Halo: Reach Xbox 360

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2051 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 3, 2017
    8
    It is very underestimated game. Why ? Because its not game like call of duty, or gears of war, god of war where popularity of these games based on that are a simple games that brings a lot of fun. This is quite different. It is like good movie, about life and about the cruelty of war, best music i have ever heard in games, dialogues between soldiers reminds from movies, very sad moments,It is very underestimated game. Why ? Because its not game like call of duty, or gears of war, god of war where popularity of these games based on that are a simple games that brings a lot of fun. This is quite different. It is like good movie, about life and about the cruelty of war, best music i have ever heard in games, dialogues between soldiers reminds from movies, very sad moments, and you dont surrounded by explosions and only good graphics but you are alone. You have to create your mind by your own. Just try this game, and you see what i would like to say but i cant . you have to watch it by your own. Masterpiece. Expand
  2. Jun 25, 2017
    8
    Halo Reach is an excellent way for Bungie to close off the franchise that they created. Boasting a much more expanded upon Forge, much more fleshed out Firefight from ODST, massive and addictive multiplayer that is still pulsing proudly after all these years, a gripping and satisfying campaign that tells the prelude story before Combat Evolved begins, featuring a fresh new space combatHalo Reach is an excellent way for Bungie to close off the franchise that they created. Boasting a much more expanded upon Forge, much more fleshed out Firefight from ODST, massive and addictive multiplayer that is still pulsing proudly after all these years, a gripping and satisfying campaign that tells the prelude story before Combat Evolved begins, featuring a fresh new space combat level which was designed by Sage Merrill, the guy behind Crimson Skies on the Xbox. This game is so packed to the brim with content, it's amazing what Bungie has accomplished here. This game would get a legendary 10/10 score, if it were not for a few issues. First off, there is no Legendary ending. Why? Why break tradition if this is intended as a thank you to the fans? And to be honest, the character development wasn't that great. As the Noble Team started dying like flies, I found myself barely caring. And it was also a shame that Bungie didn't capitalize on the excellent new space combat controls by applying it to multiplayer, far improving the experience. Sadly, Bungie didn't want to annoy all the Halo fans by switching up the formula, because there are so many Halo fans, but I believe that taking that brave step would have been worth it. Overall, Halo Reach is a great game and a great way to end my favourite franchise. if you appreciate good games, pick up Halo Reach. Expand
  3. Apr 16, 2017
    4
    Pas grand'chose de neuf ici à part les graphismes en progrès sensible et presque haut de gamme si l'on peut dire, c'est très surprenant pour un Halo d'ailleurs. Surtout que ça faisait longtemps... seul le tout premier Halo était impressionnant techniquement (à l'époque s'entend). Bref, fort joli donc mais au prix de nouveaux ralentissements, rendant parfois le jeu à peine jouable, lePas grand'chose de neuf ici à part les graphismes en progrès sensible et presque haut de gamme si l'on peut dire, c'est très surprenant pour un Halo d'ailleurs. Surtout que ça faisait longtemps... seul le tout premier Halo était impressionnant techniquement (à l'époque s'entend). Bref, fort joli donc mais au prix de nouveaux ralentissements, rendant parfois le jeu à peine jouable, le passage avec le char en atteste. Difficile de viser correctement dans ces conditions.

    La mise en scène demeure bien étudiée, sans se vautrer dans les scripts ridicules d'un COD, les batailles sont... très animées avec une IA redoutable (une façon polie de dire que c'est de temps en temps lourdingue). Et comme les autres Halo sur 360 (tradition Bungie DTC oblige), aucun succès ne sera débloqué en facile. Autres tics haleux : la limitation à deux armes seulement et l'obligation de "quitter et sauvegarder" dans le menu sous peine de se retrouver plusieurs niveaux en arrière lors de la reprise de la partie... Bungie n'a jamais rien compris au concept de sauvegarde automatique.

    Pour le reste, c'est du terrain connu, battu et archi-débattu, du pur Halo mais sans les longueurs du tout premier. Il est grand temps que ça s'arrête, non ? diantre ! ils en ont commis un quatrième ? non le sixième en fait !
    Expand
  4. Mar 21, 2017
    10
    Inmersivo, divertido de jugar, tiene una campaña buenisima y un multijugador muy bueno también, de lo mejor para jugar solo, acompañado o en linea!!!!
  5. Mar 18, 2017
    9
    Halo Reach es sin lugar a dudas una obra maestra, con una campaña e historia sólida que incluye algunos de los mejores momentos de toda la saga Halo (como aquella del final), a casi 7 años de su salida sigue manteniéndose vigente; el multijugador es un buen complemente tanto en línea como a pantalla dividida que sin duda añade aún más horas de diversión, la banda sonora destaca en momentosHalo Reach es sin lugar a dudas una obra maestra, con una campaña e historia sólida que incluye algunos de los mejores momentos de toda la saga Halo (como aquella del final), a casi 7 años de su salida sigue manteniéndose vigente; el multijugador es un buen complemente tanto en línea como a pantalla dividida que sin duda añade aún más horas de diversión, la banda sonora destaca en momentos específicos del juego y la jugabilidad aunque no varíe mucho de los demás Halo tiene el sello de calidad de la franquicia (de parte de bungie). Una de las mejores experiencias de la saga y una de las mejores del 360. Expand
  6. Mar 18, 2017
    9
    This game has been out for longtime but it has not lost any of it's aw some factor with a thrilling campaign and multiple fast pace multi-player modes this is definitely bungies best halo game
  7. Mar 1, 2017
    9
    Завершающая часть шедевральной серии от Банджи. Идеальный баланс, графика и мультиплеер. Один из лучших шутеров на консолях и одна из лучших игр всех времен. Жаль, что после не пошел один трэш
  8. Jan 27, 2017
    9
    Right next to Halo 2, but not as good, is Reach, definitely my favourite when it comes to playing with friends in matchmaking and custom games, the amount of great times I've had with my friends, I just wish I could relive them. Halo 2 in my opinion was best with its campaign, soundtrack and gameplay, but Reach was best with its forge, custom games and matchmaking. Of course, Halo 5'sRight next to Halo 2, but not as good, is Reach, definitely my favourite when it comes to playing with friends in matchmaking and custom games, the amount of great times I've had with my friends, I just wish I could relive them. Halo 2 in my opinion was best with its campaign, soundtrack and gameplay, but Reach was best with its forge, custom games and matchmaking. Of course, Halo 5's forge is great, but before that was even out, Reach's was the best. But, it can't be a review without talking about its other major gamemodes, the campaign and firefight, the campaign in my opinion wasn't the best, not bad, but not good, firefight is pretty good, I enjoyed it, my friends did too. Overall, a great game, despite all the hate it got. Expand
  9. Dec 6, 2016
    10
    This is coming from an individual who has never played the original 3 halo games. In a way I consider this a good thing, as I hear many die hard Halo fans heavily criticize this game on the basis that it doesn't feel like the other 3 and it does not include Master Chief. I can say without a doubt that this is the greatest game I have ever played. The next word pretty much sums up myThis is coming from an individual who has never played the original 3 halo games. In a way I consider this a good thing, as I hear many die hard Halo fans heavily criticize this game on the basis that it doesn't feel like the other 3 and it does not include Master Chief. I can say without a doubt that this is the greatest game I have ever played. The next word pretty much sums up my teenage years of video-gaming: FORGE!
    Unlimited possibility, user made downloadable maps, map sharing, game-type creating, 16 player party hosting, I could go on for hours. The incredibly vast amount of memories I have playing this game is touched by no other and the fun this title has given me and my friends will always be remembered. Thank you Bungie
    Expand
  10. Sep 23, 2016
    9
    I'm just writing at least 150 characters because I wanted to save this review in a more convenient way to look back at scores that I had given stuff as a user.
  11. Aug 21, 2016
    9
    Halo Reach is an incredible FPS,the best of all time in my opinion.

    The gameplay is incredible,with all the top quality AI,gunplay and level/map design that you are used to,plus the fact you can sprint,deploy a hologram,or use a jet pack spices up the game significantly. The graphics are amazing,and the framerate is solid aswell. Sound design and soundtrack are amazing. I will
    Halo Reach is an incredible FPS,the best of all time in my opinion.

    The gameplay is incredible,with all the top quality AI,gunplay and level/map design that you are used to,plus the fact you can sprint,deploy a hologram,or use a jet pack spices up the game significantly.

    The graphics are amazing,and the framerate is solid aswell.

    Sound design and soundtrack are amazing.
    I will now breakdown the campaign and multiplayer.

    The campaign is great,with an immersive plot,great level design,an incredible variety of levels,ranging from straight up carnage to space combat.The game achieves so much with it's campaign alone to be worth playing,but there's even more than that.

    Online multiplayer is great,with loads of different ways to play.That being said,being able to team kill is irritating,as teammates can just shoot you to lower your health and let an enemy kill you so they can't be kicked,but if you kill them after that,you get kicked.Really unfair.But if you play with the right group,it's incredible.

