Halo: Reach Xbox 360

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2045 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    This game delivered on every front. From the intense single player campaign stuffed with variety to the excellent voice acting, story and sound effects Halo:Reach is an absolute must buy for every Xbox360 owner. It is so rich in content that it can easily race for the top spot among the other heavy weapons in the genre. Although the graphics look quite good they are not on a Gears of WarThis game delivered on every front. From the intense single player campaign stuffed with variety to the excellent voice acting, story and sound effects Halo:Reach is an absolute must buy for every Xbox360 owner. It is so rich in content that it can easily race for the top spot among the other heavy weapons in the genre. Although the graphics look quite good they are not on a Gears of War or Bad Company 2 level but they still look very convincing and that improvements are visible. I haven't really had time to dug into the multiplayer part of the game but seeing a lot of official review we can say that Halo: Reach is one of the most rich FPS when it comes to its content. All together if you are an Xbox owner, fond of FPS, have 60 bucks or a fan of the series pick this up! U won't regret it, because Bungie really kept its promise and finished the series with a BANG. Now its only up to Microsoft not to screw it up in the future. Expand
  2. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    You know I find it hilarious, but at the same time saddening that there are people on this site that are so childish and pathetic. I come here, and see people giving 0/10. Why? No matter how bad a game is, how on Earth could it get 0/10?
    I see people here saying ridiculous things such as, â
  3. Oct 22, 2010
    10
    Let me ask you this: what other first person shooter gives you a near infinite number of ways to enjoy the game? Not many that arent for PC. Halo has always been full of content and Reach does not differ. Better graphics and pysics than previous halos what more can you ask for? The people who dixlike the game are COD fanboys or have never REALLY played the game. Those of you who don't wantLet me ask you this: what other first person shooter gives you a near infinite number of ways to enjoy the game? Not many that arent for PC. Halo has always been full of content and Reach does not differ. Better graphics and pysics than previous halos what more can you ask for? The people who dixlike the game are COD fanboys or have never REALLY played the game. Those of you who don't want to be characterised as nerds and stay away from the game are just hypocrits because halo is actually much more realistic than COD because it is logical; shields and bioengineering explain why sometimes more than a few bullets will kill you, can COD explain this no its just instant nube tube kills and entire clips waisted into near invincible normal human beings. Reach is easily multiplayer game of the year so far. Expand
  4. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Bottom line is that this game is well worth the investment. You will get far more than $60 worth of entertainment from this successor to Halo 3, far more than Halo ODST.
  5. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Reach is the best Halo game ever made. Every mode has been improved upon and is awesome. Firefight is a ton of fun, the campaign is great, forge world is amazing. Graphics, while better than Halo 3, still are not up to par with games like Mass Effect or Gears. But thats the only negative and its not a big one at that
  6. AA7
    Sep 14, 2010
    10
    This is one of the best games ever made. I'm sorry COD, but I have found a game that has finally replaced you as the absolute best shooter out there. Halo 3 was good, but this game is, without exaggeration, the best game of the current generation. All hail the mighty Halo Reach.
  7. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    If your looking for depth you can find it in Reach. You won't find a game like this for the ps3 or the wii. The campaign couldn't be more perfect (unless it just came out and said at the end that there is going to be Halo 4) the multi-player is spotless and the worlds are beautiful. This game would have been your daddy but a dog beat it over the fence.
  8. Sep 15, 2010
    8
    It is disappointing to see such reviews as 0 and 10. The purpose of this site is to get a feel for the value of the game and whether it is worth purchasing. As such I'm not going to bash or praise this game but rather describe it. First of all it is a halo game. I own all 3 systems and over 200 games. I am a little disappointed in some of the game but lets face it I bought it because ofIt is disappointing to see such reviews as 0 and 10. The purpose of this site is to get a feel for the value of the game and whether it is worth purchasing. As such I'm not going to bash or praise this game but rather describe it. First of all it is a halo game. I own all 3 systems and over 200 games. I am a little disappointed in some of the game but lets face it I bought it because of the name Halo and it does follow in its footsteps true to the franchise. The downside of this is that this title did not draw me in. Basically I have to admit to myself I just have played Halo too much and am bored with it. There is no new excitement left. I can't blame the new Reach for this. This is why the series is coming to conclusion. It's just time. That said, this disc is pretty good value. There is so much content on the disc that if you have never played a Halo game this is the version to buy. It is the most updated and best design of any of games released however the story isn't as impressive as some of the other Halo releases. Overall this game is good and if i have any complaint it is more so to do with the fact that the xbox 360 can not process the game as well as i would have liked. The xbox really seems to be pushed to its limits in this game and it shows. When i bought the game i was hoping for a halo version that had Demon's souls feel of battle (fatique with equipment customization), FEAR's AI and Monster Hunter Tri's gathering of usable materials. I guess that's what i was secretly hoping for and it wasn't there. But I can't bash the game because my fantasy wasn't made. This game was designed for its demographic and it certainly isn't broken. Very worthy of an 8 or 9 despite wishing the game was something a bit different. In sum, best Halo and a fitting conclusion to make this series obsolete as this title needs to end so a fresh new series can be made. Expand
  9. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing just like every other Halo in the series (except Halo 3: ODST which was good but wasn't great). The muliplayer is so well done, Firefight is greatly improved, Forge is also vastly improved and the campaign is just awesome as well. Bungie provided us with many years (almost 10 years) of great Halo games and the last game (Halo Reach) does not disappoint.
  10. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Fun,exiting gameplay, great story, do I need to say more?

    "Your review must be at least 150 characters long." That means i need..
    spectacular new multiplayer(!) I'ts just fun to bring death to covenant!!!!
    9,4
  11. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Best halo ever. awesome single player awesome multiplayer firefight forge and theater awesome. The score is epic and bungie's final halo game delivers
  12. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    This game is bloody amazing, it's such a huge improvement from halo 3 in every way. Better game mechanics, less balance issues, improved forge and firefight, campaign and firefight matchmaking support. You need to buy this if you haven't already.
  13. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Okay, fail fail fail, I got it this time:

    This game is possibly the best in the Halo series, and as a huge fan of all the games (except Halo Wars, and of course that wasn't by Bungie) that is something I don't say lightly. People like duster15670 who don't recognize a good game when they see one are going to bash this game, mostly due to the mountain of crappy titles (modern warfare 2,
    Okay, fail fail fail, I got it this time:


    This game is possibly the best in the Halo series, and as a huge fan of all the games (except Halo Wars, and of course that wasn't by Bungie) that is something I don't say lightly. People like duster15670 who don't recognize a good game when they see one are going to bash this game, mostly due to the mountain of crappy titles (modern warfare 2, anybody?) out there now that are so popular.
    Expand
  14. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    Probably? it is the perfect Halo and that's a great thing unless your a fanboy making reviews of games you have never played. Halo Reach takes everything you loved about other Halo games and puts it all into one game and then adds some. This game is hands down the best Halo to date scratch that the best FPS to date, that alone makes these anti Xbox/Halo people burn inside like Hynda he'sProbably? it is the perfect Halo and that's a great thing unless your a fanboy making reviews of games you have never played. Halo Reach takes everything you loved about other Halo games and puts it all into one game and then adds some. This game is hands down the best Halo to date scratch that the best FPS to date, that alone makes these anti Xbox/Halo people burn inside like Hynda he's just mad because Metroid other M flopped look he rated that game a 10 lol. Anyway Halo Reach is a masterpiece of a game but you all knew that already hence why it's set to outsell every PS3 exclusive by the first week lol. Expand
  15. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    Do NOT listen to these call of duty( fan boys) there are just down grading the game... there just jealous because there game is not better... anyway Perfect story, sound, graphics, game-play, all in all 10
    But i still can not believe all this negatvitie from the last halo game in the series.
  16. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Halo is the best multiplayer game ever made and thats a fact .. Halo : Reach give Halo series new dimension . But im very sad because this is the last Halo game , one of best game franchise ever made ! See you on XBL !
  17. Sep 24, 2010
    8
    This is the second time I've reviewed this game the first time I gave it a 6 mainly because I didn't think it lived up to my admitedly very high expectations but after a while with it and lots of time spent online with my friends I can see that this like halo 3 before it has true potential to grow into a world class shooter it's not quiet there yet it needs more maps and a few match makingThis is the second time I've reviewed this game the first time I gave it a 6 mainly because I didn't think it lived up to my admitedly very high expectations but after a while with it and lots of time spent online with my friends I can see that this like halo 3 before it has true potential to grow into a world class shooter it's not quiet there yet it needs more maps and a few match making problems ironed out but it's fair to say that I've had more fun here than I have in an fps for a long time. It's not perfect yet but it could be given time so for now it's an 8 :) Expand
  18. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    Im rating this game a solid ten since it desErves it the game is very well polished halo at its best right from the scenery to mp and to all of the people who slam the game and say it is generic old nothing new come on. What is their really new these days all it is with north Americans now is ur freaking graphics and how easy it is to beat the game and shoot somebody on mp learn how to beIm rating this game a solid ten since it desErves it the game is very well polished halo at its best right from the scenery to mp and to all of the people who slam the game and say it is generic old nothing new come on. What is their really new these days all it is with north Americans now is ur freaking graphics and how easy it is to beat the game and shoot somebody on mp learn how to be what is a true gamer and enjoy not only that for such i highly anticipated game its not FREAKING OVER PRICED ..... COD Expand
  19. Oct 27, 2010
    8
    The controls are old standard. The click stick to zoom doesnt feel realistic. Graphics could be updated too. I wasnt impressed at first, but the game does get pretty fun after a few checkpoints. Also, having a squad of Marines will never make up for getting rid of the one-man army Master Chief. It's basically Halo 3 with some new toys. Yeah, it's fun
  20. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    DO NOT...Pay attention to any negative reviews and heed these words. Halo Reach is Marvelous. It doesnt TRY to be bad ass... it just is. Halo was born that way. It doesnt need 'action cutscenes'' like the call of duty games. Hell it doesnt even need multiplayer. Personally I think a game should NEVER EVER EVER EVER be rated based on multiplayer because that is what destroys gamesDO NOT...Pay attention to any negative reviews and heed these words. Halo Reach is Marvelous. It doesnt TRY to be bad ass... it just is. Halo was born that way. It doesnt need 'action cutscenes'' like the call of duty games. Hell it doesnt even need multiplayer. Personally I think a game should NEVER EVER EVER EVER be rated based on multiplayer because that is what destroys games nowadays... its about the details that go into the story, the environments and the overall feel of the game. Halo Reach fufills the legacy of Halo, and Halo will always hold the torch for FPS. Expand
  21. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    This game delivered on every front. From the intense single player campaign stuffed with variety to the excellent voice acting, story and sound effects Halo:Reach is an absolute must buy for every Xbox360 owner. GotY right here folks.
  22. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    Perfect game, with a heartfelt, thoughtful campaign, extremely (nay, ludicrously) varied multi player suite. If you are still on the fence about buying this game, and are at this very moment pouring over metacritic fan reviews whilst trying to make a decision... just do it. I played this game for a year straight, and have no regrets whatsoever.
  23. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    In terms of mood, story, and delivery, this is the best of the series. As far as multiplayer goes, it is incredibly refined and balanced. It certainly isn't as addicting as Halo 3, but it's unquestionably a better game, all-around. People are quick to put it down, but most of the discontent stems from the fact that it's a bit more difficult to be good at, and even with the addition ofIn terms of mood, story, and delivery, this is the best of the series. As far as multiplayer goes, it is incredibly refined and balanced. It certainly isn't as addicting as Halo 3, but it's unquestionably a better game, all-around. People are quick to put it down, but most of the discontent stems from the fact that it's a bit more difficult to be good at, and even with the addition of load-outs, there isn't as much to exploit. If you're looking for the best game in the series, look no further. Expand
  24. Nov 19, 2015
    10
    Halo: Reach is a prequel to the Halo series and a farewell from Bungie. Bungie sends off the Halo series with improved graphics, more customability than eve and the firefight mode, witch was added from Halo 3: ODST. The multiplayer is improved once again with a huge stockpile of gamemodes and maps to play. Halo: Reach is by far, the best Halo game. You should buy it, even if you arent aHalo: Reach is a prequel to the Halo series and a farewell from Bungie. Bungie sends off the Halo series with improved graphics, more customability than eve and the firefight mode, witch was added from Halo 3: ODST. The multiplayer is improved once again with a huge stockpile of gamemodes and maps to play. Halo: Reach is by far, the best Halo game. You should buy it, even if you arent a fan of the series. Expand
  25. Jan 23, 2015
    10
    This game is absolutely spectacular. The campaign and multiplayer are great with the campaign having a pretty solid story. Kept me interested throughout. Definitely, the funnest aspect of this game is the firefight mode where you kill wave after wave of the covenant (especially fun with friends). In my opinion, this is the example of a perfect Halo game but still has a different atmosphereThis game is absolutely spectacular. The campaign and multiplayer are great with the campaign having a pretty solid story. Kept me interested throughout. Definitely, the funnest aspect of this game is the firefight mode where you kill wave after wave of the covenant (especially fun with friends). In my opinion, this is the example of a perfect Halo game but still has a different atmosphere from Halo 1, 2, and 3. Unfortunately, though, this is Bungie's last Halo game. 10/10 (Masterpiece) Expand
  26. Nov 24, 2015
    10
    Best Halo game ever made! (Even 5 years laters and after the release of Halo 5)

    - Legendary story
    - Halo quality gameplay
    - Beatiful graphics and animations
    - Robust Mutiplayer options and modes
    - First chance to fully customize your Spartan
  27. Nov 14, 2010
    9
    A very good game indeed, although people say it's just Halo 3 again, it's not. Yes, it plays quite similarly, BUT THAT'S BECAUSE IT'S THE SAME FRANCHISE!!! The Halo 2 engine is a good engine, it is solid and makes for fun game play, so why not? Quite a lot of things have changed, health is back, there's loads of new guns, new multiplayer modes, vehicles, etc. Some games have configurableA very good game indeed, although people say it's just Halo 3 again, it's not. Yes, it plays quite similarly, BUT THAT'S BECAUSE IT'S THE SAME FRANCHISE!!! The Halo 2 engine is a good engine, it is solid and makes for fun game play, so why not? Quite a lot of things have changed, health is back, there's loads of new guns, new multiplayer modes, vehicles, etc. Some games have configurable classes as well. The campaign in really good, with lots of diversity in missions. Firefight is back, and Forge has been overhauled so you can make some very imaginative maps in the Forge World. Also you can get ranks and XP offline as well. There's massive character customisation too. If you can imagine changing your spartan or elite, you can do it, and you have to buy these things with XP.

    The graphics didn't come across as spectacular, but I was playing on a 46" HDTV so any visual flaws were probably heightened. Also I felt we could have done with some more MP maps, there aren't very many at the moment, and they are all bits from the campaign. Not as interesting as Halo 3's maps. Hope DLCs are on the way.

    Very fun. Overall much better than CoD: Black Ops. You're missing out, PS3 gamers.
    Expand
  28. Nov 13, 2010
    9
    This game is great everything good in past halos is in this one and this is by far the best campaign of the series.
    Although there is a frame rate drop sometimes and the ai is not always at its best this is one of the best shooters this year
  29. Sep 21, 2010
    8
    Personally my favorite halo game. As anyone who has played halo from the very beginning should notice, gameplay has strayed far from the good old overpowered weapons and original missions of the original, but back then it was the newest and best around, now games have copied and improved. In my opinion Reach is Bungie and halo's way of adapting to the less original market and well they didPersonally my favorite halo game. As anyone who has played halo from the very beginning should notice, gameplay has strayed far from the good old overpowered weapons and original missions of the original, but back then it was the newest and best around, now games have copied and improved. In my opinion Reach is Bungie and halo's way of adapting to the less original market and well they did a damn good job! Expand
  30. Dec 7, 2010
    8
    I give this game an 8 out of 10. Halo Reach isn't very different single player wise than its predecessors. You just point and shoot your way through the campaign, but honestly it's fun. There are a lot of different weapons and some old ones taken out which will undoubtedly piss some hardcore fans off, but really they had to do that. If they didn't it would have been the same exact game asI give this game an 8 out of 10. Halo Reach isn't very different single player wise than its predecessors. You just point and shoot your way through the campaign, but honestly it's fun. There are a lot of different weapons and some old ones taken out which will undoubtedly piss some hardcore fans off, but really they had to do that. If they didn't it would have been the same exact game as the others at the core. Halo: Reach's online is a lot different than 3s. The Reach online is fun don,t get me wrong but the level up system is ubelievably stupid. You rank up by credits and it doesn't matter if you win or lose. If you get in 8th place in every match you will still become the highest rank it will just take you longer. 3 you actually had to win matches to rank up. I've played all Halo's but i hated the first two. If you are a die hard Halo fan you probably won't like the changes they made. but If you're just looking to shoot around and have some fun than it will deliver. Expand
  31. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    Remember the laughably bad storyline Halo 2 featured? How about Halo 3's? The Halo series is well-known for its multi-player, and also its stories. Halo: ODST certainly did its best to deliver on the story front, but lacked any real online modes. But now, as a sterling star to guide through the night, Halo Reach has delivered. I'm not a big fan of the Halo series, or the CoD series, but IRemember the laughably bad storyline Halo 2 featured? How about Halo 3's? The Halo series is well-known for its multi-player, and also its stories. Halo: ODST certainly did its best to deliver on the story front, but lacked any real online modes. But now, as a sterling star to guide through the night, Halo Reach has delivered. I'm not a big fan of the Halo series, or the CoD series, but I will say this is one of this years best FPS's. Reach delivers a tale of Noble squad, a group of Spartans ordered with protecting the planet Reach from the Covenant invasion. Of course, if you know your Halo lore you know how this story will end, but as a good person once told me, "Sometimes it's about the journey to the end that matters most, not the ending itself." And boy, what a journey. By the end of the game, you will feel like you've actually connected with the other Spartans of Noble, but then again character development still isn't that good. The ending is great, showcasing a feat of valor and sacrifice that tops off the Reach story greatly. An amazing feature is the ability to customize the look of your Spartan, for both single-player and multi-player. And multi-player now has armor abilities instead of powerups, like a jetpack or sprint ability, though the bubble-shield makes a cool appearance. If you like FPS's or any of the Halo games, this is for you. Expand
  32. Oct 11, 2010
    8
    Its a great game. One of the best so far this year, but my score remains a 8, most thanks to the gameplay that feels...old. Wich is good and bad. But lots of improvements and a huge amounts of fun makes the 8.
  33. Oct 12, 2010
    10
    es una buena despedida para la compañia, bugie se voto con este juego, lo tiene todo orgullo para microsof.... juegos como este no se ven todos los dias
  34. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    this game is phenomenal, the online matchmaking in revolutionary. it is smooth, has good players and is fair. the new armor effects are amazing. the campaign is great. it has an amazing story i highly recommend this game, truly amazing game
  35. Oct 14, 2010
    10
    Reach is one of the top games of 2010 and will probably still be a top contender in 2011. Single player and multi player are top notch. I got it the first day and haven't taken it out of the disk drive. Probably won't until Fallout New Vegas or Black Ops
  36. Oct 16, 2010
    8
    Never been a big fan of Halo to be honest - to me it's one of those franchises that everyone seems to love but I can't for the life of me understand why. However - even I must admit that this one is pretty good. Yes the campaign story is bloated and up it's own *** as usual - but there is absolutely no faulting the multiplayer - which is great fun I must say.
  37. Oct 16, 2010
    10
    This is a perfect game it combines all the good features and game play from the other halo games and adds more. Forge is amazing and you can make awesome maps with ease. The game has beautiful scenery. If you have an Xbox you must get this game you wont regret it.
  38. Oct 16, 2010
    9
    I love this game!!! Campaign...MULITPLAYER....CUSTOM GAME LEVELS...the fact that it is the last from BIOWARE made drop it from a perfect 10!!! This is a must have!!! 9.85 is my score...
  39. Oct 18, 2010
    9
    Halo Reach is hard to explain without leaving out something really cool, but I'll try my best. Reach isn't just halo 3 with a few new features, it's an entire new game. The online multiplayer feels different than halo 3 and some weapons/ tactics don't work the same any more. A FEW CHANGES...
    Examples- If you melee someone in the back they usually won't die. Now you must assassinate them by
    Halo Reach is hard to explain without leaving out something really cool, but I'll try my best. Reach isn't just halo 3 with a few new features, it's an entire new game. The online multiplayer feels different than halo 3 and some weapons/ tactics don't work the same any more. A FEW CHANGES...
    Examples- If you melee someone in the back they usually won't die. Now you must assassinate them by holding down the melee button, but you will be a sitting duck while you finish the enemy off. The rocket launcher locks on again and there are now many ways to take out those pesky wraiths/scorpions. Forge is now a place where you can actually build maps with ease. Firefight has expanded and now has many ways to customize how the weapons and rules of the fight. weapons have been slightly changed to balance out the game. The good ol' magnum from halo 1 is back. The DMR(long range rifle) has replaced the old black rifle. The game adds the revenant, a cross between a ghost and a wraith(replaced the chopper). The game adds the falcon, a giant helicopter that can carry your team(replaced the hornet). New power-ups are now chosen just before the match starts and can be used any time in the match.

