User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2095 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 6, 2011
    9
    Halo: Reach was one of my most anticipated games of 2010, and I absolutely loved this game, the graphics aren't as realistic as the others were, in my opinion they went for a more Sci-Fi epic vibe with them, and it succeeded in every way, the multiplayer is better than ever, and the new Forge mode is on a PC game level of depth, the only complaint I have about this game is in the campaignHalo: Reach was one of my most anticipated games of 2010, and I absolutely loved this game, the graphics aren't as realistic as the others were, in my opinion they went for a more Sci-Fi epic vibe with them, and it succeeded in every way, the multiplayer is better than ever, and the new Forge mode is on a PC game level of depth, the only complaint I have about this game is in the campaign you never get that feeling that a huge war is going on like they promised, that complaint aside this is one of the best games in the Halo series, and one of the best games of 2010, this will keep you entertained for hundreds of hours, a must buy for fans of the series, new comers however might want to start with the earlier titles. Expand
  2. Apr 16, 2017
    4
    Pas grand'chose de neuf ici à part les graphismes en progrès sensible et presque haut de gamme si l'on peut dire, c'est très surprenant pour un Halo d'ailleurs. Surtout que ça faisait longtemps... seul le tout premier Halo était impressionnant techniquement (à l'époque s'entend). Bref, fort joli donc mais au prix de nouveaux ralentissements, rendant parfois le jeu à peine jouable, lePas grand'chose de neuf ici à part les graphismes en progrès sensible et presque haut de gamme si l'on peut dire, c'est très surprenant pour un Halo d'ailleurs. Surtout que ça faisait longtemps... seul le tout premier Halo était impressionnant techniquement (à l'époque s'entend). Bref, fort joli donc mais au prix de nouveaux ralentissements, rendant parfois le jeu à peine jouable, le passage avec le char en atteste. Difficile de viser correctement dans ces conditions.

    La mise en scène demeure bien étudiée, sans se vautrer dans les scripts ridicules d'un COD, les batailles sont... très animées avec une IA redoutable (une façon polie de dire que c'est de temps en temps lourdingue). Et comme les autres Halo sur 360 (tradition Bungie DTC oblige), aucun succès ne sera débloqué en facile. Autres tics haleux : la limitation à deux armes seulement et l'obligation de "quitter et sauvegarder" dans le menu sous peine de se retrouver plusieurs niveaux en arrière lors de la reprise de la partie... Bungie n'a jamais rien compris au concept de sauvegarde automatique.

    Pour le reste, c'est du terrain connu, battu et archi-débattu, du pur Halo mais sans les longueurs du tout premier. Il est grand temps que ça s'arrête, non ? diantre ! ils en ont commis un quatrième ? non le sixième en fait !
    Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    Now, "Halo Reach" here is a perfect example of what epicness is. Bungie made a great game with rich texture and graphics as well as using good lightning effects. The campaign's a 'meh', but its the multiplayer that overrides the cons. Unlike COD, Halo allows 2 people to play multiplayer using the same screen. The weapons are more creatively designed and you are allowed to customize yourNow, "Halo Reach" here is a perfect example of what epicness is. Bungie made a great game with rich texture and graphics as well as using good lightning effects. The campaign's a 'meh', but its the multiplayer that overrides the cons. Unlike COD, Halo allows 2 people to play multiplayer using the same screen. The weapons are more creatively designed and you are allowed to customize your own spartan soldier. What more could you ask for? A definite game you must try out. Expand
  4. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    I don't like Halo but this game is how every shooter should be designed. It is very well balanced, great online, campaign is epic and I did like the story. Weapons are good, they have added recoil and SWAT is very fun to play- it's the best game mode for any console FPS imo. It deserves a high score. The only problem was the horde mode, which isn't very exciting even if you play aroundI don't like Halo but this game is how every shooter should be designed. It is very well balanced, great online, campaign is epic and I did like the story. Weapons are good, they have added recoil and SWAT is very fun to play- it's the best game mode for any console FPS imo. It deserves a high score. The only problem was the horde mode, which isn't very exciting even if you play around with it on forge or custom game mode. Overall, this is the most complete package shooter on the market today. In the same way that Halo 3 was ahead of its time, this game offers more than the absokute minimum. You get progression in ranking through campaign, co-op, online, horde etc. But being a higher rank or completing challenges doesn't give you any advantage over a new player. Halo Reach delivers quality and quantity on all fronts. Expand
  5. Sep 29, 2010
    9
    Halo: Reach is the most honed and varied offering from the now famed Bungie Studios. Everything is well done from the story to the multiplayer. Add in a new ranking system and unlockables and a revamped Forge mode and BLAM! you have the deepest and most rich offering of Halo ever conceived. So why isn't this game a perfect 10? Because the formula hasn't changed enough to give long-timeHalo: Reach is the most honed and varied offering from the now famed Bungie Studios. Everything is well done from the story to the multiplayer. Add in a new ranking system and unlockables and a revamped Forge mode and BLAM! you have the deepest and most rich offering of Halo ever conceived. So why isn't this game a perfect 10? Because the formula hasn't changed enough to give long-time fans something fresh enough, and while this may be Bungie's last entry into the FPS universe, at least as far as Halo in concerned, this likely isn't the last we've seen of Halo (the franchise is too big to just end right now, expect something in 2012 from Microsoft Game Studios, who own Halo).

    In a mix where games like Mordern Warfare 2, Medal of Honor, Gears of War, Crysis and others are setting high bars and delivering more blistering action through robust campaigns and multiplayer, Halo simply isn't the sole king of the multiplayer universe. While Halo: Reach is fun and offers moments of fresh content and new takes on multiplayer (Invasion and Arena are nice touches), what you will notice after you've dropped your first 30 hours into the game is that it just doesn't hold your attention like it once did. Gamers new to the Halo scene will find this game absolutely mind-blowing, but you can bet 90% of the gamer population have ridden this bike before, and they can feel the need for change.

    So if you were hoping for a complete reboot of the series... you may or may not find it here. I was definitely hoping for a super epic story & campaign run-through with a fully-fleshed out online experience that would borrow from the ideas of games like Modern Warfare or Battlefield 2. While you can definitely tell Bungie took a couple pages from opposing playbooks, they certainly didn't rewrite them to the point that Reach could bust out of the era of exceptional online games and stand as its own king like it did back in 2000. 10 years has made Halo fully realized, but one might think that while there is plenty to love here, there isn't plenty to keep you coming back for more and more like it once did. Halo 2 was likely the high point of online matchmaking. It was a first for the series and broke the doors open for Xbox Live. Reach, however, won't find a high sustained population of Xbox Live players like the series once did.

