Halo: Reach Xbox 360

Halo: Reach Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 99 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2067 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From the beginning, you know the end. In Halo: Reach, players experience the fateful moments that forged the Halo legend. It's the story of Noble Team, a squad of heroic Spartan soldiers, and their final stand on the planet Reach, humanity's last line of defense between the terrifyingFrom the beginning, you know the end. In Halo: Reach, players experience the fateful moments that forged the Halo legend. It's the story of Noble Team, a squad of heroic Spartan soldiers, and their final stand on the planet Reach, humanity's last line of defense between the terrifying Covenant and Earth. This darker story is echoed by grittier visuals amid a backdrop of massive, awe-inspiring environments. Characters, enemies and environments are rendered in amazing detail by an all-new engine designed to deliver epic-scale encounters against the cunning and ruthless Covenant. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Halo: Reach The Battle Begins Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 99
  2. Negative: 0 out of 99
  1. Halo: Reach is without doubt Bungie's finest Halo game, and best of all it has the story and structure to the campaign to finally deliver the Halo experience that some of us have been waiting for since the original Halo: Combat Evolved launched on Xbox back in 2002.
  2. 100
    ODST could have been a clever little shimmy, but it came out a misstep. Reach brings us right back into the dance that hooked us nine years ago, introduces some cool new steps, and leaves us twirling in enchantment as Bungie graciously bows out. Just keep twirling, Spartan.
  3. If you're a fan of the Halo series and were a little disappointed with ODST and a little apprehensive in purchasing this title, don't be. Bungie have redeemed themselves by not only creating an engaging and coercive story but have brought the game back to its roots and tweaked the gameplay, both offline and online to make this the definitive game of the series.
  4. In closing, Halo Reach is a must have title for any fan of the series (which by now, you should know if you are or not) and even if you aren't a fan of the previous titles you may find that the lengths Bungie have gone to refine their formula will now win you over.
  5. It's not the perfect shooter by any stretch, if indeed such a thing could exist, but as a multiplayer effort there's every reason to expect the game to reach far into the coming year and beyond.
  6. It maybe not be the perfect ending for the franchise because of its prequel flair, but in the gameplay and story-telling aspects it easily earns the crown of the series.
  7. Halo is still a superlative multiplayer game, and with a group of friends, there's nothing quite like a well-tuned game mode or a white-knuckle finish to a Firefight. It's a shame that Halo: Reach couldn't add $60 worth of improvements to it.

See all 99 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 58 out of 593
  1. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    This game delivered on every front. From the intense single player campaign stuffed with variety to the excellent voice acting, story andThis game delivered on every front. From the intense single player campaign stuffed with variety to the excellent voice acting, story and sound effects Halo:Reach is an absolute must buy for every Xbox360 owner. It is so rich in content that it can easily race for the top spot among the other heavy weapons in the genre. Although the graphics look quite good they are not on a Gears of War or Bad Company 2 level but they still look very convincing and that improvements are visible. I haven't really had time to dug into the multiplayer part of the game but seeing a lot of official review we can say that Halo: Reach is one of the most rich FPS when it comes to its content. All together if you are an Xbox owner, fond of FPS, have 60 bucks or a fan of the series pick this up! U won't regret it, because Bungie really kept its promise and finished the series with a BANG. Now its only up to Microsoft not to screw it up in the future. Collapse
  2. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I will start this review by saying this is probbibly one of the greatest games ever! It has very hectic singleplayer. The multiplayer has aI will start this review by saying this is probbibly one of the greatest games ever! It has very hectic singleplayer. The multiplayer has a great amount of content. Excellent voice acting. This is a must buy for people who have Xbox360s. This is the greatest halo ever. Expand
  3. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    Copy/Paste to all Halo reviews after all these years: I didn't have a 360 for a few years (played 3 and ODST). In the meantime I played allCopy/Paste to all Halo reviews after all these years: I didn't have a 360 for a few years (played 3 and ODST). In the meantime I played all sorts of fps- COD, BF, Killzone (which is awesome), Resistance, and every single other one. And coming back to Halo when I rebought a 360 was like the greatest homecoming ever. Unlike those other games, every Halo battle is like a chess match waiting to happen. And once you truly know every enemy and every weapon, you fall into a sweet spot of gaming that is possibly the best of all action games ever made. It's just the best. Great now I have to copy and paste this 4 more times. Expand
  4. Jan 26, 2011
    9
    Definitely the best multiplayer game on the Xbox 360. Just a few things stop it from getting a perfect score from me, such as the constantDefinitely the best multiplayer game on the Xbox 360. Just a few things stop it from getting a perfect score from me, such as the constant stoppage of multiplayer games due to someone lagging out or the host quitting. I cannot play firefight matchmaking at all because I am always the host and I lag. These things could easily be fixed if Bungie supplied dedicated servers, but they aren't so I just have to get over it. Expand
  5. Sep 20, 2017
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I would give the game a 10 but I can't even though I really want to and it's my favorite game.