    Well, that's enough to give you the idea of the change. I could go on, but it would be pointless. The halo haters new "thing" with reach is to say it's the same ol' halo. Well, let me just say this is the biggest change in a halo game ever. It is so much more than halo 3 that it's amazing they didn't mess the game up. Don't get me wrong though. Halo fans will like the changes. WHY I GAVE IT A 9....
    There are two reasons I give halo a nine and not a ten.
    1. The single player didn't impress me. It reminded me of ODST's single player, which I didn't like.
    2.Some online glitches. Mainly with infection mode and the shotgun not taking the right amount of damage when someone is right in front of you.
    Expand
  40. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    Before you read anything, you should know that I've played all of the Halo games (with the exception of ODST [who the hell wants to be an ODST over a SPARTAN?]), and quickly lost interest in Halo 3.

    That being said, while no game is perfect, Halo: Reach is as close as it gets. All of the negative reviews that say the campaign is horrible, I ask "why?" Yes, it's a little short, but it
    Before you read anything, you should know that I've played all of the Halo games (with the exception of ODST [who the hell wants to be an ODST over a SPARTAN?]), and quickly lost interest in Halo 3.

    That being said, while no game is perfect, Halo: Reach is as close as it gets. All of the negative reviews that say the campaign is horrible, I ask "why?" Yes, it's a little short, but it tells a great story with some of the most memorable moments out of any Halo game - and since when have we bought Halo games for the campaign alone. The multiplayer is the real treat and that is where Reach delivers most. To all of the negative reviewers saying the gameplay feels dated, what did you expect? Call of Duty-style gameplay? And that's not to say that the gameplay is dated - it's Halo - the same Halo gameplay we've come to love over the years, with the addition of guns actually having accuracy, among a few other things. To call Reach's gameplay dated would be like saying MW2's gameplay feels dated in relation to MW - it's practically the same game (with a few additions), so of course the gameplay will be practically the same. And yes, all of the unlocks are for looks only, but I like that opposed to games like MW2 where people are at a great advantage over you just for being higher level than you, since they have more (if not all) of the guns, perks, and attachments unlocked. OMG ONE MAN ARMY, DANGER CLOSE, NINJA FTW! (not!). It gives people a much more level playing field. Some people want super-realism in their shooters (COD) and others want strategy and teamwork (Halo). I've gotten so burnt out on MW2 over the last year because of all of the hackers, modders, tenth prestige lobby spammers, not to mention the noob-tubers who kill you across the map without even trying. Yet in less than a month after this game came out, Bungie already banned 15k people for using a credit exploit. Compare that to the year that MW2 has been out and neither Infinity Ward nor Activision has done a damn thing about the hackers and modders that plague that game. At least Bungie cares about their community and the people who buy their games - Activision just wants your money, plain and simple.

    This game, as all Halo games, is also colorful - a welcomed break from the brown and green of your super-realistic shooters. Even some of the positive reviews say Reach's graphics are lacking, but I'd have to disagree with that as well. Anyone who says Reach's graphics look old are probably playing split-screen (which greatly hinders the graphics) and not full screen, in all its glory. This game supports something like four times the amount of polygons that Halo 3 did and twice as many particle effects that Halo 3 did. Or maybe people who say Reach's graphics are dated aren't playing on an HDTV, who knows.

    All I know is that if you've been a fan of Halo in the past, Reach is a must buy. If you haven't been a fan of Halo in the past, Reach probably won't impress you. But that's always how Halo has been - you either love it or you hate it.

    One last thing, to anyone saying that you're trading in Reach for Black Ops: Please do. Go enjoy your hacked/modded/noob-tube game with zero support from the developers. You won't be missed. Black Ops is also made by Treyarch, the geniuses who made the completely imbalanced, poor excuse for a COD game, World at War. Enjoy.
    Expand
  41. Oct 21, 2010
    8
    Designed to perfection. Sure, telling a story isn't exactly what Bungie are good at, and we've know this for a while now, but, Reach is a fantastic send-off to all the Halo fans that have been there since day one. The multiplayer alone is worth buying the game for. 360 owners are set for years.
  42. Oct 28, 2010
    9
    First off: Whoever gave this review under a 7 or over a 9.75 is crazy. They're just fanboys and should not live. I would like to start off saying that I am not basing this review on the originality of the game, I am basing it on how polished it is. However, I will take in account how similar it is to past Halo games.
    And similar, it is not...at least not that much. There are still much
    First off: Whoever gave this review under a 7 or over a 9.75 is crazy. They're just fanboys and should not live. I would like to start off saying that I am not basing this review on the originality of the game, I am basing it on how polished it is. However, I will take in account how similar it is to past Halo games.
    And similar, it is not...at least not that much. There are still much of the same weapons, but each redone, and a few newbies. The winning gameplay formula is still present, but with a huge addition: armor abilities. I cannot express how much it improves the gameplay; maybe not so much in the campaign, but a lot in the multiplayer. It adds copious amounts of gameplay variation to come into play, and also improves the addiction factor.

    As far as campaign goes (clocking in at about 10 hours), it is Bungie's best attempt yet; capturing the feeling of being on a team and enveloping you in a story that is at some moments touching, and at others action-packed and just plain fun. In fact, at some moments, I was so sad, that I cried...inside...not outside cause that would be weird. With a beginning that sucks you in, and a perfectly crafted climax, this campaign is, by far, the best of the Halos.

    Unlike past Halo titles, this title does not suffer from the recycling of gameplay sequences; all are different. There is not one place that is identical to another. In fact, in one level, you come across a dance club that has been overrun by 9 or 10 hunters. It was probably the best, if not funniest, gaming atmosphere I have ever been in. Nevertheless, Halo Reach's campaign does have its shortcomings. For instance, there are some frame-rate issues that can diminish some parts of the game. It almost seems that the new graphics (and they are great) and what is happening can't keep up with the game's engine. However, this does not really fade the overall experience.

    Apart from the campaign, there are numerous other game modes and and extras. Some of them include Theater, Forge, Character Customization, Firefight, and On and Offline Multiplayer. Theater is not unlike other Halo's, however it is easier to interact with.

    Forge is almost completely redone, featuring an expansive user-friendly interface, and a massive world made entirely for forge.

    Character customization is, again, completely redone. You can customize any and every part of your spartan through the purchase of parts by credits, which you earn by doing anything at all, be it forge or campaign or multiplayer. Also, your character model is present in both single and multi-player.

    Firefight has finally met its potential in Reach, featuring numerous options and modes. Furthermore, there is a matchmaking option to firefight, which was absent in ODST.

    Finally, there is multiplayer which is the without-a-doubt the best in the series. There is a lot more replayablity and strategy in this game than previous games. The armor abilities really add that extra feature that was seemingly absent from Halo 3. Furthermore, there is also a feature-filled stat tracker system that tracks any stat you could possibly imagine, be it from the campaign or the multiplayer. It even shows your service record from previous games.

    Overall, this feature-rich, almost perfectly polished is a must-buy for Halo and multiplayer fans alike. Besides the minor foul-ups, this game is well deserving of every bit of praise it has received and will be played for years to come.

    Graphics: 9.5 Once again, Bungie is at the apex of the Xbox graphics.
    Gameplay: 10 A winning gameplay formula is furthermore improved by armor abilities, among other things.
    Replayabilty: 9 As with all multiplayer games, it is infinately replayable. However, the campaign is always better the first time.
    Story: 9.5 Involving, fun, well-paced, well-told, and a decent length.
    Presentation: 10 An innovative menu system further improves an otherwise, almost flawless presentation.

