Halo: Reach Xbox 360

Halo: Reach Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 99 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1956 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From the beginning, you know the end. In Halo: Reach, players experience the fateful moments that forged the Halo legend. It's the story of Noble Team, a squad of heroic Spartan soldiers, and their final stand on the planet Reach, humanity's last line of defense between the terrifyingFrom the beginning, you know the end. In Halo: Reach, players experience the fateful moments that forged the Halo legend. It's the story of Noble Team, a squad of heroic Spartan soldiers, and their final stand on the planet Reach, humanity's last line of defense between the terrifying Covenant and Earth. This darker story is echoed by grittier visuals amid a backdrop of massive, awe-inspiring environments. Characters, enemies and environments are rendered in amazing detail by an all-new engine designed to deliver epic-scale encounters against the cunning and ruthless Covenant. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 99
  2. Negative: 0 out of 99
  1. Halo: Reach is without doubt Bungie's finest Halo game, and best of all it has the story and structure to the campaign to finally deliver the Halo experience that some of us have been waiting for since the original Halo: Combat Evolved launched on Xbox back in 2002.
  2. 100
    ODST could have been a clever little shimmy, but it came out a misstep. Reach brings us right back into the dance that hooked us nine years ago, introduces some cool new steps, and leaves us twirling in enchantment as Bungie graciously bows out. Just keep twirling, Spartan.
  3. If you're a fan of the Halo series and were a little disappointed with ODST and a little apprehensive in purchasing this title, don't be. Bungie have redeemed themselves by not only creating an engaging and coercive story but have brought the game back to its roots and tweaked the gameplay, both offline and online to make this the definitive game of the series.
  4. In closing, Halo Reach is a must have title for any fan of the series (which by now, you should know if you are or not) and even if you aren't a fan of the previous titles you may find that the lengths Bungie have gone to refine their formula will now win you over.
  5. It's not the perfect shooter by any stretch, if indeed such a thing could exist, but as a multiplayer effort there's every reason to expect the game to reach far into the coming year and beyond.
  6. It maybe not be the perfect ending for the franchise because of its prequel flair, but in the gameplay and story-telling aspects it easily earns the crown of the series.
  7. Halo is still a superlative multiplayer game, and with a group of friends, there's nothing quite like a well-tuned game mode or a white-knuckle finish to a Firefight. It's a shame that Halo: Reach couldn't add $60 worth of improvements to it.

See all 99 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 93 out of 621
  1. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    This game delivered on every front. From the intense single player campaign stuffed with variety to the excellent voice acting, story andThis game delivered on every front. From the intense single player campaign stuffed with variety to the excellent voice acting, story and sound effects Halo:Reach is an absolute must buy for every Xbox360 owner. It is so rich in content that it can easily race for the top spot among the other heavy weapons in the genre. Although the graphics look quite good they are not on a Gears of War or Bad Company 2 level but they still look very convincing and that improvements are visible. I haven't really had time to dug into the multiplayer part of the game but seeing a lot of official review we can say that Halo: Reach is one of the most rich FPS when it comes to its content. All together if you are an Xbox owner, fond of FPS, have 60 bucks or a fan of the series pick this up! U won't regret it, because Bungie really kept its promise and finished the series with a BANG. Now its only up to Microsoft not to screw it up in the future. Expand
  2. Feb 13, 2012
    10
    Halo: Reach to gra, na którÄ
  3. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    I can say, from all my gaming years that this is the best prequel and end to any series in gaming history. A mad intense single playerI can say, from all my gaming years that this is the best prequel and end to any series in gaming history. A mad intense single player campaign, lovely voice acting, graphics and gameplay. If you have an Xbox360 go do yourself a favor and get it ASAP. Although many other games have better graphics, the difference from previous Halo's are visible and the gameplay makes up for it. Noble 6 is just as cool as Master Chief, if not better. I will miss Bungie and the end of Reach for whenever I play on an Xbox360. I pray that Microsoft doesn't screw this up, ever. Again, a must buy and a touching, awesome ending to the greatest franchise on the Xbox360. Expand
  4. Dec 31, 2010
    9
    After being somewhat dissapointed with Halo 3's campaign, Reach's wasn't any better. The story remains the same, punching grunts to death andAfter being somewhat dissapointed with Halo 3's campaign, Reach's wasn't any better. The story remains the same, punching grunts to death and driving around in purple hovercars. However, there was some major improvements in Reach. The graphics are much better and the game runs smoothly. The multiplayer is where the game really shines. It's similar to Halo 3 multiplayer, but the added sprint makes it feel more intense and makes up for the oversize maps. It's not frustratingly hard if you've played shooters previously. The sci-fi elements remain intact; don't expect a CoD clone when you pick this up. As for multiplayer modes, Bungie went full retard by adding jetpacks and an "armor lock" (ice block, anyone?) ability which completely ruins Slayer. (Slayer Pro fixes this issue, but is grouped in with other slayer modes.) But for people that enjoy Swat, Firefight, etc, you will be blown away. I have never once had the game lag, freeze, or glitch during the online multiplayer. Reach took many of it's high points from ODST, but it blended together suprisingly well and is definitely worth the money. Expand
  5. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    Halo: Reach provides a satisfying, awesome outlook on every aspect. Firefight was an awesome idea and definently took up much of my time. TheHalo: Reach provides a satisfying, awesome outlook on every aspect. Firefight was an awesome idea and definently took up much of my time. The multiplayer playlists, while not as cleverly sculpted as Halo 3, were fun and contained a user-based map selection. Campaign was also enriching. Commendations added an extra side of objective.