    The competition has nearly caught up, and what remains to be seen is whether Halo will ultimately be remembered as the game that once changed gaming history, or whether it will continue to reshape the game industry of tomorrow and be the cornerstone of which other developers build upon as our technology advances and the possibilities truly become limitless.
    Expand
  6. Jul 16, 2011
    9
    Too sad Bungie isn't going to do more Halo games, this is the last games of the,. Anyway. To start with , Reach is better , improved, and awesome. the gameplay can be compared with CoD ( some buttons) , the graphics are real, detailed something it need it, because the human faces in Halo 3 looked too horrendous for a next generation game . The covenants forces are deathly and has darkerToo sad Bungie isn't going to do more Halo games, this is the last games of the,. Anyway. To start with , Reach is better , improved, and awesome. the gameplay can be compared with CoD ( some buttons) , the graphics are real, detailed something it need it, because the human faces in Halo 3 looked too horrendous for a next generation game . The covenants forces are deathly and has darker humor in it even the annoying Grunts. The multiplayer, is fine, it plays great and better than ever. The story, is what you expect, no happy ending like with all the previous entries, this is what halo meant to be . Long live Halo and Bungie, it left a mark . Expand
  7. Jun 25, 2017
    8
    Halo Reach is an excellent way for Bungie to close off the franchise that they created. Boasting a much more expanded upon Forge, much more fleshed out Firefight from ODST, massive and addictive multiplayer that is still pulsing proudly after all these years, a gripping and satisfying campaign that tells the prelude story before Combat Evolved begins, featuring a fresh new space combatHalo Reach is an excellent way for Bungie to close off the franchise that they created. Boasting a much more expanded upon Forge, much more fleshed out Firefight from ODST, massive and addictive multiplayer that is still pulsing proudly after all these years, a gripping and satisfying campaign that tells the prelude story before Combat Evolved begins, featuring a fresh new space combat level which was designed by Sage Merrill, the guy behind Crimson Skies on the Xbox. This game is so packed to the brim with content, it's amazing what Bungie has accomplished here. This game would get a legendary 10/10 score, if it were not for a few issues. First off, there is no Legendary ending. Why? Why break tradition if this is intended as a thank you to the fans? And to be honest, the character development wasn't that great. As the Noble Team started dying like flies, I found myself barely caring. And it was also a shame that Bungie didn't capitalize on the excellent new space combat controls by applying it to multiplayer, far improving the experience. Sadly, Bungie didn't want to annoy all the Halo fans by switching up the formula, because there are so many Halo fans, but I believe that taking that brave step would have been worth it. Overall, Halo Reach is a great game and a great way to end my favourite franchise. if you appreciate good games, pick up Halo Reach. Expand
  8. Dec 16, 2011
    7
    Campaign is too difficult (even on easy) and will result in a ton of cheap and annoying deaths, Also it doesnt bring the emotional feel that it should (research the Halo universe if you dont know what Im talking about). Multiplayer has seen a lot of improvements and its easily the best its been since the first Halo game. Firefight lacks maps and Forge mode is fun. Overall its a prettyCampaign is too difficult (even on easy) and will result in a ton of cheap and annoying deaths, Also it doesnt bring the emotional feel that it should (research the Halo universe if you dont know what Im talking about). Multiplayer has seen a lot of improvements and its easily the best its been since the first Halo game. Firefight lacks maps and Forge mode is fun. Overall its a pretty decent Halo game but still has its problems. Expand
  9. Feb 22, 2016
    10
    Halo reach is a unexpected surprise. It is entertaining story, multiplayer, and everything else wise. The story is about a group of Spartans who are trying to defend the planet reach at its darkest hour. The story is well acted, with characters being able to be liked. You are your own Spartan named noble six, who you can customize, which is cool. The multiplayer is fun, with a games fromHalo reach is a unexpected surprise. It is entertaining story, multiplayer, and everything else wise. The story is about a group of Spartans who are trying to defend the planet reach at its darkest hour. The story is well acted, with characters being able to be liked. You are your own Spartan named noble six, who you can customize, which is cool. The multiplayer is fun, with a games from multiplayer still satisfy, with new game modes with it. Firefight is way better in reach than it was in odst. The graphics are great for a Xbox 360 game, with detail being great as ever. This is one game any halo fan should play. Expand
  10. Nov 15, 2011
    7
    Its what you expect from the Halo franchise, A different look this time around a few new armor add ons for the different modes int he game but besides that, Nothing has changed from any of the other Halo games. Also uneven difficulty makes campaign insanely hard, Even on easy.
  11. Jan 4, 2015
    9
    Easily my favourite Halo. Best story that really shows how helpless the humans were fighting fo reach. Best customisation, along with best multiplayer. Maps were also for the most part good, even though most were just taken from campaign, but they worked well. Awesome new game modes (invasion). Cool graphics update that make it feel a little more realistic than 3 and less super spaceyEasily my favourite Halo. Best story that really shows how helpless the humans were fighting fo reach. Best customisation, along with best multiplayer. Maps were also for the most part good, even though most were just taken from campaign, but they worked well. Awesome new game modes (invasion). Cool graphics update that make it feel a little more realistic than 3 and less super spacey (stuff looks a little grittier). Ace diversity in missions - even fly spaceships finally!!! - and awesome ending to the game. Firefight improved to be customisable to however you please which is ace, forge mode upgraded to 11 with awesome addition of forge world and new tools, and game modes being super customisable too. Also, tons and tons of different playlist to pick from! And those who complain about the ranking system just don't know how to have fun in games, it works great. Expand
  12. Aug 13, 2012
    9
    Nearly a decade of work from Bungie has culminated into this, the companies final Halo game. Reach tells the widely referenced but (never told in a video game) story of The Fall of Reach. You play as Noble Six, Noble Teams newest member after the previous Six gave their life protecting the team. You soon find that the Covenant has infiltrated Reach and begins a full scale invasion.Nearly a decade of work from Bungie has culminated into this, the companies final Halo game. Reach tells the widely referenced but (never told in a video game) story of The Fall of Reach. You play as Noble Six, Noble Teams newest member after the previous Six gave their life protecting the team. You soon find that the Covenant has infiltrated Reach and begins a full scale invasion. Unprepared the UNSC defends as long as they can deploying Noble Team to all the pivotal warzones in the battle for Reach, however as we all know Reach is inevitably lost. The characters are likeable and relateable, they have character and you feel sad when they are lost. Reach completes the Halo saga (more or less *eyes Halo 3 ending*) and as a Halo fan, I am proud of Reach. Expand
  13. Oct 7, 2014
    9
    I'm not sure why, but I just don't feel entirely satisfied with the story, but Halo: Reach is simply a fun game to play. Both single and multi-player. A true homerun for Bungie.
  14. Jul 17, 2011
    9
    The prequel to Halo: Combat Evolved takes the best elements of previous Halo titles and incorporates them into the most satisfying game in the series. Reach is a much more character focused game, with the NPC members of Noble Team all given personalities, a nice break from the bland Master Chief. However, these personalities are two dimensional and little time is given to develop them. TheThe prequel to Halo: Combat Evolved takes the best elements of previous Halo titles and incorporates them into the most satisfying game in the series. Reach is a much more character focused game, with the NPC members of Noble Team all given personalities, a nice break from the bland Master Chief. However, these personalities are two dimensional and little time is given to develop them. The story, though relatively weak, has a much greater presence in the game and shapes the planet of Reach. Where this game truly shines is in its multiplayer. The new loadouts and abilities effectively shake up a combat system which was getting stale. Maps are well designed and heavy community support comes in the form of challenges and player-made levels. Forge has been improved and has almost limitless potential for creative level design. The game also features an unparalleled theater mode, making this a game that has much more to offer than just gameplay. Expand
  15. Dec 12, 2012
    9
    I been am amazing run Bungie but looks like this is the last one of your amazing games. Campaign is well done and story is great and at the ending of the campaign was so well done it gave me a tear in my eye. Multiplayer is fun with armor abilitys are a new, cool and will stay with the game when 343 in their Halos. Forge is the best yet with it more easy to make maps. Firefight is good butI been am amazing run Bungie but looks like this is the last one of your amazing games. Campaign is well done and story is great and at the ending of the campaign was so well done it gave me a tear in my eye. Multiplayer is fun with armor abilitys are a new, cool and will stay with the game when 343 in their Halos. Forge is the best yet with it more easy to make maps. Firefight is good but not really as interresting as it was in ODsT. Overall a Amazing end to a great series of games. Halo Reach 9.5/10 Expand
  16. Sep 10, 2014
    7
    My least favourite game of the series, in my opinion - lacked the special story feel of previous ones and just didnt feel quite right. however it must show something that if this is my least favourite game of the halo series and it still gets a 7, that shows just how good the series is.
  17. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    The real jewel in Halo: Reach is its campaign mode. One of my main issues with Halo 3 was its bland campaign. Halo: Reach fixes this issue. The story here is awesome, full of cool characters, awesome set pieces, and actual moments of grief and sadness. It's probably the best story of any Halo game to date, and it continues to impress me even after multiple playthroughs. Another awesomeThe real jewel in Halo: Reach is its campaign mode. One of my main issues with Halo 3 was its bland campaign. Halo: Reach fixes this issue. The story here is awesome, full of cool characters, awesome set pieces, and actual moments of grief and sadness. It's probably the best story of any Halo game to date, and it continues to impress me even after multiple playthroughs. Another awesome addition to reach was the improved Forge mode. Nothing is more fun than going to Forge world, giving your characters super human abilities (like jumping up 20 meters and running faster than a vehicle) and having an all out brawl.
    The multiplayer is just a refined version of Halo 3, which is not a bad thing.

    Reach is one of the best Halo games to date, and it's definitely worthy of your attention.
    Expand
  18. Aug 21, 2016
    9
    Halo Reach is an incredible FPS,the best of all time in my opinion.

    The gameplay is incredible,with all the top quality AI,gunplay and level/map design that you are used to,plus the fact you can sprint,deploy a hologram,or use a jet pack spices up the game significantly. The graphics are amazing,and the framerate is solid aswell. Sound design and soundtrack are amazing. I will
    Halo Reach is an incredible FPS,the best of all time in my opinion.

    The gameplay is incredible,with all the top quality AI,gunplay and level/map design that you are used to,plus the fact you can sprint,deploy a hologram,or use a jet pack spices up the game significantly.

    The graphics are amazing,and the framerate is solid aswell.

    Sound design and soundtrack are amazing.
    I will now breakdown the campaign and multiplayer.

    The campaign is great,with an immersive plot,great level design,an incredible variety of levels,ranging from straight up carnage to space combat.The game achieves so much with it's campaign alone to be worth playing,but there's even more than that.

    Online multiplayer is great,with loads of different ways to play.That being said,being able to team kill is irritating,as teammates can just shoot you to lower your health and let an enemy kill you so they can't be kicked,but if you kill them after that,you get kicked.Really unfair.But if you play with the right group,it's incredible.

    Firefight returns from ODST,and is just as good as it was there.Not much more to say.

    Forge returns and is better than ever,allowing you to create your own multiplayer maps.I have played some great ones over the years with my friends.

    Custom Games lets you play these maps or create a game variant to work on a map compatible with that base game type i.e. Invasion does not work on all maps.