    And there it is, a Halo Reach review as told by a 16 year old.
    Expand
  43. Oct 23, 2010
    8
    Well in all honesty it won't change your opinion on halo it is really just another Halo game nothing to fancy here but the game plays well just as we have come to expect from Bungie. Campiegn is great, Multiplayer is decent, Forge world is cool over all satisfying (for about 3 weeks)
  44. Nov 16, 2010
    9
    I truly think Halo is one of those games that some people just can't stand because they are PlayStation fan boys. They just give it a bad rating or review because it is Halo. I really enjoyed this one very much! It had very good graphics! Very good story and kept pulling you in. You ended up caring for the Nobel squad as the game went on. As usual the game play was awesome! TheI truly think Halo is one of those games that some people just can't stand because they are PlayStation fan boys. They just give it a bad rating or review because it is Halo. I really enjoyed this one very much! It had very good graphics! Very good story and kept pulling you in. You ended up caring for the Nobel squad as the game went on. As usual the game play was awesome! The revised menu system and all the added multi-player options were amazing! So much stuff to choose from. You can really refine the kind of game you want to play online. I would say this one overall is right up there with the first one as the best Halo game around. Expand
  45. Oct 25, 2010
    10
    To be honestly speaking, I have never really had any interest towards the Halo series; all though I have played and owned all of them at some point in my life. I can easily say that this is truly the greatest Halo game of the franchise. It is nothing like the other Halos, incorporating a more group/tactical environment with Call of Duty features that enhance the speed of the multi-playerTo be honestly speaking, I have never really had any interest towards the Halo series; all though I have played and owned all of them at some point in my life. I can easily say that this is truly the greatest Halo game of the franchise. It is nothing like the other Halos, incorporating a more group/tactical environment with Call of Duty features that enhance the speed of the multi-player and story mode game-play. Although I have not beaten the campaign, myself, I have witnessed my little brother beat the game and it has an astonishing background story that helps fill the holes of the franchise. Expand
  46. Nov 3, 2010
    9
    This a great game but i think it might be a bit over rated. The campaign is great at times, i love the way everything is and how you have lots of space to do what you like. The story is quite lacking as you don't really get to know the characters as much on other major games. The guns look great and it is one of the best FPS of all time but it lacks some story which I love about games. TheThis a great game but i think it might be a bit over rated. The campaign is great at times, i love the way everything is and how you have lots of space to do what you like. The story is quite lacking as you don't really get to know the characters as much on other major games. The guns look great and it is one of the best FPS of all time but it lacks some story which I love about games. The online is great I think i could spend alot of time on it. But this is a solid 8.9 for me. Expand
  47. Nov 4, 2010
    10
    From The Beginning, You Know The End...

    Review by Dotifus Halo Reach takes place prior to the events of Halo 1 and although many speculate that this is based off the Novel "Fall of Reach" by Eric Nylund, it is not. In Halo Reach you play as Noble 6, a replacement for a member of Noble team who has died. In the beginning you and the rest of Noble team are dispatched to a relay outpost that
    From The Beginning, You Know The End...

    Review by Dotifus
    Halo Reach takes place prior to the events of Halo 1 and although many speculate that this is based off the Novel "Fall of Reach" by Eric Nylund, it is not. In Halo Reach you play as Noble 6, a replacement for a member of Noble team who has died. In the beginning you and the rest of Noble team are dispatched to a relay outpost that has gone dark, under the assumption that insurrectionists are responsible. You soon discover that the covenant are on Reach, and begin a campaign to defend the planet. This review will be done in sections that will cover the entirety of the game modes and content.

    First off is the story, as mentioned earlier Halo Reach is a prequel to the series. The games in which you played as the infamous Master Chief sent you on an intergalactic opera slowly cutting down the covenant and always coming out on top. In Halo Reach the story takes place solely on the Planet Reach, a human military stronghold that was home to the Spartan II project. As the Master Chief was in the Spartan II class, Noble 6 is not. Noble team is comprised entirely of Spartan IIIâ
    Expand
  48. Nov 5, 2010
    9
    Halo Reach Rocks...as good as any FPS on the market, but the lore is what makes the game so special. I think Bungie ended their Halo days on their best note, and deliver one of the best game on the 360.
  49. Nov 9, 2010
    8
    First things first. I love this game. In my personal opinion it it a solid 10 but I gave it an eight because Bungie made the game less forgiving for new players. I am a huge Call of Duty fan but I must say Halo takes more skill to play. For instance there are no iron sights, you can't pistol head shot someone across the map (If you think you can't in call of duty, youtube it), you mustFirst things first. I love this game. In my personal opinion it it a solid 10 but I gave it an eight because Bungie made the game less forgiving for new players. I am a huge Call of Duty fan but I must say Halo takes more skill to play. For instance there are no iron sights, you can't pistol head shot someone across the map (If you think you can't in call of duty, youtube it), you must take down shields before you can affect players health, all guns have bloom (ridicule gets larger as shots are fired in rapid succession) whether scoped or not, as well as other differences. This makes halo have a slight steeper learning curve than other brand name shooters on the market. This helps with strategy though. More experienced halo players have more strategies beyond the usual camping, shotgun rushing, etc. One i use is the four shot with the DMR weapon. It takes four shots to the body and one to the head to kill a person. Training yourself to aim for the body for the first three shots then to move to the head for the kill will give you a much higher K/D ratio versus the spamming of the trigger I see inexperienced players doing. The larger element of strategy coupled with the player's unfamiliarity with the halo series puts a lot of new gamers at a disadvantage and inevitably leads to bad reviews. Call of Duty has strategy too, but it comes in the form of customization. Having the counters to the other person's guns, killstreaks, perks, etc. Halo puts everyone on the same playing field and forces them to become better with same the guns the the enemy is using. In conclusion, if you a serious first person shooter gamer looking for a game that has a bit more strategy in the actual gun play rather than the in game customization then Halo Reach is a good buy. Expand
  50. Nov 9, 2010
    9
    Aright so haters love slammin Halo. That's hilarious. The thing is, this game simply cannot be compared to Call of Duty, Battlefield, or any other gaming franchise for that matter. It is in its own world and it can only be based off of other Halo games. Well when I played this game, I cant help but say that the campaign was good. Not great, but good. The characters have substance andAright so haters love slammin Halo. That's hilarious. The thing is, this game simply cannot be compared to Call of Duty, Battlefield, or any other gaming franchise for that matter. It is in its own world and it can only be based off of other Halo games. Well when I played this game, I cant help but say that the campaign was good. Not great, but good. The characters have substance and so does the story, but the one problem I faced was that there was nothing to wow me. I found no innovation in Halo Reach and everything in that game had been done in previous games as well. As for the multiplayer, it is classic Halo. It is fun, and I've gotta say, they've really outdone themselves. The marketplace brings in a bigger sense of independence with your character and now with classes, you can find your own unique playing style. It's great. So if I had the choice, I would give this game an 8 and a half, but because that isn't an option it looks like a nine will have to suffice. Expand
  51. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Classic Halo multiplayer, but that was a given. What built up all the hype was the secrecy behind the campaign and the fate of your character as well as the rest of Noble team. The game was excellent. If there is a negative to the game its the length of the before mentioned campaign which seemed to fly by even on legendary. However Elites are once again a formidable opponent. A must haveClassic Halo multiplayer, but that was a given. What built up all the hype was the secrecy behind the campaign and the fate of your character as well as the rest of Noble team. The game was excellent. If there is a negative to the game its the length of the before mentioned campaign which seemed to fly by even on legendary. However Elites are once again a formidable opponent. A must have for any fan of the halo genre as well as those who enjoy fps. Expand
  52. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Amazing game! fun campaign with 4 player co op, very deep multi player with weekly and daily challenges, cool armory and effects you can add to your spartan, forge is so deep and offers days of game play, the one thing i could find that i did not like was the ranking system is a little different...
  53. Nov 10, 2010
    9
    Great game. Has a challenging campaign, especially if truly played through properly on Legendary. The daily and weekly challenges give you something to shoot for and keep you engaged. Multiplayer has some new modes, especially Invasion, that keep objective based games interesting. There are some minor balancing issues in multiplayer, but perhaps it is just a new style of play that we allGreat game. Has a challenging campaign, especially if truly played through properly on Legendary. The daily and weekly challenges give you something to shoot for and keep you engaged. Multiplayer has some new modes, especially Invasion, that keep objective based games interesting. There are some minor balancing issues in multiplayer, but perhaps it is just a new style of play that we all have to become familiar with after all the joys the previous titles have brought us. Expand
  54. Nov 16, 2010
    9
    What's the obsession with reinventing the wheel guys? (Bungie has done it once already with the cover and rejuvenate mechanic that many of us take for granted across all genres, dont forget) . Do we have to rely on ground breaking tech or gameplay to enjoy ourselves now? Tell that to war clone warfare 2 or fifa'19 when it arrives. We want great games that do their job, and Reach doesWhat's the obsession with reinventing the wheel guys? (Bungie has done it once already with the cover and rejuvenate mechanic that many of us take for granted across all genres, dont forget) . Do we have to rely on ground breaking tech or gameplay to enjoy ourselves now? Tell that to war clone warfare 2 or fifa'19 when it arrives. We want great games that do their job, and Reach does exactly that. I drop a point for the campaign, which has always been just a bonus for me anyway, but the multiplayer is sublime and the greatest on this gen of consoles so far. To berate Bungie for a 'still better than most but not quite great' campaign would be like telling Capcom that SFIV has a weak single player mode. Irrelevant, puerile and a disservice to one of the greatest developers of our time. Shame on you! Expand
  55. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    To say Halo: Reach lives up to expectations would be a dramatic understatement. It exceeds them. I thought Halo 3 was a relatively packed and deep game, but Reach has the kind of customization options and variables that change the game going for it, that it's almost like playing a PC game with access to mods. You can do anything, you can change anything, you can build anything. Seeing thatTo say Halo: Reach lives up to expectations would be a dramatic understatement. It exceeds them. I thought Halo 3 was a relatively packed and deep game, but Reach has the kind of customization options and variables that change the game going for it, that it's almost like playing a PC game with access to mods. You can do anything, you can change anything, you can build anything. Seeing that one of the developers made Pinnacle/Ascension from Halo 2 with the Forge World tools is impressive, but seeing the active community make The Pit, Hang 'Em High, Beaver Creek, other remade maps, and some mind-blowing original maps...it's astounding. Forge in Halo 3 was good, but there needed to be an excessive amount of time and a certain level of creative thinking to do something with it. Forge World on the other hand, is a brilliant canvas that can bring any of your ideas for a map to life without having to try too hard.

