Halo: Reach Xbox 360

Halo: Reach Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 99 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2054 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From the beginning, you know the end. In Halo: Reach, players experience the fateful moments that forged the Halo legend. It's the story of Noble Team, a squad of heroic Spartan soldiers, and their final stand on the planet Reach, humanity's last line of defense between the terrifyingFrom the beginning, you know the end. In Halo: Reach, players experience the fateful moments that forged the Halo legend. It's the story of Noble Team, a squad of heroic Spartan soldiers, and their final stand on the planet Reach, humanity's last line of defense between the terrifying Covenant and Earth. This darker story is echoed by grittier visuals amid a backdrop of massive, awe-inspiring environments. Characters, enemies and environments are rendered in amazing detail by an all-new engine designed to deliver epic-scale encounters against the cunning and ruthless Covenant. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Halo: Reach The Battle Begins Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 99
  2. Negative: 0 out of 99
  1. Halo: Reach is without doubt Bungie's finest Halo game, and best of all it has the story and structure to the campaign to finally deliver the Halo experience that some of us have been waiting for since the original Halo: Combat Evolved launched on Xbox back in 2002.
  2. 100
    ODST could have been a clever little shimmy, but it came out a misstep. Reach brings us right back into the dance that hooked us nine years ago, introduces some cool new steps, and leaves us twirling in enchantment as Bungie graciously bows out. Just keep twirling, Spartan.
  3. If you're a fan of the Halo series and were a little disappointed with ODST and a little apprehensive in purchasing this title, don't be. Bungie have redeemed themselves by not only creating an engaging and coercive story but have brought the game back to its roots and tweaked the gameplay, both offline and online to make this the definitive game of the series.
  4. In closing, Halo Reach is a must have title for any fan of the series (which by now, you should know if you are or not) and even if you aren't a fan of the previous titles you may find that the lengths Bungie have gone to refine their formula will now win you over.
  5. It's not the perfect shooter by any stretch, if indeed such a thing could exist, but as a multiplayer effort there's every reason to expect the game to reach far into the coming year and beyond.
  6. It maybe not be the perfect ending for the franchise because of its prequel flair, but in the gameplay and story-telling aspects it easily earns the crown of the series.
  7. Halo is still a superlative multiplayer game, and with a group of friends, there's nothing quite like a well-tuned game mode or a white-knuckle finish to a Firefight. It's a shame that Halo: Reach couldn't add $60 worth of improvements to it.