    Firefight returns from ODST,and is just as good as it was there.Not much more to say.

    Forge returns and is better than ever,allowing you to create your own multiplayer maps.I have played some great ones over the years with my friends.

    Custom Games lets you play these maps or create a game variant to work on a map compatible with that base game type i.e. Invasion does not work on all maps.

    Apart from the slight flaws in multiplayer,Halo Reach is a perfect game,and if you haven't played it,GET IT NOW!
    Expand
  12. Jul 26, 2016
    10
    Este es para mi el mejor juego exclusivo de la Xbox 360, las ejecuciones fue un gran agregado, la historia es la mejor de la saga, un excelente doblaje, dificil como el carajo y un final excelente, Bungie cerro su saga con broche de oro.
  13. Jul 10, 2016
    10
    Halo: Reach is in my opinon the single greatest fps game of all time. This is coming from a guy who has spent many hours in multiplayer and singleplayer in every halo game to date. I find myself coming back to this game all the time even setting up my old 360 just to play it. My personal favourite game. It'll still be worth buying in 50 years. (Unless they remaster it, get that instead.)
  14. Jun 25, 2016
    9
    Co-op is really good. I like the customization for your spartan and how your character gets put in the story. Really like the story is has been one of best story's for halo i have ever played.The living dead for this game is really what made the multiplayer.I love the custom games i used to stay up all night just playing custom games my favorite on to play is joy ride or michael myers .
  15. Jun 17, 2016
    10
    probably the best game I've ever played! gameplay is amazing, awesome story, huge multiplayer, i bit hard in Legendary but still my TOP 1 game! Best of all Halo's for sure
  16. May 21, 2016
    10
    Best game in all time!!!Best game in all time!!!
    Best game in all time!!!
    Best game in all time!!!Best game in all time!!!
    Best game in all tiBest game in all time!!!me!!!
  17. Feb 22, 2016
    10
    Halo reach is a unexpected surprise. It is entertaining story, multiplayer, and everything else wise. The story is about a group of Spartans who are trying to defend the planet reach at its darkest hour. The story is well acted, with characters being able to be liked. You are your own Spartan named noble six, who you can customize, which is cool. The multiplayer is fun, with a games fromHalo reach is a unexpected surprise. It is entertaining story, multiplayer, and everything else wise. The story is about a group of Spartans who are trying to defend the planet reach at its darkest hour. The story is well acted, with characters being able to be liked. You are your own Spartan named noble six, who you can customize, which is cool. The multiplayer is fun, with a games from multiplayer still satisfy, with new game modes with it. Firefight is way better in reach than it was in odst. The graphics are great for a Xbox 360 game, with detail being great as ever. This is one game any halo fan should play. Expand
  18. Feb 16, 2016
    9
    Great game , played on xbox one backwards compatablitiy had more fun with this game then i did with Halo 5 guardians !!! I love all the weapons, gadgets, and vehicles.. It's a must play
  19. Feb 1, 2016
    10
    This is the best game. The most touching, interesting, attractive and diverse. A lot of weapons, the death of our, interesting characters and a quality story. This is my favorite game. There is no master chief, noble six but just wow. Beautiful graphics, weapons, textures, characters. And each is well made. Each mission is not like the others. Here and flying ships in space and on theThis is the best game. The most touching, interesting, attractive and diverse. A lot of weapons, the death of our, interesting characters and a quality story. This is my favorite game. There is no master chief, noble six but just wow. Beautiful graphics, weapons, textures, characters. And each is well made. Each mission is not like the others. Here and flying ships in space and on the planet and defense and intelligence areas and protection of artificial intelligence. Multiplayer highly advanced and interesting. And as a result all ended with the best ending in video game history. This is better than gta 5 and every other halo.
    Это самая лучшая игра. Самая трогательная, интересная, привлекательная и разнообразная. Много оружия, смерти наших, интересные персонажи и качественный сюжет. Это моя самая любимая игра. Здесь нет master chief, но ноубл шесть просто вау. Красивая графика, оружие, текстуры персонажей. И каждого хорошо сделали. Каждая миссия не похожа на другие. Здесь и полёты на кораблях в космосе и на планете и разведка и оборона местности и защита искусственного интеллекта. Мультиплеер сильно продвинут и интересен. И в результате всё завершалось лучшим концом в истории видеоигр. Это лучше gta 5 и всех прочих хало.
    Expand
  20. Nov 30, 2015
    10
    Best Halo since Halo 2. This game is so much fun, it's well balanced and is, in my opinion the pinnacle of Bungie Halo in every way. It's amazing, if you haven't played it and own a 360, get this game. It has great split screen multiplayer, something Halo 5 doesn't offer, and the amount of unlocks you can obtain over the course of playing will keep you coming back. This game is amazing,Best Halo since Halo 2. This game is so much fun, it's well balanced and is, in my opinion the pinnacle of Bungie Halo in every way. It's amazing, if you haven't played it and own a 360, get this game. It has great split screen multiplayer, something Halo 5 doesn't offer, and the amount of unlocks you can obtain over the course of playing will keep you coming back. This game is amazing, seriously get it if you have an xbox 360. Expand
  21. Nov 25, 2015
    10
    Without just absolutely oozing all over the place during this review.... Ya know what that's impossible. This game is amazing. It's BEYOND amazing. This was the best title in the Halo franchise. I miss this game really bad and hope that they remaster it at some point as I was really disappointed it was skipped over during the Master Chiefs collection. This game not only deserved to be onWithout just absolutely oozing all over the place during this review.... Ya know what that's impossible. This game is amazing. It's BEYOND amazing. This was the best title in the Halo franchise. I miss this game really bad and hope that they remaster it at some point as I was really disappointed it was skipped over during the Master Chiefs collection. This game not only deserved to be on there it might even deserve its on dedicated remake.

    If you gave this game negative reviews you have no idea what makes competitive matchmaking multiplayer good in an FPS. This is the epitome of first person shooters. I hold this game to a higher standard than Halo II and my personal favorite CoD title Word at War.

    If you haven't played Reach please for the love of god try to give it a shot of the servers are still up.
    Expand
  22. Nov 24, 2015
    10
    Best Halo game ever made! (Even 5 years laters and after the release of Halo 5)

    - Legendary story
    - Halo quality gameplay
    - Beatiful graphics and animations
    - Robust Mutiplayer options and modes
    - First chance to fully customize your Spartan
  23. Nov 19, 2015
    10
    Halo: Reach is a prequel to the Halo series and a farewell from Bungie. Bungie sends off the Halo series with improved graphics, more customability than eve and the firefight mode, witch was added from Halo 3: ODST. The multiplayer is improved once again with a huge stockpile of gamemodes and maps to play. Halo: Reach is by far, the best Halo game. You should buy it, even if you arent aHalo: Reach is a prequel to the Halo series and a farewell from Bungie. Bungie sends off the Halo series with improved graphics, more customability than eve and the firefight mode, witch was added from Halo 3: ODST. The multiplayer is improved once again with a huge stockpile of gamemodes and maps to play. Halo: Reach is by far, the best Halo game. You should buy it, even if you arent a fan of the series. Expand
  24. Nov 5, 2015
    8
    Fun game, but some things get lost in the "modernisation" of the halo formula. If you love Halo its worth your time. Space combat.......yes space combat.
  25. Oct 31, 2015
    7
    Out of all the Halo games I've played I found this to be the weakest. But it's not a bad game whatsoever. I just found the story underwhelming. It lacked a sense of mystery and discovery, which the first Halo actually had. Halo Reach was rather mundane. The combat was excellent, as in all Halo games, but I didn't really have much fun with this. There was something lacking that I can'tOut of all the Halo games I've played I found this to be the weakest. But it's not a bad game whatsoever. I just found the story underwhelming. It lacked a sense of mystery and discovery, which the first Halo actually had. Halo Reach was rather mundane. The combat was excellent, as in all Halo games, but I didn't really have much fun with this. There was something lacking that I can't quite put my finger on. Perhaps having a game without Master Chief broke the narrative I was used to.