    Bungie makes Halo games to be played for years on end. That is literally the design goal for them. That goal has been achieved with every main series entry of Halo, and people will be playing Reach a long time from now. On the first day alone, 9 million games were played online. The changes to the ranking system allows players to enjoy the game and keep playing no matter what playlist or mode they are active in. The Commendations give those extra little goals to strive for, and the Challenges, weekly and daily, give players a reason to check in on the game whenever they can and always have something new to do. It's all the little things that count in making the online experience much deeper. Things like the Active Roster, things like being able to take three friends online with me for the ride, and things like sending out a Hologram that someone shoots at for three seconds before he realizes he's made an oops, and then I come behind him with my shotgun and deliver my fantastic chiropractic abilities at the end of the barrel.

    The campaign is great. Personally, I expected a bit more based around the events of the Fall of Reach, but what we got was good. Reach tells a story of war, and the sacrifice that comes with it. It starts out feeling very cookie cutter to be honest, but as it progresses, the overlying feeling of intensity increases. The set pieces aren't as epic as people who played the original trilogy may be used to. I remember so many moments from the campaigns in Combat Evolved, Halo 2, and Halo 3, and the only real lasting memories of Reach's campaign are the space battle (which was like another game in itself) and the ending. The last half of that campaign is gripping. The way it closes out is touching.

    But as always, what makes Halo above and beyond many other games and the king of it's genre, is the gameplay. The foundation Bungie struck gold with, a fusion of traditional shooter elements fighting over map control and fixed weapon spawns, combined with the unique weapons, physics, vehicles, map design, and new armor abilities. All the fixes the game needed from the beta have been made. Reach is every bit as accessible as the past Halo games. Bungie loads this game up with so much content. There is something for everyone if you are willing to take the time to find it, and everything for someone open-minded enough to appreciate quality game design. All of the new modes are fun. Team Stockpile and Team Headhunter is surprisingly intense and enjoyable. The new Arena playlist is groundbreaking and a genius idea. They have taken Halo, taken a few little qualities from other series and fused them without compromising the core of the game and the roots it was built upon. Halo: Reach is a fantastic example of how to keep something going. It isn't a franchise, it's a phenomenon.
    Expand
  56. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    The single player here is pretty much worth a couple of run throughs and it has an okay plot, but it doesn't really further the story all that much. But who cares about that because the multiplayer is what counts. This game does it right, providing some of the most balanced, engaging gameplay around. There's a wide variety of modes and maps that accommodate every player's tastes and it'sThe single player here is pretty much worth a couple of run throughs and it has an okay plot, but it doesn't really further the story all that much. But who cares about that because the multiplayer is what counts. This game does it right, providing some of the most balanced, engaging gameplay around. There's a wide variety of modes and maps that accommodate every player's tastes and it's got an addictive leveling system that doesn't impact the game action. If a person owns a 360, Reach is a game to have in their library. It's good to play daily, but it just feels "right" when you need a change of pace from other games. Expand
  57. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    The final Halo game from Bungie is a marked improved over their previous efforts. With an engaging campaign and an incredibly polished suite of multiplayer game modes, Bungie has created the most polished Halo title to date. Any fan of the FPS genre who owns a 360 should give this game a shot.
  58. Dec 8, 2010
    9
    Over all, I enjoy this game ALOT! graphics, online multiplayer, and all those other things.

    The campaign however is somewhat lacking the theatrical feeling you get when you play story-mode on other games but it is indeed action packed and the story was impressive. The online is is excellent like always. Sometimes it's pure mayhem and other times simple and intense. I personally enjoy how
    Over all, I enjoy this game ALOT! graphics, online multiplayer, and all those other things.

    The campaign however is somewhat lacking the theatrical feeling you get when you play story-mode on other games but it is indeed action packed and the story was impressive.

    The online is is excellent like always. Sometimes it's pure mayhem and other times simple and intense. I personally enjoy how the had the return of the Halo 1 Pistol and the Elites vs Spartans game.

    Firefight has improved since Halo ODST; it's customizable as in adjust was and what aliens come after you and it's also a matchmaking playlist online as well.

    Forge seems appealing to me but I spent MOST of my Halo Reach time matchmaking and completing daily challenges. I know you can get even MORE creative in Halo 3 since they made it more convenient as in you can making Objects float instead of doing some weird $%&@.

    In visuals they improve pretty much EVERY little thing since Halo 3, the armor look more realistic, environments, even the helmet looks better.
    I give it a 9/10
    Expand
  59. Dec 11, 2010
    9
    A great gameplay experience held back only by a poorly told story. Improved resolution and modeling has made the visuals appear leaps and bounds more impressive that the comparably ugly Halo 3. New vehicles, abilities, and environments add much welcome variety to a genre that is very prone to stagnation. In addition, a highly customizable multiplayer environment provides an effectiveA great gameplay experience held back only by a poorly told story. Improved resolution and modeling has made the visuals appear leaps and bounds more impressive that the comparably ugly Halo 3. New vehicles, abilities, and environments add much welcome variety to a genre that is very prone to stagnation. In addition, a highly customizable multiplayer environment provides an effective venue for online gaming. Expand
  60. Mar 6, 2011
    9
    Halo: Reach was one of my most anticipated games of 2010, and I absolutely loved this game, the graphics aren't as realistic as the others were, in my opinion they went for a more Sci-Fi epic vibe with them, and it succeeded in every way, the multiplayer is better than ever, and the new Forge mode is on a PC game level of depth, the only complaint I have about this game is in the campaignHalo: Reach was one of my most anticipated games of 2010, and I absolutely loved this game, the graphics aren't as realistic as the others were, in my opinion they went for a more Sci-Fi epic vibe with them, and it succeeded in every way, the multiplayer is better than ever, and the new Forge mode is on a PC game level of depth, the only complaint I have about this game is in the campaign you never get that feeling that a huge war is going on like they promised, that complaint aside this is one of the best games in the Halo series, and one of the best games of 2010, this will keep you entertained for hundreds of hours, a must buy for fans of the series, new comers however might want to start with the earlier titles. Expand
  61. Jan 15, 2011
    9
    This game felt the same way nachos as a meal feel: excellent, but not really complete or the best option for actually eating. The single player was great but somewhat unpolished; with a better story it could have been loads better. The multiplayer easily makes it worth it all, however. Nothing, NOTHING, beats Reach multiplayer. Abilities, customization, over 9000 game modes, Reach has gotThis game felt the same way nachos as a meal feel: excellent, but not really complete or the best option for actually eating. The single player was great but somewhat unpolished; with a better story it could have been loads better. The multiplayer easily makes it worth it all, however. Nothing, NOTHING, beats Reach multiplayer. Abilities, customization, over 9000 game modes, Reach has got it all. If you really love Halo and its multiplayer, I recommend this game. Expand
  62. Jan 1, 2011
    9
    Halo: Reach was a very good finale for Bungie's series. The graphics overall were very good. Campaign was a very fun experience, and it didn't dull down at all. Multiplayer, I haven't played as much, but is pretty fun. The only thing that I don't think is too good about it is the players. Some are very cooperative, but a lot are pretty selfish, "lone wolves" as I would call it, likeHalo: Reach was a very good finale for Bungie's series. The graphics overall were very good. Campaign was a very fun experience, and it didn't dull down at all. Multiplayer, I haven't played as much, but is pretty fun. The only thing that I don't think is too good about it is the players. Some are very cooperative, but a lot are pretty selfish, "lone wolves" as I would call it, like instead of sticking with the team, taking a falcon on a joyride. Forge, was a huge improvement. Along with the new maps, including Forge World, a map of many environments for mass building, with the ability to merge and freeze objects without glitches, unlike Halo 3, were very fun. This game deserves what it was rated by the critics. Expand
  63. Jan 15, 2011
    9
    I found this game to be a very good game. It delivered a great ending to the halo series.
    The whole time I played it I was on the edge of my seat.
    I hope this helped. :)
  64. MTM
    Mar 5, 2011
    9
    The people who give this game a 5 or lower obviously have never played this game. The people who have given this game a 7 or lower obviously haven't played the game how it was supposed to be played. Halo: Reach completes Bungie's hold on the franchise, it is absolutely stunning. With all new forge 2.0 and extended custom games options, even if matchmaking gets boring, you'll 100% find funThe people who give this game a 5 or lower obviously have never played this game. The people who have given this game a 7 or lower obviously haven't played the game how it was supposed to be played. Halo: Reach completes Bungie's hold on the franchise, it is absolutely stunning. With all new forge 2.0 and extended custom games options, even if matchmaking gets boring, you'll 100% find fun in these modes. Firefight is back with excellent customization. The campaign has all the epicness of a Halo campaign and really delivers a solid experience. Don't listen to the haters, try this out yourself. Expand
  65. Mar 10, 2011
    8
    I have been a long term Halo fan. I bought my first xbox many years ago and with that the original of the franchise 'Halo: Combat Evolved.' To my joy I found a deep, mysterious universe wrought with peril and a slightly (very) stereotyped space marine guy to play as while he swept over the ring, escaping from a terrible foe.

    Halo 2 came around, this time with multiplayer. Then Halo 3 with
    I have been a long term Halo fan. I bought my first xbox many years ago and with that the original of the franchise 'Halo: Combat Evolved.' To my joy I found a deep, mysterious universe wrought with peril and a slightly (very) stereotyped space marine guy to play as while he swept over the ring, escaping from a terrible foe.