    Apart from the slight flaws in multiplayer,Halo Reach is a perfect game,and if you haven't played it,GET IT NOW!
    Expand
  19. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    Copy/Paste to all Halo reviews after all these years: I didn't have a 360 for a few years (played 3 and ODST). In the meantime I played all sorts of fps- COD, BF, Killzone (which is awesome), Resistance, and every single other one. And coming back to Halo when I rebought a 360 was like the greatest homecoming ever. Unlike those other games, every Halo battle is like a chess match waitingCopy/Paste to all Halo reviews after all these years: I didn't have a 360 for a few years (played 3 and ODST). In the meantime I played all sorts of fps- COD, BF, Killzone (which is awesome), Resistance, and every single other one. And coming back to Halo when I rebought a 360 was like the greatest homecoming ever. Unlike those other games, every Halo battle is like a chess match waiting to happen. And once you truly know every enemy and every weapon, you fall into a sweet spot of gaming that is possibly the best of all action games ever made. It's just the best. Great now I have to copy and paste this 4 more times. Expand
  20. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    If you have an Xbox 360 and don't have this game, then you're **** stupid. Bungie scores on its last outing with this saga and it rules. Wow. I expected a lot out of this game and it didn't disappoint.
  21. Mar 26, 2011
    7
    Easily the best Halo.I quite enjoyed it really.A very well made game that has suffered from the hype.Considering the lengths Microsoft has gone to make Halo a household name,you'd assume that Reach was the second(or third if you like) coming of Half-Life.
    No,it's not,but still a very enjoyable,if generic FPS.Fans will froth,the rest of us will just like it for what it is.
    A decent game.
  22. Rem
    Jul 11, 2013
    9
    Halo Reach in many cases, is the last hurrah for Bungie. This is truly the complete package we have been waiting for, and it goes out with a bang. This package comes with an explosive campaign that fires on all cylinders as it tells the tale of Noble team as they desperately try to secure Reach from Covenant control. This tale is not the most intricately woven, but it is the most polishedHalo Reach in many cases, is the last hurrah for Bungie. This is truly the complete package we have been waiting for, and it goes out with a bang. This package comes with an explosive campaign that fires on all cylinders as it tells the tale of Noble team as they desperately try to secure Reach from Covenant control. This tale is not the most intricately woven, but it is the most polished in terms of setpieces and gameplay. The variety in missions and what one can do within it is astounding. The next part of the package is the extremely customizable firefight. It's what we've seen from ODST, but the options to tweak the game is so vast and varied. Next up is the newly polished multiplayer. It's better than ever with rebalance on most occasions and my only gripe is the small number of maps. Next up is the fantastic forge. I spent hours on end on this newly improved forge because of the maps and objects that one could create. Finally there is the theater which is mostly the same carried over form Halo 3. My major gripes with this game are the unforgiving checkpoints and some forced storytelling at key points. All in all this is the most feature rich package in a videogame to date. Bungie delivered something that both the hardcore and casual fans can both dive into, and spend days into exploring the legacy this studio left behind. Expand
  23. Jan 23, 2015
    10
    This game is absolutely spectacular. The campaign and multiplayer are great with the campaign having a pretty solid story. Kept me interested throughout. Definitely, the funnest aspect of this game is the firefight mode where you kill wave after wave of the covenant (especially fun with friends). In my opinion, this is the example of a perfect Halo game but still has a different atmosphereThis game is absolutely spectacular. The campaign and multiplayer are great with the campaign having a pretty solid story. Kept me interested throughout. Definitely, the funnest aspect of this game is the firefight mode where you kill wave after wave of the covenant (especially fun with friends). In my opinion, this is the example of a perfect Halo game but still has a different atmosphere from Halo 1, 2, and 3. Unfortunately, though, this is Bungie's last Halo game. 10/10 (Masterpiece) Expand
  24. Mar 18, 2011
    8
    This is the second best Halo game in the series, next to Halo 1 (Combat Evolved). I still hate the fact that it takes so many bullets to kill someone in multiplayer. Sometimes or most of the time you'll use all the ammo in your mag trying to kill one guy and then you have no chance against the next guy coming along. They fixed a lot of the problems from Halo 3. The single player is reallyThis is the second best Halo game in the series, next to Halo 1 (Combat Evolved). I still hate the fact that it takes so many bullets to kill someone in multiplayer. Sometimes or most of the time you'll use all the ammo in your mag trying to kill one guy and then you have no chance against the next guy coming along. They fixed a lot of the problems from Halo 3. The single player is really fun and you play as a different spartan, not Master Chief. Expand
  25. May 23, 2015
    9
    Halo Reach breaks away from Master Chief and follows a team of Spartans that are ordered to protect the planet Reach against the Covenenant. You can play the campaign alone or co-op online. Then there’s matchmaking which includes a wealth of modes (one in which you can play as an Elite). You can choose which ability you want before respawning; a jetpack, a deployable shield, etc., whichHalo Reach breaks away from Master Chief and follows a team of Spartans that are ordered to protect the planet Reach against the Covenenant. You can play the campaign alone or co-op online. Then there’s matchmaking which includes a wealth of modes (one in which you can play as an Elite). You can choose which ability you want before respawning; a jetpack, a deployable shield, etc., which is new to Reach and improves every game mode. On top of this there’s a firefight mode that you can either play as a survival mode with limited everything or unlimited ammo with powerful weapons and 20 minutes to score big. There’s also a map-maker (forge) mode and theater mode. Your custom Spartan carries over all three modes, which you can buy new armor for with money you gain from playing (and from the addictive daily challenges). This game exceeds all previous Halos, in my opinon, and should be experienced by any shooter fan with an Xbox 360. I give it an 8.7. Expand
  26. Nov 2, 2011
    8
    In Halo Reach, Bungie followed their same old formula from Halo 3 and made some minor additions with updated graphics. It is a very well paced, consistently engaged in action type of game that is Halo's trademark with the plus side that it is longer in storyline than most other shooters like Call of Duty. Some minor customization of your character is allowed in the beginning of your game,In Halo Reach, Bungie followed their same old formula from Halo 3 and made some minor additions with updated graphics. It is a very well paced, consistently engaged in action type of game that is Halo's trademark with the plus side that it is longer in storyline than most other shooters like Call of Duty. Some minor customization of your character is allowed in the beginning of your game, which is a nice because we all know Spartans are suppose to wear Green & White. It doesn't score as high as Halo 3 because it is not a sequel but a prequel that doesn't add anything to the lore. Expand
  27. Apr 20, 2014
    7
    I feel that the halo franchise in general is overated for the most part. I enjoy the weapons and multiplayer in reach a lot, but the campaign is kind of boring. Its not bad but it lacks anything memorable or creative. like I said though, its strong points are in the multiplayer, and the forge mode is also really cool, in fact its probably my favorite thing about the game. this game didI feel that the halo franchise in general is overated for the most part. I enjoy the weapons and multiplayer in reach a lot, but the campaign is kind of boring. Its not bad but it lacks anything memorable or creative. like I said though, its strong points are in the multiplayer, and the forge mode is also really cool, in fact its probably my favorite thing about the game. this game did create some memorable moments when playing with friends, but when wanting to play a game by myself, it was forgettable. a lot of fun can be had with this game as long as your playing with somebody. Expand
  28. May 20, 2012
    9
    One of the kings of multiplayer gaming. Very skill based still and I love it. This is balanced team multiplayer gameplay at its finest (Besides CSS and DoTA :) ) . The new maps are great as well as the enhanced graphics. Yes, even though it is sub HD I like the updated look. Great game, must buy if you think you are good at multiplayer. Campaign sucks **** though.
  29. Jun 13, 2012
    8
    Bit of a late review on this one, but Halo: Reach is pretty good. The single player campaign is fun and has an excellent story, and the multiplayer continues in the vein of previous Halo offerings with interesting, arcadey game types. Customizing your spartan is a pretty cool feature, but unlocking armor pieces and ranking up feels like a chore sometimes with the huge amount of creditsBit of a late review on this one, but Halo: Reach is pretty good. The single player campaign is fun and has an excellent story, and the multiplayer continues in the vein of previous Halo offerings with interesting, arcadey game types. Customizing your spartan is a pretty cool feature, but unlocking armor pieces and ranking up feels like a chore sometimes with the huge amount of credits you have to earn. Fortunately this is helped by daily and weekly challenges. Expand
  30. Dec 9, 2014
    10
    THIS IS MY FAVOURITE HALO GAME OF THEM ALL. The story is a prequel to Halo 1,2 and 3 based around a squad of Spartans. You are Nobel six the newest recruit and you must help your squad kill some aliens.
    Along the way you will lose people and they have very emotional deaths.
    Verdict: One of the very best shooters on the market with great multiplayer maps,modes and CO-OP 10/10 Would
    THIS IS MY FAVOURITE HALO GAME OF THEM ALL. The story is a prequel to Halo 1,2 and 3 based around a squad of Spartans. You are Nobel six the newest recruit and you must help your squad kill some aliens.
    Along the way you will lose people and they have very emotional deaths.