    At any rate, this game is worth a look, especially if you're a Halo fan.
    Expand
  26. Oct 20, 2015
    8
    Was expecting more from this game. The lore that surrounded reach in previous games made me super excited to play this but the story was rather uneventful. The recoil was overdone but was a good idea.
  27. Sep 14, 2015
    9
    This is how you do a campaign in a shooter game. It was a thrilling and dramatic experience of battle, companionship and loss.
    Also I was never sure how the story would unfold, if they would succeed in battle or not, which kept me very engaged. This was, apart from Half-Life 2 the best shooter campaign I every played.
    Also the music and graphics were stellar. Giving this game a 10 would
    This is how you do a campaign in a shooter game. It was a thrilling and dramatic experience of battle, companionship and loss.
    Also I was never sure how the story would unfold, if they would succeed in battle or not, which kept me very engaged. This was, apart from Half-Life 2 the best shooter campaign I every played.
    Also the music and graphics were stellar.
    Giving this game a 10 would not be wrong, but a 9 is fine also.
    Expand
  28. Sep 4, 2015
    10
    This game is great. The ability to create and be your own spartan is one of the best things to happen to the franchise. Campaign wise, the game has an amazing story and great graphics for its time on the 360. One of my favorite games of all time. The multiplayer as well was amazing, especially the living dead mode. Well made, and fun to play. Remember Reach.
  29. May 25, 2015
    8
    Halo: Reach is a respectable effort for a developer weary with the franchise. Its only weakness is that the lore it has chosen to tie itself into limits the creativity that could've come from any new or innovative ideas. Wholly competent otherwise.
  30. May 23, 2015
    9
    Halo Reach breaks away from Master Chief and follows a team of Spartans that are ordered to protect the planet Reach against the Covenenant. You can play the campaign alone or co-op online. Then there’s matchmaking which includes a wealth of modes (one in which you can play as an Elite). You can choose which ability you want before respawning; a jetpack, a deployable shield, etc., whichHalo Reach breaks away from Master Chief and follows a team of Spartans that are ordered to protect the planet Reach against the Covenenant. You can play the campaign alone or co-op online. Then there’s matchmaking which includes a wealth of modes (one in which you can play as an Elite). You can choose which ability you want before respawning; a jetpack, a deployable shield, etc., which is new to Reach and improves every game mode. On top of this there’s a firefight mode that you can either play as a survival mode with limited everything or unlimited ammo with powerful weapons and 20 minutes to score big. There’s also a map-maker (forge) mode and theater mode. Your custom Spartan carries over all three modes, which you can buy new armor for with money you gain from playing (and from the addictive daily challenges). This game exceeds all previous Halos, in my opinon, and should be experienced by any shooter fan with an Xbox 360. I give it an 8.7. Expand
  31. Jan 23, 2015
    10
    This game is absolutely spectacular. The campaign and multiplayer are great with the campaign having a pretty solid story. Kept me interested throughout. Definitely, the funnest aspect of this game is the firefight mode where you kill wave after wave of the covenant (especially fun with friends). In my opinion, this is the example of a perfect Halo game but still has a different atmosphereThis game is absolutely spectacular. The campaign and multiplayer are great with the campaign having a pretty solid story. Kept me interested throughout. Definitely, the funnest aspect of this game is the firefight mode where you kill wave after wave of the covenant (especially fun with friends). In my opinion, this is the example of a perfect Halo game but still has a different atmosphere from Halo 1, 2, and 3. Unfortunately, though, this is Bungie's last Halo game. 10/10 (Masterpiece) Expand
  32. Jan 9, 2015
    10
    Halo reach is bungie's last halo game, and I'm here to tell you it was a damn good last run, and without a doubt my favorite of the halo titles. In this game you get a full fledged campaign with a great story and tons of action to sink your teeth into, a horde mode labeled as firefight where you can customize a battle against AI enemys in waves rounds and sets, a multiplayer that I feel isHalo reach is bungie's last halo game, and I'm here to tell you it was a damn good last run, and without a doubt my favorite of the halo titles. In this game you get a full fledged campaign with a great story and tons of action to sink your teeth into, a horde mode labeled as firefight where you can customize a battle against AI enemys in waves rounds and sets, a multiplayer that I feel is truly halo's best yet, with tons of game modes, playlists, stat tracking and all around good time. I simply have a hard time expressing just how much I enjoyed halo reach, it's one of the few games I stuck with for 3-4 years after release, and one of the only games I bothered to master and beat on the hardest campaign difficulty. Overall, anyfan of the halo series should pick this up, and even if you've never played a halo game before, this is a masterpiece that will hopefully impress you, the game mechanics are fine tuned, the story is great, the music is top notch and I had a ton of fun with this Expand
  33. Jan 4, 2015
    9
    Easily my favourite Halo. Best story that really shows how helpless the humans were fighting fo reach. Best customisation, along with best multiplayer. Maps were also for the most part good, even though most were just taken from campaign, but they worked well. Awesome new game modes (invasion). Cool graphics update that make it feel a little more realistic than 3 and less super spaceyEasily my favourite Halo. Best story that really shows how helpless the humans were fighting fo reach. Best customisation, along with best multiplayer. Maps were also for the most part good, even though most were just taken from campaign, but they worked well. Awesome new game modes (invasion). Cool graphics update that make it feel a little more realistic than 3 and less super spacey (stuff looks a little grittier). Ace diversity in missions - even fly spaceships finally!!! - and awesome ending to the game. Firefight improved to be customisable to however you please which is ace, forge mode upgraded to 11 with awesome addition of forge world and new tools, and game modes being super customisable too. Also, tons and tons of different playlist to pick from! And those who complain about the ranking system just don't know how to have fun in games, it works great. Expand
  34. Jan 1, 2015
    10
    One of the greatest Xbox 360 games ever. The campaign is great. The multiplayer is plenty fun, but is a little unbalanced with armor abilities like Armor Lock and Jet Pack. It is great for people who have never played Halo before, and still is pro-friendly, although it makes veteran Halo players adjust. Custom games are more fun than ever before, and the creative freedom Forge modeOne of the greatest Xbox 360 games ever. The campaign is great. The multiplayer is plenty fun, but is a little unbalanced with armor abilities like Armor Lock and Jet Pack. It is great for people who have never played Halo before, and still is pro-friendly, although it makes veteran Halo players adjust. Custom games are more fun than ever before, and the creative freedom Forge mode brings to Halo truly is amazing and will increase the game's longevity significantly. This game will take hours upon hours of your time. A must buy for anyone. Expand
  35. AGK
    Dec 22, 2014
    8
    A very great game with heaps of content and it makes the halo story make sense so it all evens out in the end. There is just SO much to do on this amazing game! it basically combines all the other halo's content and makes it into one and it's awesome! if only bungie stayed with making halo games.
  36. Dec 9, 2014
    10
    THIS IS MY FAVOURITE HALO GAME OF THEM ALL. The story is a prequel to Halo 1,2 and 3 based around a squad of Spartans. You are Nobel six the newest recruit and you must help your squad kill some aliens.
    Along the way you will lose people and they have very emotional deaths.
    Verdict: One of the very best shooters on the market with great multiplayer maps,modes and CO-OP 10/10 Would
    THIS IS MY FAVOURITE HALO GAME OF THEM ALL. The story is a prequel to Halo 1,2 and 3 based around a squad of Spartans. You are Nobel six the newest recruit and you must help your squad kill some aliens.
    Along the way you will lose people and they have very emotional deaths.