    Halo 2 came around, this time with multiplayer. Then Halo 3 with innovative features such as Forge and Theater mode - both these games having campaigns that are still vivid in my mind and multiplayer maps so immersive that I can smell them. Oh, and there was that mediocre ODST game that brought firefight.

    Then Reach.

    To start with - campaign.

    The campaign was fun I guess, but not exactly difficult (even on legendary) but was overly short. The only characters to break out of the 'space marine' mould a little were Kat and Jorge. The story was mediocre, alien invasion with little real relevance to the overall story until the end.

    The Forge mode has seen a considerable increase in quality, the ability to nudge objects or to precisely adjust the angle is a huge move in the right direction for the mode. Phasing objects into the ground receives a huge thumbs up from me. Truly, this map editing mode is very, very good. However, it is marred by the restrictive colour palette of grey and... well, grey.

    Firefight has also seen an upgrade, with improved customisation options and matchmaking support, however, there is an insufferable lag whenever I play with anyone else (I have heard similar feedback from friends) so I normally end up playing on my own - kind of defeating the purpose of matchmaking support.

    The theater mode has sacrificed multiplayer support for the ability to rewind campaign footage.

    Finally, I move onto Matchmaking. I am so split over this, sometimes it works - in gametypes such as SWAT it feels fine but I can't help but feel frustrated when playing anything that isn't SWAT. The core of this comes down to a number of things - a bloom system that I don't feel belongs in Halo and very very very very very bad level design.

    To put the design in context, I can remember the names of many H: CE maps, yet after a month of not playing Reach, I can remember two. Paradiso - infamous with a one-sided spawn and annoying weapon locations and the imaginatively named 'Forge World', designed with guess what in mind?

    I don't think that Reach is essentially bad, and its not that I am bad at it - I had a k/d of 2 according to bungie.net over a few hundred games - but I found that I was getting very bored with Halo. Shooting a grunt's head with a DMR lost its appeal quickly, sticks and splatters were made redundant with armour and I was generally bored of the game very quickly compared to other Halo games.

    Finally, I come onto custom games - where I spent weeks of my life in Halo 3. This to me was the core of the fun, with many community favourites such as a jenga tower variant where you had to stand on a tower as large chunks of scenery were fired at you - last man standing wins. These games normally racked up around 8 people, but many times went up to the max of 16. Meanwhile, I go onto Reach, set up a variant where you have to run down a track from a killball chasing you, get positive reviews when I show people one on one and then invite my friends list for a good, full game. Not one person joins. Why? Because you only get 200 credits for playing 10 minutes of custom games, while you can get 2000 for an enraging matchmaking game. Effectively, credits have destroyed custom games.

    To sum up, the campaign and the multiplayer are average - while the firefight, forge and custom games are all absolutely fantastic, best in the console FPS genre, however, these are made redundant from a lack of players who are too busy annoying themselves getting virtual money to spend on virtual clothes for a virtual character. Halo just outsmarted itself.
    Expand
  66. Mar 13, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Halo: Reach is a true successor to the Halo Trilogy. Though not quite as awesome as Halo 3, it is still very well done and worth playing for anyone who regularly plays shooters. The storyline is one of the series' best, but for quite a different reason then you'd expect; set in the weeks before the beginning of Halo: Combat Evolved, Halo: Reach covers the stories of Noble Team, an elite task force of SPARTANS who help defend the planet during its siege at the hands of the merciless Covenant. Unlike that of the Master Chief in the original trilogy, the personalities of these characters are given likenesses and then fleshed out. This provides the main weight of the story, as anyone who has even heard of Halo has some idea that Reach is glassed by the Covenant at the end of that battle, and everyone on the surface is killed. The story does provide some small hopes for victory, but they are all eventually dashed. Ultimately, it is the realization that none of the main characters survive the game that sets the deep tone for the game's storyline. The gameplay is for the most part the same as that of the first three Halo games, but some tweaks, such as the new timing aim mechanic, help to keep the shot-by-shot gameplay from getting stale. There are also armor abilities, special defenses with a recharge that can turn the tables of any situation, or even an entire match, if used properly. Overall, the base of the gameplay is the same, just with a lot more depth. This game has more content than any I have played before. The campaign is quite short at just seven or so hours on the first time through, but its reply value on higher difficulty settings keeps it fresh. There is also the revamped Firefight mode, where in the pre-game menu you can set everything from the strengths of players to the types of enemies you face. Multiplayer has the bulk of the content, however. Ditching the skill based ranking system of previous installments, the multiplayer for Reach is instead now entirely experienced based and allows you to use that experience to purchase cosmetic armor upgrades. This is a very good idea, as it provides a much better incentive to keep playing then the simple hope of increasing your rank that the previous games had. Reach is a must buy. Basically everything about it has been improved to the point of near perfection. The only complaints I have about it are the semi-rechargeable health bar that requires med kits, and the fact that armor upgrades are purely cosmetic despite their deceptively detailed descriptions, but these are only very minor annoyances. With more quality and content than any other game can boast to have (with the single exception of Halo 3), Reach is a deal that no sane shooter gamer can refuse. Expand
  67. Mar 18, 2011
    8
    This is the second best Halo game in the series, next to Halo 1 (Combat Evolved). I still hate the fact that it takes so many bullets to kill someone in multiplayer. Sometimes or most of the time you'll use all the ammo in your mag trying to kill one guy and then you have no chance against the next guy coming along. They fixed a lot of the problems from Halo 3. The single player is reallyThis is the second best Halo game in the series, next to Halo 1 (Combat Evolved). I still hate the fact that it takes so many bullets to kill someone in multiplayer. Sometimes or most of the time you'll use all the ammo in your mag trying to kill one guy and then you have no chance against the next guy coming along. They fixed a lot of the problems from Halo 3. The single player is really fun and you play as a different spartan, not Master Chief. Expand
  68. Jul 17, 2011
    9
    The prequel to Halo: Combat Evolved takes the best elements of previous Halo titles and incorporates them into the most satisfying game in the series. Reach is a much more character focused game, with the NPC members of Noble Team all given personalities, a nice break from the bland Master Chief. However, these personalities are two dimensional and little time is given to develop them. TheThe prequel to Halo: Combat Evolved takes the best elements of previous Halo titles and incorporates them into the most satisfying game in the series. Reach is a much more character focused game, with the NPC members of Noble Team all given personalities, a nice break from the bland Master Chief. However, these personalities are two dimensional and little time is given to develop them. The story, though relatively weak, has a much greater presence in the game and shapes the planet of Reach. Where this game truly shines is in its multiplayer. The new loadouts and abilities effectively shake up a combat system which was getting stale. Maps are well designed and heavy community support comes in the form of challenges and player-made levels. Forge has been improved and has almost limitless potential for creative level design. The game also features an unparalleled theater mode, making this a game that has much more to offer than just gameplay. Expand
  69. Apr 1, 2011
    10
    Best in the series. What Halo 3 should have been. Being able to visually change my character was a plus. Mapmaker toolset absolute modders dream. Best. Halo. Ever.
  70. Jul 16, 2011
    9
    Too sad Bungie isn't going to do more Halo games, this is the last games of the,. Anyway. To start with , Reach is better , improved, and awesome. the gameplay can be compared with CoD ( some buttons) , the graphics are real, detailed something it need it, because the human faces in Halo 3 looked too horrendous for a next generation game . The covenants forces are deathly and has darkerToo sad Bungie isn't going to do more Halo games, this is the last games of the,. Anyway. To start with , Reach is better , improved, and awesome. the gameplay can be compared with CoD ( some buttons) , the graphics are real, detailed something it need it, because the human faces in Halo 3 looked too horrendous for a next generation game . The covenants forces are deathly and has darker humor in it even the annoying Grunts. The multiplayer, is fine, it plays great and better than ever. The story, is what you expect, no happy ending like with all the previous entries, this is what halo meant to be . Long live Halo and Bungie, it left a mark . Expand
  71. May 21, 2011
    8
    Pros:I was surprised at how fun this installment was to play. I enjoyed campaign mode and trying to tackle the achievements. The graphics are awesome, checkpoints were well placed. The story was starting to get a little out there for me but good overall.

    Cons: Multiplayer although fun got boring for me quickly, tackling the daily challenges was fun, but it begans to drag on. You play MP
    Pros:I was surprised at how fun this installment was to play. I enjoyed campaign mode and trying to tackle the achievements. The graphics are awesome, checkpoints were well placed. The story was starting to get a little out there for me but good overall.

    Cons: Multiplayer although fun got boring for me quickly, tackling the daily challenges was fun, but it begans to drag on. You play MP and attain "Credits" which you can buy things with from the Armory (Customization Shop). Cool touch but the items are super expensive. You make about 500 to 1000 Cr per Team Slayer and some items are 150,000 credits, certain helmets are 50,000 and each helmet has add ons that are 20,000 each but do nothing. I think they try and get you to love to attain these meaningless items. There are in game achievements you get Cr for also called Commendations. The levels for this are bronze,silver,gold and onyx. You get Cr for each one until you hit Onyx, you can go one whole set past it and you get nothing....lame! I also didn't like the fact that some very simple achievements on the DLC would give you 75 pts each, which is more than most on the game itself, it is a clear gimmick. But the DLC now!