    Verdict:
    One of the very best shooters on the market with great multiplayer maps,modes and CO-OP
    10/10 Would bang more times then I have.
    Expand
  31. Sep 15, 2010
    8
    It is disappointing to see such reviews as 0 and 10. The purpose of this site is to get a feel for the value of the game and whether it is worth purchasing. As such I'm not going to bash or praise this game but rather describe it. First of all it is a halo game. I own all 3 systems and over 200 games. I am a little disappointed in some of the game but lets face it I bought it because ofIt is disappointing to see such reviews as 0 and 10. The purpose of this site is to get a feel for the value of the game and whether it is worth purchasing. As such I'm not going to bash or praise this game but rather describe it. First of all it is a halo game. I own all 3 systems and over 200 games. I am a little disappointed in some of the game but lets face it I bought it because of the name Halo and it does follow in its footsteps true to the franchise. The downside of this is that this title did not draw me in. Basically I have to admit to myself I just have played Halo too much and am bored with it. There is no new excitement left. I can't blame the new Reach for this. This is why the series is coming to conclusion. It's just time. That said, this disc is pretty good value. There is so much content on the disc that if you have never played a Halo game this is the version to buy. It is the most updated and best design of any of games released however the story isn't as impressive as some of the other Halo releases. Overall this game is good and if i have any complaint it is more so to do with the fact that the xbox 360 can not process the game as well as i would have liked. The xbox really seems to be pushed to its limits in this game and it shows. When i bought the game i was hoping for a halo version that had Demon's souls feel of battle (fatique with equipment customization), FEAR's AI and Monster Hunter Tri's gathering of usable materials. I guess that's what i was secretly hoping for and it wasn't there. But I can't bash the game because my fantasy wasn't made. This game was designed for its demographic and it certainly isn't broken. Very worthy of an 8 or 9 despite wishing the game was something a bit different. In sum, best Halo and a fitting conclusion to make this series obsolete as this title needs to end so a fresh new series can be made. Expand
  32. Dec 24, 2012
    3
    People all love Halo, and they say that it's the only game that worth the buying of the Xbox 360. Actually, it's one of the worst games ever made, and people like it only because everyone plays it. Not recommended.
  33. Apr 4, 2011
    9
    i will admit right off the bat that i am a PS3 fanboy and dont even own an Xbox 360 and personally dont like the system but i do give credit where it is due. my friends are Xbox owners so this is where i play this game. when i first heard of this game release i started bashing it even though i have never even played a halo game in my life but now that i have i can see why so many becomei will admit right off the bat that i am a PS3 fanboy and dont even own an Xbox 360 and personally dont like the system but i do give credit where it is due. my friends are Xbox owners so this is where i play this game. when i first heard of this game release i started bashing it even though i have never even played a halo game in my life but now that i have i can see why so many become addicted. the graphics are all right and the campaign i found was actually pretty good with great voice acting sound effects and a variety of weapons but that is not the only reason it is good. the online is amazing with the ability to make your own maps and if they are made properly then they rock and also the preset maps are also amazing and you can play with quite a few ppl and all the different modes you can play... overall the game is just breathtaking and even though my main system is the Playstation and i dont really like Xbox this may just be thier one saving grace this is a must have for all Xbox owners and it will keep you entertained for a long time Expand
  34. DME
    Mar 27, 2011
    10
    Epic Campain, extremely balanced multiplayer, incredibly deep Forge Mode (even though it is difficult to use), lots of customization for private and offline matches. The only problem I have is that there is hardly anything to buy with the credits you earn besides armor. Reach is awesome fun with friends and decent when alone.
  35. May 31, 2013
    9
    While it may not have Master Chief and this being Bungi's last Halo title to give us, its a great end to the their part of the series! Seeing the original Spartan's and have them protect their home Reach, makes me want to go back over and over!
  36. May 10, 2013
    8
    The game is epic, better than Halo: 3 in every possible ways. I love the voice acting and the story/ending the most, also I love all the missions/levels, this is the only halo game or FPS game that has a true character focus. a must buy.
  37. Dec 6, 2014
    8
    Reach is enjoyable in many ways, be it the freshly presented campaign or the online multiplayer that is saturated with numerous game modes to satisfy any taste. Reach is extensively enjoyable whilst remaining enriching and rewarding.
  38. Sep 4, 2012
    8
    Halo is a hit or miss for a lot of people, but personally I like the Halo series, and I think Reach is some of the best it has to offer. Overall for a XBox game this looks good, feels good, and the multiplayer is pretty damn fun IMO. The story here is definitely not the strongest of the series, but the single player is worth taking a look at and an absolute challenge on legendary. I noHalo is a hit or miss for a lot of people, but personally I like the Halo series, and I think Reach is some of the best it has to offer. Overall for a XBox game this looks good, feels good, and the multiplayer is pretty damn fun IMO. The story here is definitely not the strongest of the series, but the single player is worth taking a look at and an absolute challenge on legendary. I no longer own a 360 nor do I plan on it, which is not that big of deal to me except I will miss Halo 4. I do think 4 looks seriously promising. Expand
  39. May 30, 2013
    8
    Halo Reach is a much more refined Halo and its multiplayer is what makes this game stick out to me when it comes to Halo games. It also added a much more expanded Forge which adds hours of making maps and just being creative. Halo added its own survival mode, or Firefight, in which you fight waves of Covenant soldiers. Overall, this is a damn good Halo game and should not be ignored.
  40. Feb 16, 2012
    6
    the second worst halo ever this game is stupid the storyline is no where close to interesting the chracters in the storyline have no personality they took out all the good guns from halo 3 and the muliplayer maps suck the only good thing about this game is that they added new vehicles, improved forge mode and fire fight thats it it they ruined the multiplayer with there loadout system tothe second worst halo ever this game is stupid the storyline is no where close to interesting the chracters in the storyline have no personality they took out all the good guns from halo 3 and the muliplayer maps suck the only good thing about this game is that they added new vehicles, improved forge mode and fire fight thats it it they ruined the multiplayer with there loadout system to wear you get jetpacks and you can have this thing called armor lock that makes you invulnerable for like 8 seconds i was so disappointed in this game even so the good outweighs the bad 6/10 Expand
  41. Oct 31, 2015
    7
    Out of all the Halo games I've played I found this to be the weakest. But it's not a bad game whatsoever. I just found the story underwhelming. It lacked a sense of mystery and discovery, which the first Halo actually had. Halo Reach was rather mundane. The combat was excellent, as in all Halo games, but I didn't really have much fun with this. There was something lacking that I can'tOut of all the Halo games I've played I found this to be the weakest. But it's not a bad game whatsoever. I just found the story underwhelming. It lacked a sense of mystery and discovery, which the first Halo actually had. Halo Reach was rather mundane. The combat was excellent, as in all Halo games, but I didn't really have much fun with this. There was something lacking that I can't quite put my finger on. Perhaps having a game without Master Chief broke the narrative I was used to.

    At any rate, this game is worth a look, especially if you're a Halo fan.
    Expand
  42. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    I miss that this was the LAST Bungie game they made. I was hoping for more, they 343 bought it from them. This game is awesome and still is, it just lacks with the community in which people think that it ''sucks'' but really they never played it.
  43. Oct 17, 2010
    9
    The best game in the entire series. This is a great installment to the Halo games. Anyone who disagrees probably just doesn't appreciate the formula, which can be just as intense as COD with next to no frustration factor. I really don't understand the low user reviews here, I guess this is what happens when you let idiots who aren't experienced reviewers rate games!
  44. Oct 26, 2013
    5
    im sorry
    but this game is horrible
    the story is bored,the characters are not like masterchief
    the game is so realistic that is bored
    the graphics are ok,but i think is game is overated just because
    had an awesome multiplayer
  45. Aug 11, 2011
    10
    I've been a massive Halo fan since No 1,& i wasnt disappointed by Reach.In fact for me personally,its the best in the series so far.I loved the story,the characters,the events that take place within the campaign,the customisation for your character & the fact that you see your custom character in the campaign cut scenes.Some have criticised the music,but i think its the best music in theI've been a massive Halo fan since No 1,& i wasnt disappointed by Reach.In fact for me personally,its the best in the series so far.I loved the story,the characters,the events that take place within the campaign,the customisation for your character & the fact that you see your custom character in the campaign cut scenes.Some have criticised the music,but i think its the best music in the series by a country mile! I like the way the cut scenes are cut too,in a very cinematic way,& the first person cutscenes are genius.Always glad to see the Halo games have on & offline Campaign Co-Op,and Campaign matchmaking included this time also.Kudos Bungie! On the multiplayer side,Invasion is a welcome addition,& adds a bit of purpose to the matches,& Firefight is always good to come back to once in a while.In general Reach offers the definitive Halo multiplayer.I am so close to giving this a Ten.On the whole,a VERY cool game. Expand
  46. Jul 7, 2011
    9
    I'm surprised. Halo: Wars or Halo 3: ODST may not have grabbed you well like Halo: 3 did, but perhaps THIS will. With excellent performances and graphics, you be asking your Mommy all the way home to buy eight copies. It's addicting and the Multiplayer Online should never fail you, unless your Xbox has series issues, that is.
  47. Dec 22, 2011
    9
    Halo: Reach is a different Halo experience, very different from Halo 3 in fact, but the change moved toward the good side and that is something I appreciate. This game's campaign is set in the planet Reach and tells the story of how Reach fell and it gives an opening to the first Halo. I appreciated the campaign though it was just as hard as the campaign on Halo 2. Where this game reallyHalo: Reach is a different Halo experience, very different from Halo 3 in fact, but the change moved toward the good side and that is something I appreciate. This game's campaign is set in the planet Reach and tells the story of how Reach fell and it gives an opening to the first Halo. I appreciated the campaign though it was just as hard as the campaign on Halo 2. Where this game really rocks is at multiplayer, with a very wide variety of weapons, newly added maps, and online firefight this game purely rocks, making custom matches is also great and the forge mode is purely epic and uploading those maps in file share is great. Overall this is a great experience, just remember this changed a lot from Halo 3 but overall this is worth 60$. Expand
  48. Nov 4, 2014
    9
    If the story mode was a bit longer and it wasn't an issue of people lagging at times then I would give the game a 10. This was actually my first Halo game I played and was turned onto it by a friend. Once I started to play the game I tried other games and I didn't find them as good as this one. I played online for quite awhile before getting bored because a lot of my friends were leavingIf the story mode was a bit longer and it wasn't an issue of people lagging at times then I would give the game a 10. This was actually my first Halo game I played and was turned onto it by a friend. Once I started to play the game I tried other games and I didn't find them as good as this one. I played online for quite awhile before getting bored because a lot of my friends were leaving for other games so I couldn't find other people I enjoyed playing with. I personally played Team Swat mainly, but would play other games in order to do the challenges for points. With that being said I found Team Swat to be the most enjoyable because everybody uses the same gun, no cloaking and all the other stuff found in the other game modes. The other game modes that I enjoyed playing was in the Open World Zombie part, which I also found to be quite enjoyable. I'd likely still be playing today if it weren't for my friends leaving for other games. You play to acquire points to update your character which unlocks some neat upgrades to purchase with XP. After awhile they unlocked the ranks and you leveled past what it was capped off which then it was a race to get as high as you could. I enjoyed the game and I'm sure if you like FPS then you will as well. So it's a game you should definitely try. Expand
  49. Oct 11, 2014
    10
    "Send me out, with a bang". These words resonate with me every time I play Reach.
    Story: 8/10
    Halo Reach's campaign is the best in the series; Excellent voice acting and memorable moments make this a thrill ride I love to play over and over. The dramatic climax is a moment to behold. The only problem I have is that you don't get to know Noble Team very well; Character development is
    "Send me out, with a bang". These words resonate with me every time I play Reach.
    Story: 8/10
    Halo Reach's campaign is the best in the series; Excellent voice acting and memorable
    moments make this a thrill ride I love to play over and over. The dramatic climax is a
    moment to behold. The only problem I have is that you don't get to know Noble Team very well; Character development is limited in this story.
    Gameplay: 10/10
    Controls are similar to Halo 3, but with a few minor changes..
    Graphics are outstanding, as usual. The Armoury is a huge improvement
    over past Halo games. The addition of visor colours and armour
    attachments make this game endlessly addictive. Assassinations are also
    are a great addition that never gets old. New weapons and armour abilities
    spice up the traditional Halo style in a very appealing way.
    Multiplayer: 9/10
    Great like it usually is. All the old Halo gametypes, with the
    addition of Infection as a full-time playlist. Why did I not give
    it a 10? Hmm... There are three letters that explain why: L-A-G.
    Lagging can happen at any time, in any playlist. The gametype it lags in the
    in the most? Infection. Lag causes a number of problems, such as causing your
    spartan III to die even though you didn't see anyone kill you. It can also cause a number of
    other errors as well: You will see other players running up to walls, only to vanish instantly
    If you can get over these little glitches, you will find multiplayer very addicting
    Overall: 10/10
    Bungie went out with a bang; their final game is an example of excellence
    and perfection.
    Expand
  50. Oct 22, 2010
    10
    Through it doesn't feel like halo anymore it rate it 10 because i respect the original halo which is the best from all halo games.The music and action are different,cold.
  51. Sep 24, 2010
    9
    I was expecting much more from Halo: Reach, however it didn't necessarily disappoint me. I liked it, but not enough to go crazy, like I did with Halo 3 or Halo 3: ODST. Maybe not the best, but definitely not the worst.
  52. Aug 25, 2012
    9
    Was the greatest shooter online ever made. Bungie made a truly great online shooter and they were easily able to tweak playlists and add new game types as they saw fit. That is where the problems start. A week after the game came out due to popular demand S.W.A.T. was added. Multi team S.W.A.T. was beautiful chaos head shots everywhere. Then S.W.A.T. was removed from multi team and givenWas the greatest shooter online ever made. Bungie made a truly great online shooter and they were easily able to tweak playlists and add new game types as they saw fit. That is where the problems start. A week after the game came out due to popular demand S.W.A.T. was added. Multi team S.W.A.T. was beautiful chaos head shots everywhere. Then S.W.A.T. was removed from multi team and given it's own playlist. Then the player count in multi team was changed, and things were removed and changed according to what would make the the game "more fair" according to the "victims" of someone who practiced the art of armor lock or used a gun that was good.