    Verdict:
    One of the very best shooters on the market with great multiplayer maps,modes and CO-OP
    10/10 Would bang more times then I have.
    Expand
  37. Dec 6, 2014
    8
    Reach is enjoyable in many ways, be it the freshly presented campaign or the online multiplayer that is saturated with numerous game modes to satisfy any taste. Reach is extensively enjoyable whilst remaining enriching and rewarding.
  38. Nov 4, 2014
    9
    If the story mode was a bit longer and it wasn't an issue of people lagging at times then I would give the game a 10. This was actually my first Halo game I played and was turned onto it by a friend. Once I started to play the game I tried other games and I didn't find them as good as this one. I played online for quite awhile before getting bored because a lot of my friends were leavingIf the story mode was a bit longer and it wasn't an issue of people lagging at times then I would give the game a 10. This was actually my first Halo game I played and was turned onto it by a friend. Once I started to play the game I tried other games and I didn't find them as good as this one. I played online for quite awhile before getting bored because a lot of my friends were leaving for other games so I couldn't find other people I enjoyed playing with. I personally played Team Swat mainly, but would play other games in order to do the challenges for points. With that being said I found Team Swat to be the most enjoyable because everybody uses the same gun, no cloaking and all the other stuff found in the other game modes. The other game modes that I enjoyed playing was in the Open World Zombie part, which I also found to be quite enjoyable. I'd likely still be playing today if it weren't for my friends leaving for other games. You play to acquire points to update your character which unlocks some neat upgrades to purchase with XP. After awhile they unlocked the ranks and you leveled past what it was capped off which then it was a race to get as high as you could. I enjoyed the game and I'm sure if you like FPS then you will as well. So it's a game you should definitely try. Expand
  39. Oct 16, 2014
    10
    This is the most unbeleiveably brilliant game I have ever played. The Campaign is so good you could seriously make a movie from it. The ending is the best ending I HAVE EVER SEEN and this is the best fps ever!!
  40. Oct 11, 2014
    10
    "Send me out, with a bang". These words resonate with me every time I play Reach.
    Story: 8/10
    Halo Reach's campaign is the best in the series; Excellent voice acting and memorable moments make this a thrill ride I love to play over and over. The dramatic climax is a moment to behold. The only problem I have is that you don't get to know Noble Team very well; Character development is
    "Send me out, with a bang". These words resonate with me every time I play Reach.
    Story: 8/10
    Halo Reach's campaign is the best in the series; Excellent voice acting and memorable
    moments make this a thrill ride I love to play over and over. The dramatic climax is a
    moment to behold. The only problem I have is that you don't get to know Noble Team very well; Character development is limited in this story.
    Gameplay: 10/10
    Controls are similar to Halo 3, but with a few minor changes..
    Graphics are outstanding, as usual. The Armoury is a huge improvement
    over past Halo games. The addition of visor colours and armour
    attachments make this game endlessly addictive. Assassinations are also
    are a great addition that never gets old. New weapons and armour abilities
    spice up the traditional Halo style in a very appealing way.
    Multiplayer: 9/10
    Great like it usually is. All the old Halo gametypes, with the
    addition of Infection as a full-time playlist. Why did I not give
    it a 10? Hmm... There are three letters that explain why: L-A-G.
    Lagging can happen at any time, in any playlist. The gametype it lags in the
    in the most? Infection. Lag causes a number of problems, such as causing your
    spartan III to die even though you didn't see anyone kill you. It can also cause a number of
    other errors as well: You will see other players running up to walls, only to vanish instantly
    If you can get over these little glitches, you will find multiplayer very addicting
    Overall: 10/10
    Bungie went out with a bang; their final game is an example of excellence
    and perfection.
    Expand
  41. Oct 7, 2014
    9
    I'm not sure why, but I just don't feel entirely satisfied with the story, but Halo: Reach is simply a fun game to play. Both single and multi-player. A true homerun for Bungie.
  42. Sep 30, 2014
    10
    Outstanding game, with tons to do on multiplayer on all those gamemodes, great campaign, and forge especially. I spent hundreds of hours playing this game and it was hours well spent. It's pretty cheap today so if you don't have it... Get it.
  43. Sep 20, 2014
    10
    A great action packed campaign which may not have had a memorable antagonist and characters as the main halo trilogy, but each level was very fun, challenging and different. Multiplayer is great, there are a wide variety of game types with great maps. Halo reach forge is the best out of all them in the halo series. Graphics are very good and still are reasonably good even in 2014. A mustA great action packed campaign which may not have had a memorable antagonist and characters as the main halo trilogy, but each level was very fun, challenging and different. Multiplayer is great, there are a wide variety of game types with great maps. Halo reach forge is the best out of all them in the halo series. Graphics are very good and still are reasonably good even in 2014. A must buy for xbox and if not the best in the series Expand
  44. Sep 10, 2014
    7
    My least favourite game of the series, in my opinion - lacked the special story feel of previous ones and just didnt feel quite right. however it must show something that if this is my least favourite game of the halo series and it still gets a 7, that shows just how good the series is.
  45. Sep 10, 2014
    4
    The campaign was okay, but it is the worst matchmaking so far in the halo series. It turned the amazing arena style shooter and killed it by adding classes and abilities. What made halo great is that every one started on the same even playing field and only skill would separate them. Not the case for this monstrosity. I am not surprised more people like it though it is very causal. It gotThe campaign was okay, but it is the worst matchmaking so far in the halo series. It turned the amazing arena style shooter and killed it by adding classes and abilities. What made halo great is that every one started on the same even playing field and only skill would separate them. Not the case for this monstrosity. I am not surprised more people like it though it is very causal. It got rid of the fav favored skill ranking system and replaced it with a garbage Cod style experience system. The DMR ruined it most of all. 3 shots to the head should not kill someone. One of the beauties of halo is that if someone attacks you from the back you can turn around and kill him with your 4 shot BR.. This is not the case with the DMR, which is ridiculous. Definitely Reach was the start of the fall for halo.. Expand
  46. Sep 5, 2014
    9
    Why all the hate! The best campaign easily and the best multiplayer!
    The armory thing where you could customise your character.
    Big Team Battle was the most fun.
    However not everything is perfect with this game. Like when you get ranked up with 10 inheritors when your a god damn warrant officer! Grrr.
    This game is awesome.
    Describe it with 3 words: GREAT CAMPAIGN,FUN,NOBLE SIX IS AWESOME
  47. Sep 2, 2014
    10
    Halo is a successful franchise, but every franchise has it's bad games, and it's awesome games, Halo reach is an awesome game, the soundtrack is one of the best i ever heard, has good graphics and light effects, a good story and an excellent playability.
    the AI is good in the enemies, ally NPCs are dumb like always.
    the customization is good too, but the price of some items are a little
    Halo is a successful franchise, but every franchise has it's bad games, and it's awesome games, Halo reach is an awesome game, the soundtrack is one of the best i ever heard, has good graphics and light effects, a good story and an excellent playability.
    the AI is good in the enemies, ally NPCs are dumb like always.
    the customization is good too, but the price of some items are a little high.
    Halo is a successful franchise, and Halo Reach is one of the best of this franchise
    Expand
  48. Aug 28, 2014
    10
    After seeing the complete shallow mess that was 343i's Halo 4... I can honestly say this is one of the deepest best Halo games ever made.

    Halo 4 was the worst thing to even happen to mankind, I threw away my master chief figures and decided not to buy an xbox one because of 343i's halo 4.

    This game is incredible on the other hand. the xbox 360's only 10/10 title.
  49. Aug 12, 2014
    10
    The game Halo: Reach never gets old. It's seriously still a great game to play with a decent population slowly greater than Halo 4's, thus making it the most active Halo game still to date. It's a touchy and tragic story but that makes the story more suspenseful and exciting to play. The multiplayer is great to play. Some of the most favourite able game modes are Team Slayer, SWAT, LivingThe game Halo: Reach never gets old. It's seriously still a great game to play with a decent population slowly greater than Halo 4's, thus making it the most active Halo game still to date. It's a touchy and tragic story but that makes the story more suspenseful and exciting to play. The multiplayer is great to play. Some of the most favourite able game modes are Team Slayer, SWAT, Living Dead, Big Team Battle (BTB), Grifball, Invasion, and many more.

    Many other game mods like firefight, forge, and even the campaign are alternatives to making credits and having fun when your offline. So the game never gets boring when Xbox Live is down or you don't have a membership. The game is much more exciting and fun than any other Halo multiplayer. And in my opinion beats any storylines or gameplay that Call Of Duty has.