    I'm giving this a 9 because of two things: a lack of creativity in multiplayer firefight maps (excluding Forge World). All non-DLC maps other than Forge World were copied from parts of the campaign. The other downside was a decrease in custom game options (i.e. no instant kill)

    Overall 9

    Story 9
    Multiplayer 10
    Maps 7
    Misc., Firefight, Forge, Theater 10
    Custom Games 9
    Expand
  6. Nov 9, 2010
    8
    First things first. I love this game. In my personal opinion it it a solid 10 but I gave it an eight because Bungie made the game lessFirst things first. I love this game. In my personal opinion it it a solid 10 but I gave it an eight because Bungie made the game less forgiving for new players. I am a huge Call of Duty fan but I must say Halo takes more skill to play. For instance there are no iron sights, you can't pistol head shot someone across the map (If you think you can't in call of duty, youtube it), you must take down shields before you can affect players health, all guns have bloom (ridicule gets larger as shots are fired in rapid succession) whether scoped or not, as well as other differences. This makes halo have a slight steeper learning curve than other brand name shooters on the market. This helps with strategy though. More experienced halo players have more strategies beyond the usual camping, shotgun rushing, etc. One i use is the four shot with the DMR weapon. It takes four shots to the body and one to the head to kill a person. Training yourself to aim for the body for the first three shots then to move to the head for the kill will give you a much higher K/D ratio versus the spamming of the trigger I see inexperienced players doing. The larger element of strategy coupled with the player's unfamiliarity with the halo series puts a lot of new gamers at a disadvantage and inevitably leads to bad reviews. Call of Duty has strategy too, but it comes in the form of customization. Having the counters to the other person's guns, killstreaks, perks, etc. Halo puts everyone on the same playing field and forces them to become better with same the guns the the enemy is using. In conclusion, if you a serious first person shooter gamer looking for a game that has a bit more strategy in the actual gun play rather than the in game customization then Halo Reach is a good buy. Expand
  7. Dec 15, 2010
    0
    Well as a fan of halo since halo 1 i have to say it feels like bungie said "Call of Dutyize it NOW" and as much as i **** hate cod halo didWell as a fan of halo since halo 1 i have to say it feels like bungie said "Call of Dutyize it NOW" and as much as i **** hate cod halo did not feel like halo. halo 1 lan was **** awesome halo 2 online was beast. and halo 3 was awesome. and they said well time to change the formula. so it feels like call of halo. not enjoyable. Expand

See all 621 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  2. Halo: Reach Inside the Reviews

    Halo: Reach: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: September 13, 2010
    If early reviews hold up, the newest installment in the ongoing "Halo" saga will be one of the year's highest-rated games for the Xbox 360. Take a closer look at exactly why critics are so fired up about "Reach."