    Things got worse and worse. When the First DLC hit it really only had one good map, and the playlists were very different. 343 took over and things got worse. Elite slayer was changed so drastically that not even fans of it voted it anymore. Good luck getting into a game of it since the games that come up are the most popular. The second DLC sucked two outside of a firefight map. The Anniversary map pack sucked as well, and it's not the games fault. Due to the fact that there is a large number of people who haven't played Halo 1 & 2, there is a large number of people who haven't played the new maps previously. The people who have however know them inside out and have strategies already made up due to previous experience. Firefight is great. It is nowhere near as difficult as ODST, but it is fun to set it up your way.

    Forge World is incredible. While the maps that Bungie made may be bad, the maps and custom games out there made by fans are the saving grace of this game, but the one thing that remains untouched is my favorite part of the game.

    The Campaign is incredible. I never gave a damn about the story in Halo, but Reach manages to have semi-interesting characters and a kick ass campaign to go along with it. I'll try and remember the fond memories of Reach at launch, but outside the campaign and custom games, there is noting I'd ever want to go back too.

    Remember Reach. 2010-2010
    Expand
  53. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    The last game from Bungie is amazing a decent story great characters,a long campaign and a good ending,the amazing multiplayer,Forge,Theater and Firefight
    The campaign is really really good
    The Forge and theater is improved and the multiplayer is even more refined and extremely deep and the matchmaking is superb and the Firefight mode is so fun and has unlimited replay value
  54. Apr 10, 2014
    9
    Es un shooter sobresaliente, los escenarios son mas grandes, el poder personalizar a tu jugador, acompañado de nuevas armas, eso si la historia que es buena es algo corta
  55. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player) Gameplay (2/2) Visuals/Story (2/2) (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player)

    Gameplay (2/2)

    Visuals/Story (2/2)

    (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is better than the visuals, review this section as if the visuals didn’t matter)

    Accessibility/Longevity (2/2)

    (Review this section only on Accessibility if the game has no longevity) (Review this section only on longevity if the game isn’t accessible)

    Pricing (0/2)

    Wildcard (+1)

    This is a guideline for how to properly review games. Many reviewers like to get a “feel” for a game, and arbitrarily give a game a score that they believe it deserves. This results in wildly different scores between different reviewers, and vastly different scores between similar games. This guideline addresses these problems and scores games fairly and consistently. This guideline also gives scores that are usually similar to the metacritic score.

    The review score is based out of 10 points. There are no “half” or 0.5 increments. It is impossible to have a score above 10 or below 0. The review score will change as the game gets new dlc, drops in price, or if more secrets are found through the game increasing its appeal.

    The scoring is split into 6 sections. The first five sections can add a possible 2 points to the final score. The first 5 sections are Single Player/Multi Player, Gameplay, Visuals/Story, Accessibility/Longevity, and Pricing.

    Notice that 3 of these sections have two parts. These particular sections will be scored based on the stronger part of the game of the two. For example, if a game has a lousy single player campaign, but an excellent multiplayer component, that section will be based solely on the multiplayer as if the single player did not exist. This allows games to be based on their own merits, as many unnecessary features are shoehorned into video games by publishers to reach a “feature quota”. Games that excel in both areas of a section don’t receive should be noted in the written review, but cannot increase the score past 2 in that section. However, it can be taken into account in the final section

    The final section can add 1, add 0, or subtract 1 to the final score. This final section is the “wildcard” section. This section is for how the reviewer “feels” about the game, but limits this only to this section, rather than the entire 10 point review. This section can include any positive or negative point that was not covered in the previous 5 sections.
    Expand
  56. Nov 19, 2015
    10
    Halo: Reach is a prequel to the Halo series and a farewell from Bungie. Bungie sends off the Halo series with improved graphics, more customability than eve and the firefight mode, witch was added from Halo 3: ODST. The multiplayer is improved once again with a huge stockpile of gamemodes and maps to play. Halo: Reach is by far, the best Halo game. You should buy it, even if you arent aHalo: Reach is a prequel to the Halo series and a farewell from Bungie. Bungie sends off the Halo series with improved graphics, more customability than eve and the firefight mode, witch was added from Halo 3: ODST. The multiplayer is improved once again with a huge stockpile of gamemodes and maps to play. Halo: Reach is by far, the best Halo game. You should buy it, even if you arent a fan of the series. Expand
  57. Feb 3, 2011
    10
    Halo Reach is the best Halo and one of the best Game's this Generation! The Amount of Content you get in this single Package is Limitless, You got an Excellent Campaign,The Best Multiplayer of 2010 and Unlimited Modding Tools such as Forge and Millions of Custom Games to Play!
    The Gameplay is Halo if you like Halo your gonna Love this game. It was Revolutionary Back then and its still
    Halo Reach is the best Halo and one of the best Game's this Generation! The Amount of Content you get in this single Package is Limitless, You got an Excellent Campaign,The Best Multiplayer of 2010 and Unlimited Modding Tools such as Forge and Millions of Custom Games to Play!
    The Gameplay is Halo if you like Halo your gonna Love this game. It was Revolutionary Back then and its still Awesome today!
    The Graphics are Amazing, The Environment,The Scenery everything is Breathtaking!
    This is How you end an Epic FPS Franchise The Right way!
    Its Fantastic, One of my Favourite Games of all Time.
    Expand
  58. Oct 2, 2011
    6
    i didn't think the game was bad, but it was a bit lacking. it really has nothing that makes it stand out, and with so many good shooters on the market, your choice swiftly goes out to another game.
  59. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    With Halo: Reach, Bungie wanted to go out on a high and other than a few grumbles about the game
  60. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = One of the greatest first person shooters to date.
  61. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    First off, this game is better than a 9, but I refuse to give a game that's not perfect a 10, and I can think of a few things it's missing which I'll get to at the end.

    The campaign mode for Reach is excellent, I don't personally think it has as many memorable moments as Halo 3 did in that department, but it's still a top notch campaign and you'd expect nothing less from a Halo game. The
    First off, this game is better than a 9, but I refuse to give a game that's not perfect a 10, and I can think of a few things it's missing which I'll get to at the end.

    The campaign mode for Reach is excellent, I don't personally think it has as many memorable moments as Halo 3 did in that department, but it's still a top notch campaign and you'd expect nothing less from a Halo game.

    The multiplayer mode is probably the best in terms of online FPS that I've ever come across. It's so well balanced in terms of weapons and the extra choices of particular power you choose really adds new dimensions to the strategy of the game. The game boasts some really great maps and now a year in it has lots that I've never even seen before. The medals you get within the game are always fun to see, and as always bungie.com has a great deal of stats, it's just a shame they can't be accessed from the Halo Reach game itself.

    The things which need improving on are as follows: Jet Packs shouldn't be in the game, they're really irritating especially when half the people in the game are flying about. The map selection needs to be more random, I'm sick to death of playing Sword base cos it's the one people know the best. The lacks of a Final Kill Cam, Replay Death and levelling up perks that COD made popular are all annoying not to have.
    Expand
  62. May 5, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. From a single player perspective, this game has a very different feel from the other Halo games, primarily because if you know anything of the Halo universe, you know that Reach was lost. This gives the game and several intense moments a very sullen, dark feel. This is esspecially true of the slow thinning down of your team. In ODST, everything works out in the end for your squad, so the dark theme of that game is less impactful. If you play these games just to shoot stuff, you won't have a clue what I'm talking about. If, however you game for story, you've likely felt a sort of hopelessness in this game, which adds a very powerful base for all the other game's stories to launch from. Play Halo one afterwards and you fight meaner, harder. The graphics, sound, control, and variety are excellent. Most bizarre is the fantastic space mission that comes out of nowhere. Bungie most have bored and decided to try their hands at something new. Excellent game, excellent story, but the multiplayer has trouble distinguishing itself, despite the modifications. Expand
  63. Sep 20, 2017
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I would give the game a 10 but I can't even though I really want to and it's my favorite game.

    Soooo much content here...

    Great story... So what if it doesn't follow the books. The bungie halo games always did their own thing...

    Great campaign mode... No annoying flood. No super lame levels. Just action!

    Great game play... Halo at its best. All the halo goodness in the world is here.

    Amazing sound track... Marty at his best as usual. Him and halo ARE halo.

    Great in game visuals. One of the best looking xbox 360 exclusives. Even better looking than halo 4...

    Smart AI... Cept kat lol... I think they made her dumb on purpose to add difficulty.

    Tons of content... Forge world, fire fight, multiplayer and more! All custom tailored to fit your style.

    No weak micro transactions like halo 5 lol.

    It's one of the best halo games. It's easily competing for best halo game against 1,2, and 3.

    Now for the mediocre/bad...

    Some minor gripes...

    Spoilers!

    You can't explain Kats death very well story wise... What happened to her energy shields? And if they were out temporarily then that would explain why it only took one needle rifle round to kill her. Fair enough.... But if that's the case... Why didn't the shooter take out the whole team as well? They played this scene well emotionally but it was dumb in a logical kind of sense.