    Halo: Reach is cheap in price now, and if you're looking for a fun game to play, I recommend getting it. It still has life in it.
    Expand
  50. Aug 2, 2014
    10
    Halo reach is my personal favorite it isn't as revolutionary as 1 and 2 but games don't have to be rovolutionary to be fun and reach is just a big thank you from bungie and they did everything to make it the best.Lets get the bad out of the way first and its just the ai not all of it they do help but kat loves to drive of cliffs other than that there are no other problems but the framrateHalo reach is my personal favorite it isn't as revolutionary as 1 and 2 but games don't have to be rovolutionary to be fun and reach is just a big thank you from bungie and they did everything to make it the best.Lets get the bad out of the way first and its just the ai not all of it they do help but kat loves to drive of cliffs other than that there are no other problems but the framrate can drop a bit in the first level.The campaign at first felt a bit like halo 3 as just being there and the real selling point being the mutiplayer but around the fourth mission it gets a ton better the graphics are gorgeous and the back grounds make it look like an invasion.The storyline isn't a good as combat evolved but it is what it is the characters are likeable and when they diedI felt sad and wish they didn't go but their deaths are memorable.The story takes place before combat evolved and tells the tale of the nobel team a bunch of spartens defending planet reach since its being invaded by the covenet an alein race. You play as the newest member nobel 6 who is just there to repracent you since you can choose the gender and customize and it apperes in the campaign nobel six is pretty much your sparten.The reason i like the campaign is that the missions are just fun there is even a space ship battle which was just amazing.The armour locks are fun to use with my favorite being the jet pack.Then the mutiplayer which is sooooooooooooooooooooooo much fun co op campaign is awesome playing through this fun campaign with friends is just fun. The mutiplayer games like team death match and others arejust again fun.Firefight introduced in odst is back with some new maps and this alon is worth a purchase its the best mode in the game for me.If you own a 360 and don't own this game BUY IT its just incredebly fun and for halo fan its just bungies way of saying goodbye to halo and a giant thanks to the fans.Whilie the framerate drop and the qestionable ai I give it a 10 out of 10 Expand
  51. Jul 6, 2014
    6
    The halo series is just not what it once was, the single player campaign was nothing special and the characters were easily forgettable. The multiplayer by this point is still solid but does not stand up to the level achieved by Halo 2 and Halo 3
  52. Jun 24, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One reason about halo reach is some of its is sad because everyone dies including you. Anyway I still like the game.This game is temping to play because I play it everyday. Expand
  53. Jun 1, 2014
    10
    This game was a great Halo, From the community to the Gameplay i had so much fun and i know no game will do what bungie has done for us when you are in the mission the background is amazing you see explosions in the sky indicating it is all out war and the health system is a great one you see many types of enemies and Easter eggs i hope 343 will do what bungie wanted them to do RememberThis game was a great Halo, From the community to the Gameplay i had so much fun and i know no game will do what bungie has done for us when you are in the mission the background is amazing you see explosions in the sky indicating it is all out war and the health system is a great one you see many types of enemies and Easter eggs i hope 343 will do what bungie wanted them to do Remember reach... No but really its great.
    Message: This is my first review so don't question me if i make mistakes Thanks you.
    Expand
  54. May 29, 2014
    10
    Halo: Reach is one of the best games I ever played. I'm sad, sad that the multiplayer fell to hackers, aimbotts,etc. It had it's glory days, and I will forever remember it the way it was, and not is. The story mode I played literally 50 times plus. I played thousands of multiplayer matches, and hundreds of some of the best custom games. I love this game so much, and you too should buy thisHalo: Reach is one of the best games I ever played. I'm sad, sad that the multiplayer fell to hackers, aimbotts,etc. It had it's glory days, and I will forever remember it the way it was, and not is. The story mode I played literally 50 times plus. I played thousands of multiplayer matches, and hundreds of some of the best custom games. I love this game so much, and you too should buy this game regardless of the hackers. This game was the most wonderful experience for me, and I hope it will be for you too. Expand
  55. Apr 20, 2014
    7
    I feel that the halo franchise in general is overated for the most part. I enjoy the weapons and multiplayer in reach a lot, but the campaign is kind of boring. Its not bad but it lacks anything memorable or creative. like I said though, its strong points are in the multiplayer, and the forge mode is also really cool, in fact its probably my favorite thing about the game. this game didI feel that the halo franchise in general is overated for the most part. I enjoy the weapons and multiplayer in reach a lot, but the campaign is kind of boring. Its not bad but it lacks anything memorable or creative. like I said though, its strong points are in the multiplayer, and the forge mode is also really cool, in fact its probably my favorite thing about the game. this game did create some memorable moments when playing with friends, but when wanting to play a game by myself, it was forgettable. a lot of fun can be had with this game as long as your playing with somebody. Expand
  56. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    Weaker than the Halo games preceding it, but still a MUST HAVE. Better than Halo 4. This game got some in the Halo community to be turned off while others had mixed feelings. Regardless, get this game. At its core, it's still Halo, and will be alongside the others, with the exception of Halo 4.
  57. Apr 10, 2014
    9
    Es un shooter sobresaliente, los escenarios son mas grandes, el poder personalizar a tu jugador, acompañado de nuevas armas, eso si la historia que es buena es algo corta
  58. Mar 24, 2014
    9
    Really came out of the gates swinging and almost four years later, you can still find a fair amount of people playing online. I still haven't made the jump to playing Halo 4 just yet because Reach MP still keeps me busy...that and admittedly, I still haven't completed the single player campaign. ;)
  59. Mar 16, 2014
    9
    Vary decent game. Since Halo franchise is never focused on story but on game play a bit shallow plot is to be expected. Nevertheless game-play is on solid 'Halo' level. Innovations make game-play more complex and on higher difficulty it's quite a challenge not to die over and over again. Noble 6 is not Master Chief and you can feel it. At least i did. Game-play is smooth and i have only iVary decent game. Since Halo franchise is never focused on story but on game play a bit shallow plot is to be expected. Nevertheless game-play is on solid 'Halo' level. Innovations make game-play more complex and on higher difficulty it's quite a challenge not to die over and over again. Noble 6 is not Master Chief and you can feel it. At least i did. Game-play is smooth and i have only i frame-rate drop-down playing the game so i do not complain. I love the environment. In (R)each mission you have something new, but i found the last mission not very refreshing.

    The game is good but i had one little problem that made me spend more time with the game than i planned to. Save bug to be specific. my save data was lost twice (and yes i used save and quit), but i cant tell if that's Reach's problem, or my old 1st gen XBox is broken somehow.
    Expand
  60. Mar 15, 2014
    10
    Best Halo with Halo 2...

    SO MUCH DIVERSITY! Full scale warfare with other spartans as well, the enemies feel so threatening (all top ranked elites and brutes everywhere) you feel like Reach WILL FALL and it delivers on every single aspect. They also made the best assault rifle of the series... I beat legendary with an Assault Rifle... have you ever done that in halo before? x) The
    Best Halo with Halo 2...

    SO MUCH DIVERSITY! Full scale warfare with other spartans as well, the enemies feel so threatening (all top ranked elites and brutes everywhere) you feel like Reach WILL FALL and it delivers on every single aspect. They also made the best assault rifle of the series... I beat legendary with an Assault Rifle... have you ever done that in halo before? x)

    The single player is so varied, escorts, vehicles, defenses, flying sequences, infiltration... EVEN A BOARDING MISSION BATTLEFRONT 2 STYLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Man I was amazed by every single mission of the campaign... And the score is WONDERFUL much different than the previous halos (felt fresh too!) and perfectly fits the tone of the story. No surprise, O'donnell is a genius.

    The multiplayer is great but the jetpack is OP... you fly WAY to high with it (in halo 4 its just perfect) and it feels so gimmicky that everyone uses it...

    Still, 10/10 for this AMAZING campaign... I didn't think I'd ever like a Halo as much as halo 2 anytime soon... Oh and the firefight and coop matchmaking is just perfect.
    Expand
  61. Mar 14, 2014
    7
    There's no denying that Reach tailors to Halo fans. It's a solid shooter with consistent and well crafted mechanics, and meets all the basic requirements that a AAA title sci-fi shooter should. Outside of this, there's little else to be had. One could make an argument in favor of the multiplayer (which is a hell of a lot of fun), but the game does little else to stand on its own. The storyThere's no denying that Reach tailors to Halo fans. It's a solid shooter with consistent and well crafted mechanics, and meets all the basic requirements that a AAA title sci-fi shooter should. Outside of this, there's little else to be had. One could make an argument in favor of the multiplayer (which is a hell of a lot of fun), but the game does little else to stand on its own. The story is bland, ambiguous, and fails in almost every attempt to provoke an emotional response from players. There's a feeling of dread and inevitable vain in the campaign, but not in a way that carries any weight at all. As a Halo title, Reach is a good experience. But without the established Halo lore and rabid fan base, Reach would simply be another shooter to write off and save some money. Expand
  62. Mar 14, 2014
    10
    The best game for xbox. I only play with my son on a split screen. The game is completed more than once. We still run the game, to pass an arbitrary level.
  63. Mar 8, 2014
    1
    This game is not just a bad halo game it's a bad game in general. the campaign is the easiest to beat in the halo franchise no real memorable moments. graphics are meh. a lot more gray pallets as compared to halo 3 but what truely matters in a game is 1 thing and that is gameplay! now you see halo reach has some of the worst gameplay mechanics in the world. it's as if the designers said.This game is not just a bad halo game it's a bad game in general. the campaign is the easiest to beat in the halo franchise no real memorable moments. graphics are meh. a lot more gray pallets as compared to halo 3 but what truely matters in a game is 1 thing and that is gameplay! now you see halo reach has some of the worst gameplay mechanics in the world. it's as if the designers said. "hey lets take one of the best arena console shooters, water it down and add game play elements from call of duty" the result is a game with slow movement speed. bad starting weapons gimmicky armor abilities and super imbalanced guns. the only reason I did not give this game a 0 is because of the forge world and the MLG playlist they added in late in it's lifecycle.really it's a game that should never of been made. they were selling to the wrong crowd. and at the end of the day as an avid lover of competitive games im left with the bitter taste in my mouth. the bitter taste of halo reach Expand
  64. Mar 7, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Probably the best game ever for its time. The campaign is thrilling and emotional, multiplayer and forge are almost limitless, and then they have firefight. To haters of this game: think about it! Campaign is very good. Don't think the AI's are stupid because they don't just destroy the whole planet with corvettes (giant covenant spaceships) . If you listen to what they say in the game you will get it. The covenant have to kill the MAC cannons or else they're cruisers will be shot down. So they send their soldiers to try to kill the UNSC force on Reach. The whole reason the Spartans are there is to basically protect the MACs! If there were no MACs the covies WOULD just destroy the planet. Plus, the covenant want a precious resource on Reach so they don't want to destroy the whole planet. Anyways, great game, good graphics for its release date, almost limitless multiplayer, and is now under 20$ in most stores. I highly recommend it more than Halo 4 too. Halo 4 is one of those games where they ran out of ideas and focused mainly on graphics. Expand
  65. Feb 5, 2014
    9
    This game franchise was only reason for me to buy Xbox 360 S....
    I am dead serious...

    Pros:
    - Competitive polished multiplayer
    - Firefight mode is pure awesome!
    - Great selection of weapons and vehicles for you to enjoy
    - Fails of the Weak (Rooster Teeth)
    - Noble team!
    Cons:
    - Hard achievements
    - Xbox 360 exclusive
  66. Jan 20, 2014
    10
    Great gameplay, story, and improved multiplayer. Cant ask for too much more! Love the flying aspect and multiplayer shines on some great maps and great secondary "powers" to use bring new life.. A great addition to halo series.
  67. Dec 27, 2013
    8
    First, the graphics are great. One of the best things about this game is the co-op and being able to customize your soldier in many ways by collecting credits and spending them. The bad things are you only have about twenty guns and the gameplay gets boring after a while. And the story and campaign is great but even though they try to make the covenant scary they really can't
  68. Dec 25, 2013
    0
    Sprint, bloom, armour lock, loadouts, bad maps …bungie clearly did not care what they did to the halo franchise and were more focused on testing things out for destiny.