See all 99 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 58 out of 591
  1. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    This game delivered on every front. From the intense single player campaign stuffed with variety to the excellent voice acting, story andThis game delivered on every front. From the intense single player campaign stuffed with variety to the excellent voice acting, story and sound effects Halo:Reach is an absolute must buy for every Xbox360 owner. It is so rich in content that it can easily race for the top spot among the other heavy weapons in the genre. Although the graphics look quite good they are not on a Gears of War or Bad Company 2 level but they still look very convincing and that improvements are visible. I haven't really had time to dug into the multiplayer part of the game but seeing a lot of official review we can say that Halo: Reach is one of the most rich FPS when it comes to its content. All together if you are an Xbox owner, fond of FPS, have 60 bucks or a fan of the series pick this up! U won't regret it, because Bungie really kept its promise and finished the series with a BANG. Now its only up to Microsoft not to screw it up in the future. Expand
  2. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    I miss that this was the LAST Bungie game they made. I was hoping for more, they 343 bought it from them. This game is awesome and still is,I miss that this was the LAST Bungie game they made. I was hoping for more, they 343 bought it from them. This game is awesome and still is, it just lacks with the community in which people think that it ''sucks'' but really they never played it. Expand
  3. Feb 1, 2016
    10
    This is the best game. The most touching, interesting, attractive and diverse. A lot of weapons, the death of our, interesting characters andThis is the best game. The most touching, interesting, attractive and diverse. A lot of weapons, the death of our, interesting characters and a quality story. This is my favorite game. There is no master chief, noble six but just wow. Beautiful graphics, weapons, textures, characters. And each is well made. Each mission is not like the others. Here and flying ships in space and on the planet and defense and intelligence areas and protection of artificial intelligence. Multiplayer highly advanced and interesting. And as a result all ended with the best ending in video game history. This is better than gta 5 and every other halo.
    Это самая лучшая игра. Самая трогательная, интересная, привлекательная и разнообразная. Много оружия, смерти наших, интересные персонажи и качественный сюжет. Это моя самая любимая игра. Здесь нет master chief, но ноубл шесть просто вау. Красивая графика, оружие, текстуры персонажей. И каждого хорошо сделали. Каждая миссия не похожа на другие. Здесь и полёты на кораблях в космосе и на планете и разведка и оборона местности и защита искусственного интеллекта. Мультиплеер сильно продвинут и интересен. И в результате всё завершалось лучшим концом в истории видеоигр. Это лучше gta 5 и всех прочих хало.
    Expand
  4. Apr 4, 2011
    9
    i will admit right off the bat that i am a PS3 fanboy and dont even own an Xbox 360 and personally dont like the system but i do give crediti will admit right off the bat that i am a PS3 fanboy and dont even own an Xbox 360 and personally dont like the system but i do give credit where it is due. my friends are Xbox owners so this is where i play this game. when i first heard of this game release i started bashing it even though i have never even played a halo game in my life but now that i have i can see why so many become addicted. the graphics are all right and the campaign i found was actually pretty good with great voice acting sound effects and a variety of weapons but that is not the only reason it is good. the online is amazing with the ability to make your own maps and if they are made properly then they rock and also the preset maps are also amazing and you can play with quite a few ppl and all the different modes you can play... overall the game is just breathtaking and even though my main system is the Playstation and i dont really like Xbox this may just be thier one saving grace this is a must have for all Xbox owners and it will keep you entertained for a long time Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2010
    9
    Halo Reach is by far the best Halo game ever.

    Campaign is awesome, armor abilities make it a lot better. Firefight is bigger and better.
    Halo Reach is by far the best Halo game ever.

    Campaign is awesome, armor abilities make it a lot better.
    Firefight is bigger and better.
    Forge has more objects and upgrades.
    MULTIPLAYER IS BEAUTIFUL!!!

    Plus the new weapons are very cool!
    Expand
  6. Aug 2, 2011
    8
    The Halo franchise has astounded Xbox players everywhere. Halo Reach isn't necessarily a let down, but it could've been better. Halo ReachThe Halo franchise has astounded Xbox players everywhere. Halo Reach isn't necessarily a let down, but it could've been better. Halo Reach brings out a new feel of gameplay. It brings armor equipment, Forge World, commendations, and other great things. The campaign is okay - commendations make it easier so you can have side of objectives while playing. New Easter eggs make the game have a sense of extra exploration in the player. Firefight is now really blooming and is full of fun, now with playlists for online and a variety of game modes to try. Multiplayer - this is where all that Halo magic was lost. The fun playlists - gone or revamped in to more boring things. Rumble Pit, for instance, used to be full of fun things. Now all it is is slayer. Living Dead - while yes, its now permanent, no more other fun, variety full game modes. The maps from Halo 3.... gone. They were really fun, but now they're gone. No more Foundry. No more Sandbox. No more any of that crap. Sigh... if you want another similar story from a game that struck the Xbox Live nation to a game that everybody just says "Ehhh...", check out Modern Warfare 2 to Black Ops. Expand
  7. Dec 15, 2010
    0
    Well as a fan of halo since halo 1 i have to say it feels like bungie said "Call of Dutyize it NOW" and as much as i **** hate cod halo didWell as a fan of halo since halo 1 i have to say it feels like bungie said "Call of Dutyize it NOW" and as much as i **** hate cod halo did not feel like halo. halo 1 lan was **** awesome halo 2 online was beast. and halo 3 was awesome. and they said well time to change the formula. so it feels like call of halo. not enjoyable. Expand

See all 591 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  2. Halo: Reach Inside the Reviews

    Halo: Reach: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: September 13, 2010
    If early reviews hold up, the newest installment in the ongoing "Halo" saga will be one of the year's highest-rated games for the Xbox 360. Take a closer look at exactly why critics are so fired up about "Reach."