    I wish you could make a fire fight mode where endless sword elites attack you nazi zombies style. They can't shoot or toss nades. They can only use cqc melee attacks with their swords. I always thought that this would be kool... But heck... I dunno if it would be since it doesn't exist and I'm not sure how long it would take until it got boring...

    Spartan laser is much worse than it was in halo 3. In Halo 3 it was the end all cannon against anyone just about... In Reach it's much harder to pin point, takes longer to charge up, has less ammo, and requires a more steady aiming thumb. It's worse in just about every way. I guess they wanted to nerf it since it was a anti tank sniper rifle in halo 3 and that was kind of OP lol. It did make vehicles some what useless in halo 3 btb.

    Bloom... Made shots random some what. Granted this only really upset strict competitive players who take the game very seriously in the rankings and what not... But for them it was a bit of a downer even though it's pretty silly to take "skill" in a video game so seriously. Especially considering that halo 2 has a hit scan br with high bullet magnetism and halo 3 has a br that's spread is pretty random too. Halo isn't exactly the most skillful shooter out there folks... Just saying. Play for fun. Not to try and be super mlg pro elite status... No one cares how good you are at a game. Besides... There are plenty of playlists that don't have bloom or even armor abilities for that matter so there is no need to complain anymore.

    The rank system. Apparently some folks only played to see a number by their name go up. It motivated them to play for some reason. Instead of playing to have fun they would focus on the level 1-50 rank system. Reach has no such system unless you look it up on a web-site.

    Anyone else miss having bots in multiplayer like perfect dark 64?

    So those are the mediocre/bad things. A lot of which doesn't bug me personally but I can see why it would bug some people. Especially those who are not that smart or are too quick to judge this game.

    Remember folks... No game is perfect but some games are pretty awesome anyways so I give this about a 8 or a 9. A 8 at launch. And a 9 now that patches and more content polished the game up.
    Expand
  64. AGK
    Dec 22, 2014
    8
    A very great game with heaps of content and it makes the halo story make sense so it all evens out in the end. There is just SO much to do on this amazing game! it basically combines all the other halo's content and makes it into one and it's awesome! if only bungie stayed with making halo games.
  65. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    The final Halo game from Bungie is a marked improved over their previous efforts. With an engaging campaign and an incredibly polished suite of multiplayer game modes, Bungie has created the most polished Halo title to date. Any fan of the FPS genre who owns a 360 should give this game a shot.
  66. Feb 10, 2011
    10
    Having not cared as much for Halo 3 as I would have liked to, Reach swooped back and rekindled my interest in the franchise. The story is better, the graphics are better, the gameplay is polished to the EXTREME and multiplayer is better than it has ever been with flawless level design. This is a full package with seemingly endless amounts of gameplay, not including solid DLC support.
  67. Sep 23, 2010
    10
    Reach is easily the best halo since combat evolved. Really it should have been Halo 3. Campaign was a tad short but classic. All these people that didnt like it are flat out little kids, that arent old enough to buy the game in the first place, complaining about how they changed it so much. They complain that they were great at halo 3 and suck at this. That's because this, unlike halo 3,Reach is easily the best halo since combat evolved. Really it should have been Halo 3. Campaign was a tad short but classic. All these people that didnt like it are flat out little kids, that arent old enough to buy the game in the first place, complaining about how they changed it so much. They complain that they were great at halo 3 and suck at this. That's because this, unlike halo 3, this is not noob friendly. They took away noob dual wielding, never seen one pro use this on a regular basis, as well they made the cross hair expand with the recoil so you have to time your shots and slow the pace. This is halo back to its roots, where it should be. Pro's are finally obvious and no little kids can think or claim they are pros, like they did in halo 3, because true skill really comes through this time. I have won 1000's of dollars in tournaments (since halo 1) and was flat out sick of all these noobs claiming to be pro. To the point where i stopped taking challenges unless it was at a tournament. Lost count of how many kids i shut out that thought they were MLG. This game finally puts noobs and medium skilled players in their place. If you dont like it, practice and get better. Dont blame the game for showing you who you really are. New weapons rock and are balanced, as long as you have an intelligent approach to combat situations you should do all right. Expand
  68. Jun 30, 2012
    8
    Halo: Reach very good game on xbox 360 and like part from Halo 3 halo 3 odst and i like any game is name halo ! my score 8/10 ... and this game the best game shooter on xbox 360 and we need see halo 4 how the game come to gamer ! by adil khojah
  69. Oct 2, 2010
    8
    So fanboys and haters are all that seem to review this game, so here's an unbiased review: I was never a big fan of Halo and yet it's still easy for me to say that this was a great game. The online play doesn't offer much customization other than appearance so in that respect I'm a little disappointed. The story, while short, is very re-playable. It's more of a game to play with friends asSo fanboys and haters are all that seem to review this game, so here's an unbiased review: I was never a big fan of Halo and yet it's still easy for me to say that this was a great game. The online play doesn't offer much customization other than appearance so in that respect I'm a little disappointed. The story, while short, is very re-playable. It's more of a game to play with friends as co-op and firefight are a hell of a lot of fun, but otherwise, you'll be putting it down after a week unless you're a die hard fan. Expand
  70. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Reach is the best Halo game ever made. Every mode has been improved upon and is awesome. Firefight is a ton of fun, the campaign is great, forge world is amazing. Graphics, while better than Halo 3, still are not up to par with games like Mass Effect or Gears. But thats the only negative and its not a big one at that
  71. Dec 31, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Reach doesn't reach the quality of previous Halo games. Not even ODST. Sure it's great, that the gameplay changes, but this time the changes made the game only worse. Campaign is interesting at first, but the potential is horribly missed. Even though it has a lot of variation, it's way worse compared to previous campaigns. Deaths of Spartans just feel pointless. Why? Because there isin't really any kind of character development, making you feel nothing about it, what Bungie would have probably wanted you to feel. Second problem is the levels. You might think, that you will get epic fights and such, but Bungie didn't do anything like that. Space battle is ok, but it didn't feel as good as firefights in the rest of the time. Potential is horribly missed, but the epilogue level is great. What about multiplayer? It isin't really better than campaign. Bloom slows down already slow gameplay. Jumping and player speed has been reduced for armour abilities. Ridicolous aim assist, which allows shots to be hit even, if you just went to cover. Maps are horrible and grenades are ridicolously overpowered. You can't jump to avoid grenade damage and you will die from grenade, if you have suffered only 5% damage to the shields. Sprint + Energy Sword is now overpowered combo, because of lack of blocking. If you want to buy Halo game, buy Halo 3 instead. This game is just bad. Expand
  72. Sep 20, 2010
    8
    Let me begin my review by stating in the past I have liked most of the Bungie produced Halo games, with the exception of ODST. I have enjoyed playing through the campaigns of Halo 1-3 and I cannot tell you how much of my life I have wasted playing Halo 2 and 3 online. If you are like me, then you will probably like Halo: Reach. It is a Halo game. If you have never liked Halo games, youLet me begin my review by stating in the past I have liked most of the Bungie produced Halo games, with the exception of ODST. I have enjoyed playing through the campaigns of Halo 1-3 and I cannot tell you how much of my life I have wasted playing Halo 2 and 3 online. If you are like me, then you will probably like Halo: Reach. It is a Halo game. If you have never liked Halo games, you will not like this either. The Campaign is short but sweet, with a lot happening in about a 5-6 hour campaign. There is enough variety in the missions to keep it fresh and as opposed to other popular first person shooters where the landscapes are different shades of gray and brown, Halo: Reach has a lot of bright beautiful settings. The story is also a but more believable than other halo games. You are not an unstoppable god man like Master Chief and it is established fairly early on that you are going to lose, and I for one liked that. The tone of the game is darker and there is a feeling of hopelessness about everything, which is actually an interesting change of pace which I enjoyed. The game does have its problems though. For one, AI driving is still horrible. Secondly, there was not enough character development for the other members of Noble team. I didn't connect with them, I was just plopped into combat with them and expected to care about them. Multiplayer is as fun as ever with new game modes and new forge options. Right now a lot of players don't know what certain game modes are but I'm sure over time players will figure it out. Overall, I think this is the best and most polished Halo game to date. However, that being said, these days it isn't the king of first person shooters. It is a very fun and enjoyable game, but it isn't revolutionary or mind-blowing anymore so while it may be the best Halo game to date, it is certainly not the best first person shooter. All in all, it is a fun game. If you are a Halo fan buy it, the multiplayer will be worth your money alone, but if you never got into halo games, this is not going to convert you. Expand
  73. Mar 25, 2013
    2
    This games campaign is nothing special. First of all loading anything takes forever. You don't always get achievement when a level is beaten on normal or harder. Waste of time to play.
  74. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    This was all I played for about a month when I got my Xbox. Halo is one of my favorite series and it will always be my favorite FPS. The history of the halo universe is amazing and I really wish I had read the books which I probably will be reading soon. The games are always very action heavy which I love about FPS type games, the reason Halo is the my favorite is because of the story andThis was all I played for about a month when I got my Xbox. Halo is one of my favorite series and it will always be my favorite FPS. The history of the halo universe is amazing and I really wish I had read the books which I probably will be reading soon. The games are always very action heavy which I love about FPS type games, the reason Halo is the my favorite is because of the story and how it is told. This game is very good, way better then ODST and Is equally as good as Halo 3. The story is what will always sell me and the story that is told in Reach is one of the best outside of Master Cheifs. The Music will always make me get a chill down my spine and the sound of war is just great. The voice acting is great and the graphics are always ground breaking for the series if not the industry. No one not even my CoD fan boy friends will ever change my mind about Halo. If you like shooters play this its one of the greats. Expand
  75. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    It is interesting that I have played so much of the online and until the other day was under the impression that I had beaten the campaign. Well I realized that I never had and someone had done it on my account, hence the confusion, so I decided with all the Halo hype it was time for me to play through it. I started from the beginning again and went for a full play through and I gotta say,It is interesting that I have played so much of the online and until the other day was under the impression that I had beaten the campaign. Well I realized that I never had and someone had done it on my account, hence the confusion, so I decided with all the Halo hype it was time for me to play through it. I started from the beginning again and went for a full play through and I gotta say, I didn't expect it to be that good (although after the surprise that ODST was I should have been prepared). Visually I was used to it after having played so much online, but it still was pretty and I always have loved the look of the Halo universe. It was interesting how this contrasted to the other off-main-series Halo game in that you weren't trying to find people but instead losing them throughout. The story was solid, not exactly memorable but a lot of fun along the way and you didn't really feel like you were doing stupid **** for the sake of playing a game. Recently I heard a distinction between Halo and most FPS's and I though it rang true in this game: Halo is not about who pulls the trigger faster but about individual engagements. I must have forgotten at some point what it was like to go into a battle feel like a vulnerable boss who can destroy everything if the strategy is right. So it was that style of combat, the great atmosphere, and the fantastic score that made this an awesome game and memorable as a whole. Oh, and the final scene was a nice touch too. Expand
  76. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    This is the first online first person shooter game I ever played.The campagin is good,the multiplayer is great and forge mode is so much fun.This game is a really fun time with friends.
  77. Mar 1, 2017
    9
    Завершающая часть шедевральной серии от Банджи. Идеальный баланс, графика и мультиплеер. Один из лучших шутеров на консолях и одна из лучших игр всех времен. Жаль, что после не пошел один трэш
  78. Jun 28, 2011
    4
    This game is all hype and no delivery, story is dumb and short multyplayer is boring after 2 days, and graphics could have been better. I think the reviewers were payed off because this NOOOOO 10 out of 10
  79. May 15, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Few are the areas where Halo Reach doesn't benefit from Bungie's obvious intention to deliver a definitive farewell episode. Aside from french voices and music that are simply good (but not as fantastic as one would hope every single aspect to be), and new covenant weapons slightly off when used in the solo campaign, Reach delivers a brilliant solo experience. The story may not be surprising, but it's a well told one. Reach remains awe-inspiring for its implementation, scope, diversity and richness. Those who will have to carry on the flame have a high bar set there for them to surpass. Expand
  80. Oct 5, 2010
    9
    In my humble opinion, the single player campaign took a dive when the series moved to 360. Halo 3 sacrificed the fun shooter that the previous games had been and replaced it with big over dramatics and sprawling landscapes that, while pretty to look at, were dull to traverse. ODST was less dramatic, but again, was so full of endless trekking about that it turned into abit of a yawnfestIn my humble opinion, the single player campaign took a dive when the series moved to 360. Halo 3 sacrificed the fun shooter that the previous games had been and replaced it with big over dramatics and sprawling landscapes that, while pretty to look at, were dull to traverse. ODST was less dramatic, but again, was so full of endless trekking about that it turned into abit of a yawnfest too. Don't get me wrong, I still liked both games. The multiplayer experience has only gotten better over time, even if some of the company you might meet are still the biggest 'tards you'd ever have the misfortune to be forced to play with. I just feel the campaign side of things has taken a backseat in the last couple of games to the series' stronger points.
    Halo Reach surprised me. This is quite possibly the most solid shooter in the series I've played, perhaps, ever. I generally had fun doing stuff other then watching the cutscenes. The story is engaging, the gameplay challenging and the pacing is just right. The campaign is short, but there is so much to the halo experience these days, you won't mind. Overall, I was happy. Glad to see Bungie leave the series on a high.
    Expand
  81. Aug 26, 2011
    9
    I'm a huge fan of the halo franchise and this game too. This is probably one of the best of the series next to Halo 2. Awesome storyline really backs the cool effects and scenery. The campaign is really good. The multiplayer is bad ass too. It's fast and easy to get the hang of. Nothings better than a game of Halo. Can't wait till next one.
  82. Sep 26, 2011
    10
    I do not normally give a game a 10, but for Halo Reach I'll make an exception.