    Still better than halo 4 though
  69. Nov 23, 2013
    9
    I know this is late in reviewing but I just wanted to say I traded this game in for Halo 4 upon release because i couldn't afford 60 bucks at the time.

    Anyways I loved playing halo reach despite of what negative people say. The halo community is a hard one to please i'll say. Most of them just want halo to be a constant re-hash of itself with better graphics in a world where
    I know this is late in reviewing but I just wanted to say I traded this game in for Halo 4 upon release because i couldn't afford 60 bucks at the time.

    Anyways I loved playing halo reach despite of what negative people say. The halo community is a hard one to please i'll say. Most of them just want halo to be a constant re-hash of itself with better graphics in a world where technology and gaming is constantly progressing. Don't get me wrong I loved the first 3 halo's and they were great storylines along with great multiplayer.... Well halo 2 had its bugs before it was a beast.

    Anyways point is I regretted trading in reach for halo 4 because halo 4 has horrible lag, quickspawn, killcams and everything cheesy in the cod franchise that's watered down with a Halo skin on it calling itself Halo. Plus 343 doesn't listen to their community at all they want is people praising the game and don't have time for constructive feedback that includes issues with the game that breaks it causing a population to drop by 92% in a lifespan less than a year.

    Upon regret of trading it in I finally got it back at gamestop today for 12 bucks and lemme tell ya this was the best last installment of halo. Not the best overall just a good way for bungie to say goodbye and move on to bigger things like destiny.

    So if you have this game you need to repopulate it, and if you've never played it then I will say its definitely worth the price. The legendary campaign is a good one to play with friends. Its not short like Halo 4.
    For those of you who might think reach was on the cod side, I say to you pop in halo 4 and thats the real copycat.
    Expand
  70. Nov 21, 2013
    8
    When Halo Reach rolled the red carpet and I got it, I also got Xbox Live and I wasn't seen for four months. I was having Halo Fever. This is one of those underrated games that get bashed but deserved more. Halo is a sci-fi game not a military shooter so having thing that isn't real is a given. Gameplay is really good and everything is the standard of quality we expect from the halo series.When Halo Reach rolled the red carpet and I got it, I also got Xbox Live and I wasn't seen for four months. I was having Halo Fever. This is one of those underrated games that get bashed but deserved more. Halo is a sci-fi game not a military shooter so having thing that isn't real is a given. Gameplay is really good and everything is the standard of quality we expect from the halo series. It isn't perfect by any means, the graphics don't even compare to the Metroid Prime 3 and the AI bugs up. Though everything about this game is a whole lot better then Call Of Duty. Expand
  71. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player) Gameplay (2/2) Visuals/Story (2/2) (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player)

    Gameplay (2/2)

    Visuals/Story (2/2)

    (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is better than the visuals, review this section as if the visuals didn’t matter)

    Accessibility/Longevity (2/2)

    (Review this section only on Accessibility if the game has no longevity) (Review this section only on longevity if the game isn’t accessible)

    Pricing (0/2)

    Wildcard (+1)

    This is a guideline for how to properly review games. Many reviewers like to get a “feel” for a game, and arbitrarily give a game a score that they believe it deserves. This results in wildly different scores between different reviewers, and vastly different scores between similar games. This guideline addresses these problems and scores games fairly and consistently. This guideline also gives scores that are usually similar to the metacritic score.

    The review score is based out of 10 points. There are no “half” or 0.5 increments. It is impossible to have a score above 10 or below 0. The review score will change as the game gets new dlc, drops in price, or if more secrets are found through the game increasing its appeal.

    The scoring is split into 6 sections. The first five sections can add a possible 2 points to the final score. The first 5 sections are Single Player/Multi Player, Gameplay, Visuals/Story, Accessibility/Longevity, and Pricing.

    Notice that 3 of these sections have two parts. These particular sections will be scored based on the stronger part of the game of the two. For example, if a game has a lousy single player campaign, but an excellent multiplayer component, that section will be based solely on the multiplayer as if the single player did not exist. This allows games to be based on their own merits, as many unnecessary features are shoehorned into video games by publishers to reach a “feature quota”. Games that excel in both areas of a section don’t receive should be noted in the written review, but cannot increase the score past 2 in that section. However, it can be taken into account in the final section

