter fan, don't waste your money. Zero unlockables (beyond cosmetic)

    No innovation beyond armor powers -Running as a class? Really? C'mon.

    STILL old school shooter, weapon spawn camping

    Little variety in weapons

    The critics are all too spineless to really highlight the lack of innovation in what the game is all about, the combat. Instead they talk about how fully featured other aspects of the game are.
    Collapse
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 99 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 99
  2. Negative: 0 out of 99
  1. Jan 18, 2011
    80
    If you loved all the other Halo games, there's little I can say to dissuade you from purchasing Bungie's last creation in the Halo series.
  2. Jan 15, 2011
    71
    Halo: Reach is not a breakthrough, yet it's a clear showcase of Bungie's creative growth. The game is hardly a "must buy" – its single-player campaign is way too short and uneven in quality, while multiplayer has very little room for expansion besides map packs and useless character decorations. But with that said, Reach is worthy of your attention for a couple of evenings.
  3. Dec 25, 2010
    94
    Almost achieves the impossible and fulfills the hype. Among the best shooters ever created. [Issue#231, p.82]