    Overall: I enjoyed this game, but some of the achievements were soooooooo time consuming it was irritating, its not just beating the game over...its investing hours and hours and hours into leveling up to Captain and Colonel. Fun game for a while, MP got boring quick, I smoke people and get 50 pts performance bonus, I do crappy and get 300. Well whatever, best Halo yet.
    Expand
  72. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    The last Bungie installment of the Halo franchise is best yet. Improving on every aspect of it's predecessors, Halo: Reach is everything a sequel should be. It's story is an interesting set up to the original trilogy. With improved controls, weapon balances, graphics, weapon selection, character customization and it's wide selection of multiplayer modes will keep you busy for hours on end.
  73. Jun 6, 2011
    10
    How can people dislike Halo: Reach? It is a great way for Bungie to close their work on Halo, and they did a fantastic job on it. Halo: Reach will live on, whether you like it or not, (until Halo 4 of course) and in my personal opinion, Halo beat COD this time around. Just because Master Chief isn't in this game (he is in easter eggs), doesn't mean you should rant online about how a gameHow can people dislike Halo: Reach? It is a great way for Bungie to close their work on Halo, and they did a fantastic job on it. Halo: Reach will live on, whether you like it or not, (until Halo 4 of course) and in my personal opinion, Halo beat COD this time around. Just because Master Chief isn't in this game (he is in easter eggs), doesn't mean you should rant online about how a game shouldn't be named Halo without Master Chief. He wasn't on Reach fighting, he was preparing for Halo 1 on the Pillar of Autumn. Read the books people.
    Now, Halo: Reach delivers great things.
    - much better Forge
    - Custom Games is still fun to mess around in
    - Firefight is a new way to spend time
    - Action Sack gives what COD cannot
    - the storyline is fantastic, and more dramatic than Halo 3
    Halo: Reach is like the Mona Lisa, a fantastic piece of art.
    Expand
  74. Oct 10, 2011
    9
    Good Campaign but not very long and has horrible A.I. Firefight is outstanding! The new Forgeworld is phenominal and multiplayer is loaded with playists! Overall amazing game with so much to offer but glitches and atrocious A.I. keep it from perfection!
  75. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Being new to the Halo series, I've been blown away so far. I found the campaign fun at some parts, but dragged at other. The real fun of the game is the multiplayer. The game is packed with many game modes, forge, and fire fight. Each one of packed with lots of replay value. The strongest point of this game is freedom. You are able to create your own game modes and play to your ownBeing new to the Halo series, I've been blown away so far. I found the campaign fun at some parts, but dragged at other. The real fun of the game is the multiplayer. The game is packed with many game modes, forge, and fire fight. Each one of packed with lots of replay value. The strongest point of this game is freedom. You are able to create your own game modes and play to your own settings. Forge is very intuitive and easy to use. Fire fight is fun with more people around. You may not like playing competitive online with others, but the multiplayer with friends is well worth it. Expand
  76. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    I can say, from all my gaming years that this is the best prequel and end to any series in gaming history. A mad intense single player campaign, lovely voice acting, graphics and gameplay. If you have an Xbox360 go do yourself a favor and get it ASAP. Although many other games have better graphics, the difference from previous Halo's are visible and the gameplay makes up for it. Noble 6I can say, from all my gaming years that this is the best prequel and end to any series in gaming history. A mad intense single player campaign, lovely voice acting, graphics and gameplay. If you have an Xbox360 go do yourself a favor and get it ASAP. Although many other games have better graphics, the difference from previous Halo's are visible and the gameplay makes up for it. Noble 6 is just as cool as Master Chief, if not better. I will miss Bungie and the end of Reach for whenever I play on an Xbox360. I pray that Microsoft doesn't screw this up, ever. Again, a must buy and a touching, awesome ending to the greatest franchise on the Xbox360. Expand
  77. Dec 22, 2011
    9
    Halo: Reach is a different Halo experience, very different from Halo 3 in fact, but the change moved toward the good side and that is something I appreciate. This game's campaign is set in the planet Reach and tells the story of how Reach fell and it gives an opening to the first Halo. I appreciated the campaign though it was just as hard as the campaign on Halo 2. Where this game reallyHalo: Reach is a different Halo experience, very different from Halo 3 in fact, but the change moved toward the good side and that is something I appreciate. This game's campaign is set in the planet Reach and tells the story of how Reach fell and it gives an opening to the first Halo. I appreciated the campaign though it was just as hard as the campaign on Halo 2. Where this game really rocks is at multiplayer, with a very wide variety of weapons, newly added maps, and online firefight this game purely rocks, making custom matches is also great and the forge mode is purely epic and uploading those maps in file share is great. Overall this is a great experience, just remember this changed a lot from Halo 3 but overall this is worth 60$. Expand
  78. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    I really like Halo Reach, like all the Halo's I played, and like all the Halo's I played, the Campaign wasn't very thrilling and exciting as it promised. BUt like all the other Halo's, it had a nice multiplayer and is fun to play with friends. Unlike Halo 3, they threw in a bit of Combat evolved stuff in there and made it as fun as the first. The multiplayer was better in Reach than HaloI really like Halo Reach, like all the Halo's I played, and like all the Halo's I played, the Campaign wasn't very thrilling and exciting as it promised. BUt like all the other Halo's, it had a nice multiplayer and is fun to play with friends. Unlike Halo 3, they threw in a bit of Combat evolved stuff in there and made it as fun as the first. The multiplayer was better in Reach than Halo 3, and the story was okay. 10 out of 10 Expand
  79. Feb 13, 2012
    10
    Halo: Reach to gra, na którÄ
  80. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    I love this game! I got tired of MW3 so I put Halo: Reach in my Xbox and......... it was AMAZING! The game modes are fun, weapons are balanced, and the graphics are just beautiful. It may now be true to Halo's roots, but it is a perfect Halo, and we can only hope that Halo 4 will blow us away even more.
  81. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    Decent campaign, Really good multiplayer. Much better than Halo 3 and a campaign comparable to Halo 3: ODST. Great map packs, albeit a bit overpriced.
  82. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    Do you know hat does epic mean? It means HALO REACH, an infinite game, with a good campaign, (the only problem is that you don´t use master chief) and the perfect multiplayer.
    You have got as maps as your XBOX flash drive can have, because with forge you can create whatever you want. Races, battles with lasers...
    You can play also the epic firefight mode, and the classic
    Do you know hat does epic mean? It means HALO REACH, an infinite game, with a good campaign, (the only problem is that you don´t use master chief) and the perfect multiplayer.
    You have got as maps as your XBOX flash drive can have, because with forge you can create whatever you want. Races, battles with lasers...
    You can play also the epic firefight mode, and the classic matchmaking, but the best thing is to play in your own maps with 15 friends!
    Graphics don't matter, you will LOVE this game.
    Expand
  83. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game makes the beloved Halo franchise better. The campaign is great and its one you can play over and over again. The story is a good prequel to Halo Combat Evolved, gives good back story to cortana, the beloved AI that helps Master Chief. The Multi-player is good for competitive and lazy players, many different game types that keep you from getting bored. You will spend too much time playing this game, but it is totally worth it for the fun you get out of it. The Forge is way better than Halo 3, Smooth, Easy, Quick. You can build maps quickly or spend time and have great detailed maps. The Firefight mode is awesome, with new game types and custom game types you will want to continue on battling the covenant. Halo:Reach is a 100% BUY. But with Halo 4 around the corner, no point now. Expand
  84. Aug 25, 2012
    9
    Was the greatest shooter online ever made. Bungie made a truly great online shooter and they were easily able to tweak playlists and add new game types as they saw fit. That is where the problems start. A week after the game came out due to popular demand S.W.A.T. was added. Multi team S.W.A.T. was beautiful chaos head shots everywhere. Then S.W.A.T. was removed from multi team and givenWas the greatest shooter online ever made. Bungie made a truly great online shooter and they were easily able to tweak playlists and add new game types as they saw fit. That is where the problems start. A week after the game came out due to popular demand S.W.A.T. was added. Multi team S.W.A.T. was beautiful chaos head shots everywhere. Then S.W.A.T. was removed from multi team and given it's own playlist. Then the player count in multi team was changed, and things were removed and changed according to what would make the the game "more fair" according to the "victims" of someone who practiced the art of armor lock or used a gun that was good.

    Things got worse and worse. When the First DLC hit it really only had one good map, and the playlists were very different. 343 took over and things got worse. Elite slayer was changed so drastically that not even fans of it voted it anymore. Good luck getting into a game of it since the games that come up are the most popular. The second DLC sucked two outside of a firefight map. The Anniversary map pack sucked as well, and it's not the games fault. Due to the fact that there is a large number of people who haven't played Halo 1 & 2, there is a large number of people who haven't played the new maps previously. The people who have however know them inside out and have strategies already made up due to previous experience. Firefight is great. It is nowhere near as difficult as ODST, but it is fun to set it up your way.

    Forge World is incredible. While the maps that Bungie made may be bad, the maps and custom games out there made by fans are the saving grace of this game, but the one thing that remains untouched is my favorite part of the game.

    The Campaign is incredible. I never gave a damn about the story in Halo, but Reach manages to have semi-interesting characters and a kick ass campaign to go along with it. I'll try and remember the fond memories of Reach at launch, but outside the campaign and custom games, there is noting I'd ever want to go back too.