    The final section can add 1, add 0, or subtract 1 to the final score. This final section is the “wildcard” section. This section is for how the reviewer “feels” about the game, but limits this only to this section, rather than the entire 10 point review. This section can include any positive or negative point that was not covered in the previous 5 sections.
    Expand
  72. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    As Bungie's last Halo game they will ever create I knew this will be a great Halo game & was I correct. This Halo was very fun, I loved the campaign & the feature of where your multiplayer character is the main character of the campaign. The multiplayer was very fun & all the updates to get ride of all the map problems like camping areas helped. Firefight was good. Overall I'm pleased & IAs Bungie's last Halo game they will ever create I knew this will be a great Halo game & was I correct. This Halo was very fun, I loved the campaign & the feature of where your multiplayer character is the main character of the campaign. The multiplayer was very fun & all the updates to get ride of all the map problems like camping areas helped. Firefight was good. Overall I'm pleased & I will miss Bungie. Expand
  73. Nov 8, 2013
    8
    Well the story may be a little short and the ending was kinda disappointing for some players but other than that its a pass on my list... They also really outdid himself with fire fight mode
  74. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    Weaker than the other Halo games preceding it, but still a MUST HAVE. Better than Halo 4. I know this game got some in the community to be turned off while others had mixed feelings, but were still fairly more negative when it came to reception. Regardless, get this game. At its core, it's still Halo, and will be alongside the others, with the exception of Halo 4.
  75. Oct 26, 2013
    5
    im sorry
    but this game is horrible
    the story is bored,the characters are not like masterchief
    the game is so realistic that is bored
    the graphics are ok,but i think is game is overated just because
    had an awesome multiplayer
  76. Sep 9, 2013
    7
    It's an pretty good game in its own right but a disappointment as a Halo game. Take CoD's multiplayer formula, give it a sci-fi skin and make player bullet sponges, and you've got Halo: Reach
  77. Sep 6, 2013
    6
    Halo Reach is the weak point in an otherwise amazing franchise. This time the characters are uninteresting, the plot is decent yet lacking and the changes to the weapons are disappointing. Halo reach does have great multi-player however it is no better than previous halo games. If you are looking into buying a halo game and are new to the series, this one can wait.
  78. Sep 2, 2013
    7
    I have never quite understood why people act as if this game series is slightly more incredible than the concept of breathing. I've played the second and third game in the series and they are by no means bad but I've never found them as enjoyable as the people who have apparently been getting blowjobs by Microsoft while playing the game.
    In any case, Halo: Reach is a strong entry in the
    I have never quite understood why people act as if this game series is slightly more incredible than the concept of breathing. I've played the second and third game in the series and they are by no means bad but I've never found them as enjoyable as the people who have apparently been getting blowjobs by Microsoft while playing the game.
    In any case, Halo: Reach is a strong entry in the series with a few quirks that hold it back from being incredible. The single player is probably the best thing about the game; the characters are interesting enough (if a bit generic) and the voice-acting and sound design is superb. Graphics are phenomenal and the overall presentation is outstanding.
    The problem is the same as in all Halo games the combat is so unbelievably average. The weapons have not changed (basically) and most of them lack any real impact as everything is so bullet-spongy it's sickening. For anyone who isn't a top-player this game will be extremely RNG. The best tactic for beginners is simply to pick up an assault rifle and hold down the trigger until something falls over. You will have to play hours and hours before any other strategy becomes even valid. The enemies are very same-y and these fights are only broken up by turret-sections (snore) and some very welcome and well-designed air-combat. But the story comes to a satisfying conclusion and the final parts of gameplay are very intense and emotional.
    The multi-player is what people are the most worked up about, however and I just don't understand why. The customization is fantastic but once again if you aren't a hard-core player you'll never get to play around with it properly. The combat is the same as in the single-player but the weapon-variety is for the most part even worse. The forge mode and theater are the only two things that keeps the multiplayer fresh. You can save replays and edit them in the theater and here you can do some pretty incredible stuff if you know what you are doing. Forge is a powerful tool if you're interested at all in creating your own maps. It is a bit limited but fun if you can work around its limitations.
    So overall Halo: Reach is neither awful nor spectacular. It's just plain ol' good.
    Expand
  79. Aug 30, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Halo reach is an extremely awesome game and it just proves why Halo is one of the best if not the best fps out there
    pros: gameplay, enemy AI, story is very compelling, that final level is awesome, multiplayer, fun modes like invasion especially in the spire map, multiplayer is fun and addicting, every multiplayer mode is awesome, customization of multiplayer characters, your multiplayer character carries over into single player, the easter eggs like covenant nightclub, while there is no legendary ending there is a room filled with nostalgic entries on past halo games and even red vs blue stuff (by the way red vs blue is canon. love that show)
    cons: could of added a few new modes to multiplayer, Kat and Jun both suck Kat is boring a sterotype russian smart person where the only cool thing about her is she has a robot arm and Jun while he is bad@$$ is never around we never learn anything about him he barely even talks and what makes it worse is he is the only team mate to survive the game while cooler characters like Carter and Jorge die fiery deaths in explosions and ok characters like emile get knifed with energy swords, uhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh not much else
    so if you own an xbox why are you reading this review! go play halo
    Expand
  80. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    The last game from Bungie is amazing a decent story great characters,a long campaign and a good ending,the amazing multiplayer,Forge,Theater and Firefight
    The campaign is really really good
    The Forge and theater is improved and the multiplayer is even more refined and extremely deep and the matchmaking is superb and the Firefight mode is so fun and has unlimited replay value
  81. Aug 10, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Halo Reach was the very first Halo game i had ever played/owned and i must say it is the best intro to the halo series as anything. Graphics are beautiful, Gameplay is fun and amazing to have in a game, story was well wrote as the destruction of reach was the main focus, and the voice acting was really well done. Campaign was well done as you start with a search for missing troopers and then you learn covenant has started a siege of the planet. you then are flying through space in shuttles, flying through burning cities, and just being a badassed spartan you can be with a range of new armor abilities, weapons, and armor customization. Armor Customization has been redone and you can make the most unique characters ever with varying options for helmets, colors, visors, etc. Gameplay was a change from Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 (which was my main game) with graphical and contol changes but that was easy to overcome. Multiplayer was remade to now include a few new game modes (grifball, firefight, and campaign) all in matchmaking. Forge was redone from halo 3 and has been done very well and made easier to use. Halo Reach was one of the best games i have played and was a very well done goodbye from Bungie. 343 has done well with halo 4 and i hope they continue the greatness they've got in their hands Expand
  82. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    This was all I played for about a month when I got my Xbox. Halo is one of my favorite series and it will always be my favorite FPS. The history of the halo universe is amazing and I really wish I had read the books which I probably will be reading soon. The games are always very action heavy which I love about FPS type games, the reason Halo is the my favorite is because of the story andThis was all I played for about a month when I got my Xbox. Halo is one of my favorite series and it will always be my favorite FPS. The history of the halo universe is amazing and I really wish I had read the books which I probably will be reading soon. The games are always very action heavy which I love about FPS type games, the reason Halo is the my favorite is because of the story and how it is told. This game is very good, way better then ODST and Is equally as good as Halo 3. The story is what will always sell me and the story that is told in Reach is one of the best outside of Master Cheifs. The Music will always make me get a chill down my spine and the sound of war is just great. The voice acting is great and the graphics are always ground breaking for the series if not the industry. No one not even my CoD fan boy friends will ever change my mind about Halo. If you like shooters play this its one of the greats. Expand
  83. Aug 3, 2013
    9
    this game is a god it definantly goes in my top 3 halo games my top 3 halo games are halo reach halo wars halo combat evolved this game is once again a masterpiece
  84. Jul 28, 2013
    4
    No. the gameplay is extremely bland and the storyline makes you want to puke over everything you love. All of the weapons feel exactly the same. If you use the Needler you shoot the purple stuff, if the use the Spiker, you shoot some gray stuff.
  85. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    I have been gaming for all of my life, and I have critiqued games since I could use a keyboard. That being said, I am a very strict reviewer. To this date, Halo: Reach is the ONLY game I have ever, ever, given a perfect 10. The single player, multiplayer, EVERYTHING, is perfect. Never seen a game better.
  86. Rem
    Jul 11, 2013
    9
    Halo Reach in many cases, is the last hurrah for Bungie. This is truly the complete package we have been waiting for, and it goes out with a bang. This package comes with an explosive campaign that fires on all cylinders as it tells the tale of Noble team as they desperately try to secure Reach from Covenant control. This tale is not the most intricately woven, but it is the most polishedHalo Reach in many cases, is the last hurrah for Bungie. This is truly the complete package we have been waiting for, and it goes out with a bang. This package comes with an explosive campaign that fires on all cylinders as it tells the tale of Noble team as they desperately try to secure Reach from Covenant control. This tale is not the most intricately woven, but it is the most polished in terms of setpieces and gameplay. The variety in missions and what one can do within it is astounding. The next part of the package is the extremely customizable firefight. It's what we've seen from ODST, but the options to tweak the game is so vast and varied. Next up is the newly polished multiplayer. It's better than ever with rebalance on most occasions and my only gripe is the small number of maps. Next up is the fantastic forge. I spent hours on end on this newly improved forge because of the maps and objects that one could create. Finally there is the theater which is mostly the same carried over form Halo 3. My major gripes with this game are the unforgiving checkpoints and some forced storytelling at key points. All in all this is the most feature rich package in a videogame to date. Bungie delivered something that both the hardcore and casual fans can both dive into, and spend days into exploring the legacy this studio left behind. Expand
  87. Jul 7, 2013
    10
    Honestly, I wish that this would have been the last Halo game to come out. I did not enjoy Halo 4 whatsoever, but I won't get into that. Halo: Reach had a very gripping story with great gameplay, a great story, and amazing characters along with it. The game honestly has quite a few sad moments as well, and if you've followed the Halo series you would know that this game doesn't have aHonestly, I wish that this would have been the last Halo game to come out. I did not enjoy Halo 4 whatsoever, but I won't get into that. Halo: Reach had a very gripping story with great gameplay, a great story, and amazing characters along with it. The game honestly has quite a few sad moments as well, and if you've followed the Halo series you would know that this game doesn't have a happy ending whether you've played it or not. It serves as a fantastic prequel to a fantastic franchise. Expand
  88. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    The real jewel in Halo: Reach is its campaign mode. One of my main issues with Halo 3 was its bland campaign. Halo: Reach fixes this issue. The story here is awesome, full of cool characters, awesome set pieces, and actual moments of grief and sadness. It's probably the best story of any Halo game to date, and it continues to impress me even after multiple playthroughs. Another awesomeThe real jewel in Halo: Reach is its campaign mode. One of my main issues with Halo 3 was its bland campaign. Halo: Reach fixes this issue. The story here is awesome, full of cool characters, awesome set pieces, and actual moments of grief and sadness. It's probably the best story of any Halo game to date, and it continues to impress me even after multiple playthroughs. Another awesome addition to reach was the improved Forge mode. Nothing is more fun than going to Forge world, giving your characters super human abilities (like jumping up 20 meters and running faster than a vehicle) and having an all out brawl.
    The multiplayer is just a refined version of Halo 3, which is not a bad thing.

    Reach is one of the best Halo games to date, and it's definitely worthy of your attention.
    Expand
  89. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    This game has a great story mode and the best multiplayer of the 2010 the graphics are what i want, the guns are the best of the game because you cant just use one gun to finish the story like in call of duty because every weapon has an ability.
  90. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    Halo: Reach provides a satisfying, awesome outlook on every aspect. Firefight was an awesome idea and definently took up much of my time. The multiplayer playlists, while not as cleverly sculpted as Halo 3, were fun and contained a user-based map selection. Campaign was also enriching. Commendations added an extra side of objective.

    I'm giving this a 9 because of two things: a lack of
    Halo: Reach provides a satisfying, awesome outlook on every aspect. Firefight was an awesome idea and definently took up much of my time. The multiplayer playlists, while not as cleverly sculpted as Halo 3, were fun and contained a user-based map selection. Campaign was also enriching. Commendations added an extra side of objective.