    The campaign is excellent, it's not too short, and it's not too long. It's story will draw you in and keep you interested, and in certain areas of the campaign you can actually fly space ships. Which in FPS history is a rare occurrence. As for multiplayer, every game I have is always stable and I have very
    I do not normally give a game a 10, but for Halo Reach I'll make an exception.

    The campaign is excellent, it's not too short, and it's not too long. It's story will draw you in and keep you interested, and in certain areas of the campaign you can actually fly space ships. Which in FPS history is a rare occurrence.

    As for multiplayer, every game I have is always stable and I have very little disconnections. It's also a lot of fun, I love playing Firefight.

    Graphics wise Bungie have done a fantastic job. I can't really say anything bad about them really.
    The gameplay is also very solid.

    Halo reach is one of the few games that does not have any bugs or glitches that plague other games (Cough Black Ops Cough) It is a very enjoyable game and it has no doubt left it's mark on FPS History.
    Expand
  83. Apr 23, 2013
    3
    Halo Reach is fun, some of the visuals are cool and the AI isn't so bad. But as the review title states it was way too short and was too vaguely told to generate any real affinity for the characters.

    The fighting/battle action is cool but nothing wildly different from any of the other adventures of the franchise. After enjoying the intuitive cover of Gears of War, any other game
    Halo Reach is fun, some of the visuals are cool and the AI isn't so bad. But as the review title states it was way too short and was too vaguely told to generate any real affinity for the characters.

    The fighting/battle action is cool but nothing wildly different from any of the other adventures of the franchise. After enjoying the intuitive cover of Gears of War, any other game without the benefit of cover is just frustrating and feels retrograde. The AI of your accompanying team is decent and you can hop on a vehicle and manage the weapon while a Noble squad mate drives...for the most part. Sometimes they just go AWOL.

    My biggest beef with the game is the length. Way too short and easily finished within a few hours of play. I was slightly shocked when it was done. That and the storytelling was simply ineffectual. One knew what was happening but only had a vague connection to the story, and moments where one should have felt some sympathy for the characters were lost. There are times when the instructions for your next mission are unclear and this is also quite annoying.