    Soooo much content here...

    Great story... So what if it doesn't follow the books. The bungie halo games always did their own thing...

    Great campaign mode... No annoying flood. No super lame levels. Just action!

    Great game play... Halo at its best. All the halo goodness in the world is here.

    Amazing sound track... Marty at his best as usual. Him and halo ARE halo.

    Great in game visuals. One of the best looking xbox 360 exclusives. Even better looking than halo 4...

    Smart AI... Cept kat lol... I think they made her dumb on purpose to add difficulty.

    Tons of content... Forge world, fire fight, multiplayer and more! All custom tailored to fit your style.

    No weak micro transactions like halo 5 lol.

    It's one of the best halo games. It's easily competing for best halo game against 1,2, and 3.

    Now for the mediocre/bad...

    Some minor gripes...

    Spoilers!

    You can't explain Kats death very well story wise... What happened to her energy shields? And if they were out temporarily then that would explain why it only took one needle rifle round to kill her. Fair enough.... But if that's the case... Why didn't the shooter take out the whole team as well? They played this scene well emotionally but it was dumb in a logical kind of sense.

    I wish you could make a fire fight mode where endless sword elites attack you nazi zombies style. They can't shoot or toss nades. They can only use cqc melee attacks with their swords. I always thought that this would be kool... But heck... I dunno if it would be since it doesn't exist and I'm not sure how long it would take until it got boring...

    Spartan laser is much worse than it was in halo 3. In Halo 3 it was the end all cannon against anyone just about... In Reach it's much harder to pin point, takes longer to charge up, has less ammo, and requires a more steady aiming thumb. It's worse in just about every way. I guess they wanted to nerf it since it was a anti tank sniper rifle in halo 3 and that was kind of OP lol. It did make vehicles some what useless in halo 3 btb.

    Bloom... Made shots random some what. Granted this only really upset strict competitive players who take the game very seriously in the rankings and what not... But for them it was a bit of a downer even though it's pretty silly to take "skill" in a video game so seriously. Especially considering that halo 2 has a hit scan br with high bullet magnetism and halo 3 has a br that's spread is pretty random too. Halo isn't exactly the most skillful shooter out there folks... Just saying. Play for fun. Not to try and be super mlg pro elite status... No one cares how good you are at a game. Besides... There are plenty of playlists that don't have bloom or even armor abilities for that matter so there is no need to complain anymore.

    The rank system. Apparently some folks only played to see a number by their name go up. It motivated them to play for some reason. Instead of playing to have fun they would focus on the level 1-50 rank system. Reach has no such system unless you look it up on a web-site.

    Anyone else miss having bots in multiplayer like perfect dark 64?

    So those are the mediocre/bad things. A lot of which doesn't bug me personally but I can see why it would bug some people. Especially those who are not that smart or are too quick to judge this game.

    Remember folks... No game is perfect but some games are pretty awesome anyways so I give this about a 8 or a 9. A 8 at launch. And a 9 now that patches and more content polished the game up.
    Expand
  6. Jul 19, 2011
    8
    To say i never played the first halo yet this comes good to halo 2 and 3 yet i miss the old armor type from the first 3 halo's Reach does aTo say i never played the first halo yet this comes good to halo 2 and 3 yet i miss the old armor type from the first 3 halo's Reach does a good job in creativity with the guns but not enough use fullness in forge and a wide amount of game types that are pretty similar yet when a COD rates this their gotta dislike it due to the fact that the COD series ruined the history of gaming. This game was a bit of a money grab since odst failed but they provived us with a good campaign not the greatest, but it delivers, and since 343 industries is taking over halo has lost its luster. Halo Reach lacks a few features halo 3 had that i wished were put to it. but were not if 343 updates us with a free download for having pelicans or a better falcon for a squad and not just gunners and things like that i wish they did but all in all heres my ratings
    grapichs who cares i dont rate that, games arent rated on grahics cause o well
    story 8.3
    Gameplay 9
    Fun 8.7
    Creativity 10
    lasting game play 6.8
    upgradability 7
    Expand
  7. Dec 15, 2010
    0
    Well as a fan of halo since halo 1 i have to say it feels like bungie said "Call of Dutyize it NOW" and as much as i **** hate cod halo didWell as a fan of halo since halo 1 i have to say it feels like bungie said "Call of Dutyize it NOW" and as much as i **** hate cod halo did not feel like halo. halo 1 lan was **** awesome halo 2 online was beast. and halo 3 was awesome. and they said well time to change the formula. so it feels like call of halo. not enjoyable. Expand

See all 593 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  2. Halo: Reach Inside the Reviews

    Halo: Reach: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: September 13, 2010
    If early reviews hold up, the newest installment in the ongoing "Halo" saga will be one of the year's highest-rated games for the Xbox 360. Take a closer look at exactly why critics are so fired up about "Reach."