    I'm giving this a 9 because of two things: a lack of creativity in multiplayer firefight maps (excluding Forge World). All non-DLC maps other than Forge World were copied from parts of the campaign. The other downside was a decrease in custom game options (i.e. no instant kill)

    Overall 9

    Story 9
    Multiplayer 10
    Maps 7
    Misc., Firefight, Forge, Theater 10
    Custom Games 9
    Expand
  91. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    The annoying additional level after the last level which was the Lone Wolf ending drove me nuts and lfet me confused at the fact that Noble Six's fate had to happen in one game was quite sad and yet obviously had an agitated look of seeing your own character, Noble Six to struggle with a large endless number of randomly occurring Elites and Zealots trying to kill you.
    Despite this, I
    The annoying additional level after the last level which was the Lone Wolf ending drove me nuts and lfet me confused at the fact that Noble Six's fate had to happen in one game was quite sad and yet obviously had an agitated look of seeing your own character, Noble Six to struggle with a large endless number of randomly occurring Elites and Zealots trying to kill you.
    Despite this, I enjoyed mainly the game play structure and weaponry design as Halo: Reach proved to me that it was the best Halo game I've ever played by now, even better than the intense, action-packed 2012 game Halo 4. In the Firefight and Forge especially, I felt with my friend who happens to be a PS3 player, ironically enjoying the variety of enemy waves, weapons on different locations and the aesthetic graphical details of the rich, iconic Sci-Fi franchise! Forget the Campaign idea, the Forge and Firefighter are highly recommended to play, which also save's this game's backside from getting 8 or lower, if it wasn't for the brilliant concept of Forge mode and Firefight mode.
    Expand
  92. Jun 16, 2013
    3
    As a casual gamer I didn't have extremely high expectations for a Halo game. However, I found myself gradually getting more and more bored throughout the game's story. Although the story is, in my opinion, better than other Halo game's, It seems predictable, and at times I found myself simply waiting for another character to die off. To add to the "experience", The game's A.I. for yourAs a casual gamer I didn't have extremely high expectations for a Halo game. However, I found myself gradually getting more and more bored throughout the game's story. Although the story is, in my opinion, better than other Halo game's, It seems predictable, and at times I found myself simply waiting for another character to die off. To add to the "experience", The game's A.I. for your allies is pathetic at times- I found myself on various levels having to pay closer attention to my teammates, then the Covenant. Examples of which would be Emile driving me off a cliff, or actually going out of his way to hit me head on with a vehicle. Errors in the A.I. like that are annoying, and with the mediocre game play and story, It led me to have the same level of entertainment as some of the earlier Halo's (A low amount).
    Xbox live doesn't offer much for casual gamers either. It offers a simple cut-and-paste "Capture the flag", "Death match" and "Team death match". All of which hold little entertainment value for a gamer like myself, who likes fun game play. In addition from their typical game modes, there are a few variants, such like a zombie game mode. However, it seems that even this was a poor effort. Giving one team shotguns, and pistols, and the other team being colored green or red and armed with swords is in no way a "Zombie" infestation.

    The game had its fun moments, definitely, but they were stretched so far across the bugs and obvious story line, that it just wasn't worth the money. In the very least, being a fan of zombie games, I wish they would've at least done that justice, but it seems that a glowing blue sword and green/red armor is what suffices for an accurate survival of a zombie infection these days...
    Expand
  93. Jun 6, 2013
    9
    After 3 years on the market how the game stands today?
    Single Player: Played most of the halo games, and i was never intrigued or interested in the Halo universe/story. Halo reach is the first game in the series that i was actually interested the story. Fighting a war were you know the outcome from the beginning... fighting against the odds, losing most battles, the final stage... all
    After 3 years on the market how the game stands today?
    Single Player: Played most of the halo games, and i was never intrigued or interested in the Halo universe/story. Halo reach is the first game in the series that i was actually interested the story. Fighting a war were you know the outcome from the beginning... fighting against the odds, losing most battles, the final stage... all create an engaging atmosphere. 7/10 GOOD

    MULTIPLAYER: 3 years after its release there are thousands of people still playing online!!! Huge variety of modes and options.. i truly enjoyed playing competitive matches. One of the best multyplayer experiences in the current gen. 10/10

    3 years after its release, and at the end of the current gen, this game highly recommended.
    Expand
  94. May 31, 2013
    9
    While it may not have Master Chief and this being Bungi's last Halo title to give us, its a great end to the their part of the series! Seeing the original Spartan's and have them protect their home Reach, makes me want to go back over and over!
  95. May 30, 2013
    8
    Halo Reach is a much more refined Halo and its multiplayer is what makes this game stick out to me when it comes to Halo games. It also added a much more expanded Forge which adds hours of making maps and just being creative. Halo added its own survival mode, or Firefight, in which you fight waves of Covenant soldiers. Overall, this is a damn good Halo game and should not be ignored.
  96. May 15, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Few are the areas where Halo Reach doesn't benefit from Bungie's obvious intention to deliver a definitive farewell episode. Aside from french voices and music that are simply good (but not as fantastic as one would hope every single aspect to be), and new covenant weapons slightly off when used in the solo campaign, Reach delivers a brilliant solo experience. The story may not be surprising, but it's a well told one. Reach remains awe-inspiring for its implementation, scope, diversity and richness. Those who will have to carry on the flame have a high bar set there for them to surpass. Expand
  97. May 10, 2013
    8
    The game is epic, better than Halo: 3 in every possible ways. I love the voice acting and the story/ending the most, also I love all the missions/levels, this is the only halo game or FPS game that has a true character focus. a must buy.
  98. May 6, 2013
    9
    Not just another Halo reboot, Halo Reach takes all the excitement and gameplay that you know and love, and raises them to a new level of sheer awesome might. The engine has been totally redesigned; more of a detailed, next-gen-esque kind of visual. Two additional mechanics are included into the ebb and flow of combat; one allows you to sneak behind and enemy, unawares, and assassinate himNot just another Halo reboot, Halo Reach takes all the excitement and gameplay that you know and love, and raises them to a new level of sheer awesome might. The engine has been totally redesigned; more of a detailed, next-gen-esque kind of visual. Two additional mechanics are included into the ebb and flow of combat; one allows you to sneak behind and enemy, unawares, and assassinate him with lethal force. Another includes various accessory-like items attached to your armor, enabling you to perform different offensive and defensive capabilites.
    The story is one to be loved; as Halo fans should already know, Reach will eventually be taken over by the covenant, in doing so wiping out the remaining Spartan forces in the known universe. The events in the campaign take place just days before this happens, as you play an unnamed Spartan III dubbed, 'Noble 6,' just one soldier operating in the uber-elite spartan Noble squad. As you progress, (as in multiplayer,) you will garner credits which will enable you to purchase different armor pieces to your liking, (purely cosmetic.)
    One of the best qualities about the campaign itself is that you don't need to be a loyal halo fan in order to enjoy it, since the story preludes all the events leading up to the awakening of Master Chief in Halo: Combat Evolved.
    For Halo fans and shooter/actions fans alike, this game is a must have.
    Expand
  99. May 4, 2013
    3
    This game looks like a child drew it, the colours are all overly bright and if a dumb American or English child were asked what war looks like this would be it. Floaty jumps and monsters that shoot blue bullets lmao what a joke I thought I was on acid when playing this game.

    Online it's even worse, guns look plastic and the servers are a joke. Paying to play online? LOOOOL how stupid
    This game looks like a child drew it, the colours are all overly bright and if a dumb American or English child were asked what war looks like this would be it. Floaty jumps and monsters that shoot blue bullets lmao what a joke I thought I was on acid when playing this game.

    Online it's even worse, guns look plastic and the servers are a joke. Paying to play online? LOOOOL how stupid are we to fall into Bill Gates money grabbing, slimy corporation.

    Just like the older Halo's they force you to buy overly priced DLC just to play on different maps. I thought they were taking the piss but no, it was actually what they were expecting. Well most of the people who buy an xbox 360 are brainwashed, delusional and have very low intelligence so that is how Microsh1t make their money I suppose.

    Avoid this awful game, infact don't even buy an xbox you will soon regret it. My one has been collecting dust since last year and whenever people come round I put a towel over it as I am embarrassed to own such a failure product.
    Expand
  100. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A outstanding game the only reason it isn't a 10 is because of a few bad things 1 the campaign is kind of short 2 they don't cover the Spartans that much and 3 what happened to noble 3 Jun that left the door cracked on it Expand
  101. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    This game delivered on every front. From the intense single player campaign stuffed with variety to the excellent voice acting, story and sound effects Halo:Reach is an absolute must buy for every Xbox360 owner. It is so rich in content that it can easily race for the top spot among the other heavy weapons in the genre. Although the graphics look quite good they are not on a Gears of WarThis game delivered on every front. From the intense single player campaign stuffed with variety to the excellent voice acting, story and sound effects Halo:Reach is an absolute must buy for every Xbox360 owner. It is so rich in content that it can easily race for the top spot among the other heavy weapons in the genre. Although the graphics look quite good they are not on a Gears of War or Bad Company 2 level but they still look very convincing and that improvements are visible. I haven't really had time to dug into the multiplayer part of the game but seeing a lot of official review we can say that Halo: Reach is one of the most rich FPS when it comes to its content. All together if you are an Xbox owner, fond of FPS, have 60 bucks or a fan of the series pick this up! U won't regret it, because Bungie really kept its promise and finished the series with a BANG. Now its only up to Microsoft not to screw it up in the future. Collapse
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 99 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 99
  2. Negative: 0 out of 99
  1. Jan 18, 2011
    80
    If you loved all the other Halo games, there's little I can say to dissuade you from purchasing Bungie's last creation in the Halo series.
  2. Jan 15, 2011
    71
    Halo: Reach is not a breakthrough, yet it's a clear showcase of Bungie's creative growth. The game is hardly a "must buy" – its single-player campaign is way too short and uneven in quality, while multiplayer has very little room for expansion besides map packs and useless character decorations. But with that said, Reach is worthy of your attention for a couple of evenings.
  3. Games Master UK
    Dec 25, 2010
    94
    Almost achieves the impossible and fulfills the hype. Among the best shooters ever created. [Issue#231, p.82]