    Remember Reach. 2010-2010
    Expand
  85. Aug 31, 2012
    9
    This is a great game, and it is masterfully done, however, it still lacks in some of the things that make a Halo game Halo. While the graphics and soundtrack are perfect, I am a little disappointed in the story. While it is a great story and all, it just doesn't beat Halo 3. If you want a great shooter game, play Halo: Reach, however if you want a great campaign, play Halo 3. Notice thatThis is a great game, and it is masterfully done, however, it still lacks in some of the things that make a Halo game Halo. While the graphics and soundtrack are perfect, I am a little disappointed in the story. While it is a great story and all, it just doesn't beat Halo 3. If you want a great shooter game, play Halo: Reach, however if you want a great campaign, play Halo 3. Notice that I'm not going to go in-depth on how the stories are different, if I did I would have ruined the game for you. Expand
  86. Oct 2, 2012
    9
    In my opinion, Halo Reach is one of the better games of the series. That being said, all of them are overly good but in this case, Reach is by far my favourite. My reasons for this are because it had a wide range of game modes, these game modes cover online matchmaking to single player campaigns (The campaign is also spread over multiplayer) to creating your own in-game maps within theIn my opinion, Halo Reach is one of the better games of the series. That being said, all of them are overly good but in this case, Reach is by far my favourite. My reasons for this are because it had a wide range of game modes, these game modes cover online matchmaking to single player campaigns (The campaign is also spread over multiplayer) to creating your own in-game maps within the forge world, to the replay theatre, which can be used to view your recently last played games. The replay theatre allows you to save the recordings of your previous games (matchmaking and online) and keep them for as long as you like! You are able to relive your best in-game moments and show off to your friends. Matchmaking in Halo: Reach is one of the best videogame online, cross player experiences I have ever experienced, the game modes range from Expand
  87. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    It is interesting that I have played so much of the online and until the other day was under the impression that I had beaten the campaign. Well I realized that I never had and someone had done it on my account, hence the confusion, so I decided with all the Halo hype it was time for me to play through it. I started from the beginning again and went for a full play through and I gotta say,It is interesting that I have played so much of the online and until the other day was under the impression that I had beaten the campaign. Well I realized that I never had and someone had done it on my account, hence the confusion, so I decided with all the Halo hype it was time for me to play through it. I started from the beginning again and went for a full play through and I gotta say, I didn't expect it to be that good (although after the surprise that ODST was I should have been prepared). Visually I was used to it after having played so much online, but it still was pretty and I always have loved the look of the Halo universe. It was interesting how this contrasted to the other off-main-series Halo game in that you weren't trying to find people but instead losing them throughout. The story was solid, not exactly memorable but a lot of fun along the way and you didn't really feel like you were doing stupid **** for the sake of playing a game. Recently I heard a distinction between Halo and most FPS's and I though it rang true in this game: Halo is not about who pulls the trigger faster but about individual engagements. I must have forgotten at some point what it was like to go into a battle feel like a vulnerable boss who can destroy everything if the strategy is right. So it was that style of combat, the great atmosphere, and the fantastic score that made this an awesome game and memorable as a whole. Oh, and the final scene was a nice touch too. Expand
  88. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    I thought the campaign was amazing in this game though short and could be finished in one sitting, it was really good. The multiplayer was also very fun, graphically this one looks the best of the series thus far. But it was in this one I really started missing Master Chief. Hopefully he will return at some point.
  89. Dec 3, 2012
    9
    Birdman366. You say its hard, but then again its on legendary, so of course it would be hard. You should think before you speak. Go to a lower level if its so difficult. Think!! PIPEBOMB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    LOL XD
  90. May 15, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Few are the areas where Halo Reach doesn't benefit from Bungie's obvious intention to deliver a definitive farewell episode. Aside from french voices and music that are simply good (but not as fantastic as one would hope every single aspect to be), and new covenant weapons slightly off when used in the solo campaign, Reach delivers a brilliant solo experience. The story may not be surprising, but it's a well told one. Reach remains awe-inspiring for its implementation, scope, diversity and richness. Those who will have to carry on the flame have a high bar set there for them to surpass. Expand
  91. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A outstanding game the only reason it isn't a 10 is because of a few bad things 1 the campaign is kind of short 2 they don't cover the Spartans that much and 3 what happened to noble 3 Jun that left the door cracked on it Expand
  92. Oct 7, 2014
    9
    I'm not sure why, but I just don't feel entirely satisfied with the story, but Halo: Reach is simply a fun game to play. Both single and multi-player. A true homerun for Bungie.
  93. Aug 3, 2013
    9
    this game is a god it definantly goes in my top 3 halo games my top 3 halo games are halo reach halo wars halo combat evolved this game is once again a masterpiece
  94. Apr 10, 2014
    9
    Es un shooter sobresaliente, los escenarios son mas grandes, el poder personalizar a tu jugador, acompañado de nuevas armas, eso si la historia que es buena es algo corta
  95. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    As Bungie's last Halo game they will ever create I knew this will be a great Halo game & was I correct. This Halo was very fun, I loved the campaign & the feature of where your multiplayer character is the main character of the campaign. The multiplayer was very fun & all the updates to get ride of all the map problems like camping areas helped. Firefight was good. Overall I'm pleased & IAs Bungie's last Halo game they will ever create I knew this will be a great Halo game & was I correct. This Halo was very fun, I loved the campaign & the feature of where your multiplayer character is the main character of the campaign. The multiplayer was very fun & all the updates to get ride of all the map problems like camping areas helped. Firefight was good. Overall I'm pleased & I will miss Bungie. Expand
  96. Nov 21, 2013
    8
    When Halo Reach rolled the red carpet and I got it, I also got Xbox Live and I wasn't seen for four months. I was having Halo Fever. This is one of those underrated games that get bashed but deserved more. Halo is a sci-fi game not a military shooter so having thing that isn't real is a given. Gameplay is really good and everything is the standard of quality we expect from the halo series.When Halo Reach rolled the red carpet and I got it, I also got Xbox Live and I wasn't seen for four months. I was having Halo Fever. This is one of those underrated games that get bashed but deserved more. Halo is a sci-fi game not a military shooter so having thing that isn't real is a given. Gameplay is really good and everything is the standard of quality we expect from the halo series. It isn't perfect by any means, the graphics don't even compare to the Metroid Prime 3 and the AI bugs up. Though everything about this game is a whole lot better then Call Of Duty. Expand
  97. Nov 23, 2013
    9
    I know this is late in reviewing but I just wanted to say I traded this game in for Halo 4 upon release because i couldn't afford 60 bucks at the time.

    Anyways I loved playing halo reach despite of what negative people say. The halo community is a hard one to please i'll say. Most of them just want halo to be a constant re-hash of itself with better graphics in a world where
    I know this is late in reviewing but I just wanted to say I traded this game in for Halo 4 upon release because i couldn't afford 60 bucks at the time.

    Anyways I loved playing halo reach despite of what negative people say. The halo community is a hard one to please i'll say. Most of them just want halo to be a constant re-hash of itself with better graphics in a world where technology and gaming is constantly progressing. Don't get me wrong I loved the first 3 halo's and they were great storylines along with great multiplayer.... Well halo 2 had its bugs before it was a beast.

    Anyways point is I regretted trading in reach for halo 4 because halo 4 has horrible lag, quickspawn, killcams and everything cheesy in the cod franchise that's watered down with a Halo skin on it calling itself Halo. Plus 343 doesn't listen to their community at all they want is people praising the game and don't have time for constructive feedback that includes issues with the game that breaks it causing a population to drop by 92% in a lifespan less than a year.

    Upon regret of trading it in I finally got it back at gamestop today for 12 bucks and lemme tell ya this was the best last installment of halo. Not the best overall just a good way for bungie to say goodbye and move on to bigger things like destiny.

    So if you have this game you need to repopulate it, and if you've never played it then I will say its definitely worth the price. The legendary campaign is a good one to play with friends. Its not short like Halo 4.
    For those of you who might think reach was on the cod side, I say to you pop in halo 4 and thats the real copycat.
    Expand
  98. Jan 4, 2015
    9
    Easily my favourite Halo. Best story that really shows how helpless the humans were fighting fo reach. Best customisation, along with best multiplayer. Maps were also for the most part good, even though most were just taken from campaign, but they worked well. Awesome new game modes (invasion). Cool graphics update that make it feel a little more realistic than 3 and less super spaceyEasily my favourite Halo. Best story that really shows how helpless the humans were fighting fo reach. Best customisation, along with best multiplayer. Maps were also for the most part good, even though most were just taken from campaign, but they worked well. Awesome new game modes (invasion). Cool graphics update that make it feel a little more realistic than 3 and less super spacey (stuff looks a little grittier). Ace diversity in missions - even fly spaceships finally!!! - and awesome ending to the game. Firefight improved to be customisable to however you please which is ace, forge mode upgraded to 11 with awesome addition of forge world and new tools, and game modes being super customisable too. Also, tons and tons of different playlist to pick from! And those who complain about the ranking system just don't know how to have fun in games, it works great. Expand
  99. Feb 5, 2014
    9
    This game franchise was only reason for me to buy Xbox 360 S....
    I am dead serious...

    Pros:
    - Competitive polished multiplayer
    - Firefight mode is pure awesome!
    - Great selection of weapons and vehicles for you to enjoy
    - Fails of the Weak (Rooster Teeth)
    - Noble team!
    Cons:
    - Hard achievements
    - Xbox 360 exclusive
  100. Feb 7, 2016
    10
    Halo Reach is a perfect game which is one of the best games on Xbox 360, along with Gears Of War 2. The Campaign is gripping and interesting, the gameplay is fantastic, the story ties perfectly with Combat Evolved. Buy this game on sight, unless you're a whiny PS3 fanboy.
  101. Sep 14, 2010
    0
    This review contains spoilers. Fantastic!!! the Halo franchise breath with a new entertainment style!!! The solo campaign has a stronge story!!! And the multiplayer... Is amazing how always to be!!! Collapse
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 99 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 99
  2. Negative: 0 out of 99
  1. Jan 18, 2011
    80
    If you loved all the other Halo games, there's little I can say to dissuade you from purchasing Bungie's last creation in the Halo series.
  2. Jan 15, 2011
    71
    Halo: Reach is not a breakthrough, yet it's a clear showcase of Bungie's creative growth. The game is hardly a "must buy" – its single-player campaign is way too short and uneven in quality, while multiplayer has very little room for expansion besides map packs and useless character decorations. But with that said, Reach is worthy of your attention for a couple of evenings.
  3. Games Master UK
    Dec 25, 2010
    94
    Almost achieves the impossible and fulfills the hype. Among the best shooters ever created. [Issue#231, p.82]