    No doubt it's entertaining, but one gets the sense that it was made in a bit of a rush.
    Expand
  84. Sep 9, 2013
    7
    It's an pretty good game in its own right but a disappointment as a Halo game. Take CoD's multiplayer formula, give it a sci-fi skin and make player bullet sponges, and you've got Halo: Reach
  85. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    this game is an absolute must have! everything that was wrong with it HAS NOW BEEN FIXED!!! it really shines in its multiplayer. the new weapons are great. i especially like the new battle rifle. one thing that has been fixed that me and many others have complained about is the amount shots it takes to kill a person. Bungie made it a lot easier to kill someone and it has the game a wholethis game is an absolute must have! everything that was wrong with it HAS NOW BEEN FIXED!!! it really shines in its multiplayer. the new weapons are great. i especially like the new battle rifle. one thing that has been fixed that me and many others have complained about is the amount shots it takes to kill a person. Bungie made it a lot easier to kill someone and it has the game a whole lot more fun. if you do not get game you will miss out on the best and the last Halo game that Bungie Is making. Expand
  86. Jul 6, 2014
    6
    The halo series is just not what it once was, the single player campaign was nothing special and the characters were easily forgettable. The multiplayer by this point is still solid but does not stand up to the level achieved by Halo 2 and Halo 3
  87. Feb 26, 2012
    9
    Halo: Reach is a great game! The story was thrilling, engaging, unique, and amazing! I liked the fresh and almost tactical feel I got from the game. It felt much more like a military shooter. However, this game didn't feel very much as "Halo-y" as I wish it was. The new armor abilities were cool at first, then became slightly annoying. Hologram sucks, and armor lock really pisses me off.Halo: Reach is a great game! The story was thrilling, engaging, unique, and amazing! I liked the fresh and almost tactical feel I got from the game. It felt much more like a military shooter. However, this game didn't feel very much as "Halo-y" as I wish it was. The new armor abilities were cool at first, then became slightly annoying. Hologram sucks, and armor lock really pisses me off. Both can be pretty useless sometimes, and in multiplayer straight up aggravating! The armor ability of Spring made me wonder WHY Bungie never gave us the ability to sprint in the first place. If you ask me, being a Spartan in the game, being able to sprint should be mandatory. I enjoyed jetpack, and thought this new addition to game change the usual flow of combat and gave the player new ventures in how to engage enemies in both campaign and multiplayer. Halo: Reach plays good, looks good, and sounds good. Graphics are nice, though nothing to applaud over. Sound effects and music are excellent! The game plays nearly flawless and the AI underwent improvements since Halo 3 and ODST. The Covenant look awesome, and feel more powerful and intimidating. The two space-combat levels was a great addition, and are extremely fun. Halo: Reach is a large-scale, global war and it feels that way while playing. Playing as a Spartan III in Halo: Reach was addicting, and this game is still one of my favorites. The characters were a bit shallow however, and their deaths didn't have much impact on me. Overall, Halo: Reach is a great game and I recommend it! Expand
  88. Nov 28, 2012
    6
    Overall the game was decent armour lock is so stupid doe some of the game had good ideas but the maps werent that great and it takes years to rank up.
  89. Mar 17, 2013
    8
    Halo: Reach is a great first person shooter with some of the best multiplayer you can find on the Xbox 360, It is also easily one of the best exclusive games for the Xbox 360. Even if the story mode is not very interesting, It works well as a prequel to the original trilogy of Halo games. There is a great amount of depth to this game with it's multiplayer content and Bungie should beHalo: Reach is a great first person shooter with some of the best multiplayer you can find on the Xbox 360, It is also easily one of the best exclusive games for the Xbox 360. Even if the story mode is not very interesting, It works well as a prequel to the original trilogy of Halo games. There is a great amount of depth to this game with it's multiplayer content and Bungie should be commended for delivering a fantastic Halo game to close off there time with the franchise, If you have an Xbox 360 then this is one to pick up. Expand
  90. Oct 20, 2015
    8
    Was expecting more from this game. The lore that surrounded reach in previous games made me super excited to play this but the story was rather uneventful. The recoil was overdone but was a good idea.
  91. Apr 24, 2011
    6
    Halo Reach is a good game; armour abilities give Halo a much needed bit of innovation, and the weaponry is quite different to previous Halo titles. The campaign is enjoyable and proves a challenge on Normal difficulty. I have yet to attempt it with my mates on Legendary but expect it to be difficult. The story is good, and the characters sculpted nicely before the inevitable conclusion.Halo Reach is a good game; armour abilities give Halo a much needed bit of innovation, and the weaponry is quite different to previous Halo titles. The campaign is enjoyable and proves a challenge on Normal difficulty. I have yet to attempt it with my mates on Legendary but expect it to be difficult. The story is good, and the characters sculpted nicely before the inevitable conclusion. The multiplayer is where this game is brilliant value-for-money; many many modes from infection to classic team deathmatch, with anything from 4v4 to 9v9 games, you're sure to find something to play and there are many maps, some huge, some nice and intricate. Forge mode returns, but on a grand scale, with an enormous world on which to create a map. Firefight also returns, with Xbox LIVE support and very in depth settings to tweak how you wish. This game is literally jam packed with content and it's hard to fault it in any way or do anything but recommend buying. I enjoyed it, but it didn't strike that same special feeling as I got when I played Combat Evolved all those year ago. 3/5. Expand
  92. Sep 24, 2010
    7
    To make absolutely clear I am NOT a PS3 fanboy, as unfortunately there are many on here wasting space. Halo Reach was always going to be a bit of a emotional border, Halo Combat Evolved and Halo 2 are the best first person shooters (along with Half life 2) out there period! However it's 2010, and Reach feels like a watered down Halo 2. Why? For instance the single player is completeTo make absolutely clear I am NOT a PS3 fanboy, as unfortunately there are many on here wasting space. Halo Reach was always going to be a bit of a emotional border, Halo Combat Evolved and Halo 2 are the best first person shooters (along with Half life 2) out there period! However it's 2010, and Reach feels like a watered down Halo 2. Why? For instance the single player is complete rubbish, absolute waste of time. Co-op fairs a little better, but both players will need to have the same level of dedication to wade through the tedium. Multiplayer was the only reason I got this and to be honest I am slightly underwhelmed! Rehash's of Halo maps from the past and Horde, sorry Firefight mode is good but not great. The new powers up are welcomed, and elite/swat death-matches bringing new and immensely fun moments. But ultimately is this game worth it? It's up to you whether you love the series of not, for me there are better games out there right now (like Bad Company 2 and Gears of War 2) but undeniable Halo is still immense fun, even though tiresomely familiar. Expand
  93. Feb 10, 2011
    5
    I can't tell you how excited I was for this game to finally come out. I was a massive fan of Halo 3 and thought to myself: "Finally, a new game to keep me away from COD! And a new Halo game to top it off!" And now, I can't tell you how horribly upset I am in purchasing this game. First off, the campaign isn't terrible, but it's far from good. The Noble Six Team has a variety of character,I can't tell you how excited I was for this game to finally come out. I was a massive fan of Halo 3 and thought to myself: "Finally, a new game to keep me away from COD! And a new Halo game to top it off!" And now, I can't tell you how horribly upset I am in purchasing this game. First off, the campaign isn't terrible, but it's far from good. The Noble Six Team has a variety of character, but none of them are very deep and you never really get to interact with them on a level further than "Stop shooting me, I'm on your side!" Obviously, since I knew the campaign ending, I was expecting an epic climactic battle. Instead, you get a very anti-climactic ending that leaves you staring at your screen, mouth ajar. They don't even use the classic epic Halo theme music in this campaign, which I was very disappointed in. The voice acting works, but nothing too special, and the cutscenes and cinematics are sometimes cool, but mostly boring. The achievement "Monument to Your Sins" was supposed to be ridiculously hard, and yet, I got it on the second day of owning the game. Moving on to multiplayer, this is what I bought the game for, and I must say that this is what REALLY disappointed me. The developers apparently got extremely lazy when making the maps for this one, considering several of them are remakes from Halo 2, and several others are Forge maps that you can make yourself in two hours. The other maps that are new are uninspired, boring, and bland. They have Team Snipers, and yet, there is only two maps where Team Snipers is adequete to be played on, while the other times it places you in The Cage, a Forge map where you respawn in the enemy's sniper crosshairs constantly. The spawning overall is terrible, and I have several Theater videos of either me respawning in front of an enemy or vice versa. The DMR is absolutely stupid, and the blossoming effect of the reticule takes out so much skill, resulting in a DMR match being a blindfiring spray and pray after the first 3 shots. Most of the other encounters with enemies quickly transform into a massive grenade-fest, with the enemies hiding around a corner chucking a seemingly unlimited amount of grenades around the corner at you. Armor abilities are ridiculous, especially Armor Lock, being very overpowered. My friend recommends SWAT, but that's the no-skill game mode, and I shy away from that. The character customization is cool, but the majority of the unlockables requires you to play probably in the neighborhood of a billion games, so that's no fun. The Forge is obviously very cool, and the Theater is still top notch for videos and screenshots, plus they have a new system where you can track down to see how many screenshots of other people you're in, which is cool as well. Overall, if you're a hardcore Halo fan, you can have some serious fun with this one if you don't mind lucky deaths and grenade wars. If you occasionally enjoy Halo, I'd probably stay away from this one. Sorry Bungie, but you need some catching up to do to COD if you want to be king again of the FPS's. Expand
  94. Nov 19, 2010
    6
    The hype for this game was literally immeasurable. Halo: Reach, though breaking the cannon of the game delivered a good solid campaign, and I was happy from beginning to end.

    Campaign (5): 91% The Features in this game are amazing! Theater is back, and Forge has been completely remade with the grid, and the immaculate Forge World, truly this is the customization many halo fans have been
    The hype for this game was literally immeasurable. Halo: Reach, though breaking the cannon of the game delivered a good solid campaign, and I was happy from beginning to end.

    Campaign (5): 91%

    The Features in this game are amazing! Theater is back, and Forge has been completely remade with the grid, and the immaculate Forge World, truly this is the customization many halo fans have been hoping for.

    Features (2): 97%

    This is why I have chosen to give this game a 6, The multiplayer is terrible if not broken. Armor abilities were a good Idea on paper however Armor lock just slows down gameplay, and gives unfair advantage to the person using it (as long as their teammates are somewhat competent). And bloom, a mechanic I thought would benefit the series, has instead shamed it. Rarely do I win a medium range fight when I am pacing my shots, and the other person is firing fast with the DMR. this change in what I've come to know as Halo multiplayer (I played Halo 2 and 3 online) is not good, and in the end just demolishes the competitive side of the game.

    Multiplayer (4): 10%
    (4(10) + 2(97) + 5(91))/11 = 62.64%
    Expand
  95. Jul 2, 2011
    9
    This game is a great game. The multiplayer offers new things, along with the firefight mode. The only thing that I think is OK is the campaign. This game would be a good first game if you are new to Xbox.
  96. Oct 22, 2011
    7
    As a halo game it's approving, but as a prequel to the epic halo universe it's disappointing. Key elements in the story's structure were scarce, there were few enjoyable moments and everything we really wanted to know was not told. On the mutliplayer side, the game shines brighter, more or less. The new class system was implemented, new player made maps, better matchmaking, more weaponsAs a halo game it's approving, but as a prequel to the epic halo universe it's disappointing. Key elements in the story's structure were scarce, there were few enjoyable moments and everything we really wanted to know was not told. On the mutliplayer side, the game shines brighter, more or less. The new class system was implemented, new player made maps, better matchmaking, more weapons and ultimately just a more enjoyable experience. The balancing with the new class system is fairly obscure however, all of the four choices are completely diverse and do not mesh together well in combat, it's nothing game breaking though, however, it could be to some who are looking for a balanced, well rounded fight. Expand
  97. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    Decent campaign, Really good multiplayer. Much better than Halo 3 and a campaign comparable to Halo 3: ODST. Great map packs, albeit a bit overpriced.
  98. Dec 10, 2011
    10
    As good as the previous Halo's. The campaign is clever and engaging, but achievable even on solo legendary. Multiplayer is yet again outstanding. Any halo fans need this game. I just wish that they hadn't replaced some of the weapons with worse versions.
  99. Oct 29, 2010
    7
    This is just a Halo 3 ODST with Steroid´s, the new control is horrifying and confusing, only has a new weapon and the campaign is super predictable and undoubtedly need a total renovation urgently!
  100. Nov 2, 2010
    8
    After Call of Duty took over the third person shooter platform it seemed there was no further need for the Halo franchise, but Halo Reach actually delivers a pleasant alternative from the excessive realism of the Call of Duty series. While the main mission doesn't hold a candle to the first three Halos in terms of storyline, it's still an enjoyable, if not somewhat nostalgic return to theAfter Call of Duty took over the third person shooter platform it seemed there was no further need for the Halo franchise, but Halo Reach actually delivers a pleasant alternative from the excessive realism of the Call of Duty series. While the main mission doesn't hold a candle to the first three Halos in terms of storyline, it's still an enjoyable, if not somewhat nostalgic return to the Halo universe. This game is all about the multiplayer. I gotta give Bungee credit for improving the multiplayer and truly making it a treat. If you're ready from a break from Call of Duty, this is the shooter for you. Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 99 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 99
  2. Negative: 0 out of 99
  1. Jan 18, 2011
    80
    If you loved all the other Halo games, there's little I can say to dissuade you from purchasing Bungie's last creation in the Halo series.
  2. Jan 15, 2011
    71
    Halo: Reach is not a breakthrough, yet it's a clear showcase of Bungie's creative growth. The game is hardly a "must buy" – its single-player campaign is way too short and uneven in quality, while multiplayer has very little room for expansion besides map packs and useless character decorations. But with that said, Reach is worthy of your attention for a couple of evenings.
  3. Games Master UK
    Dec 25, 2010
    94
    Almost achieves the impossible and fulfills the hype. Among the best shooters ever created. [Issue#231, p.82]